About ABC Kitchen

35 East 18th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible.
ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Brunch Saturday -Sunday 11:00am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 475-5829

Website:
http://www.abckitchennyc.com/

Parking Details:
Nearest Parking Facilities: 21st Street b/w Broadway & Park Avenue South and Irving Place b/w 17th & 18th Streets

Public Transit:
L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Private Dining

ABC Kitchen would be honored to host your special event.

ABC Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Gramercy / Flatiron ›

Fit for Foodies (306)
Special Occasion (232)
Great for Lunch (207)
See All
Hot Spot (201)
Good for Groups (151)
Romantic (149)
Neighborhood Gem (148)
Great for Brunch (115)
Notable Wine List (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (51)
Late-night Find (30)
Kid-friendly (22)
Scenic View (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
 (1)
 (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3963 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food tasted very good. But portion size ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food tasted very good. But portion size extremely small. To be honest great food but should be double portions at half the cost. 8 dollars for 2 biscuits and then an extra 3 dollars for jam. Very ridiculous even in New York

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great menu as always, nice wine list als ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great menu as always, nice wine list also. Service slightly slow but it was nearly a full house at 2:30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've been to all sort of restaurants in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I've been to all sort of restaurants in NYC but I make a point to take people from out of town or New Yorkers that have not previously been there, to ABC Kitchen. The cuisine is creative, tasty, yet healthy, and the prices are reasonable. The waitstaff is friendly, the atmosphere informal. ABC Kitchen proves that really good food does not have to be extremely expensive...the prix-fix lunch is a real winner!

Mimimomindarienct

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The service is especially great. Food is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service is especially great. Food is really good, but service is what puts a visit here over the top.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Will definitely be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful experience. Will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding and menu option ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was outstanding and menu options were fantastic!! However, it is very noisy and the loud music made it difficult for us to have a conversation without having to also raise our voices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Overall dinner was great! The interior d ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Overall dinner was great! The interior decor is beautiful and overall the food was superb.

The fried chicken was a little fatty, but other than that we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Felt so taken care of - great dining exp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Felt so taken care of - great dining experience. They paid attention to special requests. Overall great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at ABC Kitchen was phenomenal! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food at ABC Kitchen was phenomenal! The service was so on point! The atmosphere is uniquely lovely. A great place to eat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. The highlight of my tr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was amazing. The highlight of my trip to NYC. Servers were so friendly as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! Wicked decor!! Loved it

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food! Wicked decor!! Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service not good and food is tasty but n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service not good and food is tasty but not outstanding and doesn't make up for it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent food & value for money on the ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food & value for money on the NYC restaurant week. Lovely venue & ambiance too.

Tags: Group Bookings, Special Occasions, Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Between the delicious courses and incred ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Between the delicious courses and incredible service, I have never had a bad meal at ABC Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love having lunch there every time I a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I love having lunch there every time I am in NYC. It is a favorite treat for my daughter and I !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We tried the restaurant week menu, which ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We tried the restaurant week menu, which was delicious and filling. Wewere impressed by the innovative flavour combinations and the clear emphasison fresh farm to table ingredients. The ambience and design of the interior was fabulous. Really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch service was slow, with entree taki ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Lunch service was slow, with entree taking almost 40 minutes to get to our table from the time we ordered (or some good 25 minutes away from appetizer). Food was good, but experience would have been better if I were not constrained by time and service weren't so slow.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was fabulous. Great Resturant Week ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was fabulous. Great Resturant Week value. Much to noisy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I mentioned to the restaurant it was my ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I mentioned to the restaurant it was my friends birthday and they went above and beyond to make our lunch special. We really appreciated all the additions and our waiter was amazing

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and atmosphere however ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always great food and atmosphere however it was so hot night we went and they do not hAve enough air conditioning . Will definitely be back just not when it's over 80 degrees out .

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for dinner and the food, drinks, an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Went for dinner and the food, drinks, and service were great. However, where we were sitting was extremely hot!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Second time at ABC and the food is wonde ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Second time at ABC and the food is wonderful. Had the Sea Bass and my son had the Salmon, both were fresh and very good. The pretzel crusted calamari is delicious. The only thing downside is that the prices are high and the portions are small....two people each having a drink, sharing an appetizer, an entree each and one very small scoop of ice cream with tax and tip ran $160....but, it is a Jean George restaurant so its expected.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and service were fantastic!!! I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food and service were fantastic!!! I tried ABC Kitchen for the first time after I had heard a lot about the food. I was not disappointed. I look forward to dining there again the next time I'm in New York!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous food and service. Definitely w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Marvelous food and service. Definitely worth it - I love the china, too! Check out the crab toast and fish dishes, which are cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food! Fit for a serious foodie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fabulous food! Fit for a serious foodie with a twist of romance. Even dessert was a teasing blend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing everything! Like always

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing everything! Like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was amazing for restaurant week. Lo ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Good was amazing for restaurant week. Loved the raviolo! Service was outstanding- very accommodating. Heartily recommend; can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was poor at this restaurant. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was poor at this restaurant. Often we had to wait a while for our server before resorting to waving at him.

Food was overall pretty good but the lobster had rubbery parts, the pork confit was a bit dry. Nothing to write home about.

The ambiance was romantic, classy yet laid back.

We had a good time but I don't think I'll be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Dinner beyond compare, great service, an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Dinner beyond compare, great service, and a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ABC Kitchen delivered as usual, outstand ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

ABC Kitchen delivered as usual, outstanding food but had to take one star off today. The Burger was simply not cooked to perfection, ordered it medium/rare but came in dry more on the medium/well done side.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but the service was a little ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food, but the service was a little slow. Specially with drinks and bread.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The AC wasn't working well. Food was gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The AC wasn't working well. Food was great but it was so hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing dinner for my wife's birthday. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing dinner for my wife's birthday. We started with the tomato/strawberry gazpacho and the pea salad, then had the lobster and the sea bass, finishing with the strawberry pavlova, and it was all great. The service was excellent and the restaurant is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jean-Georges Vongerichten's restaurants ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Jean-Georges Vongerichten's restaurants rarely disappoint; the food is always excellent, the service attentive without being annoying and you can usually count on a good selection of beverages. ABC Kitchen is no exception. There were so many things we wanted to try that it was difficult to narrow down our choices. The pretzel-crusted calamari was delicious as an appetizer, so was the crab toast. For main courses, the salmon was especially good - better than the grilled lobster which was plain. The strawberry pavlova was light and refreshing as was the lemon blueberry trifle. The only complaint - every table around us had to use their phone as a flashlight to read the menu. Mood lighting is great, but seriously - turn on a light.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everyone in our party had a wonderful me ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everyone in our party had a wonderful meal. The service was very professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous! Went for Restaura ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Went for Restaurant Week. WIl come back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fabulous dining room in the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food, fabulous dining room in the back.

Everything perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely rustic ambiance! Friendly and in ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lovely rustic ambiance! Friendly and intimate atmosphere and delightful young staff.

Every morsel was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RW lunch menu had plenty of options. Ka ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

RW lunch menu had plenty of options. Kale salad was good, but fluke was amazing. Portobello sandwich was good - ravioli looked delicious, smothered in grated cheese. Preferred peach dessert to chocolate cake. Restaurant is beautifully whimsical, service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Portions were small ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was very good. Portions were small for the price, but we visited from Texas so that explains a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.