About Adobe Grill

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Dr.
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Famed for its award-winning tamales, housemade tortillas and selection of artisan tequila; Adobe Grill is an authentic regional Mexican dining experience located at La Quinta Resort & Club in the Palm Springs area. Adobe Grill is decorated in a traditional Oaxacan motif, highlighted by a ten foot tequila display, a double sided fireplace with a mosaic finish. Sliding patio doors allow the dining room and outdoor patio to become one. Let our master tequilero create a signature margarita from one of more than 100 tequilas. On weekends, we feature live music on the open air plaza in the heart of La Quinta Resort; come relax and take pleasure in the one of a kind surroundings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Comfort Food, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours



Dinner: Nightly 5:00pm to 10pm
Bar: Nightly: 4pm - 10pm
Top of the Plaza: Nightly, 4pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-4111 ext. 5725

Website:
http://www.laquintaresort.com/

Entertainment:
Inka Kings Wednesday- Sunday 6pm - 9pm

Parking Details:
Self Parking or Valet

Executive Chef:
Yeyssica Valentin

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Tatiana Yturralde
Direct: 760.564-5821
Email: Yturralde@laquintaresort.com

Restaurant Photos

Adobe Grill
Adobe Grill
Adobe Grill
Adobe Grill
Adobe Grill
Adobe Grill
Queso Fundido
Smoked Margarita
Iced  Tea
Tamales Rojas
Flan
Strawberry Margarita
Chicken Enchiladas
Guacamole
Shrimp Ceviche
Corona Light
Chips and Salsa
Chorizo Meatballs
Cheese Enchiladas
Tortilla Soup

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

From our family to yours, come enjoy traditional Thanksgiving dishes with Adobe Grill's twists! Our three course dinner is being offered from 3PM-9PM.
$55 for adults
A La Carte menu also available.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Adobe Grill offers the ideal setting for hosting your private parties and dinner events. We’ll coordinate with you to create a customized experience perfect for your group, in an authentic regional Mexican atmosphere. For more information, simply click the link below.

Adobe Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

Good for Groups (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
See All
Scenic View (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic food. I was doubting the on-si ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fantastic food. I was doubting the on-site resort food, yet all of it has been great -- Adobe was very impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mexican dinning at it's finest. Table si ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Mexican dinning at it's finest. Table side guacamole, chips salsa and margaritas to start. Tortilla soup delicious,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service! Our waiter was fantas ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service! Our waiter was fantastic. We had the fish and thought it was exceptional. The atmosphere was very nice. It was a little loud but not so loud that you couldn't hear each other talk. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the Sea Bass, Chicken Mole and Ma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had the Sea Bass, Chicken Mole and Mango Sorbet. Every bite was delicious. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Mexican food in Palm Springs. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best Mexican food in Palm Springs. The tamales and mexican street corn was amazing. The virgin Mango Margaritas are delish and you have to try the tres leeches cake. The best meal I have had in a very long time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a super lovely evening, including "o ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Had a super lovely evening, including "off key" birthday wishes that were adorable. Ambiance was great for a birthday celebration and the service was outstanding. Will drive out there again.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You don't have to be a guest at the La Q ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

You don't have to be a guest at the La Quinta resort to enjoy this great restaurant. As a "local", we pass on the places designed for tourists and choose Adobe Grill for excellent Mexican food. Everything is made fresh each day (no commercial microwaves) and a full bar with a great selection of tequila.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level was extreme. Food and drink ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Noise level was extreme. Food and drink were mediocre. The combination of wait staff carrying food & drink to the patio and returning wait staff carrying dirty dishes and patrons being shown to their tables all meeting head on next to our table was like being at Grand Central Station at rush hour. All in all not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is a cool little Mexican restaurant ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is a cool little Mexican restaurant at LA Quinta Resort. The outdoor seating has beautiful mountain view but beware of the summer heat. Margarita's were tasty but not outstanding. The food was delicious but a bit on the small serving side. My mole chicken had the best sauce ever. I would have liked to see more sides like guacamole included in the price. Good cocktail menu and white wines...reds could be expanded slightly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As soon as you walk into the restaurant ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

