About Agave

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
  • Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave
Agave

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (59)
good for groups (55)
fit for foodies (52)
See All
special occasion (35)
hot spot (28)
vibrant bar scene (24)
romantic (23)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (7)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I would recommend the barbacoa taco.

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I would recommend the barbacoa taco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is excellent and the service wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food is excellent and the service was attentive. Great Margaritas and appetizers as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sat us promptly at the reservation time ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sat us promptly at the reservation time even though it was extremely crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good and our waiter wh ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good and our waiter who was very friendly, made an error on one of our orders of six. He brought the wrong meal and by the time he brought out the right meal , the rest of us were nearly done. One suggestion , because of the noise level I would have the waiter repeat the orders before he leaves the table.

The manger was very apologetic and he did everything he could to make the situation better. Mistakes are made, I would return and plan to. Great place other wise

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We came for a family birthday, party of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We came for a family birthday, party of eight. Great food, drinks, service... but it was SO NOISY we could not talk. My three year old grandson could have stood on his chair and screamed at the top of his lungs and no-one would have noticed!

Hope the owners will work on some sort of noise abatement solution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I love going to Agave. I have not been d ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love going to Agave. I have not been disappointed. The meals are fantastic as well as the drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First visit to Agave and it was almost f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First visit to Agave and it was almost filled on a early Thursday evening. Parking was tight though there is valet parking if needed. Restaurant was larger inside than appeared from the outdoors photos online. Service was very good and the food was very good. My Baby Back Ribs were seasoned just right for me, but be too mild for some. My wife's Vegetarian dish was perfectly seasoned and cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The service is super each and everytime ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The service is super each and everytime I visit! My must go to restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I selected Agave as a meeting spot for m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I selected Agave as a meeting spot for my out of town colleagues. They loved it. Enjoyed the food and the environment. They could complimented the selection multiple times during the meal. Agave was a hit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I made reservations for 7 and there were ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I made reservations for 7 and there were 8 people in my group. The restaurant was very accommodating and allowed us to change to a larger table when it became available. The food and service was GREAT!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We don't eat out much, but come back to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We don't eat out much, but come back to Agave again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining at Agave ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was our second time dining at Agave and it was much better than the first. We dined at the bar this time and have decided we will always ask to sit there. The bartender was attentive and made perfect suggestions. The appetizer deals were great. Our favorite was the Fried Lobster Tails. We look forward to going back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Swordfish was good. Short ribs was a lit ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Swordfish was good. Short ribs was a little stringy. Service was good. Small portions for the price. Overall, I give it an okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Agave is a perennial local favorite. Gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Agave is a perennial local favorite. Great food, great service and great management. Also the best margaritas in town!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!!! Our server was a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was amazing!!! Our server was awesome and so was the street corn appetizer and the chocolate torte dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Agave never disappoints! Awesome food an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Agave never disappoints! Awesome food and service with great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally have has excellent service this ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Normally have has excellent service this past experience in which we took an out of town friend the service was terrible . We got served waters then waited almost 10 minutes to get our drink orders . Then took another 10 to 15 minutes to get our food order in. The worst part was my husband and friend received their food and I finally made them eat after 5 minutes so their food didn't get cold . My food appeared late after they had finished their meals . No apology from our server or anyone . The food was bland this time just ordinary not the extraordinary that I'm used to having . Hope agave was just having an off night because this is one of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent place to dine specially for sp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent place to dine specially for special occasions. Great place to dine with friends and family, Amazing and great Menu food was excellent. Food was delicious as always and customer service out of this world.

