About Ácenar

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Casual (24)
Waterfront (24)
See All
Scenic View (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Authentic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Fun (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Spicy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Romantic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (5)
Tapas (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort by
S
1633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

always love dining at Acenar when in San Antonio! Most authentic of all the Riverwalk restaurants!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Great Beer, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

We are from denver Co and this has been our second experience here. The food and staff were superb. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food we had at Acenar was delicious! We tried the Queso Flameado appetizer, which was melty, spicy goodness. Our entrees were very generous portions - the Arrachera Skirt Steak was enough to feed 2 people, but sure enough we had also ordered the Carnitas Pork Strips and went way overboard! (There should be an advisory that sharing is encouraged.) Try the Mango Habanero Margarita - just enough heat, just enough sweet. Our waiter was very attentive, the decor was bright and lively. The only drawback to the evening was that the acoustics discouraged quiet conversations, but we were really too busy eating! Will recommend Acenar to anyone wanting a different San Antonio TexMex experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Fabulous dinner on River walk, with lively Mariachi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great location. Food was very good but drinks were not impressive at all. Terrible value for that 11 dollar margarita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Our food was fresh and delicious. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2017

A real gem by the San Antonio River Walk. Offers both conventional familiar Mexican dishes and chef’s specialties that demonstrate high level culinary talent. We had huachinango fish served two ways and steamed Texas goat, both stunning dishes. Began with cactus mushroom (huitlacoche) crepes that began the experience with a bang. Outstanding creative cocktails too. Lovely outdoor indoor or bar service. Can’t wait to go again and hope to get Gilbert as a server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Spicy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Good food and drinks. Patio area is nice if the weather is not too hot. You will see the Riverboats and tourists as they go by below. Handshake Margarita made with fresh squeezed lime juice is very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Food was authentic Mexican. The quesadillas were just like I used to eat as a kid at La Posta in Saltillo. The portions were large and tortillas hand made. If you like Mexican food, don’t pass up Acenar!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Food is terrific and service is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great food and atmosphere as always. We come here at least once a year for special occasions when we are visiting San Antonio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

we made reservation and still pent 30 minutes waiting for the table.
Sad that they charged for my birthday cake . could have gone anywhere else where they would offer better food and a free small dessert.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Celebrated my Granddaughter's up coming 14th Birthday with dinner where I surprised her with tickets to the King and I play at the Majestic Theatre. Our waiter, David, was extremely courteous, joyful and was quite knowledgeable/helpful in helping us with the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Wonderful location with great outdoor seating area on the river walk. Food is excellent and not too expensive. Service could be better: had to constantly ask for tea and water refills; restaurant has the practice of having staff who are not your waiter bring the food, so they have to ask each person what they ordered.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Our experience with Acenar was great except the restaurant did not have the reservation I made two weeks prior through OpenTable. It was embarrassing as our friends watched as the host said you do not have a reservation. This, especially, since I received two emails, one from Open Table the morning of the reservation. That said, this is the first time this has occurred to me using Open Table system.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Acenar is a real treat! I discovered it several years ago on a trip to San Antonio, and now I make sure to stop by at least once on every trip that I make there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2017

I’ve been going to Acenar and have entertained out of town customers throughout the years. Unfortunately, the food quality was very disappointing on my
last visit. I ordered the carnitas. They tasted as if they’d been fried in oil. The additional items on the plate were also very disappointing. A cenar has great outdoor patio on the river, but I felt that the food had gone the way of so many other river walk tourist traps. Very disappointed and i doubt that I will ever recommend or go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 17, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our second visit to Ácenar very much. The service was excellent, the food was good and our table outside was overlooking the riverwalk. She loves the coconut margarita and I enjoy the ice cold cantarito!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, great service! Food was delicious and very unique! Very nice decor and loved the outside dining availability! Highly recommend to those celebrating or dating!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Incredible food and menu. Wish their service was a little more timely - friendly staff but we waited repeatedly for ordering, drinks, food and follow up on requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 11, 2017

