About Acme Food & Beverage Co.

110 E Main St
Carrboro, NC 27510
View Larger Map

The ovens are turned on early. Six o'clock most days. Earlier on Sunday. Within an hour, bread is rising, apples are being sliced. Pecan pies are pulled hot from the oven and left to cool. Ice cream churns in the machine. Cups of coffee steam on the prep table, the baker's cup marked with chocolaty fingerprints. By midmorning, pork shoulder, rubbed with spices the day before, is slowly smoked. And white buckets are filled with sliced onions. Corn is shucked. The stock that cooked all night is taken off the stove and strained. Bags of fresh shrimp are delivered in old grocery store bags. The waiters arrive in groups, shirts and ties on hangers. By then, every burner in the kitchen is being used. Herbs are chopped. Scallops cleaned. Ovens at 500 degrees. All sauces are checked. Bartenders polish their shakers. Silverware is rolled and every surface is wiped down. Music. Lights. Doors are opened. Dinnertime. At Acme. Seven nights a week. Local never tasted so damn good.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-2263

Website:
http://www.acmecarrboro.com/

Catering:
Acme offers personalized catered events from 40 to 400. The catering staff has extensive experience in taking care of all aspects of the event. All alcohol permits. Specializing in southern food and hospitality.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant off of Roberson Street. There is an entrance to the restaurant from the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Callaghan

Private Party Facilities:
Acme has a semi-private room that seats 20 people that is perfect for business meetings and private parties. On a limited basis, Acme can be rented for the entire evening for wedding parties and other special events.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Murtaugh: 8777919642

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Crabcakes - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Steak Frites - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Soft Shell Crab Eggs Benedict - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Texas Border Breakfast - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Deluxe Benedict - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Orange County Special - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Crab Florentine Omelette - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Shrimp And Clam Stew - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Key Lime Pie - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Fried Green Tomatoes with fresh mozzarella, tomato confit, sweet corn, balsamic reduction - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Crispy Fried Calamari Salad with Asian style slaw, spicy lemongrass vinaigrette - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Ricotta And Black Pepper Cheesecake - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Eggs Bennedict With Fried Green Tomatoes - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Blackened Wild Salmon Green Tomato Salsa, Cheese Grits, Sautéed Black Beans, Mirleton Squash  - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Short Rib With Pesto And Squash Casserole - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Chile Relleno - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Fried Oyster Salad - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Acme Food & Beverage Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
5 More
Best Overall
Chapel Hill
Best Food
Chapel Hill
Best Value
Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Carrboro ›

Fit for Foodies (55)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Local Ingredients (50)
See All
Special Occasion (38)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Comfort Food (29)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Casual (24)
Great for Brunch (21)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Seasonal (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Cozy (15)
Fun (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Healthy (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Authentic (12)
Great Beer (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
People Watching (7)
Organic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very pleased with my Acme dinner. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I was very pleased with my Acme dinner. Wait staff was friendly and informative.

Outdoor seating with radiant heat was just right for November. Good job Acme!

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first visit was for husband's birthd ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our first visit was for husband's birthday and we were not disappointed. He had a ribeye and I had the crab cakes. Both were excellent and the wine list was robust for the area. Overall, we had a great experience. Only reason I'm not giving 5-stars across the board was from the bar experience. We had a drink before going to our table. It was by no means bad but there seemed to be some kind of tension behind the bar among the staff. Maybe someone just had an off night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Healthy, Organic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed most of the food, but the ris ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We enjoyed most of the food, but the risotto was over-salted.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I live on the NC coast an ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My husband and I live on the NC coast and decided to spend the night in the city to do some early Christmas shopping and after researching found this interesting restaurant. We had an early reservation and found the place to be extremely noisy, tables too close together and uncomfortable. They had already ran out of one special so we decided to order two appetizers and drinks before ordering the entrees. The entrees were not appetizing to me since I was able to see first hand everyone's dinners so we chose the veggie entrees. Really heavy and not as advertised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

the food and service is always good at a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

the food and service is always good at acme. unfortunately we ended up in the middle table of the restaurant and couldn't even hear the other couple we were dining with since the noise level was so high, and this was a couple we hadn't seen in many months. so it made the meal very unsatisfying, unfortunately.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

ACME is an excellent food spot for those ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

ACME is an excellent food spot for those seeking a combination of traditional Southern favorites with a contemporary twist. Perfect setting... great service... really takes advantage of the local fare... just an all-around awesome experience if you're looking for high-quality food in Chapel Hill or Carrboro!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I think that it was most appropriate for ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I think that it was most appropriate for my son and his wife on my husbands birthday.

