About Afternoon Tea - Grand America Hotel

The elegant Victorian style team in Salt Lake City is at The Grand America. Guests are served on Tunisia China designed exclusively for the hotel. The floor-to-ceiling windows allow you to savor views of the garden courtyard while you savor the small pleasures of a traditional English afternoon tea.

Choose from a variety of premium international teas along with tea sandwiches made with cucumber, Pacific cold smoked salmon, watercress, and more. Later, a delectable array of freshly baked scones (served with homemade strawberry jam and Devonshire cream), flaky pastries, rich tortes, and delightful petit fours await your pleasure.

You’ll be soothed by the gentle music of a softly-played harp or piano, giving this classic event a distinctively European ambience. Afternoon Tea at Grand America offers a memorable experience like no other in Salt Lake City.

555 South Main
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Seatings at 1:00 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Between 5th & 6th South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 258-6707

Website:
http://www.grandamerica.com/dining/afternoon-tea

Entertainment:
7-days a week 2p-5p Harpist for Afternoon Tea
Sunday - Thursday 5p-8p Piano

Friday & Saturday 6p-9p Jazz Trio

Parking Details:
Self parking is free with validation. Valet Parking is $8.

Public Transit:
Trax light rail, Courthouse Stop

Executive Chef:
Phillip Yates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Afternoon Tea - Grand America Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (20)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Fun (6)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (5)
Live Music (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fireplace (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

We went there for my daughter's birthday. We were treated so well. The staff sang to her. The music was beautiful and so was the whole experience. We enjoyed it all very much. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

First time here and it was beautiful. The location in the hotel is just beautiful!!!

My only comment is that at other teas I've gone to, the selection of teas is a little larger. The sweets at this tea were great but the savory selection was not as good from my perspective.

I enjoyed the experience and would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food was fabulous and the atmosphere was elegant. I will definitely plan on returning!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I had an adult birthday party for High Tea with 18 ladies in attendance. The staff, especially the head waiter, were very attentive. And the food was amazing. Thank you for making our day wonderful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Took my mom, who was in town visiting. It was an absolute delight. Much more food than was expected. Very yummy. Great selection of teas, and finished off with a lovely glass of champagne! Great for a girls day!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I usually have loved coming to this high tea. The last two times we've come we were very disappointed. The Jasmine Flower centerpieces were not there and the chantilly cream appetizer had lumps in it. The service wasn't as good as usual , we had to request milk and had to ask several times to get extra hot water. It also seems like the pastries need a little updating. The pastry store " La Bonne Vie" in the hotel has fantastic and innovative pastries, I'm surprised that there aren't similar items offered at high tea. This is one of the nicest places that I've been to for high tea, I hope they bring the quality and service up a bit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We have been doing an annual mother/daughter/granddaughter tea for several years and all look forward to the opportunity to be treated like royalty. We appreciate the great service we received this time: our waiter was VERY informative and attentive. Thanks for such a fun time for my family!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Afternoon Tea is always a wonderful time to see friends and relax. This time they didn't serve enough sandwiches so that each person could have one of each kind. That has never happened before and there was enough to satisfy all of us so I didn't feel it was worth complaining about.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The service was excellent. My family and I enjoyed the tea and food. I love coming to the Grand for afternoon tea. The only problem was the noise. Since there was a Domo conference there, it was way louder than usual. The harpist was playing Happy Birthday and you could hardly hear it.
I wish the afternoon tea can be somewhere else than in the Lobby area.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What a delightful afternoon with my daughters! A beautiful and relaxing environment with comfortable chairs, and a wonderful harpist playing in the background. The hot chocolate was divine, and the sandwiches were so much fun. Something different and special.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fun, romantic, and amazing. Great non-tea options too.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I took my wife for her birthday. I was a little hesitant to go because I thought it would be too
girly. It was a great experience and I never felt out of place. The service was amazing and the food was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Wonderful experience. Server very attentive and friendly. Food was amazing! Totally recommend this to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a wonderful experience the day before Valentines day. We have had tea in London and this tea compares very favorably. We had a window table with a view of the courtyard and the library clock tower. A harpist played during the tea. The food was delicious and was presented in the classic style. Many teas were available as well as several decaf choices. This setting is very handicapped friendly, with validated valet parking at the door, and the lobby tea area only a short walk inside, with no stairs. Overall, a great afternoon tea.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our Afternoon Tea was over all a positive experience, although the serving staff seemed short of enough people to service the entire room.

We would wait for them, then go to the bar to fetch for ourself the milk for our tea, more hot water for our second pot and we werent asked about food allergies until after the food was served and nearly eaten (my wife and son have Peanut allegeries).

All this was disruptive to relaxing together as a family-we booked to 'treat' my wife for all the hard work//pre-Valentines Day brunch, so it put a 'Meh' factor on the overall service.

Your staff is super polite, friendly and tried hard to work the entire room.

Thank you.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I take all my out of state friends and family here. It's something fun and different. The food is always fantastic and exotic. The service is always very courteous, the staff is knowledgeable, and easily approachable. If you love Downton Abbey and want to recreate it a bit. Go here!

