About Abe and Louie's Boston

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Key Lime Pie
Bone-In Dry Aged Prime Rib
16.5 Pounds Lobster - Estimated 50 Years Old
Grilled “Shadow Beni” Bone-In Ribeye
Hash Browns
Ramey Cabernet - Calistoga County Napa
Maine Lobster
Maine Lobster Casserole
Macaroni and Cheese
Skillet Cookie
Steak
Beef Tartare
Prime Rib
French Onion Soup
Seared Tuna
Aged Ribeye
Filet Mignon
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing
porterhouse steak
Bone-In Filet
Lump Crab Cocktail
Steak and Eggs Benedict
Abe's Lobster Macaroni And Cheese
Beef Steak Tomatoes Salad
Fresh Baked Apple Pie
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Colossal Chocolate Cake
Tuna Tartare
Martini
Cobb Salad
Key Lime Meringue Tarte
Broiled Prime Sirloin
Lobster Savanah
14 Oz Bone In Filet Mignon
Bloody Mary
Steak and Eggs
Caprese Salad
Abe & Louie's Salad
Wine
Decaf Coffee
Cosmopolitan
Bone-in Rib Eye
Erath 2009 Pinot Noir
Lump Crab Cakes with Jalapeno Mustard Sauce
Halibut
Crab Cake Benedict
Bacon and eggs
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
3lbs Lobster
Lobster and Shrimp Omlette
Prime Rib Double Cut

Private Dining

We offer two venues at Abe & Louie"s, Louie Louie upstairs or The Board Room on the lower level. Both settings are private, comfortable and adaptive for several types of events.

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Steakhouse
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (256)
fit for foodies (146)
good for groups (134)
See All
notable wine list (122)
romantic (106)
hot spot (83)
great for lunch (80)
neighborhood gem (77)
vibrant bar scene (69)
great for outdoor dining (61)
great for brunch (44)
scenic view (18)
late-night find (18)
kid-friendly (14)
Sort By:
Newest
2046 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Abe & Louie's is a Boston classic. Look ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Abe & Louie's is a Boston classic. Look is clubby and atmosphere energetic. Bread to start is heavenly, steaks were great, brussel sprouts are a favorite, and everyone loved the creme brulee. Sea bass was cooked perfectly, but the tomato "salsa" was more like a chunky artichoke and olive tapenade and very strong for a mild fish. Lamb was seasoned well and sweet potato fries and mac n cheese fine. Doneness was a bit uneven - steaks ordered medium and med-rare came out identical and two of three lamb chop were perfect but third overdone. Portions are significant - we've learned to hold back on appetizers to be able to enjoy dinner. Wine list by the glass is extensive. Service is impeccable and warm for such an upscale place. Dress is not too formal either - midweek we saw jeans (on women, with nice tops and shoes), plenty of collared shirts without ties on men, and even a guy sitting and eating in his baseball cap.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding service! Very attentive to o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding service! Very attentive to our needs! Great filet mignon and tasty blackened halibut

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They "hit the ball out of the park" for ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

