About Affäre

1911 Main
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Affare is a contemporary european restaurant and love to work with our local farmers. Our team is made up of individuals who care and want to make our guests happy.
Our wine list is designed to match Martin's food. Our cocktails are always
seasonal and made with fresh ingredients.
We are also a family restaurant: Husband, wife, and four kids, who all appreciate your support very much! Thank you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
German, European, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:30 pm Endless Mimosas!

Happy Hour: every day from 4:30 pm - 7:00 pm

Wednesday night: Free Tasting and No Corkage, so feel free to bring your own bottle!

Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-6182

Website:
http://affarekc.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu available. We will gladly deliver and set-up your order.

Parking Details:
Lot at 1801 Walnut, and plenty of free street parking on Walnut between 19th and 20th Street.
Valet service can be offered to private parties.
Please call if you feel unsure of where to park. We will be happy to assist you!

Public Transit:
Kansas City Street Car Stop right across the street

Executive Chef:
Martin Heuser

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners, Live music, Weekend Brunch and so much more!
Please consult our website affarekc.com, or join our family at facebook/affarekc.com!

Restaurant Photos

Holstein Schnitzel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Side Salad - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Pretzel Bread - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Pils - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Ravioli - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Summer Salad - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Elk And Cherries - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Olives - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
German Chicken - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Apfelstrudel with bourbon vanilla sauce Anglaise - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Himbeerbaiser, meringues layered with Chantilly cream and raspberries - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared Scallop - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Rheinischer Käseskuchen - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Geschmorte bison short rib topped with seared foie gras, truffle infused celeriac puree - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Edelfisch Allerlei - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Jägerschnitzel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Rosemary and garlic infused lamb-loin, bouillon potatoes - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Wiener Schnitzel, crispy breaded veal, Butterspätzle, anchovy, olive, lemon butter, Soße - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte, traditional black forest cake, served with Kirschwasser - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Cheese Plate - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Ricotta-Erbsen Ravioli - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Cheesecake from the Rheinland - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Warm Apfelstrudel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared Almond Crusted Golden Trout, Caper Butter, Arugula And Purple Potatoes - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Scallop - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seafood kabob - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Wiener Schnitzel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared Veal Liver - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Roasted Wacholderbeeren (juniper berry) rubbed elk-loin, huckleberry sauce, Butterspätzle  - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seafood Allerlei  - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared almond crusted Rainbow Trout - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Leipziger Allerlei - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seafood Allerlei In Liaison With Lemon Risotto - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seafood Risotto - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Lollo Rosso - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Pavlova - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Rosemary And Ginger Infused Schokoladenmousse And Cocoa Crisp Tower - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Butter Lettuce Mimosa  - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
pretzel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Spring Chicken - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Dumpling & Vegetables - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Beet Salad - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Asparagus Salad - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Sommerfest - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Dumplings - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Roasted Boar-Loin - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Slow-Roasted Wacholderbeeren rubbed Elkloin - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Maultaschen stuffed with spinach and sausage - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared Scallops With Foie Gras - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Asparagus Shrimp Salad - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Scallop With Chanterelle Mushrooms - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Trio Bratwurst - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Apfelstrudel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared Scallop with foie gras hollandaise - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Apple Strudel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Lamb - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Barham Farm Spring Chicken hit Kasekruste and lemon caper sauce - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Espresso - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Ricotta Stuffed Ravioli W/ Carrot Purree - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Apple Struedel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Straeberry Rhubarb Kuchen - Affäre, Kansas City, MO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Affäre is a modern German restaurant located in the heart of the Crossroads Arts District. We are a family restaurant that focuses on fresh and local products. Affäre offers an intimate private dining room, adjacent to an enclosed Courtyard, perfect for any event. Contact us for more information.

