About Adamus - Silversmith Hotel

10 S Wabash Ave
Chicago, IL 60603
View Larger Map

A nod to the ancient Latin term for diamond, Adamus is the newest destination of the Chicago landmark Silversmith Hotel, located in the Loop. The vibrant bar and restaurant evokes a desire for handcrafted cocktails, tempting bites and social interaction, presenting a high-energy gathering place for cosmopolitan dining. Offering delectable cheese and charcuterie boards, seasonal tastes and plates for sharing, Adamus presents a lively ambience promising a buzzworthy destination for the mingling crowd.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Served Daily 6:30a - 11:00a
Lunch Served Mon - Fri 11:30a - 2:00p
Dinner Served 5:00p - 10:00p

Cross Street:
Madison/Wabash

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 372-7696

Website:
http://www.silversmithchicagohotel.com/dining.aspx

Public Transit:
Adamus is located just steps off the Madison/Wabash Brown,Green, Orange, and Pink-line stops. We are also just a couple blocks away from the Monore Red Line stop, and the Washington Blue Line stop.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Our semi-private booths and community table make the perfect setting for parties ranging from 20-150 attendees. Adamus features an amazing menu selection for your informal get togethers, with local beers, craft cocktails, and decadent small plates prepared by our chef.

Adamus - Silversmith Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.1

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (1)
See All
Local Ingredients (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
75 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress was the only one in the fro ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our waitress was the only one in the front of the house. She did her best to seat and serve, but dirty tables were never cleared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

A group of four went to Adamus pre-Hamil ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A group of four went to Adamus pre-Hamilton. Great location, beautiful place and convenient parking. Great place for a drink or light snack pre-show.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It unexpected... enjoyed it. Lounge area ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2016

It unexpected... enjoyed it. Lounge area very cozy and warmth

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went before attending Hamilton. Abso ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We went before attending Hamilton. Absolutely perfect. great food, not rushed and steps from the theatre. We went for our anniversary, but will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A former colleague and I came here for t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2016

A former colleague and I came here for the happy hour specials online. Unfortunately, the bar and restaurant are kept understaffed. The wait time isn't worth the money saved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had a breakfast business meeting here ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had a breakfast business meeting here. There were only 3 other tables occupied at the time. Service was terrible! We needed to ask for coffee , waiter took forever to come to take our orders, one diner ordered bacon and eggs for breakfast and they had no bacon! It was in the freezer and would have to be deep fried if the person still wanted it! All in all, I would never recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

The restaurant itself is slightly strang ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The restaurant itself is slightly strange - private booths offer televisions, which make it difficult to have a normal date - do you want to watch ESPN, Money Matters, or Shark Week? The food we had was delicious but the portions varied widely - the flatbread was incredible but the size of a large pizza, meanwhile the hummus of the same price was only a couple of spoons worth with carrots and celery and no pita or bread to be found. The pickle chips were crisp and tasty and our beet soup was superb.

My happy hour cocktail was bizarre - I requested a classic Dark N' Stormy since they offer 2 ingredient cocktails for a low price. For whatever reason, my drink was mostly rum and lime. The recipe for a Dark N' Stormy is simply rum and ginger ale so I'm not sure why the massive amount of lime was added (this wasn't just a wedge or a splash for flavor and fresh lime is certainly more expensive for the restaurant than ginger ale).

The service was friendly and quick but strange - the server forgot to bring back change at my request, leaving me with the option of a 10% or a 40% tip and nothing in between at the end of the night. Not sure if this was an oversight on their part or intentional gamble in the hopes of guilting us into a larger tip. All in all a strange evening. I'd like to give them a second chance but I'm unsure what would happen.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great spot to meet for a quick drink, ap ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great spot to meet for a quick drink, appetizers, and a catch-up - the bar was hopping but the tables were quieter. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fred Blackmon, Chicago.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Best kept secrete in Chicago! I have been there for both business and romantically. The food is excellent, and I have eaten all over the world. The ambiance is great. They have segmented open spaces that feel like VIP. Your group can segment itself and still be a part of the crowd or not.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We'd not heard of Adamus before and, loo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We'd not heard of Adamus before and, looking for something different in a pre-symphony dining spot, tried it last weekend. A beautiful dining room and bar area, very comfortable seating, and quiet. Quiet partly because we were the only patrons there for most of the time (except for several people at the bar) - though I imagine it would remain a quiet dining room even if full, as the tables are widely spaced, and many are off to the side in booths. Our dishes were well prepared and presented, and served piping hot. Service was attentive.

