Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Abe and Louie's Boston

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

This Father's Day show your appreciation for all his life lessons with an artfully crafted meal made from the finest, freshest ingredients.

Private Dining

We offer private and semi private group dining space for 10 to 125 guests at Abe & Louie's

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (197)
Business Meals (148)
Good for a Date (148)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (138)
Good for Birthdays (117)
Notable Wine List (102)
Romantic (81)
Good for Groups (75)
Bar Seating (64)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Worth the Drive (60)
Great for Lunch (60)
Authentic (58)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Fun (55)
Hot Spot (55)
Cozy (55)
Great for Brunch (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
People Watching (43)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Comfort Food (31)
Casual (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Historic (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Family Style (17)
Paleo Friendly (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Scenic View (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Fireplace (13)
Private Room (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Great Beer (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Healthy (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Live Music (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
 (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
2879 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was very good
The sides and appetizers were excellent.
Three out of five steaks were top notch.
My wife ordered a filet aupoive style.
It was so encrusted with pepper corns you didn't know there was a steak under there.
It wasn't edible.
I ordered prime rib medium it was medium rare at best.
In addition it was like warm not hot when served.
Lastly the prime rib was chewy not a quality product.
I was very disappointed especially for the money we spent.
Usually go to Morton's was trying Abe for first time for our kids college graduation.
I put a complaint to management online to date no response which I guess says it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hertfordshire)·Dined 4 days ago

Can or be faulted. Exceptional food and service. Definitely worth visiting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Alexis, our server, was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous steaks, decent wine selection, and great character. Our waiter, Drew, was charming and attentive without hovering!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent place to have dinner . Lovely food and I will be back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Went there to celebrate our daughter's graduation. It was pricey but there was a good selection, the food was good and we took a lot home. Best of all the staff was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Went here for the brunch. Outstanding!!!
From the drinks to the food to the outstanding service, this was awesome!!!
Thanks, we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I would have given this place a 5 star rating except we made a reservation for 10PM and showed up exactly at 10 but our table was not ready. We had to wait 25 mins for a table and had to keep reminding them to give us a table.

Once seated, however, our waiter was great and the food was fantastic. I did order a New York Strip and they brought me a Ribeye, but I didn't make a big deal of it. It was delicious and we loved the dessert as well.

I was there during graduation week, so I understand it was a busy time and mistakes are made. Would recommend this place to my friends for some of the best aged steaks out there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Their sirloin steak is very tender and flavorful. They make their own fudge sauce, so any desert that has this is fabulous. Pricey but very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

This is a good steak house. I wouldn't put it at the top of my list but it's definitely up there. Food was good, service was friendly and they have the right attitude with respect to the customer. Would stop in again for a good dinner, but I think I would choose another for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

hAD BRUNCH FOR 30$. THE SERVICE WAS FAULTLESS. tHE FOOD WAS BLAND, TASTELESS AND THE ROLLS WERE LIKE CONCRETE. NOT EVEN WORTH 2.95

tHE RESTAURANT IS WAY OVERPRICED. i WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT FOR ANY REASON.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Muy rico y la atención excelente !!!!
Lo súper recomiendo .
El mecero súper bueno recomendando los platos y rápido .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Rib Eye was very ordinary - not up to downtown Boston standards, and not worth the price. Our waiter was fine, but other servers were rude to guests, making it uncomfortable for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Top motch!

Deduct a star for the slobs in T Shirts and tennis shoes. I even saw an older man in a white, V neck undershirt, like he just climbed out of his fruit picker for chrissakes.

Top notch!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great place for a family celebration of two college graduates and two birthdays. Service was great, food was on point, and we were seated in a (relatively) quieter part of the restaurant. It was still pretty noisy and busy, but we were able to communicate for the most part among our table of eight people. Would recommend splitting one of those 16 oz. steaks between two people unless you want to either take some home or can eat a huge amount of food. Sides were excellent, especially the creamed spinach, and mashed and au gratin potatoes. Get the pan cookie for dessert and remember that it's big enough to share among four.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went for our anniversary and they gave us a slice of chocolate cake on the house which was great and probably the highlight of the meal, but the dirty dish on our table, broken seat back and cut in the seat was just the start of a rough dining experience. The noise level was insane and we were there for a fairly early dinner through the week. I would hate to hear it on a Saturday night. Due to the broken seat back in the booth, the couple behind me were able to push on the seat and physically lurch me forward. Not quite what I expected for a special dinner at a high-end steakhouse. We did have a lovely bottle of wine, but nothing I would order again. The chowder was good and the Abe & Louie salad excellent. Our side choices of creamed spinach, sautéed mushrooms and asparagus were good, but nothing to write home about and again nothing I'd order again. When it came to the steak though, it was seasoned well, but the cut it self was blah. I've had New York strip all over the country and this was just okay. I can see this as a destination for those special occasions, but I don't see myself specifically coming to this particular restaurant any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had a party of 10 for a 21st birthday dinner. The food was absolutely wonderful and everyone enjoyed their meals. Our waiter Paul was great and the restaurant was accommodating with serving the birthday cake we brought we us. We thoroughly loved it! Great for special occasions!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We have been dinnng here for years and it's consistently amazing ! Food is delicious and service is great. We sat outside on a beautiful sunny day and Bobby D was our server. He was great!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

It was our first time and it was great. Food was excellent from start to finish. We were there for my Dad's birthday and they couldn't have been nicer. He even got a complimentary dessert with a candle. Our waiter, Chris did a great job. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

