About Acme Food & Beverage Co.

110 E Main St
Carrboro, NC 27510
View Larger Map

The ovens are turned on early. Six o'clock most days. Earlier on Sunday. Within an hour, bread is rising, apples are being sliced. Pecan pies are pulled hot from the oven and left to cool. Ice cream churns in the machine. Cups of coffee steam on the prep table, the baker's cup marked with chocolaty fingerprints. By midmorning, pork shoulder, rubbed with spices the day before, is slowly smoked. And white buckets are filled with sliced onions. Corn is shucked. The stock that cooked all night is taken off the stove and strained. Bags of fresh shrimp are delivered in old grocery store bags. The waiters arrive in groups, shirts and ties on hangers. By then, every burner in the kitchen is being used. Herbs are chopped. Scallops cleaned. Ovens at 500 degrees. All sauces are checked. Bartenders polish their shakers. Silverware is rolled and every surface is wiped down. Music. Lights. Doors are opened. Dinnertime. At Acme. Seven nights a week. Local never tasted so damn good.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-2263

Website:
http://www.acmecarrboro.com/

Catering:
Acme offers personalized catered events from 40 to 400. The catering staff has extensive experience in taking care of all aspects of the event. All alcohol permits. Specializing in southern food and hospitality.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant off of Roberson Street. There is an entrance to the restaurant from the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Callaghan

Private Party Facilities:
Acme has a semi-private room that seats 20 people that is perfect for business meetings and private parties. On a limited basis, Acme can be rented for the entire evening for wedding parties and other special events.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Murtaugh: 8777919642

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Crabcakes
Steak Frites
Soft Shell Crab Eggs Benedict
Texas Border Breakfast
Orange County Special
Deluxe Benedict
Crab Florentine Omelette
Key Lime Pie
Shrimp And Clam Stew
Ricotta And Black Pepper Cheesecake
Fried Green Tomatoes with fresh mozzarella, tomato confit, sweet corn, balsamic reduction
Crispy Fried Calamari Salad with Asian style slaw, spicy lemongrass vinaigrette
Eggs Bennedict With Fried Green Tomatoes
Blackened Wild Salmon Green Tomato Salsa, Cheese Grits, Sautéed Black Beans, Mirleton Squash
Short Rib With Pesto And Squash Casserole
Chile Relleno
Fried Oyster Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Acme Food & Beverage Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Chapel Hill
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Carrboro ›

fit for foodies (106)
neighborhood gem (103)
special occasion (68)
See All
great for outdoor dining (63)
great for brunch (46)
good for groups (32)
hot spot (24)
romantic (24)
great for lunch (17)
vibrant bar scene (16)
notable wine list (9)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this restaurant. The food is outsta ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love this restaurant. The food is outstanding. BUT, you cannot get a glass Chardonnay by the glass-come on, fix that!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

So glad Acme is open on Mondays. I've ne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

So glad Acme is open on Mondays. I've never had a bad experience & I'm very picky! Great food, perfect presentation & friendly service make this patron & family real fans!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heirloom tomato appetizer was delish. Lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Heirloom tomato appetizer was delish. Love their cornbread, specially baked in a little cast iron pan. My crab cakes were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband, son and I returned for Acme ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband, son and I returned for Acme for brunch this past Sunday. My son and I both ordered the special, a Salmon Hand Pie. It is outstanding. My husband ordered the Texas border breakfast :| grilled Angus butcher’s cut steak, two poached eggs, green chili grits, chipotle hollandaise. Both the potatoes and the grits are delicious sides. Over all, great food, nice portions, cool vibe, good value.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic brunch spot! They have a grea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic brunch spot! They have a great menu that changes seasonally, fresh/local ingredients, and some delicious and interesting takes on your "standard" brunch fare (e.g., adding fried green tomatoes to eggs benedict - yum!!).

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme ranks among our top 3 CH/C restaura ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Acme ranks among our top 3 CH/C restaurants, but we were disappointed in Saturday's dinner. The sides (mac&cheese, collards, and blackeyed peas) were excellent. However, for the first time ever, our entrees were not up to their usual excellence. We had the flash fried catfish and forever pork. The catfish had too much breading and little fish, while the pork was too greasy and sweet. Looking forward to going back. I'm confident that disappointment will be a one-off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Acme never fails to provide interesting ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Acme never fails to provide interesting food and a great value. The Tuesday night deal is remarkable and there is no better value in the Triangle area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We love Acme and have returned time and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We love Acme and have returned time and again! The food is always delicious and the service is great. They make a mean cocktail too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This is a well thought out restaurant in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is a well thought out restaurant in all areas. The odd sounding dishes are actually mighty fine and good to eat.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme never disappoints especially on Tue ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Acme never disappoints especially on Tuesdays when all entrees are 13.95 and the quality of the food never varies.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Blaring 80s music, couldn't talk over it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Blaring 80s music, couldn't talk over it. Said they couldn't turn it down because it was low outside and we were right under the speaker and offered to move us. Food was fine. That killed it. Was impossible to enjoy it trying to yell over the music, which was bad to begin with.

