Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Helen'sHelen's
(66)
$$$$
Southern | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 4 times today
Spoonbread BistroSpoonbread Bistro
(89)
$$$$
Southern | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 28 times today
Social 52Social 52
(157)
$$$$
American | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 2 times today
Pearl Raw BarPearl Raw Bar
(182)
$$$$
Seafood | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 5 times today
RowlandRowland
(309)
$$$$
American | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 6 times today
East Coast ProvisionsEast Coast Provisions
(180)
$$$$
Seafood | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 20 times today
Amour Wine BistroAmour Wine Bistro
(79)
$$$$
French | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 7 times today
Stuzzi - RichmondStuzzi - Richmond
(351)
$$$$
Italian | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 3 times today
C StreetC Street
(163)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Richmond, Richmond
Farouk’s House of IndiaFarouk’s House of India
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Indian | Richmond, Richmond
Amici Ristorante - RichmondAmici Ristorante - Richmond
(375)
$$$$
Italian | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 6 times today
Deco RistoranteDeco Ristorante
(59)
$$$$
Italian | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 4 times today
Xtra's CafeXtra's Cafe
(107)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 1 time today
The Franklin InnThe Franklin Inn
(21)
$$$$
American | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 3 times today
PostbellumPostbellum
(45)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Richmond, Richmond
Booked 17 times today

About Acacia Mid-town

2601 West Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Owners Aline and Chef Dale Reitzer continue the tradition of fine cuisine they perfected at the former location in Carytown for 10 years. We have a fine dining answer to the casual restaurant, or a casual approach to fine dining. Our menu is regional American, with an emphasis on seafood and fresh, local, top-quality products with clean flavor profiles, cooked with consideration and to perfection by the Chef.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 562-0138

Website:
http://www.acaciarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Acacia is available for your off-site party. Whether it be an intimate dinner in your home or an affair to remember, keep Acacia in mind when planning your next event so you can spend less time in the kitchen and more time enjoying the party.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and on street parking

Executive Chef:
Dale Reitzer

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining space is toward the rear of the restaurant with three walls, one of which is the glass-encased wine room, and one functional art softwall by molo. It can accommodate up to forty five guests for a seated dinner or more for a standing reception.

Your event can be tailored to suit your needs, from a simple birthday party to an elaborate wedding reception and every business meeting in between. Chef Dale Reitzer will work hard to craft a menu sure to impress and delight, departing from the run-of-the-mill catering menus you’ve seen elsewhere.

Private Party Contact:
Aline Reitzer: 8045620138x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Acacia Mid-town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Authentic (2)
See All
Good for Groups (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Romantic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the valet parking through dessert a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2016

From the valet parking through dessert and back to get the car again, it was a great evening! The waiter was good about explaining dishes when there were questions, excellent in dealing wth food allergies, and a good person to recommend wines. There were 10 in our party, and nothing threw him for a loop. Delicious meals and excellent service. Yes, we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers were the best part of the mea ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Appetizers were the best part of the meal. Entrees were more average. Wine options were good and reasonably priced. I would try again next time I'm in Richmond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Perfect evening in all aspects.

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Perfect evening in all aspects.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always.

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a special time! Thanks for all yo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always a special time! Thanks for all you do to not only make us feel welcomed, but to also do so with consistent authenticity. Your bartenders have been crafting drinks before the word craft became a part of the vernacular. When we asked for something particular in a drink, Danny was quick to pull something out of his archives of spirits knowledge. We never worry about an evening at Acacia...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy dinner at Acacia and ar ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We always enjoy dinner at Acacia and are so fortunate that it is nearby! Innovative and delicious. We love the prefix menu!! On a busy Friday evening, the noise level is energetic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Food is incredible. The Service Gre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Food is incredible. The Service Great. Great Vibe. Fresh local ingredients. Great Drinks. The place is just as good as it can get.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of my favorite places in Richmond wh ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2016

one of my favorite places in Richmond when I want a great dinner and outstanding service

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy visiting Acacia.

