About AGGIO - Baltimore

614 Water Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Bryan Voltaggio, the chef behind the acclaimed restaurants Volt and Family Meal in his hometown of Frederick, and Range in Washington, opens his first restaurant in Baltimore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5-10 pm

(Closed Sunday and Monday)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 528-0200

Website:
http://www.volt-aggio.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10 (cash only)
Guests are offered $7 parking validation at Harbor Park Garage,

AGGIO - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Baltimore
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (85)
special occasion (80)
romantic (58)
See All
notable wine list (53)
good for groups (30)
hot spot (25)
neighborhood gem (15)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The best dining experience we have had a ...

Dined 5 days ago

The best dining experience we have had anywhere!!! We were so impressed withevery aspect of the restaurant. Service was outstanding, professional and knowledgeable. Food was out of this world.GM Eric was engaging, hands on, and professional. So pleased. Made our dinner into an experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Well done the fish was cooked perfectly, ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Well done the fish was cooked perfectly, our group enjoyed ever aspect of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined 5 days ago

We went to the restaurant after my daughter experienced it for Restaurant week and loved it. The food, service, everything was great. No inexpensive but worth it for the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

The pastas are a must! Prepared perfectl ...

Dined 6 days ago

The pastas are a must! Prepared perfectly and excellent flavors. 1/2 portions shareable for 4. Pricey but great atmosphere and food from this top chef competitor!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Innovative Italian Cuisine...everything ...

Dined 6 days ago

Innovative Italian Cuisine...everything had a little twist to it. The Caesar Salad had fried oysters and a lovely dressing. The squid ink pasta in the Tonnarelli Nero was nicely al dente. But desserts really took it to new heights; save room! The tiramisu was like no other I've ever had; so light and fluffy. The chocolate cremeux was the winner, though. You have a choice of a prix fixe dinner or a la carte. The specialty cocktails are also worth a try. And try the Amaro flight. I've been to Italy twice and never saw this on a menu (but then we never went to any fancy restaurants!) These are herb and spice infused red wines and are an exquisite taste treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding! One of the be ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was outstanding! One of the best restaurants I've been to in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, even the bread. Serv ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent, even the bread. Service was also excellent. Beautiful restaurant and overall a very good experience. Only complaint was the 'dinner size' portions were actually a little small so even after having a side and dessert, both excellent, we weren't 'full'. But other than that one complaint it was truly excellent. We would go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing but the best. We loved Volt (Fre ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Nothing but the best. We loved Volt (Frederick) had a bad experience at Range and Aggio was above AMAZING food, service, everything!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit pricey, but worth it

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

My wife and I had a great dinner with an excellent wine. Service was spot-on from start to finish. The whole staff was pleasant, knowledgeable, and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

Dined on May 4, 2016

The experience was outstanding from the details of the food to the service! I would highly recommend Aggio to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding food and service

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Definitely a find for foodies. The menu had good variety and every dish we had was perfectly prepared and had many interesting and varied flavors. This will become one of our new favorite restaurants. We loved the food. The decor is a bit un-exceptional and it is not the cheapest place to eat in town. I suppose if you are a meat and potatoes diner you might find the food too exotic.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A must-go!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The service is perfect: helpful and efficient without being overbearing or pretentious. The wine list is terrific. The food lives up to both of the above; the flavor profiles are wonderfully balanced, the choices are imaginative enough that you don't feel you have seen them 100 times before, yet familiar enough to qualify as comfort food. The ambience is warm and friendly, without being overly casual.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1

Pleasant people but really slow service. ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Pleasant people but really slow service. My fish was cold and undercooked. My husband's fish was just cold. We asked for the food to be warmed up and they did just that, they did not replace the food with new pieces. They forgot half the dessert order. The coffee was mediocre. I hope they have better days.

food5
ambience5
service5

Another great night at Aggio

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Another great night at Aggio

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fine Menu + Service Undermined by 1 Thing: Salt

Dined on April 16, 2016

Ambiance is stylish (on the cool side, visually) and service impeccable. But the food disappointed for a reason that could be easily fixed: Three of us ordered a combination of traditional and original dishes (chicken parm and caesar salad as well as seared tuna, pork done 2 ways...). All had the fundamentals right, with good texture, flavor, sides and garnishes like pickled vegetables atop the pork, but every dish was marred by an excess of salt -- something all of us noticed in every course, even the cheesey "funnel cake" amuse bouche. The prices are not out of line for fine cuisine, if done right, but not with an error like that.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

