Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Abe and Louie's Boston

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for Mother's Day and show your appreciation with a freshly prepared meal of elegant flavors and indulgences made with her in mind and served in style.

Private Dining

We offer private and semi private group dining space for 10 to 125 guests at Abe & Louie's

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (169)
Good for a Date (140)
Good for Anniversaries (122)
See All
Good for Birthdays (121)
Business Meals (120)
Notable Wine List (94)
Romantic (77)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Good for Groups (64)
Bar Seating (59)
Great for Lunch (59)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Cozy (53)
Worth the Drive (50)
Authentic (49)
Hot Spot (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Fun (42)
People Watching (40)
Great for Brunch (39)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Comfort Food (35)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Historic (25)
Casual (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Family Style (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Paleo Friendly (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Fireplace (14)
Private Room (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Scenic View (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great Beer (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Music (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2774 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 17 hours ago

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 2 days ago

Overrated and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I was very happy with the service and the historical ambiance of Abe and Louie. Everyone enjoyed their meals. I did feel that the steaks fell a bit short. Having eaten at other great steakhouses throughout the country, they were a bit shy of perfection. The seafood dishes were thoroughly enjoyed as were the sides and the desserts.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Best Steakhouse in Boston. On a recent visit we ate at Ruth's Chris and Abe & Louie's and in our opinion, Abe & Louise is superior!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Abe and Louie's always makes me happy; Kenny, our waiter made it even better! Thank you, all!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The steaks were fantastic and the service good. Unfortunately, the noise level was so high that it was a challenge to hold a conversation while enjoying the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Abe and Louie's is a great restaurant, but expect to pay typical high prices for a classic steakhouse. Service was very good and setting outstanding.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great dinner! Thank you again for all your advice

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server BobbY Dee was wonderful ... we had a great time and excellent meal!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Celebrating the Boston weekend. The food was wonderful. Our server Alex was very helpful with our side orders and with the final decision in dinner choice. Looking forward to dinner again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice food, fabulous dining experience, great atmosphere for group, higy recommended A+

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Perfect place to celebrate after completing the Boston Marathon. Restaurant looks over the finish line. Incredible ambiance, impeccable service and delicious food!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Everything was great except for the awful service! We felt as though we were imposing by asking the waiter if we could order our meals. We had to flag the waiter down to get him to come to our table. Our entire conversation that evening was about the awful service. We thought perhaps the poor service was the result of a waiter who was overwhelmed, but we observed our waiter chatting by the bathroom. I probably won't be returning!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our food was delicious, we had the perfect table, the service was impeccable , especially our waiter, he was fantastic! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our meal was wonderful and our waiter Drew was outstanding!!!! Will definitely return the next time I am in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was great but the lady at the reservations desk. We had a 6:15 booking they wanted to give us a table upstairs but we wanted one downstairs and where told it would take 20 mins . When they had a few tables of 5 available so we agreed and when I checked back in 25 mins I was told we had to wait until the table paid there bill. We did not get sat until 7 and there was 3 tables for 5 still empty Really???

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The steak and the fish here are always delicious. Pair it up with any of their risotto's, massed potatoes,and veggies and you'll have fabulous meal. The Cesar salad is great too,and their warm buttered bread is also outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went there for Easter food was excellent and wait staff as a always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter dinner and, once again, were NOT disappointed. My husband took me there on our first date and it's become a family favorite through the years. Wonderful!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Celebrated Easter with brunch for 7 at a table just inside the open doors, on an unusually warm Easter Sunday. The setting could not have been better -- with views to the festive day before Boston Marathon crowds and soft music wafting in from a two piece street band. The service was excellent and the Eggs Benedict three ways (steak, lobster and crab) was outstanding. All in all a wonderful day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best filet mignon ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Abe and Louie's never disappoints. The food, service, ambiance and even the Valet guys are great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and service! On the pricey side but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was very busy. Saturday evening on marathon weekend. We only had to wait a few minutes before being seated. Our server Bobby Dee was outstanding! Just the right amount of attention. His suggestions were spot on, and we really enjoyed our conversations with him. The meal was excellent. I had the filet which was cooked perfectly, and my date had the swordfish. Both meals along with side dishes were delicious. I also recommend the clam chowder. Even with the energetic ambiance, it was a very enjoyable and relaxing evening. 5 stars all around. We will definitely be back to experience it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was perfect......would recommend highly

