About Ácenar

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Scenic View (35)
Waterfront (34)
See All
Casual (33)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Groups (24)
Fun (24)
Authentic (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (21)
People Watching (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Spicy (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Romantic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (6)
Healthy (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Cozy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and delicious drinks. Service was great. The guacamole was the best I've ever tasted. Will definitely return if ever in San Antonio again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Every time that I am in San Antonio, I eat here. This is my favorite restaurant in SA. The food is amazing and full of entrees that no one else serves. They have the best salsa too. I had made a reservation but traffic coming in from Austin was awful so I called to see if I could push the reservation back and they were so accommodating. They were eager to please and held our table for when we arrived. It was really noisy this visit but it was a Saturday night. We had plenty of time to order, eat, and get to our show at The Majestic. The meal was outstanding as always and I can't wait for my next visit to SA so I can eat here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing food and even better service! The duck crepes and chicken mole both were incredible. Easy access to and great views of the River Walk, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Hostess became testy when she lead me to a table next to the kitchen entrance and I asked to be relocated! Manager had to come over and she was very accommodating! If I hadn't had a reservation we'll in advance I would have taken any seat. But I wasn't a walkin and the hostess needs some training! Otherwise this is a great place as I eat at this establishment every time I go to San Antonio. JoelE

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food was very good and the service was excellent. I just felt that the place needed a good cleaning in some areas, it was a bit dated. Very busy so that maybe the reason. I would go back if ever in San Antonio again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food good but service was not

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Go there often and enjoy every time! Our server Ernest was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Service was slow. Requested drinks three times. Waiter forgot drinks several times. Had to flag down the waiter to place the order. Put a damper on the evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Mike works the bar and his service was awesome. He checked on us, he made great recommendations and made this a great experience. The food was good but the drinks, especially for happy hour, were even better...not watered down at all.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was good but we've had better ambiance in a Subway. Waitress was abrubt. Lady at table next to us nicely asked if there was a less spicy salsa option. Waitress said no, when they had several various other sauces on menu. We were surprised to see list of awards, as overall we were unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Hand shaken margaritas are delicious!! The meal for 2 was not good! The pieces of pork were very tough! Couldn't tell the potatoes from the meat, all the same color. Pretty expensive for Mexican!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Acenar is a personal favorite. One of the best restaurants on the riverwalk, with the patio giving a great view of the river and the boat and pedestrian traffic. Wonderful cocktails and tableside guacamole are a must! Menu is not your ordinary Mexican fare. Some wonderful surprises available. Great restaurant for the whole family!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Tableside guacamole was wonderful! Our meal was good and service excellent. It was NOT the typical tourist trap restaurant, often found on the riverwalk, with the same old menu items.. Acenar's food was great!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Disappointed in the quality of the food.The food was not hot when it arrived at our table. The table side guacamole was just okay. Food was sent back from the table beside us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Manager on Thursday night, June 22 was awesome, helping out the wait staff so that patrons were not left sitting without attention. Impressive.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was a wonderful place to celebrate a birthday and Father's Day! The service, ambiance and food could not have been better. It's nice to go to a restaurant where you can hear each other talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food at an excellent price. It was matched by outstanding customer service.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is my daughter's favorite Mexican restaurant in San Antonio. When we come to visit we try to eat here. I have always had good food, service and margaritas. It also has great outdoor seating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Authentic, Spicy, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very crowded and noisy. We sat inside because we wanted AC however the room was not very cool. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I would not recommend your restaurant for outdoor dining. The patio wasn't clean, we were set at a table cramped by a pole. The birds were aggressive and one pooped on a member of our party. The plexiglass next to our table was very dirty. So we asked to move inside. The staff was very accommodating and friendly which is the reason we stayed. The food was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

1. Told hostess my name and reservation but got a notice I was a "no show"
2. There are pigeons trying to grab food by the outdoor tables. Patrons, contrary to signs, feed them. They fly up in your face. No one from the staff asks guest to desist. Not fun.
3. Overall lack of staff control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Dirty floor, extremely noisy atmosphere with only ~75% of the main room tables occupied.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was awful. Waited for over 10 minutes after we sat down before a waiter came to our table even though the restaurant was empty on a Saturday night. I now know why though. Once waiter came, he was quite unfriendly and acted as if we were an annoyance. Food was disappointing. Definitely overpriced for what it was. Ambiance felt cheap. I would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food, service, atmosphere, overall a really good Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great atmosphere, food, and service as usual

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 8, 2017

bad: host cross, server apathetic, salsa bland, pace of meal bizarre, we got our entree 30 seconds after ordering, dessert crepe stale and served with sop spoons, poor check back by server

good: beef fajitas delicious, ice tea fresh, restaurant decor very cool

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Delicious! Jicama shrimp tacos were amazing! So we're the margaritas!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Spicy, Comfort Food, People Watching, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Sports, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 8, 2017

"This restaurant was the best restaurant I've ever been to. The Guacamole for 2 was handcrafted and it was the best guacamole that I have ever tasted. The tacos that they served there were right on---they hit the spot. The shredded meat was delightful with the slaw of carrots, cabbage and onion. The rice and beans were absolutely divine. I'd recommend this as a five star restaurant. It was worth the two hour drive, and a great place to eat before seeing a show at the majestic. ". Zoe, 9
As you can see, you've made quite the impression on my daughter! My husband and I agree, the food was wonderful, and our server was friendly and at ease, and the restaurant is beautiful and in a wonderful location. We appreciate the ability to book a reservation online and the grace in the staff response when we called to share that traffic had adjusted our timeframe.
No doubt, we'll be back!
La familia De Leon

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Healthy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food at Acenar is always on par. Absolutely try the table side guacamole. It's one of the best on the River Walk (second to Boudro's). They are great at getting people in & out, though if you have a commitment such as theatre, I recommend reservations since it's a popular spot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We love Acenar. My wife & I are middle age. The acoustics are for a younger crowd (lively!), but we love the food, service & atmosphere.

Tags: Spicy, Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We always enjoy dining at Acenar. The food is very good as is the service and you can't beat the patio view of the Riverwalk. Acenar is our go-to restaurant before a show at the Majestic Theatre.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Tableside Guac was great, everything else was OK, service was very good, general setting was good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Outstanding! Yummy authentic Mexican cuisine, well priced. We were there less than 60 mins walk in to checked out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food & drinks were great! Had a great time! Best Tuna margaritas in town!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We brought 4 out of town guests and had a wonderful time. Daniel was our server and was friendly, personable and great at explaining the menu and making recommendations to the newcomers. Each one of them was very pleased with his/her meal. Sadly, it was raining so we were not able to sit outside. Still, a great time!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent tastes and complexity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food not so great & really not worth the high prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Get the tableside guacamole - it's very good! Location is great on the River - ask to be seated outside for best ambience. Service is a little slow - so don't go here if you're in a rush.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We choose the restaurant to sit riverside but when we arrived for our reservation they did not have a table outside. We were sat in the basement level. Outside or upper level seating would have made a better experience. We waited about 10 min to be served. Service was marginal. We enjoyed the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was good. Outdoor tables and chairs were terrible. While staff was friendly, service could've been better. Organization, timing, etc. was off. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.