I do not know how it might be for just the two us. Most likely we will try and find out.

Our waiter was most helpful and knowledgeable

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great brunch place and had many vegetari ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great brunch place and had many vegetarian options. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Never disappoints! We eat here at least ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Never disappoints! We eat here at least once a month and have never had a meal that didn't leave you thinking about it later that evening...

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

IF YOU ARE OLDER LIKE I AM, I SUGGEST YO ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

IF YOU ARE OLDER LIKE I AM, I SUGGEST YOU SIT IN THE BACK AND NOT IN THE

FRONT. THE FRONT HAS VERY LOW LIGHT AND THE FIRST TIME I ATE THERE I WAS

DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE I COULD NOT SEE THE MENU ETC. THE SECOND TIME WE

IN THE BACK AND I WAS COMFORTABLE. THE FOOD WAS WONDERFUL. EVERYONE

HAD SEAFOOD AND WAS VERY IMPRESSED. ONE PERSON HAD FRIED CHICKEN AND

WAS NOT SATISFIED. DESSERTS WERE GOOD EXCEPT FOR THE BUTTERSCOTCH PUDDING.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always happy to go to Acme. It's a frie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Always happy to go to Acme. It's a friendly place with good service and excellent food. Always something different to choose from. And a very good value.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Acme is always a treat! Whether its din ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Acme is always a treat! Whether its dinner with out of town friends or a birthday celebration, we can always go to Acme and NEVER come away disappointed. Local meats, seafood and produce mean the food is always fresh and delicious. Long-time residents of Chapel Hill, we LOVE Acme!

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places to eat. Make ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat. Make reservations on the weekend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was too cold in the room. We came at ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It was too cold in the room. We came at 5:30 for an early dinner. We waited too long for entrees were told kitchen was backed up. How does kitchen back up at 5:30?? We were offered a free dessert, but too cold and too late for me at this point. Needed an early night. Have enjoyed brunch in the past, but would not go back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We'd rate the food here a '3' out of 5 s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We'd rate the food here a '3' out of 5 stars. Our second time eating at Acme, we were really disappointed with the highly recommended mushroom appetizer over grits ($13) - it was fairly flavorless and it when it arrived to our table it was lukewarm, ruining the experience. My crab cakes were tasty, but there was no spinach in the dish as explained on the menu, which is my favorite ingredient. My boyfriend's Wahoo was tasteless, lacked flavor and wasn't served piping hot (again, this is an epic fail to us when entrees average $25). His brussels sprouts were just sliced in half and sauteed, meaning they were difficult to cut as the stems were left in and never cooked to soften. When so many restaurants are nailing the brussels sprout resurgence, Acme can do so much better. Accompanying vegetables shouldn't be treated as an afterthought - many times the vegetables are the reason we order an entree. Not sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything about the evening was excelle ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything about the evening was excellent. Highly recommend there outdoor patio for evening dining weather permitting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme is my favorite local restaurant and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Acme is my favorite local restaurant and I'm quickly becoming a regular there. Food is fabulous, comfort style with some unusual twists. Something for everyone. Daily specials in addition to their regular menu. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife and I decided to go out for dinn ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My wife and I decided to go out for dinner on the spear of the moment and Acme came to mind. We had a wonderful evening in their outdoors part of the restaurant surrounded by interesting decor and tropical plants. The food was innovative and delicious and the portions were generous. we had a great server who knew her menu and the specials (and the beers!).

We will definitely go to Acme again! Highly recommended!

