About Affäre

1911 Main
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

We are a contemporary european restaurant and love to work with our local farmers and small wineries who take care of their vineyards and don't
over-produce. Our team is made up of individuals who care and want to make our guests happy.
Our wine list is designed to match Martin's food. Our cocktails are always
made from small batch distillers and local, seasonal products.
We are also a family restaurant: Husband, wife, and four kids, who all appreciate your support very much! Thank you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 10:00am - 9:00pm Endless Mimosas!

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 3:00pm - 7:00pm
Friday & Saturday 9:30pm-close
Wednesday night: Free Tasting and No Corkage, so feel free to bring your own bottle!

Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-6182

Website:
http://affarekc.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu available. We will gladly deliver and set-up your order.

Parking Details:
Lot at 1801 Walnut, and plenty of free street parking on Walnut between 19th and 20th Street.
Valet service can be offered to private parties.
Please call if you feel unsure of where to park. We will be happy to assist you!

Public Transit:
Max stop in front of restaurant.
Coming soon: Kansas City Street Car!

Executive Chef:
Martin Heuser

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners, Live music, Sunday Brunch and so much more!
Please consult our website affarekc.com, or join our family at facebook/affarekc.com!

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Endless Mimosas!

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Promotions

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Free tasting, no corkage fee, 20% off all bottles. Excludes Tax and Tip. Every third Wednesday is Wine Party Day! Check affarekc.com for monthly details!. Special valid Mar 9, 2016 - Jul 6, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat all dads to a delicious brunch or dinner at Affare! Great draft beers, bourbons, and a patio for the kids to run around on! Serving our regular menu and 'dad-specials'!
Endless Mimosas!

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Details
What better than to start your Sunday with a farm-to-table brunch and endless Mimosas?. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 13, 2016 - Jun 26, 2016 on Sundays from 10:00 AM - 2:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Affäre is a modern German restaurant located in the heart of the Crossroads Arts District. We are a family restaurant that focuses on fresh and local products. Affäre offers an intimate private dining room, adjacent to an enclosed Courtyard, perfect for any event. Contact us for more information.

Affäre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

fit for foodies (100)
special occasion (93)
romantic (59)
See All
neighborhood gem (58)
good for groups (46)
notable wine list (43)
great for brunch (36)
great for lunch (30)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (12)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
957 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed dinner in the courtyar ...

Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoyed dinner in the courtyard before the show.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Affare is AMAZING

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Affare is a must. I am not German, I had no idea what to expect and if I would even like it. I have lived in KC my whole life and had never tried this place... and now I wish I hadn't waited so long! The food was amazing. The three of us each ordered something different so we could try different things. I had the duck dish.. sooooo good.. the strip sirloin was delicious, and the trout was so yummy (that butter sauce.. YUM). You have to try this place.. even picky eaters will love the amazing flavors that Affare brings to the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, wine and service!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We love going here to eat. The food is awesome and Mark always recommends the perfect wine for every meal we have ordered. Now that the streetcar stops right in front of the restaurant it is very easy to get here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In my opinion, this is one of the very best in KC

Dined on May 13, 2016

German food. Very very very good with great service. People who really care about their craft. A gem in KC which is not very well known. Right off of the streetcar route.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food at Affare is incredible. Everything is delicious and unique, and very easy to enjoy. The service is wonderful. Everyone from the owner to the waiter is very friendly, helpful and nice. The atmosphere is very nice without being stuffy. It is a real treat to come to Affare.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was as it should be, but the se ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was as it should be, but the server was inexperienced at best.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pleasant surprise

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made a reservation for Mothers Day after failing to get one any where else. Pleasantly surprised...nice atmosphere...good service...excellent food. Most memorable dish was the smoked spinach salad...maybe one of the top 5 dishes I have ever had. They have an eclectic menu and my wife said she loved it for this reason. Only nick's are they brought our bread after the salads and the total price was a little high due mostly to their lack of an inexpensive bottle of wine. Mid tier wine was $80.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there on Mothers Day but ordered off the regular brunch menu, the food was very good, the service was a tad bit lacking, waiter seemed a bit distracted. I would gladly dine here again as it offers something different from other restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

