About Ácenar

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poquito De Todo - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Crepes De Huitlacoche - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Chefs Choice - Gorditas - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Carne Puerco Con Chile Cascabal - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Grilled Shrimp Tacos - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Enchiladas Verdes - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Molecajete  De Guacamole Served With Housemade Tostadas - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Tuna Margarita - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Acenar Hand-Shaken Margarita - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Blue Crab Tacos - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Melon Mojito - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Chips and Salsa - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Tacos - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
fish tacos - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Scenic View (26)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Waterfront (22)
Special Occasion (19)
Casual (17)
Fun (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Business Meals (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Historic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food and great margaritas. Ser ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Delicious food and great margaritas. Service was very attentive and everything you would want at a nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to San Antonio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This was our first visit to San Antonio riverwalk. We wanted a dinner place where we could sit outside by the water, which we did. I judge Mexican restaurants by their margaritas. Their hand-stirred margarita was the best I've ever tasted! The guacamole made table side was excellent. We ordered a dinner for two, "a little bit of everything", which was delicious and the leftovers lasted two more days after that. I definitely would go there again!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful. Great food, the h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. Great food, the house sangria was tart and not too sweet. Only downside was that it was a bit noisy, since everyone was inside due to unseasonably cold weather. Wonderful for my gluten free and dairy free colleague who was dining with me. Stunning service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

On quiet museum arm of famous San Antoni ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

On quiet museum arm of famous San Antonio Riverwalk, Acenar combines Tex-Mex with a modern vibe. It's away from chaotic crowds which fill the Riverwalk, and worth the slightly longer walk. We sat outside on the hanging balcony, which accounts for the quiet rating (inside noisier). We were here in late November, but colder night was helped by heat lamps.

Very attentive staff, good margaritas (we like ours more sour, so cucumber jalapeño was a winner. Shared plates and enjoyed the flavorful dishes and great ambiance. A place we'd return to when in SA again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice food and decent ambiance. Very loud ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Nice food and decent ambiance. Very loud due to concrete floor and tile walls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The waitstaff really really ran all nigh ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The waitstaff really really ran all night long. They were so definitely understaffed that two tables of the five tables in the area we were at were left uncleaned in order for them to better service the clients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

Food was subpar for the price. Service w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was subpar for the price. Service was good. Would NOT recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

We had reservations at 6:00, as we were ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had reservations at 6:00, as we were going to an event nearby at 7:45. As we entered the restaurant at 5:45, I received notification that the event had been moved up to 6:30. I asked the waiter if they could make that work. INDEED THEY DID! The food was excellent, and the service was spectacular. Kudos to all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing margaritas and delicious food. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing margaritas and delicious food. The baby goat was worth is price and so was the hand shaken margarita.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent 3 days in San Antonio around the R ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Spent 3 days in San Antonio around the Riverwalk area. This was one of our favorites. Great chips and salsa, excellent guacamole, and the food was delicious. Good sized portions and prices were on par with Riverwalk restaurants. I would go back again if ever in area.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun, Historic, Authentic, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drove to SA from Austin for concert at t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Drove to SA from Austin for concert at the Majestic theater. Acenar is only 1 block away. Turned out to ban outstanding mexican restaurant!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was seated right away since I'd made a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was seated right away since I'd made a reservation. Fabulous dinner and great service as always

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the food was outstanding. Our server Eri ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

the food was outstanding. Our server Eric was great he gave us great information about the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Very good experience. Only negative is ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very good experience. Only negative is the table we sat outside was rather small for a party of four, a little to cramped but other than that a great experience!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good restaurant on the Riverwalk. A ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very good restaurant on the Riverwalk. A nice change from heavy Tex Mex. I liked the fish options.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A good option for Mexican food near the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

A good option for Mexican food near the river walk, but away from the crowded areas. The table side guacamole was prepared to taste, and the seafood enchiladas and taco sampler plates were a nice variation. Outside tables were more crowded than inside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was excellent but we ordered ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The service was excellent but we ordered , Entomatadas, suppose to be highlight of the restaurant according to tour books, but tortilla was dry. It tastes like it was microwaved. The plate was super hot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

