About Afternoon Tea - Grand America Hotel

555 South Main
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

The elegant Victorian style team in Salt Lake City is at The Grand America. Guests are served on Tunisia China designed exclusively for the hotel. The floor-to-ceiling windows allow you to savor views of the garden courtyard while you savor the small pleasures of a traditional English afternoon tea.

Choose from a variety of premium international teas along with tea sandwiches made with cucumber, Pacific cold smoked salmon, watercress, and more. Later, a delectable array of freshly baked scones (served with homemade strawberry jam and Devonshire cream), flaky pastries, rich tortes, and delightful petit fours await your pleasure.

You’ll be soothed by the gentle music of a softly-played harp or piano, giving this classic event a distinctively European ambience. Afternoon Tea at Grand America offers a memorable experience like no other in Salt Lake City.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Seatings at 1:00 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Between 5th & 6th South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 258-6707

Website:
http://www.grandamerica.com/dining/afternoon-tea

Entertainment:
7-days a week 2p-5p Harpist for Afternoon Tea
Sunday - Thursday 5p-8p Piano

Friday & Saturday 6p-9p Jazz Trio

Parking Details:
Self parking is free with validation. Valet Parking is $8.

Public Transit:
Trax light rail, Courthouse Stop

Executive Chef:
Phillip Yates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Afternoon Tea - Grand America Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Utah
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

special occasion (36)
fit for foodies (14)
great for lunch (14)
See All
good for groups (13)
great for brunch (12)
romantic (10)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (8)
neighborhood gem (5)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely spot to celebrate our son's gradu ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Lovely spot to celebrate our son's graduation. Arrive hungry!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful High Tea

Dined on April 19, 2016

I took some girl friends for tea. They did t know it was even on their bucket list until we were there! Wonderful experience all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a treat

Dined on April 16, 2016

The scones and they're toppings are always delicious. The selection of finger sandwiches are hit and miss for me. The desserts are nice, but I preferred the dessert trolley you used to have a few years ago. The selections were better. Lose the gumdrops...nobody eats those. The service is always top notch. Thanks!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Tea

Dined on April 5, 2016

We had a lovely time. The tea and food was great except for the salmon . Will plan to come again soon.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Afternoon Tea

Dined on March 24, 2016

My three granddaughters and I treated ourselves to Afternoon Tea. They were enchanted! The surroundings were gorgeous -- the food, tea, and service were delightful -- and the beautiful harp music was a real bonus.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Afternoon tea for every age

Dined on March 23, 2016

We had afternoon tea at The Grand America, which was amazing! Definitely make a reservation and they can accommodate large groups, too. It's fun for girls and women of every age. The service was amazing and the tea selection was large and there are flavors to suit everyone's palette. The tea sandwiches and dessert presentation is really pretty. The sandwiches are a little on the sweet side and if you're looking for more savory bites, you may want to let your server know beforehand.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The ladies in our family love coming to ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The ladies in our family love coming to Grand America for high tea. It makes a special event more memorable. The food, music, atmosphere and service are alway top notch. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Afternoon Tea and Grand America

Dined on March 13, 2016

The experience is definitely unique - unlike the average get togethers. The servers are friendly, professional, and go out of their way to make your experience as pleasant as possible. The selection of teas they offer are delightful, and are of a high quality. The selection of finger sandwiches, and desserts are amazing. Never a disappointment. I try to go every month.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bridal showers

Dined on March 12, 2016

I have been here twice now and have loved it both times! It is so fun for special occasions and especially female get togethers!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Experiential Dining

Dined on February 27, 2016

Afternoon Tea at the Grand America is the gem of Salt Lake City. It is perfect for small party's and special occasions. The food was excellent, the atmosphere was charming and the service was ideal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

It was a great environment but the food ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

It was a great environment but the food is nothing special. The pastries are the highlight and you are too full to enjoy them by the time they come out. Still wonderful.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

perfect place for ladies date

Dined on January 31, 2016

Afternoon Tea is the perfect place to take anyone from your daughter to your sisters, aunts grandmas or all of the above for a ladies getaway and quality time. It's has a variety of little foods, great selection of tea for beginners to experienced tea goers and the friendly service keeps people coming back for more. I also like how special requests can be made for young ones who maybe don't what's on the menu and can have a more kid friendly selection.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love tea at Grand America!

