About ABC Kitchen

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us on Thanksgiving from 12:00pm to 9:30pm. Reservations are currently open for Thanksgiving 2017.

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (123)
Special Occasion (108)
Good for a Date (107)
See All
Creative Cuisine (101)
Local Ingredients (95)
Great for Lunch (83)
Organic (83)
Fun (81)
Good Vegetarian Options (79)
Hot Spot (78)
Healthy (78)
Romantic (70)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Good for Groups (64)
Casual (60)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Authentic (56)
Seasonal (56)
People Watching (47)
Great for Brunch (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Cozy (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Bar Seating (28)
Business Meals (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Vegan (18)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Quick Bite (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Tapas (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Scenic View (5)
Spicy (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort by
S
5342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Our appetizers and mains were insane. We’re foodies and it was incredible. Desert was a little lacklustre but all in all was the best dining experience I have had in ages. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food and so sweet guys.
I love this food and place.
I want to go again!
Sooooooo nice! Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great pretzel crusted calamari and squash goat cheese salad. Angel hair pasta with cheese sauce was so bland, I could not even force myself to eat it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Have eaten here at least twenty times and this visit did not meet their expectations

Difficulty with our reservation and had to change business dinner to 9:30 pm.

One of our guest ordered fried chicken and it arrived at the table not quite cooked thoroughly. Was sent back and came back to the table with so much hot sauce that our guest was ill all evening.

So disappointed that a manager never acknowledged this unfortunate incident. I will reconsider my high recommendation of this restaurant in the future for dinner. Will stick to business lunches instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

we loved our experience at ABC Kitchen. We ordered the tuna, ravioli, angel hair pasta, potatoes, squash, caramel ice cream, almond cake, And loved every thing, service was also really great!!!! This was a fantastic place to eat, and enjoy the evening. Amazing all around!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I was recommended this restaurant by a few ppl and it was well worth it. The food was amazing. The service was ok and I don’t know if it was because it was busy but that could use some improvement.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious. Our waitress seemed to have an attitude right off the bat. They also seemed to keep trying to turn over the table. It was also really, really loud. Mainly the food was exceptional and the presentation was lovely. The service and ambiance left much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the crab toast and the mushroom pizza! Definitely delicious but the price is a little bit high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my 3rd time here and I was disappointed. The food was very slow to come out, and I was shocked that after waiting 30+ (!!) minutes for wine, they poured it without allowing us to taste it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Thought with a cost of $60 before tip for scrambled eggs and pancakes that they wouldn't charge $3.00 extra for jam.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

ABC Kitchen never disappoints - great food and ambiance!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2017

What a fantastic meal. The ambiance is so special and specific. Think industrial, urban, beach house chic. It sounds like a mess but it’s actually stunning. The food was perfection too. All the fish dishes were perfectly sized and prepared ...if one was to be picky perhaps a bit salty and pricey and that’s true but honestly worth the splurge. Would return again, absolutely.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Amazing food, not so amazing service
Had a reservation at 1:30 we got there earlier. We were told we would be seated around 1:30 which was fine by us. However we started seeing people get seated before us when they got to the restaurant after us. We had to talk to the hostess twice before getting seated. We finally sat at 1:45 after going back to the hostess. Strange enough, there were a lot of empty tables - why make people wait when there are empty tables??

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Always a fun vibe and great food! It's no wonder the place has thrived for a long time

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Great first date spot. Ambience was great and the food and drinks were amazing. It was a little noisy but not overly so where we had to scream at each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Underwhelming. Drinks were good although they took a long time to arrive like 25+minutes per drink. Calamari was good. Food portions were small and the pasta was bland. Service was ok, our server was pleasant and when our server wasn’t around there were other people that checked on us. Dessert was really good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Had heard a lot of positive things about the restaurant. Carrot & avocado salad and crab toast were, by far, the best. Sea bass was bland and apple dessert was doughy and skimpy on the apples.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2017

