Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern

AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern is located in the heart of Old Town and known locally as the "Historic Waterfront". We believe in amazing food, fun specialty drinks, and great entertainment! We value our guests and believe in goodwill and hospitality. AJ's is proud to be serving up the top 2% of USDA Prime Beef offered in the Nation and we like to top it off with a premium martini. We feature mouth-watering steaks & great seafood including Local Alaska Scallops, King Crab, Fresh Halibut & Salmon in a friendly old town atmosphere! This venue also offers fun family entertainment & dinner music. If your looking for food late...AJ's is the last Kitchen open in Homer. Established in 1941 as the Homer Cafe and Club it was the first bar in Homer and has been serving up delicious fare and drinks for over 70 years.

120 W. Bunnell Ave
Homer, AK 99603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 235-9949

Entertainment:
Dinner Music by Local Musicians including Alaska State's Balladeer, Hobo Jim

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the west side of the building

Executive Chef:
John Brown

Private Party Facilities:
Our Listening Room may be reserved for parties of 20 or more depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Darrel Oliver: (907) 235-9949

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (5)
Cozy (5)
Live Music (4)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
89 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Easy to schedule reservations on line. Very good food with regional favorites. Excellent pianist.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Homer's HOT SPOT for Good Eats, drinks and conversation with local celebrities!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

nice place, great food, live music was too loud for us to talk we felt like we had to talk very loudly, other than that it is always a great place to dine

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

When in Homer one MUST Dine at AJ's. The perfect spot for great food, nice ambiance and a host who makes a point to ensure your satisfaction. Great cocktails, service and did I mention food! Go get you some.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Another fine meal at AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse. The perfect birthday dinner. Great food, great service, live music... It doesn't get better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great place amazing steak, I will swing in next time I'm in Homer.... delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Best Philly Cheesesteak in town, big enough to split. Appreciated the tastes of several different wines to help us decide on one. And the Key Lime Pie was delicious!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We LOVE the wedge with the blue cheese dressing. Very generous portions for our dinner entree's. It was our anniversary and they gave us a free dessert! We will be back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I eat at AJ's about once a month, usually with my grandson. It's also one of the places I take out-of-town guests in the summer. The food is always delicious, and the staff always welcoming and gracious.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The cioppino has a "secret sauce" that lifts the seafood and dunking bread to a new level of gustatory excellence. Bon appetit!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always one of my favorite places in Homer -- the Cioppino was the best I have ever eaten.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

If delicious steak isn't reason enough to visit AJ's, then the sweet selection of live music must sway even the stingiest connoisseur.

Such a wonderful playset from one of many bands to perform at this delightful location, Neck&Neck appears to have enjoyed the evening as thoroughly as their delighted audience.

Between scrumptious bites of aged and seasoned steak, one's mouth should hang agape at the rhythmic serenading of a classy duo who sang Beatles art with Beatles energy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A wonderful place to dine with family and friends. We sate next to the cozy and warm fireplace and were entertained by Daryl who was "lit up" like a Christmas Tree in celebration of the Christmas Season. Great food too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Great Beer, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A true culinary gem in Homer, Alaska. This place is one of those "must dine at" establishments with terrific food, service and value! You will not get a better steak anyplace in Alaska!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was our first time dining here, as we usually opt for the more upscale & gourmet restaurant, Harvest, while in Homer. But Harvest had closed for the season. So. Nice steakhouse with well-prepared steaks, some accompanied by Mexican shrimp or Alaskan scallops. My steak came with the Mexican shrimp, which were deliciously grilled, but the steak was more medium + than the medium rare + that I had ordered, so was not quite tender enough for my taste, despite being prepared sous-vide. My husband's rib-eye was perfect. The Brussels sprouts side dish was excellent, as was the meaty borscht soup and the beet salad. Service was impeccable, and the wine list solid. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We celebrated our 30th Anniversary at AJ's. We splurged and had king crab followed by Filet Mignon and desserts. The crab was awesome and the steaks were perfectly cooked (as usual). Darrel is always a joy and the waitstaff very attentive without being intrusive. We highly recommend Aj's and look forward to our next dinner there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Best clams I ever had! The service was very good. Nice wine list. I will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We keep coming back because the consistency in the food is good. Hubs had a ribeye and I had the prime rib. His was very good and mine was ok (a little tough, sadly), but we love our salads and can't beat the lemon-rhubarb martini! Next time I am trying the burger.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I come to the Kenai peninsula every year. This is best meal I've had in many years. My folks live in Soldotna during the summer, and said it was better than any of the other fine dining options in the area as well. We had the calamari and drunken clams for apps--both very nicely done--especially the clams--not one drop of the sauce went unused. My Cioppino had 2 big hunks of king crab! Halibut fish and chips were perfectly done, not greasy, very crispy. My wife had the simply prepared halibut--I could tell just by looking at it that they knew what they were doing--it was cooked perfectly. The steak was done to order and seasoned with salt/pepper only. Molten lava cake was perfect to split between 2 people to finish off the meal. We'll be back next year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was great. Portions large. Accommodating staff. Really enjoyed the hobo Jim show!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We always enjoy our dinners at the AJ's Old Town Steakhouse. The steaks are great and so are the burgers. The service is always great and there is live music on certain nights of the week.