ugh.

no more for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The place came highly recommended by a n ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The place came highly recommended by a neighbor so my wife and I decided to check it out. In the reservation, I noted that my wife has gluten and dairy allergies. When we arrived, the hostess had done homework so she could recommend dishes that my wife could have. Unfortunately, the choices were VERY limited, especially if you eliminate the salads. All of their sides are prepared with butter. For whatever reason, there was no effort at all to get creative in preparing something for her so she ended up with Salmon over tomatoes. I think there was one other fish choice she could have but that was it.

I had the pork. It was OK, nothing special. Unfortunately, they felt the need to prepare the mac and cheese with jalopenos. The mac and cheese was nothing special but the jalapenos made it almost inedible.

I also had their special appetizer - tomatoes and mozzarella. The tomatoes were fabulous. The mozzarella was OK.

Overall, an average experience but given the lack of choices related to the food allergies, we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

In a nutshell, food was way too heavy an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

In a nutshell, food was way too heavy and over fried. All you could taste was the outside crust on green tomatoes, chicken and softshell crabs. Mashed potatoes overly smothered with tomato sauce. Maybe some people like this form of Southern cooking, but we couldn't even finish half of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Fantastic restaurant in downtown Carrbor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fantastic restaurant in downtown Carrboro. The fried chicken, pasta, and appetizers were perfect. Good wine list. Reasonable prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food at Acme Grill is creative and d ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food at Acme Grill is creative and delicious. However, the service is often spotty here. They try but often forget orders or make you wait way too long to get your food. But outdoor patio seating makes it worth the poor service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Heirloom tomatoes were fabulous. Good s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Heirloom tomatoes were fabulous. Good selection of entrees, prepared with care. WIne was good, but not great. Wait staff attentive, but not pushy.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Four of us for brunch at 11:30 on a Sund ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Four of us for brunch at 11:30 on a Sunday. Two people ordered specials which were very good, and two people ordered off the menu. Food at Acme is consistently very good to excellent. Only negative for the meal was that coffee wasn't ready and two diners had to wait. Seems like servers are stretched pretty thin for their price point.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Kitchen was slow, first time there.... N ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Kitchen was slow, first time there.... Not sure if this is the norm or hopefully just a one off night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The hostess was awesomely helpful, super ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The hostess was awesomely helpful, super accommodating and a real normal conversational person (I mean all this in highest compliment mode possible). Comfortable, non-pushy wait staff. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good, staff was courteous. The ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was good, staff was courteous. The main problem we had was that the waitress refused to make any substitutions to our meals because "it would be too hard on the cooks." That is unacceptable when spending $100 for two.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food and service was fabulous but it ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food and service was fabulous but it should be for the price. Two of our group ordered the special and we should have asked the price because it was outrageously high for two soft shell crabs. You just have to be careful not to come out with a 250.00 bill.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We have loved Acme and have been there m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have loved Acme and have been there many times over the years. It's been our go to spot for taking out of town guests and for Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, the last few times we've been there, much of the food has been lackluster, (which was also the case this past Thanksgiving), and this last time the service was unapologetically slow and although the waiter wasn't surly, he wasn't friendly, attentive or engaging in any way. I'm not sure we'll ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Wanted to go somewhere with a lot of opt ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wanted to go somewhere with a lot of options, and with all of the rave reviews, Acme was what we decided on. My mother ordered the crab cakes, and none of us could figure out what they did with the crab. The crab cakes from Harris Teeter were better than the ones at Acme for $20+. Server was very patient with my family, and offered great service. Just disappointed with the food. May go back in the future for small plates only to give it another try.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The well promoted "rib night" -which are ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The well promoted "rib night" -which are my absolute favorite food-did not meet my expectations. The ribs came out room temperature with very little meat on them. Super disappointing. And the waiter, while friendly and sympathetic, offered no compensation whatsoever. Total bummer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Great value on Tuesdays. Main courses 12 ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great value on Tuesdays. Main courses 12.95. Bit noisy and crowded.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Our waiter could have been better. At th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our waiter could have been better. At this price point the server should have the specials memorized and at least pretend he wants to wait on you. I appreciated that the hostess seated us with out infant son at a table with an extra seat on a bench so his carrier was beside me. Both our entrees were exceptional. I had blackened salmon and my husband had mahi mahi. He said it was the best mahi he has ever eaten. With that said, the mahi came with brussel sprouts which he dislikes but this restaurant "does not offer substitutions". Instead we had to pay an $8 up charge to switch to rice. Now I could maybe understand if the chef is saying his food is art and he won't wreck it by changing out ingredients so you have to order your desired side separately. But they actually did remove the brussel sprouts and serve the dish with the $8 side of rice. I found this both pretentious and a bit money-grubbing. In the future we will review the menu and if we don't like everything in the available dishes we will go elsewhere. Not that $8 is a lot of money, but it's the principle. The wine by the glass menu is limited and very pricey. They could stand to spruce that up. All in all, the quality of the food was so good that it pulled my star rating to a 4. We will try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

