Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About AGGIO - Baltimore

Bryan Voltaggio, the chef behind the acclaimed restaurants Volt and Family Meal in his hometown of Frederick, and Range in Washington, opens his first restaurant in Baltimore.

614 Water Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5-10 pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11:30 am - 3 pm

(Closed Monday)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 528-0200

Website:
http://www.volt-aggio.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10 (cash only)
Guests are offered $7 parking validation at Harbor Park Garage,

AGGIO - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Romantic (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I had a friend in from Boston and was hoping for a great food experience. Maybe it was an off night and I sure hope so for Voltaggio's sake. However, I will never know because there will be no return visit. We ordered the octopus appetizer and it was not eatable. It was fishy and gummy and clearly not fresh. We both had the hangar steak and although the temperature was perfect (they use the sous vide method at 158 degrees for one hour) they failed to get a good sear on the outside which rendered the steak with a texture that was not appealing. I also had a Big Tuscan red glass of wine for $16. The bottle had clearly been left open for too long and not stored properly. Also served in the wrong glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had double wedding anniversary celebration at Aggio on Saturday evening. Terrific food and really fine service. I was surprised that the restaurant was so empty and was a bit disconcerted when we arrived and there was no one at the front desk or bar for 4-5 minutes. Originally seated in bar, but easily moved upon request to white linen-ed table. Server was casually dressed but perfectly attentive, with good descriptions of menu items and recommendations. Pleasant ambiance, excellent food and service. Sad there were so few guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I want to hear on a date this past Saturday. It's a nice place to go. The food and drinks were awesome. Believe it or not this place is cheaper than Phillips seafood in the inner Harbor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Food is fantastic. A real gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2017

There must have been a staffing problem in the kitchen. There weren't many people in the restaurant, but the food took a long time to arrive, the two meals came at different times, and some people came in and left without ordering. The food was delicious once it finally arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

There have been some changes at Aggio since the last time we were in. I am not one to give negative reviews, but everything about this restaurant was different. The atmosphere. The wine selection. The food selection. Last year this was our favorite dining experience and could not wait to go back. This year was .... much less than that. We spoke to the new manager about the changes and she was great! I hope she can help bring back this local gem to what it was in past experiences. Next time we are in Baltimore we will check it out to see! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was delicious. Sadly pasta portion was ridiculously small.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved it! Kasey was in training but was super attentive. Carly offered excellent suggestions for food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I read lots of reviews before making our reservation (wife and I were in town for a wedding and wanted a special date night), and wasn't really sure what to expect - it seemed like reviews were either really good or really bad. So we didn't really have any expectations when we walked in and decided to keep an open mind even though the restaurant was almost completely dead on a Friday night. I'm so glad we decided to take the chance, because our experience there was absolutely fantastic! Our waiter was awesome and very attentive and the food was incredible - best brussel sprouts ever and the pasta was amazing. We even finished up the night with their house-made Lemoncello. The manager also came by to check on us and made sure everything was taken care of. I think they might have had a rough start and have changed a lot of things recently - definitely go back and give them another try! We couldn't have asked for a better experience! If you are on the fence about visiting like we were, don't be.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, tiny portions, expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Interesting and delicious pasta menu. First ate here in 2015, and was excited to come back. Pleasant dining experience, but truth be told, it was a little crisper then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were disappointed. It was a nice looking space. The main dining room looked beautiful. But the welcome area was dark and made the place look closed. Some of the food was really good and some of it was ok. Brussel sprouts were awesome but the pork belly was chewy. The hanger steak was perfect but the lamb shoulder was under seasoned. The bolognese was good but served over standard dry pasta without any interesting component. The rye gnocchi was delicious and delicate. We love chef voltaggio and had one of the most memorable dining experiences of our lives at Volt in Frederick. But aggio wasn't even close to being memorable. Even the bathroom seemed unkempt and had some paint splatters on the urinals. At the end of the night they had already cut the hostess so we had to track down a server out in the smoking area to retrieve our coats. It was a strange dining experience. We expected something really great from chef and it was just ok. It certainly wasnt bad but with so many great options in baltimore, I can't imagine ever going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was slow. Never came back around for refills and had to flag down waiters for water. Food was very small portions and expensive. Very disappointed because Volt was the complete opposite of this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was fantastic, service was great at first but the restaurant got hit hard towards the end of our meal and they just did not have enough staff. We ordered our desserts (one was pre-arranged to have a birthday candle) but then sat for 45 minutes with no drinks or food and decided to just get a check and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was a strange experience from beginning to end. Received a call that day to confirm the reservation. Tried to call back and it was forwarded to Volt. The receptionist asked us to call Aggio and did not understand how/why it was forwarded. Got to the restaurant and it was like the hostess was on drugs! I gave my name and told her that we were waiting for two others. She first tried to seat us at a table for 10 people! When she sat us somewhere appropriate, I told her AGAIN that we were waiting for another couple. We sat there for 25 minutes waiting for our friends (I tried calling my friend only to find out later she forgot her phone). I finally called the husband and he said they had been sitting at the bar for 20 mins! They gave the hostess my name when they walked in and she said we weren't there yet! Unbelievable. Our server was OK, but absolutely no energy. That said, the food was really very good -- and we tried a lot on the very small menu. We found a nice bottle of wine, but boy was it limited. I realize that it's an Italian restaurant, but come on. Two other issues: two big bugs on the wall right behind us and the lower level, where the bathrooms are located, smelled like a SEWER! Clearly an issue. The women at the next table were talking about it. They were rather disgusted, as were we! Two of us ordered a glass of wine after dinner. Had to ask for it twice. I'd be really surprised if this restaurant is in business a year from now. Brian Voltaggio: you need to take a look at your site management. The person who appeared to be the manager heard me talking to my friends about the misstep -- after I went to the bar to find them. I was not happy. He never said anything, never apologized, etc. Terrible. The restaurant was not even half full on a Saturday night. Now I know why. This review is meant to be constructive, not mean-spirited. I hope it's helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Go eat at this restaurant:
I took my fiance here for her birthday because she really likes top chief restaurants. Everything was spectacular. The cocktails were exceptionally well done. We got two appetizers: the octopus was firm and tasty but not at all chewy, the brussels were light and crisp with the occasional explosions of flavor. The pasta was probably the best cooked pasta I have had in the states. The lamb shoulder was fork tender and on top of the creamiest, finest grain polenta I have had. Dessert was also delightful: we had a cheese plate with three excellent examples of Italian cheeses and the cheese cake, which was more savory than sweet and was pared with a lemon sorbetto which was more intensely lemon flavored than many lemons I have eaten.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everyone in our party of five enjoyed their meal. I had the whole fish and it was beautifully prepared.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very disappointed! Aggio has been one of our favorite Baltimore restaurants since it opened. Six months ago we left Baltimore to travel and on our return we made a reservation at Aggio. But once we looked at the menu and wine list we decided not to stay. The menu is much more limited and the wine list, that we used to praise for its consumer friendly approach to Italian wines, is a mere shadow of its former self. So sad to lose what was a gem in the Baltimore dining scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Service was acceptable, nothing to write home about. (I am a mid twenties man so I don't expect servers to see equity in me, however it is a great touch since I regularly spend hundreds on dinner.) However the food was so underwhelming service became a minute detail. Salt and pepper are necessities not optional particularly on a tough piece of lamb shoulder or 4 day old fish. Not horrible I guess, as someone who can count on one hand how many times I've left food on the table I was disappointed. Baltimore has far to many good Italian places for someone to squander the cuisine like I experienced tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I'm a big fan of Volt in Frederick, and was therefore really excited to try Aggio. The food was absolutely incredible, and the service was fantastic. We went during a storm, so the restaurant was quiet, but the ambiance was beautiful and we could carry on a conversation without it being awkward.

