Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Abe and Louie's Boston

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

We offer private and semi private group dining space for 10 to 125 guests at Abe & Louie's

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (220)
Good for a Date (160)
Business Meals (158)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (143)
Good for Birthdays (112)
Romantic (94)
Notable Wine List (92)
Good for Groups (77)
Fit for Foodies (68)
Worth the Drive (68)
Bar Seating (64)
Great for Lunch (60)
Authentic (58)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Fun (56)
People Watching (55)
Hot Spot (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (53)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Pre/post Theatre (50)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Great for Brunch (44)
Cozy (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Comfort Food (34)
Casual (33)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Paleo Friendly (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Historic (19)
Scenic View (18)
Local Ingredients (14)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Private Room (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Fireplace (7)
Healthy (7)
Family Style (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Music (3)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
 (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
3022 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I have enjoyed numerous summer lunches at Abe & Louie's over the years and have always ranked them from 4 to 5 on the 5 scale. So we decided to celebrate earlier this week with a party of six for a business dinner. We reserved a 630pm OpenTable several days in advance. When we arrived for our reservation the hostess, after stalling for at least 5 minutes, led us to the dark, dingy, vacant basement. We told her this was unacceptable, we weren't going to spend $1,000 on dinner for 6 in a basement. The blonde hostess was not friendly, not accommodating, and gave us really bad attitude like we were putting her out. We asked for a table on the main floor and after another 5 minutes were told that all the good vacant tables had been requested (we didn't know we needed to request a good table) and we were led to a noisy half-booth and half-chairs table near the bar. But the worst was to come: the food and wine. The house cabernet is expensive (and very warm by the way) for the poor quality. We upgraded to glasses of Meomi and Treana for about $25 per 9-oz glass. The house rolls were overcooked and dry and we had to ask for replacements. The Caesar salad was decent but not great. The seafood tower was very good but costly. The bone-in ribeye at about $50 looked and tasted like the all-u-can-eat steaks at Golden Corral. It was thin, overcooked (we requested medium rare and it was on the far side of medium), unmarbled, and not very tasty. The worst were the sides: the asparagus and the mushroom sides were very overcooked: the mushrooms were reduced to a soupy stew and the thin asparagus very olive drab in color and tough. We have had many superior evening meals out in the Boston area for less than one-half the cost and with gracious service. This formerly very good restaurant has developed an arrogance and has become complacent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great night, a little noisy. Overall delicious meal. Best French onion soup I have had for many a year. Very tender steak. Would definitely recommend

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Have dined there for many years typically excellent, unfortunately two of the 4 steaks were significantly overcooked. The replacements still overcooked while not as much still not what they should have been. They did the right think by not charging the mark of a high class operation. Service was very good

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was better than expected. The crab apetizer was over the top. My wife and I are looking forward to the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Upscale pricing in a great location. However, note that there isn't a kids menu at this restaurant. I wound up buying steak and side for my two kids to split at a cost of $40! Food and service were very good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service! Lobster Mac 'n Cheese was delicious and the Tuna Tartare was fresh and perfect! Sonny, the bartender and Chris, our server made sure it was an exceptional experience!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

My only complaint was it was too hot in the restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

New York sirloin was amazing. Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always a great steak... been to Abe & Louies a bunch and the steak is always terrific. If you love a juicy cut this is the place. Wait staff is always spot on too

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

We went to Abe & Louie's to celebrate my daughter's 25th birthday. We had seats upstairs near the window and had a chance to see the buzz of the city while enjoying excellently prepared meals. The Wait Staff were all fantastic. All in all a great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food was delicious. The ambience was lovely. The service was superb! We'll be back again soon and often.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My overall experience this time was not as fabulous as my last few visits to Abe and Louie's. The service was wonderful and the food was delicious, but the table assigned to us was terrible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Everything about Abe and Louie's is great. For some reason, the only thing that can be tricky is telling the front desk that you will be waiting for your party at the bar. When the rest of the party arrived, they were told that I wasn't there yet! Other than that, everything was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Reserved for 17 people. Unfortunately only 14 made it but the staff were very accommodating and the food was out of this world! Will visit again next time in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great evening with fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 9, 2017

