About Affäre

1911 Main
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Affare is a contemporary european restaurant and love to work with our local farmers. Our team is made up of individuals who care and want to make our guests happy.
Our wine list is designed to match Martin's food. Our cocktails are always
seasonal and made with fresh ingredients.
We are also a family restaurant: Husband, wife, and four kids, who all appreciate your support very much! Thank you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
German, European, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:30 pm Endless Mimosas!

Happy Hour: every day fro 4:30 pm - 7:00 pm

Wednesday night: Free Tasting and No Corkage, so feel free to bring your own bottle!

Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-6182

Website:
http://affarekc.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu available. We will gladly deliver and set-up your order.

Parking Details:
Lot at 1801 Walnut, and plenty of free street parking on Walnut between 19th and 20th Street.
Valet service can be offered to private parties.
Please call if you feel unsure of where to park. We will be happy to assist you!

Public Transit:
Kansas City Street Car Stop right across the street

Executive Chef:
Martin Heuser

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners, Live music, Weekend Brunch and so much more!
Please consult our website affarekc.com, or join our family at facebook/affarekc.com!

Restaurant Photos

Holstein Schnitzel
Side Salad
Pretzel Bread
Stiegl Pils
Ravioli
Summer Salad
Elk And Cherries
Olives
German Chicken
Apfelstrudel with bourbon vanilla sauce Anglaise
Himbeerbaiser, meringues layered with Chantilly cream and raspberries
Seared Scallop
Rheinischer Käseskuchen
Jägerschnitzel
Edelfisch Allerlei
Geschmorte bison short rib topped with seared foie gras, truffle infused celeriac puree
Wiener Schnitzel, crispy breaded veal, Butterspätzle, anchovy, olive, lemon butter, Soße
Rosemary and garlic infused lamb-loin, bouillon potatoes
Cheese Plate
Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte, traditional black forest cake, served with Kirschwasser
Ricotta-Erbsen Ravioli
Cheesecake from the Rheinland
Seared Almond Crusted Golden Trout, Caper Butter, Arugula And Purple Potatoes
Warm Apfelstrudel
Scallop
Wiener Schnitzel
Seafood kabob
Seared Veal Liver
Seafood Allerlei
Seared almond crusted Rainbow Trout
Leipziger Allerlei
Seafood Allerlei In Liaison With Lemon Risotto
Roasted Wacholderbeeren (juniper berry) rubbed elk-loin, huckleberry sauce, Butterspätzle
Seafood Risotto
Lollo Rosso
Pavlova
Rosemary And Ginger Infused Schokoladenmousse And Cocoa Crisp Tower
Butter Lettuce Mimosa
pretzel
Beet Salad
Spring Chicken
Dumpling & Vegetables
Asparagus Salad
Sommerfest
Dumplings
Slow-Roasted Wacholderbeeren rubbed Elkloin
Roasted Boar-Loin
Maultaschen stuffed with spinach and sausage
Asparagus Shrimp Salad
Seared Scallops With Foie Gras
Scallop With Chanterelle Mushrooms
Apfelstrudel
Trio Bratwurst
Seared Scallop with foie gras hollandaise
Apple Strudel
Lamb
Barham Farm Spring Chicken hit Kasekruste and lemon caper sauce
Espresso
Apple Struedel
Straeberry Rhubarb Kuchen
Ricotta Stuffed Ravioli W/ Carrot Purree

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Affäre is a modern German restaurant located in the heart of the Crossroads Arts District. We are a family restaurant that focuses on fresh and local products. Affäre offers an intimate private dining room, adjacent to an enclosed Courtyard, perfect for any event. Contact us for more information.

Affäre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City
Best Value
Kansas City
5 More
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

fit for foodies (81)
special occasion (74)
romantic (47)
See All
neighborhood gem (46)
notable wine list (36)
good for groups (33)
great for brunch (32)
great for lunch (24)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Located near the streetcar line, this re ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Located near the streetcar line, this restaurant offers a welcome reprieve from the energetic Crossroads area.

During our visit, the chef featured a number of lobster appetizers and entrees. We started with lobster bisque, which was delicious and a definite highlight.

I ordered the Jägerschnitzel, since after all, I was dining at a German restaurant. Portions were huge--easily two meals. As our server suggested, the mushroom sauce is the selling point here. For the price, I considered this dish a great value.

My wife ate the lobster salad as her entree. Again, sauce/dressing was a highlight, as the avocado coulis sold the dish.

Dessert was good though not great. I forget the name; it reminded me of a fluffy cheesecake.

