About Acre

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Alabama
Fit for Foodies
Alabama
Great for Lunch
Alabama
1 More
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

special occasion (133)
fit for foodies (132)
neighborhood gem (77)
See All
great for lunch (73)
great for brunch (71)
good for groups (69)
romantic (68)
notable wine list (50)
hot spot (50)
great for outdoor dining (47)
vibrant bar scene (15)
scenic view (14)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (12)
Sort By:
Newest
620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing atmosphere and stellar Southern ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing atmosphere and stellar Southern food with a twist. Everything was great. Looking forward to going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and ambiance. Service ...

Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food and ambiance. Service was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a jewel! My only comp ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant is a jewel! My only complaint--it doesn't exist in Florida! We were 20 min late for our reservation, and we had no idea the restaurant closes 3-5. They took us in, no questions asked, and treated us like royalty! The food was amazing and healthy. super fresh! We loved the appearance, food, farm to table experience, with 5 star service, while still receiving great southern hospitality!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love love love acre!!!! Best place to ea ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Love love love acre!!!! Best place to eat in auburn!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent. Loved the chee ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was excellent. Loved the cheese and charcuterie. The fish with the creamed popcorn sauce was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exceptional as advertised. Fresh, local ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Exceptional as advertised. Fresh, local ingredients from pre-dinner drinks to dessert. Wide variety of choices and each appetizer and meal was distinct and delicious. Staff was welcoming and knowledgeable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great overall experience and highly reco ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great overall experience and highly recommend. Food is modern/updated twist on traditional Southern dishes and executed to perfection. Staff/Waiter was knowledgeable, friendly, and accessible. Low noise, easy conversation. Tables are a little tight and ambiance average for this level. Pricing a little on the high end of the range, but acceptable based on excellent quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot, need one in Birmingham! My ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great spot, need one in Birmingham! My wife attended Auburn years ago and couldn't believe there was such a spot now; we will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great find in Auburn! Nice menu that c ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

A great find in Auburn! Nice menu that changes seasonally.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with our dining exp ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We were very pleased with our dining experience. The server helped us with gluten free selections and was attentive to our every need. The food was amazing! I would recommend Acre to anyone looking for an exceptional night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I want Acre for my birthday and my missi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I want Acre for my birthday and my mission was the Fried Green Tomatoes. I got them and they were wonderful. My entree was a little heavy but tasty (This Should Fix It), and the Peanut Butter Pie was so good. I will be back with more friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great restaurant! Great Brunch that is a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great restaurant! Great Brunch that is affordable! Remember on Sunday Lee county does not serve alcohol until noon. Charcuterie board is always amazing! Love this place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reserved a table at Acre this past weeke ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Reserved a table at Acre this past weekend while in town with my wife after reading positive reviews online. This place definitely did not disappoint! Started out with the Gnocchi and Mushroom dish for an appetizer... excellent flavor (the lemon zest was a nice touch) and the gnocchi was perfectly cooked. Our entrees were equally good (snapper and filet). Make sure to leave room for dessert though...their homemade peanut butter pie is out of this world! We will definitely be dining here again on our next trip back to the Plains.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

It was warm on the front porch despite t ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was warm on the front porch despite the overhead fans. Food was tasty but the huge markup on wine was distressing. Great service.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed but steak was over cooked.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Ordered it medium rare but hardly had any pink in it at all.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW !! This one is a Keeper...We will be back !!!

Dined on June 9, 2016

What a wonderful food experience...too many great choices and talk about FRESH...Look outside, see the produce growing...it's there to prepare your menu choice...This eatery was outstanding

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an excellent experience. Good foo ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Always an excellent experience. Good food, good people.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely love this place! Everything o ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Absolutely love this place! Everything on the menu is awesome!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and the service was exception ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food and the service was exceptional. The server was very knowledgeable and helpful with menu selection. It is very evident the chef takes pride in his food ingredients as well as the quality of the food. The meat and cheese solid oak sampler was very unique and delicious. The beef tenderloin and snapper was outstanding. Save room for the sweet potato bread pudding!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Gem in the heart of Auburn! Great food, ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Gem in the heart of Auburn! Great food, friendly staff and gives back to the local community. Perfect spot for any occasion!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb dining experience

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We have never been disappointed with any dining experience at Acre. Food, service, and ambiance are excellent. We love their pimento cheese appetizer for sure. Not trip to Auburn is complete without dining at Acre!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautifully decorated restaurant with ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

