Acre

4.7
1311 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer's Corner. Acre features fresh local ingredients sourced from their own gardens and local farms, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southern, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm (special menu)

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(334) 246-3763
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
David Bancroft
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Jennifer Keasal for additional information at jennifer@acreauburn.com or by visiting our website and completing the "Special Event Inquiry Form".
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jennifer Keasal: (334) 750-4406
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Gay Street
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Jennifer Keasal for additional information.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 1311 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our one month wedding anniversary and had a great experience - best restaurant in Alabama!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I’m a regular at Acre for several reasons. In general, I think it’s the best restaurant in the Auburn-Opelika area. Everything on their continuously changing menu is absolutely delicious, and their bar has everything you’d ever want (and more).

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

We were excited about finally getting to eat at Acre after seeing reviews...I can say we were less than impressed. Food was very average and service fair at best. Maybe it was an off night for Acre ...I certainly hope so. Positive note...beautiful restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding in every way, from the service to the great food. A true pleasure to be there. Acre would be successful in any city anywhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We ate brunch on Sunday and it was a buffet. The food selection was nice and the food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Very good wait staff, apps and deserts were very good. Temperatures were wrong on 5 out of the 6 entrees ordered which is why I will probably not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Great service , tasty food. Tables too close together for my taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

With a weekend place on the lake, we come over to Acre often. There's always a lot of variety on the menu, terrific service and a fabulous ambiance. Thanks for another memorable experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

exquisite wine, gourmet cheese, worth the visit and the pb cake

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

From the moment we walked in till we left, our dining experience was simply unforgettable! This s now one of my top 10 dinners and I have dined in high end restaurants all over the US and Europe. The appetizers were creative and served hot, the entrees were definitely James Beard quality and yet still reasonably priced and the wine list had some great selections. It was everything you want a dining experience to be be. Thanks Chef Bancroft!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Our server was wonderful and the food was fabulous!

However, the hostess wore an inappropriate top, with no bra. She bent down to pick something up and you could see down her shirt. In addition to that, I didn't appreciate her chomping/smacking blue gum when she greeted and seated us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Awesome dining experience! We were greeted and seated immediately. Our waiter gave us great recommendations and we enjoyed everything. Make sure to try the French press coffee and blueberry bread pudding with their homemade ice cream!!!! Yummmmm we can’t stop talking about it:)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great atmosphere and great food, this has to be a top 5 restaurant in all of Alabama, if not the South. The fried okra and chicken fried bacon are outstanding. I had the red snapper and it was excellent. Acre also has a knowledgeable bar staff with great bourbons from which to chose. Acre is a must stop in east Alabama.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Both our fish meals were delicious. You could definitely taste the fresh ingredients. Will be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Acre is always a first class dining experience! We eat there at least twice a week and it never disappoints. Went today for my wife’s birthday and it was great as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

In town for our daughters orientation. So glad she chose Auburn so we can come back. Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Always great food and great service. One of the best dining experiences in Alabama.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

My husband and I had a delicious lunch at Acre. We would love to come again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We were there for brunch for our daughter’s birthday, along with her friend and our son. Love the interior decor! Food was good as was our waitress. Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The place is cozy and comfortable, and our waitress was accommodatin, however Bar Service was extremely slow. We received appetizers in five minutes, but drinks came after the appetizers. Ordered a glass of wine and sangria, and they got delivered after the initial drinks after dinner was delivered. I had the Grouper that night, along with CousCous, which was okay, but my freind ordered the Rib Eye, which was first delivered extremely rare when it was ordered medium, and the fat on that steak was ridiculous. The steak was taken back and cooked longer, but the taste was terrible. The fat on the steak made it completely inedible. The sweet potatoe served was good, but the brussel sprouts were delivered still raw. Both appetizers were mediocre at best, whci was the oysters and beef tartar. For the $175 we spent, simply was not worth it. Atmosphere was lovely, but the food and some of the service did not match it. First time there, and very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

First time ever at Acre. We were celebrating our 34th Anniversary. Food and service was excellent. We both had the Saturday Special (Snapper with Crawfish Etouffee). Table next to us had a screaming child, but Acre could not help that. A bit pricey, but we will probably be back again for a Special occasion. Thanks

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Went in for BIRTHDAY lunch on Friday.
First time going in.
Made reservation on Open Table the day before with special request for a "quiet spot". Obviously that part was overlooked, as "Miss Personality" hostess sat us right by the front door where all the "action" was!!!!
Had to ask to move down just a few tables to not get hit by everyone coming and going . The tables for two at the left of the entrance should be re-thought!!!
Was served by Gunter who was "the bomb"! He was perfect! Food out of this world!
Will definitely go back, probably at night next time, to check out the atmosphere.
Acre is a great spot!
Parking leaves something to be desired, but downtown is that way these days!!
Bon Appetite'!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The food and wine were great. The chef and server were very knowledgeable and helpful preparing some really great versions of their featured entrees gluten free. The shrimp and grits were very good... different, though. I’ve never had broccoli in my shrimp and grits, but it was very good.

My wife’s filet was top notch. Perfectly cooked and had an excellent flavor.

Well done all around!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Great food, great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Fantastic Brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The food was amazing and the service was great!! 10/10 recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Wonderful atmosphere, fabulous food! Chicken fried bacon, pimento cheese and okra appetizers all so yummy! Delicious burger & fries and also snapper w/crawfish etouffee a huge hit

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

A perfect setting and delicious, fresh food. A must!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

A must if you visit Auburn!! A plus all around

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Everything we ate was delicious, and the brisket was the best we ever had. The wait staff was very attentive and gave great advice on what to eat. We also loved the restaurant decor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

It’s Always wonderful when my husband and I get a chance to eat at Acre! Always delicious and compares to no other. Our favorite in Auburn❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Every single bite was delicious! Service was fantastic. And they had a super reasonable kids menu for our 4 year old. Highly recommend!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We really enjoyed the food. The fried green tomatoes, fried chicken we're delis! Oh and the bread pudding was amazing. Our server Alex was so delightful. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We had a wonderful time and the food was superb!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 23, 2018

We were disappointed as meals where “oversauced” and bland. Thought with farm to table concept dishes would stand on their own better. Disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

My favorite restaurant. Food and service always deliver. Everything is amazing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Never a bad meal here. Everything on the menu is cooked with fresh, organic, local ingredients. Service is above and beyond. A wonderful place to eat. Staff is so friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Brunch was amazing and the restaurant is beautiful. Worth a stop.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Hotel person suggested acres. 100 dollars for two people was a bit pricey. Noise level was high, too high for quiet conversation. Food was good but I felt overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Everything about our evening was wonderful. The food was superb! The bar tender & our server were so helpful, pleasant & knowledgeable. When in Auburn we try to stop by!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33