About A10 Hyde Park

1462 E. 53rd Street
Chicago, IL 60615
View Larger Map

A10 is the only restaurant south of Chinatown named to Michelin’s Bib Gourmand list in 2014. Our menu has been described by the Chicago Tribune’s food critic Phil Vettel as “a little French, a little Italian and a lot of American”. He added that A10 “should drop the 0 and call the restaurant A1, because that’s how good I think it is”. Chef Matthias Merges couldn’t agree more with the Chicago Tribune, adding that the menu is "about 75 percent recognizable and 25 percent dishes you may not have tried before but you’re gonna love!"

In addition to the restaurant, A10 also offers a bar next door offering the same dining menu and a huge selection of spirits, wine and beer curated by Alex Bachman, the mastermind behind Chicago’s Billy Sunday cocktail lounge.

We’d be truly honored to welcome you to our table for your next dinner or event.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Harper Court

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 288-1010

Website:
http://www.a10hydepark.com/

Parking Details:
A parking lot is available 1 block north on Harper Court. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Matthias Merges

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Specials

Restaurant Week Menu for $33.00

Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Restaurant Week Menu for $33.00

Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Restaurant Week Menu for $33.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Restaurant Week Special available for two weeks at A10. www.a10hydepark.com. Special valid Jan 27, 2017 - Feb 9, 2017 on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

A10 Hyde Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We really enjoyed the housemade pasta an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed the housemade pasta and the seabass -will go back again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I have been to this restaurant before, h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have been to this restaurant before, have always enjoyed it, but never been wowed by it. This time however, I was blown away! The big change was in the service. We had a fantastic waiter (Dan) and everyone else, including the bus boy, was so polite, so attentive and just so professional. I live in the neighborhood and am excited to go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was above average ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The overall experience was above average. The appetizers were their fries and mussels. The fries were excellent, the sauce very tasty. The mussels were tasty, but as in most US restaurants, overcooked. I had the chicken which was also a bit overcooked and dry. My guests had the pasta which they said was very good. Service was very good. I've eaten here before and not disappointed.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ambiance is great. Service great. Meal ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Ambiance is great. Service great. Meal not so much. Four of us for dinner. Had two appetizers of red beet buckwheat salad. Bland flavor and no beets. Goat cheese with bread just so so. One person had cauliflower entree. It was a chopped head of cauliflower grilled. Very plain and no flavor. Chicken breast entree was good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Made my reservation for 6:45 pm, my part ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Made my reservation for 6:45 pm, my party on 6 arrived at 6:30 and the tNle was set and ready for us. The waitress was right there welcoming you with water and informing us of the drink specials. One iperson I. My party had not arrived yet, the waitress took our drink order and ordered our bread from the kitchen. She was very accommodating while we waited. Once the last of our party arrived we placed our order and our food come pretty quickly. Everything was beautifully presented. The thing I really loved was that we were never made to feel rushed to order, eat or leave bring a large party. The background music was a little too loud but very good. Loved the low lightning. Definitely wil be returning when I am in Chicago again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very slow service, we set over 20 minute ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Very slow service, we set over 20 minutes before someone came for our order, even after saying something to the greeter. Once waited on food was excellent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

My husband and I were visiting U of C an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My husband and I were visiting U of C and found this lovely place. Great Side Car and beer list. Also, Venison Cassolet and Goat with homemade pasta were fantastic. The Broccoli appetizer is also highly recommended. Only slight miss was the salt cod in the cod fritters could have been soaked a little longer to remove more of the salt. The texture and flavor were otherwise wonderful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fine and the food was very a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Service was fine and the food was very average, but the dessert (chocolate cake) was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Everything had hot pepper in it. Enough ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Everything had hot pepper in it. Enough already.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The service was excellent, but the food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service was excellent, but the food was mediocre. The sea bass was under seasoned; the steak was very tough; the pasta dishes were solid but the portions were small. The best thing on the table was the side of French fries. It is not worth the price tag (unless you are just getting the fries and a happy hour cocktail).

