About Agave

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (58)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Good for Groups (38)
Hot Spot (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Late-night Find (10)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Agave has the best salsa, chips and marg ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Agave has the best salsa, chips and margaritas in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was friendly and helpful in ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was friendly and helpful in our food selection. Food was well prepare and arrived to us in a timely manner , I would definitely recommend Agave to anyone that likes good food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently one of the best restaurants ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Consistently one of the best restaurants in metro Atlanta.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my parents who were visiting from ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

I took my parents who were visiting from out of town to Agave and they loved it. My Dad ordered the New York Strip Steak. It was perfectly prepared and tender. My Mom loved the fried chicken. I ordered one of my favorites the Spicy Tequila Anejo Shrimp. It was delicious. I highly recommend Agave.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Heather was awesome. Food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our waitress Heather was awesome. Food was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it and will definitely be back. On ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Loved it and will definitely be back. One person in our prty was vegan an they had a menu with options as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Vegan, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the food- great service. Would lov ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Loved the food- great service. Would love to go back to try some other options from the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual Agave provided great service an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

As usual Agave provided great service and food. The overall experience was what my wife and I have come to expect when visiting this restaurant over the past 7 years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent, exactly as we ex ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was excellent, exactly as we expected it would be. Service was prompt and attentive without being overbearing. A little noisy, but a very nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I absolutely love this place, the food i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I absolutely love this place, the food is awesome and the service is great. Definitely a must try!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Malcom was great. Food and dr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our server Malcom was great. Food and drinks were on point. Everything came out in a timely manner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Agave is always a great choice! This is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Agave is always a great choice! This is one of my favorite restaurants to dine at in Atlanta. It's a total hidden gem but gets a big crowd on the weekends. I would suggest booking a reservation on the weekends as the wait can be a bit long. However, the food makes up for it!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had wonderful prompt seating and serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had wonderful prompt seating and service. The restaurant was busy but we got our food in a timely manner. The server was attentive. The food was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, spectacular food. In this pa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As always, spectacular food. In this particular case, the service was at least as good as the meal. Probably one of of our two or three best experiences at Agave.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual everything about our dining exp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

As usual everything about our dining experience was fantastic! Even got lucky and we're seated in the little balcony. Food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't expect "typical" Mexican food. Go ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Don't expect "typical" Mexican food. Go with an open mind and be ready to try some great entrees. But if you find yourself still wanting a taco or enchilada dish, they have both and are delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Went to Agave for an early Sunday dinner ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Went to Agave for an early Sunday dinner at 5:00. The restaurant fills up quickly. Definitely need reservations. We had the shrimp rolls, guacamole, swordfish, chile rubbed filet medallions and key lime pie. Everything was delicious! Server was Taylor - his service was outstanding! Great dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary and were dis ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went for our anniversary and were disappointed. It was very crowded and noisy. Our food came out cold and had to be sent back to kitchen. We waited a long time for food to come back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Really love this place. Go all the time. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Really love this place. Go all the time. Staff is great and the food is as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lively environment and food was really g ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lively environment and food was really good. Service was excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The last time I was there was a year ago ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The last time I was there was a year ago, it seemed like I came home the minute I walked through the door. Everyone was so welcoming and genuinely glad we were there. Thanks for making my birthday so special.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our new favorite spot in Atlant ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This is our new favorite spot in Atlanta. We went for my birthday and were not disappointed. Excellent food, reasonable prices, tasty margaritas...go to Agave. You won't regret it.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy and difficult to talk but stil ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Too noisy and difficult to talk but still a good place!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly host sat us right away. Waitres ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Friendly host sat us right away. Waitress was friendly and patient. We don't live in Atlanta but will recommend it our friends/family who are there and who visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I've been to Agave a few times, and it i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I've been to Agave a few times, and it is always great. The atmosphere is warm, the servers are friendly and attentive, and everything on the menu is delicious. I look forward to returning and trying something different!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Margaritas anywhere. Great Sout ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The best Margaritas anywhere. Great Southwest menu and the entrees are exceptional. Join the VIP list and all entrees are $12.00 between 5-6 pm. It's our weekly gem and one of our favorite restaurants in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This place is such a treat. The service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This place is such a treat. The service and food is great, they never disappoint.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here several times and want ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have eaten here several times and want to like the food more than I do. It is just too inconsistent. You can have one great meal and then the next time (and we did this past Sunday) have a seriously sub-par meal.