While I had high expectations for this r ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

While I had high expectations for this restaurant, I was somewhat disappointed in the food. There was generally too many strong flavors, which overpowered the dishes and the natural flavor of the meat/fish/etc. Generally, I found the food, which was rather pricy, to not be worth the value. However, the service and ambiance were great.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining Adventure

Dined on April 15, 2016

Aggio is not for the meat-and-potatoes crowed! The food is eclectic, creative and adventurous. That does not mean that it always works. It does mean, however, that one's palette is challenged. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings. The hamachi was good, though my daughter had had the same thing several days earlier using mackerel and preferred the mackerel version. I had the octopus, which was incredibly tender and a total delight. The beet cappelletti with goat cheese was also first class, though the rich red of the pasta and light sauce was not shown to advantage with a dark gray plate. The other pasta dish we had, whose name I cannot remember, included sausage and beans in the sauce. It was nice but needed something bright to offset the heavy starch of the beans. The mains we shared were the cod, which was very enjoyable, and the swordfish. The swordfish/ham combination with pickled beets on top was not a successful dish, in our opinion. Inventive, but not successful. The thin layer of ham made the swordfish taste like ham, one way I suppose of decreasing the fat content of ham, but not doing much for the swordfish! In our case, it was also overcooked, though the swordfish was still moist. The pickled beets on top were a mystery to me. Colorful but not balancing well with the meat. The desserts (strawberry cheese cake and tiramisu) were great. Our sommelier was fabulous. The wine pairings were spot on. My daughter and I were amazed at the unique qualities of the nearly all Italian wines. Who knew Italy had so much more than Chianti?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just excellent

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

The food and service wasn't excellent! The attention to detail and lucious tastes were a real high point for our evening. I would recommend the octopus appetizer!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around amazing experience!

Dined on April 12, 2016

Another amazing meal at Aggio. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for and out of this world eating experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is unique with good flavor profiles ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Food is unique with good flavor profiles. Service is very strong. A nice amuse bouche and delicious bread. Another Brian voltaggio success!

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The service was extremely lacking in attentiveness

Dined on April 8, 2016

I had a gift card and am glad I have used it up... a very dissappointing meal

food3
ambience3
service4

Sometimes restaurants try to incorporate ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Sometimes restaurants try to incorporate exotic ingredients when simpler preparations would be preferred. This was the case here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Aggio is an undiscovered gem. The food i ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Aggio is an undiscovered gem. The food is delicious and presented beautifully. The service could not have been more gracious. The maitre d', sommelier, and waiter were professional and friendly. The $50 pre-fixe is a bargain: four thoughtful courses prepared with local and seasonal ingredients. If Aggio was in nyc, seattle, or portland it would be packed every night with lines out the door. Sadly, the location in downtown Baltimore keeps this gem hidden. I was visiting for 5 days and my dinner at Aggio was hands down the best meal i had.

food5
ambience4
service1

I have been to Aggio a few times, and ha ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

I have been to Aggio a few times, and have recommended it to several individuals. I am not sure what happened last night, but the service (from the main server, Mike) was absolutely terrible. He was inattentive, simply not helpful, and had a condescending attitude. Though the food was excellent as always, I am definitely questioning whether I will return to the restaurant.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Over seasoned, too salty

Dined on March 31, 2016

There were six in our party and almost all the main dishes were too salty. The presentations and the food probably would have been very good if they were not too salty. Some the party had the wine pairing and all thought that the selections were perfect for the various courses. I have to add that the other courses were very good and not over-salted.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to celebrate an anniversary a ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We decided to celebrate an anniversary and birthday at Aggio last night. I opted for the 5 course Chef's tasting menu with wine pairings. I could not have been more pleased. Everything was prepared to perfection and the pairings were deliciously complimentary to the meal. Chris Coker the sommelier was incredibly knowledgeable and super pleasant making us laugh incessantly. Andrew our server was awesome too!

food4
ambience4
service4

Service was great. Cocktails were well d ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Service was great. Cocktails were well done. Food was inventive and we'll prepared.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

great value with their pre fix menu 2 is ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

great value with their pre fix menu 2 issues - a couple of dishes were extremely salty - have not had this issue before at Aggio, so hope that it was just a heavy hand with the salt on that evening secondly, the ambiance music was rather heavy rock for a 6 pm dinner. didn't fit the vibe of the restaurant at all. service - great, wine pairings well done

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An adventure in dining

Dined on March 24, 2016

This is the 5th time I have been here. Each time I have out of town guests I take them to Aggio. The menu can be a little intimidating at first sight, but I always assure my guests everything is delicious, and everyone I brought here has loved everything they have ordered...myself included, of course!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed.

