Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About AGGIO - Baltimore

Bryan Voltaggio, the chef behind the acclaimed restaurants Volt and Family Meal in his hometown of Frederick, and Range in Washington, opens his first restaurant in Baltimore.

614 Water Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5-10 pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11:30 am - 3 pm

(Closed Monday)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 528-0200

Website:
http://www.volt-aggio.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10 (cash only)
Guests are offered $7 parking validation at Harbor Park Garage,

AGGIO - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I was drawn to this restaurant being a fan of Top Chef. The food was fine but not a meal I would crave and go back for. I had the duck, which I felt was overcooked and tough to slice and the farro was just ok, nothing special. I tried the Chicken Ragu and the Tonnarelli Nero which were average as well. The most impressive return-worthy item I had was the beet panna cotta, light and delicate in taste and texture. Ambience was great, service was awesome, but it was surprisingly empty for a Friday night. Great location for a small event. Still a fan of the Chef but may not be a return customer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This was my third time at this restaurant and I was disappointed. The menu was pared down considerably. The food was okay but not near the par of my previous visits. The waiter was the hardest working guy I have ever seen. He was tending bar, waiting tables and doing some kitchen duty. Everything took a long time but not for the lack of effort on his part. He was buried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I treated my friend to a special birthday dinner, and we found the meal to be delightfully authentic with a modern flare. We shared the meatballs al forno for an appetizer. I could have eaten a dozen more--the marinara was excellent accompanied by warm focaccia. We also shared a delightful hand-made pasta dish that was new on the menu. Again, it was attractively plated and was topped with fresh pesto. For the main course, my friend had the hangar steak, and I had the roast duck. Both were good sized portions but not overwhelming and tastily seasoned. On top of it all, the wait staff was amazing! A special shout out to Mike who is a very knowledgeable and attentive waiter. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic food as always. The meatball pomodoro appetizer was amazing. Our entrees were delicious, we had great wine and I chose the tiramisu for dessert - also fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing. We had a three course meal and it was divine. One of the best meals we've had in Baltimore!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Went for dinner on a Tuesday night and had a fantastic experience. We were the only people in the entire restaurant, which we were very surprised by. The food was fantastic in both taste and presentation. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner at Aggio. Octopus appetizer, fennel sausage dish with pasta --- lovely flavors. Love Volt in Frederick and will definitely return to Aggio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The decor is modern and practical but does not allow for privacy or intimacy. Service was OK but not great, rather casual, and at times we were left to wait a good while. The excuse was, that there was "a large party upstsirs". We were left with the feeling that no one is managing the place. The barman ended up serving us. Wine list is small and eclectic. They do not adhere to any quality principles, and will serve you "yesterday's" bottle, but were quick to remedy that when pointed out. As to the food, plating was beautiful and elegant. Flavors were spot on and exceptional, however, texture left something to be desired. Pasta was hard and too "choowy" and gnocchi, you had to strain to find it and very disappointing, small and hard. Overall, it felt like it is run by young, inexperienced staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Honestly some of the best food I've ever eaten in my life - definitely in my top 10. The sauce on the perfectly cooked duck, and how the mushrooms were included in the gnocchi dish, and the octopus... Everything was beyond perfect, and I don't use that word lightly - highly highly recommended restaurant for high quality food with incredible and intense flavor.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Went for restaurant week and the food was amazing - special mention to the squid ink pasta with crab, the steak, and the octopus appetizer. I was also a big fan of the beet panna cotta and my strawberry cocktail. The service was really friendly but a bit slow, though they were very kind about it and offered us some compensation for our time. Would definitely return, though I wish I had cell phone service where my table was (closer to the back of the restaurant).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was great, but service was marginal. Definitely appeared to be under staffed as others have pointed out. It was a disappointment and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I have always wanted to dine at a Voltaggio restaurant and Aggio did not disappoint. They participated in Baltimore Restaurant Week and the prix-fixed menu was decently priced for the amount of food ordered. The menu offered eclectic options for those who may want classic versus more of a progressive style. The service was great: my server knew how to give reliable recommendations and always came at the best timing. I would definitely recommend Aggio to anyone!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Went for restaurant week - the food was pretty good, nothing outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Deep disappointment. Slow service, Tea saucers as butter plates, terrifically expensive cocktails, and mediocre food. And the decor is quite bizarre. Our first table was back against a far wall and was made up of two mismatched tables pushed together. Different heights and different sizes....we asked to move and get a better table away from the wall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I attended this restaurant because of Baltimore restaurant week and the meal was excellent. From the Octopus appetizer to meatballs and pasta, to the cheesecake desert, everything tasted fresh and spot on. I am definitely planning on going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service was very inexperienced. Wrong dishes were placed in front of us, the vegetarian got a dish with speck, and the wine we chose was not very good - maybe the wine list should be modified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was great! Service was TERRIBLE!!! We had to ask for bread five times before it arrived. When the bread made it to the table, there were only 4 pieces--there were 6 of us so we literally had to ration the bread until more arrived. 20 minutes later, the clueless waiter said no more bread was being made at that time (but we asked for it nearly 1/2 hour ago) and then miraculously comes out with some 5 minutes later. My steak I ordered medium rare- medium. It looked like beef jerky--charred and overly done, chewy. Just gross. The rest of the food was excellent. The drinks were good but they brought me the wrong drink and still charged me for the one delivered in error. Need better wait staff, especially on weekends. Jeez

