About Ácenar

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poquito De Todo
Crepes De Huitlacoche
Chefs Choice - Gorditas
Carne Puerco Con Chile Cascabal
Grilled Shrimp Tacos
Enchiladas Verdes
Molecajete  De Guacamole Served With Housemade Tostadas
Tuna Margarita
Acenar Hand-Shaken Margarita
Blue Crab Tacos
Melon Mojito
Chips and Salsa
Tacos
fish tacos

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
1 More
Scenic View
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for outdoor dining (79)
good for groups (51)
scenic view (50)
See All
fit for foodies (37)
special occasion (37)
great for lunch (35)
hot spot (30)
romantic (28)
neighborhood gem (21)
kid-friendly (21)
vibrant bar scene (17)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (9)
notable wine list (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Unfortunately we had to wait for about 1 ...

Dined 3 days ago

Unfortunately we had to wait for about 10 minutes for them to put the tables together. They weren't ready for us.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The food and environment was average. No ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food and environment was average. Nothing special here

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service5

Food was tasty but over priced for quali ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was tasty but over priced for quality. Being on the Riverwalk, the patio was kinda grimmy. Service was excellent.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was ok. Very touristy. Dessert crep ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Food was ok. Very touristy. Dessert crepes were pretty bad. There are better places to spend your money.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Have been to Acenar in the past however, ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Have been to Acenar in the past however, this visit was very disappointing. Waited over 20 minutes for waiter to come and take our order, water glass sat empty for 15 min before a refill was offered and when meals finally arrived, I received the wrong dish. They did remake the correct dish that I ordered (chicken mole) but when it arrived it was a very dry piece of chicken with a sauce poured over it that did not have a good taste at all. They were not busy so I'm not sure why the lack of service or food quality, would not recommend based on my this experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was not as good as we had had in ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was not as good as we had had in the past. It was very slow and the waiter seems to forget we were there. The food was ok. Had had better before. Did not know that we were not checked in via Open Table until open table asked why we were not there.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

If I could have gotten my check after 15 ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

If I could have gotten my check after 15 minutes of terrible service, I would have left then. Instead, it took 25. Terrible mixed drink (Jalapeno Margarita with odd, poorly balanced flavors overwhelmed by salt). We were given a baked cheese appetizer, with no plates, no silverware, and no tortillas, and left to stare at it with no service for another ten minutes. The best part? The bill I was given had full price not only for the undrinkable margarita and inedible cheese, but also for the entrees we were cancelling. Not a single apology, inquiry into what was wrong, or any smallest sign in caring about our business or satisfaction. Order from a vending machine before dining here.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We really enjoyed our Father's Day dinne ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our Father's Day dinner at Acenar. The food was tasty, margaritas reasonably priced, and the decor was vibrant and interesting. This place is definitely kid friendly, so don't go here expecting a quiet, romantic dinner. We would definitely return!

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Excellent margaritas, food was very good ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent margaritas, food was very good. The duck crepes were terrific! The waiter seemed distracted. He wasn't overly helpful with the menu, had to be prompted to bring another drink and didn't even offer dessert...we may or may not have wanted one, but didn't even know what they had. I don't know if he just had an off day or if this reflects their service in general.

food3
ambience2
service4

Acenar was recommended by staff at our h ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Acenar was recommended by staff at our hotel. Menu looked good so we made a reservation. Food was good but somewhat disappointing. Atmosphere left a lot to be desired

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere and the food. We ma ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and the food. We made reservation online, but still had to wait a bit in the bar. It was very nice, great decor. We got a table outside after about 15 min. There were fans and a nice breeze by the river walk. Great food- recommend the Duck crepes, shrimp and crab enchiladas, the skewers were excellent, too. Very good variety in menu. An eclectic take on Tex-mex.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Because we live in San Diego we are part ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Because we live in San Diego we are particular about Mexican food. This place was near our hotel so we tried it for dinner. My husband tried the braised goat at our servers suggestion. He really thought it was excellent. My crab tacos were pretty good but the sides were lackluster. A little more spice would be welcome. All in all it was acceptable but not exceptional by any stretch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Fine dining Mexican-food experience

Dined on June 5, 2016

I definitely am glad that I went out on a branch and booked a spot for Acenar. I knew that I enjoyed Mexican food but this took it to the next level. The ambiance was bar-none, the food was superb, and the atmosphere was stunning. A great evening spent in good company. This is a restaurant that you don't want to miss!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

poor management

Dined on May 31, 2016

We had eaten at this restaurant several times before and enjoyed it. This time we had a reservation since we were going to a show. We were seated upstairs in what I guess is an overflow area, along with 3 other groups. The first thing we noticed was that our table, and at least one other, was sticky and needed cleaning. Our wait service was tasked to one of the bartenders, who had to start with all 4 groups at the same time. It took 20 minutes before anyone had a drink. It took 30 minutes to get chips and water . Our waiter was trying his best, but the task was too much. He needed help. Other waiters were standing around downstairs, but no one came to help him. We asked to see the manager, but he never showed up. This was a poor way to treat any customer, much less those with reservations. I don't know if we'll bother returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant!

