About Ácenar

Welcome to Ácenar Restaurant where tantalizing food, hip design and service with style await you!

Restaurateur Lisa Wong, and her business partner Pete Selig, joined forces in 2005 to launch Ácenar … one of the largest and most innovative contemporary Mexican restaurants and bars on the River Walk. Guests will enjoy a modern take on Texas regional Mexican dishes inspired by the history and heritage of these two cultures.

Her professional team, led by Executive Chef Richard Sánchez - delivers a culinary explosion of bold Latin-infused flavors. Enjoy many fine selections of Gulf fish, crab and shrimp, or piping-hot San Antonio style enchiladas, savory chiles rellenos, sizzling parrilladas, asadas and cabrito —
all made to your satisfaction.

Our multi-level spacious restaurant features floor, balcony and outdoor seating. The interior and exterior reflect colors and designs influenced by Lisa’s Mexican and Asian heritage.

146 East Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm


Bar Hours:


Fri & Saturday - 2:30pm-1:00am

Cross Street:
St. Mary's

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 222-2362

Website:
http://www.acenar.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Available Monday-Thursday 3 to 6 PM. Call for details !!

Live music varies

Catering:
Call Keith or Kathy or email keith@acenar.com or kathy@acenar.com for more information

Parking Details:
Special Valet Pricing at Hotel Valencia next door, Surface Lot, City Garages from $3.00

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Richard Sanchez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Ácenar’ offers 4 private dining areas, which can be combined for large events. Our patio overlooking the San Antonio Riverwalk being the highlight of the restaurant, while the Arriba and Abajo Rooms offer a more intimate setting. The Mezzanine converts to dining and lounge style cocktail parties.

Ácenar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Scenic View (32)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Casual (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Fun (20)
Authentic (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
People Watching (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Modern Decor (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Romantic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Spicy (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Live Music (5)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
1503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great service, great atmosphere! Must try the copitas lettuce wraps.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Spicy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant. Lots of gluten free options. Delicious queso, enchiladas, and drinks. Service was impeccable even with a full restaurant. Food is slightly overpriced for the portion size, but is delicious and unique.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Waited for our table even though we had a reservation so we could sit by the railing but still didn't sit by the railing. Had rellenos which are stuffed poblano peppers. They needed a bit more flavour and less of a crunchy texture.-not sure why they were crunchy at all. But it was a lively place on the River Walk so overall it was ok.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ceviche was fresh and flavorful. The chicken tinga tostadas were amazing. We had great service and will go back for sure'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Poor service and terrible food poooooooooooooooor pooooooooooooooorpooooo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Meh, nothing to write home about. Simply average. The fajitas were dry and tasted like microwave food. The service was just OK. Too touristy for me.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

A regular stop for me when downtown for Majestic and Tobin events - musicals and concerts, or other venues. Friendly, efficient service. Many excellent choices on the menu. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We go here often when visiting San Antonio. One of our favorites on the menu is the cabrito (baby goat). Incredible! Highly recommend it. We also love the outside deck seating right on the river.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great fish and chicken tacos...very fresh ingredients, excellent salsa, great service, lovely setting on the quieter part of the riverwalk.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Sharing a night with my out of town family. Ambiance and service were good. Server forgot some minor things (like tortillas) but the place was busy. Would visit Acenar again as the occasion arises.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We had dinner for my daughter in laws birthday and had 4 generations at the table. Everyone enjoyed the food and atmosphere! Fantastic in every way

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Very disappointing evening at Acenar.....service was wonderful and very attentive to our table. Wish the food followed suit. Food was just subpar for a highly regarded restaurant. At one point asked for shredded cheese for our tacos, sauce for our enchiladas (as they were very dry) and instead of rice and beans were offered a salad as a replacement and was charged for all of the above. Was hoping for much more in what is a wonderful location for a San Antonio meal occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food was excellent and servings were good sizes but the noise level was really high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great experience. Food was all good. The kids loved their meals. The waiter was outstanding.
Restaurant very accommodating when we needed to push back our reservation time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 24, 2017

A somewhat touristy place, like most on San Antonio's River Walk, at the far north end of The River Walk. The food was upscale Mexican, pretty good quality. The Sampler and Ceviche appetizers were very good, the house margarita not so much (the mix completely overwhelmed any tequila that might have been in it). Service was slow the night my party of six dined, and the mariachi band was intrusive, insisting on playing for our table, then pleading for tips.

