About Acre

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Alabama
Fit for Foodies
Alabama
Great for Lunch
Alabama
2 More
Most Booked
Alabama
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

fit for foodies (139)
special occasion (136)
neighborhood gem (85)
See All
romantic (79)
great for lunch (78)
great for brunch (74)
good for groups (69)
hot spot (57)
notable wine list (56)
great for outdoor dining (52)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (13)
scenic view (13)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Very attentive and helpful staff. We ha ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very attentive and helpful staff. We had the snapper and the scallops (both regular menu entrees) and both were spectacular! The peanut butter pie was enough for four, but the two of us managed because we couldn't bear to waste a crumb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love Acre!! The burgers are to ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Love love love Acre!! The burgers are to die for! Drinks are amazing! And the chefs always have a wonderful selection of entrees to choose from!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Acre is always a pleasure! The grilled c ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Acre is always a pleasure! The grilled cheese was a little sweet, but a huge portion for the price.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried green tomatoes with crab meat.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Fried green tomatoes with crab meat.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a long wait,45 minutes for our fo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a long wait,45 minutes for our food and it was lunch time. We had reservations and got seated quickly. There was a large order ahead of ours which was why the wait was so long. Our waiter remedied the situation by offering us a free dessert. I'm glad I was not in too much of a hurry. I will go back again. This is by far my favorite restaurant in Auburn.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

i have been to Acre several times and ha ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

i have been to Acre several times and have always enjoyed the food. Our service was a bit slow on the last visit and it was really hard to hear as there was so much noise due to lack of accoustics in the area in which we were seated.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not your everyday food selections. Great ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Not your everyday food selections. Great to be served locally grown food with a different, but delicious, flair.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service, and atmosphere! Lov ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere! Loved ever moment of it. Get the pimento cheese for sure! Only disappointment was that they had run out of certain drinks/food. We had a reservation for late in the evening so it's kind of to be expected at this kind of restaurant. If you want to have the full menu to choose from be sure to get there early.

food3
ambience4
service3

The overall taste of the food was delici ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The overall taste of the food was delicious. Great flavors and seasoning. The only reason I did not rate the food higher was the poor quality of my steak. I had the ribeye. The seasoning and flavor was fantastic, but it was one of the most tough, chewy steaks I've ever eaten. The bread plate starter was tasty and the sweet potato bread pudding was fabulous. So we started and endex on a high note. My son's tenderloin was tasty and tender, so we had a mixed bag for our meal.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great fine dining in Auburn

Dined on May 5, 2016

We enjoyed Acre so much for brunch when we were in town for a football weekend, that we decided to take our daughter and friends out for a celebratory dinner at the end of finals. It's such a pleasant setting and the staff are all very nice and accommodating. The bartender was very chatty with us while we enjoyed a cocktail waiting for everyone to arrive. The menu is somewhat limited, but a small, top quality menu is much better than a long list of choices that make you wonder about quality and freshness. The only disappointment was that one of our steaks was very gristly, but everything else was wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3

We have always loved Acre, but this is t ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We have always loved Acre, but this is the second time in the past 2 months that my filet has been delivered lukewarm to cold. The first time, the server and general manager were so apologetic explaining about letting meat "rest" and gave me a new filet to perfect temperature. This time, the server merely took my plate, had them heat the filet that I had taken a bite out of and return it to me no longer medium rare but temperature warmer. This does seem atypical for Acre but after 2 negative experiences at these prices, our family is going to put them on the back burner for a while.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great service. incredible, unique food.

Dined on May 5, 2016

we were greeted graciously, the server was friendly and knowledgeable, the owner came by and made us feel welcome-particularly our 3 month old guest. the items we ordered were delicious and came in a timely manner. our group was celebrating a birthday and we were happy we chose ACRE as our place to ring in a new decade!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and our group had ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The food was delicious and our group had lots of fun! Ramsey was our waiter along with Chris. They did an outstanding job of looking after our group. You are fortunate to have those two young men as waitstaff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love Acre!

Dined on May 4, 2016

I've loved every meal I've ever ordered from Acre. I would recommend it to anyone, especially for a special occasion. Brunch is also delicious, and a little more budget friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Fantastic, unique food with southern flair. The building is well designed and bright, and feels upscale but still casual and comfortable. Good service

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Best Service Ever!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We recently went to Acre to celebrate my daughter's birthday. We had the best service ever! They were training a new server, Ramsey. He is going to be awesome! We really appreciated the excellent service, good food and fellowship!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Yum!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was wonderful! I had the Roasted Gulf Snapper and my niece had the Lee County Sampler. We were both pleased with our meals. The snapper was some of the best fish I've ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fine dining at ACRE

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great dinner, although the service was a little spotty. I don't think they had a full wait-staff working, which was odd for a Friday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Whole Acre on Burger Tuesday is unbeatable!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Just go! Your stomach will thank you. So amazing. The best beef patty shines with all the other ingredients. It is worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Yummy

Dined on April 23, 2016

Acre provided a good variety of foods and price points. Everything was fresh and the presentation was lovely. The decor was rustic and soothing. The place smelled of oven cooked delicacies. The children were pleased with their options and the menu is diverse and delicious. We will definitely go back when we are in Auburn.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our first visit to Acre in Auburn. It was recommended by a friend. He did let us know ahead of time that reservations are a must. We had an incredible dining experience and the service was impeccable. We would definitely return to this restaurant again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We will go again....and again.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Inventive food offerings, attentive service, delicious food, attractively presented. Ambiance delightful. We had a later-evening meal (7:45 p.m.) on a Wednesday, and the ambiance provided a quiet hum. Ingredients were fresh, and delivery of food was perfectly timed. I'll go again. A refreshing find in a town full of college fast-food restaurant staples. Modern ideas without the "fussiness" of a foodie place. Requests for a special drink were embraced by bartender. We had melt-in-your-mouth steak and the fish with a flavorful popcorn reduction sauce. Already making plans to return. Acre, I am certain, will become a favorite spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great dining for a group

