About ABC Kitchen

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (121)
Fit for Foodies (118)
Creative Cuisine (109)
See All
Special Occasion (103)
Local Ingredients (84)
Great for Lunch (82)
Modern Decor (77)
Romantic (74)
Hot Spot (70)
Good for Birthdays (66)
Healthy (66)
Fun (63)
Organic (60)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Good for Groups (53)
Good Vegetarian Options (52)
Great for Brunch (50)
Seasonal (49)
Cozy (43)
Authentic (43)
Business Meals (42)
People Watching (40)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Casual (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Comfort Food (34)
Worth the Drive (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Open Kitchen (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Vegan (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Wood Oven (8)
Family Style (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Tapas (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (4)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
4649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the moment we walked in we felt spe ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

From the moment we walked in we felt special. We had a 9 year old, two 50 year olds and two 70 year olds and we all received special attention. They brought a beautiful hot chocolate for my son and anniversary cupcakes for my folks. The wine was excellent and each food course was a study in making the featured food taste great. The beets were ridiculous as was the ricotta ravioli. And the salted Carmel ice cream sundae may be one of the best things I have ever had. Summer was a patient and lovely server. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious appetizers (roast carrots and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious appetizers (roast carrots and tuna sashimi), but very underwhelming entrees (hake and sea bass). Service was so so. Slow and inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Wonderful service, delicious food, charm ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful service, delicious food, charming ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After having had many pleasant lunches a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

After having had many pleasant lunches at ABC Kitchen, we were disappointed in the service and ambiance this last visit. Although the dining room was only 75% filled, service was sketchy. After sitting at the table more than 10 minutes we finally flagged down one of the hosts in order to get menus and water. This continued throughout the meal as waiters, ours included, rushed past our table as well as the one next to us. The food was good, but having hoped for a relaxed and pleasant lunch, we ended up sorry we'd chosen the ABC Kitchen to meet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Ambiance was great. Food was fine. The m ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Ambiance was great. Food was fine. The menu wasn't super creative, so I wasn't too excited about the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Amongst the most consistently outstandin ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Amongst the most consistently outstanding food I've ever had. Well worth the cost if you can afford it.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Organic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had to wait 30 minutes for our table ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had to wait 30 minutes for our table despite having a reservation. When we finally went to the hostess stand to inquire about our table, only then were we actually seated. That would have been fine had we not proceeded to walk through the entire restaurant only to see that less than 50% of the tables were actually filled. I do not understand why we had to wait that long and no apology was offered. Then we were sat in the back of the restaurant, away from the beauty and decor that initially brought us there. The food and service were good, but the entire experience has left me with a very sour taste for the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Loved the vibe, excellent service from a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Loved the vibe, excellent service from a very attractive, mostly male staff. Really interesting food options, some entrees on the expensive side for the size of the portion, but delicious and innovative. Large selection of wines, beautiful desserts. Worthwhile for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was really good specially the pasta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was really good specially the pastas. Me and my partner were celebrating our anniversary, I didn't expect any special because I didn't say anything when I made the reservation. We still got a super nice corner table and our server Dana was very quick to notice when my partner handed me a card. When dessert came, an extra tiny set of delicious chocolate tiny cupcakes came with a candle and "happy anniversary" on the plate. Can't tell you how happy it makes me when service is top notch like this. Bravo! You all are killing it! PS: Kudos to the pastry team for that magnificent blood orange sorbet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner with my mom! Order three app ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Had dinner with my mom! Order three apps and a pizza. Server was very good! Only issue was noise level! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess was unhelpful with an attitude. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Hostess was unhelpful with an attitude. Food took a long time to arrive and was not correct. Too much use of mustard to mask the natural flavor of the dish. Overall, a disappointing experience for a Jean George restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

After a friendly greeting by the hostess ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

After a friendly greeting by the hostess and a slight delay because we were early, we were seated. Ten minutes sitting a "surely" waiter who we get the feeling did not want to service us. Drink delays of up to 10 minutes. Plates given to us were chipped.

Our waiter came about have way through the service and said he was "handing off" us to another waitress. At least she was friendly but hRd to locate.

Food: was expecting much more from this popular restaurant! Did enjoy the pasta, and two salads. Chicken and charcuterie were average at best. Disappointing.

Sorry, just was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food. Service was a little slow

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food. Service was a little slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Restaurant week - lunch menu consisted o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Restaurant week - lunch menu consisted of very simple vegetable sandwich. Basically non-inspiring menu for restaurant week. Very expensive and not worth the value. Also the host was unpleasant; kept hovering making us feel uncomfortable. Will not return to the ABC restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

One of the most overrated food experienc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

One of the most overrated food experiences I ever had. For my lunch I paid $30, before tax and tip, for a small Yankee Bean Soup, a pedestrian Portabella sandwich and a slice of dry almond cake with a dollop of melting apple sorbet and no drinks except for tepid tap water. A waste of time and money. I eat better in a neighborhood diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Has not been here in years - food was gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Has not been here in years - food was great, beautiful decor and great service. Definitely will be going back more often.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Food was amazing. Great staf ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Fantastic. Food was amazing. Great staff and perfect for lunch. We went during restaurant week so incredible value for money

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and atmosphere at ABC Kitchen w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food and atmosphere at ABC Kitchen was fantastic. Service was great as well. It's a bit on the pricey side, but for the quality it is well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely and perfect in every way.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Lovely and perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very tasteful. My son had t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The food was very tasteful. My son had the calamari appetizer and it was delicious. The fettuccine with mushroom bolognese was also excellent. The entree sizes were on the small size but prepared exceptionally well.

