Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Sbicca - Del MarSbicca - Del Mar
(976)
Contemporary American | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Pacifica Del MarPacifica Del Mar
(2044)
Seafood | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
PoseidonPoseidon
(2169)
American | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Cafe SecretCafe Secret
(153)
Peruvian | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Jake's Del MarJake's Del Mar
(3297)
Seafood | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Il Fornaio - Del MarIl Fornaio - Del Mar
(1049)
Italian | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Prepkitchen - Del MarPrepkitchen - Del Mar
(364)
American | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Crepes & Corks Restaurant & Wine BarCrepes & Corks Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reviews Coming Soon
Creperie | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Americana RestaurantAmericana Restaurant
(42)
American | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
KITCHEN 1540KITCHEN 1540
(568)
Contemporary American | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Del Mar RendezvousDel Mar Rendezvous
(490)
Chinese | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Coastal Kitchen - Hilton Del MarCoastal Kitchen - Hilton Del Mar
(16)
Contemporary American | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Seasalt - Del MarSeasalt - Del Mar
(133)
Seafood | Del Mar, North San Diego
Reserve Now
Pamplemousse GrillePamplemousse Grille
(937)
French | Solana Beach, North San Diego
Reserve Now

About Permanently Closed - Agave Del Mar

1555 Camino del Mar
Suite 322
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - The best place in San Diego to enjoy authentic Mexican Cuisine is Agave Del Mar Restaurant and Tequileria, located within our Tequila Museum where you can try over 2000 different tequilas. It is the perfect setting to experience the true flavor of Mexico. If you are looking for a great place for a business lunch, romantic dinner or just to enjoy a fine Tequila with friends or someone special, we are ready to serve you. Do not just go out to an ordinary restaurant, join us for a unique experience

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 11am-9pm Friday, Saturday: 11am-10pm

Cross Street:
Coast Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 793-0758

Website:
http://agavedelmar.net/

Parking Details:
We offer validation

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us make your party our business!!

We offer space for all types of private events. Weddings, birthdays, graduations, Happy Hour get togethers, social networking parties, showers, work parties and dont forget the Holidays are right around the corner.

Restaurant Photos

  • Permanently Closed - Agave Del Mar
  • Permanently Closed - Agave Del Mar
Permanently Closed - Agave Del Mar
Permanently Closed - Agave Del Mar

Agave Del Mar - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.5

ambience

3.8

value

2.8

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (5)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (3)
See All
Special Occasion (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first time dining at Agave ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our first time dining at Agave and we will definitely go back again. We were very impressed with the selection of fish choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

DO not bother!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Tables too small for the plates. A table for 4 should be a table for 2, if that, or serve in smaller plates. There was no room for wine and water glasses. Chairs terrribly uncomfortable. Obviously whoever ordered them never used them. The food (moles) was bad--no flavor just color, and the chicken was too dry--no flavor. A waste of money. Should have gone to Pacificia.

Restaurants in this particular spot COME and GO, so this one will follow suit.

The only redeeming grace--the server were great! but other restaurants, even when sharing dishes, they give individual dishes. Not here and no room for them on the table anyway.

As the title said, DO NOT bother go to Agave in Del Mar. I hear the one downtown is better, who knows. Won't risk it again and will not recommend it either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

But expensive. Guess you are paying for ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

But expensive. Guess you are paying for the location and ocean view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent service the food is awesome

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent service the food is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, great service.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was not impressed. The waiter gave me ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was not impressed. The waiter gave me attitude for asking him to adjust the bill for his mistake. If I wanted to be treated like a snob I would have dined in La Jolla. This place is dead for a reason.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

So-so service at this high-end Mexican eatery

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We looked forward to trying this swank restaurant in Del Mar. Despite reservations and a less than full house that evening, we were seated far away from the top ocean-view seats close to what would later become a party of about 15 with young, rambunctious children. Food was good, but service was slow and spotty; we waited a half-hour or more after appetizers before our main courses were served.

Not sure if this one is worth a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

So disappointing!!!! I was at this rest ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

So disappointing!!!! I was at this restaurant about 2 years ago and the food was astonishingly good, they offered at least 7 different kinds of mole. They changed the menu and now offering only three moles- all were typical, bland and not up to par. Major, major downgrade from me from two years ago. What a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Finally a classy Mexican restaurant

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food here is excellent. Freshly prepared with fresh ingredients. Specializing in Mexico City style food - a great upgrade for the Cal-Mex and Tex-Mex Alpo we are too often forced to consume. The views are to die for. Third level over looking L'Auberge and dead straight and 270 degree of the Del Mar oceanfront. What really put this place over the top was the service. Our server Sean - was the perfect accompaniment for the view. Attentive, thoughtful and friendly, I truly wanted him to pull up a chair and join us or get up afterwards. He has great suggestions knew the menu backwards ad forward and offered superb insights into the preparation, foodology etc while never being in your face. I joked and told him he belongs in a top notch French restaurant, his response was that he loves people and working closely with them. A+++++

