About Addison Restaurant

5200 Grand Del Mar Way
San Diego, CA 92130
View Larger Map

MENU: Reflecting Chef Bradley’s refined style, the menu features intense flavors and simple, yet masterfully combined ingredients. Offered as a multi-course experience, dishes change frequently and incorporate seasonal inspirations.

LE SALON BAR & LOUNGE: Share savory petite assiette and sip an ever-changing array of vintage and seasonally-inspired cocktails.

CORKAGE: Guests are welcome to bring their own wine. There is a $75 corkage fee per bottle and a limit of three 750 ml bottles (or the equivalent) per table, provided the wine does not appear on our list.

VEGAN GUESTS: Chef is pleased to accommodate vegan guests with a 48-hour notice.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday, 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm; Friday - Saturday, 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm. Closed Sunday and Monday.

Cross Street:
Carmel Country Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 314-1900

Website:
http://www.addisondelmar.com/

Parking Details:
We provide complimentary valet parking for our guests.

Executive Chef:
William Bradley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From small groups to large gatherings, Addison’s exclusive private dining experiences are perfect for intimate events of all sizes. Enjoy Executive Chef William Bradley’s ever-changing seasonal and customized menus with wine pairings to please and surprise the most discerning palates, while being attended to by Addison’s highly trained staff. From amuse-bouche to the artisanal desserts, each course is as visually exciting as it is utterly delicious at Southern California’s only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant.

For inquiries, please contact Event Manager Laura Yoccabel-Dibble at Laura.Dibble@Fairmont.com or 858.314.1946.

Restaurant Photos

  • Addison Restaurant
  • Addison Restaurant
  • Addison Restaurant
  • Addison Restaurant
  • Addison Restaurant
Addison Restaurant
Addison Restaurant
Addison Restaurant
Addison Restaurant
Addison Restaurant

Promotions

Summer in Le Salon

Fridays, Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Collections By Addison – Chef Gabriel Kreuther

Saturday Oct 29, 2016 from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Summer in Le Salon

Fridays, Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Experience Addison's inviting bar and terrace with a four-course sampling of canapés for two paired with a bottle of wine. Shared tasting with wine, $135 per couple. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 10, 2016 - Sep 21, 2016 on Fridays, Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Collections By Addison – Chef Gabriel Kreuther

Saturday Oct 29, 2016 from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Chef Gabriel Kreuther joins Addison’s kitchen for an autumn evening of singular elegance. A James Beard Award winner with a Michelin star, Kreuther garners much acclaim for his eponymous restaurant in NYC. Eight-course tasting menu, $275/person. Excludes Tax and Tip. $100/guest applies to cancellations after 5pm on 10/26. Wine pairings, $200. Special valid on Saturday Oct 29, 2016 from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 6:00PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

From small groups to large gatherings, Addison’s exclusive private dining experiences are perfect for intimate events of all sizes. Enjoy Executive Chef William Bradley’s ever-changing seasonal and customized menus with wine pairings at Southern California’s only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant.

Addison Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Diego
Best Food
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
10 More
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Notable Wine List
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
Best Food
North San Diego
Best Service
North San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Fit for Foodies
North San Diego
Romantic
North San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (43)
Notable Wine List (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Scenic View (19)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
870 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Top notch fine dining. Truly a five star ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Top notch fine dining. Truly a five star service, unfortunately Michelin Guide is not covering Southern California at the moment otherwise they would be a serious contender to get the 3 star batch. All their servings are extra ordinary and full of surprises.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and meal! One of the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding service and meal! One of the best I have ever had. I highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down best meal in years. Not chea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Hands down best meal in years. Not cheap, but worth every penny. The food was amazing. Service was impeccable. Experience was great. Equals best restaurants in Los Angeles and San Francisco.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding tasting menu with wine pairi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding tasting menu with wine pairing. Every dish has an element of fresh twist and surprise that is delightful. Perfectly orchestrated service between dishes. Thank you for an amazing service and culinary experience. Will visit again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than French Laundry

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Better than French Laundry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the finest meals we have ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was one of the finest meals we have ever experienced. The food was perfection- imaginative, prepared by an amazing chef, presented by top notch servers. It was an amazing gastronomic evening. I cannot think of one misstep. Thank you, Addison Restaurant for an evening to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I are very fortunate to trav ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My wife and I are very fortunate to travel the world. One of the things we do is at least once a week when traveling is to do an evening of fine dining. Over the years we have hit more than 15 of the top 30 on the Pellegrino top 50. Why Addison is not on any of these lists surprises us.

