About Addison Restaurant

5200 Grand Del Mar Way
San Diego, CA 92130
View Larger Map

MENU: Reflecting Chef Bradley’s refined style, the menu features intense flavors and simple, yet masterfully combined ingredients. Offered as a multi-course experience, dishes change frequently and incorporate seasonal inspirations.

LE SALON BAR & LOUNGE: Share savory petite assiette and sip an ever-changing array of vintage and seasonally-inspired cocktails.

CORKAGE: Guests are welcome to bring their own wine. There is a $75 corkage fee per bottle and a limit of three 750 ml bottles (or the equivalent) per table, provided the wine does not appear on our list.

VEGAN GUESTS: Chef is pleased to accommodate vegan guests with a 48-hour notice.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday, 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm; Friday - Saturday, 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm. Closed Sunday and Monday.

Cross Street:
Carmel Country Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 314-1900

Website:
http://www.addisondelmar.com/

Parking Details:
We provide complimentary valet parking for our guests.

Executive Chef:
William Bradley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From small groups to large gatherings, Addison’s exclusive private dining experiences are perfect for intimate events of all sizes. Enjoy Executive Chef William Bradley’s ever-changing seasonal and customized menus with wine pairings to please and surprise the most discerning palates, while being attended to by Addison’s highly trained staff. From amuse-bouche to the artisanal desserts, each course is as visually exciting as it is utterly delicious at Southern California’s only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant.

For inquiries, please contact Event Manager Laura Yoccabel-Dibble at Laura.Dibble@Fairmont.com or 858.314.1946.

Restaurant Photos

  • Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
  • Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
  • Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
  • Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
  • Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 6:00PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

From small groups to large gatherings, Addison’s exclusive private dining experiences are perfect for intimate events of all sizes. Enjoy Executive Chef William Bradley’s ever-changing seasonal and customized menus with wine pairings at Southern California’s only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant.

Addison Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Diego
Best Food
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
7 More
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
Best Food
North San Diego
Best Service
North San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

Special Occasion (36)
Notable Wine List (29)
Romantic (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fireplace (8)
Cozy (7)
Scenic View (7)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was phenomenal. The food was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was phenomenal. The food was absolutely fantastic. The wine selection is one of the best we've seen. This is a restaurant to put on your bucket list!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an amazing experience. This rea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

This was an amazing experience. This really is a five star experience. The food is really one of a kind and can only be experienced here. The service is also amazing. Overall this is the restaurant is truly the one restaurant you need to go too!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant for Fine Dining in San D ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Best restaurant for Fine Dining in San Diego. The staff is amazing, professional, discreet and helpful. All very elegant. Each course is a treasure to be savored.

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way. Great food and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent in every way. Great food and exquisite service!

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. food and presen ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Everything was perfect. food and presentation was spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best dining experience I have had in ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The best dining experience I have had in my life, very upscale, very nice, attentive service, quiet, servers appear to give you time to enjoy your food, drink and company, at other restaurants I would call that slow service but it definitely didn't come off that way here. I highly recommend this restaurant for a very nice, quiet, intimate and fancy affair but it comes at a price. This place isn't cheap, it's the most expensive restaurant I've been to in San Diego, $$$$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had very high expectations after readi ...

vip
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had very high expectations after reading about Addison in the New York Times. Two days before dining there, I was called to confirm our reservation for 4. I asked specifically about dining options for my 11-year old daughter, who doesn't eat much, and was told that we could order an entree off the menu rather than a full 4-course or chef's tasting menu for her. When we were seated, we were told, contrary to what I was told, that we would have to order either a full 4-course or full chef's tasting menu for my daughter. I do not eat a lot and asked whether we could order 3 chef's tasting menus and just share with her, and was told, again, no. We had traveled all the way from NY and had high expectations for the chef, so we decided to go with the chef's tasting menu.

The food was excellent, but the service was very slow. As the meal stretched past the two and a half hour mark, we were still waiting for the meat course to be served. My daughter had stopped eating two courses earlier because she was full (as was I) and had fallen asleep at the table. Wait staff seemed to notice her sleeping, but no one made any effort to expedite service. We were still waiting for the meat course, when I told the waiter to just pack up the rest so we could get back to our hotel.

We were rushed to leave, so didn't notice that we had been charged for 5 chef's tasting menus when there were only 4 of us dining. I called the restaurant that night as soon as I saw the discrepancy, was told that I would need to speak with the maitre'd but that he was busy with the dinner service. As we were tired (we had arrived from NY the day before), I asked that he call me back the next day. He didn't. At 4:00pm the next day, I called and spoke with him. He was very polite and told me that the extra tasting menu charge would be credited to my credit card and that he would email me a receipt (which I have not yet received).

