About Aerie Restaurant & Lounge

100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd
Acme, MI 49610
View Larger Map

Located on the 16th Floor of the Tower at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge offers a premium casual dining experience like no other in Northern Michigan.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lounge Hours:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
1/2 mile north of the interstection of M-72 & US31

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 534-6800

Website:
http://www.grandtraverseresort.com/dining

Entertainment:
Entertainment is featured in the Aerie Lounge on Friday and Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
No charge for parking. Valet parking available for a fee.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Aerie Restaurant & Lounge
  • Aerie's Club
  • Creme Brulee
  • Bacon-wrapped Pork Tenderloin
  • Bread Pudding
  • Tuna Cocktail
Aerie Restaurant & Lounge
Aerie's Club
Creme Brulee
Bacon-wrapped Pork Tenderloin
Bread Pudding
Tuna Cocktail

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aerie Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Romantic
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
5 More
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Romantic
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan

Scenic View (37)
Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (27)
See All
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Waterfront (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I try to go here once a year as a treat ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I try to go here once a year as a treat while vacationing in Traverse City. The view is breathtaking, especially at sunset! The food is always so good. The service is always great and the atmosphere is unbeatable. It's worth every penny!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Celebrated our 39t ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful experience. Celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary. It was cloudy and still so beautiful looking out over Traverse Bay. The ambience was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice setting but food not served hot. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Nice setting but food not served hot. Not worth the money for the view only.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great Sunday brunch. Well prepared and n ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great Sunday brunch. Well prepared and nicely presented. Well worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great service. Outstanding vi ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food, great service. Outstanding view. Hard to beat that triple play.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent venue for Sunday Brunch. The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent venue for Sunday Brunch. The omelet station and all the food was excellent and a free mimosa is included. Amazing view over East Grand Traverse Bay and the Bear golf course as well. We did a post wedding brunch and several special occasion Sunday Brunches here as well and all were excellent and good values.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful view. Service was average cons ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Beautiful view. Service was average considering that not many people were dining. Menu selections were limited. Dessert options were very limited; three options to be exact and one was fruit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Beautiful spot for Sunday Brunch....very ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful spot for Sunday Brunch....very nice offerings...not your usual scrambled eggs and sausage...well prepared and delicious. A great value at a reasonable price point. Always a "must do" when visiting Traverse City.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious and th ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and the portions were perfect. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly. We highly recommend Aerie

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service. Good food with a tw ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding service. Good food with a twist. We took our grandaughter and she was the only child there, but there was a nice children's menu. Very upscale.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view from the 16th is breath-taking. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The view from the 16th is breath-taking. Our meals (rack of lamb and salmon) was well prepared. Our server (Stacy) was a joy thorough out our evening was always helpful and a joy to be around.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went to brunch with my husband, which we ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went to brunch with my husband, which we rarely do. It was wonderful! Food is really fabulous, service was really great, and the view is the best in Traverse City!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was not good and over priced for th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was not good and over priced for the quality. Nice atmosphere and scenery, but definitely not worth it for poor food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The friendly service and the food was de ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The friendly service and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The view was great. Too bad the service ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The view was great. Too bad the service didn't stack up to it. We had to wave down servers to get anything. And if you're going to serve Eggs Benedict - someone in the kitchen needs to learn how to poach an egg. They were waaay overdone. Other than that, the food was quite adequate. I'd go again in hopes of better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We will not go back to Aerie. So many d ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We will not go back to Aerie. So many disappointments. Starting at the beginning. We arrived at 950 for a 1000 seating. The elevators wouldn't let us go to the top level (Aerie is on the top level). We tried all 3 elevators and asked a bellman who said "they just act up sometimes". Finally we were able to press the floor button. I told the hostess about the elevator issue and was told "Oh, we lock the elevators until 10". How about a sign in the lobby then? We were among the first people to be seated. The buffet including eggs with cheese that tasted like rubber. The soup was warm not hot. A beautiful view will be the only positive comment I include here.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Even if the food was bad BUT it was good ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Even if the food was bad BUT it was good, I would go there for the view! Spectacular!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at Aerie was horrible. Our ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service at Aerie was horrible. Our waitress neglected to bring us our requested water and bread. We were not asked if we needed anything at all for quite a long time (15-20 minutes) after we were seated, and finally had to get up and request that our waitress come back to our table. The restaurant was not terribly busy, so there was no excuse. Additionally, the manager was rude when we called to discuss our terrible service later that evening. We will never go back to Aerie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I was overall disappointed with our bru ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was overall disappointed with our brunch experience. The food was inconsistent. The banana bread was terrible and my omelet was not cooked through and was runny. Other foods were very good such as the roast beef, mashed potatoes, sausage, soup and blueberry pastry.

