About Ácenar

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
1 More
Scenic View
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for outdoor dining (91)
scenic view (69)
good for groups (56)
See All
fit for foodies (46)
special occasion (40)
hot spot (36)
romantic (33)
great for lunch (32)
neighborhood gem (23)
vibrant bar scene (20)
kid-friendly (18)
late-night find (15)
great for brunch (11)
notable wine list (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and spectacular river views

Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a great meal. My wife had the chipotle chicken which was interestingly not as flavorful as the one she had at Rosario's (which is a sister restaurant ) I had the flank steak which was very good. We sat out on the river walk and although the seating is above the river it was very nice at night with the lights from the surrounding buildings was very nice. Our server was very attentive. Eventhough it rained a little, we were still covered under the porches and it was very comfortable. Great overall ambience and the food was great for the price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is nice and the service is exc ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The place is nice and the service is excellent. However, the meat I ordered was "carne asada" and it was not as good as it sounds. Other than that, everything else we ordered was perfect and the servers were really nice to us. We did not have the opportunity to sit outside with the pretty view they have of the river because it was a rainy day, but inside it was so warm and perfect for an excellent breakfast with my wife. Overall we enjoy the experience at this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Table for eight was in a very noisy part ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Table for eight was in a very noisy part of the restaurant, but the food was very good and service was good. We have been to this restaurant before and were happy with our dining experience then as well. We were given the option of dining outside, which would have been very pleasant, but rain changes prevented that.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Even with a reservation you need to chec ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Even with a reservation you need to check on your table, particularly if you want ouside. Good food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience1
service3

Food and service were acceptable, but my ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food and service were acceptable, but my party of two was seated in a dark, low-ceiling back room where the noise level was unpleasant. A large raucous party caused everyone else to have to shout in order to be heard above their noise. I will go back, but will ask to be seated elsewhere.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We eat here before every Broadway show.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, I love the entomatadas. We are never disappointed with the quality of the unique food items.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall experience was great. It has a classy feel at good prices for special occasions. Where we sat it was a bit busy as far as the amount of people and how close they were to us, not sure if it would be ideal for a romantic, intimate date for two.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Very enjoyable dinner!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner!

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Ridiculous tables

Dined on May 7, 2016

Outdoor tables so ridiculously small they don't even hold your entire plate. Service mediocre, no dessert offered, food mediocre, veggie enchilada, yuck, should have known. Margaritas were good. Don't waste money on table service quacamole, it was mostly large chunks of onion. But seriously, the table size was insane and we didn't even order appetizers. They would NOT have fit in the table.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5

Our server- layoff

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server- layoff

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always good

Dined on May 7, 2016

Every time I visit San Antonio I try to eat here and I've never been disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

It was very loud in the dinner room area ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

It was very loud in the dinner room area, tables were very close to each other, we heard the table next to us their whole conversation. The service was great, the food was was a bit salty, also it was warm inside the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very memorable date spot

Dined on May 6, 2016

My girlfriend and I ate on the patio. The food and atmosphere was excellent. Service was quick and friendly. Great spot on the riverwalk for a quick, casual, romantic dinner. I'm sure we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 4, 2016

I took my boyfriend for his birthday. We always eat at Acenar when we have tickets to The Majestic. They have a good menu selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out-of-towner

Dined on May 1, 2016

First look at the menu and we asked the waiter for one of everything! It was great! We settled on a seafood enchilada that was the best ever! We sat outside on the patio... the kids fed the birds tortilla chips while we waited for our food. After dinner we had the tres leches that was to die for! I just wished we lived in San Antonio, so we could go here all the time!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Talk to the wait staff and go with their ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Talk to the wait staff and go with their suggestions. It's a great menu and they are knowledgable. Chile Rellano and the pork dish were out of this world good.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. Ernest was ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was outstanding. Ernest was our server and he was totally charming, from the time we walked in the door to when he wished us good-bye. He took fantastic care of us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent for SA Riverwalk standards...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Pretty restaurant with good food. Service staff friendly and good, but the waiter messed up our drink order two times in a row. He was present, and food and drinks came out in a timely manner, so overall was a good experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot in SAT

Dined on April 28, 2016

The staff were very accommodating and the food was great. The bar was fun also.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overlooking the Riverwalk

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

A nice Spring evening overlooking the Riverwalk. From the time my group walked in, the staff made us feel welcome. We had a group of seven and later eight, we were seated outside and taken care like I would normally expect from a high-end restaurant. Will definitely make this a regular.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Don't even bother to reserve here - Never Again!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Made a reservation two weeks in advance and asked for a booth inside and noted it was a 13th wedding anniversary celebration. Confirmed it a week before and STILL received a call the day of to "confirm the reservation". I confirmed the reservation for the second time and again requested the booth on the inside. The snarky girl stated they would, "see what they could do." Upon arrival, the hostess was completely clueless and looked like she would rather be anywhere but there. No booth ready and none available, no mention of our celebration. Had to settle sitting at a four top table at the very front entrance. We were dining with friends from out of town, so I didn't mention anything or complain. I even pointedly said goodbye to the hostess as we left and she looked like she was taken aback and miserable. I felt the food was very mediocre and the price of 110.00 for sub-par food was not justified. Never again."

food4
ambience4
service4

Great place- wonderful cocktails, staff ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great place- wonderful cocktails, staff and food.

food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Disappointing experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

We made a reservation for 2 people through Open Table and when we arrived we were told we would have a 30-45 minute wait. When I advised we had a reservation we were rudely told that it didn't matter if we wanted to eat there we had to wait- which we did. Once we were seated it took over 2 hours to eat. The waiter came by infrequently- when we asked for tortillas they came 30 minutes after the meal was over. Once we were done, we waited 50 minutes for the check. We sent two other staff to track down our waiter, he never materialized. I went searching the restaurant for a manager and finally found the waiter and coaxed him back with the check. There was never any apologies or acknowledgement of the problem. The food was average and the drinks were watered down from sitting somewhere for too long before getting to us. So much potential and beautiful view but the experience was not one we will repeat.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Dissapointing

