About ABC Kitchen

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Gramercy / Flatiron ›

Fit for Foodies (283)
Special Occasion (218)
Great for Lunch (184)
See All
Hot Spot (175)
Romantic (144)
Neighborhood Gem (140)
Good for Groups (125)
Great for Brunch (104)
Notable Wine List (54)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Good for a Date (38)
Local Ingredients (34)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Healthy (21)
Casual (21)
Fun (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Organic (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Scenic View (14)
Seasonal (13)
Cozy (13)
Business Meals (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
People Watching (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Authentic (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
 (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of several very good meals we've had ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 2 days ago

One of several very good meals we've had at ABC! We have also dined at ABC Cocina.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, we had the lobster speci ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambiance, we had the lobster special which was up there with some of the best I have ever had. WE particularly liked the vegetables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the restaurant on a date while o ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 3 days ago

Went to the restaurant on a date while on vacation with significant other. We chose this place on a whim for our date it seemed nice from pictures. Once we got there it was great. Friendly environment and very welcoming. Everyone working seemed a semicasual which was nice. Also both the hostess and the waitress were friendly made conversation and were very helpful. Also it's cost to value of service, food and area are definitely worth going back. 10/10 will be going back the next time I travel down.

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only big issue is that their address ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

The only big issue is that their address is wrong on their website. It is not at no. 35, but is halfway down the block, with minimal signage. It caused us to be 19 minutes late for our reservation, searching for it, only to be told that they gave our table away. Fortunately, they found us another table a few minutes later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Loved it...best food ever and the servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved it...best food ever and the service was impeccable....thanks ...

.....

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced average food. Only good thin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Over priced average food. Only good thing was the service. Waste of time/money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

loved this place for lunch fun good food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

loved this place for lunch

fun good food

would recommend

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was great, dishes were well prep ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was great, dishes were well prepared. Pricey for portions and types of food you get. Worth trying, but unlikely to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great menu, great wine list, great serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great menu, great wine list, great service, cool ambiance, reasonable prices

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ABC Kitchen was everything! Highly recom ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

ABC Kitchen was everything! Highly recommend it :) I took one of my best girlfriends there for her 30th birthday and it was perfect! Still dreaming about the crab toast and the homemade ravioli 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the burger and the bowtie pasta. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had the burger and the bowtie pasta. The burger was ok. I thought it was a little dry, but my husband thought it was good. We really didn't enjoy the pasta very much, maybe, because we both don't like the flavor of caramelized onion too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was very slow. We booked a t ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service was very slow. We booked a table at 12.30 and had our food on the table at 13.40. Food was good but pricey.

Tags: Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I make a point of dining at ABC Kitchen ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I make a point of dining at ABC Kitchen for brunch on every NYC visit. We enjoyed the delicious pretzel crusted fried calamari - which was fresh and hot. Their house baked bread w/olive oil is outstanding. I shared the turkey sandwich w/extra jalapeños and our dining companions shared the eggs benedict. They had the creme fraiche blackberry ice cream and chocolate mint sorbet for dessert. We shared the ice cream sundae with house made Cracker Jacks (no comparison to the original - SO much better). Every dish was sublime. The decor is restored historic space - beautiful. Wait staff is efficient without being rushed. Very friendly. Never disappoints.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect for a birthday dinner :)

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Perfect for a birthday dinner :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious. Lived up to the hype. Would g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious. Lived up to the hype. Would go more often if things were just a tad cheaper (like $3 or $5 off things..) - gave us a lovely anniversary cupcake at the end of our meal. very sweet

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had been looking forward to trying th ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had been looking forward to trying this place out for a long while and were thoroughly disappointed by the food. The food lacked flavor and we were all really disappointed.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Best food we've had in a while! Very fri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Best food we've had in a while! Very friendly staff too.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked so so much. I tasted a fish , re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I liked so so much. I tasted a fish , red snapper , perfect of taste , fresh and delicious . And the service is very carefully with problems of intolerancies, alergics.... Perfect.

The only thing that I´d chenge is the noyse.... but New York is very noisy....

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic lunch in a and well-decorated ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Fantastic lunch in a and well-decorated place. The service was outstanding!

One thing to improve: the noise level is too loud that it is difficult to hear you table mates.

It was packed for a wednesday lunch so you'd better book in advance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

ABC Kitchen is a place for young people. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

ABC Kitchen is a place for young people. Very noisy. The food is good, but we did not enjoy this kind of place.

Tags: Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Delicious and fresh food. Quick service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Delicious and fresh food. Quick service and attention to detail. Fabulous wine. It was a little dark in the restaurant but I'm sure that was intentional.

Arrived slightly early for reservation and we were seated and served immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall we had good food and service...w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Overall we had good food and service...with an added bonus Victoria Beckham was seated with a group right beside us!...during fashion week .Great for people watching.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful flavorful vibrant food yet a c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Beautiful flavorful vibrant food yet a casual experience ..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

ABC Kitchen has fantastic food and a gre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

ABC Kitchen has fantastic food and a great ambiance to match. We had a great vegetarian meal and are looking forward to coming back again in the future.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love ABC Kitchen! It never disappoint ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I love ABC Kitchen! It never disappoints. Everything was delicious; crab toasts, heirloom tomato toasts, shaved summer squash salad and pistachio pesto! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were wonderful. Ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food and service were wonderful. Our only caveat when thinking about returning was the noise level. By the end of our meal we found we were shouting at each other to be heard. I think I'd want to go back at 5pm to have a more enjoyable experience. The food was worthy of talking over, not shouting over!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Better ambience although higher noise le ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Better ambience although higher noise level in the main room. We sat in the back room, which was somewhat too bright.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely meal. The food was exqu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a lovely meal. The food was exquisite and we could actually have a conversation—the noise wasn't unbearable. Everything was light and fresh. We recommend the salmon, the gazpacho, . . . There wasn't anything short of delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, great place and hostess read ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food, great place and hostess read on the notes that I was bringing an infant on a car seat and had the perfect table for us.

ALL restaurants I book I write that and they never read it!

Tks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the food was not good. the service was v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

the food was not good. the service was very slow. and not impressed by any means

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great place & food. Waitress ( Maria ) w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place & food. Waitress ( Maria ) was very nice and made great recommendations. Totally recommended for a night out in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, everything was very tasty and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As always, everything was very tasty and the wait staff were great. I had the turkey sandwich for lunch and it's quite a big portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is much better than The last ti ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food is much better than The last time I went there, last year. At that time The food was so spicy that we couldn't eat it! Last week I liked much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food. Dessert was delicious!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing food. Dessert was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was very particular about thi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our server was very particular about things an awkward way and it came off as rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent lunch. Our table had salads, ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent lunch. Our table had salads, gazpacho and pizza and everything was fresh and excellent. Portions are large and good for sharing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ABC Kitchen is one of our all time favor ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

ABC Kitchen is one of our all time favorite restaurants in NYC. Every time we visit the City we always make a reservation. I believe reservations need to be made 30 days in advance. The menu changes, but is always delicious. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyable meal! The restaurant is busy w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Enjoyable meal! The restaurant is busy with a good ambiance. Cocktails were delicious. Menu was interesting and varied. We ordered the summer special pizza and the special salmon. Both were excellent, well presented and good sized helpings.

Bread was also very good although we had to request for it.

Overall a pleasant lunch and would definitely come again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous! Wish o could spend more time t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fabulous! Wish o could spend more time there. The food, drinks, staff and the setting - everything is superb. If you have never been you must go.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.