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were celebrating my granddaughters 5th birthday! We had a grand time, all the servers were great! They even brought her out a treat with a candle in it and sang Happy Birthday with the harp playing the tune! I would recommend it to anyone who wants to do something special for someone or just a afternoon out!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Our group of friends had a beautiful and relaxing time. One friend is gluten intolerant, and was graciously accommodated. The room, the furniture, and atmosphere was terrific. However, the piano was quite loud, and we found it hard to hear each other. We would have very much appreciated it to be quieter--like back ground music, as it was beautiful, rather than a main attraction.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The tea room is the perfect place for a classic afternoon retreat with someone special. I met my daughter there and we had the chance to catch up while listening to live piano music, viewing the courtyard, and eating some of the best pastries and o'deurves SLC has to offer. Instead of tea, we had their hot chocolate, coconut almond and raspberry. They were exceptional! This is the perfect place for a classy afternoon respite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was great! Everything was so sweet, even the sandwich's less sweets more substance! they started us with a cup full of whipping cream and a few berries on the bottom sugar over kill but a nice experience but doubt we will do it again unless the menu changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had my daughter's 11th birthday party at Grand America high tea, she was very happy with the overall experience. Great food, decor and service. Thank you Grand America, you earned the "grand" in your name.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Wonderful experience, great staff, great value. will go back often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very disappointed with the service. I was taking a friend out for her Christmas gift and the level of service was not what I expected or even good. We even had a reservation a week in advance. We never had a proper server it seemed like every other table had a server ours was just whoever felt like waiting on our table or the bartender who took our order on a napkin without any explanation of the menu. It took us 20 minutes to get our tea and over 40 to get our check so we did a lot of senseless waiting. When they brought our check it was incorrect and instead of fixing it and making it one ticket they charged my card twice so I was left with 6+ receipts. I had been here before and had excellent service so it was really disappointing especially for a special occasion because it really put a damper on what should have been a fun afternoon. The level of service is not worth the money and I'm very unhappy and disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a fun experience, I think for 47$ you should get a bigger variety of cheeses, and told the champagne is NOT all you can drink, was charged 10$ a glass, but other than that it was a fun time with Friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I took my sister for High Tea, it was lovely, the presentation was excellent, service outstanding and ambiance perfect for tea. The added benefit of a harpist was a touch of class and elegance. The tea sandwiches and deserts were delicious. I will return the next time I'm in town , this experience was better than the ritz Carlton in Chicago and I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Fireplace, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I go to several High Tea's a year at the Grand America, but our last tea was disappointing. They have changed the menu and are serving meatier sandwichs - pork and beef. How does a pork sandwich pair with tea? ICK. There is sun dried tomatoes on everything so it all tastes the same. The bruschetta was burnt. The lemon curd had dry skin on top from being prepared and stored earlier. Our server was slow and by the time she brought me cream my tea was cold. Overall I was very disappointed, especially as this was for a birthday celebration, AND from previous visits I know the tea is usually outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

What a special fun event. My friend and I truly enjoyed the atmosphere, the service, the food, and the overall ambiance. I plan to go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

So much fun and the service and details were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I just wanted to say how exceptional the three people who served us were. There was a young man and two women. I don't have there names but I wish there was some way they could be rewarded. My daughters and I were there on January 2nd for High Tea and had a lovely time. our vegetarian requests was happily accommodated. We didn't want salmon on our macaroons...hahahahha The tea and food was great, the harpist was wonderful. But the table servers shined. We will be back for High Tea at the Grand America.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Caution to those with food allergies. We notified the staff of a dairy allergy a week in advance of our reservation. No preparations had been made to accommodate our child. The server was exceptional in working with the kitchen and management to serve our child food, although it was much less then our serving. That all helped, but our child still felt left out of this fun day and hungry. Thank you to our server. We hope Grand America plans better for others in the future.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been to the Grand America for afternoon tea a few times and it never diasappoints. This visit I booked a table of 13 for my daughter's 7th birthday party. Our tables were situated next to the fire which gave a fabulous setting for the girls. They enjoyed their fancy tea party and the waitress was so sweet with the girls. They did a special presentation of dessert for my daughter with a candle and the harpist played "Happy Birthday". It was an amazing experience for all involved and I look forward to coming back soon. :)

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful! Delicious food. Beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Afternoon tea is a treat we look forward to each December.
The food variety is fun; loved all but the goat cheese macaroon.
The tea variety (herbal) was okay this year; I thought flowers and grass wasn't very appealing.
The desserts were also fun but ended up going home as we had been well fed.
Our seats were looking out into the foyer of the hotel; I didn't enjoy being the first thing people saw as they came into the Afternoon Tea area.
Overall, the rating for this year's trip is Good.
We'll be back next December.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I would have rated afternoon tea 5 stars, but the table was too small to accommodate 4 people's teapots, cups, plates, and the serving tiers of sandwiches and desserts.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My wife and two daughters went to the Christmas tea last weekend. My wife has an allergy to berries, and we noted this on the reservation, and followed-up with a call to the restaurant to ensure it was on the profile. When they arrived at the table, our daughters had a strawberry parfait at their places, but nothing was offered to my wife as an alternative due to the berry allergy, which the waitress acknowledged. When dessert came, they brought everyone skewers of fruit with strawberries. When my wife reminded the waitress of her allergy, the waitress took away the skewers, but them brought them back with the strawberries removed, but the telltale red staining on the skewer stick showed she just pulled them off. My wife called over the manager and he comp'd her meal, which was appreciated, but the overall lack of attentiveness to allergies was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I guess I expected more freshness and quality food for the price we paid. The sandwiches were soggy and the hot chocolate was lukewarm. But it was a fun location and we were seated in a perfect spot to see into the courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As always Afternoon Tea is a wonderful way of getting together with friends and having a great time. We try to go 3-4 times a year just to have some fun and relax.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was an amazing experience and a very special day with my daughters. We'll be making this an annual tradition.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We loved the hot chocolate and tea selections! It was fun to pour our own hot chocolate and eat fun little foods.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.