About Addison Restaurant

5200 Grand Del Mar Way
San Diego, CA 92130
View Larger Map

MENU: Reflecting Chef Bradley’s refined style, the menu features intense flavors and simple, yet masterfully combined ingredients. Offered as a multi-course experience, dishes change frequently and incorporate seasonal inspirations.

LE SALON BAR & LOUNGE: Share savory petite assiette and sip an ever-changing array of vintage and seasonally-inspired cocktails.

CORKAGE: Guests are welcome to bring their own wine. There is a $75 corkage fee per bottle and a limit of three 750 ml bottles (or the equivalent) per table, provided the wine does not appear on our list.

VEGAN GUESTS: Chef is pleased to accommodate vegan guests with a 48-hour notice.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday, 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm; Friday - Saturday, 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm. Closed Sunday and Monday.

Cross Street:
Carmel Country Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 314-1900

Website:
http://www.addisondelmar.com/

Parking Details:
We provide complimentary valet parking for our guests.

Executive Chef:
William Bradley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From small groups to large gatherings, Addison’s exclusive private dining experiences are perfect for intimate events of all sizes. Enjoy Executive Chef William Bradley’s ever-changing seasonal and customized menus with wine pairings to please and surprise the most discerning palates, while being attended to by Addison’s highly trained staff. From amuse-bouche to the artisanal desserts, each course is as visually exciting as it is utterly delicious at Southern California’s only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant.

For inquiries, please contact Event Manager Laura Yoccabel-Dibble at Laura.Dibble@Fairmont.com or 858.314.1946.

Restaurant Photos

  • Addison Restaurant
  • Addison Restaurant
  • Addison Restaurant
  • Addison Restaurant
  • Addison Restaurant
Addison Restaurant
Addison Restaurant
Addison Restaurant
Addison Restaurant
Addison Restaurant

Specials

Collections By Addison – Chef Gabriel Kreuther

Saturday Oct 29, 2016 from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Collections By Addison – Chef Gabriel Kreuther

Saturday Oct 29, 2016 from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Chef Gabriel Kreuther joins Addison’s kitchen for an autumn evening of singular elegance. A James Beard Award winner with a Michelin star, Kreuther garners much acclaim for his eponymous restaurant in NYC. Eight-course tasting menu, $275/person. Excludes Tax and Tip. $100/guest applies to cancellations after 5pm on 10/26. Wine pairings, $200. Special valid on Saturday Oct 29, 2016 from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 6:00PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

From small groups to large gatherings, Addison’s exclusive private dining experiences are perfect for intimate events of all sizes. Enjoy Executive Chef William Bradley’s ever-changing seasonal and customized menus with wine pairings at Southern California’s only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant.

Addison Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Diego
Best Food
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
10 More
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Notable Wine List
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
Best Food
North San Diego
Best Service
North San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Notable Wine List
North San Diego
Romantic
North San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (39)
Notable Wine List (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Scenic View (17)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
887 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have been dying to try Addison for a whi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined a day ago

Have been dying to try Addison for a while... business to SD provides the perfect opportunity. Amazing, stunning, perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love the experience of a 3 Michel ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

If you love the experience of a 3 Michelin Star rated restaurant, the Addison is definitely deserving of it. It meets all the qualities that we have experienced with other 3 Michelin Star restaurants such as The French Laundry, The Restaurant at Meadowoods, L'Arpege, Restaurant Gordon Ramsey, and Manresa.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful experience ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I had a wonderful experience with two exceptions. The black cod/sable was slightly over done and over sauced. With this being said, the caviar course was incredible! We had a very enjoyable time and will consider it in the future for special events.

A suggestion, however, would be to include items such as coffee, tea, etc. in the fixed cost of dinner. If it means increasing the cost of dinner $10/diner, I am of the opinion that the difference between $250 and $260 per person is negligible vs seeing an almost insulting $10 itemized for coffee.

