About ABC Kitchen

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (133)
Special Occasion (117)
Good for a Date (101)
See All
Great for Lunch (91)
Creative Cuisine (84)
Hot Spot (83)
Local Ingredients (80)
Romantic (78)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Modern Decor (63)
Healthy (60)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Good for Groups (58)
Organic (56)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Fun (54)
Great for Brunch (48)
Casual (47)
Good Vegetarian Options (41)
Seasonal (38)
Cozy (38)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Authentic (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Business Meals (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
People Watching (27)
Comfort Food (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Late-night Find (13)
Vegan (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Wood Oven (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Family Style (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Tapas (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (4)
Spicy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
4204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a wonderful evening. The waiter, ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful evening. The waiter, the staff, the environment had a great vib.. Will come back ..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way. We went with ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding in every way. We went with 8 people and while it had plenty of buzz and it factor, we could still hear everyone speak. I would have expected some attitude with such a great spot/food but the service was every bit as good as everything else. Mgmt was great too when we were the last people in the place at 1130 on a Sunday. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was ok but way overpriced for w ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was ok but way overpriced for what we received. The brisselsprouts in the pizza were raw which gave us all a stomach ache. It wasn't seasoned at all.

Half our order came out then the other half after asking for it numerous times. My daughters Water glass was broken and leaking water all over the table. after telling the wait staff numerous times I finally brought it to the host.

I've been there many times and this was awful. Not sure we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

We had stunning delicious food. The team ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had stunning delicious food. The team were lovely and welcoming. Great service. We will definitely be back. Only regret is that it's a bit noisy as there are no soft surfaces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

LOVED LOVED LOVED ABC Kitchen. The brun ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

LOVED LOVED LOVED ABC Kitchen. The brunch menu had a nice selection of breakfast/lunch and sweet and savory. The bloody mary was tasty! We started with the donuts- chocolate covered and concord grape. I liked the grape the best. I had the burger. It was great! The other diners had the salmon, eggs benedict and the turkey sandwich. All of us enjoyed our meal. As an added bonus the vintage santa was in the house! Service was great would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we ate was delicious! We orde ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything we ate was delicious! We ordered the sea bass, ravioli, and fried chicken. The ricotta in the ravioli was perfectly creamy and the crunch on the fried chicken was so unique. The sea bass was a perfect dish, every component added to the flavors of the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Muy bueno Excelente servicio y ambiente ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Muy bueno

Excelente servicio y ambiente

La comida excelente

Tags: Decoración moderna, buenas opciones vegetarianas, Acogedor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fresh, delicious, and fun!!!

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Always fresh, delicious, and fun!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations a month in advance ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We made reservations a month in advance (as is apparently necessary) for a date night. We ordered $200+ in food and in came out in two waves, one right after the other. It didn't seem like there was any thought regarding which dishes were appropriate to serve with one another, or whether too much food was being served at once (e.g., the pasta course came out with the main course). It seemed like they were trying to flip the table for another seating that night. We were out of there in just over an hour. Not happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Fantastic atmosphere, service and food! ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic atmosphere, service and food! Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No deja de sorprender por su menú excele ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

No deja de sorprender por su menú excelente y contemporáneo

Tags: Ideal para cumpleaños, Ideal para una cita, Acogedor, apto para los apasionados de la gastronomía, punto de atracción
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I visit New York the first re ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Every time I visit New York the first restaurant I go to is ABC Kitchen. It's always incredible!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations for 2:00 pm, party of 5 ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

Had reservations for 2:00 pm, party of 5 and were seated promptly at 2:00. Downhill from there. Orders were taken, got our first courses in a reasonable amount of time, but it was almost 45 min between placing our order and the time we got our main courses. We asked the waitress several times and were told it will be out any time. I had a dessert as part of the pre fixe and had to ask for that to be brought so we could get going. There seemed to be a total lack of concern about us. We had a 4:05 Amtrak at Penn Station and barely made it. Food was good, but being stressed over how long it took really limits your enjoyment. If you do decide to go, better allow extra time if you are on a schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Being from Hawaii you might ask why fly ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

Being from Hawaii you might ask why fly ten and one half hours, 7000 miles to NYC. The answer is ABC Kitchen. My wife and I use to be regulars here. We lived in NYC till five years ago after teaching wine programs in Manhattan. Hawaii is our new home. Upon entering ABC we felt like VIP's. Many workers knew our names. We had asked for their white truffle pizza since we've had it here for many years at this time of year we weren't disappointed. But the unexpected eggs with shaved white truffle was an amazing perk. Yes, quite expensive but we traveled this far. Why not. Added to this was our all time favorite, Crab Toast with a one inch mound of the best crab you can buy. What a way to start our trip back to our roots.

THANK YOU ABC Kitchen.

