About Abe and Louie's Boston

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate all weekend long. Thank the man who made it all happen by treating him to quality time over a quality meal.

Private Dining

We offer two venues at Abe & Louie"s, Louie Louie upstairs or The Board Room on the lower level. Both settings are private, comfortable and adaptive for several types of events.

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Steakhouse
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (288)
fit for foodies (154)
notable wine list (143)
See All
romantic (132)
good for groups (123)
great for lunch (87)
vibrant bar scene (85)
hot spot (83)
neighborhood gem (68)
great for brunch (50)
great for outdoor dining (40)
late-night find (22)
scenic view (21)
kid-friendly (10)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jess and her team are wonderful!

Dined 3 days ago

Perfect night with friends in the best place to go in Boston!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the experience and the good ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy the experience and the good at Abe and Louis. As a repeating customer I'm never disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Son's Graduation Dinner

Dined on May 23, 2016

Very good food with outstanding Service and Ambience. Always a must whenever in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely Delicious

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a restaurant that caters to the client. If you want to feel like the most important person in the room, this is the place. Our waiter was fantastic, the food was perfect, and the drinks were great too! Very expensive, but worth a visit! Go hungry, share the sides and be prepared to be pampered! YUM!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We ordered our steaks medium rare and th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We ordered our steaks medium rare and they were delivered medium well. We had to notify the waiter wo was reluctant to take them back. The food was disappointing. Much worse than on previous visits.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Superb service and food

Dined on May 20, 2016

I booked this restaurant for my wife's birthday. Management went out of their way to make it special; offered free champagne, candle in desert, free cake in addition to desserts we ordered. The service was smooth and seamless; Anthony did a great job of providing suggestions and making the timing between courses right. The entire service team went out of their way to say Happy Birthday. The steaks were top notch and the bacon appetizer was excellent; but the seared peppered tuna was also great.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey, but GREAT for a Special Occasion

Dined on May 20, 2016

I must say - while this place was pricey (but reasonable, and expected for a place like this), it was great. Definitely not the kind of place I'm going to once a week, as it is out of my price range, but definitely on my list for Special Occasion restaurants. For this occasion, we were celebrating the wedding anniversary of my Father and his wife. My father is quite the foodie, and his wife is known to be rather picky, and they both could not stop RAVING about the food. Its unfortunate that this is the meal we began our weekend together with, as nothing else would compare from this point forward. Service was excellent, food was great, and everyone left happy. I made a note in our online reservation that we were celebrating an anniversary, and the restaurant provided us with prosecco to toast upon arrival, as well as the most decadent chocolate cake as a celebratory dessert, all on the house. Would highly recommend - whether you can afford it as a regular stop, or just once in a while for special occasions, you won't regret it.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff!

Dined on May 20, 2016

The staff!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visiting Boston with wife and had an amazing time!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Probably the best steakhouse I have been to. Excellent service, staff was tremendous, and the ambiance had an old-school traditional steak house charm without being dated. Food was equal to the atmosphere and location of the restaurant. Overall 5/5, we will definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

LOVE THE FOOD, HATE THE NOISE LEVEL

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is so good it'll make you cry. But the noise level may have the same effect IF you have any voice left after you eat here. I love the food so much, I'm almost willing to put up with it. Almost. But c'mon, management. Would it really be that difficult to control the noise so that customers could have a conversation without screaming or going hoarse? Honestly that's the only thing that would keep me from coming back next time I'm in Boston. Everything else is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! One of my top 10 favs ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Never disappoints! One of my top 10 favs in Boston.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Far and away the best steakhouse in Bost ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Far and away the best steakhouse in Boston. Everyone else is serving ground chuck in comparison.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lunch. Food was delicious. Ha ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent lunch. Food was delicious. Had brought people from out of town for a business lunch and they loved it .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Boston steakhouse - always consist ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great Boston steakhouse - always consistent service and food. Get the bacon appetizer!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great Ambiance

Dined on May 15, 2016

I went with my daughter to celebrate her College Graduation.We had a reservation and were seated immediately at 9pm. We requested a table outside as I love people watching. We started with oysters, clam chowder and french onion soup and they were all very good. My daughter had the salmon and I had the prime rib. They were both good but not the best we have had especially at the price they charge. The drawback for the evening was the service. after we were seated no one came by for 15 minutes. When the 1st person came by he took my daughters wine order. After that no one came by to take our order for 30 minutes. Pretty disappointed in the service

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food and service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It is expensive but usually well worth t ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It is expensive but usually well worth the price. The servers are excellent, very friendly and professional. The food is usually top notch but this time the steak was way over cooked. I asked for medium and came out well done but sometimes those things happen. It is definitely one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

great steak but..

