About ABC Kitchen

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (142)
Good for a Date (137)
Creative Cuisine (119)
See All
Special Occasion (109)
Local Ingredients (105)
Modern Decor (104)
Great for Lunch (93)
Romantic (81)
Healthy (79)
Good for Birthdays (79)
Hot Spot (77)
Good Vegetarian Options (67)
Fun (66)
Good for Groups (65)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Organic (62)
Seasonal (58)
Great for Brunch (54)
Business Meals (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Cozy (45)
Sunday Lunch (44)
People Watching (44)
Authentic (40)
Casual (38)
Notable Wine List (32)
Bar Seating (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Comfort Food (26)
Open Kitchen (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Vegan (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Tapas (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Spicy (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Scenic View (4)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
4744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 14 hours ago

Had a change of server mid-meal. Both were very kind, but the transition did not go well. Missed sides, drinks, overall flow of dinner was off. Very expensive for poor execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious, service was incredible and atmosphere was perfect. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We liked the old menu better. ..

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was slow today despite quarter empty restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great spot for lunch, great atmospheric here & tasty food

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Ate alone, great service, wonderful food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The almond cake with poached pear and green apple sorbet was one of the best desserts I've ever had, but all was delicious. A larger wine-by-the-glass menu would be appreciated, but I made due!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The hostess was not very welcoming but the ambience was really nice and the restaurant is really beautiful. We started off with a squash toast that was delicious. Sweet and savory.
Then the second dishes arrived: a salmón that was cooked through even when we order it medium rare, and a hake that didn't look very well. We sent the salmon back. As i started eating it i could feel that something was not right about the fish. The texture wasn't that of a fresh fish. I ended up eating it all but i shouldnt have as i wasn't enjoying it. The "Brussels sprout" were really insignificant as i could hardly taste the vegetable and there were only a few leaves. We then got the salmón back which was cooked to perfection and the accompanying flavors were really tasty. I told the waitress that i didn't enjoy the hake but also mentioned to her that we really liked the toast. She gave us two complimentary brownie bites.
Overall we are not very happy with how the dinner went. We had higher expectations that were not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Our first time at ABC Kitchen,and it was sensational. Food was amazing, service was flawless and the overall ambiance was perfect. We were belatedly celebrating our anniversary. Never mentioned it to anyone, yet we were surprised with an extra dessert with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on the plate! We finally figured out that perhaps they overheard our toast to each other saying Happy Anniversary! Can't wait to return!
Jean Georges and staff are really operating a well oiled machine and they make you feel at home immediately. Thanx to all for a wonderful anniversary celebration!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fabulous dining experience from head to toe!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have wanted to have dinner here for some time.
The meal was absolutely delicious. Beautifully presented.
Gorgeous surroundings and fab waiter.
We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious. We were looking for a dry white wine and our server nailed it. Will definitely be going again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Simply my favorite restaurant in the city! Never disappoints. The squash toast is one of my fave foods on earth. The cocktails are as beautiful as they are tasty. Our waiter was adorable and attentive- future mega star ;D

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We loved the place and the food, but we wanted to eat earlier than our reservation and although there were tables available they put us at the high table wich is more like a waiting table , we were not very comfortable there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic. Infatuation Blog would have you think that it should be avoided. That is far from the truth. Our waiter, Christian, was terrific. He walked us through the menu in a very calm and detailed manner. Everything he recommended was delicious--the crab toast (the only thing Infatuation indicated was worth anything), the carrot, and avocado salad, the tuna sashimi. The hake (seasonal fish) was amazing--I wanted to lick the butternut squash puree from the plate. The plating itself was beautiful as is the decor of the restaurant. We loved the broccoli and mushroom sides. For anyone who has wanted to eat the famous Upland mushroom, eat this instead. A much better take on the maitake mushroom. We were very pleased and will look forward to coming back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was good. Food was ok. Sea bass too bland. Salmon was great. Carrot avocado salad was good. Pasta dishes ok. Atmosphere and ambiance are good. Very generic door to enter restaurant. Almost could miss it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was my second visit to ABC Kitchen and we were offered a wonderful service again.
As much as I love the dishes, I also love the clean and beautiful interior. Our entrees had a great combination in flavor between accompanying sauces and the meats (we got the organic fried chicken w/ hot sauce butter and the roasted hake w/ honeynut squash).

