About Abe and Louie's Boston

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Key Lime Pie
Bone-In Dry Aged Prime Rib
16.5 Pounds Lobster - Estimated 50 Years Old
Grilled “Shadow Beni” Bone-In Ribeye
Hash Browns
Ramey Cabernet - Calistoga County Napa
Maine Lobster
Maine Lobster Casserole
Macaroni and Cheese
Skillet Cookie
Steak
Beef Tartare
Prime Rib
French Onion Soup
Seared Tuna
Aged Ribeye
Filet Mignon
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing
porterhouse steak
Bone-In Filet
Lump Crab Cocktail
Steak and Eggs Benedict
Abe's Lobster Macaroni And Cheese
Beef Steak Tomatoes Salad
Fresh Baked Apple Pie
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Colossal Chocolate Cake
Tuna Tartare
Martini
Cobb Salad
Key Lime Meringue Tarte
Broiled Prime Sirloin
Lobster Savanah
14 Oz Bone In Filet Mignon
Bloody Mary
Steak and Eggs
Caprese Salad
Abe & Louie's Salad
Wine
Decaf Coffee
Cosmopolitan
Bone-in Rib Eye
Erath 2009 Pinot Noir
Lump Crab Cakes with Jalapeno Mustard Sauce
Halibut
Crab Cake Benedict
Bacon and eggs
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
3lbs Lobster
Lobster and Shrimp Omlette
Prime Rib Double Cut

Private Dining

We offer two venues at Abe & Louie"s, Louie Louie upstairs or The Board Room on the lower level. Both settings are private, comfortable and adaptive for several types of events.

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Boston / New England
Most Booked
Boston / New England
Steakhouse
Boston
1 More
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (286)
fit for foodies (164)
notable wine list (141)
See All
good for groups (140)
romantic (116)
hot spot (90)
great for lunch (88)
neighborhood gem (77)
vibrant bar scene (73)
great for brunch (55)
great for outdoor dining (54)
scenic view (24)
late-night find (22)
kid-friendly (14)
Sort By:
Newest
2002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The server, Marco, was attentive, friend ...

Dined 4 days ago

The server, Marco, was attentive, friendly and didn't try to rush me. The Caesar salad had very tasty croutons. The filet mignon was like butter. I sat at one of the outside tables. It was around 10 pm. The weather was perfect with a slight breeze. There was a jazzy trombone playing down the street. It was a great meal and a wonderful experience!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A and L's filled with fun energy. Every ...

Dined 4 days ago

A and L's filled with fun energy. Every bit of the food was amazing from apps to salad, entrees and the best chocolate cake I have been served in a restaurant. The waitstaff was a huge part of our wonderful experience-attentive, professional and fun! A rare combination.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived a little early for our reserv ...

Dined 5 days ago

We arrived a little early for our reservation and were seated right away. Our waiter was incredibly pleasant, knowledgeable, and friendly without being overly attached. Service was amazing and perfectly timed. The food was incredible. I highly recommend the potatoes au gratin as a side dish. No one in our party had anything negative to say about the dinner. It's perfect for a night out or special occasion, but too pricey to eat at frequently. We've gone there to commemorate a few special occasions and it has become a favorite special place to go for my family. Thank you Abe and Louie's!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for father's day dinner so it was f ...

Dined 5 days ago

Went for father's day dinner so it was fairly busy. Most people had steak and they were all very happy. I had the special blackened halibut and it was excellent! There was an issue with the wine we ordered and it was taken back and a new bottle presented with no problems. Desserts were amazing, the chocolate cake was huge and the cheese cake was fresh and very tasty.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always count on excellent servic ...

Dined 5 days ago

You can always count on excellent service and superb food. A must for special occasions or a special treat!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I've eaten at Abe and Louie's several ti ...

Dined 6 days ago

I've eaten at Abe and Louie's several times before i had folks from out of town the 40 oz powerhouse we ordered was undercooked and the meat was fatty hardly any quality meat. The lobster we ordered was over cooked . It was very disappointing and not the place I had so many good meals at...I would not go back.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food - as always. Excellent servi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food - as always. Excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a 28th wedding anniversary. T ...

Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated a 28th wedding anniversary. The wait staff went above and beyond to make it special. Very attentive. The food was amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & service! We have been ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food & service! We have been here many times and have always had a fantastic meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had lunch with my nephew and everything ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Had lunch with my nephew and everything was perfect.... We enjoyed the meal and the service was great.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My top place for anything MEAT. Old time ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

My top place for anything MEAT. Old time classic steak house with all the classic sides. The best in Boston.

food4
ambience3
service5

We were seated upstairs. It is not the ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

We were seated upstairs. It is not the same as being in the main dining room. The teal chop was bland.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Wonderful service. Gorgeous ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food. Wonderful service. Gorgeous restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ecellent as always, great food, excellen ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Ecellent as always, great food, excellent service, great drinks and wine

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Abe and Louie's is my "go to" restaurant ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Abe and Louie's is my "go to" restaurant in Boston. Always great service and great menu. Guests can count on me taking them to Abe and Louie's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We made a special trip into Boston to vi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We made a special trip into Boston to visit this restaurant for Sunday Lunch/Brunch. We were seated right away and were quickly greeted. We both ordered brunch items, my Wife ordered the french toast which was described as having butter, pecans & maple-banana topping, I think I saw two tiny slivers of banana and maybe a sliver of pecan, but the serving included 6 half slices which was very tasty, even with the lack of toppings. I ordered the steak benedict . The hollandaise sauce had a bit of a bitter taste to it as is the case at some other restaurants that I've ordered this dish from, I assume it's due to the recipe they use for their sauce. I would prefer the less bitter/sour recipe of hollandaise sauce but I still enjoyed it. Perhaps I'll try something else during our next visit. Our server, John W., was top notch and very pleasant, he would be a great role model for others in his line of work. We will return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We and my girlfriend went here for dinne ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We and my girlfriend went here for dinner this past Saturday . We Read the reviews and figured we would give it a shot. Bread was out of this world dinner and dessert were also amazing. Service was also a 10 food came out quick and were so nice. We highly recommend going here.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food and service. Noise level ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. Noise level was louder than I tend to prefer, but the food and service is worth going back for. On a par with Smith & Wollensky, Grill 23, Morton's, and The Palm.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Great service but just not wowed by the ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great service but just not wowed by the food. Is rather go to Grill 23 for a much better steak!

food5
ambience5
service5

The best steak house in Boston

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

The best steak house in Boston

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Abe & Louie's has great culture!

Dined on June 5, 2016

I returned to Abe & Louie's after the great experience I had visiting Boston a couple of years ago. Coming from Minneapolis which also has great restaurants, ambiance, and culture, I appreciated going back and seeing, Sonny the bartender, who has a fabulous demeanor. A & L also reminded me of some of the great steak joints in Chicago. We will go back again for sure!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been coming here for years, never d ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Have been coming here for years, never disappoints

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

great food in general but not the mushrooms

Dined on June 4, 2016

We were able to sit outside. It was perfect temperature. Service was excellent. Everything was delicious (bread, salad, oyster, steak, sea bass). I was not impressed with the side mushroom dish. I have had much better. Otherwise everything else 5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was ready, server very knowledgeable.

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had reservations for seven after my son's high school graduation. Our tatasble was ready, great view of the outside, our server was helpful and very knowledgeable of the menu and very attentive to our drink and dinner orders. Our drinks were brought to our table very quickly. The food didn't take a super long time and was absolutely delicious. Four of us had the special filet mignon with bone, my son had the Delmonico steak and I had scallop/shrimp dish with risotto. I had a bite of my husband's filet and it melted in my mouth. Our sides were delicious also! And the chef prepared a special dessert tray for our special occasion! The experience was fun, wonderful, delicious and very enjoyable!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

We will be back. Excellent service and f ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We will be back. Excellent service and food. Totally enjoyable night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favourite Boston eatery!

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Abe and Louie's is a classic steak house but with excellent service, food and wine. The way I look at it is: "If you're going to have a steak you might as well go to the best place in town!"