They "hit the ball out of the park" for us. Would definitely return and would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic,as always..very informative wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic,as always..very informative waitstaff,and attentive doesnt even do the staff justice. Pricing is a lil above average.. but that being said, you will never be dissatisfied here...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We decided last minute to go to Abe & Lo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We decided last minute to go to Abe & Louie's, since Atlantic Fish Co. was unable to handle our group size. The apps and salads were very good, as was the clam chowder. We got the haddock special that night. It was very dry, and unenjoyable to eat. Our server was attentive and helped us to enjoy our dining, even though the main course was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The staff here was so friendly! The coc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The staff here was so friendly! The cocktails were SO yummy!!! These were some of the best steaks we've had also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reservation was easily placed and well-h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Reservation was easily placed and well-handled upon arrival. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had not been to A&L for a while and wo ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had not been to A&L for a while and wondered why I had not after this past dining experience. Food and service was very good. Our waiter was attentive nws his serving several tables. Price was in line with other restaurants with similar quality. The decor does not feel plastic like some of the newer higher priced places in the area. The only negative is that we were seated upstairs near two large groups which made it a little noisy but it did not seem to affect our service. I will definitely go back a lot sooner than before.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good drinks, apps and sides, but steaks ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good drinks, apps and sides, but steaks had little flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Outstanding dinner at Abe & Louie's! The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Outstanding dinner at Abe & Louie's! The food was very good - we got the crab cakes, bacon, tuna tartare, filet mignon, garlic mashed potatoes, lobster mac & cheese, brussel sprouts, mushrooms. All spectacular. We also received a complimentary dessert platter, which made the whole experience that much better. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We ate at this restaurant twice while vi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We ate at this restaurant twice while visiting Boston because we liked it so much. Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is very good but way overpriced.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food is very good but way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

My husband had the filet which was excel ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My husband had the filet which was excellent! I had a two pound lobster removed from the shell...it was a little disappointing...our server Paul was excellent!

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Outdoor seating.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb beef eating location. Plan to sp ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Superb beef eating location. Plan to spend some money but you will receive very good value for the expenditure. Service was excellent and attentive. The food from appetizers to dessert was superb. Upstairs larger group location was noisy but the bar was near and, as stated, the service was excellent. Would return for dining without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Abe's has one of the best brunch menus i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Abe's has one of the best brunch menus in town in my opinion. Never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I enjoyed a quiet lunch with my son at A ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I enjoyed a quiet lunch with my son at Abe and Louie's Boston. Our waiter, Drew was very pleasant and personable. He suggested things on the menu and worked very hard to ensure that we were satisfied with our meal.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My recent dining experience with three f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My recent dining experience with three friends was terrific (7/8/16). We met at the bar for drinks before dinner and the two bartenders who served us were very welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. When we were seated for dinner, Jeffrey, our server, took over providing excellent service -- professional, friendly, knowledgeable, attentive, and unobtrusive. Couldn't have been better. The bone-in rib eyes, as usual, were outstanding. A follow-up email correspondence on a minor point with the general manager, Nick, proved just as satisfying. His gracious, prompt response confirmed my conviction that Abe & Louie's is one of the finest establishments and best run restaurants in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 8:45, but didn' ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a reservation for 8:45, but didn't get seated until almost 9:30. Why allow reservations if this is the case? Walk ins were seated in the same amount of time. Waiter was kind and helpful with selections. Pizza was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Quick visit to Boston from Connecticut. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Quick visit to Boston from Connecticut. Outstanding atmosphere, ambiance, service. Food was extraordinary. Wine was excellent. Will return when we go back to Boston.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Marco was great. Very attentive and prom ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Marco was great. Very attentive and prompt but not intrusive. Steak was perfectly prepared. Pittsburgh style rare. Nice wine list fairly priced. Tables very close together no private convo possible and neighbors were pretty loud. I'm sure regulars get the best tables as in all high end places

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I have been a few times t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My husband and I have been a few times to Abe & Louies and our last visit was a disappointing experience. We ordered two 8 oz filet mignon and not only are they served on a very small plate (which may be designed to make the steak look bigger) but these were very small steaks. Standards have slipped, 8 oz appeared more like 6 oz and seemed like poor value for the money, and gain was a disappointing experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The steaks for everyone in our party wer ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The steaks for everyone in our party were cooked to the specifications of each, and they were delicious. The sides are large and can be shared. The wine and cocktail selection was very good. Service was absolutely terrific. Overall, a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and staff are always excellent. It ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and staff are always excellent. It can get a little noisy, bit it is always busy, so that is to be expected. We always enjoy dining there. We drive down from NH just for dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe an off day for the kitchen, but bo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Maybe an off day for the kitchen, but both main courses (Swordfish and Lobster Casserole) were underwhelming and the side of Brussels Sprouts copious but under-cooked. We will stick to the steaks next time...should we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Wonderful service and excellent food for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful service and excellent food for sure. I would just like to see slightly more reasonably priced wine selections by the glass (within the 6-10 range). Otherwise, great experience

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Abe & Louie's in one of my all time favo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Abe & Louie's in one of my all time favorite Boston restaurants. The quality of the food and the service are second to none. The service runs like a well-oiled machine. No shoddy service, ever.

