Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Abe and Louie's Boston

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for Easter and celebrate with your family and friends. You'll be able to enjoy culinary classics and holiday favorites. all served in the comfort of our dining room.

Private Dining

We offer private and semi private group dining space for 10 to 125 guests at Abe & Louie's

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (143)
Good for a Date (120)
Good for Anniversaries (110)
See All
Good for Birthdays (108)
Business Meals (98)
Notable Wine List (84)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Romantic (59)
Good for Groups (59)
Bar Seating (55)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Cozy (47)
Worth the Drive (45)
Authentic (44)
Great for Lunch (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Hot Spot (43)
Fun (36)
People Watching (36)
Comfort Food (34)
Great for Brunch (33)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Casual (21)
Family Style (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Historic (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Fireplace (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Private Room (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great Beer (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Sports (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Excellent food and service. High end but very good portions. Did not feel rushed.
Best bread pudding ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great. My friend's steak was delicious according to her. I ordered the clam chowder, outstanding, and the lobster casserole, not great. Sides were decent, mashed potatoes and asparagus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the six meals came rare when the guest wanted well done. It took 45 minutes for her to finally get her steak and still was not well done.

Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Nothing was less than perfect ! First time dining here and highly recommended. The steaks, seafood and au gratin potatoes, sublime. Chocolate cake with ice cream adorned with a celebratory candle topped off the evening . Loved our waited, John, professional and experienced. I am so pleased to recommend as a top level dining establishment. Thank you Abe and Louis for a festive 10 year anniversary meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Very well done. Wait staff is impressive. Very good service and extremely attentive.
Food was prepared to perfection and courses were served in a timely fashion.
I would rate this the top Boston restaurant experience for the weekend while attending the Seafood Expo North America 2017.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding. Everything was perfect. Kenny THE waiter was informative, accommodating and entertaining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is wonderful. Service great. Would go back and recommend to friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

1st time at A&B. Good business dinner location. Expensive on food items

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 6 days ago

very good place! the food was great and the bar. muy Bueno!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Went with my husband and two teens while visiting Boston. We were seated right away. Even at 530 it was busy which is always a good sign. I ordered shrimp and scallops with risotto. It was delicious. My kids shared a prime rib with was huge and a very large portion for both of them even though it was split between them. My husband had a steak which was delicious. I would definitely recommend when visiting Boston for a more upscale meal. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Very good read before dinner, no need for butter with it. Try the thick bacon appetizer. Good steaks and seafood. Good sides and good deserts. Our server was good and made good recommendations. I'll go back next time I'm in Boston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Always good. They make you feel welcome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Had an excellent brunch there this weekend. Fabulous steak & eggs and mimosas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall good meal. Had Res for 715, seated at 745 but manager gave us two free Apps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always a great meal! Our server Kenny was amazing! Ask for him , he loves what he does and it shines through!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Took my nieces to dinner! We had a great time! Joe, our waiter, was knowledgeable and engaging. The food was delicious, and the ambience was perfect!

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Awesome service, never had to chase down waitstaff for drinks, or to order. Never felt smothered. Food was perfect and arrived as expected for a group of 8. Dessert also amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This was my third time dining at Abe & Louie's and it never disappoints. Our waiter, Sihan, was amazing; he made my friend and I's experience even better since he was such a gentleman and very entertaining; I would love to have him again! Also, the food was to die for, just like the previous time. I had the Chilean see bass with the garlic mashed potatoes; my friend had the shrimp risotto. Both dishes and our appetizers were delightful! Abe & Louie is very high end and up there in price, but so worth it; thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

10 of us dined here while attending a team meeting in Boston. The restaurant easily accommodated the group, which included on Vegetarian and one needing a gluten free meal. The staff was very accommodating, making suggestions for all of our meals - wine pairings, temperature suggestions for steaks, etc, but at the same time, they weren't trying to up-sell. All enjoyed their meal, especially the vegetarian!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

For the price, this place is way overpriced. Steakhouses are usually pricey but you expect the food to be worth it as well as the service and the entire experience. My husband's filet mignon was very good but not outstanding. The green beans (2 servings for $14) CLEARLY came out of a bag- they didn't even bother cutting off the wilting ends. Again, those little touches will make me not wince when I pay $14 for a plate of green beans that are worth 75 cents at the market. Out of a bag.... 50cents! My halibut was very good, but served on a plate of asparagus that was on its last legs. And for such a pricey place, the wine selection wasn't on par with what they were striving for food-wise. The baked potato was great, though. Our waiter was lovely and attentive but as soon as it got a little busier (we were on the early side) no was able to be found! I wanted a second glass of wine and my husband a beer, but too much time had passed so we just got the check and left. All in all, it was fine but I feel like we got fleeced a bit and would have been able to enjoy two or three meals for what we spent and gotten a much better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

