About Acme Food & Beverage Co.

The ovens are turned on early. Six o'clock most days. Earlier on Sunday. Within an hour, bread is rising, apples are being sliced. Pecan pies are pulled hot from the oven and left to cool. Ice cream churns in the machine. Cups of coffee steam on the prep table, the baker's cup marked with chocolaty fingerprints. By midmorning, pork shoulder, rubbed with spices the day before, is slowly smoked. And white buckets are filled with sliced onions. Corn is shucked. The stock that cooked all night is taken off the stove and strained. Bags of fresh shrimp are delivered in old grocery store bags. The waiters arrive in groups, shirts and ties on hangers. By then, every burner in the kitchen is being used. Herbs are chopped. Scallops cleaned. Ovens at 500 degrees. All sauces are checked. Bartenders polish their shakers. Silverware is rolled and every surface is wiped down. Music. Lights. Doors are opened. Dinnertime. At Acme. Seven nights a week. Local never tasted so damn good.

110 E Main St
Carrboro, NC 27510
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-2263

Website:
http://www.acmecarrboro.com/

Catering:
Acme offers personalized catered events from 40 to 400. The catering staff has extensive experience in taking care of all aspects of the event. All alcohol permits. Specializing in southern food and hospitality.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant off of Roberson Street. There is an entrance to the restaurant from the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Callaghan

Private Party Facilities:
Acme has a semi-private room that seats 20 people that is perfect for business meetings and private parties. On a limited basis, Acme can be rented for the entire evening for wedding parties and other special events.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Murtaugh: 8777919642

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Oysters - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Crabcakes - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Soft Shell Crab Eggs Benedict - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Texas Border Breakfast - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Deluxe Benedict - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Orange County Special - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Steak Frites - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Crab Florentine Omelette - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Shrimp And Clam Stew - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Key Lime Pie - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Fried Green Tomatoes with fresh mozzarella, tomato confit, sweet corn, balsamic reduction - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Crispy Fried Calamari Salad with Asian style slaw, spicy lemongrass vinaigrette - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Ricotta And Black Pepper Cheesecake - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Eggs Bennedict With Fried Green Tomatoes - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Blackened Wild Salmon Green Tomato Salsa, Cheese Grits, Sautéed Black Beans, Mirleton Squash  - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Short Rib With Pesto And Squash Casserole - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Chile Relleno - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC
Fried Oyster Salad - Acme Food & Beverage Co., Carrboro, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Acme Food & Beverage Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Special Occasion (29)
Casual (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for a Date (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Cozy (16)
Seasonal (16)
Fun (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Healthy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Romantic (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
People Watching (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great Beer (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Organic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Acme never disappoints. Service is alway ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Acme never disappoints. Service is always warm, attentive, and thoughtful. Food is always perfectly cooked, well-seasoned, and leaving you wanting more. The mac & cheese, steak frites, and pecan crusted chicken are my go-to's! My best experience was I used OpenTable to book a birthday dinner reservation online for my fiance cause Acme is one of his favorites, and I left a note in the notes section of the reservation. I had never done that so I wasn't sure if they were going to get it or not, but they did, and they surprised the fiance with a birthday dessert. I was anxiously waiting to see if they would come out or if I needed to sneak away to the rest room to order but without fail, they pulled through!! I really appreciated their attentiveness to even an online reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with the food and service. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Very pleased with the food and service. Our only disappointment was being seated in the banquet room, separate from the warm and lively ambiance of the main section. We've always enjoyed dining at the bar, and in hindsight, we would have preferred that.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One complaint. Tables too close together ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

One complaint. Tables too close together,claustrophobic..take out a few tables felt stuffed in there.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was very enjoyable, although ju ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was very enjoyable, although just a bit pricey. They had a good selection of local beer, and their wine list should have most bases covered. We were not notified that the gumbo (a main menu item) was unavailable, which was one of a couple instances when our server was less than exceptional. In general he was sort of grumpy; I understand the weather was supposed to take a turn later that night, but it was not a good impression. The food was more than satisfactory and the ambiance was nice. I'm sure I'll be back at some point.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was amazing! Best Salmon I've e ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was amazing! Best Salmon I've ever had. The staff was so friendly and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme never disappoints. Fresh, seasonal, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Acme never disappoints. Fresh, seasonal, and always taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We usually love ACME, but during NYE din ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We usually love ACME, but during NYE dinner the service was rough. The salmon and dessert were delicious, but we got a steak that was supposed to be medium rare and it came out raw. Unfortunately, the server didn't do anything about it. Usually this place is great, but I recommend going on a less busy night (not a holiday) where the servers have a little more time to focus.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is one of the best restaurants in R ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Raleigh Durham area. Very creative chef, great service. Love it

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The special appetizer of corn pudding, p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The special appetizer of corn pudding, poached egg and sauteed spinach with bacon was a taste delight! We would love to have that again.

