About Aerie Restaurant & Lounge

100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd
Acme, MI 49610
View Larger Map

Located on the 16th Floor of the Tower at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge offers a premium casual dining experience like no other in Northern Michigan.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lounge Hours:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
1/2 mile north of the interstection of M-72 & US31

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 534-6800

Website:
http://www.grandtraverseresort.com/dining

Entertainment:
Entertainment is featured in the Aerie Lounge on Friday and Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
No charge for parking. Valet parking available for a fee.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
  • Creme Brulee - Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
  • Bacon-wrapped Pork Tenderloin - Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
  • Bread Pudding - Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
  • Tuna Cocktail  - Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
  • Aerie's Club - Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
Creme Brulee - Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
Bacon-wrapped Pork Tenderloin - Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
Bread Pudding - Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
Tuna Cocktail  - Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI
Aerie's Club - Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, Acme, MI

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

This year spend Christmas relaxing and enjoying your time with family and friends while Aerie Restaurant takes care of the cooking. Join us Sunday, December 25 from 11am to 5pm for a Christmas Day Dinner complete with all of your holiday favorites as well as innovative fresh fare.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us on the scenic 16th Floor of our Tower for a romantic New Year's Eve celebration, featuring a three course dinner menu with optional wine package. We will feature live acoustic music by John Pomeroy and dinner includes entry into the Level 17 dance party starting at 10pm.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aerie Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
5 More
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan

Scenic View (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Romantic (14)
Good for a Date (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Waterfront (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They were behind in their reservations. ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 24, 2016

They were behind in their reservations. We were on time but had to wait 40 mins. The women handling the reception station were obviously inexperienced. Inauspicious beginning to our Thanksgiving meal. The buffet was somewhat picked over and they were out of pumpkin pie. Overall it was a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We had our reservation a week and a half ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had our reservation a week and a half before the occasion and we still waited about 20 minutes to be seated. It seemed they were not ready this year like they had been in the past years for the thanksgiving dinner. It was good value for money though considering the ambience. We did not see as much of the artisan bread as they used to prepare for this event. The turkey was very good and so was the table of desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

Music was acceptable but too loud. Vege ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Music was acceptable but too loud.

Vegetable selection was poor and what was offered was not very tender or tasty

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We are repeat customers for the Thanksgi ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We are repeat customers for the Thanksgiving buffet (and often for Easter) and I made our reservations early (over a month in advance thru Open Table). We arrived and we were told that we could sit in the back area or up on the 17th floor where another complete buffet was offered. We chose the 17th floor and were given a table with no view off to the far side. Service at the table was not up to Aerie standards of the past. The staff people at the buffet tables were great. The food was great also, although the trimmings for the lox were there, but no lox and no sign indicating there be some coming. I guess we just didn't feel like we quite fit in this year.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Ambiance was great, food is overpriced, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ambiance was great, food is overpriced, and our waitress did not have a clue what was going on around her.

Next time I will choose a different restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

They were very accommodating, especially ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

They were very accommodating, especially since their requirement was only a party of 8 could be reserved online. I had a special request in the comments for a larger party and they actually called me to arrange.

Food was nicely presented and excellent. Limited menu, but that is kind of nice.

A couple of my clients said their meals were "cold", but tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the worst service and there wasn' ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had the worst service and there wasn't but a few tables occupied in the whole restaurant. Young waitress didn't know anything about the drink or food menu and had to leave to ask several times an would be gone for an extended amount of time each time. However, view was beautiful and food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We were there for the Jamician special a ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were there for the Jamician special and it was worth the drive it would have been nice to review the everyday menu to see if this was someplace to put on the everyday radar

Our server was wonderful Jenny was her name

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and the view amazin ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was awesome and the view amazing out over the golf course and a beautiful view of Lake Michigan in the background. The service was too notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere and beautiful scene ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and beautiful scenery over the bay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish tasted very fishy, probably old. Fe ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Fish tasted very fishy, probably old. Fettuccine was thick and sticky.

The lamb dish was good.

Nice atmosphere. But doesn't compensate for poor food prep.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

This restaurant has spectacular service. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This restaurant has spectacular service. Our server, David, was especially remarkable. My partner mis-read the menu and ordered something that she did not mean to order. It was an accident on our part. When she asked to order something else, he did not hesitate or make us feel bad for the mistake. He also was incredibly attentive (as were the other staff) with checking on us, refilling water glasses, and giving us updates about our food.

In addition to the fantastic service, the views and ambiance at this restaurant are top notch. I highly recommend dinner here. As an aside, I recommend trying the cheese plate AND making sure to try all the various oils that come with the bread.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good, but I feel the quality has ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food is good, but I feel the quality has gone down some. Use to have two carving stations for prime rib and ham. Also, used to have a cheese tray with crackers. Would also be nice to have the deserts to be a bit larger and refills on the mimosas. Only get one mimosa?

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful view of the water. I'm Beyonce ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Beautiful view of the water. I'm Beyonce was very relaxing. Service was also quite good.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

very nice restaurant, excellent food, vi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

very nice restaurant, excellent food, view... only issue is we waited what seemed like a long time for someone to greet us and seat us...seemed kind of strange..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was prepared very well with good pr ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was prepared very well with good presentation. Only negative was the fried oysters were very small for the price.

