About ABC Kitchen

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (109)
Good for a Date (106)
Special Occasion (96)
See All
Creative Cuisine (95)
Local Ingredients (81)
Great for Lunch (76)
Romantic (71)
Modern Decor (67)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Healthy (66)
Hot Spot (64)
Organic (63)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Fun (61)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Good for Groups (54)
Good Vegetarian Options (50)
Cozy (45)
Seasonal (44)
Authentic (43)
Great for Brunch (42)
Casual (41)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Business Meals (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
People Watching (31)
Comfort Food (26)
Notable Wine List (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Open Kitchen (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Vegan (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Family Style (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Tapas (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Spicy (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Private Room (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Disabled Access (1)
 (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great location Great ambience Too much s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great location

Great ambience

Too much staff with too different responsibilities in too much hurry

Great even outstanding quality of food ruined by too much drained butter in/or over food or loads of sugar in deserts - heavy and hard to digest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The carrot and Avo salad was out of this ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The carrot and Avo salad was out of this world. Pork dish was equally good. lovely wine and great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were equally wonder ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were equally wonderful, I had a fantastic dining experience at ABC Kitchen.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took clients out to an early Sunday nigh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Took clients out to an early Sunday night dinner, perfect ambience, perfect food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had heard a lot about this place. I de ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

I had heard a lot about this place. I definitely enjoyed it. I loved the fine china and the uber cool ambiance. The signature carrot salad is great. The falafel wrap is good, The sashimi is good too. The basil lemonade was excellent.

Disappointed in the kale salad. Highly recommend that they either discontinue the salad from their menu or tell their servers to give fair warning to the guests about what they should expect.

Had much higher expectations overall. I went in hungry thinking that I really wanted to enjoy the food but was not blown away. But definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We come often- this time we went here fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We come often- this time we went here for a nice in-law dinner. Food was still outstanding even though it's predictable. Service was lacking in terms of attention given to us and pacing timing of wine pours and meals. Especially with the amount we were planning to spend. Our table near the kitchen visibly dipped every time a server tromped by. Quite annoying.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Salad dish $16 was missing 2 of describe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Salad dish $16 was missing 2 of described items .... besides, way to skimpy. Gourmet is one thing, we understand of it (Rest owner) ... but dish was skimpy, overpriced ... main entrees as well. Way overrated and overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Always a great meal at ABC Kitchen. Don' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great meal at ABC Kitchen. Don't miss the beets with yogurt. Ordered a brussel sprout ,ricotta , lemon pizza-heavenly!

My fellow diners enjoyed soup and veggie burgers.

Love the simple decor, and lovely bounty table.

The staff could not be more pleasant and attentive.

Shopping at ABC Carpet after a plus!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely amazing . The servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was absolutely amazing . The service as well ! I am from California so this was so refreshing to have personable and aware service .

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice experience but $100+ before tip for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Nice experience but $100+ before tip for a basic lunch for two is too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Oh my!! I cannot say enough wonderful th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Oh my!! I cannot say enough wonderful things about ABC Kitchen! Seriously one of the best restaurant experiences ever. The staff was excellent with recommendations and the food was perfection! The atmosphere...GORGEOUS! Make your reservation immediately!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wondweful time. We are from Bra ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had a wondweful time. We are from Brazil and everything was very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here many times and have ne ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. The food is delicious. Whether you are looking for a big meal or small me, they have it. Fabulous!!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and the atmosphere is so fun. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Delicious and the atmosphere is so fun. Had the olives, pretzel crusted calamari and the steak special. It was cooked a little pinker than requested but was still amazing. Everything was delicious. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere. So much attention ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere. So much attention to the details. Food is spectacular!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you are lucky enough to be taken on a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

