Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Agave Del Mar

3.7
125 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Perfect For:
  • Scenic View
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Agave Del Mar is a Mexican style restaurant located in Del Mar, California. The restaurant serves authentic Mexican cuisine in a casual, family friendly environment.

Agave Del Mar serves lunch and dinner daily and offers an array of appetizers, soup, salads, fish and seafood, moles and meat for diners to choose from. Appetizer options at the restaurant include entremes ranchero, pueblo quesadilla, tuna tostada, rib eye tacos, oysters del mar and oysters on the half shell. Entrées featured at Agave Del Mar include sea bass ixchel, Alaskan halibut Veracruz, salmon maya, tequila shrimp, pork chop, New York strip and burro vegetarian.

Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday-Thursday: 11am-9pm Friday, Saturday: 11am-10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(858) 793-0758
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Coast Highway
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer validation
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Let us make your party our business!!

We offer space for all types of private events. Weddings, birthdays, graduations, Happy Hour get togethers, social networking parties, showers, work parties and dont forget the Holidays are right around the corner.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 125 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.6
service
4.2
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
67% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our first time dining at Agave and we will definitely go back again. We were very impressed with the selection of fish choices.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2016

Tables too small for the plates. A table for 4 should be a table for 2, if that, or serve in smaller plates. There was no room for wine and water glasses. Chairs terrribly uncomfortable. Obviously whoever ordered them never used them. The food (moles) was bad--no flavor just color, and the chicken was too dry--no flavor. A waste of money. Should have gone to Pacificia.
Restaurants in this particular spot COME and GO, so this one will follow suit.
The only redeeming grace--the server were great! but other restaurants, even when sharing dishes, they give individual dishes. Not here and no room for them on the table anyway.
As the title said, DO NOT bother go to Agave in Del Mar. I hear the one downtown is better, who knows. Won't risk it again and will not recommend it either.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2016

But expensive. Guess you are paying for the location and ocean view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent service the food is awesome

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, great service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 8, 2016

I was not impressed. The waiter gave me attitude for asking him to adjust the bill for his mistake. If I wanted to be treated like a snob I would have dined in La Jolla. This place is dead for a reason.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 7, 2016

We looked forward to trying this swank restaurant in Del Mar. Despite reservations and a less than full house that evening, we were seated far away from the top ocean-view seats close to what would later become a party of about 15 with young, rambunctious children. Food was good, but service was slow and spotty; we waited a half-hour or more after appetizers before our main courses were served.

Not sure if this one is worth a return visit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2016

Love Mexican and Agave had some nice food.
Not traditional recipes but interesting.
However the fish was overcooked, not thrilled with all items ordered, was expensive and in the end they charged my credit card twice for the full meal.
Still working on getting my refund.
Way better mex in town and this place will not last..

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2016

So disappointing!!!! I was at this restaurant about 2 years ago and the food was astonishingly good, they offered at least 7 different kinds of mole. They changed the menu and now offering only three moles- all were typical, bland and not up to par. Major, major downgrade from me from two years ago. What a shame.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2016

The food here is excellent. Freshly prepared with fresh ingredients. Specializing in Mexico City style food - a great upgrade for the Cal-Mex and Tex-Mex Alpo we are too often forced to consume. The views are to die for. Third level over looking L'Auberge and dead straight and 270 degree of the Del Mar oceanfront. What really put this place over the top was the service. Our server Sean - was the perfect accompaniment for the view. Attentive, thoughtful and friendly, I truly wanted him to pull up a chair and join us or get up afterwards. He has great suggestions knew the menu backwards ad forward and offered superb insights into the preparation, foodology etc while never being in your face. I joked and told him he belongs in a top notch French restaurant, his response was that he loves people and working closely with them. A+++++

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2016

Tried this place for the first time to celebrate my birthday. The views from the enclosed patio are incredible. Salvador was an excellent and very professional server. The salmon was amazing, and the filet huitacoche (sp?) was very good. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2016

We came here because it was on the Passport Card and we are so glad we did! It was fantastic and we will be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2016

Not good. Please choose another restaurant. Halibut was over cooked. Out of watermelon for the watermelon cocktail. Probably a good drink spot but both my husband and i'sfood was bad. We were very disappointed. Lots in our group came to the restaurant and they thought the service was poor. Ours was good but food was B grade.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2016

