Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.24mi
  4. Distance: 2.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.24mi
  4. Distance: 2.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.24mi
  4. Distance: 2.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 1.75mi
  3. Distance: 2.24mi
  4. Distance: 2.34mi

About Addison Restaurant

MENU: Reflecting Chef Bradley’s refined style, the menu features intense flavors and simple, yet masterfully combined ingredients. Offered as a multi-course experience, dishes change frequently and incorporate seasonal inspirations.

LE SALON BAR & LOUNGE: Share savory petite assiette and sip an ever-changing array of vintage and seasonally-inspired cocktails.

CORKAGE: Guests are welcome to bring their own wine. There is a $75 corkage fee per bottle and a limit of three 750 ml bottles (or the equivalent) per table, provided the wine does not appear on our list.

VEGAN GUESTS: Chef is pleased to accommodate vegan guests with a 48-hour notice.

5200 Grand Del Mar Way
San Diego, CA 92130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday, 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm; Friday - Saturday, 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm. Closed Sunday and Monday.

Cross Street:
Carmel Country Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 314-1900

Website:
http://www.addisondelmar.com/

Parking Details:
We provide complimentary valet parking for our guests.

Executive Chef:
William Bradley

Private Party Facilities:
From small groups to large gatherings, Addison’s exclusive private dining experiences are perfect for intimate events of all sizes. Enjoy Executive Chef William Bradley’s ever-changing seasonal and customized menus with wine pairings to please and surprise the most discerning palates, while being attended to by Addison’s highly trained staff. From amuse-bouche to the artisanal desserts, each course is as visually exciting as it is utterly delicious at Southern California’s only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant.

For inquiries, please contact Event Manager Corina Ketchum at Corina.Ketchum@Fairmont.com or 858.314.1946.

Private Party Contact:
Corina Ketchum: (858) 314-1946

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SPRING IN LE SALON
Tuesday - Saturday
6:00 pm – 9:00 pm

This spring, enjoy a special experience for two at Le Salon, Addison's inviting bar and terrace.Chef William Bradley's seasonal four-course sampling features exquisite canapés to share, paired with one bottle of wine hand-selected from Addison's renowned cellar. Spring has never been so flavorful at this unforgettable hideaway.

Shared canapés for two with bottle of wine, $135
Pricing is exclusive of tax and gratuity.

Specials

Spring in Le Salon

Fridays, Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Spring in Le Salon

Fridays, Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

This spring, enjoy an experience for two at Le Salon, Addison's inviting bar and terrace. Chef William Bradley's four-course sampling features exquisite canapés to share, paired with one bottle of wine hand-selected from Addison's renowned cellar. Excludes Tax and Tip. Shared canapés for two with bottle of wine, $135. Special valid Apr 7, 2017 - Jun 17, 2017 on Fridays, Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 6:00PM - 9:00PM

Addison Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
See All
Tasting Menu (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fireplace (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Authentic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
1007 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Maybe we've been spoiled by Guy Savoy, Joel Robuchon and the like. The Addison holds itself as in this class but the food is not. The food is extremely good but we walked away feeling over promised and under delivered regarding the food. The ambience and service did make up for anything lacking in spades. Still a must eat restaurant if you're in San Diego

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

awesome !this is a good place for your family .i really enjoy the time here with my dau and my husband

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We came here for a double anniversary celebration. The service was the best I've ever encountered. The food was artistic, and tasted as good as it looked. The space was so beautiful. We were seated by a huge and gorgeous fireplace. We chose the tasting menu as I'm adventurous and really wanted to savor everything the chef had to offer. My husband is much less adventurous and the only thing he didn't care for was a small piece of perfect sea urchin. I loved the foie gras with the chocolate toast. The asparagus and osetra caviar was sublime. The simple parker roll was elevated to heavenly status. I knew going in this was going to be a very expensive night, and it was, so plan accordingly. Our friends and I could not believe it when we were finishing up and it had been 4 hours as it seemed to go by so quickly. We did the wine pairing with our meal, and our friends did not. I think if I ever go back, I would instead put the money we spent on the wine pairing to a couple of really good bottles of wine instead. Everything complimented the dishes, but I can't imagine a couple of great bottles would hinder the experience. I can't say enough about every single person we encountered that worked there. The combination of the food and service made this an unforgettable night. Thank you, Addison, for making our special occasion even more special!

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My wife and I love this place. The tasting menu is the best by far of any other menu we have tried, we have tried many. The service is high quality and everyone supports each other. Sean is the head of it and really makes you feel welcome. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting fine dining. Please try it you will not be disappointed.

