Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Aerie Restaurant & Lounge

Located on the 16th Floor of the Tower at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge offers a premium casual dining experience like no other in Northern Michigan.

100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd
Acme, MI 49610
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lounge Hours:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
1/2 mile north of the interstection of M-72 & US31

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 534-6800

Website:
http://www.grandtraverseresort.com/dining/aerie-restaurant-lounge

Entertainment:
Entertainment is featured in the Grand Lobby below Aerie Restaurant on Friday and Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
No charge for parking. Valet parking available for a fee.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us this Thanksgiving in Aerie Restaurant & Lounge for our popular Thanksgiving buffet.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aerie Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.6

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

79% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (35)
Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Waterfront (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was not good at refilling drinks, clearing table between brunch courses, etc. She seemed too busy and distracted. The food was good, not great (main course selection was limited to 2 items, and pecan pie was burned).

Staff needs some additional customer service training to be serving $$$ brunch. But the view was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great food! Views and service were outstanding. I would definitely recommend your restaurant for any occasion

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The quality of the food matched the breathtaking view of Grand Traverse Bay! An outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Aerie is a great choice for those living on or near the Chain of Lakes who do not wish to drive the extra miles to Traverse City. The meals are comparable to TVC's foodie scene and the view is spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We had a great dinner, steaks were delisious. Actually, all courses were great tasting! The staff were very nice. Watched a beautiful sunset to complete a great time.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing food, service and views that can't be beat!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Aerie has always been one of our favorite places; it's a special destination for us. On this trip, we dined there on two consecutive nights. Our servers were Jenny the first night and Michael the second. They provided excellent service with care and enthusiasm. The food at Aerie is alwas top-notch, and the servers go out of their way to make the evening even more enjoyable. The sunset photo was taken from our table on the second night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

View is amazing but staff seems inexperienced. Lemon pepper risotto w/lobster was overpowered by too much pepper.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Charles our waiter was friendly and attentive and gave us good information on our choices. We had a great Pinot Noir wine. Had a good conversation with the wine guy, sorry forgot his name, about the wine and how he picked. The view is great and with storms blowing in and out we felt like we were in the clouds. Been to the place before it hasn't disappointed up.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Spicy, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Lovely evening in a beautiful setting celebrating 25 years of marriage. Great views of the lake and resort grounds. Restaurant wasn't full, so seating was quick, however, after our order was placed, way too much time had passed before receiving our appetizers and drinks. But once received, everything was scrumptious! Hubby's salmon was perfect; my kale & spring salad with roasted chicken was delish! Our fabulous server, Jenny, informed me that the chicken was from the farm down the road. :-) She and another server/host (whose name we did not get) went over the top taking pictures of us, providing a local sparkling wine for our celebration and just helping to make the evening special. The chocolate cake and the caramel apple compote (or something like that) were exquisite, too. Overall, a memorable evening that was worthy of a 25th anniversary celebration.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was excellent and service by Jenny was awesome. We will definitely return

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our family enjoyed a lovely and delicious Sunday brunch. The food was excellent, the service fantastic, the view almost cloudless. Our server was from Jamaica and he was friendly and interesting to talk to. Sorry I've forgotten his name.
A delightful time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our reservation was for 1015 & seated immediately. Our server from Jamaica and was fabulous. We were excited to have brunch since it was talked about so much. Omelet was wonderful and so was croissant but the "hot" food was warm at best & very average.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always a great experience. Views are second to none and food is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our meal was exquisite and our waiter, Michael, was top shelf. Thanks for the great experience as awesome food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Beautiful views of the bay, good service and the food was delicious. Very pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were there for brunch. There were many great choices including mini bagels, lox and cream cheese, made to order omelettes, salad bar, dessert bar, and pastries as well as breakfast and lunch choices. Service was a bit off with drinks and attention to the table and the overdone eggs benedict on an oversized piece of bread and flat hollandaise were the only negatives. The view of East Bay and the area is breath taking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The only good that came from this dining experience was the view, which is on the 16th floor of the casino tower. The service was terrible, the food was luke warm and mediocre, the music was loud and sounded like we were in a night club rather than soothing sounds of dinner music. It was our Anniversary and we ended up leaving early and paying $126.00 for a couple of drinks a soup, a salad, and a couple of entrees in which I left my dinner untouched especially when I was served a butter knife when expected to eat a fish meal. The whole experience was very upsetting and the manager of the restaurant proceeded to bicker with me and suggested that we may just want to have drinks and leave. When we were served the entrees that were semi-cold and the service was disastrous, I jumped up from my chair and told my husband I am paying the bill (at the hostess stand) and I will be right back! We left right after that and do not ever plan to dine there again!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Always enjoy Otto Chicken, it's a real favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was good.
Food was average or less than average.
Food was expensive for portion size and quality. 2 items not available from the menu - scallops and Barzini
300% markup on some of the wine.

