About Acme Food & Beverage Co.

110 E Main St
Carrboro, NC 27510
View Larger Map

The ovens are turned on early. Six o'clock most days. Earlier on Sunday. Within an hour, bread is rising, apples are being sliced. Pecan pies are pulled hot from the oven and left to cool. Ice cream churns in the machine. Cups of coffee steam on the prep table, the baker's cup marked with chocolaty fingerprints. By midmorning, pork shoulder, rubbed with spices the day before, is slowly smoked. And white buckets are filled with sliced onions. Corn is shucked. The stock that cooked all night is taken off the stove and strained. Bags of fresh shrimp are delivered in old grocery store bags. The waiters arrive in groups, shirts and ties on hangers. By then, every burner in the kitchen is being used. Herbs are chopped. Scallops cleaned. Ovens at 500 degrees. All sauces are checked. Bartenders polish their shakers. Silverware is rolled and every surface is wiped down. Music. Lights. Doors are opened. Dinnertime. At Acme. Seven nights a week. Local never tasted so damn good.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-2263

Website:
http://www.acmecarrboro.com/

Catering:
Acme offers personalized catered events from 40 to 400. The catering staff has extensive experience in taking care of all aspects of the event. All alcohol permits. Specializing in southern food and hospitality.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant off of Roberson Street. There is an entrance to the restaurant from the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Callaghan

Private Party Facilities:
Acme has a semi-private room that seats 20 people that is perfect for business meetings and private parties. On a limited basis, Acme can be rented for the entire evening for wedding parties and other special events.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Murtaugh: 8777919642

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Crabcakes
Steak Frites
Soft Shell Crab Eggs Benedict
Texas Border Breakfast
Deluxe Benedict
Orange County Special
Crab Florentine Omelette
Shrimp And Clam Stew
Key Lime Pie
Fried Green Tomatoes with fresh mozzarella, tomato confit, sweet corn, balsamic reduction
Crispy Fried Calamari Salad with Asian style slaw, spicy lemongrass vinaigrette
Ricotta And Black Pepper Cheesecake
Eggs Bennedict With Fried Green Tomatoes
Blackened Wild Salmon Green Tomato Salsa, Cheese Grits, Sautéed Black Beans, Mirleton Squash
Short Rib With Pesto And Squash Casserole
Chile Relleno
Fried Oyster Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Acme Food & Beverage Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
1 More
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Carrboro ›

Fit for Foodies (98)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Special Occasion (60)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Great for Brunch (42)
Local Ingredients (23)
Romantic (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Casual (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (7)
Fun (7)
Great Beer (6)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall excellent experience. Food was o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall excellent experience. Food was outstanding!!!!!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Acme's email (sign up for it) provides i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Acme's email (sign up for it) provides insight into the chef's thinking, advance notice of special dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but wasn't too fond of the se ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food but wasn't too fond of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Order the pomme frittes medium rare. Ste ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Order the pomme frittes medium rare. Steak was very dry with little taste. And the waiter seemed like he was doing us a favor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Love Acme. Always a great staple to take ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love Acme. Always a great staple to take out-of-town guests to for dinner. Great atmosphere, outdoor seating area is very nice. Food is always delicious and a good example of upscale southern food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We have eaten at Acme over the years, bu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We have eaten at Acme over the years, but Thursday evening was the last time we will be there. We were inside until we realized with a large group, the noise level would be beyond our chance to "visit"...so we were taken outside (which we requested). We took the far table which we thought would be great for us - and would have been except for the "huge" mosquitos waiting for their dinner. I asked for bug spray, which was brought to me immediately...thank you...otherwise we would have left (I am highly allergic). The "fan' that is up in the patio area only hits the immediate tables and there is not another fan servicing the "far" area.

Last, by not least, I requested a Grey Goose up with olives. The "taste" is similar in many vodkas. Over the years of working with vodkas, I realized GG is the ONLY vodka that does NOT give me a horrific headache later (brewed by wheat). I woke up about 12midnight with a horrific headache - for over 3 hours! My only thought was I was provided my drink with something OTHER THAN GG. This has happened before in other restaurants, but is very disturbing. We put our faith in the server/bartender that we get what we order, not some cheap version to charge the client with high end liquor, but provide them with cheaper versions.

The mosquitos I could forgive...because of the bug spray...the GG, I cannot forgive because I have lived with this and know the difference. Whoever poured the vodka into my glass, obviously for whatever reason did NOT pour Grey Goose.

