About AGGIO - Baltimore

614 Water Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Bryan Voltaggio, the chef behind the acclaimed restaurants Volt and Family Meal in his hometown of Frederick, and Range in Washington, opens his first restaurant in Baltimore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5-10 pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11:30 am - 3 pm

(Closed Monday)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 528-0200

Website:
http://www.volt-aggio.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10 (cash only)
Guests are offered $7 parking validation at Harbor Park Garage,

AGGIO - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Romantic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Grilled octopus was remarkably delicious ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Grilled octopus was remarkably delicious, pasta was spectacular....entree of salmon was somewhat uninspired and ordinary, but dessert was delicious. Overall, a very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

EXTREMELY SLOW SERVICE. I planned a busi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

EXTREMELY SLOW SERVICE. I planned a business dinner at AGGIO recently. I had been dying to eat there since it opened and I was pleasantly surprised to see open reservations during restaurant week. Before making the reservation, I noted that the reviews stated that the service was extremely slow during the preceding holiday weekend. I hoped that it was one-time thing. When we arrived, we were seated immediately. The server asked if we wanted to order drinks and then left us with the drink menu for nearly 30 minutes. Our water was refilled three times during this time. Then after the server took our drink order, we were left alone again. We had to physically track the server down so we could place the order. Then while placing the order, the server asked us over and over again to repeat the order because the server couldn't find a pen, the right page on the pad etc. we all ordered from the prix fixe menu. Antipasto, entree, and dessert. There was 45 minutes between courses and the entrees were cold by the time they came to the table. At then end of the three hour meal, one of our party had to go to the bar to ask someone to find our server to bring our check. What a disappointment. In terms of the food, the Brussels sprouts were bitter and the sirloin was cold and tasteless. Dessert was good. Would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I usually love this restaurant but the s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

I usually love this restaurant but the service and ambience were mediocre at best when dining out over the MLK weekend. It took over 20 mins to order, the sommelier was not experienced and we didn't even get the bread basket for almost 25 minutes. For an 8.15 pm dinner reservation needless to say we were literally starving by the time the food came. The food on the other hand was 5 star - the octopus was the best I have ever had. The sides of vegetables that we ordered extra ended up being the same ones that came with our entrees which didn't make sense. Still the food was delicious except for the Tiramisu which had some hardened ?shortbread inside. The ambience killed it for me- the restaurant was half empty despite restaurant week and by 10pm we were the only ones left.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

We were disappointed in the quality of t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We were disappointed in the quality of the food. From the appetizers to the desserts, there was nothing notable about any of the dishes. In fact, two of us sent back the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Had heard a lot about this restaurant an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Had heard a lot about this restaurant and when we were headed to the Soundstage I was excited for a chance to try it out. The staff was gracious, but it seemed they only had two servers working a floor of 20+ tables so things were slow. The food was good, but not off the charts as I'd heard. So, I'm glad we tried it, but not sure how soon we'll be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We went during Restaurant Week, so that ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We went during Restaurant Week, so that could have made a difference, but overall thought that there were some things that could have been better. First, the logistics: no valet parking and we had to ask the staff to take our coats. There apparently is an arrangement with a nearby garage, but we weren't told about it upon arrival when we asked, so spent $20 to park! But we were there for food and wine and weren't going to let the start spoil our evening. With the exception of a one plate of mushroom risotto that was over salted (mine was fine), the food was well-prepared. Standouts were a lamb ragu with rye gnocchi and the appetizer fried Brussels sprouts. Wine list was a bit over-priced with most wines selling for almost 3 times retail, but we did have an excellent Barolo with the meal. The focaccia bread and spreads are a special treat, but the tiramisu was not only untraditional, it wad disappointing -- with a hard cookie center that was hard to eat, and none of the sumptuous pleasure of the traditional version. Overall, it was a four-star experience, not the five-star we were hoping for, but we'll probably go back. Another note: We were impressed with the soundproofing -- though the restaurant filled up during out meal, we were always able to converse comfortably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

wow what a difference a year makes. we ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

