About Abe and Louie's Boston

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone In NY Strip
Key Lime Pie
Bone-In Dry Aged Prime Rib
16.5 Pounds Lobster - Estimated 50 Years Old
Hash Browns
Grilled “Shadow Beni” Bone-In Ribeye
Ramey Cabernet - Calistoga County Napa
Maine Lobster
Maine Lobster Casserole
Macaroni and Cheese
Skillet Cookie
Beef Tartare
Steak
Prime Rib
French Onion Soup
Aged Ribeye
Filet Mignon
Seared Tuna
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing
porterhouse steak
Bone-In Filet
Steak and Eggs Benedict
Lump Crab Cocktail
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Fresh Baked Apple Pie
Tuna Tartare
Colossal Chocolate Cake
Abe's Lobster Macaroni And Cheese
Martini
Beef Steak Tomatoes Salad
Cobb Salad
Key Lime Meringue Tarte
Broiled Prime Sirloin
Lobster Savanah
14 Oz Bone In Filet Mignon
Bloody Mary
Steak and Eggs
Wine
Abe & Louie's Salad
Caprese Salad
Cosmopolitan
Decaf Coffee
Erath 2009 Pinot Noir
Lump Crab Cakes with Jalapeno Mustard Sauce
Bone-in Rib Eye
Halibut
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Crab Cake Benedict
Bacon and eggs
3lbs Lobster
Lobster and Shrimp Omlette
Prime Rib Double Cut

Private Dining

We offer private and semi private group dining space for 10 to 125 guests at Abe & Louie's

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Boston / New England
Most Booked
Boston / New England
Steakhouse
Boston
1 More
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (204)
Fit for Foodies (108)
Good for Groups (92)
See All
Notable Wine List (91)
Romantic (89)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Hot Spot (60)
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Great for Lunch (57)
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Great for Brunch (40)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Business Meals (22)
Late-night Find (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
People Watching (15)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (11)
Scenic View (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Historic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Family Style (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What an absolutely spectacular brunch ex ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

What an absolutely spectacular brunch experience. The food was incredible, the cappuccino was delicious, and the service absolutely top-notch. Get the bloody mary too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. Waitstaff is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was excellent. Waitstaff is experienced and helpful. Food choices are ample and the presentation is very nice. I would rcmd this place to anyone.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I paid $164 for my girlfriend and I's di ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

I paid $164 for my girlfriend and I's dinner. The biggest problem was that I asked for a medium cooked steak and they returned with a steak still bleeding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

My husband and I were looking for a plac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I were looking for a place to celebrate our 7 year anniversary and we have always heard wonderful things about Abe & Louie's. He's a foodie and a great cook, so we are always looking to be really impressed when we go out for special dinners...Abe & Louie's did not disappoint. Not only was the ambiance wonderful, the drinks were great (we ordered a Judy Garland and later had an Espresso Martini) and the food was delicious. The highlight of the night, however, was our waiter Kenny. He has been working at the restaurant for over 14 years and he is a "must" if you're going there. He made us laugh throughout the entire night and was great about making suggestions and even brought us out a complimentary dessert to celebrate our anniversary. We cannot wait to go back and we highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and meal was excellent. I h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service and meal was excellent. I have been here before and am never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Overall experience was less then then in ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall experience was less then then in past visits. We arrived with a 9:00 reservation and we were told our table was getting set up. Another couple comes in and they also had a 9:00 reservation and came in 5 minutes late (I know this because i looked at my phone) and they were seated right away. Finally got seated a couple minutes thereafter.

Service was great....food was not at all what we have experienced in the past. My Tuna steak was not the best as it was very veiny and hard to cut for seared. My fiances bass was drenched in sauce.

Wine was good and they had a nice touch w a 7 layer cake for my fiances birthday.

Will go back just not anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Our favorite place to come when we visit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our favorite place to come when we visit Boston from NY. Love the vibe, the steaks, the drinks and overall the whole thing!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is great. The only negative asp ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is great. The only negative aspect of our evening dining was, despite having pre booked, we were made to wait for our table. We respected the arrival time by arriving ahead of time and therefore one expects the restaurant to be able to offer seating within a reasonable wait time. Unfortunately the wait time was excessive and made worse by the fact that the booking staff did not proactively endeavour to keep you informed as to the extent of the wait time . On the contrary, when I enquired about the table wait time the staff member hardly acknowledged my enquiry and replied with an arrogant tone. Common courtesy calls for the restaurant to seat their pre booked customers within a reasonable time and where not possible, the restaurant staff need to be proactive in constantly updating the customer on the wait time. The recommended tipping percentage is high which I respect but, likewise I expect the highest standards from all the staff and not just the waiter who was great at serving us.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A great steakhouse. Steaks are fabulous ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

A great steakhouse. Steaks are fabulous and some of our party had fish and were also very pleased. Service was personal and attentive. Cocktails were excellent and the wine list is very broad. An enjoyable evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Stopped by for a dinner solo and found A ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Stopped by for a dinner solo and found Abe & Louie's as good as it has always been. Terrific food and service. I can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service and ambience. I will ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, service and ambience. I will definitely return on another trip to Boston

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere is spectacular. The food ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

