About Ácenar

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poquito De Todo
Crepes De Huitlacoche
Chefs Choice - Gorditas
Carne Puerco Con Chile Cascabal
Grilled Shrimp Tacos
Enchiladas Verdes
Molecajete  De Guacamole Served With Housemade Tostadas
Tuna Margarita
Acenar Hand-Shaken Margarita
Blue Crab Tacos
Melon Mojito
Chips and Salsa
Tacos
fish tacos

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Good for Groups (44)
Scenic View (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Great for Lunch (29)
Kid-friendly (28)
Romantic (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Late-night Find (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was really good, but better and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was really good, but better and priced lower at their sister restaurant Rosario's. The chairs were hard, table was small. The tableside guacamole was laughable. It was mixed tableside, yes...with a fork and plastic mixing bowl. Not authentic Mexican style with a mortar and pestle, save your $13, and skip the tableside option. Nice location, right on the Riverwalk.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I have a mixed review. The restaurant wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I have a mixed review. The restaurant was vibrant and energetic, but a bit on the loud side. My husband and I started out with chips and guacamole, and the guacamole was average, as I thought it was a little bland. For our entrees I ordered the duck crepes which were super delicious and cooked very well with lots of flavor. My husband ordered the pork tacos and they were actually the worst pork tacos I've ever had (I even make better at home!). The meat was super dry and lacked flavor. I never leave a bite on my plate but I couldn't even finish the one taco I sampled. Friendly staff, fun atmosphere, but it seems like it's hot or miss on the food you order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Daniel our server was Amazing!!! He went ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Daniel our server was Amazing!!! He went beyond to make us feel welcome. The food was superb!!!

Thank You!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter, Daniel, was new but did an o ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waiter, Daniel, was new but did an outstanding job. He kept checking to make sure we were happy. Several staff members welcomed us when we arrived. The food was great. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine at Acenar every time we visit Sa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dine at Acenar every time we visit San Antonio. The last time, last weekend, was a disappointment. Service, which can be hit-or-miss, was very good this time, at least, and the jicama shrimp tacos were terrific, as always. But the duck chalupas, which are usually spectacular (at least as much as a chalupa can be) were bland and boring, even with added salsa from their salsa sampler. This isn't the first time the food hasn't been consistent, but more times than not, it's been great. We'll return, but if we get mediocre food again, we'll find another spot in San Antonio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very slow service and sloppy service. Th ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very slow service and sloppy service. The carnitas were very dried out and not flavorful/bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great service! Great food! Wonderful ex ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great service! Great food! Wonderful experience highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was quite busy when I arrived, but th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was quite busy when I arrived, but they seated me immediately even though the other person in my party had not yet arrived. So busy they had to wipe down the table before I could sit down. But the chips were wonderful, the table side prepared guacamole was fantastic (the waiter threw in an extra avocado b/c he thought the ones he had were too small). I had the citrus salad with shrimp for dinner and it was perfect, just the right amount of dressing and the 6 shrimp cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We ate there on the way to the Majestic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We ate there on the way to the Majestic Theater which is one minute away. The drinks were great, our server was outstanding and the food was worthy of an upscale Mexican restaurant. We had 3 different appetizers and each had a dinner. All were very good to excellent.

To make things even better our bill sans tip was around $75. Given everything we had that was a deal!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The whole experience there was amazing! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The whole experience there was amazing! Our waiter was amazing and attentive. The food was so delicious!! Drinks were on point!! I will definitely go back. The only thing is that it is really noises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was extremely loud. We were also sea ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was extremely loud. We were also seated in an area that had really young children.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a wonderful time! The staff was f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time! The staff was fun, food was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor seating very nice, interesting m ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outdoor seating very nice, interesting menu, good service, food good but not outstanding.

I am a serious cook and foodie so I am very particular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was required to enter my credit card i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was required to enter my credit card information to make a reservation. My party arrived on time for the reservation, but still had to wait 40 minutes for our table. I checked with the hostess about 4 times over the 40 minute wait, but she was very indifferent. Our group was comped a few appetizers for the wait. The service was fine but the food was average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had 4 girls ages 12-8 on a family vac ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had 4 girls ages 12-8 on a family vacation. The server was very friendly and the food was great. A little pricey if you're on a budget, but we are foodies and loved the variety the menu offered.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

After site seeing at The Alamo, we were ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

