About Abe and Louie's Boston

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone In NY Strip - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Key Lime Pie - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Bone-In Dry Aged Prime Rib - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
16.5 Pounds Lobster - Estimated 50 Years Old - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Hash Browns - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled “Shadow Beni” Bone-In Ribeye - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Ramey Cabernet - Calistoga County Napa - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Maine Lobster - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Maine Lobster Casserole - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Macaroni and Cheese - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Skillet Cookie - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Beef Tartare - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Steak - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Prime Rib - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
French Onion Soup - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Aged Ribeye - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Filet Mignon - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Seared Tuna - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
porterhouse steak - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Bone-In Filet - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Steak and Eggs Benedict - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Lump Crab Cocktail - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Chocolate Covered Strawberries - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Fresh Baked Apple Pie - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Tuna Tartare - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Colossal Chocolate Cake - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Abe's Lobster Macaroni And Cheese - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Martini - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Beef Steak Tomatoes Salad - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Cobb Salad - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Key Lime Meringue Tarte - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Broiled Prime Sirloin - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Lobster Savanah  - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
14 Oz Bone In Filet Mignon - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Bloody Mary - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Steak and Eggs - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Wine - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Abe & Louie's Salad - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Caprese Salad - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Cosmopolitan - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Decaf Coffee - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Erath 2009 Pinot Noir - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Lump Crab Cakes with Jalapeno Mustard Sauce - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Bone-in Rib Eye - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Halibut - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Crab Cake Benedict - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Bacon and eggs - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
3lbs Lobster - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Lobster and Shrimp Omlette - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA
Prime Rib Double Cut - Abe and Louie's Boston, Boston, MA

Private Dining

We offer private and semi private group dining space for 10 to 125 guests at Abe & Louie's

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston
Steakhouse
Boston
1 More
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (128)
Business Meals (86)
Good for a Date (81)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Notable Wine List (70)
Romantic (58)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Good for Groups (51)
Great for Lunch (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Bar Seating (41)
Fun (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Authentic (31)
Great for Brunch (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Comfort Food (29)
People Watching (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Casual (25)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Historic (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Family Style (17)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Seasonal (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Private Room (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Scenic View (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent steak!! Overall outstanding me ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent steak!! Overall outstanding meal. Friendly and professional staff. Always go to Abe and Louie'swhen I am in Boston.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our meal. Loved the rolls! It ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed our meal. Loved the rolls! It was a busy night at the restaurant yet the service was perfect

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent birthday brunch at Abe and Lou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent birthday brunch at Abe and Louie's. We've been doing this for about 15 years and every year it is outstanding. Upstairs this year. We had a superb server.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Friendly, efficient service. Terrific!! ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Friendly, efficient service. Terrific!! We just had brunch but everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We snagged the first reservation for bru ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We snagged the first reservation for brunch. The well executed classic steak house ambiance (you know, rich wood panelling and nostalgic art work) set the stage for solid, friendly service and delicious food. The hot bread with cinnamon sugar was a pleasant surprise, probably the tipping factor in our overeating. The eggs benedict trio and the lobster shrimp omelet were well worth it, although a little more shrimp in the omelet would have been nice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very attentive and answer ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was very attentive and answered any questions we had in regards to the menu. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always top notch. Bobby D is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Service is always top notch. Bobby D is a great waiter and always entertaining. The food never disappoints.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Celebrated our 37th anniversary Saturday ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated our 37th anniversary Saturday Dec 3rd. Great food.

Our waiter Kenny was so friendly and helpful. Great service!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for weekend brunch! Loads of ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for weekend brunch! Loads of choices ranging from breakfast, to salads to burgers, and steaks. Even Abe and Louie's yummy sides are available, which allowed me to get my favorite creamed corn with my favorite burger! Sadly, valet parking is not available and parking is nasty on the weekends, but it's still worth the venture downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as usual

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lets take the words "quiet conversation" ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Lets take the words "quiet conversation" out of the mix , as we had to shout the each other for the entire evening! The food was very good, the waiter was excellent, in fact he saved the entire evening from being a disaster.

After waiting for close to an hour in a very noisy and crowded bar we were finally called to a table, right beside a table of 25 very noisy and drunken men, who were screaming to each other from one end of the table to the other. We asked to be seated at another and our hostess said that we would have to perhaps wait for another forty-five minutes or more for another table. That is not hospitality!

She found a table , only a few feet away from the very loud group, and as a result we had to shout to each other , just to be heard all evening!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

A & L never disappoints. Both food and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

A & L never disappoints. Both food and service were excellent.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They made me wait for the table 40mins e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

They made me wait for the table 40mins even though I had a reservation. However, Food was Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Fabulous food, large portions. Service ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous food, large portions. Service is good considering how busy it is. Extremely noisy and couldn't have a conversation with my wife sat opposite me

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Never disapppointed when dining at Abe & ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Never disapppointed when dining at Abe & Louie's, whether for business or leisure. Although I've been here numerous times, this was the first time I tried the prime rib and was not disappointed. It was superb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yearly Christmas experience with my best ...

