About AG at The Sterling

5195 Magdalen St.
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3S6
View Larger Map

Located in the Sterling Inn & Spa in the heart of Niagara Falls AG Inspired Cuisine serves regionally and seasonally inspired cuisine. This acclaimed fine dining restaurant has received the CAA 4 star rating every year since its inception.



Chef Cory Linkson's menu utilizes the freshest local ingredients, and is constantly changing to offer the best of Niagara's Produce. To complement the regional menu, the wine list at AG is 100% VQA and represents the best wineries of the region.



The intimate dining room at AG is best described as chic and romantic, and is the ideal choice for couples looking for a romantic dining experience. The unique atmosphere at AG is posh and refined, while still being the perfect place for a casual gathering of friends for dinner or drinks.



The chef's table seats up to 12 and may be reserved for special events and larger groups. Please contact us for more information.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 6:00pm, last seating at 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Ellen Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(289) 292-0005

Website:
http://www.agcuisine.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available with customized menus. Please contact the restaurant directly to discuss menu options.

Parking Details:
On site complimentary parking is provided to all guests.

Executive Chef:
Cory Linkson

Private Party Facilities:
Inspired by the growers and producers of Niagara, AG utilizes regional and seasonal ingredients, brought together by the inventive hand of executive chef, Cory Linkson. Our unique and delicious dishes are crafted to satisfy the palate, while remaining true to the very essence of the ingredients.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: 2892920000x5522

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Breast And Duck Leg Confit In A Juniper Sauce With Mashed Cauliflower And Vegetables
  • Chocolate Duo
  • Rubarb And Apricot Tartelet With Bee Polllen And Greens
  • Amouse Bouche
  • Teramisu
  • Ice Wine Martini
  • Surf'n'Turf
Duck Breast And Duck Leg Confit In A Juniper Sauce With Mashed Cauliflower And Vegetables
Chocolate Duo
Rubarb And Apricot Tartelet With Bee Polllen And Greens
Amouse Bouche
Teramisu
Ice Wine Martini
Surf'n'Turf

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM

AG at The Sterling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Niagara
Best Food
Niagara
Best Service
Niagara
2 More
Best Ambiance
Niagara
Romantic
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara Falls ›

special occasion (63)
romantic (61)
fit for foodies (52)
See All
notable wine list (25)
neighborhood gem (17)
good for groups (13)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1012 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a little skeptical when we parke ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were a little skeptical when we parked and were led towards the basement of the hotel that AG was located in. However, we were exceptionally surprised by the ambiance and overall atmosphere of the restaurant. We had a superb meal, with very attentive service. The beef tenderloin was so good that if I ever visit Canada again and eat at this restaurant, I would not even consider ordering anything else.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The fresh farm to table menu was excepti ...

Dined 6 days ago

The fresh farm to table menu was exceptional and the food and service outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and ambience were great. Derrick th ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and ambience were great. Derrick the waited was awesome

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good solid inventive menu with excellent ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Good solid inventive menu with excellent ingredients and careful preparation. Definitely recommend the restaurant to anyone in Niagara looking for something better than a "cookie cutter" meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the only 5 star review I have gi ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This is the only 5 star review I have given in Niagara Falls. Excellent and knowledgeable servers with an amazing menu and just enough food to fill you but not leave you stuffed. I heartily recommend this spot to anyone in Niagara Falls for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb restaurant, we had the Field to F ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Superb restaurant, we had the Field to Fork (tasting) menu with wine, all local and seasonal (fresh) with excellent Strawberry Prosciutto Salad, puff pastry, basil mascarpone and 12 yr balsamic vinaigrette with Creekside Rose 2015; followed by inspired Grilled Nippissing Quail, fresh peas, boar sausages and potato purée with Grand Marquis Pinot Noir 2014; for dessert delicious White chocolate and strawberry parfait with strawberries marinaded in local icewine, with a glass of Between the Lines Cabernet Franc Icewine 2014. All food and wine was delight and with innovative cuisine, the pairings were perfect. Without a doubt these dishes would have gained at least a Michelin star in Europe. Service was first rate, particularly Kelly who was delightful as well as knowledgeable. We can't recommend this restaurant highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is amazing! The service ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant is amazing! The service is top-knotch and the food is delicious! For appetizers, we had the pork belly and rhubarb tart. Both were wonderful. For drinks, we had the home-made citrus sparkling water, which was surprisingly delicious and refreshing. For our main courses, we had the beef sirloin and the pork chop. Both meats were flavorful and tender. The pork chop comes with a side of truffle potato salad, which was ok. I thought that would've been better. For dessert, we topped it off with the creme brûlée and rhubarb cake on a bed of dulce de leche and caramel gelato. Both were heavenly! This restaurant is a MUST if you're in Niagara Falls, Ontario! You won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food and service

