Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Aerie Restaurant & Lounge

Located on the 16th Floor of the Tower at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge offers a premium casual dining experience like no other in Northern Michigan.

100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd
Acme, MI 49610
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lounge Hours:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
1/2 mile north of the interstection of M-72 & US31

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 534-6800

Website:
http://www.grandtraverseresort.com/dining/aerie-restaurant-lounge

Entertainment:
Entertainment is featured in the Aerie Lounge on Friday and Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
No charge for parking. Valet parking available for a fee.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aerie Restaurant & Lounge can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aerie Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.5

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (27)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Worth the Drive (12)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Waterfront (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great Beer (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Always enjoy Otto Chicken, it's a real favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was good.
Food was average or less than average.
Food was expensive for portion size and quality. 2 items not available from the menu - scallops and Barzini
300% markup on some of the wine.

We had lunch at trattoria Stella. Difficult to measure up too despite trattoria being less expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I just love being at this restaurant at sunset. The sun is in your eyes if you sit by the window, but its worth it to watch the sunset. I had the crab and avocado salad as my main course and it's delicious. The fish portions are on the stingy side, and the steak is pretty good. But its the VIEW that counts.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Beautiful view!! We had the filet entree and added the lobster risotto to share. Everything was prepared perfectly with amazing flavors!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service and customer treatment was terrible, the food was good. Is it worth it? No

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Booked our table same day via open table. We were seated at the very first table right at the entrance which was not ideal given the traffic of guests in and out. Service was good, but not great, which for the price I would expect a bit more. Our waiter started off pretty attentive and overall was ok, but would disappear for extended periods and also carried a bit of an arrogant attitude at times. Check took waay too long to get and process at the end of our meal.
The food: Fresh bread with cloves of garlic and butter was quite tasty. We requested it so not sure if it comes anyway or not. My in laws shared the heirloom tomato as their opening dish and both thought it was very good. My wife and I each started with the lobster bisque and we both found it disappointing. It comes as a broth, rather than a creamy bisque, and tasted a bit bitter.
The main courses are where this place shined. I had the pork tenderloin and it was outstanding. My wife had the blackened branzino, which I also got to try, and it was terrific. My father in law really enjoyed the cioppino and his wife likewise raved about the short ribs. The ambiance is formal but guests ranged from casual to formal in their attire. The view can be spectacular although we were there on a rainy, foggy night and missed most of that, although we were treated to a spectacular sunset. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent service; very good food, though somewhat limited choices; amazing views, even in rainy, cloudy weather; very good wine list; a bit on the expensive side.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was cooked downstairs , brought up to the 16th floor . Deserts were better then rest of the food . We were there for brunch , pork was good but not tender . Bacon was not crisp . Not a great selection of higher end food for the $23 per person price . Heard before we went to the restaurant that price included one glass of champagne . No one offered the champagne . When I asked about it , I was told I already had a glass of oj . That was my one drink . They would charge me for my champagne . Much better meal and value at Apache Trout !! . My dining guest gave an overall rating of a 5 out of 10 . I gave the restaurant a 4 out of 10 . I hope this review helps .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Brunch was good but the variety of food was not what it has been previously

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great vista views, great service, and reasonable prices for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The view was spectacular and the service was attentive and accommodating. We did not enjoy our cocktails, the lobster bisque soup or the dessert. Our entrees were excellent! We probably should have voiced our disappointment as we noticed a table next to us did so and their bill was adjusted. Overall nice ambiance. The tables were cozy.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Wouldn't recommend it. Poor service, rude staff and way too expensive for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Average food. Painfully slow service. Beautiful sunset (except for lack of any window shade to block it from those facing it).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Really enjoyed the buffet, especially the pastries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very good overall experience, but they could do better. We had notified the restaurant, through Open Table, that is was our 45th wedding anniversary, but the only acknowledgement was from the host when we checked in. They could have done better.
Our waiter, Michael was very good, but the restaurant needs to work on their timing. We had to ask for bread and they brought out our dinners before my wife has finished her salad.
Michael's recommendation for our entrees was perfect, exceptional view, great wine list and very good desserts.
All in all we are glad that we had our anniversary dinner at Aerie.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Our dinner was amazing! They view is breathtaking. Service is incredible, waiter was kind, attentive, and very personable. From the appetizer to dessert, everything was phenomenal. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Lived in Traverse City since 1996 and this was my first time eating at the top of the Grand Traverse resort.

We went on a Tuesday evening at 7:30 pm 7-17-2017 for my wife's birthday. It was really nice, wear sunglasses on sunny days. Food was great and they served decent portion sizes. Cost was $28-$35 per plate. Good presentation of food on the plate and good service from wait staff. Total bill was just under $200 for two adults and two boys over 17, so plan on $50 per person with appetizers and a few mixed drinks.

We ordered the mussels and heirloom tomatoes for appraisers. Crab cakes, Scallops, Filet, and NY strip for dinner. It was all good and everyone was full.

I wore dress shorts and nice button up shirt but I felt a little under dressed. It is a "better than jeans" style dining for sure but they will not turn you away, it is Northern Michigan after all. When I go again I will wear dress pants and button up shirt min.

