About Agave

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (78)
good for groups (71)
fit for foodies (63)
See All
special occasion (45)
hot spot (37)
vibrant bar scene (30)
romantic (26)
great for lunch (12)
late-night find (12)
great for outdoor dining (7)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to dine specially for sp ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent place to dine specially for special occasions. Great place to dine with friends and family, Amazing and great Menu food was excellent. Food was delicious as always and customer service out of this world. Thank you Agave Restaurant for your Great services and Food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an excellent experience! Food, se ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Always an excellent experience! Food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent here. I tri ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The food is always excellent here. I tried the swordfish this time. Awesome! It's always a favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always awesome service and foods

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Always awesome service and foods

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly recommend reservations on a Satur ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Highly recommend reservations on a Saturday night. The place was packed and extremely noisy. We only waited about 10 minutes with a reservation. The staff was friendly and pleasant in spite of the overflow crowd. The stuffed trout was amazing! I would definitely return and order the same dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Diverse menu. Valet parking. Upscale ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Diverse menu. Valet parking. Upscale casual. Comfortable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have NEVER been disappointed with Agave!

Dined on June 10, 2016

This is one of our family favorites. We've been in Cabbagetown/Grant Park area since 1998, and Agave has been there with us for most of that time. Get the NY Strip or ANY of the fish dishes, but the fried chicken is our favorite. It is a great place for small to large groups and kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divinedining

Dined on June 7, 2016

Agave was great from the moment we entered until we left. Our server (Jonathan) was very personable & knowledgeable. The street corn & chicken quesadias were great starters and my friend wanted a frozen mango margarita as she's allergic to strawberries. However the drink was prepared, she was going to be happy. But the drink was excellently prepared, crushed ice and all and she was thrilled. That kind of customer service is remarkable. Our entrees were not only delicious but filling. I only brought home half of my cayene chicken because I wanted to save room for dessert which was most delicious. And the food came out timely. Just as we finished appetizers, entrees came out. Such a smooth flo, and this was with us asking questions to boot! We are two couples who have a monthly FTD (First Tuesday Date night) so we can keep in touch and do so over great food. Agave is added to our list of favorites.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service as usual! Jon ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual! Jonathan always makes our experience exceptional!

food5
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy visiting Agave. Good s ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

We always enjoy visiting Agave. Good service, easy parking and especially good food at reasonable prices. The only negatives are having to navigate Atlanta traffic (in our case from Cobb Co) and a fairly high noise level when the restaurant is busy.

food5
ambience3
service3

Food was delicious. The server (Allison) ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was delicious. The server (Allison) was not empathic at all when it was pointed out that the bus staff had taken a unfinished drinks from the table. She was quick to ask if we wanted dessert and went out of her way not to address the issue. Thus the reason for a 3 star rating.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I have been to this restaurant three tim ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

I have been to this restaurant three times and I have a great dinning experience each time. The food has distinct Mexican taste and flavor. The normal Mexican dishes are revved up and fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner and drinks as usual. Servic ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great dinner and drinks as usual. Service was great and the margaritas are amazing. Food was perfect. It's a little loud and an energetic place, maybe not great if looking for a quiet dinner. Perfect if you want great food, drinks, and fun.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great, staff was remarkable ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was great, staff was remarkable and the drinks were amazing. The street corn was one of my favorites. I would definitely go back. I had a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and well prepared

Dined on May 19, 2016

We have never had anything but great meals and service here. The wait people are always friendly and accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, service, atmosphere is fantast ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food, service, atmosphere is fantastic. The restaurant has to move. As we left to retrieve our cars from the valet, the window was broken on the car with a laptop that was hidden was taken. Police were called and report was filed but killed a great meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dinner & atmosphere. Food was gre ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great dinner & atmosphere. Food was great and I would recommend it to others.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service and entire experience ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food, service and entire experience was great. I've found a new favorite restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Has been a favorite for years. I moved a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Has been a favorite for years. I moved away 5 years ago. Visited for Mothers Dinner this year. Same great service. Same great food. Consistent. Delicious fare. Can't go wrong.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best birthday dinner and Westminster Girls reunion

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my best experience by far at Agave! We had a large part (7) with an arrival time of 5:30. Three of the seven got caught in traffic and didn't arrive until between 6/6:30. However, management was extraordinarily accommodating. We had to change tables twice and had the most wonderful server ever, Heather. In addition to being a post birthday celebration for me, it was a chance for me and two of my Westminster Class of 1988 classmates to dine together once again. Since I live in Maryland and am only able to come home once or twice /year, I always enjoy my visits to Agave and Pappadeaux. Your staff's high level of service, in addition to the superb quality of the food, makes Agave on of my tried and true favorites. See you next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Agave

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was not a good experience. The food was not hot (plate hot). Whoever heard of boiled ribs in the South. Server did not make any suggestions from the menu. Noise level was very high. Overall not pleased.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Slow service. Overcooked beef.

