About Acme Food & Beverage Co.

110 E Main St
Carrboro, NC 27510
View Larger Map

The ovens are turned on early. Six o'clock most days. Earlier on Sunday. Within an hour, bread is rising, apples are being sliced. Pecan pies are pulled hot from the oven and left to cool. Ice cream churns in the machine. Cups of coffee steam on the prep table, the baker's cup marked with chocolaty fingerprints. By midmorning, pork shoulder, rubbed with spices the day before, is slowly smoked. And white buckets are filled with sliced onions. Corn is shucked. The stock that cooked all night is taken off the stove and strained. Bags of fresh shrimp are delivered in old grocery store bags. The waiters arrive in groups, shirts and ties on hangers. By then, every burner in the kitchen is being used. Herbs are chopped. Scallops cleaned. Ovens at 500 degrees. All sauces are checked. Bartenders polish their shakers. Silverware is rolled and every surface is wiped down. Music. Lights. Doors are opened. Dinnertime. At Acme. Seven nights a week. Local never tasted so damn good.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-2263

Website:
http://www.acmecarrboro.com/

Catering:
Acme offers personalized catered events from 40 to 400. The catering staff has extensive experience in taking care of all aspects of the event. All alcohol permits. Specializing in southern food and hospitality.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant off of Roberson Street. There is an entrance to the restaurant from the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Callaghan

Private Party Facilities:
Acme has a semi-private room that seats 20 people that is perfect for business meetings and private parties. On a limited basis, Acme can be rented for the entire evening for wedding parties and other special events.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Murtaugh: 8777919642

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Acme Food & Beverage Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Outdoor Dining
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
6 More
Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Chapel Hill
Best Food
Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Carrboro ›

fit for foodies (117)
neighborhood gem (99)
special occasion (64)
See All
great for outdoor dining (63)
great for brunch (51)
good for groups (33)
romantic (33)
hot spot (29)
notable wine list (18)
great for lunch (10)
kid-friendly (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food, interesting specials and ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, interesting specials and awesome ambiance. A great night for a special occasion.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice restaurant but food is spotty. Some ...

Dined 5 days ago

Nice restaurant but food is spotty. Some dishes great while others not so much. Nice atmosphere and ambience and generally good service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined 6 days ago

Wanted a local spot to meet daughter's prospective in-laws. Acme did it just right. My husband is a foodie and the rabbit pot pie was divine. The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. Thanks for a fun evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful staff, great food, and calm at ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful staff, great food, and calm atmosphere...what's not to like about this place?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent spot for graduation celebratory dinner!

Dined on May 14, 2016

My family and I went to ACME the night before my grad school graduation to celebrate. It was the perfect spot. Everyone loved their main entree and we were able to share a few appetizers. Definitely try the cornbread! The drinks were great too and we tried the chocolate pecan pie for dessert, which was unreal. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Time

Dined on May 13, 2016

The meal for our friends' thirty-second anniversary was excellent. The deviled eggs were the best i have had in a restaurant. We were all pleased with our entrees (my steak was chewy, I suspect due to locally sourced). There was a party near us, but the sound level was dulled by the walls and the side walls. Outdoor eating looked wonderful--next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing GEM

Dined on May 10, 2016

I love this place, the Tuesday deal is so amazing and the food is ALWAYS delicious

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good, for Heavy Southern-Style Food

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was good for what it was - heavy, southern-style dishes. I had salmon (excellent) which was served with cheese grits but no green vegetables. In retrospect, we could have ordered vegetable dishes separately, but then we would have had twice as much food as we needed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Acme

Dined on April 24, 2016

I go for brunch with my mom on Sundays. She's older and slower and they are incredibly considerate. they are not too fast with the food but you are not wondering where it is. the food is delicious. Service is not overbearing but they are never too far away. Noise level can get a bit high when it's full but the tables are not too close together and you don't feel on top of one another. I enjoy it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable evening

Dined on April 20, 2016

Our daughter was visiting and requested that we make a reservation at Acme, her favorite restaurant in our area. I usually order the blackened salmon but this time I ordered the steak frites. It was grilled to my liking and the portion was generous especially since it was a Tuesday night when prices are reduced. My husband ordered the salmon which is always wonderful. My daughter ordered the pork which I tasted and thought that it was a little dry. Our side of cheese grits was delicious. Overall it remains one of our favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved meeting friends here always.

Dined on April 19, 2016

Wine list a little pricy for the quality. Service excellent. Love the style and location. Happy place for friends to meet.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Food OK Service

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Acme is always a great experience. The menu is great and the quality of food is superb. The chef has created a great combination of traditional and modern souther cuisine. The only knock is the service...it can be great or pretty frustrating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

creative

Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch was wonderful - french toast was delicious. Relaxing atmosphere and yet a lively spot for a Sunday morning. We will do it again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great place for brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Slight twist on established favorites makes for interesting dining experience. Great burger!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!

Dined on April 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Acme for our prom night and it was amazing. The food, service, and overall experience was wonderful. I cannot wait to go back. It was the perfect start to a special night. I highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistent Jewel

Dined on April 16, 2016

A consistent jewel in the area. Food quality is always among the top restaurants in the Raleigh, Durham and Chapel Hill area. Selection is always interesting and varied so as not to get stale. Service is impeccable, down to earth and staff always on top of things.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, But Poor Wine by The Glass Selections!

