About ABC Kitchen

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (146)
Creative Cuisine (138)
Good for a Date (130)
See All
Special Occasion (121)
Local Ingredients (113)
Great for Lunch (103)
Organic (101)
Fun (86)
Good for Groups (85)
Hot Spot (82)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
Good for Birthdays (80)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Romantic (74)
Good Vegetarian Options (72)
Casual (69)
Seasonal (66)
Authentic (54)
Sunday Lunch (53)
Great for Brunch (52)
Business Meals (49)
Handcrafted Cocktails (48)
People Watching (48)
Modern Decor (47)
Cozy (42)
Bar Seating (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Notable Wine List (31)
Comfort Food (29)
Worth the Drive (26)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Tasting Menu (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Vegan (15)
Quick Bite (12)
Scenic View (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Family Style (10)
Tapas (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Spicy (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
5011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I celebrate my boyfriend's birthday there. Everything is just so perfect. Love the crab toast and cute small birthday cupcake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I just thought very expensive for the quality, variety and quantity of food. Food was ok but nothing superb. I understand brunch in NY is expensive but I have had better for sane/ less price. I have been in ABC cucina and thought quality of food was better. Dont think will be coming in again. Ambience is nice though, pretty place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

They seem like they've stopped being serious about their food: roasted carrot and avocado salad was good but everything else was pretty mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Always sublime, divine, satisfied, exhilarating. I love this place. Even though it's loud the food is so good and the staff is so friendly The energy is so positive,it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I really liked the food and the atmosphere although it was a little loud. Our service was very very slow. Additionally after I got my food finally which was very good, I found a hair on my plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Rez was for 9 and got seated at 9:20 . Hostess had a bit of an attitude but the service after was very good . ( little slow w the drinks )
I would go back despite , loved he atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

I was looking forward to trying this place out as I had heard great reviews. Sadly there service was terrible: we had a reservation and arrived on time but had to wait 15 min to be seated, our waiter was always MIA so we waited another 15min before ordering, then our waiter was again MIA when we wanted to order dessert (after waiting another 15min) and ended up getting another waiter to give us our bill. The food was great but service terrible, a real disappointment.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Extremely overrated, I was actually pretty disappointed. Food is expensive and nothing special to justify a $20 sandwich. Certainly does not live up to the hype.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

ABC Kitchen is one of my favorite restaurants in Manhattan (or indeed, anywhere). It's great for special occasions like birthdays because it feels special and yet the food is always dependably delicious! It's a little loud but if you are prepared for that it's doable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our table was not ready when we got there for our reservation at 2:30 yet there were many empty tables. This was a little confusing but was fine - we had a nice drink at the bar. After we were seated, our server seemed annoyed when we ordered appetizers but did not know what we wanted for the main course. He was also extremely hard to hear because he spoke very quietly. Generally the food was good but the kale salad was a huge let down (nothing but a large plate of kale). Midway through the meal, our server introduced us to another server because he was leaving. This was also fine but a little odd. Overall, a beautiful restaurant, good food, but not spectacular as I expected it to be. Would not recommend as there are other spectacular restaurants nearby and all over NY.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Do share and try as many of the menu items as you can. The tuna sashimi appetizer and crab toast are superb. The roasted carrot and avocado salad is nicely spiced and finished with a light touch of sour cream. At lunch, the roasted hake was large enough for two to share with all the starters made a filling meal. Add roasted summer squash.
Don't miss the salted caramel ice cream sundae, a great share dessert.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We were told by many people that ABC kitchen is a must dinning experience.
I am not sure if we didn't order well but we found our dishes rather bland and un impressive.
We ordred the Avocado and roast carrot dish, that was delicious, otherwise nothing too special.
We will return and order differently!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Vegan, Good for Groups, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My second visit to ABC Kitchen, loved it both times!! one of my favorite spots in NYC. Amazing food, on-of-a-kind ABC-style decor. Must stop when in NY!! ps Our server was also fantastic, helpful yet not over the top

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Tapas, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food was as good as always but the service was horrendous. Our waitress went missing and we couldn't find her. Had to ask someone to get her and still didn't see her for 15+ minutes. Don't mind paying for good food but expect the service to match and this was far from it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing experience. It was my wife's birthday and our server Max M went beyond to make our experience outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our waiter was anything but attentive. He was also very degrading to my teenagers when they asked questions about the menu. He never asked how our meal was or attempted to refill our drinks and wine. I had to flag him down or ask the bus boy for drinks, desserts, more water. The food was served in a sloppy manner and my fish(which was served in a soupy broth with a spoon) had multiple bones in it. When I asked the waiter if it would be easy to get a cab from the restaurant because my uber app was not working, he actually told me to look for cabs whose numbers were lit up because the dark ones meant they were occupied. Unfortunately I had already left him a generous tip, otherwise I would have left him nothing after being so stupid as to assume that we deserved being spoken to like we were from another planet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

For brunch the lights on some seats is too low. It maybe OK for dinner. Food and service is always superb

