About Agave

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (60)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Good for Groups (45)
See All
Special Occasion (44)
Hot Spot (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Romantic (20)
Late-night Find (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Too noisy and difficult to talk but stil ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Too noisy and difficult to talk but still a good place!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly host sat us right away. Waitres ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Friendly host sat us right away. Waitress was friendly and patient. We don't live in Atlanta but will recommend it our friends/family who are there and who visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I've been to Agave a few times, and it i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've been to Agave a few times, and it is always great. The atmosphere is warm, the servers are friendly and attentive, and everything on the menu is delicious. I look forward to returning and trying something different!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is such a treat. The service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

This place is such a treat. The service and food is great, they never disappoint.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here several times and want ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have eaten here several times and want to like the food more than I do. It is just too inconsistent. You can have one great meal and then the next time (and we did this past Sunday) have a seriously sub-par meal.

There were 4 of us and one ordered the chicken, which in the past has been superb- but this time the cut of the meat was stringy & tough & quite disgusting. Another person had their take on the shrimp & grits, which could have been fabulous had it had a little sauce and not been so dry. A third person had the lamb chops, which again, could have been great but it was a terrible, fatty portion of meat (not so in the past) and I had the trout, which has been on the menu forever and is usually good, but this time was so season-less I wondered if someone forgot to spice it.

Service was seriously terrible. We had to beg for dirty plates to be removed during courses. This too has not been the usual case.

Maybe they were so slammed over the weekend that by Sunday they were just done. But as the restaurant scene grows in this area, they need to pay more attention to overall quality if they want to retain their return patrons.

I know I will think twice before going back. Which is a shame..

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great food. Nice location

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food. Nice location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious... I had 3 appetizer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was delicious... I had 3 appetizers as my meal. The street corn was AMAZING. The chili rellano was also superb. I wasn't as fond of the shrimp spring roll. It was pretty salty and the shrimp had a very seafoody flavor. Loved their chips and salsa. My companions both ot the short rib and gave me a bite. It was so tender and delicious. Served with jalapeño potatoes and asparagus which they both raved about and ate every bite. We had reserved seats and I'm glad, because it was full on a Sunday evening. They also had free valet parking which was nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was distracted, and passive, maki ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server was distracted, and passive, making it our responsibility to move the meal forward. This might be a better approach for a table of late night drinkers. Food was really good, but not enough to make up for the lack of proactive service. Might try again, however.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

One of our favorites, always an interest ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of our favorites, always an interesting menu. Great service too. It was a little loud where we sat (due to a large party) and asked to move to another room which was better. They were happy to oblige. We will be back soon!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food wasn't good and the restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food wasn't good and the restaurant was way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I went to Agave with high expectations. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I went to Agave with high expectations. All sites put is as one of the coolest spots in the neighborhood. Upon arrival we thought dinner would be fantastic, the decor takes you to Santa Fe or Tucson and the menu looked very promising. We ordered a couple of appetizers (Ceviche and springrolls) that never arrived, instead we got our food and it was good, but nothing to brag about. I ordered the skirt stake with the spicy sauce and it was good, but it came plated on top of grilled corn; a lot of it. Why would anyone want to eat that much grilled corn? (it was not even on the cob, so it just looked weird). My friends ordered other dishes that were ok. nobody complained about bad food, but nobody was raving about it. The wait staff, albeit polite, were overstretched. They brought the appetizers late but it was just weird. The margaritas were actually good, so I'd probably recommend the place to have a drink.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Unfortunately, for me, Agave did not liv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unfortunately, for me, Agave did not live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Three words: Coconut Lime Margarita!! T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Three words: Coconut Lime Margarita!!

This was my second time at Agave and I was just as impressed as my first. The short rib is so tender and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great, service was a little slo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food is great, service was a little slow and restaurant wasn't packed. However, this is not normally the case here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My 1st visit to Agave was on a busy Satu ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My 1st visit to Agave was on a busy Saturday night and for the most part I was impressed. The menu is puts a Southwestern spin ( cilantro, chilis, ground corn) on all dishes in the menu even conventional dishes like trout and short ribs. As a

starter,I had the mussels steamed in a red chili sauce; delicious and thematically correct. My entrée was less successful. The shrimp server on corn polenta with a tequila chili sauce was a great pairing, a Southwestern take in shrimp on grits, but the shrimp were overcooked. That was the only good fail though. The service was attentive despite the busy night. The decor is sophisticated Southwestern. Even with a large crowd in a relatively small space my companion and I could converse easily without shouting.