Dined on May 14, 2016

great food as usual but was very disappointed that I order three different types of bottled beer and each one was bad - "skunked". Left a bad taste in my mouth for a $230.00 night for 2.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Amazing ambiance and the best martini I ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing ambiance and the best martini I have ever had

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you are looking for a great steak, th ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

If you are looking for a great steak, this is your place

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I ever had. Get the bone-in N ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Best steak I ever had. Get the bone-in New York strip and thank me later

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is excellent. Service is verry good ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food is excellent. Service is verry good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved everything about this place. T ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We loved everything about this place. The rolls they bring out are the best I've ever had. Seafood was excellent. Salad was great. Nice atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Chris was an excellent waiter. Great ser ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Chris was an excellent waiter. Great service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very enjoyable Mother's Day meal. The meats were wonderfully cooked and seasoned. Our selections include tenderloin, lamb, Delmonico and roast beef. The salads were disappointing. The greens in the chopped salad were cut not chopped so a bit on the large side, and the other ingredients were so small as to appear minced and not very many of them. The dressing was also too mild. The seven layer chocolate cake was awesome the next day when eaten at room temperature, but not so much when served direct from cold storage. The service was impeccable and flawless.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steak

Dined on May 8, 2016

I love this place, I always come for dinner or drinks and it's amazing. Best place in Bosto for steak. Great location and excellent service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Been before, will keep going. A Boston staple, it's a great bar, a great steak, and their menu is very good. Huge wine list, maybe pricey I don't care. Lively, people come here and enjoy. Too often reservations a good idea on any given weekend. Get a booth! Waiters are very good, calm, professional, and responsive. Somebody brought us grilled asparagus, we ordered steamed, it was there in minutes. Not an issue. Go.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall amazing experience! I went for Mother's Day brunch and it couldn't have been better. I ordered the eggs Benedict three ways and it was the best eggs Benedict I have ever had! The bread provided is also amazing and almost got full from eating it all. Everything was top-notch down to the drinks: I ordered an iced tea and was provided with three different options for sweetening! I would definitely recommend and would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was of poor quality. Ordered clam cakes and there wasn't much clam, but lots of runny egg.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner to celebrate Graduation

Dined on May 6, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! From the moment we arrived when then greeted us on the sidewalk, the experience was phenomenal. Delicious food, a beautiful and comfortable atmosphere and top notch friendly service. It made celebrating our special occasion even more special. Would definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service as usal was superb.

Dined on May 4, 2016

The food was wonderful. The staff was very attentive and there when needed. Looking forward to dining here for dinner soon.

Tags: romance, lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and service were both exceptional. We ate in the private room downstairs where it was more quiet. Celebrated a special occasion. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The steaks were awesome.

Dined on April 30, 2016

The steaks were fabulous, as were the steak fries and the cauliflower steaks. Not much to eat for vegans. The place is rather noisy but definitely worth going to.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Noisey Night

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our first time to Abe and Louie's. The steak was to die for but the sides were not very good. But we did not come for the sides...... Also, this was the noisiest high end steakhouse I have ever been to. This is the reason I would not come back or recommend it.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was delicious and service was excellent, very attentive. Wonderful wine list. Dined with 4 friends, everyone was happy with their meal, all courses. Would absolutely dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Abe and Louis provided the usual excelle ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Abe and Louis provided the usual excellent service and tasty food, cooked perfectly. It is one of my favorite restaurants and has been for years. Would recommend Abe and Louis to anyone, including tourists visiting Boston who are looking for a memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was exceptional!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything was exceptional!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great time

Dined on April 29, 2016

Abe and Louie's never disappoints. As always from the moment you sit down everything is first class. The food, the service and the drink is great. Would recommend to anyone looking for a wonderful night out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Really high quality steak and seafood. H ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Really high quality steak and seafood. Huge salads. The sides were well prepared. This is NOT an inexpensive restaurant. Figure at least $100 a person with a salad, entree, glass of wine and dessert. But worth it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Was in Boston for an important doctor's appt. Had a long, not so good day. Wanted to do something special with my mom, so we went to Abe and Louie's. Turned a yucky day into a delicious and comfortable evening. Everything was wonderful. If you're hungry, and don't mind spending a little more, you won't be disappointed. Abe and Louie's is worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.