This is a really fine addition to dining options in the loop, and we hope it does well!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a gorgeous hidden treasure of a res ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2016

What a gorgeous hidden treasure of a restaurant. We were very impressed with the decor. It's very appropriate for the Jewelry Row location. The food was amazing. I had the salmon which was really great and husband had the pork tenderloin. There was pumpkin-bread pudding for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden lunch spot

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Not sure why there were not more people having lunch on Friday. Very good service, nice selection on the menu and the food was very good. But very few others were there. Don't stay away, come on in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were the only table for lunch. The fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2016

We were the only table for lunch. The food was good, but not a lot of selection. The service was great. But, again... We were the only table... At noon, during the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Nothing Special

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The service and the decor was modern and unique. It looks like it has a lot of potential. The food was not very good though and their drink menu seemed a little limited, especially during happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Quite great business meeting lunch

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Had a great business meeting lunch with a quite atmosphere and great food. Seem like the restaurant must be just starting or redone as few individuals were there. Had a sandwich one day and a salad the following day. Both meals were excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very slow service but good food.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Very slow service but good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Isabel our server was wonderful taking c ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2016

Isabel our server was wonderful taking care of us. Personable, attentive, warm, inviting. We'll be back for the service and the delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the Restaurant Week menu. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2016

We enjoyed the Restaurant Week menu. The food was very good, nice wine choices, the ambiance was comfortable and conducive to conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We tried everything as part of the two d ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2016

We tried everything as part of the two different choices featured during Chicago Restaurant Week fixed menu. The food profile of every single course dish was, without exaggeration, simply outstanding. Our chef came out and exchanged a few words with us and we personally congratulated him on a couple of his gastronomic achievements. Our young waiter was very personable and professional, which only contributed to enjoying an already fantastic meal. The only thing that was shocking to us in regards to the locale's ambiance was the fact that, after going to such great lengths in the execution of the space concept and design, they resorted to plastering the walls with several large TV screens. We actually managed to turn off the one right above our table, but still had three more vying for our attention in the background and from the corner of our eyes. Given that in today's world, we are constantly surrounded by screens of all sizes (one could even argue that we're almost attached to that particular one we hold incessantly in our hands), in our case we tend to look for unique places which refuse to give in and fall prey to this awful trend. For that reason, and for that reason alone, we do not look forward to returning any time soon. It's a shame that a banal trend has trumped chic design and haute cuisine of an otherwise almost perfect dining gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The restaurant is more of a bar up front ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2016

The restaurant is more of a bar up front. There was no host/hostess when we stepped in, at least at the time we went. We made reservations and we pretty much chose where we sit.

Casual lighting is great for a date however we could do without the tv next to your table in the booth.

The food was excellent and very delicious. Service was great and very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

this spot is empty for lunch and staffed ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2016

this spot is empty for lunch and staffed with only one server/hostess.

We were the only group there until 12:30 when a couple of hotel guest cam in.

it might be the Wabash el construction but was a bit worrying.

the food was ok - nothing special - so its not a draw.

the server/waitress/hostess tried her best but she had the space a one point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

It had a nice bar area. The food was pre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2015

It had a nice bar area. The food was pretty good too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

This was a lovely restaurant with delici ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2015

This was a lovely restaurant with delicious food, both small plates and regular meals. They have a nice selection of cocktails, beer and wine. The bar section is very inviting with comfy seating or regular bar seating. Here is my question...why aren't all you Open Tablers eating there? This is a hidden gem of calm in the hustle and bustle of downtown Chicago. It is great for pre theatre nibbles or dinner. The food is fresh and the service attentive, but not annoying. All I can say is go. You won't be sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

server called us "yous guys" & gave blank menus

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2015

Went after seeing ABC7 News. Cannot see how this place will ever survive.

