Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

SerpasSerpas
(2311)
$$$$
American | Inman Park, Atlanta
Booked 26 times today
the bqe restaurant & loungethe bqe restaurant & lounge
(497)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown, Atlanta
Booked 22 times today
Sweet Auburn SeafoodSweet Auburn Seafood
(684)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Atlanta
Booked 23 times today
Miso IzakayaMiso Izakaya
(258)
$$$$
Japanese | Downtown, Atlanta
Booked 22 times today
Cast IronCast Iron
(39)
$$$$
American | Inman Park, Atlanta
Booked 7 times today
Ziba's BistroZiba's Bistro
(128)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Grant Park, Atlanta
Booked 6 times today
The OptimistThe Optimist
(3529)
$$$$
Seafood | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 101 times today
South City Kitchen MidtownSouth City Kitchen Midtown
(4109)
$$$$
Southern | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 55 times today
JCT Kitchen and BarJCT Kitchen and Bar
(4015)
$$$$
American | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 86 times today
TWO urban licksTWO urban licks
(7257)
$$$$
American | Virginia Highland, Atlanta
Booked 118 times today
Old Lady GangOld Lady Gang
(402)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown, Atlanta
Booked 90 times today
Le FatLe Fat
(405)
$$$$
Vietnamese | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 31 times today
Poor Calvin'sPoor Calvin's
(1662)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 87 times today
Cooks & SoldiersCooks & Soldiers
(1140)
$$$$
Basque | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 50 times today
La Tavola TrattoriaLa Tavola Trattoria
(2428)
$$$$
Italian | Virginia Highland, Atlanta
Booked 28 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Agave

Established in October of 2000 and set in the historic Cotton Mill general store, Agave has been named the Best Southwestern Restaurant in Atlanta, Georgia. This eclectic southwestern eatery appeals to a wide cross section of taste and styles while focusing on guest satisfaction in the high energy dining room & bar.

242 Boulevard SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carroll St. SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 588-0006

Website:
http://www.agaverestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
King Memorial (Blue, Green)

Executive Chef:
Jack Sobel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Agave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (34)
Casual (27)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Authentic (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Spicy (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Romantic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Fun (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tapas (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Business Meals (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This place is delicious, great service & the price is right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had a great wait person and wonderful food. We were a party of four and everyone enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2017

AGAVE does it again! We tried an array of appetizers as our full meal, and enjoyed every delicious bite! The atmosphere is always great, and the service is attentive. My friend enjoyed a perfectly made margarita (after sharing that a few in the past weren't that terrific), and we hardly left food to carry home. The chips & salsa are always a perfect start to a delightful evening! GREAT JOB Agave. Stay amaaaaazing!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was, heretofore, an Atlanta favorite, but my recent visit left a very bad taste in my mouth--no pun intended. While the food was delicious, the service was absolutely horrible. Drinks arrived fifteen minutes after the appetizer; our entrees arrived apart from each other. The restaurant was filled to capacity and there were several large parties present--but the management hadn't seemed to notice. The wait staff was stretched far too thin. It took more than twenty-five minutes to receive and settle the final bill--despite a large number of patrons waiting for our table. There are many excellent restaurants in Atlanta that offer excellent service. This used to be one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I have been to Agave many times over the last 5 or more years. The food has been consistently great. The service has been very good with few exceptions. When making reservations we have always been seated at the time we asked for. The ambience is awesome even though a little loud but we like that! Please keep on with what you are doing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised with Agave's wonderful food and customer service. We were seated promptly (after arriving about 20 minutes prior to our reservation) and our waiter was excellent. He was friendly and offered recommendations for our drinks and entrees. My margarita was perfect (not overly sweet and chemically-tasting) and the special swordfish was out of this world delicious. We also ordered the ceviche appetizer and key lime dessert - again, both were phenomenal. I highly recommend Agave and can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food is great! Incredible diverse menu. Great spot for friendly gathering.

