About Abigail's

291 3rd Street
Cambridge, MA 02142
View Larger Map

Abigail's is a full service neighborhood restaurant, serving ingredient inspired cuisine, craft beer and cocktails. Located in Kendall Sq , Abigail's is the realization of a long held dream, a labor of love named for our first love, Abigail.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Athenaeum St & Third St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 945-9086

Website:
http://www.abigailskendall.com/

Entertainment:
Abigail's offers Karaoke on Friday nights from 10pm until last call.
Come join us at the bar and have a great time!

Catering:
Abigail's also offers full service catering. Everything from breakfast meetings, weddings, pig roasts, BBQ and much more. No matter the party size or occasion we have the services and friendly staff to make your event most memorable.

Parking Details:
Discounted Parking, with Validation
**Kendall Square South Garage
350 Kendall Street (Located underneath the Watermark Apartment Building)

A large amount of metered street parking is also available around the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Train:
Redline- Kendall/MIT station
Green Line- Lechmere station

Bus:
MIT/Kendall Station
Bus 68, 85, CT2

Lechmere Station
Bus 69, 80, 87, 88

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Abigail's, Cambridge, MA
Abigail's, Cambridge, MA

Specials

Appy Hour!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Appy Hour!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us at the bar for a special menu of $5 appetizers form 4pm-6pm Monday through Friday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. At the bar only. Special valid Oct 19, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Abigail's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Modern Decor (3)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
People Watching (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fun (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Romantic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
95 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I dined here with a group of 11 people f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I dined here with a group of 11 people for Sunday brunch. The service was fine up until we put in our orders. Our waitress was always quick to refill our waters and our coffees but we waited a very long time for our orders to come in. The restaurant was not busy so I am not sure what the hold up was about. The food was over salted and not as good as I'd hope. My friends who ordered their steaks enjoyed their meals so I guess it just depends on what you order. I would give the restaurant another try maybe for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

This is my second time here - last time ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is my second time here - last time was quite a while ago (as I'm not in Boston very much). Terrific dinner - this place is a gem. Got there at 6 on a Saturday night, thought it was very quiet, but by 7:30 it was full and hopping. Had a great linguini w/ clams - though my friends both ordered scallops&risotto which was the winner.

Great desserts. But no espresso!? Never even heard of that before!

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch was delicious but probably enough ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Lunch was delicious but probably enough calories for two days. I wish more places would indicate calories or offer half portions with soup/salad. Would be good for a large man but too much for an average woman.....yet that didn't stop me from eating the entire thing and then being unable to move for the rest of the day from my 'food coma.' So really it's my own lack of self control!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been to Abagail's a few times and s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I've been to Abagail's a few times and service is always slow. The food is quite good and the restaurant itself is lovely, but I can't figure out why the service is so slow...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We had lunch her with a client from the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had lunch her with a client from the area. He had never eaten there before, and was very impressed with the food options and the restaurant itself. Very nice staff and food was delicious.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seemed nice when we arrived but...fruit ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Seemed nice when we arrived but...fruit flies at the bar, food took forever to arrive, and my husband's entree (the special) was $44?! Unfortunately I can't recommend Abigail's and we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great dining experience; service can be ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great dining experience; service can be up and down but food is always excellent!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Well prepared foods, but limited menu. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Well prepared foods, but limited menu. The steak salad was perfect. My friend had the brisket sandwich, he thought it was well executed.

The blue cheese and bacon fries....whoa...tasty but oh so heavy...;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hair in the salad and lemonade. Lemonad ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Hair in the salad and lemonade. Lemonade was replaced with another glass that had hair. No apology. Service seemed rude. May have been a bad day with multiple things going wrong, either way an apology goes a long way. It's probably a good restaurant, but was very disappointing for my CEO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Abigail's is a great place to go to for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Abigail's is a great place to go to for a relaxing brunch. Went there both Mother's and Father's Day. Quite a different vibe . Ate outside on Father's Day. Quiet and very good food. Just really like the atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Abigails Lunch

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2016

Abigails was just okay, wouldn't go back, very small lunch menu, got the Cubano special, hardly any pork on it at all and the French Fries were soggy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very nice patio, with prompt service.

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very nice patio, with prompt service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal with my wife and daught ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Had a great meal with my wife and daughter. Mussels appetizer and flatbread were great. Fish entree was also excellent as were the desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Party of 10 all loved it!

