About Acacia Mid-town

2601 West Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Owners Aline and Chef Dale Reitzer continue the tradition of fine cuisine they perfected at the former location in Carytown for 10 years. We have a fine dining answer to the casual restaurant, or a casual approach to fine dining. Our menu is regional American, with an emphasis on seafood and fresh, local, top-quality products with clean flavor profiles, cooked with consideration and to perfection by the Chef.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 562-0138

Website:
http://www.acaciarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Acacia is available for your off-site party. Whether it be an intimate dinner in your home or an affair to remember, keep Acacia in mind when planning your next event so you can spend less time in the kitchen and more time enjoying the party.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and on street parking

Executive Chef:
Dale Reitzer

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining space is toward the rear of the restaurant with three walls, one of which is the glass-encased wine room, and one functional art softwall by molo. It can accommodate up to forty five guests for a seated dinner or more for a standing reception.

Your event can be tailored to suit your needs, from a simple birthday party to an elaborate wedding reception and every business meeting in between. Chef Dale Reitzer will work hard to craft a menu sure to impress and delight, departing from the run-of-the-mill catering menus you’ve seen elsewhere.

Private Party Contact:
Aline Reitzer: 8045620138x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Acacia Mid-town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Virginia
Fit for Foodies
Richmond
American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

fit for foodies (113)
special occasion (101)
neighborhood gem (57)
See All
romantic (40)
notable wine list (39)
good for groups (36)
hot spot (30)
vibrant bar scene (17)
great for outdoor dining (15)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Table was near patio and sliding doors w ...

Dined 3 days ago

Table was near patio and sliding doors were open creating a noisy environment. food was well prepared ,but several selections on the online menu were not available. They should have been removed or listed as not available. Mixed drinks were either too small or too expensive. one or the other needs to change.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every detail of what we ordered was divi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Every detail of what we ordered was divine!! I was disappointed that so many items were sold out (crab cakes, soft shell crabs, and grouper). I would think they would be well prepared for a Friday evening so as not to run out of these items. I ended up with monkfish which was a pleasant substitute for the grouper. The chocolate flan was amazing and the favorite dessert of our group. I was pleased with the wine menu that included a few Spanish wines including my favorite sherry! I will definitely be back for more!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Quality of lump crab cake was outstandi ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Quality of lump crab cake was outstanding , very little to none filler used. Very flavorful scallop without any fishy odor .

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect evening from start to finish. Th ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Perfect evening from start to finish. The attention to detail is unsurpassed by anyone else in the greater Richmond area. The staff handled our party of seven people effortlessly.

food3
ambience4
service3

Ate here on a friends recommendation. Ou ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Ate here on a friends recommendation. Our server did a good job. 1st course was the tuna ceviche which I didn't enjoy, felt like there was sugar added to it. Second course was a calamari salad which was a unique way to serve calamari, enjoyed this dish. Third course was the duck which was cooked really well. Overall I would give the food a B-. A few interesting things happened during the course of this meal though. Their service includes adding extra silverware to your table in addition to the silverware in your napkin setting. I swear we went through 8 forks over three courses. Odd and wasteful. I also gave the sever feedback that we didn't enjoy our "from the garden" potatoe vodka cocktail. It was a mixture of unique ingredients which didn't work at all and came out extremely sweet. I didnt expect anything from the feedback but after I let the server know, she as well the bartender and then a third person tasted the drink I had already drank from. The manager, I'm assuming, then came to the front of the restaurant and watched my table for some reason. Want to point out they still charged me for the drink, not that I asked for them not to, but just wanted to point out. I have the feeling the server didn't have the authority to remove the drink. The whole incident was strange. Wouldn't recommend the restaurant, better options in Richmond.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A group of four; ordered prix fixe. Foo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

A group of four; ordered prix fixe. Food was very good but dessert (goat cheese pound cake with pineapple sorbet) so so . The sorbet was great -- cake not so. Staff very friendly. Frequently dine at this restaurant and food is always very good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my guest's birthday and I had men ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

It was my guest's birthday and I had mentioned that on my reservation. Without mentioning it again, her dessert arrived with a lighted candle!!! Nice touch.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

the staff wasn't friendly. not one pers ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

the staff wasn't friendly. not one person smiled at me except for the gentlemen at valet. shame because the food is really good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acacia Mid-town never disappoints. We e ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Acacia Mid-town never disappoints. We each had the oysters for an appetizer, my friend had them fried and I ordered the raw. Both excellent, luckily we shared. Soft shells looked amazing on my friend's plate. I knew the crab cakes to be excellent and I enjoyed them along with the cheese grits as much or more than expected. We split a dessert and each had a coffee on the patio. Altogether a lovely evening. The service was on point, we never felt rushed or that we were in need of anything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I've lived in Richmond for 60+ years and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I've lived in Richmond for 60+ years and I would consider our experience at Acacia in the top three dining experiences I've ever had! My soft shell crabs and my wife's crab cakes were prepared perfectly and were delicious. The service was prompt and friendly. Finished the meal off with a chocolate flan dessert and an excellent cup of coffee. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

Always the best

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Always the best

food5
ambience5
service5

From the time we arrived till the end ev ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

From the time we arrived till the end everything was ON POINT! The drinks, service, food, everything was great. Our table of 14 was very satisfied without one complaint. That will tell you something when a place can make 14 people happy, DRINKS FOOD AND SERVICE.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Early evening dinner

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Good food and service. Very noisy when busy and people are talking.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food and ambiance.