We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Our server Shannon Kelly was wonderful! ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our server Shannon Kelly was wonderful! She had great knowledge of the menu and specials and was very attentive and friendly. Best place to brunch in the carrborro/chapel hill area!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brunch!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

If this had been my first experience at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

If this had been my first experience at Acme, I'd never go back. I ordered the Acme Benedict - the English muffins were hard as hockey pucks and saturated with oil. Totally inedible. The friend green tomatoes were tasteless and also pretty greasy. The good news for Acme is that I've eaten there many times and usually the food is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We really enjoyed our dinner at Acme. G ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Acme. Got a great taste of southern cooking with really fresh ingredients, good service, and a little flair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Pick a nice evening and sit outside. Go ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Pick a nice evening and sit outside. Good food and presentation, service was spot on.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Acme is a casual place with excellent lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Acme is a casual place with excellent local food with some modern twists on classics.

It's a fun place to go with a group - there are some shared appetizers made from farm fresh ingredients that are good to share. They vary with the season but the fried okra with roasted peppers was excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great as always, but the servic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was great as always, but the service (table and kitchen) for a small group of 6 was less than stellar. I will likely be back for the cornbread, but sorry to say I will not recommend it for other groups.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We love Acme! Great food and awesome st ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love Acme! Great food and awesome staff! Every time we go we always leave so happy and impressed with food and staff.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great dinner and to-die-for chocolate pe ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great dinner and to-die-for chocolate pecan pie for dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ACME is my favorite restaurant hands dow ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

ACME is my favorite restaurant hands down in Chapel Hill/Carrboro. Creative and delicious dishes and old standbys like southern fried chicken and mash potatoes. The chili relleno appetizer is one of my favorites, as well as the iron skillet cornbread. I don't know how they do it but I have never been disappointed, and I have dined there 30-35 times over the last three years. Nice wine selection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service has really gone down at this res ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Service has really gone down at this restaurant, which is disappointing as its been a longtime favorite. Server's approach and knowledge of the menu was very lackadaisical. Good quality was ho hum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Our water (from Poland) was outstanding ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our water (from Poland) was outstanding ...sorry cannot remember his name

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was outstanding. Definitely wil ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our meal was outstanding. Definitely will go again.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Acme is always a treat, but fortunately ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Acme is always a treat, but fortunately doesn't have to be only a special occasions restaurant. Get on the mailing list for fun reading and to anticipate for days before you come what you're going to have. Servers are very good. Get an outside table and enjoy the fabulous setting- exotic, beautiful plantings and fountain. Why travel when you can be transported to the best food and environment anyway, and only 15 minutes from home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the advertises "Calabash din ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We went for the advertises "Calabash dinner" special. There was an appetizer, describied by the waitress as a creany dip with scallops. It was basically warm cream cheese with tiny bits of scallops, not good. The fried green tomatoes were very good. The "Calabash special" was ok fried food. The flounder fillet was about 3 oz of fish. The shrimp and oysters were ok, nothing special on that dinner special.

The peach cobbler dessert had thin slices of peach and an undercooked crust, all with not much flavor.

This was the second time we ate at Acme, since moving to this area a year ago. I don't know how they keep getting great reviews. I call it mediocore North Carolina food, with New York prices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We loved the Calabash specials

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We loved the Calabash specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went to try the Calabash Platter, a spec ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Went to try the Calabash Platter, a special that night. Added to that the deviled crab appetizer and another that was a "bubbling caldron" of scallops, jalapenos, and other things I have forgotten. The crab was a decidedly small serving and presented with crackers --- a disconnect for all of us in any deviled crab we had previously encountered. That was just meh ... but the "bubbling caldron" was decadently good. Smooth, flavorful and with a small kick at the end. A delight.

To top it off we had the cornbread special - which is NEVER to be missed. This one jalapeno with tomato butter. It did not disappoint.

The Calabash platter was quite good - flounder, shrimp, oysters, and slaw. It was supposed to also have hush puppies and had we not already pigged out on the cornbread, we'd have asked for some. They looked good on the next table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I went to Acme for a birthday dinner wit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I went to Acme for a birthday dinner with my parents and ordered a glass of rose wine from the menu (2 choices by glass.) The wine was sour, likely bad, so I asked the waiter if he could bring me something else. His response was, "Oh, you don't like it?" "No, it is very sour. It might have gone bad, I think." "Have you tried this rose before?" "No, not this specific one, but I drink rose a lot." Awkward silence. "Ok, we will try it and let you know if it is bad." Silence. "Ok...either way, I would like to try the other rose on the menu." "Ok, I will bring you a taste." Brings taste and it is delightful...