There were 4 of us and one ordered the chicken, which in the past has been superb- but this time the cut of the meat was stringy & tough & quite disgusting. Another person had their take on the shrimp & grits, which could have been fabulous had it had a little sauce and not been so dry. A third person had the lamb chops, which again, could have been great but it was a terrible, fatty portion of meat (not so in the past) and I had the trout, which has been on the menu forever and is usually good, but this time was so season-less I wondered if someone forgot to spice it.

Service was seriously terrible. We had to beg for dirty plates to be removed during courses. This too has not been the usual case.

Maybe they were so slammed over the weekend that by Sunday they were just done. But as the restaurant scene grows in this area, they need to pay more attention to overall quality if they want to retain their return patrons.

I know I will think twice before going back. Which is a shame..

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great food. Nice location

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food. Nice location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious... I had 3 appetizer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was delicious... I had 3 appetizers as my meal. The street corn was AMAZING. The chili rellano was also superb. I wasn't as fond of the shrimp spring roll. It was pretty salty and the shrimp had a very seafoody flavor. Loved their chips and salsa. My companions both ot the short rib and gave me a bite. It was so tender and delicious. Served with jalapeño potatoes and asparagus which they both raved about and ate every bite. We had reserved seats and I'm glad, because it was full on a Sunday evening. They also had free valet parking which was nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was distracted, and passive, maki ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server was distracted, and passive, making it our responsibility to move the meal forward. This might be a better approach for a table of late night drinkers. Food was really good, but not enough to make up for the lack of proactive service. Might try again, however.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

One of our favorites, always an interest ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of our favorites, always an interesting menu. Great service too. It was a little loud where we sat (due to a large party) and asked to move to another room which was better. They were happy to oblige. We will be back soon!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food wasn't good and the restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food wasn't good and the restaurant was way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I went to Agave with high expectations. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I went to Agave with high expectations. All sites put is as one of the coolest spots in the neighborhood. Upon arrival we thought dinner would be fantastic, the decor takes you to Santa Fe or Tucson and the menu looked very promising. We ordered a couple of appetizers (Ceviche and springrolls) that never arrived, instead we got our food and it was good, but nothing to brag about. I ordered the skirt stake with the spicy sauce and it was good, but it came plated on top of grilled corn; a lot of it. Why would anyone want to eat that much grilled corn? (it was not even on the cob, so it just looked weird). My friends ordered other dishes that were ok. nobody complained about bad food, but nobody was raving about it. The wait staff, albeit polite, were overstretched. They brought the appetizers late but it was just weird. The margaritas were actually good, so I'd probably recommend the place to have a drink.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Unfortunately, for me, Agave did not liv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unfortunately, for me, Agave did not live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Three words: Coconut Lime Margarita!! T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Three words: Coconut Lime Margarita!!

This was my second time at Agave and I was just as impressed as my first. The short rib is so tender and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great, service was a little slo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food is great, service was a little slow and restaurant wasn't packed. However, this is not normally the case here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My 1st visit to Agave was on a busy Satu ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My 1st visit to Agave was on a busy Saturday night and for the most part I was impressed. The menu is puts a Southwestern spin ( cilantro, chilis, ground corn) on all dishes in the menu even conventional dishes like trout and short ribs. As a

starter,I had the mussels steamed in a red chili sauce; delicious and thematically correct. My entrée was less successful. The shrimp server on corn polenta with a tequila chili sauce was a great pairing, a Southwestern take in shrimp on grits, but the shrimp were overcooked. That was the only good fail though. The service was attentive despite the busy night. The decor is sophisticated Southwestern. Even with a large crowd in a relatively small space my companion and I could converse easily without shouting.

I want to go back and would recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Agave was a great find! I would call it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Agave was a great find! I would call it southwest-southeast fusion. I had a great play on shrimp and grits: scallops and sweet tomato grits with spicy collard greens. It was loud! I had no trouble communicating with my partner, but I think a large group would be shouting all over the place to be heard. Great atmosphere and tasty food/drinks. Fun evening out for grownups, not so much for kids. Maybe their brunch/lunch would be better timing there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Agave is great for that first date or fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Agave is great for that first date or for making a great first impression. The bar is stocked with whatever your heart desires. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Very good at anticipating your need without being overbearing . As you can tell I liked it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.