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I was amazed! Prior experiences (2 - soo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I was amazed! Prior experiences (2 - soon after opening Hyde Park venue) were mediocre at best. This visit, everything - from the welcoming greeting upon entry to seating to immediate attention from very pleasant and efficient wait staff that continued throughout the visit, to timely service and fast processing of departure (bill presentation, check out, etc.) - was exactly what is expected of a highly rated restaurant. The only disappointment was the music -- too loud and not suitable for an elegant restaurant. I chose the venue as a belated birthday treat for a friend who also had doubts about the service. The earliest reservation available was for 6p and we were going to an 8pm event at Rockefeller Chapel. However, we need not have worried - from entrance to exit, it was an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, , Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

the service was friendly, the room is at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

the service was friendly, the room is attractive but the food was not good. The special (smoked turkey wings) was inedible and they even managed to make a pasta dish that wasn't good. The menu si extremely limited. It's my third try and we went back because of an appearance on"Check Please" but all three visits convince me that I can do better at half the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Staff was excellent. Food was very good ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Staff was excellent. Food was very good as well; only thing was a pasta dish that was too al dente, but great overall and will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love to support my local eateries, but A ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Love to support my local eateries, but A10 needs to step it up. Server was great but food was slow to come. Steak was over cooked and lacking in flavor

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I was so excited to try this restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was so excited to try this restaurant since we'd moved to the Hyde Park area in February, but never had an opportunity to do so until this past Friday. I booked a 7:30 pm reservation for myself, my husband, and my best friend who was visiting from out of town. The ambiance is wonderful - the decor is beautiful and there is comfortable seating abound.

Our server started out GREAT... and that's where it sort of stopped. I think she may have been frazzled or it was understaffed that night; regardless we waited a good 40 - 45 minutes for our meal once we placed our orders. I had the rigatoni, which tasted fine. It's a huge portion, and our server suggested it. My husband ordered the cheeseburger, and he realized after it was too late that the server never asked him how he wanted it cooked. It came "medium rare", but he was so disappointed in the order that he didn't finish it. My best friend ordered the rotolo and she said it was good, but the portion was so tiny, it wasn't worth the price on the menu.

Once we'd finished the meal, it was as though we were out of sight-out of mind to the waitstaff. We had to flag someone down to get our check, and then we had to flag someone down to come pick up our card so we could pay and get home.

All in all, it was rather disappointing. I hope they can address their service issues. Food could also be improved - it was expensive for the recipes they're serving.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

My family went to A10 to celebrate my hu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My family went to A10 to celebrate my husband's birthday. The ambiance was very nice. The service was attentive and the food was excellent. A 10 is definitely a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was just okay. The waitperson w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Service was just okay. The waitperson was very nice but not very attentive, at least at first. The steak tartare and parpardelle were to die for but the salmon was medicre and the 1/2 roasted chicken was undercooked in the middle. They also got my order wrong so they had to refire and probably rushed to cook the chicken again. Wish all of the food was as good as the tartare and parpardelle. At those prices, it should be and should especially be cooked all the way. The atmosphere was great and not too too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This is a great place to take your colle ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This is a great place to take your college/grad student for a nice dinner that is above many students' budgets but not too extravagant for most parents. The food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food but a little noisy. The "sma ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great food but a little noisy. The "small plates" were quite generous. Interesting & fun cocktails. Overall a pleasant evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Menu way too weird and limited. Really ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Menu way too weird and limited. Really not at all a good choice with anyone who has digestive problems or food issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I like the improvements of this restaura ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I like the improvements of this restaurant. The east side dining area was more spacious and accommodates hanging out with friends.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very nice, food was v goo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Everything was very nice, food was v good, but portions were very small, especially for the high prices charged. For Chicago, prices seem high, and we thought value was low. Small dinner for high cost. I would only recommend with high price caveat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

After reading the reviews of all the mar ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

After reading the reviews of all the marvelous food they supposedly have, we were surprised by the very limited menu: 4 small plates, 4 entrees, and 4 pastas with one special pasta of the day. If not everything on the menu appeals to you, you're sort of stuck with what's left. What we did end up with was good to just okay. The service was very good and it's an attractive spot, but we won't be going back there anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We made reservations at A10 for our wedd ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We made reservations at A10 for our wedding anniversary. We were surprised and deeply disappointed that NONE of the menu listings in at least six clippings about A10 we had collected from Chicago's most prominent fine dining restaurant review publications were NOT on the menu. Instead, mediocre offerings of cauliflower for the evening we were there replaced ALL the advertised dishes we had read about. We will not return to this restaurant, period.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Unfortunately we had a very bad experien ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Unfortunately we had a very bad experience. Salmon was sent back TWICE because it was raw. We were charged for wine that we didn't order. Service was subpar - inattentive and disinterested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

