About Alberto's on Fifth

868 5th Ave South
Naples, FL 34102
View Larger Map

WELCOME TO ALBERTOS RESTAURANT

Chef Alberto Varetto creates the finest in contemporary Northern Italian cuisine.His culinary interpretations emphasize seasonal ingredients, while creatively respecting the great traditions of Italian gastronomy, The glory of Italian cooking is fresh ingredients, served at their peak and handled in a way that flatters, rather than masks, their personalities.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch – 11:30am to 4:00pm
Dinner – 4:30 pm to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamiami Trail

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 430-1060

Website:
http://www.albertosonfifth.com/

Parking Details:
Free public garage building in the back of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Naples Trolly Tours Stop, less than a block

Executive Chef:
Alberto Varetto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alberto's on Fifth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Authentic (27)
Romantic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Outstanding Value (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
People Watching (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Casual (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Local Ingredients (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Healthy (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (7)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Scenic View (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Had reservation thru open table. Arrived 5 minutes before reservation and told it would be at least 20-30 minutes to sit inside or we could sit outside immediately. We decided to sit outside and dinner turned out great but were disappointed we would have needed to wait so long for a table inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Alberto's was very nice except for the noise level. It was very hard for the six of us to talk to each other. The food was very good. We had a reservation thru open table but they didn't have us down at all. That was extremely disappointing and we had to wait for a table to be put together. What is the point of making a reservation a week in advance when it is not honored, I guess we were lucky there was room!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

We were a party of five, went for the early dining special. For $24 we had an appetizer, entree, and a glass of excellent house wine. Everyone enjoyed the food so much we can't wait to return.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

The service we had was extremely poor! Our waiter was beyond S-L-O-W! It took almost 10 minutes for him to first greet us. With his suggestion on a bottle wine, it then took another 10 minutes to return with the wine. Once our entrees arrived, he never returned to check on us. Our desserts arrived from the kitchen before our waiter brought our coffee. We had to ask another waiter to send our waiter over with the bill, since he never returned and we had waited 20 minutes after completing our desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was very slow. Food was good. We've been here many times. They have good Italian food but not enough help😂

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

First time here and the food was excellent. The dishes were prepared with fresh ingredients like fresh ricotta cheese with the spinach salad. Although they were out of clams and mussels there were many entrees to choose from. Would go back in a minute.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Over charged us sgain

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Small portions, dishes looked messy - poor presentation. Sauces were acidic. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed Alberto's food and service. But, you must get a table outside. It is too much noise inside to carry on a conversation. Outside, you can watch the many great cars go down 5th and have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Went on a busy Saturday night in February. Out of three meals, two were excellent but one filet special had an "off taste". The waiter offered to bring it back to the kitchen for the chefs opinion and he returned saying the kitchen said it was fine. He made no other offer or consideration and was very indifferent about the meal which was not eaten. We will go back but hope not to be served by the same young, inexperienced waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

Just really good Italian. Service is well-intended but not always great. Food is great. Everyone wants to please and staff is abundant. I highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Everything was delicious but the noise level needs to be improved. We had a table of four and we're able to hear okay.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife and I have been coming down here from Burlington, Ontario to Naples for the last few years and one of our MUST do's, is to dine at Alberto's. We love it and have told all our friends about your restaurant and will continue to do this, so keep on doing what you're doing and the people will continue to come!!

Thank you, Eileen & Bryon Nielsen

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Waiter was very effecient & professional! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their dinner. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Without a doubt Alberto's on Fifth avenue in Naples, Florida is one of the TOP three restaurants that I have dined at in the world and most certainly without a doubt is the BEST in Naples. Each time that I have been, what I have ordered was beyond expectations and left me simply wanting more. I haven't had anything less than pure perfection. The owner and chef is absolutely superb in his culinary skills. I just cannot rave enough about Alberto's of Fifth! This is not New York Italian cooking, this is TRUE Italian cuisine! This is most certainly one place you don't want to miss out on!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I picked this restaurant for our Valentine's Day date night. I realize this was a very busy night. Even though we had a reservation, the hostess seated walk ins in prime seating before us. We ended up at an inside table with patio chairs. The server was very slow to greet our table, and although the restaurant tables thinned out as people finished their meals, our service was marginal throughout the meal. The food was wonderful, but I was uncomfortable due to the poor service.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fantastic food and service! Highly recommend the mushroom risotto with beef rib.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our fourth visit to Alberto's and delicious meals every time. We have been to early dinners on each occasion and service is excellent but a tiny bit rushed- I understand why given the very good value of the meal and the need to turn tables. Even with that Albertos remains my favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We are frequent diners at Alberto's. Although the food is consistently excellent, this time the service was slow and the waiter brought the wrong order to one in our party. We will certainly return as this might have been a one off, but it did put a bit of a damper on what is normally an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A delightful, authentic experience with incredible staff. Scallops grilled to perfection. Pasta was delicious as well. A nice wine menu and alfresco dining made this a wonderful 5th experience. The wait staff was second to none: prompt, attentive, and helpful without being intrusive. The tiramisu was the best we've ever had!

