About AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern

120 W. Bunnell Ave
Homer, AK 99603
View Larger Map

AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern is located in the heart of Old Town and known locally as the "Historic Waterfront". We believe in amazing food, fun specialty drinks, and great entertainment! We value our guests and believe in goodwill and hospitality. AJ's is proud to be serving up the top 2% of USDA Prime Beef offered in the Nation and we like to top it off with a premium martini. We feature mouth-watering steaks & great seafood including Local Alaska Scallops, King Crab, Fresh Halibut & Salmon in a friendly old town atmosphere! This venue also offers fun family entertainment & dinner music. If your looking for food late...AJ's is the last Kitchen open in Homer. Established in 1941 as the Homer Cafe and Club it was the first bar in Homer and has been serving up delicious fare and drinks for over 70 years.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 235-9949

Entertainment:
Dinner Music by Local Musicians including Alaska State's Balladeer, Hobo Jim

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the west side of the building

Executive Chef:
John Brown

Private Party Facilities:
Our Listening Room may be reserved for parties of 20 or more depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Darrel Oliver: 9072359949x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Most Booked
Homer
Best Restaurants in Homer ›

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Fit for Foodies (10)
See All
Romantic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Notable Wine List (6)
Scenic View (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (2)
Live Music (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
71 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best clams I ever had! The service was v ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Best clams I ever had! The service was very good. Nice wine list. I will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We keep coming back because the consiste ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We keep coming back because the consistency in the food is good. Hubs had a ribeye and I had the prime rib. His was very good and mine was ok (a little tough, sadly), but we love our salads and can't beat the lemon-rhubarb martini! Next time I am trying the burger.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I come to the Kenai peninsula every year ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I come to the Kenai peninsula every year. This is best meal I've had in many years. My folks live in Soldotna during the summer, and said it was better than any of the other fine dining options in the area as well. We had the calamari and drunken clams for apps--both very nicely done--especially the clams--not one drop of the sauce went unused. My Cioppino had 2 big hunks of king crab! Halibut fish and chips were perfectly done, not greasy, very crispy. My wife had the simply prepared halibut--I could tell just by looking at it that they knew what they were doing--it was cooked perfectly. The steak was done to order and seasoned with salt/pepper only. Molten lava cake was perfect to split between 2 people to finish off the meal. We'll be back next year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Portions large. Accommod ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was great. Portions large. Accommodating staff. Really enjoyed the hobo Jim show!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy our dinners at the AJ's ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We always enjoy our dinners at the AJ's Old Town Steakhouse. The steaks are great and so are the burgers. The service is always great and there is live music on certain nights of the week.

We definatley recommend them for a great dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AJ's is always good for any occasion. T ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

AJ's is always good for any occasion. The steaks are excellent and the reuben sandwich is the BEST.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Located in old town. Steaks were very g ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Located in old town. Steaks were very good, cooked as requested. Lamb chop were cooked just right. Good cocktails, decent wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our salads were missing the almonds. Way ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our salads were missing the almonds. Way too many craisins. Our steaks were perfectly cooked. The meal didn't quite compare to our previous trip a few weeks before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent salad and prime rib the only n ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent salad and prime rib the only negative was there was no soup made Friday night and the waiter said the kitchen didn't have time to make soup earlier in the day. It was a cold rainy day and soup sure would've hit the spot. I heard every table around us ask for soup as well and were also very disappointed. No soup won't deter me from coming back or recommending your great food to my friends.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The filet & scallops were excellent & th ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The filet & scallops were excellent & the local kale was spot on & my husband's rockfish was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was very average and wife's halibu ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Steak was very average and wife's halibut was dry. Not a good dinner experience. Would recommend avoiding this restaurant to friends and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

AJ's never fails to disappoint. Their s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

AJ's never fails to disappoint. Their steaks and seafood are first class. The reuben sandwich is the best I have ever had. And don't miss the blue cheese potato chips as an appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice dinner with friends. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a very nice dinner with friends. The menue had a lot of choices, so everyone got what they wanted. Food was very good and staff were all friendly & professional. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service on a busy night! The kitc ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great service on a busy night! The kitchen was a little slow but the waiter was attentive and kept things moving. Well done!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

A lovely restaurant in a very scenic spo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A lovely restaurant in a very scenic spot. We don't drink so can't speak to the bar but the food is great. We went for the steaks on this occasion (an anniversary) but often come for the Reuben sandwich which I think is the best in town. The artwork on the walls, the piano music, the wonderful staff made us feel like we were so special. I can't say enough nice things about the time we spent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten there several times, all o ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have eaten there several times, all of which were excellent. However on this particular occasion our steaks were messed up and cooked wrong. They were not seasoned. The mashed potatoes were good, but that was about all. I think maybe they had a new cook or something but it was one of the worst steak meals I have ever had. We were very embarrassed because we had brought our friends from out of town to this 'great' restaurant and it was just terrible.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My wife thought the scallops were great, ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My wife thought the scallops were great, as we're the potatoes and asparagus. My rockfish was mostly tasteless, but I also thought the potatoes and asparagus were good. Creme Brulee and cheesecake were both good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The food and service is outstanding. Wif ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and service is outstanding. Wife and I were met at the door and seated immediately by friendly staff. We recommend having reservations as this place filled up fast. The menu has a wide variety of items to pick from and we found that whom ever is cooking in the background knows how to prepare your food. The steaks , seafood , vegetables we ate were cooked to perfection . This use to be an old tavern in old town Homer so the outside looks rustic and not a place where they serve great food and the parking is tight so go early. Recommend to make this a stop if your going to visit Homer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