All in all, Addison did not live up to my expectations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We chose the Chef's Choice. Amazing! C ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We chose the Chef's Choice. Amazing! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Wonderful Restaurant but we booked for 8 ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful Restaurant but we booked for 8:15pm got seated at past 9pm and after 10:40pm we had just finished the appetizers on an 8 plate fixed menu. Had to leave mid meal having paid full price. Most unfortunate.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

This restaurant is way over priced...I h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant is way over priced...I have eaten at many Michelin star restaurants for half the price of this place. We did the chefs tasting menu along with the wine pairings. The service was very slow and they were very stingy with the wine. When you pay these kinds of prices they should be very free flowing. I will never visit this place again. My wife and I paid 1250.00 for the two of us. I was in Spain and went to three Michelin star restaurants and paid a fourth of this price with the wine pairings. Save your money and go to a good restaurant. When the bread is the best part of the meal, there is a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Fabbulous dinner experience from start t ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fabbulous dinner experience from start to finish.

However, we had booked as a regular night out while staying at the Fairmont Del Mar. We had no idea that the evening was a set menu with guest chef from NYC. It was a treat and worth every penny however we had no heads up from Open Table upon booking, or from the restaurant when they called to confirm two days prior, that we had actually booked a special event dinner to the tune of almost $300/person (we were a table of 3). Looking back, there was a note about an event Oct 29 on Open Table but as someone who uses the mobile app every two days on average, it seemed wrong to have this information way at the bottom of the booking (when there is no real need to 'scroll down'). For other event type nights at different restaurants I've booked in the past, it will often say 'please call the restaurant to reserve'. Again, fabulous from start to finish and an experience we'll remember, but we were not in the market for a $1000 meal with our ten year old son.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Short rib was underwhelming, and not wor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Short rib was underwhelming, and not worth a $25 surcharge for 'American Kobe'. Impeccable service. Dessert was amazing. Pork presse very good. Wouldn't go again.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Fabulous evening. We had the tasting men ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fabulous evening. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings. Everything was outstanding! Great food and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite 'fancy' over-the-top ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of our favorite 'fancy' over-the-top great restaurants!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely night at Addison while o ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We had a lovely night at Addison while on our honeymoon. This restaurant came highly recommended by locals as the best special occasion spot in SD. Everything was so beautiful and presented with class. All four courses were satisfying with the exception of the short rib. It was not as tender as a short rib should be. It was also coated in a very thick, underwhelming red wine reduction that absolutely ruined the dish. There was no flavor and the texture was slimey and thick. The service was incredible and everything else was great. With or without wine, don't expect to come here and spend less than 300$. It is super expensive. Everything felt worth it, except the short rib which was an upcharge of $25. If you are weird about texture or appreciate short rib, don't order this. Otherwise, it was a stellar experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second visit so we had high ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This is our second visit so we had high expectations, especially since the first time was so amazing. I brought my sister here because she likes really special high end dining. The ambience and overall service did not disappoint and we were well taken care of. I just felt that the menu selection was a bit limited this time and that for the price I would have liked a little bit more choice . The other issue was after the first experience with the most amazing waiter ever who explained every menu item in great detail, I expected the same. However, this waiter was pleasant but did not seem as excited about the menu and did not give a lot of details about the complex offerings, more just a translation of the name of the item. Also my coffee was not very hot. I did love all the "extras" like the bread and amuse buche courses and was very satisfied in the end. Everyone should experience Addison at some point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our trip to Addison was amazing. I was t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our trip to Addison was amazing. I was told that the experience would be wonderful but expensive. It is, indeed, expensive but not at all over priced. Their incredible menu and amazing service are well worth the cost.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been dying to try Addison for a whi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Have been dying to try Addison for a while... business to SD provides the perfect opportunity. Amazing, stunning, perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love the experience of a 3 Michel ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 25, 2016

If you love the experience of a 3 Michelin Star rated restaurant, the Addison is definitely deserving of it. It meets all the qualities that we have experienced with other 3 Michelin Star restaurants such as The French Laundry, The Restaurant at Meadowoods, L'Arpege, Restaurant Gordon Ramsey, and Manresa.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful experience ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful experience with two exceptions. The black cod/sable was slightly over done and over sauced. With this being said, the caviar course was incredible! We had a very enjoyable time and will consider it in the future for special events.

A suggestion, however, would be to include items such as coffee, tea, etc. in the fixed cost of dinner. If it means increasing the cost of dinner $10/diner, I am of the opinion that the difference between $250 and $260 per person is negligible vs seeing an almost insulting $10 itemized for coffee.

