About Acme Food & Beverage Co.

110 E Main St
Carrboro, NC 27510
View Larger Map

The ovens are turned on early. Six o'clock most days. Earlier on Sunday. Within an hour, bread is rising, apples are being sliced. Pecan pies are pulled hot from the oven and left to cool. Ice cream churns in the machine. Cups of coffee steam on the prep table, the baker's cup marked with chocolaty fingerprints. By midmorning, pork shoulder, rubbed with spices the day before, is slowly smoked. And white buckets are filled with sliced onions. Corn is shucked. The stock that cooked all night is taken off the stove and strained. Bags of fresh shrimp are delivered in old grocery store bags. The waiters arrive in groups, shirts and ties on hangers. By then, every burner in the kitchen is being used. Herbs are chopped. Scallops cleaned. Ovens at 500 degrees. All sauces are checked. Bartenders polish their shakers. Silverware is rolled and every surface is wiped down. Music. Lights. Doors are opened. Dinnertime. At Acme. Seven nights a week. Local never tasted so damn good.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-2263

Website:
http://www.acmecarrboro.com/

Catering:
Acme offers personalized catered events from 40 to 400. The catering staff has extensive experience in taking care of all aspects of the event. All alcohol permits. Specializing in southern food and hospitality.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant off of Roberson Street. There is an entrance to the restaurant from the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Callaghan

Private Party Facilities:
Acme has a semi-private room that seats 20 people that is perfect for business meetings and private parties. On a limited basis, Acme can be rented for the entire evening for wedding parties and other special events.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Murtaugh: 8777919642

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Crabcakes
Steak Frites
Soft Shell Crab Eggs Benedict
Texas Border Breakfast
Orange County Special
Deluxe Benedict
Crab Florentine Omelette
Key Lime Pie
Shrimp And Clam Stew
Ricotta And Black Pepper Cheesecake
Fried Green Tomatoes with fresh mozzarella, tomato confit, sweet corn, balsamic reduction
Crispy Fried Calamari Salad with Asian style slaw, spicy lemongrass vinaigrette
Eggs Bennedict With Fried Green Tomatoes
Blackened Wild Salmon Green Tomato Salsa, Cheese Grits, Sautéed Black Beans, Mirleton Squash
Short Rib With Pesto And Squash Casserole
Chile Relleno
Fried Oyster Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Acme Food & Beverage Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Chapel Hill
4 More
Best Food
Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Carrboro ›

fit for foodies (101)
neighborhood gem (93)
great for outdoor dining (66)
See All
special occasion (64)
great for brunch (43)
good for groups (30)
romantic (24)
hot spot (20)
great for lunch (14)
notable wine list (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waiter could have been better. At th ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter could have been better. At this price point the server should have the specials memorized and at least pretend he wants to wait on you. I appreciated that the hostess seated us with out infant son at a table with an extra seat on a bench so his carrier was beside me. Both our entrees were exceptional. I had blackened salmon and my husband had mahi mahi. He said it was the best mahi he has ever eaten. With that said, the mahi came with brussel sprouts which he dislikes but this restaurant "does not offer substitutions". Instead we had to pay an $8 up charge to switch to rice. Now I could maybe understand if the chef is saying his food is art and he won't wreck it by changing out ingredients so you have to order your desired side separately. But they actually did remove the brussel sprouts and serve the dish with the $8 side of rice. I found this both pretentious and a bit money-grubbing. In the future we will review the menu and if we don't like everything in the available dishes we will go elsewhere. Not that $8 is a lot of money, but it's the principle. The wine by the glass menu is limited and very pricey. They could stand to spruce that up. All in all, the quality of the food was so good that it pulled my star rating to a 4. We will try it again.

food4
ambience2
service1
value3

It had been a long time since we had bee ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

It had been a long time since we had been and we recalled why afterwards. The food was very good, but the service terrible. We had one server take the order, another bring the food and a third bring the drink, after the meal was finished! There was no coordination, and no apparent communication between the servers. No one ever checked in after the meal was delivered, and the waitress seemed insulted when I said something to her. The food is good, but not good enough to justify the poor service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome experience! we had a great time ...

