About Ácenar

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Poquito De Todo - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Crepes De Huitlacoche - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Chefs Choice - Gorditas - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Carne Puerco Con Chile Cascabal - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Grilled Shrimp Tacos - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Enchiladas Verdes - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Molecajete  De Guacamole Served With Housemade Tostadas - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Tuna Margarita - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Acenar Hand-Shaken Margarita - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Blue Crab Tacos - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Melon Mojito - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Chips and Salsa - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
Tacos - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX
fish tacos - Ácenar, San Antonio, TX

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Waterfront (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Fun (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Casual (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Authentic (11)
People Watching (11)
Romantic (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (7)
Spicy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Historic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tapas (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and atmosphere and a great lo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and atmosphere and a great location. Well worth waiting for a table, but make a reservation ahead for immediate seating!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a nice time at Acenar. We were ab ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a nice time at Acenar. We were able to sit outside, which I recommend. I thought the bar area was hopping and vibrant. I also was very happy that they were very flexible with my groups schedule, we origanally had a 7:15pm table, they were very accomodative and switched it to an 8:00pm without hesitation. Thanks Alma, minding we had an 8 top. All in all, we were pretty pleased with the entire experience from staff, food and atmosphere.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It seems every time we sit outside, we h ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

It seems every time we sit outside, we have the worst service! We were ignored by waitstaff and when one of us stood to get their attention after waiting some time, were told they would have to make some tableside quacamole and deliver some drinks, before they could even get to us! There were so many people working and no one else could help us. We went to the bar to get our first round of mArgaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a friend in from Italy and wanted ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a friend in from Italy and wanted to d something on the river. I didn't want to get directly on the river and also wanted to be away from the crowds (tourist) This was an excellent location and the food was great.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was good not great. Awesome patio and l ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Was good not great. Awesome patio and location. Lots of Tex-mex competition in the area.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, great drinks, our meal was o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food, great drinks, our meal was out very quickly! Our server was very thorough and provided great service without hovering. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We were there on a Sunday night so the c ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were there on a Sunday night so the crowd was light. Service was great but we believed the food was average

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is not a place to go for quiet dini ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is not a place to go for quiet dining. Best for the bar scene and appetizers. Dinner was average. Chicken mole and cochinita pibil were so so.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great restaurant. We loved the food. The ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great restaurant. We loved the food. The service was excellent.

Tags: , Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Making reservations was easy on Open Tab ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Making reservations was easy on Open Table. I received confirmation via email and a phone call, both very nice and professional. When we arrived, we were received with a smile and they had our table ready for us to sit down. Our waiter Matt was very professional and detailed. The food was tasty and the portions were just right. The music wasn't bad either, too bad we couldn't hear it. Looking forward in going back when the weather is tolerable to enjoy the outdoor dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Showed up early they got us checked in, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Showed up early they got us checked in, and then they forgot about us at the bar... 1.5 hrs later we get seated order the made at the table guac, then was delivered a bowl of pre made guac... but the table next to us had it made it made fresh at their table... but the food was good and we had a seat on the balcony over the riverwalk so cant complain too much... but the wait staff needs to step their game up

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Good flavors. Nice place along the River ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good flavors. Nice place along the Riverwalk for dinner. Outdoor seating is nice without a lot of foot traffic due to location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent duck confit in duck crepes; cr ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent duck confit in duck crepes; creative to use a corn crepe. Lightly breaded oysters in oyster tacos; the oysters weren't overwhelmed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and our waiter wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was delicious and our waiter was outstanding. All in all we loved the brunch and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. The patio was beautiful ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food. The patio was beautiful. Just the southwest/Tex Mex experience we were looking for in San Antonio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time I've sat inside at Acenar. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time I've sat inside at Acenar. I would not choose inside seating again -- way too loud! I'll wait for warmer weather and sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Good food; great price; friendly, attent ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good food; great price; friendly, attentive service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch be the river- many food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful lunch be the river- many food options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

In all fairness there was huge event in ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