I was very turned off that it was made clear to us at the start that only one beverage is complimentary. Except for coffee or tea included refills. I don't know how a high end restaurant can charge for a refill on orange juice. It just somehow seemed tacky to me. Also, if I wanted both coffee and orange Juice, I would have to pay for it. I can certainly understand having to pay for an alcoholic drink, but not an extra orange juice. The waitstaff was good, but we were told a manager would stop by to check on things, but that never happened.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We ate all appetizers and stayed a long ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We ate all appetizers and stayed a long time. Had drinks and wine. It was a lovely evening for two. I would stay away from the tenderloin tips appetizer. Mushy and like stew meat. No carmelization. Others were good but not memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We came for the Sunday brunch and had a ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We came for the Sunday brunch and had a wonderful time. The food was great and our server, Nicole, was delightful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was great, our waitress was exce ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was great, our waitress was excellent, very attentive. Beautiful views and good food. The restrooms didn't have a changing table so had to change a baby next to the sink, trying to make sure he doesn't fall or get hurt.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful as always, can't beat the view ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful as always, can't beat the view and we had the privilege of sharing the night with friends from out of state

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aerie is a gorgeous environment with exc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Aerie is a gorgeous environment with exceptional views. The food was beautifully presented and the choices allowed us to satisfy both the meat eater and the vegetarian. The service was a bit rushed, we had to slow the pace down ourselves.

For a fine dining experience this rates about 4 out of 5, but the views can't be matched!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome place. We've been here twice on ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Awesome place. We've been here twice on both of our vacations to traverse (a winter vaca and summer vaca) both times part of our hotel package. Great service, unique food, and an AWESOME VIEW.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place- great location with one of ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place- great location with one of the best views in Traverse City. Not a large variety on menu, but everything we had from appetizers to dessert was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Clearly frozen scallops. Room was half e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Clearly frozen scallops. Room was half empty but we were told our food took over 1.5 hours because of a large party. It's Friday night in the summertime, so the restaurant should be prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

We were one of three tables dining at al ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were one of three tables dining at all. The restaurant was almost empty except for a private party upstairs. I have never waited so long for food and drinks. The server was very nice but would disappear for a half hour at a time with no staff anywhere to ask what was going on. The food was way overpriced and very underwhelming. And when we could finally leave, there was no hostess and no employee to be found to discuss our experience with. The view is great and sunset was beautiful. I would go for a drink, pay immediately and eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Service

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Outstanding service by David our waiter and had the personality which helped in our celebration of our 64th wedding anniversary. Lovely evening with and incredible view and great food. Also want to thank and recognize our casino host, Jeff Bussey who made all arrangements.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, not outstanding. Wonderfu ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was good, not outstanding. Wonderful,waitress. Very helpful. Panoramic view from high floor location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Strange how they wouldn't seat us 1/2 ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Strange how they wouldn't seat us 1/2 half hour before reservation even though the place was empty. If there was a reason they should just say what it is.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious, I had the Sea Ba ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was delicious, I had the Sea Bass my husband had the Filet Mignon.

The service was also great.

The view was breath taking!!!!

Very romantic.

If we lived in TC this would be my go to place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was nice the view for me was pretty

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Has a nice view for half table. My husband and I came here for our 5 year anniversary. He was sat next to a pillar and I got the view of the sunset. The service was ok. Nothing to write home about. For the price of the meal and the setup I would expect a suggestion a wine or something. She sounded like she had fun with the other tables though. Our food was good but since there wasn't much for description we didn't really get what we thought.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Take a look at the view, maybe have a dr ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Take a look at the view, maybe have a drink at the bar and then leave. Not worth an evening spent more than a cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Had a 7:30 reservation Sat. night 4/30. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a 7:30 reservation Sat. night 4/30. Showed up at 7:00. Was told by the host that seating would be no problem as the restaurant was not busy yet. He was immediately overridden by Jilleen the hostess who said we absolutely could not be seated a minute before 7:30.

We went for a walk and discussed her rudeness before returning at the appointed time. Our server tried to provide an enjoyable evening but the kitchen was very slow and we had a 30 minute wait between first and second courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious food, great service. Make a re ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Delicious food, great service. Make a reservation around sunset, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view and so-so food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had dined here once a number of years ago and thought we'd try it again since we had a gift certificate we won at a silent auction. The view is truly spectacular and clearly the best reason to go. And the food wasn't bad per se, just not at all at the level that you might expect these days - 20 years ago it would have been amazing, but things have evolved. We also tend to like more local ingredients which clearly seemed to be lacking here. I think it will be a number of years again before we go back as there are just too many better options in town.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Anniversary

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Loved the service and view. For the price food was s disappointment. Overpriced for what you get. Salad should be included in meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Service was excellent on our 53rd anniversary - our server was exceptional - filet was perfectly prepared.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

wife ordered the Sea Bass. It looked like catfish. We will not be back. Used to be a good restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.