About Alberto's on Fifth

WELCOME TO ALBERTOS RESTAURANT

Chef Alberto Varetto creates the finest in contemporary Northern Italian cuisine.His culinary interpretations emphasize seasonal ingredients, while creatively respecting the great traditions of Italian gastronomy, The glory of Italian cooking is fresh ingredients, served at their peak and handled in a way that flatters, rather than masks, their personalities.

868 5th Ave South
Naples, FL 34102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch – 11:30am to 4:00pm
Dinner – 4:30 pm to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamiami Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 430-1060

Website:
http://www.albertosonfifth.com/

Parking Details:
Free public garage building in the back of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Naples Trolly Tours Stop, less than a block

Executive Chef:
Alberto Varetto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alberto's on Fifth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
People Watching (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (4)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made reservations last minute based on a ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Made reservations last minute based on a friend's recommendation. Had a great Cabernet. The veal and gnocchi were "to die for." Bottle of wine, 2 dinners plus tip was $165. Well worth it.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and have always enjoyed it. This time it was not really enjoyable. Our waiter was not very professional and not very attentive. Our meal was ok but not as delicious as usual. The veal ravioli did not seem fresh and homemade. We were disappointed with our meal and the service..

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

We were 3 couples and booked a table at ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We were 3 couples and booked a table at 6 PM, because we had tickets for a performance at the Gulfshore Playhouse Theater. When we mentioned this to our waiter, he told us that he would make sure that our dinners were served in a timely manner which would allow us to be at the theater on time.

He kept his word! The service was excellent, the food very tasty, and we did not have to rush through the meal. An overall very good dining experience!!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Pretty underwhelming. For such a chic ar ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Pretty underwhelming. For such a chic area the decor was dated and food mediocre.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

My wife and I were very impressed with o ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My wife and I were very impressed with our dinner. The swordfish was the best I have ever tasted and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top homemade pasta in Naples! Grilled t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Top homemade pasta in Naples! Grilled tender Veal dish with a mushroom sauce!

Excellent limoncello with lemon gelato. A must! It comes in a frozen chilled glass with the yellow limoncello !

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chic, great service but the best was th ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Chic, great service but the best was the butternut raviolini with duck

Ragu.

Felt like I was back in Venice!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Northern Italian restaurant on 5th ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great Northern Italian restaurant on 5th Avenue in the center of everything on 5th.

Food was very good as was the service. Our table was outside and we had a great experience.

The only negative was the restaurant seated a family behind us with a crying infant throughout dinner.

Not what you want when you go out for a quite dinner together. Besides that everything was wonderful.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent Pasta and sauce Salmon cooked ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent Pasta and sauce

Salmon cooked perfectly!

Great waiter. We sat outside, nice for people watching

Can't believe a great Italian restaurant didn't have Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere is lovely. The food is co ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The atmosphere is lovely. The food is consistently very good. Our waiter, Boris was attentive, pleasant, and very professional. Our grandson, had concerns about a peanut allergy and he diligently checked with the chef to be absolutely certain there were no nuts. He cautiously said some of the bread had a sprinkling of nuts! That was reassuring that he was honest and forth coming! Alberto's is one of my favorite restaurants downtown and in Naples! I recommend it to newcomers and to anyone that comes to visit.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful, delicious and excellent serv ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Delightful, delicious and excellent service from Elizabeth

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very expensive , good but o ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was very expensive , good but over priced . We even had to pay for bread !!! The wine we ordered was $64 ( an be purchased for 14.99 ( Really ?) Dinner wa well over $225 for 2 peopl ...WOW !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

We ate at the bar, Jessica was a delight ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We ate at the bar, Jessica was a delight. We will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Year's Eve dinner was a total rip of ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner was a total rip off. They only had a fixed price dinner without the client being notified in advance at reservation time. The menu was overpriced, twice the price of the regular menu. The food was excellent but the service was terrible. The service had to verify our order twice. When dinner arrived (not all at the same time) they got it all to the wrong people. On top of that they charged us 10$ more on our credit cards. We used to go to that restaurant every time we were in town but our friends and us will not go back. We feel totally ripped off. No surprise that the restaurant was not full. Charging 135$ per person for a dinner worth half the price, with service of a bad restaurant is outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Service and food was excellent for NYE..

