About Agave

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Agave, Atlanta, GA
  • Agave, Atlanta, GA
  • Agave, Atlanta, GA
  • Agave, Atlanta, GA
  • Agave, Atlanta, GA
  • Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Hot Spot (21)
Casual (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Romantic (17)
Cozy (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fun (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Authentic (12)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Historic (6)
Spicy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went with 7 co-workers (including my bos ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Went with 7 co-workers (including my boss) for dinner while attending a conference in Atlanta. Menu included wide variety of options, including vegetarian options. Food was excellent: well prepared and fresh. Noise level was too high to include everyone in our conversation around the table. Waited almost 45 minutes - standing in front of the front door - even though we had a reservation because the staff had seated guests without reservations before we arrived. This was embarrassing for me because my boss was part of our party.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

First time at Agave and it did not disap ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First time at Agave and it did not disappoint. Great ambiance, great food and great service. I would definitely make my way back here again. Loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, service and drinks were great. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food, service and drinks were great. The calamari was the best I have ever eaten. My client enjoyed every bite. I do not think you can beat the food and service at Agave at any price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the waiter was ex ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food was great and the waiter was extremely attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was an awesome experience. I had dined a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Was an awesome experience. I had dined at Agave previously, but I was with 5 friends who hadn't ever been. They loved it and couldn't stop talking about how great the entire evening was. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best part of my night that ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This was the best part of my night that was ruined horribly. I enjoyed my food and the jalapeño marg was so yummy. I will be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was wonderful! We had the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful! We had the best waitress. She was attentive and communicative. We dined with a party of 20 and they were able to accommodate all of us without any issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation and ran a little late ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Made a reservation and ran a little late but they still got me right in. Great service and superb food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every time I go to Agave I ask myself wh ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Every time I go to Agave I ask myself why I don't go more often. The menu is incredible, with something for everyone, the service is relaxed while also being right there when you need them and super easy going, I also love how warm and cozy the space is.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heard a lot of great things about this r ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Heard a lot of great things about this restaurant from the food, the service, to the drinks and they all met my expectations. Will definitely visit this place again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorable service by Malcolm!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Memorable service by Malcolm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Agave several times and h ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been to Agave several times and have always found both the service and food to be consistently above average.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Agave is my favorite restaurent in ATL - ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Agave is my favorite restaurent in ATL - I love turning new friends onto it - the food, ambiance and service are always excellent. Can't get enough of the GA Trout!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic southwestern food in a great a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Authentic southwestern food in a great atmosphere. Excellent food and service for the price! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Agave several times and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Have been to Agave several times and they are consistently attentive to the guest without hovering. I'd trade good service over food quality any time. But you don't have to at Agave, the food is great no matter what you order. Substitutions or special instructions are no problem. Beer list is a little limited. Many entrees are spicy so be careful if you have a low temperature palate. Free valet parking also adds to the positive experience.

Tags: People Watching, Outstanding Value, Spicy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great service was great!Taylor ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food was great service was great!Taylor was the best, will go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made reservation on Opentable with a com ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Made reservation on Opentable with a comment about being a first date, that information was not relayed to the server (not a big deal). The fish tacos came as a burrito ( ... interesting ... ). Sat upstairs which was awesome!!! The proprietors wine list has some ridiculous wines for the $. Food was all good. Wine was Great. Service was good. Would recommend to others to enjoy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service, as always. My ma ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and service, as always. My main objective in dining, is great food. Agave always delivers. The lamb chops were delicious!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We got to sit on the top level which is ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We got to sit on the top level which is the best seat in the house. Everything was great! No complaints. One of our favorite restaurants in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is amazing!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried lobster tail is amazing!! It k ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The fried lobster tail is amazing!! It keeps me coming back for more!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant a little busy but they ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great restaurant a little busy but they have excellent calamari

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent as usual. Service was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was excellent as usual. Service was slow with pre-dinner cocktail arriving at same time as entree was served. Although special occasion was mentioned at time of reservation, this was not acknowledged by anyone at the restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Our dining experience was outstanding! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our dining experience was outstanding! Our server was excellent. The fried lobster tail was a great appetizer. Both the baby back ribs and New York strip entrees were well-prepared and very good portion sizes. The restaurant was very crowded and noisy, but the food and service made it so you were able to overlook this. This is definitely a place to go for a return visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were on our way to a concert at the F ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were on our way to a concert at the Fox and loved the location. Our server was very attentive and the Spicy Lobster tail and the Trout were delicious! We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again the food was outstanding. We ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Once again the food was outstanding. We will definitely be back and enjoy our meal every time we are here. However we were less than impressed with the waitress and hostess this time. We usually have Mandi who is delightful. Our waitress spent a lot of the evening talking to the table next to us, a couple who also worked at the restaurant. I noticed the hostess spending a lot of time at that table as well.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

One of my favorite places to eat in Atla ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 18, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in Atlanta! My friends all love it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious lobster tail, best fried chick ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delicious lobster tail, best fried chicken and peanut butter pie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent restaurant! The noise leve ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

An excellent restaurant! The noise level is not tolerable if you need a quiet dining spot, so just be prepared! It is one of the loudest places we've dined outside of a cafeteria in a school lunchroom. Yet we love the food!

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Enjoyed the food very much and the servi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Enjoyed the food very much and the service was decent. Went for a friend's birthday and they brought out desert for them. The server was a little pushy but nothing out of the ordinary. Had a ton of fun and loved the food. Very unique taste and would definately go again if given the chance.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to celebrate by husbands birthda ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We went to celebrate by husbands birthday on Oct 5th. We always go to Agave to celebrate big occasions. The server did not ask us why we were there, he did not mention any specials for the day and he did not mention any of his favorite dishes. We have been going to Agave for years and this is the first time we have received service this way. Also the food was not great and my husband had to send his meal back. We honestly will not patron Agave for awhile, which is disappointing because we love their margaritas, key lime pime and the fried chicken.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Had dinner to entertain some friends vis ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Had dinner to entertain some friends visiting from DC. We had an amazing time and really enjoyed the food and drinks. It's a lively environment and The ambiance is great for a date night or hanging with friends. Not a place for kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious!!! Great ambiance!! Would defi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Delicious!!! Great ambiance!! Would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant! Highly recommend to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Fabulous restaurant! Highly recommend to friends! Fun evening and wonderful food - eclectic 💕Service was outstanding !

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried lobster tail was out of this world ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fried lobster tail was out of this world delicious. My hubs got the fried chicken and he said it was great. I got the swordfish and it was hands down the best swordfish I've ever eaten. Our server was very nice and showed up when needed without being overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Agave doesn't use microwaves or freezers ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Agave doesn't use microwaves or freezers. Fresh ingredients. Great service. A must visit!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Agave has the best salsa, chips and marg ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Agave has the best salsa, chips and margaritas in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was friendly and helpful in ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The service was friendly and helpful in our food selection. Food was well prepare and arrived to us in a timely manner , I would definitely recommend Agave to anyone that likes good food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent cabbage town location , great ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent cabbage town location , great food and drinks , friendly staff in a high energy environs. Valet parking across from Historic Oakland Cemetery, nothing macabre here just really good food . Thy the chicken dish is is fantastic.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently one of the best restaurants ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Consistently one of the best restaurants in metro Atlanta.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.