About Afternoon Tea - Grand America Hotel

555 South Main
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

The elegant Victorian style team in Salt Lake City is at The Grand America. Guests are served on Tunisia China designed exclusively for the hotel. The floor-to-ceiling windows allow you to savor views of the garden courtyard while you savor the small pleasures of a traditional English afternoon tea.

Choose from a variety of premium international teas along with tea sandwiches made with cucumber, Pacific cold smoked salmon, watercress, and more. Later, a delectable array of freshly baked scones (served with homemade strawberry jam and Devonshire cream), flaky pastries, rich tortes, and delightful petit fours await your pleasure.

You’ll be soothed by the gentle music of a softly-played harp or piano, giving this classic event a distinctively European ambience. Afternoon Tea at Grand America offers a memorable experience like no other in Salt Lake City.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Seatings at 1:00 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Between 5th & 6th South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 258-6707

Website:
http://www.grandamerica.com/dining/afternoon-tea

Entertainment:
7-days a week 2p-5p Harpist for Afternoon Tea
Sunday - Thursday 5p-8p Piano

Friday & Saturday 6p-9p Jazz Trio

Parking Details:
Self parking is free with validation. Valet Parking is $8.

Public Transit:
Trax light rail, Courthouse Stop

Executive Chef:
Phillip Yates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Afternoon Tea - Grand America Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Service
Utah
Best Ambiance
Utah
7 More
Best Value
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Best Value
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (13)
See All
Scenic View (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A fabulous afternoon tea. All the food i ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

A fabulous afternoon tea. All the food items were delicious and beautiful presented. The service was great. There was a harp player so the music was lovely. We went there to celebrate a friends birthday and the harp player played "happy birthday" while the waiter brought out a special treat with candle. Over all it was a wonderful afternoon. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited tables so reservations are recom ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Limited tables so reservations are recommended although when we went availability wasn't an issue. Some of the food options were odd and were strange taste wise. It was very filling and couldn't finish the dessert portion! Come hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

It was so fun for my granddaughter and I ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was so fun for my granddaughter and I. We were able to talk and not feel rushed. Our waiter was great and we even saw Henry winkler. It was great. Thank you Dan for making it so memorable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have attended afternoon tea several ti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I have attended afternoon tea several times, and I recommend it to others because of its ambience and difference from other venues. We dress up and enjoy the live harpist, variety of teas, and beautiful sandwiches and desserts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Grand America hotel's afternoon tea expe ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Grand America hotel's afternoon tea experience is a must have. The dessert menu is excellent and so is the large selection of teas. The only downfall is the sandwich menu. It is absolutely terrible. It is very Americanised with sliders. The macaroons + salmon menu is disgusting. sweet macaroons and salty salmon doesnt go. Please take this off. Also take of sliders and replace with traditional high tea sandwhiches. It would get my outstanding two thumbs up if these could be addressed. Getting pretty tired of the mediocre sandwich menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service by Blair! However, I ques ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service by Blair! However, I question some of the chef's sandwich selection: smoked trout on a macaroon was kinda icky, as was the chicken salad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I took 5 granddaughters, aged 5-10, to c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I took 5 granddaughters, aged 5-10, to celebrate one of the girl's birthday. The service was great and we all enjoyed a wonderful afternoon together. Each of the girls got their own pot of hot chocolate and special little sandwiches. It was so elegant. Every little girl needs this experience once in her lifetime.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I quietly celebrated my birthday at the ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I quietly celebrated my birthday at the Grand America hotel. We had our afternoon high tea and the waitress overheard that it was my birthday. She brought out a candle lit dessert and the pianist played the birthday sing for me. It was such a surprise and a very sweet gesture. Thank you afternoon tea team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my niece for her birthday. It was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Took my niece for her birthday. It was a great experience and my niece definitely felt special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Afternoon Tea at Grand America Hotel was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Afternoon Tea at Grand America Hotel was delightful! I went with my mother and my 8-year-old daughter. Our server was Sheer and she was wonderful! She gave us great descriptions of every tea and piece of food that came to our table. I don't think I have the right words to describe the food, but it was delicious! From the strawberries and chantilly cream starter, to the most delectable sandwiches and scones (with a kid-friendly set of sandwiches for my daughter), to the most beautiful tray of desserts - it was PERFECT. For the ambiance, quality service, and the food, the price was more than reasonable. Whenever we are in/near SLC, Afternoon Tea at Grand America will always be in our plans!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful hotel lobby setting and very c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Beautiful hotel lobby setting and very comfortable too. We were not rushed. The food was delicious and very rich- really too many desserts for two people! Our server made tea suggestions and was very attentive. The piano music could be updated - light jazz would be nice. This was fun for a special occasion. We got a lot of service for not a lot of money!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Positives: Beautiful environment. Court ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Positives: Beautiful environment. Courteous staff. Creative and definitely not boring food.