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We always enjoy visiting Acacia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Came in for the prix-fix wine pairing/ta ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Came in for the prix-fix wine pairing/tasting dinner. Food was delicious. Wine was good, but the pours were so small we could enjoy them. Service was mediocre since it took too long between courses. Probably won't participate again in this promotional wine/dinner again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Dined out as we were on a road trip with ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Dined out as we were on a road trip with our dog.

Great service. My duck salad was pretty good. Very good soft shell crab entree. Wife had delicious fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent fish and scallops...very fresh ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent fish and scallops...very fresh. Everything was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy Acacia and were not disa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We always enjoy Acacia and were not disappointed this time. Were delighted to see friends there, too, who seemed to enjoy their evening as much as we did. And food was terrific as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love eating at acacia, especially for ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We love eating at acacia, especially for special occasions. Food and service is always great. However Saturday the service was slow and I am not sure why. We got our drinks but it took quite a while for the waiter to get back to us to take our order. He did thank us for being patient. Food was wonderful !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was disappointed that 3 of the 4 could ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was disappointed that 3 of the 4 could not be seated even when I texted my party multiple times that I was delayed at work.

The meal was outstanding- service too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have great restaurants in Richmond no ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have great restaurants in Richmond now, but Acacia was the first and continues to be the best, hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal, attentive servers, consi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent meal, attentive servers, consistent food detail. Will eat there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently had oral surgery and was conc ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2016

I recently had oral surgery and was concerned as to what I was able to eat. I asked the waitress to explain my situation to the kitchen and they altered my meal to allow me to eat my food without any problems but still had a wonderful taste to it. Wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best crab cakes in town, the v ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Still the best crab cakes in town, the velvet soft shell crabs are impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I liked the restaurant so much I am goin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I liked the restaurant so much I am going back this week (less than a week from the last time). I have been there in the past and had forgotten how wonderful the experience was. I would highly recommend Acacia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was extraordinarily good. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was extraordinarily good. The wait staff was excellent. We had a marvelous time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious - always have a great time whe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Delicious - always have a great time when I come to acacia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our fourth visit. My veal was ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2016

This was our fourth visit. My veal was a little tough, crab cake and peach soup was good, and our guests enjoyed their meals -- crab cakes and salad with flatbread, I think. I miss the alcove because it was very quiet there. By the time we finished dinner, the place was very noisy. Disappointed from that standpoint. It was Tuesday, July 5.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered the sea scallops and the rock ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We ordered the sea scallops and the rock fish. Both dishes were good but lacked a strong flavor profile that I was expecting at this price point. Our meals were good but not great. The wine list was superb. Our server was fantastic. Love the location and the ambiance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We chose Acacia to celebrate the 70th bi ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We chose Acacia to celebrate the 70th birthday of a certain cranky old dude with some of his closest friends. Everything was perfect from the tasty pre dinner drinks in the lively bar (The Zombie will make you one of the Walking Dead) to the elegant round table in the corner to the delicious starters and main courses (the crab cakes are the best in town). And all handled so effortlessly by the well-trained sand friendly staff. It was just the right venue for a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best crab cakes! Took some friends ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The best crab cakes! Took some friends for the first time and they enjoyed it also. One of our favorite places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to dine. Excellent in all ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2016

A great place to dine. Excellent in all areas and the food is outstanding. In my opinion, it is the best place to dine in Richmond. Always consistent and always outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service impeccable. Try the peach soup and corn, beans and mushroom seasonal offering. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table was near patio and sliding doors w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Table was near patio and sliding doors were open creating a noisy environment.

food was well prepared ,but several selections on the online menu were not available. They should have been removed or listed as not available. Mixed drinks were either too small or too expensive. one or the other needs to change.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Every detail of what we ordered was divi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Every detail of what we ordered was divine!! I was disappointed that so many items were sold out (crab cakes, soft shell crabs, and grouper). I would think they would be well prepared for a Friday evening so as not to run out of these items. I ended up with monkfish which was a pleasant substitute for the grouper. The chocolate flan was amazing and the favorite dessert of our group. I was pleased with the wine menu that included a few Spanish wines including my favorite sherry! I will definitely be back for more!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality of lump crab cake was outstandi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Quality of lump crab cake was outstanding , very little to none filler used. Very flavorful scallop without any fishy odor .

