About Affäre

1911 Main
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Affare is a contemporary european restaurant and love to work with our local farmers. Our team is made up of individuals who care and want to make our guests happy.
Our wine list is designed to match Martin's food. Our cocktails are always
seasonal and made with fresh ingredients.
We are also a family restaurant: Husband, wife, and four kids, who all appreciate your support very much! Thank you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
German, European, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:30 pm Endless Mimosas!

Happy Hour: every day from 4:30 pm - 7:00 pm

Wednesday night: Free Tasting and No Corkage, so feel free to bring your own bottle!

Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-6182

Website:
http://affarekc.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu available. We will gladly deliver and set-up your order.

Parking Details:
Lot at 1801 Walnut, and plenty of free street parking on Walnut between 19th and 20th Street.
Valet service can be offered to private parties.
Please call if you feel unsure of where to park. We will be happy to assist you!

Public Transit:
Kansas City Street Car Stop right across the street

Executive Chef:
Martin Heuser

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners, Live music, Weekend Brunch and so much more!
Please consult our website affarekc.com, or join our family at facebook/affarekc.com!

Restaurant Photos

Holstein Schnitzel
Side Salad
Pretzel Bread
Stiegl Pils
Ravioli
Summer Salad
Elk And Cherries
Olives
German Chicken
Apfelstrudel with bourbon vanilla sauce Anglaise
Himbeerbaiser, meringues layered with Chantilly cream and raspberries
Seared Scallop
Rheinischer Käseskuchen
Geschmorte bison short rib topped with seared foie gras, truffle infused celeriac puree
Edelfisch Allerlei
Jägerschnitzel
Rosemary and garlic infused lamb-loin, bouillon potatoes
Wiener Schnitzel, crispy breaded veal, Butterspätzle, anchovy, olive, lemon butter, Soße
Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte, traditional black forest cake, served with Kirschwasser
Cheese Plate
Ricotta-Erbsen Ravioli
Cheesecake from the Rheinland
Warm Apfelstrudel
Seared Almond Crusted Golden Trout, Caper Butter, Arugula And Purple Potatoes
Scallop
Seafood kabob
Wiener Schnitzel
Seared Veal Liver
Roasted Wacholderbeeren (juniper berry) rubbed elk-loin, huckleberry sauce, Butterspätzle
Seafood Allerlei
Seared almond crusted Rainbow Trout
Leipziger Allerlei
Seafood Allerlei In Liaison With Lemon Risotto
Seafood Risotto
Lollo Rosso
Pavlova
Rosemary And Ginger Infused Schokoladenmousse And Cocoa Crisp Tower
Butter Lettuce Mimosa
pretzel
Spring Chicken
Dumpling & Vegetables
Beet Salad
Asparagus Salad
Sommerfest
Dumplings
Roasted Boar-Loin
Slow-Roasted Wacholderbeeren rubbed Elkloin
Maultaschen stuffed with spinach and sausage
Seared Scallops With Foie Gras
Asparagus Shrimp Salad
Scallop With Chanterelle Mushrooms
Trio Bratwurst
Apfelstrudel
Seared Scallop with foie gras hollandaise
Apple Strudel
Lamb
Barham Farm Spring Chicken hit Kasekruste and lemon caper sauce
Espresso
Ricotta Stuffed Ravioli W/ Carrot Purree
Apple Struedel
Straeberry Rhubarb Kuchen

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Affäre is a modern German restaurant located in the heart of the Crossroads Arts District. We are a family restaurant that focuses on fresh and local products. Affäre offers an intimate private dining room, adjacent to an enclosed Courtyard, perfect for any event. Contact us for more information.

Affäre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
3 More
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

Fit for Foodies (71)
Special Occasion (68)
Romantic (48)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Notable Wine List (32)
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Brunch (25)
Great for Lunch (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1000 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there just for drinks and appeti ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were there just for drinks and appetizers and the charcuterie and brats plates were wonderful. Loved the vintage cocktail glasses and the great selection of German beers. Maddie was an awesome server - great recommendations!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The savory biscuits and Belgium waffle w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The savory biscuits and Belgium waffle were brunch favorites this week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we eat at Affare I ask myself ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Every time we eat at Affare I ask myself why I'm not here more often! The food is consistently excellent, wait staff and owners are such nice people and I can usually get a reservation with OpenTable - even last minute! We had the "Cut" (charcuterie board) for the first time and I KNOW this will be a re-order at next visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Affare was a very nice place and the wai ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Affare was a very nice place and the waiter was very attentive. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent resterant. I'll go ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This is an excellent resterant. I'll goback for sure. My wife and I have enjoyed this place 6 times in this year alone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit to the location. The me ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

