Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Acre

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (69)
Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (61)
See All
Creative Cuisine (56)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Worth the Drive (38)
Business Meals (36)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Great for Brunch (29)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Casual (27)
Authentic (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Fun (23)
Cozy (21)
Seasonal (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Healthy (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Organic (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Great Beer (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Scenic View (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious, creative food. Everything was fresh and of great quality. Good complement of cocktails with impressive wine and beer selections. Wait staff are engaging and warm, but let you have an intimate dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

The menu has mainstay selection (fish, poultry, steak), that are very creatively prepared. The atmosphere is upscale without being stuffy. Always go to Acre whenever I'm in Auburn.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food and service as usual. Interior design is magnificent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Saw a piece on the Acre in Southern Living a while back and had a chance do a business dinner there several months ago while in school at Auburn. One of my daughters was going to a camp at Auburn that started on Sunday so we decided to try brunch. Everything was excellent beginning with the greeting at the front door. We started with the appetizer sampler which had a great selection of meats, cheeses and fruits that included pickled grapes, which were a first for us. My teenaged twins both had chicken and waffles, my wife had a BLT with heirloom tomatoes and pecan smoked bacon and I had a biscuit with eggs and a slice of brisket. The portions were generous and the price was reasonable with great service from an Auburn sophomore engineering student. I'd have no hesitation recommending the Acre to anyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Visiting Auburn with my daughter and tried this fabulous resturant.The service was wonderful. The redfish was sinfully tasty and the fried okra on top gave it the perfect crunch. The fried green tomatoes with pimiento cheese and crab was to die for! I could eat there every day. Wish we lived closer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Lovely dinner on the "porch" for our 25th wedding anniversary. As always, a very creative and fresh menu with incredible ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Dinner and the service were wonderful!! The fried green tomatoes are a must!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The Acre- outstanding as usual. The Tuesday Burger Night is well worth trying. We had a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was great but it took a long time to come out from the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was wonderful and the staff was very accommodating and nice. Timed our food wonderfully and allowed us to visit with friends that we only see about once a month. Was a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Perfect, as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great meal. And loved the atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We came in for an informal dinner while in town visiting Auburn as we had heard so many great things about Acre. We found everything to be just as expected--the restaurant is beautiful, the customer service outstanding and the food was great! Looking forward to future trips while we have a student at Auburn.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, food and service from our meal tonight at Acre. Will definitely be back.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This is a very Favorite restaurant (desserts are very slow)!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food and Service was wonderful--entertainment was too loud and kept us from being able to have a conversation without raising our voices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Always a favorite. But, service wasn't up to par this visit for some reason. May have been busy. But, highly recommend and will always go back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Wonderful chicken and waffles! Guacamole was also good! Service was great. Really nice modern restaurant with comfortable feel.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Thie experience we had at Acre was the most phenomenal dining experience my wife and I have ever had. The chicken fried bacon and fried green tomatoes we had as appetizers were delicious. The beef tenderloin was better than any steak that I've ever eaten. The bread pudding and peanut butter pie were a perfect ending to a wonderful meal. Our 21st anniversary was amazing!!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Acre's burger night did not disappoint! The burgers and fries were perfectly executed and deliciously presented. The handcrafted cocktails were also delicious. The $2 PBR tall boy was a nice little special, too! Great service. Gorgeous setting.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great meal as always! Best farm to table meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Exceptional service. Charcuterie was excellent and a lot of fun for an appetizer with wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Meal was better than anticipated. Very knowledgeable server helped us select dishes. Perfect guidance and delicious appetizers and entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Second time around and better than the first months ago! Service and food excellent. Couldn't pass on the donuts to start again. Yum 👊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Took way too long to get our food. Terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Never had such poor service at Acre before. Party of 4, waited 45 minutes for lunch to arrive after order (soups & salads). One member of our party didn't receive food until 15 minutes after the rest of the group. Party seated after ours at the next table was served before us. Waiter had to be reminded multiple times to bring lemons to the table, asked for dessert to go, it was served on a plate, had to remind that it was "to-go". Food was good as usual, but the service was atrocious this time. They comped our lunch in an effort to make up for the service issue, but not sure I'll go back anytime soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, good attentive service, wide variety of selections. A little noisy but we requested to be moved to a quieter area and we're obliged. Great suggestions from our waiter

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Acer's food never disappoints . Love that they are always changing the menu. Very creative Chef!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Tenderloin is amazing. Jennifer did a wonderful job setting up our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

First off, this is definitely a destination restaurant and worth the drive to Auburn, especially from Columbus, LaGrange, Montgomery, etc. I travel a good bit and have eaten at some really nice steak restaurants (Gibson's, Morton's, Smith & Wollensky, Palm, a few on the "Best Steakhouses in America" lists, and a handful in Canada and Europe.) The steak at Acre is without a doubt the best steak I have ever had the pleasure of tasting. It was absolutely sublime. It was also pretty cool to look out the window and watch the staff harvest vegetables that would be on someone's plate within the hour as well. The wine list is pretty impressive although we stayed with the by the glass offerings this visit. Their bourbon list was also very nice indeed. Designate a driver and enjoy a delightful evening. We can't wait to go back for Burger Night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We are new to Auburn but I can't imagine trying any other restaurant when we visit if we can get a reservation here! Such a treat!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Amazing! One of my favorite restaurants. I drove an hour just to have dinner at Acre. It is consistently delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 6, 2017

TL;DR version - Food is fantastic! Price is not as bad as I expected. I highly recommend! Valet is complimentary.

The food is amazing! I highly recommend to anyone who hasn't been. You will love their menu. The wait-staff was on point! Very courteous and knowledgeable regarding both food and beverages. My only true complaint is the Valet. This was my first visit. When I pulled up, Valet met me halfway down the parking lot (away from their Valet post). I didn't want to pay for valet because, hey, I can be cheap when needed. I can walk. Valet told me that the entire parking lot is Valet only. What they failed to tell me, and I saw upon walking up to the door, is that Valet is complimentary; with a tip of course (I'm cheap, not rude). I would have definitely handed over my keys and tipped them had they told me this. I get the feeling that the Valet crew are just kids who are not customer experience minded. Other than that, this place is amazing and I highly recommend to ANYONE living in or traveling to Auburn.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great food. We love this place and enjoy it every time we go.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent restaurant!! The valet service parked our car and watched our friend's dog while we ate. The interior of the building is beautiful and the gardens are filled with fresh produce used in their food preparation. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful. The food was over the top delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 4, 2017

So good. Acre is the best. Great service and friendly staff. Peanut butter pie on fleek.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 31, 2017

By far my favorite restaurant in Auburn!! And I've been here for 18 years. That should say a lot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Healthy, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Best meal we have had there yet! Fish was awesome, prepared perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very good red snapper, grouper and salads. Good wine list. Good bar service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.