About Adobe Grill

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Dr.
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Famed for its award-winning tamales, housemade tortillas and selection of artisan tequila; Adobe Grill is an authentic regional Mexican dining experience located at La Quinta Resort & Club in the Palm Springs area. Adobe Grill is decorated in a traditional Oaxacan motif, highlighted by a ten foot tequila display, a double sided fireplace with a mosaic finish. Sliding patio doors allow the dining room and outdoor patio to become one. Let our master tequilero create a signature margarita from one of more than 100 tequilas. On weekends, we feature live music on the open air plaza in the heart of La Quinta Resort; come relax and take pleasure in the one of a kind surroundings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Comfort Food, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours



Dinner: Nightly 5:00pm to 10pm
Bar: Nightly: 4pm - 10pm
Top of the Plaza: Nightly, 4pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-4111 ext. 5725

Website:
http://www.laquintaresort.com/

Entertainment:
Inka Kings Wednesday- Sunday 6pm - 9pm

Parking Details:
Self Parking or Valet

Executive Chef:
Yeyssica Valentin

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Personal wines welcome, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Tatiana Yturralde
Direct: 760.564-5821
Email: Yturralde@laquintaresort.com

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day

Private Dining

Adobe Grill offers the ideal setting for hosting your private parties and dinner events. We’ll coordinate with you to create a customized experience perfect for your group, in an authentic regional Mexican atmosphere. For more information, simply click the link below.

Adobe Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (70)
good for groups (48)
kid-friendly (33)
See All
scenic view (31)
special occasion (28)
neighborhood gem (24)
romantic (24)
great for lunch (21)
fit for foodies (19)
vibrant bar scene (11)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3

The place was busy with locals and with ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The place was busy with locals and with convention group attendees. We were asked to hurry up and order because they wanted our table; however, the waiter didn't come around to take our order for quite some time. The portions were generous, and the dishes included the typical American Mexican rice and refried beans.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Questionable Service

Dined on May 19, 2016

I frequently dine at Adobe Grill and was surprised and disappointed to have experienced poor service. We requested the table side guacomole be mild and found it to be quite hot; the server suggested lime to cut the spiciness however it did not reduce the spiciness. She offered no other solution. Additionally everyone at the table ordered the Sangria yet the waitress did not suggest Sangria by the pitcher. I clearly felt she was annoyed we were not ordering the higher priced menu items.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Food was great...service?

Dined on May 14, 2016

Took way too long (35 mins) to receive our dinner entree orders. However, the waiters were a little too aggressive in asking about during drink refill orders during the wait. The food was great but the lag in time ruined the dinner experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Adobe is my favorite restaurant in La Qu ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Adobe is my favorite restaurant in La Quinta! The food is amazing! Authentic fresh Mexican cuisine, where the flavors stand out. This is not one of those Americanized "Mexican" places that smother everything in cheese. From the fajitas to the tamales, it is all delicious! The table side guacamole is a must!They have an extensive margarita menu, all are made with natural ingredients. My favorite is the Skinny Margarita! The service is wonderful. All of the staff are working hard but seem to enjoy their work. They are always very friendly and attentive. And they know the menu! You can ask any question and they know the answer. Ambience is really the icing on top of this great dining experience. Comfortable seating inside and out. Though I think outside is better! The lighting and live band make for a romantic evening or fun night with friends. I really can't say enough about this wonderful place and not one negative comes to mind. Reservations are a must because it's always busy, especially if you want to sit outside.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Authentic Mexican

Dined on April 22, 2016

In a town with lots of Mexican restaurants, Adobe stands out as fine dining. The meal had fresh ingredients that were lightly seasoned and perfectly cooked. The Carne Asada was our favorite. Courtyard live music was a plus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go-to for food, drink, service & ambience.

Dined on April 17, 2016

As a part time resident, I have eaten at many restaurants in the Coachella Valley, however Adobe Grill remains one of my favorites for good food, ambience, service and of course their refreshing sangria. I eat at Adobe Grill at least 3 X a month, alone or with friends and family. Marco is an excellent waiter in the dining room or sit at the bar and chat up the bartenders.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Busy during coachella Guacamole table si ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Busy during coachella Guacamole table side is really good

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Tex mex food in beautiful setti ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fabulous Tex mex food in beautiful setting

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Food and Convenient

Dined on April 6, 2016

Great Mexican food and bonus that we could just walk there from our room! I recommend sitting outside on the patio. It's a very nice courtyard. The restaurant was pretty busy when we were there and I would say you definitely need a reservation if you don't want to wait more that 20 minutes.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Same time next year

