About Ácenar

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (36)
Good for a Date (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
See All
Scenic View (29)
Good for Groups (22)
Casual (20)
Fun (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
People Watching (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Spicy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tapas (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

After theater early dinner. Sat outside on the Riverwalk and had cool breeze blowing.
Had yummy appetizers and margaritas, then Enchiladas, Fajitas etc. Followed by Tres Leches
dessert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food and excellent service. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and recommended good food and a wonderful dessert. He made sure we were served in a timely fashion, and was attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

We frequent Acenar when in town. We love the outdoor seating area. Our last visit was during Sprinf Break 2017, so many of our let downs were most likely because of the crush of people. Even though we had a 6:15 pm reservation, we had to wait 30 minutes for a table. I will say that after our wait we were given a table on the river walk.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Sat outside before crowds came for lunch. Great food. Generous portion for kids. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived 35 minutes early for our reservation and asked for a table outside and on the water. We went back to the bar and were seated for maybe 2-3 mins and the hostess said she found us a table. It was outside, but not on the water. 10 minutes later, two tables opened up on the water. Wait staff was great, food was good, just not happy with the seating arrangements.

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

We were pleasantly surprised by Acenar. Most restaurants in the river walk are just overpriced mediocre food. Acener has a very creative menu with lots of options for vegetarian and gluten free (notated right on the menu)! Their food was definitely a step up from the usual river walk tourist fare. It's located right on the river, on the less busy part, and has a huge patio. It's a short 2-3 minute walk down the river to get to the 'main drag' of the river walk. We had a wonderful experience and will be coming back and bringing friends!

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We sat on the patio next to the river walk. The patio was very dirty! The glass wall next too us overlooking the river was filthy! I realize it is a patio, but it had not been cleaned in months.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We meet our friends at Ácenar every month and enjoy sitting by the river catching up on our lives whilst enjoying our dinner and drinks. Thanks for the experience. Cheers!

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great location on the river walk. Joined for lunch and dined on outdoor patio. Chips were very nice and plentiful.

Tags: Quick Bite, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My husband and I REALLY wanted to like this place! It was convenient and the decor was very cool. But, from the very beginning the service was horrible. We are pretty easy-going people and we tried to give them every opportunity, but they continued to disappoint in this area. The hostess stand was packed and only had 2 people checking in and seating. I requested a window seat or a booth and got neither. We waited over 10 minutes for a menu, water and chips...not a good sign. We finally got our food (30 minutes), but drinks didn't come until after the food and we ordered them at the same time. Our food had to sit for over 5 minutes because no one had given us silverware. I finally had to get up and find someone. I will say that the fish tacos and shrimp tacos were wonderful. I know we came at a busy time, but there were empty tables and other people were waiting around just like us. Hopefully, they can get their service issue taken care of and then I would recommend it highly.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

the food was not fresh and disgusting. I don't recommand going there at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The outdoor patio was so quaint & cozy. The table was a little too small for 4 people & all the food & drinks but we made it work. The food was delicious! I would definitely share this gem with anyone!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food was good but service was terrible... we waited forever to order drinks and guacamole, so when the server finally asked for our order, we ordered drinks guacamole and dinner at the same time. The server acted put out that we ordered the tableside guacamole. It was my 7 year olds first time on the river walk and he was dissapointed that they made the guacamole by someone else's table because they ordered it too evidently. They gave it to us at the same time as our entrees and then we waited another 5 minutes for drinks. I would not go back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 6, 2017

A wonderful river front venue with excellent food and superb service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Loved Acenar. We all had tacos
Shrimp and oyster tacos were delicious

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Our server, Luis, was attentive and provided outstanding service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Casual, Fun, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

To start the salsa is fantastic. My favorite salsa from a restaurant. The coconut margarita was delicious. I recommend it with the spicy rim dressing. I had the chicken breast with mole sauce. The mole sauce was awesome, and the chicken was well cooked. Overall it was an excellent meal

