About AGGIO - Baltimore

614 Water Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Bryan Voltaggio, the chef behind the acclaimed restaurants Volt and Family Meal in his hometown of Frederick, and Range in Washington, opens his first restaurant in Baltimore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5-10 pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11:30 am - 3 pm

(Closed Monday)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 528-0200

Website:
http://www.volt-aggio.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10 (cash only)
Guests are offered $7 parking validation at Harbor Park Garage,

Restaurant Photos

  • AGGIO - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
AGGIO - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD

AGGIO - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Baltimore / Maryland
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (27)
Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Need valet parking. Poor value. Food wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Need valet parking. Poor value. Food was only OK. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was very average for the cost. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was very average for the cost. The only thing that we really enjoyed was the pasta from the second course. Way overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We loved all of our entrees. Had a grea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We loved all of our entrees. Had a great experience. The squid ink spaghetti was my favorite, but everything was delicious. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hard to believe this is a Voltagio resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Hard to believe this is a Voltagio restaurant. Dry lasagna, way too much garlic, bizarre and uneven service with the bartender clearing tables, (awkwardly); the hostess was also the general manager; and all tables around us had confused orders with missing or incorrect food. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I made it clear there was going to be so ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I made it clear there was going to be someone with an allergy (dairy) at the table, both emailed and called. I was guaranteed the waitstaff was aware and would help recommend meals the kitchen would be able to make without dairy. However, our waitress was completely unaware and brought a cheese plate and funnel cake out for an appetizer. I wish they'd take allergies more seriously.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The first time we went here last year, i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The first time we went here last year, it was fabulous! This time around, it was meh. Definitely wasn't good as it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our second time at AGGIO and th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our second time at AGGIO and the food was absolutely amazing once again. The service was a little underwhelming, not sure if it is because we didn't do the full tasting menu but there were several lulls and no offer to refresh beverages. Would still return because the food was that good and hoping we were just there on an off night for service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We were in town from Philly and were luc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were in town from Philly and were lucky to stumble onto this fabulous restaurant! We started with excellent cocktails and then chose selections from the Prix Fixe menu. The portions were plenty and we enjoyed all a lot. Chris, the Sommelier, introduced each wine and told us in glowing terms why he had chosen a particular wine. These wines (all Italian) were excellent choices and this was so much more fun and better than just ordering one or 2 bottles during a meal. We will be back during our next trip to Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

What a wonderful dining experience. Agg ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 26, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience. Aggio is a thoughtful restaurant where food is crafted with care. The staff is welcoming, informative, and attentive. The food is fantastic and creative. Great value. 3-course pre fixe is only $45 and the 6-course tasting menu is $80 but the portion is bigger than most tasting menu I've tried.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was very, very good, es ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The tasting menu was very, very good, especially the vegetables and house made pastas. Service was attentive and unobtrusive. A highlight was the wine service and sommelier. We had six courses with paired wines. The wines were interesting and well chosen. The sommelier's care, candor and creativity in describing the selections were superb. One of the best "customer service" sommeliers I've ever encountered.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Strange dining experience. Food was spar ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Strange dining experience. Food was sparse though employees were friendly.

Restrooms were out of the way, downstairs and poorly laid out and Insufficiently decorated and supplied. Could have been cleaner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

A real delight. Lots of new things on t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A real delight. Lots of new things on the menu as well as old favorites well done.

Best ink pasta we ever had.

Food is as good as places costing twice as much

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Innovative in approach. The bread, and n ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Innovative in approach. The bread, and not the usual butter.. provided pate and ricotta spreads were delicious.

Entree small portions but also very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Very fancy, expensive food. Small porti ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very fancy, expensive food. Small portions, but hey, this isn't Friday's.

