Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Acre

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (75)
Good for a Date (59)
Special Occasion (57)
See All
Creative Cuisine (52)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Great for Lunch (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Romantic (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Good for Groups (33)
Business Meals (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Authentic (30)
Casual (27)
Cozy (26)
Fun (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Seasonal (22)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Organic (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great Beer (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Scenic View (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Music (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding and The restaurant was great. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent for business lunch, first time there, will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I had heard this was a great place for Sunday Brunch, but I was disappointed. We waited nearly 90 minutes for our food to arrived after ordering. When it did arrive, I was grateful that the food was hot, but it was really nothing special. The portion size for the steak & eggs was surprisingly small. The "3 & Meat" special (french toast & bacon & berries) was pretty good, but honestly, are they trying to cut costs? Small plastic cup of maple syrup came on plate. Just a few berries - and cut in half at that! Won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent food and service. One of our favorite restaurants to eat at when we visit our daughter at Auburn. We have been to both brunch and dinner. We always make a reservation when we know when we are going to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Consistently great food and service on the Auburn campus

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Love this restaurant! It is a must every trip to Auburn.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Acre is hands down our favorite restaurant in Auburn/Opelika. We went this past week for my husband's birthday. He had the salmon which was wonderful and I had the steak which was delicious. Great beer and wine selection. They brought out a slice of chocolate cake to celebrate the occasion. We're not big dessert fans, but the cake was good because it wasn't too sweet. Highly recommend this local jewel.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great food and amazing wait staff. The whole experience was just absolutely wonderful

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vegan, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Casual, Great Beer, Healthy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Acre hits a home run every time we dine. The venue, service, menu, cocktails and food preparation is fantastic. There are many times we have lunch and dinner on the same day.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Disappointing all the way around. Brunch at The Hound is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went here for our anniversary. Service was top notch. Food was amazing. I had the Shrimp and Grits and my wife had the Salmon. Definitely will return. We have found our new date night spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My Husband and I were on a date without the children hoping for a quiet dinner (that we drove about an hour for). We were seated at a corner table in the bar area. It was very noisy and not only that... we were also seated by a party of about 12 people (a Birthday dinner). I honestly have enjoyed Acre in the past for a date night but I wanted to just leave tonight.... sorry. The noise level obviously takes away the enjoyment of the food, service and the whole reason of getting out of the house. The Manager which looked like a lady over her 40's should've managed the hostess area a little better tonight by making a better judgment of seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2017

amazing as always! Everything was delicious and we tried alot.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great overall meal. Steaks and shrimp/grits were awesome. Server was great as well. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I have been to Acre several times and it gets better and better each time. We always have great service, food, and leave feeling very satisfied! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone as they have a variety of options to choose from. You will definitely want to have reservations, especially on home game weekends, unless you try and sit at the bar which is first come first serve.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 1, 2017

ACRE is a jewel! Chef Bancroft never ceases to amaze with his delicious and thoughtful cuisine. It's a must-go restaurant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

What's not to like!? It's one of the best restaurants in America.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Acre is one of the two best restaurants in Auburn, and Auburn has several really great restaurants.
My wife and I go there regularly and enjoy it every time.
The maitre d' was very flexible regarding our preferences for seating. The cocktails were awesome. Our waiter, Cam, was extremely professional and knowledgeable regarding the various items on the menu. And of course the food was excellent.
And for all of that, the cost was very reasonable.

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

I have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions, and I would have to say that I neither love it or hate it. It's somewhere in the middle. On this particular night, a business dinner, we ordered three appetizers for the table to share. Two of them showed up as expected, and third, only after the salad, and only after repeated requests. When the entrees came, mine was missing, and when it finally showed up, was lukewarm. The restaurant was also out of Pellegrino that night, or any other sparkling water. Restaurant choices in Auburn are limited, so I am sure to be back. But it won't be because I made the choice . . .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent service. The heirloom tomato salad and the poached salmon were amazing. Beautiful restaurant. Fantastic art, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Warm welcome greeting, immediately seated in a nice private area, our server was exceptional and the food was exquisite. Five star dining in a small college town!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food was great. I had the Pork Chop with the Pepper Jelly sauce. My party also had the Tres Major Steak and Shrimp and Grits. Everybody enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

I highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We stopped in for Brunch. Was quite busy but Open Table got us seated quickly.
We ordered the brisket fries as an appetizer- was hot and delicious. I got the fried chicken- was terrific- batter was spicy/delicious. Gravy and potatoes were excellent- would have liked more gravy. Wife got salmon cakes- somewhat disappointing- texture was like a pate ...not quite right. We also ordered dessert- corn cobbler and chocolate cake- also very average. We will try agin- overall solid experience- hopefully other menu choices will be as good as the chicken and brisket fries.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Everything was fabulous!!! The food, the service, and the decor. Worth every penny! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Finally got around to trying Acre and it lived up to the hype. Delicious fresh food and inviting ambience made for a lovely experience. We plan on returning in the very near future to take another sample of the ever changing menu.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Seated on time and things started well with appetizers that were beautifully presented and had exquisite flavor. The fried green tomatoes were a meal highlight as were the fig toasts. Then we waited. More than 1 hour 15 minutes. As tables around us turned over twice and the entrees that we ordered were delivered to tables that were seated after us. I asked whether our tickets had been lost and the server said she didn't know why things were going slow but that 'all' tickets were slow this evening. It was ok when it finally arrived, but y then the evening was too long and positive energy turned south. We were nearly the last to leave the restaurant nearly 3 hours after arrival. Service has always been an issue here because college servers aren't the same as professionals, but tonight was a new low. Not sure I'll do this again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

fresh, delicious meal with lovely atmosphere. excellent service

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The figgy toast was delicious. They unfortunately ran out of buns but our server suggested the PBR toast; which I think was even better than using a bun!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very nice experience, excellent food, the waiter was supernice and very knowledgeable.
The minus was wait time even though we had a reservation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Wonderful birthday celebration! The food was as exquisite as always, and the staff helped us to make the occasion very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Overall, the meal was delicious. The Brussel sprouts were very undercooked however, and almost inedible. Also, one person subbed Brussel sprouts for green beans, and we were charged a $2 upcharge....for as much as we paid for our meals and dinner overall, this seemed a little tacky, especially since it was a green vegetable for green vegetable exchange!! Enjoyed the ambience; valet parking was nice. Our waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was perfectly prepared, great local farm to table. Heirloom tomatoes from outside garden. were outstanding, very unique preparation. Salmon was cooked to perfection. Chef is very creative and they also have a great wine list. Second time here and we will def be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 16, 2017

First time, will be back. Awesome food and wine list

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food was really great and in a quiet atmosphere. But, we booked a table overnight thinking it would save us some time, it didn't because orders took an hour.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

I really enjoyed coming here on a date. We were sat in a beautiful room with brick on one side and wall to wall windows on the other that gave us a view of the garden. The food was delicious, one of the best steaks I've ever had. The service was also top-notch, our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and accommodating.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have been to Acre several times. It has always exceeded expectations.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I tried the special and it was an awesome! Bold flavors, unconventional pairings, and truly a treat! The ambience is beautiful and thoughtful. Enjoyed my experience immensely!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We absolutely love Acre. The food is always outstanding. It's fresh, expertly prepared, and creative. The staff are terrific. Dining at Acre is definitely a special treat that we give to ourselves on occasion. We are fortunate to have chef David Bancroft in Auburn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.