Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern

AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern is located in the heart of Old Town and known locally as the "Historic Waterfront". We believe in amazing food, fun specialty drinks, and great entertainment! We value our guests and believe in goodwill and hospitality. AJ's is proud to be serving up the top 2% of USDA Prime Beef offered in the Nation and we like to top it off with a premium martini. We feature mouth-watering steaks & great seafood including Local Alaska Scallops, King Crab, Fresh Halibut & Salmon in a friendly old town atmosphere! This venue also offers fun family entertainment & dinner music. If your looking for food late...AJ's is the last Kitchen open in Homer. Established in 1941 as the Homer Cafe and Club it was the first bar in Homer and has been serving up delicious fare and drinks for over 70 years.

120 W. Bunnell Ave
Homer, AK 99603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 235-9949

Entertainment:
Dinner Music by Local Musicians including Alaska State's Balladeer, Hobo Jim

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the west side of the building

Executive Chef:
John Brown

Private Party Facilities:
Our Listening Room may be reserved for parties of 20 or more depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Darrel Oliver: (907) 235-9949

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Live Music (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Waterfront (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My daughter and I went here to celebrate her birthday. It was quiet and quaint and pretty casual. We had the ribeye and it was excellent and well seasoned. The wedge salad had a homemade blue cheese dressing that was also tasty. This is not a super fancy place, but if you want a good steak, I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Dined there with 3 friends that I was traveling with in Alaska. I highly recommend AJ's. Good time was had by all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The restaurant was full but for our reserved 6 places. None of us drink. We all ordered pretty much the something. Everyone loved the food. Such great flavor in each thing on your plate. Pretty simple and straight forward food. Bread, meat and potatoes, and a small veg. Excellent service and food I highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Excellent excellent excellent!!
We started off with the truffle fries. Amazing the best we've had anywhere.
We each ordered different cuts of beef & both were cooked to perfection & very tasty.
We finished off our meal with the best chocolate moose we've had anywhere. It was a very busy evening & our waitress was very attentive & excellent service. I'm glad we chose this restaurant. I would highly recommend going there for a delicious meal. It's every bit as good if not better than RUTH Chris steakhouse.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great place! Loved our server. Loved our King Crab and Rockfish and chips. Loved the New York Strip. LOVED Hobo Jim!!!!! Fantastic show and Hobo Jim tells the story of Alaska through his songs and show. A must visit when coming to Homer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Incredible steaks
A great staff with an overall wonderful ambience.
Our favorite is the Truffle fry appetizer

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Music, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Fabulous seafood (the scallops were tremendous and oh-so-fresh) I definitely recommend AJ's for anyone wanting fresh-off-the-boat fish or scrumptious steaks, though it is a bit pricey. We had great service as well and loved the unique cocktails!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Halibut was just a tad dry but was excellent anyway. Live music was very good (hobo Jim). Recommended by a local lady and well worth the experience. We all thought our food was some of the best we've ever had . Scallops-fish & chips-pan seared halibut!!!

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Darrel was the host with the most🎂. The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Easy to schedule reservations on line. Very good food with regional favorites. Excellent pianist.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The price was a bit high, the steak was excellent but that was it. no salad, no real sides to speak of.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Homer's HOT SPOT for Good Eats, drinks and conversation with local celebrities!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

nice place, great food, live music was too loud for us to talk we felt like we had to talk very loudly, other than that it is always a great place to dine

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 7, 2017

When in Homer one MUST Dine at AJ's. The perfect spot for great food, nice ambiance and a host who makes a point to ensure your satisfaction. Great cocktails, service and did I mention food! Go get you some.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Another fine meal at AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse. The perfect birthday dinner. Great food, great service, live music... It doesn't get better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great place amazing steak, I will swing in next time I'm in Homer.... delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Best Philly Cheesesteak in town, big enough to split. Appreciated the tastes of several different wines to help us decide on one. And the Key Lime Pie was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We LOVE the wedge with the blue cheese dressing. Very generous portions for our dinner entree's. It was our anniversary and they gave us a free dessert! We will be back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I eat at AJ's about once a month, usually with my grandson. It's also one of the places I take out-of-town guests in the summer. The food is always delicious, and the staff always welcoming and gracious.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The cioppino has a "secret sauce" that lifts the seafood and dunking bread to a new level of gustatory excellence. Bon appetit!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always one of my favorite places in Homer -- the Cioppino was the best I have ever eaten.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

If delicious steak isn't reason enough to visit AJ's, then the sweet selection of live music must sway even the stingiest connoisseur.