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

top notch

Dined on May 31, 2016

came here for my wife's birthday on a recommendation from Harry the bartender at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel he was spot on service was great we both had the bone in rib eye cooked exactly as ordered nice size side orders complemented the beef the wedge salad had just the right amount of blue cheese and the house made bacon is to die for shared the peach cobbler for dessert it was more than enough for two had a pleasant conversation with the sommelier when he brought our wine to the table and shared some pictures of new wines we had recently tasted the decor is traditional steak house but warm and welcoming overall a very satisfying experience that we would encourage others to try at least once when visiting Boston

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Tasteless halibut special Dry French fri ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Tasteless halibut special Dry French fries

food4
ambience2
service3

Was seated up stairs in between 3 very l ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Was seated up stairs in between 3 very large parties. At times felt like we were forgotten a little bit by the wait staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Anniversary Celebration!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food and service were outstanding! Complimentary champagne for 4 was sent to the table after dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent as always

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

This place never disappoints. The food is top notch -- our steaks were cooked to perfection! Leave room for the Skillet Cookie, it was awesome but filling!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

was disappointed that we weren't able to ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

was disappointed that we weren't able to order off the dinner menu since we were there in the middle of the afternoon. i can't remember seeing times for lunch. also you should post that there is no valet parking in the afternoon. what with he parking situation that may be a consideration as what time to book reservations. all in all food was very good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jess and her team are wonderful!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Perfect night with friends in the best place to go in Boston!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great steaks and service

Dined on May 26, 2016

We started with a soft shell crab appetizer served on sour dough. Delicate and flavorful. I had the filet 10 oz and my husband had the 16 oz bone in filet. I asked for medium rare, but my steak was really medium. It was still very good, but a tiny bit over cooked for me. My husbands steak was cook to a perfect medium rare. We shared a side of grilled asparagus. The sides are an excellent size for sharing. We then finished with butterscotch brioche bread pudding. It was very tasty. The service is excellent and our waiters recommendations were spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the experience and the good ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Always enjoy the experience and the good at Abe and Louis. As a repeating customer I'm never disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Son's Graduation Dinner

Dined on May 23, 2016

Very good food with outstanding Service and Ambience. Always a must whenever in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely Delicious

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a restaurant that caters to the client. If you want to feel like the most important person in the room, this is the place. Our waiter was fantastic, the food was perfect, and the drinks were great too! Very expensive, but worth a visit! Go hungry, share the sides and be prepared to be pampered! YUM!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We ordered our steaks medium rare and th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We ordered our steaks medium rare and they were delivered medium well. We had to notify the waiter wo was reluctant to take them back. The food was disappointing. Much worse than on previous visits.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Superb service and food

Dined on May 20, 2016

I booked this restaurant for my wife's birthday. Management went out of their way to make it special; offered free champagne, candle in desert, free cake in addition to desserts we ordered. The service was smooth and seamless; Anthony did a great job of providing suggestions and making the timing between courses right. The entire service team went out of their way to say Happy Birthday. The steaks were top notch and the bacon appetizer was excellent; but the seared peppered tuna was also great.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey, but GREAT for a Special Occasion

Dined on May 20, 2016

I must say - while this place was pricey (but reasonable, and expected for a place like this), it was great. Definitely not the kind of place I'm going to once a week, as it is out of my price range, but definitely on my list for Special Occasion restaurants. For this occasion, we were celebrating the wedding anniversary of my Father and his wife. My father is quite the foodie, and his wife is known to be rather picky, and they both could not stop RAVING about the food. Its unfortunate that this is the meal we began our weekend together with, as nothing else would compare from this point forward. Service was excellent, food was great, and everyone left happy. I made a note in our online reservation that we were celebrating an anniversary, and the restaurant provided us with prosecco to toast upon arrival, as well as the most decadent chocolate cake as a celebratory dessert, all on the house. Would highly recommend - whether you can afford it as a regular stop, or just once in a while for special occasions, you won't regret it.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.