About ABC Kitchen

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (148)
Creative Cuisine (134)
Good for a Date (125)
See All
Local Ingredients (125)
Special Occasion (116)
Great for Lunch (112)
Modern Decor (109)
Healthy (93)
Organic (93)
Romantic (86)
Good for Birthdays (86)
Hot Spot (85)
Fun (83)
Good Vegetarian Options (77)
Good for Groups (69)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Seasonal (65)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Great for Brunch (60)
Sunday Lunch (59)
Casual (56)
Business Meals (56)
People Watching (51)
Cozy (49)
Authentic (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Bar Seating (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Worth the Drive (28)
Comfort Food (24)
Gluten Free Options (21)
Vegan (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Paleo Friendly (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Family Style (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tapas (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Scenic View (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Spicy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
4876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Love this place just wish the portion sizes were bigger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Perfect from start to finish. Our table was ready right away for brunch, service was quick and attentive. Food was perfection!! We got the mushroom farm egg pizza and crab toast. Both were amazing. Got scrambled eggs for our little one and she loved it. A bit overpriced for eggs but they were cooked to perfection. Chocolate malted cake with marshmallow icing for dessert was perfectly done, not to sweet and excellent texture moistness and flavor. Would absolutely return when back in the city!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I went to ABC Kitchen for our anniversary.
We ordered Crab Toast, which was delicious, Carrot Avacado Salad - truly unique and delicious, and Pretzel dusted Calamari, which was so-so.
Our entrees were mediocre. I ordered Hake, which was a little overwhelmed by a salty flavor. My husband had Pork Confit which he says was also mediocre, although the potatoes that came with it were amazing.
We both ordered Creme Brulee...FABULOUS. We both love Creme Brulee and this was the best we'd ever had, and the best part of the food we ordered.

The atmosphere is unique, beautiful and relaxing. Service was exceptional. I would go back for appetizers, salads, lunch and dessert.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely restaurant with amazing food. Service was a bit patchy as our server was often too busy and would leave our table unattended for lengthy periods. The amazing food made up for it though. Overall I really enjoyed our visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious and serving is just right. It's a place to enjoy your friends company while having great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We never are disappointed. We have lunch more often then dinner. Try the Ice Cream Sunday

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Only flaw was that the waiter didn't come back to ask for another drink. Also, when asked for a wine recommendation he wasn't familiar with some of the wines on the list and recommended a wine twice the price of the one we were looking at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We were touched by the special attention of staff while we were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary in New York.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Very nice decoration inside. A special place with friendly staff! If you have time visit the department store above!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food was not bad. But one of our server seems like he is still in training. He spilled champagne while trying to pour water to my guest who is visiting from Japan. And another server spilled some champagne on my guest's phone while pouring champagne...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Ordered the salmon. It was small thin and expensive. Everything is an extra. The room is so dark, even my young niece had trouble reading the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I celebrated birthdays here when with friend and we love the decoration, the little table flowers, the mix & match plates, and the seasonal food.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The food was very good. We al enjoyed our meals. The server was inattentive, slow, and gave us attitude and we felt this directly impacted our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent atmosphere, very good food and service was on point at bar as well as table.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The whole experience was wonderful! Our server and staff were helpful and attentive. The whole meal was delicious. You could just taste the quality....the salted caramel ice cream sundae was amazing, so save room for dessert!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our late lunch celebrating our daughter's college graduation. The food was fresh and delicious. The ambience was refined yet relaxed. The service was impeccable. Would love to try dinner here...if only we could get a reservation!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Long waiting service, and food not so good. Very disapointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful food and service- pricey but worth it, would be great for a special occassion. Also had an amazing celebrity sighting here, was very fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wonderful food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2017

7,000 miles and 10 1/2 hrs in the air. Yes it's worth the aggravation. As former regulars who make this journey twice a year we are still treated with the VIP treatment.
A great bottle of Aligote followed by crab toast with lemon aioli. We can only dream of this in Hawaii. Then came the pretzel dusted calamari, spicy tomato and mustard aioli which we had the very first week when ABC Kitchen opened. What followed was the angel hair, saffron, golden garlic, jalapenos, herbs and fresh ricotta and we ended with the famous black sea bass with chilies and herbs, baby market potatoes and spinach. A truly memorable evening and with a very special waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Lovely inside. Very attentive service. Delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The kale salad is tasteless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

dining at ABC kitchen was such a great experience for my mom and me when we traveled to NYC. the food and the service were fantastic.

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

service was beyond awful vs last time I was there when it was fantastic
food wasn't so great

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great ambience and delicious food - it was a great experience all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day was an absolute success, thanks in part to ABC Kitchen! I loved the Black Sea bass and mom loved the ambiance and her salmon. The experience lived up to our expectations - definitely will come back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Perfect Mother's Day brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

LOVE the ambiance and the food matches! Amazing place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

THE RESTAURANT WAS OVER PRICED. THE FOOD WAS MEDIOCRE WITH TINY PORTIONS

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food and service were both great. Will absolutely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was good but Dana the waitress it was very much so that we was doing her a favour for Dining with her we thought it was her restaurant and she was filling it . Not good I wouldn't go back or recommend because of this .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great vibe and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

wait staff was exceptional; they did not rush us but were very informative about advising us on the menu. very attentive staff. food was amazing. different special flavors in ordinary selections make it such a tree. we had the crab on toast, pasta, mushroom pizza, fish sandwich, chocolate cake with marshmallow icing...all of it was divine. it's a must every time I go into the city.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Always a pleasure to experience - ways food is put together and presented; the service is amazing, and the salted carmel sunday is out of this world!

Tags: Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Consistently delicious. Creative without being overly precious. So good!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Always amazing food, service and ambiance! This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was really outstanding-- I had a three course menu lunch-- the beets with house-made yogurt and mint was awesome. Hake was ok-- pea, jalapeño sauce really saved it. But the piece de resistance was the salted caramel ice cream sundae! YUM! I'll be back for that. Wait staff was kind, professional and polite, but the host needs an attitude adjustment. That little podium gives him a bit of a power trip... but for his hauteur I would have also rated the service 5 stars. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Desserts are superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were last in NYC four years ago (visiting from the great food town of Sydney) and the final meal of our holiday was at ABC Kitchen. As soon as we knew we were returning to NYC we booked immediately to see if the best meal of our last trip would be as good this time. Oh yes. Fantastic. Congrats on your consistency, inventiveness and great service. We won't leave it so long again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.