About Adobe Grill

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Dr.
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Famed for its award-winning tamales, housemade tortillas and selection of artisan tequila; Adobe Grill is an authentic regional Mexican dining experience located at La Quinta Resort & Club in the Palm Springs area. Adobe Grill is decorated in a traditional Oaxacan motif, highlighted by a ten foot tequila display, a double sided fireplace with a mosaic finish. Sliding patio doors allow the dining room and outdoor patio to become one. Let our master tequilero create a signature margarita from one of more than 100 tequilas. On weekends, we feature live music on the open air plaza in the heart of La Quinta Resort; come relax and take pleasure in the one of a kind surroundings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Comfort Food, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours



Dinner: Nightly 5:00pm to 10pm
Bar: Nightly: 4pm - 10pm
Top of the Plaza: Nightly, 4pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-4111 ext. 5725

Website:
http://www.laquintaresort.com/

Entertainment:
Inka Kings Wednesday- Sunday 6pm - 9pm

Parking Details:
Self Parking or Valet

Executive Chef:
Yeyssica Valentin

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Personal wines welcome, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Tatiana Yturralde
Direct: 760.564-5821
Email: Yturralde@laquintaresort.com

Restaurant Photos

Adobe Grill
Adobe Grill
Adobe Grill
Adobe Grill
Adobe Grill
Adobe Grill
Smoked Margarita
Queso Fundido
Iced  Tea
Tamales Rojas
Flan
Strawberry Margarita
Chicken Enchiladas
Guacamole
Shrimp Ceviche
Corona Light
Chips and Salsa
Chorizo Meatballs
Tortilla Soup
Cheese Enchiladas

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Adobe Grill offers the ideal setting for hosting your private parties and dinner events. We’ll coordinate with you to create a customized experience perfect for your group, in an authentic regional Mexican atmosphere. For more information, simply click the link below.

Adobe Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

great for outdoor dining (34)
good for groups (28)
kid-friendly (25)
See All
special occasion (24)
scenic view (17)
romantic (14)
neighborhood gem (14)
fit for foodies (12)
great for lunch (10)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

No air conditioning in back room. We all ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

No air conditioning in back room. We all were sweating through our shirts. Had to ask to move to main dining area. Main dining area is SO LOUD. Can barely hear people at your own table. Food sub par. Everyone at our table was very disappointed with the slop on each of our plates. Annoyed we paid such high prices for awful tasting food [slop] served in such small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

We were not sure what to expect when we ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were not sure what to expect when we made our reservation, but we had an excellent time and the food was amazing. The salsa was really good and the tamales were some of the best I have had.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

even with reservation we had 30 minute w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

even with reservation we had 30 minute wait for our entree because kitchen is busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Went with a group of girlfriends for the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went with a group of girlfriends for the 2nd year in. A row. Every one enjoyed their meal. They have a $15 corkage fee which was helpful in keeping our bill lower. Would highly recommend reservations on weekends. Great mountain views from main dining room and a large bar area if you just want a cocktail and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Adobe is slipping a bit in food quality. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Adobe is slipping a bit in food quality. Portions smaller, not as good as in the past.