John

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Out of five stars, I give this place SEVEN. the sixth star is because all elements of this experience exceeded my expectations. The seventh star is because my wife and I just had the best meal we ever had. You can choose your own items or allow the chef to choose for you. I recommend giving the chef the keys to your stomach. He will take it on an amazing adventure. The restaurant is also very good with accommodating allergies and food restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The dining experience was amazing! The wait staff very attentive and the food delicious...and you leave very satisfied. Wine list is extensive (and pricey). Would recommend it for special occasions!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is definitely a 5 star restaurant. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Way over priced not worth it.
Chef selection Pre fixed w wine and cheese
675 per person 20 percent tip.
Not worth half that!

Golf course and resort is great. Bar food and drinks was much better at club house !!!

Don't waste your money or time

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

One of the most unbelievable dining experiences I've had! Everything was impeccable. The staff were attentive and helpful throughout the meal. We had the chef's choice menu which was the most perfect blend of flavors i could have asked for. Simply delicious. Every. Single. Bite. A must try for a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food, service, and decor. Probably the best service we have ever experienced. Great food, we chose the 4 course option. However, they brought 3 or 4 other small bites so it seemed more like 7 courses. Very knowledgeable Sommelier, he was quite helpful navigating the very extensive wine list. A beautiful dining room with lots of space between the tables. I look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The best restaurant experience of my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Prior to this evening, Addison was my favorite restaurant in San Diego. My wife and I dine there once or twice a year and every time the food, service, experience is fantastic. Kudos to Addison for their reliable awesomeness in all aspects of the dining experience.
Tonight just blew all of that out of the water. The food (as always) was superior with fantastic flavors and stellar presentation. The service/experience tonight brought real, memorable joy to my daughter.
Last week, I asked my almost 11 year-old, budding foodie/chef/fruit grower/gardener what she wanted as a present for her birthday. She had heard her mother and me talk about our meals at Addison and she asked if I would take her there instead of a present. Pricey for an 11 year-old but she really appreciates great food and trying new dishes.
Addison called prior to the reservation and asked if there was a special occasion and I told them it was my 11 year old's birthday. I could actually sense the excitement on the other end of the phone as the woman asked about her name, what she liked to eat etc.
Fast forward to our arrival - every staff member wished her a happy birthday by name at various times during the evening and went out of their way to pay special attention to her. The whole fantastic meal was accentuated by little touches to make her feel like the entire restaurant was there preparing her dinner and experience. About halfway through, one of the waitstaff asked her if she'd like to meet the chef and see the kitchen. If you could have seen her eyes light up. They walked us back like she was walking down the red carpet. Everyone in the kitchen greeted her and Chef Bradley came over to chat. He brought her a beautiful, cookbook as a gift and brought her back through the kitchen. This is the kind of experience for your child you dream about. Thanks Addison for a fantastic meal and experience!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food is absolutely amazing. We had the tasting menu and it was outstanding. Incredible attention to detail with so many complex flavors and originality. The duck and lasagna were particular standouts.
I was quite surprised that we were not offered a wine pairing option, or even suggestions, to complement the tasting menu. As we did not know what each course was, we could not select appropriate wine pairings ourselves. We were offered champagne prior to ordering, and then during service we were only offered more of the same champagne, so that's all we drank throughout the meal. As Addison has won many awards for wine, I thought we would be offered a pairing option to enhance the tasting menu. This was usually the case at other fine dining restaurants where we had tasting menus.
Other than this one omission, service was wonderful and staff were very attentive. We appreciated the printed menu and take home coffee cakes.
Unfortunately, one item on the bill left us with a bit of a bad taste. The champagne we selected sells for $55 per bottle. I believe we were charged $250. We understand there is a hefty markup on alcohol, but this was over and above what we have experienced. It was especially disappointing since we were not offered any other options to pair with the tasting menu. I would have paid $250 for a wine pairing option to complement the tasting menu. Instead of leaving us thinking about the ethereal food, we left thinking about the up charge on the champagne. Not an ideal way to end to an otherwise absolutely amazing meal.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