Overall not a bad place to take clients you know well, probably better as a place to take family or friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 19, 2017

After theater early dinner. Sat outside on the Riverwalk and had cool breeze blowing.
Had yummy appetizers and margaritas, then Enchiladas, Fajitas etc. Followed by Tres Leches
dessert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Good food and excellent service. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and recommended good food and a wonderful dessert. He made sure we were served in a timely fashion, and was attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We frequent Acenar when in town. We love the outdoor seating area. Our last visit was during Sprinf Break 2017, so many of our let downs were most likely because of the crush of people. Even though we had a 6:15 pm reservation, we had to wait 30 minutes for a table. I will say that after our wait we were given a table on the river walk.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Sat outside before crowds came for lunch. Great food. Generous portion for kids. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We arrived 35 minutes early for our reservation and asked for a table outside and on the water. We went back to the bar and were seated for maybe 2-3 mins and the hostess said she found us a table. It was outside, but not on the water. 10 minutes later, two tables opened up on the water. Wait staff was great, food was good, just not happy with the seating arrangements.

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised by Acenar. Most restaurants in the river walk are just overpriced mediocre food. Acener has a very creative menu with lots of options for vegetarian and gluten free (notated right on the menu)! Their food was definitely a step up from the usual river walk tourist fare. It's located right on the river, on the less busy part, and has a huge patio. It's a short 2-3 minute walk down the river to get to the 'main drag' of the river walk. We had a wonderful experience and will be coming back and bringing friends!

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We sat on the patio next to the river walk. The patio was very dirty! The glass wall next too us overlooking the river was filthy! I realize it is a patio, but it had not been cleaned in months.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We meet our friends at Ácenar every month and enjoy sitting by the river catching up on our lives whilst enjoying our dinner and drinks. Thanks for the experience. Cheers!

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great location on the river walk. Joined for lunch and dined on outdoor patio. Chips were very nice and plentiful.

Tags: Quick Bite, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My husband and I REALLY wanted to like this place! It was convenient and the decor was very cool. But, from the very beginning the service was horrible. We are pretty easy-going people and we tried to give them every opportunity, but they continued to disappoint in this area. The hostess stand was packed and only had 2 people checking in and seating. I requested a window seat or a booth and got neither. We waited over 10 minutes for a menu, water and chips...not a good sign. We finally got our food (30 minutes), but drinks didn't come until after the food and we ordered them at the same time. Our food had to sit for over 5 minutes because no one had given us silverware. I finally had to get up and find someone. I will say that the fish tacos and shrimp tacos were wonderful. I know we came at a busy time, but there were empty tables and other people were waiting around just like us. Hopefully, they can get their service issue taken care of and then I would recommend it highly.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

the food was not fresh and disgusting. I don't recommand going there at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The outdoor patio was so quaint & cozy. The table was a little too small for 4 people & all the food & drinks but we made it work. The food was delicious! I would definitely share this gem with anyone!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food was good but service was terrible... we waited forever to order drinks and guacamole, so when the server finally asked for our order, we ordered drinks guacamole and dinner at the same time. The server acted put out that we ordered the tableside guacamole. It was my 7 year olds first time on the river walk and he was dissapointed that they made the guacamole by someone else's table because they ordered it too evidently. They gave it to us at the same time as our entrees and then we waited another 5 minutes for drinks. I would not go back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 6, 2017

A wonderful river front venue with excellent food and superb service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Loved Acenar. We all had tacos
Shrimp and oyster tacos were delicious

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Our server, Luis, was attentive and provided outstanding service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Casual, Fun, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

To start the salsa is fantastic. My favorite salsa from a restaurant. The coconut margarita was delicious. I recommend it with the spicy rim dressing. I had the chicken breast with mole sauce. The mole sauce was awesome, and the chicken was well cooked. Overall it was an excellent meal

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Very enjoyable evening meal. Great location. Nice ambiance being right on the river and just a short walk to the theatre. Solid menu with several dining options. Hand-shaken margarita was top notch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Nice meal, tasty food, good service although waiter got busy and forgot our drink refills. Patio overlooks the Riverwalk which is a nice ambience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on March 5, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner at Acenar. A little disappointed there was no beer on tap but the margaritas and entrees were very good. Would recommend this restaurant for Mexican food to anyone visiting San Antonio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, when we got to the host stand, we were offered our table in such a way that suggested that we were walking in. No matter--we were offered a choice of another table away from the entrance to the patio--but that table sat in between two large parties and, we deduced, in no server's section in particular. Service was friendly but, as a result, a bit infrequent. We told a manager at the end of the night who apologized and graciously (and unnecessarily!) comped our dessert. We would have been back anyway, but that was a thoughtful approach. Food, as always, was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Authentic food and flavors. But we didn't get napkins and forks until we asked for them with the meal. While our water was never refilled. Not enough to stop us from going back for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food was great. Server was good but food came out for 8 in 3 trips. Also, we had the food auction. "Who had this? " The place was clean and modern decor but loud. Not very relaxing but don't think it was designed for this. Fun and vibrant would seem to be the theme with quality dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very good dinner. Great location and wonderful margaritas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Acenar is great! It's always lively and the cocktails are great. The food is delicious as well. I wouldn't suggest it for a quiet conversation but it's great for friends and a good time.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.