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service was Excellent and the Food absolutely delightful.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

I was underwhelmed. It didn't live up to the reviews.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I usually love this restaurant and haven't been in awhile. However, I not sure if it was the meal choice or a change in Chef, as my most recent visit was lackluster compared to previous visits. The salsa was delicious but the mountain trout stuffed with crawfish was a bit bland in my opinion. The staff was great and atmosphere was a bit loud and dark.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Food is excellent. Noise level is too loud...have to shout to be heard by friends around the table. Margaritas were not as good as I remembered and I had 2 of them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Adam, our server, was wonderful and the food was cooked perfectly, spicy but not overwhelming. I had the tenderloin medallions which were tender enough to cut with my fork---grilled zucchini and mashed potatoes were awesome. My husband had the barbacoa taco--enjoyed it greatly. The calamari was some of the best we've ever had! We don't get down here often enough...always a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great date night with friend couple who was very pleased. Score was a B not sure why but we did enjoy it

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went there for our anniversary. Worst decision I made.. my wife was sitting on the bench next to the wall without even a pillow to put her back. Service was very poor. I think the staff was overwhelmed by the crowd level and limited space.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food! Service was good but very loud restaurant. If your looking for quiet and intimate-this isnt it. Nice ambiance and setting. Complimentary valet was convenient.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Reminded of great places in Santa Fe. Loved the scallops! Great service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was great! A little noisy but not bad enough not to come back! Our waitress was not very attentive and not much convo, seemed rushed. We've been there several times and this was the first time we've had a not so good server. We love this place and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Our server, Malcolm, took very good care of us during our visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 6, 2017

GREAT food, great service and free valet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Enjoyed he food, however it was too noisy and hot! We were seated in the main dining area near the kitchen.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The Fish Tacos were amazing! I tried the Guacamole and it was delicious as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This place never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The dinner and drinks were outstanding, we were not disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Outstanding food, drinks, and service in one complete package

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We were seated promptly. Our server was friendly and attentive. Of course, the food was excellent especially the chips and salsa)! Will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My wife and I went for the first time this evening. Our server was great. Appetizers were a mixed bag (guac was not dynamic and mussels were a little meh), but the entrees made up for it as they were very tasty. We will definitely come back again and try some different apps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Agave used to be one of my favorite places, especially for my birthday. Our experience on Sunday, my birthday, was hugely disappointing. The server rarely stopped at our table, but merely breezed by or had me turn around in my seat to speak to him. The food was not really hot and dessert was not offered. A shame because I'll probably just seek another option in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fantastic! Stuffed peppers were surreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My husband and I dined at Agave on Saturday, July 22nd, for the third time. And, they did not disappoint. The decor is attractive. The food is flavorful and attractively plated. The service is excellent. Food Recommendations: Cayenne Onion Rings (a little warmth in a very good way), Guacamole, Cayenne Fried Chicken, Street Corn, Shrimp Anejo, Grits, and of course, Traditional Margarita and Jalepeno Margarita. Heather was the Server, and exuded friendliness and helpfulness. She was attentive without hovering. She made the dining experience perfect. Agave has become one of our favorite restaurants! Look forward to returning in August, bringing our son and daughter-in-law who are visiting from Wisconsin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Overall our visit was great. However two people in our party commented that they were still hungry after dinner. Some of the portions for a few entrees are too small.
Delicious food nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was abolutely excellent but our food took forever...about an hour to come. We only ordered enchiladas. Our waiter was very friendly about it though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service really ruined an otherwise fine meal. Waited 15 minutes after our OpenTable reservation time to be seated, which is uncommon in my experience. Waited 50 minutes for or appetizer, not exaggerating, while other tables around us received app and dinner while we waited. Drinks took 20 minutes to arrive. The food was pretty good, but terrible service and management ruined my wife's birthday dinner which should have been a special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food, service, ambiance. We will be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Love this place! Miss my VIP status ! Did I loose it because I haven't been around in awhile?!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

portions seemed smaller , and not as good as last year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Agave never disappoints! This was our second visit during the summer market!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I purchased a Groupon meal for only $39. This included guacamole, an appetizer to spit and two entrees. The food was great but the service was dismal. I have eaten here many times in the past and always had good service and the food never disappoints. There was a particularly loud table of 6 or so folks that we shared a waiter with, and they seemed to need a lot of attention, so maybe that is the reason the waiter didn't pay us any attention. The waiter never checked in with us after we got our food, so no offer of more drinks or water. We waited a really long time for the check as well. It will be a long time before I will be able to convince my friend to go back there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Awesome menu, magnificent preparation and presentation, delicious margaritas and wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.