About AG at The Sterling

5195 Magdalen St.
Niagara Falls, ON L2G3N9
View Larger Map

Located in the Sterling Inn & Spa in the heart of Niagara Falls AG Inspired Cuisine serves regionally and seasonally inspired cuisine. This acclaimed fine dining restaurant has received the CAA 4 star rating every year since its inception.



Chef Cory Linkson's menu utilizes the freshest local ingredients, and is constantly changing to offer the best of Niagara's Produce. To complement the regional menu, the wine list at AG is 100% VQA and represents the best wineries of the region.



The intimate dining room at AG is best described as chic and romantic, and is the ideal choice for couples looking for a romantic dining experience. The unique atmosphere at AG is posh and refined, while still being the perfect place for a casual gathering of friends for dinner or drinks.



The chef's table seats up to 12 and may be reserved for special events and larger groups. Please contact us for more information.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 6:00pm, last seating at 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Ellen Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(289) 292-0005

Website:
http://www.agcuisine.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available with customized menus. Please contact the restaurant directly to discuss menu options.

Parking Details:
On site complimentary parking is provided to all guests.

Executive Chef:
Cory Linkson

Private Party Facilities:
Inspired by the growers and producers of Niagara, AG utilizes regional and seasonal ingredients, brought together by the inventive hand of executive chef, Cory Linkson. Our unique and delicious dishes are crafted to satisfy the palate, while remaining true to the very essence of the ingredients.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: 2892920000x5522

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM

AG at The Sterling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Niagara
Best Food
Niagara
2 More
Best Service
Niagara
Romantic
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara Falls ›

special occasion (61)
romantic (60)
fit for foodies (49)
See All
notable wine list (19)
neighborhood gem (16)
good for groups (13)
late-night find (9)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

A unique dining gem just off the beaten ...

Dined 5 days ago

A unique dining gem just off the beaten track in Niagara Falls. We chose the AG to mark our anniversary and were totally satisfied with the selection, quality and presentation of our meals. The blends of texture and flavours was remarkable. The waiters were friendly and knowledgeable and took time to explain the menu. A definate hit on our dining calendar and a must revisit in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was incredible, if there were ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was incredible, if there were the option for six stars I would have selected it. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable, the food was incredible, the live music was low key and not overpowering. Great experience; one of our favourite places in, or even near, Niagara Falls!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best

Dined on May 13, 2016

I looked at many options in the area and settled on AG. I am glad I did, it was the most romantic place I could have stumbled upon. Atmosphere was great food was spectacular, wine list could be better but I would visit again if I'm in the area. Great find!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful, innovative menu, beautifull ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

A wonderful, innovative menu, beautifully presented and delicious. Superlative service that makes the customer feel like a king. A great dining experience .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent food, wines and service.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always excellent food, wines and service. Kellie is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food and atmosphere! ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent service, food and atmosphere!!!!!! Looking forward to returning.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best restaurant i've tried in Niagara Falls

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was really good, just a bit shy of a 5* rating for me. I tried a rhubarb tart, nice and flaky but I didn't taste any rhubarb in there. My venison was good, but I've had more tender and tasty game at other restaurants in the past. Service was very good. I would go back and try some different menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food options were great and the prep ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food options were great and the preparation was a definite standout. I had venison (extremely tender, not gamey at all) with pesto and lentils, the wife had chicken and risotto. Both were prepared to exacting standards and had great texture. $100 CAD for two before taxes with appetizers for each, but no alcoholic beverages. I would probably stop in again if I visited without kids. It was a 10 minute walk from the Sheraton on the Parkway.

food5
ambience5
service5

All the meals that we tried are excellen ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

All the meals that we tried are excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great but missed the impotant event

Dined on May 1, 2016

I booked on Open Table and told them that it was my wife's birthday, also that we are new to the area and are looking for our "go to" restaurant. The venue was great but when it comes to the little things like recognizing my wife's birthday, they missed it by a mile. Nothing special was done nor was a simple desert brought to her. Not a big thing, but we are both in the service industry and it is the little things that go along way to "wow" a new customer.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

Delightful meal and evening. Had the pr ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Delightful meal and evening. Had the prix fixe with wine pairings. Wonderful use of seasonal vegetables. A lovely rhubarb tart. Exceptional flavor in a roast quail dish with beautiful potato cake and wild mushrooms, and lovely fresh berry and rhubarb pie dessert. A+

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true gem with an amazing food and chef!!!