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent Food and ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great For Special Occaisions

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had an excellent dining experience. Great table and timing between appetizer, salad and dinner was very appropriate - i.e. we were not rushed, but he waiter was there if we needed something. I also appreciate the restaurant not trying to kill you on drink prices like most others do. Also, they remembered it was our anniversary from the note I placed when making the reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the nonalcoholic drinks

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a group of friends coming to Richmond for an art show opening. We needed a nice place to gather afterwards to spend time together. Acacia provided us with a lovely setting and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food and timing. Waiter did forget ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Good food and timing. Waiter did forget to order one app, which we had to wait for and no apology. Good for 4, but more than that and may have to talk loudly to hear.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Was able to get a reservation on a Fri n ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Was able to get a reservation on a Fri night! Fish was excellent. Service attentive and helpful.

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 31, 2016

I was disappointed - I had heard great things about this restaurant. Service took too long (i server who seemed overwhelmed( and the fish I ordered lukewarm and i needed to have the server reheat. Salad and wine were good.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food but unreasonable rules

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was outstanding but the rules there seem unreasonable. There is a "no substitution" rule, supposedly because chef wants "control" over the plate. That makes sense. But one member of our party is allergic to wheat. They would remove the side with wheat from the entree he wanted, but they would not substitute a gluten-free one (grits), instead requiring us to pay an additional 6 dollars to get a side with his entree. I will add that the prix fix menu had the entree he wanted with the gluten free side, but he didn't want to do the prix fix because there were no gluten free appetizers or desserts on this menu. a bit unreasonable I believe.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Food, Great Service. But...

Dined on May 28, 2016

...there's a stiffness to the place, a formality, that borders on the pretentious. I'm not looking for backslapping, but I'm also not looking for a house of worship. They should lighten up a bit and let the great food set the mood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

The food , the bartender, and the ambian ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food , the bartender, and the ambiance were awesome!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best crab cake enter anywhere. Sautéed ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Best crab cake enter anywhere. Sautéed , not fried, no fillers and served with delicious cheese grits. Doesn't get any better than that!

food4
ambience4
service4

Always great

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Always great

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Soft shell crabs and crab entree superb. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Soft shell crabs and crab entree superb. Super fresh and no fillers in crab cakes. Have already recommended to many people. Surprised it wasn't packed on a wed night. It deserved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Always a delicious meal and good service

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Always a delicious meal and good service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent!

Dined on May 10, 2016

Yet another superb meal at Acacia! I can always count on Acacia to provide an excellent meal with the finest ingredients. Chef Reitzer has led the way since 1997, the year Acacia opened, with inventive cuisine featuring locally sourced purveyors. Aline Reitzer keeps the front of house held to the highest standards. With all of the fine restaurants in Richmond from which to choose Acacia still is tops!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Date night

Dined on May 8, 2016

Acacia makes potentially the best crab cakes in Richmond. Everything I have tried has been delicious and well presented. With an attentive wait staff, diners' needs and desires are rapidly satisfied. The noise level makes normal conversation difficult. Warm natured diners will rejoice finding the air conditioning works very well. For those who are more cold natured, bring a sweater or jacket . The temperature seems set for the busy wait staff rather than the diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect mother's day spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

We know Acacia for seafood and they never disappoint. We found our server knowledgeable about the offerings and present just enough. The tautog was amazing and you can always count on the scallops. Do yourself a favor and get a side of grits!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Almost perfect.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The bartender was fantastic and super friendly, I highly recommend the Unibroue if they have it on the beverage menu. The tuna ceviche was beyond amazing as was the ribeye that I had. The only down side was our waiter. He didn't introduce himself, was not friendly in the least, and he made me feel rather stupid when I tried to order our appetizers. Apparently, and unbeknownst to me, you have to order all of your apps and your main dishes the same time. It's great of the server to inform you disdainfully of such things. Other than that, it was awesome.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ambiance, service and food.

Dined on May 5, 2016

We had terrific meal at Acacia after theatre. Our service was exceptional along with the ambiance of the restaurant... all topped off with exceptional meals for everyone in our group. I also want to mention the cocktails were excellent. Overall a wonderful dining experience and highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We enjoyed the wonderful weeknight prix fixe. Extremely reasonable for,the quality of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious seafood

Dined on May 3, 2016

We dined at Acacia again this week. It is a favorite spot for us. Delicious seafood entrees prepared expertly. Waitstaff are friendly, professional, and knowledgable. A little too pricey for us for everyday dining, but perfect for our special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Acacia continues to impress

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a fantastic evening. Delicious food with very good service made for a great experience. The scallops were cooked perfectly and the flounder was buttery smooth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Restaurant week

Dined on April 23, 2016

I love Acacia and the meals have always been delicious. The service at the bar was OK but I just found that none of the servers (at bar and restaurant) were overly friendly. They made no effort to smile or be kind. I will still come to Acacia but if another restaurant with exceptional food is available I will think twice about it because of this.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was restaurant week and despite the the fact that Acacia was packed they still made it feel relaxing and special. The food was fantastic and the service perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

NO NO NO

Dined on April 23, 2016

Any restaurant who does know to chill an expensive bottle of wine needs to close! I'm pretty sure this will happen soon based on my conversation with a local chef. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. GO TO O'CHARLEYS AND GET A BETTER MEAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing gnocchi that melt in your mouth! ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing gnocchi that melt in your mouth! Delicious Prix fixe menu for Restaurant Week.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always first class

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is my "go-to" restaurant when I have company as the food and service are always first class. The seafood selection is wonderful and always fresh. Every meal is memorable with innovative selections that are expertly cooked. Dale and Aline are commended for their attention to details and for the delicious food that comes from their kitchen. One of the very best restaurants in the Richmond metro area, if not the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our 38th anniversary and also ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Celebrated our 38th anniversary and also happened to be restaurant week. Service was superb, food cooked perfectly! Crab cakes were really pure crab, no fillers, and seasoned perfectly. The short ribs melted in mouth!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.