Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Agave

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Casual (39)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Worth the Drive (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Authentic (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fun (26)
Fireplace (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Cozy (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Romantic (19)
Outstanding Value (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Spicy (18)
Comfort Food (15)
Open Kitchen (12)
Business Meals (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Family Style (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service! The server was fantastic! Loved her suggestions for trying something new; very knowledgeable about the menu and its flavors. It was my best friend's first time and she went gaga! Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Agave didn't accept my opentable reservation. When the hostess told us to sit down and wait until a party left, it was much longer before she walked by again, pointed at us, and said "I forgot about you". Therefore, we left. Unacceptable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Awesome atmosphere and great food! Always a treat to dine here

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Unfortunately not what it used to be... second time in a row we have had to send food back. Used to be one of our faves... Large party next to us once again impacted service and ambience... chicken wasn't cooked through... no longer worth the drive from the 'burbs...sad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I've eaten almost every entree on the menu and I've never been disappointed. But the swordfish with baby shrimp and spinach topping was wonderful. My wife is lactose intolerant, and the chef has no problem eliminating butter for her meal. We were with friends who had never been to Agave before . One ordered the stuffed trout and said it was the best meal he had in years. I'm going to order it the next time I go to Agave. Another guest enjoyed the crawfish pasta.

Our server was friendly, efficient and helpful. And, since we got there before six, all entrees were $12. You just can't beat that value.

To make a great meal even better, we were there on a chilly evening and got to sit by the fireplace!

No wonder we go to Agave so often.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food, drinks and awesome service. Our waiter was funny and full of great recs for which dishes to order. The chili relleno app was delicious. The spring rolls were also yummy. The Barbacoa and Trout were superb, but of the 6 of us, all dishes we ordered were great. The Peachtree Margarita was our favorite. The Spicy Peanut Butter Mousse Pie was a nice way to end an awesome meal with excellent friends!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a reservation and we still had to wait a hour to be seated. We waited outside in the cold because it was packed on the inside. The server never shared her name, didn't mention my birthday (there was a note on the reservation), or made us feel very welcome. We had the service of a fast food restaurant, but the food was great.

Tags: Fireplace, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I hadn't been to Agave in at least a few years, but it became convenient since I moved ITP. I am pleased to note that everything still works at Agave! Our server, Taylor, was a personable and engaging gentleman with impeccable knowledge of all corners of the menu, and I was glad that he sold me on the chef's rib eye special that evening. As has been mentioned in other reviews, they also have some really tasty fresh salsa that's dropped on the table at no extra charge. Note that when it is crowded at Agave, it will be fairly raucous like it was the evening I dined there, but it toned down quite a bit once the 10+ person birthday gathering nearby cleared out.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything was great except for the noise. It was so loud, we were screaming just to hear each other & had to keep asking what was said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always amazing food! Decor always amazing! Service impeccable!

Tags: Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Seasonal, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

What a venue and what an experience for dinner. This neighborhood delight has an attentive, friendly staff, excellent menu and having watched the kitchen from the balcony saw the cook staff's and expeditor's care for their food and for prompt delivery of ordered items. Loved the braised short ribs--they rival every other restaurant in town--and the enchiladas were authentic and a culinary treat. Well done Agave. Glad your long history of excellence in dining continues.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service was exceptional!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was my second visit and I'm still impressed. Awesome service!!!👍👍👍

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I thought the food was tasty! But portion sizes small for the prices. Scallops were $24 for approximately 6-8 small scallops. I'm used to having much bigger scallops when served as the entree. Others at my table of 6 expressed the same with other entrees. Flavor great, portions could definitely be bigger. We arrived at 530 on a Saturday where I waiter was extremely attentive, but as the night continued less so. Took almost an hour just to get our check and leave! We ended up being late for our 8pm concert at the Rialto but we were definitely finished eating our meal by 630. Maybe we should have communicated our timing issues but when u finish at 630, u assume that's plenty of time to close out. A bit louder also as more tables filled up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We requested a table by the fireplace (really only two in the place), three days in advance. They totally did it, so kudos. These are the romantic seats.

The food is def more southwest Tex Mex, so think Albuquerque instead of Dallas. Had the tuna crudo, braised pork shank (off menu special) and the stuffed trout. All great stuff.

"Up in smoke" margarita to wash in all down.

We'll be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As always, I had a wonderful time at Agave. Food is amazing and the atmosphere on a Friday night is super energetic! Good service, great cocktails...an absolute must!