As soon as you walk into the restaurant you are greeted with friendly staff and a lovely ambiance that looks and feels authentic. while the dining area is a bit over the top with the Mexican theme, as indicated with the tower of liquor in the middle of the dining room, it is an amazing Mexican themed restaurant. the live music is astoundingly beautiful. the artists rendition of both popular songs as well as personal favorites of him feel as though they want to be there to entertain you. the food we received was beautifully crafted on authentic plated that resonated with the rest of the restaurant in terms of beauty.

the staff, as lovely as they are, kept an honest and genuine smile throughout or stay at the restaurant. i have not seen a better we kept staff, and the only staff that i feel will out preform them is the same staff in the future.

the scenery is overall breathtaking, the overlook you see on a cloudy day while the sunsets is only reminiscent of a scene from The Great Gatsby. with the sun turning the clouds different colors and the deliciousness of the food we ordered, the pair was unbelievable. this restaurant, and the others on the La Quinta Property, truly focus on what is important. the joy one gets from walking across the property gazing at the wondrous sights can only be described as breathtaking.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fun, Historic, Quick Bite, Authentic, Live Music, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well prepared; healthy ingredients; tast ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Well prepared; healthy ingredients; tasty margaritas; friendly staff. Overall very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I've always heard about this place, so I ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I've always heard about this place, so I finally went for dinner with the family. Food was just as good as everyone had told me. Reasonable price for the location, excellent menu. Give it a try!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Seasonal, Family Style, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good service and delicious food. Great e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good service and delicious food. Great experience overall for Mexican food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was great. Love the atmosphere!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was great. Love the atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Requested a quiet table and was seated i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Requested a quiet table and was seated in a smaller rear room Before our entree was served the four tops were reconfigured to seat a group of 20 next to us. We couldn't talk across the the table due to the noise level. Won't sit inside again ever, unfortunately outside temp on the porch over 100.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

No air conditioning in back room. We all ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

No air conditioning in back room. We all were sweating through our shirts. Had to ask to move to main dining area. Main dining area is SO LOUD. Can barely hear people at your own table. Food sub par. Everyone at our table was very disappointed with the slop on each of our plates. Annoyed we paid such high prices for awful tasting food [slop] served in such small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

We were not sure what to expect when we ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were not sure what to expect when we made our reservation, but we had an excellent time and the food was amazing. The salsa was really good and the tamales were some of the best I have had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

even with reservation we had 30 minute w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

even with reservation we had 30 minute wait for our entree because kitchen is busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Went with a group of girlfriends for the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went with a group of girlfriends for the 2nd year in. A row. Every one enjoyed their meal. They have a $15 corkage fee which was helpful in keeping our bill lower. Would highly recommend reservations on weekends. Great mountain views from main dining room and a large bar area if you just want a cocktail and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Adobe is slipping a bit in food quality. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Adobe is slipping a bit in food quality. Portions smaller, not as good as in the past.

They forgot our Open Table appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at this place before, and t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I have eaten at this place before, and the food was worth the second trip. This time our service was horrible. We had a reservation, yet were seated in the rear of the restaurant as though we were not fit for the main dining room. I was there with my best friend for a mom-getaway weekend. Our server was rude and never checked on us. Quite frankly neither did any one else. We were in a forgotten part of the restaurant. When our server created us, she was unfriendly and almost seemed annoyed that she had to take care of our table. My friend and I are not demanding patrons. We simply wanted a warm smile and a friendly attitude. This server was rude and sassy. I know a thing or two about good service in a restaurant as I have over 6 years experience serving and bartending. Based on our last experience, I would rather dine elsewhere. Some where I can be treated like a customer, and giving the time of day by our server. We were very displeased with our visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome service, delicious food, and a g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Awesome service, delicious food, and a great place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorial Day Weekend Dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We were spending Memorial Day in La Quinta and had a horrible dining experience the night before in Palm Springs at Las Casuelas Terraza. Ended up walking out of the place. On the other hand, the Adobe Grill in La Quinta was fabulous. Our server, Maria, was hysterical! She was such a lot of fun and very attentive. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio, the food was very good and overall, our dining experience was wonderful. We would definitely go back next time we are in La Quinta!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The burrito and the house guacamole were ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The burrito and the house guacamole were amazing! We also love their scratch margarita made with fresh limes none of that nasty margarita mix is used here... Yummmm....!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Margs need to have more tequila. A bit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Margs need to have more tequila. A bit watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding Mexican restaurant with a wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Outstanding Mexican restaurant with a wide variety of menu selections and margarita based specialty drinks. Prompt and gracious service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was busy with locals and with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The place was busy with locals and with convention group attendees. We were asked to hurry up and order because they wanted our table; however, the waiter didn't come around to take our order for quite some time. The portions were generous, and the dishes included the typical American Mexican rice and refried beans.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Questionable Service