In all fairness there was huge event in the city and it was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Crazy busy that seemed to overwhelm staf ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Crazy busy that seemed to overwhelm staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is delicious; make sure before you ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food is delicious; make sure before you order the margarita special to ask the price! We were surprised when we got our check. I do love the entomatadas though - worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Holiday Service was slow and unapologet ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Holiday

Service was slow and unapologetic

Tourist trap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Very good TexMex food. They were busy b ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very good TexMex food. They were busy but service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and Service were great. They sat u ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food and Service were great. They sat us in a very large room to the right of the host/hostess stand. It was like a big banquet hall - bright lights, cafeteria chairs, no ambiance at all. No atmosphere. We were not impressed at all. We have been to this restaurant before and were always seated in areas that were well lit and comfortable. This huge room with glaring lights at dinner time did not impress us at all. The next time we come here, we will be sure to request seating anyplace else and not in this room.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Enjoyed most of the food, however servic ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Enjoyed most of the food, however service was very poor. Black beans were very bland. Questionable if we'll go back. Too many other good restaurants to choose from with much better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Eaten here probably 10 times and thought ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Eaten here probably 10 times and thought best river walk Texmex location. Service and food was far below usual this evening. Next river walk dining experience for texmex I will try another location and suggest others to look elsewhere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food and atmosphere at Acenar were e ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food and atmosphere at Acenar were excellent. We were seated at an outdoor table right against the Riverwalk railing. The view was lovely. Our waiter was extremely helpful and attentive, and the food was excellent. I had the pan seared fish covered with olive oil, tomatoes, capers, and olives. My daughter really enjoyed her tortilla soup. Best of all, they were more than willing to cater to my 4 year old granddaughter's needs who has multiple food allergies. I highly recommend this restaurant. It's a particularly good place to go if you're attending an event at the Majestic Theater.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Margaritas were good, food was average a ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Margaritas were good, food was average and service was VERY slow; however, bartender recognized the wait and comped a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

This is one of our favorite places to di ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to dine when we are looking for a special night out. The food and drinks are always outstanding and overlooking the Riverwalk seals the deal. This is the first place we recommend to out-of-town guests, or those looking for a special place to eat!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant ambiance was great, the s ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The restaurant ambiance was great, the staff was very pleasant, the drinks were great and the food was amazing. The entire experience was great. I would totally recommend this restaurant for any occasion. I loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The upstairs had an greasy food smell. a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The upstairs had an greasy food smell.

aisles too narrow

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Solid food but not mind blowing. Nice vi ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Solid food but not mind blowing. Nice views of the Riverwalk and just off the main tourist strip which makes it a little quieter then some of the other places to dine near the Riverwalk/hotels.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Reservation for 7p didn't get seating u ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Reservation for 7p didn't get seating until 7:35p

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Nice atmosphere. Service was good but th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Service was good but they tried to hurry us along too much. Kept try's by to take plates before we were done. Roving musicians were annoying but management finally kicked them out. Any hope in the wall place has better TexMex than this. Pretty bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Not great. My margarita served up tasted ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Not great. My margarita served up tasted watered down. My chicken mole was tough, with not enough of the mole sauce to hide the dryness of the chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was terrible and food was barely ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Service was terrible and food was barely passable. Sadly, would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

this is a great break from the average T ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

this is a great break from the average TEX MEX on the riverwalk. The scene is energetic and the food is ample. The margaritas were a bit disappointing and the service was too variable during course of meal and things came out of kitchen too slowly.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious food and great margaritas. Ser ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Delicious food and great margaritas. Service was very attentive and everything you would want at a nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to San Antonio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This was our first visit to San Antonio riverwalk. We wanted a dinner place where we could sit outside by the water, which we did. I judge Mexican restaurants by their margaritas. Their hand-stirred margarita was the best I've ever tasted! The guacamole made table side was excellent. We ordered a dinner for two, "a little bit of everything", which was delicious and the leftovers lasted two more days after that. I definitely would go there again!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, , Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful. Great food, the h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. Great food, the house sangria was tart and not too sweet. Only downside was that it was a bit noisy, since everyone was inside due to unseasonably cold weather. Wonderful for my gluten free and dairy free colleague who was dining with me. Stunning service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.