About Abe and Louie's Boston

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bone In NY Strip - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Key Lime Pie - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Bone-In Dry Aged Prime Rib - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
16.5 Pounds Lobster - Estimated 50 Years Old - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Hash Browns - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled “Shadow Beni” Bone-In Ribeye - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Ramey Cabernet - Calistoga County Napa - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Maine Lobster - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Maine Lobster Casserole - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Macaroni and Cheese - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Skillet Cookie - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Beef Tartare - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Steak - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Prime Rib - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
French Onion Soup - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Aged Ribeye - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Filet Mignon - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Seared Tuna - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
porterhouse steak - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Bone-In Filet - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Steak and Eggs Benedict - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Lump Crab Cocktail - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Chocolate Covered Strawberries - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Fresh Baked Apple Pie - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Tuna Tartare - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Colossal Chocolate Cake - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Abe's Lobster Macaroni And Cheese - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Martini - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Beef Steak Tomatoes Salad - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Cobb Salad - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Key Lime Meringue Tarte - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Broiled Prime Sirloin - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Lobster Savanah  - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
14 Oz Bone In Filet Mignon - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Bloody Mary - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Steak and Eggs - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Wine - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Abe & Louie's Salad - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Caprese Salad - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Cosmopolitan - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Decaf Coffee - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Erath 2009 Pinot Noir - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Lump Crab Cakes with Jalapeno Mustard Sauce - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Bone-in Rib Eye - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Halibut - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Crab Cake Benedict - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Bacon and eggs - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
3lbs Lobster - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Lobster and Shrimp Omlette - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Prime Rib Double Cut - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA

Private Dining

We offer private and semi private group dining space for 10 to 125 guests at Abe & Louie's

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (129)
Good for a Date (101)
Good for Anniversaries (100)
See All
Business Meals (99)
Good for Birthdays (89)
Notable Wine List (73)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Romantic (60)
Good for Groups (58)
Bar Seating (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (49)
Great for Lunch (49)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Worth the Drive (41)
Fun (39)
Hot Spot (37)
Authentic (35)
Cozy (31)
Comfort Food (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
People Watching (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Casual (25)
Family Style (22)
Historic (21)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Seasonal (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Private Room (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Fireplace (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Healthy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Live Sports (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best brunch I've ever had

 
·Dined 16 hours ago

Best brunch I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Abe and Louie's ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and I went to Abe and Louie's for his birthday. The food is incredible. The staff is amazing. We will be back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Cozy, , Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always a good meal. My only disappointme ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

always a good meal. My only disappointment was the $9 "steamed" broccoli that was served practically raw. Since we were in a hurry for lunch we did not say anything. I'm sure they would have taken care of it had we. However at $9 they should know when vegetables are actually cooked.

I will still return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

it was lovely and romantic , looking for ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

it was lovely and romantic , looking forward to going back and enjoying such good food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a good experience

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Whethet having a cocktail at the bar, br ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Whethet having a cocktail at the bar, brunch with friends or dinner with my husband, Abe and Louie's has always been a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Abe and Louis, but this visit was ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I love Abe and Louis, but this visit wasn't the best as they were redoing their downstairs kitchen which resulted in a limited menu. I wish that we were made aware of this at time of reservation as we would have made another selection. Food was great as always!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Abe and Louie's never disappoints! We ca ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Abe and Louie's never disappoints! We can't wait to go again no matter the occasion.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening out in Boston celebrating ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great evening out in Boston celebrating my Daughters new Doctoral status! Classic. Food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chopped salad is one of the best I'v ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

The chopped salad is one of the best I've ever had. You can always count on a perfectly cooked piece of beef (I always order well done -its perfect but not dried out)-imagine a steakhouse that can get it right over and over again!!! I look forward to coming here frequently-and I don't mind the travel from southern Maine-its worth the trip.

I ordered gift cards to give relatives at Christmas so they can be introduced to a nice restaurant that is worth the price for an enjoyable evening. I love both the Boston and Boca locations-I love knowing that this restaurant is so special- they have kept it from mass chain atmosphere.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The pace of service was perfect. The foo ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The pace of service was perfect. The food was absolutely delicious. My server Chris was very attentive and helpful. Would recommend this to everyone

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Abe & Louie's but I was disappoi ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

We love Abe & Louie's but I was disappointed that on Open Table I said that it was Michael's birthday and it was not acknowledged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DELICIOUS! I went to Abe and Louie's an ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

