About Ácenar

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poquito De Todo
Crepes De Huitlacoche
Chefs Choice - Gorditas
Carne Puerco Con Chile Cascabal
Grilled Shrimp Tacos
Enchiladas Verdes
Molecajete  De Guacamole Served With Housemade Tostadas
Tuna Margarita
Acenar Hand-Shaken Margarita
Blue Crab Tacos
Melon Mojito
Chips and Salsa
Tacos
fish tacos

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for outdoor dining (73)
good for groups (53)
scenic view (52)
See All
fit for foodies (39)
special occasion (37)
great for lunch (34)
hot spot (32)
romantic (26)
kid-friendly (24)
neighborhood gem (22)
vibrant bar scene (16)
late-night find (14)
great for brunch (9)
notable wine list (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant did not have our reservat ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant did not have our reservation when we arrived, which was frustrating, but we were seated fairly quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Extremely accommodating. Great service a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 4 days ago

Extremely accommodating. Great service and very friendly staff.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Mexican place on the Riverwalk! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Favorite Mexican place on the Riverwalk! Skip Mi Tierra and Casa Rio and enjoy REAL food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. It is very loud inside (espe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food. It is very loud inside (especially in back area where there are larger tables) so depending on your needs, not a good spot for intimate conversations. Service is slow, but if you're not in a hurry, then you won't notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This was mine and my husband's first tim ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was mine and my husband's first time here celebrating our 5yr anniversary and we were very dissapointed in the staff and food. When first arriving the hostess wanted to seat us right in the entrance of all the traffic and I politely asked for another seating where she then said "jokingly " that we'd have to wait till tomorrow then. I found this rude and unprofessional to say the least . When we were finally sat, our waiter came 10 min later . He didn't offer to help us with menu or suggest anything even though he knew it was our first time . He instead was focused on the people across from us and would ignore our needs. When we finally would get his attention he'd get simple things like our drink orders wrong and be in a rush to get whatever the other tables wanted. The presentation of our food was sloppy and overpriced ,not to mention the rice was undercooked. I get way better service and food at a Jalisco than I did here. Overall it's a very nice restaurant "look wise" but lacks professionalism and "authentic " delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Table of 5 outside - food was decent and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Table of 5 outside - food was decent and the service started out good but deteriorated quickly and was non existent by the end of dinner - some other diners on the patio fed the birds and OMG! It was a swarm! The wait staff did nothing to detour these diners. Also, tables were set w chips n salsa and the birds were walking all over the tables and then staff sat diners at this table! Do not go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

This was our first time to Acenar though ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first time to Acenar though we have been to the San Antonio Riverwalk several times. Acenar will be our go-to place in San Antonio from now on.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hospitality! The staff was very ac ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great hospitality! The staff was very accommodating when we had to push back our reservations, our waiter was great and very attentive even though it was a busy night and we had a group of 7, and the food and drinks were also outstanding. Conveniently located next to the river walk. Would highly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the menu variety. Both our meals w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Loved the menu variety. Both our meals were superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

AC was out in the back room where they s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

AC was out in the back room where they seated all the big parties at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Far too warm in the restaurant for dinin ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Far too warm in the restaurant for dining comfortably. Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Disappointment. Best way to describe thi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Disappointment. Best way to describe this meal. I admit the menu items were a little lacking in being anything close to being desirable. I saw a photo of a dish on a website that looked delicious. That is what prompted us to drive 30 miles one way to eat supper. After reviewing the menu choices and pricing, it was clear, the photo we saw, was of course one of the costliest items on the menu. It was Kabobs. 4 of them. The price was $74.00. NO WAY. So instead I order the Beef(Fajita) tacos. They tasted terrible. I could not finish them. What ever the marinade used on the beef, taste just like the dark stuff that was served with chips, that maybe was supposed to be salsa??? This is what you get when you try to be something your not. I would not recommend them to anyone. There are way too many other choices in San Antonio.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We sat inside because it was really hot ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We sat inside because it was really hot and crowded along the river. I was disappointed because I felt like we were dining in a school cafeteria where we were seated.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