After site seeing at The Alamo, we were looking for a good place for good food and we found it! We were seated quickly, got drinks and appetizers in a timely fashion and food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good overall. Needs more variety on the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Good overall. Needs more variety on the Tex Mex type food. Good fish tacos!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We had apps and really enjoyed the quali ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had apps and really enjoyed the quality of the food. Service was ok but not great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The restaurant did not have our reservat ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The restaurant did not have our reservation when we arrived, which was frustrating, but we were seated fairly quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Extremely accommodating. Great service a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Extremely accommodating. Great service and very friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Mexican place on the Riverwalk! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Favorite Mexican place on the Riverwalk! Skip Mi Tierra and Casa Rio and enjoy REAL food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. It is very loud inside (espe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food. It is very loud inside (especially in back area where there are larger tables) so depending on your needs, not a good spot for intimate conversations. Service is slow, but if you're not in a hurry, then you won't notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This was mine and my husband's first tim ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was mine and my husband's first time here celebrating our 5yr anniversary and we were very dissapointed in the staff and food. When first arriving the hostess wanted to seat us right in the entrance of all the traffic and I politely asked for another seating where she then said "jokingly " that we'd have to wait till tomorrow then. I found this rude and unprofessional to say the least . When we were finally sat, our waiter came 10 min later . He didn't offer to help us with menu or suggest anything even though he knew it was our first time . He instead was focused on the people across from us and would ignore our needs. When we finally would get his attention he'd get simple things like our drink orders wrong and be in a rush to get whatever the other tables wanted. The presentation of our food was sloppy and overpriced ,not to mention the rice was undercooked. I get way better service and food at a Jalisco than I did here. Overall it's a very nice restaurant "look wise" but lacks professionalism and "authentic " delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Table of 5 outside - food was decent and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Table of 5 outside - food was decent and the service started out good but deteriorated quickly and was non existent by the end of dinner - some other diners on the patio fed the birds and OMG! It was a swarm! The wait staff did nothing to detour these diners. Also, tables were set w chips n salsa and the birds were walking all over the tables and then staff sat diners at this table! Do not go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

This was our first time to Acenar though ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first time to Acenar though we have been to the San Antonio Riverwalk several times. Acenar will be our go-to place in San Antonio from now on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hospitality! The staff was very ac ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great hospitality! The staff was very accommodating when we had to push back our reservations, our waiter was great and very attentive even though it was a busy night and we had a group of 7, and the food and drinks were also outstanding. Conveniently located next to the river walk. Would highly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the menu variety. Both our meals w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Loved the menu variety. Both our meals were superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

AC was out in the back room where they s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

AC was out in the back room where they seated all the big parties at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Far too warm in the restaurant for dinin ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Far too warm in the restaurant for dining comfortably. Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Disappointment. Best way to describe thi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Disappointment. Best way to describe this meal. I admit the menu items were a little lacking in being anything close to being desirable. I saw a photo of a dish on a website that looked delicious. That is what prompted us to drive 30 miles one way to eat supper. After reviewing the menu choices and pricing, it was clear, the photo we saw, was of course one of the costliest items on the menu. It was Kabobs. 4 of them. The price was $74.00. NO WAY. So instead I order the Beef(Fajita) tacos. They tasted terrible. I could not finish them. What ever the marinade used on the beef, taste just like the dark stuff that was served with chips, that maybe was supposed to be salsa??? This is what you get when you try to be something your not. I would not recommend them to anyone. There are way too many other choices in San Antonio.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We sat inside because it was really hot ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We sat inside because it was really hot and crowded along the river. I was disappointed because I felt like we were dining in a school cafeteria where we were seated.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

The location, ambiance and service were ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The location, ambiance and service were all good. If you're looking for true tex-mex though, this is not what you might expect. The fajitas came with the whole chicken chopped up (thigh, legs, etc) not the traditional strips of chicken breast you might expect. The tacos were just OK.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Unfortunately we had to wait for about 1 ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Unfortunately we had to wait for about 10 minutes for them to put the tables together. They weren't ready for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and environment was average. No ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food and environment was average. Nothing special here

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was tasty but over priced for quali ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was tasty but over priced for quality. Being on the Riverwalk, the patio was kinda grimmy.

Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Food was ok. Very touristy. Dessert crep ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was ok. Very touristy. Dessert crepes were pretty bad. There are better places to spend your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Have been to Acenar in the past however, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Have been to Acenar in the past however, this visit was very disappointing. Waited over 20 minutes for waiter to come and take our order, water glass sat empty for 15 min before a refill was offered and when meals finally arrived, I received the wrong dish. They did remake the correct dish that I ordered (chicken mole) but when it arrived it was a very dry piece of chicken with a sauce poured over it that did not have a good taste at all. They were not busy so I'm not sure why the lack of service or food quality, would not recommend based on my this experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was not as good as we had had in ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was not as good as we had had in the past. It was very slow and the waiter seems to forget we were there. The food was ok. Had had better before.

Did not know that we were not checked in via Open Table until open table asked why we were not there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

If I could have gotten my check after 15 ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

If I could have gotten my check after 15 minutes of terrible service, I would have left then. Instead, it took 25. Terrible mixed drink (Jalapeno Margarita with odd, poorly balanced flavors overwhelmed by salt). We were given a baked cheese appetizer, with no plates, no silverware, and no tortillas, and left to stare at it with no service for another ten minutes. The best part? The bill I was given had full price not only for the undrinkable margarita and inedible cheese, but also for the entrees we were cancelling. Not a single apology, inquiry into what was wrong, or any smallest sign in caring about our business or satisfaction. Order from a vending machine before dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We really enjoyed our Father's Day dinne ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our Father's Day dinner at Acenar. The food was tasty, margaritas reasonably priced, and the decor was vibrant and interesting. This place is definitely kid friendly, so don't go here expecting a quiet, romantic dinner. We would definitely return!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.