Thank you for the opportunity to experience Addison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything. Hands down the most spectacu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything. Hands down the most spectacular meal we have ever had. Impeccable service. It is a five diamond restaurant and lives up to that standard. Be aware that you will end up spending big money though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impecable, food was was the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was impecable, food was was the best we ever had. We had the Chefs tasting menu and it was everything we heard about it. Unforgettable night for my wife's birthday! Thanks to he entire staff for making it an enjoyable and menorable evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Addison is truly a suberb restaurant. S ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Addison is truly a suberb restaurant. Service and food are outstanding. Definitvely a place for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant menu, I had the 10th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing restaurant menu, I had the 10th anniversary tasting menu with a party of 4 (including a toddler) the service was impeccable. The attention to detail overwhelming. Asked about like or dislikes and tailored the menu to address the needs of the party. Simply one of the best overall meals in a great while. Downside is that you will pay dearly for it!. It is not for the faint of budget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best fine dining experience ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This is the best fine dining experience in San Diego, hands down! I am 9 months pregnant and I still thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Sean is an amazing waiter! I had the best Mocktails ever. We came for our anniversary. Perfect night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely unbelievable! Superior food a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Absolutely unbelievable! Superior food and service, it is definitely a very special meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dining experience - service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Amazing dining experience - service was impeccable and food was exquisite. We did the four course offering with the wine pairing and could not have been happier. Will be back for our next occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They didn't process my $250 gift card th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

They didn't process my $250 gift card that night due to a system error and ended up charging me the full amount to my credit card. Said they'll call me first to process the gift card the next day and apply the difference to my CC. They never did. I called three times since (been three days now) and had no call back or resolution on applying my gift card. I'm still looking at a $300+ charge on my AMEX. What's the point of a gift card that I can't use? Food and cocktails were good but this has ruined my experience and impression of the service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Everything was perfect. The timing and s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everything was perfect. The timing and service was excellent. This restaurant really made my husbands and my five year wedding anniversary very memorable. I just want to thank the whole staff: from the people in at the door, to our server, and the kitchen for a great night.

Thanks,

Erica and Justin Jacobsen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely phenomenal experience! The c ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal experience! The chef's sampling included by far the best flavors I've ever enjoyed in my life. William Bradley has meticulously thought through every detail from start to finish and creates a perfect journey through the experience. Even more impressive was the innovation and expertly paired creations the chef produced given the added challenge our group posed with one person being a vegetarian. A truly remarkable and indescribable privilege to have shared this experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were phenomenal. Thank ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food and service were phenomenal. Thank you SO much! Cannot wait to dine here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the tasting menu with wine pa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We ordered the tasting menu with wine pairings. The preparations were impressive, inventive, thoughtful and flavorful. Food service was exceptional with very good explanations of the various dishes. Service of the wines was a bit confused. We were poured the same wine twice, likely due to poor communication between the different servers. The wine was quickly replaced by yet another server. The quality of the wines was very good but is not up to the excellence of the food. The wine pairing was overly priced for the quality and value of the wines offered. Overall the experience was very good and I would highly recommend the tasting menu for a wonderful experience in fine dining. Order a good bottle of Montrachet and skip the wine pairing.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This was one of the best meals I have ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was one of the best meals I have ever had! The service was amazing - at least 10 people interacted with us. The food presentation outstanding. Each dish a work of art. We both loved each dish in the 4 course menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word: EPIC. It's an experience. Per ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

One word: EPIC. It's an experience. Perfect for special occasions. It was our second time dinning here last night, celebrated my birthday, and sure it won't be the last. Must do the tasting menu at Chef's mercy with pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch fine dining. Truly a five star ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Top notch fine dining. Truly a five star service, unfortunately Michelin Guide is not covering Southern California at the moment otherwise they would be a serious contender to get the 3 star batch. All their servings are extra ordinary and full of surprises.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and meal! One of the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding service and meal! One of the best I have ever had. I highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down best meal in years. Not chea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Hands down best meal in years. Not cheap, but worth every penny. The food was amazing. Service was impeccable. Experience was great. Equals best restaurants in Los Angeles and San Francisco.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding tasting menu with wine pairi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding tasting menu with wine pairing. Every dish has an element of fresh twist and surprise that is delightful. Perfectly orchestrated service between dishes. Thank you for an amazing service and culinary experience. Will visit again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than French Laundry

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Better than French Laundry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the finest meals we have ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was one of the finest meals we have ever experienced. The food was perfection- imaginative, prepared by an amazing chef, presented by top notch servers. It was an amazing gastronomic evening. I cannot think of one misstep. Thank you, Addison Restaurant for an evening to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I are very fortunate to trav ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My wife and I are very fortunate to travel the world. One of the things we do is at least once a week when traveling is to do an evening of fine dining. Over the years we have hit more than 15 of the top 30 on the Pellegrino top 50. Why Addison is not on any of these lists surprises us.

