About Acre

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alabama
Best Food
Alabama
Best Ambiance
Alabama
4 More
Best Value
Alabama
Fit for Foodies
Alabama
Most Booked
Alabama
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

Special Occasion (105)
Fit for Foodies (103)
Great for Lunch (60)
See All
Good for Groups (58)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Great for Brunch (54)
Romantic (54)
Notable Wine List (38)
Hot Spot (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Scenic View (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is always a pleasure dining at Acre, ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It is always a pleasure dining at Acre, they will always have an unusual chef special which never ceases to amaze me. The service is always the highest level, from the time you walk in the door to the time you leave. The food is always fresh and very well prepared. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service . Love the freshn ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and service . Love the freshness from the garden . My new favorite place !!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service!!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome food and service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are from the Atlanta area and have a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We are from the Atlanta area and have a son who just started Auburn. I selected Acre to celebrate a birthday and wanted my son to be able to attend.

Farm to table is an overused trend here in the Atlanta area and rarely is actually that. This place is legit. So farm to table doesn't mean food is creative or exceptional in any way other than it's sourced locally. Having said all of that, this place is amazing. They had me at house made charcuterie. What a spectacular meal. This was honestly one of the best dinners I can remember. I can sum it up in three words... Chicken fried bacon.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and reasonable presentation - ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food and reasonable presentation - not brilliant, but nice experience - fits sustainable model

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Consistently good and interesting food.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Consistently good and interesting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Acre was delightful. The food was fresh ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Acre was delightful. The food was fresh and delicious. The service was outstanding. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to visit Acre...we will b ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our first time to visit Acre...we will be back!!!! Professional, friendly service and a great variety of choices on the lunch menu at a very reasonable price. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the relaxed atmosphere. Thanks Acre for a wonderful meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 3rd time here. The food and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our 3rd time here. The food and service are always outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and delicious food! Worth ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great service and delicious food! Worth a trip to auburn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was outstanding The service w ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was outstanding The service was friendly. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience for me and my col ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A wonderful experience for me and my college aged daughter. Great atmosphere to relax and catch up. Food was outstanding. My daughter's beef filet was extremely tender and delicious. The snapper was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great overall experience. You will enjoy ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great overall experience. You will enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Acre often and always love the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We go to Acre often and always love the great food and interesting combinations.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acre is one of our favorite places to ea ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Acre is one of our favorite places to each lunch in Auburn. The place is beautiful (including the garden), the staff is always great, and the food is fantastic!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! We will be ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food and service! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely lunch at Acre. The staff were al ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Lovely lunch at Acre. The staff were all friendly and attentive. Will be back for the fresh veggies and imaginative offerings. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dinner and service, I would highly ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great dinner and service, I would highly recommend Acre for any occasion

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant. My wife and I a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

What a great restaurant. My wife and I always bring our friends here when we are trying to show them

The best place to eat in Auburn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience as always. The staf ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent experience as always. The staff is attentive and polite. The seasonal menu offers inspired twists on Southern classics. We enjoyed the Lee County Vegetable Sampler. The grilled red snapper that was on special was divine. And a dessert of peanut butter pie with banana meringue was so decadently delicious that it seemed downright sinful. Acre brings rustic charm and class to Auburn. Always a hit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always. Our server, Chris, ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent as always. Our server, Chris, was very knowledgeable and personable. David Bancroft runs a first-class restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Acre came highly recommended . The ambia ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Acre came highly recommended . The ambiance was great. Cocktails were typical fare and good. The batter on the fried Oyster appetizer was very dark, hinting of burned oil. The remoulade sauce was tasty but somewhat skimpy as a topping.

The BBQ Salmon was fresh and seasoned well but was also a bit overcooked and dry.

My wife's Vegetable plate was to her liking. The Tomatoes were exceptional.

All in all this is a nice restaurant and provided a pleasurable dining experience for our special occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

One of the meals ordered was not as expe ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

One of the meals ordered was not as expected. Not very well received.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The shared vegetable platter was out of ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The shared vegetable platter was out of this world, the entrees were very good. The only area that fell flat was the dessert board. The torte was dry and the ice creams were overly salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Acre is a very inviting restaurant. Ver ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Acre is a very inviting restaurant. Very nice atmosphere with wonderful staff and the best chefs in the area. Great menu with nice specials. Always entertaining and nice to have the staff explain the preparations at the table.