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic. Everyone told us when we visited NYC we had to go to ABC kitchen. We were not disappointed. So glad we booked. Thanks for a lovely lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Gastronomy is not only about what's in your plate. Many factors must go hand in hand to make your experience truly enjoyable: the food at ABC is exceptional and very creative but unfortunately the service is not. When serving wine, you do not hold the client's bottle by the neck and do not fill glasses to the rim. You do not sit clients next to the noisy waiters station so they cannot hear themselves talk all evening (that table should not even exist), waiters kept bumping our chairs, silverware was constantly crashing in a bin and a door was slammed every 30 seconds. One last thing, the "Maître D" is so cold...brrrr... $220 later, unfortunately I can only say: been there, done that.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent food & service. The best meals on our visit to NYC

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

ABC Kitchen was a great find. The reservation process was easy and even received confirmation email and phone call.

The entire menu was fantastic. We went with seasonal specials which were delicious. If it says "on toast" order it! We had one with butternut squash and it was delicious in every way.

The fish dishes were very tasty.

Cappuccino to end meal was perfect.....

Tags: Organic, Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

excellent food and excellent service
we have never been disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Super Ambiente, sehr geschmackvoll, modern und stylish eingerichtet. Keine übergrossen Portionen wie in den USA oft serviert werden , die für Europäer oft zu viel sind.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I've been wanting to eat at ABC Kitchen for years and had really high expectations for the food & the service. The food was very good, but portion sizes were small and prices were high. Also, none of the plates we had really blew my socks off, like I was expecting. We had the Hamachi & crab toast appetizers and the Seabass and Mushroom Pasta entrees. The crab toast & mushroom pasta were definitely the best choices. We ordered a $50 bottle of wine from our waiter, but received a different bottle, not thinking anything of it. The bill came and the bottle we were served was $125...significantly more than what we ordered. The person paying did not want to make a big fuss, so he paid the tab without creating a big stink about it. However, we were not expecting to pay this much for dinner! Overall, it was a good experience, but the overpriced meal definitely left a bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Over-rated, over-priced and over-hyped...not that big of a deal. Skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Cocktails were great, food wasn't anything to rave about and too spicy. Service was really great. Wouldn't recommend for a date night but OK for friends.

Tags: Spicy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was my second dining experience here. It was as memorable as the first, with quality food, top notch service, and a lingering desire to return and try other menu items too numerous to attempt in just one outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing. Just amazing. One of the best restaurants I have ever been to, hands down. Get ready for a spectacular dining experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Despite being packed on a Saturday night, the noise level was surprisingly low - all four of us could easily talk without shouting. High ceilings + tons of exposed wood did the trick.

Great food with no drop off from appetizers to main courses. The donut for dessert were underwhelming - our table didn't even finish them. But zero other complaints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was good. Sodas were delicious. Had the basil lime soda and lemon thyme soda.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Have been to ABC Kitchen for dinner and brunch before but was sourly disappointed in the service on this occasion. Had a late reservation at 11PM on Friday and sat at the table waiting for a waitress for at least 15 minutes to bring over menus. There was clearly confusion who had our table because the person who said she was sorry about the delay and gave us menus was not our waitress. The rest of the dinner the service was very slow even though the restaurant wasn't even half full. When we ordered our last round of drinks the waitress had to make sure the bar was still open and then the drinks didn't come out for another 15 minutes. The service was so poor I would not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing service and outstanding quality food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great experience! Sat at the bar and it was a lovely vibe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Pretty ambiance with tasty food. You don't feel as guilty because it's supposed to be organic.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Organic, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent service. Delicious food. Ambience was nice Except for store shoppers who randomly walked through dining area. It was disruptive and ruined perfect dining experience. We were seated in the back dining area connected to the store with the lunch counter.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

One of my all time faves. ABC kitchen never disappoints!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Was happy to make it back to ABC Kitchen. I was meeting someone early so was able to get a reservation. Everything was great. The mushroom bolonase pasta was the best pasta I've had in a very long time. the service was outstanding and the lighting and energy were great. Because of the vibrant atmosphere I did struggle a bit hearing my colleagues...but it was worth it.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Everything was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food here is always so good. Nice prix fixe lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Wonderful dinner, great food, attention to details. The atmosphere is awesome and our service was perfect. Food is fresh with a great variety of choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.