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Party of 10 all loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mothers Day

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my mom there for Mothers Day Brunch and it was fantastic. They had a Harp player, who does that anymore in restaurants? The food was amazing, the service was kind and very helpful, and at the end they gave us an unbelievable cheesecake that blew my mind.

I would come here again, granted they are on the more expensive side, but the bar looked really nice and the atmosphere was very vibrant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mixed Results

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2016

This is the third or fourth time we have been here and we have had mixed results. We have had some really great specials here in the past, but this trip's food was only good. Which isn't bad, but not great. The full bar does have some nice selections, as they made a nice martini had a good selection of beer and ciders.

The curved walls along one side of the restaurant make sounds vibrate like crazy, so it is a loud space and difficult to have conversations.

Our service was really spotty on this trip. Our waitress was at first very attentive, but then disappeared for a long time. When she did return, she cleared our plates and took one of our items to be boxed up. She came back several minutes later with the check and said that the staff had accidentally thrown away the leftovers, so a new piece of meat was being prepared, which she brought out a few minutes later.

She had already brought over the check, but we really wanted dessert, so it was an awkward moment when I had to ask if they had dessert - we were never asked if we wanted anything else. When asked, she simply said, "Absolutely" and went to retrieve dessert menus. It was an add exchange that left us wondering if she wanted to get rid of us, even though the restaurant was only about half full.

Overall the food didn't merit any complaints, but also didn't warrant any wows.

On a warmer day, we have enjoyed the outdoor patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

An ok place

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2016

The restaurant was pretty busy for a Wednesday evening. While we were immediately seated, it took a while for the server to arrive. The server was very nonchalant. He only checked on us once after the food arrived and a bluetooth ear piece in his ear all along. I've been to many restaurants, very basic to very expensive, and I've never ever encountered a server like that. Apart from that, our appetizer was brought out with our meal. The taste of the food was ok. Nothing to write home about. The only silver lining were the cocktails. So, if anything, I might go back for those.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Very good lunch, but long wait

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2016

We go to Abigail's about once a month and really like it, but lately it takes at least 45 minutes to get our food. It's worth it for the taste and value- but I've had to skip going here a few times when we know we're short on time. Table service is sometimes awesome and sometimes lacking... host is always great and helpful. Food is consistently fantastic!! Great spot for large groups and last minute reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I wish It were better

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2016

We started off waiting 6 minutes to even be acknowledged at the front door, that should have been the indicator right away.

We were sat & then 20 minutes to even get water, we ordered drinks & 20 more minutes STILL NOTHING... Had to cancel one of the drinks, then I received my sangria & it was clear that they through it RIGHT together because it was disgusting & had to be sent back.

25 more minutes for food, Items were forgotten, things were received incorrectly, the staff was just taking their time with no hustle, I mean I get that times get busy, but this wasn't crazy busy & it was soo long for everything, I mean all tables were not being fed for insane lengths of time.

THe food was SOO Good, which makes it so disappointing that the service was soo bad because I want to come back but don't often have 3 hours for a quick lunch, AND IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY!!! How depressing!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

NOT Abigail's

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2016

If 10 is great, the food was 4 and the coffee was 1. Why bother, except for pleasant decor and great location? Will not return and will definitely not recommend it to anyone. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Noisy and no privacy but the food was go ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Noisy and no privacy but the food was good. The waiter was forgetful - had to remind him of our drinks that we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Kendall spot limited to after work drinks

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2016

Been to Abigail's several times but mostly for after work drinks and a few snacks with them. Went to dinner there this week and was largely disappointed. Our server seemed mildly interested but did nothing to make us feel welcome or interested in the menu. Limited to the "what can I get you" attitude of middling restaurants. Only came back well into the meal. My friend ordered the Frisee salad and oysters and they both seemed adequate. I ordered what was described as a lamb ragu over papperdelle but instead I got a soupy broth over limp noodles that seemed to come out of a bag from the supermarket. Think I'll stick to their low cost burgers off the grill in the summertime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Took business friend there for a favor h ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Took business friend there for a favor he had done for me. 2 meals of past & lamb were both very good. Ordered toasted bread for $4. Was nearly burnt, hard & small. Chick pot pie was beautiful but bland & boring. Hamburger was a disgrace. Although it was only $10 it was flat & tiny. Like a Burger King. They should charge more & make it a real hamburger. Ambiance was nice. However with a half empty room they sat us next to a window that you could feel the wind blow thru. Not a great nite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Enjoyable lunch

