About Addison Restaurant

5200 Grand Del Mar Way
San Diego, CA 92130
View Larger Map

MENU: Reflecting Chef Bradley’s refined style, the menu features intense flavors and simple, yet masterfully combined ingredients. Offered as a multi-course experience, dishes change frequently and incorporate seasonal inspirations.

LE SALON BAR & LOUNGE: Share savory petite assiette and sip an ever-changing array of vintage and seasonally-inspired cocktails.

CORKAGE: Guests are welcome to bring their own wine. There is a $75 corkage fee per bottle and a limit of three 750 ml bottles (or the equivalent) per table, provided the wine does not appear on our list.

VEGAN GUESTS: Chef is pleased to accommodate vegan guests with a 48-hour notice.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday, 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm; Friday - Saturday, 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm. Closed Sunday and Monday.

Cross Street:
Carmel Country Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 314-1900

Website:
http://www.addisondelmar.com/

Parking Details:
We provide complimentary valet parking for our guests.

Executive Chef:
William Bradley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From small groups to large gatherings, Addison’s exclusive private dining experiences are perfect for intimate events of all sizes. Enjoy Executive Chef William Bradley’s ever-changing seasonal and customized menus with wine pairings to please and surprise the most discerning palates, while being attended to by Addison’s highly trained staff. From amuse-bouche to the artisanal desserts, each course is as visually exciting as it is utterly delicious at Southern California’s only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant.

For inquiries, please contact Event Manager Laura Yoccabel-Dibble at Laura.Dibble@Fairmont.com or 858.314.1946.

Restaurant Photos

  • Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
  • Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
  • Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
  • Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA
  • Addison Restaurant, San Diego, CA

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 6:00PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

From small groups to large gatherings, Addison’s exclusive private dining experiences are perfect for intimate events of all sizes. Enjoy Executive Chef William Bradley’s ever-changing seasonal and customized menus with wine pairings at Southern California’s only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant.

Addison Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Romantic (15)
Fireplace (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
973 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

For a Michelin star restaurant, I was no ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

For a Michelin star restaurant, I was not wowed. Plating and flavors were lackluster and disjointed. Some items we didn't eat at all. Of course it's 5star service but we left feeling disappointed for all of the hype. The duck and beef were cooked beautifully but the other items were bland and odd in placement. I'd stick with some of the other top end restaurants in the are over returning, and that bums me out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had very few drinks, 4 people, no win ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

We had very few drinks, 4 people, no wine bottle, 4 chefs menu, its not a michelin star hotel, and yet, i have traveled the world, and believe me when i say it was the most expensive restaurant i have ever been to, period !!! US$1.400,00 or US$350,00 per person !!!

Something is deffinetely wrong with whom manages the place, obviously, the reason its empty and will not have success !!! the food was ok, just ok,

but a big disappointment as far as PRICE !!!

Run from it...... its not worth it as you will get depressed after you get the bill !!!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

It was my wife's birthday celebration. T ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

It was my wife's birthday celebration. The attention to detail from the time we left the car & were greeted with happy birthday to my wife by name to the incredible, unbelievable service by our waiter and all our servers was better than we have ever experienced!

The presentation of the food and the attention to detail was perfect! The waiter listened to our concerns about food and the chef surpassed our every expectation.everything was beyond expectation even to our leaving and being escorted to our car and taking our photos on the way out!

Terrific!

Thank you!!

Bruce & Mary Swift

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Showed up 90 min. late and the staff was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Showed up 90 min. late and the staff was VERY nice and accommodating.

Dinner was fabulous the chef was obviously talented and creative. I really like hardcore French and he delivered.

Need better pastry chef.. otherwise 10/10

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome experience, great food and wine ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome experience, great food and wine list. Impeccable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 38 th anniversary here ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We celebrated our 38 th anniversary here. Addison was Awesome, Fabulous , The Best of the Best!!! An amazing evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and food. Very accom ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Exceptional service and food. Very accommodating and attentive staff and the food was fabulous! The evening was exactly as we had hoped it would be - a wonderful birthday celebration. My mother is still raving about the meal, ambiance and staff!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was awesome. Service was a true de ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Staff was awesome. Service was a true delight.

Food was excellent.

Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, service and ambiance were perf ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were perfect as always. A very special evening with Chef Bradley and guest Chef Gary Danko.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

World class restaurant in San Diego. WOW ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

World class restaurant in San Diego. WOW! what an amazing meal we had at Addison Saturday night with Chef William and his guest Chef Gary Danko. A very memorable experience with great food. Congratulations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing service and best food. One of th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Amazing service and best food. One of the best experiences we have ever had. Specially thanks to the staff and kitchen for every single detail

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was phenomenal. The food was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The service was phenomenal. The food was absolutely fantastic. The wine selection is one of the best we've seen. This is a restaurant to put on your bucket list!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an amazing experience. This rea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was an amazing experience. This really is a five star experience. The food is really one of a kind and can only be experienced here. The service is also amazing. Overall this is the restaurant is truly the one restaurant you need to go too!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant for Fine Dining in San D ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Best restaurant for Fine Dining in San Diego. The staff is amazing, professional, discreet and helpful. All very elegant. Each course is a treasure to be savored.

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way. Great food and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent in every way. Great food and exquisite service!

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. food and presen ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Everything was perfect. food and presentation was spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best dining experience I have had in ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The best dining experience I have had in my life, very upscale, very nice, attentive service, quiet, servers appear to give you time to enjoy your food, drink and company, at other restaurants I would call that slow service but it definitely didn't come off that way here. I highly recommend this restaurant for a very nice, quiet, intimate and fancy affair but it comes at a price. This place isn't cheap, it's the most expensive restaurant I've been to in San Diego, $$$$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had very high expectations after readi ...

vip
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had very high expectations after reading about Addison in the New York Times. Two days before dining there, I was called to confirm our reservation for 4. I asked specifically about dining options for my 11-year old daughter, who doesn't eat much, and was told that we could order an entree off the menu rather than a full 4-course or chef's tasting menu for her. When we were seated, we were told, contrary to what I was told, that we would have to order either a full 4-course or full chef's tasting menu for my daughter. I do not eat a lot and asked whether we could order 3 chef's tasting menus and just share with her, and was told, again, no. We had traveled all the way from NY and had high expectations for the chef, so we decided to go with the chef's tasting menu.

The food was excellent, but the service was very slow. As the meal stretched past the two and a half hour mark, we were still waiting for the meat course to be served. My daughter had stopped eating two courses earlier because she was full (as was I) and had fallen asleep at the table. Wait staff seemed to notice her sleeping, but no one made any effort to expedite service. We were still waiting for the meat course, when I told the waiter to just pack up the rest so we could get back to our hotel.

We were rushed to leave, so didn't notice that we had been charged for 5 chef's tasting menus when there were only 4 of us dining. I called the restaurant that night as soon as I saw the discrepancy, was told that I would need to speak with the maitre'd but that he was busy with the dinner service. As we were tired (we had arrived from NY the day before), I asked that he call me back the next day. He didn't. At 4:00pm the next day, I called and spoke with him. He was very polite and told me that the extra tasting menu charge would be credited to my credit card and that he would email me a receipt (which I have not yet received).

All in all, Addison did not live up to my expectations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We chose the Chef's Choice. Amazing! C ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We chose the Chef's Choice. Amazing! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Wonderful Restaurant but we booked for 8 ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful Restaurant but we booked for 8:15pm got seated at past 9pm and after 10:40pm we had just finished the appetizers on an 8 plate fixed menu. Had to leave mid meal having paid full price. Most unfortunate.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

This restaurant is way over priced...I h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant is way over priced...I have eaten at many Michelin star restaurants for half the price of this place. We did the chefs tasting menu along with the wine pairings. The service was very slow and they were very stingy with the wine. When you pay these kinds of prices they should be very free flowing. I will never visit this place again. My wife and I paid 1250.00 for the two of us. I was in Spain and went to three Michelin star restaurants and paid a fourth of this price with the wine pairings. Save your money and go to a good restaurant. When the bread is the best part of the meal, there is a problem.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Fabbulous dinner experience from start t ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fabbulous dinner experience from start to finish.

