About Abe and Louie's Boston

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone In NY Strip
Key Lime Pie
Bone-In Dry Aged Prime Rib
16.5 Pounds Lobster - Estimated 50 Years Old
Hash Browns
Grilled “Shadow Beni” Bone-In Ribeye
Ramey Cabernet - Calistoga County Napa
Maine Lobster
Maine Lobster Casserole
Macaroni and Cheese
Skillet Cookie
Beef Tartare
Steak
Prime Rib
French Onion Soup
Aged Ribeye
Filet Mignon
Seared Tuna
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing
porterhouse steak
Bone-In Filet
Steak and Eggs Benedict
Lump Crab Cocktail
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Fresh Baked Apple Pie
Tuna Tartare
Colossal Chocolate Cake
Abe's Lobster Macaroni And Cheese
Martini
Beef Steak Tomatoes Salad
Cobb Salad
Key Lime Meringue Tarte
Broiled Prime Sirloin
Lobster Savanah
14 Oz Bone In Filet Mignon
Bloody Mary
Steak and Eggs
Wine
Abe & Louie's Salad
Caprese Salad
Cosmopolitan
Decaf Coffee
Erath 2009 Pinot Noir
Lump Crab Cakes with Jalapeno Mustard Sauce
Bone-in Rib Eye
Halibut
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Crab Cake Benedict
Bacon and eggs
3lbs Lobster
Lobster and Shrimp Omlette
Prime Rib Double Cut

Private Dining

We offer private and semi private group dining space for 10 to 125 guests at Abe & Louie's

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Steakhouse
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (238)
Fit for Foodies (129)
Good for Groups (120)
See All
Notable Wine List (111)
Romantic (105)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
Hot Spot (78)
Great for Outdoor Dining (71)
Great for Lunch (69)
Vibrant Bar Scene (60)
Great for Brunch (41)
Late-night Find (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
Scenic View (16)
Casual (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All eleven of us enjoyed our dinners. Fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

All eleven of us enjoyed our dinners. From steak to lobster they all came out perfect.

We will go back next time we are in Boston.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and every dish was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was excellent and every dish was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best resturant for lunch or dinner. Spec ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best resturant for lunch or dinner. Spectacular burger/ amazing filet club. Dinner it s all really,really, good.

All the personal, from hostess's ,service, make it special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Abe & Louie's was recommended dining by ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Abe & Louie's was recommended dining by the staff at our hotel... What a Great Find! Great restaurant with Great Food made all the more enjoyable by our excellent and very attentive waiter Anthony.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A special place for a special day. Marth ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

A special place for a special day. Martha, our server, was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a wonderful experience celebratin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful experience celebrating a milestone birthday at Abe and Louie's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food and service! We say at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Exceptional food and service! We say at the bar and felt so taken care of! Bartenders kind, professional, very attentive and so funny! We had so much fun and it was a great birthday celebration for my husband. We will be back and mist likely in a Saturday nite in hopes of connecting with the same exceptional servers at the bar. Thank u!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Their filet mignon was amazing! I went ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Their filet mignon was amazing! I went here with my family and we had a great time.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT fotos as always

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

GREAT fotos as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food- bread was warm and delic ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food- bread was warm and delicious, ahi tuna appetizer was perfect, and the steak was as good as any I've tasted. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy coming to Abe and Louie' ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We always enjoy coming to Abe and Louie's . We typically like to dine at the bar but, don't have much luck getting seats there. Not a deal breaker in anyway but, a mention if there is ever a redesign of the space on the horizon, to add some more bar space. The staff is attentive and on par as always. We enjoy having Paul take care of us!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is really good . High quality. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food is really good . High quality. Service is awesome. Best restaurant. Love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had to wait a bit to be seated even t ...

vip
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had to wait a bit to be seated even though we had a reservation and once seated waited longer than usual for our server. But after that everything was fine and service was great. All meals and salads did not disappoint. Does get a little noisy on the second floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The bone in rib eye was not only a poor ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The bone in rib eye was not only a poor cut but it was also overcooked. $54 for that has turned me off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Best steak ever! The goat cheese was s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best steak ever! The goat cheese was simply delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, service was spectacular ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent meal, service was spectacular , food was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unimpressed. Hadn't been since Char ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Very unimpressed. Hadn't been since Charlie Sarkis sold. Just ate at Morton's, Capital Grille and was expecting Abe & Louie's to be so much better and it wasn't very good at all. We were celebrating a birthday, which I added to reservation, nothing was said when we walked in, waitress didn't know about birthday. Uniforms are dated and not in good shape. Waitress was "like someone working at a Burger King in Maine" according to the birthday girl from Maine. Wouldn't get fries again. Burger was decent as was turkey club. Slow service. Waitress said she was giving us time to catch up. I told her we work together and were on our lunch hour. Disappointed they were out of prime rib sandwich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

As always the dinner was excellent and t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

