Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.49mi
  2. Distance: 5.89mi
  3. Distance: 6.10mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.49mi
  2. Distance: 5.89mi
  3. Distance: 6.10mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi

About Aberfoyle Mill

Innovative continental cuisine in the rustic atmosphere of an old mill.

80 Brock Road S
Guelph, ON N1H 6H9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday & Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Tuesday - Saturday: From 5:00pm,
Sunday: From 4.30pm

Cross Street:
401 & Highway 6

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 763-1070

Website:
http://www.aberfoylemill.com/

Entertainment:
Mystery dinner theatre (twice a month). Phone reservations exclusively.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking at the front, side and at the back of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Several rooms available from 10 - 90 indoors and up to 200 outdoors in a tent.

Private Party Contact:
John Manolis: (519) 763-1070

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Aberfoyle Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Worth the Drive (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for a Date (28)
Authentic (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Cozy (23)
Romantic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Business Meals (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Healthy (10)
Scenic View (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great Beer (5)
Seasonal (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were really excellent and there was a very good choice. Conversation was easily possible although the dining room was very busy

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely wonderful the staff and food, would recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. This was our third time at The Mill and again we were very pleased with the service and our meals were delicious! My husband had the clam chowder and I had the Caesar Salad as appetizers. We both had the beef tenderloin which was cooked exactly how we ordered it!! We also got to sit by the fire which was lovely!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

As always the Aberfoyle staff were great!
The food was wonderful and my clients were very happy we booked there.
I hope to book a Xmas party there soon.
Dan

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great restaurant. Came here from waterloo for a date night. Definitely worth the drive. food was delicious, service was top notch. Would recommend !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Everything was great. Food, service and ambience. Great valve for the dollar.

RAC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Very friendly and attentive service. The food was excellent and served hot. Would do again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We arrived 45 minutes early and there was no problem being seated Food was excellent as usual. Eat tgere at least theee tunes a year and highly recomnend it ti friends .

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

9 people in our group. Everyone had something different and we all went home full and happy. 😊

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing food. Every dish was excellent but the duck was especially good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very good meal and service. We arrived early for our reservation and were seated right away. There were about three special events going on at the same time but they were in separate areas and rooms and never interferred with our enjoyment.
We will be back

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The entire evening was ruined by the incredibly poor service we received. Our waiter was condescending and did not try to understand my wife's request for a completely bland meal. She ordered grilled salmon, totally plain (no spices, no pistachio coating , nothing) which we have had in the past. The salmon arrived with black specks on it. When questioned, the waiter said "it's pepper, it's OK just taste it" which prompted a strong response by me and when the waiter finally agreed to take the order back, he wanted to take mine and my daughter's as well which upset her to the point of tears. When the order came, my wife said it was very good.
My prime rib was excellent but my daughter's dinner had gotten cold and even after requesting it be heated, it came back cold. By that time we were quite fed-up with the terrible service and did not peruse that issue. The management did cover the cost of my wife's dessert and our coffee, thanks, but the damage was beyond repair. We specifically came to the Mill because, in the past, we have had very good dining experiences including our wedding dinner a few years back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 27, 2017

All good things to report. An excellent testimony to management. You will enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Good upscale food with a good variety for the vegetarian in our group. Our room was a little noisy, but otherwise it was great and we will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food and service was excellent. We found the noise level quite high, which may have been due to the room our table was in. Even though we mentioned we were celebrating our 22nd anniversary they sat us in a room with no windows, we would have preferred to sit in the main dining room where the ambience was much nicer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Our go to place for special times. Ambience is terrific, food excellent, greeting staff is cheerful. Makes our night out special

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My friends were delighted with their appetizers of paté and spicy shrimp, and the two salads were fine, but not remarkable. Those that ordered prime rib loved it, and the duck order was also delicious. My tuna was a bit overdone, and from my perspective, it didn't seem to match the accompaniments. That being said, the tuna flavouring was lovely.

