Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - AGGIO - Baltimore

4.2
667 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Bryan Voltaggio, the chef behind the acclaimed restaurants Volt and Family Meal in his hometown of Frederick, and Range in Washington, opens his first restaurant in Baltimore.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Happy Hour: Tuesday - Saturday 4-7 p.m.
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5-10 p.m.
(Closed Sunday and Monday)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 528-0200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Guests are offered $7 parking validation at Harbor Park Garage.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wine
What 667 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
4.0
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Quite delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Our server Jonathan is great, very attentive without being intrusive and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was very good. There were 4 of us and everyone enjoyed their meal which included coquettes, meatballs, crab bruschetta, lobster ravioli, duck carbonara, and osso buco. In fact the carbonara was even better the next day. Wine list is all Italian and an amuse buche of buratta and a mortadella cream was so good. Nice vibe very minimalist but hardly any dinners. Hope business picks up in the spring as this is a great restaurant serving modern Italian cuisine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Incredible service and great food. Our waiter knew the menu well, helped us with questions and choices and was more than willing to provide sharing plates. The smaller plates and antipasti were perfectly sized for sharing and so delicious! Wish we could order one of everything. Bravo!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Superb. Limited Restaurant Week menu, but everything we got was beautifully planned and presented and cooked.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

I used to love coming to this restaurant, but it has really gone down hill. The food lacked creativity and flavor and the ambience was gone. It feels like the restaurant is going under, which is sad because it was one of my favorites.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Very disappointed. My friend and I are foodies and have never tried Aggio. Charleston, Woodberry Kitchen, Aldo's, and Ouzo Bay are favorites. I have eaten at Volt in Frederick and it was exquisite, which gave me very high hopes for Aggio. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. The octopus appetizer was delicious and the whipped mortadella served with the bread was heavenly. The rest of the meal, however, was underwhelming. The pasta was perfectly cooked al dente, but the duck carbonara did not have much depth of flavor. The pork loin was OK, but nothing I feel I couldn't have made at home. My friend hated her steak and found the flavors of the pickled vegetables and the smokes potatoes almost assaulting. The hostess staff that greeted us and gave us menus and occasionally filled our water glasses seemed to be annoyed to have to help us. The only bright side to the meal besides the octopus was a very nice and attentive waiter. We did not finish our main courses and completely skipped dessert. I expected much better. Quite a let down. Wondering if the experience was not good as it was restaurant week, but a good kitchen should not send out any food that is sub par no matter what the occasion. We will not return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Restaurant week reviews can often be lopsided opinions, that being said... Aggio felt like it might be going out of business. We arrived at 7pm to a quiet, dark, mostly empty restaurant space. The hostess was wearing a winter coat, we thought she might be leaving after her lunch shift, but she was indeed on the clock and very nice. The server em was affable enough, familiar with the menu but oversat. Drinks from bar took 14 minutes. The space was so dark we used our flash lights to read the menu.
Menu reads well, although limited to just 3 offerings per course due to restaurant week.
The food was timely, yet under seasoned. Dessert was strange but edible. Bryan may want to spend some time here. I’d give it 6/10. Meh.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Overall, our dinner experience was very good! The restaurant was not very crowded, however the temperature to all of our courses was not HOT. Our server was very pleasant, but not very knowledgeable about the wine/cocktail list. The atmosphere was very nice, dessert was my favorite course.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Every bite was wonderful! Great value on champagne by the glass. Dinning room can be chilly in Winter, so leave the skimpy dress at home and wear a sweater--the lucious food will deliver the romance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2018

This is my fourth visit to Aggio. It's restaurant week so they had a limited prix for menu; 3 courses for $35. Pasta course $15 extra. Food was creative and delicious. Service attentive and highly professional

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 13, 2018

The food was good, but just not as good as we would expect for the price and Voltaggio name attached. We also weren't really given any explanations about the food or drinks from our server. We both were under the impression that this restaurant will not be there by this time next year.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 12, 2018

I️ thought I️ would try restaurants I️ haven’t tried before or new, during restaurant week. I️ was pleasantly surprised by the setting, the service was very good. My party and I️ decided to trying everything on the menu and sample it all. Everything we tried we enjoyed!! I️ will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was upscale and delicious without being overpriced. Pastas were my favorite. Definitely go if you are in the area!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Food was incredible but we were only 1 of 2 tables with diners at them in the whole place on a Friday night at 7:30pm. Pretty strange but food was everything I wanted it to be. Voltaggio is the best.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

We made reservations for a pre-holiday dinner with friends, expecting the restaurant would be crowded. We arrived at 7 on a Saturday to find we were the only party in the restaurant. Another couple arrived later, sat at the bar and left. It was a bizarre twilight-zone experience.
The food was great though, if not over-priced, and service was top notch. Too bad - I won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 1, 2017

The food was nice, the ambiance was romantic, and the waiter made us feel like family. He was awesome.
We really enjoyed the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

The food and service is amazing! What a gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

The food and service was excellent! The restaurant was listed as fine Italian dining. They did not have typical Italian food items. Instead food choices were different and interesting and very tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was amazing as was our server Jonathan. First time there, he walked us through everything and made some great reccomendations. Definitely plan on returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Aggio does not disappoint! The creative pastas are delicious, fresh and perfectly cooked. The seafood is fresh and everything on the menu is perfectly balanced and delicious. Our service was fantastic - attentive, yet not intrusive. Our server and bar tender had great personalities and made us very comfortable. The seasonal drinks prepared were delicious and I wished we would have had room to try a few more. Another wonderful evening at Aggio!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Took both my Girlfriends here for date night was a great atmosphere and ok menu just seemed a little limited. food was decent and came out pretty quick with good presentation. waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and the crazy Italian words didn't even make him stutter. would go back a gem in charm city go if you really wanna impress someone