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was very spotty - the dinner rush was in full swing but our server was hard to find when we needed the dessert menu and the check. The carrot salad and the pea salad were the standouts. The maitake mushroom side was the most surprising and delicious thing we had the entire meal. The squash pizza was also good. I didn't care much for the goat cheese and spinach pizza and the sautéed hemp. They were disappointing compared to the many other items I have tried on the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Healthy, Authentic, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

ABC Kitchen delivered and exceeded everything I've been told menu from JG, will def be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We went back 3 times in the week we were in NYC !! Delicious every time

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Mmm falta servicio para el nivel de detalles

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I have been eating here for years. Wanted to introduce it to friends I hadn't seen in quite some time. The second waiter was so patronising and rude mocking what I was saying and getting frustrated when we tried to sort out the bill. It was embarrassing and frankly disappointing. I was suppose to take a second set of friends there a few days later and cancelled the reservation. My love for abc kitchen has been tainted. And the calamari was way over cooked, so overall, it was a disappointing night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We loved our anniversary dinner here. The food was creative and very tasty and the service was great. They were very good about having gluten-free options as well. My salmon entree was amazing, as was the horseradish fluke appetizer. The chocolate mint sorbet was really intriguing, it almost tasted like ice cream despite having no dairy at all -- would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I have tuna sashimi, kale salad & ginger margarita here once or twice a week whenever I am in town.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Fantastic!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food is absolutely amazing. Crab toast and lobster my favorites. Service is terrible. Management could care less that the service is horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Delicious! Shared the chicken sausage as an appetizer and wanted more. The Hake was wonderful. I wondered why I was brought a soup spoon before being served my fish entree but was happy to have it to scoop up the amazing tomato based sauce. Our waitress made great recommendations and the service was excellent, very attentive

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Dinner here is always great! The food was delicious and the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was our 4th time dining at ABC Kitchen and it will certainly be the last.

Upon arrival, the hostess said nothing - just stared us down. We were seated against a concrete pillar and offered no menus whatsoever. After 15 minutes we were finally given menus and told our waitress "Kate" would be with us shortly. She wasn't. A manager noticed our displeasure and offered to take a drink order for us. By the time they arrived, we had a new server who never introduced himself and was in quite a hurry. He asked if we had any questions about the menu and hurriedly took our order as if we were a real annoyance to his pleasant work evening.

The real shame was that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the service could not have been worse. As long time fans of JGV, we will be sure to go to Perry St for our next special occasion because ABC Kitchen was a massive waste of time and money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The only word that comes to mind is "YUM"!!!
The restaurant decor is beautiful!
The service was excellent! The waitress went out of her way to find a beer I would like!
The food was delicious!!!
LOVE * LOVE* LOVE this restaurant.
My daughter and I were seeing Hamilton that evening.
We were so excited and our early dinner at ABC was an added treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

ABC Kitchen is my favorite restaurant in NYC these days. The food is so fresh and creatively prepared. The tuna appetizer melts in your mouth. Had a lunch with old friends and our daughters. Truly memorable meal. The wine list is solid. Love the ability to share small plates and main courses. The staff was fabulous as always. Tough ticket but so worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on July 5, 2017

It is a great place !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Comida razonable. Um poco apimentada de mas. Cantidades un poco pequeñas.
El "raviol" bueno. Angel hair dificil de comer por la cantidad de condimento. El cerdo muy sabroso.
El postre "sundae" lo mejor. Levemente salado, daba para percibir todos los sabores. Increible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We changed our table because our initial table was next to a loud gentleman. The hostess was very accommodating about this. Our bus boy was very helpful but our waitress was not. We did want to change some things in our order & she had an attitude about it, didn't want to ask the kitchen & even told us we were at the wrong restaurant for us. We have eaten here before & had no issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food was excellent, ambiance was great. Only complaint was that the service was almost too quick. Went for a special birthday lunch and were in and out within an hour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Always the best time and food. Everything I've tried has been wonderful

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 2, 2017

From start to finish, our meal here was fantastic. Craft cocktails were outstanding. Ambiance was a 10. And everything we ordered for dinner was good - fresh and flavorful. Service was excellent as well. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Ambiance was nice, cozy, low lighting, wood beam ceilings, drop lights/chandeliers. Service was layers thick with multiple staff helping with food/ drink deliveries. Food though was only ok. Presentations were lovely, but flavors were lacking. The Meat/cheese appetizer had meat that was chewy, fatty; 2 of the 3 cheeses were good. Dinners (ravioli and Angel hair pasta) were ok, but not great. Dessert (sundae) was good, $6 cup of tea (!), $4 coffee. $150 dinner for 2 with tip. Pricey for ok food. Probably would try elsewhere for the $$.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great quality food and service. Yummy brunch cocktails as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food is incredibly overpriced. It is not very tasty. There is not much of it. And the waitress was rude, arrogant, and stuffy. I do not need that when I am paying you to serve me. This place has a reputation. It is no different than the store. It is ny trend. And not deserved. Overpriced and trendy. No value and no gem. Not worth the time or money. I think the public is catching on because despite the fact that it was hard to get a reservation, there were many empty tables. Smoke and mirrors of artificial demand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.