I had the squid ink pasta which was incredible (and worth going back for), and we will be talking about the PERFECT brussel sprouts forever!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food here is good... last few times though, the service has been a bit slow. They seem understaffed. It was totally dead at 9pm on a Saturday. The last time I was in they had run out of beer... huh?! Based on my last two visits I'd be surprised if Aggio is still open in 6 months. Which is a shame. The other Voltaggio reataurants are excellent. Maybe it's just too progressive for Baltimore?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were very disappointed with the entire meal - only the gnocchi was good. All other courses lack seasoning and flavor. Even the tiramisu was bland. Wine was over-priced and extremely limited selection. Server could use a bit more coaching on how to describe and recommend wines for each course.

We have eaten at all the other Voltaggio restaurants so we were very surprised and disappointed by this experience. With so many other choices now in Baltimore we will not be back.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I'll start with the positive....the food was delicious. It really was good. That being said, we won't go back. We enjoy new restaurants & good food but the ambiance was completely lacking. The staff had such a low energy it was almost negative. Not sure if we came on a bad night but our server seemed disinterested and inattentive. It took forever to get our drinks, food service was very slow, and it didn't help that our table was in a bad spot (right by water station & bar) I still don't understand why - the restaurant really wasn't that busy. I wish I could say the dinner was so good we could overlook the rest but it wasn't the case. For a $200 meal - I expect a lot more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Outstanding inventive food,and a well chosen wine list.
The service was a bit slapdash...the restaurant was not busy but each step:
Ordering, receiving our first course, receiving second took longer than it should.
Other than the slow service a delightful meal and attractive setting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

