About Abe and Louie's Boston

793 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Abe & Louie's represents the ultimate in classic American steakhouses, while still maintaining local charm and appeal. Our philosophy focuses on the finest quality food and service; this emphasis on quality is showcased in our décor and atmosphere. The Abe & Louie's commitment to quality is best represented in our signature prime steaks that are selected from the finest corn-fed, local and Midwestern beef. All the steaks served are aged 6 weeks on the bone to ensure the most flavorful and juicy steaks. Guests will marvel at our menu's emphasis on our fresh seafood and produce. The lump crab cake and swordfish chop are signature dishes, outstanding in their own right, in addition to the exclusive bone-in filet mignon and other fine steaks and chops. Our high-quality cuisine is paired with an award-winning wine list featuring a selection of over 200 wines from the best regions in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-6300

Website:
http://www.abeandlouies.com/

Parking Details:
There is valet parking available after 5pm daily. In addition there is metered street parking and the Prudential Parking Garage is located across the street.

Public Transit:
Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.

Executive Chef:
Tindaro Losurdo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

We offer private and semi private group dining space for 10 to 125 guests at Abe & Louie's

Abe and Louie's Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (142)
Good for a Date (107)
Good for Anniversaries (104)
See All
Good for Birthdays (101)
Business Meals (98)
Notable Wine List (80)
Romantic (61)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Good for Groups (59)
Bar Seating (59)
Great for Lunch (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Authentic (44)
Worth the Drive (43)
Cozy (43)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Hot Spot (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Fun (38)
Comfort Food (36)
People Watching (32)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Great for Brunch (27)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Casual (23)
Family Style (21)
Historic (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fireplace (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Seasonal (12)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Private Room (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was great and the food was delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I had such a great time. I was in town from New York for my birthday weekend. Went to dinner with a friend of mine and had Kenny as our waiter. Loved him as a person and his service was excellent. If I go back I'll definitely will be requesting him. He explained everything to us and made great suggestions. And omg the crab cake was delicious. Steak was perfect. Had a great time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was okay, main waiter disappeared for a bit. The other helpers were very prompt refilling water, cleaning table, asking if we needed anything else. Food was very good, not great. They let us take our time and didn't rush us out. Would try again but likely try other places first.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good experience overall. A little on the pricey side but well worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

I've been to Abe and Louie's a decent amount of times in my life and have always been more than satisfied. For whatever reason, this past time did not live up to my expectations. The food was average at best. The sides were fine, but the steak was not cooked correctly and was not very good to begin with. The waiter did not follow up regarding whether or not the steak was cooked to our liking. We sat on the main level and it was pretty loud and drafty/cold. Could have just been an off night but it was not the experience I've come to expect at a high end steak house.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The appetizers were quite amazing especially combined with their home made bread

That together with a cup of soup was most satisfying

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We have few years going to this restaurant is one of my favorites , BEst brunch EVer !!! French toast with maple syrup is just amazing!!! And husband lovess the EGg benedict THreee ways! Is a very nice fancy place , you get treated 5 stars !

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and knowledgeable staff make for a great time

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner was amazing! Best bone in ribeye ever!! Beats capital grill and flemmings for sure. The wine list is great, and the service was outstanding. The atmosphere is nice, not stuffy or reserved, more relaxed. Expensive, but worth every penny. Made reservations & our table was ready exactly on time. The staff was friendly and welcoming from the moment we stepped foot in the door. Had a drink at the bar before we sat at the table. The bar tender was pleasant and quick to serve us. Our waiter was well informed on the wines and the menu and make great suggestions. We really loved the whole dining experience. It was a perfect date night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were great. Only complaint is that we had a reservation for 7pm, and weren't seated until 730.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time at A/L. It was a Saturday night, not yet 6pm and the place was packed. We were seated promptly. Our server was helpful and funny. We had drinks and the oysters, which were delicious. All the dishes were huge and easily shareable. We ordered two sides with our meals, one side would have easily been enough. The crab cake was delicious and my husband's filet was also. It is not a place where one can linger, as soon as one table emptied, it was reset and new diners were seated in 5 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service. The food was fantastic as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We happened upon this restaurant after a referral from another local place that was booked. Our waiter was so pleasant and informative. His service was spot on!!

Food and drinks were great !!