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Very enjoyable evening meal. Great location. Nice ambiance being right on the river and just a short walk to the theatre. Solid menu with several dining options. Hand-shaken margarita was top notch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Nice meal, tasty food, good service although waiter got busy and forgot our drink refills. Patio overlooks the Riverwalk which is a nice ambience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on March 5, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner at Acenar. A little disappointed there was no beer on tap but the margaritas and entrees were very good. Would recommend this restaurant for Mexican food to anyone visiting San Antonio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, when we got to the host stand, we were offered our table in such a way that suggested that we were walking in. No matter--we were offered a choice of another table away from the entrance to the patio--but that table sat in between two large parties and, we deduced, in no server's section in particular. Service was friendly but, as a result, a bit infrequent. We told a manager at the end of the night who apologized and graciously (and unnecessarily!) comped our dessert. We would have been back anyway, but that was a thoughtful approach. Food, as always, was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Authentic food and flavors. But we didn't get napkins and forks until we asked for them with the meal. While our water was never refilled. Not enough to stop us from going back for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food was great. Server was good but food came out for 8 in 3 trips. Also, we had the food auction. "Who had this? " The place was clean and modern decor but loud. Not very relaxing but don't think it was designed for this. Fun and vibrant would seem to be the theme with quality dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very good dinner. Great location and wonderful margaritas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Acenar is great! It's always lively and the cocktails are great. The food is delicious as well. I wouldn't suggest it for a quiet conversation but it's great for friends and a good time.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place to eat when visiting San Antonio. Sat outside on the river. Wonderful margaritas. Had the chicken mole which was really good. Only downside was our waiter. He was attentive but not friendly, seemed bored with his job.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service was horrible took us almost 45 min to get out drinks then the appetizers came we ended up canceling the food order because we couldn't get a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was the second time I dined here and it was even better this time. I had the steak and grilled shrimp and it was delicious. The upstairs bar has a cool atmosphere and the bartender mixed perfect cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Made reservations for our dinner before going to the Majestic to see Billy Crystal.
We were seated immediately with the reservations.
Had the dinner for two with multiple meat entrees. Arrived sizzling. More than enough food for four. Great taste!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The only negative part of our experience is that I asked for a table on the patio both on the reservation and again when I called back to confirm the reservation. I was assured that at time of day there would be plenty of tables available but was told there could be no guarantee. When we arrived we were told there was a 20 minute wait for the patio. As I mentioned before I was told that there would be no guarantee however after having requested it twice and having had an actual reservation I would have liked to have had that request accommodated.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great Tex Mex with Asian flare. Accommodated our party of 8 really well-flavors superb.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service. Fun, vibrant location on the Riverwalk. Best guacamole I've ever tasted - I don't particularly like avocados, but I couldn't get enough of it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Would recommend the crab tinga tacos. Very nice outdoor patio and view of the river walk. Hip inside. Nice outside for a date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Live Music, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Dinner was very good. The waiter was excellent. He came back often to check up on us but not too often as to be annoying.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was lovely this visit, but I was nervous after I made the reservation because I was not able to request outdoor seating. As it turned out, there was an outdoor table available -- thank you!! -- but it would be helpful to be able to request indoor or outdoor -- or either -- if it doesn't matter.

I don't like sitting inside because it is an acoustical nightmare -- 10 people sound like 100, and you feel shattered by the time you leave.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a party of 7 women, travelled to San Antonio for a girl's weekend, and everyone of us found a great meal and drink to start off our trip. Our table was on the patio and we loved the glimpses of the river.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic as always. Love coming here every time I visit San Antonio. Everything is always on point. Never disappoints.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Live Music, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice three course meal for Valentines Day. I have eaten dinner here at other times and the food is superb and reasonable.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great service. I only have one complaint - too loud! It was very hard to have a conversation due to the poor acoustics. We have been there in off hours, and there was no problem with sound, but this last time was Friday evening, and it was uncomfortably loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Acenar is a great find on the RiverWalk. Sitting inside can be noisy - outside is a great option if the weather permits. I've tried multiple dishes off the menu and everything has been spectacular. Service is always quick and friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.