About Aerie Restaurant & Lounge

100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd
Acme, MI 49610
View Larger Map

Located on the 16th Floor of the Tower at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge offers a premium casual dining experience like no other in Northern Michigan.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lounge Hours:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
1/2 mile north of the interstection of M-72 & US31

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 534-6800

Website:
http://www.grandtraverseresort.com/dining

Entertainment:
Entertainment is featured in the Aerie Lounge on Friday and Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
No charge for parking. Valet parking available for a fee.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Aerie Restaurant & Lounge
  • Aerie's Club
  • Creme Brulee
  • Bacon-wrapped Pork Tenderloin
  • Bread Pudding
  • Tuna Cocktail
Aerie Restaurant & Lounge
Aerie's Club
Creme Brulee
Bacon-wrapped Pork Tenderloin
Bread Pudding
Tuna Cocktail

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aerie Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
3 More
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan

scenic view (38)
romantic (28)
special occasion (28)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
great for brunch (9)
notable wine list (8)
good for groups (7)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We will not go back to Aerie. So many d ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

We will not go back to Aerie. So many disappointments. Starting at the beginning. We arrived at 950 for a 1000 seating. The elevators wouldn't let us go to the top level (Aerie is on the top level). We tried all 3 elevators and asked a bellman who said "they just act up sometimes". Finally we were able to press the floor button. I told the hostess about the elevator issue and was told "Oh, we lock the elevators until 10". How about a sign in the lobby then? We were among the first people to be seated. The buffet including eggs with cheese that tasted like rubber. The soup was warm not hot. A beautiful view will be the only positive comment I include here.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Even if the food was bad BUT it was good ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Even if the food was bad BUT it was good, I would go there for the view! Spectacular!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at Aerie was horrible. Our ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service at Aerie was horrible. Our waitress neglected to bring us our requested water and bread. We were not asked if we needed anything at all for quite a long time (15-20 minutes) after we were seated, and finally had to get up and request that our waitress come back to our table. The restaurant was not terribly busy, so there was no excuse. Additionally, the manager was rude when we called to discuss our terrible service later that evening. We will never go back to Aerie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I was overall disappointed with our bru ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was overall disappointed with our brunch experience. The food was inconsistent. The banana bread was terrible and my omelet was not cooked through and was runny. Other foods were very good such as the roast beef, mashed potatoes, sausage, soup and blueberry pastry.

I was very turned off that it was made clear to us at the start that only one beverage is complimentary. Except for coffee or tea included refills. I don't know how a high end restaurant can charge for a refill on orange juice. It just somehow seemed tacky to me. Also, if I wanted both coffee and orange Juice, I would have to pay for it. I can certainly understand having to pay for an alcoholic drink, but not an extra orange juice. The waitstaff was good, but we were told a manager would stop by to check on things, but that never happened.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We came for the Sunday brunch and had a ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We came for the Sunday brunch and had a wonderful time. The food was great and our server, Nicole, was delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was great, our waitress was exce ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was great, our waitress was excellent, very attentive. Beautiful views and good food. The restrooms didn't have a changing table so had to change a baby next to the sink, trying to make sure he doesn't fall or get hurt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful as always, can't beat the view ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful as always, can't beat the view and we had the privilege of sharing the night with friends from out of state

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aerie is a gorgeous environment with exc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Aerie is a gorgeous environment with exceptional views. The food was beautifully presented and the choices allowed us to satisfy both the meat eater and the vegetarian. The service was a bit rushed, we had to slow the pace down ourselves.

For a fine dining experience this rates about 4 out of 5, but the views can't be matched!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome place. We've been here twice on ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Awesome place. We've been here twice on both of our vacations to traverse (a winter vaca and summer vaca) both times part of our hotel package. Great service, unique food, and an AWESOME VIEW.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place- great location with one of ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place- great location with one of the best views in Traverse City. Not a large variety on menu, but everything we had from appetizers to dessert was excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Clearly frozen scallops. Room was half e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Clearly frozen scallops. Room was half empty but we were told our food took over 1.5 hours because of a large party. It's Friday night in the summertime, so the restaurant should be prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

We were one of three tables dining at al ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were one of three tables dining at all. The restaurant was almost empty except for a private party upstairs. I have never waited so long for food and drinks. The server was very nice but would disappear for a half hour at a time with no staff anywhere to ask what was going on. The food was way overpriced and very underwhelming. And when we could finally leave, there was no hostess and no employee to be found to discuss our experience with. The view is great and sunset was beautiful. I would go for a drink, pay immediately and eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Service