DELICIOUS! I went to Abe and Louie's and had a NY sirloin steak. Absolutely, the best steak I have ever had. Excellent service, delicious fresh baked bread and friendly people. I have eaten at fine establishments all over the world and for steak, this is the best. I am not going there to celebrate a promotion, birthday or on a date. I am going for the food.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amos was our server and one of the absol ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amos was our server and one of the absolute best.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. My sister and I both ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food was great. My sister and I both got the filet mignon and it had a nice "seared crust" on the outside. We also ordered a side of garlic mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts which were both good. Since it was just the two of us the waiter recommended us doing half side and we appreciated his advice because the half size was plenty (and not to mention cheaper). The skillet cookie is AMAZING highly recommend it. Overall this is a restaurant I would definitely come back to again for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here many times for business meals. ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Been here many times for business meals. Great salad. Huge shrimp cocktail. Great steaks. Best Halibut I have ever had Terrific Swordfish. Sides are big and filling. Rarely eat dessert there as main meal too filling.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decor is getting tired. Food was good b ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Decor is getting tired. Food was good but not great. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Traditional steakhouse with good ambianc ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Traditional steakhouse with good ambiance. Service professional but impersonal (did not particularly feel looked at or directly talked to). Generous starter size, but not compelling in flavor (e.g. steak tartare a huge amount of good meat but plain, even with the assorted accoutrements). Seafood options, which tend to be solid alternatives at steakhouses, did not deliver here, bordering on disappointing. Meal was to some extent saved by strong flavorful sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent! Wonderful meal as always! ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent! Wonderful meal as always! You cannot go wrong with Abe & Louies!!! Consistently great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the bar. The bartender, Bryan ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

We sat at the bar. The bartender, Bryan was spectacular! Great service!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service in Boston

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best service in Boston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious all around! Our server Bobby D ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious all around! Our server Bobby D. was great, along with the other staff, who you can tell, work as a team to make everything happen. The steak was worth every bite and the sole special was scrumptious. We'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of our favorite spots in Bost ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always one of our favorite spots in Boston for lunch or dinner. This was the first time we ate at the bar on the second floor and I must say I loved it...great service and much quieter than the lower level. Can't wait to return!! Amazing steak and the bacon appetizer is a must!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience! Everyone is so accom ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing experience! Everyone is so accommodating & caring. Worth every penny!

Tags: , Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! How's that for a review? Prime rib ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wow! How's that for a review? Prime rib amazing, filet mignon fabulous! Pricey but worth it! We definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always go to abe and louies when in town ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always go to abe and louies when in town, the food is always top notch as is the servic. we had john F and i thought he was just amazing!!!

Tags: People Watching, , Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have known about Abe and Louie's for y ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

I have known about Abe and Louie's for years - but since I have lived elsewhere for years, it was my first time to experience it - and I was not disappointed - in the least. I discovered that one of our favorite places, The Coast Grille in Wayland, was a sister establishment - and we love that place, so experiencing the "Mother Ship" was a delight! Great waiter (Conrad), and great food

and ambience. We will return on our next trip to Boston!

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were great. There to ce ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Service and food were great. There to celebrate a birthday and listed on reservation. Sever recognized birthday at outset which was a pleasant surprise. Also provided piece of chocolate birthday cake with candle at end of dinner and wished my guest a happy birthday. Second time there for dinner. Will return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great spot for business lunch, after wor ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

great spot for business lunch, after work drinks or nice dinner. Service is always fantastic. Food is consistently good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was delicious and on time. We a ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Our food was delicious and on time. We also received exceptional service by Chris!

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Boston , ambience , p ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

One of the best in Boston , ambience , professional staff, great valet service. Just a perfect evening

Bob

Tags: Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for a birthday celebration and ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Went here for a birthday celebration and was not let down! The service was impeccable; we haven't been waited on that well in a very long time. Excellent meals, wonderful wine list, very attentive staff. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience is nice and proper for a st ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

The ambience is nice and proper for a steak house. Service was good, food was hot. My disappointment was in the size and quality of the portions. At these prices, which are $50/person without drinks, I should be full upon leaving. I ordered the half chicken which came as a single piece roughly 2 by 3 inches in the center of a full plate full of whipped potatoes. Not what I was expecting. The taste was nice, all four bites of it! Capital Grill, across the street, serves a better piece of meat for about the same price.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food Could do better on service Ama ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food

Could do better on service

Amazing bread, good coffee, good steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We wanted to try a different steakhouse ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We wanted to try a different steakhouse we had visited Grill 23 and Capital Grill. We think this one is better. Everything was like ordered and the waiters were attentive. When we first sat down we were missing the little bread plates it honestly took a look from me to where the plate for the waiter to fix it. That is service. The prime rib is divine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our New Year's Day ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our New Year's Day Brunch with family and friends. Just delightful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been a loyal abes fan for years but ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've been a loyal abes fan for years but have never had their brunch. Literally the best eggs bennie ever. I had the crab cake option and there was so much lump crab meat and the truffle hollandaise was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time for brunch -- was not anythin ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time for brunch -- was not anything special. Definitely will stick to dinner at this restaurant but once be rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

I have never had a bad meal at Abe & Lou ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have never had a bad meal at Abe & Louie's. The definitely know how to cook a steak and the service is professional and on point. Their Steak salad is the BEST!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, very good, but very expensive ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, very good, but very expensive! I miss the Iggy bread basket; that made the visit worthwhile!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.