About Ácenar

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poquito De Todo
Crepes De Huitlacoche
Chefs Choice - Gorditas
Carne Puerco Con Chile Cascabal
Grilled Shrimp Tacos
Enchiladas Verdes
Molecajete  De Guacamole Served With Housemade Tostadas
Tuna Margarita
Acenar Hand-Shaken Margarita
Blue Crab Tacos
Melon Mojito
Chips and Salsa
Tacos
fish tacos

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Good for Groups (34)
Scenic View (30)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Kid-friendly (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Romantic (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Waterfront (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Casual (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was average at best. Service was gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was average at best. Service was great and restaurant is pretty. Just wish food was better.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I go there often. On this o ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I go there often. On this occasion it took several requests to get additional salsa and there was s long hair in our appetizer. Very unappetizing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Made Open Table reservation early evenin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Made Open Table reservation early evening before a play. Confirmed that day and arrived on time Tables were open but were told they were reserved. Hostess did not acknowledge our reservation. Offered a noisy table where everyone had to pass by. Declined and was given a table upstairs by two large groups. I will admit her attitude diminished my enjoyment of the dinner. Wait service was very good. Drinks were expensive for what you got but fine. Guacamole and salsa and chips were excellent. Ordered carnitas and a combo dinner. Food was fine but $18 entrees in a Mexican restaurant should be very good. There are many Riverwalk Restaurants that serve decent Mexican food at lesser prices. However, the fact that they took reservations made us choose Acenar as opposed to Boudros or something like Mexican Manhattan because we had to make a show. I think next time we would just get Coronas, guacamole, and a couple other appetizers in the bar which looked lively and fun. Acenar does seem to welcome large, celebrating, family groups which is nice. The setting is attractive on the Riverwalk.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We love to dine here when we are in down ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love to dine here when we are in downtown San Antonio.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The prices were $5-$6 more at the restau ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The prices were $5-$6 more at the restaurant than on their website. Wasn't happy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The service was attentive and complete; ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The service was attentive and complete; kudos to the waiter that night. The food, albeit a shared meal, was good. The noise level was high but not as severe in the high ceiling area versus the back, low ceiling seating area. Outside is nice if you can get it; host seems reluctant to seat out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

A suggestion for servers is to allow din ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A suggestion for servers is to allow diners to finish one course before the next course is served.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food came out way too fast and tasted li ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food came out way too fast and tasted like standard not great chain restaurant fare. The appetizer (queso) was horrible. We went with the melted one as we love it when done right (see, Oyamel in DC). This was greasy and barely warm. Total waste of a nice evening on the river walk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I had dinner with my sister before our c ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had dinner with my sister before our concert. The food was really good and I've been there many times and will continue to go. Staff is very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was busy but not that busy . We had ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was busy but not that busy . We had to wait on drinks for 10 minutes and when they brought out queso flamaedo they forgot tortillas and we had to wait 5 minutes for those, so the cheese got cold. Overall the food was very good but staff needs to be more attentive in these situations

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Server spilled my husband's meal on him, ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Server spilled my husband's meal on him, apologized but that was it. No manager, no comp, no discount. When we complained they finally removed his meal but then complained about having to get change. Every part of the service was incompetent. Not only that, the food wasn't that great. Both the server and the manager should find new occupations because the restaurant business isn't for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great experience!! In town with friends ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great experience!! In town with friends visiting San Antonio. Restaurant was recommended by an individual at our motel.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and our server was very frien ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and our server was very friendly and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was great - they just gave our order ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was great - they just gave our order to the table next to us - so they started over for both of us after resolving confusion - one person at each table ordered the same things. It all worked out ok!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Took business colleagues to Acenar for d ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Took business colleagues to Acenar for dinner after a long day at a trade show. Got a table on the river and truly enjoyed the view. Service was excellent and everyone enjoyed the food and drinks. Not your typical Tex-Mex fare, slightly upscale, but everyone can find something on the menu that that tastes great and satisfies! Very nice evening!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a nice meal of shrimp tacos and e ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a nice meal of shrimp tacos and enchilada verdes. Service was attentive and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was really good, but better and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was really good, but better and priced lower at their sister restaurant Rosario's. The chairs were hard, table was small. The tableside guacamole was laughable. It was mixed tableside, yes...with a fork and plastic mixing bowl. Not authentic Mexican style with a mortar and pestle, save your $13, and skip the tableside option. Nice location, right on the Riverwalk.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I have a mixed review. The restaurant wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I have a mixed review. The restaurant was vibrant and energetic, but a bit on the loud side. My husband and I started out with chips and guacamole, and the guacamole was average, as I thought it was a little bland. For our entrees I ordered the duck crepes which were super delicious and cooked very well with lots of flavor. My husband ordered the pork tacos and they were actually the worst pork tacos I've ever had (I even make better at home!). The meat was super dry and lacked flavor. I never leave a bite on my plate but I couldn't even finish the one taco I sampled. Friendly staff, fun atmosphere, but it seems like it's hot or miss on the food you order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Daniel our server was Amazing!!! He went ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Daniel our server was Amazing!!! He went beyond to make us feel welcome. The food was superb!!!

