About AGGIO - Baltimore

614 Water Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Bryan Voltaggio, the chef behind the acclaimed restaurants Volt and Family Meal in his hometown of Frederick, and Range in Washington, opens his first restaurant in Baltimore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5-10 pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11:30 am - 3 pm

(Closed Monday)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 528-0200

Website:
http://www.volt-aggio.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10 (cash only)
Guests are offered $7 parking validation at Harbor Park Garage,

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

AGGIO - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (63)
Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (46)
See All
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I were in Baltimore for the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I were in Baltimore for the weekend and wanted to find a nice restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere complemented by great food and wine options. After doing a bit of on-line research we settled on Aggio. We both opted for the tasting menu with the wine pairings - good food, good wine and a really nice evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I started with the scallops which were p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I started with the scallops which were prepared with citrus and chile, then moved to the corn and goat cheese agnolotti. Both were excellent. The agnolotti was light and delicious. I'd love it as an entree. For my main course, I had the aged rib eye, which was perfect. I also was able to taste the garganelli and the charred eggplant. I loved the garganelli but the eggplant was a little bit sweet for my taste.

Everyone at the table tried different cocktails which were fun and delicious. The sommelier recommended a fantastic red which I am hoping to buy for home.

Fantastic meal. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had brunch a Ned it was delightful. T ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had brunch a Ned it was delightful. The Grapefruit Crush drink was so refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Despite the favorable reviews I was conc ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Despite the favorable reviews I was concerned that Aggio would be a disappointment based on its location. High quality dining is not typically found in tourist areas and Aggio is located one block off the harbor in the Marketplace. I'm glad I took a chance.

The website needs some work as there is no mention of the valet parking or the pre fixe menu option. We took advantage of both. The yellow gazpacho was delicious as was the Caesar salad with fried oysters. The angliotti with corn and goat cheese was delicious- savory and sweet from the corn. The scallops were beautifully crusted and the halibut with smoked tomatoes was amazing. The fennel panna cotta with raspberry sherbet was an amazing flavor combination.

The success of the savory Parmesan funnel cake is well documented and did not disappoint. Our server, Elizabeth was spot on and we were well cared for by the entire staff.

The 80's Rock playing in the background was not romantic, but I don't think that's what Voltaggio is striving for in Aggio.

Locals- it's worth a hassle of the Inner Harbor to dine at Aggio's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Honestly the food and service was amazin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Honestly the food and service was amazing. What was truly horrifying after such an amazing meal was the bathroom experience. The men's had a huge fist sized hole in the wall above the urinal and a broke light fixture overhead with wires hanging down as well as a broke stall door. The women's, I was told, had no working flushing toilets. These bathrooms seem fit for a dive bar, not a high end restaurant. Please please look into renovating these restrooms. They are so unbelievably unpleasant that they will keep me from returning or recommending the restaurant, despite some of the best food and quality service in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was mediocre at best with some ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was mediocre at best with some odd combinations and very tough meat in particular. We chose the Prixe Fixe menu and found the first course to be by far the best with the rest very disappointing. The water served to us initially was room temperature and had an off taste. The service was very good with the server fielding all of our questions and being very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Aggio has one of Baltimore's best - and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Aggio has one of Baltimore's best - and best priced! - wine lists. Chris Coker's pairings are also excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

impeccable service, amazingly creative f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

impeccable service, amazingly creative food and hip atmosphere! will definitely be back for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We so enjoyed Restaurant Week at Aggio! ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We so enjoyed Restaurant Week at Aggio! This restaurant is so fantastic. Each course was excellen; we had the Caesar with fried oysters and yellow gazpacho first, halibut and scallops, and yummy desserts. LOVE this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for the Restaurant week, a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were there for the Restaurant week, and the menu they created was really great. There were plenty of tables open but we sat at the bar because Amie the bartender just won Best of Baltimore. We needed to experience the best. Wine selection is really amazing, food was awesome as usual, and the cocktails were phenomenal. I highly recommend having some amaro after the dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good addition to Baltimore's restaurant ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Good addition to Baltimore's restaurant scene. The staff was a delight, friendly, efficient, and professional. Our drinks were perfection. Well worth another visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So disappointing! Went with 3 friends fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

