About Afternoon Tea - Grand America Hotel

555 South Main
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

The elegant Victorian style team in Salt Lake City is at The Grand America. Guests are served on Tunisia China designed exclusively for the hotel. The floor-to-ceiling windows allow you to savor views of the garden courtyard while you savor the small pleasures of a traditional English afternoon tea.

Choose from a variety of premium international teas along with tea sandwiches made with cucumber, Pacific cold smoked salmon, watercress, and more. Later, a delectable array of freshly baked scones (served with homemade strawberry jam and Devonshire cream), flaky pastries, rich tortes, and delightful petit fours await your pleasure.

You’ll be soothed by the gentle music of a softly-played harp or piano, giving this classic event a distinctively European ambience. Afternoon Tea at Grand America offers a memorable experience like no other in Salt Lake City.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Seatings at 1:00 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Between 5th & 6th South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 258-6707

Website:
http://www.grandamerica.com/dining/afternoon-tea

Entertainment:
7-days a week 2p-5p Harpist for Afternoon Tea
Sunday - Thursday 5p-8p Piano

Friday & Saturday 6p-9p Jazz Trio

Parking Details:
Self parking is free with validation. Valet Parking is $8.

Public Transit:
Trax light rail, Courthouse Stop

Executive Chef:
Phillip Yates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Afternoon Tea - Grand America Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (15)
Special Occasion (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
See All
Cozy (5)
Historic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Live Music (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Casual (1)
Romantic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disappointed with the service. I wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed with the service. I was taking a friend out for her Christmas gift and the level of service was not what I expected or even good. We even had a reservation a week in advance. We never had a proper server it seemed like every other table had a server ours was just whoever felt like waiting on our table or the bartender who took our order on a napkin without any explanation of the menu. It took us 20 minutes to get our tea and over 40 to get our check so we did a lot of senseless waiting. When they brought our check it was incorrect and instead of fixing it and making it one ticket they charged my card twice so I was left with 6+ receipts. I had been here before and had excellent service so it was really disappointing especially for a special occasion because it really put a damper on what should have been a fun afternoon. The level of service is not worth the money and I'm very unhappy and disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

I took my sister for High Tea, it was lo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

I took my sister for High Tea, it was lovely, the presentation was excellent, service outstanding and ambiance perfect for tea. The added benefit of a harpist was a touch of class and elegance. The tea sandwiches and deserts were delicious. I will return the next time I'm in town , this experience was better than the ritz Carlton in Chicago and I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Fireplace, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go to several High Tea's a year at the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I go to several High Tea's a year at the Grand America, but our last tea was disappointing. They have changed the menu and are serving meatier sandwichs - pork and beef. How does a pork sandwich pair with tea? ICK. There is sun dried tomatoes on everything so it all tastes the same. The bruschetta was burnt. The lemon curd had dry skin on top from being prepared and stored earlier. Our server was slow and by the time she brought me cream my tea was cold. Overall I was very disappointed, especially as this was for a birthday celebration, AND from previous visits I know the tea is usually outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value4

What a special fun event. My friend and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

What a special fun event. My friend and I truly enjoyed the atmosphere, the service, the food, and the overall ambiance. I plan to go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So much fun and the service and details ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

So much fun and the service and details were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Caution to those with food allergies. We ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Caution to those with food allergies. We notified the staff of a dairy allergy a week in advance of our reservation. No preparations had been made to accommodate our child. The server was exceptional in working with the kitchen and management to serve our child food, although it was much less then our serving. That all helped, but our child still felt left out of this fun day and hungry. Thank you to our server. We hope Grand America plans better for others in the future.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been to the Grand America for af ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been to the Grand America for afternoon tea a few times and it never diasappoints. This visit I booked a table of 13 for my daughter's 7th birthday party. Our tables were situated next to the fire which gave a fabulous setting for the girls. They enjoyed their fancy tea party and the waitress was so sweet with the girls. They did a special presentation of dessert for my daughter with a candle and the harpist played "Happy Birthday". It was an amazing experience for all involved and I look forward to coming back soon. :)

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Delicious food. Beautiful set ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful! Delicious food. Beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Afternoon tea is a treat we look forward ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Afternoon tea is a treat we look forward to each December.

The food variety is fun; loved all but the goat cheese macaroon.

The tea variety (herbal) was okay this year; I thought flowers and grass wasn't very appealing.

The desserts were also fun but ended up going home as we had been well fed.

Our seats were looking out into the foyer of the hotel; I didn't enjoy being the first thing people saw as they came into the Afternoon Tea area.

Overall, the rating for this year's trip is Good.

