About ABC Kitchen

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (134)
Good for a Date (132)
Creative Cuisine (129)
See All
Special Occasion (122)
Local Ingredients (109)
Great for Lunch (89)
Organic (88)
Fun (81)
Hot Spot (79)
Romantic (77)
Neighborhood Gem (77)
Good for Groups (74)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Good Vegetarian Options (70)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Casual (68)
Seasonal (65)
Authentic (60)
Great for Brunch (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (47)
People Watching (46)
Sunday Lunch (38)
Cozy (35)
Business Meals (33)
Comfort Food (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Bar Seating (30)
Worth the Drive (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Gluten Free Options (21)
Tasting Menu (18)
Happy Hour (15)
Quick Bite (13)
Scenic View (13)
Vegan (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Afternoon Tea (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Tapas (8)
Spicy (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
5198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food and amazing service! Everyone was very nice and everything we ordered was so tasty. Highly recommend the mushroom pizza for brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful restaurant but service was very slow and one of our meals was heavily salted. Likely would not recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Happy I finally got to make it here! Will definitely make it back in my next visit!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Staff were good at there jobs, but not personable, except for the bartender. He was great. Room was very loud. Nicely decorated, yet lacking ambience. Good food. Server was careful about food allergies. I had the park confit- great! My friend had the cheese burger (yes! Cheeseburger). Although good, and made with specialty beef and cheese, it did not warrant the high price. I think a good restaurant with friends and family. Not a date or special occasion experience.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Despite the mediocre service and expensive food, the experience was lovely. Gorgeous interior. Good food. Desserts were dynamite.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

ABC has the tastiest food. No question. Every dish is great BUT the busy bustling atmosphere creates a very HIGH NOISE level. Impossible to talk without shouting during peak hours. I do go regularly because the food is THAT good and worth it, but it's exhausting. The service can be too intrusive, asking 4 times whether we were finished with our bread when we had said that we'd like to keep it. Small stuff. The presentation is unique and beautiful and again, the food ESPECIALLY THE PIZZA OUTSTANDING

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

This place is always busy but servers were friendly and food was delicious! Little bit pricey but I'll Come back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Nice place with nice food, but prices are high considering the menu.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Love love love!!! Came back the next night sat at the bar yummmmmy

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food was delicious. Every time I go I am astounded at the noise. It is not a place for quiet conversation. The reason to go though is the food. The kale salad was simple and so flavorful.
Went right when they opened for dinner hoping for a quieter time but not to be had.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Absolutely fabulous!!!
Best pasta dish I've eaten in forever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food options looked great on the menu, but they were just "okay." Got the eggs Benedict and my husband had the lemon curd pancakes. In comparison to the many options in the area, I wasn't too impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was very poor. Our waitress, although friendly, was not attentive to our group. It took almost 35 minutes to even get everyone's drinks on the table. We definitely felt forgotten. It seemed relatively busy and our party of 8 celebrating my mothers 60th birthday was not taken care of. The food we had was very tasty although there were many items on the menu they were completely out of. We also overheard the table next to us complain of poor service as well. They were also celebrating a special occasion. The manager was very nice. After hearing about our poor experience she offered some champagne (however it was warm).

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My favorite place in New York city, been there many many times. I am one of the addicts to their famous Sundae (probably about 3,000 cals that you can easily share with someone else, and totally worth it!). The atmosphere is magical, beware it's very loud though, incredibly bustling and busy. Service is good but dishes take a long time to show up. Every dish is amazing and stands up to the greatest restaurants in New York. If you only have one night to spend in nyc, go there.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Epic, cozy comfy place. Would was simple but amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing food! Fantastic decor and tucked away from bustling union square. We had lovely low key and attentive staff. A great day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

ABC Kitchen never disappoints! Food and service are always excellent and the vibe is also great!