Thank You!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter, Daniel, was new but did an o ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waiter, Daniel, was new but did an outstanding job. He kept checking to make sure we were happy. Several staff members welcomed us when we arrived. The food was great. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine at Acenar every time we visit Sa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dine at Acenar every time we visit San Antonio. The last time, last weekend, was a disappointment. Service, which can be hit-or-miss, was very good this time, at least, and the jicama shrimp tacos were terrific, as always. But the duck chalupas, which are usually spectacular (at least as much as a chalupa can be) were bland and boring, even with added salsa from their salsa sampler. This isn't the first time the food hasn't been consistent, but more times than not, it's been great. We'll return, but if we get mediocre food again, we'll find another spot in San Antonio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very slow service and sloppy service. Th ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very slow service and sloppy service. The carnitas were very dried out and not flavorful/bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great service! Great food! Wonderful ex ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great service! Great food! Wonderful experience highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was quite busy when I arrived, but th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was quite busy when I arrived, but they seated me immediately even though the other person in my party had not yet arrived. So busy they had to wipe down the table before I could sit down. But the chips were wonderful, the table side prepared guacamole was fantastic (the waiter threw in an extra avocado b/c he thought the ones he had were too small). I had the citrus salad with shrimp for dinner and it was perfect, just the right amount of dressing and the 6 shrimp cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We ate there on the way to the Majestic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We ate there on the way to the Majestic Theater which is one minute away. The drinks were great, our server was outstanding and the food was worthy of an upscale Mexican restaurant. We had 3 different appetizers and each had a dinner. All were very good to excellent.

To make things even better our bill sans tip was around $75. Given everything we had that was a deal!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The whole experience there was amazing! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The whole experience there was amazing! Our waiter was amazing and attentive. The food was so delicious!! Drinks were on point!! I will definitely go back. The only thing is that it is really noises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was extremely loud. We were also sea ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was extremely loud. We were also seated in an area that had really young children.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a wonderful time! The staff was f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time! The staff was fun, food was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor seating very nice, interesting m ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outdoor seating very nice, interesting menu, good service, food good but not outstanding.

I am a serious cook and foodie so I am very particular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was required to enter my credit card i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was required to enter my credit card information to make a reservation. My party arrived on time for the reservation, but still had to wait 40 minutes for our table. I checked with the hostess about 4 times over the 40 minute wait, but she was very indifferent. Our group was comped a few appetizers for the wait. The service was fine but the food was average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had 4 girls ages 12-8 on a family vac ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had 4 girls ages 12-8 on a family vacation. The server was very friendly and the food was great. A little pricey if you're on a budget, but we are foodies and loved the variety the menu offered.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

After site seeing at The Alamo, we were ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

After site seeing at The Alamo, we were looking for a good place for good food and we found it! We were seated quickly, got drinks and appetizers in a timely fashion and food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good overall. Needs more variety on the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Good overall. Needs more variety on the Tex Mex type food. Good fish tacos!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We had apps and really enjoyed the quali ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had apps and really enjoyed the quality of the food. Service was ok but not great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The restaurant did not have our reservat ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The restaurant did not have our reservation when we arrived, which was frustrating, but we were seated fairly quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Extremely accommodating. Great service a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Extremely accommodating. Great service and very friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Mexican place on the Riverwalk! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Favorite Mexican place on the Riverwalk! Skip Mi Tierra and Casa Rio and enjoy REAL food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. It is very loud inside (espe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food. It is very loud inside (especially in back area where there are larger tables) so depending on your needs, not a good spot for intimate conversations. Service is slow, but if you're not in a hurry, then you won't notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This was mine and my husband's first tim ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was mine and my husband's first time here celebrating our 5yr anniversary and we were very dissapointed in the staff and food. When first arriving the hostess wanted to seat us right in the entrance of all the traffic and I politely asked for another seating where she then said "jokingly " that we'd have to wait till tomorrow then. I found this rude and unprofessional to say the least . When we were finally sat, our waiter came 10 min later . He didn't offer to help us with menu or suggest anything even though he knew it was our first time . He instead was focused on the people across from us and would ignore our needs. When we finally would get his attention he'd get simple things like our drink orders wrong and be in a rush to get whatever the other tables wanted. The presentation of our food was sloppy and overpriced ,not to mention the rice was undercooked. I get way better service and food at a Jalisco than I did here. Overall it's a very nice restaurant "look wise" but lacks professionalism and "authentic " delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.