The filet was excellent and prepared perfectly. The wait staff did a very good job

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

All I can say is wow!!! I'll leave the e ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 29, 2016

All I can say is wow!!! I'll leave the element of surprise up to the guest #youshouldbehere

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch at Aerie is something we t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sunday brunch at Aerie is something we try to do every year when we are in Northern Michigan. The buffet table goes forever, with more choices than you could possibly enjoy. And then there is the view...probably the best in the region from this 16th floor stunner.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to go here once a year as a treat ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I try to go here once a year as a treat while vacationing in Traverse City. The view is breathtaking, especially at sunset! The food is always so good. The service is always great and the atmosphere is unbeatable. It's worth every penny!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Celebrated our 39t ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful experience. Celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary. It was cloudy and still so beautiful looking out over Traverse Bay. The ambience was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice setting but food not served hot. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Nice setting but food not served hot. Not worth the money for the view only.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great Sunday brunch. Well prepared and n ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great Sunday brunch. Well prepared and nicely presented. Well worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great service. Outstanding vi ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food, great service. Outstanding view. Hard to beat that triple play.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent venue for Sunday Brunch. The ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent venue for Sunday Brunch. The omelet station and all the food was excellent and a free mimosa is included. Amazing view over East Grand Traverse Bay and the Bear golf course as well. We did a post wedding brunch and several special occasion Sunday Brunches here as well and all were excellent and good values.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful view. Service was average cons ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Beautiful view. Service was average considering that not many people were dining. Menu selections were limited. Dessert options were very limited; three options to be exact and one was fruit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Beautiful spot for Sunday Brunch....very ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful spot for Sunday Brunch....very nice offerings...not your usual scrambled eggs and sausage...well prepared and delicious. A great value at a reasonable price point. Always a "must do" when visiting Traverse City.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious and th ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and the portions were perfect. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly. We highly recommend Aerie

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service. Good food with a tw ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding service. Good food with a twist. We took our grandaughter and she was the only child there, but there was a nice children's menu. Very upscale.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view from the 16th is breath-taking. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The view from the 16th is breath-taking. Our meals (rack of lamb and salmon) was well prepared. Our server (Stacy) was a joy thorough out our evening was always helpful and a joy to be around.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went to brunch with my husband, which we ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went to brunch with my husband, which we rarely do. It was wonderful! Food is really fabulous, service was really great, and the view is the best in Traverse City!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was not good and over priced for th ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was not good and over priced for the quality. Nice atmosphere and scenery, but definitely not worth it for poor food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The friendly service and the food was de ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The friendly service and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The view was great. Too bad the service ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The view was great. Too bad the service didn't stack up to it. We had to wave down servers to get anything. And if you're going to serve Eggs Benedict - someone in the kitchen needs to learn how to poach an egg. They were waaay overdone. Other than that, the food was quite adequate. I'd go again in hopes of better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We will not go back to Aerie. So many d ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We will not go back to Aerie. So many disappointments. Starting at the beginning. We arrived at 950 for a 1000 seating. The elevators wouldn't let us go to the top level (Aerie is on the top level). We tried all 3 elevators and asked a bellman who said "they just act up sometimes". Finally we were able to press the floor button. I told the hostess about the elevator issue and was told "Oh, we lock the elevators until 10". How about a sign in the lobby then? We were among the first people to be seated. The buffet including eggs with cheese that tasted like rubber. The soup was warm not hot. A beautiful view will be the only positive comment I include here.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Even if the food was bad BUT it was good ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Even if the food was bad BUT it was good, I would go there for the view! Spectacular!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at Aerie was horrible. Our ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service at Aerie was horrible. Our waitress neglected to bring us our requested water and bread. We were not asked if we needed anything at all for quite a long time (15-20 minutes) after we were seated, and finally had to get up and request that our waitress come back to our table. The restaurant was not terribly busy, so there was no excuse. Additionally, the manager was rude when we called to discuss our terrible service later that evening. We will never go back to Aerie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I was overall disappointed with our bru ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was overall disappointed with our brunch experience. The food was inconsistent. The banana bread was terrible and my omelet was not cooked through and was runny. Other foods were very good such as the roast beef, mashed potatoes, sausage, soup and blueberry pastry.

I was very turned off that it was made clear to us at the start that only one beverage is complimentary. Except for coffee or tea included refills. I don't know how a high end restaurant can charge for a refill on orange juice. It just somehow seemed tacky to me. Also, if I wanted both coffee and orange Juice, I would have to pay for it. I can certainly understand having to pay for an alcoholic drink, but not an extra orange juice. The waitstaff was good, but we were told a manager would stop by to check on things, but that never happened.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We ate all appetizers and stayed a long ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2016

We ate all appetizers and stayed a long time. Had drinks and wine. It was a lovely evening for two. I would stay away from the tenderloin tips appetizer. Mushy and like stew meat. No carmelization. Others were good but not memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We came for the Sunday brunch and had a ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We came for the Sunday brunch and had a wonderful time. The food was great and our server, Nicole, was delightful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was great, our waitress was exce ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was great, our waitress was excellent, very attentive. Beautiful views and good food. The restrooms didn't have a changing table so had to change a baby next to the sink, trying to make sure he doesn't fall or get hurt.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.