About Affäre

1911 Main
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Affare is a contemporary european restaurant and love to work with our local farmers. Our team is made up of individuals who care and want to make our guests happy.
Our wine list is designed to match Martin's food. Our cocktails are always
seasonal and made with fresh ingredients.
We are also a family restaurant: Husband, wife, and four kids, who all appreciate your support very much! Thank you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
German, European, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:30 pm Endless Mimosas!

Happy Hour: every day from 4:30 pm - 7:00 pm

Wednesday night: Free Tasting and No Corkage, so feel free to bring your own bottle!

Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-6182

Website:
http://affarekc.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu available. We will gladly deliver and set-up your order.

Parking Details:
Lot at 1801 Walnut, and plenty of free street parking on Walnut between 19th and 20th Street.
Valet service can be offered to private parties.
Please call if you feel unsure of where to park. We will be happy to assist you!

Public Transit:
Kansas City Street Car Stop right across the street

Executive Chef:
Martin Heuser

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners, Live music, Weekend Brunch and so much more!
Please consult our website affarekc.com, or join our family at facebook/affarekc.com!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Holstein Schnitzel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Side Salad - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Pretzel Bread - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Pils - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Ravioli - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Summer Salad - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Elk And Cherries - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Olives - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
German Chicken - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Apfelstrudel with bourbon vanilla sauce Anglaise - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Himbeerbaiser, meringues layered with Chantilly cream and raspberries - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared Scallop - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Rheinischer Käseskuchen - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Geschmorte bison short rib topped with seared foie gras, truffle infused celeriac puree - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Edelfisch Allerlei - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Jägerschnitzel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Rosemary and garlic infused lamb-loin, bouillon potatoes - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Wiener Schnitzel, crispy breaded veal, Butterspätzle, anchovy, olive, lemon butter, Soße - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte, traditional black forest cake, served with Kirschwasser - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Cheese Plate - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Ricotta-Erbsen Ravioli - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Cheesecake from the Rheinland - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Warm Apfelstrudel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared Almond Crusted Golden Trout, Caper Butter, Arugula And Purple Potatoes - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Scallop - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seafood kabob - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Wiener Schnitzel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared Veal Liver - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Roasted Wacholderbeeren (juniper berry) rubbed elk-loin, huckleberry sauce, Butterspätzle  - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seafood Allerlei  - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared almond crusted Rainbow Trout - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Leipziger Allerlei - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seafood Allerlei In Liaison With Lemon Risotto - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seafood Risotto - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Lollo Rosso - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Pavlova - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Rosemary And Ginger Infused Schokoladenmousse And Cocoa Crisp Tower - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Butter Lettuce Mimosa  - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
pretzel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Spring Chicken - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Dumpling & Vegetables - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Beet Salad - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Asparagus Salad - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Sommerfest - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Dumplings - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Roasted Boar-Loin - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Slow-Roasted Wacholderbeeren rubbed Elkloin - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Maultaschen stuffed with spinach and sausage - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared Scallops With Foie Gras - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Asparagus Shrimp Salad - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Scallop With Chanterelle Mushrooms - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Trio Bratwurst - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Apfelstrudel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Seared Scallop with foie gras hollandaise - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Apple Strudel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Lamb - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Barham Farm Spring Chicken hit Kasekruste and lemon caper sauce - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Espresso - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Ricotta Stuffed Ravioli W/ Carrot Purree - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Apple Struedel - Affäre, Kansas City, MO
Straeberry Rhubarb Kuchen - Affäre, Kansas City, MO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Affäre is a modern German restaurant located in the heart of the Crossroads Arts District. We are a family restaurant that focuses on fresh and local products. Affäre offers an intimate private dining room, adjacent to an enclosed Courtyard, perfect for any event. Contact us for more information.

Affäre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Modern Decor (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Authentic (19)
Romantic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great Beer (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (8)
Fun (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was excellent from beginning ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was excellent from beginning to end. The ambience was lovely; restaurant was very nicely decorated and quiet. The pork and cod entrees and desserts we selected were beautifully presented and delicious. The pretzel sticks were nothing special, though the house made spread and pickled squash were very good. I was disappointed by my salad. It was a small portion. The honey mustard vinaigrette didn't have much flavor. However a great experience overall. Our waiter was very friendly and engaged us in some fun conversation. I would return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were thrilled to finally try Affare- ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We were thrilled to finally try Affare- the restaurant got dealt a tough hand as the construction of the KC lightrail really hampered the traffic in to dine. The restaurant survived this tough period and seems to be thriving today!

Affare features traditional German fare with a modern flair-we are not fans of German food and we LOVED everything we were served. Great Bar area- very cozy and relaxing place to have a drink. Restaurant was very open with lots of square footage- it was busy for restaurant week but we never felt cramped.

