Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

INC American Bar & KitchenINC American Bar & Kitchen
(51)
Contemporary American | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Esquina Latina Restaurant & LoungeEsquina Latina Restaurant & Lounge
(114)
Cuban | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
The Frog and the PeachThe Frog and the Peach
(1370)
American | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Due MariDue Mari
(1123)
Italian | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Steakhouse 85Steakhouse 85
(812)
Steakhouse | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
HotokeHotoke
(31)
Contemporary Asian | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Glass Woods Tavern - Hyatt Regency New BrunswickGlass Woods Tavern - Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
(111)
American | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Portuguese FishermanPortuguese Fisherman
(45)
Portuguese | East Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Garden State Ale House - New BrunswickGarden State Ale House - New Brunswick
(80)
Contemporary American | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
ClydzClydz
(537)
Contemporary American | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Old Man Rafferty's - New BrunswickOld Man Rafferty's - New Brunswick
(30)
American | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Brother Jimmy's BBQ-New BrunswickBrother Jimmy's BBQ-New Brunswick
(52)
Barbecue | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Delta'sDelta's
(682)
Southern | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Cucina Mandreucci at Edison PizzaCucina Mandreucci at Edison Pizza
(7)
Italian | Edison, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now
Catherine LombardiCatherine Lombardi
(1117)
Italian | New Brunswick, New Jersey - Central
Reserve Now

About Aja Asian Cuisine

28 US Hwy 1
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
View Larger Map

"AJA" MEANS "WELCOME" IN HINDI...
WHICH IS THE PRINCIPLE & THE VISION STANDING BEHIND US

Only at Aja will you find a unique blend of trendy Pan Asian cuisine, music and design. Aja is born of the passion & spirits of creating a comfortable lifestyle restaurant that not only offers delicate gastronomy, hand-crafting mixology, graceful hospitality, but also creates a vibrant ambiance that travels you to another time & space in an open and inviting atmosphere.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday
Kitchen: 11:30 am - 10:30 pm Bar: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Tuesday
Kitchen: 11:30 am - 10:30 pm Bar: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Wednesday
Kitchen: 11:30 am - 10:30 pm Bar: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Thursday
Kitchen: 11:30 am - 10:30 pm Bar: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Friday
Kitchen: 11:30 am - 11:30 pm Bar: 12:00 pm - 1:00 am

Saturday
Kitchen: 1:00 pm - 11:30 pm Bar: 1:00 pm - 2:00 am

Sunday
Kitchen: 1:00 pm - 10:30 pm Bar: 1:00 pm - 12:00 am

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 249-5888

Website:
http://www.aja-newbrunswick.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Sort By:
Newest
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Been here a bunch of times. Service can be slow but the food is great and the prices cant be beat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Worst host ever

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The host was incredibly rude. I have never in my life has someone walk me to a table, throw down menus and walk away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Beautiful Building, even better design inside!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It is an absolutely wonderful experience all around! Amazing food, great prices and value for lunch specials, and the ambiance is stunning. Great for Lunch Specials, but also for romantic dining experience. 10/10 would eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I can here to catch up with an old frien ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

I can here to catch up with an old friend visiting from Ohio. We had a really great time. Our device was amazing, the food was phenomenal, and the drinks were good too. We ordered edamame, an assortment of sushi, pad Thai, and dessert.

Highly recommend! Just make sure you don't pass it driving on the freeway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great but the service was l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The food was great but the service was less than stellar. The waitress was very inattentive and seemed annoyed by the presence our 7 party table. She left us sitting for a long period of time without taking our order and it wasnt very busy. She never checked in with us after our food was delivered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Table size not appropriate to group size

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

One would think that when you make a reservation and have informed the restaurant about the number of people in the group, the table size would be appropriate. We were a group of five - four adults and a child and we were having such a tough time fitting just the dinner plates on the table, leave alone the food. Other than that, we loved the food, the ambiance and the cocktails are to die for!! Our server was wonderful :) And oh! The heat in the rest rooms was not working and despite the space heaters that they had kept, the place was FRIGID!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

It was okay could definitely use improvement

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

The atmosphere was nice.. The waitress was okay , the orders were jumbled and not correct.. Food took very long to come out.. but they apologized..