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muy lindo lugar; excelente la comida

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Muy lindo lugar; excelente la comida

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very friendly and made th ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our server was very friendly and made the experience very pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very slow service considering the restau ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very slow service considering the restaurant was almost empty. Food was just ok. Expected more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Lovely design and great responsible food ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Lovely design and great responsible food sourcing with fresh ingredients and delicious produce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Amazing food ,love the dishes offered an ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing food ,love the dishes offered and the ambience ...highly recommended ,would be returning soon ........love

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was no good. Very salty. Slow servi ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was no good. Very salty. Slow service. Not worth the money paid. Portions too smal for price paid

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

In spite of reserving more than 3 weeks ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

In spite of reserving more than 3 weeks in advance we were given a table at the back. To make things worse, the waiter literally forgot to get the appetizers and we have to wait for over 30 minutes just for our first course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

I went there for a treat for ourselves s ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

I went there for a treat for ourselves since it was during a trip to NYC.

Many of my friends recommended me about ABC Kitchen so I went there.

Atmosphere was awesome and food was nice too.

We tried the menus that our server recommended and it was worth to ask!

Really enjoyed the wine too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious & beautiful food in a gorgeous ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious & beautiful food in a gorgeous setting. Great for couples.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

impeccable meal and service, as always. ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

impeccable meal and service, as always. one small quibble - music was a little loud for lunch and detracted from ambiance.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Comida ocasional de turistas. Buena expe ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

Comida ocasional de turistas. Buena experiencia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

2 of us enjoyed the pre fixed menu. Gre ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

2 of us enjoyed the pre fixed menu. Great Value. Hake fish was delicious. Ask what cheeses are included on the cheese board. We should have, since none of us eat Blue Cheese, so it was wasted. Great Service. Beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First place we hit upon arriving in NYC!

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

First place we hit upon arriving in NYC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French toast was PHENOMENAL. The cheddar ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

French toast was PHENOMENAL. The cheddar biscuits were amazing. No regrets going. The technique and food quality are outstanding. I was surprised though that the bacon was ho-hum and lacked any special note. Overall, will totally come back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and great food. Would defi ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great service and great food. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We expected Much more. The atmosphere i ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

We expected Much more. The atmosphere is open, cold and uncomfortable. The music was annoying and the food was just ok. The wait staff was unfamiliar with the wine list. Overall a disappointment. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We took my mother in law to ABC Kitchen ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

We took my mother in law to ABC Kitchen for her 80th birthday. What a beautiful restaurant! Although it was busy, it remained quiet enough so that we could continue our conversation. Everything we ate was scrumptious and we saved room for their delicious deserts. My only complaint was our difficulty finding the very low profile restaurant entrance!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The shrimp salad was delicious but far t ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

The shrimp salad was delicious but far too much lemon. If you order the dressing in the side, will be much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This brunch was a disappointment. With a ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

This brunch was a disappointment. With all that I've read about this place, I thought it would be amazing, but it just wasn't. The food portions were microscopic. Like I am talking maybe a half a cup of scrambled eggs and six home fries on the side. The "salad" was a tiny pile of raw, julienned apples and pears -- and the definitely didn't use the whole of each fruit. And I am not even a big eater. At practically every other restaurant on the planet, I would be taking home a to-go box with half a meal in it. The hardest thing to stomach, though, was when the waiter told me I'd have to pay extra to get some jam for the burnt, tasteless bread he brought to the table. Come to think of it, he probably charged us for that too. The atmosphere was lovely and the first waiter who took our drink order was nice, but unless you haven't eaten for three days and would therefore welcome a few tablespoons of eggs, I'd go to one of the many other options in the city for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Pretty disappointed in my meal this time ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Pretty disappointed in my meal this time. I ordered eggs Benedict as did 2 other people at my table. They all came out over cooked. Server did nothing about adjusting bill. I had mine remade which took a while. We were the first table sat when they opened so it seemed like either kitchen wasn't ready for us or food just wasn't good. We came in from out of town so this was a disappointment for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The food is wonderful and the place look ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is wonderful and the place looks amazing!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dissapointing bday meal. Our drinks were ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

Dissapointing bday meal. Our drinks were not brought until last 10 mins. We sat down and noon and restaurant was not even half full.

I had the chicken salad, was ok, not great. Have heard so many positives yet I did not see any reason to return unles I wanted to grab a bite while shopping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

ABC Kitchen was perfect as usual. The fo ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

ABC Kitchen was perfect as usual. The food, the service, the ambiance. From star to finish your being taking care off. Thanks for the seventh time and for this perfect dinner. The charcuterie board and lobster we're divine, moist, perfectly cooked. Same goes for the carrot and avocado salad and the tortellini. What a great way to top it off with a the plate of donuts. We ended up reordering one more of the concord grape donuts, so yummy and explosion of flavors in our mouth.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Comfort Food, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious dinner, expensive b ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely delicious dinner, expensive but worth the price for a special occasion

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Food was great, service too.

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing! Food was great, service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful brunch of eggs Benedict. ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had a wonderful brunch of eggs Benedict. The bloody Mary's and mimosas were fantastic! The white Decor is light and airy and so beautiful. The servers were on top of everything and very efficient.

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.