Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Agave

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Casual (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
See All
Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Authentic (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Groups (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Spicy (17)
Cozy (16)
Romantic (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Fun (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Open Kitchen (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Business Meals (7)
Tapas (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was abolutely excellent but our food took forever...about an hour to come. We only ordered enchiladas. Our waiter was very friendly about it though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Service really ruined an otherwise fine meal. Waited 15 minutes after our OpenTable reservation time to be seated, which is uncommon in my experience. Waited 50 minutes for or appetizer, not exaggerating, while other tables around us received app and dinner while we waited. Drinks took 20 minutes to arrive. The food was pretty good, but terrible service and management ruined my wife's birthday dinner which should have been a special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, service, ambiance. We will be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place! Miss my VIP status ! Did I loose it because I haven't been around in awhile?!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

portions seemed smaller , and not as good as last year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Agave never disappoints! This was our second visit during the summer market!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I purchased a Groupon meal for only $39. This included guacamole, an appetizer to spit and two entrees. The food was great but the service was dismal. I have eaten here many times in the past and always had good service and the food never disappoints. There was a particularly loud table of 6 or so folks that we shared a waiter with, and they seemed to need a lot of attention, so maybe that is the reason the waiter didn't pay us any attention. The waiter never checked in with us after we got our food, so no offer of more drinks or water. We waited a really long time for the check as well. It will be a long time before I will be able to convince my friend to go back there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Awesome menu, magnificent preparation and presentation, delicious margaritas and wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always a great dinner at Agave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellant food and ambiance
Wait staff very attentive and knowledgeable
Very friendly
Only complaint is it is very dark
My husband had to use his phone light to read the menu as well as being able to see his plate of food
I understand this is eclectic but the quality of the atmosphere could give negativity to not being able to read the menu

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This place NEVER disappoints. The food is consistently good. You have to try the lobster tail! And the raspberry cheesecake...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food.. Awesome customer service.. Absolutely love the atmosphere and the environment!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was my first time dining at Agave. I had the seared tuna sashimi and guacamole for starters. The tuna tasted fresh and was seasoned with some sort of soy sauce mixture, which was delicious. The guacamole was fresh and very tasty. The chips came out warm and crispy which was nice. The salsa was pretty spicy, which doesn't bother me, but could be a little too hot for some. I had the rack of lamb for my entree. The lamb came out rare, which is exactly what i asked for. I have eaten a lot of lamb but I really think this was the best rack of lamb I've ever tasted. I also tried the coconut and lime (i think) margarita. It was strong, but had a nice, smooth finish. I usually despise tequila but I'd heard so much about Agave's margaritas I had try one. I'd highly recommend this margarita. I had the flan for dessert. Although it wasn't very filling it was absolutely delicious. I can honestly say this was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had. For some reason, not many people have heard of Agave, but if you're ever in the area I'd highly recommend. Also, the prices are very reasonable for this caliber of a restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Had an evening out with friends, and we had a blast! We had reservations for 7:30pm on a Friday night, and we were seated right at 7:30pm. Malcolm (our waiter) was awesome and cane through with some great drink and food recommendations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Just a very special place. I love Tequila and normally cant find a good one in many of the restaurants I go. The Tequila menu is OUTSTANDING. I can only get a couple of glasses but what a treat to select from it seemed like 50 tequilas ! I looked many up on line before i went. DONT get the Margarita , treat yourself to a good sipping tequila, and learn how to drink good tequila. I had one of the $35 per glass taste of Herradura Anejo wow. The menu is unique and Very tasteful. I had the craw fish linguine with a kick of spice. Had the spring rolls, my friends got a great looking stuffed trout. I will always go back when I am in Atlanta again as I was visiting family and live in Michigan. This is just a special place all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We used the Groupon for 4 and everything was excellent! Tyler, our waiter, was very attentive even considering how busy they were. The food was great. The only suggestion would be to offer more vegetarian choices. Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Family dinner with daughter who just returned from trip abroad. Second time there. Very delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food and drinks were delicious. We got there at opening so it was quiet, I don't know what the noise levels would be when it's later. Our server was great and checked on us regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great food, mediocre service at best. If you have the time, it's a good place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Really disappointing meal at what used to be a neighborhood gem. The food was mediocre at best; the fried chicken was soggy and the accompanying potatoes were bland, the fish tacos tasted really "fishy," and the wine program left a lot to be desired. If you're in the mood for tex/mex, save a $100 and go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Several out-of-town guest looking for something with multiple options.
The menu and drink selection Doesn't disappoint. And valet parking is a plus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a good time, between the drinks, appetizers and the dishes everything was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Worst service ever with mediocre food that was a bit pricey. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone I care about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I love this restaurant. It's my favorite one in Atlanta. Personal favorites: Fried Lobster, Scallops, Lamb Chops, and Calamari.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was really good here. Unfortunately I'm unlikely to go back due to the noise. The acoustics in the restaurant prevent you from carrying on a conversation with the person across the table from you. I left with a full belly but also a splitting headache and a hoarse throat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I luv, luv, luv the food. Excellent service. I trully recommend this restaurant especially the Lamb

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We love Agave! The food was great as usual. They were very busy. We had to wait about 45 minutes beyond our reservation time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I love Agave. It is one of my favorite restaurants in the city. The food, drinks, and service are excellent. I have never been disappointed with the quality of my meal there.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We LOVED this find and will be back several times to try everything on the creative menu!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was my girlfriends B-day and I noted it on my reservation. Although there was no mention during our dining experience.. Usually you get a small desert with a candle or something. But there was nothing. The waiter asked the table next to us if they had a special event. They said No.. I guess they got it mixed up.
We later went to King and Duke for drinks and desert. They gave us a small flute of campaign.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Unparalleled mixture of authentic tastes of Southwestern Cuisine.

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This is a great place to go and hang out. It is a little pricey, but worth every bite. I will go back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Very good house margaritas ;-)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We gathered to celebrate a family birthday. The staff seated us immediately. Service was good (not the great service we have come to expect, but it was good). The food was delicious but the smoked chicken quesadilla was lighter on the chicken than ever before (been coming here for 15 years, 5-10 times a year) and the crawfish pasta was light on sauce. The lobster tail was perfect! And the mountain trout was excellent! We will definitely return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Everything was great at Agave, the service, the food, the drinks and the ambiance. I highly recommend Agave!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We just moved back to atlanta after three years in LA. This place is just as fantastic as it was in 2014. Only thing missing was the pan grilled pork chop that used to be on the menu. Server was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Simply rhw best Southwestern restaurant in Atlanta. The food is always excellent and the Margarita's are the best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great time. Great food. Enjoyed the experience and servive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I can't believe we just found this place! Great food, great service, very accommodating to my dairy allergy in a comfortable casual atmosphere. I highly recommend Agave.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.