My favorite Mexican Food Restaurant alon ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My favorite Mexican Food Restaurant along the San Antonio Riverwalk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had tickets to the Majestic and wante ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had tickets to the Majestic and wanted to eat lunch prior to the performance. Mentioned this to our waitress and she made sure we were served with plenty of time to eat and get to the theater on time. The food was good and eating on the patio was pleasant and scenic. A good place for a nice Sunday afternoon lunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is a great place to dine ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant is a great place to dine on The Riverwalk. The food is very good and the menu offers a wide variety to choose. Although the prices are 4-5 star, the customer service is a little lacking. The staff is not very energetic, very casual and there is not a sense of urgency to be of service. The staff seldom smiled and appeared they would rather be somewhere else than in the present with the customers. Our server was very slow. Overall, it is a nice place to eat. Perhaps there should be more emphasis on customer service training.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Restaurant opens at 10:30am not 10am as ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Restaurant opens at 10:30am not 10am as Open Table says. Also, they have a limited brunch menu and the guy that was serving as hostess was rude. I do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love to dine here. The food and margarit ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Love to dine here. The food and margaritas are outstandingly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The salad and tacos we had were very goo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The salad and tacos we had were very good. We've had better Margaritas. Only one bartender was overwhelmed serving everyone. Definitely try the churros for dessert. However, we had to wait 20 minutes with reservations...and no apologies. Our salad was served- we had no silverware- no server to be seen- had to get my own silverware from an empty table. No apologies. Outside seating along river walk is nice.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The table side guacamole was great and t ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The table side guacamole was great and the crab tacos were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Read amazing reviews about the restauran ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Read amazing reviews about the restaurant &its new cuisine.....service was ok....our waiter was very pleasant,however I believe he was working a large area by himself. Overall food was good and seemed to have been cooked with fresh ingredients.My husband didn't like it at all.Ambiance/decor is modern...on the hi side.Maybe younger crowds would appreciate it much more.

P.S. fish tacos made with Tilapia.....are a 👎👎

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our third trip to Acenar and on ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was our third trip to Acenar and once again it met or exceeded our expectations. The food has always been excellent and the service is consistently top-notch. It's a great place to enjoy the ambience of the Riverwalk while enjoying great food.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lively, fun restaurant on the River Wal ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Lively, fun restaurant on the River Walk. We were out of towners, found it on internet. Great choice. Classed as TexMex, it's really well done Southwest- Mexican cuisine . Food is upscale, prices are not. Service is relaxed and efficient. Outside seating recommended . While right on The RiverWalk, it is on a less busy section and less claustrophobic than I found many RiverWalk restaurants . Highly recommended .

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Came upon this nuevo tex mex restaurant ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Came upon this nuevo tex mex restaurant along the Riverwalk downtown, it was delish! The chips & salsa are addictive. The Tuna margarita was very good. I had the oyster tacos, highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Good for Groups, Spicy, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Organic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat in San ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in San Antonio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ácenar is a San Antonio gem. Though you ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Ácenar is a San Antonio gem. Though you could get Tex-Mex at other places, the options provided at Ácenar are unique.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The staff was very friendly and we appre ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The staff was very friendly and we appreciated their honoring our request for a table by the river. We enjoyed the food. The bar experience was chaotic and he service very slow. We order fromthe bar and had to go up to remind them of the order.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

made a reservation on open table but was ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

made a reservation on open table but was then told there is an hour wait for an outside table. then they ran out of avocados at 5:30pm on a saturday evening. food was mediocre. drinks were watered down. service was very slow but friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

This was our first time and it will not ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our first time and it will not be our last. Decided on a quick dinner downtown and it couldn't have been better. She had the Mole and I had Skewers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Tex Mex, great margaritas, great a ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great Tex Mex, great margaritas, great ambiance sitting outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service at the bar. Food was excel ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service at the bar. Food was excellent - fresh and just the right size portion. Tres leches cake was wonderful. Tableside guacamole was really impressive. Only downside was server who corrected my (apparently bad) Spanish and had no real answer when I asked her to suggest a red wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Delicious tastes with a different feel t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious tastes with a different feel than usual Mexican food. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Table and chairs were dirty when we were ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Table and chairs were dirty when we were seated, table had been cleared from last occupants but not wiped down. Hostess seemed put out that we wanted it cleaned before we sat down. Staff were generally more interested in chatting with each other at entrance than service, so we waited long periods at each step of the meal. Food was okay, but nothing memorable. More like something you'd get in a suburban chain than a supposedly nicer place on the river walk. Drinks were very good, but we sat with empties for 10-15 minutes before wait staff asked if we'd like another. Overall disappointing and we wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Our experience was for appetizers and a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Our experience was for appetizers and a cocktail after a conference. It was outstanding.

The Oysters and Jicama Shrimp Tacos were incredible. We were still talking about the entire experience over breakfast the next day.

Hands-down the freshest and most delicious Margarita I have ever had on the RiverWalk.

Thank you Acenar for a wonderful experience. I will be back, with friends, next time I am in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After considering several TexMex options ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

After considering several TexMex options, the menu and overall vibe of Acenar was the most appealing. Dining on the balcony patio overlooking the Riverwalk was peaceful, yet lively. The food was tasty and unique. The service was friendly, quick, and accurate. The best overall dining experience we had during our weekend in San Antonio.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed the time . Close to the majes ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We enjoyed the time . Close to the majestic theater, great place to dine inn before the show.

Got the on line option to order flowers for special occasions.

They were able to hold my wife bouquet of flowers while we went to the show. Came back and got them later. We had a great time.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.