NO beer at the bar! How strange.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb food and wine pairing on prix fix ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Superb food and wine pairing on prix fixe menu. Highly recommend for foodies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The ambience was excellent in this place ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The ambience was excellent in this place. I think it's a great spot for special occasions like wedding anniversary (which was our occasion). The openness of the space makes it also very likable for large group dining like possibly wedding receptions or hosted events. The food was delicious and on point with portion size. We were able to enjoy all of our courses, which were all very tasty and creatively prepared! The cocktails were exquisite, I liked the "Fireside Chat" especially. And I was touched and surprised when Aggio provided a "dessert sampler" plate for my wife and I in celebration of our anniversary. We had a very helpful waitress since this was our first time at Aggio. Kudos to the chef and staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service and worse food. We had the ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Poor service and worse food. We had the chef's tasting with the paired wines. They tried to compensate with extra plates, but the food did not improve. Undercooked pasta, salty food, and then saltless meat. Tremendously disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Food and service were very good, but res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food and service were very good, but restaurant was not close to full on a September Saturday night. Value of fixed price menu was good, but portions were small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The waitress was amazing. It was my hus ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The waitress was amazing. It was my husbands birthday and we brought our 8 year old daughter and the waitress made every effort to make sure we had everything we needed and catered towards our daughter, which is above and beyond for a restaurant that is typically not a family place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Aggio's food and service always impress. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Aggio's food and service always impress. We dined early on a Friday evening recently. We ordered from the Prix fixe menu, which had several god choices. I had the Gazpacho to start which was light, fresh and very good. For my entree I had the Chicken Cacciatore, the chicken was delicious, my only complaint is that there wasn't any accompaniment with the dish, the were a few very delicious vegetables with the chicken - but very few. As we ordered our deserts, we asked for coffee only to be told that they were out of coffee because they had not received their delivery yet. When I pointed out that good coffee could be picked up almost anyplace to hold them over until they received their delivery our waitress had a manager come talk to us. The manager explained that they order a special coffee and they would not serve something that was not up to their standards. I pointed out that something to meet a customers request was better then nothing. The manager apologized and left, but then she returned a little while later with two cups of coffee she had gone out and picked up somewhere - true customer service! And the coffee was fine. The service at Aggio has always impressed me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Booked this restaurant at the last minut ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Booked this restaurant at the last minute & it was a stand out! Looking forward to going back when I'm in the area again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! The food was outst ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful experience! The food was outstanding, the presentation was equally as impressive with a very knowledgeable wine sommelier who expertly paired our wines with the wonderful food. Cannot wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations on Open Table, my s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We made reservations on Open Table, my son's girlfriend had heard of the Chef. It surpassed our expectations. We all did the fixed menu, which offered options in Three categories, plus you could add a pasta dish. Portions were large and delicious. My son got the house special, squid ink pasta, he was in heaven. We also paired our dinner with the wines, each one was spectacular and the sommelier was incredible!!! Highly recommend!!! Within walking distance of Inner Harbor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant, but.....: This is a b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great restaurant, but.....:

This is a beautiful restaurant, maybe a bit dark, but it's nice. The food is everything I expected from a Voltaggio--every bite was awesome. I think the only criticism of the meal was the home made cream soda my father had--it was the only thing not liked. Otherewise, it's rare to say everyone liked everything, but here it was true. The cost of the price fixed meal was more than fair and tasted great. Fusilli, Tonarelli Nero, Lamb lasagna was amazing. Caesar salad with Kale, tomatoes with buratta, and the gazpacho--all 1st class. Lambchops, chicken cacciatore, and the branzino were so good as were the desserts. Seriously---everything on the menu, top to bottom was fantastic.

My down vote is that the meal for 4 took over 2.5hrs. This wa the fixed price meal, and with 3 ala carte pastas. The manager came out and gave us a "peace offering" from the chef, which was meatballs and more bread. They apologized that there was a party of 40 upstairs that set the kitchen back, and they were just catching up. For a place this popular and this big, I found it incredulous that they couldn't handle a crowd on a saturday night, as if they were a rookie restaurant. The servers were nice and polite, AND HONEST, I will give them that, but twice the waiter forgot our drinks, and he came back and said that our dessert order was LOST, so we had to give it again. Honest thanks--professional, no.

I wouldn't say I was MAD at my meal or server, but I was just disappointed. It may just have been a lousy night for everyone, maybe the chef had a bad day, and I will reiterate that the food was AWESOME, but I just had a disappointed feeling when I left. I WILL go back b/c the food is so delicious and everyone deserves a 2nd chance in business, and I do recommend it to everyone. Just hope that the kitchen has their act together that night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was absolutely amazing. The ser ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing. The service was wonderful. Chris Coker, the sommelier, was such a bonus. He was so knowledgable and went out of his way to educate us on the wines available as well as he paired them perfectly with our meal.

Our only draw back was the lack of private seating. We had a couple seated next to us about midway through our meal. The man was obviously hard of hearing so he spoke very loudly and his date had to speak equally as loud so he could hear her. Didn't care for that type of seating. Prefer a table or booth.

Major distraction.

No complaints other than that AT ALL!