The location, ambiance and service were ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The location, ambiance and service were all good. If you're looking for true tex-mex though, this is not what you might expect. The fajitas came with the whole chicken chopped up (thigh, legs, etc) not the traditional strips of chicken breast you might expect. The tacos were just OK.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Unfortunately we had to wait for about 1 ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Unfortunately we had to wait for about 10 minutes for them to put the tables together. They weren't ready for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and environment was average. No ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food and environment was average. Nothing special here

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was tasty but over priced for quali ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was tasty but over priced for quality. Being on the Riverwalk, the patio was kinda grimmy.

Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Food was ok. Very touristy. Dessert crep ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was ok. Very touristy. Dessert crepes were pretty bad. There are better places to spend your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Have been to Acenar in the past however, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Have been to Acenar in the past however, this visit was very disappointing. Waited over 20 minutes for waiter to come and take our order, water glass sat empty for 15 min before a refill was offered and when meals finally arrived, I received the wrong dish. They did remake the correct dish that I ordered (chicken mole) but when it arrived it was a very dry piece of chicken with a sauce poured over it that did not have a good taste at all. They were not busy so I'm not sure why the lack of service or food quality, would not recommend based on my this experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was not as good as we had had in ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was not as good as we had had in the past. It was very slow and the waiter seems to forget we were there. The food was ok. Had had better before.

Did not know that we were not checked in via Open Table until open table asked why we were not there.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

If I could have gotten my check after 15 ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

If I could have gotten my check after 15 minutes of terrible service, I would have left then. Instead, it took 25. Terrible mixed drink (Jalapeno Margarita with odd, poorly balanced flavors overwhelmed by salt). We were given a baked cheese appetizer, with no plates, no silverware, and no tortillas, and left to stare at it with no service for another ten minutes. The best part? The bill I was given had full price not only for the undrinkable margarita and inedible cheese, but also for the entrees we were cancelling. Not a single apology, inquiry into what was wrong, or any smallest sign in caring about our business or satisfaction. Order from a vending machine before dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We really enjoyed our Father's Day dinne ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our Father's Day dinner at Acenar. The food was tasty, margaritas reasonably priced, and the decor was vibrant and interesting. This place is definitely kid friendly, so don't go here expecting a quiet, romantic dinner. We would definitely return!

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent margaritas, food was very good ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent margaritas, food was very good. The duck crepes were terrific! The waiter seemed distracted. He wasn't overly helpful with the menu, had to be prompted to bring another drink and didn't even offer dessert...we may or may not have wanted one, but didn't even know what they had. I don't know if he just had an off day or if this reflects their service in general.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Acenar was recommended by staff at our h ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Acenar was recommended by staff at our hotel. Menu looked good so we made a reservation. Food was good but somewhat disappointing. Atmosphere left a lot to be desired

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Loved the atmosphere and the food. We ma ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and the food. We made reservation online, but still had to wait a bit in the bar. It was very nice, great decor. We got a table outside after about 15 min. There were fans and a nice breeze by the river walk. Great food- recommend the Duck crepes, shrimp and crab enchiladas, the skewers were excellent, too. Very good variety in menu. An eclectic take on Tex-mex.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because we live in San Diego we are part ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Because we live in San Diego we are particular about Mexican food. This place was near our hotel so we tried it for dinner. My husband tried the braised goat at our servers suggestion. He really thought it was excellent. My crab tacos were pretty good but the sides were lackluster. A little more spice would be welcome. All in all it was acceptable but not exceptional by any stretch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fine dining Mexican-food experience

