Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.49mi
  2. Distance: 5.89mi
  3. Distance: 6.10mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.49mi
  2. Distance: 5.89mi
  3. Distance: 6.10mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi

About Aberfoyle Mill

Innovative continental cuisine in the rustic atmosphere of an old mill.

80 Brock Road S
Guelph, ON N1H 6H9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday & Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Tuesday - Saturday: From 5:00pm,
Sunday: From 4.30pm

THE RESTAURANT WILL BE CLOSED JANUARY 1 - JANUARY 6.
RETURN TO NORMAL HOURS ON SATURDAY JANUARY 7 AT 5.00PM

Cross Street:
401 & Highway 6

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 763-1070

Website:
http://www.aberfoylemill.com/

Entertainment:
Mystery dinner theatre (twice a month). Phone reservations exclusively.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking at the front, side and at the back of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Several rooms available from 10 - 90 indoors and up to 200 outdoors in a tent.

Private Party Contact:
John Manolis: (519) 763-1070

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Aberfoyle Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (28)
Cozy (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Fireplace (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Historic (18)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (14)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Private Room (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great Beer (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Fun (2)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

My overall experience was lacking, hostesses forgot to bring items and rather cater to the big group behind us.

The men's washroom lacked sir fresheners and ice in the urinals to keep spillage down, no locks on the sit down toilets either.

Food was good but lacked a better menu for lunch time selections. Kids menu was a joke and lacked any kind of good selections.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined 4 days ago

The food, service and ambiance was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and service. Friendly staff, too. Good wine menu.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Superb. Excellent service & excellent food. Great ambience. Would recommend to anyone looking for a dining experience. Worth the drive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I would definitely go back and recommend the Aberfoyle Inn. The food was excellent. A wide variety of appetizers and main entrees. Love the escargot and the Creme brûlée. They are known for their prime rib, amazing.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My wife really enjoyed the vegan options. Overall a very special experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It wasn't anything exciting. The decor is what you would expect from an old mill.
Wouldn't rush back.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were made to feel welcome immediately, the waiter was very professional, courteous... and his timing was impeccable throughout the meal, with drinks and courses arriving right on time. The ambiance is incredible, the restaurant filled with beautiful and historic items in keeping with the building. Lots of excellent seating with various alcoves, stairs etc throughout. The food was just outstanding, the prime rib and homemade cheesecake one of the best I've tasted. My daughter and I really enjoyed the meal and were surprised by how delicious everything was. The service and gorgeous surroundings just added to the whole effect. Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love this place! You will not be disappointed! The food is spectacular and the service is top notch. The best thing about the mill is the ambiance. I have never been to a place that is that cozy, warm, and romantic! I have been here multiple times and will for sure return and recommend to everyone!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Wood Oven, Authentic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 25, 2017

A great experience. Attentive staff, excellent service, good ambiance, and outstanding food !
Definitely would return!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Certainly a good choice for a special occasion, spectacular setting, very good food but very pricey. The service was excellent but somewhat business-like. The wine list was decent but there were few choices at a reasonable price. The menu offered a good variety of choices but very limited for lacto-ovo vegetarian.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We met for a business meeting. Customer located in Guelph and I came from Miss. Easy to get there and get back again. I really enjoyed the lunch.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Been here many years and come back again and again. Bit pricey but the food is always excellent and the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place to spend quality time with family. Excellent food, rich wine menu, great beer and wonderful hot bread. Friendly atmosphere and service. Never felt the need to wave or attract attention of servers, they were around when we needed them. Great job!!!! we will definitely recommend this establishment to our friends and extended family members. Cheers keep up the excellent work

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Authentic, Great Beer, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We took my parents for their anniversary and had a wonderful meal. The service was excellent and they provide that personal touch and really makes you feel comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and an exquisite bottle of wine. There was no rush and everything was paced and prepared to perfection. Thank you so much! My husband truly enjoyed his romantic birthday dinner.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We celebrated a birthday and the staff made it special for the birthday guest. The food was outstanding - We started our meal with the Caesar Salad. We ordered 2 bottles of wine (one white and one red and both were wonderful). Then came our Prime Rib dinners which were perfectly prepared to our liking and we finished off with the Pistachio Cheesecake. We were there for about 3 hours and had a wonderful evening. We would certainly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We always enjoy our visits to Aberfoyle as food is excellent and owner and staff so attentive to your needs.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual. This is our 6th time dining there for a special occasion. Recommended.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a delicious meal! Meats cooked perfectly and friendly/attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Another exceptional experience that leaves the fabulous flavours forever framed on your pallet.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Another beautiful evening with friends at the gorgeous intimate aberfoyle mill. A beautiful table, perfect company, excellent personal service and as always the food was absolutely delicious. Everything about the evening was perfect! Our favourite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

