About ABC Kitchen

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies)

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Gramercy / Flatiron ›

fit for foodies (317)
special occasion (220)
hot spot (204)
See All
great for lunch (195)
good for groups (159)
neighborhood gem (149)
romantic (135)
great for brunch (126)
notable wine list (63)
vibrant bar scene (45)
late-night find (33)
kid-friendly (20)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (7)
 (3)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, wonderful decor, great music ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 15 hours ago

Great food, wonderful decor, great music, and definitely stays true to its celebrity-attracting nature. I loved all my dishes but the kale salad could have been a bit more interesting, either in the presentation or the flavours.

I had a great time and the restaurant week menu was excellent. I would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our last meal in NYC was a leisurely lun ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our last meal in NYC was a leisurely lunch. We ordered a bottle of Aligote then started with the crab toast and the tuna sashimi both of which were delicious. My wife had the ravioli while I went with the Crispy Shrimp Salad. I loved the shrimp but wished the salad were more greens and less grains. For dessert, we ordered the cookie plate and were pleasantly surprised when the restaurant also brought out the panna cotta and two mini cupcakes in celebration of our anniversary. A very nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never disappoints. I ha ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant never disappoints. I have taken many different groups here and everyone loves it. The menu is always changing too so every experience is different. It is one of my top NYC restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is one of the best meals I had in N ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of the best meals I had in New York. The food the service and te ambience was excellent. Couldn't ask for a better way to end our trip to the big apple. We ordered the roasted portobello and crab on toast which was unbelievably tasty. The main course of grilled lobster served with a velvety mash incredible. All in all a superb experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we enjoyed our brunch at ABC kitch ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

While we enjoyed our brunch at ABC kitchen and I would recommend it, I have to comment about our waitress. She never introduced herself to our table, never smiled, never checked on how we liked our dishes or if we needed or wanted anything else.. I would say she either was having a bad day or the restaurant should try harder at schooling their wait staff on politeness and attentiveness. There are many choices in NYC why go somewhere you are not made to feel welcome?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The french toast I had in ABC Kitchen wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The french toast I had in ABC Kitchen was the best I've ever had!!! So soft, so fluffy and the vanilla flavor was perfect!!! Definitely a must-have in ABC Kitchen!

Also, we ordered the mushroom pizza, which turns out to be weirdly good even though it sounds like..."adding mushroom and eggs on pizza? u gotta be kidding me"...( that's what I was thinking about when my boyfriend ordered it, "you are gonna regret it")

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant with a good menu. Servic ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

Nice restaurant with a good menu. Service good, would definitely recommend for couple or group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing food and delicious drinks! Best ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food and delicious drinks! Best restaurant experience in NYC so far! We'll definitely come back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my dad there visiting - mid 60's on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Took my dad there visiting - mid 60's on a busy Friday night - too loud for him. Food was ok and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

ABC Kitchen is my go-to spot whenever I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

ABC Kitchen is my go-to spot whenever I have out of town visitors -- you can't ever go wrong here! The vibe, the drinks, the food -- A++ each time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Geat service, amazing food! Definitely c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Geat service, amazing food!

Definitely coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of the best in the city ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Consistently one of the best in the city. Food is always on point.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

cool place, poor food. Too sour or too s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

cool place, poor food. Too sour or too salty, we don't plan to go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was simple clean and fresh to t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was simple clean and fresh to the taste. Red Snapper was amazing. The portobello and celery leaves was the most memorable. Our server Remy was super.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service! Gluten free ca ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Amazing food and service! Gluten free care was great. Because we were form Sydney and it being our last night in New York, they treated us to an amazing complimentary dessert!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and very attentive servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fantastic food and very attentive service. All the food was very fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grear place and food!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Grear place and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent lunch. All 3 of us e ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had an excellent lunch. All 3 of us enjoyed our selections. Restaurant has a very cool vibe which added to the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service were amazing..t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food and the service were amazing..the level of noise was too high...they don't have any noise reduction system

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

It is pretty hard to get a reservation f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It is pretty hard to get a reservation for four people during the peak hours. I did it 30 days in advance and luckily got one at 7:30pm on a Monday. We got there on time and it was packed already. We waited 10 minutes for our table ready.

We tried following stuff:

1. Crab toast - kind of oily but taste really good. Recommend!

2. Pretzel dusted calamari - so so, not special and the portion is small comparing to the price $18

3. Line caught tuna sashimi - ok

4. Shaved raw fluke -presentation is in Michelin classic way and taste is good.

5. Fettuccine with pesto - good. Small portion is not that much

6. Mushrooms & egg pizza - good

7. Black Sea bass - it's tender but the herbs source made it a little bit sour taste.

8. Baby salmon - we asked between rare and medium rare. It was good.

9. Summer beans as side dish - recommend! I love they put hazelnuts inside

10. Cherry pie - ok

11. Sundae with salt caramel ice cream - recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Went here for a birthday dinner and coul ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Went here for a birthday dinner and could only nab an early reservation, so the place was pretty empty at first. The service was attentive all around and our server had a wonderful, upbeat attitude and she was very knowledgeable about the food. The food was delicious! I recommend your meal include the crab toast and a side of mashed potatoes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place and excellent food! Easy to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Lovely place and excellent food! Easy to get to via subway. Much care is taken to use locally grown/raised food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I first tried to get into this restauran ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I first tried to get into this restaurant over a year ago, without success. It was the darling of foodies, celebrities and critics alike. Finally ate there and while it was certainly decent, it did not set off the fireworks that I had expected. It was good, but it was not memorable. And it was pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food. Imaginative yet not over ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food. Imaginative yet not overwhelming. Fantastic service and beautiful decor as well. My party of 6 had a great time. Just what you would expect of a Jean Georges restaurant, it was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful spot for brunch! Food and atmo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful spot for brunch! Food and atmosphere are outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