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food is flavorful and delicious, the service is good, but the wine list is inferior.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Acme is an overall Top Restaurant. Coming from NYC, i was pleasantly surprised by how vibrant the food scene is in Carborro. Acme had a variety of dishes that would appeal to anyone. Flavorful, beautiful and over all amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Terrific food.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was terrific. Seafood muddle had great flavor, and the barbecue was better than restaurants devoted to barbecue. Beer selection is good; particularly happy that they have Mystery beer dark ale on tap. All the staff were wonderful, great service, accommodated our needs to cater to two older women in our part.y

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Tuesday's a deal, at least in price

Dined on April 5, 2016

Previously unknown to us, Acme's Tuesday special prices all regular entrees at $13.95. Thus it was jammed to the walls when we arrived (with a reservation) for an early dinner. Service was excellent as ever, but Acme's always tight quarters felt positively claustrophobic with every seat occupied.(Side note: Wow, there are some big people in America.) As you'd expect, clamor was even more of an issue than usual. And it seemed to me that the food was perhaps not quite as excellent as usual with the kitchen laboring under the load. So, save a few bucks, lose a little in ambiance and excellence. If that trade-off works for you, Acme's Tuesday offer is a bargain. Knowing what's up, we might choose to return on a Tuesday. But that's a wait-and-see.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall great experience food was outsta ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Overall great experience food was outstanding. I had the blackened salmon and my wife had the sea bass both were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to enjoy good food and speci ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great place to enjoy good food and special company.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, nice and delicious food

Dined on March 28, 2016

This was a lovely restaurant and the food was brilliant. I enjoyed the outdoor seating area. The Rosemary Street cocktail is the best gin drink I've ever had. Gluten free friendly, and simply delicious. Quick and friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Prefer dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

On holidays, would it be possible to get lunch and dinner at lunch time Sunday rather than just breakfast offerings? Thanks for considering.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Just discoverd Acme

Dined on March 27, 2016

Just discoverd Acme- superb dining experience. Eclectic atmosphere. Outdoor dining will be fun in nice weather. Excellent wine list. Great local cuisine

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Easy reservation online. ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great service. Easy reservation online. EXCELLENT food all across the menu from apps to entree to desserts! Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Acme great upscale southern food

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food, little loud but laid back so nice for families and kids. Wide variety on menu, service is attentive but not overbearing. food is great great and i always eat too much--a good sign i guess!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed evening

Dined on March 19, 2016

ACME is a great stop to reconnect with friends over dinner. The food is always wonderful. The staff is great and the surroundings are comfortable and suitable for talking. It is a favorite spot to enjoy friends and good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hit it again with holiday specials!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Acne had their St. Patrick's day menu specials again. I had corned beef and cabbage; nicely cooked with a whole grain mustard spread. They are consistently superb, with great service and food for the more than a dozen times we've been. Can't go wrong!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A lovely find

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

We really enjoyed finding this locavore restaurant. Thank you, Open Table. Excellent food, interesting and complex flavors, varied offerings, and very fine service. We will be back. I particularly loved the variety of flavors with the red snapper special, savory with a bit of spice, and a perfectly done fish.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Didn't disappoint

Dined on March 15, 2016

We've come to expect excellent food at Acme and we were not disappointed. We had a large group which didn't seem to bother the waiter. She handled us with patience and efficiency. One person sent her hamburger back because it wasn't well done as ordered but, otherwise, everyone seemed pleased with their choices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS a great meal....

Dined on March 14, 2016

Whether you come for dinner or their OUTSTANDING brunch, ACME ALWAYS delivers!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find

Dined on March 14, 2016

We were delighted with the outdoor dining, excellent service, and good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our First Dinner at Acme

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

We just moved to the area and noticed that Acme was mention in several of the local guides. So, we decided to give it a try while our daughter was home for Spring Break. We loved the atmosphere of low light, people having a good time and funky art on the walls. The service was friendly and attentive. Great beer selection and the cocktail I ordered was delicious. I had the red snapper special which was yummy. We all liked what we ordered. Order the corn bread! We will definitely be back for another meal at Acme.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious menu. Limited brunch menu.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Everything we tried was delicious. Fried chicken is always wonderful. Breakfast items very good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Delicious brunch

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food was delicious but the host was rude both to our table and another table of friends that were there. Unfortunately, that dimmed our experience a bit. We would try it again, though. Thanks!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, server a little pushy

Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was good as usual; love the cornbread baked/served in skillet. A bit overdone/black on the bottom, but still tasty. Server was not attentive to our pace; was rushing the process even though restaurant was not busy

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Interesting

Dined on February 24, 2016

I picked this place to eat because we were heading to a performance at Carolina Performing Arts Memorial Hall. When you first walk in it was kinda dark and we didn't know what to think of it. We were seated shortly after arrived. The tables are small in my opinion. Our waiter was very friendly and gave us suggestions which I took. I had the pecan crusted fried chicken, it was really good, my mother had the Salmon, she said it was little salty. The cheese grits are yummy , they are so creamy you wouldn't think they were grits...haha. Overall is was nice but i'm not sure if it gave me a lasting impression to want to come back. But it is a great little place to at least try.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4

Great service, food novel & outstanding.

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Great service, food novel & outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme is in my opinion the best place for ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

Acme is in my opinion the best place for food quality in the chapel hill/carrboro area. The atmosphere is comfortable which is rare in my experiences with exceptional food quality. Our server was attentive and friendly and we plan to return soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.