Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About A10 Hyde Park

A10 is the only restaurant south of Chinatown named to Michelin’s Bib Gourmand list in 2014. Our menu has been described by the Chicago Tribune’s food critic Phil Vettel as “a little French, a little Italian and a lot of American”. He added that A10 “should drop the 0 and call the restaurant A1, because that’s how good I think it is”. Chef Matthias Merges couldn’t agree more with the Chicago Tribune, adding that the menu is "about 75 percent recognizable and 25 percent dishes you may not have tried before but you’re gonna love!"

We’d be truly honored to welcome you to our table for your next dinner or event.

1462 E. 53rd Street
Chicago, IL 60615
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian, French

Hours of Operation:


Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
53rd & Harper

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 288-1010

Website:
http://www.a10hydepark.com/

Parking Details:
A parking lot is available 1 block north on Harper Court. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Matthias Merges

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

A10 Hyde Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (13)
Modern Decor (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (11)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Romantic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I found this restaurant on OpenTable. I was very delighted with my dining experience. The service was great and fast. The food was also very good. And I drink one of the best bloody Mary's I've had a long time. I definitely will be returning

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was so excited to try out this restaurant based on their reviews. I made a reservation on Easter Sunday. My overall experience was not very pleasing. Upon walking in, the restaurant was dead/not busy. I was not greeted nor shown to my table. 👎🏼The hostess showed me where my table was bc my other party arrived 5 minutes early and was already seated! Then, I waited like 10 minutes until my server arrived, again, the restaurant was still dead at 12pm on Easter Sunday. My server made us feel as if we inconvenience her for showing up. She was not authentic, geniune, nor attentive. She did not even run thru their specials/hot items knowing this was our first visit. Anyway, I was excited to try the chicken & waffles. To my surprise, the meal was so bland and not good at all. I was extremely disappointed and ate less than half of my food. My server clearly did not care what thought of the food bc she never ask. I did not even want to take my leftover bc I wanted no trace/memory of this experience nor food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I made a reservation and yet, it look > 45 minutes to be seated. We were left languishing at the bar for nearly an hour and weren't seated at our table even though several empty tables were visible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Academic meeting

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Historic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A10 was a tasty night out, but was definitely not French/Italian. They had some good pastas, several all-American entrees (grilled salmon, burger, etc.), but nothing French. The desserts were minimal. The service was friendly and good, and the fries were amazing.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Kids menu needs more variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nice room. Good option in Hyde Park. Has potential to be so much better, and I remember it being so when it first opened. Drinks and menu still wintery in April. Just average food. No one in our party of 5 had anything bad, just not delicious or memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Pasta was luke warm, wine was mediocre and the noise level was high. Our server was pleasant

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Food arrived cold after a ridiculously long wait. Bizarre as we were virtually the only customers in the dining area. Waitress was great but the rest of the team clearly wanted to close up and go home. They even turned up the sound system to I suppose chase us out. All the staff had to do was courteously ask. I have no idea if it was closing time though there were multiple customers in the bar area so if it was it wasn't obvious. Net what could have been a nice experience was ruined by multiple employees not caring about the customer experience or handling things professionally. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a nice meal on Saturday evening. Food was very good. Service was just ok, our server didn't know how to set a table when replacing silverware or wine glasses. Music was so LOUD that we could barely hear each other. They turned it up about halfway into our meal and after asking to turn it down, we were ignored. Booth/bench seating is too low for the table, so opt for a table with 4 chairs instead. We were celebrating a friend's birthday, so management handed out free glasses of champaign with our dessert. Overall a good place, if you like it loud.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. My wife and dine here for dinner on our date night. The service was really good, our wait staff was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The food was cooked just right and the music that played in the background was smooth.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Loved this place and would definitely revisit! Totally enjoyed the food but the drinks were made exceptionally well also. It was a little pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was a really nice place but not a variety of food selection (especially the small plates)

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The pastas were delicious and fresh and yummy and the service was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

No parking. Rainy day. What nuisance! They need a valet. Food is just average Restaurant was empty and they still gave us a very small table. We could barely keep the wine bottle on the table. How silly. People should be comfortable when dining out. You won't be comfortable here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Friendly and lively, but the service was extremely slow. The soup was not hot, nor was any other part of the meal. The food was flavorful, but I do prefer hot food. Even the bread, which was served in an iron skillet (suggesting that it had just come from the oven) was not hot. The butter was quite good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food but a bit pricey and portions very small.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Birthday Dinner. Impeccable dinner choices. Not disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had the capaleni pasta w/ braised lamb. It was very good, but only enough to feed my 5year old daughter. Also has the catch of the day '' brezinne" Fish (probably didn't spell that right) and it was tasty but small and a little undercooked. The overall probably with A10 is that for the price, the portions are ridiculously small. I literally left and stopped at 5 guys on my way to my car.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience and great value for a special meal !
A bottle of Petalos wine with delicious fresh olives reminded us of a trip to Spain. Then we decided to share each course - the perfect way to try a kale salad , a homemade pasta, & grilled octopus. Save room for dessert ! I can't forget to mention our server, Ashley, & her sparkling personality