First time visit to the location. The menu was diverse and the staff flexible. I like Foie Gras and they came up with a way to serve me even though it was on their Brunch menu and not the dinner menu. They have a home made mustard that is incredible. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had the meat and cheese tray on the a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had the meat and cheese tray on the appetizer menu. It was very good. The food was well presented with nice portions but not ridiculously sized. Dessert was fabulous. We were there for a Saturday night dinner and there was a large group behind us which was a little loud. They also have a nice bar area with couches.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been to Affare a couple other ti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been to Affare a couple other times. Had a great date night with my spouse and our server was really friendly and informative. Great food!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Affare has an innovative menu and a genu ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Affare has an innovative menu and a genuinely pleasing ambience. I am so grateful that it survived the disruptions caused by the streetcar construction and hope that KC visitors enjoying our newest feature stop to sample its amazing offerings.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and service were exceptiona ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The ambiance and service were exceptional, however the food was not very good considering what we paid for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

The food is a work of art and extremely ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is a work of art and extremely pleasing to the palate. You don't expect this kind of cuisine affiliated with German food, there's a hint of the German flair but really, the chef is an extraordinary artist. I loved the lobster risotto, the vegetable plate was spectacular, I highly suggest eating at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I suppose our big complaint is that it w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I suppose our big complaint is that it was described as German cuisine. There weren't many traditional German items on the menu and the ambiance was not German at all. The food was "okay", but definitely not worth the price. After having spent two years in Germany, we really wanted to love it, but it fell way short. We'll be making the drive into The Square in Independence for German cuisine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Who knew? An impeccable and inventive G ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Who knew? An impeccable and inventive German restaurant using local ingredients in the Crossroads district of Kansas City at one of the stops of the new free Kansas City Street Car. Hidden behind the walls of a nondescript exterior is one of the finest meals that I've ever experienced. Wow!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu here has changed from tradition ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The menu here has changed from traditional German to German with a twist. We came hoping for the traditional German we enjoyed last time we dined here. The food is still excellent quality just not what we were hoping for. Service was good, although we had to wait awhile for our ticket. Maybe the server was just trying not to rush us. We did have to ask for several things which at these prices, should have been anticipated by server. Prices seem a little high for what you get.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We booked for a dinner party of 18 (busi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We booked for a dinner party of 18 (business dinner). All other restaurants in the area were already booked and we are so glad to have found this hidden gem! The food presentation was lovely, our server was friendly and attentive, and the drinks were amazingly delicious. Everyone in my party commented how delicious their food was.

I would highly recommend to those looking to book a large group in the Kansas City Downtown area!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

My food was delicious and my drink a "I' ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My food was delicious and my drink a "I'll have another" was excellent! Most of my party loved what they were served too but some complained of the higher price. The dish I had was of one of the lower priced items, about $16 for the trout, which I was very pleased with how it was cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went to Affare to celebrate our anniv ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We went to Affare to celebrate our anniversary. It was fantastic! Fantastic food, wonderful service. Very unique. We had the Thursday four course meal. Fantastic !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The trout never disappoints!!!!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The trout never disappoints!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Located near the streetcar line, this re ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Located near the streetcar line, this restaurant offers a welcome reprieve from the energetic Crossroads area.

During our visit, the chef featured a number of lobster appetizers and entrees. We started with lobster bisque, which was delicious and a definite highlight.

I ordered the Jägerschnitzel, since after all, I was dining at a German restaurant. Portions were huge--easily two meals. As our server suggested, the mushroom sauce is the selling point here. For the price, I considered this dish a great value.

My wife ate the lobster salad as her entree. Again, sauce/dressing was a highlight, as the avocado coulis sold the dish.

Dessert was good though not great. I forget the name; it reminded me of a fluffy cheesecake.

All in all, we had a great meal and enjoyed great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very attentive. Foodies will love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Vibrant in every facet. The ambiance wa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Vibrant in every facet. The ambiance was urban yet warm. At one point, I think our table was actually sharing food with 2 other unrelated tables. The atmosphere was lively and the staff was attentive and knowledgeable. The food and service were incredible. I want to come back next weekend. I've told several friends about Affare. Come for the food, wine, service, and atmosphere-stay for the umlaut above the name :).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our son's birthday at Affa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We celebrated our son's birthday at Affare. I told the restaurant of this special occasion when I made the reservation. He and his wife arrived first and he was greeted and led to a great table in one of the front windows overlooking Main Street and given a complimentary glass of bubbly. The service was outstanding throughout the evening. No hovering, just there when you needed them. Owner was available for recommendations, which came in especially handy when it came to select wine for the table. She was knowledgable and accommodating. The bottle we settled on, a white semi-dry from Germany, was outstanding. The food was excellent, with moderate helpings nicely presented. Definitely will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had our anniversary dinner there free ch ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had our anniversary dinner there free champagne great meal and food just the right amount. With first Friday going on was nice to have a place to park only a block away