Dined on May 1, 2016

They seemed to be short-staffed as service was painfully slow and not particularly attentive or helpful. Glad we were not in a hurry. Two of us got the beef medallions and they were both overcooked. Salmon was cooked perfectly. Sashimi tuna was tough and chewy. Best part of the meal was the fresh salsa.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great company,nice atmosphere,that's where it ends

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was not hot and lacked flavor. The chips and salsa tasted low end and straight from a jar and bag. I had the ribs and my handsome date had the stuffed trout. Both our margaritas were weak. Our server seemed flustered, but he did check on us adequately. I saw great reviews of Agave, but I was disappointed and won't return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joe S

Dined on April 29, 2016

As usual Agave was Outstanding. The service, atmosphere and meal was Par Excellence!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

We loved it! Great Margaritas, great fo ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We loved it! Great Margaritas, great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great night at Agave

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food, great service, great ambiance. Agave is our go to place for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great in every way

Dined on April 16, 2016

We came here to celebrate my wife's birthday and decided to bring our kids even though this is not exactly a "kid restaurant". It was perfect! They had a kid's menu with plenty of our kids' favorites, a terrific "grown-up" menu and great margaritas! Amazingly they blended an adult atmosphere without making us feel uncomfortable having the kids with us. I can't say enough good things about this place; it is truly one of our favorite southwestern/Mexican restaurants!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Agave!

Dined on April 15, 2016

I have dinner at Agave nearly every time I am in town! With a unique, reasonably-priced menu, fun atmosphere, and great service what's not to love? I absolutely recommend this gem.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific experience at Agave

Dined on April 15, 2016

My wife and I had a terrific dinner at Agave on Friday night. Our waiter Jonathan was friendly & helpful- his recommendations were excellent. Had a few jalapeno margaritas that might have been the best margaritas I've ever had. I had the flat iron steak & my wife had short ribs, both of which were delicious. Plus, for the quality it's extremely affordable- almost every entree is $20 or less. We hadn't been to Agave in several years but we won't make the mistake of waiting that long between visits again. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Agave Good

Dined on April 13, 2016

Agave has very good southwestern cuisine with a great special $12 per entree between 5-6 p.m.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic experience as always...Fresh i ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fantastic experience as always...Fresh ingredients, outstanding preparation and presentation, attentive service and a very enjoyable, casual atmosphere! We always have a great meal and experience at Agave, from the fresh guacamole and a diverse set of consistently delicious entrees to the flawless flan!

food5
ambience5
service5

I had the stuffed trout and my wife had ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I had the stuffed trout and my wife had the flank steak. Both were cooked perfectly and delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I loved Agave. She had the scallops and I had the Mahi. Both were excellent. Margaritas were very good as well. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Sadly, Not So Great

Dined on April 7, 2016

Agave used to be a wonderful dining spot. Sadly, over the last few years, the quality of the food has deteriorated. I had hoped that after staying away for a few years, the dining would be back on par. The food was just mediocre. It wasn't horrid, but neither was it exceptional. The margaritas were the highlight of the meal. The seasoning on the steak had a bitter flavor and didn't taste lIke it should have been used on beef. The salmon was dry and tasteless. The noise level is LOUD. There is only valet parking, and the food quality is not worth the cost of the meal. The place was packed, so there are lots of people who obviously like Agave.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A Go-To Place

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Agave is one of our go-to restaurants when we want a good meal out. The food is always good, whether we're in the mood for fish or meat, and the service is always excellent. And the before 6, every entre on the menu for $12, is the best deal in town. And Lisa behind the bar is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food every visit!

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Great food every visit!

food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered 3 dishes and they were all ex ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

We ordered 3 dishes and they were all excellent! Great service and excellent atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great as always & love the new items.

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Great as always! Really like the menu items and options.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2

The most pleasant experience of this mea ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

The most pleasant experience of this meal was the host. He seemed to be in a managerial position and was very professional. Everything else left us wanting more. We saw our waitress about every 20 minutes. This left our drinks empty for quite sometime. The food came out fast but my chicken was dry and so was my girlfriends. The valet was on the phone when we pulled up and we could hear him talking about how he hated his job and wanted to quit. Not a great thing to hear as he's sitting in my car. The noise level was loud and frankly the food was overpriced. It wasn't a great experience, but now we know.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mexican wth a unique flair!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Found this spot on Trip Advisor. Had good reviews and all were justified. We were with our 14 year old son and daughter. While there were no other 'kids' there, we felt comfortable with them and the food was a huge hit with them too. Obviously a popular spot. Glad we had a reservation. Margaritas were delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.