Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Acre

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer's Corner. Acre features fresh local ingredients sourced from their own gardens and local farms, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm (special menu)

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (67)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
See All
Creative Cuisine (55)
Local Ingredients (54)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Great for Lunch (41)
Business Meals (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Notable Wine List (35)
Romantic (35)
Authentic (33)
Cozy (30)
Great for Brunch (30)
Casual (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Comfort Food (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fun (17)
Seasonal (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Healthy (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Organic (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Great Beer (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Took the grandparent out for lunch and we all loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

After driving 45 minutes to get to this top rated restaurant, We were disappointed in the overall experience. Even though we had a reservation, we were seated in a doorway with heavy traffic. While our waiter could not have been nicer the delivery was slow and he kept saying our food was on its way ...for 45 minutes. The highly touted Cornmeal breaded okra was a big disappointment as an appetizer. I expected pods and instead got small cut up pieces that were overly breaded and tasted frozen. This is billed as a farm to table restaurant and this item did not appear to be so. The remoulade sauce with it was very good. My wife had the Garden and Gun special with tomato soup and grilled cheese. Both were good but the soup was not hot and when asked to be reheated only came out Luke warm. I had the Original Brisket burger which was excellent. Bloody Mary was fare. We wanted a dessert but everything took so long we opted not to wait.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious and the staff was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was excellent, however the duck and fish were over cooked and the lighting so dim we couldn’t see the menu.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good, would definitely recommend! But I would like to see more vegan options!:)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Never disappoints. Always our first stop in Auburn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was outstanding, the food delicious, the atmosphere wonderful. Will certainly go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine’s Day so I figured it would be busy. The reservation was at 7:15 and we didn’t get seated till 7:30 almost which was a pain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

V-day dinner and visiting son in college. A perfect evening capped by a win v KY!! We had the snapper, salmon and filet - all perfectly prepared. Couldn’t leave without donuts either... thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Valentine's meal with 10 great friends. Delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The most pleasurable eating experience I’ve had! The food and service were top notch. The best $20 under éntre ive eaten. Five stars!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We went there for a date, and it was a wonderful location for a date. They serve local food, and the servers know the mention to make great recommendations. If you have never been, I highly recommend going to experience the place. Additionally, they have valet parking, so I would recommend bringing cash to tip them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Acre is one of our favorite places. Unfortunately, it seems it is that for a lot of people and makes it very hard to get a reservation. Our experience this time was very good. Food and service was excellent. Prices are a bit high but given the demand it is not surprising. We will most certainly return. The filet is the best for a main course. Don't forget the peanut butter pie which is their specialty desert. Awesome!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2018

Awesome, great food and friendly staff. Top 3 places to eat in Auburn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2018

Food was incredible. Best Duck I have ever eaten. Risotto was exceptionally creamy and flavors were all well balanced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2018

We enjoy ACRE for a special occasion as well as a Friday date nite. Recommend ACRE to all of our friends and family.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2018

I have been to Acre several times and the food was always excellent. On this occasion, I met a friend that drove from Montgomery and I was disappointed in the food quality. I had the shrimp and grits . It was not the best I have had at acre (mediocre). Hopefully, this was just an anomaly.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 12, 2018

Early Valentines dinner with wife. Outstanding meal, lots of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2018

I have visited Acre a few times and every time has been a wonderful experience. Each visit is as close to experiencing it for the first time all over again. The service was splendid and the food is delectable and succulent. Acre is definitely worth the visit and I wish it much success.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Food was good. The burger wasn’t cooked to what was ordered - was ordered medium well and it came out medium rare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Waitress was very sweet. Great environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2018

I like Acre but think the menu needs to have healthier selections. Too much bacon, frying and fattening additives.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 9, 2018

We really enjoyed our dining experience. Our server Pam was pleasant and she took wonderful care of us. The food was fantastic from start to finish. Thanks so much for making my husbands 40th a great birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 8, 2018

My wife and I went to Acre for her birthday and had a great meal and a great time. We love Acre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2018

We had a lovely meal. We have always enjoyed Acre. We learned after we got there that our business guest was dairy free vegan. The server was able to work with her and the chef prepared a special meal that met her requirements. She said it was really good.
I really enjoyed the Alabama tamales and the Snapper

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 6, 2018

The food was excellent. If you've always shied away from duck, try the duck entrée, it's outstanding. The guacamole and chip appetizer was also excellent. Our server, Alexa, was very personable and did a great job taking first class care of our party of 6. Can't wait to dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2018

Fantastic meal and outstanding and attentive service. From the meat and cheese board to excellent appetizers and entrees, this place was top shelf. I travel all over the USA and Acre in Auburn is right there with top restaurants in NYC, Chicago and Boston.

Strongly recommend this spot for anyone in the Auburn area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2018

Foodi ok. Pricey. Beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2018

The food and environment was great. Definitely would recommend for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Acre is one of my favorites, but it was less than satisfying this trip. My fish was overdone, the restaurant was so dark that the lady gave us a flashlight, and the menu was weak. I would go everyday for brunch/lunch, but won’t ever be back for dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Acre was an excellent experience for first time. Lots of drink choices. We tried the chicken fried bacon for appetizer & it was very good. Entrees were duck breast & day special of Blackened Snapper tacos which were both wonderful tasting. For dessert we had seen the couple next to us have peanut butter pie & it was amazing! For a couples night out this was a great experience!! My only negative would be the noise level. It was very crowded & loud where we were seated. Austin our waiter was very courteous & attentive; sit in his section.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Excellent starters-fried okra, pimiento cheese. We had shrimp and grits and filet. Both were cooked just as we like. Superb desert. Great service and a very good selection of bourbons!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Very middle of the road experience on this repeat trip to Acre. Service was attentive and pleasant, but the food was just ‘okay.’ Salads were creative but had little flavor. The entrees were just ‘dinner,’ and there was nothing that made them more than that. Definitely coming off of my ‘must visit’ recommendation list for Auburn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2018

Excellent place. Food was innovative and delicious. James Beard Award and Iron Chef. Lived up to and exceeded expectations. Will be back soon. Can't wait until Spring and Summer to see what the garden provides.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2018

It’s hard to rate the overall experience because our waiter would not leave us alone. We could not carry on a conversation because of all the interruptions. It finally just became laughable because of the number of times he appeared at our table. It was exhausting. We really could not enjoy our food. We spent way too much money to not even know what we ate. We had heard so many great things about Acre and came from out of town to eat there. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2018

I love having brunch there ... one of my favorite spots in auburn

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 28, 2018

As always.....very very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Great white coat ceremony celebration at Acre. Thank you for making it special for my son.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Delicious! From drinks to apps to food...too full to try dessert! Plates had perfect amount of food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Did not like valet parking. Food way over priced for what you get and food was just ok. Service was the best part of whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.