If you are lucky enough to be taken on a date here!!! This place is fabulous and such a great romantic atmosphere!! Get the ricotta squash toast as an appetizer- it's out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to ABC Kitchen with my fiancé for a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Went to ABC Kitchen with my fiancé for a romantic date night. I had twice before been to ABC Cocina and so I was very excited to finally try ABC Kitchen as well. The service is efficient and the wait staff is very friendly. The food is unique and absolutely delicious! The tuna shashimi and pork confit were amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the Eggs Benedict for brunch, it w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had the Eggs Benedict for brunch, it was delicious and the perfect portion size. The decor is beautiful as long as you don't mind dim lighting during the day.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was a bit disappointing. Heard rave ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was a bit disappointing. Heard rave reviews - maybe we off-ordered. main problem was a lack of seasoning on a couple of items - pretty but bland.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love their French toast. One of the best ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love their French toast. One of the best ever.. u gotta try it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Servers were really sweet. Food was deli ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Servers were really sweet. Food was delicious and came out quickly!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved all the fresh food, everything ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We loved all the fresh food, everything was amazing and the waiter was so lovely!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excelente ambiente y comida, lo repito T ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excelente ambiente y comida, lo repito Tía cada vez que visite New York

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a delight, entering the dining is ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Truly a delight, entering the dining is like entering fairyland. The setting is magical. The food is exquisite. And the waitstaff makes you feel like this meal will be a very special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing servers. Amazing food. Amazing a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing servers. Amazing food. Amazing ambiance. Amazing plating. Amazing dessert. I find this place just great and worth every penny you spend.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Hot Spot, Casual, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!! Everything was amazing defin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious!! Everything was amazing definitely get the squash toast and tuna shashimi. Fried chicken and bowtie w veal meatballs were ok. Sundae was delicious. Carrotini and ginger margarita great. Nice spot w great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely worth going to. The food was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Definitely worth going to. The food was amazing! Jean Georges' restaurant is one of the best restaurants I've ever been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great menu and wonderful food t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always a great menu and wonderful food that is unique.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the plates were extraordi ...

 
 (México)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The quality of the plates were extraordinary.

But the prices are to high for the size of the plates.

We leave feeling hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

The lunch was wonderful and we were not ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The lunch was wonderful and we were not rushed. A bit expensive for what you get but a nice restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The bottle of wine arrived already opene ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The bottle of wine arrived already opened - not opened in front of us- Not sure about the content I was paying for...

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was good, but the fish was u ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The service was good, but the fish was undercooked and it all tasted bitter. I was really disappointed in ABC Kitchen given that it was one of the restaurants I just "had" to try on my visit to NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Fantastic food. Nice and friendly servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic food. Nice and friendly service, however slightly vage as far as the choice of wine. The main challenge is conversation - the noise and choice of music (level and repertoire) does not contribute to the kind of atmosphere this kind of dining deserves.

Tags: Spicy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious food. Engaged service. Not the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Delicious food. Engaged service. Not the same sublime experience as its top tier neighbors: Union Square Cafe, Craft, Gramercy Tavern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service were amazing as expecte ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food and service were amazing as expected. Very comfortable with a party of 9, including a baby with stroller.

Tags: Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but the price exceeds the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was good but the price exceeds the quality much more.

From everything we ordered, only mushroom pizza ($22) was worth the price, everything else was way too expensive. for the same amount of money, we would rather go somewhere else.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Been here many times on our trips to New ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Been here many times on our trips to New York and always enjoyed it but this time we got food poisoning from the fish course. Not sure we'all be back in a hurry!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was not worth the price. I am compl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was not worth the price. I am completely willing to pay for good food but everything was bland or too salty, totally lacking sauce and dressing and really not executed well.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My boyfriend and I visited NYC and had t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My boyfriend and I visited NYC and had to try ABC Kitchen for dinner before we left - it was by far our most fabulous and favorite meal while in the city. Our servers Kristen and Rachel were amazing and truly made the evening. The food was absolutely delicious, with some of the freshest ingredients I've ever tasted. We can't wait to come back on our next trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent...Excellence...Exclamation !!. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent...Excellence...Exclamation !!..ABC delivers quality cuisine in a beautifully warm lit room... A friendly on point staff...Kudos to the chef...thx a million...see you real soon...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.