They forgot our Open Table appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at this place before, and t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I have eaten at this place before, and the food was worth the second trip. This time our service was horrible. We had a reservation, yet were seated in the rear of the restaurant as though we were not fit for the main dining room. I was there with my best friend for a mom-getaway weekend. Our server was rude and never checked on us. Quite frankly neither did any one else. We were in a forgotten part of the restaurant. When our server created us, she was unfriendly and almost seemed annoyed that she had to take care of our table. My friend and I are not demanding patrons. We simply wanted a warm smile and a friendly attitude. This server was rude and sassy. I know a thing or two about good service in a restaurant as I have over 6 years experience serving and bartending. Based on our last experience, I would rather dine elsewhere. Some where I can be treated like a customer, and giving the time of day by our server. We were very displeased with our visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome service, delicious food, and a g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Awesome service, delicious food, and a great place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorial Day Weekend Dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We were spending Memorial Day in La Quinta and had a horrible dining experience the night before in Palm Springs at Las Casuelas Terraza. Ended up walking out of the place. On the other hand, the Adobe Grill in La Quinta was fabulous. Our server, Maria, was hysterical! She was such a lot of fun and very attentive. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio, the food was very good and overall, our dining experience was wonderful. We would definitely go back next time we are in La Quinta!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The burrito and the house guacamole were ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The burrito and the house guacamole were amazing! We also love their scratch margarita made with fresh limes none of that nasty margarita mix is used here... Yummmm....!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Margs need to have more tequila. A bit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Margs need to have more tequila. A bit watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding Mexican restaurant with a wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Outstanding Mexican restaurant with a wide variety of menu selections and margarita based specialty drinks. Prompt and gracious service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was busy with locals and with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The place was busy with locals and with convention group attendees. We were asked to hurry up and order because they wanted our table; however, the waiter didn't come around to take our order for quite some time. The portions were generous, and the dishes included the typical American Mexican rice and refried beans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Questionable Service

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I frequently dine at Adobe Grill and was surprised and disappointed to have experienced poor service. We requested the table side guacomole be mild and found it to be quite hot; the server suggested lime to cut the spiciness however it did not reduce the spiciness. She offered no other solution. Additionally everyone at the table ordered the Sangria yet the waitress did not suggest Sangria by the pitcher. I clearly felt she was annoyed we were not ordering the higher priced menu items.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was great...service?

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Took way too long (35 mins) to receive our dinner entree orders. However, the waiters were a little too aggressive in asking about during drink refill orders during the wait. The food was great but the lag in time ruined the dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Adobe is my favorite restaurant in La Qu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Adobe is my favorite restaurant in La Quinta! The food is amazing! Authentic fresh Mexican cuisine, where the flavors stand out. This is not one of those Americanized "Mexican" places that smother everything in cheese. From the fajitas to the tamales, it is all delicious! The table side guacamole is a must!They have an extensive margarita menu, all are made with natural ingredients. My favorite is the Skinny Margarita!

The service is wonderful. All of the staff are working hard but seem to enjoy their work. They are always very friendly and attentive. And they know the menu! You can ask any question and they know the answer.

Ambience is really the icing on top of this great dining experience. Comfortable seating inside and out. Though I think outside is better! The lighting and live band make for a romantic evening or fun night with friends. I really can't say enough about this wonderful place and not one negative comes to mind. Reservations are a must because it's always busy, especially if you want to sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic Mexican

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

In a town with lots of Mexican restaurants, Adobe stands out as fine dining. The meal had fresh ingredients that were lightly seasoned and perfectly cooked. The Carne Asada was our favorite. Courtyard live music was a plus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Go-to for food, drink, service & ambience.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

As a part time resident, I have eaten at many restaurants in the Coachella Valley, however Adobe Grill remains one of my favorites for good food, ambience, service and of course their refreshing sangria. I eat at Adobe Grill at least 3 X a month, alone or with friends and family. Marco is an excellent waiter in the dining room or sit at the bar and chat up the bartenders.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy during coachella Guacamole table si ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Busy during coachella Guacamole table side is really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous Tex mex food in beautiful setti ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Fabulous Tex mex food in beautiful setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food and Convenient

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Great Mexican food and bonus that we could just walk there from our room! I recommend sitting outside on the patio. It's a very nice courtyard. The restaurant was pretty busy when we were there and I would say you definitely need a reservation if you don't want to wait more that 20 minutes.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Same time next year

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

La Quinta resort is a must do each year we visit the Palm Springs area. Margaritas around the fire pit and dinner on porch area of restaurant with view of mountains is perfect!

Our server even had them make beef enchiladas when it wasn't on the menu this year.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Huge Disappointment

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We're from the Chicago area, but come to Palm Desert every year. Every year we try a different Mexican restaurant, only to be disappointed. We figured Waldorf Astoria/La Quinta could pull it off. Not even close. Margaritas were 70% ice, 30% liquid. Our queso fundido was the consistency of water, and amazingly bland. All of our food tasted the same. Too much tortilla, not enough substance. Hard-working, responsive service, and pleasant outdoor seating (inside is a zoo!) couldn't save this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Always great!