Dined on January 23, 2016

I really enjoy the tea experience at Grand America. I have been several times. I always recommend it to my friends. The music is fabulous as well as the ambiance. I really enjoy the efforts to truly make this a traditional tea experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Unique to Salt Lake City & the Grand America

Dined on January 18, 2016

High Tea isn't found in every city and the experience at the Grand America is certainly lovely. The lobby setting is so beautifully appointed, the harp music is soothing, the table settings are sparkling. The chantilly and berries were delicious and a favorite of all. The tea and hot chocolate selection is very good. The scones and finger sandwich selection were beautiful with a good variety, but seemed to be a little dry...perhaps because we booked the later hours. It was a nice touch that there was a kid friendly selection for my two granddaughters that I had brought with me as a special Christmas "gift experience. And the pastry and sweet selection was also beautiful and abundant. We took quite a bit home with us, but once again they seemed a bit dry. Our service, though very pleasant, was less than as attentive as you might expect for an establishment of this caliber. Dishes remained on the table that should have been removed. Tea pots were not refilled with hot water, nor was water refilled promptly. Perhaps this was due to the fact that we had children with us and the standard of service was lowered for them but I would expect the same regardless of age. In addition, I had requested a table by the fireplace with OpenTable that wasn't honored. Overall, it was still a delightful experience. The girls were enamored and it was a memory I hope they will cherish. I have booked another date with another granddaughter in February and am hoping that my experience will not be a repeat of this one as I have had much better experiences in the past.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Poor service

Dined on January 9, 2016

We had to ask our server several times for the same thing. Slow is an under statement. Once we got the sandwiches they were dried out and all in our party ended up I'll that evening. The tables were so small that the serving plates didn't fit on the table they were tall and difficult to converse over.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sumptuous but not formal

Dined on January 6, 2016

Afternoon tea at the Grand America was wonderful. We came early and they took us early; the food was delicious; the decor and ambience were sumptuous but not formal. Our charming server was on top of things throughout but never overbearing or intrusive. An intern from the Philippines, she nevertheless spoke excellent English.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Afternoon tea

Dined on January 4, 2016

Took my granddaughter to an afternoon tea for her special birthday. We had a wonderful experience. They offered hot cocoa for her abs brought special peanut butter & jelly and ham & cheese sandwiches for her. It was a magical experience (for both of us).

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Nice getaway to slow down a bu ...

Dined on January 4, 2016

Loved it. Nice getaway to slow down a busy life.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Worth trying, at least once

Dined on January 3, 2016

We did the Grand Traditions option and we were all rather disappointed in the quality/variety of the cheese selection, with the quality of the finger sandwiches (dry and fairly tasteless), and with the pastries (drier than usual). We have experienced more afternoon tea services than I can count, but this one was very mediocre. However, if this is your first tea, the tea is very good and it does fulfill the "experience."

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time

Dined on December 31, 2015

I had never been to the Grand America but I was very impressed from the valet parking until we left the hotel. The tea was wonderful and I loved all the girls and boys dressed up ready for a tea party. The fireplace added to the atmosphere and the portraits and hanging pictures were beautiful. The food was wonderful and our server was very patient with us and helped us through the tea selections and what they tasted like. He shared some personal experiences with us and made us feel right at home. I loved the experience and plan to be back next Christmas.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

suggestions

Dined on December 30, 2015

Having attended high tea in the past, this last visit was disappointing. We were seated next to the piano, which made conversation near impossible; it was a relief when the piano player took a break. In the past visits there was a harp playing soft background music---much more tolerable....Also, no one ever eats those gumdrops; I would suggest substituting chocolate mints or mints of some kind.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tea time

Dined on December 27, 2015

Tea time was delicious. I loved the new sandwiches and desserts.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Afternoon Tea

Dined on December 26, 2015

I took my daughter to the afternoon tea for her birthday. She spent some time in England, so she was very excited about it! The food was lovely, tasty, and well-presented, with great variety. She said the tea was just like her favorite in London. A wonderful afternoon!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely!

Dined on December 15, 2015

Went as 2 adults and the service and food was lovely. They make the ambiance nice with a harp, and the view into their courtyard is very nice. Servers all go out of their way to make you feel special and valued. There is something for everyone with their selection of finger sandwiches and desserts. For tea, we left feeling very full! Looking forward to going back again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

afternoon with friends

Dined on December 13, 2015

This is a great place to go to relax, enjoy the atmosphere, and visit with friends or family. We do this at least three times a year and are always happy. I have, I do, and I will recommend this experience to others.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional Experience

Dined on November 29, 2015

We celebrated my Mom's 100th birthday here -- lovely ambiance, fire in the fireplace, stunning Christmas decorations throughout the property, beautiful harp music to accompany the special occasion. It's a wonderful place to have a quiet, intimate conversation over exceptional tea service -- wait staff was amazing!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Afternoon Tea Celebratiom!