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Good ( and LOUD!)

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

The food is fresh, the service good unless you want something -- extra sauce, extra ginger, another refill. That takes time. But all in all, a very good Asian restaurant. We will keep going as often as possible or until our ears cry "uncle".

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The sitting was not very comfortable. Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

The sitting was not very comfortable. The tables are too close. The food was good but cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The place definitely seems out of place ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

The place definitely seems out of place for the location. Cool architectural design, very nice interiors. Food is good some interesting rolls, good sushi, great bar drinks and cocktails. Great for the area to have this place as an option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Service really needs to be better

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

This place has a great ambience and the food was good however the service needs help. Our server was new and perhaps this was the reason why in that case maybe the training could be better. She consulted another server with our questions and both were unable to provide any input on their wine list and didn't offer samples when my friend was asking about 2 different wines. She even asked if she could try a sample and she was told no. The three of us ordered wine and two of out the three pours were significantly more. When asked about why one glass had less and whether it could be topped off to match the others, the server said they made a mistake on the other two and didn't say anything about the glass that had the least amount. We just left it alone but my recommendation would be for this place to work on their service as many other reviews echo the same message.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

AMAZING SUSHI & SERVICE

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

As soon as my boyfriend and I walked in we were greeted. The appetizers came quick, which was great considering we were starving. It's a little pricey but you get what you pay for when you order great tasting sushi. This was the best sushi I have ever had. I got a Phantom roll and a Foxy lady roll. The Phantom had mango, tuna, yellow tail and salmon, the mango made the roll. It was the perfect amount of sweetness to add to my roll. The Foxy Lady roll was delicious too, it was Salmon, yellow tail and avocado top w. spicy tuna and crunch served w. eel sauce which was good too. My boyfriend got a lobster roll that had fried banana in it which sounded gross but was also amazing. The only bad thing about this place is that I wish they had a larger wine selection. When you eat seafood you are suppose to pair it with a white or blush, unfortunately there were only 3 or 4 whites. With the restaurant being in an upper class I expected to have a larger menu of wines. Other then the wine issue this place is a definite 4/5. We will definitely be going back!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was not bad, I have had better ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

The food was not bad, I have had better hibachi elsewhere. The service was horrendous, we were in the restaurant over two hours. It wasn't busy in the restaurant at all, maybe 5 other full tables. Our waitress seemed content on only helping her other table and ignoring the 5 of us. We got our food rather quickly, she forgot about us after that. She never came around if we wanted dessert or the check. We flagged the bus boy down multiple times to get the check. Once we got the check it took forever for them to come back to retrieve it. Once they did it took an additional 15 minutes to get it back. Overall it took close to an hour to get the check and pay. We very easily could have left the restaurant without paying for the lack of attention we received from the workers.

We were excited to try the restaurant with us moving into the area. We would have come back again if the service wasn't so horrible. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Ah-ja

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

Loved almost everything I had here. The Summer Blossom roll was off the hook! And my tamarind duck was very tasty. The only dish i did not enjoy was the fried ice cream- skip that. My only complaint was that our waitress was borderline incompetent....she forgot parts of our order and and couldn't understand a word I said. It was if she didn't know the menu at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Always very good.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

We always enjoy going to Aja. Grandchildren also love going to Aja.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Neighborhood Eatery

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Aja is where Fudruckers's used to be on Route 1. Lovely decor and the coy pond is a nice feature as you walk in. The service was great, the food was good. our review must be at least 50 characters. We had a two year old with us, the child's plate was very unique (maybe sushi should be left off). We sat at a table near back by the windows so had a little extra light. I would imiagine night time is very dark. Overall a good experience and would go back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a nice, quick dinner here last night ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

