About Acre

210 East Glenn Ave.
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Acre is an upscale, southern restaurant in Auburn Alabama, located just two blocks from the historic Toomer"s Corner. Acre features fresh; local ingredients sourced from their own gardens, and offers their guests true southern hospitality. Chef/Owner David Bancroft offers guests a diverse culinary experience and comfortable atmosphere that highlights the Auburn community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
**CLOSED MONDAY LUNCH**

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3763

Website:
http://www.acreauburn.com/

Executive Chef:
David Bancroft

Private Party Facilities:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Christin Bancroft: (334) 750-4406x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acre offers three unique spaces to accommodate parties from 15 all the way up to 100 guests. Please contact Christin Bancroft for additional information.

Acre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (49)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Creative Cuisine (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Romantic (24)
Business Meals (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Authentic (22)
Organic (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Healthy (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Seasonal (17)
Cozy (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Fun (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Casual (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great Beer (6)
Family Style (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Fireplace (4)
Vegan (4)
Historic (4)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous food! Cool decor! Overall grea ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous food! Cool decor! Overall great experience! Did not disappoint!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Acre every time we go. Beautiful sp ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Love Acre every time we go. Beautiful space and really great food. You can go healthy or for a splurge and they're both delicious. Only complaint is the seating closest to the kitchen can get a bit cold where the ac blows on you so be sure to ask for a blanket. They are nice, warm and super soft. Looking forward to going again already!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was delicious. We hav ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 10, 2017

As always the food was delicious. We have dined at Acre several times but never on burger night. We decided it was time for one of those mouthwatering burgers I'd been seeing pictures of on Instagram! My husband and I both had a burger, perfectly paired with a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, along with the goat cheese guacamole. Everything was outstanding including our service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small innovative menu Waiter with an att ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Small innovative menu

Waiter with an attitude could have made a good evening.....great

Tags: Notable Wine List, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Acre popped up on one of my food blogs a ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Acre popped up on one of my food blogs as an outstanding "farm to table" restaurant. It did not disappoint! Menu was creative and unique. We were seated in a glass enclosed porch that was warm and cozy on a winter evening. Great experience!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good a little pricy bu ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was very good a little pricy but you pay for the setting. Service was good and the setting is nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good food and atmosphere. We have ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good food and atmosphere. We have been several times and the food doesn't disappoint! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

New Years Eva Food was Great. I have ne ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eva

Food was Great. I have never had a bad meal. We love coming here. This is a must if you are in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is truly exceptional. The chef and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food is truly exceptional. The chef and owner is an amazing young talent, and Auburn is lucky to have such a top flight location for dining. Everything he serves is stupendous. This is a "don't miss." Great from top to bottom, food, beer, and wine. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Took my parents for a special dinner and ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Took my parents for a special dinner and had a lovely experience. Acre is a wonderful addition to Auburn and we cannot wait to return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, excellent service (Hannah)! ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great meal, excellent service (Hannah)! I would recommend to anyone who would be in the area.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and drinks!! Service is awe ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing food and drinks!! Service is awesome!! No where around can compare.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Food was so-so. Both ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was great. Food was so-so. Both times I've eaten here I have wondered what all the hype was about. Food is good, but not spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Acre is the whole package! Auburn AL is ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Acre is the whole package! Auburn AL is very fortunate to have a restaurant like Acre. After living in New Orleans and eating at some of the best restaurants in the US, in my opinion, Acre is up there. Their menu changes with the seasons and you will always have the best quality meat and locally grown veggies. The staff is knowledgable and they are extremely accommodating to people with allergies. I would highly recommend Acre to everyone I know!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My expectations were high based on the r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My expectations were high based on the restaurant's reputation. We were seated in a booth, which was so much better than the loud and crowded open area. Service was very good. Charcuterie and cheese plate was great starter. Handcrafted cocktails were worth trying. Good wine list. Veggies served with entrees were great. Steak was very tender, cooked medium rare as requested, but I was disappointed by the lack of seasoning and taste. Same with the duck confit. Just a few desserts on the menu. We tried the bread pudding, which was just okay. But the ice cream with it was delicious. Overall, our experience was good enough that we will return. We will try another flavor of ice cream for dessert with their great coffee when we do.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Another great experience. Especially enj ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Another great experience. Especially enjoyed the beet salad and snapper entrée. Outstanding featured cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only problem my friend and I encount ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The only problem my friend and I encountered was that 0ur table was right next to an outside sliding door. It was very cold that day and we did get cold.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely awesome. Chris, our server m ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Absolutely awesome. Chris, our server made the evening a very special treat. It was our 38 wedding anniversary and everything from the appetizers to desert was fantastic. We both had the filet and there is a reason why Acre is rated as the best steak in Alabama.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening at Acre. Service was amaz ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great evening at Acre. Service was amazing! Megan did a great job and made everything perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in Auburn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Auburn, wonderful food and atmosphere. Service is always top notch! You MUST try the Solid Oak Sampler CHARCUTERIE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

By far our #1 choice when in Auburn! Wis ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

By far our #1 choice when in Auburn! Wish we lived closer... would be there every week!