Opportunities for improvement: The piano music was beautiful but was so loud it was hard for us to hear each other without raising our voices. Since it was afternoon tea, I was surprised we had to ask for teaspoons and cream. Our server did explain all of the goodies on the tea tray, but there were so many we couldn't remember it all. Would have loved a printed list. I know they change up the offerings frequently so that might be difficult.

We all agreed it was worth the trip (we all live 2 hour away) and we would do it again when we are in SLC in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved our experience! I brought my daugh ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Loved our experience! I brought my daughter for a mommy daughter date. The food for me was a little strange, I wasn't a fan of most of the sandwiches but everything else was absolutely fantastic! We will come here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Afternoon Tea is a quiet elegant exp ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Afternoon Tea is a quiet elegant experience that you don't often get to experience with the hustle of everyday life. Expect to stay a couple of hours enjoying the company, the atmosphere, the food, and of course the tea.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. The server wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was excellent. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu of Teas.

She was very friendly and engaged with our group.

The food was not the very best. A little stale and not very favorable.

However, would go again for a special occasion. Everyone enjoyed her.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My daughter took her close friends to te ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My daughter took her close friends to tea to celebrate her birthday. We had been before. It was very enjoyable! One guest needed gluten free and they easily accommodated her needs. Everything was delicious as always.

The staff even brought my daughter an individual cake from the in house sweet shop and a package of macaroons (which happen to be her favorite treat) as a birthday gift. It was a lovely way to celebrate her birthday. We'll surely return in the future. The service at Grand America is always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed the live harpis ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the live harpist. (The harpist was not present when I dined here in March.) We came to celebrate our marriage. We had gotten married the day before and were in Salt Lake City for part of our honeymoon, staying at the Inn on the Hill B&B (delightful place). I appreciated the vegetarian option. We came slightly early but were promptly seated when it was our reservation time. We had a couch by the window with a lovely view of the courtyard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to tea at the Grand many tim ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been to tea at the Grand many times but this last time I felt the finger foods were too sweet and that in the end instead of being savory and sweet I was just tired of sweet and sweeter. My daughter who has been going with me for very long time and loves tea and the sweets felt the same way and both of us decided it will be awhile before we go again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We attended afternoon tea to celebrate m ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We attended afternoon tea to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. There were seven in our group, and our afternoon could not have been better. Our server (Dan) was outstanding and helped make my mother's birthday over-the-top special. The food was delicious, and we were thrilled to learn that the pastry chef is from France! We thoroughly enjoyed sampling different sandwiches and treats, and the harp music in the background created the perfect background music to our special occasion. We're already planning the next time we'll be coming for tea.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have brought 5 of my 6 granddaughters ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I have brought 5 of my 6 granddaughters for tea on their 8 th birthdays. So exquisite! Makes an amazing memory !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took all my daughters (All 5 that are ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I took all my daughters (All 5 that are in Utah) to Afternoon Tea as a late Mothers day treat to honor all of them. It was special enough to be remembered always. They all felt treasured and it was fun and charming and classy. Thank you for providing such a special place to celebrate in a different and satisfying manner. We were treated as queens would be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must-do while in SLC.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We had the greatest server, Dan! Beautiful place setting. Great tea! The vegetarian sandwiches were so creative! Loved to asparagus mousse! The dessert course was out of a dream. 8 desserts per person! Make sure you get the lemon bar before you get too full!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I took my daughter and her friends there for a birthday party. We all dressed up and they took their American Girl dolls and we had afternoon tea. They all thought it was the neatest thing. It was one of the best birthday parties I have done yet! They treat you really good and made it extra special for my daughter. We all loved the atmosphere too. I highly recommend Afternoon Tea for a birthday, baby shower, wedding shower or just to have a great conversation with friends and/or family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More Sandwiches Please

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Mini sliders, and Macaroons filled with savory things are not exactly my idea of what I'd expect for a high tea. Traditionally, it should include sandwiches etc.