Dined 5 days ago

Awesome experience! we had a great time and dinner

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal and generous portions. Lo ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Delicious meal and generous portions. Love the patio.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great ambience and enjoyable food for th ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Great ambience and enjoyable food for those who like Southern food with little twists. Options are not great for kids. They can certainly choose a number of sides that they would enjoy (Mac and Cheese, fries), but prices are the same and no great plain vegetable sides.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. Always feel ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Always feel taken care of.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Treated to wonderful Father's Day Brunch ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Treated to wonderful Father's Day Brunch by family. Acme is best brunch in Chapel Hill to me. Looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We sat outside which is a lovely garden. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We sat outside which is a lovely garden. Noise not an issue. In the past sat inside which we think is too dark and too noisy and too crowded. Good food and friendly atmosphere and knowledgeable servers in and out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

Not quite what it used to be. Locally-s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Not quite what it used to be. Locally-sourced ingredients doesn't mean a price-point is automatically justified. There was a desire by the kitchen to be creative but it's just didn't translate to the table. Good - not great as expected. We were well taken care of by the staff - service was very good! Will hope for a bit better next time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visit but not the last. Great ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

First time visit but not the last. Great food not found anywhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The combination of very mediocre food an ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The combination of very mediocre food and high prices edged our experience toward the territory of terrible. On the way in, one couple said they liked the food at Acme, but what we were served was nothing special at all. Maybe if you don't cook at home or eat mainly frozen foods, then their dishes could be considered good, but I expected much more than what they delivered. (I'm not a trained chef.) We ordered 5 dishes, including the cornbread (which everyone says is great) and nothing impressed. Prices were quite high for what we got. I've personally cooked each of the things on my plate (sautéed fish, brussels sprouts and mashed sweet potatoes) at home. When I go out, I'm looking for a whole lot more than they delivered. They have gotten creative with what they name some of their dishes, but the execution doesn't match the descriptions. Cauliflower Terrine is an interesting name but was a bland uninspired dish. No reason to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dining experience. We all love ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. We all loved our dinners. Great favors, fresh food and wonderful taste.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

enjoyed our first time at acme! a bit no ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

enjoyed our first time at acme! a bit noisy and crowded. other than that was good experience I got all sides. my husband loved his pork dish! will return :) parking was a little difficult

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Never again will I spend money here.

Dined on June 3, 2016

I have eaten here 3 times and will not be returning. The food is over priced and they don't deliver on quality. My last visit was the worst! Two of us ordered the exact same dish and they looked completely different. We ordered the salmon and my portion size was half the size of my friends. I ask for it well done and it wasn't. It was swimming in cheese grits and black beans instead of those items as a side dish. Over salted and over cooked steak frites that were uneatable and tasted microwaved. Our waitress Melissa was horrible in EVERY way. She "ran" away from the table each time we tried to ask her for anything and didn't give us a chance to complete our request. She was rude and very grumpy. I would fire her if I was the owner and saw her performance.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never a disappointment

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

We have been going to ACME for a number of years. The Sunday brunch is always GREAT even if you get there before bar time. Tuesday bargain entrees never disappoint and the cold green tomato soup the other night was so GOOD as was the fish. ACME is really a neighborhood gem!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

steak and chicken

Dined on May 31, 2016

had the steak frites - technically, only two ingredients: steak and frites. But it was miraculous, really changed my experience of eating food (is that going too far?) And then, the dessert - we'll be talking about that flavor and experience for months to come. Service was great, very welcoming and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed Again

Dined on May 29, 2016

The last two times we've been to Acme we've been disappointed. On both visits, they said they ran out of certain items on the menu - which is fine, that happens - however when others sit down next to you and were able to order the things that were supposedly not available, it really makes you wonder. Perhaps it's because they seem understaffed. The service was slow and the servers seemed rushed. It didn't make for a very good dining experience. I might be able to overlook some of the above shortcomings but even the food quality has dropped off from prior visits. Acme is a decent restaurant but for the money, service, and food quality, it won't be at the top of my list.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good and the food was amazin ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was good and the food was amazing

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food, bring your $$$

Dined on May 29, 2016

Overall, the food and service were great. I would only recommend for a special occasion though as it was quite pricey! Unless of course you are wealthy😉. For Carrboro though, it was high priced.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food, interesting specials and ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Delicious food, interesting specials and awesome ambiance. A great night for a special occasion.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice restaurant but food is spotty. Some ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice restaurant but food is spotty. Some dishes great while others not so much. Nice atmosphere and ambience and generally good service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wanted a local spot to meet daughter's prospective in-laws. Acme did it just right. My husband is a foodie and the rabbit pot pie was divine. The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. Thanks for a fun evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful staff, great food, and calm at ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful staff, great food, and calm atmosphere...what's not to like about this place?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent spot for graduation celebratory dinner!

