Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Acre

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Local Ingredients (69)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Creative Cuisine (63)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Great for Brunch (43)
Romantic (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
Great for Lunch (39)
Notable Wine List (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Authentic (30)
Business Meals (29)
Cozy (29)
Seasonal (26)
Comfort Food (26)
Casual (22)
Fun (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Organic (21)
Modern Decor (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Healthy (15)
Great Beer (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
People Watching (8)
Family Style (8)
Private Room (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Scenic View (6)
Fireplace (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
889 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The menu is full of outstanding contemporary twists of classic southern dishes. Everything we've had there has been nothing short of delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and we were definitely full when we left. We enjoyed the "solid oak" sampler. The beef tenderloin melted in my mouth! The wine list had a good variety.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter, Cam, was friendly and knowledgable. This was our first time dining at Acre. He gave an overall explanation of the menu and answered any questions. He also made recommendations on wine selections based on the preferences of three different palates. He was attentive and excellent in his skills. We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Good food good service. Nice place to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed eating here. We wohkd highly recommend to our friends. And continue to take our families my there for special occasions.

Tags: Organic, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch. Food was very good, but it was a buffet and I wish I had been told that when I made reservation. A buffet is not what I had in mind.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved the food which was absolutely delicious! Had the tenderloin in shiitake butter, the matcha cured sushi the cheese plate and the amazing peanut butter pie. We loved every bite! My wife was a bit bothered by the noise level from the live band of a wedding reception that was going on at the same time as regular diners eating, so I'd recommend that the restaurant only rent out the whole restaurant for wedding parties or ensure live bands maintain a lower noise level. Despite the party (which looked fun anyway!), we can't wait to eat there again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Waitress walked into me while sitting at my table. Was not a good experience and this was our first time for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

If we want to treat ourselves, we always think of Acre first. It is a bit pricy so we don't go as often as we would like, but saving for a special occasion is OK. It seems to be a favorite for some twenty-sometings, which is good because they grow up and knowing good food it OK also. Nice to have a place like Acre in such a small town. Good work, guys.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Roasted Red Snapper was to die for and the risotto that is served with the duck is second to none. Not too much that you can go wrong with at this place. Highly recommend the old fashion too if you are in to whiskey drinks. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Acre is a favorite place for my husband and me. We took my mom and dad here for a Mother's Day dinner and it was wonderful as always.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was awesome and the desert was even better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Went there on a very busy day yet the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent food in good portions. Not mega portions, perfect for those of us who like to savor the food and feel comfortable after a meal.
Parking can be tight, but well worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Order the Fried Green Tomatoes! Delish!
The burger was fantastic too!
Make a reservation or
You will wait!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing restaurant tucked near the heart of Auburn. Fresh ingredients prepared with a modern flare. Delicious and unique! Worth the trip and worth planning ahead with a reservation. Complimentary valet parking is a huge bonus.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

First time to Acre in Auburn for my birthday Sunday brunch with family. Wonderful! Beautiful atmosphere. Loved the decor. Light, bright, white, current. Menu was interesting with great choices. Basic menu items but all with interesting twists that made choosing difficult! Goat Cheese Guacamole was fabulous. Daughter had bbq salmon; someone else had biscuits with mashed potatoes, brisket, egg and a sauce. Everyone at table loved their food. Will definitely recommend to friends and will definitely go back! Other nice thing is that Acre takes reservations while many other restaurants do not. This was very important to us. Very highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Brunch at Acre was delicious as it always is. It's a great place to meet up with friends and to entertain guests from out of town. Their brunch is very reasonably priced, delicious, and generously portioned.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was delicious! We had a wonderful night!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great Food, Great Service, wonderful environment. We always frequent this restaurant when we visit Auburn. My son's wedding reception was held there and it was amazing!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Have been to Acre numerous times before, but was completely disappointed with the service and quality of food. Had a reservation and there were many, many empty tables; still waited quite a long time. Ended up going to the bar where the service for drinks was very good. However, decided to eat at the bar and then things changed significantly. We ordered the snapper and the pork chop and waited close to an hour for our food. The snapper was very good but the pork chop was dry and over cooked; very disappointing. Overall, this was not the quality and service that I had come to expect from Acre and it will be a while before I go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We decided to go here because we had a gift card that was given to me a while back. It was initially confusing to park as they don't have regular parking only valet (donation only) but did give it a more upscale feel. We had reservations so we went straight to our table where we were greeted by our great waitress. Menu seemed to me a little limited HOWEVER the food was DELICIOUS. My wife came in with the mind that it would be something new and "fancy" but she left very satisfied. Great food, great service, local gem in my opinion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Lovely smiles on the service staff. Friendly and fast. Food lives up to it's award winning reputation. They were sadly out of a couple of our first menu choices. Ultra fresh greens. Brisket done to perfection. Grilled chicken as it should be. Garlic fries are worth the heart attack. Chocolate cake at it's best. The bread pudding is very good, although I prefer mine swimming in a bowl of whiskey.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Organic, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I think the food was fair, but not a good value. No bread was served nothing special to remember the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Acre was excellent as always. The food is always delicious and the menu interesting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This place was incredible as always!! Pork chop and beef tenderloin along with peanut butter pie and chocolate cake for dessert that were amazing!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great service and excellent food that sounds familiar, but has a twist that sets it apart from every other restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our server Max was very active with his quality service. He provided great advice for food choices and helped us out at every turn with drinks. Love the atmosphere of this restaurant and will definitely be visiting again. Two thumbs up.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The atmosphere is warm and inviting. This is our Go-to spot in Auburn. Craft cocktails, outdoor seating and a small area for private parties. Order the chicken fried bacon without regret... It is worth it! Skip the pork chop because the salmon, duck and steak are all excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Acre is good for small, quiet, quaint groups. Our group was five moms that were celebrating a birthday. We would laugh and people would stare at us. Acre is a little more formal for the occasion that we were celebrating. The service and food were good. The atmosphere was not appropriate for the occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Always amazing service and food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Loved our server
Great tasting menu
Come hungry
Nice though thinner wine list

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 10, 2017

What a wonderful surprise in first visit to Auburn! Superb meal + service with southern charm.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Attentive service and good food. We'll come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good food. Limited wine varieties by the glass. Good service. Pricey. Sure thing for a good dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ordered Shrimp and Grits, but it was not Shrimp and Grits. It was Shrimp and Pasta. When we mentioned it to our waiter, he said that's our Shrimp and Grits. He did admit that they should have told us that the grits were really pasta when we ordered. Awful. False advertising. And the service was terrible. They are obviously understaffed. We ordered two expensive bottles of wine and five meals, and were ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I always bring my guests from out of town to Acre. It's a great example of awesome food, with a southern flair.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Acre never disappoints. Wonderful menu. Our waiter Cam was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 3, 2017

I really loved coming here to celebrate my birthday! It was a great experience and the chocolate cake was to die for!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was our second visit here and we really enjoyed it again. Went for dinner the first time and brunch on this go around. The service was great and attentive. Waiter knew the menu well. We love the ambiance and feel of the place. It is a modern southern place. Lots of attention to detail, but still feels cozy and comfortable. The food was delicious and portions are generous! The "chicken fried" bacon with maple syrup and gravy... what?!? So good. We look forward to going back again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.