The rolls they serve when you arrive at out of this world.

linen tablecloth service, but not so much so that it's not relaxed and informal to dine. Dark wood abounds, but it's not dreary.

All in all, it strikes me as a place to go for dinner, not lunch, and it is more a fall/spring/winter place as opposed to summertime. That said, we did lunch there the other day and they had the retracted front walls up, so it was al fresco dining onto Boylston Street.

Abe & Louie's rocks. It's simply the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu was thoughtful and full of options. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Menu was thoughtful and full of options. Wait staff was very professional and warm, but very sharp and efficient. The cocktails were expertly done as well. The food was very creatively done and plentiful -- Rich and elegant. Overall, outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had eaten at Abe and Louie's in Boca ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had eaten at Abe and Louie's in Boca Raton but this was our first time in Boston. It was a wonderful meal. My husband loved his chop salad. We both thought the T-bone steak for two was perfect- very tender and delicious. The French fries and the hash browns were great. Regarding the wine list, it is extensive and pricey. However, we were able to find a delicious wine with some age that was more moderately priced thanks to the excellent advice of the sommelier. A wonderful meal. We will definitely return the next time we are in Boston. Also the maitre d' graciously left the restaurant and accompanied us to the street to find a taxi.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

overall food was good ,my lobster sandwi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

overall food was good ,my lobster sandwich was ok not enough lobster the bread for the sandwich made the entree look huge the sandwich was not a good value

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great restaurant and service. Food way, ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great restaurant and service. Food way, way overpriced but everyone dining there knows that

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Well done Surprisingly great food Fish ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Well done

Surprisingly great food

Fish very fresh and well prepared

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was superb. He was friendly a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our waiter was superb. He was friendly and chatty without being annoying. Made great good suggestions and gave us a free dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy. It was difficult to have a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very noisy. It was difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Absolutely perfect from start to finish. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Absolutely perfect from start to finish. Marcos and Travis made our experience unforgettable. Thank you so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered filets and they were over coo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We ordered filets and they were over cooked and the sweet potatoe fries were cold. The waiter was wonderful and that is why we did not complain. Very expensive for what we were served. Used to be one of my favorite restaurant but.......

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Exceptional experience from beginning to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Exceptional experience from beginning to end. Was there to celebrate a big promotion for my sister and so glad we choose Abe & Louie's. We had a beautiful table right by the opening to the patio. Service was excellent, food was delicious. Was there with a large party and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. When I arrived with a present in hand the host asked if it was a special occasion and they ended up giving us a large dessert plate for the table complimentary. The perfect end to a perfect visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered flowers through open table. T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I ordered flowers through open table. They were there. I gave not gone via k and checked my charge to see if the charge went thru. Put a damper on a very special Wedding Anniversary. The restaurant was great though.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant decor and furnishings attract ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Restaurant decor and furnishings attractive and comfortable. Ridiculously large portions, perhaps to justify high prices. Waiter was curt and snooty. Would not choose it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

One of the best steakhouses in Boston. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One of the best steakhouses in Boston. Though the noise can become distracting the food and service are outstanding making this an amazing dining spot. Onion soup is exceptional as is the wedge (enough for two) and the steak tartare. Lots of beef options at competitive steakhouse pricing. Side are for sharing. One of the best cream corns I have ever tasted and the bacon makes it exceptional. the skillet chocolate cookie is great for sharing and arrives hot and gooey. This is one of my must dine at when I am in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.