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had been here before and had a wonder ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had been here before and had a wonderful experience but this time was very disappointing and I doubt we will return. Greeting was rude, waitress just ok (automatic 20% tip was added), cocktails were not up to par, entrees were overly complicated and not fresh and delicious. Sorry, but it wasnt worth the money. The best part is they don't rush you and you can hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Fabulous food,a bit loud inside -defini ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fabulous food,a bit loud inside -definitely would go again!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Exceptionally accommodating of food alle ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Exceptionally accommodating of food allergies and some normally odd requests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal at a great value. Oysters wer ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great meal at a great value. Oysters were fresh and salmon/fish stew entrees were superb. Dessert sundae was acceptable but not special. Only downside was that the ambience was fair-poor. The tables are fairly close together and the ambient noise was quite loud. Two couples sitting nearby were extremely loud and had no awareness of anyone around them. But overall, outstanding food and service and right up there among the top 2-3 restaurants in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Food was over priced and over cooked. V ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was over priced and over cooked. Very unhappy with our waitress who was less than accommodating.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I took my daughter back to college and w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I took my daughter back to college and we always have lunch before I drop her off on Sunday, so I am always looking for a new place to have lunch. Acme was a neat little place, sort of hidden away, so you would have to know it's there probably to find it. I would have never found it had I not search on Open Table. Menu was a bit limited but food was fresh and well prepared. I would definitely recommend reservations if you go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food, drinks and service at Acme are ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food, drinks and service at Acme are always top notch! It can sometimes be hard to get a table since they're a relatively small place, but it's definitely worth it. They emphasize using locally sourced food prepared to highlight the food itself, although they often offer creative takes on classic dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredibly knowledgeable waitress. Enj ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Incredibly knowledgeable waitress. Enjoyed the food and the experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place with delicious food

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very nice place with delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal at Acme. Beautiful e ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Another great meal at Acme. Beautiful evening outside with out of town guests. Everything was great - pig, chicken, short ribs, flounder, fried green toms and cornbread! You really can't go wrong at Acme, just depends what you are in the mood for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Acme is good and predictable, but I and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Acme is good and predictable, but I and my dining companions wish the chef was a bit more flexible about substituting sides. For someone who does not eat beef or pork it is a challenge to find more than one or two options on the menu (since a number of the sides contain pork). The desserts are great, though!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Acme has a great atmosphere and consiste ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Acme has a great atmosphere and consistently good food. They have great pecan crusted chicken!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Acme is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Acme is one of my favorite restaurants. Great good and service. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited on Sunday 10/09/2016. Previou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We visited on Sunday 10/09/2016. Previous visits had been terrific; this one was not. Our server brought water to the table next to us (seated 10 minutes after us) before he brought ours. He never asked if we wanted a coffee refill (we were there for brunch, so yes, we wanted one!), and forgot to bring a box for the leftover coffee cake until we asked twice.

The food was mediocre at best (not what we previously found). Coffee cake was dry and rather tasteless. I make far better Frito pie, and the benedict and french toast were just OK.

Overall, a disappointment. Might try again, but with all the wonderful brunch places in the triangle, it will be a while before we do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Eve of Hurricane Matthew get together wi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Eve of Hurricane Matthew get together with friends from South Carolina. They loved Acme as much as we do. Virginia oysters to start were some of the best in recent memory. Suave minionette was well done with attention to the preservation of the oyster liquor. Snapper special and Wahoo were especially delightful. 5 cent pie night was a first for us all. Yumm

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Brunch was awesome. We sat on the patio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Brunch was awesome. We sat on the patio area which was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme is not for kids. Order time and ti ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Acme is not for kids. Order time and time to entrees is long. Main entree size is small and accompaniments portions are large. A disappointing trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall excellent experience. Food was o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Overall excellent experience. Food was outstanding!!!!!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Acme's email (sign up for it) provides i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Acme's email (sign up for it) provides insight into the chef's thinking, advance notice of special dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but wasn't too fond of the se ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food but wasn't too fond of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Order the pomme frittes medium rare. Ste ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Order the pomme frittes medium rare. Steak was very dry with little taste. And the waiter seemed like he was doing us a favor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Love Acme. Always a great staple to take ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love Acme. Always a great staple to take out-of-town guests to for dinner. Great atmosphere, outdoor seating area is very nice. Food is always delicious and a good example of upscale southern food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.