It was our first time to visit the resturant but if we return to Baltimore, it will be top of our list to return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great. I had p ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food and service were great. I had put in my open table comment that it was a birthday dinner and nice dessert was sent out. I would have liked to have been seated in the back with the linen table cloths. I had not been here before and didn't know that was something I would need to request. I would recommend to others for the food everything we had was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Came here for brunch and it was as good ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Came here for brunch and it was as good as last time. Squid ink pasta is to die for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were in Baltimore for the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I were in Baltimore for the weekend and wanted to find a nice restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere complemented by great food and wine options. After doing a bit of on-line research we settled on Aggio. We both opted for the tasting menu with the wine pairings - good food, good wine and a really nice evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I started with the scallops which were p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I started with the scallops which were prepared with citrus and chile, then moved to the corn and goat cheese agnolotti. Both were excellent. The agnolotti was light and delicious. I'd love it as an entree. For my main course, I had the aged rib eye, which was perfect. I also was able to taste the garganelli and the charred eggplant. I loved the garganelli but the eggplant was a little bit sweet for my taste.

Everyone at the table tried different cocktails which were fun and delicious. The sommelier recommended a fantastic red which I am hoping to buy for home.

Fantastic meal. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had brunch a Ned it was delightful. T ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had brunch a Ned it was delightful. The Grapefruit Crush drink was so refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Despite the favorable reviews I was conc ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Despite the favorable reviews I was concerned that Aggio would be a disappointment based on its location. High quality dining is not typically found in tourist areas and Aggio is located one block off the harbor in the Marketplace. I'm glad I took a chance.

The website needs some work as there is no mention of the valet parking or the pre fixe menu option. We took advantage of both. The yellow gazpacho was delicious as was the Caesar salad with fried oysters. The angliotti with corn and goat cheese was delicious- savory and sweet from the corn. The scallops were beautifully crusted and the halibut with smoked tomatoes was amazing. The fennel panna cotta with raspberry sherbet was an amazing flavor combination.

The success of the savory Parmesan funnel cake is well documented and did not disappoint. Our server, Elizabeth was spot on and we were well cared for by the entire staff.

The 80's Rock playing in the background was not romantic, but I don't think that's what Voltaggio is striving for in Aggio.

Locals- it's worth a hassle of the Inner Harbor to dine at Aggio's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Honestly the food and service was amazin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Honestly the food and service was amazing. What was truly horrifying after such an amazing meal was the bathroom experience. The men's had a huge fist sized hole in the wall above the urinal and a broke light fixture overhead with wires hanging down as well as a broke stall door. The women's, I was told, had no working flushing toilets. These bathrooms seem fit for a dive bar, not a high end restaurant. Please please look into renovating these restrooms. They are so unbelievably unpleasant that they will keep me from returning or recommending the restaurant, despite some of the best food and quality service in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was mediocre at best with some ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was mediocre at best with some odd combinations and very tough meat in particular. We chose the Prixe Fixe menu and found the first course to be by far the best with the rest very disappointing. The water served to us initially was room temperature and had an off taste. The service was very good with the server fielding all of our questions and being very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Aggio has one of Baltimore's best - and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Aggio has one of Baltimore's best - and best priced! - wine lists. Chris Coker's pairings are also excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

impeccable service, amazingly creative f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

impeccable service, amazingly creative food and hip atmosphere! will definitely be back for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We so enjoyed Restaurant Week at Aggio! ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We so enjoyed Restaurant Week at Aggio! This restaurant is so fantastic. Each course was excellen; we had the Caesar with fried oysters and yellow gazpacho first, halibut and scallops, and yummy desserts. LOVE this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for the Restaurant week, a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were there for the Restaurant week, and the menu they created was really great. There were plenty of tables open but we sat at the bar because Amie the bartender just won Best of Baltimore. We needed to experience the best. Wine selection is really amazing, food was awesome as usual, and the cocktails were phenomenal. I highly recommend having some amaro after the dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good addition to Baltimore's restaurant ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Good addition to Baltimore's restaurant scene. The staff was a delight, friendly, efficient, and professional. Our drinks were perfection. Well worth another visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So disappointing! Went with 3 friends fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2016

So disappointing! Went with 3 friends for a girls night out, and terrrible. It took 45 min. to get our drinks. We were going to walk out but didn't, we should have. No one was there, only about 5 tables. The music was absurd. AC DC, Stairway to Heaven, who has this kind of playlist at 7:00 pm. in this kind of restaurant? I don't think they have their brand identified, that is very clear. If it was a Biker Bar or restaurant, I would get the music but it seems like they are trying to be a fine dining restaurant. Also on Open Table they said that 6:45pm was the only time available and no one was there but 5 tables when we arrived!! Very strange place, employees all walking around like they had no clue what was going on from the bartender, to waitress, to the somielier. And the food was just OK, nothing great at all. I would totally not recommend! Don't waste your money or your time on this one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Just right,nice people and great wine li ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Just right,nice people and great wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.