Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About A10 Hyde Park

A10 is the only restaurant south of Chinatown named to Michelin’s Bib Gourmand list in 2014. Our menu has been described by the Chicago Tribune’s food critic Phil Vettel as “a little French, a little Italian and a lot of American”. He added that A10 “should drop the 0 and call the restaurant A1, because that’s how good I think it is”. Chef Matthias Merges couldn’t agree more with the Chicago Tribune, adding that the menu is "about 75 percent recognizable and 25 percent dishes you may not have tried before but you’re gonna love!"

We’d be truly honored to welcome you to our table for your next dinner or event.

1462 E. 53rd Street
Chicago, IL 60615
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian, French

Hours of Operation:


Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
53rd & Harper

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 288-1010

Website:
http://www.a10hydepark.com/

Parking Details:
A parking lot is available 1 block north on Harper Court. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Matthias Merges

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

A10 Hyde Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Seasonal (11)
GoodForDates (11)
See All
CreativeCuisine (10)
SpecialOccasions (9)
NeighborhoodGem (9)
LocalIngredients (9)
HandcraftedCocktails (8)
Cozy (8)
QuietConversation (7)
Romance (7)
PeopleWatching (7)
Anniversaries (6)
ModernDecor (6)
Foodies (6)
ComfortFood (6)
Groups (5)
WorthTheDrive (5)
PrePostTheatre (5)
Birthdays (5)
VegetarianOptions (5)
Fun (4)
HappyHour (4)
GreatBeer (4)
NotableWineList (4)
Authentic (4)
OpenKitchen (4)
Brunch (3)
BarSeating (3)
Healthy (3)
VibrantBarScene (2)
OutstandingValue (2)
Lunch (2)
SundayLunch (2)
QuickBite (2)
HotSpot (2)
Historic (2)
BusinessMeals (2)
Organic (2)
LateNightFind (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
Spicy (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Tapas (1)
LiveMusic (1)
GlutenFree (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
Sort By:
S
637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A10 was amazing! Our waitress gave us some great recommendations on food and drink.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent service and drinks. Entree (carbonara) was good but not great. That said, definitely coming back. Great ambience and perfect for a date or special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great environment with creative, fusion dishes. Would recommend for date nights and special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The restaurant was memorable in appearance and those sitting near the windows had a great people watching experience (a brew fair was going on around the corner). The service was good and we liked the pasta dishes and broccoli salad -- original, excellent ingredients, fine housemade pasta. Portions seemed small given the prices. The dessert special, described as a peach cobbler pie, was a disappointment. Made of tasteless apples and some random peach slices, the crust was sodden and heavy.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I love the Hyde Park area because it's easy. There's no hassle of downtown traffic or parking. A10 is an easy place to visit. The service is fair and the food is the same. The quality of the food has declined. I was very disappointed at this visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Scallops pasta was creative, but under-spicy for my taste. I really loved the Justice of The Pies dessert!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Healthy, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I wanted and expected to love this place. The menu is ambitious and creative, but the execution was so-so. Fresh pasta was too thin and overcooked. The plates are described to be shared, but I don't see how we would have done that easily. The focaccia was outstanding.
A member of my party ordered salmon. She wasn't asked about how cooked she wanted it, and it arrived quite rare, seared more than cooked. She sent it back and they graciously prepared and served her a fresh piece. It too was underdone and the server should have checked back right away. When she finally did check back, my friend was done trying and declined to order anything else. They comped us two desserts, but they left the salmon on the final bill. We would not go back and cannot recommend it. Sadly, though 'cause it has a cool vibe. I just can't say that you're sure to get a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Stayed 15 minutes with no server. Left when we saw almost nobody had been served. Seemed understaffed. On a Tuesday at 8pm, for what it's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was great at A10 with the exception of a misunderstanding with my reservation.
I will definitely go again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our appetizers of smoked fish on toast and marinated olives. The entrees ranged from good (pork chop, scallop tortallini) to bad (sausage cannalonni). Good wine and beer list. Chocolate creme for dessert drew a "worst dessert ever" from one of our diners, so the restaurant comped an after dinner drink for us.

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and server was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very small $20 pasta entrees-appetizer size-won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great Service from Caitlin!!! Food was great!! Perfect ambiance for a relaxed meal.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I found this restaurant on OpenTable. I was very delighted with my dining experience. The service was great and fast. The food was also very good. And I drink one of the best bloody Mary's I've had a long time. I definitely will be returning

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was so excited to try out this restaurant based on their reviews. I made a reservation on Easter Sunday. My overall experience was not very pleasing. Upon walking in, the restaurant was dead/not busy. I was not greeted nor shown to my table. 👎🏼The hostess showed me where my table was bc my other party arrived 5 minutes early and was already seated! Then, I waited like 10 minutes until my server arrived, again, the restaurant was still dead at 12pm on Easter Sunday. My server made us feel as if we inconvenience her for showing up. She was not authentic, geniune, nor attentive. She did not even run thru their specials/hot items knowing this was our first visit. Anyway, I was excited to try the chicken & waffles. To my surprise, the meal was so bland and not good at all. I was extremely disappointed and ate less than half of my food. My server clearly did not care what thought of the food bc she never ask. I did not even want to take my leftover bc I wanted no trace/memory of this experience nor food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I made a reservation and yet, it look > 45 minutes to be seated. We were left languishing at the bar for nearly an hour and weren't seated at our table even though several empty tables were visible.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Academic meeting

