Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 51 times today

Acre

4.7
1241 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer's Corner. Acre features fresh local ingredients sourced from their own gardens and local farms, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southern, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm (special menu)

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(334) 246-3763
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
David Bancroft
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Gay Street
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 1241 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Every visit we have had to Acre has been outstanding and this was no exception. The service was perfect and the food was phenomenal. It is my favorite restaurant in Auburn. Most of all, I love it because they take a reservation. I don't visit places like The Hound because they don't take reservations (or even answer the phone).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

First time at the Acre for my daughter's birthday brunch. Wonderful atmosphere and food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Visiting our college student with a friend couple and decided to book Acre as we have heard many good things about it. First time to dine there. We were not disappointed with the food! The pimento cheese was a great start and our entrees (two beef tenderloins, a ribeye and a salmon) were excellent. Very creative and tasty accompaniments. Foodies should really like this place. The wine selection was also top notch (they offer a Reserve list), but we settled on a more moderately priced red blend, which was just fine with us after some handcrafted cocktails. It wasn't a problem for us as we were very casual with no time constraints, but the initial drink and appetizer service was on the slow side. The service itself was very friendly, just a little slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Shrimp & grits were amazing! Excellent service and ambiance. It was our second time at Acre and will definitely be back! Was looking to see if Chef Caleb was there as we watched him compete on the Spring Baking Championship on the Food Network!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Not very flexible with the items on the menu. Very good food but could be more relaxed with substitutes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We're from Charleston so pretty spoiled when it comes to great dining experiences. Exceeded our expectations. Would definitely go back if we're ever in Auburn again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Fantastic food, wonderful atmosphere, and even better service. I definitely would recommend this for anyone looking for gourmet Southern food. The restaurant is aesthetically pleasing and makes you feel like you're dining in a friends home. I had the Bistro steak and my wife had the grilled snapper, both of which were equally fantastic. If you aren't steeped in Southern Cuisine, get the fried green tomatoes as an appetizer. You will fall in love. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Biz dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Ingredients are carefully selected and sourced, then skillfully prepared by the kitchen. Wine list is not extensive, but very high quality and reasonably priced. Server was skilled and very knowledgeable. Great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

You won't regret coming to Acre! The menu constantly changes and I've never had something I disliked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Absolutely incredible! Great food and great service!!! Best shrimp and grits we’ve ever had!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I've wanted to come here since our first visit to Auburn 2 years ago and was so happy to finally remember in time to make a reservation. It was worth the wait. Beautiful spot, close to campus, and admirable farm to table. From our starter board to dessert, everything was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was AMAZING as always and appropriately proportions. Loved the specials of crawfish Mac and cheese and the oysters. Seasonal dessert with the strawberries was on point and every crumb was eaten. We will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Had read so much about this restaurant so when we came to Auburn to take granddaughter and boy friend to lunch this seemed to be the perfect selection. Ordered fried green tomatoes to share, to mushy, so much so that breading stuck to plate and you had to scrub plate to get off. Boys had hamburgers which were good but fries were cold and limp. I had fried chicken, just all right but not much flavor. Really disappointed 😔

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Out of town guest from San Francisco. He LOVED it! And he is spoiled by incredible dining opportunities often in San Francisco. Acre did not disappoint! The duck dish was probably his favorite thing. I wish I could remember the exact phrase he used when he tasted it...spectacularly creative, maybe...something like that. Thank y’all for a great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Great place to bring out of town guests to experience gourmet Southern food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Wonderful salmon, attentive and friendly service. Best restaurant in Alabama!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Terrific food! A bit too noisy on the porch - for quiet get a table inside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Best restaurant in the country period. Always try to go there when in Auburn.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Phenomenal! Amazing food! Fabulous wine selection! We can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Everyone had a great time & thought the food was delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great, as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

The shrimp and grits was outstanding! Actually, everything was outstanding! Expensive, though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

My daughter picked Acre to celebrate her birthday. Great choice! Food and atmosphere were both superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Fabulous food. Great atmosphere. Good time had by all!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Birthday, great time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Beautiful restaurant with interesting menu of local food ingredients. Especially enjoyed the tomato soup and the peanut butter banana dessert. Service was great and the waitress was very helpful in selecting food options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Outstanding meal! But my favorite dish was the peanut butter pie with the banana merengue...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Wonderful as always. Waiter could have been more attentive. Never asked us if he could take our order and was pretty slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Excellent service combined with innovative, well prepared, and delicious food is a very tough combination to beat. Will be back... multiple times. I highly recommend the bone marrow and my friend said the tenderloin was the best steak he has ever tasted!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Acre is outstanding every time. I take out of town guests here for every visit. Have never had anything bad from Acre! Absolutely LOVE it

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We were seated next to a table with 25 young ladies, to say it was loud would be an understatement ... we should have asked to be moved.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food was unremarkable. Fried chicken was dry and without much seasoning in batter. Green beans were excellent. Potatoes fine but ordinary. Excellent service and always a nice venue but I was disappointed in Sunday brunch menu. Usually like the food much more here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great food, as always, although apparently the kitchen was behind, so our food took around an hour to arrive after ordering. That was a little bit of a challenge with hungry kids. Our waiter was attentive, and checked on us often. Something comp'ed for our inconvenience might have been nice. The duck breast, ribeye, and shrimp and grits were all fantastic, and our children loved the burger and grilled cheese on the kid's menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I took my daughter and 3 of her friends and our group was very happy with the food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Acre never disappoints. Every dish we ordered was divine. New for us this time was the sweet potato masa tamales and the country fried bacon. Delish!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We loved our meal at Acre!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Fantastic burger. Juicy and done perfectly

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great experience!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32