The atmosphere is spectacular. The food is above average but not great .... At least in comparison to the price point.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food. Great atmosphere. Our wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent food. Great atmosphere. Our waiter was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, though somewhat flavorles ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food was good, though somewhat flavorless for the price. Sides were somewhat flat, though the service was impressive - our water glasses were filled no less than 10 times! I would come back to give it another try.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place, very good food. Wait service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice place, very good food. Wait service was second to none. Only problem we had was other people dining out thought nothing of the people around them and figured the language they use was acceptable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

This was not our first visit, and it cer ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was not our first visit, and it certainly will not be our last. We were in sore need of comfort food, and they exceeded our expectations not just for delicious food but also amazing service. I inquired about the "griddled blueberry coffeecake" but did not order it--it didn't sound to my liking. After we were finished and had paid, they brought a plate of blueberry coffeecake (enough for each of us) with a flourish "on the house". We were floored--it's just not done anymore. The coffeecake was terrific, but it also made our day just to have an unexpected show of hospitality. Mac and cheese is the best anywhere. You can eat healthy; you can eat comfort, you can drink, you can enjoy the beautiful decor. Old fashioned service without feeling like the place is dowdy. You will be glad you went there. Make a reservation.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Historic, Family Style, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Abe & Louie's whenever w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always enjoy Abe & Louie's whenever we are Boston. Look forward to next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

too loud tables too close together some ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

too loud tables too close together some tables very small hard to get all the food on the table

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Just an all around great place to dine a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Just an all around great place to dine and drink. Great service. A+

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking for competent service, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

If you're looking for competent service, choose another restaurant.

I took a client for brunch at Abe & Louie's and was embarrassed when my she had to send her omelette back for being tepid. I was even more embarrassed afterwards when the reheated omelette was brought back to the table 2 minutes later. A fresh omelette would have been more appropriate. My client declined the reheated omelette.

I would definitely avoid if this restaurant if you need to make any kind of a positive impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

had brunch here saturday morning...loved ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

had brunch here saturday morning...loved sitting at their sidewalk cafe...food was AMAZING. Great service. Would love to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really great service! Although took our ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Really great service! Although took our waiter's recommendation and the tuna tartar was not fabulous - very under seasoned. Overall, great night, good food, pricey but will go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Bone in filet, great bottle of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Fantastic Bone in filet, great bottle of bordeux, Well made vesper to start, oysters were fresh, the bacon app is a meal on it's own. fantastic Brulee for dessert and a tumbler full of Napoleon to digest with. expensive, but hard to go wrong if you're looking for a serious steakhouse.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Kenny is the best serve. We will always ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Kenny is the best serve. We will always ask for him when dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My first time at Abe and Louie's and it ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My first time at Abe and Louie's and it was fabulous!

The food, the service the place was absolutely fantastic.

The steak was done to perfection and the scalloped potatoes were the best I have ever had!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of course it was great! It's Abe and Lo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Of course it was great! It's Abe and Louis! I have been there many times, but never in the summer, and never again! It was a hot, humid September night, and they had the doors open. It looked beautiful, but much too hot. It was uncomfortable. Our table of four had excellent service, the drinks and food were delicious, however, we did not order another drink or even coffee at the end of our meal because it was so hot. I just don't understand why they had the a/c on (which you could not feel) and have their doors open! Crazy. There was an overweight man in the booth in front of me who was actually dripping in sweat, so much so he had a ripped towel with him so he could wipe his face periodically. Not fun for him, and definitely not fun for me to watch! Never again in the summer!!! A shame!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had moved our reservation 3 times due ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had moved our reservation 3 times due to travel delays. When we arrived on Friday at 8pm, our table was ready and preordered flowers were waiting. Service and food were both superb and was an excellent start to our Boston experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were impeccable!! Noise ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food and service were impeccable!! Noise level was horrible--- had to yell to be heard! Also way too hot to enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our wait staff was excellent. However, t ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our wait staff was excellent. However, the food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Prime rib and side dishes are phenomenal ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Prime rib and side dishes are phenomenal

Noise was high because Thursday night begins the weekends there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was attentive & knowledgeable. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Waitress was attentive & knowledgeable. Steaks were just as we ordered. Good size portions. It was a birthday celebration & Abe & Louie's provided dessert. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time in the restaurant. Safe to s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

First time in the restaurant. Safe to say it is one of the best overall dining experiences I have ever had. The food wss simply delicious and the service outstanding. On top of that, the location is perfect. Next time in Boston, I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant and always visit wh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love this restaurant and always visit when in Boston. But the steaks this time were not the best we have had here and my wife's filet mignon was poorly presented on a tiny plate and looked like a kiddie portion. We enjoyed our evening and the martinis were great but overall a slightly disappointing experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent food and service, at a pricey ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food and service, at a pricey cost. A great place for a special event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Steak House in New England. Great ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best Steak House in New England. Great for Sunday Brunch too.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Great service. We ate wit ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and Great service. We ate with our children ages 11 and 18. The 11 year old loved the Filet and the fish was excellent. Very large portions. Chocolate cake was out of this world! Excellent martini!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks. Veal chop tough. Salad ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent steaks. Veal chop tough. Salads wonderful. A bit too noisy. Wine excellent. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Steaks and wine were excellent. Server w ...

 
 (Cancún)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Steaks and wine were excellent. Server was under par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Fabulous service, terrific food

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fabulous service, terrific food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Meal ever in Boston. Waiter and C ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Best Meal ever in Boston. Waiter and Chef very accommodating with kids requests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.