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress seemed to be a bit preoccupied, and our table did not feel like a priority...to say the least. She quickly mumbled the specials, didn't make any recommendations, then walked away. A bit too complacent for an upscale vibe.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing. Service was excellent. Will definitely be back

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal was good but have been to other steak restaurants in Boston that I prefer better and at comparable price. Was disappointed with table especially when reservation was made 2 months in advance. Table located near bar so noise level high - difficult to hold a conversation especially where other party is hearing impaired. Service excellent and food good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Tasteful good, great portions and warm atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

The team was professional. -Clientele very fake. Food was good, but overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was very good. Our waiter knew the menu very well. Our food arrived on time and as ordered.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Always, always consistent! Delicious filet and veal! Can't go wrong!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service. Didn't love the table right at the top of the stairs plus a waiter hovering spot. Expensive for sure but best steakhouse in the region bar none

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

A very busy restaurant even for a Wed evening. Had to wait 15 minutes to be seated despite showing up on time with a reservation. I would have rated it 5 stars if not for the wait which was unacceptable. Food was good and portions were generous but go elsewhere if you want to have a business dinner. This place was way too noisy and busy for any business outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of best steaks I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

John was a nice waiter but he should have mentioned the 2 different quantities of wine pours. Only $13 pour was noted next to the Mal because. But I got the $19. Zoinks. All in all fab experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

On a special night this place came up short...i dont know how else to describe the sequence of events other than expensive meets mediocre. Crabcake more like crab...small and overpriced. Drinks were okay. And the waiter was a tool and did not deserve the decently large tip i charitied to him.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Honestly, in terms of upscale steakhouses in the Boston area, Abe + Louie's was my least favorite. Tables were too cramped together, food was OK but not memorable, and the ambiance did not scream $250 meal for two. Capital Grille, Boston Chops, and Grill 23 are all legions better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was impeccable and food was on par. My steak came out medium which I ordered medium rare, which was compensated by the impeccable service who notice all little items from water filling to additional spoons etc. Overall service was great and food was good. I definitely would go back for other occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Short blonde waitress was a bit snooty and gave us an eye roll when we didnt order dessert. I left her a $50 tip on a 230 bill and didnt even get a thank you. Restaurant was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service. Although our waitress was busy, she took the time to chat with us and take a few photos of us at our request. The steaks are phenomenal. One of us had the swordfish. It was thick and juicy. The sides are ample enough for 2-3 people. We had skillet cookies for dessert and they were delicious. The place was packed so the noise level was high, but not so bad that we couldn't converse at the table. I've been to this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went to Abe & Louie's for my dons 22nd Birthday with a few of his friends - college students. The service, meal and overall experience was beyond exceptional.

Wouk recommend highly and certainly will dine again when in Boston.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great dinner. We went for our anniversary and enjoyed it for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our second Valentine's Day dinner at Abe & Louie's and this is now a tradition. The service, wine list and the steaks! Oh the steaks are delicious! And did I mention the steaks! Seriously, if you are in Boston and want a good meal in a somewhat old fashioned steak house - this is the place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a fantastic time with our cousins, who were young teens. They were very impressed with the place! The food was excellent, we had salads that were enormous. My husband had the filet, which was cooked perfectly. Even though the side dishes were priced ala carte, they are huge portions and very, very tasty! Loved the place and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was my husband's birthday and we wanted to try the restaurant based on reviews. It was worth the money and the food was excellent. The steaks were cooked to our liking, sides were yummy and the home made rolls were outstanding. We will be back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We Celebrated my Husbands Milestone Birthday & it was Perfection! Mauricio, was our Server: his Professionalism & Coutesy was Impeccable! The Food was Incredibly Delicious, The Delightful Piece of Birthday Cake was a Wonderful Surprise!!The Atmosphere, Class All The Way! We Could not have been Happier!!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Abe and Louie's never disappoints! The food is fantastic and the service is always terrific!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

So loud I couldn't conduct a conversation. Tables too small for the food. Felt cramped. Food good. But expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had reservations for our anniversary, the girl who seated us was very rude when I asked for a different table. When we asked for our leftovers to go we realized at home that two of our sides were missing. Not impressed by the food, ambiance or service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was excellent. Conrad was our waiter and he provided great recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Love eating here. Always great food and decent service. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Delightful - great place to have a nice meal and enjoy each other's company - we'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Extremely good food

Very pleasant helpful wait staff

On high end expense side

But don't mind paying high when food is this good!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was very attentive. Simple brunch menu with full menu also available during brunch hours. Reservation was prompt and seated immediately upon arrival

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is the best steakhouse in the city

Service is beyond excellent.

Menue is fantastic, but bring back the swardfish chop. That's missed.

Steaks are by far the best. Bone in ribeye is worth every penny. Deserts are worth saving room for

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food. Horrible seating!! Service was aloof.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always AMAZING, great service and and the food/drink are impeccable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food but don't expect to have any normal conversation. So loud at times that you cannot hear the person across from you. Seating is very tight especially the boothes. Might be ok for a loud group but definitely not for anything intimate.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.