The room, the service and most of all the food rank in the top 5 spots we have ever dined. An exceptional meal with a perfect pace. The food was inventive, with textures and flavours we did not expect. Who would of thought to put some ground peanuts (peanut butter) with perfectly cooked duck, then add a side of the most complex rice dish we have every tasted. One of the best courses I have ever tasted. All in all an outstanding experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delightful time. The service wa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a delightful time. The service was impeccable and a great amount of attention was given to us. The short ribs and oysters were delicious. We were quite impressed with the wine list as well. Although pricy, it was an unforgettable evening. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard many good things about the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had heard many good things about the much-ballyhooed Addison, but regrettably have to conclude it is very over-rated. It's a tasting menu which you accept sight unseen, as there is no menu and you don't know what's coming until it is in front of you. That could be good if you like pleasant surprises, but these weren't pleasant. Odd items, such as a fruit cup was one of the "courses." Another course was just a single oyster. The amuse bouche was a dollop of yogurt over some mango sauce. Odd and tiny plates that were not really that tasty. The only good one was a wagyu short rib. But one out of 11 tiny courses is not really a good batting average for this kind of price point. Instead of trying so hard to be out-of-the-ordinary, the chef should try offering valuable and hard-to-find selections that are also delicious. For a good model, refer to Victoria & Albert's, located strangely in Disney World, but still one of the best tasting menus we have ever enjoyed worldwide, going on 30 years!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

I rarely take the time to write reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I rarely take the time to write reviews for dining experiences, but feel like I really should for Addison. Food was exquisite and creative. I had the tasting menu, and it was definitely more than enough food. Service was outstanding, probably the best I've experienced this year (I eat out at fine dining places very frequently). Phone died? No problem, they delivered me iPhone cable on a silver plate. Feeling cold? They have shawls prepared for guests. All staffs were very attentive and friendly, and knowledgable about the cuisine. Will definitely recommend to anyone looking for fine dining in San Diego area

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect place for your special dinne ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The perfect place for your special dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although very quiet, it was outstanding ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Although very quiet, it was outstanding on every level. Food was amazing, definitely up there with French Laundry. Presentation, service and wine all top notch. Best for adults only, special occasion or business dinners. I will return as it doesn't get much better than that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An experience like no other; a feast of ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

An experience like no other; a feast of masterfully put together flavors while receiving royalty treatment. We went for the Chef's tasting menu, had an exquisite time. Worth every penny and then some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we arrived to the time w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, the staff at Addison was very attentive and left no detail unattended. The food was amazing and on par with some of the finest restaurants from around the globe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice dining experience. Would recom ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very nice dining experience. Would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It is always a pleasure to dine at Addi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at Addison. You really "dine", not just eat. We have enjoyed their meals, although pricy, but worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Bradly never disappoints - always e ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Chef Bradly never disappoints - always exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here for my boyfriends birthday. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I went here for my boyfriends birthday. They made us feel welcomed. Food was amazingly good. Me and my boyfriend had yhe four course meal but inbetween meals they shared an extra food cleansing snack. For 2 people with drinks and tip came out to be 430. Its definitely pricey and i would not come here more than once a year but it definitely was an experience we will never forget

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a memoreable dinner ex ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I had a memoreable dinner experience. Chef, Management, Captains, assistants, I mean the whole team truly delivered. We were treated like royalty. Cant wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing experience you'll ever ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The most amazing experience you'll ever have! Did chefs choice with wine pairing! I've never had this level of perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and quality of food was spectacular!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

For those whose said this place didn't fill your appetite, your wrong, my boyfriend and I both did the 4 course meal and we barely couldn't make it to the dessert... The service and quality of food was spectacular.!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There is a reason

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

For years this restaurant has been the best in San Diego and it remains there today. Impeccable service, unique deliciously invented tasting dishes and perfect service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a perfect experience!!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

From the moment the car door opened and we walked into the entrance and it was if they were all waiting just for us to arrive.." Hello Mr Corradino, hello Ana, Happy Birthday Mr Corradino. Your table is awaiting you"...And without breaking a stride we were led to our table in the main room with views of the golf course and the sun setting. The food was amazing, wine parring was incredible and the staff was just fabulous!!...We had a 10+ course meal with the wine parring, and at dish 7 we took a break in the library by the fireplace and finished our current glass of wine before returning for the final dishes......It was a perfect experience!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down one of the best dining experi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Hands down one of the best dining experiences we've had in a long time. The food and service were above and beyond what we expected. My husband is very difficult to please and he could not stop raving about the amazing food and attentive service. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would rank within my top 10 restaurants.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Wine should have been decanted at the table and the cork presented for inspection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Exceptional with some exceptions

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Compared to most restaurants I believe it was exceptional. That said, there were some exceptions that detracted from the experience. We found the service to be a little stuffy rather than friendly and the food (we had the chef's tasting with accompanying wine pairing fell a little short of other comparable restaurants (Per Se, Providence), though the price was comparable to those at about $1200 per couple. Overall, I enjoyed the evening and had a wonderful time but felt that there was room for improvement in a place where you expect perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our meal was amazing from beginning to e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our meal was amazing from beginning to end. The restaurant is beautiful and elegant. The service was friendly and very attentive and every course - the four on the menu plus many extras! were all exceptional.