Dined on May 14, 2016

My family and I went to ACME the night before my grad school graduation to celebrate. It was the perfect spot. Everyone loved their main entree and we were able to share a few appetizers. Definitely try the cornbread! The drinks were great too and we tried the chocolate pecan pie for dessert, which was unreal. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Time

Dined on May 13, 2016

The meal for our friends' thirty-second anniversary was excellent. The deviled eggs were the best i have had in a restaurant. We were all pleased with our entrees (my steak was chewy, I suspect due to locally sourced). There was a party near us, but the sound level was dulled by the walls and the side walls. Outdoor eating looked wonderful--next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing GEM

Dined on May 10, 2016

I love this place, the Tuesday deal is so amazing and the food is ALWAYS delicious

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good, for Heavy Southern-Style Food

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was good for what it was - heavy, southern-style dishes. I had salmon (excellent) which was served with cheese grits but no green vegetables. In retrospect, we could have ordered vegetable dishes separately, but then we would have had twice as much food as we needed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Acme

Dined on April 24, 2016

I go for brunch with my mom on Sundays. She's older and slower and they are incredibly considerate. they are not too fast with the food but you are not wondering where it is. the food is delicious. Service is not overbearing but they are never too far away. Noise level can get a bit high when it's full but the tables are not too close together and you don't feel on top of one another. I enjoy it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable evening

Dined on April 20, 2016

Our daughter was visiting and requested that we make a reservation at Acme, her favorite restaurant in our area. I usually order the blackened salmon but this time I ordered the steak frites. It was grilled to my liking and the portion was generous especially since it was a Tuesday night when prices are reduced. My husband ordered the salmon which is always wonderful. My daughter ordered the pork which I tasted and thought that it was a little dry. Our side of cheese grits was delicious. Overall it remains one of our favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved meeting friends here always.

Dined on April 19, 2016

Wine list a little pricy for the quality. Service excellent. Love the style and location. Happy place for friends to meet.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Food OK Service

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Acme is always a great experience. The menu is great and the quality of food is superb. The chef has created a great combination of traditional and modern souther cuisine. The only knock is the service...it can be great or pretty frustrating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

creative

Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch was wonderful - french toast was delicious. Relaxing atmosphere and yet a lively spot for a Sunday morning. We will do it again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great place for brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Slight twist on established favorites makes for interesting dining experience. Great burger!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!

Dined on April 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Acme for our prom night and it was amazing. The food, service, and overall experience was wonderful. I cannot wait to go back. It was the perfect start to a special night. I highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistent Jewel

Dined on April 16, 2016

A consistent jewel in the area. Food quality is always among the top restaurants in the Raleigh, Durham and Chapel Hill area. Selection is always interesting and varied so as not to get stale. Service is impeccable, down to earth and staff always on top of things.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, But Poor Wine by The Glass Selections!

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food is flavorful and delicious, the service is good, but the wine list is inferior.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Acme is an overall Top Restaurant. Coming from NYC, i was pleasantly surprised by how vibrant the food scene is in Carborro. Acme had a variety of dishes that would appeal to anyone. Flavorful, beautiful and over all amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Terrific food.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was terrific. Seafood muddle had great flavor, and the barbecue was better than restaurants devoted to barbecue. Beer selection is good; particularly happy that they have Mystery beer dark ale on tap. All the staff were wonderful, great service, accommodated our needs to cater to two older women in our part.y

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Tuesday's a deal, at least in price

Dined on April 5, 2016

Previously unknown to us, Acme's Tuesday special prices all regular entrees at $13.95. Thus it was jammed to the walls when we arrived (with a reservation) for an early dinner. Service was excellent as ever, but Acme's always tight quarters felt positively claustrophobic with every seat occupied.(Side note: Wow, there are some big people in America.) As you'd expect, clamor was even more of an issue than usual. And it seemed to me that the food was perhaps not quite as excellent as usual with the kitchen laboring under the load. So, save a few bucks, lose a little in ambiance and excellence. If that trade-off works for you, Acme's Tuesday offer is a bargain. Knowing what's up, we might choose to return on a Tuesday. But that's a wait-and-see.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall great experience food was outsta ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Overall great experience food was outstanding. I had the blackened salmon and my wife had the sea bass both were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.