One of our favorite places in Boston. The bartender and our waiter Anthony were amazing and made our night extra fun. Food as always was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This place was fantastic for brunch with great food, mimosas and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This restaurant is always great! The service is fantastic and the wine list is tremendous.I have always enjoyed this spot

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Abe and Louie's is known for steak. Interestingly absent from the list above. The salads and sides are substantial and substantive. They will half most of them for you, variety at such a restaurant is a treat. The Brussels sprouts were a bit of a disappointment. But everything else was delightful from cocktails to dessert. Service was timely and amiable, good advice available when requested. What else do you want? Cheap prices....not here. You get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We got a last min 9pm reservation and were able to dine upstairs at our favorite table overlooking the street. We had a wonderful server whom was filling in for our usual server, Heather. Martha was AMAZING. Her personality and timing were delightful. We never have a bad meal or cocktail at Abe & Louis. The lobster Savannah is TO DIE FOR each and every time. Thank you for being consistent in your delivery of great service, great food and excellent atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, People Watching, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Had a great time and the food/service was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great steakhouse with all the trimmings. Beautiful dark wood and paintings surrounding the bar and dining area. Excellent selection of steaks done to perfection. Service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Early dinner, we were seated right away and the waiter was prompt but not overbearing. He had good recommendations and we had 2 steaks (Delmonico and Ribeye) along with 3 sides that were very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a lunch meeting at Abe & Louie's. Just drinks and burgers. All in all, very pleasant. I especially liked the vodka martini, which was ice cold and huge. The beef burgers were fine, although I personally prefer double patties rather than one huge patty as served at A&L. The meat overwhelms the bun. One of our party had a tuna burger, which he said was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The prime rib is great, and the lobster is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

A superb meal! Service was outstanding, very attentive and professional. Steaks were exquisite, perfectly cooked and nicely plated. Sides were great--and very generous. Recommend very highly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Fabulous meal for my son's homecoming from the Army. Five years ago before he shipped out we ate there and vowed to come back when he got out. We were so excited to go back a few days ago. We were treated like royalty. Abe & Louie's is a very special place for our family. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great as usual. My go to place for great food and drinks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2017

An outstanding meal in all respects. Been to many steakhouses and this was right up there. Other than a somewhat dated decor, have nothing but compliments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

One of the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We enjoyed another excellent meal today, Happy 4th of July! Thanks to our bartender Brian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 4, 2017

Good food in a great ambience
John is a great server
Thanks

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance, waiter SAM was very helpful with the wine selection . Dinner was great , steak cooked to perfection.. Will be back soon :-)

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food. My steak was cooked perfectly. My husbands was a little overdone and the server noticed and replaced it immediately. Service was terrific. Chocolate cake was awesome. Also they do have food for children even though it's not listed on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great service, food top notch. Helpful, friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoy A&L every time we go.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Horrible. (Have frequent diner card). Was very specific with waiter that I have food restrictions. No added salt or sugar. Repeated it many times. Lamb chops arrived with salt. I said no salt on baked potato it was baked in salt. Everyone finished their meal while I waited then they had to wait for me. Made it very unpleasant
Been going to Abe and Louis for years since they opened
In Boston. Very disappointed
No apologies from staff. Usually a manager comes by. No manager I didn't ask for one to complain

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Brunch at Abe & Louie's was savory and the kindness provided by Chris, our server, was amazing. Beautiful restaurant with multiple levels and wonderful food.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is our recommended splurge when in Boston. The seafood tower is a must! The lamb chops were cooked perfectly and they had mint jelly! A family favorite for me although I understand horrific for the uninitiated. The wine list was very nice at normal reasonable prices. Valet parking was very helpful!

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our server, John, was exceptional and to have that kind of service with food and ambience was a perfect night. Ask for John!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.