About Agave

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (34)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
See All
Casual (31)
Worth the Drive (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Authentic (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Cozy (20)
Fun (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Romantic (17)
Fireplace (16)
Spicy (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
545 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Perfect for events, special events or everyday dinning. Amazing food, best margaritas, and fabulous customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely another awesome and delicious experience. Service was perfect like the food. I am a regular customer who always receives outstanding food and service every time.

Tags: Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I really love this place the food and drinks are great love the staff and atmosphere

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went to celebrate Valentine's day, really great food and atmosphere. The noise level was quite high in there, the service was however not so great after eating our starter it took almost 30 minutes to get our entrees. The Filet mignon was so tender it could be cut with a fork, the fried lobster tail was on the rubbery side, the Coconut Lime margaritas tasted like suntan lotion with such a strong coconut flavor, had to ask for a spoon just to eat my soup it was brought out without one.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was an opportunity that was recommended by a friend. My wife ate there on Valentines Day! The food was good and the chips were outstanding. I would recommend to friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a wonderful experience great ambiance great food wil definitely go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The good was great, but the server was slow to greet us and come back and take our order. She also kept calling my 70-year old mother and I "girls". I know we are in the south, but...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Agave is my favorite restaurant. Food and service always gear

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I found this restaurant while searching for a place to take my wife out for Valentines dinner. We ended up inviting another couple. We all enjoyed the evening. the ambiance was fun. The food was excellent as was the service. We would all highly recommend Agave!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Spicy, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome drinks! Great food! Quaint settings! Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this place. Can't speak highly enough of it. The food is excellent and creative takes on old favorites. Service is on par with restaurants that cost 3-4 times as much per entree.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have eaten here many times over the last 13 years. When we moved away for ten years, we always looked forward to visiting.

The tuna as well as the sword fish dishes are wonderful ---- along with the flourless chocolate torte.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was fresh, plentiful & tasty. I had the scallops which were delicious. We split the ceviche martini which was very good however, the guacamole was bland and disappointing.

This is a vibrant, hopping place and you'll wait for a table if you don't have a reservation. Our waiter was friendly & attentive; food and drinks arrived quickly.

I'll go back for sure.

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Spicy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was excellent. The meatball appetizer and scallops entree were outstanding. It was not a great atmosphere for a date since we were literally crammed into a corner and it was very loud. When we arrived it was incredibly chaotic at the front. Despite having reservations we waited for a few people to be seated ahead of us before our table was ready. Our server was friendly, but was clearly busy as we only saw her a few times. I will go back since the food was great, but not for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food and great service time after time! I had the scallops and collards and hubby had the rack of lamb and grilled asparagus. Both entrees were done to perfection. This visit we were sitting close to the open grill area where the hot food was being prepared so we saw all of the the main orders after they were plated before they were delivered to the tables. We decided we needed to return very soon and check out some of the dishes we have never ordered before. Everything looked wonderful. There also is a good 'vibe' among the employees and they work well together as a team which makes for a very pleasant atmosphere. Of course, the margaritas are award winning and the chips, salsa and guacamole are also memorable. This is a forovite restaurant for so many reasons.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The margaritas here are always good! And the service is good.

We usually do well with just ceviche and posole or stew. We tried to branch out this time with the scallops entree and a special, but were disappointed by both. The scallops were overdone and the special wasn't that special.

So we'll be back - but sticking to our old standbys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I love Agave and go often with my friends. The food is great and our servers was on top of her game.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Love this restaurant every single visit. The food is always amazing! I always visit for the Mona Lisa cocktail! Amazing!! 🤗

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent food.

Service was surprisingly poor.

The waitress was kind and personable, but not patient in securing our table's orders for the initial drink, the appetizers, the entree, or the desserts. She didn't ask about after-dinner drinks. She was in a hurry to get somewhere else and I had to call her back to complete the order for our entree. But I won't let that stop me from coming back again!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Good find, good choice, good food for a short biz visit to Atlanta. Close to downtown but far enough from downtown to be available on short notice during a large event at GWCC. Great menu and great food. Service excellent. Try it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Tyler our server was great! The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was very good. Service was very good. Nice ambiance. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Upon arriving on a Saturday night, it was clear Agave has a huge following, as autos were in queue for the valet attendants. The wait to be parked wasn't long at all. A restaurant reservation is required before an attendant will take your keys. Self-parking is not an option for this restaurant.

The restaurant is "high energy." We were seated pretty quick, which is unusual for a popular restaurant, even with a reservation. The food and service were excellent. Agave is a "hit."

The only "misses" I noticed included our table for two, which was "tight." Also, the noise level was a bit high. One of the guys busting the table behind us added to the noise level by slamming plates and glasses on the table. Irritating!

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Agave is our favorite restaurant in Atlanta. It's like eating great food with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Accommodating and friendly host, informative waiter, and food that did not disappoint. A bit louder than I usually prefer, but enjoyed by all of us.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

As always a perfect night. Great atmosphere and food. An Atlanta hot spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Fireplace, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Prompt & pleasant valet, thanks Tony!

We were shown immediately to our table & our server Malcom was fantastic. Our special drinks for my mom's birthday was yummy and our meal was hot & good. The chocolate mousse with the candle was the perfect ending.