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I had a friend in from Boston and was hoping for a great food experience. Maybe it was an off night and I sure hope so for Voltaggio's sake. However, I will never know because there will be no return visit. We ordered the octopus appetizer and it was not eatable. It was fishy and gummy and clearly not fresh. We both had the hangar steak and although the temperature was perfect (they use the sous vide method at 158 degrees for one hour) they failed to get a good sear on the outside which rendered the steak with a texture that was not appealing. I also had a Big Tuscan red glass of wine for $16. The bottle had clearly been left open for too long and not stored properly. Also served in the wrong glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had double wedding anniversary celebration at Aggio on Saturday evening. Terrific food and really fine service. I was surprised that the restaurant was so empty and was a bit disconcerted when we arrived and there was no one at the front desk or bar for 4-5 minutes. Originally seated in bar, but easily moved upon request to white linen-ed table. Server was casually dressed but perfectly attentive, with good descriptions of menu items and recommendations. Pleasant ambiance, excellent food and service. Sad there were so few guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I want to hear on a date this past Saturday. It's a nice place to go. The food and drinks were awesome. Believe it or not this place is cheaper than Phillips seafood in the inner Harbor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Food is fantastic. A real gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2017

There must have been a staffing problem in the kitchen. There weren't many people in the restaurant, but the food took a long time to arrive, the two meals came at different times, and some people came in and left without ordering. The food was delicious once it finally arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