New Family Favourite!
Four of us visited for lunch on a cold winter day. The ambience was so warm and inviting and staff was positively wonderful! Antiques and history are on display here with many interesting objects to look at. The menu choices were varied and a fairly well priced. The meals were all fabulously presented, tasty and generous portions. And dessert! We chose the white chocolate pistachio crusted cheesecake with raspberry coulis - to die for!!! Highly recommend a visit - can't wait till we return. Happy, Happy, Happy :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Historic, Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great spot for business lunch. The servers are top notch and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The best Caesar salad, creme burlie and beef tenderloin! Always a great meal at the Aberfoyle Mill!

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding fare and service. Warm greeting by owner upon arrival and wait staff are exceptional. Excels beyond any high end chain establishment I have wasted money on.
Highly recommended. Will frequently dine here for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food, and a very romantic ambiance.
The service was great, the only thing that I would improve is the dessert options.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was very good, rich and flavourful. Some of the best steak I've had. Better than the Keg and you get the unique environment. Staff were very professional and friendly. It was busy the day we went so there a bit of a wait to order, but the food came out promptly after. It was well presented, good portion sizes and definitely worth the visit.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a great time here. Food was filling, roast prime rib was killer! Our mussels were great to, super soft, amazing sauce, waitress encouraged me to keep getting more bread to finish the sauce which I did, and she praised me for it. Nothing like going to a place where they don't get stingy about how much bread or little favours you ask so you can properly finish your meal. She also gave me a whopping amount of horse radish for the prime rib, really looks after her customers.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is one of those rare restaurants that really knows the classics. The steaks are great, their appetizers are some of the best value you'll get and their gluten free options are extensive. There aren't a lot of young people in this place. The decor is beautiful but could use some upgrades (mainly floors / carpets) and the choice of background music is pretty awful.

Overall though this place has an amazing menu for both food and drink and the wait staff are pretty good. The managers however is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were sat at a table which had a very cool breeze coming through the window frame

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was excellent! Atmosphere was very good and not noisy at all. The service of bringing out food and drinks was decent, but they take a very long time to check in with you. Don't expect to get out of there until after 2 hours.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very tasty, however temperature could improve considerably. Server was good, but didnt know what kind of trout was on the menu. Neat place, id go back again. Wife had rack of lamb, which was really good, i had the 10oz prime rib.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The staff was spectacular from the initial greeting, help with our jackets, to the attentiveness of our server. They all made us feel like they were thankful for us being at their restaurant, where more often than not, this old fashioned friendliness and respect for the customer has disappeared. Most importantly, the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We arrived on time & were seated promptly, service was quick with drink orders taken
special on Friday, sat. & Sun was prime rib, several of ordered it all were pleased, the au ju
was disappointing as was the horse Raddish (just no taste) but overall dinner was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We came to celebrate my sisters 50th birthday with 11 family members. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. Always a great place to come celebrate something special, or romantic dinner with your partner. Will always come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was slow and inattentive. Ploughmans lunch was very disappointing.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We took my Father for dinner on his 92nd birthday. He tends to order Roast Beef where ever he goes. 3 days later he is still raving about how excellent his dinner was.
"The very best Roast Beef in a long time"

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic service and food. Worth it just for the Caesar salad, but the entire meal was enjoyable. Our waitress was the best we've had! She was friendly and took amazing care of our group of seven, especially attentive to our 3 year old. Pierre was also great, stopped by the table to make sure everything was good and made a balloon animal for thie kid. Highly recommend visiting Aberfoyle Mill!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious lunch, The service was very attentive. We will certainly be back to try other dishes on the menu. Had no room for dessert, but would like to try that too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.