There were some good things about he mea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

There were some good things about he meal. Our waiter was great- helpful and friendly. However, not much else went right. Our first course arrived before the drinks, and they tried twice to serve us dessert whilenwenwerenstillneating the main course. Some of the food was good, including the tomato salad and bucatini with cauliflower. But, I was served a roast chicken that was barely cooked- only thenouternlayernwasncooked, the inside was cold and raw. We also got a very undercooked lamb chop. They were nice and didn't charge for the chicken, but an attempt to provide a cooked lamb chop failed- the replacement was still raw. The place is cute, but they need to get their act together. I hope they're, because they all seemed nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The restaurant was not crowded, presumab ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The restaurant was not crowded, presumably because it was early on a Tuesday night during the summer when there are fewer students and faculty around. We had a great table by the window where we could watch the world go by. The salads, heirloom tomato and wedge, and the entrees, spaghetti and a rolled pasta, were wonderful. To top if off, we shared an enormous blackberry soft serve ice cream. Beer and wine selection were good, and the wait staff were friendly and efficient and interesting people. And A10 was across the street from our hotel, making it very convenient. We will definitely eat here again when we are next in Hyde Park.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Perhaps it was a bad night for A10, but ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Perhaps it was a bad night for A10, but neither the service nor the food seemed worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Staff is outstanding and personable. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Staff is outstanding and personable. The heirloom tomatoes were unbeatable, and the Piedmont barbecue tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday BBQ prix-fixe dinner was surprisi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Sunday BBQ prix-fixe dinner was surprisingly good and a phenomenal value at $20 for a salad with bacon deviled eggs, a huge portion of pulled pork shoulder with slaw and cornbread plus a glass of wine or cocktail. Will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyed dinner....but didn't appreciate ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Enjoyed dinner....but didn't appreciate our waitress telling us the cost for the appetizer.

We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service and interesting menu choice ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good service and interesting menu choices. Did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

This place was great! My friend recommen ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

This place was great! My friend recommended it and it was just perfect! The service was spot on. The food was very tasty, everything we ordered was seasoned and prepared to our liking! The DJ/live music was a nice surprise. We weren't quite expecting that. He was playing the right music to keep the mood happy and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have eaten at A10 on several occasion ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have eaten at A10 on several occasions. This time, the food was not as good as previously. We did not like the steak tartare preparation--the spicy mayonnaise did not work well. The spaghetti with bolognese sauce was good, but not special. The bucatini, which we have eaten before, was good. The service was attentive, and quick, but a little perfunctory. We'll go again--it's a nice restaurant for us, provided we get there early--a good place to eat in Hyde Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I had the pasta, which was chewy. The c ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I had the pasta, which was chewy. The carbonara was OK at best but runny. The egg was not mixed in with the sauce, but poached and the yolk had stirred in. My friend had a steak - definitely overdone. The cocktails were uninspired and not particularly good. Overall, I would not recommend or go back..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The service is great. My cell phone bat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The service is great. My cell phone battery was about to die. I asked my server if she could ask around for a charger and she gladly found one.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great location!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Aside from its fantastic location near two prominent theaters, A10 offers a solid wine list and delicious food. I went there on a double date there and had the spring tartine and the octopus a la plancha; the tartine was the best I ever had and the octopus was out of this world. Everyone there loved their meals. The serving staff were highly professional, very accommodating, and extremely knowledgeable of their foods and wines. I would recommend A10 to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, and the service, whil ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was good, and the service, while a bit lackadaisical on a slow Monday evening, was good as well. I do worry that some shortcuts on food quality are creeping in. I had campanelle that was supposed to include "lump crab meat" but instead had wisps of crab scattered lightly across the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very good experience in Hyde Park

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very good experience in Hyde Park

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

food very not great and the service was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2016

food very not great and the service was VERY slow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.