Our waiter was horrible and rude. It took 20 minutes to get water and he was extremely slow. He messed up on the order and did not seem apologetic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2016

I've been booking tables and eating/drinking here since last year. As the volume of diners has increased, service has been the weakness. Agave has overcome the weakness and settled into a goo dry them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2016

Food and service were superb. Moles were best we'd ever had. We will be back next trip!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 26, 2016

Both of our Steaks and sea bass ceviche were both very good - we'll come back here

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2016

fish was a bit dry (over cooked for my taste).
Wait staff, Ricardo especially, were very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2016

The restaurant and views are beautiful. This is a great place to go if you are a tequila buff, but they also have a full wine list and a good selection of other liquor. We had appetizers, which were good, but really the ambiance is the reason to go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2016

Fantastic meal with an unbelievable setting watching the sun set over the Pacific. Only downside was the lighting ... too little to even see the menu or your food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2016

This is our favorite place in Del Mar to bring out of town guests for a unique and wonderful experience. We know our guests will leave feeling special and appreciated. The staff was wonderful as ever, especially Hereberto. The food was divine. We love the new menu additions. Thank you as ever for a memorable evening!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a reservation just at sunset and it was spectacular! This restaurant's west facing wall is all windows; the view is amazing. The service was a little slow and the food was fair. Two of us had sea bass and the cuts and texture were different on both. One sauce was far superior than the other. Our kids thought the beans in the bean and cheese burrito were "bland" and that the burrito was "nothing exciting" and the shrimp on the caesar salad tasted "weird".The tables are small and the restaurant is very loud! This might be a better place for drinks and appetizers. Not super romantic and if you're there in a large group, forget hearing what anyone has to say more than two people away!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 30, 2016

When arriving at the restaurant there was no hostess however a nice waiter from the bar seated us at a window table in the bar. Very nice view with the ocean in the distance. Chips served and our cocktail order was quick. The remainder of the service through dinner was somewhat slower. I ordered the filet medium rare but it was served medium well. Due to time I chose not to send it back but it was flavorful. The sea scallops were very nicely done and flavorful. The flan was just okay. They were out of the fruit tartlet. It was an average experience for dining but the bar scene seemed like it would be great for simply drinks and an appetizer with a nice view.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 28, 2016

Unfortunately disappointed.
The food was not good at all. Great service. Even the house margaritas were not up to par with some of the local simpler and less expensive places.
The food was very expensive but price isn't the issue. It was not good. It didn't taste good.
I would not come back, ever.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 23, 2016

Guests visiting from out of town. Table in the back room...out of steak...and very slow service. What a disappointment!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 23, 2016

Agave wasn't what we hoped it would be, and we dine out a lot. If you are looking for great margaritas and a beautifully appointed restaurant in Del Mar -- this is your spot.

But if you want excellent food and even a moderate value... This is NOT your cup of tea.

Our meal for three was about $200. You would do better to drive to Carlsbad and go to Barrio, where they have superior food. I understand that Agave is supposed to be "authentic Mexican food, like you would have in Mexico City" -- we had bland food that had great presentation in a fancy ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2016

We tried out Agave Del Mar last weekend and really enjoyed our visit. There are two very diverse seating sections to the restaurant. The dining room area is a nice room, very quiet but with no view. The bar seating area is louder and more vibrant, but it also can have an ocean view at the right time of day.
Our server, Roberto, was very good and offered some very good recommendations.
He was also very good at explaining the cuisine, as it is southern Mexican cuisine. This can be quite different from the usual San Diego Mexican food based on the Baja style. They offer several moles and ceviches and other items that you may not find everywhere else. They also have several steak options that are paired with very interesting items - from prawns, to a red enchilada, to huitlacoche for the adventurous type.
All of the food was very good and we will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2016

The floor-to-ceiling windows provide a spectacular view. The food is excellent and the ambiance is refined yet exciting.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2015

We arrived for dinner before the New Year's Eve menu and another couple arrived shortly after us. It was the hostess's first night and she was working by herself. The other couple left because of lack of service.
The food was ok but not good and at $29 per entree we expected good food. The waiter offered to bring us some guacamole with our chips and salsa then charges us $8 for it.
Overall very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 27, 2015

