About Acre

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Alabama
Best Value
Alabama
Fit for Foodies
Alabama
3 More
Great for Lunch
Alabama
Most Booked
Alabama
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

special occasion (126)
fit for foodies (126)
great for lunch (75)
See All
neighborhood gem (69)
good for groups (67)
great for brunch (65)
romantic (59)
notable wine list (45)
hot spot (43)
great for outdoor dining (40)
vibrant bar scene (16)
scenic view (13)
kid-friendly (13)
late-night find (13)
Sort By:
Newest
641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Acre is one of the most consistently-exc ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 4 days ago

Acre is one of the most consistently-excellent restaurants in our area. We can always count on having a memorable meal that cannot be had elsewhere. The service is first-rate, as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Knowing we can depend on good food and s ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 6 days ago

Knowing we can depend on good food and service is a plus. Thank you acre for being there for us. We have used it for birthdays, Welcome home events, family gatherings, brunch for a bunch and each and every time, the service and food has been excellent. Great addition to Auburn/Opelika landscape. Quaint, relaxing atmosphere. A go-to for special , trusted occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food ..... However, the stench ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food ..... However, the stench of the trash cans in the parking lot was terrible. It followed you all the way into the restaurant ..... Not good!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Great food and service, the music was to ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food and service, the music was too loud and the playlist was really at odds with everything. Bon Jovi and .38 Special do not pair well with fine wine and farm to table crudités. But an exceptional restaurant regardless.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of my all time favorite places! Burg ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

One of my all time favorite places! Burger Night is the Best!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a perfect southern summer Sunday. ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was a perfect southern summer Sunday. In celebration of my moms birthday, I got out the convertible, dropped the top and whisked her off leaving Montgomery on a back roads adventure with Acre being the destination. I have dined here many times, she was a newbie. We arrived to smiles and greetings as warm as the summer sun and cooled off at the bar with a glass of Sancerre as we waited for our table to be readied. We were seated at the Chefs Bar and shortly greeted by our server, JACOB. Now there are plenty of reviews extolling the food here and Chef David. I don't discount them AT ALL! Although I want to particularly praise Jacob. He was calm, confident, knowledgeable and most importantly, to me, not overly anything; not too perky, not too effusive, not trying to sell anything too hard. The food is outstanding, it sells itself. HE sold the restaurant! Disclaimer: I am a chef. That being said, Jacob read us well and led us to dishes he felt, quite correctly, would satisfy us! Mama had the shrimp and grits, I had the chicken fried chicken. The Shrimp and Grits was outstanding: a grits cake with a piquant tomato sauce with perfectly cooked shrimp lining the cake. The flourless chocolate cake Jacob guided mama to was just as he said: Rich, not too sweet, decadent and completely satisfying! (By the way, order the Rosè with either/both of these dishes!

Again, the day/meal was outstanding but Jacob made it memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were excellent just as ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service were excellent just as advertised. Planned to go back in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place and good food. The A/C was o ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great place and good food. The A/C was on full blast, so bring warm stuff. Restaurant needs to control that some!! Only suggestion for food change is for the kitchen to add some more jams to the cheese board. One same jam just doesn't cut it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The valet parking was a surprise and unn ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The valet parking was a surprise and unnecessary, in my mind. Friendly greeting, attentive staff, good craft beer/ale selection, comfortable atmosphere and seating. A little confusion, when the main course came out, with who got what but quick recovery. Food was delcious; app sampler, filet and green beans, hamburger and fries. We skipped dessert but the French press coffee was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, delicious. My favorite resta ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

As always, delicious. My favorite restaurant. I always have trouble deciding what to get.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acre lived up to the high praise that we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Acre lived up to the high praise that we saw on Yelp. Bins Fide farm to table with a flair. Start to finish it was an incredible meal. We started with the guacamole and although the chips were different than my hometown of El Paso, they were no doubt healthier. The kitchen included a white cheese for flavor, which was also different than my hometown, but incredible. We then went to murderers row of heavy hitting main menu items. Of particular note was the burger. I know right, but I was in the mood and the lights were just right... :-) it wa incredible. My girlfriend had the salmon and was radiant with both the portion size and taste. Overall just a happy occasion.

Dessert was bread the chocolate gnosh with marshmallow. Creamy, decadent and split among four with enough for three healthy fork sizes per person.

Our server carefully guided us through his thoughts of the menu and his own personal favorites which was appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed Acre a number of times f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have enjoyed Acre a number of times for dinner so we were excited to try their Sunday brunch. Food was amazing! Service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time customers, daughter recommend ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time customers, daughter recommended Acre to my wife and I. We were very pleased with everything, food was top notch and so was the service. Thank you!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for over 2 hours, not beca ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were there for over 2 hours, not because we wanted to be, but because it took that long to get our food. When it arrived, it was good, not what I have come to expect from Acre, but still better than most restaurants in the area. The snapper with collard green spaetzle was very good, the flat iron with beans and chow chow was not. The desserts were fantastic, and probably the thing that kept this trip from being a compete dud. Our waiter would disappear for long stretches of time, probably because he had no updates as to where our food was. Still, it would have been nice to see him more frequently; he would have sold a few more drinks had he been a little more attentive.