Brunch was great. Don't expect large por ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was great. Don't expect large portions though

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife and our 6-month old son there for Mother's Day Brunch and had a great time. Has wonderful food and intimate experience. They also gave my wife a chocolate covered strawberry for Mother's Day. My wife thoroughly enjoyed herself and had a great first Mother's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A versatile, upscale place to dine

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and 8 month old for Mother's Day brunch. Affare hit the perfect balance of upscale class and being kid friendly without seeming like a homely family restaurant. In the heart of the Crossroads district and right next to one of the new streetcar stops, the location is very "Kansas City." We had bloody mary's and morning cocktails which were each excellent, and the food was amazing. I had the spring quiche and she had the waffles. The service was great, prompt, and friendly. Overall, it felt like a special place to go out that also made it okay to feel like a cool adult while bringing your kid along. We'll be back for a date night!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Our waiter was not to blame for the slow ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter was not to blame for the slow service, the bad ,cold food, long hour wait for food or the noise level in an awful setting...not the main room. Terrible experience.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat food overall was deli ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great place to eat food overall was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Try the Leipziger Allerlei

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Was there for the Spargel (white asparagus) Menu and it was fantastic. After trying it a couple times, I've decided that the Leipziger Allerlei is one of the best dishes in town (among KC's best restaurants).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will Be Back !

Dined on May 1, 2016

Party of 10 -- great service, awesome food and way cool atmosphere. We all loved it and will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

jac review

Dined on April 30, 2016

great table for 2 by the front window. Great service, excellent menu. Lovely, relaxing décor.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Splash of panache

Dined on April 29, 2016

At Kansas City's doorstep is an authentic European restaurant with a splash of panache. Cosmopolitan setting, yet friendly, atmosphere. Good from casual dining to special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

No so great

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The last time I went to Affare, the food was really good. This time, the trout was good, but the salad my friend ordered had a lot of brown leaves in it. We told the server about it, she said she would show it to someone in the back. Nothing was done. On the check the charge was made in full for the brown salad. Probably will not go back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Brunch Location!

Dined on April 24, 2016

My friends and I had a wonderful experience at Affare for Brunch. The service was impeccable and everyone was very knowledgeable on the food and the German background. Each of us had something different and we all really enjoyed our meals. The bottomless mimosas for $10 was awesome and our glasses never went empty thanks to,Kevin, our waiter!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in KC!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have many food allergies and the chef accommodated all of them. Meggie was our server, and she was amazing! Waters were always full, wine prompt, she never seemed put out go ask the chef what options were. Always had a smile! I greatly appreciated the concern for my allergies, but also the ability to eat so much great food! I will definitely be going back often. Wonderful food, wonderful service, knowledgeable staff, total package!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food and dead flowers

Dined on April 21, 2016

Server was great, food was very good, was a Wed night, so was very quiet--most of the action was in the bar. Seems more geared to the bar than the restaurant. Dead flowers on the table is not an irrelevant detail--it shows attention to detail.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Affare

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Affare is a great modern German restaurant. It has a diverse and tasty menu. Great food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For the rare parents date night.

Dined on April 16, 2016

We don't go out on dates often because we are busy with the family at home all the time. So, when we took a rare evening out, we chose Affare because we can always count on a great dinner and romantic ambiance. A great choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Streetcars have them down but not out

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The tracks are in and streets repaired but parking is still (even more)an issue. Worth the effort though to experience the amazing menu, well prepared and presented food and friendly service by grown up servers, who actually know something about the food and wine. A little edgier than Grunauer . This place gets it: service is nearly as important as the food and they have top quality in both. If only they had a parking lot. Given their somewhat difficult location its amazing they draw what they do...patrons oviously see something good. There is more to German food than sausages and spaetzle.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on March 27, 2016