We'll be back next December.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I would have rated afternoon tea 5 stars ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I would have rated afternoon tea 5 stars, but the table was too small to accommodate 4 people's teapots, cups, plates, and the serving tiers of sandwiches and desserts.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and two daughters went to the Ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My wife and two daughters went to the Christmas tea last weekend. My wife has an allergy to berries, and we noted this on the reservation, and followed-up with a call to the restaurant to ensure it was on the profile. When they arrived at the table, our daughters had a strawberry parfait at their places, but nothing was offered to my wife as an alternative due to the berry allergy, which the waitress acknowledged. When dessert came, they brought everyone skewers of fruit with strawberries. When my wife reminded the waitress of her allergy, the waitress took away the skewers, but them brought them back with the strawberries removed, but the telltale red staining on the skewer stick showed she just pulled them off. My wife called over the manager and he comp'd her meal, which was appreciated, but the overall lack of attentiveness to allergies was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

I guess I expected more freshness and qu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I guess I expected more freshness and quality food for the price we paid. The sandwiches were soggy and the hot chocolate was lukewarm. But it was a fun location and we were seated in a perfect spot to see into the courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

As always Afternoon Tea is a wonderful w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As always Afternoon Tea is a wonderful way of getting together with friends and having a great time. We try to go 3-4 times a year just to have some fun and relax.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was an amazing experience and a ver ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was an amazing experience and a very special day with my daughters. We'll be making this an annual tradition.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the hot chocolate and tea selec ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We loved the hot chocolate and tea selections! It was fun to pour our own hot chocolate and eat fun little foods.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was hard to understand, but w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our server was hard to understand, but was friendly. I thought the mandatory 18% gratuity was a little steep considering how little the servers do.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Our High Tea experience at the Grand Ame ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our High Tea experience at the Grand America was fantastic. I sincerely appreciate the valet parking; the attendants were friendly and efficient. This is my second time here for High Tea and it was a special occasion with my Mom who visited from Canada. The food, atmosphere and quality of tea was excellent. Our server, Mariah, was wonderful! The added bonus of the grand piano being played in the background was so lovely. The High Tea room is so pretty and affords a beautiful view of the courtyard with twinkling lights in the trees. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was such a magical experience for my ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was such a magical experience for my six and eight year old! They enjoyed every minute. I wouldn't bring anyone younger than six, though. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made the reservation so I could treat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I made the reservation so I could treat my adult daughter to a special birthday tea. We enjoyed ourselves so much. Our server was fantastic, the herb tea and food was delicious and fun and we especially loved the atmosphere and the beautiful harp playing in the background. I was to come back and bring my sisters. What a wonderful time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends who met in London all joined for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Friends who met in London all joined for afternoon tea. We found it very delightful and loved the variety of things to try. The ambiance was lovely, with a harpist and very elegant decor. The food was all cooked well, wasn't a fan of all of the flavors, however we all left completely full and very happy with our experience. We are all "starving students" so this will stay a special occasion but it was very wonderful and we're glad we came

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

tea party was lovely.. I took my grandda ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

tea party was lovely.. I took my granddaughters (9 & 10) & daughter.. Great time & will do it again!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fabulous afternoon tea. All the food i ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 15, 2016

A fabulous afternoon tea. All the food items were delicious and beautiful presented. The service was great. There was a harp player so the music was lovely. We went there to celebrate a friends birthday and the harp player played "happy birthday" while the waiter brought out a special treat with candle. Over all it was a wonderful afternoon. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited tables so reservations are recom ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Limited tables so reservations are recommended although when we went availability wasn't an issue. Some of the food options were odd and were strange taste wise. It was very filling and couldn't finish the dessert portion! Come hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

It was so fun for my granddaughter and I ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was so fun for my granddaughter and I. We were able to talk and not feel rushed. Our waiter was great and we even saw Henry winkler. It was great. Thank you Dan for making it so memorable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have attended afternoon tea several ti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I have attended afternoon tea several times, and I recommend it to others because of its ambience and difference from other venues. We dress up and enjoy the live harpist, variety of teas, and beautiful sandwiches and desserts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Grand America hotel's afternoon tea expe ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Grand America hotel's afternoon tea experience is a must have. The dessert menu is excellent and so is the large selection of teas. The only downfall is the sandwich menu. It is absolutely terrible. It is very Americanised with sliders. The macaroons + salmon menu is disgusting. sweet macaroons and salty salmon doesnt go. Please take this off. Also take of sliders and replace with traditional high tea sandwhiches. It would get my outstanding two thumbs up if these could be addressed. Getting pretty tired of the mediocre sandwich menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service by Blair! However, I ques ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service by Blair! However, I question some of the chef's sandwich selection: smoked trout on a macaroon was kinda icky, as was the chicken salad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I took 5 granddaughters, aged 5-10, to c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 4, 2016