During our yearly winter vacation in the San Diego area, we always like to splurge at Addison for a wonderful and unique dining experience. We chose the tasting menu but skipped the wine pairing because we were driving. The sommelier, instead. helped us select an appropriate Pinot Noir and we enjoyed it very much. From the delicate oyster dish that began the meal to the petit fours that ended it, we dined exquisitely. Of particular note were the mushroom lasagna dish with prosciutto, the sablefish and ris de beau, although nothing was less than outstanding. Service was incomparable: we felt as though we were royalty being entertained in a baronial chateau. The evening ended with a short visit to the kitchen to meet the Chef de Cuisine, Stefani de Palma. Just a very special evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Let's just put it this way: my wife and I are now ruined for any other dining experience! If you want the best of the best, go to Addison.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Best meal we have had in San Diego. Over the top. Kitchen tour revealed how amazing Addison is and why it is deserving of its five-star rating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was an amazing experience. The food was amazing as well as the staff. I will definitely be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

All I can say is Wow! Incredible experience with fantastic food. Everything was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

amazing place and foods. It remind me when I had dinner in France, relax and enjoy my foods.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service and food were impeccable. The cost of a meal is not low, but the experience is one that you are likely to remember far longer than meals at a less expensive place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding in every way. The service was excellent, all our interactions were exactly what we hoped for. The food was perfect, each course was delicious on its own, while building toward an overall experience that made sure we will return. I look forward to future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Addison is my fav. Taste menu changed seasonal . You won't be bored. I would recommend you to give a try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Addison's was an unbelievable experience. So much detail put in the service and the food. The atmosphere was quiet and cozy. I would have to say this has been one of my best places to dine in San Diego!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was absolutely wonderful and the service was superb.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The place was absolutely beautiful and the food amazing. I had the 4-course dinner. Each course in itself was fabulous and the next course was even better! When asked what was my favorite dish, I couldn't choose just one as they were all soooo phenomenal. And so was the service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was superb. The food is creative, beautiful and delicious. True works of art. The service is wonderful, warm, not at all pretentious. A meal to remember for sure!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The attention to details is what stood out from the amazing food, excellent wait staff, and great ambiance. Definitely a great experience to dine at Addison. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My Husband and I came for a belated Birthday dinner and early Anniversary dinner. We have eaten for years in San Franciso restaurants, NYC restaurants, La Jolla restaurants, San Diego Restaurants. My Husband eats all over the world, and I have eaten in Japan/Finland/England/Tahiti. In our opinion this is the finest restaurant as far as atmosphere/service/cuisine we have ever eaten in----better than the Old Blue Fox and Quince in San Francisco and Pamplemousse Grille here. We have eaten in Hotel restaurants and were pleased that this fine an experience was hotel related as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

amazing food! very creative dishes. the service is flawless and with personality. the ten course choice is not as filling as other tasting menus so dont be afraid to go for it. we also loved the blind tasting approach. we did not know what we were getting until it came and did not receive the menu until we left. do it!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was wonderfully creative! My gf and I went for it and got the tasting menu. We were pleased with every dish that came out and also the mini dishes in between. All the ingredients in each dish were meaningful. After having a third serving of desert (what they called after desert) we were very full and satisfied.

The only negative of this meal was a cracker that didn't have much taste and we didn't understand what it was for. Excellent service and ambience and the location is great. I would highly recommend Addison!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Addison's was over the top in all categories, including price. We didn't care and felt we got value for our special occasion. However, not many people would pay $700 per plate for food, ambiance, service, wine and drinks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Als Höhepunkt eines herrlichen Tages in San Diego war das Dinner der krönende Abschluss 👨‍🎓!

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Wood Oven
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Amazing food and experience. My wife and I have been going to Addison for the last 3 years to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We love the attention to detail and service. You will spend at least 2-3 hours getting dinner but the whole experience is well worth it. Everyone is very friendly and accommodating as you'd expect with such a high end restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Outstanding. On par with Market in Del Mar and aiming at the French Laundry in Napa. Very nice venue, though we prefer the more casual atmosphere of Market or the rustic decor of the French Laundry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was my wife's birthday celebration. The attention to detail from the time we left the car & were greeted with happy birthday to my wife by name to the incredible, unbelievable service by our waiter and all our servers was better than we have ever experienced!

The presentation of the food and the attention to detail was perfect! The waiter listened to our concerns about food and the chef surpassed our every expectation.everything was beyond expectation even to our leaving and being escorted to our car and taking our photos on the way out!

Terrific!
Thank you!!

Bruce & Mary Swift

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Showed up 90 min. late and the staff was VERY nice and accommodating.
Dinner was fabulous the chef was obviously talented and creative. I really like hardcore French and he delivered.
Need better pastry chef.. otherwise 10/10

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome experience, great food and wine list. Impeccable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We celebrated our 38 th anniversary here. Addison was Awesome, Fabulous , The Best of the Best!!! An amazing evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.