Affäre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Romantic (20)
Authentic (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great Beer (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Healthy (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Business Meals (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Seasonal (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tapas (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Cozy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Organic (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Music (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful place to eat for any occasion, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful place to eat for any occasion, but especially a date or any special occasion. Delicious food and incredible atmosphere. Staff was always polite and our server made the experience especially enjoyable. I recommend the duck, for sure! You can't go wrong with Affare!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pretzel dumplings were a disappointm ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The pretzel dumplings were a disappointment and the menu did not include some of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My husband and I have eaten here twice. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here twice. The last time I had the duck and it was nothing less than divine! My husband had venison which was cooked to perfection. Have never had venison so tender. Staff was extremely polite and attentive. Would highly recommend this unique restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique dining experience. Will definite ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Unique dining experience. Will definitely return. Excellent staff! Excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Affare is always a treat, we went for Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Affare is always a treat, we went for Thanksgiving dinner I have never been disjointed at Affare. Tony our waiter was fantastic, the perfect blend of Mid western friendly and professionalism

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Affare offers a great dining experience ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Affare offers a great dining experience with pleasing atmosphere, excellent service and outstanding food. German with a bit of a twist. Their prix fixe meals are particularly nice for those, like me, who enjoy good wines but don't feel comfortable trying to match wine to food. Their pairings are a great value of expert choices at a reasonable price. Affare had to put up with a lot during the Street Car construction, but now their location near the Crossroads Station has added extra convenience to going their.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent in every way. Would highly rec ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent in every way. Would highly recommend. Very close to Kauffman Center and Crown Center.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service and delicious food. Our se ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great service and delicious food. Our server made our experience special with his stories about drinks were developed, which foods were best shared and made great dessert recommendations. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Brought out of town guests and they love ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Brought out of town guests and they loved the food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Affare is such a great place to eat!! Fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Affare is such a great place to eat!! Food is delicious, ambience is great. One of The best restaurants in town, whether you want an intimate meal or just meeting friends for a drink, it's the place to go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere and the staff is so ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and the staff is so friendly. They were very helpful and accommodated us well. I would recommend this to anyone who is wanting a German experience with a modern twist and the dessert is to die for!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First, we love Affair. First time for b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First, we love Affair. First time for brunch. Dishes were very good, but we have really great brunches in KC, good but not outstanding beyond the first tier. Service is always helpful, drinks are great. Good people doing great food. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We ate the special menu before the opera ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We ate the special menu before the opera. Everything was wonderful, including the matched wines.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese sampling was awesome! Noted ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The cheese sampling was awesome! Noted to the server that the truffle fried where not that great only had two maybe three and told them they were not that great and was still charged for them. $6 is not big deal, would've given $6 more in tip for taking them off. My pork chop was outstanding, my wife's glazed quail was difficult to eat and only very small portion was given. I would go for appitizers again.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was great from the moment we arr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was great from the moment we arrived. We were given a great, little table by the front window so we could taken in the vibrant neighborhood while we dined and our server was really attentive. Both meals were wonderful! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting takes on German classics. E ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Interesting takes on German classics. Excellent wine and beer list. Loved the window table and the quiet, conversation-friendly environment. Our server was prompt but not overly invasive. My soup, a mushroom concoction with a delicate basil foam, was excellent. The schnitzel with spàtzle was quite good. My dining companion pronounced his scallops very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfection connotes flawless and I'm not ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Perfection connotes flawless and I'm not sure that does justice to the whole experience. The service (thank you Maddie-I may have misspelled that) was so great. Maddie was a co-creator of the meal and wine choices. The energy buzz was stimulating and the ambiance was a dining partner. I will be back. BTW, I have been a few times and it is always a great and new experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fun, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We haven't been to Affare for a few year ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We haven't been to Affare for a few years, but really enjoyed our last experience and thought we'd like to go again. We went on a weeknight. When we arrived for our 7:00 reservation there was no one at the host stand. I waited for several minutes before anyone came to greet me...even though the restaurant was nearly empty. Our waitress was not very knowledgeable about the food nor was she very polished. The manager was great and educated us on some wines they had recently acquired. The food selection sounded delicious. Unfortunately my dish was kind of blah, under seasoned and a little tough to cut (veal). My husband had the duck breast which was awesome! The pretzel bread w/spread and pickled butternut squash was fantastic as was our dessert. Overall an ok experience, but not top of my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I went with my parents to celebrate my d ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I went with my parents to celebrate my dad's birthday and the food was fantastic. Definitely things I don't eat every day but making somewhat unique foods totally delicious! Our server was friendly and personable. She had great recommendations on beer and food and did a good job of checking in with us while giving us space. The ambiance is industrial chic and had cool paintings on the wall, a KC mural and was playing Casablanca on the TVs over the bar. It was a perfect night. We can't wait to come back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portion size small for the price. We en ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Portion size small for the price. We enjoyed the female vocalist with the guitarist, volume was good, set list very enjoyable.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very nice and classy restaurant. Our wai ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Very nice and classy restaurant. Our waitress (Meggie) was such a sweetheart, she has the kindest smile and most heartwarming voice. The food sizes were on the small side, however it was very good.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time. The food was d ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The food was delicious, great service and very relaxed atmosphere. We are on the patio. What a great atmosphere. I could see hosting a group here and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as always was spectacular. The ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food as always was spectacular. The Fall Affare salad and FoieGras appetizers were delicious and looked perfect. I had the Quark and pea ravioli. Not a dish I normally get but was a tasty spin. Try the green tea sorbet, it was so refreshing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Chose this restaurant because we wanted ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Chose this restaurant because we wanted to find some German style food and this place was fairly well rated. We tried the wine paring menu. I was disappointed that the portions were small and the food generally was not German Style. To my surprise the first course was sweet, as a diabetic I chose not to eat this (and the sugar base was not mentioned on the menu). The main course consisted of beef short ribs, salmon, and ?! I will say the wines paired with each course was excellent and they kept the amount of wine served low so you would not be drunk at the end of service. I am glad we tried it, but probably will not go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

