Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Acre

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer's Corner. Acre features fresh local ingredients sourced from their own gardens and local farms, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm (special menu)

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (68)
Special Occasion (57)
Good for a Date (56)
See All
Creative Cuisine (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Great for Lunch (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Romantic (30)
Cozy (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Business Meals (27)
Authentic (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Casual (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Seasonal (23)
Fun (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Organic (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Healthy (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Great Beer (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
People Watching (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Live Music (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1044 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing fresh food, amazing service, fabulous cocktails

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding chicken and waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Our lunch was perfect!
Great food: burgers, chicken and waffles, and salads were all fabulous. Our waitress, Sarah, was delightful and very helpful.
There is a good wine list and lots of beer choices. The setting is lovely with seating outside, at the bars, and at tables.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

We always love to spend our Birthdays at Acre! It is one of our favorite spots!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Prices are high, bread and butter is extra. It was a birthday occasion and they don’t even offer a complementary dessert. Well done steak was over cooked and like shoe leather. Green beans were raw. Ribeye steak was very chewy. All of this being said we lived in Houston and know what 5 Star dining is about and this place doesn’t come close

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great food and great service! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

I had brunch. The selection was unique and mouth watering. When we questioned the server about the salmon, she immediately volunteered the salmon was wild caught, not mushy, firm (all important for salmon). We also had dessert-a corn pudding topped with blueberry compote and ice cream. It was unusual and delicious. The list of purchases from local vendors was impressive. I am from Alabama, and a manufacturer. I always try to support local vendors. Great restaurant-the very definition of farm to table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Dined at Acre for a celebration dinner. The atmosphere was lovely, but the service was extremely lacking initially (took 15 minutes sitting at our table with no water or recognition prior to a server arriving), and subsequent service of food arrived in an awkward "all-at-once" frenzy (cocktails, snacking selection, and starters all delivered to the table at the same presentation. It was an overload and did not allow for a relaxing progression through the selections ). While hoping the food would make up for the service gaff, it did not. The Granny Smith Apple and Pecan Salad's dressing was off-balance with way too high an acid level, and pools of dressing wilted the otherwise delicious looking greens. The Fried Green Tomatoes were also imbalanced with the tomato cut so whisper-thin it disappeared inside the cornmeal coating, which unfortunately turned soggy with an over-abundant topping of heavy remoulade and redundant base of pimento cheese. The Roasted Gulf Snapper was dry and tasteless, paired with an oddly sweet creamed popcorn puddle and two other incongruous side items. The $33 plate struck me as non-composed, like ingredients from a Chopped basket that just didn't compliment each-other. The bright star of the evening was the Spice Rubbed Diver Scallops, all the flavors and textures married into a small but delicious plate.

From observing other patron's selections, I wish we'd simply stayed with the Butcher's Block selections which looked quite appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Farm to table. Very inventive dishes. We were on vacation and had read about the restaurant and it was recommended by local hotel staff. our two appetizers and meals were delicious. Hostess was very accommodating. Waitress was very good. Noise level was reasonable considering the number of diners. Wish we had more nights so we could go back a second time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great food, great ambiance, great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 3, 2017

First time that we've been. We are in the area once a year and this was a great find. The food selections were interesting and different from the average menu choices. Our food was prepared well, served promptly and our server was helpful and pleasant. Will definitely go back next year.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vegan, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Great service and awesome food. We will be back and highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

I'm from Hamilton GA and this is the best restaurant in 100 miles.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Tapas, Bar Seating, Casual, Organic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great night. Anniversary dinner....third year in a row to us Acre! Great atmosphere too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Shrimp and grits were excellent as was the hamburger and fried green tomatoes.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Always a good place to eat in Auburn! No freezer here (except for the ice cream) and almost all ingredients are locally sourced. Good wine and cocktail menus too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 28, 2017