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Tried this place for the first time to celebrate my birthday. The views from the enclosed patio are incredible. Salvador was an excellent and very professional server. The salmon was amazing, and the filet huitacoche (sp?) was very good. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here because it was on the Passp ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We came here because it was on the Passport Card and we are so glad we did! It was fantastic and we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Please choose another restaurant.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Not good. Please choose another restaurant. Halibut was over cooked. Out of watermelon for the watermelon cocktail. Probably a good drink spot but both my husband and i'sfood was bad. We were very disappointed. Lots in our group came to the restaurant and they thought the service was poor. Ours was good but food was B grade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Our waiter was horrible and rude. It too ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Our waiter was horrible and rude. It took 20 minutes to get water and he was extremely slow. He messed up on the order and did not seem apologetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Constant Improvement

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I've been booking tables and eating/drinking here since last year. As the volume of diners has increased, service has been the weakness. Agave has overcome the weakness and settled into a goo dry them.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were superb. Moles were ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Food and service were superb. Moles were best we'd ever had. We will be back next trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice dinner

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Both of our Steaks and sea bass ceviche were both very good - we'll come back here

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot for a sunset

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

fish was a bit dry (over cooked for my taste).

Wait staff, Ricardo especially, were very attentive.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful views

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The restaurant and views are beautiful. This is a great place to go if you are a tequila buff, but they also have a full wine list and a good selection of other liquor. We had appetizers, which were good, but really the ambiance is the reason to go.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal with an unbelievable sett ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Fantastic meal with an unbelievable setting watching the sun set over the Pacific. Only downside was the lighting ... too little to even see the menu or your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This is our favorite place in Del Mar to ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is our favorite place in Del Mar to bring out of town guests for a unique and wonderful experience. We know our guests will leave feeling special and appreciated. The staff was wonderful as ever, especially Hereberto. The food was divine. We love the new menu additions. Thank you as ever for a memorable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view, pretty good food

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had a reservation just at sunset and it was spectacular! This restaurant's west facing wall is all windows; the view is amazing. The service was a little slow and the food was fair. Two of us had sea bass and the cuts and texture were different on both. One sauce was far superior than the other. Our kids thought the beans in the bean and cheese burrito were "bland" and that the burrito was "nothing exciting" and the shrimp on the caesar salad tasted "weird".The tables are small and the restaurant is very loud! This might be a better place for drinks and appetizers. Not super romantic and if you're there in a large group, forget hearing what anyone has to say more than two people away!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

When arriving at the restaurant there wa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

When arriving at the restaurant there was no hostess however a nice waiter from the bar seated us at a window table in the bar. Very nice view with the ocean in the distance. Chips served and our cocktail order was quick. The remainder of the service through dinner was somewhat slower. I ordered the filet medium rare but it was served medium well. Due to time I chose not to send it back but it was flavorful. The sea scallops were very nicely done and flavorful. The flan was just okay. They were out of the fruit tartlet. It was an average experience for dining but the bar scene seemed like it would be great for simply drinks and an appetizer with a nice view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Unfortunately disappointed. The food wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Unfortunately disappointed.

The food was not good at all. Great service. Even the house margaritas were not up to par with some of the local simpler and less expensive places.

The food was very expensive but price isn't the issue. It was not good. It didn't taste good.

I would not come back, ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Guests visiting from out of town. Table ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Guests visiting from out of town. Table in the back room...out of steak...and very slow service. What a disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Not Up to Par

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Agave wasn't what we hoped it would be, and we dine out a lot. If you are looking for great margaritas and a beautifully appointed restaurant in Del Mar -- this is your spot.

But if you want excellent food and even a moderate value... This is NOT your cup of tea.

Our meal for three was about $200. You would do better to drive to Carlsbad and go to Barrio, where they have superior food. I understand that Agave is supposed to be "authentic Mexican food, like you would have in Mexico City" -- we had bland food that had great presentation in a fancy ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Very good food and very good service.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We tried out Agave Del Mar last weekend and really enjoyed our visit. There are two very diverse seating sections to the restaurant. The dining room area is a nice room, very quiet but with no view. The bar seating area is louder and more vibrant, but it also can have an ocean view at the right time of day.

Our server, Roberto, was very good and offered some very good recommendations.

He was also very good at explaining the cuisine, as it is southern Mexican cuisine. This can be quite different from the usual San Diego Mexican food based on the Baja style. They offer several moles and ceviches and other items that you may not find everywhere else. They also have several steak options that are paired with very interesting items - from prawns, to a red enchilada, to huitlacoche for the adventurous type.

All of the food was very good and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice ambiance and very good food.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

The floor-to-ceiling windows provide a spectacular view. The food is excellent and the ambiance is refined yet exciting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Disorganized

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We arrived for dinner before the New Year's Eve menu and another couple arrived shortly after us. It was the hostess's first night and she was working by herself. The other couple left because of lack of service.