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Acacia has always been one of our local ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Acacia has always been one of our local favorites--delicious, consistent meals and not too trendy or overpriced. Also love the fixed-menus weekday specials and the 1/2 bottle wine special on Tuesdays. Our latest meal was delicious, although I would not call the veal we had "veal picatta." While quite good, it was breaded and seemed much more like "veal milanese" to us. Also, the meat portion was overly plentiful. Nevertheless, Acacia is one of the few restaurants in town that we always enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Perfect evening from start to finish. Th ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Perfect evening from start to finish. The attention to detail is unsurpassed by anyone else in the greater Richmond area. The staff handled our party of seven people effortlessly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate here on a friends recommendation. Ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ate here on a friends recommendation. Our server did a good job. 1st course was the tuna ceviche which I didn't enjoy, felt like there was sugar added to it. Second course was a calamari salad which was a unique way to serve calamari, enjoyed this dish. Third course was the duck which was cooked really well. Overall I would give the food a B-. A few interesting things happened during the course of this meal though. Their service includes adding extra silverware to your table in addition to the silverware in your napkin setting. I swear we went through 8 forks over three courses. Odd and wasteful. I also gave the sever feedback that we didn't enjoy our "from the garden" potatoe vodka cocktail. It was a mixture of unique ingredients which didn't work at all and came out extremely sweet. I didnt expect anything from the feedback but after I let the server know, she as well the bartender and then a third person tasted the drink I had already drank from. The manager, I'm assuming, then came to the front of the restaurant and watched my table for some reason. Want to point out they still charged me for the drink, not that I asked for them not to, but just wanted to point out. I have the feeling the server didn't have the authority to remove the drink. The whole incident was strange. Wouldn't recommend the restaurant, better options in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

A group of four; ordered prix fixe. Foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2016

A group of four; ordered prix fixe. Food was very good but dessert (goat cheese pound cake with pineapple sorbet) so so . The sorbet was great -- cake not so. Staff very friendly. Frequently dine at this restaurant and food is always very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my guest's birthday and I had men ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was my guest's birthday and I had mentioned that on my reservation. Without mentioning it again, her dessert arrived with a lighted candle!!! Nice touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acacia MidTown is an excellent source of ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Acacia MidTown is an excellent source of quality gourmet food at reasonable (for what you get) prices. In particular, they have a fixed price menu during the week if dining early and on it, you get a choice of appetizer, entree, and dessert which has been carefully planned to give you a good total meal choice for a reasonable price. One caveat, every diner at your table must choose the fixed price choices, otherwise everyone orders a la carte. The wine selections are good and the service will be attentive but not obnoxious (I don't need someone to wipe my chin and fill my water glass after each sip). Don't be surprised if you see Hollywood actors eating there when they are filming in Richmond. It is that good.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the staff wasn't friendly. not one pers ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2016

the staff wasn't friendly. not one person smiled at me except for the gentlemen at valet. shame because the food is really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Acacia Mid-town never disappoints. We e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Acacia Mid-town never disappoints. We each had the oysters for an appetizer, my friend had them fried and I ordered the raw. Both excellent, luckily we shared. Soft shells looked amazing on my friend's plate. I knew the crab cakes to be excellent and I enjoyed them along with the cheese grits as much or more than expected. We split a dessert and each had a coffee on the patio. Altogether a lovely evening. The service was on point, we never felt rushed or that we were in need of anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've lived in Richmond for 60+ years and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I've lived in Richmond for 60+ years and I would consider our experience at Acacia in the top three dining experiences I've ever had! My soft shell crabs and my wife's crab cakes were prepared perfectly and were delicious. The service was prompt and friendly. Finished the meal off with a chocolate flan dessert and an excellent cup of coffee. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.