Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Acre

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (67)
Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Creative Cuisine (50)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Romantic (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Great for Brunch (32)
Great for Lunch (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Comfort Food (30)
Authentic (28)
Cozy (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Seasonal (26)
Business Meals (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Organic (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Fun (18)
Casual (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Healthy (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Great Beer (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
People Watching (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Private Room (6)
Family Style (6)
Fireplace (6)
Scenic View (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
847 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Love this restaurant. Only thing is that just like every restaurant you get better service if you drink. So we didn't see waiter for little bit while he tended to them .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Acre never disappoints. Over the years, we've brought friends and family to the restaurant who were visiting from out-of-town and it always makes the highlight reel of their visit. And I get to enjoy it, too! Love this place.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. Hannah is always outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was very good. Reservations accepted and good service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best restaurant in Auburn by far! David Bancroft can do some serious cooking with a ton of creativity behind it. Good atmosphere and always a 1st class dining experience. Our server was Kristen. We even bought a painting off the wall from a local artist.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Honestly the best dining experience of my life, hands down. Wow

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Enjoyed a dinner meal. Great food and good service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Celebrated anniversary with wife. Food was delicious from the appetizer to the dessert, service was outstanding, and we just enjoyed the dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The meal was a birthday gift from our kids and we enjoyed every minute of it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food! Great ambiance! Only one down side is, you have to take a full wallet.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 9, 2017

From top to bottom, everything at Acre impressed! Farm to table, beautiful touches of upcycled/ reclaimed wood used from the Bancroft family properties of times past, to Samantha being the most bubbly, wonderfully adorable and knowledgable server, we are so happy we gave Acre a try. And the FOOD! Everything was spot on, soup, fish, house made charcuterie, fried green tomatoes. I would order everything again, and a few of the dishes I had were so good that I know I will crave and dream about them! Happy we lucked out for wine down Wednesday, that was an unexpected treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Always excellent. It is awesome that Auburn has a place like Acre. Food and service is always exceptional.....and the peanut butter pie is to die for.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

One of Acre's specialties is its use of locally grown foods. I doubt that they "grew" the salmon in my salmon cakes, but they were delicious. Service is always very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We love Acre for dinner, so we thought we would try Sunday brunch. Everything we ordered was good, but there were very few breakfast food choices on the menu. Acre is still on our favorites list when we visit Auburn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We original planned a brunch trip with my parents when we saw a chef from Acre was nominated for the James Beard Award. My parents didn't come to town, so we changed our reservation to 2. The concept of Acre is right up our alley! We loved that most everything served is grown on the acre the restaurant sits on. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu. We ordered the "chicken fried bacon" for the appetizer. It was close to life changing. We ordered the steak and eggs and chicken and waffles, and they were both very deliscous. We cannot wait to go back and try the rest of the brunch menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Visited based on a friends recommendation. Food and service were both excellent, felt like we were dining in a rustic, well appointed, reclaimed and modern finished farm house. We will definitely return on our next visit to Auburn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This menu is very creative but not overly done. Things run well there and the menu prices and drink prices and wine prices are very reasonable. The pimento cheese was a great starter. I had the snapper special and it was cooked perfectly. The waiter was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Table placement was unfortunate by being directl in path to porch diners and servers repeatedly apologizing for having interrupt us. There were numerous empt tables that we could have been seated to avoid that distraction. This was with an Open Table reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great food but table was awful. Apparently parties of two are shunted to the side away from the bigger and more quiet areas.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent food choices, superb service. Even when it's crowded, it never seems to get too loud.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We met our family for dinner and as always had a great meal with terrific service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Acre was a great find. The gnocchi was fantastic and the shrimp tasted as if it were caught that morning. Great to have this caliber of restaurant in Auburn. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Oh my! Words can not give justice to what we just experienced at Acre. Chef David Bancroft even came to our table to serve dessert. No wonder he is a James Beard nominee. If you are anywhere near Auburn, Alabama this place is well worth the trip.
The Chicken Fried Bacon was the best I've ever had and if you know me, I've eaten lots of bacon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were a few minutes late for our brunch reservation, but they were very accommodating and we were seated quickly. Acre is always fantastic --- whether at a table or the bar, for dinner or Sunday Brunch! We think the food is amazing and love the atmosphere and decor of the restaurant. We have found that It is best to make a reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I always love taking friends and family who are coming from out of town to Acre. Great atmosphere and great food.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the South.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Was expecting a really good meal. Three of four of us didn't eat our meal. Asked for a salad and never received it. First and last time we will dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Very special food and place! Cody was awesome waiter. Exquisite wine list

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fireplace, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Our server was wonderful. Very knowledgeable regarding the menu and food sources. Prompt and friendly service. Food was fantastic! We had the steak and snapper.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Hands down the best food I have ever had!! Loved it so much we visited 2 times in one weekend. We will be back even if we have to drive 1 hour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Another great experience!! Our waiter Max was great and the goat cheese guacamole is SINFULLY good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Lovely addition to Auburn dining with modern earthy decor,great service,and terrific food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sat in the bar. Great atmosphere but cold due to a/c....but the waiter brought blankets and all was well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Lunch at Acre was delicious. The chicken fried chicken was slightly overcooked, but the grilled whole green beans and real mashed potatoes made up for it. The flourless chocolat cake was was a hit , as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

the appetizer cheese plate is phenomenal, creative delicious, main course of seasonal short rib, nothing short of a culinary delight, the dessert sampler mind blowing yummy. The donuts hot from the kitchen are a must order as well as the peanut butter pie.
Everything we ordered was spectacular.
The bourbon selection is first class and beyond. Matt our server a culinary gentleman genius . Chicken fried bacon what the heck wow.
What a treat our evening was at Acre.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our second time there and the food was delicious!!! We had the butcher board which was an array of local meats and pickled veggies with homemade crackers. We also had to try the chicken fried bacon!!! Yum!! Hubby had beef short ribs that were so tender they fell off the bone and I had the spiny lobster bisque!! We enjoyed everything and will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great ambiance and great menu. Good variety and everything is farm to table so it tastes fresh.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Organic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Amazing dinner...as always. Acre is my favorite restaurant in Auburn.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious as always! Awesome Valentine's Day menu!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always an excellent experience. It was a great place for my lunch date with my husband for Valentine's Day. There were roses on every table and great love songs were played!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.