About Agave

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA
Agave, Atlanta, GA

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Casual (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Fun (13)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Fireplace (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Historic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (5)
Spicy (5)
Family Style (5)
People Watching (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Agave was great and I would definitely g ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Agave was great and I would definitely go back. It took a little longer for the waiter to greet us at first but after that he improved. The menu had a lot of options and their margaritas were fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a good time and enjoyed our time. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a good time and enjoyed our time. Dinner was outstanding and we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

16 years of consistently excellent servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

16 years of consistently excellent service, food and top shelf margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time with some wonderful old frien ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great time with some wonderful old friends. The margaritas were excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my office staff to Atlanta for a Sa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Took my office staff to Atlanta for a Saturday conference and made reservations at Agave for Friday night. Had a blast. The place was busting at the seams but we were seated within five minutes of arrival and you could tell they had been holding our larger table for seven. Appetizers were good, not great (maybe you would say "typical") but the entrees were REALLY good. I ordered one of the fish specialties and it was off the chain. The others in our party were equally pleased with their selections. An awesome and attentive waiter. We were seated way in the back, away from the kitchen and bar and he was almost in a jog as he hustled our requests. Margaritas will knock your socks off. Really good. All in all, a great experience with a cool vibe. Would definitely go back. Put this one on your list.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food as usual! Love the service an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food as usual! Love the service and ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was great. Apps came out almost ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Server was great. Apps came out almost instantaneously. First time and would absolutely recommend .

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service is always great at ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food and service is always great at Agave. I truly enjoyed the special appetizer for the day of Mexican beer battered shrimp and would recommend that it be added to the regular menu. The Mona Lisa is always a favorite cocktail and the Agave Cayenne Fried Chicken is a favorite entree.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In advance of a work trip to Atlanta I t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 11, 2017

In advance of a work trip to Atlanta I turned to Open Table for dinner suggestions. Of the five nights, my friends and I enjoyed Agave the most. It was a pleasant surprise as I had not heard of it prior. The atmosphere and service were great; the food was over the top. We started with Coconut Lime Margaritas-yum and chips/salsa-great choice. Our group enjoyed Chopped Salad, Shrimp&Grits, and Scallops. I highly recommend Agave.

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We never get tired of the eclectic atmos ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We never get tired of the eclectic atmosphere, live kitchen, and livelier staff at Agave! Best tequila selection in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had reservations at 8:30 on New Years ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had reservations at 8:30 on New Years Eve. I used the complementary Valet to park and although it was very busy I was immediately greeted and seated at a table. Our waitress was very accommodating without being overbearing. The margaritas, appetizers and entrees were all very good as well as the chips and salsa. I do not live in Atlanta, but if I did I would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great early New Year's Eve dinner. Every ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great early New Year's Eve dinner. Everything was perfect. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing as always. Love the au ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was amazing as always. Love the authentic New Mexican style cuisine. My husband always gets the blue corn tortilla enchiladas and I like to get a special. This night I ordered the Sea bass on special. It was amazing. We were able to get a reservation, got seated right away, and all went smooth. The server was super friendly and helpful. Love the margarita. Definitely recommend giving this place a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing. We love this place. We will Def ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing. We love this place. We will