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Outstanding service by David our waiter and had the personality which helped in our celebration of our 64th wedding anniversary. Lovely evening with and incredible view and great food. Also want to thank and recognize our casino host, Jeff Bussey who made all arrangements.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, not outstanding. Wonderfu ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was good, not outstanding. Wonderful,waitress. Very helpful. Panoramic view from high floor location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Strange how they wouldn't seat us 1/2 ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Strange how they wouldn't seat us 1/2 half hour before reservation even though the place was empty. If there was a reason they should just say what it is.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious, I had the Sea Ba ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was delicious, I had the Sea Bass my husband had the Filet Mignon.

The service was also great.

The view was breath taking!!!!

Very romantic.

If we lived in TC this would be my go to place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was nice the view for me was pretty

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Has a nice view for half table. My husband and I came here for our 5 year anniversary. He was sat next to a pillar and I got the view of the sunset. The service was ok. Nothing to write home about. For the price of the meal and the setup I would expect a suggestion a wine or something. She sounded like she had fun with the other tables though. Our food was good but since there wasn't much for description we didn't really get what we thought.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Take a look at the view, maybe have a dr ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Take a look at the view, maybe have a drink at the bar and then leave. Not worth an evening spent more than a cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Had a 7:30 reservation Sat. night 4/30. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a 7:30 reservation Sat. night 4/30. Showed up at 7:00. Was told by the host that seating would be no problem as the restaurant was not busy yet. He was immediately overridden by Jilleen the hostess who said we absolutely could not be seated a minute before 7:30.

We went for a walk and discussed her rudeness before returning at the appointed time. Our server tried to provide an enjoyable evening but the kitchen was very slow and we had a 30 minute wait between first and second courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious food, great service. Make a re ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Delicious food, great service. Make a reservation around sunset, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view and so-so food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had dined here once a number of years ago and thought we'd try it again since we had a gift certificate we won at a silent auction. The view is truly spectacular and clearly the best reason to go. And the food wasn't bad per se, just not at all at the level that you might expect these days - 20 years ago it would have been amazing, but things have evolved. We also tend to like more local ingredients which clearly seemed to be lacking here. I think it will be a number of years again before we go back as there are just too many better options in town.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Anniversary

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Loved the service and view. For the price food was s disappointment. Overpriced for what you get. Salad should be included in meal.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Service was excellent on our 53rd anniversary - our server was exceptional - filet was perfectly prepared.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

wife ordered the Sea Bass. It looked like catfish. We will not be back. Used to be a good restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

T.C. Restaurant Week Dinner, February 26, 2016

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Aerie, high atop Grand Traverse Resort, is what locals think of as a special occasion restaurant, with its majestic views of the surrounding hills and water. We hadn't been to this venue since it was The Trillium, and took advantage of the Restaurant Week features. The space is still cavernous, the ambiance somewhat cold, and it's hard to catch waitstaff simply because of the concentric ring layout.

Food focus: The fried beet appetizer was interesting with its crunchy shell and prompted discussion about recreating it for a party. Grilled endive salad, although flavorful, would have been better with romaine to avoid discreet teeth-picking of the curly greens.

As to the entrees, my dining partner ordered the salmon and I had chicken. Midway through dinner, we traded plates as I liked the salmon better than the poultry - nice crisp exterior, cooked perfectly, and the shaved asparagus was an appealing side.

Both of us had the tropical dessert selection of coconut panna cotta, raspberries and passion fruit coulis. Kudos to the pastry chef as this dish was beautifully plated and offered a delicious combination of flavors.

A few negatives: There were no bread plates or salt and pepper shakers on our table and I had to ask for butter twice.

On our way out, we checked out the bar area which felt more intimate and offered a lounge menu. We plan to keep it on our list for future visits.

If you're visiting the area, go to Aerie, revel in the panoramic scenery of Grand Traverse Bay and sate your appetite with innovative food. If you are a local, go for the same reasons. It's worth adding to the trove of Traverse City food finds.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We loved the ambiance and the view at the restaurant. The only thing was that our server kept coming by every 2 min. We felt like we were at the Olive Garden for a few minutes there.

She kept pushing at what we wanted next and next while we were chilling with drinks.