In town for my wife's conference with my family. (Wife, 7,6, and 2.5 year old). Although not what you would consider a family restaurant, the staff was very helpful, attentive, and extremely friendly. The food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Crowded, noisy - it was Mother's Day - and yet the service and food were still outstanding. We had a reservation for 7 pm and we were seated at exactly 7 pm. Each course arrived in a timely manner, well presented, huge portions, excellent wine choices available, and very good desserts too. It's expensive, and well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day. I had a group of 4 for dinner service. Food was amazing. I had the lamb chops and they were cooked to perfection. My mother had a sirloin and said it was delicious as well. My boyfriend ordered the 2lb lobster and it was BOMB! Also service was on point that day. Especially since it was a busy Sunday Mother's Day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been downstairs once and upstairs twice, including the last visit. It was Mother's Day and graduation day for Emerson College. Very busy but we'll handled. Excellently prepared meals and sides. Service was perfect. Only issue is the noise level. It was hard to have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

RUINED MY MOTHER'S DAY. VERY UNACCOMMODATING. GAVE NO NOTICE TO MODIFIED BRUNCH TIMES

I have been going to this restaurant for years, it has been a Mother's day tradition of ours. This year I made brunch reservations well in advance but upon arrival I learned that the brunch times were shortened. Our reservations were for 2:30 and brunch usually goes until 3. I spoke to the manager and the server about how I had made reservations for brunch and really was not planning on eating dinner at 2:30. I was dismissed even though I had specifically said that I was making reservations for brunch. I had 2 family members included in our party who NEVER EVER come into the city and they specifically came in because I raved about the brunch... I was and still am very disappointed that I was not told ahead of time about the changed menu and more so I am unhappy by the way were were treated. The waiter was annoyed because we took a while to order (dinner at 2:30).. I was hoping for at least an amazing entree.. just average. I am very very disappointed. Not going back anytime soon. There are WAY better restaurants in and around the city. Don't waste your money at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great time for Mothers Day

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought family for Mother's Day. Little crowded getting in. Wasn't aware that they offered valet parking. Not sure if that's an everyday offering, but unless doing other things in the area I would leave enough time to find parking. Plenty of garages within few minute walk.

Had a great second story table, up against window, overlooking Boylston. Nice view of outside, though weather was not that good.

Server was terrific. Special menu for Mother's Day, though didn't look much different from brunch menu on website. Enough for everyone. Full menu was also available. Most had breakfast items. All very pleased with meals. I had a bone-in strip off of the main menu. Steak was excellent. Good list of sides. Overall great meal. Certainly will go back.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I had a great Mother's Day Brunch at Abe & Louie's. Our waiter was excellent, the service was great, and the food was perfect. Couldn't have asked for more -- well maybe if the weather wasn't miserable but can't fault Abe & Louie's for that!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My boyfriend and I frequent Abe and Louies so we knew what to expect when we walked in. The steak is great, cant beat it. The food is amazing and it will most certainly keep us coming back. We were shocked, however, to find that our waitress was not friendly or inviting. We always look forward to the friendliness and hospitality of the wait staff and this visit, we were unpleasantly surprised by her lack of interest in us. From the moment we sat down, we felt as though we were being rushed and that our general presence was not wanted by our server. It could have been the fact that it was prime time on a Saturday night, or perhaps she was upset for whatever reason already and we were just getting the brunt of it, but we felt as though we missed out on having a server who was happy to talk to us. We left feeling a little cheated of the full Abe and Louies experience and I hate to say it but we really hope we never have this server again. If we are paying $200+ for dinner, we expect everything to be perfect and at the very least we expect our server to want us there and make us feel welcomed. At the end of our visit, a different server came over (for the last 5 minutes or so) and he was a delight to talk to but left us wondering why she jumped ship from our table and continued to serve the other tables around us. I hope Abe and Louies can discuss hospitality with its servers and does so on a regular basis because if this happens again, I think we might try our luck at Capital Grille or Mooo.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The restaurant notified you that we didn't show up for our open table reservation when in fact we did and spent $336. Please correct the mistake...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was sub par. Manhattan was weak, shaken(?) instead of my requested stirred, and 3/4 full? I'll go to Capital Grill for my red meat fix from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Decided to try this place after seeing it on previous trips, and reviews Ive read. Took my son for a nice dinner as he was wrapping up his first year of school in Boston:) The reviews I had read for their dinner rolls and clam chowder were the reason I was curious, plus wanting a steak. I can say that none of the above disappointed! The clam chowder was great, one of the best Ive had, and the dinner rolls they serve are amazing. My Rib eye was very good, tasty, and my son enjoyed his filet, although had to send it back because it wasn't as done as he requested the first time. In the meantime they comped him a small appetizer while he waited so very nice. Our sides were delicious too, and I was excited about the dessert menu, but sadly when we got that far I was too full! Next time....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

What a phenomenal dinner.
The wait staff were attentive and sommelier couldn't have been more informative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Booked online and was offered $50.00 voucher for signing up for email promotions. Never received voucher. Abe and Louies never answered email when I then requested voucher. Waiter said he did not know anything about offer. If you don't want to honor your promotional offers don't offer them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The steaks were perfect and the sides delicious. However the noise level was high and you had to speak loudly.
Wonderful steak house with impeccable service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Terrific Tuna steak and House Salad. Side of Garlic Sautéed Spinach was far too salty . This is one of our favorites in Boston and certainly the Back Bay. Professional wait staff and great ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Steak was delicious! Service was great too. Noise level as high that night

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I can't remember our waiters name, but he had that old school Italian charm full of charisma and wit, and guided us to a great dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Such a fun night at Abe and Louie's! Started at the bar and then sat for dinner. Food and service were exceptional!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excelllant all around , well done 5 star !!! Steaks cooked perfect , Service was top notch from start to finish .

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.