Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Aerie Restaurant & Lounge

Located on the 16th Floor of the Tower at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge offers a premium casual dining experience like no other in Northern Michigan.

100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd
Acme, MI 49610
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lounge Hours:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
1/2 mile north of the interstection of M-72 & US31

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 534-6800

Website:
http://www.grandtraverseresort.com/dining/aerie-restaurant-lounge

Entertainment:
Entertainment is featured in the Grand Lobby below Aerie Restaurant on Friday and Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
No charge for parking. Valet parking available for a fee.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us this Thanksgiving in Aerie Restaurant & Lounge for our popular Thanksgiving buffet.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aerie Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

Noise

Quiet

80% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (38)
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Waterfront (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was outstanding. Our wait staff took very good care of us during our visit. The food overall was excellent. Only minor cooking related issues but overall awesome. The view is unbeatable. Pricing is on the high end so this is not a value option. Best for special events more than a daily spot to go. Great for the experienced foodie.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 4 days ago

Still the best Sunday brunch in TC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Restaurant with a view that cannot be beat! Delicious food & Caymus by the glass. Our server Michael was attentive & professional. Great go to when you don’t want to sit in a traffic jam trying to get to downtown Traverse City. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had our Anniversary dinner here...everything was excellent..our waiter David was amazing. His recommendations were spot on...we will definitely come back every time we are in Traverse City. If you want awesome food at reasonable prices, this is a must, and the views aren't bad either.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We also had dinner there the night before. Special Jamican menu.. a bit disappointing all the way around. Service was an issue. We had to be asked if someone was taking care of our table
and then felt we were getting substandard service. At dinner had to tell them how to make my
dirty martini.. and at brunch had to wait on coffee because we we were told they couldn't keep
up because it was so busy.. Although there were empty tables. Also had breakfast at Sweetwater friday morning.. and again advised to get breakfast buffet as ordering off the menu
wasn't a good idea because they were so busy.. empty tables as well..

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We were there spending an evening celebrating our Wedding Anniversary. The view from our table was amazing. The waitress, food and drinks were wonderful. We really enjoyed our food and experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent experience, the staff was outstanding and the food was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We were attending a conference and chose Aerie for a small client appreciation meal. We ended up choosing wonderful appetizers, wine and dessert and the views and ambiance were spectacular. I look forward to the next opportunity to dine here and visit the Grand Traverse resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Worth it. And far surpasses the terrible service and mediocre menu at Sweetwater Bistro, and the bar food at Jax. The food was excellent, and a fabulous drink menu. Make a reservation though. If you don't they will not allow you to sit in the restaurant but will ask you to sit at the bar which has a limited menu. It's weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Aerie restaurant and lounge exceeded expectations . The food was excellent, the waitstaff was professional, helpful and fun. And the view of the sunset over Grand Traverse Bay was second to none. It was a n exceptional overall experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great dining experience at Aerie to celebrate my birthday. Service was excellent and dinner delicious. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We went for appetizers, dessert and the view around sunset after a full day of a wine tasting tour. A great ending to a wonderful day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our server was not good at refilling drinks, clearing table between brunch courses, etc. She seemed too busy and distracted. The food was good, not great (main course selection was limited to 2 items, and pecan pie was burned).

Staff needs some additional customer service training to be serving $$$ brunch. But the view was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food! Views and service were outstanding. I would definitely recommend your restaurant for any occasion

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

The quality of the food matched the breathtaking view of Grand Traverse Bay! An outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Aerie is a great choice for those living on or near the Chain of Lakes who do not wish to drive the extra miles to Traverse City. The meals are comparable to TVC's foodie scene and the view is spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We had a great dinner, steaks were delisious. Actually, all courses were great tasting! The staff were very nice. Watched a beautiful sunset to complete a great time.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing food, service and views that can't be beat!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Aerie has always been one of our favorite places; it's a special destination for us. On this trip, we dined there on two consecutive nights. Our servers were Jenny the first night and Michael the second. They provided excellent service with care and enthusiasm. The food at Aerie is alwas top-notch, and the servers go out of their way to make the evening even more enjoyable. The sunset photo was taken from our table on the second night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

View is amazing but staff seems inexperienced. Lemon pepper risotto w/lobster was overpowered by too much pepper.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Charles our waiter was friendly and attentive and gave us good information on our choices. We had a great Pinot Noir wine. Had a good conversation with the wine guy, sorry forgot his name, about the wine and how he picked. The view is great and with storms blowing in and out we felt like we were in the clouds. Been to the place before it hasn't disappointed up.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Spicy, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Lovely evening in a beautiful setting celebrating 25 years of marriage. Great views of the lake and resort grounds. Restaurant wasn't full, so seating was quick, however, after our order was placed, way too much time had passed before receiving our appetizers and drinks. But once received, everything was scrumptious! Hubby's salmon was perfect; my kale & spring salad with roasted chicken was delish! Our fabulous server, Jenny, informed me that the chicken was from the farm down the road. :-) She and another server/host (whose name we did not get) went over the top taking pictures of us, providing a local sparkling wine for our celebration and just helping to make the evening special. The chocolate cake and the caramel apple compote (or something like that) were exquisite, too. Overall, a memorable evening that was worthy of a 25th anniversary celebration.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was excellent and service by Jenny was awesome. We will definitely return