The decor and service were both outstanding. It was a very comfortable dinner out to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The decoration is amazing. I love the de ...

 
 (México)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The decoration is amazing. I love the design of abc and the concept of thecrestaurant. We went there for lunch and it wasvrestaurant week. Service was really slow, from bringing us the menus, water, food, etc.... it was a late lunch so it was not crazy busy... although paying 29 for a 3 course meal at this restaurant seems like a good deal.. the quality and flavors of the food were underwhelming. None of our dishes was worth what we paid, you can really eat much better in many places in NYC paying 30 dls for a lunch.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent service. Fresh produce. Nice w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent service. Fresh produce. Nice wine and drink choices. Healthy and enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Organic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salted caramel ice cream dessert is to d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Salted caramel ice cream dessert is to die for. I have it every time. Everything is was great too.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I go to ABC kitchen every time I'm in Ne ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I go to ABC kitchen every time I'm in New York, generally twice a year. I have never had anything but a stellar experience in both food and service. Tonight, Robbie was excellent, and even remembered my last visit. His service was gracious, attentive and spot on! The beets and yogurt, the fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and salted caramel ice cream… Divine. Tonight I brought five friends in with me, and they loved it as much as I did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Impressed with food quality. ...

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food. Impressed with food quality. Pricey. Service was slow. Noisy in the main room.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Love everything about this restaurant!! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love everything about this restaurant!! Always on my radar screen for Sunday Brunch!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and fun atmosphere! If I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful food and fun atmosphere! If I had to critique anything the waiters were a little weird- didn't come to check on us much, but I would much rather have that than be rushed out of the restaurant.

Overall, the food was interesting and really tasty, and the ambiance was incredible.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very prompt service from our fantastic w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very prompt service from our fantastic waitress. Delicious brunch menu, the Hamburger is hands down the best, as well as the brussel sprout pizza is fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great discovery on a quick weekend vis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A great discovery on a quick weekend visit, perfect for brunch. Servings are small and pricey, but certainly satisfying and within reason for NYC.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fried chicken, crab toast and sundae for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fried chicken, crab toast and sundae for dessert were amazing!I would have given this place 5 stars if the wine had not been served very warm. We had to sit with no drinks while it got chilled.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic service and food!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fantastic service and food!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really fun, energized spot. Food was exc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Really fun, energized spot. Food was excellent but small portions. Great service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place but had a mix up with New Yo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great place but had a mix up with New York Restaurant week. We booked dinner, then when we got there they said they only did lunches. This should have been made clear upfront, or they should have checked booking and contacted us. Otherwise it's a great restaurant and food was top notch!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Waitress very aloof and not very accommo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Waitress very aloof and not very accommodating. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Went here during restaurant week. Busy d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Went here during restaurant week. Busy during lunch hours but the service was great. However, the food wasn't what I had expect and didn't suit my taste.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for restaurant week since last year ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Went for restaurant week since last year was wonderful. This year the dishes were unappetizing and unimaginative except for dessert. Noise level was impossible.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was quite lacking tonight. D ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The service was quite lacking tonight. Did not receive much attention and waited quite long. The food however is really delicious- a little small on the portion side. I have found however that both kitchen and cocina are better on the weekends. They should definitely work on this as its quite packed every night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Such an amazing place! Have been wanted ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Such an amazing place! Have been wanted to go for years and finally able to on this last visit. The waitstaff was incredibly informative and professional and the food was purely spectacular. A MUST. Period. The best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reliable, ABC Kitchen delivers wi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always reliable, ABC Kitchen delivers with ambience, great service and of course, creative and delicious food!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I went here last week for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My friend and I went here last week for Restaurant Week lunch. We were thankful to be able to snag a lunch time reservation. When I checked 2 weeks out it, was pretty full, and there were not many slots. We arrived on time and were seated right away. We were amazed at the size of the dining area (ABC looks a lot smaller and unassuming on the outside) but inside it was very big. The decor was kind of shabby chic/naturalist decor and we could see the back of the ABC Home store/ ABC Cocina next door. The place was half full when we arrived but filled up rather quickly. Wait staff was friendly and attentive enough at the beginning. We were able to order and got our appetizers pretty quickly. I had a vegetable soup and my friend had a salad. We were given bread and oil also. There was a bit of a pause between appetizer and entree (no big deal)And then a much longer lag between entree and dessert which was a little frustrating. Staff came by to make sure we had water, but we couldn't seem to flag the waitress down (never a good sign) We were here for a weekday lunch and had to go back to our offices so was hoping to be in and out in an hour- hour and 15 . We probably spent a little over an hour and a half for 3 courses which seems like a long time for a weekday lunch. Entrees were fresh and portion size was good for fine dining. I had the portabello sandwich. She had the mixed grain salad with shrimp. Desserts were also tasty. We had to rush the last course a bit and pay to check to make it back to work. I would like to come another time when I'm less rushed.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.