 
 (Morelos)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Yearly Christmas experience with my best friend became a delightful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typical steak house menu and prices. Co ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Typical steak house menu and prices. Cooking temperatures are always an issue at any steak place, but both my wife's and my steaks were nearly raw on a medium request. The bill for one cocktail, one glass of malbec, a shared salad, and two steaks with a side of one baked potato, one sparkling water was $180, tip not included. It is hard to mess up a salad and baked potato, and for these prices, everything should be perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Tastiest beef you will find in Boston! P ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Tastiest beef you will find in Boston! Portions are huge. They will let you split though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good. Server was attentiv ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was very good. Server was attentive. Great place for special occasions. I have dined here in the past and definitely a place that I would revisit again with my family for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Waiter kept interrupting our conversatio ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Waiter kept interrupting our conversation wanting to take our bread away... everytime we ordered new bread he kept coming back "are you done with the bread??" Clearly there were still pieces of bread still remaining .... it was almost like he was collecting it for some reason...!

Rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We truly enjoyed Abe & Louies, the food, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We truly enjoyed Abe & Louies, the food, service and atmosphere was delightful. Would definitely return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very very loud. Steak was average for th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very very loud. Steak was average for the high price. Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Very good service, patience. Luckily it ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very good service, patience. Luckily it was recommended to us to share the steak ! So, we had room for dessert too, also shared😏

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level and sense of being crowded w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Noise level and sense of being crowded were disconcerting. Several times either staff or patrons made contact with the back of my chair. Disappointing for a date night but if the boys want steaks, go for it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice and friendly place. The food was f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Nice and friendly place. The food was fantastic and the price fits for everyone

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

we were teachers from Iceland enjoying T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

we were teachers from Iceland enjoying Thanksgiving meal and it was excellent

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Thanksgiving special consisted of dr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving special consisted of dry turkey and bland gravy. The steak dinner was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We dined at Abe and Louie's for Thanksgi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dined at Abe and Louie's for Thanksgiving this year while on a holiday vacation get away. From the moment we arrived, the staff was professional and friendly and we were seated promptly upstairs for our reservation. Our waiter was great and everything about the meal from the drinks to dessert was perfectly paced. We all chose the Thanksgiving menu and the food was absolutely superb! We will definitely return for another holiday and/or special meal out in Boston!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were cooked to perfecton. Amos di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Steaks were cooked to perfecton. Amos did an excellent job...helpful, friendly and efficient.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always superb

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Always superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time at Abe & Louie's, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

It was our first time at Abe & Louie's, although my cousin from San Francisco who hosted our lunch had been to Abe & Louie's on past trips to Boston. We had a delightful lunch. Food was wonderful, and the wait staff delightful and accommodating. Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Abe and Louie's met all expectations for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Abe and Louie's met all expectations for a high-end steakhouse where I have been disappointed in the past by many others. I can recommend the Delmonico steak for it's flavor and you can add Louie's Lobster Mac n' Cheese to get a surf and turf experience. You can split anything on the menu, so that's a great option if you don't have a big appetite (or perhaps budget).

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We love A&L because it feels like a trad ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We love A&L because it feels like a traditional Boston restaurant. It's not trying to be new wave or trendy with techno music playing and a frenzied bar scene. We need more restaurants in the city with this charm! Beautiful paneled walls, class A dressed servers and old world Boston charm. Did I say the food is great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak tartar, oysters and champions. Yum ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Steak tartar, oysters and champions. Yum yum and yum. I leave in California know so it treat to eat their last night. Waiter was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were actually ready to seat us at t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

They were actually ready to seat us at the time of our reservation!!!

The 1st table was in a direct line from the open door so it was drafty. Luckily, they were able to move us upstairs. I was still glad to have a shawl for warmth.

Both areas were VERY noisy which made our enjoyment be lessened.

The food and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Menu selection. Had the Halibut wi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great Menu selection. Had the Halibut with lobster risotto.

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent lunch. The waitress ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had an excellent lunch. The waitress and the servers were excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had the rare chance to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My husband and I had the rare chance to sit down to a nice meal without kids, and since we were both in Boston he made a reservation. It was a great evening from beginning to end. The hostess was friendly, the downstairs bartender was personable and made excellent drinks, the server was attentive, timely, funny and kind- perfect- and the food was impeccable. It was a lot louder and more boisterous than I expected, and it had a casual feel for such a nice restaurant (which was refreshing and perfect for my taste). It was quite expensive. But for the overall experience and quality of food, I would say that it was worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

If you want a delicious steak and all th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

If you want a delicious steak and all that makes a steak meal great, this is the place!! The sides were tasty and large, steak was cooked perfectly, and the staff was kind and helpful. It is expensive though, so for me it would be for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Abe & Louis is a great place for a busin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Abe & Louis is a great place for a business lunch. Everyone from the woman who greeted us to our server was wonderful

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.