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal at the Sterling was wonderful, ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The meal at the Sterling was wonderful, atmosphere was really nice as they had a live entertainer that was really good. Food amazing, different than you find at most restaurants, cocktails were excellent and a nice choice of specialty beer. The suggestions by our waiter were excellent and I cant wait to go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

We went there because of the reviews and ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

We went there because of the reviews and I wanted to try the rabbit. My wife loves short ribs and was looking forward to that . When we got there, we found out that they change the menu often. At 1st we were disappointed but our server suggested a local wine which was outstanding. I ordered the quail special and my wife got the duck. Both were incredible and was only topped by the fabulous desert. I would highly recommend.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The attitude of waitress that evening wa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The attitude of waitress that evening was sub-par. Food was OK, not fantastic

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We found this lovely place on line while ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We found this lovely place on line while staying in Niagara Falls. We had thought maybe some of the reviewers were exaggerating, but we agree-one of the best meals we have ever had. Staff were gracious and helpful, and the food was positively delicious. This was fine dining as one would want, and not at all pretentious. We were comfortable asking questions and felt truly satisfied in every aspect of the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Wonderful live vocalist

Dined on June 4, 2016

Loved it! Wonderful live vocalist

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Niagara Get Away

Dined on June 3, 2016

Impromptu trip to Niagara, resulting in finding this gem of a restaurant off the beaten path. Away from the hustle and bustle, on the lower floor. Seemed kind of odd, but was an amazing dining experience. Everything was delicious! Fresh! Well balanced and seasoned to perfection! We would definitely go back there to eat, whenever in the area. The life music, jazzy vibe, very romantic, perfect for a date, really set the tone. Staff was very attentive and checked in often which was welcomed. Really amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, delicious food pairi ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Impeccable service, delicious food pairings and super fresh produce. HIGHLY recommend this place.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday Bash

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

What a beautiful, romantic restaurant perfect for a birthday celebration. the food is amazing, bring a large appetite, otherwise you will have no room for desert. The ambiance is beautiful. The service is fabulous. I highly recommend you check this gem out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service, great atmosp ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Fantastic food and service, great atmosphere !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience at AG!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Stayed at the Sterling Inn and made a reservation for AG to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was wonderful...the ambiance (very quiet, seated at a corner table) was upscale and romantic, the food was delicious, and the service was wonderful. Our server explained the dishes to us, knew the menu extremely well and made us feel welcome. They were great with allergies (my wife eats gluten and egg free). This is one of the few places we could get a dessert that meets that criteria. The food was extremely good, it was fresh and featured seasonal ingredients. We tried things that we had never had before and enjoyed all of it. The prices are not inexpensive but they are not overpriced for what the portions and quality of food. The entrees were an especially nice portion. This was a memorable meal and I would highly recommend AG.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Farm to fork was outstanding.

Dined on May 30, 2016

Farm to fork was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An oasis amidst touristy niagra falls

Dined on May 29, 2016

AG is a quiet and find amidst the of Falls. The is local and organic and and teally great. Service was warm and attentive. There was live music but we could still carry on a conversation. We recommend this for those who love good dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I visited the Falls and luck ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I visited the Falls and lucked into this great place. Not only was the food exceptional, but the service was beyond our expectations. Derrick walked us through the menu and even catered to my wife's vegetarian taste. This place is a hidden gem within the chain/steakhouse world of the tourist spots. The Chef gave us food that showed true inspiration. Thank you, AG.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good not great

Dined on May 24, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Very friendly, attentive waitstaff. Food was good, but not really anything special. Off the main drag.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant restaurant with excellent servi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Elegant restaurant with excellent service. Food beautifully designed and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A unique dining gem just off the beaten ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

A unique dining gem just off the beaten track in Niagara Falls. We chose the AG to mark our anniversary and were totally satisfied with the selection, quality and presentation of our meals. The blends of texture and flavours was remarkable. The waiters were friendly and knowledgeable and took time to explain the menu. A definate hit on our dining calendar and a must revisit in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was incredible, if there were ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was incredible, if there were the option for six stars I would have selected it. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable, the food was incredible, the live music was low key and not overpowering. Great experience; one of our favourite places in, or even near, Niagara Falls!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best

Dined on May 13, 2016

I looked at many options in the area and settled on AG. I am glad I did, it was the most romantic place I could have stumbled upon. Atmosphere was great food was spectacular, wine list could be better but I would visit again if I'm in the area. Great find!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful, innovative menu, beautifull ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