Dined on April 20, 2016

We were in town for a conference and chose Acre based on recommendations from others. We were not disappointed! The food was fantastic and service friendly. The atmosphere is very cool and not what you'd expect to find in a college town. As an Auburn alum, I am proud this restaurant is at my alma mater! Valet parking is complimentary. They had no problem splitting up a group check either - which was nice given we were all on expense accounts and needed to separate it out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique food, prepared well.

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our first visit to The Acre. Unique food, prepared well, friendly waitress. Seated within 5 minutes of our reservation. We will return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Auburn Favorite

Dined on April 17, 2016

My family was in town for Parent's Weekend and we hit up all their must eat spots in Auburn. My mom and brother and I have all been to Acre before, but this was Dad and middle brother's first time. They hands down claimed this as their favorite. There is no doubt we would be back again and would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

perfect ambience

Dined on April 9, 2016

Love love love this place! Our waiter was fantastic. The decor is wonderful. The menu was quirky and delicious. We went after the A-day game and it was the perfect ending to a gorgeous Auburn day. Can't wait to go back to this restaurant!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acre never disappoints. It's pretty pric ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Acre never disappoints. It's pretty pricey, but it's worth it and you get what you pay for. Definitely my favorite "nice" restaurant in Auburn to visit. Get the pimento cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious. Will go back every time I st ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Delicious. Will go back every time I stop in Auburn!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, presentation and service!

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had a party of 6, and we all enjoyed our meals. We can't wait to return the next time we're in Auburn.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing diner.

Dined on March 25, 2016

First time going to Acre, but I will be returning quickly. They change menus all the time and only serve the best and freshest selections. The on-site gardens and charcuterie were very impressive. And by far the staff was the most impressive part!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal at Acre

Dined on March 24, 2016

We go to Acre for special meals - for this one, our Denver daughter was home and wanted to take a great food memory home with her. She is vegetarian, and was able to find good alternatives (always important.) We went early, and had a quiet meal before the room filled up (it can get pretty noise at peak time.) We love Acre, and it has earned that love by consistency of food, service and a nice ambiance. Obviously, we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my favorite restaurant in Auburn

Dined on March 24, 2016

Everything was delicious. Service was very good. No complaints. Will definitely return. The dessert board is my favorite. I ordered it as a meal and took half home.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good restaurant, would try again

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

On our first visit to Acre we thought the restaurant was good but not incredible. Ambiance was fine, even though we were seated in the bar area (with the restaurant far from full). Our server was friendly and competent. Wine list was interesting. The octopus appetizer looked great and had a wonderful flavor, but was as chewy as a rubber ball. Jerusalem artichoke starter was good. Entrees were good-very good. Would give it another try in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and Unique!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Perfect dinner for two started with sharing the Fried Green Tomatoes, followed by starters of Lamb, and the Spinach salad....all were delicious! The portions were generous and didn't leave us room for two full entrees, so we split the Grouper entree (for a reasonable split charge). Five stars is not enough for this dish....the Grouper was nested in a collard greens spaetzle (sp?) - not your grandmother's pot-o-greens, creamed sweet popped corn, and a unique brussel sprout slaw that all perfectly complimented the fish. We couldn't leave without splitting a bread pudding - the perfect end to a perfect meal. The Acre's version of the Moscow Mule is not to be missed, if you want a crisp spring cocktail. We were driving in from the south and were running late for our reservation due to weather/traffic, but the sweet hostess, (Winter) graciously and quickly accommodated us. Our server (Kristen, I think!) was so friendly, remarkably well-informed and descriptive on the origination and preparation of every dish, which was a welcomed delight to two picky eaters. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was definitely a great experience!

Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I were very pleased with our experience. The appetizers were awesome! The food was superb and wine selection was impressive as well. We will certainly return as this is our new favorite restaurant in Auburn.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Birthday celebration place

Dined on March 15, 2016

Tenderloin was delicious. Loved the sweet potatoes as well. My husband got the fish of the day and it was great as well. Our favorite was the peanut butter pie for dessert. Loved the ambiance as well. Really good place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service1

I remeber Acre as a great location with ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

I remeber Acre as a great location with high quality and friendly staff. Not today. Very disappointed in service as well as food. I would not recommend it anymore. We came here for a special occasion, which I let the team know in advance but for some reason they didnt seem to acknowledge my note which I left at the front desk. The restaurant was empty but that did not stop them to seat us at a table in a back corner where waiters kept rushing past us and did not create the greatest ambience. Hate to write such a bad review, I really loved the place but today was just really disappointing.

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Food Disappointing

Dined on March 12, 2016

The menu seems wonderful, but once the food is served, it usually disappoints. Flavor is minimal, and most small plate dishes I've tried are just bland. However, the service and wine list are great.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Thank you Acre for another amazing meal! The staff is always so pleasant...very knowledgeable of both food and beverage selections. Food is consistently delicious! Great atmosphere! We drove from Columbus and was well worth the trip!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great experience! Food, facility & acco ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great experience! Food, facility & accommodating staff. I don't give many 5s - would definitely recommend and go back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.