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was cooked and seasoned perfectly. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was cooked and seasoned perfectly. Server was very friendly and knowledgable. Decor had a casual elegance to it. Perfect for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at Affaire and ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Affaire and enjoy great cuisine and wine. Fantastic wine list and everyone knows the complexity of the wine well. Delightful and very knowledge wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really delicious but both Yelp ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was really delicious but both Yelp and Open Table show a lunch menu. Since Affare no longer serves lunch, the menu items were not available nor is lunch served any longer. On Saturday and Sunday, brunch is served up until about 2:30 p.m., and the menu selections are mostly breakfast items with a few other choices. Since our palates were set for items on the lunch menu, not necessarily breakfast choices, this was disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Affare's food is excellent and the ambie ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Affare's food is excellent and the ambience and service are warm and comfortable. It's a gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an excellent experience! The food w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What an excellent experience! The food was served hot, and it was delicious. The most difficult part was selecting what to eat! I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant has been one of my favor ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant has been one of my favorites for awhile now. Their seasonal menus (currently lobster) are always tasty and inventive. They have a small plate bar menu as well ( try the Mac & Cheese and the Bacon). Their bartender is quite funny. And the owners, especially Katrina, make you feel at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Affare has been on a disrupted traffic a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Affare has been on a disrupted traffic area since the streetcar was being developed. The street is now clear but the parking is very unclear. The restaurant needs to advise customers where to park. Other than that, the food was very good and I found a meal that gave me no problems with respect to my gluten intolerance. Excellent trout and my husband enjoyed his duck.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed the roasted lobster meal. It was ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed the roasted lobster meal. It was beautifully displayed & quite good! From the start of the evening--sparkling wine, pretzel-type bread with dip, delicious entrees, to dessert--everything was very nice. Great service--very attentive, but not intrusive!! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband is a german food freak, I am ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband is a german food freak, I am not. He loved charcuterie with many meats cheeses, pickles, housemade condies. There were incredible options for all. Butter-crusted trout almande was so yummy, flakey, crunchy and rich. Yes, order applestreusel for dessert even if you'd rather have chocolate (they have that covered extraordinarily well too)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and had a wonderful dining experience. We each had items from their June lobster features after confirming they had flown in fresh that very day. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Check out their new lobster menu!!! Del ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Check out their new lobster menu!!! Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the homemade pretzels!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

This is our second experience dining at Affare. The first was lunch (delicious mushroom soup and pretzels, and a bison burger) and it was so good we invited friends to join us.

Wine and beer selection are both great. Two of us tried the flight of rosés, which was a great way to try out some new summer wines.

The complimentary pretzels and sauce are wonderful!

There was a new lobster section of the menu and one of us ordered the Lobster Salad. Nice big chunks of lobster tail and a lobster claw were included and it was light and delicious.

Two people in out party had the half order of trout and thought it was delicious, and a satisfying portion even though it was a half portion.

The remaining diner in our group had the schnitzel and it was also delicious and we all got samples off his plate because it was generous portion.

We split two desserts. The rhubarb dessert was fabulous. The cherry dessert was ok, but not outstanding.

Our server was attentive, even though he had multiple tables.

We want to go back and try the happy hour next.

Bonus...it's right on the new streetcar line. Super convenient for those of us that live downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was wonderful

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

My friend and I visited Affare on my last night in Kansa City. I sincerely wish that I had found it earlier in my two years with the city. We had a late Sunday dinner (reservation was for 8:30). There was another couple in he back part of the restaurant near us and a larger table near the front. We took our time enjoying the delicious wine, food, and dessert. Through it all, the staff never rushed us and made us feel very comfortable. It really was the perfect dinner slot for my last night in KC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We dined at Affare on the Monday of the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We dined at Affare on the Monday of the Memorial Day weekend. There were not many people in the restaurant, which was too bad because we thought the whole experience was great. It being springtime, we indulged in a full pound of white spargel with drawn butter and potatoes. For the rest of the meal, we stuck with salads: (spring affare and a smoked spinach salad which actually was smoking); the pea and quark ravioli and the Leipziger Allelei, as spring vegetable medley. After all this, we stuck with ice cream for dessert. Since Affare is a German focused restaurant, we were delighted to select a nice Riesling Kabinett from the wine list. We enjoyed the meal and attribute the lack of patrons to the holiday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The trout is always amazing!!!!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The trout is always amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had heard wonderful things about Affare and it lived up to its reputation! The food was truly memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.