Dined on April 2, 2016

La Quinta resort is a must do each year we visit the Palm Springs area. Margaritas around the fire pit and dinner on porch area of restaurant with view of mountains is perfect! Our server even had them make beef enchiladas when it wasn't on the menu this year.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Huge Disappointment

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

We're from the Chicago area, but come to Palm Desert every year. Every year we try a different Mexican restaurant, only to be disappointed. We figured Waldorf Astoria/La Quinta could pull it off. Not even close. Margaritas were 70% ice, 30% liquid. Our queso fundido was the consistency of water, and amazingly bland. All of our food tasted the same. Too much tortilla, not enough substance. Hard-working, responsive service, and pleasant outdoor seating (inside is a zoo!) couldn't save this experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great!

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Always great!

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful setting!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

I love this restaurant for the ambiance and over all beauty! So, lets just start with the fact that the main resort is a historic place dating back to the 1920s. It is so meticulous kept and the grounds themselves are beautiful. I like to take out of towners there for just those reasons. However, the food at the Adobe Grill is just so-so! Typical Mexican fare, the usual cocktails, etc. It could be so much more. There is a more upscale restaurant on the property (Morgans) which is very good, but the service was terrible the last time we dined there. We will continue to go to this property, just as we have for the past twenty years, but the menu needs updating and even though the service seemed a bit hurried, they did a good job overall.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

Felt extremely rushed through dinner. T ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Felt extremely rushed through dinner. They want you in and out.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

A Good Mexican Restaurant in a Great Resort

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

If you are interested in good Mexican food, the Adobe Grill would be a great choice for Lunch or Dinner. You can start with a great selection of Margaritas, some delicious Queso and then a great selection of entrees. All the items we had were very well prepared!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All four of us enjoyed the ambience and food.

Dined on March 18, 2016

Lovely stroll through the gorgeous grounds topped off the evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Servers were great and entertaining

Dined on March 15, 2016

Servers were great and entertaining

food5
ambience5
service5

The staff are the first to tell you they ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

The staff are the first to tell you they do not use microwave ovens in the kitchen and the quality of food shows it! Fresh, delicious meals every time! We have lived here for over 10 years and were hesitant to eat here because we thought the prices would be high. However, the Adobe Grill has the views and ambiance of the La Quinta Resort and Club along with very reasonable prices. By far, the freshest, best tasting Mexican food in the La Quinta/Indian Wells/Palm Desert area. The service is excellent!

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Fantastic Service

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

The place is always hopping. Food is fast, hot and fresh. Our waiter was entertaining, helpful and the place has such a buzz it is always fun dining here. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible

Dined on March 11, 2016

I eat all the times over there but this one was terrible experience I got my soup and my entree and the check at same time , they should not over book and push the people out never again

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always dependable.

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

I love the Tamales here, and the outside seating is awesome.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

What does it take to get an outside table?

Dined on March 6, 2016

Altho we have enjoyed Adobe twice for the food, drink and friendly staff, I will not return because this is the second time I have made a reservation with Open Table, requested an outside table at least a week in advance and been denied. Poor form!

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Big Letdown

Dined on February 28, 2016

My girlfriend and I were super excited to come here while were staying at La Quinta. We had a number of other options available on-site, but this place's menu was the best, we thought. We were seated and our server delightfully took our order, and then was never seen again until the bill. Thankfully, other people helped with water refills pretty promptly. We ordered the nachos with Carne Asada and the meat was super bland. It seemed like it was not seasoned at all. We also ordered the Queso which was way too thin, in my opinion. We ended up pouring some of the Queso on our nachos in order to add flavor to it. Last, but certainly not least, we had the ceviche. This was their saving grace. It was very lemony and tasted fresh!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

great as always

Dined on February 28, 2016

every time it's a great time regardless of where on the patio we are. thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good traditional Mexican

Dined on February 28, 2016

Good, traditional Mexican dishes in a beautiful setting. Service was prompt and friendly. The chips were particularly fresh tasting - served warm with a hint of salt, really good. Was in a group of 4 and everyone enjoyed their meal. We sat outside and listened to the musical entertainment. It's a little pricier than average but it is located in the La Quinta Resort. Had a good experience and would go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food arrived on a tray behind us and ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

The food arrived on a tray behind us and sat for a good 5 minutes. By the time they gave it to the six of us it was cold. Drinks are very overpriced! Have vacationed in the Palm Springs every year and usually love coming to the adobe grill, a bit disappointing this time!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

Great guacamole and very good sangria - ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Great guacamole and very good sangria - beautiful veranda for sunset!

food5
ambience5
service5

The beef Tamales are wonderful!!

