Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Aerie Restaurant & Lounge

Located on the 16th Floor of the Tower at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge offers a premium casual dining experience like no other in Northern Michigan.

100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd
Acme, MI 49610
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lounge Hours:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
1/2 mile north of the interstection of M-72 & US31

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 534-6800

Website:
http://www.grandtraverseresort.com/dining/aerie-restaurant-lounge

Entertainment:
Entertainment is featured in the Aerie Lounge on Friday and Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
No charge for parking. Valet parking available for a fee.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aerie Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (32)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Waterfront (4)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fireplace (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 12 hours ago

Really enjoyed the buffet, especially the pastries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 2 days ago

It was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Our dinner was amazing! They view is breathtaking. Service is incredible, waiter was kind, attentive, and very personable. From the appetizer to dessert, everything was phenomenal. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 6 days ago

Lived in Traverse City since 1996 and this was my first time eating at the top of the Grand Traverse resort.

We went on a Tuesday evening at 7:30 pm 7-17-2017 for my wife's birthday. It was really nice, wear sunglasses on sunny days. Food was great and they served decent portion sizes. Cost was $28-$35 per plate. Good presentation of food on the plate and good service from wait staff. Total bill was just under $200 for two adults and two boys over 17, so plan on $50 per person with appetizers and a few mixed drinks.

We ordered the mussels and heirloom tomatoes for appraisers. Crab cakes, Scallops, Filet, and NY strip for dinner. It was all good and everyone was full.

I wore dress shorts and nice button up shirt but I felt a little under dressed. It is a "better than jeans" style dining for sure but they will not turn you away, it is Northern Michigan after all. When I go again I will wear dress pants and button up shirt min.

I would recommend Aerie to anyone who s looking for quiet fine dining w/ a great view of the bay. Common sense says to avoid the weekends and events if you want a nice and/or quiet dining experience. This is a resort town and it is busy on Friday, Saturday and Sunday all summer. I live here so I can pick my times

Good luck and Hope this helps everyone,

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Party of 8 ... all looking forward to the "experience". Dinner was at 7:15pm but to start with the sun was shinning in our faces making it uncomfortable to chat and enjoy the views. Drink service was good... then comes our dinner... 2 were happy with their meal, 3 were not impressed, and 3 the meal was NOT edible. Scallops had sand on every bite. No bill adjustments were made. Not a good experince.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Sunday was our 9 year wedding anniversary, we had our wedding at your hotel and the reception at Aerie, we love to be able to go back when we can! The restaurant is such a beautiful location and we love the décor. Our waiter was wonderful and we enjoyed the food as usual. After a fun weekend adventure brunch at Aerie is the perfect way to end it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It was our second dining experience here this week as we visited Traverse City, and we thought the first evening's dinner was good enough to come back – but this time was even better. The Otto's chicken and salmon dish were delicious. And David was an excellent server. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here for our anniversary. Service was great. Very attentive without becoming bothersome. Views were excellent. Food was great. Definitely a place to to checkout if you are vacationing in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Awesome restaurant worth the price. We loved the seafood options.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 13, 2017

This was our 55th Anniversary. Invited friends and relatives to enjoy this evening with us. The service was outstanding. The food was poor at best. Dessert was the best part of the dinner. It's been a couple of years since dinning at the Grand Traverse Resort and this dinning experience has ended my desire to ever visit the place again. There are to many restaurants in the Grand Traverse area that offer better food for the same price.

I've waited a week to fill out this review - first not wanting to - just moving on. I've reconsidered and feel obligated to let others know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Flavorful food, excellent service, lovely view from 17th story restaurant. Dinner for two about $80 without drinks.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Quite disappointing. Had a reservation, we were asked to wait in the lobby while they got our table ready (in the meantime there were multiple empty tables) After waiting for almost 15 minutes we checked back in with the hostess and it was obvious she had forgotten about us. There were no other parties waiting so it was not busy! Once we were seated we had a dirty fork and very spotty water glasses (unimpressive for what's supposed to be a high class restaurant). My eggs were not prepared properly (burnt) and we had to wait quite a while for drinks to come (mind you this was during the Sunday brunch buffet so the waiter had nothing else to do but get us our drinks). They also gave us juice drink options and then had to come back to tell us they were out of a certain kind. This was supposed to be a fun special occasion meal and it turned out to be very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food was as delicious as the view was beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our waitress was great. She was very nice. The manger on staff was pretty good as well.
OK my Filet was amazing and the lobster risotto was great. However my wifes meal was not so much the Crab cakes were covered in lime sauce. Normally a hint would be ok, however she was only able to eat half and couldn't even take the other half home. The entree cost $30.
The manger was nice enough to comp us $15 dollars of desserts. Overall the place was gorgeous and we will go back however we will not be ordering the Crab Cakes!!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Beautiful View! We summer in Northern Mich and love to try different restaurants with friends on the weekend. Windows need shades! Perhaps the mesh see through shades. It was 90 degrees and the sun was beating in on all the tables. Service was very slow. We waited 15min. to be greeted and offered a cocktail. Not acceptable. On a positive note 3 out of 4 entrees were awesome and the wine offering was plentiful and good price. We will try it again as it may have been a off night for the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 6, 2017