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I love this restaurant for the ambiance and over all beauty! So, lets just start with the fact that the main resort is a historic place dating back to the 1920s. It is so meticulous kept and the grounds themselves are beautiful. I like to take out of towners there for just those reasons. However, the food at the Adobe Grill is just so-so! Typical Mexican fare, the usual cocktails, etc.

It could be so much more. There is a more upscale restaurant on the property (Morgans) which is very good, but the service was terrible the last time we dined there. We will continue to go to this property, just as we have for the past twenty years, but the menu needs updating and even though the service seemed a bit hurried, they did a good job overall.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Felt extremely rushed through dinner. T ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Felt extremely rushed through dinner. They want you in and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

A Good Mexican Restaurant in a Great Resort

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

If you are interested in good Mexican food, the Adobe Grill would be a great choice for Lunch or Dinner. You can start with a great selection of Margaritas, some delicious Queso and then a great selection of entrees. All the items we had were very well prepared!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

All four of us enjoyed the ambience and food.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Lovely stroll through the gorgeous grounds topped off the evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Servers were great and entertaining

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Servers were great and entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff are the first to tell you they ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The staff are the first to tell you they do not use microwave ovens in the kitchen and the quality of food shows it! Fresh, delicious meals every time! We have lived here for over 10 years and were hesitant to eat here because we thought the prices would be high. However, the Adobe Grill has the views and ambiance of the La Quinta Resort and Club along with very reasonable prices. By far, the freshest, best tasting Mexican food in the La Quinta/Indian Wells/Palm Desert area. The service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Service

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The place is always hopping. Food is fast, hot and fresh. Our waiter was entertaining, helpful and the place has such a buzz it is always fun dining here. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Terrible

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I eat all the times over there but this one was terrible experience I got my soup and my entree and the check at same time , they should not over book and push the people out never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Always dependable.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I love the Tamales here, and the outside seating is awesome.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

What does it take to get an outside table?

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Altho we have enjoyed Adobe twice for the food, drink and friendly staff, I will not return because this is the second time I have made a reservation with Open Table, requested an outside table at least a week in advance and been denied. Poor form!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Big Letdown

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My girlfriend and I were super excited to come here while were staying at La Quinta. We had a number of other options available on-site, but this place's menu was the best, we thought. We were seated and our server delightfully took our order, and then was never seen again until the bill. Thankfully, other people helped with water refills pretty promptly. We ordered the nachos with Carne Asada and the meat was super bland. It seemed like it was not seasoned at all. We also ordered the Queso which was way too thin, in my opinion. We ended up pouring some of the Queso on our nachos in order to add flavor to it. Last, but certainly not least, we had the ceviche. This was their saving grace. It was very lemony and tasted fresh!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

great as always

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

every time it's a great time regardless of where on the patio we are. thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good traditional Mexican

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Good, traditional Mexican dishes in a beautiful setting. Service was prompt and friendly. The chips were particularly fresh tasting - served warm with a hint of salt, really good. Was in a group of 4 and everyone enjoyed their meal. We sat outside and listened to the musical entertainment. It's a little pricier than average but it is located in the La Quinta Resort. Had a good experience and would go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food arrived on a tray behind us and ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

The food arrived on a tray behind us and sat for a good 5 minutes. By the time they gave it to the six of us it was cold. Drinks are very overpriced! Have vacationed in the Palm Springs every year and usually love coming to the adobe grill, a bit disappointing this time!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great guacamole and very good sangria - ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Great guacamole and very good sangria - beautiful veranda for sunset!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The beef Tamales are wonderful!!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

The beef Tamales are wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best tableside guacomole

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We ate here 2 nights in a row - that is how impressed we were with the food and our server, Miguel. The view from the outdoor patio is perfect for a romantic dinner. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.