We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Visiting friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2017

AMAZING! Seasonal dishes could not be beat. Recommended to everyone

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2017

This is my 4th time having lunch at abc kitchen. Since I’ve been there, I’ve taken several friends, and they are all impressed with it. I always get the price fixe, but this time I wanted change out my entree. So substitutions are allowed so we worked it out among the group. Those who ordered a
The pasta dish was somewhat disappointing and the $17 salad was just ok. The desserts are great-cookies plate and iced caramel sundae with caramel popcorn!
The service was impeccable and the ambience very special.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Everything we ordered was absolutely amazing. It was so good that I’m going back the very next night. May even have the same exact meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Great menu and farm-to-table offerings, but expect the restaurant to be overcrowded, over-booked, and the service will be inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2017

As always delicious! Food is clean with spicy tones that give that special touch to the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Absolutely perfect from start to finish. Each dish was a delight. When I suggested the bottle of wine our waiter recommended seemed off, they immediately returned with a new bottle and reassured me I was correct in my assessment and thanked me for letting them know. We've had many JGV meals at his other restaurants. This one was particularly magical. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Fast and friendly service. The place was a bit noisy but it was lunch time. My only complaint would be the spacing between tables. Not only did they ask my friend to push in their chair but we were close enough to two other tables that our conversations blended. The food was tasty if a bit over priced but for once and a while the place isn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Excellent flavours in all the dishes. Will come back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

ABC Kitchen is a wonderful restaurant with an inventive menu. Everyone can find a delicious treat and many dishes should be shared. It is a great place for a large group to have a wonderful dinner/discourse. Staff is friendly and there is an engaging atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food was outstanding. Service felt a bit pushy. The place is really good looking and atmosphere is great. A little loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Healthy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Delicious dinner at ABC Kitchen. The butternut squash soup, sea bass, and side of roasted acorn squash were all outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2017

I have dined here many times and always enjoyed the experience. Unfortunately, we were served by an obnoxious waiter during our last visit which negatively affected my guests. Time to look for another chef Vongerichten restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

The restaurant is amazing! The food and staff are wonderful, and very thoughtful and helpful. Everything that we tried tasted amazing and was presented beautifully!

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Organic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2017

The best. As always. Never disappointed. Accommodating of our 2yo and just wonderful food and drink. Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Food was excellent and waiter very attentive - vibrant spot, highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

I'm vegetarian and I love the options you have. Also, everything is organic and eco-friendly which is a great +

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Didn't expect such a large space with 100+ tables, but otherwise great ambience. Noise level was higher than usual but not prohibitive for engaged conversation (if you ignore the couple next to us taking pictures with their fried chicken)... Service was far below-average: I ordered an app and asked for a few minutes to look over entrees and the server said "we prefer to take the whole order at once", then left us sitting for 20 minutes. I also would've enjoyed hearing about some menu favorites rather than being asked, "decide what you want?" In light of the size of the restaurant, I guess that's understandable but still felt more industrialized than personal. Food was enjoyable enough, well-prepared and presented, but some of the other details left me desiring more. I doubt I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Perhaps I was expecting to much but it was extremely hard to get a reservation and I expected so much more. I have dined in ABC Cucina several times. I was also a long time customer of Vong. I have also dined at Jean-George and Nougatine at The Trump Hotel many times. I thought the salads, appetizers and starters were nothing special which is mailt what disappointed me. The main courses, a fish dish and a crispy pork were special. The wine list was decent. We made some special requests and the server was very accommodating Overall, I found the food and the experience not worth the price. I probably should not here because I'm not the right customer.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

A great place!
Will come back..
The food was very very good.
Service was great

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

The crispy pork confit which was recommended to me was extremely dry. Took one bite and didn't eat the rest. The skin was crispy and flavorful but the meat itself had zero moisture. Extremely overcooked. Disappointed with my first and likely last experience with ABC Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.