We definatley recommend them for a great dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 15, 2016

AJ's is always good for any occasion. The steaks are excellent and the reuben sandwich is the BEST.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Located in old town. Steaks were very good, cooked as requested. Lamb chop were cooked just right. Good cocktails, decent wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our salads were missing the almonds. Way too many craisins. Our steaks were perfectly cooked. The meal didn't quite compare to our previous trip a few weeks before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent salad and prime rib the only negative was there was no soup made Friday night and the waiter said the kitchen didn't have time to make soup earlier in the day. It was a cold rainy day and soup sure would've hit the spot. I heard every table around us ask for soup as well and were also very disappointed. No soup won't deter me from coming back or recommending your great food to my friends.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Surprised by how good the food and service was! Definitely a historic atmosphere. We had 4 kids with us and multiple gluten-free folks- not a problem for the staff!

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The filet & scallops were excellent & the local kale was spot on & my husband's rockfish was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Steak was very average and wife's halibut was dry. Not a good dinner experience. Would recommend avoiding this restaurant to friends and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 12, 2016

AJ's never fails to disappoint. Their steaks and seafood are first class. The reuben sandwich is the best I have ever had. And don't miss the blue cheese potato chips as an appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a very nice dinner with friends. The menue had a lot of choices, so everyone got what they wanted. Food was very good and staff were all friendly & professional. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great service on a busy night! The kitchen was a little slow but the waiter was attentive and kept things moving. Well done!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 3, 2016

A lovely restaurant in a very scenic spot. We don't drink so can't speak to the bar but the food is great. We went for the steaks on this occasion (an anniversary) but often come for the Reuben sandwich which I think is the best in town. The artwork on the walls, the piano music, the wonderful staff made us feel like we were so special. I can't say enough nice things about the time we spent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have eaten there several times, all of which were excellent. However on this particular occasion our steaks were messed up and cooked wrong. They were not seasoned. The mashed potatoes were good, but that was about all. I think maybe they had a new cook or something but it was one of the worst steak meals I have ever had. We were very embarrassed because we had brought our friends from out of town to this 'great' restaurant and it was just terrible.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 26, 2016

My wife thought the scallops were great, as we're the potatoes and asparagus. My rockfish was mostly tasteless, but I also thought the potatoes and asparagus were good. Creme Brulee and cheesecake were both good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and service is outstanding. Wife and I were met at the door and seated immediately by friendly staff. We recommend having reservations as this place filled up fast. The menu has a wide variety of items to pick from and we found that whom ever is cooking in the background knows how to prepare your food. The steaks , seafood , vegetables we ate were cooked to perfection . This use to be an old tavern in old town Homer so the outside looks rustic and not a place where they serve great food and the parking is tight so go early. Recommend to make this a stop if your going to visit Homer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2016

While visiting my family in Homer I had the pleasure of experiencing the Hobo Jim dinner show last Wednesday. We were a large group with kids and were accommodated with a large table adjacent to the stage. Service staff and management were attentive and friendly, food was served to perfection and in a timely manor. The wine list was exceptional and not something I would have expected to find in this little town. My overall experience was fantastic and I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, ample servings, friendly and attentive service. Good balance for quiet and loud areas. A bit on the pricey side, but gracious about splitting plates. Been there twice in a year and food, services and prices are consistent. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 1, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at AJ's last week. Steaks cooked perfectly, halibut fish & chips with light Panko breading, excellent salads. AJ's never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were seated immediately and the waitress was very informative, professional attentive, kind and sweet. The food was excellent and prepared exactly how we wanted. We left very happy with full bellies.
Next trip to Homer we will return to AJ'S Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern!! I would recommend the restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was GREAT, was able to carry on conversations with out raising my voice. staff very accommodating . One of the best meals we had on our trip to Alaska. will eat there again for sure

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.