About Acacia Mid-town

2601 West Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Owners Aline and Chef Dale Reitzer continue the tradition of fine cuisine they perfected at the former location in Carytown for 10 years. We have a fine dining answer to the casual restaurant, or a casual approach to fine dining. Our menu is regional American, with an emphasis on seafood and fresh, local, top-quality products with clean flavor profiles, cooked with consideration and to perfection by the Chef.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 562-0138

Website:
http://www.acaciarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Acacia is available for your off-site party. Whether it be an intimate dinner in your home or an affair to remember, keep Acacia in mind when planning your next event so you can spend less time in the kitchen and more time enjoying the party.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and on street parking

Executive Chef:
Dale Reitzer

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining space is toward the rear of the restaurant with three walls, one of which is the glass-encased wine room, and one functional art softwall by molo. It can accommodate up to forty five guests for a seated dinner or more for a standing reception.

Your event can be tailored to suit your needs, from a simple birthday party to an elaborate wedding reception and every business meeting in between. Chef Dale Reitzer will work hard to craft a menu sure to impress and delight, departing from the run-of-the-mill catering menus you’ve seen elsewhere.

Private Party Contact:
Aline Reitzer: 8045620138x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Acacia Mid-town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Virginia
Fit for Foodies
Richmond
American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

fit for foodies (117)
special occasion (111)
neighborhood gem (63)
See All
romantic (44)
notable wine list (43)
good for groups (41)
hot spot (34)
vibrant bar scene (19)
great for outdoor dining (16)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent fish and scallops...very fresh ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent fish and scallops...very fresh. Everything was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy Acacia and were not disa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We always enjoy Acacia and were not disappointed this time. Were delighted to see friends there, too, who seemed to enjoy their evening as much as we did. And food was terrific as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love eating at acacia, especially for ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We love eating at acacia, especially for special occasions. Food and service is always great. However Saturday the service was slow and I am not sure why. We got our drinks but it took quite a while for the waiter to get back to us to take our order. He did thank us for being patient. Food was wonderful !!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was disappointed that 3 of the 4 could ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was disappointed that 3 of the 4 could not be seated even when I texted my party multiple times that I was delayed at work.

The meal was outstanding- service too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have great restaurants in Richmond no ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have great restaurants in Richmond now, but Acacia was the first and continues to be the best, hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal, attentive servers, consi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent meal, attentive servers, consistent food detail. Will eat there again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently had oral surgery and was conc ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I recently had oral surgery and was concerned as to what I was able to eat. I asked the waitress to explain my situation to the kitchen and they altered my meal to allow me to eat my food without any problems but still had a wonderful taste to it. Wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best crab cakes in town, the v ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Still the best crab cakes in town, the velvet soft shell crabs are impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I liked the restaurant so much I am goin ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I liked the restaurant so much I am going back this week (less than a week from the last time). I have been there in the past and had forgotten how wonderful the experience was. I would highly recommend Acacia.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was extraordinarily good. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was extraordinarily good. The wait staff was excellent. We had a marvelous time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious - always have a great time whe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Delicious - always have a great time when I come to acacia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our fourth visit. My veal was ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This was our fourth visit. My veal was a little tough, crab cake and peach soup was good, and our guests enjoyed their meals -- crab cakes and salad with flatbread, I think. I miss the alcove because it was very quiet there. By the time we finished dinner, the place was very noisy. Disappointed from that standpoint. It was Tuesday, July 5.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered the sea scallops and the rock ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We ordered the sea scallops and the rock fish. Both dishes were good but lacked a strong flavor profile that I was expecting at this price point. Our meals were good but not great. The wine list was superb. Our server was fantastic. Love the location and the ambiance.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We chose Acacia to celebrate the 70th bi ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We chose Acacia to celebrate the 70th birthday of a certain cranky old dude with some of his closest friends. Everything was perfect from the tasty pre dinner drinks in the lively bar (The Zombie will make you one of the Walking Dead) to the elegant round table in the corner to the delicious starters and main courses (the crab cakes are the best in town). And all handled so effortlessly by the well-trained sand friendly staff. It was just the right venue for a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best crab cakes! Took some friends ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The best crab cakes! Took some friends for the first time and they enjoyed it also. One of our favorite places.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to dine. Excellent in all ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A great place to dine. Excellent in all areas and the food is outstanding. In my opinion, it is the best place to dine in Richmond. Always consistent and always outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service impeccable. Try the peach soup and corn, beans and mushroom seasonal offering. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table was near patio and sliding doors w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Table was near patio and sliding doors were open creating a noisy environment.

food was well prepared ,but several selections on the online menu were not available. They should have been removed or listed as not available. Mixed drinks were either too small or too expensive. one or the other needs to change.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Every detail of what we ordered was divi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Every detail of what we ordered was divine!! I was disappointed that so many items were sold out (crab cakes, soft shell crabs, and grouper). I would think they would be well prepared for a Friday evening so as not to run out of these items. I ended up with monkfish which was a pleasant substitute for the grouper. The chocolate flan was amazing and the favorite dessert of our group. I was pleased with the wine menu that included a few Spanish wines including my favorite sherry! I will definitely be back for more!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality of lump crab cake was outstandi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Quality of lump crab cake was outstanding , very little to none filler used. Very flavorful scallop without any fishy odor .