Dined on May 31, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants during our stay. Stephen our waiter was very attentive and knowledgable of the menu. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Steady and fun

Dined on May 30, 2016

We were able to walk in at 6:45 for our 7:30 reservation and snag a table for 2 overlooking the river during a 2-night visit over Memorial Day weekend. This isn't a Michelin 4-star restaurant, but the food is solid and the service attentive. The drinks are strong and tasty and dishes are a bit on the heavy side, with butter and cream plentiful. But the dishes were decent and the food comes out quick and hot. The guacamole was made table side and was huge and just right. The short rib tacos were excellent and the crab tacos were good, but, again, a bit on the overly-indulgent side, smothered in butter and oil. The food is priced just right. In the end, this is a solid restaurant for families and big parties and I would recommend Acenar for a fun night out.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3

Our server was not very personable we ha ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Our server was not very personable we had a large table of 9 we all tried to have fun with him we were with a relatively famous rock band who just played river city rockfest! The food was good and the ambiance was fabulous

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service at a great price

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our entire experience was pleasant. Seated quickly at a nice indoor table with outdoor view. Menu selection was amazing. Presentation and flavor of foods were exceptionally eye catching and enjoyable. We had enchiladas; shrimp and crab and chicken mole. Deliciously different from any place in town. Perfect serving sizes allowed room for our delicious dessert. We shared the cinnamon crepe with ice cream! Awesome! Great server too! We'll be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service3

Food was good but the Air Conditioning w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was good but the Air Conditioning was horrible. Not very appetizing to eat while you sweat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and spectacular river views

Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a great meal. My wife had the chipotle chicken which was interestingly not as flavorful as the one she had at Rosario's (which is a sister restaurant ) I had the flank steak which was very good. We sat out on the river walk and although the seating is above the river it was very nice at night with the lights from the surrounding buildings was very nice. Our server was very attentive. Eventhough it rained a little, we were still covered under the porches and it was very comfortable. Great overall ambience and the food was great for the price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is nice and the service is exc ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The place is nice and the service is excellent. However, the meat I ordered was "carne asada" and it was not as good as it sounds. Other than that, everything else we ordered was perfect and the servers were really nice to us. We did not have the opportunity to sit outside with the pretty view they have of the river because it was a rainy day, but inside it was so warm and perfect for an excellent breakfast with my wife. Overall we enjoy the experience at this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Table for eight was in a very noisy part ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Table for eight was in a very noisy part of the restaurant, but the food was very good and service was good. We have been to this restaurant before and were happy with our dining experience then as well. We were given the option of dining outside, which would have been very pleasant, but rain changes prevented that.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Even with a reservation you need to chec ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Even with a reservation you need to check on your table, particularly if you want ouside. Good food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience1
service3

Food and service were acceptable, but my ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food and service were acceptable, but my party of two was seated in a dark, low-ceiling back room where the noise level was unpleasant. A large raucous party caused everyone else to have to shout in order to be heard above their noise. I will go back, but will ask to be seated elsewhere.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We eat here before every Broadway show.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, I love the entomatadas. We are never disappointed with the quality of the unique food items.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall experience was great. It has a classy feel at good prices for special occasions. Where we sat it was a bit busy as far as the amount of people and how close they were to us, not sure if it would be ideal for a romantic, intimate date for two.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Very enjoyable dinner!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner!

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Ridiculous tables

Dined on May 7, 2016

Outdoor tables so ridiculously small they don't even hold your entire plate. Service mediocre, no dessert offered, food mediocre, veggie enchilada, yuck, should have known. Margaritas were good. Don't waste money on table service quacamole, it was mostly large chunks of onion. But seriously, the table size was insane and we didn't even order appetizers. They would NOT have fit in the table.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5

Our server- layoff

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server- layoff

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always good

Dined on May 7, 2016

Every time I visit San Antonio I try to eat here and I've never been disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

It was very loud in the dinner room area ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

It was very loud in the dinner room area, tables were very close to each other, we heard the table next to us their whole conversation. The service was great, the food was was a bit salty, also it was warm inside the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very memorable date spot

Dined on May 6, 2016

My girlfriend and I ate on the patio. The food and atmosphere was excellent. Service was quick and friendly. Great spot on the riverwalk for a quick, casual, romantic dinner. I'm sure we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 4, 2016

I took my boyfriend for his birthday. We always eat at Acenar when we have tickets to The Majestic. They have a good menu selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out-of-towner

Dined on May 1, 2016

First look at the menu and we asked the waiter for one of everything! It was great! We settled on a seafood enchilada that was the best ever! We sat outside on the patio... the kids fed the birds tortilla chips while we waited for our food. After dinner we had the tres leches that was to die for! I just wished we lived in San Antonio, so we could go here all the time!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Talk to the wait staff and go with their ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Talk to the wait staff and go with their suggestions. It's a great menu and they are knowledgable. Chile Rellano and the pork dish were out of this world good.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. Ernest was ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was outstanding. Ernest was our server and he was totally charming, from the time we walked in the door to when he wished us good-bye. He took fantastic care of us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent for SA Riverwalk standards...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Pretty restaurant with good food. Service staff friendly and good, but the waiter messed up our drink order two times in a row. He was present, and food and drinks came out in a timely manner, so overall was a good experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot in SAT

Dined on April 28, 2016

The staff were very accommodating and the food was great. The bar was fun also.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overlooking the Riverwalk

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

A nice Spring evening overlooking the Riverwalk. From the time my group walked in, the staff made us feel welcome. We had a group of seven and later eight, we were seated outside and taken care like I would normally expect from a high-end restaurant. Will definitely make this a regular.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Don't even bother to reserve here - Never Again!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Made a reservation two weeks in advance and asked for a booth inside and noted it was a 13th wedding anniversary celebration. Confirmed it a week before and STILL received a call the day of to "confirm the reservation". I confirmed the reservation for the second time and again requested the booth on the inside. The snarky girl stated they would, "see what they could do." Upon arrival, the hostess was completely clueless and looked like she would rather be anywhere but there. No booth ready and none available, no mention of our celebration. Had to settle sitting at a four top table at the very front entrance. We were dining with friends from out of town, so I didn't mention anything or complain. I even pointedly said goodbye to the hostess as we left and she looked like she was taken aback and miserable. I felt the food was very mediocre and the price of 110.00 for sub-par food was not justified. Never again."

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.