All in all, we had a great meal and enjoyed great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very attentive. Foodies will love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Vibrant in every facet. The ambiance wa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Vibrant in every facet. The ambiance was urban yet warm. At one point, I think our table was actually sharing food with 2 other unrelated tables. The atmosphere was lively and the staff was attentive and knowledgeable. The food and service were incredible. I want to come back next weekend. I've told several friends about Affare. Come for the food, wine, service, and atmosphere-stay for the umlaut above the name :).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our son's birthday at Affa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We celebrated our son's birthday at Affare. I told the restaurant of this special occasion when I made the reservation. He and his wife arrived first and he was greeted and led to a great table in one of the front windows overlooking Main Street and given a complimentary glass of bubbly. The service was outstanding throughout the evening. No hovering, just there when you needed them. Owner was available for recommendations, which came in especially handy when it came to select wine for the table. She was knowledgable and accommodating. The bottle we settled on, a white semi-dry from Germany, was outstanding. The food was excellent, with moderate helpings nicely presented. Definitely will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had our anniversary dinner there free ch ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had our anniversary dinner there free champagne great meal and food just the right amount. With first Friday going on was nice to have a place to park only a block away

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was cooked and seasoned perfectly. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was cooked and seasoned perfectly. Server was very friendly and knowledgable. Decor had a casual elegance to it. Perfect for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at Affaire and ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Affaire and enjoy great cuisine and wine. Fantastic wine list and everyone knows the complexity of the wine well. Delightful and very knowledge wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really delicious but both Yelp ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was really delicious but both Yelp and Open Table show a lunch menu. Since Affare no longer serves lunch, the menu items were not available nor is lunch served any longer. On Saturday and Sunday, brunch is served up until about 2:30 p.m., and the menu selections are mostly breakfast items with a few other choices. Since our palates were set for items on the lunch menu, not necessarily breakfast choices, this was disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Affare's food is excellent and the ambie ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Affare's food is excellent and the ambience and service are warm and comfortable. It's a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an excellent experience! The food w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What an excellent experience! The food was served hot, and it was delicious. The most difficult part was selecting what to eat! I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant has been one of my favor ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant has been one of my favorites for awhile now. Their seasonal menus (currently lobster) are always tasty and inventive. They have a small plate bar menu as well ( try the Mac & Cheese and the Bacon). Their bartender is quite funny. And the owners, especially Katrina, make you feel at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Affare has been on a disrupted traffic a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Affare has been on a disrupted traffic area since the streetcar was being developed. The street is now clear but the parking is very unclear. The restaurant needs to advise customers where to park. Other than that, the food was very good and I found a meal that gave me no problems with respect to my gluten intolerance. Excellent trout and my husband enjoyed his duck.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed the roasted lobster meal. It was ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed the roasted lobster meal. It was beautifully displayed & quite good! From the start of the evening--sparkling wine, pretzel-type bread with dip, delicious entrees, to dessert--everything was very nice. Great service--very attentive, but not intrusive!! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband is a german food freak, I am ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband is a german food freak, I am not. He loved charcuterie with many meats cheeses, pickles, housemade condies. There were incredible options for all. Butter-crusted trout almande was so yummy, flakey, crunchy and rich. Yes, order applestreusel for dessert even if you'd rather have chocolate (they have that covered extraordinarily well too)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and had a wonderful dining experience. We each had items from their June lobster features after confirming they had flown in fresh that very day. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Check out their new lobster menu!!! Del ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Check out their new lobster menu!!! Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the homemade pretzels!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

This is our second experience dining at Affare. The first was lunch (delicious mushroom soup and pretzels, and a bison burger) and it was so good we invited friends to join us.

Wine and beer selection are both great. Two of us tried the flight of rosés, which was a great way to try out some new summer wines.

The complimentary pretzels and sauce are wonderful!

There was a new lobster section of the menu and one of us ordered the Lobster Salad. Nice big chunks of lobster tail and a lobster claw were included and it was light and delicious.

Two people in out party had the half order of trout and thought it was delicious, and a satisfying portion even though it was a half portion.

The remaining diner in our group had the schnitzel and it was also delicious and we all got samples off his plate because it was generous portion.

We split two desserts. The rhubarb dessert was fabulous. The cherry dessert was ok, but not outstanding.

Our server was attentive, even though he had multiple tables.

We want to go back and try the happy hour next.