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Romantic, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy evening even though a Thursday, ser ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Busy evening even though a Thursday, service was friendly and fairly attentive considering crowd. The tenderloin , salmon and grouper was excellent, the short rib less so, but tasty. The starters were good but expected hot fried green tomatoes. After looking at ingredients it was correctly served cold, but description of so would have been helpful. The steak tartare was very nice, the toast that came with it was crunchy and tasty, when asked for some more to finish the tartare the next batch of toast was better, hot, softer and more seasoned. Do not order the Aubie Palmer, it is addicting and you can't have just one. Very enjoyable evening, just expected a little quieter atmosphere but that will not keep me from coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Acre is our favorite place to dine, hand ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Acre is our favorite place to dine, hands down! David & Christin Bancroft are the best host/hostess... creative cuisine by David is like none other! This is a must go-to restaurant in the south!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only suggestion would be more parking ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My only suggestion would be more parking as it was a rainy day and we drove for some time before we were able to locate a space. Guess it's a good problem to have but the other members of our group were already inside and hungry. Regardless, we will be back - many other things to try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an enjoyable time, it is one of m ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Always an enjoyable time, it is one of my go to places for guests who come in.

Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and wine. This restaurant ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent food and wine. This restaurant can compete with anything in larger cities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My first time at Acre after hearing from ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My first time at Acre after hearing from MANY people that it is one of the best in Alabama. They are right. Great food, service, atmosphere. Overall 10 out of 10 for everything.

The food options are unique without being bizarre and the preparation was to perfection. Needs to be on your list if you haven't been there yet.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Organic, Casual, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was there for my daughter's 7th birthd ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was there for my daughter's 7th birthday. I asked the hostess when we got there if they did something for birthday's and she said yes. At the end of the meal the waitress just told her "happy birthday". Although very nice, I didn't think that was much of anything for a new 7 year old. I got the fried chicken with potatoes and green beans. The ends of the chicken breast were slightly burned. Everything else was great though. I made the reservation for 2pm, but the restaurant closed at 2 on Sunday. Probably shouldn't allow that late a reservation - I don't like going into places when they are getting ready to leave. It holds the servers and the kitchen up in their closing tasks and usually the food will suffer because of that. I will be back another time. Have been before and was very impressed.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wine selection. The Salt n Pepper ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great wine selection. The Salt n Pepper doughnuts are fantastic. The snapper prepared excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The lighting was a little dark, and I co ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The lighting was a little dark, and I could see neither my fiance nor my food. The appetizers were fantastic. The main entrees were good, and presentation was nice, but overall I think I should have had my expectations lower. The food was different but not anything spectacular. I had heard from several people that the food was phenomenal, but I guess perspectives are different depending on prior experiences at other locations. Our server was wonderful - very knowledgeable, very attentive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Frankly, we were greatly disappointed. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Frankly, we were greatly disappointed. My date had been there several times for lunch and liked it very much so she wanted me to experience it too. We chose to have dinner and whatever made it special for lunch was not present for dinner. Sitting down I was surprised to find the menu written on 8 x 10 typing paper residing under my dinner plate. Seemed very cheap and tacky. This restaurant appears to push its wines as not only do they have a separate wine book but the back of the paper menu also has a list of wines. I wish the back of the menu had contained some additional dinner choices instead. But there was a very limited menu with, I believe, 5 choices for dinner. None of which particularly appealed to me nor to my date. We did finally make our choices and I also picked an appetizer that seemed nice but turned out to only be so-so. For my main course I chose salmon piled on some potatoes with something sweet on top which was okay. My date chose some sort of meat dish and was happy that it was cooked medium rare as she wanted. It was okay too but, surprisingly, we got no bread with our dinner. Not a roll, not nothing. So we had to order a whole loaf of bread just to get a slice each. My date did like the honey-sweetened butter. Our waitress took good care of me but ignored my date. For instance, my glass was refilled twice while my date had me ask for her refill.

I have no desire to go to this restaurant again. The bill, with tip, was over $100 and to be honest my date and I enjoyed the two hamburgers we got from Jacks the night before much more. The lighting is very bright and the tables are much too close together to feel like you have any intimacy with your dinner date. I could have easily extended my right arm and placed my hand flat on the dinner plate of the person sitting to my right. That's how close you sit. I have no idea why some rave about the food here. It is acceptable and no more. Just not the restaurant for me.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

An excellent upscale dining experience f ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 3, 2016

An excellent upscale dining experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience eating dinner ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We had a great experience eating dinner at the bar. Excellent service and delicious food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and Charles, our ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food was excellent and Charles, our waiter, was very knowledgable about the menu items. My wife and I enjoyed the food and the service. The quality of service we experienced even extended to the parking valets.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my favorite restaurant ever, inc ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant ever, including ones in larger cities. I live six hours from here, but always come here at least once when I visit my college student. I love the fresh ingredients and unique offerings. That said, they make great classics as well. Salmon dip and pimento cheese are my favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At my wife's request, we chose Acre for ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 30, 2016

At my wife's request, we chose Acre for dinner to celebrate our 53rd wedding anniversary. The vegetarian option was outstanding and my wife said the salmon was delicious. I had flowers delivered to the restaurant and there were no glitches. I will do this again on subsequent occasions. The bar served an excellent Manhattan, up, which is becoming a favorite in town, and I was glad to see that they knew what they were doing. We have followed Chef Bancroft for many years since he started in Auburn and are always delighted with his unique and delicious offerings.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful, but we expected no less!!!!!! ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful, but we expected no less!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!😊

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with a great atmosphere. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Delicious food with a great atmosphere. You can tell the chef and staff have a real passion for the artistry he creates. Mixed drinks are super yummy too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful meal and exceptional s ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Another wonderful meal and exceptional service. Never disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and an awesome charcuterie ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great service and an awesome charcuterie platter all smoked and made in house. Memorable birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.