The food was ok but not good and at $29 per entree we expected good food. The waiter offered to bring us some guacamole with our chips and salsa then charges us $8 for it.

Overall very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Different

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

We were expecting similar Mexican food that we were use to in Palm Springs/Desert Cities.

This was not something that we would visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We liked Agave Del Mar

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

The food was interesting and well prepared, as well as delicious. We especially enjoyed the ceviche and other dishes. The drinks were good, especially the Margaritas. One of the ladies in our party noted her martini was only about an inch of beverage in the glass. The service I would have to say was a bit slow, especially considering the restaurant was half empty. We found that to be odd, since it was a Saturday night. It took quite a while to get our food, and of course by the time we devoured 4 or 5 baskets of chips with their delicious assortment of salsas, our appetites weren't great. So overall a mostly good experience. We would go again, but maybe during the day for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great for Business

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Entertained clients during a recent conference and found Agave to be not only superior in service but the server took time to explain the origin of dishes and was willing to accommodate specific dietary preferences from our group. The food was extremely flavorful...I got the Mole Trio and was very pleased by the spices and consistency. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Good service under new manage ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

Good food. Good service under new management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food! Improving Service.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

This is my second review. The first one about 6 weeks ago, I blasted the restaurant for poor service from start to finish. The food is always excellent here and nice ambiance. I am happy to say that our recent experience was much improved in terms of service from the hostess to the waiter (Heriberto - who is always excellent). They replaced the Sea Bass Agave Del Mar with a Halibut in the same sauce and it may be even better! It includes a combination of peppers and spices which are my favorite. The Frita Calo salad is awesome and we also sipped a Tequila flight. Margaritas are above average. Overall, this is a great dining experience so long as the service is consistent. I would recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dinner with my Daughter

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

I flew in from Boston to meet with my daughter who drove down from LA. I found Agave on OpenTable and decided to give it a try. My flight was late We had but my daughter arrived on time. Our reservation was at 9pm and I was going to arrive at 9:10pm. As soon as my daughter was seats, she was asked by the waiter to order because the kitchen was closing. She called me and quickly told me and what they had on the menu.

I selected the Tequila Shrimp. After I arrived the food came I have to say my dish had virtually no flavor whatsoever. The Shrimp tasted like Shrimp but the sauce was just blah. My daughter enjoyed her dinner, so at least she was pleased.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Our waiter was very helpful and warm wit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Our waiter was very helpful and warm with extensive knowledge of the different selections.

The food was impressive. The Sea Bass Ixchel was one of the best fish entrees I have had. Huitlacoche is difficult to find in the US, definite must try.

It was my birthday and the hostess took some extra time to insure we had a wonderful table by the window. We were able to watch the sun go down - it was a beautiful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, Poor Service

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 21, 2015

I continue to be baffled by this place. Food, drinks and views are great, but the service is the main turn-off. Some how they manage to run out of their lunch special, so our party of 6 are sitting there for a 2-hour lunch during the week day. On many occasions during HH, we have to chase down a waiter to get a drink. Isn't that how they make their $$??

It's disappointing because I do really enjoy the atmosphere and food. Hate to see this place go and have another non-ethic blah restaurant take it's place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Awesome Food; Terrible Service

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

This is about my 5th or 6th time to El Agave Del Mar and I keep coming back because the Sea Bass Agave Del Mar is the best I have ever had. Salads are fresh, chips and salsa trio excellent, margaritas better than average, view is incredible.

HOWEVER, other than one excellent waiter that we have been lucky enough to have a couple of times, the service is about the worst I have experienced in San Diego. That goes from the time you walk in the door (with a reservation) to the time you leave. They do not pay attention to special reservation requests until you arrive, so of course the area you are requesting is full. They are slow and inattentive to your needs. You must constantly ask for water, chips, another drink, etc......I had to go to the bar for a second round of drinks this weekend. Just not a great experience for what is supposed to be an upscale restaurant.

Despite the positives listed above, I'm not sure we are going back because service is just so poor it is clear management either doesn't care or doesn't know how to run the front of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Margaritas are different and fun. Would ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Margaritas are different and fun. Would recommend for happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We will be back!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

This was our first visit and we will definitely be back. The food was delicious - from the complimentary salsa trio, appetizer, and straight to the entrees. We tried a pork appetizer (can't recall the name) that came wrapped in banana leaf - excellent! Followed up with the Sea Bass Agave del Mar and the Camarón Meztli - both wonderful. Next time, we plan to go a little earlier so that the toddler (who was very well tolerated considering she was not at her finest) won't be quite so cranky.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Such great service and with amazing view. Love it!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

I think agave del mar is such an amazing family friendly restaurant. When I went they treated me with an amazing service and the view was worth it! So happy to have come over to that place. The food for that price range was great will for sure come again!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.