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Historic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A10 was a tasty night out, but was definitely not French/Italian. They had some good pastas, several all-American entrees (grilled salmon, burger, etc.), but nothing French. The desserts were minimal. The service was friendly and good, and the fries were amazing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Kids menu needs more variety

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nice room. Good option in Hyde Park. Has potential to be so much better, and I remember it being so when it first opened. Drinks and menu still wintery in April. Just average food. No one in our party of 5 had anything bad, just not delicious or memorable.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Pasta was luke warm, wine was mediocre and the noise level was high. Our server was pleasant

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Food arrived cold after a ridiculously long wait. Bizarre as we were virtually the only customers in the dining area. Waitress was great but the rest of the team clearly wanted to close up and go home. They even turned up the sound system to I suppose chase us out. All the staff had to do was courteously ask. I have no idea if it was closing time though there were multiple customers in the bar area so if it was it wasn't obvious. Net what could have been a nice experience was ruined by multiple employees not caring about the customer experience or handling things professionally. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a nice meal on Saturday evening. Food was very good. Service was just ok, our server didn't know how to set a table when replacing silverware or wine glasses. Music was so LOUD that we could barely hear each other. They turned it up about halfway into our meal and after asking to turn it down, we were ignored. Booth/bench seating is too low for the table, so opt for a table with 4 chairs instead. We were celebrating a friend's birthday, so management handed out free glasses of champaign with our dessert. Overall a good place, if you like it loud.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Have to say a bit disappointing. Everything good, nothing negative, but nothing particularly special and did not meet expectations. We are rarely in Hyde Park and we were looking forward to finding a place that would be a draw from our Lakeview home.

Too many as good or better places closer to home to make a special trip.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. My wife and dine here for dinner on our date night. The service was really good, our wait staff was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The food was cooked just right and the music that played in the background was smooth.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Loved this place and would definitely revisit! Totally enjoyed the food but the drinks were made exceptionally well also. It was a little pricey but well worth it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was a really nice place but not a variety of food selection (especially the small plates)

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The pastas were delicious and fresh and yummy and the service was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

No parking. Rainy day. What nuisance! They need a valet. Food is just average Restaurant was empty and they still gave us a very small table. We could barely keep the wine bottle on the table. How silly. People should be comfortable when dining out. You won't be comfortable here.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Friendly and lively, but the service was extremely slow. The soup was not hot, nor was any other part of the meal. The food was flavorful, but I do prefer hot food. Even the bread, which was served in an iron skillet (suggesting that it had just come from the oven) was not hot. The butter was quite good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food but a bit pricey and portions very small.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Birthday Dinner. Impeccable dinner choices. Not disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had the capaleni pasta w/ braised lamb. It was very good, but only enough to feed my 5year old daughter. Also has the catch of the day '' brezinne" Fish (probably didn't spell that right) and it was tasty but small and a little undercooked. The overall probably with A10 is that for the price, the portions are ridiculously small. I literally left and stopped at 5 guys on my way to my car.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience and great value for a special meal !
A bottle of Petalos wine with delicious fresh olives reminded us of a trip to Spain. Then we decided to share each course - the perfect way to try a kale salad , a homemade pasta, & grilled octopus. Save room for dessert ! I can't forget to mention our server, Ashley, & her sparkling personality

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went here for dinner with our granddaughter to celebrate her birthday. Our first visit, she has been here before.
The menu was limited but adequate and had some interesting items (e.g., roasted cauliflower, mushroom soup with duck confit) and the portions are sizable. Food quality was good and the presentation was very nice. The wait staff was attentive without being overly solicitous.
Overall, it was a good meal - but not a great one.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We've rarely enjoyed a restaurant more. Creative and interesting food, beautiful decor (with wall tapestries helping to keep the room quiet), professional and friendly staff, incredible cocktail menu. The whole restaurant experience had all the characteristics of an upscale restaurant, without any of the pretension. The prices were surprisingly reasonable. Just perfect. We'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was delicious. Ashley was OUTSTANDING with her knowledge​ of the menu and courteous service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding evening. It began with a parking space one door away! Attentive service, accommodated our seating requests immediately. Server available and and politely fulfilled requests. We felt very welcomed. For northsiders, worth the trip to Hyde Park. Food: excellent and portion size just right.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The squid fettuccine and rigatoni were tasty. However the portions were very modest.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

In a city where you can't find an open table on short notice on Saturday evening, A10 is a surprising find. The drink menu is creative but not crazy (and drinks are large), the food is not overly pretentious, and the wait staff friendly. It has a upscale feel, and pretty high prices, but none of the crowded push of the River North scene. I wouldn't travel to come to this restaurant, but if you are in Hyde Park for the evening and want a nice drink and well prepared food with local ingredients, why not?

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We waited 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive, despite alerting our waitress about the delay. The food was mediocre in general, the pasta dish was terrible (dry pasta, and three mushrooms despite they being the main ingredient). We were warned not to go there by a friend, but we read good reviews from Phil Vettel (Tribune), and the person in Time Out. Perhaps they should reconsider their reviews.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.