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service and food was excellent for NYE..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prix fixe menu on New Year's Eve was ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The prix fixe menu on New Year's Eve was wonderful-the pricing, not so much. Standard menu items were more than double the regular price. Apparently, this is standard practice in Naples on New Year's Eve. We will be eating at home on 12/31 from now on and enjoying this fine restaurant on a nonholiday evening when the pricing more accurately reflects the value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

$115 for appetizer, entree an dessert fo ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

$115 for appetizer, entree an dessert for one person. Did not insclude drinks. Waaay too expensive and the food was average. Service was not that good. Forgot our drinks and missing 2 place settings. Had to ask for it twice. You are paying because it's on 5th avenue in Naples.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Our best meal in Naples. Scallops, Sea B ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our best meal in Naples. Scallops, Sea Bass, Pasta- all excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was our 1 st time dining here & we al ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was our 1 st time dining here & we all enjoyed the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was good. Ordered mussels a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was good. Ordered mussels as an appetizer, salad with Brie cheese, veal tenderloin, and butternut squash ravioli with duck. The Brie cheese was the excellent. If you love Brie cheese, you have to try it. The veal tenderloin was very tender and highly recommend it. We did not try any desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a very nice Christmas Eve dinner ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a very nice Christmas Eve dinner at Alberto's on Fifth. I had a very good salad as a starter and then the branzino as a main course. I don't remember what the other two people had but we were all very satisfied with our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

LOVE Albertos. Go there often. Jessica m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

LOVE Albertos. Go there often. Jessica makes a great martini.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really wonderful Christmas Eve dining ex ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Really wonderful Christmas Eve dining experience. We were very warmly greeted by the host who quickly found a lovely outdoor table despite us having arrived 1/2 hour early. All four of us were very pleased with our meals. The fois gras was very good. Three of us had the risotto with braised beef and were delighted (risotto is my signature dish). My husband had the scallops and was very happy with them. Desserts were delicious too. Our waiter was charming and polite. Really enjoyed his company. Very lovely evening. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Christmas Eve dinner as we did ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went for Christmas Eve dinner as we did last year. This year for some reason the food was good but not great like last year.

The salads were average at best with entrees by far the best. The wine prices are somewhat pricey and for the overall experience of the restaurant, it is pushing the value envelope.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service at the bar an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and service at the bar and in dining room. Never disappoints.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Food on 5th Ave! I frequent many of ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Best Food on 5th Ave! I frequent many of the restaurants on 5th Ave in downtown Naples and Alberto's is my favorite. They have outside and inside seating. The food is always delicious . We go there for romantic evenings as well as family get togethers. The mussels appetizer is tremendous as in taste and size. All their entrees are tastey. You can tell the Chef pays attention to each and every dish prepared. I would give this as many stars as possible.

The waiters are always very nice and attentive too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent atmosphere, easy in and out, s ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, easy in and out, seated on time, food was very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice staff, food was excellent and ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very nice staff, food was excellent and authentic. The specials were even more expensive than the menu which detracts from the overall value. Nonetheless, we would love to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food! Great deal- $24 for an a ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food! Great deal- $24 for an appetizer, dinner and a glass of wine! Lots of choices on the menu. We make sure we stop here each time we're in Naples

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! We had the boneless short rib ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious!

We had the boneless short ribs with the porcini risotto.

As dessert we had the chocolate mousse with salted caramel ice cream. Both extremely good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our outdoor destiny f, waiter ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We enjoyed our outdoor destiny f, waiter was friendly , bread fabulous , yummy food

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, People Watching, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

There were 5 of us for lunch and everyon ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 14, 2016

There were 5 of us for lunch and everyone enjoyed their meals. They were all delicious and beautifully plated. We had the mushroom frittata with salad, the asparagus frittata, the ravioli, naan bread pizza and the vitto tonnado. The atmosphere was comfortable and the waiter was good. Service a little slow but think he was the only waiter on duty at the time. We would all definitely return and I would recommend Alberto's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We tried the early dining meal which was ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We tried the early dining meal which was excellent value and included a glass of wine. It is a little too early for dinner for us but I suppose as Naples has many older visitors this suits them well. The food was the best we had on 5th and 3rd Street and we would return. The set menu had a very good choice too and the waiting staff were friendly. We wanted to eat outside (as we are from the UK and do not have the opportunity very often!) sitting on the street with all the traffic going by was not a good move in hindsight though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Chef and Fabian made everything comforta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Chef and Fabian made everything comfortable for my me and my family including gas heating lamps next to us with our preference for outdoor seating

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything was delicious! Look forward t ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was delicious! Look forward to the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service at Alberto's on fifth was ex ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The service at Alberto's on fifth was exceptional. We saw a dish on Yelp that was no longer on the menu, but the chef/kitchen staff offered to make the dish for us even though it was no longer offered. The food was delicious - the scallops, homemade pasta, and red snapper were stand-out entrees.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and service. Each of th ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Outstanding meal and service. Each of the four of us had a different entree and all four were amazing. Alberto's never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alberto, Fabian and Victor made our dinn ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Alberto, Fabian and Victor made our dinner such an exceptional experience. We requested an outside table and actually received one. Victor was attentive and helpful. The pasta dishes we selected were delicious. We'll be back. Soon!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. We went over Thanksgi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was amazing. We went over Thanksgiving weekend and every thing was so festive with Christmas right around the corner!! The staff was very nice and professional.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great... Always dine here when v ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food is great... Always dine here when visiting Naples. Rated food a 4 vs 5 .... the scallops appetizer was not tender but the sauce was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.