About ABC Kitchen

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies)

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Gramercy / Flatiron ›

fit for foodies (347)
great for lunch (220)
special occasion (219)
See All
hot spot (210)
good for groups (169)
neighborhood gem (150)
great for brunch (140)
romantic (131)
notable wine list (57)
vibrant bar scene (47)
late-night find (28)
kid-friendly (27)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
3741 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

good, but not great

Dined 4 days ago

I was expecting a phenomenal meal, but this was just mediocre. Great menu that was hard to choose from decent appetizers and great desserts. I irdered the pork, but I have had much better. Flavor was bland, the potatoes under it were boring and the seasonigns were off a bit. It was good, I ate it all, but not memorable. Service was Ok. WItress had to be reminded on things, so she should have written more down.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Really good food and beautiful design

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Really good food and beautiful design

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. We arrived a bit ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. We arrived a bit late and they were very accommodating. Everyone was gracious and professional. The ambience is delightful

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Their Pizza is to die for, seriously! Gr ...

Dined 7 days ago

Their Pizza is to die for, seriously! Great place would definitely recommend!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place !! Delicious and organic foo ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Great place !! Delicious and organic food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The perfect day; the perfect place.

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

After extensive reviews for a wonderful place in which to have a very late lunch, we chose ABC Kitchen. Perfect choice. Deceiving large in scale, the restaurant is elegant and understated in appearance. Terrific vibe, even at lunch. We had a 7:00 event to attend, so dinner before would have been difficult. Honing in on a late lunch after arriving from Atlanta was spot on. The lunch menu did not make you feel as if you were not "getting the good stuff." We shared the crab toasts, a special goat cheese toast and the tuna sashimi. All were wonderful and just the perfect start. I had the sea bass which was the right proportion and taste. One son had the akushi burger, which was great. The winner of the table?? How strange, but the Turkey sandwich. I never knew it could be that good. Enjoy a special meal. Worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

consistently good meals. I have eaten h ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

consistently good meals. I have eaten here previously and the quality of food, the service and the ambiance makes this one of my favorite places to dine

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3

The fried chicken was so spicy it was a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The fried chicken was so spicy it was almost inedible and the black bass was somewhat bland, but the salads were delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second visit to ABC Kitchen did not d ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My second visit to ABC Kitchen did not disappoint. The atmosphere is unique, warm, and modern. Delicious food. Great service. Able to take our time without feeling rushed. All around one of my favorite NYC restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Really cool joint

Dined on May 14, 2016

Really cool joint

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Appetizers and dessert were great. Entre ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Appetizers and dessert were great. Entrees and side dishes had waaay too much salt.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food

Dined on May 13, 2016

Delicious food

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good service , crowed and noisy but ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Very good service , crowed and noisy but good food .

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. They accommodated more pe ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great service. They accommodated more people on our party last minute. Food was great and def worth a try for anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value on set lunch menu

Dined on May 13, 2016

Definitely make a reservation - I saw people being turned away. The set lunch menu is great value, includes starter, main and dessert. Food is really tasty. The place is much bigger than I thought. There are a few big tables for groups, would recommend group lunch too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food but very noicy

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was overall good, apart from the burger that had lot's of VERY HOT green chili on it so be careful. We had a late dinner and it was very noisy so come early if you don't want to scream at each other:)

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timers

Dined on May 11, 2016

Recommended by a friend who used to live in New York we were not let down in any way; great service, great food and a great ambience. Meeting up with friends from the UK we had not seen in five years (we live in New Zealand), this was a great venue to dine at and became one of our most memorable moments we were in NY.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome food & service. Delicious meal!!