Had a nice, quick dinner here last night. We were seated promptly, waiters were attentive, and food was yummy & piping hot :) I had the tropical mango chicken and my fiance had the tangerine beef. I appreciate that they don't serve ridiculous sized portions because I finished most of mine, and my fiance finished his without feeling overstuffed! If you're not into small portions for better quality and higher prices, then don't come here. I can't vouch for the sushi since neither of us had any, but the presentation was very nice. All in all, a lovely date night. As someone that likes strong drinks, their cocktails are a little past what I'd enjoy with dinner, but great if you wanna get tanked :P we weren't offered dessert, just the check right away. Not that I wanted any, but I wanted to be able to say no ;)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A lovely upscale decor dining solo, dat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

A lovely upscale decor dining solo, date or group night out, family time experience without the stuffy attitude. Great service and fresh food!!

Def a great go to place...local chains need to worry.

Must go see for yourself- you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 5, 2015

This was our second time to Aja. The food continues to be great but the wait staff can be better trained. Although wait staff were very friendly I feel they were not completely familiar with the menu and the wait was kind of long to place the order.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Trendy ambience, good food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

Sushi is great as are the other Asian dishes. The ambience is trendy and upscale. Would recommend to Central Jerseyans who want a nice night out with a date for some good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great setting and food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

The ambiance inside is very nice - sets the mood without being overpowering. The food was all amazing. We ordered a lot and they spaced all the food out perfectly so we weren't overcrowded at the table. Servers were all attentive. Great place!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect for Valentine's Dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Atmosphere was great. My husband and I were seated within 5 minutes. The service was excellent and the staff was attentive to keep our table clear and drinks full. Only complaint we have is that the table for 2 was very small. If we ordered more dishes than we had, I feel the table would be overcrowded.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

First time at Aja

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We were going to a show at the State Theater in New Brunswick which happened to be on Valentines evening. By the time we decided to do dinner before the show the closer restaurants were all booked so I used Open Table to find a reservation and found Aja. Menu looked good so I booked table for 2 at 5:30. The place looked great with interesting Asian Decor. But when we went to the host, he began insisting we were booked for 5 pm even though I had the confirmed 5:30 table on my phone. This went back and forth a few times then he finally sent us to a small table close to the door where we were exposed to freezing drafts from the door. This all took away from our enjoyment. Our server was friendly and efficient although we felt rushed with food coming out way too quickly. The food was really delicious tho as were the cocktails which helped make up for the rest. I would like to try this place again, just def not 2/14! And call ahead to make sure they have your reservation correct.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Sushi and them some

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

2 couples together on a cold night. The saki took care of that for us. Drinks and apps came out quick and were delicious. (steamed dumplings, seaweed salad, tempura shrimp and veggies and chicken lettuce wraps). Our meals came In a timely manner and equaled the starters. Dragon, spicy tuna trio and tempura tuna rolls were great and bigger than most sushi places I've been to. Tamarind roast duck and sesame chicken were also great for the 'non sushi' eaters at our table. We left just as the DJ was setting up. It was odd that he was right by the front door, and I don't know if this turns into more of a 'lounge' later in the evening, but this was not a problem in any way. In all, great food, very good drinks, and even with a couple of 3 year olds running around at the next table in all a great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food great Service horrible Had to ask ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 22, 2015

Food great

Service horrible

Had to ask for water 5 times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Went on a Friday night with a 7PM reserv ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

Went on a Friday night with a 7PM reservation. Intentionally arrived early to have a cocktail at the bar before being seated for dinner. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Great food, great service, fun ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great find

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 7, 2015

I really liked this place something for everyone...Japanese, Thia, Indian

Yummy

Really listened on spiciness

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

New on my favorites list!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

We went here on New Years Eve. I had read a lot of reports about poor service, but did not find that to be the case at all. Our server was attentive, and food and bar service were both swift. This is a very nice place to enjoy a good meal with great variety at a reasonable price. I will come here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Asian Fusion

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on December 28, 2014

Good variety of appetizers and overall menu. Wait staff was a little inattentive, but overall food was good.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Sushi