This was one of the best Mexican restaurants we experienced in San Antonio and we ate Mexican at least twice a day for five days. The menu is quite varied and the only place I found that had Cabrito and it was very good. The watermelon margaritas were exceptional. Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great ambience on the terrace.
Fish veracruzana was very good. Chicken breast with mole sauce was awful.
Waiter was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We booked a reservation, asking for a quiet table. We were seated next to a family with two screaming kids (toddler-ish). Several tables were empty. A waiter barked at us that we couldn't sit at any of them. I complained to the hostess, who provided no solution, so we left. Very unpleasant place, unprofessional staff. I cannot, under any circumstances, imagine returning.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great location, fantastic service, high quality food. We were very lucky to be able to have a table overlooking the waterway - a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent service and food. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and passionate about the cuisine.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I really wanted to like this restaurant. Especially because I personally picked it for our group of 11, including a birthday boy and out of town guests who had never experienced the river walk. Sadly, the food was just okay. We actually sent back two dishes and I wanted to send mine back but I was too disappointed to even try. The dishes we sent back did improve when returned but why would we need to send that many dishes back? In the midst of trying to show off our fair city?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We were sat next to 2 separate families of screaming and running around children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food and service was good, it's hard to have mind blowing Mexican food in SA as there are so many places offering. Still I would recommend this place, nice decor and by the river walk

Tags: Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Not our first time here and certainly won’t be our last. Best Mexican restaurant in San Antonio. The cabrito is to die for. The other Mexican restaurant chefs come to Acenar to eat it. Great location right on the river away from the crowds. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great experience there as we were just in town for a few nights!!! They were so great about us bringing our 7 month old who cannot keep his hands off anything ( i.e. Spilled margarita that they happily replaced) and good food! Solid drinks!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Has fallen off in quality over the years. Started as a specialty, high quality option on the Riverwalk. Now it's just the same "mad market" as everything else on the riverwalk. Shame, but fine for tourist feeding.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 21, 2017

This was a return visit to Acenar after about a 2 year absence. Still doing a great job - a party of 4 shared the large combo platter and we're not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Everything was excellent. We were seated outside on the rail - so the view of the river was a bonus. The Spicy Shrimp dish was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

It's okay. Server was nice but was probably too busy to care for us properly. He disappeared for long intervals. Had to ask for water refills and waited awhile each time. My partner's food was too spicy so he asked for sour cream and we were charged $2 for it without warning. Food was nothing to write home about. Salad bland, fajitas a little burned but sweet, tres leches dry... Not particularly impressed. Requested riverview on reservation and table was ready for us on arrival, so that was good. Probably won't return. I'm surprised so many people love it, honestly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was amazingly yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We were here for the AAFP conference and I am usually responsible for the dinner reservations . I often check a couple of websites and because my friends and husband will try anything, they know the menu can be local fare or a complete surprise. ( The memory of pigs ears is still fresh, as is the whole pig head that came out on a cookie sheet). It was our first night out and we needed to try Mexican. Although the drinks took a bit of time to come out, the salsa with the chips was excellent . I thoroughly enjoyed my oyster tacos, knowing that this was something I had never seen up north. My husband enjoyed his snapper in adobo sauce and our friend had a very tasty skirt steak. I would certainly recommend this place!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Pleasant place along the river walk for mexican food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Ate at Acenar for dinner before going to a concert at the Majestic. It's a perfect location, just a block away from the theater. We had been here for drinks before but never for dinner. Had the ceviche appetizer, which is delicious. For dinner, we ordered the grilled shrimp tacos (comes with 3 tacos, beans and rice) and chile relleno (it is huge and comes with beans and rice). From the bar we tried the mojito, the margarita on the rocks and frozen margarita.
First off, they have the best beans and rice we have ever had in San Antonio! Also, they do not skimp on the alcohol in the drinks. Not too strong but not weak and watered down like some other restaurants/bars. Unlike some other places on the Riverwalk who treat you like you are a tourist whom they will never see again, Acenar staff treated us like valued customers. Lastly, their pricing is very reasonable. Overall, I would highly recommend Acenar and am looking forward to eating there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My husband and I went before going to the Majestic. Everything about this place is amazing. We had the nachos, Guacamole, Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream, and Tres Leches Cake. The presentation of the desserts made it almost too good to eat. Gilbert was our waiter. He was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Good eats as always. Had queso enchiladas and wife had great bowl of soup.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.