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went here for dinner with our granddaughter to celebrate her birthday. Our first visit, she has been here before.
The menu was limited but adequate and had some interesting items (e.g., roasted cauliflower, mushroom soup with duck confit) and the portions are sizable. Food quality was good and the presentation was very nice. The wait staff was attentive without being overly solicitous.
Overall, it was a good meal - but not a great one.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We've rarely enjoyed a restaurant more. Creative and interesting food, beautiful decor (with wall tapestries helping to keep the room quiet), professional and friendly staff, incredible cocktail menu. The whole restaurant experience had all the characteristics of an upscale restaurant, without any of the pretension. The prices were surprisingly reasonable. Just perfect. We'll be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was delicious. Ashley was OUTSTANDING with her knowledge​ of the menu and courteous service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding evening. It began with a parking space one door away! Attentive service, accommodated our seating requests immediately. Server available and and politely fulfilled requests. We felt very welcomed. For northsiders, worth the trip to Hyde Park. Food: excellent and portion size just right.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The squid fettuccine and rigatoni were tasty. However the portions were very modest.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

In a city where you can't find an open table on short notice on Saturday evening, A10 is a surprising find. The drink menu is creative but not crazy (and drinks are large), the food is not overly pretentious, and the wait staff friendly. It has a upscale feel, and pretty high prices, but none of the crowded push of the River North scene. I wouldn't travel to come to this restaurant, but if you are in Hyde Park for the evening and want a nice drink and well prepared food with local ingredients, why not?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We waited 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive, despite alerting our waitress about the delay. The food was mediocre in general, the pasta dish was terrible (dry pasta, and three mushrooms despite they being the main ingredient). We were warned not to go there by a friend, but we read good reviews from Phil Vettel (Tribune), and the person in Time Out. Perhaps they should reconsider their reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love the bar area. It's a nice location to relax and have a drink with someone over a good conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This is our third visit to A10. As usual, the server was very friendly and the food was very tasty and presented timely. Two things to note- we were there before attending theatre at the Court Theatre, but no one asked if we might be there pre-theatre (there is a discount if attending the theatre after dinner) and, after convincing us to get dessert, the item we were encouraged to try was "out" (at 6:30 dinner) with no ready substitute. Very disappointed about that.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been to A10 at least a dozen times. This time I was disappointed with my selection the osso bucco. It was dry, quite unusual for osso bucco. Otherwise it was great.

Tags: Family Style, Healthy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We've been coming to A10 since it opened and we continue to hope it will live up to its potential. Tonight we had a very good dinner and terrible service. It took 30 minutes to get a drink. When I approached the bartender and asked why we hadn't been served, he seemed surprised and said he was about to make our drinks. The staff were friendly, but totally inattentive. One item was so late in being delivered to our table that I told the waiter to forget it. After the check was finally delivered, no one came to collect it for payment. Finally I took the bill with my credit card to the nearest waiter. Even then, we waited and waited for the receipt in order to sign it. It's hard to imagine that A10 expects to be taken seriously. Very sad.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Chicago. Love that the menu changes frequently and I always LOVE whatever I eat here. Go as often as you can!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place really hits the sweet spot--excellent, imaginative food, nice ambiance
and good friendly service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Enjoyable experience , my date loved it. Staff was very accomdating

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We decided to have an early Valentine's dinner at A10, though we did not get any of the specials on that menu except the half bottle of champagne. We chose from the regular menu instead. We were favorably impressed with the food overall. The meat in my lamb dish was a bit dry, though better nearer the bone. My husband got the Chicken Piccata and it was delicious. We would try it again for a special occasion. The waitstaff were all very helpful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went to celebrate Valentine's Day and had a nice time. The food was good and the service was friendly, though they didn't bring our wine until we were halfway through the entree. We were pleasantly surprised to find that while it's an upscale restaurant, it also had a bit of a neighborhood feel -- one couple brought their baby and another their toddler (both of whom were very well behaved!). It was a comfortable setting with good food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This spot was chosen for a girls night out. The two appetizers for the table: handcut fries (looked and tasted like shoestring fries and were extra salty) with an ailoi sauce and fritto misto (fried kale with fried shrimp) which was on the special Valentines Day menu (again the kale and shrimp were extra salty) wasn't enough for 3 people to share equitably. I had the Walleye which was delicious. My friends enjoyed their entrees of campanelle (braised goat) and the A10 cheeseburger. Overall, nice ambience, but for the price and salt in Hyde Park I don't need to revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was our second visit to A10, both for occasions that brought us to Hyde Park for University of Chicago events with friends. We all had tasty meals and enjoyed everything!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Fair at best.,.pokey service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Although A10 aspires to be a top-notch foodie destination in Hyde Park, it's not quite there yet. Presentation and ambiance are competent, but not above average for the price. Entrees seemed skimpy and not fully executed. A walleye plate I tried was a trifle overcooked, oddly spiced and the homemade pasta was nothing remarkable. The desserts, which were calling cards on other reviews, were disappointing both in presentation and volume. Our cheesecake seemed to be tiny dollops of mousse. They really needed to work on the aesthetics; the plates certainly weren't worth the price. If you're going to spend $200 for a party of four (with tip and only two drinks), you should at least feel that you had an above-average culinary experience. We didn't experience that sensation and I'm still feeling that I was overcharged two days later. While I realize this is a work in progress, I hope they will step up their game and realize they're still serving a largely Hyde Park clientele. I can't imagine someone coming in from downtown and the North Side, much less the Northern Suburbs (as we did for an excellent Court theatre outing), and being satisfied. Still, I laud their imagination and innovation in presenting this fare. I think they can improve. It's certainly worth a visit in the future once they work out a few kinks.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.