I want to go back and would recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Agave was a great find! I would call it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Agave was a great find! I would call it southwest-southeast fusion. I had a great play on shrimp and grits: scallops and sweet tomato grits with spicy collard greens. It was loud! I had no trouble communicating with my partner, but I think a large group would be shouting all over the place to be heard. Great atmosphere and tasty food/drinks. Fun evening out for grownups, not so much for kids. Maybe their brunch/lunch would be better timing there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Agave is great for that first date or fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Agave is great for that first date or for making a great first impression. The bar is stocked with whatever your heart desires. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Very good at anticipating your need without being overbearing . As you can tell I liked it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Agave ROCKS! Thank you so very much for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Agave ROCKS! Thank you so very much for being a friend and supporter of Nicholas House! We came as a result of the fundraising opportunity that you offered us. Your generosity is contagious - not only were Nicholas House supporters able to dine on some amazing fare - we were also able to connect with them in a friendly environment and to grow our support base with their friends and family who joined them. Again I say...Gracias!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Agave is one of my favorite restaurants, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Agave is one of my favorite restaurants, I try something new every time and have never been disappointed, except when they took the pork chops off the menu, they were fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived early for our reservation. The p ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Arrived early for our reservation. The place was packed and the bar very crowded. The host indicated he would likely be able to seat us early. We ordered drinks at the bar and our table was ready before the bartender could make our drinks. Food and drinks were great, service was a bit slow, although not a bad thing as the place was packed and were we enjoying a relaxed dinner with great friends. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always a satisfying meal and knowledgabl ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always a satisfying meal and knowledgable, friendly service.

I had been avoiding the ribs, thinking when I want a rack of ribs I go to a bbq restaurant, like Fox Brothers or Swallow in the Hollow. But I tried it this visit and it may be the best ribs I've ever had. Great flavor, fall off the bone tender. With the collards and mac and cheese, it's a great deal. Before six, at $12, it's by far the best deal in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I would recommend the barbacoa taco.

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I would recommend the barbacoa taco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is excellent and the service wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food is excellent and the service was attentive. Great Margaritas and appetizers as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sat us promptly at the reservation time ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sat us promptly at the reservation time even though it was extremely crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good and our waiter wh ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was very good and our waiter who was very friendly, made an error on one of our orders of six. He brought the wrong meal and by the time he brought out the right meal , the rest of us were nearly done. One suggestion , because of the noise level I would have the waiter repeat the orders before he leaves the table.

The manger was very apologetic and he did everything he could to make the situation better. Mistakes are made, I would return and plan to. Great place other wise

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We came for a family birthday, party of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We came for a family birthday, party of eight. Great food, drinks, service... but it was SO NOISY we could not talk. My three year old grandson could have stood on his chair and screamed at the top of his lungs and no-one would have noticed!

Hope the owners will work on some sort of noise abatement solution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I love going to Agave. I have not been d ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love going to Agave. I have not been disappointed. The meals are fantastic as well as the drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First visit to Agave and it was almost f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First visit to Agave and it was almost filled on a early Thursday evening. Parking was tight though there is valet parking if needed. Restaurant was larger inside than appeared from the outdoors photos online. Service was very good and the food was very good. My Baby Back Ribs were seasoned just right for me, but be too mild for some. My wife's Vegetarian dish was perfectly seasoned and cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good southwest cuisine!! Excellent ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very good southwest cuisine!! Excellent flat iron steak, tequila lime shrimp, and stuffed mountain trout! They have several margaritas to choose from. My favorite was the coconut and lime one! We don't normally revisit restaurants especially on one trip, but we dined there twice while in Atlanta in January. It is definitely on our list for every trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is super each and everytime ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The service is super each and everytime I visit! My must go to restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I selected Agave as a meeting spot for m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I selected Agave as a meeting spot for my out of town colleagues. They loved it. Enjoyed the food and the environment. They could complimented the selection multiple times during the meal. Agave was a hit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I made reservations for 7 and there were ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I made reservations for 7 and there were 8 people in my group. The restaurant was very accommodating and allowed us to change to a larger table when it became available. The food and service was GREAT!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We don't eat out much, but come back to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We don't eat out much, but come back to Agave again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining at Agave ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was our second time dining at Agave and it was much better than the first. We dined at the bar this time and have decided we will always ask to sit there. The bartender was attentive and made perfect suggestions. The appetizer deals were great. Our favorite was the Fried Lobster Tails. We look forward to going back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Swordfish was good. Short ribs was a lit ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Swordfish was good. Short ribs was a little stringy. Service was good. Small portions for the price. Overall, I give it an okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Agave is a perennial local favorite. Gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Agave is a perennial local favorite. Great food, great service and great management. Also the best margaritas in town!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!!! Our server was a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was amazing!!! Our server was awesome and so was the street corn appetizer and the chocolate torte dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Agave never disappoints! Awesome food an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Agave never disappoints! Awesome food and service with great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally have has excellent service this ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Normally have has excellent service this past experience in which we took an out of town friend the service was terrible . We got served waters then waited almost 10 minutes to get our drink orders . Then took another 10 to 15 minutes to get our food order in. The worst part was my husband and friend received their food and I finally made them eat after 5 minutes so their food didn't get cold . My food appeared late after they had finished their meals . No apology from our server or anyone . The food was bland this time just ordinary not the extraordinary that I'm used to having . Hope agave was just having an off night because this is one of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent place to dine specially for sp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent place to dine specially for special occasions. Great place to dine with friends and family, Amazing and great Menu food was excellent. Food was delicious as always and customer service out of this world.

Thank you Agave Restaurant for your Great services and Food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.