Thank you Agave Restaurant for your Great services and Food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks are very good and re ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and drinks are very good and reasonably priced .The ambiance makes you think of Tiajuana.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always an excellent experience! Food, se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always an excellent experience! Food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always excellent here. I tri ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food is always excellent here. I tried the swordfish this time. Awesome! It's always a favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always awesome service and foods

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Always awesome service and foods

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is right in a neighborho ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This restaurant is right in a neighborhood and what a gem! It had some of the best southwest food we have ever eaten. Everything was fantastic and we would go back. Highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend reservations on a Satur ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Highly recommend reservations on a Saturday night. The place was packed and extremely noisy. We only waited about 10 minutes with a reservation. The staff was friendly and pleasant in spite of the overflow crowd. The stuffed trout was amazing! I would definitely return and order the same dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Diverse menu. Valet parking. Upscale ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Diverse menu. Valet parking. Upscale casual. Comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have NEVER been disappointed with Agave!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This is one of our family favorites. We've been in Cabbagetown/Grant Park area since 1998, and Agave has been there with us for most of that time. Get the NY Strip or ANY of the fish dishes, but the fried chicken is our favorite. It is a great place for small to large groups and kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divinedining

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Agave was great from the moment we entered until we left. Our server (Jonathan) was very personable & knowledgeable. The street corn & chicken quesadias were great starters and my friend wanted a frozen mango margarita as she's allergic to strawberries. However the drink was prepared, she was going to be happy. But the drink was excellently prepared, crushed ice and all and she was thrilled. That kind of customer service is remarkable. Our entrees were not only delicious but filling. I only brought home half of my cayene chicken because I wanted to save room for dessert which was most delicious. And the food came out timely. Just as we finished appetizers, entrees came out. Such a smooth flo, and this was with us asking questions to boot! We are two couples who have a monthly FTD (First Tuesday Date night) so we can keep in touch and do so over great food. Agave is added to our list of favorites.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as usual! Jon ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual! Jonathan always makes our experience exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy visiting Agave. Good s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We always enjoy visiting Agave. Good service, easy parking and especially good food at reasonable prices. The only negatives are having to navigate Atlanta traffic (in our case from Cobb Co) and a fairly high noise level when the restaurant is busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious. The server (Allison) ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was delicious. The server (Allison) was not empathic at all when it was pointed out that the bus staff had taken a unfinished drinks from the table. She was quick to ask if we wanted dessert and went out of her way not to address the issue. Thus the reason for a 3 star rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

I have been to this restaurant three tim ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I have been to this restaurant three times and I have a great dinning experience each time. The food has distinct Mexican taste and flavor. The normal Mexican dishes are revved up and fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great dinner and drinks as usual. Servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great dinner and drinks as usual. Service was great and the margaritas are amazing. Food was perfect. It's a little loud and an energetic place, maybe not great if looking for a quiet dinner. Perfect if you want great food, drinks, and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, staff was remarkable ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was great, staff was remarkable and the drinks were amazing. The street corn was one of my favorites. I would definitely go back. I had a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food and well prepared

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We have never had anything but great meals and service here. The wait people are always friendly and accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food, service, atmosphere is fantast ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food, service, atmosphere is fantastic. The restaurant has to move. As we left to retrieve our cars from the valet, the window was broken on the car with a laptop that was hidden was taken. Police were called and report was filed but killed a great meal.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner & atmosphere. Food was gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great dinner & atmosphere. Food was great and I would recommend it to others.

Tags: special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food, service and entire experience ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food, service and entire experience was great. I've found a new favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Has been a favorite for years. I moved a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Has been a favorite for years. I moved away 5 years ago. Visited for Mothers Dinner this year. Same great service. Same great food. Consistent. Delicious fare. Can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best birthday dinner and Westminster Girls reunion

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my best experience by far at Agave! We had a large part (7) with an arrival time of 5:30. Three of the seven got caught in traffic and didn't arrive until between 6/6:30. However, management was extraordinarily accommodating. We had to change tables twice and had the most wonderful server ever, Heather. In addition to being a post birthday celebration for me, it was a chance for me and two of my Westminster Class of 1988 classmates to dine together once again. Since I live in Maryland and am only able to come home once or twice /year, I always enjoy my visits to Agave and Pappadeaux. Your staff's high level of service, in addition to the superb quality of the food, makes Agave on of my tried and true favorites. See you next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Agave

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was not a good experience. The food was not hot (plate hot). Whoever heard of boiled ribs in the South. Server did not make any suggestions from the menu. Noise level was very high. Overall not pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.