Dined on April 22, 2016

I have been to Acenar previously and it was great. On this occasion I was meeting up with friends. The drinks were over priced as it was, and to be overcharged when I had not called a specific alcohol as well as line itemed for the mixer, talk about feeling fooled. My husband ordered a Margarita which the price isnt listed for small vs large was charged $22 for a margarita! NOT a great value! We were left with out a check in from our server who we couldnt find for 30 minutes and we were on a time crunch after all the nonsense for our 8pm show we had 6pm reservations. We also were sat in a corner of the restaurant which was hot and were privy to a restaurant meeting which took place at the next table not a could ambiance. Overall it was a poor experience, i spoke to the manager and he explained they were overwhelmed and did not prepare for the evening. He did take off my over detailed priced drinks but the damage was already done!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service4

Nice location on the Riverwalk. Very goo ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Nice location on the Riverwalk. Very good service. Good Mexican flavors with simple American twists. Tex-Mex, but not over the top. Very good salsa and fresh chips.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good dinner spot pre-Cornyation

Dined on April 19, 2016

Four of us had a tasty meal at Acenar prior to attending Cornyation this week. Easy & reasonable cost for valet parking at Hotel Valencia. Short walk to the Empire Theatre. Chips & salsa were good as were the fish tacos I ordered. Good service. Since we went early the noise level didn't start getting too loud until we were ready to leave. Good place to eat downtown before an event.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent margaritas and food

Dined on April 18, 2016

I was referred to this place for a dinner. When I joined a friend for lunch, she suggested the place for lunch. I discovered an incredible margarita menu and a very interesting food menu, with duck, goat and other specialties on the menu. The food did not disappoint. It was delicious. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2

Oyster appetizer was amazing!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Oyster appetizer was amazing!

food4
ambience4
service4

Short-rib and fish tacos were very good. ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Short-rib and fish tacos were very good. Fish were second to short-rib because, although very fresh, they could have been seasoned a bit more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun before Majestic

Dined on April 6, 2016

They can get you in and out in a big hurry (your choice) or you can stay for hours. Great food and fun environment. Loud but fun.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Excellent customer service in bar and di ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent customer service in bar and dining room. Food was delicious. Kabobs, duck chalupas and queso was great. Nontraditional salsa but i wasnt really a fan of it. Was a little loud when the tableside guacamole carts would come by which was fairly often but overall the ambiance on the patio was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and atmosphere

Dined on March 26, 2016

acenar was a real treat since we drove from Austin for lunch there...absolutely worth it! food was great and location was great too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Blend taste, very fatty

Dined on March 23, 2016

The service was great and friendly. Too bad that the food was not of the same quality. The meats were very fatty, and the taste was either blend or strange (the chicken). Will not go back.

food4
ambience4
service4

A little touristy but to be expected as ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

A little touristy but to be expected as on Riverwalk. But tasty food- duck crepes terrific.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good location on the Riverwalk.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Greeting waiter did not take my name for the reservation when we arrived quite early for our reservation. This ultimately resulted in finding a voice mail from the restaurant asking if we were going to show up or not upon return later than evening. I informed the staff I had a reservation and asked if he wanted my name, which he declined. There were no napkins or silverware on our table, and none appeared. I fetched silverware after about 15 minutes from another table. Salsa was good, queso dip excellent and good guacamole. Service was kinda slow. Oilcloth tablecloth had a rip where my glass rested. A sun umbrella was moved right next to my chair to provide shade for another table....it was crowding. Food was good, but overall, not someplace I would immediately recommend. Just too many stutters.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was AMAZING

Dined on March 9, 2016

This place was amazing. Best Mexican food I've ever eaten... artful! Great cocktails, best salsa... fantastic find.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Tex-Mex

Dined on March 5, 2016

The waiter (Tony) was superb. He gave us several drink and food suggestions, in detail, and not the priciest things on the menu. The food is not your usual Tex-Mex fare. Specialty dishes take front and center on the menu. The three of us ordered totally different selections and were all impressed. We could have each ordered three additional selections and would have been just as pleased. We've been many times and will continue to use this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Vibrant

Dined on February 29, 2016

An interestng take on Mexican food. Pleasant outside dining. Nice atmostphere and a vibrant feel. The food is good as is the service thought the service not so sincere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Another success at Acenar

Dined on February 28, 2016

Acenar is always a treat. This time we were a party of 6 adults and one 10 month old. Drinks are imaginative and fresh. Food is consistently good. The din of noise somehow seemed to sooth the baby and she slept through the entire meal. Made-at-the-table guacamole is a must, as is the shrimp taco plate. Fish taco plate is also delish. We've never had a miss at Acenar - always a hit. My three favorite restaurants on the river are Acenar, Biga on the Banks, and Boudro's. These are in alphabetical order.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best Tex Mex on the Riverwalk

Dined on February 28, 2016

Spent 3 weeks in town on business, and ate at all the top rated San Antonio Restaurants. This place and Luke are at the top of my list. Cutting edge Tex Mex cuisine, served with pride, at reasonable prices in a great venue on the Riverwalk. Had several awesome meals here. Don't miss the duck tostadas or the pork carnitas. Great fried oyster appetizer served on yucca chips. Excellent drinks. Maitre 'd stopped by both nights to check on our satisfaction. 5 out of 5 stars for Acenar. Pass right by the tourist places with Rio in the name, and come here if you want the best Tex Mex on the Riverwalk. No doubt about it! Can't wait to get back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.