Great desserts made from scratch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

amazing dining experience! The food, wi ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

amazing dining experience! The food, wine, and service were simply stellar. Looking for a reason to return to Auburn, just so i can enjoy Acre!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acre is one of the most consistently-exc ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Acre is one of the most consistently-excellent restaurants in our area. We can always count on having a memorable meal that cannot be had elsewhere. The service is first-rate, as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Knowing we can depend on good food and s ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Knowing we can depend on good food and service is a plus. Thank you acre for being there for us. We have used it for birthdays, Welcome home events, family gatherings, brunch for a bunch and each and every time, the service and food has been excellent. Great addition to Auburn/Opelika landscape. Quaint, relaxing atmosphere. A go-to for special , trusted occasions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food ..... However, the stench ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food ..... However, the stench of the trash cans in the parking lot was terrible. It followed you all the way into the restaurant ..... Not good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Great food and service, the music was to ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food and service, the music was too loud and the playlist was really at odds with everything. Bon Jovi and .38 Special do not pair well with fine wine and farm to table crudités. But an exceptional restaurant regardless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of my all time favorite places! Burg ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

One of my all time favorite places! Burger Night is the Best!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a perfect southern summer Sunday. ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was a perfect southern summer Sunday. In celebration of my moms birthday, I got out the convertible, dropped the top and whisked her off leaving Montgomery on a back roads adventure with Acre being the destination. I have dined here many times, she was a newbie. We arrived to smiles and greetings as warm as the summer sun and cooled off at the bar with a glass of Sancerre as we waited for our table to be readied. We were seated at the Chefs Bar and shortly greeted by our server, JACOB. Now there are plenty of reviews extolling the food here and Chef David. I don't discount them AT ALL! Although I want to particularly praise Jacob. He was calm, confident, knowledgeable and most importantly, to me, not overly anything; not too perky, not too effusive, not trying to sell anything too hard. The food is outstanding, it sells itself. HE sold the restaurant! Disclaimer: I am a chef. That being said, Jacob read us well and led us to dishes he felt, quite correctly, would satisfy us! Mama had the shrimp and grits, I had the chicken fried chicken. The Shrimp and Grits was outstanding: a grits cake with a piquant tomato sauce with perfectly cooked shrimp lining the cake. The flourless chocolate cake Jacob guided mama to was just as he said: Rich, not too sweet, decadent and completely satisfying! (By the way, order the Rosè with either/both of these dishes!

Again, the day/meal was outstanding but Jacob made it memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were excellent just as ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service were excellent just as advertised. Planned to go back in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place and good food. The A/C was o ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great place and good food. The A/C was on full blast, so bring warm stuff. Restaurant needs to control that some!! Only suggestion for food change is for the kitchen to add some more jams to the cheese board. One same jam just doesn't cut it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The valet parking was a surprise and unn ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The valet parking was a surprise and unnecessary, in my mind. Friendly greeting, attentive staff, good craft beer/ale selection, comfortable atmosphere and seating. A little confusion, when the main course came out, with who got what but quick recovery. Food was delcious; app sampler, filet and green beans, hamburger and fries. We skipped dessert but the French press coffee was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, delicious. My favorite resta ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

As always, delicious. My favorite restaurant. I always have trouble deciding what to get.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acre lived up to the high praise that we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Acre lived up to the high praise that we saw on Yelp. Bins Fide farm to table with a flair. Start to finish it was an incredible meal. We started with the guacamole and although the chips were different than my hometown of El Paso, they were no doubt healthier. The kitchen included a white cheese for flavor, which was also different than my hometown, but incredible. We then went to murderers row of heavy hitting main menu items. Of particular note was the burger. I know right, but I was in the mood and the lights were just right... :-) it wa incredible. My girlfriend had the salmon and was radiant with both the portion size and taste. Overall just a happy occasion.

Dessert was bread the chocolate gnosh with marshmallow. Creamy, decadent and split among four with enough for three healthy fork sizes per person.

Our server carefully guided us through his thoughts of the menu and his own personal favorites which was appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed Acre a number of times f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have enjoyed Acre a number of times for dinner so we were excited to try their Sunday brunch. Food was amazing! Service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time customers, daughter recommend ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time customers, daughter recommended Acre to my wife and I. We were very pleased with everything, food was top notch and so was the service. Thank you!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for over 2 hours, not beca ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were there for over 2 hours, not because we wanted to be, but because it took that long to get our food. When it arrived, it was good, not what I have come to expect from Acre, but still better than most restaurants in the area. The snapper with collard green spaetzle was very good, the flat iron with beans and chow chow was not. The desserts were fantastic, and probably the thing that kept this trip from being a compete dud. Our waiter would disappear for long stretches of time, probably because he had no updates as to where our food was. Still, it would have been nice to see him more frequently; he would have sold a few more drinks had he been a little more attentive.

I was told the place was declining in quality, but I refused to believe it. While our one poor experience does not cancel out the numerous great ones I have had here, it is somewhat troubling. I hope this was an anomaly and not the start of a trend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.