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2016

We ate lunch at Abigail's twice this month and both times we had a nice experience. As noted before, it offers a nice lively ambiance and friendly staff. The menu is pretty typical for lunch, we tried different things and were not disappointed. I would recommend this place for lunch, it adds diversity within Kendall Square area.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Super friendly staff, amazing food, grea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Super friendly staff, amazing food, great drinks. Right by the train station so super convenient too. I celebrated my birthday here, I had about 30-35 people come in and out throughout the night on a Friday night and everybody had a blast. I went to Abigail's for a Sunday brunch also. Food was phenomenal. Their biscuit is out of this world. Strongly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly service, tasty food

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2016

Our server was friendly, accurate and provided good service. The food was cooked well and very fresh. It was a nice lunch outing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great restaurant thoroughly enjoyed it.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Great restaurant thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

VERY NICE EARLY DINNER

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2016

WE HAD AN EARLY dinner WITH FRIENDS AND GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE- VERY PLEASANT AND CALM- GOOD FOOD TO ORDER. GREAT COCKTAILS

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was really bad, it was a Birthd ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Service was really bad, it was a Birthday celebration, we got there by 7:50pm and server took our food order at 8:20. He was not attentive, made our experience really bad. We regret to choose this Restaurant for a special occasion. Food was brought atvthw same time except one dish, we had to wait for it, also one drink was never brought until we asked for it for a second time. Would not recommend nor will go there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Good dinner after movie!

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Enjoyed a nice dinner on Valentine's Day after seeing a movie at Kendall Square. They had delicious lamb tagliatelle and a nice selection of starters that the three of us shared. Pleasant space and a very attentive waiter (but never rushing us) made for a pleasant meal.

Parking can be a challenge, but there are garages and the Red Line T.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm a generally easy restaurant goer to please.

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I genuinely did not like the food. It was too salty and other wise flavorless.

Also, it was too noisy for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

As 50-year old somethings, we immediatel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2016

As 50-year old somethings, we immediately noticed that Abigail's has a nice lively ambiance favored by the 20- and 30-something crowd. Our waiter was excellent: he was informative, friendly and attentive to our needs throughout the meal. The kitchen comes up with some reasonably creative dishes, although I must say that the prices far outstripped the novelty and tastiness of our meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Abigail's is delightful.

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Myself, my other half, and another couple enjoyed our first visit to Abigail's on Saturday night.

We had reserved a table and were seated immediately upon our somewhat early arrival. The location is a convenient walk from the Kendall Square Landmark theater, which was the initial draw after our movie viewing.

Our eclectic group of food tastes all found something to enjoy on the menu. Oysters were fantastically fresh and offered in sufficient variety. Dinner entrees from salmon to lamb were expertly prepared. The ambiance is quite nice if the service seemed slightly inexperienced but, enthusiastic.

All in all, it was a delightful dinner experience that we all thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was not well made. Good kids menu, tho.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Our food was not well made. Our server, when we hesitated in giving him our order for a moment, left immediately and began taking the order at another table. Although there were only 2 groups seated, they were slow getting our food out. It was not timed well. They forgot my tea at the end, which capped off a disappointing trip to dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Nice find for lunch!

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2016

We had the 2 lunch specials - mushroom pizza and pulled pork tacos. Not a bit of food left on our plates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot in Cambridge!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2016

healthy up to date menu with some classic comfort foods too! Great spot to hang out on a cold Boston day or have a business lunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outrageously expensive for very vacuous ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2016

Outrageously expensive for very vacuous atmosphere and frugal presentation of food (small portion of pasta, no bread, nothing but very basic aesthetic).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

First Visit

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Oysters were amazing. Risotto was overcooked. I expected more from this restaurant. Menu is very limited. Wait staff is very good, especially Malik. Drinks are excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food, but tone down the music

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2015

Food was excellent, as was the top-notch service. My only complaint is that we went for lunch and the music was blaring like it was a night club, making it hard to have a conversation at normal tones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Food not great

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Service very good, food too salty and not saw taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.