Staff needs much training / help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Good late night option

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2015

Lots of menu diversity and interesting items, tasty. Responsive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing Food, Service and Location!!!!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 2, 2015

We couldn't believe the place wasn't packed! If there was anything we would change, it would be the fact that is hard to find out details on the web. This is a great, little known gem...DON'T hesitate to give it a chance...you won't be disappointed! The pork Sliders and $3 beers were a great surprise!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice find

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2015

I read some of the other reviews before booking the place. I agree with some other reviewers that the restaurant is not clearly marked when you enter the lobby. Essentially it is the open space after the bar. This does make it a little noisy when a lot of people are there. However there are tables in the back and on a side area that are quieter and more secluded. There are several alcoves where small groups could sit together in a wrap around sofa configuration. There are a lot of TV's on the walls and in some of the booths which would be great if you want to see a game.

I recommend the curry clam chowder that is on their spring menu. Hopefully it sticks around as the menu changes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ugh. Service is terrible. Food is amaz ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2015

Ugh. Service is terrible.

Food is amazing.

I wish they could find a balance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Greqt find for Dinner Before Symphony

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2015

Bar and Restaurant in the newly renovated Silversmith Hotel is perfect for dinner before theater or Symphony. There is a large bar area, communal tables as well as table/booth seating with TVs. We sat in a spacious booth had enjoyed delicious lobster croquettes for an appetizer. I has the black fish pastini salad and my husband had a specialty club sandwich. Both were good. Wines by the glass were pricey, but this is a bar hotel. Delicious chocolate raspberry dessert. Waiter also brought bread with three different spreads, which was a very nice start to dinner. There is no hostess, so see the bartender for seating in the restaurant section.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ugh service.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2015

Ugh service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Great Lounge

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2015

Adamus had amazing service EXCEPT for the host/hostess situation. There was nobody to greet us when we came in and we were confused. In fact, I sat in a chair by the wall by the entrance for about five minutes and nobody acknowledged me.

But then our server was the light of the place. LOVED HER! And the chef came out and said "hi." He was cool people too. His food was good but his burgers fell flat. I don't know what happened to that burger. I hope it was a fluke.

I would recommend Adamus to a friend and I think it is a great restaurant for the area. It's a chill, good place for after work in the Loop neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This place was amazing - my sandwich was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2015

This place was amazing - my sandwich was so delicious and the bar was a great atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Near the theater

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2015

We went before the theater, and it was a good choice to relax and have a cocktail and a bite. Nice atmosphere, for a hotel bar/restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great Food in a weird space

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2015

This restaurant is really more of a bar. It's a hotel bar - without any restaurant signage or branding. A host doesn't exist. A dining area barely exists - it just seems to be a hotel lobby with seating strewn across it.

Which is only a shame because people may not recognize that this is a great place to eat. The Pear salad was great, fresh and flavorful. The roasted herb chicken was succulent, and the fixings were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

A real gem

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 6, 2015

I booked Adamus as we needed to dine near a associates hotel, what a pleasant surprise. Wonder food, great staff, interesting menu. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a post-concert dinner.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2015

I chose Adamus for its location near Symphony Center. I will go back for that reason, but also because it was a great dining experience. My friends and I enjoyed the food, the comfortable setting, the service -- and a personal visit with the chef.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The roasted chicken dish was amazing! I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2015

The roasted chicken dish was amazing! I can't stop thinking about the braised Tuscan kale that was part of the dish! I want to go back just to eat that kale again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, top notch server

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2015

Our waiter Kevin was fantastic--super attentive and very sweet. It's exactly what you'd expect from a top notch restaurant in Chicago. The food was spectacular! My husband could not get enough of the monkfish and my avocado rueben was delicious. I will defiantly be coming back and bringing all my friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was fantastic! The food is ok ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2015

Our server was fantastic! The food is okay. Nothing to write home about. Drinks are a bit on the high side. Not sure I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

A gem in the loop

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2015

My wife and I were looking for a pre symphony locale to dine and thank you OpenTable and other reviewers for helping us find this place. The menu was a little lite, but do not let that influence you, this place is not a risk. Both of our meals were phenomenally prepared we would go back in a minute. The decor was very modern and the bar had a great vibe to it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.