About Acme Food & Beverage Co.

110 E Main St
Carrboro, NC 27510
View Larger Map

The ovens are turned on early. Six o'clock most days. Earlier on Sunday. Within an hour, bread is rising, apples are being sliced. Pecan pies are pulled hot from the oven and left to cool. Ice cream churns in the machine. Cups of coffee steam on the prep table, the baker's cup marked with chocolaty fingerprints. By midmorning, pork shoulder, rubbed with spices the day before, is slowly smoked. And white buckets are filled with sliced onions. Corn is shucked. The stock that cooked all night is taken off the stove and strained. Bags of fresh shrimp are delivered in old grocery store bags. The waiters arrive in groups, shirts and ties on hangers. By then, every burner in the kitchen is being used. Herbs are chopped. Scallops cleaned. Ovens at 500 degrees. All sauces are checked. Bartenders polish their shakers. Silverware is rolled and every surface is wiped down. Music. Lights. Doors are opened. Dinnertime. At Acme. Seven nights a week. Local never tasted so damn good.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-2263

Website:
http://www.acmecarrboro.com/

Catering:
Acme offers personalized catered events from 40 to 400. The catering staff has extensive experience in taking care of all aspects of the event. All alcohol permits. Specializing in southern food and hospitality.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant off of Roberson Street. There is an entrance to the restaurant from the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Callaghan

Private Party Facilities:
Acme has a semi-private room that seats 20 people that is perfect for business meetings and private parties. On a limited basis, Acme can be rented for the entire evening for wedding parties and other special events.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Murtaugh: 8777919642

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Crabcakes
Steak Frites
Soft Shell Crab Eggs Benedict
Texas Border Breakfast
Deluxe Benedict
Orange County Special
Crab Florentine Omelette
Shrimp And Clam Stew
Key Lime Pie
Fried Green Tomatoes with fresh mozzarella, tomato confit, sweet corn, balsamic reduction
Crispy Fried Calamari Salad with Asian style slaw, spicy lemongrass vinaigrette
Ricotta And Black Pepper Cheesecake
Eggs Bennedict With Fried Green Tomatoes
Blackened Wild Salmon Green Tomato Salsa, Cheese Grits, Sautéed Black Beans, Mirleton Squash
Short Rib With Pesto And Squash Casserole
Chile Relleno
Fried Oyster Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Acme Food & Beverage Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
1 More
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Carrboro ›

Fit for Foodies (99)
Neighborhood Gem (91)
Special Occasion (65)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Great for Brunch (42)
Good for Groups (27)
Romantic (23)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Lunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Notable Wine List (9)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Acme is always a treat, but fortunately ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Acme is always a treat, but fortunately doesn't have to be only a special occasions restaurant. Get on the mailing list for fun reading and to anticipate for days before you come what you're going to have. Servers are very good. Get an outside table and enjoy the fabulous setting- exotic, beautiful plantings and fountain. Why travel when you can be transported to the best food and environment anyway, and only 15 minutes from home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the Calabash specials

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved the Calabash specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went to try the Calabash Platter, a spec ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went to try the Calabash Platter, a special that night. Added to that the deviled crab appetizer and another that was a "bubbling caldron" of scallops, jalapenos, and other things I have forgotten. The crab was a decidedly small serving and presented with crackers --- a disconnect for all of us in any deviled crab we had previously encountered. That was just meh ... but the "bubbling caldron" was decadently good. Smooth, flavorful and with a small kick at the end. A delight.

To top it off we had the cornbread special - which is NEVER to be missed. This one jalapeno with tomato butter. It did not disappoint.

The Calabash platter was quite good - flounder, shrimp, oysters, and slaw. It was supposed to also have hush puppies and had we not already pigged out on the cornbread, we'd have asked for some. They looked good on the next table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful spot in Carrboro, especially ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

A wonderful spot in Carrboro, especially on Tuesday's when all entrees are $13.95. We started with chicken liver pate with peaches. Served with toasted french bread, it was very tasty. I had the crab cakes which were delicious. My wife had a chicken dish and asked for an alternative to the mashed potatoes which they graciously substituted a house salad. The chicken was served over the salad and it came with a side of butter beans. She really enjoyed it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we invited a couple from Chapel Hill and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

we invited a couple from Chapel Hill and were surprised that they had never been to Acme. They raved about the menu selections and loved their entrees. They will definitely be back. We have been to Acme many times over the years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was terrific, we had the specia ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was terrific, we had the special tomato appetizer with pesto, taste bud delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

On a Sunday late afternoon, returning fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