We had lunch at trattoria Stella. Difficult to measure up too despite trattoria being less expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I just love being at this restaurant at sunset. The sun is in your eyes if you sit by the window, but its worth it to watch the sunset. I had the crab and avocado salad as my main course and it's delicious. The fish portions are on the stingy side, and the steak is pretty good. But its the VIEW that counts.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Beautiful view!! We had the filet entree and added the lobster risotto to share. Everything was prepared perfectly with amazing flavors!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service and customer treatment was terrible, the food was good. Is it worth it? No

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Booked our table same day via open table. We were seated at the very first table right at the entrance which was not ideal given the traffic of guests in and out. Service was good, but not great, which for the price I would expect a bit more. Our waiter started off pretty attentive and overall was ok, but would disappear for extended periods and also carried a bit of an arrogant attitude at times. Check took waay too long to get and process at the end of our meal.
The food: Fresh bread with cloves of garlic and butter was quite tasty. We requested it so not sure if it comes anyway or not. My in laws shared the heirloom tomato as their opening dish and both thought it was very good. My wife and I each started with the lobster bisque and we both found it disappointing. It comes as a broth, rather than a creamy bisque, and tasted a bit bitter.
The main courses are where this place shined. I had the pork tenderloin and it was outstanding. My wife had the blackened branzino, which I also got to try, and it was terrific. My father in law really enjoyed the cioppino and his wife likewise raved about the short ribs. The ambiance is formal but guests ranged from casual to formal in their attire. The view can be spectacular although we were there on a rainy, foggy night and missed most of that, although we were treated to a spectacular sunset. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent service; very good food, though somewhat limited choices; amazing views, even in rainy, cloudy weather; very good wine list; a bit on the expensive side.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was cooked downstairs , brought up to the 16th floor . Deserts were better then rest of the food . We were there for brunch , pork was good but not tender . Bacon was not crisp . Not a great selection of higher end food for the $23 per person price . Heard before we went to the restaurant that price included one glass of champagne . No one offered the champagne . When I asked about it , I was told I already had a glass of oj . That was my one drink . They would charge me for my champagne . Much better meal and value at Apache Trout !! . My dining guest gave an overall rating of a 5 out of 10 . I gave the restaurant a 4 out of 10 . I hope this review helps .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Brunch was good but the variety of food was not what it has been previously

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great vista views, great service, and reasonable prices for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The view was spectacular and the service was attentive and accommodating. We did not enjoy our cocktails, the lobster bisque soup or the dessert. Our entrees were excellent! We probably should have voiced our disappointment as we noticed a table next to us did so and their bill was adjusted. Overall nice ambiance. The tables were cozy.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Wouldn't recommend it. Poor service, rude staff and way too expensive for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Average food. Painfully slow service. Beautiful sunset (except for lack of any window shade to block it from those facing it).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Really enjoyed the buffet, especially the pastries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very good overall experience, but they could do better. We had notified the restaurant, through Open Table, that is was our 45th wedding anniversary, but the only acknowledgement was from the host when we checked in. They could have done better.
Our waiter, Michael was very good, but the restaurant needs to work on their timing. We had to ask for bread and they brought out our dinners before my wife has finished her salad.
Michael's recommendation for our entrees was perfect, exceptional view, great wine list and very good desserts.
All in all we are glad that we had our anniversary dinner at Aerie.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Our dinner was amazing! They view is breathtaking. Service is incredible, waiter was kind, attentive, and very personable. From the appetizer to dessert, everything was phenomenal. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Lived in Traverse City since 1996 and this was my first time eating at the top of the Grand Traverse resort.

We went on a Tuesday evening at 7:30 pm 7-17-2017 for my wife's birthday. It was really nice, wear sunglasses on sunny days. Food was great and they served decent portion sizes. Cost was $28-$35 per plate. Good presentation of food on the plate and good service from wait staff. Total bill was just under $200 for two adults and two boys over 17, so plan on $50 per person with appetizers and a few mixed drinks.

We ordered the mussels and heirloom tomatoes for appraisers. Crab cakes, Scallops, Filet, and NY strip for dinner. It was all good and everyone was full.

I wore dress shorts and nice button up shirt but I felt a little under dressed. It is a "better than jeans" style dining for sure but they will not turn you away, it is Northern Michigan after all. When I go again I will wear dress pants and button up shirt min.

I would recommend Aerie to anyone who s looking for quiet fine dining w/ a great view of the bay. Common sense says to avoid the weekends and events if you want a nice and/or quiet dining experience. This is a resort town and it is busy on Friday, Saturday and Sunday all summer. I live here so I can pick my times

Good luck and Hope this helps everyone,

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Party of 8 ... all looking forward to the "experience". Dinner was at 7:15pm but to start with the sun was shinning in our faces making it uncomfortable to chat and enjoy the views. Drink service was good... then comes our dinner... 2 were happy with their meal, 3 were not impressed, and 3 the meal was NOT edible. Scallops had sand on every bite. No bill adjustments were made. Not a good experince.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Sunday was our 9 year wedding anniversary, we had our wedding at your hotel and the reception at Aerie, we love to be able to go back when we can! The restaurant is such a beautiful location and we love the décor. Our waiter was wonderful and we enjoyed the food as usual. After a fun weekend adventure brunch at Aerie is the perfect way to end it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It was our second dining experience here this week as we visited Traverse City, and we thought the first evening's dinner was good enough to come back – but this time was even better. The Otto's chicken and salmon dish were delicious. And David was an excellent server. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here for our anniversary. Service was great. Very attentive without becoming bothersome. Views were excellent. Food was great. Definitely a place to to checkout if you are vacationing in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.