The room, the service and most of all the food rank in the top 5 spots we have ever dined. An exceptional meal with a perfect pace. The food was inventive, with textures and flavours we did not expect. Who would of thought to put some ground peanuts (peanut butter) with perfectly cooked duck, then add a side of the most complex rice dish we have every tasted. One of the best courses I have ever tasted. All in all an outstanding experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delightful time. The service wa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a delightful time. The service was impeccable and a great amount of attention was given to us. The short ribs and oysters were delicious. We were quite impressed with the wine list as well. Although pricy, it was an unforgettable evening. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard many good things about the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had heard many good things about the much-ballyhooed Addison, but regrettably have to conclude it is very over-rated. It's a tasting menu which you accept sight unseen, as there is no menu and you don't know what's coming until it is in front of you. That could be good if you like pleasant surprises, but these weren't pleasant. Odd items, such as a fruit cup was one of the "courses." Another course was just a single oyster. The amuse bouche was a dollop of yogurt over some mango sauce. Odd and tiny plates that were not really that tasty. The only good one was a wagyu short rib. But one out of 11 tiny courses is not really a good batting average for this kind of price point. Instead of trying so hard to be out-of-the-ordinary, the chef should try offering valuable and hard-to-find selections that are also delicious. For a good model, refer to Victoria & Albert's, located strangely in Disney World, but still one of the best tasting menus we have ever enjoyed worldwide, going on 30 years!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

I rarely take the time to write reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I rarely take the time to write reviews for dining experiences, but feel like I really should for Addison. Food was exquisite and creative. I had the tasting menu, and it was definitely more than enough food. Service was outstanding, probably the best I've experienced this year (I eat out at fine dining places very frequently). Phone died? No problem, they delivered me iPhone cable on a silver plate. Feeling cold? They have shawls prepared for guests. All staffs were very attentive and friendly, and knowledgable about the cuisine. Will definitely recommend to anyone looking for fine dining in San Diego area

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect place for your special dinne ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The perfect place for your special dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although very quiet, it was outstanding ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Although very quiet, it was outstanding on every level. Food was amazing, definitely up there with French Laundry. Presentation, service and wine all top notch. Best for adults only, special occasion or business dinners. I will return as it doesn't get much better than that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An experience like no other; a feast of ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

An experience like no other; a feast of masterfully put together flavors while receiving royalty treatment. We went for the Chef's tasting menu, had an exquisite time. Worth every penny and then some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we arrived to the time w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, the staff at Addison was very attentive and left no detail unattended. The food was amazing and on par with some of the finest restaurants from around the globe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice dining experience. Would recom ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very nice dining experience. Would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It is always a pleasure to dine at Addi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at Addison. You really "dine", not just eat. We have enjoyed their meals, although pricy, but worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Bradly never disappoints - always e ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Chef Bradly never disappoints - always exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here for my boyfriends birthday. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I went here for my boyfriends birthday. They made us feel welcomed. Food was amazingly good. Me and my boyfriend had yhe four course meal but inbetween meals they shared an extra food cleansing snack. For 2 people with drinks and tip came out to be 430. Its definitely pricey and i would not come here more than once a year but it definitely was an experience we will never forget

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a memoreable dinner ex ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I had a memoreable dinner experience. Chef, Management, Captains, assistants, I mean the whole team truly delivered. We were treated like royalty. Cant wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing experience you'll ever ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The most amazing experience you'll ever have! Did chefs choice with wine pairing! I've never had this level of perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and quality of food was spectacular!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

For those whose said this place didn't fill your appetite, your wrong, my boyfriend and I both did the 4 course meal and we barely couldn't make it to the dessert... The service and quality of food was spectacular.!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There is a reason

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

For years this restaurant has been the best in San Diego and it remains there today. Impeccable service, unique deliciously invented tasting dishes and perfect service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.