About AGGIO - Baltimore

614 Water Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Bryan Voltaggio, the chef behind the acclaimed restaurants Volt and Family Meal in his hometown of Frederick, and Range in Washington, opens his first restaurant in Baltimore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5-10 pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11:30 am - 3 pm

(Closed Monday)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 528-0200

Website:
http://www.volt-aggio.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10 (cash only)
Guests are offered $7 parking validation at Harbor Park Garage,

AGGIO - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (51)
special occasion (44)
notable wine list (31)
See All
romantic (28)
good for groups (16)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Even though the menu had a few changes f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Even though the menu had a few changes from the version posted online, and we missed out on the desert we were looking forward too, Aggio was well worth the trip. The food was superb, every bite was a treat, and the menu items were creative. We received a lovely parmesan cheese funnel cake to start, something I'd never heard of before. When I mentioned in passing how much I loved my pepperoni (insert fancy french word for sauce), and wished there was more, the waitress brought out some extra.

Would love to go again the next time I'm in Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Unbelievable dining experience. Very en ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Unbelievable dining experience. Very enjoyable. We will most likely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great experience with inc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food and great experience with incredible attentive service and staff. As a fan of volt I was excited to try another of his restaurants and with that background was not disappointed, but can see where the online criticism of the restaurant comes form in that the location is not great for this restaurant concept, which to me would fit more ideally in harbor east than power plant. I can envision many people stumbling across this restaurant assuming one thing given the neighborhood and be caught off-guard to the type of restaurant it actually is.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cuisine was VERY good in presentation an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Cuisine was VERY good in presentation and taste. Service was very personable and nice. Overall, an excellent experience. Would recommend it highly to anyone out for a dining experience. The cocktails are original and very complimentary to the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and experience at Aggio are uni ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food and experience at Aggio are unique and wonderful. The staff is top notch and the menu is a scrumptious treat. This is a must do Baltimore dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is great and menu is interesting. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is great and menu is interesting. We tried a lot of dishes and all were very good. Had reservation for 7PM on a Saturday and restaurant was a little quiet, but I assume it gets more lively as the night goes on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful, as always. Chris Coler, the S ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful, as always. Chris Coler, the Somm makes the meal special with his wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely meal complete with professional ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A lovely meal complete with professional yet very friendly servers.

I loved every bit of the dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aggio provides a very Alto adige style c ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Aggio provides a very Alto adige style cuisine with excellent starters and main dishes. Their chef has an incredible talent for preparing broccoli Rabe with the exact amount of salt and hot pepper infused oil. This was my fourth time there and each time I compare it to other restaurants and realize I just should come back here. Also of note is the incredible list of unique Sicilian wines that are available on their wine list. You should try it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want to feel like a judge on top ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

If you want to feel like a judge on top chef eating one best dish after another go to Aggios

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Decent food, but for the price you pay i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Decent food, but for the price you pay it really did not meet our expectations. Best food we had, was a side of asparagus- really delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Some of the most exciting and stimulatin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Some of the most exciting and stimulating flavors in each plate of the 4 course menu I have had in many years. The wine matching was superb and highlighted the flavors of each course.

Definitely recommend Aggio to any one who likes good food and fine wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food with great friends. Will def ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food with great friends. Will definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The brunch is new. It's fantastic. A g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The brunch is new. It's fantastic. A great value at $25 for three courses. The squid ink pasta is to die for and the olive oil cake is heavenly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Aggio is my favorite restaurant in town right now. I love the extras like the savory funnel cake and the mousses with olive oil. Everything was beautiful and delicious. A real stand out this time was the spicy squid ink pasta with uni and crab. Yum.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, great wine

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Went here for dinner on a nice summer Saturday night in June with my temporarily longish-distance girlfriend.

Ordered four-course sets with wine pairings for each for 80 bucks a head. Everything was amazing. Absolutely incredible food, an inviting knowledgable sommolier, and nice servers.

Only hiccup was the sommolier missed us for our main course due to some issue, yet a server came and gave us a hearty pour in his place and he gave us a nice explanation of each after returning for our desert course.

Had a truly remarkable dining *experience*.

Would most definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great experience. $100 for two people wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great experience. $100 for two people was an amazing deal. Each course was outstanding. Celebrated an anniversary, will definitely be back for many more anniversaries. Hats off to the chefs and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The preparation is northern Italian almo ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The preparation is northern Italian almost Swiss in its interpretation of classic dishes. Very unusual and exciting change of pace. The wine list is very unique with a number of Sicilian wines. Combined with a professional staff of waiters and a sommelier that knows how to pair your dish with a Sicilian wine you cannot miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Somewhat smaller portions with the tasti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Somewhat smaller portions with the tasting menu than would have preferred...highly recommend the squid ink pasta. Great bartender who was very knowledgeable and sociable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food Experience

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was excellent and the portions for the 4 course Prefixe were generous. The wine pairing was a extraordinary surprise for us. Parking was very easy despite being in the Baltimore Inner Harbor and the area has a very safe feel with a very short walk from the garage.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Volt is a lot better! Not worth the mone ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Volt is a lot better! Not worth the money and time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

The best dining experience we have had a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The best dining experience we have had anywhere!!! We were so impressed withevery aspect of the restaurant. Service was outstanding, professional and knowledgeable. Food was out of this world.GM Eric was engaging, hands on, and professional. So pleased. Made our dinner into an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well done the fish was cooked perfectly, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Well done the fish was cooked perfectly, our group enjoyed ever aspect of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We went to the restaurant after my daughter experienced it for Restaurant week and loved it.