The sandwich tray and one sandwich which resembled cream cheese with raw asparagus. It was awful. It is great that they are trying out different menus each season but I am disappointed that there aren't that many sandwiches in the first tray. The dessert tray is superb and I am always happy with it and glad that they finally got rid of gummy drops.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service and definitely a lot more ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great service and definitely a lot more food then I expected (which was awesome)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely spot to celebrate our son's gradu ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Lovely spot to celebrate our son's graduation. Arrive hungry!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful High Tea

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I took some girl friends for tea. They did t know it was even on their bucket list until we were there! Wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The scones and they're toppings are always delicious. The selection of finger sandwiches are hit and miss for me. The desserts are nice, but I preferred the dessert trolley you used to have a few years ago. The selections were better. Lose the gumdrops...nobody eats those. The service is always top notch. Thanks!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely Tea

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We had a lovely time. The tea and food was great except for the salmon . Will plan to come again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Afternoon Tea

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

My three granddaughters and I treated ourselves to Afternoon Tea. They were enchanted! The surroundings were gorgeous -- the food, tea, and service were delightful -- and the beautiful harp music was a real bonus.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Afternoon tea for every age

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We had afternoon tea at The Grand America, which was amazing! Definitely make a reservation and they can accommodate large groups, too. It's fun for girls and women of every age.

The service was amazing and the tea selection was large and there are flavors to suit everyone's palette. The tea sandwiches and dessert presentation is really pretty. The sandwiches are a little on the sweet side and if you're looking for more savory bites, you may want to let your server know beforehand.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The ladies in our family love coming to ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The ladies in our family love coming to Grand America for high tea. It makes a special event more memorable. The food, music, atmosphere and service are alway top notch. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Afternoon Tea and Grand America

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The experience is definitely unique - unlike the average get togethers. The servers are friendly, professional, and go out of their way to make your experience as pleasant as possible. The selection of teas they offer are delightful, and are of a high quality. The selection of finger sandwiches, and desserts are amazing. Never a disappointment. I try to go every month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bridal showers

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I have been here twice now and have loved it both times! It is so fun for special occasions and especially female get togethers!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Experiential Dining

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Afternoon Tea at the Grand America is the gem of Salt Lake City. It is perfect for small party's and special occasions. The food was excellent, the atmosphere was charming and the service was ideal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great environment but the food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

It was a great environment but the food is nothing special. The pastries are the highlight and you are too full to enjoy them by the time they come out. Still wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

perfect place for ladies date

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Afternoon Tea is the perfect place to take anyone from your daughter to your sisters, aunts grandmas or all of the above for a ladies getaway and quality time. It's has a variety of little foods, great selection of tea for beginners to experienced tea goers and the friendly service keeps people coming back for more. I also like how special requests can be made for young ones who maybe don't what's on the menu and can have a more kid friendly selection.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Love tea at Grand America!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I really enjoy the tea experience at Grand America. I have been several times. I always recommend it to my friends. The music is fabulous as well as the ambiance. I really enjoy the efforts to truly make this a traditional tea experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique to Salt Lake City & the Grand America

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

High Tea isn't found in every city and the experience at the Grand America is certainly lovely.

The lobby setting is so beautifully appointed, the harp music is soothing, the table settings are sparkling. The chantilly and berries were delicious and a favorite of all. The tea and hot chocolate selection is very good. The scones and finger sandwich selection were beautiful with a good variety, but seemed to be a little dry...perhaps because we booked the later hours. It was a nice touch that there was a kid friendly selection for my two granddaughters that I had brought with me as a special Christmas "gift experience. And the pastry and sweet selection was also beautiful and abundant. We took quite a bit home with us, but once again they seemed a bit dry. Our service, though very pleasant, was less than as attentive as you might expect for an establishment of this caliber. Dishes remained on the table that should have been removed. Tea pots were not refilled with hot water, nor was water refilled promptly. Perhaps this was due to the fact that we had children with us and the standard of service was lowered for them but I would expect the same regardless of age. In addition, I had requested a table by the fireplace with OpenTable that wasn't honored. Overall, it was still a delightful experience. The girls were enamored and it was a memory I hope they will cherish. I have booked another date with another granddaughter in February and am hoping that my experience will not be a repeat of this one as I have had much better experiences in the past.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Poor service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We had to ask our server several times for the same thing. Slow is an under statement. Once we got the sandwiches they were dried out and all in our party ended up I'll that evening. The tables were so small that the serving plates didn't fit on the table they were tall and difficult to converse over.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.