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our family enjoyed a lovely and delicious Sunday brunch. The food was excellent, the service fantastic, the view almost cloudless. Our server was from Jamaica and he was friendly and interesting to talk to. Sorry I've forgotten his name.
A delightful time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our reservation was for 1015 & seated immediately. Our server from Jamaica and was fabulous. We were excited to have brunch since it was talked about so much. Omelet was wonderful and so was croissant but the "hot" food was warm at best & very average.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always a great experience. Views are second to none and food is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our meal was exquisite and our waiter, Michael, was top shelf. Thanks for the great experience as awesome food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Beautiful views of the bay, good service and the food was delicious. Very pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were there for brunch. There were many great choices including mini bagels, lox and cream cheese, made to order omelettes, salad bar, dessert bar, and pastries as well as breakfast and lunch choices. Service was a bit off with drinks and attention to the table and the overdone eggs benedict on an oversized piece of bread and flat hollandaise were the only negatives. The view of East Bay and the area is breath taking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The only good that came from this dining experience was the view, which is on the 16th floor of the casino tower. The service was terrible, the food was luke warm and mediocre, the music was loud and sounded like we were in a night club rather than soothing sounds of dinner music. It was our Anniversary and we ended up leaving early and paying $126.00 for a couple of drinks a soup, a salad, and a couple of entrees in which I left my dinner untouched especially when I was served a butter knife when expected to eat a fish meal. The whole experience was very upsetting and the manager of the restaurant proceeded to bicker with me and suggested that we may just want to have drinks and leave. When we were served the entrees that were semi-cold and the service was disastrous, I jumped up from my chair and told my husband I am paying the bill (at the hostess stand) and I will be right back! We left right after that and do not ever plan to dine there again!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Always enjoy Otto Chicken, it's a real favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was good.
Food was average or less than average.
Food was expensive for portion size and quality. 2 items not available from the menu - scallops and Barzini
300% markup on some of the wine.

We had lunch at trattoria Stella. Difficult to measure up too despite trattoria being less expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I just love being at this restaurant at sunset. The sun is in your eyes if you sit by the window, but its worth it to watch the sunset. I had the crab and avocado salad as my main course and it's delicious. The fish portions are on the stingy side, and the steak is pretty good. But its the VIEW that counts.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Beautiful view!! We had the filet entree and added the lobster risotto to share. Everything was prepared perfectly with amazing flavors!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service and customer treatment was terrible, the food was good. Is it worth it? No

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Booked our table same day via open table. We were seated at the very first table right at the entrance which was not ideal given the traffic of guests in and out. Service was good, but not great, which for the price I would expect a bit more. Our waiter started off pretty attentive and overall was ok, but would disappear for extended periods and also carried a bit of an arrogant attitude at times. Check took waay too long to get and process at the end of our meal.
The food: Fresh bread with cloves of garlic and butter was quite tasty. We requested it so not sure if it comes anyway or not. My in laws shared the heirloom tomato as their opening dish and both thought it was very good. My wife and I each started with the lobster bisque and we both found it disappointing. It comes as a broth, rather than a creamy bisque, and tasted a bit bitter.
The main courses are where this place shined. I had the pork tenderloin and it was outstanding. My wife had the blackened branzino, which I also got to try, and it was terrific. My father in law really enjoyed the cioppino and his wife likewise raved about the short ribs. The ambiance is formal but guests ranged from casual to formal in their attire. The view can be spectacular although we were there on a rainy, foggy night and missed most of that, although we were treated to a spectacular sunset. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent service; very good food, though somewhat limited choices; amazing views, even in rainy, cloudy weather; very good wine list; a bit on the expensive side.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was cooked downstairs , brought up to the 16th floor . Deserts were better then rest of the food . We were there for brunch , pork was good but not tender . Bacon was not crisp . Not a great selection of higher end food for the $23 per person price . Heard before we went to the restaurant that price included one glass of champagne . No one offered the champagne . When I asked about it , I was told I already had a glass of oj . That was my one drink . They would charge me for my champagne . Much better meal and value at Apache Trout !! . My dining guest gave an overall rating of a 5 out of 10 . I gave the restaurant a 4 out of 10 . I hope this review helps .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Brunch was good but the variety of food was not what it has been previously

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great vista views, great service, and reasonable prices for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.