Affare is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Affare is one of my favorite restaurants in KC. Katrin is a most gracious hostess and Martin is a wonderful chef. The food is always interesting, seasonal and delicious. I recommend it for a special date, or just an evening out...you will never be disappointed!!!

Tags: Private Room, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh. Most likely would not return, wasn' ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Meh. Most likely would not return, wasn't very good.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent pre-Opera dinner. Interesting ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent pre-Opera dinner. Interesting German wines and beers. Terrific dining menu--variety of service options (meal, small plates, tapas). Service could be more polished to match the atmosphere and menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This restaurant has quickly become my fa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This restaurant has quickly become my favorite in Kansas City.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious brunch! Great decor, quiet, ex ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Delicious brunch! Great decor, quiet, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my 50th birthday here with fa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Celebrated my 50th birthday here with family and it was the best ever!! Owners Martin & Katrin Heuser know how to take care of their guests and make a special occasion even more special! The hazelnut chocolate torte cake was beautiful and amazingly delicious! Not too heavy! The trout was the best I've ever had as well as the bison tenderloin! The kids menu was perfect for my kind of picky 13 year old who typically is a noodles or cheeseburger kid! Can't wait to go back! Don't miss Wednesday Wine tastings!!

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Historic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Authentic, Organic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and atmosphere were great but i ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food and atmosphere were great but it was a bit to pricey for me, but the prices on Google are inncorrect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service! I love love love ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great food and service! I love love love their seafood! Especially the Sea platter with the 1x1 foot chips that you can break and dip into the most wonderful salmon dip you've ever had in your life!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in KC. You f ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2016

One of the best restaurants in KC. You feel like you are dining at a Michelin Star restaurant based on the cuisine and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our brunch experience last Sunday. The service was very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We were seated behind the curtains in the bar area, elevating our casual brunch date to a romantic event. The food was fresh and delicious. The best schnitzel and butterspaetzle I have had

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm German, and the food reminded me of ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I'm German, and the food reminded me of home! FANTASTISCH

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was fantastic and the food w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The service was fantastic and the food was amazing! Very attentive to my gluten allergy and knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Experience is always amazing every time ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Experience is always amazing every time we go. The staff are incredibly hospitable and attentive. The chef knows what he's doing! So creative and innovative, incorporating traditional German recipes from his family into a modern day menu with something for every one. Well done, Martin! Katrin always makes time to come out and say hello and makes everyone feel like guests in her home, not a restaurant. So many wonderful memories for a family that made here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What can I possibly say about the Heuser ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2016

What can I possibly say about the Heuser's (Martin and Katrin) I've not said before? Affare is our go-to restaurant. In short, wonderful food, impeccable service, a killer wine list, and just plain fun.

This place is so special to us, over a year ago, we booked the whole place for our wedding.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, creative offerings, unus ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent food, creative offerings, unusual and very good flavors.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 15 and food took over ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a party of 15 and food took over an hour and a half. It came out cold and was awful. It is also really loud, so overall not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.