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

The beef Tamales are wonderful!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best tableside guacomole

Dined on February 16, 2016

We ate here 2 nights in a row - that is how impressed we were with the food and our server, Miguel. The view from the outdoor patio is perfect for a romantic dinner. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience at La Quinta Resort!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We booked a Valentine's evening meal at the Adobe Grill at the La Quinta Resort and were not disappointed! Excellent Cadillac Margaritas followed by tableside made guacamole - terrific starter to a great meal. I had the carne asada, which was cooked to perfection! She had the award winning tamales, most delicious... We can't wait to go back - Thanks Adobe!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service2

I usually love this restaurant but this ...

Dined on February 9, 2016

I usually love this restaurant but this visit was pretty bad. They weren't super busy yet our drinks, meal, and dessert all took forever. The margaritas were very ordinary and no one was impressed with the food. We had talked the restaurant up to friends who had never been so we were all very disappointed with the overall experience. The saving grace was the live music on the patio....the piano player/singer was wonderful!

food1
ambience3
service4

Poor quality and expensive. Very atten ...

Dined on January 25, 2016

Poor quality and expensive. Very attentive and warm server

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Adobe Grill- LaQuinta Resort and Spa

Dined on January 16, 2016

All and all a very pleasant outing with friends. However, as we were seated inside and it was a busy evening, the noise level in the restaurant was not conducive to being able to have a conversation at your own table without having to shout to your table mates. That would be the primary reason I would not eat at that restaurant a second time. However, if weather worked to be able to sit outside, it is a lovely setting and would not have the noise.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Yikes/ the worst!

Dined on December 30, 2015

I have always loved the Adobe and looked forward to a great Mexican dinner with my husband. The food was horrible and I was so disappointed. His steak was a horrible cut and badly cooked. My chili rellenos were so outrageously spicy I took one bite. Too bad. Adios Adobe!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Mexican food

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

We enjoyed great service, along with delicious tamales and margaritas. The beef fajitas featured very tender, flavorful steak.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Used to be good!

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

We have been going to the Adobe Grill for many years and this experience was not good. It's unfortunate because they have a captive audience being right on the circle at the La Quinta Resort and Spa. I'm sure guests will continue to support it but the locals will not. I made my reservation through Open Table and could only get a 2:00 pm time. There was literally no one in the restaurant on a Sunday afternoon and our service was terrible. The food was very marginal. We had a table of 6 and we all felt the same way. The margaritas were good and the table side guacamole was also very good. We asked many times for some service and were ignored. I would suggest if you are looking for a great Mexican meal, try Mexicali in Indio. Much better food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always reliable

Dined on December 26, 2015

We eat there every time we stay at La Quinta Resort as do most of the guests who stay there I believe, so it's always bustling. The menu doesn't change much so it's always reliable once you find the dishes you like. I love the fish tacos and fajitas because I suspect those are the healthiest items. I love their skinny maragaritas if I'm in the mood for some booze. Portions are generous. Service is always excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the steak fajitas and fish tacos. Th ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Try the steak fajitas and fish tacos. They were great.

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Unacceptable on just about every level

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

Simply one of the worst Mexican meals my wife and I have ever had. This restaurant is located within the La Quinta Resort, and is clearly not up to the overall standards of this fine hotel. Our first impression of the restaurant was that it was very pleasantly decorated in the usual Southern California Mexican restaurant style; however, things went downhill from there. The restaurant is exceedingly noisy and not a place for a quite dinner for two on vacation. Our waiter (who was otherwise quite pleasant) first tried to sell us their table side presentation of guacamole (for about $14), and continued on two other visits to the table to try to sell us this appetizer. Come on now.....a mashed avocado for $14! Each time we refused. We ordered a Cesar salad to split as our first course......just chopped romaine and (very likely) bottled salad dressing with a total of three croutons. We then had two entrees: their "award winning" tamales (bland, tasteless, dry and the worst tamales I've ever eaten) and an exceptionally salty carnitas. We cannot figure who on earth gave them an award for these tamales, which were likely frozen. We also had two Cadillac Margaritas, which which we would rank as Ford Pintos rather than Cadillacs, without a hint of Grand Marnier, as advertised on the drinks menu. Not worth the price for the Margaritas (something like $14). We've had far better Mexican food at taco stands. Bottom line: this place should be avoided.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on November 27, 2015

The food is very good, their chips and salsa are excellent, and their service is the best. Since we went for the first time a year ago, we go back once or twice a month.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.