As always the dinner was excellent and the service fantastic. I took my sister here before a concert. We had table reservations, but arrived early so we decided to sit at the bar. I did make the hostess aware of this & she was very accomendating. I cannot say enough about how attentive & helpful the waitstaff was at the bar. Beginning with young Brian who took our order. He was leaving soon, but made it a point to say goodbye & introduce us to who was coming in Matt & Michelle. Brian has always been fantastic when my husband & I come. Michelle & Matt took very good care of us when Brian left. My sister was not sure what type of wine she would like & Michelle very nicely offered her a couple of samplings. I had the ribeye delicious I only left a small bite, I was pleasantly stuffed. My sister had the park chop, she had not been here for awhile & raved about how tender and delicious it was. We had the potatoes an gratin as Brian said they too were delicious. Very tender asparagus. Looking forward to going again. This restaurant is one of my husband's and my favorites!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! Everything was cooked to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious food! Everything was cooked to perfection. Service was amazing. My fav was the lobster casserole. Wish we lived closer to go there often.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

I came to Abe and Louie's on a suggestio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I came to Abe and Louie's on a suggestion of a Boston Native. The food was excellent and the wine list was expansive. Our server seemed to be in the weeds when we first arrived, but he quickly asked a colleague to see to us until he could free himself up, and was quick to offer his apologies.

With an appetizer, mid priced bottle of wine and 2 entrees you are looking at around 100-120$ per plate.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been several times and have not ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been several times and have not been disappointed yet. Great food at reasonable prices. The service is exceptional !

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and food.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Exceptional service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best steakhouses in Boston wi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the best steakhouses in Boston without any doubt!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Food was fantastic ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent experience. Food was fantastic and service was superb. Our waiter Anthony was polite and knowledgable. Highly recommend Abe & Louie's!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 8 for a birthday party ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a group of 8 for a birthday party. Excellent food and service. Our steaks were prepared perfectly, and the fish dishes were also excellent. Sides were great as well and the timing between courses was perfect. It is a touch noisy, but its a steakhouse!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I ordered two 60 dollar bottle of wine a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I ordered two 60 dollar bottle of wine and they brought me a 60 dollar bottle and a 140 dollar bottle. I did not even think to check the name on the bottles because I was not familiar with the names I ordered and did not take a second look at the names.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We had a table for 8 and were celebratin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a table for 8 and were celebrating our Marine's homecoming. The food, wine and service was outstanding. Everyone had perfectly prepared steaks and an eclectic variety of side dishes. The lobster mac&cheese is out of this world. Our waiter was quiet attentive and very thoughtful with suggestions and helpful hints. We drank several bottles of Amarone, and were comped our dessert! We were slightly disappointed with being seated upstairs in the back, but quickly got over that when the seafood tower showed-up for appetizers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Love love love Abe's! It is such a wonde ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love love love Abe's! It is such a wonderful experience. The servers are incredible and the meal divine. My family and I always love dinning here and we feel like loyalty! By far my favorite steak house in Boston.

Filet is perfection. The rib eye is huge but so tasty and the blue cheese mashed potatoes are phenomenal. It's difficult to save room for dessert, but if you do, I highly recommend the key lime pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was Anthony was awesome. Hel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our waiter was Anthony was awesome. Helped us with the wine and quite a few other requests. Food was delicious of course😋

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food--three of us shared a hug ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic food--three of us shared a huge steak and a lobster casserole with a side of asparagus. Still had to bring some home! The Key lime pie was the best version we'd experienced! Our waiter was helpful but not always available (he seemed to be caring for too many tables).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best filet in Boston. I've been to all o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best filet in Boston. I've been to all of them, you name it, but no one cooks it better than Abe&Louie's. And it's always consistent, so I know I'll enjoy my steak, and I'm particularly picky. For the past 5 years I've been going I always get the same thing and have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Paul was fantastic so nice. T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our waiter Paul was fantastic so nice. The food was great!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent and so was the se ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was excellent and so was the service our server, Conrad, provided. He was very outgoing and attentive. The only drawback is how very, very loud the restaurant was, which we did expect but still felt as though we just left a concert where we sat in the front row! If you can stand the noise, it is an outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was extremely hot and mange m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Restaurant was extremely hot and mange meant had excuses instead of being able to resolve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Awesome meal, loved the restaurant and t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Awesome meal, loved the restaurant and the atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meat over cooked and tough should of gon ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Meat over cooked and tough should of gone to capital grill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

New to Boston and wanted an authentic, e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

New to Boston and wanted an authentic, excellent Boston experience. A+ for food, environment, service, and vibe. Will return ASAP.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Luv this cozy place! Take a table outsid ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Luv this cozy place! Take a table outside. Try new york steak and mashed potatoes with blue cheese! Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Abe & Louie's seems like a fairly typica ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Abe & Louie's seems like a fairly typical higher-end chain steakhouse, meaning the food is very good, service is attentive, and the noise level is high. On balance, similar to Capital Grille, Morton's, Ruth's Chris, etc. We enjoyed dinner, but no real differentiation from the rest. Our slight preference for Grill 23 stands. Many more Boston steakhouses to try!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The ambient is really nice and romantic, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The ambient is really nice and romantic, wall and ceiling are covered by nice dark wood and the lights are soft, impressionist paintings cover the walls and give it a retro style. The acoustic is terrible, you cannot hear what your waitress is telling you from 2 feet away. Tables tend to be small. The food is actually what left me more upset, I ordered a medium rare steak that for 50$ for 16 oz I was expecting to be cooked to perfection. But not, it was totally burned on one side and the steak juice was all over the plate and the burnt taste dominated the steak flavor. The sides, mushrooms and potatoes were nice but nothing exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.