About Ácenar

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Casual (26)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Authentic (21)
Waterfront (20)
Scenic View (20)
Fun (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
People Watching (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Spicy (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Romantic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was excellent. We were seated outside on the rail - so the view of the river was a bonus. The Spicy Shrimp dish was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

It's okay. Server was nice but was probably too busy to care for us properly. He disappeared for long intervals. Had to ask for water refills and waited awhile each time. My partner's food was too spicy so he asked for sour cream and we were charged $2 for it without warning. Food was nothing to write home about. Salad bland, fajitas a little burned but sweet, tres leches dry... Not particularly impressed. Requested riverview on reservation and table was ready for us on arrival, so that was good. Probably won't return. I'm surprised so many people love it, honestly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was amazingly yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We were here for the AAFP conference and I am usually responsible for the dinner reservations . I often check a couple of websites and because my friends and husband will try anything, they know the menu can be local fare or a complete surprise. ( The memory of pigs ears is still fresh, as is the whole pig head that came out on a cookie sheet). It was our first night out and we needed to try Mexican. Although the drinks took a bit of time to come out, the salsa with the chips was excellent . I thoroughly enjoyed my oyster tacos, knowing that this was something I had never seen up north. My husband enjoyed his snapper in adobo sauce and our friend had a very tasty skirt steak. I would certainly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Pleasant place along the river walk for mexican food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Ate at Acenar for dinner before going to a concert at the Majestic. It's a perfect location, just a block away from the theater. We had been here for drinks before but never for dinner. Had the ceviche appetizer, which is delicious. For dinner, we ordered the grilled shrimp tacos (comes with 3 tacos, beans and rice) and chile relleno (it is huge and comes with beans and rice). From the bar we tried the mojito, the margarita on the rocks and frozen margarita.
First off, they have the best beans and rice we have ever had in San Antonio! Also, they do not skimp on the alcohol in the drinks. Not too strong but not weak and watered down like some other restaurants/bars. Unlike some other places on the Riverwalk who treat you like you are a tourist whom they will never see again, Acenar staff treated us like valued customers. Lastly, their pricing is very reasonable. Overall, I would highly recommend Acenar and am looking forward to eating there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My husband and I went before going to the Majestic. Everything about this place is amazing. We had the nachos, Guacamole, Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream, and Tres Leches Cake. The presentation of the desserts made it almost too good to eat. Gilbert was our waiter. He was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Good eats as always. Had queso enchiladas and wife had great bowl of soup.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service is always excellent. Try the guacamole - they make it at your table to your request. I haven't had a food there that I haven't enjoyed. Authentic Mexican dishes with attention to quality and flavor. This is my favorite place to take people on the Riverwalk when they visit San Antonio. This isn't a chain restaurant or a place with mediocre food. You get quality food, experience, service, and you can sit overlooking the Riverwalk.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Took friends from out of town. Food and service was great. Patio allowed a nice view of the River Walk.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was fair the drinks were fantastic. The guacamole was good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 30, 2017

It's been a number of years since I'd eaten at Acenar and remembered it as being a typical, river walk, average overpriced restaurant with marginal service. But tried it again for convenience to Majestic Theater where we were going to a concert. Was very pleasantly surprised. Food was good, service was very attentive. Ok everything on the Riverwalk it's a bit over priced compared to similar establishments in non tourist areas but not terribly so. Will d finitely return next time we're going to a concert there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We were told when we requested veggies instead of beans and rice that it would be up to the chef if he would allow it. Really weird to be told we may not be able to get what we asked for as a side replacement. Really didnt sit well with us and made the vibe weird.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Best mexican restaurant on riverwalk!!
Authentic Tex mex food!
Service is prompt and staff is very friendly:)
Will recommend..