I have NEVER had a waiter act this way before - we all thought he was very rude. I rarely send anything back, but when I do, it's always, "Of course. I am so sorry. What can I get you?" Not, "You don't know what you are talking about!" And to top it ALL off, he charged us for the glass of wine at the end of the night!!!!! My dad paid and didn't even look at the bill, but if any of us had noticed that when paying, a manager would certainly have been called. What a jerk!!! And on my birthday... ACME certainly left a sour taste in my mouth:|

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

A wonderful spot in Carrboro, especially ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

A wonderful spot in Carrboro, especially on Tuesday's when all entrees are $13.95. We started with chicken liver pate with peaches. Served with toasted french bread, it was very tasty. I had the crab cakes which were delicious. My wife had a chicken dish and asked for an alternative to the mashed potatoes which they graciously substituted a house salad. The chicken was served over the salad and it came with a side of butter beans. She really enjoyed it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we invited a couple from Chapel Hill and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

we invited a couple from Chapel Hill and were surprised that they had never been to Acme. They raved about the menu selections and loved their entrees. They will definitely be back. We have been to Acme many times over the years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was terrific, we had the specia ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was terrific, we had the special tomato appetizer with pesto, taste bud delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

On a Sunday late afternoon, returning fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

On a Sunday late afternoon, returning from taking my son to school in Virginia, I decided to stop in Chapel Hill for a good meal before returning to Eastern North Carolina. Acme came to mind as I had been there several times with wonderful experiences. I had a delightful meal and beverage and was able to be home at a reasonable hour.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Healthy, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was celebrating my anniversary. The am ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I was celebrating my anniversary. The ambiance was very nice. The service was excellent and the food was very good. They use local organic ingredients. I highly recommend Acme.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my wife to ACME for her birthday. W ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Took my wife to ACME for her birthday. We have eaten there before and enjoyed it. We did so again, though our table was a couch-bench-table-chair set up between two other larger groups. This arrangement made it difficult to talk and allowed us to unavoidable hear every detail of our neighboring table's conversations. The food was good, though my wife was disappointed the crab cakes had ground crab meat vice more favorable chunks. The service was spot on and we did not lack for drink refills. All in all a very nice dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Acme and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first visit to Acme and we were very pleased. Great service and great food. We sat by the outdoor fountain which was very nice (our waiter happened to be the designer/maker of the fountain). While the evening was expensive, we didn't feel taken advantage of. I am a pretty tough critic of restaurants and their food because I'm a passionate cook myself and feel confident in the kitchen. Consequently, my/our high rating of this experience is an indication of our high compliments and satisfaction. Great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten at Acme many times; it's one ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We've eaten at Acme many times; it's one of our favorites. And, if anything, the food's even better. Always full (reservation's a must) and a little tight, it's a combination of Carborro informal with fine dining. The wine list is acceptable, and the service continues to be very good. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, ACME didn't disappoint when i ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

As always, ACME didn't disappoint when it came to our delicious food. All of us in our party of six were delighted with our appetizers, entrees, and dessert. We, however, were very disappointed that the restaurant doesn't offer a complimentary birthday dessert. Our party of six generated a tab well in excess of $300.00 excluding a tip, we had a reservation made weeks before noting a special 70th birthday celebration, so we thought it very unusual that a restaurant of this calibre doesn't make special occasions "SPECIAL".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great brunch, everything was delicious, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great brunch, everything was delicious, excellent range of choices for savory, sweet, traditional or nontraditional. We were all very happy

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was hilarious and did a great ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter was hilarious and did a great job of keeping our table happy and well fed. The donuts are something you can pass on, but try the cinnamon roll (it does have nuts).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best meal I've had years...been raving ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best meal I've had years...been raving about it. So glad my friend recommended it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited wine list and too expensive for ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Limited wine list and too expensive for the selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fresh seasonal foods made for some delic ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fresh seasonal foods made for some delicious dining. Don't miss the cornbread!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful. Difficult to talk to people a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful. Difficult to talk to people at out table due to noise level. Will return at less crowded time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I love Acme! Great farm to table food, w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love Acme! Great farm to table food, wonderful service, and very reasonably priced. I usually eat outside in their lovely outdoor garden space with the fountain, and i highly recommend that because it can be very noisy inside.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.