It was a lovely, peaceful lunch due to the horrible Boston snowstorm. The service was attentive and totally relaxed. We love Boston snow days!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Never been disappointed when going to Abe & Louie's in Boston. Came here Sunday for our anniversary dinner and, as always, it was perfect. Service is spot on, cocktails are on-point, and the steaks are cooked to perfection. Never have I ever had a bad meal here. Didn't really go here for a "romantic" anniversary dinner, we just like our steak, we like it cooked right and we love great service. The free slice of celebratory chocolate cake helped seal the deal of perfection at the end.
Have dined here before just for a regular night out with friends and even with it not being a special night, they always make you feel like you are dining somewhere special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Though my steak came undercooked, their service was fantastic. The second steak was perfect and Sam, our server, was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great dinner with son and two grandsons.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Every time I'm in Boston we try to visit. Good food and service but the prices are high. If you want to treat yourself, this is the place. Can get loud at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I took a friend here for brunch and we loved it! There are many options, and plenty of lunch options if you are not an eggs/pancake person.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved everything
The bar, had a one hour wait
Didn't mind, great drinks
Good was amazing
Tuna tartar......no words

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best rib-eye in the city hands down. Lobster mac n cheese as a side and it will be the best meal you ever have

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My wife and I dined at Abe & Louie's for our first time on Saturday, March 11th on a rare night out in the city without the kids. We're aficionados of steakhouse but had not yet been here. Upon arriving fir our 7:30pm OpenTable reservation we were seated within 10 minutes and ver shortly afterwards warmly greeted by our awesome waiter, 14 year Abe & Louie veteran Kenny. What a great waiter!!! He made our night with his tableside manner and on future visits we will specifically request him. Upon learning that we had two daughters ages 11 & 9 he shared the experiences with his children who were now grown up and he also told us to enjoy our night out on the town and not rush.

We had two seafood appetizers, some martinis and then our main courses, steak of course with two great sides. I had ordered a bone-in ribeye medium rare but upon cutting it I verified that instead it was medium well something which our waiter Kenny immediately noticed as he approached our table and apologized profusely for which I felt bad as it wasn't his fault. Actually interestingly enough I reminded him of his upon greeting us at the start of the evening he said there 2 things he couldn't do, one was pay for our dinner and the other was to cook our meals. Within a few minutes he returned with a new steak which was perfectly cooked. In addition, Kenny was excellent with assisting us with our wine choices. Despite the incident with my steak, Kenny's tableside manned with us made the night and turned what could have been a reason to not return around and instead we'll definitely be back and again we'll specifically request him as our waiter. Abe & Louie, you have a great waiter & representative in Kenny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First class, high end steak house. Figure $150 per person, easy, incl tip and a few drinks. Absolutely cannot go wrong with this pick for big, brassy, bombastic dining experience. Not for first dates, not for coupon crowd. Try the steak.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a fabulous evening. Our server, Sam was wonderful. He offered great suggestions and was very pleasant. The food was delicious and the overall evening was enjoyable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I thought for the price tag on the steak it could have been better. The lobster casserole was delicious though as well as the rolls they give you. Service was good and the restaurant itself is very nice looking. I'm not sure I would come back here again though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We both had baked stuffed lobster with crabmeat stuffing. Would have opted for regular stuffing as crab was a slightly fishy - up charge of $14 for crab stuffing. Service, table was good, overall meal was good. Abe's salad was very good. Worth going. Hate the walk in vibe of looking up at the host/hostess.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Hands down the best service in town ! Conrad our host for the night is a true professional as are the Somalia's . Can't wait to go back !

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We had a reservation and were seated promptly. My request to be seated on the second floor at a table overlooking Boylston Street was honored. Service was excellent. Two things kind of put a damper on the night. First, the lettuce on the Caesar salad was actually brown, a total turn off, and considering the prices they charge they should at least spring for some green lettuce and anchovies. I sent it back. The rest of the meal was great until the fire alarm went off and a loud voice kept blaring that all guests had to evacuate. No one left and we were told by staff to ignore it but it was initially unsettling and the announcement was still going strong as we tried to finish our meal and then left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was excellent and the wait staff was fabulous! LOVE this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Superb brunch menu and attentive service. Always an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Abe & Louie's never disappoints. The service and food and drink are exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Kenny our server was amazing and so was the food! Great time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good service and ambience. Classic warm and welcoming classic steakhouse atmosphere. Food is good, although pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.