One of the best meals we have ever had and we have eaten around the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tried their tasting menu and there were ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Tried their tasting menu and there were so many courses included! The food is not only wonderful but also precisely decorated! Amazing service with nice environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

By far, one of the bed meals I've had. G ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

By far, one of the bed meals I've had. Great food combinations and service was always there before needed but never overbearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated his birthday ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I celebrated his birthday at Addison on May 14, 2016 while we were guests at the Fairmont Grand Del Mar. We had a romantic table near a fireplace in a beautiful room. We were happy to see the tables are not crowded close together, giving each party space to laugh and talk at comfortable levels.

We both enjoyed the four-course spring menu, each sampling different items. My courses: (1) Bigeye Tuna; (2) Porcelet Trois Façon (pork three ways); (3) Coffee-Roasted Canard; and (4) Vacherin. His courses: (1) Kumamoto Oysters; (2) Coddled Farm Egg; (3) Kobe Beef Short Rib; and (4) Mille-Feuille. We selected three items for the cheese course - one mild, one intense, and one right in the middle, the "Goldilocks" cheese. Neither of us could pick a favorite among everything we ate that night. Even the breads that were presented throughout the evening were outstanding.

The martinis were excellent! Then we worked with the sommelier to select a bottle of wine, specifically requesting a full-bodied California red that would not be widely distributed where we live and within a specific price range. His selection was spot-on.

I believe our server's name was Jason. He was personable, knowledgeable, helpful and passionate about the restaurant. We felt like any of our questions were welcomed. Jason was nice enough to show us the kitchen and introduce us to Chef Anthony at the end of our meal - such a special way to wrap up an already memorable evening.

Our night at Addison was more than a meal, it was the highlight of our trip to San Diego. If you are looking for an opportunity to treat yourself, this is a superb choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant, upscale restaurant. We had the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Elegant, upscale restaurant. We had the chef's tasting menu, which was tasty and rich. Very overpriced at $250 per person. We should have stuck with the four course at $110 per person!

The staff were very attentive and professional, even when one member of our party became a bit challenging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful dining experience her ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience here. We opted for the Chef's tasting menu, because we wanted to experience the creativity of the chef. He is an acclaimed chef, and the honors are well deserved. If you do the tasting menu, try all the courses even if you don't think you like a particular item. The preparation makes all the difference. The entire staff makes sure your evening is very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sean the manger was the highlight of the ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Sean the manger was the highlight of the night. Everything was perfect and he just brought a sense of satisfaction beyond just the dinning. Addison is very lucky to have him. Do me a favor and ask for him! You ll be glad you did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As long as you know and expect the high ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

As long as you know and expect the high cost of this restaurant you will not be disappointed. The wine list is extensive, service outstanding and the food is creative and delicious! A wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

San Diego's Finest

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

From start to finish, our dining experience at the Addison was like no other. The valet called us by name, the wait staff wished us a happy anniversary as we entered the restaurant and the excellent service and meticulous attention to detail continued throughout the meal. My husband and I ordered the four-course menu, and my husband had wine pairing with his courses. To say the food was wonderful doesn't adequately convey the inspired preparation and fanciful presentation of each delicious course. My husband was also delighted to be introduced to some new and unusual wines that beautifully complemented his food. There is no question that it was an expensive evening for us, but if you are seeking a truly memorable dining experience, the Addison will not disappoint you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way over priced

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We were interrupted during conversations by the head waiter several times; the menu selections were not only limited but too exotic. Finally, our check totaled just under $1,000 for four persons.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Special

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I have always wanted to try Addison and was finally fortunate to be taken there by relatives. The service was impeccable and the food interesting and delicious. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about all of the unique menu items. The four course menu is really like eight courses because of all the extras they bring between courses. Hope we get to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Simply put...best dining experience ever ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Simply put...best dining experience ever! Surpassed other Michelin-rated restaurants that we have attended. Had the tasting menu with wine pairing. Food was delicious and pairings were on point. Would love to repeat soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing dining experience. The tasting ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Amazing dining experience. The tasting menu is memorable, and if you bring a younger diner with you (less than 21), they can substitute juices for the wines. I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough. Wonderful service and food without being pretentious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.