excellent food- fresh and delicious. Fav ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

excellent food- fresh and delicious. Favorites were the peas with ginger, the pizzas and the carmel ice cream dessert.

Nice ambiance- but too loud! Difficult to have a conversation. I understand the trendy, loud open kitchen concept- but it would be nice if they could bring down the music bit or a provide a more quiet section.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second time at ABC. First time was for l ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Second time at ABC. First time was for lunch. Dinner provides similar quality but much more busy and hence, extremely loud. Difficult to strike a conversation with the person in front of you loud. Many groups so if this is your thing then 5 stars it is but while I will recommend ABC and plan to go back it will be for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing! Tuna sashimi was delicious. B ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing! Tuna sashimi was delicious. Beet salad with house made yogurt was lovely. Burger with pickled jalapeños was out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my grand daughters birthday. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Celebrating my grand daughters birthday. We had a wonderful time. It was loud but very vibrant and enjoyable!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food in a very cool restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Outstanding food in a very cool restaurant. Make sure you save room for dessert as it simply is amazing! ABC kitchen was recommended us for a great experience on our honeymoon and it certainly lived up to the expectation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place was very nice and full even on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The place was very nice and full even on a Tuesday night

The food was good but not so great the way it's exaggerated

But the service was great and very friendly waiters

Worth a try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The ingredients were obviously farmers m ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The ingredients were obviously farmers market fresh. We got a variety of vegetables all which were of superb caliber. The wait staff was quick and friendly and the interior was beautifully decorated with chic artwork and quaint vintage table settings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ABC Kitchen was worth the wait. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

ABC Kitchen was worth the wait. The food was excellent, the decor was gorgeous and the service was excellent. I'll definitely return!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and ambiance cool wit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was delicious and ambiance cool with a rustic modern vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely wonderful dinner experience! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Absolutely wonderful dinner experience! Our server was lovely and friendly. We were blown away with the chef's cooking and will be back frequently.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here with just my girlfriend for he ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went here with just my girlfriend for her 21st Birthday. What we ordered: Mushroom Farm Egg Pizza, Maine Lobster, Crab Toast, Apricot Pannacotta, Pistachio and Chocolate Mint Ice Cream. For drinks we got: 3 Thyme Lemonades, 1 Carrotini. The best part of the meal was the Crab Toast, worth more $16 in value. The Thyme Lemonade and both desserts were divine. 3 scoops of Ice Cream for $9; not at all bad considering the cocktails here are $16. The pistachio ice cream was something imagined only in dreams. The Carrotini was good, but in terms of value it was not worth it. The Thyme Lemonade however came in a tall glass with an actual piece of flowering thyme and a sugar rim; a delicious first legal drink. As for the Mushroom Farm Egg pizza, it was not our thing. It was a good value for the amount of food, but we didn't finish it. It was soggy, and the taste was 3/5. The lobster was $42; a little steep for us but priced for a special occasion. The display was beautiful, the portion was large, and it was delicious. The server knew it was my girlfriend's birthday and they gave us a complimentary cupcake with "Happy Birthday" written sweetly on the plate. It was unexpected and such a nice gesture. Speaking of service; we had two different waitresses and both were very pleasant. Our reservation was at 3pm on a Saturday. We got to sit at a table meant to seat 4 which was thoughtful and spacious. We had privacy and the ambience was delightful. By the end of our meal they had dimmed the lights and lit a candle on our table. I would definitely come back here and recommend ABC Kitchen to anyone looking to dine for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, we enjoyed our lunch at the ABC ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall, we enjoyed our lunch at the ABC, but were unhappy with a couple of things.

Firstly, even though NYC is expensive compared to most cities, ABC is quite pricy for the portion size and cooking quality of the food we ate. For example, the chicken paillard was slightly overcooked and dried out at the edges - I needed a steak knife to cut it.

Secondly, the service would best be described as perfunctory i.e. going through the motions, rather than enjoying what they were doing.

For example, we couldn't locate our server when we wanted the check and had to ask a passing member of staff. Then, after I put down $120 in bills and was looking in my wallet for some small notes to make up a 15% tip (we wouldn't tip less) our server appeared, said 'will you be wanting any change?', picked up the $120 and left. No 'thanks', no 'enjoy your day', nothing. So she got around 13% tip and we left with a bad feeling about the place.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Always a great meal and great servers. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always a great meal and great servers. My wife's favorite... Would like to see them rotate mains more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Really loved everything one of my favori ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Really loved everything one of my favorite farm to table NYC restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. But very noisy. Hard to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Delicious food. But very noisy. Hard to hear others at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.