On a Sunday late afternoon, returning from taking my son to school in Virginia, I decided to stop in Chapel Hill for a good meal before returning to Eastern North Carolina. Acme came to mind as I had been there several times with wonderful experiences. I had a delightful meal and beverage and was able to be home at a reasonable hour.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Healthy, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was celebrating my anniversary. The am ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I was celebrating my anniversary. The ambiance was very nice. The service was excellent and the food was very good. They use local organic ingredients. I highly recommend Acme.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Acme and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first visit to Acme and we were very pleased. Great service and great food. We sat by the outdoor fountain which was very nice (our waiter happened to be the designer/maker of the fountain). While the evening was expensive, we didn't feel taken advantage of. I am a pretty tough critic of restaurants and their food because I'm a passionate cook myself and feel confident in the kitchen. Consequently, my/our high rating of this experience is an indication of our high compliments and satisfaction. Great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, ACME didn't disappoint when i ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

As always, ACME didn't disappoint when it came to our delicious food. All of us in our party of six were delighted with our appetizers, entrees, and dessert. We, however, were very disappointed that the restaurant doesn't offer a complimentary birthday dessert. Our party of six generated a tab well in excess of $300.00 excluding a tip, we had a reservation made weeks before noting a special 70th birthday celebration, so we thought it very unusual that a restaurant of this calibre doesn't make special occasions "SPECIAL".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great brunch, everything was delicious, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great brunch, everything was delicious, excellent range of choices for savory, sweet, traditional or nontraditional. We were all very happy

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was hilarious and did a great ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter was hilarious and did a great job of keeping our table happy and well fed. The donuts are something you can pass on, but try the cinnamon roll (it does have nuts).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best meal I've had years...been raving ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best meal I've had years...been raving about it. So glad my friend recommended it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited wine list and too expensive for ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Limited wine list and too expensive for the selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fresh seasonal foods made for some delic ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fresh seasonal foods made for some delicious dining. Don't miss the cornbread!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful. Difficult to talk to people a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful. Difficult to talk to people at out table due to noise level. Will return at less crowded time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I love Acme! Great farm to table food, w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love Acme! Great farm to table food, wonderful service, and very reasonably priced. I usually eat outside in their lovely outdoor garden space with the fountain, and i highly recommend that because it can be very noisy inside.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going to Acme - it is our all-ti ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love going to Acme - it is our all-time favorite place to dine for brunch - -have known the owner Kevin since it first opened

I sent req for us to be seated as close to the front as possible -the host - a man - was very rude to me - we had made a reservation - a couple in front of us - without a reservation were marched to the front. We were seated as far back as we could get even though there were at least four or five empty tables - - I asked to be moved - again he was very very rude - another diner came over to applaud what I had done as she thought he was so unwelcoming -

This experience greatly affected our dining experience even though we love the food and had a great waiter - no excuse for someone like this guy to be greeting people in such a wonderful restaurant - we would think a long time before returning

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Another great brunch at Acme. The salmo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Another great brunch at Acme. The salmon hand pie continues to be my go-to. YUM!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been a fan for years, for good reas ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I've been a fan for years, for good reason. The staff are always quite friendly and eager to help make the whole experience a pleasure. Kevin is an outstanding chef! Love the very longstanding use of local produce and key ingredients. Being in a wheelchair I really appreciate their concern for my accessibility.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have not been back to Acme in quite s ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have not been back to Acme in quite some time and were disappointed at the lack of detail in food and service. We spent $300 (including an automatic gratuity of 20% - for a party of 5?!) so the cost of menu items was over-priced. Crab cake dinner was so small my son was still hungry, but overall food was tasty enough so the chef saved this meal for us. Service was lacking in drink delivery, ordering and check-back time, and asking for drink refills. Also, the women's bathroom was out of toilet paper and hand soap, which is discouraging in what is supposedly an upscale restaurant. We probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We have previously dined here on Tuesday ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We have previously dined here on Tuesdays several times and every time it was excellent. However, this past Tuesday was an exception. We had the mahi-mahi and the fish stew that was featured last Tuesday. The fish stew was excellent but had very little fish and if it wasn't for the corn sticks, I would've gone away hungry. The mahi-mahi portion was very skimpy and was overcooked. I had to cut The two small pieces of with a knife.