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I frequently dine at Adobe Grill and was surprised and disappointed to have experienced poor service. We requested the table side guacomole be mild and found it to be quite hot; the server suggested lime to cut the spiciness however it did not reduce the spiciness. She offered no other solution. Additionally everyone at the table ordered the Sangria yet the waitress did not suggest Sangria by the pitcher. I clearly felt she was annoyed we were not ordering the higher priced menu items.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was great...service?

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Took way too long (35 mins) to receive our dinner entree orders. However, the waiters were a little too aggressive in asking about during drink refill orders during the wait. The food was great but the lag in time ruined the dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Adobe is my favorite restaurant in La Qu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Adobe is my favorite restaurant in La Quinta! The food is amazing! Authentic fresh Mexican cuisine, where the flavors stand out. This is not one of those Americanized "Mexican" places that smother everything in cheese. From the fajitas to the tamales, it is all delicious! The table side guacamole is a must!They have an extensive margarita menu, all are made with natural ingredients. My favorite is the Skinny Margarita!

The service is wonderful. All of the staff are working hard but seem to enjoy their work. They are always very friendly and attentive. And they know the menu! You can ask any question and they know the answer.

Ambience is really the icing on top of this great dining experience. Comfortable seating inside and out. Though I think outside is better! The lighting and live band make for a romantic evening or fun night with friends. I really can't say enough about this wonderful place and not one negative comes to mind. Reservations are a must because it's always busy, especially if you want to sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic Mexican

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

In a town with lots of Mexican restaurants, Adobe stands out as fine dining. The meal had fresh ingredients that were lightly seasoned and perfectly cooked. The Carne Asada was our favorite. Courtyard live music was a plus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Go-to for food, drink, service & ambience.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

As a part time resident, I have eaten at many restaurants in the Coachella Valley, however Adobe Grill remains one of my favorites for good food, ambience, service and of course their refreshing sangria. I eat at Adobe Grill at least 3 X a month, alone or with friends and family. Marco is an excellent waiter in the dining room or sit at the bar and chat up the bartenders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy during coachella Guacamole table si ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Busy during coachella Guacamole table side is really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous Tex mex food in beautiful setti ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Fabulous Tex mex food in beautiful setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food and Convenient

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Great Mexican food and bonus that we could just walk there from our room! I recommend sitting outside on the patio. It's a very nice courtyard. The restaurant was pretty busy when we were there and I would say you definitely need a reservation if you don't want to wait more that 20 minutes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Same time next year

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

La Quinta resort is a must do each year we visit the Palm Springs area. Margaritas around the fire pit and dinner on porch area of restaurant with view of mountains is perfect!

Our server even had them make beef enchiladas when it wasn't on the menu this year.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Huge Disappointment

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We're from the Chicago area, but come to Palm Desert every year. Every year we try a different Mexican restaurant, only to be disappointed. We figured Waldorf Astoria/La Quinta could pull it off. Not even close. Margaritas were 70% ice, 30% liquid. Our queso fundido was the consistency of water, and amazingly bland. All of our food tasted the same. Too much tortilla, not enough substance. Hard-working, responsive service, and pleasant outdoor seating (inside is a zoo!) couldn't save this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Always great!

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I love this restaurant for the ambiance and over all beauty! So, lets just start with the fact that the main resort is a historic place dating back to the 1920s. It is so meticulous kept and the grounds themselves are beautiful. I like to take out of towners there for just those reasons. However, the food at the Adobe Grill is just so-so! Typical Mexican fare, the usual cocktails, etc.

It could be so much more. There is a more upscale restaurant on the property (Morgans) which is very good, but the service was terrible the last time we dined there. We will continue to go to this property, just as we have for the past twenty years, but the menu needs updating and even though the service seemed a bit hurried, they did a good job overall.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Felt extremely rushed through dinner. T ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Felt extremely rushed through dinner. They want you in and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.