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service was bad no refills of drinks until check was requested at the end of meal. Guacamole was awful to much lime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Mole enchiladas & the enchiladas verdes were spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Had the crab tinga tacos and oyster tacos, the entree was appetizer size at best. Was so hungry after we ate! Had to order dessert because we were still hungry. Tres Leche was a little drier than the norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Empenadas were dry. The rest of the food was good. Great service and cocktails.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Holy cow wow. It was amazing. Without a doubt a must go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wonderful service by Katie and the food was excellent with the red snapper having the flavor come out with the herbs. Glad we have made the choice to dine their out of many choices we had in the premises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Original menu inspired from multiple regions of Mexico, not just the limited local Mexican fare. Freshly made and always tasty. Well presented and appealing. Not enough strategically placed fans during the hottest part of the outdoor seating area, but always too loud (an acoustic horror like so many restaurants with too many hard surfaces that magnify and reverberate sound).

Tags: Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Was sent a nasty message regarding calling to cancel my reservation if I was not going to attend.
Yet when we got there, the place was empty. It would have been embarrassing to even mention the reservation. (I did mention it to the waiter). I did message them back stating I should get a certificate due to them assuming I had not been there when I said I would.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

So. Good. Duck crepes are amazing! Great mojitos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food great atmosphere awesome view of the Riverwalk. Price was right , you want great Mexican food in Downtown San Antonio, Acenar is the place.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We've eaten at Acenar 3-4 times. This was our 54th Wedding Anniversary dinner. My wife ordered the guacalmole-made-at-tableside & oyster tacos, both were very good. I ordered the shrimp, steak, fish shiscabobs that were disappointing. The meats tasted like they had been frozen....tough shrimp, tough steak, and "mealy" fish. The vegetables were very good, however. Our other visits here were outstanding, so this time was a little disappointing. We plan to give it another chance though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Excellent baby goat dinner but the waiter needs some training

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very disappointed in food quality and service was just awful. So surprised and bummed that food was bland and atmosphere was mediocre but worst was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Was very loud tables were on top of each other. Didn't get one of our appetizers. The one appetizer we got the guacamole was good. Our main course came out before we even barely started on the one appetizer we got. They were also out of the first two tequilas I ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fair food and load. Probably better for groups and large families.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The jicama shrimp taco appetizer was delicious! I could have had it as my dinner. The short rib tacos were great, though, too! The crab tasted off in the crab taco, but they took it off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful service, fun cocktails. Delicious meal. Our waiter was wonderfully attentive, helpful and personable

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Always very good!!! My friends from Dallas loved it. The lettuce wraps and duck tinga chalupas are always my favorite.

Tags: Tapas, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great food and delicious drinks. Service was great. The guacamole was the best I've ever tasted. Will definitely return if ever in San Antonio again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Every time that I am in San Antonio, I eat here. This is my favorite restaurant in SA. The food is amazing and full of entrees that no one else serves. They have the best salsa too. I had made a reservation but traffic coming in from Austin was awful so I called to see if I could push the reservation back and they were so accommodating. They were eager to please and held our table for when we arrived. It was really noisy this visit but it was a Saturday night. We had plenty of time to order, eat, and get to our show at The Majestic. The meal was outstanding as always and I can't wait for my next visit to SA so I can eat here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing food and even better service! The duck crepes and chicken mole both were incredible. Easy access to and great views of the River Walk, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Hostess became testy when she lead me to a table next to the kitchen entrance and I asked to be relocated! Manager had to come over and she was very accommodating! If I hadn't had a reservation we'll in advance I would have taken any seat. But I wasn't a walkin and the hostess needs some training! Otherwise this is a great place as I eat at this establishment every time I go to San Antonio. JoelE

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food was very good and the service was excellent. I just felt that the place needed a good cleaning in some areas, it was a bit dated. Very busy so that maybe the reason. I would go back if ever in San Antonio again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food good but service was not

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Go there often and enjoy every time! Our server Ernest was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Service was slow. Requested drinks three times. Waiter forgot drinks several times. Had to flag down the waiter to place the order. Put a damper on the evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.