We were expecting similar Mexican food that we were use to in Palm Springs/Desert Cities.
This was not something that we would visit again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was interesting and well prepared, as well as delicious. We especially enjoyed the ceviche and other dishes. The drinks were good, especially the Margaritas. One of the ladies in our party noted her martini was only about an inch of beverage in the glass. The service I would have to say was a bit slow, especially considering the restaurant was half empty. We found that to be odd, since it was a Saturday night. It took quite a while to get our food, and of course by the time we devoured 4 or 5 baskets of chips with their delicious assortment of salsas, our appetites weren't great. So overall a mostly good experience. We would go again, but maybe during the day for lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2015

Entertained clients during a recent conference and found Agave to be not only superior in service but the server took time to explain the origin of dishes and was willing to accommodate specific dietary preferences from our group. The food was extremely flavorful...I got the Mole Trio and was very pleased by the spices and consistency. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 1, 2015

Good food. Good service under new management.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2015

This is my second review. The first one about 6 weeks ago, I blasted the restaurant for poor service from start to finish. The food is always excellent here and nice ambiance. I am happy to say that our recent experience was much improved in terms of service from the hostess to the waiter (Heriberto - who is always excellent). They replaced the Sea Bass Agave Del Mar with a Halibut in the same sauce and it may be even better! It includes a combination of peppers and spices which are my favorite. The Frita Calo salad is awesome and we also sipped a Tequila flight. Margaritas are above average. Overall, this is a great dining experience so long as the service is consistent. I would recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 19, 2015

I flew in from Boston to meet with my daughter who drove down from LA. I found Agave on OpenTable and decided to give it a try. My flight was late We had but my daughter arrived on time. Our reservation was at 9pm and I was going to arrive at 9:10pm. As soon as my daughter was seats, she was asked by the waiter to order because the kitchen was closing. She called me and quickly told me and what they had on the menu.

I selected the Tequila Shrimp. After I arrived the food came I have to say my dish had virtually no flavor whatsoever. The Shrimp tasted like Shrimp but the sauce was just blah. My daughter enjoyed her dinner, so at least she was pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 26, 2015

Our waiter was very helpful and warm with extensive knowledge of the different selections.
The food was impressive. The Sea Bass Ixchel was one of the best fish entrees I have had. Huitlacoche is difficult to find in the US, definite must try.
It was my birthday and the hostess took some extra time to insure we had a wonderful table by the window. We were able to watch the sun go down - it was a beautiful night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 20, 2015

I continue to be baffled by this place. Food, drinks and views are great, but the service is the main turn-off. Some how they manage to run out of their lunch special, so our party of 6 are sitting there for a 2-hour lunch during the week day. On many occasions during HH, we have to chase down a waiter to get a drink. Isn't that how they make their $??

It's disappointing because I do really enjoy the atmosphere and food. Hate to see this place go and have another non-ethic blah restaurant take it's place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 12, 2015

This is about my 5th or 6th time to El Agave Del Mar and I keep coming back because the Sea Bass Agave Del Mar is the best I have ever had. Salads are fresh, chips and salsa trio excellent, margaritas better than average, view is incredible.

HOWEVER, other than one excellent waiter that we have been lucky enough to have a couple of times, the service is about the worst I have experienced in San Diego. That goes from the time you walk in the door (with a reservation) to the time you leave. They do not pay attention to special reservation requests until you arrive, so of course the area you are requesting is full. They are slow and inattentive to your needs. You must constantly ask for water, chips, another drink, etc......I had to go to the bar for a second round of drinks this weekend. Just not a great experience for what is supposed to be an upscale restaurant.

Despite the positives listed above, I'm not sure we are going back because service is just so poor it is clear management either doesn't care or doesn't know how to run the front of the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 12, 2015

Margaritas are different and fun. Would recommend for happy hour.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 6, 2015

This was our first visit and we will definitely be back. The food was delicious - from the complimentary salsa trio, appetizer, and straight to the entrees. We tried a pork appetizer (can't recall the name) that came wrapped in banana leaf - excellent! Followed up with the Sea Bass Agave del Mar and the Camarón Meztli - both wonderful. Next time, we plan to go a little earlier so that the toddler (who was very well tolerated considering she was not at her finest) won't be quite so cranky.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4