About Acre

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alabama
Best Food
Alabama
Best Service
Alabama
6 More
Best Ambiance
Alabama
Best Value
Alabama
Fit for Foodies
Alabama
Great for Lunch
Alabama
Most Booked
Alabama
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

Special Occasion (96)
Fit for Foodies (81)
Good for Groups (48)
See All
Romantic (48)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Great for Lunch (44)
Notable Wine List (37)
Great for Brunch (35)
Hot Spot (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Casual (9)
Cozy (8)
Healthy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Scenic View (7)
Authentic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Seasonal (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Organic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great Beer (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Heard about Acre on the SEC Network. It ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined a day ago

Heard about Acre on the SEC Network. It was better than advertised!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Acre is always a treat, a must-do when v ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Acre is always a treat, a must-do when visiting Auburn!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good farm to table restraunt. Variety of ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good farm to table restraunt. Variety of unique dishes.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always creative and deliciou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food is always creative and delicious. We have been there many times and never disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing! My second time go ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This place is amazing! My second time going while visiting my daughter in College!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, savory and lunch prices were ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Wonderful, savory and lunch prices were incredible value

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall cannot recommend this restaurant ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Overall cannot recommend this restaurant. It just did not live up to what I had heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Anniversary dinner and it was spectacula ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Anniversary dinner and it was spectacular. Very creative chef: great food, fantastic presentation. One of Auburn's very best restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty as always! A real treat whenever ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Tasty as always! A real treat whenever I visit Auburn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We also have great food at Acre! One of ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We also have great food at Acre! One of our favorite places to eat in Auburn. This was our first lunch there as it was as good as the dinner service, Will return often!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Comes close to being the epitome of you ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Comes close to being the epitome of you get what you pay for. Tremendous meal...and reasonable price for the quality of the entrees. If you're a foodie, you definitely will not be disappointed. Feel free to challenge their bar. Again, you'll find they're up to any request. Beer your preference...great local and regional selection!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, great service! Excellen ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent food, great service! Excellent restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

all of my food tasted outstanding, my Gr ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

all of my food tasted outstanding, my Grits were just not hot. But I will be back. And I am sure if I have mentioned this the server would have made it right, she was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a pleasure dining at Acre, ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It is always a pleasure dining at Acre, they will always have an unusual chef special which never ceases to amaze me. The service is always the highest level, from the time you walk in the door to the time you leave. The food is always fresh and very well prepared. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service . Love the freshn ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and service . Love the freshness from the garden . My new favorite place !!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service!!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome food and service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are from the Atlanta area and have a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We are from the Atlanta area and have a son who just started Auburn. I selected Acre to celebrate a birthday and wanted my son to be able to attend.

Farm to table is an overused trend here in the Atlanta area and rarely is actually that. This place is legit. So farm to table doesn't mean food is creative or exceptional in any way other than it's sourced locally. Having said all of that, this place is amazing. They had me at house made charcuterie. What a spectacular meal. This was honestly one of the best dinners I can remember. I can sum it up in three words... Chicken fried bacon.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and reasonable presentation - ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food and reasonable presentation - not brilliant, but nice experience - fits sustainable model

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Consistently good and interesting food.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Consistently good and interesting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Acre was delightful. The food was fresh ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Acre was delightful. The food was fresh and delicious. The service was outstanding. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to visit Acre...we will b ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our first time to visit Acre...we will be back!!!! Professional, friendly service and a great variety of choices on the lunch menu at a very reasonable price. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the relaxed atmosphere. Thanks Acre for a wonderful meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 3rd time here. The food and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our 3rd time here. The food and service are always outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and delicious food! Worth ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great service and delicious food! Worth a trip to auburn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was outstanding The service w ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was outstanding The service was friendly. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience for me and my col ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A wonderful experience for me and my college aged daughter. Great atmosphere to relax and catch up. Food was outstanding. My daughter's beef filet was extremely tender and delicious. The snapper was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great overall experience. You will enjoy ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great overall experience. You will enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Acre often and always love the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We go to Acre often and always love the great food and interesting combinations.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acre is one of our favorite places to ea ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Acre is one of our favorite places to each lunch in Auburn. The place is beautiful (including the garden), the staff is always great, and the food is fantastic!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! We will be ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food and service! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely lunch at Acre. The staff were al ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Lovely lunch at Acre. The staff were all friendly and attentive. Will be back for the fresh veggies and imaginative offerings. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dinner and service, I would highly ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great dinner and service, I would highly recommend Acre for any occasion

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant. My wife and I a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

What a great restaurant. My wife and I always bring our friends here when we are trying to show them

The best place to eat in Auburn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience as always. The staf ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent experience as always. The staff is attentive and polite. The seasonal menu offers inspired twists on Southern classics. We enjoyed the Lee County Vegetable Sampler. The grilled red snapper that was on special was divine. And a dessert of peanut butter pie with banana meringue was so decadently delicious that it seemed downright sinful. Acre brings rustic charm and class to Auburn. Always a hit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always. Our server, Chris, ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent as always. Our server, Chris, was very knowledgeable and personable. David Bancroft runs a first-class restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Acre came highly recommended . The ambia ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Acre came highly recommended . The ambiance was great. Cocktails were typical fare and good. The batter on the fried Oyster appetizer was very dark, hinting of burned oil. The remoulade sauce was tasty but somewhat skimpy as a topping.

The BBQ Salmon was fresh and seasoned well but was also a bit overcooked and dry.

My wife's Vegetable plate was to her liking. The Tomatoes were exceptional.

All in all this is a nice restaurant and provided a pleasurable dining experience for our special occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

One of the meals ordered was not as expe ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

One of the meals ordered was not as expected. Not very well received.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The shared vegetable platter was out of ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The shared vegetable platter was out of this world, the entrees were very good. The only area that fell flat was the dessert board. The torte was dry and the ice creams were overly salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Acre is a very inviting restaurant. Ver ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Acre is a very inviting restaurant. Very nice atmosphere with wonderful staff and the best chefs in the area. Great menu with nice specials. Always entertaining and nice to have the staff explain the preparations at the table.

Great desserts made from scratch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

amazing dining experience! The food, wi ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

amazing dining experience! The food, wine, and service were simply stellar. Looking for a reason to return to Auburn, just so i can enjoy Acre!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acre is one of the most consistently-exc ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Acre is one of the most consistently-excellent restaurants in our area. We can always count on having a memorable meal that cannot be had elsewhere. The service is first-rate, as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.