Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Agave

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (49)
Good for a Date (46)
Casual (42)
See All
Special Occasion (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Groups (29)
Authentic (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Happy Hour (25)
Fun (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Spicy (22)
Fireplace (21)
Romantic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Bar Seating (15)
Cozy (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Outstanding Value (13)
Business Meals (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
609 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

As usual I had out of town visitors and I always bring them to Agave- they never disappoint!! Only suggestion this time- the shrimp cakes needed to be an entire entree, not just an appetizer- OMG I could eat those all day
Thank you for a great experience and of course they will be talking in New York when they return 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were celebrating a college graduation. The food and the service was excellent and the prices were reasonable.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service amazingband the menu has many wonderful tasty reasonably priced items for any palette! The margaritas are exceptional! Never a bad meal at Agave!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Agave is my favorite place to dine with friends or alone in Atlanta

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Agave never disappoints with great food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

As always everything was impeccable. We introduced new friends to the restaurant and were delighted to see that they were as impressed as we always are.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our 13th Wedding Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were promptly seated upon arrival. It took the server around 25 minutes to come to our table. I finally had to ask another server if she could at least take our drink order. My swordfish was a little on the burnt side. My little sister's meal was perfect. The fried lobster tail was DELISH. I was unhappy with our service and the time he took to return to his tables. And the restaurant was NOT overly packed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent lobster tail, the best fried chicken, grits, grilled corn, shrimp and grits! Awesome service! Good price for what you get!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always a guarantee for a great dining experience at Agave!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food, wonderful server. A bit noisy so conversation can be challenging!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall, was a good experience. To be fully transparent, we went to Agave on Cinco de Mayo, so I'm giving them a pretty easy time here because they were very, very busy and we went into it knowing they would be. I had been warned it was quite loud and the lobby / bar area was very loud. I would likely request a table in the back area. We were seated there and the sound level was just fine. A fair warning, the lobby area is VERY congested, so if it's warm enough, order a drink and wait outside. But overall, a very good experience!

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We LOVE Agave and have been going for years. The food and margaritas are consistantly good. When we went it was Cinco de Mayo. They seemed a little short staffed and out server was MIA most of the night. We agreed that they were overly busy and he had a lot of tables to juggle, but it was not the norm for Agave. The valet service is different and not as organized as they once were. They pulled up the wrong car for us and could not find the keys for another customers car. We will go back because it is a special place for us and we love the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Reservation was for 7pm, we were back on the way home by 7:45z. Ordered guacamole and calamari for appetizers and it arrived within 5 minutes of ordering. Our meal-lamb chops and the short ribs arrived within 10-15 minutes or ordering. Food was delicious, drinks were on point, service impeccable. And let me also say this was CINCO DE MAYO and the restaurant was packed! Love this place!!!!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Lisa is the absolute best Mixologist! Excellent food and happy hour specials!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The food is always excellent, the servers always knowledgeable, efficient and personable. No wonder this is our go-to place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Agave never disappoints! This has been one of my favorite restaurants in Atlanta for the past 10 years.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We are on business in Atlanta. The noise was so loud we could barely enjoy our meal. We changed our dessert order to go and enjoyed it in quiet at our hotel.
The food was average for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We went for dinner the food and service was wonderful. They have a Great happy hour that I would like to go back for

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I love agave and have been going there for years. My experience this evening wasn't what I typically expect, we felt rushed and the food was average. The only redeeming thing was our drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I brought two friends that were visiting from out of town. Everyone enjoyed their food and cocktails. The waiter was friendly and quite responsive. I had the trout dish which was tasty and filling. I would definitely recommend this spot if you are looking for food with a slightly different flair. Atmosphere is upbeat. It is some what loud so I wouldn't recommend for deep conversation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I was here with 6 of my family members to celebrate my birthday. Everyone enjoyed it. Even my picky mom who proclaimed "I don't like Mexican food." *sigh* she loved it. The drinks were great as always. My teenaged niece and nephew enjoyed it as well. This is a place I frequent from time to time so that won't change but I think Agave has a few more patrons in my family. : )

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

First time in Agave and enjoyed it. Love the hatch green chilies on the menu. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Mexican fresh authentic and unique - great ambiance for a romantic night!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My husband had the Red Pepper Salmon...it looked beautiful and hr said it tasted great. I had the scallops...decent taste but the presentation was dull. I was a bit disappointed. The drinks were excellent. I visited on my birthday and was given a dessert menu, but when I said it was my birthday the server said I have something for you (chocolate mousse) which was tasty. But then there was 50 cent charge for the mousse. I thought that was in poor taste and never had I experienced that. Overall I would give Agave a B!.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Have been going to Agave since it first opened and have never been disappointed. We no longer live around Atlanta but have to come by when we're in town. Best margaritas hands down

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My husband and I always enjoy dining at Agave. We have not has a meal that we did not enjoy. my favorite is their version of shrimp and grits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service, Food and atmosphere was great! Fantastic, as always!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We've dined at Agave about 6 times over the last two years, and we've really enjoyed all our dining experiences. I usually tried the specials and I was never disappointed. We've always received great service and great food. Also, excellent Margarita's and desserts! Valet parking is very convenient.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was delicious and the wait staff was friendly. The restaurant is very small so not much room to move around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This place was awesome, I highly recommend it. The food was good and the waiter was very attentive. I would absolutely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Took my son who's currently completing his time at Atlanta Police Academy and my daughter! They had never been and both enjoyed the food so much! My son said it was the best meal he had had in a long while! We had steak, baby back ribs and the tenderloin medallions and they were out of this world! Agave never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Scallops and calamari were amazing. I definitely plan to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great business meeting. Tasty food and outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Only thing was - it was super loud...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Used to be a great place to eat. Seems quality has gone down hill the past 10 years. Food was meh, margaritas has super sugary sour mix and expensive. Was disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The scallops are amazing!! The service and atmosphere was great. We really enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food and great service! The server was fantastic! Loved her suggestions for trying something new; very knowledgeable about the menu and its flavors. It was my best friend's first time and she went gaga! Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Agave didn't accept my opentable reservation. When the hostess told us to sit down and wait until a party left, it was much longer before she walked by again, pointed at us, and said "I forgot about you". Therefore, we left. Unacceptable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Awesome atmosphere and great food! Always a treat to dine here

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.