About Ácenar

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Scenic View (33)
Waterfront (31)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Good for Groups (22)
Casual (18)
Fun (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Modern Decor (14)
People Watching (13)
Authentic (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Romantic (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Spicy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Cozy (4)
Tapas (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Live Music (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined a day ago

The service was horrible took us almost 45 min to get out drinks then the appetizers came we ended up canceling the food order because we couldn't get a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food, excellent service. Fun, vibrant location on the Riverwalk. Best guacamole I've ever tasted - I don't particularly like avocados, but I couldn't get enough of it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Would recommend the crab tinga tacos. Very nice outdoor patio and view of the river walk. Hip inside. Nice outside for a date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Live Music, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Dinner was very good. The waiter was excellent. He came back often to check up on us but not too often as to be annoying.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was lovely this visit, but I was nervous after I made the reservation because I was not able to request outdoor seating. As it turned out, there was an outdoor table available -- thank you!! -- but it would be helpful to be able to request indoor or outdoor -- or either -- if it doesn't matter.

I don't like sitting inside because it is an acoustical nightmare -- 10 people sound like 100, and you feel shattered by the time you leave.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic as always. Love coming here every time I visit San Antonio. Everything is always on point. Never disappoints.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Live Music, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice three course meal for Valentines Day. I have eaten dinner here at other times and the food is superb and reasonable.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great service. I only have one complaint - too loud! It was very hard to have a conversation due to the poor acoustics. We have been there in off hours, and there was no problem with sound, but this last time was Friday evening, and it was uncomfortably loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Acenar is a great find on the RiverWalk. Sitting inside can be noisy - outside is a great option if the weather permits. I've tried multiple dishes off the menu and everything has been spectacular. Service is always quick and friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Love it. One of our faves.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ireland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Second time back to eat and was disappointed! Ordered chicken Mole , was not asked if I wanted flour or corn tortillas! I had to ask. Asked for more mole sauce on a piece of chicken, was given a bowl with 2 teaspoons full of mole sauce! Very disappointed!!! I am thinking this is the typical restaurant on the River walk. Will I be back not sure? It's close to the hotel were we stay at. Not Authentic Mexican food

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We went to Acenar twice during our stay in San Antonio. We were never disappointed. The food is excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Waterfront, People Watching, Spicy, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 2, 2017

First time visiting Acenar, and was impressed by the "Cool Bar" when you walked in, and enjoyed the food downstairs in the restaurant. This is a great place to go for dinner, especially if you're going to the Majestic Theater for an event. The salsa had a nice little kick to it, and the food was very good, and our server was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Spicy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Disappointed. Acenar was nothing special and didn't distinguish itself from a dining experience at any other Mexican restaurant around SA... other than the higher prices. The food was good and came out quick, but again, nothing that made me say, "I gotta come back again!"

When our party arrived, we ordered a round of drinks at the bar for Happy Hour prices while we waited for our table to be ready. When we were ready to order a 2nd round at the table, we were told that Happy Hour was only at the bar, not at the table. So the same Margarita that was $5 just a few steps away was $11 at our table. I didn't know the huge price difference until we got our bill. That's ridiculous. Had I known it was more than double, I would have just said never mind and walked over to get it myself.

Also, Their website offered a coupon for a free appetizer. When I presented the coupon to our server, he immediately tried to talk the 4 of us out of it and upsell a couple other items on the Apps menu. We decided on a 2nd appetizer, but said we'll take the "Chef's Surprise" as he called it. He never brought the free appetizer and acted as though I said I didn't want it when questioned about where it was after our entrees arrived. Also, here's a tip, don't refer to the free appetizer as the "Chef's Surprise" ... it sounds like you'll get whatever the short order cook decides to slop on a plate that's left over from the day before.

We won't be back any time soon...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Acenar was a very nice restaurant right on the San Antonio River. It was a beautiful evening and dinner on the outdoor patio was excellent. Service was very good. Chipotle Chicken was great- according to grandson! Ambiance is very good. Will definitely return?