The service was exceptional, we were very well looked after by David. The restaurant is cozy and comfortable, with the mill itself in its midst. We chose Aberfoyle because it was on our way back from Stratford (our friends to Mississauga and we to Hamilton). Very convenient for a post matinee performance!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I enjoyed taking my wife out for a birthday lunch. We tried the mussels in yellow curry sauce which was nice. Different from the standard "cooked in wine". The linguine and shrimp with spicy sausage was quite tasty and the sausages were only mildly spicy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a wonderful Sunday lunch with our family celebrating a birthday. We had dined there on one other occasion for dinner and both times the food and service was outstanding. On our most recent visit we had a larger group with 2 small children. The staff were very welcoming and went to great lengths to ensure everyone's needs were met, particularly for the children.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Fun, Seasonal, Romantic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went for our 5th wedding anniversary after I had been there a few weeks earlier for a work dinner for the first time. Both times I got the salmon which hands down is the best salmon I have ever had! My wife had the prime rib which was very tender. Great atmosphere in the old Mill, but the food more than anything was what made it worth the drive here for us!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent service and food. Love the character of the place and the variety. Truly enjoyable. I have been doing more vegan eating and appreciated the accommodating service. Thank you for the sweet sampler dessert tray for my friend's birthday. Lovely and truly tasty!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

it was our 40th anniversary and we wanted a restaurant that we knew would not disappoint. Meal was excellent, service was great and the white chocolate cheese cake put it over the top.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2017

A very nice place with great atmosphere and ambiance. Yet, the waiter was a little be impatient and not very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Meals are consistently good with generous portions at reasonable prices.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

All was excellent except my entre of pickerel was less then expected.
I have had better pickerel dinners elsewhere...My wife had a great salmon dinner and we enjoyed the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

My favorite restaurant ❤️ Food was outstanding. The waiters are all very knowledgable and helpful. Can't say enough good things about it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have never been disappointed when we have eaten at the Aberfoyle Mill. The food and service are always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent food, wonderful atmosphere, friendly and professional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Always great cuisine at the Mill. Attended with two friends for lunch. One vegetarian and wonderful options on a separate menu for her. The express lunch offerings were delicious and quick but not rushed. The dessert sampler was yummy and appreciated our server explaining the portion. Certainly enough for all of us and bday girl could take some chocolate cake home as well. Server was friendly, informative and timely.
Table was in the middle of the room by the entrance. Quiet hard to talk and will request table in a corner next time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had a very nice experience dining at the Aberfolye Mill......the service was great and the food was wonderful. The ambiance of-course was just grand.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The meal, service and ambience was excellent. Lovely grounds to enjoy on a Summer's day. Great for outdoor catered events. Will visit again.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We haven't been to the Aberfoyle Mill for a meal in almost 40 years and were delighted to find that it is still a great site for an outstanding meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had an anniversary dinner here, the food was great and the service was even better. Very pleasant people! I enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our meal was very good and we were seated in the part of the restaurant that we requested.
The only thing that were weren't too happy about was the wait between courses and the cold coffee. There were two weddings happening that night, so that unfortunately contributed to the wait. I have been to this restaurant on countless occasions and always had a good meal and the wait times were never an issue. You would think that if there were two weddings and many other people dining in the main restaurant, you would make sure you had enough staff. Other than that, I would return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very accommodating to different dietary needs, excellent staff and ambiance.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

excellent restaurant and food is delicious. Very good place for every occastions

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2017

A once family favourite will unfortunately no longer be a consideration. It is disappointing how the arrogance of one server can plague a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary by going to the Aberfoyle Mill and were not disappointed - from the moment we walked in, we were welcomed and given wonderful seat overlooking the crowd. When our server got busy, the greeter came and served us tea and dessert - yummy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The atmosphere was rustic with antique accents. We sat at a table for 2 overlooking the main restaurant which was private and romantic. The service was prompt and our server was very helpful and polite. The food was exceptional and you definitely received enough. We shared the desert sampler hoping to finish the meal with something light since we were already satisfied. This was a bit of miscalculation since the desert sampler was large but so worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent food, ambiance and service. Enjoyable evening celebrating parents' anniversary.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.