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 27, 2017

We were there on a Wednesday evening, at 7:00. There were only two people in the restaurant when we arrived, and they were finishing up their meal. So we were the only three people in the place. It was kind of creepy. As we were three friends catching up, we had lots to chat about, but it was very odd being alone in such a large place. Food was okay, not spectacular. Not sure i'd go again. I hope it's more crowded on weekends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2017

Amazing food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2017

I was drawn to this restaurant being a fan of Top Chef. The food was fine but not a meal I would crave and go back for. I had the duck, which I felt was overcooked and tough to slice and the farro was just ok, nothing special. I tried the Chicken Ragu and the Tonnarelli Nero which were average as well. The most impressive return-worthy item I had was the beet panna cotta, light and delicate in taste and texture. Ambience was great, service was awesome, but it was surprisingly empty for a Friday night. Great location for a small event. Still a fan of the Chef but may not be a return customer.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 14, 2017

This was my third time at this restaurant and I was disappointed. The menu was pared down considerably. The food was okay but not near the par of my previous visits. The waiter was the hardest working guy I have ever seen. He was tending bar, waiting tables and doing some kitchen duty. Everything took a long time but not for the lack of effort on his part. He was buried.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 12, 2017

I treated my friend to a special birthday dinner, and we found the meal to be delightfully authentic with a modern flare. We shared the meatballs al forno for an appetizer. I could have eaten a dozen more--the marinara was excellent accompanied by warm focaccia. We also shared a delightful hand-made pasta dish that was new on the menu. Again, it was attractively plated and was topped with fresh pesto. For the main course, my friend had the hangar steak, and I had the roast duck. Both were good sized portions but not overwhelming and tastily seasoned. On top of it all, the wait staff was amazing! A special shout out to Mike who is a very knowledgeable and attentive waiter. Can't wait to return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic food as always. The meatball pomodoro appetizer was amazing. Our entrees were delicious, we had great wine and I chose the tiramisu for dessert - also fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing. We had a three course meal and it was divine. One of the best meals we've had in Baltimore!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 9, 2017

Disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 29, 2017

Went for dinner on a Tuesday night and had a fantastic experience. We were the only people in the entire restaurant, which we were very surprised by. The food was fantastic in both taste and presentation. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner at Aggio. Octopus appetizer, fennel sausage dish with pasta --- lovely flavors. Love Volt in Frederick and will definitely return to Aggio!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 9, 2017

The decor is modern and practical but does not allow for privacy or intimacy. Service was OK but not great, rather casual, and at times we were left to wait a good while. The excuse was, that there was "a large party upstsirs". We were left with the feeling that no one is managing the place. The barman ended up serving us. Wine list is small and eclectic. They do not adhere to any quality principles, and will serve you "yesterday's" bottle, but were quick to remedy that when pointed out. As to the food, plating was beautiful and elegant. Flavors were spot on and exceptional, however, texture left something to be desired. Pasta was hard and too "choowy" and gnocchi, you had to strain to find it and very disappointing, small and hard. Overall, it felt like it is run by young, inexperienced staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Honestly some of the best food I've ever eaten in my life - definitely in my top 10. The sauce on the perfectly cooked duck, and how the mushrooms were included in the gnocchi dish, and the octopus... Everything was beyond perfect, and I don't use that word lightly - highly highly recommended restaurant for high quality food with incredible and intense flavor.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Went for restaurant week and the food was amazing - special mention to the squid ink pasta with crab, the steak, and the octopus appetizer. I was also a big fan of the beet panna cotta and my strawberry cocktail. The service was really friendly but a bit slow, though they were very kind about it and offered us some compensation for our time. Would definitely return, though I wish I had cell phone service where my table was (closer to the back of the restaurant).

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was great, but service was marginal. Definitely appeared to be under staffed as others have pointed out. It was a disappointment and will not go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

I have always wanted to dine at a Voltaggio restaurant and Aggio did not disappoint. They participated in Baltimore Restaurant Week and the prix-fixed menu was decently priced for the amount of food ordered. The menu offered eclectic options for those who may want classic versus more of a progressive style. The service was great: my server knew how to give reliable recommendations and always came at the best timing. I would definitely recommend Aggio to anyone!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Went for restaurant week - the food was pretty good, nothing outstanding.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 1, 2017

Deep disappointment. Slow service, Tea saucers as butter plates, terrifically expensive cocktails, and mediocre food. And the decor is quite bizarre. Our first table was back against a far wall and was made up of two mismatched tables pushed together. Different heights and different sizes....we asked to move and get a better table away from the wall.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 29, 2017

I attended this restaurant because of Baltimore restaurant week and the meal was excellent. From the Octopus appetizer to meatballs and pasta, to the cheesecake desert, everything tasted fresh and spot on. I am definitely planning on going back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 28, 2017

The service was very inexperienced. Wrong dishes were placed in front of us, the vegetarian got a dish with speck, and the wine we chose was not very good - maybe the wine list should be modified.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17

Tweets by Permanently Closed - AGGIO - Baltimore