wow what a difference a year makes. we came here last year for new years eve and had a magical time. it was so great we came back this year. it was so disappointing! our waitresses were so inexperienced. they couldn't pronounce the dishes or tell us what some of the ingredients were. one was even wearing jeans! the food itself was just ok. the sommelier was the only great thing about the night and it turns out it was his last night working there! we could see why. additionally i asked for a sambuca and was told they didn't have that but could make something similiar. ah, not really. i had to send it back. i also had to ask for more coffee. basically anything we needed we had to ask for! i really hope some changes are made and the restaurant goes back to being nice and upscale!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Every course of the NYE menu was excelle ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Every course of the NYE menu was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I grew up in Baltimore and come to town ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I grew up in Baltimore and come to town several times a year to visit family. I had been wanting to try Aggio for a while and was super excited to go! We had a reservation for 7:00 and were surprised that there was literally one other table for almost our entire dining experience. No problem there. We're happy for the extra attention. We tried the four course pre-fixe menu. The brussel sprouts were delicious!!! I could eat them every day. I had the tonnarelli and it was also amazing! Honestly, that was my favorite dish of the night. None of us were overly impressed with our proteins. I had the duck and my brother-in-law had a steak. It was fine, but nothing to write home about. Dessert was very good as well. Overall, would definitely go back, but would make different choices for our third course.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good menu and reasonably priced wine lis ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good menu and reasonably priced wine list. Brussel sprout and salad appetizers were good but rest of dinner was disappointing. Duck dish was not good...seabass was average. Both desserts were mediocre. Bill for two including tip was about $200. Way too much for an uneven dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We went for the Christmas Eve "Feast of ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for the Christmas Eve "Feast of Seven Fishes Menu". Delicious and a great value. Added the wine pairing. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and really added to the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined with wine and food friends at the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Dined with wine and food friends at the Feast of the Seven Fishes. Great food. The sommelier was very helpful with wine choices. Lovely evening all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Really solid food selections, but nothin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Really solid food selections, but nothing out of the ordinary. Service was polite and accurate, but a bit slow. It took several minutes for one of our party who arrived a few minutes late due to parking to get a cocktail. Overall good experience, but we expected more from Aggio, especially on a Thursday night during the holidays.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Would never visit again. Service was poo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Would never visit again. Service was poor and food was boring. Beet salad was 4 little bites of beets on greens. Sea bass was undercooked and the cauliflower was raw, not roasted, hard and dry. The $40.00 steak was fine, but nothing special. The house made cream soda had no carbonation, so it was syrup in flat water. Couldn't even drink it. Sorry that I didn't send everything back to the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

AGGIO was a pretty good experience overa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

AGGIO was a pretty good experience overall. It was very loud where we were sitting and the waitress offered to move us to a quieter location but at that point we were already seated and had gotten comfortable. The restaurant is modern and nicely decorated.

The food was solid and some dishes innovative. My wife and I both opted to try 3 separate courses each and we split a desert (7 total).

What we really liked: Charred octopus (might be the best we've had), lasagna (really good and way bigger than you think), tonnarelli nero squid ink (wife couldn't stop talking about it), and duck breast (amazing!).

What we thought was ok: Beet salad (best part was the dressing), tiramisu (too far of a departure from traditional tiramisu for us)

Not good at all: Lamb osso buco (looked far better than it tasted. No seasoning at all. Putting salt on it didn't help)

The bad dish didn't ruin our experience but when you're spending this kind of money you don't expect any bad food. It just can't happen. Period.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service were quite good. O ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food and service were quite good. Only complaint was it was bit pricey, especially pasta dishes. Appetizers and pasta (small size) and a glass of wine exceeded 100$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had dinner at Aggio during a trip to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We had dinner at Aggio during a trip to Baltimore based on good reviews. We were disappointed across the board. We both had the duck for the main course; it was mediocre. The dessert, pumpkin cake, had no hint of pumpkin, it was more of a spice cake. The meal was expensive and poor quality and poor value. The service staff never asked if we were satisfied with each course, they just brought out the next course. Aggio was definitely a letdown based on the expectations we had from the good reviews they have received online.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Aggio is a chic restaurant with an inter ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Aggio is a chic restaurant with an interesting menu that was almost completely empty on a Friday night- not a good sign. In addition, despite having only one other table, the servers ignored us for quite awhile and did not approach us to take drink orders until we had been seated for almost 10 minutes. They also did not return to take food orders promptly either. The bread provided was quite good but the chef's "snack" of savory funnel cake was cold, greasy and unappealing. It's as if after the success of many restaurants in this franchise, the owners have given up on this one.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

While the octopus and roasted beets sala ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

While the octopus and roasted beets salad were very flavor balanced, the squid ink pasta crab dish contained so much garlic that it totally overpowered the delicacy of the crab.

Service was very slow despite being on a Tue night with only two other tables being taken. Bathroom spelled strong and was in need of a good cleaning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Just ok. Which is