Wine pairings with menu were flawless. Deserts were well conceived- not too overly sweet. Service was a tad spotty. One diner was not offered offered a wine selection and waiter was snippy when she requested a glass with her main course. Coffee was not offered with dessert. Small quibbles- we loved Affare, we would highly recommend it and we will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I go here often. It's always great but ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

I go here often. It's always great but this latest visit was the closest to a perfect meal I've had in some time. Everything i had was perfectly prepared, tasted amazing and was perfectly presented. Chef outdid himself even though the restaurant was crowed for Friday of restaurant week. For me, a home run. Soon it will be time for asparagus again. Watch the web site and don't miss this treat. Awesome.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No creativity or unique flavor to the fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

No creativity or unique flavor to the food. Very obviously mass produced and a seemingly very lazy chef. Our server also took forever and rarely checked in on us, keeping us waiting numerous times. Ambiance is beautiful and location is perfect. They just really need to up the food quality to match the price.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Quite possibly be the best meal I've eve ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Quite possibly be the best meal I've ever had in Kansas City.. course by course, each bite of food was (for the lack of a better word) delicious. Being a NYC transplant living & dining in KC, I've learned a while ago to dine in this city and to really enjoy the food one must lower his/her expectations.. not so here. To quote the great restauranteur Danny Meyer: "People come for the food.. they return for the service." The service at Affäre was impeccable. An unpretentious menu.. a few minor flaws here and there but in the end a great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Food was outstanding. Server was reserve ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was outstanding. Server was reserved and not into answering questions / offering insights or the like which made for an uncomfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The trout is divine!!! Be sure to try th ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

The trout is divine!!! Be sure to try the seafood shareable platter as well. Delicious!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a Restaurant Week special here. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed a Restaurant Week special here. The German beer recommended by our waiter was just so good. The 3-course dinner was delicious and beautifully presented.

We sat in a quiet corner looking out to the street. Someday the city and/or the restaurant should add a little color and interest to the streetscape - it was drab and a bit depressing looking out the window....and almost no one walked by. We did enjoy seeing the new street cars glide by.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was a nice Sunday dinner to celebrate ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was a nice Sunday dinner to celebrate in family. The food met our expectations fully ! Thanks to the Open Table reservation I made, we were accepted to dine later than usual.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food consistently blows me away ever ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food consistently blows me away every time!!! I absolutely love to share the "Sea" with a friend, the salmon dip, the big crunchy crackers, the shrimp and scallops are all to die for!! And the trout is served to perfection! Oh and they finally got some new wines on their wine list!

Fantastic Sunday Brunch too!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was phenomenal

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service and food was phenomenal

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service.

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food and service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great seat for two at the front ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great seat for two at the front window. I loved the pretzel bread and "egg salad" to dip it in and the German pickles and the squash. The beet salad was good, the greens a little limp. But I did eat every morsel. But OMG - the almond encrusted trout on spinach was AMAZING - and I don't normally like fish. I licked that plate clean too. : ) The glasses of wine for each course were great. I plan to take my two sisters for dinner, when they are in town for our reunion. I am so happy this restaurant appears to be doing well, thank goodness for the streetcar and downtown revival.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were going to Affare to make good on ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were going to Affare to make good on a Christmas present we'd given the children to have the Painted Table deserts. I admit, I was nervous going with three kids (all over the age of 12) and what our service would be like. I didn't have to worry, we were treated like royalty. We have two vegetarians and chef Martin, as well as the waiter, made sure we knew of every delicious vegetarian (and vegan too) option. Our meat eaters as well as picky vegetarians were satiated and happy when we left. The use of local food markets and in season products is a real draw for us. Chef Martin completed our experience by making the painted table something to remember for the kids. He shared stories about the food, Germany, and the restaurant. Everything we ate, from appetizer to desert will remain in our memory for years to come.

Tags: Great Beer, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Christmas night dinner at Affare may wel ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas night dinner at Affare may well become a new tradition for us. While the website indicated one could order from the menu, the special holiday night menu was very pleasing. We both had the crab salad, mushroom soup, roast beef with Yorkshire pudding and cookie/stolen assortment for dessert, along with the wine pairing. The crab salad was the hit of the evening -tucked away in a thin wrap, it was excellent. The mushroom soup with basil foam was an interesting blend of flavors with the mushrooms still firm and enjoyable. Our beef was over cooked, but the Yorkshire pudding and green beans were excellent. Wine pairings were generous pours. We may be back again next year!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