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I definitely am glad that I went out on a branch and booked a spot for Acenar. I knew that I enjoyed Mexican food but this took it to the next level. The ambiance was bar-none, the food was superb, and the atmosphere was stunning. A great evening spent in good company. This is a restaurant that you don't want to miss!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

poor management

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We had eaten at this restaurant several times before and enjoyed it. This time we had a reservation since we were going to a show. We were seated upstairs in what I guess is an overflow area, along with 3 other groups. The first thing we noticed was that our table, and at least one other, was sticky and needed cleaning. Our wait service was tasked to one of the bartenders, who had to start with all 4 groups at the same time. It took 20 minutes before anyone had a drink. It took 30 minutes to get chips and water . Our waiter was trying his best, but the task was too much. He needed help. Other waiters were standing around downstairs, but no one came to help him. We asked to see the manager, but he never showed up. This was a poor way to treat any customer, much less those with reservations. I don't know if we'll bother returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Excellent restaurant!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants during our stay. Stephen our waiter was very attentive and knowledgable of the menu. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steady and fun

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We were able to walk in at 6:45 for our 7:30 reservation and snag a table for 2 overlooking the river during a 2-night visit over Memorial Day weekend. This isn't a Michelin 4-star restaurant, but the food is solid and the service attentive. The drinks are strong and tasty and dishes are a bit on the heavy side, with butter and cream plentiful. But the dishes were decent and the food comes out quick and hot. The guacamole was made table side and was huge and just right. The short rib tacos were excellent and the crab tacos were good, but, again, a bit on the overly-indulgent side, smothered in butter and oil. The food is priced just right.

In the end, this is a solid restaurant for families and big parties and I would recommend Acenar for a fun night out.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was not very personable we ha ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our server was not very personable we had a large table of 9 we all tried to have fun with him we were with a relatively famous rock band who just played river city rockfest! The food was good and the ambiance was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Exceptional food and service at a great price

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our entire experience was pleasant. Seated quickly at a nice indoor table with outdoor view. Menu selection was amazing. Presentation and flavor of foods were exceptionally eye catching and enjoyable. We had enchiladas; shrimp and crab and chicken mole. Deliciously different from any place in town. Perfect serving sizes allowed room for our delicious dessert. We shared the cinnamon crepe with ice cream! Awesome! Great server too! We'll be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good but the Air Conditioning w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was good but the Air Conditioning was horrible. Not very appetizing to eat while you sweat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Great food and spectacular river views

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a great meal. My wife had the chipotle chicken which was interestingly not as flavorful as the one she had at Rosario's (which is a sister restaurant ) I had the flank steak which was very good. We sat out on the river walk and although the seating is above the river it was very nice at night with the lights from the surrounding buildings was very nice. Our server was very attentive. Eventhough it rained a little, we were still covered under the porches and it was very comfortable. Great overall ambience and the food was great for the price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is nice and the service is exc ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The place is nice and the service is excellent. However, the meat I ordered was "carne asada" and it was not as good as it sounds. Other than that, everything else we ordered was perfect and the servers were really nice to us. We did not have the opportunity to sit outside with the pretty view they have of the river because it was a rainy day, but inside it was so warm and perfect for an excellent breakfast with my wife. Overall we enjoy the experience at this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Table for eight was in a very noisy part ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Table for eight was in a very noisy part of the restaurant, but the food was very good and service was good. We have been to this restaurant before and were happy with our dining experience then as well. We were given the option of dining outside, which would have been very pleasant, but rain changes prevented that.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Even with a reservation you need to chec ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Even with a reservation you need to check on your table, particularly if you want ouside. Good food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were acceptable, but my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Food and service were acceptable, but my party of two was seated in a dark, low-ceiling back room where the noise level was unpleasant. A large raucous party caused everyone else to have to shout in order to be heard above their noise. I will go back, but will ask to be seated elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

We eat here before every Broadway show.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, I love the entomatadas. We are never disappointed with the quality of the unique food items.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall experience was great. It has a classy feel at good prices for special occasions. Where we sat it was a bit busy as far as the amount of people and how close they were to us, not sure if it would be ideal for a romantic, intimate date for two.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.