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was decent but then again, the place was pretty quiet in the middle of the afternoon. The food was perfectly acceptable but nothing special... and for the price... meh. OpenTable says 3 stars = good and 2 stars = fair. I'd say the latter was more accurate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Staff were very accommodating, service was a little slow, but expected given our large group (14 people). However the food was excellent (the chips and salsa were made fresh in house) and without being asked the server bought all 14 of us separate checks. Great spot for your post conference get together.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great place. Needs bigger four top tables. No regrets.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food and atmosphere and a great location. Well worth waiting for a table, but make a reservation ahead for immediate seating!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a nice time at Acenar. We were able to sit outside, which I recommend. I thought the bar area was hopping and vibrant. I also was very happy that they were very flexible with my groups schedule, we origanally had a 7:15pm table, they were very accomodative and switched it to an 8:00pm without hesitation. Thanks Alma, minding we had an 8 top. All in all, we were pretty pleased with the entire experience from staff, food and atmosphere.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I was disappointed by our visit to this restaurant...it had great reviews online. However, when we arrived, even though we had booked a reservation, we were told there was a 15-20 minute wait for sitting on the riverfront terrace PLUS they said one of their heaters were broken and the others ran out of fuel. So we said fine to eating inside. It was very loud inside the restaurant and our waitress was nice but I guess had way too many tables - she would disappear for massive chucks of time. If you ask - they give you a free appetizer from the chef but it was mediocre at best. The food was unique and creative BUT the food came out cold and seemed like it had been cooked ages ago, plus was a little burnt on my dish. Overall - we did not like it and will not be returning - however, I believe that the experience could change depending on the day and time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It seems every time we sit outside, we have the worst service! We were ignored by waitstaff and when one of us stood to get their attention after waiting some time, were told they would have to make some tableside quacamole and deliver some drinks, before they could even get to us! There were so many people working and no one else could help us. We went to the bar to get our first round of mArgaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a friend in from Italy and wanted to d something on the river. I didn't want to get directly on the river and also wanted to be away from the crowds (tourist) This was an excellent location and the food was great.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Was good not great. Awesome patio and location. Lots of Tex-mex competition in the area.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food, great drinks, our meal was out very quickly! Our server was very thorough and provided great service without hovering. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were there on a Sunday night so the crowd was light. Service was great but we believed the food was average

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is not a place to go for quiet dining. Best for the bar scene and appetizers. Dinner was average. Chicken mole and cochinita pibil were so so.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great restaurant. We loved the food. The service was excellent.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Making reservations was easy on Open Table. I received confirmation via email and a phone call, both very nice and professional. When we arrived, we were received with a smile and they had our table ready for us to sit down. Our waiter Matt was very professional and detailed. The food was tasty and the portions were just right. The music wasn't bad either, too bad we couldn't hear it. Looking forward in going back when the weather is tolerable to enjoy the outdoor dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Showed up early they got us checked in, and then they forgot about us at the bar... 1.5 hrs later we get seated order the made at the table guac, then was delivered a bowl of pre made guac... but the table next to us had it made it made fresh at their table... but the food was good and we had a seat on the balcony over the riverwalk so cant complain too much... but the wait staff needs to step their game up

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good flavors. Nice place along the Riverwalk for dinner. Outdoor seating is nice without a lot of foot traffic due to location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent duck confit in duck crepes; creative to use a corn crepe. Lightly breaded oysters in oyster tacos; the oysters weren't overwhelmed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was delicious and our waiter was outstanding. All in all we loved the brunch and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food. The patio was beautiful. Just the southwest/Tex Mex experience we were looking for in San Antonio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time I've sat inside at Acenar. I would not choose inside seating again -- way too loud! I'll wait for warmer weather and sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good food; great price; friendly, attentive service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful lunch be the river- many food options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

In all fairness there was huge event in the city and it was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Crazy busy that seemed to overwhelm staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food is delicious; make sure before you order the margarita special to ask the price! We were surprised when we got our check. I do love the entomatadas though - worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Holiday

Service was slow and unapologetic

Tourist trap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very good TexMex food. They were busy but service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food and Service were great. They sat us in a very large room to the right of the host/hostess stand. It was like a big banquet hall - bright lights, cafeteria chairs, no ambiance at all. No atmosphere. We were not impressed at all. We have been to this restaurant before and were always seated in areas that were well lit and comfortable. This huge room with glaring lights at dinner time did not impress us at all. The next time we come here, we will be sure to request seating anyplace else and not in this room.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Enjoyed most of the food, however service was very poor. Black beans were very bland. Questionable if we'll go back. Too many other good restaurants to choose from with much better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Eaten here probably 10 times and thought best river walk Texmex location. Service and food was far below usual this evening. Next river walk dining experience for texmex I will try another location and suggest others to look elsewhere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food and atmosphere at Acenar were excellent. We were seated at an outdoor table right against the Riverwalk railing. The view was lovely. Our waiter was extremely helpful and attentive, and the food was excellent. I had the pan seared fish covered with olive oil, tomatoes, capers, and olives. My daughter really enjoyed her tortilla soup. Best of all, they were more than willing to cater to my 4 year old granddaughter's needs who has multiple food allergies. I highly recommend this restaurant. It's a particularly good place to go if you're attending an event at the Majestic Theater.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Margaritas were good, food was average and service was VERY slow; however, bartender recognized the wait and comped a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to dine when we are looking for a special night out. The food and drinks are always outstanding and overlooking the Riverwalk seals the deal. This is the first place we recommend to out-of-town guests, or those looking for a special place to eat!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The restaurant ambiance was great, the staff was very pleasant, the drinks were great and the food was amazing. The entire experience was great. I would totally recommend this restaurant for any occasion. I loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The upstairs had an greasy food smell.

aisles too narrow

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.