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Just ok. Which is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Need valet parking. Poor value. Food wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Need valet parking. Poor value. Food was only OK. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was very average for the cost. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was very average for the cost. The only thing that we really enjoyed was the pasta from the second course. Way overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We loved all of our entrees. Had a grea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We loved all of our entrees. Had a great experience. The squid ink spaghetti was my favorite, but everything was delicious. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hard to believe this is a Voltagio resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Hard to believe this is a Voltagio restaurant. Dry lasagna, way too much garlic, bizarre and uneven service with the bartender clearing tables, (awkwardly); the hostess was also the general manager; and all tables around us had confused orders with missing or incorrect food. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I made it clear there was going to be so ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I made it clear there was going to be someone with an allergy (dairy) at the table, both emailed and called. I was guaranteed the waitstaff was aware and would help recommend meals the kitchen would be able to make without dairy. However, our waitress was completely unaware and brought a cheese plate and funnel cake out for an appetizer. I wish they'd take allergies more seriously.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The first time we went here last year, i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The first time we went here last year, it was fabulous! This time around, it was meh. Definitely wasn't good as it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our second time at AGGIO and th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our second time at AGGIO and the food was absolutely amazing once again. The service was a little underwhelming, not sure if it is because we didn't do the full tasting menu but there were several lulls and no offer to refresh beverages. Would still return because the food was that good and hoping we were just there on an off night for service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We were in town from Philly and were luc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were in town from Philly and were lucky to stumble onto this fabulous restaurant! We started with excellent cocktails and then chose selections from the Prix Fixe menu. The portions were plenty and we enjoyed all a lot. Chris, the Sommelier, introduced each wine and told us in glowing terms why he had chosen a particular wine. These wines (all Italian) were excellent choices and this was so much more fun and better than just ordering one or 2 bottles during a meal. We will be back during our next trip to Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

What a wonderful dining experience. Agg ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 26, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience. Aggio is a thoughtful restaurant where food is crafted with care. The staff is welcoming, informative, and attentive. The food is fantastic and creative. Great value. 3-course pre fixe is only $45 and the 6-course tasting menu is $80 but the portion is bigger than most tasting menu I've tried.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was very, very good, es ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The tasting menu was very, very good, especially the vegetables and house made pastas. Service was attentive and unobtrusive. A highlight was the wine service and sommelier. We had six courses with paired wines. The wines were interesting and well chosen. The sommelier's care, candor and creativity in describing the selections were superb. One of the best "customer service" sommeliers I've ever encountered.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Strange dining experience. Food was spar ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Strange dining experience. Food was sparse though employees were friendly.

Restrooms were out of the way, downstairs and poorly laid out and Insufficiently decorated and supplied. Could have been cleaner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

A real delight. Lots of new things on t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A real delight. Lots of new things on the menu as well as old favorites well done.

Best ink pasta we ever had.

Food is as good as places costing twice as much

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, , Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Innovative in approach. The bread, and n ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Innovative in approach. The bread, and not the usual butter.. provided pate and ricotta spreads were delicious.

Entree small portions but also very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Very fancy, expensive food. Small porti ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very fancy, expensive food. Small portions, but hey, this isn't Friday's.

NO beer at the bar! How strange.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb food and wine pairing on prix fix ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Superb food and wine pairing on prix fixe menu. Highly recommend for foodies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The ambience was excellent in this place ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The ambience was excellent in this place. I think it's a great spot for special occasions like wedding anniversary (which was our occasion). The openness of the space makes it also very likable for large group dining like possibly wedding receptions or hosted events. The food was delicious and on point with portion size. We were able to enjoy all of our courses, which were all very tasty and creatively prepared! The cocktails were exquisite, I liked the "Fireside Chat" especially. And I was touched and surprised when Aggio provided a "dessert sampler" plate for my wife and I in celebration of our anniversary. We had a very helpful waitress since this was our first time at Aggio. Kudos to the chef and staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service and worse food. We had the ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Poor service and worse food. We had the chef's tasting with the paired wines. They tried to compensate with extra plates, but the food did not improve. Undercooked pasta, salty food, and then saltless meat. Tremendously disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Food and service were very good, but res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food and service were very good, but restaurant was not close to full on a September Saturday night. Value of fixed price menu was good, but portions were small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The waitress was amazing. It was my hus ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The waitress was amazing. It was my husbands birthday and we brought our 8 year old daughter and the waitress made every effort to make sure we had everything we needed and catered towards our daughter, which is above and beyond for a restaurant that is typically not a family place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Aggio's food and service always impress. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Aggio's food and service always impress. We dined early on a Friday evening recently. We ordered from the Prix fixe menu, which had several god choices. I had the Gazpacho to start which was light, fresh and very good. For my entree I had the Chicken Cacciatore, the chicken was delicious, my only complaint is that there wasn't any accompaniment with the dish, the were a few very delicious vegetables with the chicken - but very few. As we ordered our deserts, we asked for coffee only to be told that they were out of coffee because they had not received their delivery yet. When I pointed out that good coffee could be picked up almost anyplace to hold them over until they received their delivery our waitress had a manager come talk to us. The manager explained that they order a special coffee and they would not serve something that was not up to their standards. I pointed out that something to meet a customers request was better then nothing. The manager apologized and left, but then she returned a little while later with two cups of coffee she had gone out and picked up somewhere - true customer service! And the coffee was fine. The service at Aggio has always impressed me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.