About Acre

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Local Ingredients (48)
Creative Cuisine (43)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Romantic (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Authentic (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Organic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Seasonal (20)
Cozy (19)
Business Meals (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Fun (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Healthy (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Casual (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great Beer (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (6)
Fireplace (5)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hands down the best food I have ever had ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Hands down the best food I have ever had!! Loved it so much we visited 2 times in one weekend. We will be back even if we have to drive 1 hour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience!! Our waiter Ma ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Another great experience!! Our waiter Max was great and the goat cheese guacamole is SINFULLY good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely addition to Auburn dining with mo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely addition to Auburn dining with modern earthy decor,great service,and terrific food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat in the bar. Great atmosphere but co ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Sat in the bar. Great atmosphere but cold due to a/c....but the waiter brought blankets and all was well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch at Acre was delicious. The chicken ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Lunch at Acre was delicious. The chicken fried chicken was slightly overcooked, but the grilled whole green beans and real mashed potatoes made up for it. The flourless chocolat cake was was a hit , as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the appetizer cheese plate is phenomenal ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

the appetizer cheese plate is phenomenal, creative delicious, main course of seasonal short rib, nothing short of a culinary delight, the dessert sampler mind blowing yummy. The donuts hot from the kitchen are a must order as well as the peanut butter pie.

Everything we ordered was spectacular.

The bourbon selection is first class and beyond. Matt our server a culinary gentleman genius . Chicken fried bacon what the heck wow.

What a treat our evening was at Acre.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our second time there and the food was d ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Our second time there and the food was delicious!!! We had the butcher board which was an array of local meats and pickled veggies with homemade crackers. We also had to try the chicken fried bacon!!! Yum!! Hubby had beef short ribs that were so tender they fell off the bone and I had the spiny lobster bisque!! We enjoyed everything and will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and great menu. Good vari ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Great ambiance and great menu. Good variety and everything is farm to table so it tastes fresh.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Organic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Amazing dinner...as always. Acre is my ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing dinner...as always. Acre is my favorite restaurant in Auburn.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always! Awesome Valentine's ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious as always! Awesome Valentine's Day menu!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent experience. It was a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always an excellent experience. It was a great place for my lunch date with my husband for Valentine's Day. There were roses on every table and great love songs were played!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

David Bancroft is one of the best chefs ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

David Bancroft is one of the best chefs in the area. We go to acre for almost every special occasion

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, quick service, nice environm ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

great food, quick service, nice environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough good things about acr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I can't say enough good things about acre. It's mine and my fiancé most favorite place, the food is consistently outstanding! The servers are always good especially John and Chris they are wonderful! Couldn't ask for a better meal, atmosphere and service. Period! Love acre !

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, fantastic food and outstanding ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As usual, fantastic food and outstanding service. We also took our 2 children. Acre has a kid menu and the wait staff is very accommodating to children.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. There were sever ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was delicious. There were several of us at our table, so we shared some bites with one another. We started with a charcuterie board with a nice selection of meats, cheeses, pickles and peanut brittle. The beef shortrib was tender and so flavorful. The grilled shrimp with gnocchi was very rich, yet full of fresh herbs. Our table gave rave reviews for the snapper with Brussel sprouts. For dessert, we shared the flourless chocolate torte and combination of grew homemade ice creams that were divine! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great night !

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great night !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat! Service was awesome ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place to eat! Service was awesome and they have the best chicken and waffles around!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dining experience at Acre was awesom ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our dining experience at Acre was awesome. Seated and recognized as a customer promptly and food was delivered as ordered. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but time to get meal was quite ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Good food but time to get meal was quite long. It was fine because my son and I were catching up but it went a little long. 40 minutes to get food once ordered. Place was at about 30% full. I cannot speak for capacity. Dodd was really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good, lighting was too bright b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was good, lighting was too bright but otherwise the atmosphere is nice. I would recommend the bar room- best atmosphere.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food offerings are always unique and ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food offerings are always unique and delicious. My wife and I love to come here and try new dishes. Service is always excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time to eat for Brun ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our second time to eat for Brunch (and second time period) and was rather disappointed in the slow service. It took FOREVER for the server to finally take our order and it took about 10 minutes too long for him to check on us each time. He was personable though. On our first visit for brunch, the service was more timely despite the fact the restaurant seemed busier than this past Sunday. I'll be back but just disappointed since one member of our party had never eaten there but had heard great things.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