I will continue to keep this spot as a fave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Agave was great and I would definitely go back. It took a little longer for the waiter to greet us at first but after that he improved. The menu had a lot of options and their margaritas were fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great Food, decent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a good time and enjoyed our time. Dinner was outstanding and we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

16 years of consistently excellent service, food and top shelf margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great time with some wonderful old friends. The margaritas were excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Took my office staff to Atlanta for a Saturday conference and made reservations at Agave for Friday night. Had a blast. The place was busting at the seams but we were seated within five minutes of arrival and you could tell they had been holding our larger table for seven. Appetizers were good, not great (maybe you would say "typical") but the entrees were REALLY good. I ordered one of the fish specialties and it was off the chain. The others in our party were equally pleased with their selections. An awesome and attentive waiter. We were seated way in the back, away from the kitchen and bar and he was almost in a jog as he hustled our requests. Margaritas will knock your socks off. Really good. All in all, a great experience with a cool vibe. Would definitely go back. Put this one on your list.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food as usual! Love the service and ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Server was great. Apps came out almost instantaneously. First time and would absolutely recommend .

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food and service is always great at Agave. I truly enjoyed the special appetizer for the day of Mexican beer battered shrimp and would recommend that it be added to the regular menu. The Mona Lisa is always a favorite cocktail and the Agave Cayenne Fried Chicken is a favorite entree.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 11, 2017

In advance of a work trip to Atlanta I turned to Open Table for dinner suggestions. Of the five nights, my friends and I enjoyed Agave the most. It was a pleasant surprise as I had not heard of it prior. The atmosphere and service were great; the food was over the top. We started with Coconut Lime Margaritas-yum and chips/salsa-great choice. Our group enjoyed Chopped Salad, Shrimp&Grits, and Scallops. I highly recommend Agave.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We never get tired of the eclectic atmosphere, live kitchen, and livelier staff at Agave! Best tequila selection in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had reservations at 8:30 on New Years Eve. I used the complementary Valet to park and although it was very busy I was immediately greeted and seated at a table. Our waitress was very accommodating without being overbearing. The margaritas, appetizers and entrees were all very good as well as the chips and salsa. I do not live in Atlanta, but if I did I would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great early New Year's Eve dinner. Everything was perfect. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was amazing as always. Love the authentic New Mexican style cuisine. My husband always gets the blue corn tortilla enchiladas and I like to get a special. This night I ordered the Sea bass on special. It was amazing. We were able to get a reservation, got seated right away, and all went smooth. The server was super friendly and helpful. Love the margarita. Definitely recommend giving this place a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing. We love this place. We will

Definitely be going back. It was our 3rd time visiting agave.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great time! We had a small dinner/business meeting, and though it was a little loud, not overbearing. Loved the food and ambiance. Service was good, and we have decided that we will return again. Nice place to have a good dinner and great social time. Good job Agave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A good friend and I ate at Agave this past Thursday night asa special friend's get together. We had both always wanted to go and my friend had a certificate in the dining out pass which gave us one entrée 50%. We made a reservation which was a good thing because it was packed that night. We were given a table in the small room towards the back which had a better noise level than the rest of the restaurant. We had an attentive server who did a fine job and gave us some good recommendations. My friend and I both enjoyed our margaritas-she ordered the Texan and I ordered the passion fruit margarita which was delicious! However, when it came to the entrees there was disappointment. My friend ordered the Rack of Lamb but when it came out it was only 3 lamb lollipops, essentially what could have been an appetizer and not at all worth the price of the $24 entree. Above all the name on the menu is very deceiving as it clearly says RACK of lamb. This needs to be changed ASAP so that guests are aware that they are really only getting lamb lollipops. So disappointing. We brought it to our server's attention and she apologized and agreed that the menue was inaccurate and she provided the manager's contact info. I ordered the scallops with the grits and collards and they were quite tasty. We shared the key lime pie for dessert which I believe had a gingersnap crust and cinnamon whipped cream on the side, which was very good, however there was some sort of sauce on the pie with a strange unpleasant flavor. Overall, I would still recommend eating at Agave though in order to not deceive the patrons the menu needs to be updated ASAP. I read an article on the wall of the women's bathroom which happened to mention the rack of lamb (a writeup from 2003 I believe) so it seems that at one time the dish was different. Cool southwestern vibe at the restaurant which makes it a unique dining option in Atlanta. Oh yeah, the valet guys were kind of rough... consider different company?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Loved the loft seating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was great. Try the NY strip, it is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner with the family after picking up our daughter at the airport. We chose Agave after searching online reviews for a place with great food and a fun, festive atmosphere. Agave did not disappoint on either - a great evening out!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was my first time at Agave and the restaurant certainly lived up to all of the hype I had heard. The food was amazing and the ambiance was pleasant. Our server was attentive and made excellent recommendations. Best guacamole I've had in a while. The scallop/shrimp over blue cheese grits was to die for! Definitely a night to remember! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great Margaritas. All the dishes our party of three had were very good. Have eaten here on two recent trips to Atlanta.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and drinks were great. The only issue we had was with the gift cards we purchased last week. The server said we couldn't use them past 9 pm. We insisted and they finally let us use them. I will still go back because I have money left on the card but it was a very embarrassing since it was my wife's birthday and we were with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.