A wonderful, innovative menu, beautifully presented and delicious. Superlative service that makes the customer feel like a king. A great dining experience .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent food, wines and service.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always excellent food, wines and service. Kellie is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food and atmosphere! ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent service, food and atmosphere!!!!!! Looking forward to returning.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best restaurant i've tried in Niagara Falls

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was really good, just a bit shy of a 5* rating for me. I tried a rhubarb tart, nice and flaky but I didn't taste any rhubarb in there. My venison was good, but I've had more tender and tasty game at other restaurants in the past. Service was very good. I would go back and try some different menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food options were great and the prep ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food options were great and the preparation was a definite standout. I had venison (extremely tender, not gamey at all) with pesto and lentils, the wife had chicken and risotto. Both were prepared to exacting standards and had great texture. $100 CAD for two before taxes with appetizers for each, but no alcoholic beverages. I would probably stop in again if I visited without kids. It was a 10 minute walk from the Sheraton on the Parkway.

food5
ambience5
service5

All the meals that we tried are excellen ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

All the meals that we tried are excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great but missed the impotant event

Dined on May 1, 2016

I booked on Open Table and told them that it was my wife's birthday, also that we are new to the area and are looking for our "go to" restaurant. The venue was great but when it comes to the little things like recognizing my wife's birthday, they missed it by a mile. Nothing special was done nor was a simple desert brought to her. Not a big thing, but we are both in the service industry and it is the little things that go along way to "wow" a new customer.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

Delightful meal and evening. Had the pr ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Delightful meal and evening. Had the prix fixe with wine pairings. Wonderful use of seasonal vegetables. A lovely rhubarb tart. Exceptional flavor in a roast quail dish with beautiful potato cake and wild mushrooms, and lovely fresh berry and rhubarb pie dessert. A+

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true gem with an amazing food and chef!!!

Dined on April 29, 2016

For those who want a short review I'll put it like this if you're a food person who appreciates local and fresh farm to table ingredients and creative and delisious dishes this restaurant is amazing and is probably the best in the Falls area. Don't fall into the tourist traps, AGs is the real deal! My wife and I traveled to Niagara to celebrate our 9 year anniversary. We stayed in Niagara on the lake where there are many restaurants with great chefs and locally sourced farm to table fare however the Falls area is pleagued with commercial chain restaurants. Thankfully the kind folks at Big Head winery recommended AGs! When we walked up we didn't know what to expect because it didn't appear to be anything special from the outside. We were delighted to see white table cloths and a somewhat dark yet pleasant atmosthere. It had a very 80s retro feel but still very nice and you could tell the place was starting to fill up with regulars and locals which is always a good sign. We were seated right away. The wine menu was extensive featuring the best local wines. Their food menu looked so good we didn't know what to choose! We each did a first course and main course and shared dessert. Dinner started with an amuse-bouche compliments of the chef that was a venison tartare which was great to start our pallet for the meal ahead. Next I had the mixed greens with candy beets, sheeps milk feta and walnuts dressed in a house made honey vinaigrette which I loved and it was the perfect size. My main course was the pan-seared whitefish with sautéed kale & chorizo and a chive cream sauce which was absolutely delicious and a larger portion than I'm used to for this kind of place. For dessert we shared a maple poached pear with butterscotch which was also very delicious. By this time there was live music by piano and my wife and I shared a dance on our special night. All in all whenever we go back to Niagara Falls AG's will be a must! I would highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Esther

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waiter was really bad. The young women who brought the food to the table were ok. They tried to make the service a presentation. The waiter was Not helpful with suggestions and so very slow. Some of the food was very good but the overall experience was underwhelming.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food and Ambiance!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our party of 4 dined at AG for my sisters 40th birthday. We were told that the restaurant was the best in town. The food was delicious , the presentation was great, and the ambiance of the restaurant was exactly what we were looking for. The live music was just right volume and tempo for the room. The service was good - our waiter seemed very attentive to our table at first.... however he seemed to become less interested as the evening went on and after settling up the bills he didn't say thank you or good-bye (which was very strange). I'm not sure if he was just not happy we didn't purchase more alcohol or if he thought our tips were too small (between 18%-20%). Another thing I found odd was that we noted in the reservation that it was my sisters 40th birthday and mentioned it when we first came in and it wasn't acknowledged in any way. Regardless - the food was delicious and we had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on April 16, 2016

What a treat this place was. Absolutely delicious food with impeccable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on April 16, 2016

A wonderful meal - fresh ingredients prepared in a unique way. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was all amazing and the service was impeccable. We will definitely take every opportunity to return when we are in Niagara Falls and highly recommend to anyone celebrating a special occasion or who is looking for an amazing food experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.