The food, service, everything was great. No inexpensive but worth it for the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pastas are a must! Prepared perfectl ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The pastas are a must! Prepared perfectly and excellent flavors. 1/2 portions shareable for 4. Pricey but great atmosphere and food from this top chef competitor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Innovative Italian Cuisine...everything ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Innovative Italian Cuisine...everything had a little twist to it. The Caesar Salad had fried oysters and a lovely dressing. The squid ink pasta in the Tonnarelli Nero was nicely al dente. But desserts really took it to new heights; save room! The tiramisu was like no other I've ever had; so light and fluffy. The chocolate cremeux was the winner, though.

You have a choice of a prix fixe dinner or a la carte. The specialty cocktails are also worth a try. And try the Amaro flight. I've been to Italy twice and never saw this on a menu (but then we never went to any fancy restaurants!) These are herb and spice infused red wines and are an exquisite taste treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was outstanding! One of the be ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was outstanding! One of the best restaurants I've been to in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, even the bread. Serv ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent, even the bread. Service was also excellent. Beautiful restaurant and overall a very good experience. Only complaint was the 'dinner size' portions were actually a little small so even after having a side and dessert, both excellent, we weren't 'full'. But other than that one complaint it was truly excellent. We would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nothing but the best. We loved Volt (Fre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Nothing but the best. We loved Volt (Frederick) had a bad experience at Range and Aggio was above AMAZING food, service, everything!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit pricey, but worth it

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My wife and I had a great dinner with an excellent wine. Service was spot-on from start to finish. The whole staff was pleasant, knowledgeable, and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The experience was outstanding from the details of the food to the service! I would highly recommend Aggio to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Definitely a find for foodies. The menu had good variety and every dish we had was perfectly prepared and had many interesting and varied flavors. This will become one of our new favorite restaurants. We loved the food.

The decor is a bit un-exceptional and it is not the cheapest place to eat in town. I suppose if you are a meat and potatoes diner you might find the food too exotic.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A must-go!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The service is perfect: helpful and efficient without being overbearing or pretentious. The wine list is terrific. The food lives up to both of the above; the flavor profiles are wonderfully balanced, the choices are imaginative enough that you don't feel you have seen them 100 times before, yet familiar enough to qualify as comfort food.

The ambience is warm and friendly, without being overly casual.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant people but really slow service. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Pleasant people but really slow service. My fish was cold and undercooked. My husband's fish was just cold. We asked for the food to be warmed up and they did just that, they did not replace the food with new pieces. They forgot half the dessert order. The coffee was mediocre. I hope they have better days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Another great night at Aggio

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Another great night at Aggio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine Menu + Service Undermined by 1 Thing: Salt

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Ambiance is stylish (on the cool side, visually) and service impeccable. But the food disappointed for a reason that could be easily fixed: Three of us ordered a combination of traditional and original dishes (chicken parm and caesar salad as well as seared tuna, pork done 2 ways...). All had the fundamentals right, with good texture, flavor, sides and garnishes like pickled vegetables atop the pork, but every dish was marred by an excess of salt -- something all of us noticed in every course, even the cheesey "funnel cake" amuse bouche. The prices are not out of line for fine cuisine, if done right, but not with an error like that.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

While I had high expectations for this r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

While I had high expectations for this restaurant, I was somewhat disappointed in the food. There was generally too many strong flavors, which overpowered the dishes and the natural flavor of the meat/fish/etc. Generally, I found the food, which was rather pricy, to not be worth the value. However, the service and ambiance were great.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Dining Adventure

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Aggio is not for the meat-and-potatoes crowed! The food is eclectic, creative and adventurous.

That does not mean that it always works. It does mean, however, that one's palette is challenged. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings. The hamachi was good, though my daughter had had the same thing several days earlier using mackerel and preferred the mackerel version. I had the octopus, which was incredibly tender and a total delight. The beet cappelletti with goat cheese was also first class, though the rich red of the pasta and light sauce was not shown to advantage with a dark gray plate. The other pasta dish we had, whose name I cannot remember, included sausage and beans in the sauce. It was nice but needed something bright to offset the heavy starch of the beans. The mains we shared were the cod, which was very enjoyable, and the swordfish. The swordfish/ham combination with pickled beets on top was not a successful dish, in our opinion. Inventive, but not successful. The thin layer of ham made the swordfish taste like ham, one way I suppose of decreasing the fat content of ham, but not doing much for the swordfish! In our case, it was also overcooked, though the swordfish was still moist. The pickled beets on top were a mystery to me. Colorful but not balancing well with the meat. The desserts (strawberry cheese cake and tiramisu) were great.

Our sommelier was fabulous. The wine pairings were spot on. My daughter and I were amazed at the unique qualities of the nearly all Italian wines. Who knew Italy had so much more than Chianti?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just excellent

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The food and service wasn't excellent! The attention to detail and lucious tastes were a real high point for our evening. I would recommend the octopus appetizer!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around amazing experience!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Another amazing meal at Aggio. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for and out of this world eating experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.