Even though our server(when asked) did not recommend the seafood chowder, we had our minds and taste buds set on it. So we ordered the seafood chowder and were disappointed with the lack of recognizable fish, scallops, and oysters. We had expected perhaps a piece of halibut and a couple of whole oysters and scallops visible when presented. Instead, it was more "soup" . Disappointing, even though the flavor was good. We ended the meal with the chocolate dessert - EXCELLENT!

We like Acme and go often. They usually never disappoint! So we will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, ACME's food is marvelous. Ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always, ACME's food is marvelous. Service this time around was OK

and prices seem to have risen.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very noisy in restaurant, not the best p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very noisy in restaurant, not the best pick for a romantic anniversary meal, my meal was amazing (fried chicken), my husbands not so great, seafood chowder. Not all that it was made out to be unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was excellent as always, but we ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was excellent as always, but we did not receive our bread until we finished our entree. The "busgirl" seemed distracted. Our waiter was attentive and stepped. In to bring the bread. Great desserts!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Amazing all around. Cocktails were great ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing all around. Cocktails were great. Apps had the food starting off on a good note. Both were amazing. Entrees were on point. All three of us thoroughly enjoyed each. Dessert was fabulous as well. If I had more that two thumbs, I would point them all upward. Great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed dinner at Acme. Visited with a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Enjoyed dinner at Acme. Visited with a friend that we hadn't seen in several months. Great for catching up.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still the best buy around for Sunday bru ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Still the best buy around for Sunday brunch as you can tell by the enthusiastic crowd.

Tags: , People Watching, Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate a fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate a friend's birthday and thanks to the unusually warm weather were able to eat outside on the patio. Had outstanding service with a very patient and attentive waitress who took the time to answer my friend's many questions (since she had never eaten there before). The Bloody Mary's are great, and the eggs Benedict, specials and potatoes were all delicious as was the chocolate dessert (with candle). I had not eaten there for a while but hope to return again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Almost always good and interesting food, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Almost always good and interesting food, pleasant ambiance. The soft white bread used to be the one drawback for me, something from the '50s (probably intentional "southern") but it's been replaced by a bread with a decent crust and a little more character, which makes me much more likely to go.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

$13.95 Tuesdays! Always wonderful! We'll ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2016

$13.95 Tuesdays! Always wonderful! We'll be back - often

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, but tables are t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food and service, but tables are too close together, and the noise level is very high.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic dinner! Highly recommend. Wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fantastic dinner! Highly recommend. Wait staff was very attentive. Loved the ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme is our favorite restaurant. You wil ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Acme is our favorite restaurant. You will be comfortable whether you are dining alone, as a couple, with friends, or with a group. We recently took a group from D.C. there for a dinner after a two day work retreat. The staff was very helpful with recommendations. The group loved the evening and the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but weird combinations. We re ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Good food but weird combinations. We really didn't know how to evaluate the strange combinations on the flounder and the wahoo. Still they were tasty. The pulled pork was plain in contrast to the oomph of flavors on the other two dinner choices. Another plus: great salad and soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I was very pleased with my Acme dinner. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I was very pleased with my Acme dinner. Wait staff was friendly and informative.

Outdoor seating with radiant heat was just right for November. Good job Acme!