Dined on April 29, 2016

For those who want a short review I'll put it like this if you're a food person who appreciates local and fresh farm to table ingredients and creative and delisious dishes this restaurant is amazing and is probably the best in the Falls area. Don't fall into the tourist traps, AGs is the real deal! My wife and I traveled to Niagara to celebrate our 9 year anniversary. We stayed in Niagara on the lake where there are many restaurants with great chefs and locally sourced farm to table fare however the Falls area is pleagued with commercial chain restaurants. Thankfully the kind folks at Big Head winery recommended AGs! When we walked up we didn't know what to expect because it didn't appear to be anything special from the outside. We were delighted to see white table cloths and a somewhat dark yet pleasant atmosthere. It had a very 80s retro feel but still very nice and you could tell the place was starting to fill up with regulars and locals which is always a good sign. We were seated right away. The wine menu was extensive featuring the best local wines. Their food menu looked so good we didn't know what to choose! We each did a first course and main course and shared dessert. Dinner started with an amuse-bouche compliments of the chef that was a venison tartare which was great to start our pallet for the meal ahead. Next I had the mixed greens with candy beets, sheeps milk feta and walnuts dressed in a house made honey vinaigrette which I loved and it was the perfect size. My main course was the pan-seared whitefish with sautéed kale & chorizo and a chive cream sauce which was absolutely delicious and a larger portion than I'm used to for this kind of place. For dessert we shared a maple poached pear with butterscotch which was also very delicious. By this time there was live music by piano and my wife and I shared a dance on our special night. All in all whenever we go back to Niagara Falls AG's will be a must! I would highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Esther

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waiter was really bad. The young women who brought the food to the table were ok. They tried to make the service a presentation. The waiter was Not helpful with suggestions and so very slow. Some of the food was very good but the overall experience was underwhelming.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food and Ambiance!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our party of 4 dined at AG for my sisters 40th birthday. We were told that the restaurant was the best in town. The food was delicious , the presentation was great, and the ambiance of the restaurant was exactly what we were looking for. The live music was just right volume and tempo for the room. The service was good - our waiter seemed very attentive to our table at first.... however he seemed to become less interested as the evening went on and after settling up the bills he didn't say thank you or good-bye (which was very strange). I'm not sure if he was just not happy we didn't purchase more alcohol or if he thought our tips were too small (between 18%-20%). Another thing I found odd was that we noted in the reservation that it was my sisters 40th birthday and mentioned it when we first came in and it wasn't acknowledged in any way. Regardless - the food was delicious and we had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on April 16, 2016

What a treat this place was. Absolutely delicious food with impeccable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on April 16, 2016

A wonderful meal - fresh ingredients prepared in a unique way. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was all amazing and the service was impeccable. We will definitely take every opportunity to return when we are in Niagara Falls and highly recommend to anyone celebrating a special occasion or who is looking for an amazing food experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

my husband said the whitefish was the best he has ever had and we fish the great lakes and Velvety White Onion Veloutée too die for, loved you could reserve an open table, has parking, server was a little too sombre but was talented

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Didn't meet the expectations. Lamb was u ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Didn't meet the expectations. Lamb was undercooked. Rabbit was dry.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Niagara Falls.

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is our second time at AG and we really enjoyed our dinner. Great food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Interesting flavors

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

We were impressed upon arrival. Down the stairs into a romantic low lit room with full bar and intimate seating. We were guided to our table by and who turned out to be host, food runner, and pretty much your do anything you need, lady. Kelly, the main gal, told us about the food, excellent discriptions of the cuisine and suggestions that made my mouth water. I had the beef tenderloin that I can tell you was amazing, similar to a beef wellington, but with a twist using local farm raised beef and accoutrements. My honey had the rabbit, however, while it was good, there seemed to be too much going on with rabbit breast stuffed with sausage, a prosciutto wrapped rabbit leg then a both with rabbit meat in it. I agree it had too much going on.Only two girls all night. The place filled up to about 7-8 tables, the a family with a loud small 2-3 yr old came in a ruined the ambiance. It went from romantic to, get me out of here quick. At that point nothing was quick as, in my opinion, these two had too much on their plate, so to speak. The food while good, priced appropriately and excellent service, up to and until the place got too busy for two people to run. Places like this really shouldn't let crying kids ruin the rest of the diners experience. There are other family friendly restaurants they could have been guided to.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

perfection

Dined on April 2, 2016

this is not the first time we have been to AG over the years, and it definitely won't be the last. Can not think of any place we would rather go to enjoy fine food. Love the fact that the menu is seasonal, makes it something to look forward to, not knowing what wonderful things they will be featuring. Darren took wonderful care of us and we would never doubt any recommendations regarding food and wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delectable food, fantastic wi ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Absolutely delectable food, fantastic wine pairings, the staff was extremely knowledgable, courteous, and kind. The atmosphere was perfect for a date, anniversary, or quiet dinner out. Fancy, yet not over priced. They pride themselves on using local ingredients and of all the restaurants I've been to in the Niagara area this is my favorite! If you're in Niagara Falls, don't miss this amazing dining experience!!!