This is our 4th year in a row to enjoy A ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is our 4th year in a row to enjoy Affare on Christmas Day. Call it one of our very favorite personal Christmas traditions and one of our top 5 places to eat in the city. Always a hit with out of town guests for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find in KC when home for the Hol ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A great find in KC when home for the Holidays. The best deal ever is the $44 Thursday four course prix fixe menu with wine pairings. The food and service were excellent. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This a great place. Easy to access - ri ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This a great place. Easy to access - right at the streetcar stop. They don't take strides to have extra stuff on the menu that is not authentic and well-prepared. Knowledgeable staff, many beer and wine options. There was even a wine tasting the night we were there. Filling portions. The gorgeous décor was only outdone by the food presentation. Great for a date, a family gathering or a small group party. For a little extra fun, try the beer in a boot.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though the restaurant was fairly em ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Even though the restaurant was fairly empty, we were seated in the bar at a cocktail table in a corner banquet. Pretty uncomfortable for brunch. The food was good, but hardly great. That would probably describe the service as well. Too many other great dining choices in KC to cause us to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was very good. Atmosphere was great ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was very good. Atmosphere was great. Good beer selection. Sat at bar and bartender seemed preoccupied and not very attentive. I wouldn't chalk this up to normal service and would expect it would be better upon return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We were 30 mins. late for our reservatio ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We were 30 mins. late for our reservation due to traffic. They were able to get us right in. The food was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cancel your scheduled trip to Germany. E ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Cancel your scheduled trip to Germany. Enjoy the wonderful menu of German food at Kansas City's finest restaurant: Affare. The walleye was delicious. However, I plan to try the sous vide venison on my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always our dining experience at Affäi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always our dining experience at Affäire was outstanding. You are welcomed into the restaurant as family and the food and service are fantastic. Katrina, one of the owners, is constantly working the dining room to ensure everything is perfect.

This definitely is our favorite restaurant in Kansas City. It is a must visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a Monday night for my my wife's ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Went on a Monday night for my my wife's an I anniversary. We've never been and seemed fancy lol. Which it was. Place was beautiful and clean. Ambiance was awesome. My tequila drink was so smooth. My wife loved the wine. We were served fresh pretzels and pickles and pickled butternut squash. Let me tell you something. I've never had the stuff and I hate pickles but the squash was so good! The appetizers were amazing. We ordered the shrimp and truffle fries which were amazing. We shared a beautiful made quail and was really moist. What really made the difference was our water. Fantastic service. Thank you guys for a wonderful night

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I really like this restaurant. It featu ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I really like this restaurant. It features German food, with some modern twists, served in elegant style. Brunch offers dishes ranging from Kaiserschmarrn - decadent pancakes with almonds, rum raisins, and caramelized apples - to Bavarian sausage burgers, trout, and Jagerschnitzel. I loved the Eggs Benedict which are served on rosti potatoes instead of English muffins, which is such an improvement it is hard to believe it isn't done that way everywhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Affare was very good. The service was p ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Affare was very good. The service was precise. The food was exceptional. We went for Sunday brunch and I had the Sausage Burger which was flavorful but not overly so. The German roots show through at Affare-don't expect local German fare here, though. This is higher end taste and presentation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time there and the veni ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was our first time there and the venison and smoked spinach salad were excellent. Only wish when our server was asked his opinion on what was better between menu items he would've told us rather than saying everything is good. Come on everyone has a favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our second there. We love the f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was our second there. We love the food, and the environment, very classy and mellow.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the beet salad (starter) and scallop ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had the beet salad (starter) and scallops (main) which were both fantastic! Server was attentive but not hovering. This was a truly enjoyable dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The pretzel dumplings were a disappointm ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The pretzel dumplings were a disappointment and the menu did not include some of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My husband and I have eaten here twice. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here twice. The last time I had the duck and it was nothing less than divine! My husband had venison which was cooked to perfection. Have never had venison so tender. Staff was extremely polite and attentive. Would highly recommend this unique restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique dining experience. Will definite ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Unique dining experience. Will definitely return. Excellent staff! Excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Affare is always a treat, we went for Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Affare is always a treat, we went for Thanksgiving dinner I have never been disjointed at Affare. Tony our waiter was fantastic, the perfect blend of Mid western friendly and professionalism

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Affare offers a great dining experience ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Affare offers a great dining experience with pleasing atmosphere, excellent service and outstanding food. German with a bit of a twist. Their prix fixe meals are particularly nice for those, like me, who enjoy good wines but don't feel comfortable trying to match wine to food. Their pairings are a great value of expert choices at a reasonable price. Affare had to put up with a lot during the Street Car construction, but now their location near the Crossroads Station has added extra convenience to going their.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent in every way. Would highly rec ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent in every way. Would highly recommend. Very close to Kauffman Center and Crown Center.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service and delicious food. Our se ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great service and delicious food. Our server made our experience special with his stories about drinks were developed, which foods were best shared and made great dessert recommendations. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Brought out of town guests and they love ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Brought out of town guests and they loved the food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Affare is such a great place to eat!! Fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Affare is such a great place to eat!! Food is delicious, ambience is great. One of The best restaurants in town, whether you want an intimate meal or just meeting friends for a drink, it's the place to go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere and the staff is so ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and the staff is so friendly. They were very helpful and accommodated us well. I would recommend this to anyone who is wanting a German experience with a modern twist and the dessert is to die for!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First, we love Affair. First time for b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First, we love Affair. First time for brunch. Dishes were very good, but we have really great brunches in KC, good but not outstanding beyond the first tier. Service is always helpful, drinks are great. Good people doing great food. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.