While visiting my family in Homer I had ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

While visiting my family in Homer I had the pleasure of experiencing the Hobo Jim dinner show last Wednesday. We were a large group with kids and were accommodated with a large table adjacent to the stage. Service staff and management were attentive and friendly, food was served to perfection and in a timely manor. The wine list was exceptional and not something I would have expected to find in this little town. My overall experience was fantastic and I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, ample servings, friendly and ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, ample servings, friendly and attentive service. Good balance for quiet and loud areas. A bit on the pricey side, but gracious about splitting plates. Been there twice in a year and food, services and prices are consistent. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining Spot in Homer

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at AJ's last week. Steaks cooked perfectly, halibut fish & chips with light Panko breading, excellent salads. AJ's never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Dinner at AJ'S

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were seated immediately and the waitress was very informative, professional attentive, kind and sweet. The food was excellent and prepared exactly how we wanted. We left very happy with full bellies.

Next trip to Homer we will return to AJ'S Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern!! I would recommend the restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was GREAT, was able to carry on con ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was GREAT, was able to carry on conversations with out raising my voice. staff very accommodating . One of the best meals we had on our trip to Alaska. will eat there again for sure

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

always a hit!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The steaks are amazing. Always cooked to perfection. My husband usually has the Philly Cheese Steak (sans bun- as he is on a low carb diet). It is always great. I have never had a bad steak here. The Reuben and Steak salad are amazing also.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St Patricks day...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Darrel and the crew did a great job as expected. The prime rib was good but..a lot of fat, but lots of flavor there.. Seemed like a good place for some locals to sing/play some classics, and glad to see a place where they can break into the scene... Overall it was great, and glad you guys are in out town.. Would recommend it to any visitors who are looking for a great steak.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best New York Steak Ever!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This was the best New York Steak I've ever had. Perfectly cooked to my preferences. It was a great place to go for Valentines Day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food and Service

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our party of six had excellent service on Valentines Day 2016. We each had a different meal with specific requests that was prepared perfectly. Our waiter was attentive and courteous. The owner stopped by our table to make sure everything was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ultimate Dining Experience!

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food, beverage and service doesn't get any better than AJ's. The wait staff is totally there to give you the best dining experience possible. And, the food is as good as it gets! And they even serve your steak with an onion ring atop. What a nice and tasty touch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wine & Dine Hot Spot

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Great food, service and excellent cocktails, too! I enjoyed a wonderful Martini with 3-blue cheese stuffed olives. Oh, I must not forget the steaks...you will not have a better steak anywhere on the planet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak Lover's Haven

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

If you are looking to get a great steak this is your place! It's nice to be able to find a place that serves up US DA Prime Steaks with a flavor profile that makes you say "mmmmm".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Little Steakhouse in Homer!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Every time we eat there the food is top notch and cooked to perfection. The service is excellent. The staff is very friendly and so very happy! . . .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great good, fun place.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Great good, fun place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Steakhouse in Alaska

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

AJ's Oldtown Steakhouse & Tavern is a great Steakhouse and it's in Homer Alaska of all places!

On weekends there is live music in the back area so you hear the music but you still are able to talk.

Now let's talk Dessert...Another wow, homemade and large portions!

Whenever I'm in Homer this is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Superb Place for Great Steaks

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

A great place to dine in old town Homer and the service and food is always consistently great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a REAL Steakhouse.

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

When you're in Homer I certainly recommend this as one of those MUST dine at restaurants. Great bar, food and our waiter Ryan's impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time to AJ's

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Food was great. Beer selection was great. Prices were okay by Alaska standards. The shrimp Alfredo was phenomenal. There was at least a stick of butter in the sauce. Ample parking. Service folks were very nice. I will be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

AJ's has the best steaks, service and atmosphere.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Since living in Alaska I seldom order a steak that tastes great but since discovering AJ's I find that I find excellent tasting steaks consistently each and every time I order one. In addition the atmosphere with the excellent local musicians playing soft background music make the dinning experience complete. I should also mention the exceptional staff providing services from greeting to order taking, to food presentation and preparation. AJ's is a must visit destination whether you are a local or a visitor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mouth watering steaks

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

We went to the restaurant for my mom's birthday and it was very tasty. The food was definitely loaded with butter and salt, but the steaks just melted in your mouth. I wouldn't recommend eating here every day for your health's sake, but it was perfect for a special occasion. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Prime strip steak was a a tasty choi ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

The Prime strip steak was a a tasty choice cut - nothing prime about it. The other meals were up to expectations and very good. Service was friendly and attentive without hovering. Not our best meal in Homer, but OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

good food at fair price, good bar choice ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

good food at fair price, good bar choice and liberal . excellant mussels in curry sauce

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.