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Agave is one of my favorite restaurants in Atlanta. The food is always fresh and delicious, and the margaritas are definitely the best you'll find in the city.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great spot to grab a nice casual dinner with great food and drinks. Good ambiance and value, always a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always enjoy the food and drinks here!
Ordinarily would give five stars, but my flatiron steak was overdone (quicklyreplaced with no problem), but server did not ask what temp I wanted & it did not occur to me at the time. Also, recommendations have always been perfect here, but fell short when asked for a smoky mezcal. Server offered to try another type for my next glass.
He also automatically divided check without asking (nbd, but was slightly uncomfortable for a second)
Overall a solid, fun restaurant--will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very crowded Sat night with several large parties/tables...very loud. Service outstanding considering how busy. Pasta dish tasted "warmed over", grilled shrimp entree was good. Decent margarita's. Bar area was so packed you could not walk through to get to bathroom.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Best Salsa and Guacamole!! Everything tasted so fresh and it was beautiful inside.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Spicy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had reservations for 7 PM and were sat promptly. The chips and salsa were quick to the table and the drinks were fantastic. I had the Top Shelf margarita and it was great (very strong).

I ordered the scallops/grits/collard greens meal. It was hot, served promptly and one of the best meals I've had in ATL. I will be back!

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Agave was an amazing experience. We celebrated our daughter's 21st birthday and she enjoyed it immensely too. The food was incredibly tasty and the drinks were very good too. We have told several people already. We will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Perfect for events, special events or everyday dinning. Amazing food, best margaritas, and fabulous customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely another awesome and delicious experience. Service was perfect like the food. I am a regular customer who always receives outstanding food and service every time.

Tags: Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I really love this place the food and drinks are great love the staff and atmosphere

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went to celebrate Valentine's day, really great food and atmosphere. The noise level was quite high in there, the service was however not so great after eating our starter it took almost 30 minutes to get our entrees. The Filet mignon was so tender it could be cut with a fork, the fried lobster tail was on the rubbery side, the Coconut Lime margaritas tasted like suntan lotion with such a strong coconut flavor, had to ask for a spoon just to eat my soup it was brought out without one.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was an opportunity that was recommended by a friend. My wife ate there on Valentines Day! The food was good and the chips were outstanding. I would recommend to friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a wonderful experience great ambiance great food wil definitely go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The good was great, but the server was slow to greet us and come back and take our order. She also kept calling my 70-year old mother and I "girls". I know we are in the south, but...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Agave is my favorite restaurant. Food and service always gear

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I found this restaurant while searching for a place to take my wife out for Valentines dinner. We ended up inviting another couple. We all enjoyed the evening. the ambiance was fun. The food was excellent as was the service. We would all highly recommend Agave!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Spicy, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Must try the jalapeño margarita, can't really go wrong with any of them!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome drinks! Great food! Quaint settings! Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this place. Can't speak highly enough of it. The food is excellent and creative takes on old favorites. Service is on par with restaurants that cost 3-4 times as much per entree.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have eaten here many times over the last 13 years. When we moved away for ten years, we always looked forward to visiting.
The tuna as well as the sword fish dishes are wonderful ---- along with the flourless chocolate torte.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was fresh, plentiful & tasty. I had the scallops which were delicious. We split the ceviche martini which was very good however, the guacamole was bland and disappointing.

This is a vibrant, hopping place and you'll wait for a table if you don't have a reservation. Our waiter was friendly & attentive; food and drinks arrived quickly.

I'll go back for sure.

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Spicy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was excellent. The meatball appetizer and scallops entree were outstanding. It was not a great atmosphere for a date since we were literally crammed into a corner and it was very loud. When we arrived it was incredibly chaotic at the front. Despite having reservations we waited for a few people to be seated ahead of us before our table was ready. Our server was friendly, but was clearly busy as we only saw her a few times. I will go back since the food was great, but not for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Has the best salsa and nachos , guacamole is amazing. Lots of vegetarian options, they have their own menu. The veggie enchiladas are so good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food and great service time after time! I had the scallops and collards and hubby had the rack of lamb and grilled asparagus. Both entrees were done to perfection. This visit we were sitting close to the open grill area where the hot food was being prepared so we saw all of the the main orders after they were plated before they were delivered to the tables. We decided we needed to return very soon and check out some of the dishes we have never ordered before. Everything looked wonderful. There also is a good 'vibe' among the employees and they work well together as a team which makes for a very pleasant atmosphere. Of course, the margaritas are award winning and the chips, salsa and guacamole are also memorable. This is a forovite restaurant for so many reasons.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.