So disappointing! Went with 3 friends for a girls night out, and terrrible. It took 45 min. to get our drinks. We were going to walk out but didn't, we should have. No one was there, only about 5 tables. The music was absurd. AC DC, Stairway to Heaven, who has this kind of playlist at 7:00 pm. in this kind of restaurant? I don't think they have their brand identified, that is very clear. If it was a Biker Bar or restaurant, I would get the music but it seems like they are trying to be a fine dining restaurant. Also on Open Table they said that 6:45pm was the only time available and no one was there but 5 tables when we arrived!! Very strange place, employees all walking around like they had no clue what was going on from the bartender, to waitress, to the somielier. And the food was just OK, nothing great at all. I would totally not recommend! Don't waste your money or your time on this one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The wine service was excellent! The sug ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The wine service was excellent! The suggested pairings were perfect. I want to go back when the full menu Is available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, even better wine pairings. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing food, even better wine pairings. The meal has a nice slow pace, and the service is perfect. Worth the cost, and up there with Magdalena and Charleston.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I apsolutley enjoyed my time at Aggio's, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I apsolutley enjoyed my time at Aggio's, the Atmosphere was lovely. I thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant week menu and the staff was very friendly and all helped eachother.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we dined at Aggi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is the second time we dined at Aggio. My husband and I are huge fans of all of Brian Voltagio's restaurants. The first time we went to Aggio was right before we got married, as a treat to ourselves. Both times, the staff was wonderful. The sommelier was knowledgeable, friendly, and very personable. The food was fantastic and we did not leave there feeling hungry. The first time we went, we had the five course chef's choice with the wine pairing. The second time we went, it was restaurant week, so we had the four course with the wine pairing. Aggio will definitely be our go to restaurant for special occasions or when we want to treat ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Baltimore restaurant week. Food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went for Baltimore restaurant week. Food was phenomenal. One of the best meals ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great! We enjoyed our salads, entrees, & ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great! We enjoyed our salads, entrees, & desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bold unique flavors, perfect portions, g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bold unique flavors, perfect portions, gorgeous interior, fantastic value. We came for brunch but I can't wait to come back for dinner. Absolutely lovely

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had wanted to go to Aggio for quite so ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had wanted to go to Aggio for quite some time so we decided to finally give it a try during Baltimore restaurant week. They had a three course menu for $35 and for $10 more you could add a 4th course. We decided to do the four course and were extremely happy with our meal. The bread was so good we actually got two more pieces. Each of the courses was just enough so that you were satisfied by the end of the meal. When we first started I thought I was going to be hungry when we left, but by the time I finished my olive oil cake with raspberry sorbet desert I was pleasantly full. The Cesar salad came with fried oysters. My husband got that but I wish I had ordered it. I had the scallops and they were delicious. They have homemade sodas and an extensive wine list. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for restaurant week and it was a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We went for restaurant week and it was also my Mom's birthday. I mentioned this in passing to the waiter and they brought her a beautiful dessert and sang to her. All the wait staff was very professional and knowledgeable. I picked Aggio because I watched Brian Voltaggio on Top Chef and I had high expectations. I was not dissappointed! The food was amazing and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious, well presented ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was delicious, well presented. The staff were friendly and efficient. The decor is a little gloomy perhaps, all dark grays, but sophisticated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall always great food. This time the ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Overall always great food. This time the Tonarelli Nero was way too lemony. Also, a snafu with desserts. I think they must have run out of the Panna Cotta, but did not actually say so and brought an odd one (the one brought first was ok) when questioned why only one of three desserts initially brought