Such a wonderful playset from one of many bands to perform at this delightful location, Neck&Neck appears to have enjoyed the evening as thoroughly as their delighted audience.

Between scrumptious bites of aged and seasoned steak, one's mouth should hang agape at the rhythmic serenading of a classy duo who sang Beatles art with Beatles energy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A wonderful place to dine with family and friends. We sate next to the cozy and warm fireplace and were entertained by Daryl who was "lit up" like a Christmas Tree in celebration of the Christmas Season. Great food too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Great Beer, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2016

A true culinary gem in Homer, Alaska. This place is one of those "must dine at" establishments with terrific food, service and value! You will not get a better steak anyplace in Alaska!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our first time dining here, as we usually opt for the more upscale & gourmet restaurant, Harvest, while in Homer. But Harvest had closed for the season. So. Nice steakhouse with well-prepared steaks, some accompanied by Mexican shrimp or Alaskan scallops. My steak came with the Mexican shrimp, which were deliciously grilled, but the steak was more medium + than the medium rare + that I had ordered, so was not quite tender enough for my taste, despite being prepared sous-vide. My husband's rib-eye was perfect. The Brussels sprouts side dish was excellent, as was the meaty borscht soup and the beet salad. Service was impeccable, and the wine list solid. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We celebrated our 30th Anniversary at AJ's. We splurged and had king crab followed by Filet Mignon and desserts. The crab was awesome and the steaks were perfectly cooked (as usual). Darrel is always a joy and the waitstaff very attentive without being intrusive. We highly recommend Aj's and look forward to our next dinner there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Best clams I ever had! The service was very good. Nice wine list. I will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We keep coming back because the consistency in the food is good. Hubs had a ribeye and I had the prime rib. His was very good and mine was ok (a little tough, sadly), but we love our salads and can't beat the lemon-rhubarb martini! Next time I am trying the burger.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I come to the Kenai peninsula every year. This is best meal I've had in many years. My folks live in Soldotna during the summer, and said it was better than any of the other fine dining options in the area as well. We had the calamari and drunken clams for apps--both very nicely done--especially the clams--not one drop of the sauce went unused. My Cioppino had 2 big hunks of king crab! Halibut fish and chips were perfectly done, not greasy, very crispy. My wife had the simply prepared halibut--I could tell just by looking at it that they knew what they were doing--it was cooked perfectly. The steak was done to order and seasoned with salt/pepper only. Molten lava cake was perfect to split between 2 people to finish off the meal. We'll be back next year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was great. Portions large. Accommodating staff. Really enjoyed the hobo Jim show!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We always enjoy our dinners at the AJ's Old Town Steakhouse. The steaks are great and so are the burgers. The service is always great and there is live music on certain nights of the week.

We definatley recommend them for a great dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2016

AJ's is always good for any occasion. The steaks are excellent and the reuben sandwich is the BEST.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Located in old town. Steaks were very good, cooked as requested. Lamb chop were cooked just right. Good cocktails, decent wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our salads were missing the almonds. Way too many craisins. Our steaks were perfectly cooked. The meal didn't quite compare to our previous trip a few weeks before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent salad and prime rib the only negative was there was no soup made Friday night and the waiter said the kitchen didn't have time to make soup earlier in the day. It was a cold rainy day and soup sure would've hit the spot. I heard every table around us ask for soup as well and were also very disappointed. No soup won't deter me from coming back or recommending your great food to my friends.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Surprised by how good the food and service was! Definitely a historic atmosphere. We had 4 kids with us and multiple gluten-free folks- not a problem for the staff!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The filet & scallops were excellent & the local kale was spot on & my husband's rockfish was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Steak was very average and wife's halibut was dry. Not a good dinner experience. Would recommend avoiding this restaurant to friends and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2016

AJ's never fails to disappoint. Their steaks and seafood are first class. The reuben sandwich is the best I have ever had. And don't miss the blue cheese potato chips as an appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a very nice dinner with friends. The menue had a lot of choices, so everyone got what they wanted. Food was very good and staff were all friendly & professional. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.