It had been a long time since we had bee ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It had been a long time since we had been and we recalled why afterwards. The food was very good, but the service terrible. We had one server take the order, another bring the food and a third bring the drink, after the meal was finished! There was no coordination, and no apparent communication between the servers. No one ever checked in after the meal was delivered, and the waitress seemed insulted when I said something to her. The food is good, but not good enough to justify the poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Awesome experience! we had a great time ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Awesome experience! we had a great time and dinner

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal and generous portions. Lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Delicious meal and generous portions. Love the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambience and enjoyable food for th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great ambience and enjoyable food for those who like Southern food with little twists. Options are not great for kids. They can certainly choose a number of sides that they would enjoy (Mac and Cheese, fries), but prices are the same and no great plain vegetable sides.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food and service. Always feel ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Always feel taken care of.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treated to wonderful Father's Day Brunch ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Treated to wonderful Father's Day Brunch by family. Acme is best brunch in Chapel Hill to me. Looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat outside which is a lovely garden. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We sat outside which is a lovely garden. Noise not an issue.

In the past sat inside which we think is too dark and too noisy and too crowded.

Good food and friendly atmosphere and knowledgeable servers in and out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Not quite what it used to be. Locally-s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not quite what it used to be. Locally-sourced ingredients doesn't mean a price-point is automatically justified.

There was a desire by the kitchen to be creative but it's just didn't translate to the table. Good - not great as expected.

We were well taken care of by the staff - service was very good!

Will hope for a bit better next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

First time visit but not the last. Great ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

First time visit but not the last. Great food not found anywhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The combination of very mediocre food an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The combination of very mediocre food and high prices edged our experience toward the territory of terrible. On the way in, one couple said they liked the food at Acme, but what we were served was nothing special at all. Maybe if you don't cook at home or eat mainly frozen foods, then their dishes could be considered good, but I expected much more than what they delivered. (I'm not a trained chef.) We ordered 5 dishes, including the cornbread (which everyone says is great) and nothing impressed. Prices were quite high for what we got. I've personally cooked each of the things on my plate (sautéed fish, brussels sprouts and mashed sweet potatoes) at home. When I go out, I'm looking for a whole lot more than they delivered.

They have gotten creative with what they name some of their dishes, but the execution doesn't match the descriptions. Cauliflower Terrine is an interesting name but was a bland uninspired dish.

No reason to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Third time we've eaten at Acme and it's ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Third time we've eaten at Acme and it's always been quite good. Fish is great. Pasta for the kids is always a hit and chicken is a 'go to' meal. Drink menu is just ok--a little superficial and pricey...but we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic dining experience. We all love ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. We all loved our dinners. Great favors, fresh food and wonderful taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

enjoyed our first time at acme! a bit no ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

enjoyed our first time at acme! a bit noisy and crowded. other than that was good experience

I got all sides. my husband loved his pork dish! will return :)

parking was a little difficult

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Never again will I spend money here.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I have eaten here 3 times and will not be returning. The food is over priced and they don't deliver on quality. My last visit was the worst! Two of us ordered the exact same dish and they looked completely different. We ordered the salmon and my portion size was half the size of my friends. I ask for it well done and it wasn't. It was swimming in cheese grits and black beans instead of those items as a side dish. Over salted and over cooked steak frites that were uneatable and tasted microwaved. Our waitress Melissa was horrible in EVERY way. She "ran" away from the table each time we tried to ask her for anything and didn't give us a chance to complete our request. She was rude and very grumpy. I would fire her if I was the owner and saw her performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.