A beautifully decorated restaurant with delicious selections for weekday lunch. A friendly staff makes it an even better experience. Well worth the trip!

food5
ambience4
service5

Very attentive and helpful staff. We ha ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very attentive and helpful staff. We had the snapper and the scallops (both regular menu entrees) and both were spectacular! The peanut butter pie was enough for four, but the two of us managed because we couldn't bear to waste a crumb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love Acre!! The burgers are to ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Love love love Acre!! The burgers are to die for! Drinks are amazing! And the chefs always have a wonderful selection of entrees to choose from!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Acre is always a pleasure! The grilled c ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Acre is always a pleasure! The grilled cheese was a little sweet, but a huge portion for the price.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried green tomatoes with crab meat.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Fried green tomatoes with crab meat.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a long wait,45 minutes for our fo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a long wait,45 minutes for our food and it was lunch time. We had reservations and got seated quickly. There was a large order ahead of ours which was why the wait was so long. Our waiter remedied the situation by offering us a free dessert. I'm glad I was not in too much of a hurry. I will go back again. This is by far my favorite restaurant in Auburn.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

i have been to Acre several times and ha ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

i have been to Acre several times and have always enjoyed the food. Our service was a bit slow on the last visit and it was really hard to hear as there was so much noise due to lack of accoustics in the area in which we were seated.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not your everyday food selections. Great ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Not your everyday food selections. Great to be served locally grown food with a different, but delicious, flair.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service, and atmosphere! Lov ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere! Loved ever moment of it. Get the pimento cheese for sure! Only disappointment was that they had run out of certain drinks/food. We had a reservation for late in the evening so it's kind of to be expected at this kind of restaurant. If you want to have the full menu to choose from be sure to get there early.

food3
ambience4
service3

The overall taste of the food was delici ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The overall taste of the food was delicious. Great flavors and seasoning. The only reason I did not rate the food higher was the poor quality of my steak. I had the ribeye. The seasoning and flavor was fantastic, but it was one of the most tough, chewy steaks I've ever eaten. The bread plate starter was tasty and the sweet potato bread pudding was fabulous. So we started and endex on a high note. My son's tenderloin was tasty and tender, so we had a mixed bag for our meal.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great fine dining in Auburn

Dined on May 5, 2016

We enjoyed Acre so much for brunch when we were in town for a football weekend, that we decided to take our daughter and friends out for a celebratory dinner at the end of finals. It's such a pleasant setting and the staff are all very nice and accommodating. The bartender was very chatty with us while we enjoyed a cocktail waiting for everyone to arrive. The menu is somewhat limited, but a small, top quality menu is much better than a long list of choices that make you wonder about quality and freshness. The only disappointment was that one of our steaks was very gristly, but everything else was wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3

We have always loved Acre, but this is t ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We have always loved Acre, but this is the second time in the past 2 months that my filet has been delivered lukewarm to cold. The first time, the server and general manager were so apologetic explaining about letting meat "rest" and gave me a new filet to perfect temperature. This time, the server merely took my plate, had them heat the filet that I had taken a bite out of and return it to me no longer medium rare but temperature warmer. This does seem atypical for Acre but after 2 negative experiences at these prices, our family is going to put them on the back burner for a while.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great service. incredible, unique food.

Dined on May 5, 2016

we were greeted graciously, the server was friendly and knowledgeable, the owner came by and made us feel welcome-particularly our 3 month old guest. the items we ordered were delicious and came in a timely manner. our group was celebrating a birthday and we were happy we chose ACRE as our place to ring in a new decade!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and our group had ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The food was delicious and our group had lots of fun! Ramsey was our waiter along with Chris. They did an outstanding job of looking after our group. You are fortunate to have those two young men as waitstaff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love Acre!

Dined on May 4, 2016

I've loved every meal I've ever ordered from Acre. I would recommend it to anyone, especially for a special occasion. Brunch is also delicious, and a little more budget friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Fantastic, unique food with southern flair. The building is well designed and bright, and feels upscale but still casual and comfortable. Good service

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Best Service Ever!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We recently went to Acre to celebrate my daughter's birthday. We had the best service ever! They were training a new server, Ramsey. He is going to be awesome! We really appreciated the excellent service, good food and fellowship!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Yum!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was wonderful! I had the Roasted Gulf Snapper and my niece had the Lee County Sampler. We were both pleased with our meals. The snapper was some of the best fish I've ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fine dining at ACRE

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great dinner, although the service was a little spotty. I don't think they had a full wait-staff working, which was odd for a Friday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.