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent menu, great value. Attentive staff. Clean, bright atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Sorry to say we won't be revisiting Albertos any time soon. Horrendous experience. Overdue to be sat by 25 min. Our server was not "on" . Rushed everything but getting our food out on time. Paid NO attention to our table. Chatting with others, taking pics and completely unprofessional. During high Season in Naples, I feel a MUST to provide professional service and food. Too many wonderful choices to experience a bad evening. My dish was downright tasteless. Had to pick my shrimp out of a shell! Pasta over cooked and butter galore making it hard to even stomach. Never told that was how it was made. I always am truthful in my reviews. This was downright disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. Great ambience, food and service! We will be coming back again next yerar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent overall dining. Wonderful evening. Food is always consistent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were old friends getting together for an evening, and Albertos was a wonderful spot for all of us. It was Super Bowl Sunday and it was quiet. The staff and the food was wonderful. We had the opportunity to try what we wanted to eat, and the time to catch up and talk without interruption. Our experience was just perfect, as always when we go to Albertos.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love Alberto's! We especially like their early bird menu and offer. This time we ate later and ordered from the full menu. The foie gras and burrata were amazing. Surf and Turf was ok. Steaks were perfectly cooked but lobster tail was small and a bit dry. I wish I would have gone with the scallops as they are wonderful. Will go back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent sophisticated northern Italian food in a comfortable quiet environment. Very good value for money. Easy parking. Very good service.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Disappointing and did not live up to the reviews. This was an ordinary meal which, with a mid-priced bottle of wine, cost close to $200 with tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent experience. Great food and strong drinks! Love going to this restaurant.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our dinner was most delicious and enjoyable!!! Our waiter went out of his way to have a special drink made for me - wasn't easy but much appreciated! Also tweeted my dinner to customize to my diet. We will definitely go again!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food, service was fine. Very good choice for italian

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding meal and service. Always a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Alberto's. The waiter was great, the food was awesome, and the atmosphere was so enjoyable. Definitely will go again!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I ordered the veal with mushroom gravy. The veal was nice and tender but I set it back because the gravy was much to salty. They brought out another portion with the sauce on the side. I found the veal was good and did not need the gravy.

Another member at our table of 6 had the steak which she said was a little tough.

In the many times we have gone there the servers are not friendly and do not smile

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

the best early bird so far lot of starter choice and lot of dinner choice, honest wine

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This used to be my favorite restaurant but the waitstaff was not good and the food was not the same quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Alberto's is one of my favorite restaurants- food is always good. Service varies.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome restaurant - very friendly owners. Must experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Dinner with out of town guests

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent food. and our waitress was outstanding. When we are in Naples Alberto s is a must stop.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Have been here numerous times and it never fails to disappoint. Food is great as is the service. Will keep going back

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 24, 2017

A Little Disappointed this time. One of my favorite restaurants. My husband really enjoyed his dinner of Roasted Beet salad and Tagliatelle pastas. I was not so happy this time with

my steamed mussels and bolognese pasta. The mussels were not cooked properly and

the pasta sauce was bitter

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The staff was friendly and did not rush us. The food was well prepared

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Their food is delicious! The mussels appetizer is so good and huge that with some bread it can be dinner! Even with the early bird menu everything is excellent unlike some restaurants that don't offer the same quality and quantity during specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Still at the top of his game. This is a place that does zero advertising and relies solely on foodie reviews and word of mouth endorsements. I should not be surprised that this risky business plan has been successful as it is the food that carries the day. I once asked the editor of Naples Magazine why Alberto's was ranked in her magazine. She acknowledged it was among the best eateries in town, but would never be listed as it was not an advertiser. Hmmmm!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Early bird dining is great value from a good menu. Good house wines.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went to Alberto's last week with friends and my spouse. Been there before and tried something different this trip. The risotto with short rib was excellent. Very tasty and looked great also. I also had a basic salad that was good but not anything out of the ordinary. My wife had the salmon which was excellent. Both dishes I would highly recommend. Our friends had the lobster raviolis and the pasta in a meat sauce which they said were very good. The drinks were priced a bit high but not too bad. The atmosphere inside was very good and the bar looks good also. The service was excellent and the overall prices were maybe on the bit higher than normal but still ok for 5th avenue. Overall I gave 5 stars and I would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great early bird menu... Their food is very good! Service very attentive as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We love this restaurant and always recommend it to others! I made a reservation for friends attending a workshop - they arrived an hour late for their reservation but were graciously accommodated and everyone absolutely LOVED the food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Alberto's is consistently good in all respects. The staff are always friendly, energetic and prompt. The menu is excellent and we have never been disappointed in any of the dishes - seafood, pasta or meat. And, of course, you cannot go wrong with their mussels.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.