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first visit was for husband's birthd ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our first visit was for husband's birthday and we were not disappointed. He had a ribeye and I had the crab cakes. Both were excellent and the wine list was robust for the area. Overall, we had a great experience. Only reason I'm not giving 5-stars across the board was from the bar experience. We had a drink before going to our table. It was by no means bad but there seemed to be some kind of tension behind the bar among the staff. Maybe someone just had an off night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Healthy, Organic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed most of the food, but the ris ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We enjoyed most of the food, but the risotto was over-salted.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I live on the NC coast an ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My husband and I live on the NC coast and decided to spend the night in the city to do some early Christmas shopping and after researching found this interesting restaurant. We had an early reservation and found the place to be extremely noisy, tables too close together and uncomfortable. They had already ran out of one special so we decided to order two appetizers and drinks before ordering the entrees. The entrees were not appetizing to me since I was able to see first hand everyone's dinners so we chose the veggie entrees. Really heavy and not as advertised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

the food and service is always good at a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

the food and service is always good at acme. unfortunately we ended up in the middle table of the restaurant and couldn't even hear the other couple we were dining with since the noise level was so high, and this was a couple we hadn't seen in many months. so it made the meal very unsatisfying, unfortunately.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

I think that it was most appropriate for ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I think that it was most appropriate for my son and his wife on my husbands birthday.

I do not know how it might be for just the two us. Most likely we will try and find out.

Our waiter was most helpful and knowledgeable

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

ACME is an excellent food spot for those ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

ACME is an excellent food spot for those seeking a combination of traditional Southern favorites with a contemporary twist. Perfect setting... great service... really takes advantage of the local fare... just an all-around awesome experience if you're looking for high-quality food in Chapel Hill or Carrboro!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great brunch place and had many vegetari ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great brunch place and had many vegetarian options. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Never disappoints! We eat here at least ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Never disappoints! We eat here at least once a month and have never had a meal that didn't leave you thinking about it later that evening...

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

IF YOU ARE OLDER LIKE I AM, I SUGGEST YO ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

IF YOU ARE OLDER LIKE I AM, I SUGGEST YOU SIT IN THE BACK AND NOT IN THE

FRONT. THE FRONT HAS VERY LOW LIGHT AND THE FIRST TIME I ATE THERE I WAS

DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE I COULD NOT SEE THE MENU ETC. THE SECOND TIME WE

IN THE BACK AND I WAS COMFORTABLE. THE FOOD WAS WONDERFUL. EVERYONE

HAD SEAFOOD AND WAS VERY IMPRESSED. ONE PERSON HAD FRIED CHICKEN AND

WAS NOT SATISFIED. DESSERTS WERE GOOD EXCEPT FOR THE BUTTERSCOTCH PUDDING.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always happy to go to Acme. It's a frie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Always happy to go to Acme. It's a friendly place with good service and excellent food. Always something different to choose from. And a very good value.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Acme is always a treat! Whether its din ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Acme is always a treat! Whether its dinner with out of town friends or a birthday celebration, we can always go to Acme and NEVER come away disappointed. Local meats, seafood and produce mean the food is always fresh and delicious. Long-time residents of Chapel Hill, we LOVE Acme!

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places to eat. Make ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat. Make reservations on the weekend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was too cold in the room. We came at ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It was too cold in the room. We came at 5:30 for an early dinner. We waited too long for entrees were told kitchen was backed up. How does kitchen back up at 5:30?? We were offered a free dessert, but too cold and too late for me at this point. Needed an early night. Have enjoyed brunch in the past, but would not go back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We'd rate the food here a '3' out of 5 s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We'd rate the food here a '3' out of 5 stars. Our second time eating at Acme, we were really disappointed with the highly recommended mushroom appetizer over grits ($13) - it was fairly flavorless and it when it arrived to our table it was lukewarm, ruining the experience. My crab cakes were tasty, but there was no spinach in the dish as explained on the menu, which is my favorite ingredient. My boyfriend's Wahoo was tasteless, lacked flavor and wasn't served piping hot (again, this is an epic fail to us when entrees average $25). His brussels sprouts were just sliced in half and sauteed, meaning they were difficult to cut as the stems were left in and never cooked to soften. When so many restaurants are nailing the brussels sprout resurgence, Acme can do so much better. Accompanying vegetables shouldn't be treated as an afterthought - many times the vegetables are the reason we order an entree. Not sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything about the evening was excelle ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything about the evening was excellent. Highly recommend there outdoor patio for evening dining weather permitting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme is reliably wonderful. Although it ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Acme is reliably wonderful. Although it is a bit crowded and noisy, it has a great neighborhood feel, good service, and an excellent, diverse menu. It is a Carrboro gem.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Acme is my favorite local restaurant and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Acme is my favorite local restaurant and I'm quickly becoming a regular there. Food is fabulous, comfort style with some unusual twists. Something for everyone. Daily specials in addition to their regular menu. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.