Tags: Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I've never once written a negative review on OT (or anywhere else for that matter) -- right or wrong, I like to give restaurants the benefit of the doubt on off nights or maybe when the service isn't the best, as things happen and it's no sweat. Nonetheless, I feel compelled to write a review about the absolute awful experience I had at ABC Kitchen last night. In short, I was 23 minutes late for a reservation (terrible traffic), and tried to call the restaurant to apologize and let them know that I would be coming, but no one answered. When I arrived, I was told they gave my table away. I told them that my mother was visiting (she was there with me), I had tried to call (twice), and it would have been nice if someone extended the courtesy of giving me a call before giving my table away. They then made us wait for 35 minutes before eventually seating us. Ok, again, things happen -- and I was moving on. But then, the female manager came over and told me that she thought her host did a "great job" and that I was "lucky" to have gotten a table. Lucky? That, right there, ended it for me. At best, this person has zero judgment; at worst, she's an awful person (both possible). I am done with this place -- and many others will be too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The crab toast was too greasy. The ravioli was excellent, as well as the roasted carrots and salted caramel sundae.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We sat at the bar because our table wasn't ready. I ordered a half pint and was charged for a full - didn't feel like making a fuss about it.
We were originally taken to a small and awkward sized cocktail table with arm chairs for dining. All other tables were proper dining tables. We sat down and then realized this wasn't a reasonable table at all - it was no where close to big enough for appetizers and so we asked to be moved to a regular table like the other 99% of the restaurant. Our server had zero personality - and in fact, seemed to be rude. The guy helping to clear our plates was the nicest and friendliest of the all. We had the pretzel crusted calamari which was awesome. For the mains, I had the sea bass - which was ok - but was drowning in too much broth. My sister had the fried chicken which was unique. She ordered a side of mashed potatoes which were delicious - they should be served with the chicken. For dessert we had the peach pie but they put corn flavoured ice cream on top which was disgusting. I won't return here - it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was horrible!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Delicious! Great ambiance and a really pleasant experience. The avocado salad was unreal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was delicious. They made us wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Unique and nicely done up place between Flatiron and Union Square offering great food with only locally sourced organic ingredients. Service very attentive and friendly. Make reservations otherwise you might have to wait more than an hour for a table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Lunch, Organic, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Attentive service at this bustling restaurant but the food was lackluster and doesn't warrant a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Amazing! Beautiful décor, insane drinks and great service. Will be back for sure!! thank you

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Had a great lunch and have the ginger and lime soda fruit is always very good but it's always very very loud for lunch because of all the shoppers and their families that come in and have a wonderful time. I'm not complaining I think it's wonderful that all these people Bring their kids it just changes the restaurant to a family place during the day and business lunches nighttime is more romantic

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

To whom it may concern,

I wanted to write you an e-mail to express my frustration towards last night. I picked your restaurant, as it was a venue I particularly enjoyed, to take my guests who are visiting me out of town and was very disappointed by how my evening turned out. Firstly, our waiter was incredibly rude and disrespectful: our appetizers arrived and hour late and when the manager came out to apologize in person, he said that we would not be charged for the appetizers, which our waiter had a very disrespectful attitude against the manager’s decision. On top of that, our entrees never arrived and when we asked where they were, our waiter said that he never “took note” of them and wasn’t apologetic at all. It was by far one of the worst meals I’ve had and I am frustrated as I feel humiliated towards my guests. For all the reasons I’ve stated above, I am confident that not only I would never dine at your location ever again but wouldn’t recommend it to anyone either.

All the best,

Larina Tasci

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

THe food was fantastic, but the noise level took some of the pleasure away.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excelente muy bien todo súper recomendable
Seguro volvería a ir

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Vegan, Organic, Tapas, Authentic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Disappointing on multiple levels. The restaurant was very noisy and if ur looking for quite ambience, this isn't it. Service was sloooooowwwww! It took about an hour for
Us to get our food and then they forgot about one of the orders (it came 10 minutes later). We had the special doughnuts. The cherry one was good, the chocolate not so much (Dunkin donuts is better). Portions were small and price was high. All in all, very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food, perfunctory service and an odd crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

ABC Kitchen was amazing!! I have nothing but excellent things to say about every aspect of the experience. Everything we ordered was delicious and the service was top notch.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Amazing! Managers were wonderful. Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

one of the best places in NYC. I take all my guests there! Food is to die for, great environment, it's a must do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had a lovely meal at ABC Kitchen. The food was amazing, we had the fried chicken and the Black Sea bass. Puddings that followed were very nice.... creme brûlée and chocolate cake.
Unfortunately we were running late for our reservation, arrived half an hour late and apologised for the delay. We were seated relatively quick which was kind.
Open table had sent an email in this time that we hadn't attended the booking!! Which was disappointing to receive in such a short space of time.
Thankyou ABC Kitchen for a lovely meal while we was visiting NYC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good food and good atmosphere, but it was a bit pricey! We were 3 people and did not order any wine but still cost about $200..

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Their pizza and peach pie was phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I think the pictures don't do the dining room justice-- the place is drop-dead gorgeous. Also, the service is impeccable, and the food is amazing. Definitely recommend the avocado salad and salted caramel sundae.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.