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dinner for a special occasion. We ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great dinner for a special occasion. We went for restaurant week and enjoyed it. The wine pairing was worth it! The sommelier was very friendly and we enjoyed learning from him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was AMAZING. Brian Voltaggio n ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was AMAZING. Brian Voltaggio never disappoints. We also loved our server who was very helpful in our wine selection and even offered to have the sommelier come out (not necessary for our price range). The only cons were that the decor seemed a bit dated and one of our chairs had a big stain on it (that my husband had to stare at all evening).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Some of the food was very good, but over ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Some of the food was very good, but overall the food was not outstanding. The caesar salad with fried oysters was the best part of the meal. Also, the portions were quite small. My scallops entree included a total of 3 scallops. The desert was tasty but diminutive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Went for brunch - 3 courses. Appetizer/s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went for brunch - 3 courses. Appetizer/salad, main and dessert. Salads were generous and flavorful. The mains we had were not traditional brunch items (muffeleta, squid ink pasta) but were very good. Desserts were a bit deconstructed but well made. There was an option for "bottomless" cocktails but since we only had one drink each it was better to order individually. We opted for white rum & rose sangria which was potent. A bottomless one would have been more than we needed for a mid-Saturday when there were still things to do!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was excellent! I especially t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Everything was excellent! I especially think that the sommelier did a fantastic job of explaining each of the pairings that he had selected for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though the menu had a few changes f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Even though the menu had a few changes from the version posted online, and we missed out on the desert we were looking forward too, Aggio was well worth the trip. The food was superb, every bite was a treat, and the menu items were creative. We received a lovely parmesan cheese funnel cake to start, something I'd never heard of before. When I mentioned in passing how much I loved my pepperoni (insert fancy french word for sauce), and wished there was more, the waitress brought out some extra.

Would love to go again the next time I'm in Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Unbelievable dining experience. Very en ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Unbelievable dining experience. Very enjoyable. We will most likely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great experience with inc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food and great experience with incredible attentive service and staff. As a fan of volt I was excited to try another of his restaurants and with that background was not disappointed, but can see where the online criticism of the restaurant comes form in that the location is not great for this restaurant concept, which to me would fit more ideally in harbor east than power plant. I can envision many people stumbling across this restaurant assuming one thing given the neighborhood and be caught off-guard to the type of restaurant it actually is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cuisine was VERY good in presentation an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Cuisine was VERY good in presentation and taste. Service was very personable and nice. Overall, an excellent experience. Would recommend it highly to anyone out for a dining experience. The cocktails are original and very complimentary to the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and experience at Aggio are uni ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food and experience at Aggio are unique and wonderful. The staff is top notch and the menu is a scrumptious treat. This is a must do Baltimore dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is great and menu is interesting. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is great and menu is interesting. We tried a lot of dishes and all were very good. Had reservation for 7PM on a Saturday and restaurant was a little quiet, but I assume it gets more lively as the night goes on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful, as always. Chris Coler, the S ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful, as always. Chris Coler, the Somm makes the meal special with his wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely meal complete with professional ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A lovely meal complete with professional yet very friendly servers.

I loved every bit of the dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aggio provides a very Alto adige style c ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Aggio provides a very Alto adige style cuisine with excellent starters and main dishes. Their chef has an incredible talent for preparing broccoli Rabe with the exact amount of salt and hot pepper infused oil. This was my fourth time there and each time I compare it to other restaurants and realize I just should come back here. Also of note is the incredible list of unique Sicilian wines that are available on their wine list. You should try it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want to feel like a judge on top ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

If you want to feel like a judge on top chef eating one best dish after another go to Aggios

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Decent food, but for the price you pay i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Decent food, but for the price you pay it really did not meet our expectations. Best food we had, was a side of asparagus- really delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Some of the most exciting and stimulatin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Some of the most exciting and stimulating flavors in each plate of the 4 course menu I have had in many years. The wine matching was superb and highlighted the flavors of each course.

Definitely recommend Aggio to any one who likes good food and fine wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.