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We've been coming to Abe & Louie's for many years now and have loved it every time. After trying many steakhouses in the Boston area, we always come back to Abe's because it's been the best and most consistent. Our last visit was a bit disappointing. 8 of us (in our party of 9) ordered steaks and 4 of us ended up with overcooked steaks. My medium came out medium well, another friend's medium rare was medium plus... This is the first time we've experienced this at A&L's and were quite surprised by this. I had the filet mignon and in the past have enjoyed the way it's presented on a plate with its own juices. The way it was presented this time featured no juice whatsoever and looked overdone just by looking at it. We didn't voice any complaints to the waiter as she was great, but this experience definitely soured the perfect run we've enjoyed at A&L's over the years. The sides were good but also lacked a bit of the shine we've come to expect from this restaurant. The asparagus were dull in color and a bit on the limp side, without the snap we were expecting. Overall, our party had a good time and we enjoyed several aspects of the meal (drinks, desserts). But having half of our party's steaks not come out as ordered was a big letdown, especially with the cost of each steak (which we're happy to pay but expect them to be perfect). We'll try Abe & Louie's again because it's been our go-to Boston steakhouse for so long... but if we had another experience like the one we just had where the steaks were overcooked, we would move on to any of the other great steakhouses the city has to offer.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were celebrating two birthdays in our party with no recognition from the staff. We were seated upstairs which is acceptable but not as great an ambiance as downstairs. My Boneless New York Sirloin Au Pouvre with Asparagus and Garlic Masshed were very good. I tried the Cheesecake for the first time this trip. It comes with just some pieces of fruit and no sauce. It could have used some sauce. It was a little bland

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Abe and Louie's best steakhouse in Boston. The service was great and their martini presentation was neat with an ice bucket for the rest of the martini.

They had a filet mignon bone in special that was amazing. The mac and cheese is a little on the sweeter side, in case you were debating about that or the mashed potatoes. Perfect for date night!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is the second year in a row that we have been to Abe & Louie's for my husband's birthday, and we did not leave disappointed! Outstanding food, service and overall experience! I have no complaints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Incredible meal. Our waiter Frank was phenomenal. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Was there for a birthday , not a good idea! First time was trying make my date special . This restaurant more for like going out to grab food on Friday Saturday night !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. One of our favorite places. We were at a table this time but I'm always blown away by the knowledge and helpfullness when we sit at the bar. Obviously sitting it's more private but they have an excellent waitstaff and the valets are always great too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Brought my boyfriend here for his birthday, he had never been to Abe and Louie's before, and now he can't wait to go back! Everything (service, food, atmosphere) was perfect. He had the NY Strip and I had the Rib Eye and we also had the potatoes gratin, everything was cooked to perfection. He could not stop gushing about how he'd just eaten the best steak in his life. I ate almost all of my huge portion of steak, it was just too good and I couldn't help myself!
On top of the delicious food, we experienced a very friendly and efficient staff. Our server Anthony was very warm and accommodating, and the service was seamless. Unfortunately we did not have any room for dessert, but hopefully next time we'll be able to enjoy something off their menu! I have been to Abe's on several occasions, and it never fails to impress. I'm glad I got to introduce my boyfriend to one of my favorite places in Boston. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The steak was amazing. The portion size and quality of the meat absolutely is worth the price. Service was attentive and very friendly, and a nice atmosphere as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Abe & Louie's is noted for it's fine steaks. My husband and I both had filet mignon club sandwiches. I thought mine was excellent and cooked just right (medium). My husband thought the same. Although I expect to pay a premium at this restaurant, the wine, at $19 for the large glass, seemed over priced. For desert we had key lime pie and cheesecake with seasonal berries, both of which were excellent. We both even enjoyed the coffee, which in many fine restaurants is too strong for our liking. This was just right. I highly recommend Abe & Louie's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food. Service off a bit. New server. Had to remind me to bring salads out before entre arrived. But it was a busy pre-marathon Friday.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Good traditional steak house experience Two new your prime's one outstanding and one average. For the premium pricing average is sub par

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Just a wonderful old time steak house. All the favorite sides and desserts. You never will leave hungry. Servers are all pros. All positive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Abe & Louie's is a Boston Landmark for a great place for an excellent steak. The dining room is comfortable and the service is excellent without being pretentious. My companion and I had the steak - he had the strip steak and I had the Delmonico. Both were cooked exactly as we requested and since I like my steak rare and I don't usually get it the way I actually like it I was very pleased to see it was cooked rare and perfectly for me. We shared grilled asparagus also which was excellent. It can be pricy but when the food (especially steak) is done properly it's worth the cost.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.