However, we had booked as a regular night out while staying at the Fairmont Del Mar. We had no idea that the evening was a set menu with guest chef from NYC. It was a treat and worth every penny however we had no heads up from Open Table upon booking, or from the restaurant when they called to confirm two days prior, that we had actually booked a special event dinner to the tune of almost $300/person (we were a table of 3). Looking back, there was a note about an event Oct 29 on Open Table but as someone who uses the mobile app every two days on average, it seemed wrong to have this information way at the bottom of the booking (when there is no real need to 'scroll down'). For other event type nights at different restaurants I've booked in the past, it will often say 'please call the restaurant to reserve'. Again, fabulous from start to finish and an experience we'll remember, but we were not in the market for a $1000 meal with our ten year old son.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Short rib was underwhelming, and not wor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Short rib was underwhelming, and not worth a $25 surcharge for 'American Kobe'. Impeccable service. Dessert was amazing. Pork presse very good. Wouldn't go again.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Fabulous evening. We had the tasting men ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fabulous evening. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings. Everything was outstanding! Great food and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite 'fancy' over-the-top ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of our favorite 'fancy' over-the-top great restaurants!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely night at Addison while o ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We had a lovely night at Addison while on our honeymoon. This restaurant came highly recommended by locals as the best special occasion spot in SD. Everything was so beautiful and presented with class. All four courses were satisfying with the exception of the short rib. It was not as tender as a short rib should be. It was also coated in a very thick, underwhelming red wine reduction that absolutely ruined the dish. There was no flavor and the texture was slimey and thick. The service was incredible and everything else was great. With or without wine, don't expect to come here and spend less than 300$. It is super expensive. Everything felt worth it, except the short rib which was an upcharge of $25. If you are weird about texture or appreciate short rib, don't order this. Otherwise, it was a stellar experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second visit so we had high ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This is our second visit so we had high expectations, especially since the first time was so amazing. I brought my sister here because she likes really special high end dining. The ambience and overall service did not disappoint and we were well taken care of. I just felt that the menu selection was a bit limited this time and that for the price I would have liked a little bit more choice . The other issue was after the first experience with the most amazing waiter ever who explained every menu item in great detail, I expected the same. However, this waiter was pleasant but did not seem as excited about the menu and did not give a lot of details about the complex offerings, more just a translation of the name of the item. Also my coffee was not very hot. I did love all the "extras" like the bread and amuse buche courses and was very satisfied in the end. Everyone should experience Addison at some point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our trip to Addison was amazing. I was t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our trip to Addison was amazing. I was told that the experience would be wonderful but expensive. It is, indeed, expensive but not at all over priced. Their incredible menu and amazing service are well worth the cost.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been dying to try Addison for a whi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Have been dying to try Addison for a while... business to SD provides the perfect opportunity. Amazing, stunning, perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love the experience of a 3 Michel ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 25, 2016

If you love the experience of a 3 Michelin Star rated restaurant, the Addison is definitely deserving of it. It meets all the qualities that we have experienced with other 3 Michelin Star restaurants such as The French Laundry, The Restaurant at Meadowoods, L'Arpege, Restaurant Gordon Ramsey, and Manresa.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful experience ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful experience with two exceptions. The black cod/sable was slightly over done and over sauced. With this being said, the caviar course was incredible! We had a very enjoyable time and will consider it in the future for special events.

A suggestion, however, would be to include items such as coffee, tea, etc. in the fixed cost of dinner. If it means increasing the cost of dinner $10/diner, I am of the opinion that the difference between $250 and $260 per person is negligible vs seeing an almost insulting $10 itemized for coffee.

Thank you for the opportunity to experience Addison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything. Hands down the most spectacu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything. Hands down the most spectacular meal we have ever had. Impeccable service. It is a five diamond restaurant and lives up to that standard. Be aware that you will end up spending big money though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impecable, food was was the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was impecable, food was was the best we ever had. We had the Chefs tasting menu and it was everything we heard about it. Unforgettable night for my wife's birthday! Thanks to he entire staff for making it an enjoyable and menorable evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Addison is truly a suberb restaurant. S ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Addison is truly a suberb restaurant. Service and food are outstanding. Definitvely a place for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant menu, I had the 10th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing restaurant menu, I had the 10th anniversary tasting menu with a party of 4 (including a toddler) the service was impeccable. The attention to detail overwhelming. Asked about like or dislikes and tailored the menu to address the needs of the party. Simply one of the best overall meals in a great while. Downside is that you will pay dearly for it!. It is not for the faint of budget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best fine dining experience ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2016

This is the best fine dining experience in San Diego, hands down! I am 9 months pregnant and I still thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Sean is an amazing waiter! I had the best Mocktails ever. We came for our anniversary. Perfect night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely unbelievable! Superior food a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Absolutely unbelievable! Superior food and service, it is definitely a very special meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A night of perfection from the service t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A night of perfection from the service to the food and cocktails. We had the tasting menu and it was great. Maybe lacking a bit with dessert but it did not negatively impact our great meal.

Not sure why they do not have a Michelin Star?

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.