I was told the place was declining in quality, but I refused to believe it. While our one poor experience does not cancel out the numerous great ones I have had here, it is somewhat troubling. I hope this was an anomaly and not the start of a trend.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

What a pleasant surprise. Inventive, c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

What a pleasant surprise. Inventive, creative and delicious food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing meal! Service was incredible, an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Amazing meal! Service was incredible, and the food was both stunning in presentation and absolutely delicious! Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited menu. High cost, low value. Like ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Limited menu. High cost, low value. Likely will not return. Very disappointed considering the hype the restaurant has received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The service is top-notch and the food is ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The service is top-notch and the food is by far the best quality and most inventive in Auburn. Acre offers a wonderful wine list and has servers who are very knowledgeable and accommodating. I have a severe peanut allergy and they chefs and team at Acre went out of their way for me. Everything I have ordered from acre is delicious and I always recommend this restaurant to friends and family passing through or visiting Auburn. It will not disappoint!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

great restaurant! We always enjoy a supe ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

great restaurant! We always enjoy a super meal when visiting form out of town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner at Acre! V ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Acre! Very romantic setting (we sat at a small table in the big room where the bar is located). The building is just beautiful! If we come back would definitely like to try the outdoor seating. We were told that some of the food is grown on site. Wow! Love the fact that so much of the menu is farm to table. They packaged up our leftovers in a styrofoam container though - only thing that we didn't like. Hope Acre is a part of the Auburn scene for many years to come!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time dining at Acre, and it did n ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Second time dining at Acre, and it did not disappoint. Grouper dish was flavorful, and service was attentive without being overbearing. Meal was leisurely; we never felt rushed. I recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing atmosphere and stellar Southern ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Amazing atmosphere and stellar Southern food with a twist. Everything was great. Looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and ambiance. Service ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Outstanding food and ambiance. Service was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a jewel! My only comp ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant is a jewel! My only complaint--it doesn't exist in Florida! We were 20 min late for our reservation, and we had no idea the restaurant closes 3-5. They took us in, no questions asked, and treated us like royalty! The food was amazing and healthy. super fresh! We loved the appearance, food, farm to table experience, with 5 star service, while still receiving great southern hospitality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love acre!!!! Best place to ea ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love love love acre!!!! Best place to eat in auburn!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was excellent. Loved the chee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was excellent. Loved the cheese and charcuterie. The fish with the creamed popcorn sauce was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional as advertised. Fresh, local ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Exceptional as advertised. Fresh, local ingredients from pre-dinner drinks to dessert. Wide variety of choices and each appetizer and meal was distinct and delicious. Staff was welcoming and knowledgeable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great overall experience and highly reco ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great overall experience and highly recommend. Food is modern/updated twist on traditional Southern dishes and executed to perfection. Staff/Waiter was knowledgeable, friendly, and accessible. Low noise, easy conversation. Tables are a little tight and ambiance average for this level. Pricing a little on the high end of the range, but acceptable based on excellent quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot, need one in Birmingham! My ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great spot, need one in Birmingham! My wife attended Auburn years ago and couldn't believe there was such a spot now; we will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find in Auburn! Nice menu that c ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

A great find in Auburn! Nice menu that changes seasonally.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very pleased with our dining exp ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We were very pleased with our dining experience. The server helped us with gluten free selections and was attentive to our every need. The food was amazing!

I would recommend Acre to anyone looking for an exceptional night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I want Acre for my birthday and my missi ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I want Acre for my birthday and my mission was the Fried Green Tomatoes. I got them and they were wonderful. My entree was a little heavy but tasty (This Should Fix It), and the Peanut Butter Pie was so good. I will be back with more friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant! Great Brunch that is a ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great restaurant! Great Brunch that is affordable! Remember on Sunday Lee county does not serve alcohol until noon. Charcuterie board is always amazing! Love this place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Reserved a table at Acre this past weeke ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Reserved a table at Acre this past weekend while in town with my wife after reading positive reviews online. This place definitely did not disappoint! Started out with the Gnocchi and Mushroom dish for an appetizer... excellent flavor (the lemon zest was a nice touch) and the gnocchi was perfectly cooked. Our entrees were equally good (snapper and filet). Make sure to leave room for dessert though...their homemade peanut butter pie is out of this world! We will definitely be dining here again on our next trip back to the Plains.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was warm on the front porch despite t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was warm on the front porch despite the overhead fans. Food was tasty but the huge markup on wine was distressing. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed but steak was over cooked.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Ordered it medium rare but hardly had any pink in it at all.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

WOW !! This one is a Keeper...We will be back !!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

What a wonderful food experience...too many great choices and talk about FRESH...Look outside, see the produce growing...it's there to prepare your menu choice...This eatery was outstanding

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent experience. Good foo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Always an excellent experience. Good food, good people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely love this place! Everything o ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Absolutely love this place! Everything on the menu is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and the service was exception ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food and the service was exceptional. The server was very knowledgeable and helpful with menu selection. It is very evident the chef takes pride in his food ingredients as well as the quality of the food. The meat and cheese solid oak sampler was very unique and delicious. The beef tenderloin and snapper was outstanding. Save room for the sweet potato bread pudding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.