About Acacia Mid-town

2601 West Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Owners Aline and Chef Dale Reitzer continue the tradition of fine cuisine they perfected at the former location in Carytown for 10 years. We have a fine dining answer to the casual restaurant, or a casual approach to fine dining. Our menu is regional American, with an emphasis on seafood and fresh, local, top-quality products with clean flavor profiles, cooked with consideration and to perfection by the Chef.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 562-0138

Website:
http://www.acaciarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Acacia is available for your off-site party. Whether it be an intimate dinner in your home or an affair to remember, keep Acacia in mind when planning your next event so you can spend less time in the kitchen and more time enjoying the party.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and on street parking

Executive Chef:
Dale Reitzer

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining space is toward the rear of the restaurant with three walls, one of which is the glass-encased wine room, and one functional art softwall by molo. It can accommodate up to forty five guests for a seated dinner or more for a standing reception.

Your event can be tailored to suit your needs, from a simple birthday party to an elaborate wedding reception and every business meeting in between. Chef Dale Reitzer will work hard to craft a menu sure to impress and delight, departing from the run-of-the-mill catering menus you’ve seen elsewhere.

Private Party Contact:
Aline Reitzer: 8045620138x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Acacia Mid-town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Virginia
Most Booked
Virginia
Fit for Foodies
Richmond
2 More
American
Richmond
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

fit for foodies (136)
special occasion (120)
neighborhood gem (63)
See All
romantic (58)
notable wine list (56)
good for groups (46)
hot spot (31)
vibrant bar scene (24)
great for outdoor dining (10)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best crab cake enter anywhere. Sautéed ...

Dined 4 days ago

Best crab cake enter anywhere. Sautéed , not fried, no fillers and served with delicious cheese grits. Doesn't get any better than that!

food4
ambience4
service4

Always great

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Always great

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Soft shell crabs and crab entree superb. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Soft shell crabs and crab entree superb. Super fresh and no fillers in crab cakes. Have already recommended to many people. Surprised it wasn't packed on a wed night. It deserved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Always a delicious meal and good service

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Always a delicious meal and good service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent!

Dined on May 10, 2016

Yet another superb meal at Acacia! I can always count on Acacia to provide an excellent meal with the finest ingredients. Chef Reitzer has led the way since 1997, the year Acacia opened, with inventive cuisine featuring locally sourced purveyors. Aline Reitzer keeps the front of house held to the highest standards. With all of the fine restaurants in Richmond from which to choose Acacia still is tops!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Date night

Dined on May 8, 2016

Acacia makes potentially the best crab cakes in Richmond. Everything I have tried has been delicious and well presented. With an attentive wait staff, diners' needs and desires are rapidly satisfied. The noise level makes normal conversation difficult. Warm natured diners will rejoice finding the air conditioning works very well. For those who are more cold natured, bring a sweater or jacket . The temperature seems set for the busy wait staff rather than the diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect mother's day spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

We know Acacia for seafood and they never disappoint. We found our server knowledgeable about the offerings and present just enough. The tautog was amazing and you can always count on the scallops. Do yourself a favor and get a side of grits!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Almost perfect.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The bartender was fantastic and super friendly, I highly recommend the Unibroue if they have it on the beverage menu. The tuna ceviche was beyond amazing as was the ribeye that I had. The only down side was our waiter. He didn't introduce himself, was not friendly in the least, and he made me feel rather stupid when I tried to order our appetizers. Apparently, and unbeknownst to me, you have to order all of your apps and your main dishes the same time. It's great of the server to inform you disdainfully of such things. Other than that, it was awesome.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ambiance, service and food.

Dined on May 5, 2016

We had terrific meal at Acacia after theatre. Our service was exceptional along with the ambiance of the restaurant... all topped off with exceptional meals for everyone in our group. I also want to mention the cocktails were excellent. Overall a wonderful dining experience and highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We enjoyed the wonderful weeknight prix fixe. Extremely reasonable for,the quality of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious seafood

Dined on May 3, 2016

We dined at Acacia again this week. It is a favorite spot for us. Delicious seafood entrees prepared expertly. Waitstaff are friendly, professional, and knowledgable. A little too pricey for us for everyday dining, but perfect for our special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Acacia continues to impress

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a fantastic evening. Delicious food with very good service made for a great experience. The scallops were cooked perfectly and the flounder was buttery smooth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Restaurant week

Dined on April 23, 2016

I love Acacia and the meals have always been delicious. The service at the bar was OK but I just found that none of the servers (at bar and restaurant) were overly friendly. They made no effort to smile or be kind. I will still come to Acacia but if another restaurant with exceptional food is available I will think twice about it because of this.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was restaurant week and despite the the fact that Acacia was packed they still made it feel relaxing and special. The food was fantastic and the service perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

NO NO NO

Dined on April 23, 2016

Any restaurant who does know to chill an expensive bottle of wine needs to close! I'm pretty sure this will happen soon based on my conversation with a local chef. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. GO TO O'CHARLEYS AND GET A BETTER MEAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing gnocchi that melt in your mouth! ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing gnocchi that melt in your mouth! Delicious Prix fixe menu for Restaurant Week.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always first class