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Awesome food & service. Delicious meal!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Emily was fantastic and made ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our server Emily was fantastic and made it even more memorable!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality Dining Experience

Dined on May 11, 2016

Thoughtful combination of flavours, textures and presentation for each dish. Fabulous service and great atmosphere. Loved the commitment to local produce, upcycling and quirky/sophisticated decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very nice luncheon

Dined on May 9, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at ABC Kitchen. Excellent food and superb service. The wait staff is truly knowledgeable and very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First time at this restaurant and I woul ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

First time at this restaurant and I would most certainly return. Everything we ordered was nicely prepared, fresh and flavorful. Our server was cheery and was very knowledgeable about all of the menu items and was careful to be sure that nothing was served that would interfere with food allergies. We had a pizza as an appetizer and it was absolutely scrumptious. The mushrooms were so fresh and full of flavor. Our fish mains were also delicious. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

service, food and atmosphere perfect! g ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

service, food and atmosphere perfect! great for after shopping or just in the neighborhood.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for Mother's Day brunch. Lovely pl ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day brunch. Lovely place..decor was nice....service was wonderful and food was very good...enjoyed and would definitely recommend and go back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful restaurant with exceptional ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

A beautiful restaurant with exceptional food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

lunch at abc

Dined on May 6, 2016

food was awesome, ambiance so cool, our waiter was one of the best EVER!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service! Smart/stylish decor

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was inventive. Service was impeccable. Great atmosphere, very modern and stylish. Lunch was not overly crowded, so noise level was less than it would be in the evening on a busy evening. It was a great dining experience, can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit and we will be back.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our first visit and we will be back.

food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious! The seasonal "toasts" are no ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Delicious! The seasonal "toasts" are not to be missed! Loved the roasted carrot and avocado salad. The desserts are wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will fall in love with this place

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

From the excellent service that is very friendly for a high end spot to the unforgettably delicious fare, we have enjoyed this restaurant for numerous occasions and have never been less than amazed. The wine list is wonderful and do not skip dessert. Cannot wait to reserve again soon. Do yourself a favor and experience this place now.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Amazing

Dined on May 2, 2016

So far I've dined at this restaurant a total of three times, and I don't plan to stop there. The price point is a little higher, but the quality of service and food makes it well worth it. The menu itself is amazing, and the servers are great at recommending wine options to pair with your food order.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow! Can't Wait To Come Again

Dined on May 2, 2016

This place is unreal - from the decor to the food everything is perfect. The food is AMAZING; one of the best meals I've ever had and I've eaten out a lot. Our waitress was super helpful in figuring out our likes/dislikes and helping us to choose what we should order. It's on the pricey side so not an everyday place for dinner but for special occasions (i.e. my birthday) this was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday visit

Dined on May 2, 2016

Hi guys, I booked ABC Kitchen after a recommendation from someone living in NYC; my Sister and I were visiting from London, UK, for 4 days for her birthday and chose to book the restaurant for her birthday night which she thoroughly enjoyed and I thought the food was excellent. Thanks Smi Dey

Tags: group bookings, romance, special occasions, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meals and atmosphere were superb. W ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The meals and atmosphere were superb. We were visiting from Australia and ate at ABC Kitchen twice. So pleased we did. The whole experience was so memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Over-hyped

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Had to book the table exactly one month in advance (after many failed attempts) and was ultimately underwhelmed. It's good, but it's not worth the wait.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well worth the visit - book ahead!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful eggs benedict - the best i've ever had! Definitely worth a visit if in NY - great ambience and atmosphere and friendly service. Lovely!

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really, really good

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The food here is always great. I have been several times and have never been disappointed with a single dish.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top 3

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

ABC has it figured out ....., The "Total Package" Restaurant . Food , Service, Energy ...Exceptional . I've literally recommended this restaurant at least 200 times ...., thank you for being that GREAT !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1

Even with reservations made a month in a ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Even with reservations made a month in advance, we were seated at a less desirable table, seemingly because the host/hostess didn't approve of how we looked. We were dressed appropriately so the only reason would be that we are both overweight. Meal was rushed, dishes fired too quickly. For a $300+ meal (including wine), this should have been a more relaxed service. There were frequent disruptive interruptions from bussers rushing to clear plates. Once he took our order, our server never returned to check on us to make sure the food was as expected, etc. He only came back to offer dessert and when we declined, he quickly dropped a check on our table. Lastly, my wife's lobster was seriously undercooked. We have eaten at ABC Kitchen several times, but we will not return. Jean-Georges and team need a lesson in appropriate hospitality and service from the Danny Meyer restaurants. Extremely disappointed.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

overrated

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food is over priced for what it is, service is excellent...$15.00 for 1/2 cup of soup is a lot even for the city...i think the hype has surpassed the food both in food choices and value

Tags: vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.