After reading several less than good reviews, we were skeptical about the restaurant, but decided to try it anyway. Our server deserves kudos. She did an excellent job of steering us toward selections we might enjoy. Both of our cocktails were excellent. The cauliflower side was a tasty variation on the vegetable. The duck entree was a bit tough. Perhaps the meat was a wee bit undercooked, and the sweet potatoes were hardly there, a bit more of them would have been welcome. The carrots were burned; charred a bit too long. The pasta dish with seafood even with a whole portion was a meager amount for dinner even with the accompanying Caeser Salad which was very good. The advertised seafood in the pasta was hsrdly more than a piece or two of crabmeat. The Tiramisu was delicious; while the deconstructed cheesecake would have tasted better in its constructed form. All in all, the experience was pleasant, but not impressive. The restrooms do need a major upgrade if Aggio intends to be a serious player in the downtown restaurant scene.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Huge disappointment from a huge Voltagio (both brothers) fan. The bread was insanely good, as was my glass of Pinot. The pork appetizer and rye gnocchi were also tasty. But the lamb shoulder was over-cooked, poorly seasoned, and served cold. It was simply the worst lamb I've ever tried and unworthy of a Top chef chef. What a let-down. No wonder the restaurant was mostly empty on a Thursday night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This did NOT live up to expectations. Food was good but not exceptional, although plating was generally nice. The server was lovely and attentive, as were all staff. The atmosphere was completely strange. Seemed like three different dining room spaces on the 1st floor, not connected in terms of concept. The bathroom areas on the basement level were dingy to say the least and smelled of mildew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The restaurant seemed woefully understaffed for a Friday night. There are no decorations in the place except for a candle on each table. The service was slow - it took our waitress 10 minutes to say hello, and then another 15 minutes to bring our drinks. If the food weren't so good, I would say that I have no idea how this place is still in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our dinner here was really outstanding. The service was knowledgeable and professional. The wine presentation was excellent, informative, and accurate, which is hard to find at many restaurants in the area. The food was great. Everyone enjoyed their food, and the kitchen was accomodating. 10/10 would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The meatball appetizer was lifeless and lacked flavor. We were presented our bottle of wine 30 minutes after ordering it. The restaurant was seemingly understaffed with how flustered each was, but there wasn't an overwhelming number of guests so I don't know why they were rushing. The computer system did happen to be down but we were not informed of this until we were presented with our check and the chaos that ensued could definitely have been mitigated if there was adequate management in place. The couple right next to us didn't get the focaccia bread or utensils and had to ask for both. A lot of miscommunication and lackluster food. Also, the menu on open table is not updated and many items are not actually on the menu (I was interested in the salmon and my boyfriend in the ribeye, neither currently available). Would not recommend if you're interested in a relaxing, enjoyable meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was virtually tasteless- the potatoes and Ravens. Take was burnt and tough. Lamb shoulder was mostly fat.
Service was extremely slow so didn't even attempt to order dessert. Appeared very disorganized. System was down .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Horrible from start to finish. We were seated right away and that's the best thing I can say about our experience. After 40 minutes a server finally came to take our drink order. We tried to order drinks on their cocktail menu but they were out of ingredients. I then ordered a beer and was handed a can. My fiancé ordered a drink and took two sips and was finished. After that we had to ask for bread. The food was decent nothing special except the steak, that had zero flavor. I would no recommend this place to anyone. From poor service to decent food. There is nothing about this restaurant that is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was absolutely TERRIBLE. Nothing compared to VOLT whatsoever. Food was mediocre at best. Waitress was terrible...doesn't ask if its our first time, cant tell us about the menu, dissappeared in the back while every table is looking for her. Bartender, who was knowledgeable about the wine, was the only decent quality about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service continue to be excellent, but no valet service is an inconvenience. Aggio's needs a better location. They have the best of everything else.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Some of the dishes were tasty, but for a restaurant of that caliber, they were unable to accommodate requests for alterations of dishes. Also, 2 of us were pescatarean and there were limited choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a delicious meal here. My wife and I shared a pasta dish then we each had our own entrées. Both were superb. The tiramisu was fantastic. We were there very early- 5:15 dinner, so the place was almost empty. It was nice there, but probably would be more fun if there were more people present. This is a good place to go for a special dinner. Take your time, don't rush. Enjoy yourself to the max at Aggio!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We went to celebrate my sister's birthday and had a wonderful meal and drinks. It was very quiet - I hope they're busier at other times - it was a Thursday and very cold outside so I hope that was part of the reason. The brussel sprouts were heavenly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was mediocre, we had finished our antipasti courses entirely before we got the cocktails we ordered before ordering our food. There were bits of crab shell in my main course, which I pointed out to he waiter who then said nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went approximately one week after Baltimore Restaurant Week had ended, and to our most pleasant surprise, the restaurant was still offering the Restaurant Week menu. We ended up ordering nearly three quarters of the menu anyhow. All items were served expediently, and diners found all dishes to be highly palatable. Service was outstanding, and specialty cocktails were excellent. A great restaurant experience overall. Would not hesitate to return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We usually love Aggio and have always had great dining experiences there. Unfortunately our experience was not as good as usual. The service was slow, probably because it was a Tuesday, and the food was not on the level that we are accustomed too. It was still good, but we usually experience great! I was disappointed with this dinner. But it won't stop me from going again. I really like Aggio and the food is usually spectacular. I think we will just stick to weekend nights so we can get our regular experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.