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is my "go-to" restaurant when I have company as the food and service are always first class. The seafood selection is wonderful and always fresh. Every meal is memorable with innovative selections that are expertly cooked. Dale and Aline are commended for their attention to details and for the delicious food that comes from their kitchen. One of the very best restaurants in the Richmond metro area, if not the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our 38th anniversary and also ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Celebrated our 38th anniversary and also happened to be restaurant week. Service was superb, food cooked perfectly! Crab cakes were really pure crab, no fillers, and seasoned perfectly. The short ribs melted in mouth!

food5
ambience5
service4

Food was delicious. Very creative combin ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was delicious. Very creative combinations. Might be a little tough for picky eaters is the only negative I can think of!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Excellent Acacia

Dined on April 21, 2016

Acacia has earned the place as my favorite RVA restaurant. On each and every visit the consistent excellence shines. The innovative cocktail menu is always fun and the drinks are masterfully prepared. The wine list is small enough to be manageable, and has a diverse selection to suit everyone with affordable price points. The food itself is ALWAYS wonderful. Creative seasonal dishes are mixed with Acacia standards, like the crab cakes (not to be missed); and the chef's execution is flawless, in spite of a fully packed restaurant. The wait staff and bartenders are all expert and friendly in a professional, authentic manner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant week winner

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great meal and service. Rockfish and beef short ribs were both outstanding as well as the fried green tomatoes appy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love eating at Acacia. Their food ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Always love eating at Acacia. Their food and drink may be the best in town. Never disappointed and the portions are always perfect and the ambiance is great too. Perfect for a date night or out with girlfriends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was exceptional! Definitely d ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything was exceptional! Definitely deserves 5 stars!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Restaurant Week

Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was delicious although my appetizer was not hot. The noise level seemed to be a bit high for my liking but it was still possible to have a conversation without yelling. Our server seemed to be very busy and a wee standoffish, although she was efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Excellent food but too loud for a conversation

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

As always (this was not my first visit) the food was excellent. The menu was very interesting. The service excellent. What detracted from the quality of the evening was the level of noise. Too loud to hear people at my table. Need better insulation

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dinner at Acacia

Dined on April 19, 2016

The food and service at Acacia are always superb. This visit was during restaurant week, and the menu, while limited, was as enticing as ever. Tuesday is half price bottle if wine night, which offers a great opportunity to try something you might pass up as too pricey on another night. Service is seamless and the staff knows the menu and wine list inside out. Don't miss an opportunity to dine at Acacia!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

I love our server John. He didn't bother ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

I love our server John. He didn't bother us too often. Much like in europe where you can have a conversation and not get interrupted all the time. Food was good too. It was a lovely time for our first time and a good menu to sample for our anniversary!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Go to Acacia during restaurant week!

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

What a great value the prix fix menu was and everything was delicious: fried green tomatoes to start, then amazing crab cakes with cheese grits, and creamy cremeux with strawberries to finish. Great service and well-made cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food, needs a few "rough spots" fixed

Dined on April 17, 2016

very good meal overall, though my wife's soup ( which was quite good) needed to be reheated, and my drink ( Manhattan) was "watered down".The service was good, and the food quality excellent.Serving size was rather petite ,especially for the price, but tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience. Crabcakes are prob ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent experience. Crabcakes are probably the best in town. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Preparation of an Interesting Menu

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

While the menu entrees are not numerous they are all interesting and the execution is wonderful. We were 4 and enjoyed all the appetizers and entrees we ordered. Our server was helpful and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on April 12, 2016

Everything from the food to the cocktails AMAZING...can't wait to come back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another spectacular dinner at Acacia

Dined on April 5, 2016

Once again Dale and his talented staff delivered on a great meal. ^ of us ate off the price fix menu and could not have had better value for the gourmet food and drinks. The 1/2 off wine night justs adds to the value. I have only one wish and that would be a little quieter. But...with a fukk house on a Tuesday night I guess that is what you get. Richmond's best!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Delightfully surprised by quality and fr ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Delightfully surprised by quality and freshness of our selections.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants for the Richmond area

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

I love this restaurant...it is always consistent with the food and the waitstaff. The food and chefs are fabulous...don't miss the tuna app. and the entrees that are seasonal are always amazing. I was excited to see John working there. He is simply the finest Richmond waiter. He has worked at Lemaire, Bistro Bobette and now Acacia. He is so refined and knows how to read the patron and is attentive without being overbearing and very elegant yet so nice. The food is divine and don't miss the bartenders here...they are creative and so friendly!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceeded all our expectations

Dined on April 1, 2016

Exceeded all our expectations

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great fried oyster app- cole slaw could be fresher

Dined on March 31, 2016

Overall quite enjoyable, Thursday night low key. Sea bass is a bit gamey, so be prepared. Love the fried oysters but cabbage in cole slaw should still have some crunch and mine sure didn't.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Overpriced

Dined on March 26, 2016

When I dine at an upscale restaurant I do not expect the waiter to tell me I need to order the main coarse when the appetizers are served. I am paying good $ for the food and $85 a bottle of wine.(All of the wines were over priced) I was eating with a wine company sales person who services Charleston,S.C. who commented on the prices. The food was Excellent!! The servers were not friendly!!! I do not need to revisit just to say I've been there!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent Food

Dined on March 25, 2016

The fried oyster appetizer was lightly breaded and delicate. My husband had the scallops with gnocchi and spinach. He kept going on about how tasty it was. The food at Acacia is always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.