I would recommend Aerie to anyone who s looking for quiet fine dining w/ a great view of the bay. Common sense says to avoid the weekends and events if you want a nice and/or quiet dining experience. This is a resort town and it is busy on Friday, Saturday and Sunday all summer. I live here so I can pick my times

Good luck and Hope this helps everyone,

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Party of 8 ... all looking forward to the "experience". Dinner was at 7:15pm but to start with the sun was shinning in our faces making it uncomfortable to chat and enjoy the views. Drink service was good... then comes our dinner... 2 were happy with their meal, 3 were not impressed, and 3 the meal was NOT edible. Scallops had sand on every bite. No bill adjustments were made. Not a good experince.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Sunday was our 9 year wedding anniversary, we had our wedding at your hotel and the reception at Aerie, we love to be able to go back when we can! The restaurant is such a beautiful location and we love the décor. Our waiter was wonderful and we enjoyed the food as usual. After a fun weekend adventure brunch at Aerie is the perfect way to end it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It was our second dining experience here this week as we visited Traverse City, and we thought the first evening's dinner was good enough to come back – but this time was even better. The Otto's chicken and salmon dish were delicious. And David was an excellent server. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here for our anniversary. Service was great. Very attentive without becoming bothersome. Views were excellent. Food was great. Definitely a place to to checkout if you are vacationing in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Awesome restaurant worth the price. We loved the seafood options.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 13, 2017

This was our 55th Anniversary. Invited friends and relatives to enjoy this evening with us. The service was outstanding. The food was poor at best. Dessert was the best part of the dinner. It's been a couple of years since dinning at the Grand Traverse Resort and this dinning experience has ended my desire to ever visit the place again. There are to many restaurants in the Grand Traverse area that offer better food for the same price.

I've waited a week to fill out this review - first not wanting to - just moving on. I've reconsidered and feel obligated to let others know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Flavorful food, excellent service, lovely view from 17th story restaurant. Dinner for two about $80 without drinks.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food was as delicious as the view was beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Quite disappointing. Had a reservation, we were asked to wait in the lobby while they got our table ready (in the meantime there were multiple empty tables) After waiting for almost 15 minutes we checked back in with the hostess and it was obvious she had forgotten about us. There were no other parties waiting so it was not busy! Once we were seated we had a dirty fork and very spotty water glasses (unimpressive for what's supposed to be a high class restaurant). My eggs were not prepared properly (burnt) and we had to wait quite a while for drinks to come (mind you this was during the Sunday brunch buffet so the waiter had nothing else to do but get us our drinks). They also gave us juice drink options and then had to come back to tell us they were out of a certain kind. This was supposed to be a fun special occasion meal and it turned out to be very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our waitress was great. She was very nice. The manger on staff was pretty good as well.
OK my Filet was amazing and the lobster risotto was great. However my wifes meal was not so much the Crab cakes were covered in lime sauce. Normally a hint would be ok, however she was only able to eat half and couldn't even take the other half home. The entree cost $30.
The manger was nice enough to comp us $15 dollars of desserts. Overall the place was gorgeous and we will go back however we will not be ordering the Crab Cakes!!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Beautiful View! We summer in Northern Mich and love to try different restaurants with friends on the weekend. Windows need shades! Perhaps the mesh see through shades. It was 90 degrees and the sun was beating in on all the tables. Service was very slow. We waited 15min. to be greeted and offered a cocktail. Not acceptable. On a positive note 3 out of 4 entrees were awesome and the wine offering was plentiful and good price. We will try it again as it may have been a off night for the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 6, 2017

There was no one in the place but our server was very inattentive. She never asked if we needed more water or any additional drinks. It took over an hour just to receive our appetizers. The food was good when we finally got it, but the damage was done. Never again!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great Restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I am in Traverse City once a year for vacation, and the trip would not be complete without dinning at Aerie. It has the most spectacular view of the bay and the sunsets are amazing. The food is always a treat. The staff always goes out of their way to make your experience wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The view was outstanding. Service was poor and slow. Bus staff tried to remove plates before the entree, thought we were done. Server claimed no knowledge of wine list because she was pregnant. Lobster Bisque was horrible. Steaks were delicious. Dessert was never offered. Lobby was overrun with tweens. Not a good impression for our out-of-town guests.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food, wine and am outstanding view!

We would highly recommend Aerie if staying in the Grand Traverse area.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great view, good steak. Atmosphere had more children then expected. A little loud. Although my waiter was great. They did not seem to have enough waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The view from the bar and the restaurant were outstanding. The food was also very good overall but the cioppino was bar none. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Enjoyed the Fish Stickers as a shareable starter. My husband enjoyed the Crab Cake and I had Otto's Chicken which was a nice combination of flavors. Enjoyed the quiet atmosphere with a great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Spent an enchanting evening dinning for our birthday weekend. She had a salmon dish with some veggies that she thought were a little on the bland side, however the salmon was terrific. I had a pork tenderloin dish that was amazing . The service was great, i was told they were out of an additive for a mixed drink I wanted, and low and behold they found some after me being disappointed.. I didn't ask, but so thankful!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Best Sunday brunch in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I recently celebrated my birthday with my family at Aerie. The view was breathtaking. We could see the whole East Bay as well as watch golfers finishing up several holes of golf. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. The food was excellent and the wait time was minimal. We will definitely be returning for many more evenings.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.