Thank you for the opportunity to experience Addison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything. Hands down the most spectacu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything. Hands down the most spectacular meal we have ever had. Impeccable service. It is a five diamond restaurant and lives up to that standard. Be aware that you will end up spending big money though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impecable, food was was the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was impecable, food was was the best we ever had. We had the Chefs tasting menu and it was everything we heard about it. Unforgettable night for my wife's birthday! Thanks to he entire staff for making it an enjoyable and menorable evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Addison is truly a suberb restaurant. S ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Addison is truly a suberb restaurant. Service and food are outstanding. Definitvely a place for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant menu, I had the 10th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing restaurant menu, I had the 10th anniversary tasting menu with a party of 4 (including a toddler) the service was impeccable. The attention to detail overwhelming. Asked about like or dislikes and tailored the menu to address the needs of the party. Simply one of the best overall meals in a great while. Downside is that you will pay dearly for it!. It is not for the faint of budget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best fine dining experience ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2016

This is the best fine dining experience in San Diego, hands down! I am 9 months pregnant and I still thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Sean is an amazing waiter! I had the best Mocktails ever. We came for our anniversary. Perfect night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely unbelievable! Superior food a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Absolutely unbelievable! Superior food and service, it is definitely a very special meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A night of perfection from the service t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A night of perfection from the service to the food and cocktails. We had the tasting menu and it was great. Maybe lacking a bit with dessert but it did not negatively impact our great meal.

Not sure why they do not have a Michelin Star?

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dining experience - service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Amazing dining experience - service was impeccable and food was exquisite. We did the four course offering with the wine pairing and could not have been happier. Will be back for our next occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They didn't process my $250 gift card th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2016

They didn't process my $250 gift card that night due to a system error and ended up charging me the full amount to my credit card. Said they'll call me first to process the gift card the next day and apply the difference to my CC. They never did. I called three times since (been three days now) and had no call back or resolution on applying my gift card. I'm still looking at a $300+ charge on my AMEX. What's the point of a gift card that I can't use? Food and cocktails were good but this has ruined my experience and impression of the service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Everything was perfect. The timing and s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everything was perfect. The timing and service was excellent. This restaurant really made my husbands and my five year wedding anniversary very memorable. I just want to thank the whole staff: from the people in at the door, to our server, and the kitchen for a great night.

Thanks,

Erica and Justin Jacobsen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely phenomenal experience! The c ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal experience! The chef's sampling included by far the best flavors I've ever enjoyed in my life. William Bradley has meticulously thought through every detail from start to finish and creates a perfect journey through the experience. Even more impressive was the innovation and expertly paired creations the chef produced given the added challenge our group posed with one person being a vegetarian. A truly remarkable and indescribable privilege to have shared this experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu de 110$ tres bien construit. Carte ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Menu de 110$ tres bien construit. Carte de bon tres fournie. Très bons desserts

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were phenomenal. Thank ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food and service were phenomenal. Thank you SO much! Cannot wait to dine here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the tasting menu with wine pa ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We ordered the tasting menu with wine pairings. The preparations were impressive, inventive, thoughtful and flavorful. Food service was exceptional with very good explanations of the various dishes. Service of the wines was a bit confused. We were poured the same wine twice, likely due to poor communication between the different servers. The wine was quickly replaced by yet another server. The quality of the wines was very good but is not up to the excellence of the food. The wine pairing was overly priced for the quality and value of the wines offered. Overall the experience was very good and I would highly recommend the tasting menu for a wonderful experience in fine dining. Order a good bottle of Montrachet and skip the wine pairing.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This was one of the best meals I have ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was one of the best meals I have ever had! The service was amazing - at least 10 people interacted with us. The food presentation outstanding. Each dish a work of art. We both loved each dish in the 4 course menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word: EPIC. It's an experience. Per ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 25, 2016

One word: EPIC. It's an experience. Perfect for special occasions. It was our second time dinning here last night, celebrated my birthday, and sure it won't be the last. Must do the tasting menu at Chef's mercy with pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch fine dining. Truly a five star ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Top notch fine dining. Truly a five star service, unfortunately Michelin Guide is not covering Southern California at the moment otherwise they would be a serious contender to get the 3 star batch. All their servings are extra ordinary and full of surprises.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and meal! One of the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding service and meal! One of the best I have ever had. I highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down best meal in years. Not chea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Hands down best meal in years. Not cheap, but worth every penny. The food was amazing. Service was impeccable. Experience was great. Equals best restaurants in Los Angeles and San Francisco.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.