food2
ambience5
service5
value5

the food overall was amazing - I would r ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

the food overall was amazing - I would recommend that one vegetarian option be available on the menu. The chef did offer to prepare a vegetarian item for me however it was just pasta which i feel isn't anything special in comparison to the other items on the menu. Perhaps one creative vegetarian dish should be on the menu

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful dinner

Dined on March 16, 2016

AG provided my husband and I with a special occassion dinner. From the apps to our entree, everything was prepared to our liking. The waitress and staff went above and beyond to make sure our meal was enjoyable. Each one knows so much about the food and how it is prepared.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

excellent service, great food

Dined on March 16, 2016

Our second visit was as memorable as the first: delicious food, beautifully presented, first class service. They specialise in farm to table food, with a reasonably priced 3 course table d'hote & a la carte menus. Excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

High expectations but food didn't quite deliver

Dined on March 16, 2016

After reading many reviews for this restaurant, we decided to eat here on our one night in Niagara Falls. Unfortunately we did not find that for the money paid, it was worth the visit. As mentioned by others, it was in an unusual location but offered lots of parking. The decor was nice - quiet and tastefully decorated. Our server (Kelly?) was very good - knowledgeable and obviously very experienced in her job. Where it fell apart was the food. We eat out a lot so maybe our expectations are too high, but the food just didn't quite deliver. My salad was fine - nothing spectacular but nothing that I couldn't make at home. My daughter had the celery soup which was very good. Our mains however were disappointing. My daughter's food looked like it had sat under the heat lamp for too long - the sauce had a bit of a "skin" on top of it. Her salmon was overdone. My husband's dish (rabbit) was also overcooked. Maybe the chef was having an off night, but the food fell short of our expectations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent spot to share with friends.

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great location with excellent service, food and great wait staff. Paul, our Waiter was friendly, well informed and provided excellent service . AG was recommended , and it lived up to expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

We had the pan-seared whitefish and the ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had the pan-seared whitefish and the whiskey short ribs. Both were very tasty! We would've tried more, but we were going to the magic show next door.

food5
ambience5
service5

I have had the pleasure of dinning at AG ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

I have had the pleasure of dinning at AG several times. Each time has been a real treat. One of the best restaurants all around I have dined in.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, excellent food!! Per ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food!! Perfect for a romantic dinner and birthday celebration. Can't wait to come again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worth a trip to Niagara Falls

Dined on February 23, 2016

This was our first visit to AG and it did not disappoint. I had read many reviews about Chef Cory's farm to table approach. Every course was delicious - nice presentation and great service as well. The servers were very knowledgeable about the food and wine pairings. Service was friendly and professional and never obtrusive. It was clear that both the kitchen and front of the house were passionate about the product they were serving. My husband is an Executive Chef so I am pretty selective when choosing a restaurant. He was very impressed with the food, service and decor. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was great, service was alright

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was fantastic! Only problem was waiting 15mins for a menu and over an hour for bread. When we finally asked about the bread we were told that you only get bread if you order an appetizer which is absurd!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent food. Live music was enjoyable and the atmosphere was very romantic. Can't beat this place for a special occasion while at Niagara Falls.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and fantastic service

Dined on February 14, 2016

The AG has fantastic ambiance for a quiet and romantic dinner. Our server Kelly has a wonderful personality and a thorough knowledge of the food and wine. Even the smallest detail was taken care of. Thank you for a wonderful evening.. Phil Reilly

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best in the Niagara peninsula.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Ambiance is great. service is excellent.food is great quality The chef suprise us every time with his culinary expertise. We have at leaset dined here ten times or more during the last 7 years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

"Great Evening at the AG!"

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our experience at the AG. The staff were very attentive and the food was excellent with generous portions. The lamb was superb and the short ribs were delicious. We would definitely go back the next time we are in Niagara Falls.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We had been here before but dissatisfied

Dined on February 12, 2016

The visit was disappointing this second time. The food was sub par. The small scallops at appetizer started the visit with whitefish and salmon that were both over cooked and flavourless. To top it off desert was a bland pear!! As our first visit several years ago was great this was a disappointing valentines dinner!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food but overrated.

Dined on February 10, 2016

The food was very good but it was definitely overpriced for what we had. It was a little weird going down into the bowels of the hotel to get to the restaurant... although I think it there may have been some windows somewhere; it just felt subterranean. I have had better food in much nicer restaurants. It was all a little pretentious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great meal, the appetizer and both ent ...

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

A great meal, the appetizer and both entrees were prepared and presented incredibly. Our server, Jack is exceptional and made the dining experience a great one. We have dined at many a fine dining restaurant throughout Canada and the USA, and in our opinion this rates against all the best. Definitely one of the top 3 in Niagara region. Highly recommend, enjoy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.