I took 5 granddaughters, aged 5-10, to celebrate one of the girl's birthday. The service was great and we all enjoyed a wonderful afternoon together. Each of the girls got their own pot of hot chocolate and special little sandwiches. It was so elegant. Every little girl needs this experience once in her lifetime.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I quietly celebrated my birthday at the ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 3, 2016

I quietly celebrated my birthday at the Grand America hotel. We had our afternoon high tea and the waitress overheard that it was my birthday. She brought out a candle lit dessert and the pianist played the birthday sing for me. It was such a surprise and a very sweet gesture. Thank you afternoon tea team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my niece for her birthday. It was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Took my niece for her birthday. It was a great experience and my niece definitely felt special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Afternoon Tea at Grand America Hotel was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Afternoon Tea at Grand America Hotel was delightful! I went with my mother and my 8-year-old daughter. Our server was Sheer and she was wonderful! She gave us great descriptions of every tea and piece of food that came to our table. I don't think I have the right words to describe the food, but it was delicious! From the strawberries and chantilly cream starter, to the most delectable sandwiches and scones (with a kid-friendly set of sandwiches for my daughter), to the most beautiful tray of desserts - it was PERFECT. For the ambiance, quality service, and the food, the price was more than reasonable. Whenever we are in/near SLC, Afternoon Tea at Grand America will always be in our plans!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful hotel lobby setting and very c ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Beautiful hotel lobby setting and very comfortable too. We were not rushed. The food was delicious and very rich- really too many desserts for two people! Our server made tea suggestions and was very attentive. The piano music could be updated - light jazz would be nice. This was fun for a special occasion. We got a lot of service for not a lot of money!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Positives: Beautiful environment. Court ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Positives: Beautiful environment. Courteous staff. Creative and definitely not boring food.

Opportunities for improvement: The piano music was beautiful but was so loud it was hard for us to hear each other without raising our voices. Since it was afternoon tea, I was surprised we had to ask for teaspoons and cream. Our server did explain all of the goodies on the tea tray, but there were so many we couldn't remember it all. Would have loved a printed list. I know they change up the offerings frequently so that might be difficult.

We all agreed it was worth the trip (we all live 2 hour away) and we would do it again when we are in SLC in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved our experience! I brought my daugh ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Loved our experience! I brought my daughter for a mommy daughter date. The food for me was a little strange, I wasn't a fan of most of the sandwiches but everything else was absolutely fantastic! We will come here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Afternoon Tea is a quiet elegant exp ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Afternoon Tea is a quiet elegant experience that you don't often get to experience with the hustle of everyday life. Expect to stay a couple of hours enjoying the company, the atmosphere, the food, and of course the tea.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. The server wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was excellent. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu of Teas.

She was very friendly and engaged with our group.

The food was not the very best. A little stale and not very favorable.

However, would go again for a special occasion. Everyone enjoyed her.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My daughter took her close friends to te ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 25, 2016

My daughter took her close friends to tea to celebrate her birthday. We had been before. It was very enjoyable! One guest needed gluten free and they easily accommodated her needs. Everything was delicious as always.

The staff even brought my daughter an individual cake from the in house sweet shop and a package of macaroons (which happen to be her favorite treat) as a birthday gift. It was a lovely way to celebrate her birthday. We'll surely return in the future. The service at Grand America is always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed the live harpis ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the live harpist. (The harpist was not present when I dined here in March.) We came to celebrate our marriage. We had gotten married the day before and were in Salt Lake City for part of our honeymoon, staying at the Inn on the Hill B&B (delightful place). I appreciated the vegetarian option. We came slightly early but were promptly seated when it was our reservation time. We had a couch by the window with a lovely view of the courtyard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to tea at the Grand many tim ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been to tea at the Grand many times but this last time I felt the finger foods were too sweet and that in the end instead of being savory and sweet I was just tired of sweet and sweeter. My daughter who has been going with me for very long time and loves tea and the sweets felt the same way and both of us decided it will be awhile before we go again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We attended afternoon tea to celebrate m ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We attended afternoon tea to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. There were seven in our group, and our afternoon could not have been better. Our server (Dan) was outstanding and helped make my mother's birthday over-the-top special. The food was delicious, and we were thrilled to learn that the pastry chef is from France! We thoroughly enjoyed sampling different sandwiches and treats, and the harp music in the background created the perfect background music to our special occasion. We're already planning the next time we'll be coming for tea.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.