We're the fine dining type who like to be disturbed as little as possible and plan to spend a couple of hours enjoying our experience. We had not even decided what to order for dinner and

our server came up and asked us what we wanted for dessert!! We were pretty ticked and she figured that out and left us alone. Don't let Alex be your server.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Valentines Day

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Fresh and delicious food , loved the music and the view is beautiful!! We will be back

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Velentine's Get Away

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our fourth year booking the "Do Not Disturb" package over Valentine's weekend. Saturday evening dinner and Sunday brunch at the Aerie were amazing. See you next year!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday brunch is awesome.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Sunday brunch is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Disappointed

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My girlfriends and I live in the Grand Traverse County area. We were surprising our friend with a night away. She has had a rough year raising her 3 & 4 year old mostly alone as her husband is out of town frequently, she's suffered a few tragic deaths in the family, etc. We booked a tower room and made reservations at Aerie for what was supposed to be a beautiful dinner. Our server (never disclosed his name) was fair, but seemed abrupt and not very accomodating. We really wanted this to feel special for Meagan. We ordered calamari and shrimp cocktail to share to start and it was sub par.( Barely enough to share and way over priced.) Clearly the shrimp was frozen and thawed, it was mushy and not good. The calamari was mostly breading and not good. We went on to order filets and sides of scallops. For $15 we received 2 scallops each the size of quarters and they were so salty they were inedible. We all sent them back. Meagan's filet was the same, so salty it actually crunched in your teeth, she sent it away. By this point she was so disappointed in her meal she settled for a bowl of over priced soup. The entire experience was terrible and we will never recommend this restaurant to anyone and trust me when I say we see several hundred clients a month between the four of us. The waiter tried to justify (very condescendenly) that "we should know that scallops come from the sea which is why they are salty". He doesn't know us! I've traveled the world and eaten scallops a lot of places and NEVER have they tasted so bad. Shame on him! The view was nice, though living here, it was the only thing that didn't surprise us.

Michelle

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food, great view

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Ambiance is perfect, view is unmatched. Servers were helpful, courteous and friendly. Food was well-made, perfect temp, and servers were friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

thought the food was on the cold side.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We had the brunch and new fish was brought out and it was not hot.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

a bit dissapointed about the NYE's offering

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

When we arrived they didn't have some of the menu items, which was disappointing. The portions were also relatively small considering the price (55$ pp). The waiter tried to make accommodations but it was still sup par. They also had a band playing but those sitting in the front part of the restaurant (like us) couldn't hear the music. It was a bummer considering that this is a beautiful restaurant with astonishing views, and their christmas brunch is great. They should consider doing a NYE's buffet instead of what they did this year...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Ridiculous Rip Off

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

We came here after a beautiful, memorable Christmas dinner a few years back.....BUT what adiffernce....it was simply a joke..... Service was slow (but very kind and courteous), no bread, no salads included with a $ 40.00 Filet....and the portions were RIDICULOUS.....so small....2 scallops was the whole appetizer...and tiny a arugula salad - sans arugula, (spinach, pine nuts and feta for 12.00 bucks), for our entre' my wife had quail was the size of two bites of a chicken wing.....my filet was less than 5 oz for 40 bucks......

We laughed instead of crying for 115.00 - NEVER will we go back........insane!!

Ended the evening going for take out afterwards at Culvers!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Christmas Buffet

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Food was not hot. I had expected more choice of both side and main dishes. Salmon was dry and overcooked. I expected a higher quality of food. Dessert bar was excellent as was the omelet station. Servicer had too many tables to tend to at once, so not much personal attention although she was pleasant

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Buffet's are not my favorite form of a m ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Buffet's are not my favorite form of a meal.

I found the dessert table not that great & the breads many were dried out.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a very pleasant experience here

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Very nice views, friendly service and good food. Recomendeded.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and location

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

The food at Aerie is consistently excellent, with a changing menu and local fare. At the top of the Grand Traverse Resort Hotel, Aerie also has the most scenic view in the Traverse City area. This is a great place for date night, with a quiet ambiance and attentive, but reserved servers. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great choice!!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

This was the first time we have ever gone out to eat for thanksgiving and we will definitely be coming back BEFORE the next thanksgiving holiday!! Food, service and atmosphere were ALL above par!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Thanksgiving Buffet

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

The turkey and stuffing was okay but I loved the bread pudding.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.