About ABC Kitchen

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies)

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (316)
special occasion (223)
great for lunch (196)
See All
hot spot (194)
good for groups (158)
neighborhood gem (152)
great for brunch (133)
romantic (130)
notable wine list (51)
vibrant bar scene (41)
late-night find (32)
kid-friendly (29)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had such an amazing experience at ABC ki ...

Dined 3 days ago

Had such an amazing experience at ABC kitchen. Our waiter was extremely knowledgable about the menu and gave great recommendations. The environment was romantic and perfect for a NYC date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious rhubarb negroni and food. The ...

Dined 3 days ago

Delicious rhubarb negroni and food. The hot sauce butter fried chicken was the highlight of the meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Very disappointed!! The store is so cool ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Very disappointed!! The store is so cool looking and so is the eatery, but it is downhill from there. Ho hum food with a waiter that was so sasdy we wanted to walk out on him! Noise level was so bad we could not converse with each other. Save your money this place is not worth it!

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Considering the buzz around this place, ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Considering the buzz around this place, we were not so much disappointed but not entirely thrilled with it. I think we perhaps came at the wrong time. We dined here for brunch and although the food was very good, it wasn't a WOW experience that we've had with Jean-Georges previously. We did have the crab toast, which was very special, but the breakfast items are breakfast items and there wasn't any element of uniqueness that was brought to them to take them to the next level. I'm sure if we had eaten lunch or dinner, we'd tell a different story. Overall, the restaurant itself is beautifully done, we had exceptional service and we'd come back to try the other menu items another time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been wanting to try this restaurant for ...

Dined 4 days ago

Been wanting to try this restaurant for months and it did not let down! Fantastic food. Great service. Hip ambiance. Fresh ingredients. I'd recommend this to anyone seeking a special meal; but don't forget to book in advance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious always. We had a fl ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely delicious always. We had a flight of Rose that was wonderful and it was fun to compare them. I always enjoy my meal at ABC Kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I didn't love it. Everybody said you hav ...

Dined 6 days ago

I didn't love it. Everybody said you have to go to ABC kitchen . The food was fair and very overpriced. The service was fair .. It was really nothing great and definitely not a place you have to go do.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was exceptional! I would high ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Everything was exceptional! I would highly recommend the crab toast and sashimi appetizers.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyed the Little Owl. My wife had a l ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Enjoyed the Little Owl. My wife had a lovely halibut that was excellent. I had steak and ordered it medium rare. It came out medium well. I am not one to send a meal back, especially when it would have delayed my wife's meal. I would simply say that the Little Owl is not a place to order steak but excellent for other items. FYI, server was more than happy to get me a new steak but I refused, very professional staff.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my NYC favorites

Dined on June 21, 2016

One of my NYC favorites

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just superb Not easy to spot from the s ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Just superb Not easy to spot from the street but when you enter your experience starts.the staff are very attentive and you are m de to feel welcome.the food was the best lunch we had on 3 week tour in canada and usa. I thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for grest food in new york

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think over the last 5 years, I've take ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

I think over the last 5 years, I've taken most of my close friends and family to ABC Kitchen at some point because it's probably my favorite restaurant in the city, especially given the relatively modest prices in comparison to other restaurants that prepare and serve food at this caliber. I also love the decorative scheme, the fact that no ones plates or silverware look the same, and just the general feel of the whole place. This was a special occasion though as I was celebrating my 6 month anniversary with my girlfriend, and it's been a running joke that I drag her to all sorts of new restaurants I'm excited about, but I've never taken her to my favorite restaurant. I made my reservation, went by and explained in person that it was a special occasion and asked for my favorite table in the restaurant (you'll have to find it yourself, I don't want to have to fight other people for it :)). When we showed up the night of, they had made sure to save us the table I wanted and the food was excellent as always. The server was great as well and my girlfriend was really impressed with the quality of the experience as well. She said she hopes she doesn't have to wait another 6 months to eat here again. And then, despite having not mentioned it once during the course of our meal, or me having said anything since we got there, when they brought out the desserts we ordered, they also brought out two tiny little cupcakes with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on the plate, and it was a really nice surprise for both of us, though given that we had gone through 4 appetizers, a pizza, an entree, and ordered 2 desserts (she wanted to make sure she got the most of the experience, who knows when we'd be back :)), we probably didn't need two more cupcakes. I think I've reviewed ABC here before, so if you're looking for more substantial reviews of the food and service, you should be able to find it, but trust me on this one, you will have a great experience here every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is amazing and the service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food here is amazing and the service is great.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was technically well-made but would ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was technically well-made but wouldn't be described as particularly flavorful.

food5
ambience5
service5

ABC Kitchen never disappoints. The key i ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

ABC Kitchen never disappoints. The key is the consistency and the dedication to wonderful food in a stunning and understated environment.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Heavy on vegetables, if you like meat th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Heavy on vegetables, if you like meat then its not for you. I made a reservation a month ago, not sure what the hype is. The food is pretty mediocre nothing amazing for the price.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent presentation. Delicious food. ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent presentation. Delicious food. Great cocktails. Comfortable setting yet special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I met our daughter, who work ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