It was a very disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

The food is excellent, as is the service ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food is excellent, as is the service. With decent weather the outdoor dining would be nice. I wish the noise level were lower; our conversation across the table was strained.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The positives were that the frites were ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The positives were that the frites were excellent, the Acme version of chili relleno was good, the bread mediocre, service was very good to excellent. The one negative, and it is a big one which drags down the overall score was the entree, flat iron steak.Flat iron steak is difficult to prepare well and inherently a less expensive cut of meat. It appears that the flat iron steak was "marked" on the broiler and then baked in the oven which gave it a disappointing " grey"appearance and the flavor was not good. It would have been better if the steak was broiled from beginning to end on the broiler which would have given it a nice char on the outside and enhanced its flavor while providing a nice juicy medium red/pink center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Acme delivers every time! We are big fan ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Acme delivers every time! We are big fans. Next time we hope to sit outside in the nice patio area. I imagine it's really nice out there at dark also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding chef; food was exquisitely p ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Outstanding chef; food was exquisitely prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant. The food is outsta ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Love this restaurant. The food is outstanding. BUT, you cannot get a glass Chardonnay by the glass-come on, fix that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

So glad Acme is open on Mondays. I've ne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

So glad Acme is open on Mondays. I've never had a bad experience & I'm very picky! Great food, perfect presentation & friendly service make this patron & family real fans!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heirloom tomato appetizer was delish. Lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Heirloom tomato appetizer was delish. Love their cornbread, specially baked in a little cast iron pan. My crab cakes were perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband, son and I returned for Acme ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My husband, son and I returned for Acme for brunch this past Sunday. My son and I both ordered the special, a Salmon Hand Pie. It is outstanding. My husband ordered the Texas border breakfast :| grilled Angus butcher’s cut steak, two poached eggs, green chili grits, chipotle hollandaise. Both the potatoes and the grits are delicious sides. Over all, great food, nice portions, cool vibe, good value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic brunch spot! They have a grea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic brunch spot! They have a great menu that changes seasonally, fresh/local ingredients, and some delicious and interesting takes on your "standard" brunch fare (e.g., adding fried green tomatoes to eggs benedict - yum!!).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme ranks among our top 3 CH/C restaura ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Acme ranks among our top 3 CH/C restaurants, but we were disappointed in Saturday's dinner. The sides (mac&cheese, collards, and blackeyed peas) were excellent. However, for the first time ever, our entrees were not up to their usual excellence. We had the flash fried catfish and forever pork. The catfish had too much breading and little fish, while the pork was too greasy and sweet. Looking forward to going back. I'm confident that disappointment will be a one-off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Acme never fails to provide interesting ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Acme never fails to provide interesting food and a great value. The Tuesday night deal is remarkable and there is no better value in the Triangle area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We love Acme and have returned time and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We love Acme and have returned time and again! The food is always delicious and the service is great. They make a mean cocktail too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This is a well thought out restaurant in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is a well thought out restaurant in all areas. The odd sounding dishes are actually mighty fine and good to eat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme never disappoints especially on Tue ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Acme never disappoints especially on Tuesdays when all entrees are 13.95 and the quality of the food never varies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Blaring 80s music, couldn't talk over it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Blaring 80s music, couldn't talk over it. Said they couldn't turn it down because it was low outside and we were right under the speaker and offered to move us. Food was fine. That killed it. Was impossible to enjoy it trying to yell over the music, which was bad to begin with.

ugh.

no more for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The place came highly recommended by a n ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The place came highly recommended by a neighbor so my wife and I decided to check it out. In the reservation, I noted that my wife has gluten and dairy allergies. When we arrived, the hostess had done homework so she could recommend dishes that my wife could have. Unfortunately, the choices were VERY limited, especially if you eliminate the salads. All of their sides are prepared with butter. For whatever reason, there was no effort at all to get creative in preparing something for her so she ended up with Salmon over tomatoes. I think there was one other fish choice she could have but that was it.

I had the pork. It was OK, nothing special. Unfortunately, they felt the need to prepare the mac and cheese with jalopenos. The mac and cheese was nothing special but the jalapenos made it almost inedible.

I also had their special appetizer - tomatoes and mozzarella. The tomatoes were fabulous. The mozzarella was OK.

Overall, an average experience but given the lack of choices related to the food allergies, we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

In a nutshell, food was way too heavy an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

In a nutshell, food was way too heavy and over fried. All you could taste was the outside crust on green tomatoes, chicken and softshell crabs. Mashed potatoes overly smothered with tomato sauce. Maybe some people like this form of Southern cooking, but we couldn't even finish half of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Fantastic restaurant in downtown Carrbor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fantastic restaurant in downtown Carrboro. The fried chicken, pasta, and appetizers were perfect. Good wine list. Reasonable prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.