There have been some changes at Aggio since the last time we were in. I am not one to give negative reviews, but everything about this restaurant was different. The atmosphere. The wine selection. The food selection. Last year this was our favorite dining experience and could not wait to go back. This year was .... much less than that. We spoke to the new manager about the changes and she was great! I hope she can help bring back this local gem to what it was in past experiences. Next time we are in Baltimore we will check it out to see! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was delicious. Sadly pasta portion was ridiculously small.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved it! Kasey was in training but was super attentive. Carly offered excellent suggestions for food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I read lots of reviews before making our reservation (wife and I were in town for a wedding and wanted a special date night), and wasn't really sure what to expect - it seemed like reviews were either really good or really bad. So we didn't really have any expectations when we walked in and decided to keep an open mind even though the restaurant was almost completely dead on a Friday night. I'm so glad we decided to take the chance, because our experience there was absolutely fantastic! Our waiter was awesome and very attentive and the food was incredible - best brussel sprouts ever and the pasta was amazing. We even finished up the night with their house-made Lemoncello. The manager also came by to check on us and made sure everything was taken care of. I think they might have had a rough start and have changed a lot of things recently - definitely go back and give them another try! We couldn't have asked for a better experience! If you are on the fence about visiting like we were, don't be.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, tiny portions, expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Interesting and delicious pasta menu. First ate here in 2015, and was excited to come back. Pleasant dining experience, but truth be told, it was a little crisper then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were disappointed. It was a nice looking space. The main dining room looked beautiful. But the welcome area was dark and made the place look closed. Some of the food was really good and some of it was ok. Brussel sprouts were awesome but the pork belly was chewy. The hanger steak was perfect but the lamb shoulder was under seasoned. The bolognese was good but served over standard dry pasta without any interesting component. The rye gnocchi was delicious and delicate. We love chef voltaggio and had one of the most memorable dining experiences of our lives at Volt in Frederick. But aggio wasn't even close to being memorable. Even the bathroom seemed unkempt and had some paint splatters on the urinals. At the end of the night they had already cut the hostess so we had to track down a server out in the smoking area to retrieve our coats. It was a strange dining experience. We expected something really great from chef and it was just ok. It certainly wasnt bad but with so many great options in baltimore, I can't imagine ever going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was slow. Never came back around for refills and had to flag down waiters for water. Food was very small portions and expensive. Very disappointed because Volt was the complete opposite of this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was fantastic, service was great at first but the restaurant got hit hard towards the end of our meal and they just did not have enough staff. We ordered our desserts (one was pre-arranged to have a birthday candle) but then sat for 45 minutes with no drinks or food and decided to just get a check and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was a strange experience from beginning to end. Received a call that day to confirm the reservation. Tried to call back and it was forwarded to Volt. The receptionist asked us to call Aggio and did not understand how/why it was forwarded. Got to the restaurant and it was like the hostess was on drugs! I gave my name and told her that we were waiting for two others. She first tried to seat us at a table for 10 people! When she sat us somewhere appropriate, I told her AGAIN that we were waiting for another couple. We sat there for 25 minutes waiting for our friends (I tried calling my friend only to find out later she forgot her phone). I finally called the husband and he said they had been sitting at the bar for 20 mins! They gave the hostess my name when they walked in and she said we weren't there yet! Unbelievable. Our server was OK, but absolutely no energy. That said, the food was really very good -- and we tried a lot on the very small menu. We found a nice bottle of wine, but boy was it limited. I realize that it's an Italian restaurant, but come on. Two other issues: two big bugs on the wall right behind us and the lower level, where the bathrooms are located, smelled like a SEWER! Clearly an issue. The women at the next table were talking about it. They were rather disgusted, as were we! Two of us ordered a glass of wine after dinner. Had to ask for it twice. I'd be really surprised if this restaurant is in business a year from now. Brian Voltaggio: you need to take a look at your site management. The person who appeared to be the manager heard me talking to my friends about the misstep -- after I went to the bar to find them. I was not happy. He never said anything, never apologized, etc. Terrible. The restaurant was not even half full on a Saturday night. Now I know why. This review is meant to be constructive, not mean-spirited. I hope it's helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Go eat at this restaurant:
I took my fiance here for her birthday because she really likes top chief restaurants. Everything was spectacular. The cocktails were exceptionally well done. We got two appetizers: the octopus was firm and tasty but not at all chewy, the brussels were light and crisp with the occasional explosions of flavor. The pasta was probably the best cooked pasta I have had in the states. The lamb shoulder was fork tender and on top of the creamiest, finest grain polenta I have had. Dessert was also delightful: we had a cheese plate with three excellent examples of Italian cheeses and the cheese cake, which was more savory than sweet and was pared with a lemon sorbetto which was more intensely lemon flavored than many lemons I have eaten.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everyone in our party of five enjoyed their meal. I had the whole fish and it was beautifully prepared.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very disappointed! Aggio has been one of our favorite Baltimore restaurants since it opened. Six months ago we left Baltimore to travel and on our return we made a reservation at Aggio. But once we looked at the menu and wine list we decided not to stay. The menu is much more limited and the wine list, that we used to praise for its consumer friendly approach to Italian wines, is a mere shadow of its former self. So sad to lose what was a gem in the Baltimore dining scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Service was acceptable, nothing to write home about. (I am a mid twenties man so I don't expect servers to see equity in me, however it is a great touch since I regularly spend hundreds on dinner.) However the food was so underwhelming service became a minute detail. Salt and pepper are necessities not optional particularly on a tough piece of lamb shoulder or 4 day old fish. Not horrible I guess, as someone who can count on one hand how many times I've left food on the table I was disappointed. Baltimore has far to many good Italian places for someone to squander the cuisine like I experienced tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I'm a big fan of Volt in Frederick, and was therefore really excited to try Aggio. The food was absolutely incredible, and the service was fantastic. We went during a storm, so the restaurant was quiet, but the ambiance was beautiful and we could carry on a conversation without it being awkward.

I had the squid ink pasta which was incredible (and worth going back for), and we will be talking about the PERFECT brussel sprouts forever!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food here is good... last few times though, the service has been a bit slow. They seem understaffed. It was totally dead at 9pm on a Saturday. The last time I was in they had run out of beer... huh?! Based on my last two visits I'd be surprised if Aggio is still open in 6 months. Which is a shame. The other Voltaggio reataurants are excellent. Maybe it's just too progressive for Baltimore?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.