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Acacia has always been one of our local ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Acacia has always been one of our local favorites--delicious, consistent meals and not too trendy or overpriced. Also love the fixed-menus weekday specials and the 1/2 bottle wine special on Tuesdays. Our latest meal was delicious, although I would not call the veal we had "veal picatta." While quite good, it was breaded and seemed much more like "veal milanese" to us. Also, the meat portion was overly plentiful. Nevertheless, Acacia is one of the few restaurants in town that we always enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Perfect evening from start to finish. Th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Perfect evening from start to finish. The attention to detail is unsurpassed by anyone else in the greater Richmond area. The staff handled our party of seven people effortlessly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate here on a friends recommendation. Ou ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ate here on a friends recommendation. Our server did a good job. 1st course was the tuna ceviche which I didn't enjoy, felt like there was sugar added to it. Second course was a calamari salad which was a unique way to serve calamari, enjoyed this dish. Third course was the duck which was cooked really well. Overall I would give the food a B-. A few interesting things happened during the course of this meal though. Their service includes adding extra silverware to your table in addition to the silverware in your napkin setting. I swear we went through 8 forks over three courses. Odd and wasteful. I also gave the sever feedback that we didn't enjoy our "from the garden" potatoe vodka cocktail. It was a mixture of unique ingredients which didn't work at all and came out extremely sweet. I didnt expect anything from the feedback but after I let the server know, she as well the bartender and then a third person tasted the drink I had already drank from. The manager, I'm assuming, then came to the front of the restaurant and watched my table for some reason. Want to point out they still charged me for the drink, not that I asked for them not to, but just wanted to point out. I have the feeling the server didn't have the authority to remove the drink. The whole incident was strange. Wouldn't recommend the restaurant, better options in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

A group of four; ordered prix fixe. Foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A group of four; ordered prix fixe. Food was very good but dessert (goat cheese pound cake with pineapple sorbet) so so . The sorbet was great -- cake not so. Staff very friendly. Frequently dine at this restaurant and food is always very good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my guest's birthday and I had men ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was my guest's birthday and I had mentioned that on my reservation. Without mentioning it again, her dessert arrived with a lighted candle!!! Nice touch.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the staff wasn't friendly. not one pers ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

the staff wasn't friendly. not one person smiled at me except for the gentlemen at valet. shame because the food is really good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Acacia Mid-town never disappoints. We e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Acacia Mid-town never disappoints. We each had the oysters for an appetizer, my friend had them fried and I ordered the raw. Both excellent, luckily we shared. Soft shells looked amazing on my friend's plate. I knew the crab cakes to be excellent and I enjoyed them along with the cheese grits as much or more than expected. We split a dessert and each had a coffee on the patio. Altogether a lovely evening. The service was on point, we never felt rushed or that we were in need of anything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've lived in Richmond for 60+ years and ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I've lived in Richmond for 60+ years and I would consider our experience at Acacia in the top three dining experiences I've ever had! My soft shell crabs and my wife's crab cakes were prepared perfectly and were delicious. The service was prompt and friendly. Finished the meal off with a chocolate flan dessert and an excellent cup of coffee. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Always the best

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

From the time we arrived till the end ev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

From the time we arrived till the end everything was ON POINT! The drinks, service, food, everything was great. Our table of 14 was very satisfied without one complaint. That will tell you something when a place can make 14 people happy, DRINKS FOOD AND SERVICE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Early evening dinner

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Good food and service. Very noisy when busy and people are talking.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Food and ambiance.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent Food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great For Special Occaisions

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had an excellent dining experience. Great table and timing between appetizer, salad and dinner was very appropriate - i.e. we were not rushed, but he waiter was there if we needed something. I also appreciate the restaurant not trying to kill you on drink prices like most others do. Also, they remembered it was our anniversary from the note I placed when making the reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the nonalcoholic drinks

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a group of friends coming to Richmond for an art show opening. We needed a nice place to gather afterwards to spend time together. Acacia provided us with a lovely setting and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and timing. Waiter did forget ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Good food and timing. Waiter did forget to order one app, which we had to wait for and no apology. Good for 4, but more than that and may have to talk loudly to hear.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Was able to get a reservation on a Fri n ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Was able to get a reservation on a Fri night! Fish was excellent. Service attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I was disappointed - I had heard great things about this restaurant. Service took too long (i server who seemed overwhelmed( and the fish I ordered lukewarm and i needed to have the server reheat. Salad and wine were good.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food but unreasonable rules

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was outstanding but the rules there seem unreasonable. There is a "no substitution" rule, supposedly because chef wants "control" over the plate. That makes sense. But one member of our party is allergic to wheat. They would remove the side with wheat from the entree he wanted, but they would not substitute a gluten-free one (grits), instead requiring us to pay an additional 6 dollars to get a side with his entree. I will add that the prix fix menu had the entree he wanted with the gluten free side, but he didn't want to do the prix fix because there were no gluten free appetizers or desserts on this menu. a bit unreasonable I believe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great Food, Great Service. But...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

...there's a stiffness to the place, a formality, that borders on the pretentious. I'm not looking for backslapping, but I'm also not looking for a house of worship. They should lighten up a bit and let the great food set the mood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food , the bartender, and the ambian ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food , the bartender, and the ambiance were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.