About Ácenar

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (48)
Scenic View (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
See All
Casual (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Authentic (24)
Fun (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Groups (21)
People Watching (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Spicy (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Live Music (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Tapas (5)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

We brought 4 out of town guests and had a wonderful time. Daniel was our server and was friendly, personable and great at explaining the menu and making recommendations to the newcomers. Each one of them was very pleased with his/her meal. Sadly, it was raining so we were not able to sit outside. Still, a great time!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent tastes and complexity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Food not so great & really not worth the high prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Get the tableside guacamole - it's very good! Location is great on the River - ask to be seated outside for best ambience. Service is a little slow - so don't go here if you're in a rush.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

We choose the restaurant to sit riverside but when we arrived for our reservation they did not have a table outside. We were sat in the basement level. Outside or upper level seating would have made a better experience. We waited about 10 min to be served. Service was marginal. We enjoyed the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good. Outdoor tables and chairs were terrible. While staff was friendly, service could've been better. Organization, timing, etc. was off. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

acenar is my go-to restaurant when I'm in San Antonio from Austin. We always eat here pre-show at The Majestic. The food is fantastic with some really unique Mexican entrees. I was with my Mom this time and she wanted fajitas so we split an order. They are fantastic- great flavor and moist. We also ordered the Queso Flameado for the first time. It was so good we didn't leave a single bit. I highly recommend the entomatadas which are my favorite entree and something I have yet to find any other restaurant. I didn't get them this time but I love them. The service was great and I am already planning on coming back in July.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great location and amazing food. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day. Food was good but not worth $35 for the buffet style brunch ( which was our only option)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere. Good food and great coctails. Would recomend to anyone looking for great mexican dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was pretty good. SERVICE Horrible!! 30 minutes for a drink. Then another 30 minutes for our order taken.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our server, Raymond, was exceptional. I asked a few questions about ingredients and recipe procedures and he knew all the answers. Service was quick but not intrusive. Perfect casual lunch & awesome Top Shelf Margarita!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great dinner after the show at the Majestic. Grandson loved it -- margaritas were great.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Acenar is our favorite restaurant on the riverwalk. The food is outstanding!

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Ideal place for the downtown theater event. My order was slightly off; however, upon telling the wait staff, the order was immediately corrected. The drinks were a bit weak, but enjoyable nonetheless. Acenar is still one of my favorite places to eat downtown and a nice place to meet my friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We came here before a play showing at the Majestic. My mom is in a wheelchair and they were able to accommodate her. The table side guacamole was tasty and fun to watch. For four people we spent $130 with tip. Two people in our group had a Margarita. We split one dessert

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great service and food. We requested patio seating and were informed there would be a wait. We were seated promptly and had a nice table near the patio. The noise level was loud and energetic. Our waiter was attentive but busy with several tables and we did wait a bit for second drinks, dessert and our check. If we had been in a hurry this would have been an issue. Overall we would recommend the food as tasty and fresh. It's a fun place to join friends or family!

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

very good food. The service used to be better. They don't seem to have enough waitstaff for the amount of guests.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 4, 2017

had reservation and was told a 20 minute wait,had to eat upstairs not happy about that.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Acenar is just one block from the Majestic Theatre and right off the RiverWalk. A great location!
The large outdoor dining area was busy, waiters and bussers moving quickly, large groups gabbing and pigeons walking about. Not the romantic spot I had hoped for.
The drinks were good. My wife loved her coconut margarita, I enjoyed the 'cantarito', served in a clay cup, a nice touch. The complimentary chips and salsa were excellent.
The appetizer was very good. The food was decent. My wife's chorizo mushrooms were served on a warm, not hot skillet. My fish tacos weren't the best I've had.
Our waiter and others brought our drinks and food promptly. Some asked if we needed anything, others kept our water glasses full, there were no issues to speak of and still, the service felt lacking. They seemed busy.
Mariachis wandered in and I bought my wife a song. That was nice. We finished our meal. I asked for the check, promptly paid a reasonable price and tip and soon we were on the show. - our visit to Acenar was good but not great.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I took a group of six others out for a business dinner and our entire party was impressed. The food was really good and affordable. My only issue was the service was a little slow at times but our waitress was really nice so it wasn't really too big of a deal. If back in San Antonio I'd definitely eat there again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The server was friendly and incredibly patient as my companion was running very late. He mad great drink and dinner suggestions when I asked. The salsa is a stand-out, the chips are tasty, and OMG my carnitas were to-die-for. Great pick for families, friends, and foodies.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The goat was excellent as were the fried oysters. We found it was important to make reservations in advance east several days in advance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The service staff could not have been nicer. we were a large group (9) and had a lot of questions. they were very patient. The sauces that cam with the free chips were very good. The oyster appetizer was excellent. The short ribs were very good. The outside table was very nice. all in all a very good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Excellent food at reasonable prices. Great sangrias!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, great service, great atmosphere! Must try the copitas lettuce wraps.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Spicy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great restaurant. Lots of gluten free options. Delicious queso, enchiladas, and drinks. Service was impeccable even with a full restaurant. Food is slightly overpriced for the portion size, but is delicious and unique.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Waited for our table even though we had a reservation so we could sit by the railing but still didn't sit by the railing. Had rellenos which are stuffed poblano peppers. They needed a bit more flavour and less of a crunchy texture.-not sure why they were crunchy at all. But it was a lively place on the River Walk so overall it was ok.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ceviche was fresh and flavorful. The chicken tinga tostadas were amazing. We had great service and will go back for sure'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Poor service and terrible food poooooooooooooooor pooooooooooooooorpooooo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Meh, nothing to write home about. Simply average. The fajitas were dry and tasted like microwave food. The service was just OK. Too touristy for me.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

A regular stop for me when downtown for Majestic and Tobin events - musicals and concerts, or other venues. Friendly, efficient service. Many excellent choices on the menu. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We go here often when visiting San Antonio. One of our favorites on the menu is the cabrito (baby goat). Incredible! Highly recommend it. We also love the outside deck seating right on the river.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great fish and chicken tacos...very fresh ingredients, excellent salsa, great service, lovely setting on the quieter part of the riverwalk.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Sharing a night with my out of town family. Ambiance and service were good. Server forgot some minor things (like tortillas) but the place was busy. Would visit Acenar again as the occasion arises.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed this restaurant on the Riverwalk and being able to dine outside. It is a contemporary variation of Tex Mex dining and unlike any o fthe other restaurants we visited on our trip to San Antonio. The food and service were both very good. I appreciated that they were able to move us to a different table, as our first location was in a very congested and busy spot right in front of the bar's waitress station. I'm sure they are trying to get in as many tables as possible, but the spot should never have had a table in the first place. But all in all, it was a pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We had dinner for my daughter in laws birthday and had 4 generations at the table. Everyone enjoyed the food and atmosphere! Fantastic in every way

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Very disappointing evening at Acenar.....service was wonderful and very attentive to our table. Wish the food followed suit. Food was just subpar for a highly regarded restaurant. At one point asked for shredded cheese for our tacos, sauce for our enchiladas (as they were very dry) and instead of rice and beans were offered a salad as a replacement and was charged for all of the above. Was hoping for much more in what is a wonderful location for a San Antonio meal occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food was excellent and servings were good sizes but the noise level was really high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great experience. Food was all good. The kids loved their meals. The waiter was outstanding.
Restaurant very accommodating when we needed to push back our reservation time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.