Bonus...it's right on the new streetcar line. Super convenient for those of us that live downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was wonderful

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

My friend and I visited Affare on my last night in Kansa City. I sincerely wish that I had found it earlier in my two years with the city. We had a late Sunday dinner (reservation was for 8:30). There was another couple in he back part of the restaurant near us and a larger table near the front. We took our time enjoying the delicious wine, food, and dessert. Through it all, the staff never rushed us and made us feel very comfortable. It really was the perfect dinner slot for my last night in KC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We dined at Affare on the Monday of the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We dined at Affare on the Monday of the Memorial Day weekend. There were not many people in the restaurant, which was too bad because we thought the whole experience was great. It being springtime, we indulged in a full pound of white spargel with drawn butter and potatoes. For the rest of the meal, we stuck with salads: (spring affare and a smoked spinach salad which actually was smoking); the pea and quark ravioli and the Leipziger Allelei, as spring vegetable medley. After all this, we stuck with ice cream for dessert. Since Affare is a German focused restaurant, we were delighted to select a nice Riesling Kabinett from the wine list. We enjoyed the meal and attribute the lack of patrons to the holiday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The trout is always amazing!!!!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The trout is always amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had heard wonderful things about Affare and it lived up to its reputation! The food was truly memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We've never had a bad experience at Affa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We've never had a bad experience at Affare. Katrin and Martin are a fantastic team, and their passion for what they do can't help but shine in every masterpiece that was brought to our table. All of our friends and family are knocked off of their feet when we bring them here. If you haven't been able to catch the white asparagus, go! Go now!

They take care to make sure their staff is a family of friendly and knowledgeable individuals who are also passionate about what they do. They make the entire experience so much more enjoyable. Very knowledgeable staff who can help you navigate through a wonderfully extensive wine list.

Thank you for giving us a home away from home, especially for someone who isn't handy around her in the kitchen! You guys have been a lifesaver on numerous holidays and special occasions! I wouldn't go anywhere else to celebrate special events with my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, but not service.

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I chose the special menu with wine pairings. The food was outstanding, but the wine pairings were delivered well after the food. Rather than let the food get cold, we ate the courses and drank the wine when it was delivered much later.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We really enjoyed dinner in the courtyar ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We really enjoyed dinner in the courtyard before the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Affare is AMAZING

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Affare is a must. I am not German, I had no idea what to expect and if I would even like it. I have lived in KC my whole life and had never tried this place... and now I wish I hadn't waited so long! The food was amazing. The three of us each ordered something different so we could try different things. I had the duck dish.. sooooo good.. the strip sirloin was delicious, and the trout was so yummy (that butter sauce.. YUM). You have to try this place.. even picky eaters will love the amazing flavors that Affare brings to the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, wine and service!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We love going here to eat. The food is awesome and Mark always recommends the perfect wine for every meal we have ordered. Now that the streetcar stops right in front of the restaurant it is very easy to get here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In my opinion, this is one of the very best in KC

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

German food. Very very very good with great service. People who really care about their craft. A gem in KC which is not very well known. Right off of the streetcar route.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food at Affare is incredible. Everything is delicious and unique, and very easy to enjoy. The service is wonderful. Everyone from the owner to the waiter is very friendly, helpful and nice. The atmosphere is very nice without being stuffy. It is a real treat to come to Affare.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was as it should be, but the se ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was as it should be, but the server was inexperienced at best.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Pleasant surprise

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I made a reservation for Mothers Day after failing to get one any where else. Pleasantly surprised...nice atmosphere...good service...excellent food. Most memorable dish was the smoked spinach salad...maybe one of the top 5 dishes I have ever had. They have an eclectic menu and my wife said she loved it for this reason. Only nick's are they brought our bread after the salads and the total price was a little high due mostly to their lack of an inexpensive bottle of wine. Mid tier wine was $80.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mothers Day

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there on Mothers Day but ordered off the regular brunch menu, the food was very good, the service was a tad bit lacking, waiter seemed a bit distracted. I would gladly dine here again as it offers something different from other restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Brunch was great. Don't expect large por ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was great. Don't expect large portions though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife and our 6-month old son there for Mother's Day Brunch and had a great time. Has wonderful food and intimate experience. They also gave my wife a chocolate covered strawberry for Mother's Day. My wife thoroughly enjoyed herself and had a great first Mother's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A versatile, upscale place to dine

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and 8 month old for Mother's Day brunch. Affare hit the perfect balance of upscale class and being kid friendly without seeming like a homely family restaurant. In the heart of the Crossroads district and right next to one of the new streetcar stops, the location is very "Kansas City." We had bloody mary's and morning cocktails which were each excellent, and the food was amazing. I had the spring quiche and she had the waffles. The service was great, prompt, and friendly. Overall, it felt like a special place to go out that also made it okay to feel like a cool adult while bringing your kid along. We'll be back for a date night!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was not to blame for the slow ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter was not to blame for the slow service, the bad ,cold food, long hour wait for food or the noise level in an awful setting...not the main room. Terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Great place to eat food overall was deli ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great place to eat food overall was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Try the Leipziger Allerlei

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Was there for the Spargel (white asparagus) Menu and it was fantastic. After trying it a couple times, I've decided that the Leipziger Allerlei is one of the best dishes in town (among KC's best restaurants).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Will Be Back !

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Party of 10 -- great service, awesome food and way cool atmosphere. We all loved it and will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.