This was my first time dining at Acre an ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first time dining at Acre and I will definitely go there again. The menu is unique, delicious, creative and fun. For an appetizer we ordered steel cut oatmeal risotto that was amazing. It wasn't your ordinary oatmeal! My gulf red snapper was perfectly prepared and the vegetables and sauce was perfectly paired with the fish. The wine list is unique and the cocktails are amazing! Our server was informative and attentive. What I loved the most about Acre is that it isn't your typical standard restaurant that we all know - its outside the box!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a hidden gem! It was really good ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It is a hidden gem! It was really good food. It has something for everyone.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, , People Watching, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Acre so much that we ate there t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Enjoyed Acre so much that we ate there two nights in a row! Great food and stellar service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good but over priced f ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was very good but over priced for the quality and quantity. My primary complaint would be the valet parking service. It took over 20 minutes to get our car after departing the restaurant, standing outside in 30 degree weather. I would not return to the restaurant until I was assured they could offer adequate parking and valet service. Simply unacceptable.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Dinner was great, had a business meeting ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Dinner was great, had a business meeting. It was very crowded and the noise level was not bad at all. We were able to meet the chef and he took his time to talk with us. Great place for dinner any occasion. Highly suggest a reservation even on a Tuesday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an anniversary dinner for us. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This was an anniversary dinner for us. In researching restaurants, I saw several entrees that I liked and chose your restaurant because of the online menu. However, once we were seated and looked at the menu, we found it had been changed (as the wait person told us it had). I was disappointed in your menu but we discussed it and decided to stay. What we did order was good, just not what we had been informed it would be or what we would have liked it o have been. Disappointing.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Gosh, where do I begin and to keep the w ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Gosh, where do I begin and to keep the words to a minimum, just do it! You will love Acre and this past Sunday we decided to drive over from Columbus. It was rainy, storms forecast, not a good weather day but our experience and the food was the bright spot of the day. The menu is great, lots of choices, features, you name it, and most of all, there is something for everyone.

Just go, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have given 5 stars for chicken and ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Would have given 5 stars for chicken and waffles, salmon salad and Parmesan fries- but the salmon cakes had too much bread filling ! Love the coffee and deserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great southern food with a flare! They ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great southern food with a flare! They have their own garden on premise. Very fish and delishish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner and service with beauti ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Excellent dinner and service with beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed trying Acre for the first time! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Enjoyed trying Acre for the first time! I see this as a special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Was in town for business and Acre was re ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Was in town for business and Acre was recommended for dinner. Best recommendation! The food was amazing and the service was outstanding! When I am back in the area I will definitely return.

Tags: Organic, , Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food! Cool decor! Overall grea ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fabulous food! Cool decor! Overall great experience! Did not disappoint!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Acre every time we go. Beautiful sp ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love Acre every time we go. Beautiful space and really great food. You can go healthy or for a splurge and they're both delicious. Only complaint is the seating closest to the kitchen can get a bit cold where the ac blows on you so be sure to ask for a blanket. They are nice, warm and super soft. Looking forward to going again already!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was delicious. We hav ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 10, 2017

As always the food was delicious. We have dined at Acre several times but never on burger night. We decided it was time for one of those mouthwatering burgers I'd been seeing pictures of on Instagram! My husband and I both had a burger, perfectly paired with a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, along with the goat cheese guacamole. Everything was outstanding including our service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small innovative menu Waiter with an att ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Small innovative menu

Waiter with an attitude could have made a good evening.....great

Tags: Notable Wine List, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Acre popped up on one of my food blogs a ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Acre popped up on one of my food blogs as an outstanding "farm to table" restaurant. It did not disappoint! Menu was creative and unique. We were seated in a glass enclosed porch that was warm and cozy on a winter evening. Great experience!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.