Dined on March 12, 2016

The service was ok, not what you would expect in a fine dining establishment and the food was uniformly overcooked. This was not the special dinner we had hoped it would be.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Had a terrible experience - will not be going back

Dined on March 12, 2016

A group of 4 of us decided to try Aggio as it was relatively new and we had heard nothing but great things about the restaurant. We arrived on a Saturday night for a 7 pm reservation to a restaurant that was dark, quiet and practically empty - at most 3 tables had guests. There was no hostess when we walked in so we waited for a couple minutes to be seated. Sat down and were greeted by a waiter who clearly could not care less about the way he was perceived by us. He was cold, short tempered and unfriendly. When we asked questions about the dishes on the menu he seemed irritated and simply did not have a warm welcoming demeanor. Suffice it to say, we decided as a group that we would rather go to a different restaurant with a more welcoming vibe and friendlier staff, and left without eating.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved the food and service. Art work w ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Loved the food and service. Art work was a little creepy but fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on March 12, 2016

We have eaten at Aggio three times and the food has always been outstanding. However this last time we found the Brussel sprouts way over salted . On the other hand my pork was perfect. As was my butternut a squash pasta. Grillled octopus was also carefully prepared and quite tasty. Do go but watch that salt.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Family of five who enjoy eating out at q ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Family of five who enjoy eating out at quality establishments - Aggio is right up there and if clearly one of Baltimore's top venues for fining dining. The menu was very unique and delicious The service was exceptional Great find

food4
ambience5
service5

From the bar and sommelier through the s ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

From the bar and sommelier through the salads it was hard to criticize anything. The salads may have been the very best versions our group has ever had. Ever. Most other entrees were very good and enjoyed, but my steak was just not very good. It had a crust to it, but cut too thin. Maybe I just missed what the chef was trying to say. I will go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem in Baltimore

Dined on March 5, 2016

I've been dying to try a Voltaggio restaurant ever since watching Top Chef. As always, the tasting menu is generally the best option, so my boyfriend and I gave it a go...and it was STUNNING, and so well priced!! Four course meal with wine pairing, and the food was just sensational. Flavors that I never thought to combine, along with super fresh ingredients. All 4 courses were divine, the service was brilliant and the sommelier who did the pairing was outstanding in his explanations and choices. I'd give this 10 stars if I could.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful staff on both sides of the kit ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Wonderful staff on both sides of the kitchen door. The bartender was wonderful to talk to, explaining how the sweet vermouth she used added a dark complexity to her Manhattan. The food was very attractive being plated with artistic flare and very delicious. There is a professional Sommelier on staff and I strongly encourage telling him your price range and taking his wine recommendation since that enhances the meal.

food5
ambience1
service3

Disappointing is the only way to describ ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Disappointing is the only way to describe this experience, I am a huge fan of the Voltaggio brothers and have visited many of their restaurants and had high hopes for this one. While the food was very good the whole ambiance and feel of the restaurant is awful and amongst the worst i have ever experienced. The main restaurant had little to no atmosphere and the few tables in the front bar area seemed to fare only a little better. Our server was very knowledgable but made interactions feel uncomfortable and awkward . Overall I don't think we will go back, despite my braised beef entree being one of the best dishes I have had in the last few years, I don't think the issues can be fixed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Aggio Baltimore

Dined on February 28, 2016

Aggio more than lived up to expectations. My fiance and I each did a four course tasting menu, and each course was delicious. We also did the wine pairing which turned out to be an outstanding value and very well done. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and did an excellent job matching the wines to what we had ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

We had high expectations, and Aggio did ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

We had high expectations, and Aggio did not disappoint. Ordered the fixed menu, and each dish was absolutely delicious....though somewhat difficult to describe. Really, really good food.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.