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

We've been here several times and know to arrive early to avoid large crowds and noise. The food is great and, according to a friend, so are the martinis. Mom was with us for this Christmas meal and usually she just pics at her food. This time she ate nearly every bite of the teriyaki chicken on her plate....a sign that there are tasty options in addition to the wonderful sushi my husband and I had. My son's chicken vindaloo was also reported to be very good. Aja's is fit for foodies who love sushi and Asian fusion. Service this time was not as good as it has been in the past, but hopefully this was just due to the holiday rush.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

OBNOXIOUS ENVIRONMENT ENCOURAGED

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 13, 2014

We were really disappointed with our experience at Aja. It was our first time here and we were celebrating my 25th Birthday (my husband and I that is). We make an open table reservation and it took quite some time before we were seated. We were asked to wait and had to awkwardly stand in front of the doors with the cold air coming in. When we were finally seated it was right by the window at a low table (again quite drafty) across from a rowdy group. Needless to say our romantic evening went down hill real quick. The other guests were hovering over us for half of the meal and kept taking photographs with a bright flash...WORST DINING ETIQUETTE I HAVE SEEN IN SOME TIME. I asked the waitress to ask them to sit down cause they kept hitting into our chairs as they were goofing around and she said there was nothing she could do about it.

Service was spotty. TOOK ME 20 MINS TO GET A GINGERALE as other people received cocktails in the meantime. Bentoboxes which cost $25 were underwhelming especially for the money.

OVERALL WE ARE VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH OUR EXPERIENCE AND WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO AJA ANYTIME SOON IF EVER.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

I went for a family dinner. We had sushi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 12, 2014

I went for a family dinner. We had sushi platter which was a lot, but was good

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Good spot!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 30, 2014

Food is always very good -- big menu, large Pan-Asian selection. Good, dependable place to go.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Satisfactory

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 28, 2014

Went to dinner with a group. The food met expectation, but did not exceed. Service is generally slow. I ordered a side dish to come out with the main meal, but it did not come out with the meal. Seemed like the server forgot to put the order in as the group was finished with dinner when the side came out. The food meets expectations as far as Asian cuisine so no complaints there.

GO GATORS!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Good and loud!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

The food is always very good but the noise level seems to be louder each time we go. All those hard surfaces don't help.

Portions are large and the prices moderate. Good place to go.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

New fave hot spot!!!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

I came with a small group for dinner to kick off my friend's bachelorette. I would come here again in a heartbeat! The decor is phenomenal! I love everything about it! The food was amazing! There wasn't one thing we didn't like. The service was great too! I am looking forward to my next meal there. Definitely give this place a try if you haven't been there already!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty dining room lack luster food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

My family went to Aja because of its mix of Asian cuisines that would appeal to the whole fam. I had Japanese/Thai, my husband had Chinese, and our daughter had a Chinese, Malaysian combo. I ordered a $25 Bento Box which was decent but the pad Thai was definitely made with way too much basil. My husband said his tangerine beef was also mediocre at best. Our daughter wanted wonton soup and beef satay. The soup was good and the beef itself but the satay sauce was way too thick and lacked the peanut flavor save for the chop nuts on top. The consistency of this sauce was a strong likeness to refried beans. Overall this $100 meal after tip for our 3 meals (baby had his own food) was very underrated for the price. Big plus for the pretty decor!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Excellent Sushi

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

This was our second visit to Aja. The sushi was excellent and the presentation very artistic. Each of the 4 of us enjoyed our meals, and one said he had the best martini ever! The one thing that surprised us is that we were charged for tea. The noise level was more subdued this visit, but I do know it can get noisy here. The food, however, makes it worth it. Not a great place for a romantic dinner, but definitely a good spot for sushi lovers.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Terrific for our crowd!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 15, 2014

There were approximately 16 of us and our service level was terrific. The appetizers came out in short order and we kept them coming.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 27, 2014

The drinks are made just right, the food is fresh and comes out quickly. And the service is outstanding. Can't wait to go back

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.