This was for an anniversary and our first visit to Acre. A bit less "romantic" than I thought it would be based on prices. Service was a bit slow at first, but ended up working out in the end since we started with a couple mixed drinks (perfectly mixed) and took our time from there. Had the crab claws as app with remoulade; both are good by nature, so was expected. And after seeing the prices, I actually said this would be our only trip to Acre... and then I had their pittsburg style filet with sweet potatoes and onions in blue cheese crumbles and a horseradish sauce and immediately decided we are definitely coming back. My wife had their regular filet, medium rare, with a side of fingerling potatoes and green beans. Both meals were absolutey delicious and steaks cooked perfectly (best one I have had in years). Only downside, $$$... definitely not $30 and under. Two of us: shared app ($16), two mixed drinks each ($40), two filets ($80), cheap bottle of chianti ($33), and no dessert... $185 before tip. P.S. Valet parking only option (as per the valet) so bring cash for a tip. Our server transformed into an ATM and let us add a few bucks to the tip in exchange for a few singles.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Fantastic meal. Fantastic service! Fantastic menu!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 26, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant to bring colleagues for business meals, and for special occasions. It represents the best in the region, hands down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I loved everything about Acre. The food was amazing. The strawberry walnut salad — to be so simple, it was so fresh and flavorful. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. I’ve heard great things about the restaurant — I’m so glad I had the opportunity to try it.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The crab claws were amazing, my steak (filet) was overpriced jerky and my Husband’s (ribeye) was a poor cut of meat, the peanut butter pie was fresh from the .... freezer... I’ve had better from them so I’ll take a break for now and try back some other time (maybe in a couple of months).
In addition.... the service was ok as in the food coming out was very slowwww tonight. A good 30min or more break between courses. Next time I’ll order everything in the beginning instead of thinking I should order when each course comes out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great service and food. Fried green tomatoes, duck with goat cheese risotto, and chocolate torte. Enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 19, 2017

One of favorite Resturant's while traveling to the Auburn area. Unbelievable menu & very talented Chef, service with John P is outstanding.!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Acre was great! The food choices are a little different, but everything was tasty. They have farm fresh selections. Good choice for a special evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was awesome I would highly recommend them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 18, 2017

It was an awesome experience. Quite expensive but as long as you go in knowing and expecting it is worth it. Food, service, everything was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food was lukewarm at serving. My wife and I had chicken fried chicken, and it as well as the mashed potatoes were lukewarm. What precious little gravy there was was lukewarm too. When we asked for extra gravy they said there would be a charge for that Overall we would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

It was a great birthday surprise! I will certainly do it again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Acre is beautiful and has a fabulous menu. We had a party of 6 for a birthday celebration. We were seated at a booth that had plenty of room for our bodies, but no where for our legs and feet under the table. Our knees, legs and feet were all over each other and stepping all over each other under the table. There was not enough room on the table for the table settings, glasses and appetizers. Really too small for 6. The service was great with our waitress being gracious, helpful, knowledgeable and very friendly. The food was good except for the cook on the steaks. 3 of us ordered the tenderloin, medium-rare and told the waitress we wanted them on the rare side of medium rare. They arrived barely pink and medium at best. The duck was cooked to perfection as was the bistro steak. Great appetizers. . . chicken fried bacon, corn donuts and cheese tray. Salads were the highlight, both the strawberry and the apple/pecan. The feta cheese on the apple/pecan was incredible.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

One of the best dining experiences!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We had a wonderful experience celebrating a birthday at Acre. The food was outstanding and beautifully presented. The service was excellent. Our server was very pleasant and efficient. Overall, an AUsome evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Organic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

I have never had an unpleasant experience from the many times I've dined at Acre.

Tags: Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 3, 2017

As usual, great food, great service and great ambiance! Can’t wait to go again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We enjoyed our Sunday brunch at the Acre Restaurant. We had a wonderful server who was quite entertaining and made great recommendations. The atmosphere was very pleasant and we enjoyed the entire experience. There were 4 people in our group and we all had something different and everyone was very happy with their food. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for interesting food and a great environment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I've kept up with Acre on social media since it opened, have only gotten the chance to dine here a few time, but it never stops impressing. I could order anything on the menu and pleased 100% of the time. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Wonderful experience. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Awesome Birthday dinner with friends! The PERFECT evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 24, 2017

They never disappoint! We had not been to brunch in awhile so it was fun to see the new choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food was outstanding and The restaurant was great. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.