There was no one in the place but our server was very inattentive. She never asked if we needed more water or any additional drinks. It took over an hour just to receive our appetizers. The food was good when we finally got it, but the damage was done. Never again!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great Restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I am in Traverse City once a year for vacation, and the trip would not be complete without dinning at Aerie. It has the most spectacular view of the bay and the sunsets are amazing. The food is always a treat. The staff always goes out of their way to make your experience wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The view was outstanding. Service was poor and slow. Bus staff tried to remove plates before the entree, thought we were done. Server claimed no knowledge of wine list because she was pregnant. Lobster Bisque was horrible. Steaks were delicious. Dessert was never offered. Lobby was overrun with tweens. Not a good impression for our out-of-town guests.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great view, good steak. Atmosphere had more children then expected. A little loud. Although my waiter was great. They did not seem to have enough waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The view from the bar and the restaurant were outstanding. The food was also very good overall but the cioppino was bar none. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Enjoyed the Fish Stickers as a shareable starter. My husband enjoyed the Crab Cake and I had Otto's Chicken which was a nice combination of flavors. Enjoyed the quiet atmosphere with a great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Spent an enchanting evening dinning for our birthday weekend. She had a salmon dish with some veggies that she thought were a little on the bland side, however the salmon was terrific. I had a pork tenderloin dish that was amazing . The service was great, i was told they were out of an additive for a mixed drink I wanted, and low and behold they found some after me being disappointed.. I didn't ask, but so thankful!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Best Sunday brunch in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I recently celebrated my birthday with my family at Aerie. The view was breathtaking. We could see the whole East Bay as well as watch golfers finishing up several holes of golf. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. The food was excellent and the wait time was minimal. We will definitely be returning for many more evenings.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised. We went for the view, but the food was fantastic, the menu diverse and the service perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

An experience!!! What else can you say when you are dining on the 16th floor overlooking the majestic wine region on Northern Michigan....from the lobster bisque to the filet, mussels in vine tomato broth to the spectacular dessert, this is definitely a hidden gem, which no one talks about. Up your experience further by booking a room at the Grand Traverse Resort - whose tower houses Aerie - and take the 2 min shuttle to the beach post dinner. Heaven!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was amazing. Food taste was outstanding. Flavors popping with every bite. Great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

First of all we waited 5 mins just to be greeted at the door and another 15 before we were seated, despite showing up on time. Next we met our waiter but didn't see him again for 20 minutes before he took our drink order. The service was not very attentive and slow. It took a while for our first two courses and the main dishes to arrive. The salmon was seared on one side and actually raw on the other. The bronzini that my date had was actually cold on one said. It took some time but eventually we were able to flag the waiter and point this out. He took our partially eaten dishes away and we chose not to replace them. Eventually the manager came over and checked in. I pointed out that this was my date's Bday and he offered dessert on the house to make up for the dinner. However, when the check arrived it was still on my bill. Considering we had two entres at $30 each that were not edible, which we ended up paying for, an $8 dessert didn't seem like much of an offset. The $8 was eventually removed from the bill. We were one of the last to leave the restaurant and didn't see anyone nor receive an apology as we exited the restaurant. Over a $200 bill for two with poor inattentive service and inedible food. Not a good value!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Braised beef was burnt. The rest of the meal was subpar, with the exception of the French fries which were fantastic. Also, we ordered a bottle of wine and found it was out of stock except for an open bottle. Glasses of the open bottle were not offered which was something we would expect at a restaurant in this price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our server was outstanding. Great service and a wonderful personality. Get more like him.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 15, 2017

waitress was attentive and polite, meal was not up to price or ambiance. Two filets ordered medium well (lite pink) and came very well done. Pork roast ordered medium came very well done.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was nice. Keeping in mind it was a buffet so there wasn't much for the server to do. The buffet itself was not good. The waffles were hard and the selection wasn't great. There were only 4 items offered for the main meal. And finally, I was most disappointed with the dessert area. Everything contained bananas...or coffee flavor. Yuck! I'm a big dessert fan, and this was not pleasant. Overall, it was not the best experience for a Mother's Day meal.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was good, except when we made reservations we asked for a table by the window, and when we were seated they did not have a window table and said there was nothing noted in the reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The view was spectacular. The food was excellent and the wait staff was top notch. It can be a bit pricey, but you could spend the same for for a similar restaurant without the view and excellent service.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 20, 2017

WE WERE VERY DISAPPOINTED. THE FISH WAS DRY AND TASTELESS. OUR WATER GLASSES WERE NEVER REFILLED. OUR WINE GLASSES WERE NEVER REFILLED. OUR MAIN COURSE WAS SERVED WITHOUT SILVERWARE (WE HAD TO ASK THE WAITRESS BECAUSE SHE DIDN'T NOTICE). WE , A GROUP OF SENIOR CITIZENS, WERE ADDRESSED AS "YOU GUYS". THOUGH WE LIVE IN THE AREA, WE HAVE NO DESIRE TO RETURN YO THIS REASTURANT.

Tags: Waterfront, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It could not have been any better truly enjoyed the menu. We're celebrating our anniversary so it will a special dinner. Loved it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First time we visited this restaurant and were amazed at the view. Booth or table makes no difference...recommend table by the outside window. We went for Easter Brunch which more than meet our expectations with a fine selection of well prepared brunch items. Service was friendly and attentive! They also provided a special "kid height" buffet which was great and the dessert table was a nice end to a fine meal. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We totally enjoyed our Easter brunch, especially the crossiants plus the meats, desserts. We just plain enjoyed the good food in a delightful setting.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was my third time having brunch here and my husbands first. It was great as usual. A beautiful view, wonderful food and (almost) everybody is so friendly. Unfortunately the server we had I have had the misfortune to have before. He is not very friendly, he isn't very good about filling coffee or checking to see if you need another drink, the bill or whatever. Everybody is having the brunch buffet so the servers job isn't too difficult I wouldn't think. It seems like most of the other servers are much more attentive and friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.