Dined on November 25, 2015

We had Afternoon Tea for 14, which included 3 birthday celebration too. Everything was just perfect... Even the men in our group were impressed. It was the first time experience for Afternoon Tea for half of our group. Everything was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Tea Time

Dined on November 24, 2015

This was a great experience. The room had a beautiful ambiance. The food was fantastic. I did find myself wishing I had more of the scones and sandwiches and less of the sweets but I did walk away full and happy. I would definitely recommend this to others who are interested in trying a traditional tea.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Tea Experience

Dined on November 5, 2015

We loved our time at the Grand America hotel. We had tea almost upon our arrival, as made reservations in advance. The only negative is that we stood by the entrance for a long time waiting to be greeted. We never were (looked like they were short-staffed perhaps), so we went to the first server we saw, and he promptly seated us. This tea is a lot of food, so don't plan on dinner afterwards. Our view was beautiful as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our teatime.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5

A social event

Dined on October 29, 2015

Tea is a social event to catch up on old times, current events, and let's admit it gossip. The Grand America has captured is in the atmosphere they created with the sofa and parlor chairs for an intamate tea. The choice of teas covers the gambit, from herbal to white to black. They even serve hot chocolate for those who don't like tea. The food is heavily influenced from Europe. Scones, jams and sandwiches for a starter. The sweets are excellent in flavor and choice. The chocolate is usually dark, a favorite of mine, and rich.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Office Activity

Dined on October 23, 2015

My office was planning on an activity and we decided all to have a nice relaxed time at the Grand America for afternoon tea. Later on I found out that other offices in our company were also going to be doing afternoon tea. We called Grand America and they were so nice and accommodating to get our huge group of 27 people in. The service was great. And the pastries were amazing. We all just keep saying how good it was. We will defiantly do this again! I've done Sunday brunch and that was pretty good too. I LOVE their crepes! Best crepes you can get in Utah.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent afternoon tea, very similar to ...

vip
Dined on October 16, 2015

Excellent afternoon tea, very similar to what you would find in London. Delicious scones and lemon curd. We also ordered the summer panzanella salad, which was also delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

The ABSOLUTE best experience!

Dined on October 15, 2015

I took my wife on our Honeymoon to Afternoon Tea and they exceeded all expectations in making her feel like a Queen!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

New tradition!

Dined on October 2, 2015

After our visit to the Grand America for afternoon tea we have decided to make it a new birthday tradition for all of my sisters. We had a ball and will definitely be coming back as often as we can!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service

Dined on September 28, 2015

Wonderful afternoon TEA experience. Waiter on Monday afternoon September 28 was delightful to talk with. Thank you.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend was visiting me from Las Vegas ...

Dined on September 24, 2015

My friend was visiting me from Las Vegas. We enjoyed the entire experience. We had time to catch up while enjoying delightful treats in a beautiful environment. Always fun to come to tea at the Grand America.

food2
ambience5
service5

Missed the mark on the food

Dined on September 5, 2015

Having been to afternoon & high tea many times the food was "nothing to write home about" here. The ambiance was good and staff was great but they totally missed the mark on the food. Between myself and my two friends the only item on the entire menu that left us wanting more was the French Macroon. The sandwhiches were bland and the desserts were not worth the calories. In result much of the food was left unfinished. Our server DAN was exceptional and overall we had a great time. In comparison to other afternoon or high teas this was not my favorite as far as food but we sti had a great time.

food3
ambience5
service5

Great time

Dined on August 30, 2015

We had a party of 5 and had amazing time! It was a very unique experience of high tea. Beautiful presentation and the server was great. We had one person using gluten free menu and it was blah. Same bread on all the sandwiches... Overall a great experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant ambiance, exceptional service!

Dined on August 30, 2015

Delicious food, relaxing afternoon. Highly recommend!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

wonderful experience

Dined on August 5, 2015

although our waiter was wonderful (Dan A.) we expected there to be more people making it more festive. It was very quiet. The food was average. One could tell it was made in large amounts and then shared. It wasn't that good. The experience of "afternoon Tea " was delightful though and the view of the fountain very nice. I would definitely do this again and recommend it to a friend/family.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.