Really enjoyed our brunch, couldn't have been any better!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Dinner for a Special Lady

Dined on March 27, 2016

I took my girlfriend here to celebrate her birthday. It was great! We got the Sheep Sharable plate. Who doesn't love a whole bunch ofdifferent kinds of cheese. My girlfriend ordered a cocktail with Reiger whiskey. It was surprisingly good. I do not like whiskey, but this was so smooth. She also ordered the steak with spring vegetables. It was delicious. I ordered the trout. I know cooking fish can be so hit or miss as it is so difficult to cook. It was maybe a little over cooked, but overall good with the caper butter. They service was very attentive, as well. My glass of water was never empty. I always drink a lot water. I never had to ask for a refill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Affare is truly an underappreciated gem in KC - and considering the wide array of wonderful restaurant options, that is high praise, as it should be. The service is impeccable, the menu interesting and varied, and the food is superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Went here twice this year. Once on my birthday and again for anniversary (46)/pre opera outing. Absolutely wonderful each time. We recommend Affair to others for special occasion in downtown KC. When the street car begins running expect huge benefit for convenience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. Was blown away! Fantastic food. 10$ endless mimosas. Would go again in a second.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Another magnificent meal at the best res ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Another magnificent meal at the best restaurant in Kansas City!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was delicious and beautifully p ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Our food was delicious and beautifully plated. I only wish we lived closer so we could dine there more frequently. Our server was delightful; very knowledgeable regarding the menu and pairings.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner and a Show promotion! Spot on!!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Dinner and a Show promotion! Spot on!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and good wine

Dined on February 27, 2016

We visited Affare for dinner before a show. The waiter asked if we needed to be out in time for the show and was attentive to make sure that we received our orders in plenty to time without having to rush. We each enjoyed three courses, all of which were well prepared and showed attention to detail. Wine parings were available and helpful. Good food, good wine, good service, good atmosphere, good value. You cannot ask for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable Creation of Entree'

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Simply an amazing experience. The service was above and beyond what written words can describe. To the phenomenal hostess to our waiter--- details to serve were duly noted. The elk was incredibly flavored and a must have dish for future references. The wine pairings, exquisitely matched. Each dining experience makes Affare the choice to return.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Pre-show disappointment

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

We dined pre-theater on a Friday night. Our waiter was pleasant enough, but we had a lot of difficulty with timing of service. Two of our party of four waited 20 minutes for a cocktail to arrive, even after we had ordered our meal. Their cocktails arrived with the first course of the prix fixe menu at the same time as the first wine pairing for the prix fixe menu. Meanwhile, another in the party did not receive his first wine pairing with the first course until he was finished eating it. The waiter blamed being short-staffed at the bar because of the theater rush, but the restaurant had advertised a pre-theater special so it is hard to understand how they could not anticipate the need for adequate bar services in the short window of pre-theater dining. I really expect that a pre-theater special is designed for exactly that. There were adjustments made to the bill to compensate, but that didn't save it from somewhat negatively impacting the evening. Further, the restaurant was sparsely occupied when we arrived shortly after 5pm so I don't really understand the problem with the pre-dinner cocktails or the wine pairings.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great service. Great cocktails. Deeeelu ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Great service. Great cocktails. Deeeelucious food. The snail soup is outstanding, as is the elk, the salmon, and the desserts. Wine pairings were a good match. Above all - excellent service! Thanks Meggi(sp?)

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

3 Course Menu

Dined on February 25, 2016

Ordered from the 3 course menu, which was different from the one posted on line. Tried the Elk Strip Loin, which the server said was not gamey, but we did not particularly care for it. Salmon on the other hand was excellent. Wine pairings were also excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Restaurants in Kansas City!!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The food here is just spectacular. I'm rather picky, and have spent a lot of time travelling abroad, and as far and wide as I've been, this restaurant is one at the top. Excellent food, excellent service. The seafood platter and the trout especially are sensational. Will come back, again and again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

not a good value

Dined on February 21, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good, but not a good value for the price.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.