Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Abe and Louie's Boston

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

We offer private and semi private group dining space for 10 to 125 guests at Abe & Louie's

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (183)
Good for a Date (141)
Business Meals (133)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (115)
Good for Birthdays (101)
Romantic (86)
Notable Wine List (79)
Good for Groups (64)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Worth the Drive (60)
People Watching (55)
Bar Seating (49)
Great for Lunch (47)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Authentic (43)
Fun (43)
Hot Spot (43)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Comfort Food (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Casual (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Happy Hour (20)
Cozy (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Paleo Friendly (13)
Scenic View (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Disabled Access (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Live Sports (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

Great lunch. Jim was great. Everyone enjoyed the lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

There are not many choices for late nite dinner in Boston. We have always frequented Abe and Louie's earlier hours but we're happy to catch a 930 meal. Overall a feeling of your our last service so not as much attention as usual. Food was very good Delmonico and Lobster were 2 of 3 choices. A filet ordered came rare but took so long to get help didn't return. Disappointed but know we will still be back

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

Abe & Louie's is good, but I think it is very overrated. My steak was fine but it was nothing special, I had very high expectations since it is constantly names as the best steakhouse in Boston. I will say the side dishes I had (creamed spinach & potatoes au gratin) were top notch and I think they stole the show. Overall - solid meal, but the steak was average.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful dining experience. The food and atmosphere was exceptional! I'm confident to say I had the best steak of my life at Abe and Louie's. To top it off our waiter Chris was extremely genuine giving us the best dining experience while visiting Boston.

Thanks again!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Had to wait 45 minutes past our reservation time to sit but the resturant compensated us very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food great waiter nice to celebrate a Notre Dame win

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Amos our waiter was attentive and made great suggestions. This was a first visit for us and we will be back. The place was fun and food delicious! The filet was fork friendly. No knife needed. Two sides perfect for two and we tried the hash browns and green bean with shallots. We were there for Anniversary and dessert was complimentary. Amazing find!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Had the Porterhouse, it was not as good as I was hoping. But still a nice meal and the service and everything else still very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing food. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Everything was very spicy 🌶 or should I say over-spiced ? Four of us had 4 different entrees and all of them have been overwhelmed with spices. None of us enjoy our dinner there.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Attentive service. Good wonderful and complimentary birthday slice of cake and ice cream. It was delicious. Prices a little high but quality of food very good

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food is delicious and staff is very personal. I was a little surprised to be carded (especially at this piece point) to get a bottle of wine but otherwise it is a great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

My go to spot whenever I am in Boston. Love the service and ambience but this time the food was so far beyond salty it was virtually inedible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The blackened halibut with mushroom risotto in a burre blanc sauce was incredible. No need for appetizer or sides as this dish was very filling, as well. I just wished I lived in Boston, so I could go to Abe and Louie's more often. Service was superb.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Very large portions with high quality ingredients. Good service. Very expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I read about Abe and Louie's in an article about the best steak houses in each state so I wanted to give it a try for an anniversary dinner. Their reputation is well deserved! The grass fed filet was the best I've ever eaten, so tender you could cut it with a butter knife and absolutely delicious. The side portions are quite large. We shared 2 sides for 2 people and couldn't finish them. From the wine to dessert, everything was perfect. I would recommend Abe and Louie's to anyone looking for a great fine dinning experience. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Went to Abe & Louie's on Boylston for a farewell dinner with my daughter who had been visiting from the UK for the past month. We had an enjoyable evening though it was one, right from the outset, I knew was going to cost an arm and a leg. The service was attentive and efficient, the food tasty enough with very generous portions indeed - we both struggled to finish our main courses - and the bill with tip was $250. That's my abiding memory, that this is a place for a corporate lunch or dinner and not for working people paying out of their own pocket. The food - for starter my daughter had bacon (four thick strips of well cooked streaky) with blue cheese, whole grain mustard and tomato relish; I had six lovely oysters - for main course (why do they say entrees in America?) I had an aged New York strip sirloin which came up medium instead of medium rare. It was pleasant enough but I've had better in Boston, at Towne, Mooo and at Smith & Wollensky. My daughter had a risotto with large seared scallops and jumbo shrimps. Looked great though I thought the risotto a little sweet and it reminded me a little of the rice pudding of my childhood. which got me wondering whether they had actually used arborio or carnaroli rice. The mashed potatoes and sautéed spinach and mushroom side dishes were both superb, almost my favourite piece of the meal. All in all very nice food and wine but overpriced in my opinion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always amazing !! They never disappoint !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent! We cannot wait to return to Boston and will definitely go to Abe and Louie's.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Service and food were excellent. Our Server Jeffrey was outstanding. Extremely knowledgeable about food and wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Get the rib eye. Sirloin was fair. No doubt the rib eye is amazing. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Exceptional food and service. I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food. Superb desserts. Servicer was prompt but not very friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Love the outdoor seating was very very nice
Overall very good dinner
Waitstaff was exceptional!!!!!
When in Boston will be back
Food very good

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 36th anniversary on Saturday. We couldn't have picked a better restaurant to celebrate the special occasion. Everything was excellent and we will certainly come back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The inside of the restaurant is historic and charming. Some of the tables are very close to eachother and it feels a bit like you are dining with your neighbors at the next table. I would probably request a more private table next time. Wood fired bacon was very tasty, lobster was good, ceasar salad didn't have enough flavor for me, too bland, and the cheesecake was very good, especially the graham cracker crust. The service was excellent and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. I would go back, but would try something new off the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The rolls are delicious. I don't eat meat and my salad, shrimp and crab cake tasted like meat. The appetizer of seafood was overpriced. Four people each had one bite of shrimp, crab, and lobster which cost $75.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Awesome steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The Rib eye steack was delicious and the service very friendly

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

On vacation, we try to go to a local steakhouse in every city we visit and Abe and Louie's fit the criteria. It was fantastic!! My wife had halibut and I had surf and turf (bone in ribeye with lobster Savannah). I can't recommend the lobster Savannah high enough. You will not regret it. The Brussels sprouts were outstanding and very good au gratin potatoes. For desert the butterscotch bread pudding and the chocolate cake were fantastic. This place is kind of loud, lot going on, but it's not so much you can't enjoy it. Great menu with many choices and fantastic service. I really have no complaints and highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Completely enjoyed our evening. My wife and I went there for our anniversary and were treated so well. I had the blackened halibut special and it was amazing. Really appreciated the service and attention to detail from everyone. Will definitely go there again and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

best steaks and side dishes in all of Boston by far

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We have eaten in a number of Boston steakhouses; this is by far the best. Steaks are delish, perfectly grilled; drinks generous and tasty, sides also delicious.
Service warm and friendly. Been back a number of times and will be there again soon.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The soup was delicious and the steak seasoned to perfection. Also the service was awesome

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The staff were amazing! Our server was extremely knowledgeable of the menu items as well as drinks. The steak was perfect, I couldn't have asked for a better dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great Food and Great Service. Valet Parking made it easy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I ordered a hamburger on a bun and it came on Texas toast. Asked for ketchup and they needed to go the kitchen to get a little cup of it. However, all other condiments are available at the bar in glass bottles. Makes no sense.

The bartender was in slow motion.

I miss Charlie Sarkis.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Highly recommend for Sunday brunch. Nice choices and reasonably priced. Parking nearby can be difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife and I have been here many times for dinner. Usually for birthdays or special occasions. This time we decided to try brunch and it was great. Service was excellent as well. We will definatley be doing brunch here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a great time with great food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.