Definitely be going back. It was our 3rd time visiting agave.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great time! We had a small dinner/busine ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great time! We had a small dinner/business meeting, and though it was a little loud, not overbearing. Loved the food and ambiance. Service was good, and we have decided that we will return again. Nice place to have a good dinner and great social time. Good job Agave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A good friend and I ate at Agave this pa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A good friend and I ate at Agave this past Thursday night asa special friend's get together. We had both always wanted to go and my friend had a certificate in the dining out pass which gave us one entrée 50%. We made a reservation which was a good thing because it was packed that night. We were given a table in the small room towards the back which had a better noise level than the rest of the restaurant. We had an attentive server who did a fine job and gave us some good recommendations. My friend and I both enjoyed our margaritas-she ordered the Texan and I ordered the passion fruit margarita which was delicious! However, when it came to the entrees there was disappointment. My friend ordered the Rack of Lamb but when it came out it was only 3 lamb lollipops, essentially what could have been an appetizer and not at all worth the price of the $24 entree. Above all the name on the menu is very deceiving as it clearly says RACK of lamb. This needs to be changed ASAP so that guests are aware that they are really only getting lamb lollipops. So disappointing. We brought it to our server's attention and she apologized and agreed that the menue was inaccurate and she provided the manager's contact info. I ordered the scallops with the grits and collards and they were quite tasty. We shared the key lime pie for dessert which I believe had a gingersnap crust and cinnamon whipped cream on the side, which was very good, however there was some sort of sauce on the pie with a strange unpleasant flavor. Overall, I would still recommend eating at Agave though in order to not deceive the patrons the menu needs to be updated ASAP. I read an article on the wall of the women's bathroom which happened to mention the rack of lamb (a writeup from 2003 I believe) so it seems that at one time the dish was different. Cool southwestern vibe at the restaurant which makes it a unique dining option in Atlanta. Oh yeah, the valet guys were kind of rough... consider different company?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved the loft seating!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Loved the loft seating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Try the NY strip, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was great. Try the NY strip, it is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Christmas Eve dinner with the family aft ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner with the family after picking up our daughter at the airport. We chose Agave after searching online reviews for a place with great food and a fun, festive atmosphere. Agave did not disappoint on either - a great evening out!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my first time at Agave and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was my first time at Agave and the restaurant certainly lived up to all of the hype I had heard. The food was amazing and the ambiance was pleasant. Our server was attentive and made excellent recommendations. Best guacamole I've had in a while. The scallop/shrimp over blue cheese grits was to die for! Definitely a night to remember! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Margaritas. All the dishes our pa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great Margaritas. All the dishes our party of three had were very good. Have eaten here on two recent trips to Atlanta.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and drinks were great. The only ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and drinks were great. The only issue we had was with the gift cards we purchased last week. The server said we couldn't use them past 9 pm. We insisted and they finally let us use them. I will still go back because I have money left on the card but it was a very embarrassing since it was my wife's birthday and we were with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Each and every time my wife and I've gon ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Each and every time my wife and I've gone to Agave it's been absolutely awesome. The food is excellent, the service is warm and the ambiance is unmatched. If you go, make sure to try the guacamole that goes so well with the salsa and chips. The salmon was the best that my wife has had outside of my cooking at home. NOTHING UNWANTED!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very good and most reliable experience ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A very good and most reliable experience, can't go wrong with this pick. Valet parking only .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent, we had a great time! Will d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent, we had a great time! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent. Food rock solid ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Consistently excellent. Food rock solid and you gotta like the margarita s!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Winter time sit by the fire! It was awes ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Winter time sit by the fire! It was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in all aspects of food, ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great restaurant in all aspects of food, atmosphere and price. Spent three days in Atlanta and this was our favorite restaurant choice.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been eating here for years. Alway ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I have been eating here for years. Always a great evening. Food exceptional as well as the outstanding margaritas. Early bird $12 per entrée., is the deal in Atlanta, bar none.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Private Room, Fireplace, Fun, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with 7 co-workers (including my bos ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Went with 7 co-workers (including my boss) for dinner while attending a conference in Atlanta. Menu included wide variety of options, including vegetarian options. Food was excellent: well prepared and fresh. Noise level was too high to include everyone in our conversation around the table. Waited almost 45 minutes - standing in front of the front door - even though we had a reservation because the staff had seated guests without reservations before we arrived. This was embarrassing for me because my boss was part of our party.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

First time at Agave and it did not disap ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First time at Agave and it did not disappoint. Great ambiance, great food and great service. I would definitely make my way back here again. Loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, service and drinks were great. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food, service and drinks were great. The calamari was the best I have ever eaten. My client enjoyed every bite. I do not think you can beat the food and service at Agave at any price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the waiter was ex ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food was great and the waiter was extremely attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was an awesome experience. I had dined a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Was an awesome experience. I had dined at Agave previously, but I was with 5 friends who hadn't ever been. They loved it and couldn't stop talking about how great the entire evening was. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best part of my night that ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This was the best part of my night that was ruined horribly. I enjoyed my food and the jalapeño marg was so yummy. I will be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was wonderful! We had the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful! We had the best waitress. She was attentive and communicative. We dined with a party of 20 and they were able to accommodate all of us without any issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation and ran a little late ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Made a reservation and ran a little late but they still got me right in. Great service and superb food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every time I go to Agave I ask myself wh ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Every time I go to Agave I ask myself why I don't go more often. The menu is incredible, with something for everyone, the service is relaxed while also being right there when you need them and super easy going, I also love how warm and cozy the space is.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heard a lot of great things about this r ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Heard a lot of great things about this restaurant from the food, the service, to the drinks and they all met my expectations. Will definitely visit this place again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorable service by Malcolm!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Memorable service by Malcolm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.