My wife and I met our daughter, who works nearby, for lunch. She couldn't believe that I got reservations (through Open Table) on fairly short notice, as she said it is the hottest spot in the area for lunch. We can see why. The menu is wonderful, the food is great and the service is good. OK, maybe its a little pricey, but you get something far above average. Our daughter told us it is the only place in the area that the owner of the company that she works for will eat. And of course my wife and daughter had to walk through ABC Carpet on our way out, which didn't hurt.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our meal was amazing but our server was ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Our meal was amazing but our server was a bit unfriendly. All other service staff were very good. Beautiful restaurant. I will dream of the strawberry pavlova.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Never been here before. Went for lunch . ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Never been here before. Went for lunch . Def would return

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this place. Everything i ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Absolutely love this place. Everything is delicious. You cannot miss. Even the desserts are to die for. High on my list are beet salad, sugar snap pea salad, avocado goat cheese toast... I could go on!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It's the best!!!!

Dined on June 15, 2016

It's the best!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong with calamari, turkey san ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Can't go wrong with calamari, turkey sandwich and salted caramel ice cream--favorite lunch spot in the City. Service is always attentive and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Food was creative and very good, but $26 ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was creative and very good, but $26 for a glass of your house chard is excessive. Especially good was the crab toast. We really enjoyed that.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food . Nice atmosphere . Great wine ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Good food . Nice atmosphere . Great wine.Enjoyable evening

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We heard great things about this restaur ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We heard great things about this restaurant and it exceeded our expectations. The food and service top notch. Loved the specialty martini.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Great Service !

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great Service !

food5
ambience5
service5

My new fav manhattan rest! It was the be ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

My new fav manhattan rest! It was the best food and service and do not leave without trying the Ginger Marg!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere incomparable! Although challenging to secure a reservation, well worth the schedule adjustment to dine in this amazing space!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous time at ABC. I had be ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a fabulous time at ABC. I had been before for brunch (and loved it) but this was my first time for dinner. The food was delicious, the service was great, and the noise level was perfect for a conversation. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall excellent. Would go back again a ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Overall excellent. Would go back again and again.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Worth the wait!

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

My boyfriend and I have been trying to get an ABC Kitchen reservation FOR AGES. But it was definitely worth the wait! We started out with a lovely cheese board and then followed it up with the halibut and the sea bass. Both entrees were such lovely pairings. My light, fresh halibut was excellently paired with a spicy chili sauce and fresh greens. But the best part of my night was the basil and mint pane cotta that I got for dessert. It was like nothing I've ever eaten -- bursting, bright flavors and completely unexpected. Yes, ABC Kitchen is certainly expensive, but it's not a place to eat every night of the week and definitely worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence all around

Dined on June 2, 2016

I had my graduation lunch here with a party of 8. The service was impeccable. They brought out complimentary dishes from the chef and every person who approached my table congratulated me on my accomplishment. They made me and my party feel incredibly special. The food, of course, was delicious. Clean flavors, good sized portions, attention to every detail. Thank you so much for making my day so easy. Everyone at the table remarked on how good the service and the food was. Incredible. I cannot thank you enough. They sat us early, were very patient, the whole experience was a delight.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and beautiful decor/atmosph ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Amazing food and beautiful decor/atmosphere

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not worth it

Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was OK, but not worth it's reputation. Calamari was extremely boring. Annoying service including practically pulling paper place mats out from under your elbows between courses.

food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Food was great but the service was terrrible!

Dined on May 30, 2016

I brought my 3 daughters as a treat while in NYC. The food was good. The service was terrible. The waiter never once came back to our table once he took our order. Someone else brought our food. We had empty water glasses the majority of our meal. Two of us had ordered a drink from the bar that was not drinkable. It was terrible. But no one would come to our table so we could ask for something else. With so many wonderful choices to dine in NYC it was very disappointing to have this experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was not as good as the last tim ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

The food was not as good as the last time. The steak special was too fatty and the sides were too oily. The service started on a good foot, but the waiter sort of forgot about us. Ok, but not what it's cracked up to be these days.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

Dined on May 29, 2016

The restaurant was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent. Knowledgeable and friendly. The food was wonderful..fresh, exciting flavours, beautifully presented. My starter of roasted carrots and avocado was delicious. Interesting wine list as they try to use organic wines only. Sadly very few wines from the US but there were some and the one we chose was good (Tocai Fruliano from Hudson wines).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

Had the scrambled eggs with oysters which where cooked perfectly. Had two ginger magaritas : best I have ever had. Had the mushroom pizza with egg. Was wonderful. Had the crab and green toast. Was amazing. Great food and service. Our number one in newyork.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely brunch menu and everything is fre ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Lovely brunch menu and everything is fresh and sourced well. We were well catered for and made welcome.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.