Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Agave

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Casual (43)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
See All
Authentic (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fun (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Cozy (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Spicy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Romantic (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Happy Hour (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Business Meals (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Healthy (10)
People Watching (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tapas (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I was disappointed with the service. Small things that should be second nature to a waiter was overlooked. For instance, when first getting there and having water poured, the waiter left without giving us straws, then we had to ask on two separate occasions for straws. The same thing happened when our food was brought to the table, we had to wait for utensils. Also, I felt that the waiter was rushed, there were a couple occasions where he was at the table right next to us and didn’t even turn around to make sure everything was ok with our meal or if we needed anything else. The food here is good, but with lackluster service it makes you think twice about dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first experience at Agave and it was amazing! The margaritas were great, apps were delish, entrees were flavorful and expertly prepared. We topped it off with the Key Lime pie which we highly recommend. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and professional...even the valet staff was great. It was a five star experience and we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I really enjoyed my meal here the food was absolutely delicious and the staff was super friendly!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

If you haven’t been to Agave, you are missing out!! The service and food was excellent!! Our waiter was very friendly, engaging and recommended some fabulous dishes. He was truly knowledgeable about the menu. The food was fantastic with little wait. I will definitely be coming again and hopefully with more friends and/or family in tow!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Agave is my favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Never disappoints!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We were having a family dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

asked for a table away from the noise, and got a lovely table in the far back corner. The service was excellent, the scallops were perfect... the chips and salsa and the CORN! AMAZING.
If you love southwest flavors, you will love this place.

Also big thumbs up on the Spicy Jalapeno Margarita! yum.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation as we were seated immediately which was a plus we was greeted soon after sitting I full came out in a very timely manner and it was excellent from the chicken to the salmon was prepared with excellence the plating was nice I will return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was super noisy, to the point we could hardly have a conversation. However the service and food was amazing. We would definitely go back

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Good spicy Mexican food...felt just a little bit rushed. Was seated in the outermost part of the restaurant. Would have preferred to be closer to the bar area.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Agave was a great find! Great margaritas and food! The dessert tray was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

We found the food at this last visit was truly outstanding... we do enjoy this restaurant and go maybe a few times a year, but this time was really exceptional! Wonderful food, and attentive staff. Thank you!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Always been very satisfied with the quality and flavor of the food. Menu is creative and just yummy! Great Margaritas!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Waiter did not share the specials of the day. Felt like he wanted to get us in and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 10, 2018

We always eat at Agave when we are in town for market. Sometimes we are there twice. Everyone is very helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Fantastic food, great service and terrific ambiance! You will have a great meal at Agave!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Agave was absolutely amazing as always. The seating is incredible no matter what part you in. Great chefs and amazing host and servers!!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Always a great experience at Agave. We love the guacamole and the mussels appetizers. Fried Chicken is best of the ATL. You have to splurge for the tenderloin medallions. Save room for dessert especially the dark chocolate ganache torte.

On the drink side, jalapeño margarita, the Texas are favorites.

Get on their VIP list and stay in the loop.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2018

I love Agave. I've been several times and it never disappoints. The food is fresh and they are willing to prepare menu items to your specific dietary requests (I'm a pescatarian with dairy & nut allergies and they happily accommodate me). The service is always impeccable...I alwaysd ask my server about their favorite menu items and what wine he/she recommends. This restaurant is definitely on my list of favorites in Atlanta.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2018

I like this restaurant and always have. The food is good, although this time my blue corn enchiladas were served lukewarm so they were not as good as usual. I suppose I could have send them back but I figured all they would do woul would be "nuke" them. Anyway, the margaritas were really good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Outstanding meal and great service. Highly recommend

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Deliciously spicy! Margaritas are amazing! Great service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Agave is a little more upscale than a restaurant I restaurant I might frequent weekly, but it's a wonderful choice for a special location. It possesses a casual, southwestern vibe. If you're seated inside, near the fireplace is cozy.

Our server was attentive, personable, and helped us with recommendations for entrees. Plan to make dinner a meaningful experience and enjoy a cocktail, an appetizer, entree, and dessert. The cocktails include creative variations on the classic margarita.

For appetizers, skip the bland guacamole and choose something else, although I will say their mixture of regular and blue corn chips have just the right amount of salt and thickness and are not greasy. The salsa is flavorful, too.

For entrees, I recommend the Blue Corn Enchiladas, the Poblano Chicken, or the Steak Burrito with the Green Chile Stew. I enjoyed the taste of the steak burrito. The stew was a tad too spicy for me but still delicious; I just don't care for food that is so hot that it prevents me from tasting anything else.

I'm normally a chocolate only guy when it comes to dessert; however, I've been encouraging myself to branch out and try other types of dessert. You have to try the Banana Cheesecake with Ganache! It was hearty and enough for two people to share. It was also the perfect balance of banana, cheesecake, and chocolate. In fact, I've thought of it many times since I dined at Agave on Thursday night.

Our impetus for dinner was to see a Canadian friend who was in town. After dinner, our server remained attentive as we continued to visit without making us feel any pressure to leave It made for a pleasant evening, and I look forward to my next time dining at Agave.

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 4, 2018

We have loved going to Agave for many years. The food and service are fabulous and they have creative food specials and great drinks. One of our favorite neighborhood spots!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Amir was our server. He was outstanding! He was so knowledgeable about the menu and drinks available to soothe our taste buds. Cozy environment and I like the $12 entrees between 5pm-6pm.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Had reservations for NYE. Got seated right away and service was fast. Overall nice experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Taylor was excellent!! The food was as great as the first day they opened!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Amazing as always! Highly recommend. Huevos Poblanos was fantastic and the tequila wasn't to bad either ;)

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great, as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

It’s my birthday. The ambiance was nice, seating was a bit tight. The menu cocktails were good, but not strong , and mixer was used to compensate for the light alcohol. Drinks needed more kick! Food was delicious and the server was very attentive. Overall, great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

This is my second time eating at AGAVA and both times the food was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, People Watching, Casual, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Our waiter Marco was awesome! He was very helpful with suggestions and patiently answered our questions as all but one of us had never been to Agave prior to this visit. The seating was a bit cramped, but the food was good- we just wished there was more of it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

It was wonderful! Our server made excellent recommendations, and the food was fantastic (as usual).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2017

It was a bit hectic as it was Christmas Eve. We had a wonderful time and our waiter, although very busy, was very attentive. Food was delish. Out of a few key items but, after all, it was Christmas Eve and very busy. I love this restaurant and will go back as often as possible.

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Took the family to Agave for the first time on Christmas Eve. It is a nice, cozy find. We all enjoyed our meals and they have a great list of delicious Margaritas. Our only disappointment was that we were seated in the bar and it was very noisy. If I knew the setup in advance I would have requested we be seated in the dining room when I made the reservation. It was not anyone’s fault but just something you should know depending on the type of evening you are looking for. We will definitely return the next time we are in the area.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Food is always amazing. It was cold that night and the patio was chilly under the enclosure window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Christmas, was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

Fantastic food and a fantastic restaurant. This was my first time in and I’ll most definitely be back!

Pro tip: definitely make a reservation to eat here. Otherwise, there is usually a long wait. Mostly because this place is so good. It’s worth the wait. But reserving a table is much better.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, People Watching, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2017

This is a fun place to go with friends. It's high energy, casual, and festive. The food is great and service is outstanding. Don't miss their award winning margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Unique dishes, delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.