About A10 Hyde Park

1462 E. 53rd Street
Chicago, IL 60615
View Larger Map

A10 is the only restaurant south of Chinatown named to Michelin’s Bib Gourmand list in 2014. Our menu has been described by the Chicago Tribune’s food critic Phil Vettel as “a little French, a little Italian and a lot of American”. He added that A10 “should drop the 0 and call the restaurant A1, because that’s how good I think it is”. Chef Matthias Merges couldn’t agree more with the Chicago Tribune, adding that the menu is "about 75 percent recognizable and 25 percent dishes you may not have tried before but you’re gonna love!"

In addition to the restaurant, A10 also offers a bar next door offering the same dining menu and a huge selection of spirits, wine and beer curated by Alex Bachman, the mastermind behind Chicago’s Billy Sunday cocktail lounge.

We’d be truly honored to welcome you to our table for your next dinner or event.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Harper Court

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 288-1010

Website:
http://www.a10hydepark.com/

Parking Details:
A parking lot is available 1 block north on Harper Court. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Matthias Merges

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Weekend Brunch, Wine

A10 Hyde Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (22)
neighborhood gem (16)
special occasion (11)
See All
romantic (8)
hot spot (6)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
536 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the pasta, which was chewy. The c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had the pasta, which was chewy. The carbonara was OK at best but runny. The egg was not mixed in with the sauce, but poached and the yolk had stirred in. My friend had a steak - definitely overdone. The cocktails were uninspired and not particularly good. Overall, I would not recommend or go back..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The service is great. My cell phone bat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The service is great. My cell phone battery was about to die. I asked my server if she could ask around for a charger and she gladly found one.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great location!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Aside from its fantastic location near two prominent theaters, A10 offers a solid wine list and delicious food. I went there on a double date there and had the spring tartine and the octopus a la plancha; the tartine was the best I ever had and the octopus was out of this world. Everyone there loved their meals. The serving staff were highly professional, very accommodating, and extremely knowledgeable of their foods and wines. I would recommend A10 to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, and the service, whil ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was good, and the service, while a bit lackadaisical on a slow Monday evening, was good as well. I do worry that some shortcuts on food quality are creeping in. I had campanelle that was supposed to include "lump crab meat" but instead had wisps of crab scattered lightly across the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very good experience in Hyde Park

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very good experience in Hyde Park

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

food very not great and the service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

food very not great and the service was VERY slow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

A10 is A+

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went there for an early dinner before a performance at U of C. She had the salmon salad and I had the roast chicken. We each loved our dinners. Service was fun and friendly. Upbeat decor right on the strip for fun people watching. Next time we will save room for desert - it looked wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been there twice in two years. Decent bu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Been there twice in two years. Decent but not exceptional at anything. I expect to return but will try to sit away from loud groups of singles who dominate the center of the restaurant.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Not Happy!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Not enough menu choices, the decor was mediocre, my food arrived cold, I ordered a pitcher of the popular drink, it came out in a vase. Total disappointment!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Good for Hyde Parkers

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

For any one in Hyde Park (or outside) it is a place that is a .good. restaurant. The kind of place I like to eat out, where it is a little upscale, a little fancy, somewhere you can take someone important, yet not intimidatingly formal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best place in Hyde Park if ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

This is the best place in Hyde Park if you would like to go out for dinner to celebrate a special occasion. The food is very tasty and special enough to change from more common dinner entrees and starters. I can also recommend the cocktails and the wine selection is quite good as well. My personal favorite is the grilled octopus.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Portion sizes are small for the price. D ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Portion sizes are small for the price. Dessert descriptions don't match well. I ordered a strawberry ice cream dessert described with crumble topping and there were bacon bits in it. I am a vegetarian so I didn't eat it.

This was my 2nd time going. Un the future I would go only for drinks and maybe a starter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

All the courses were delicious the one c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

All the courses were delicious the one complaint we had was the potato was served cold.

Otherwise good experience, pleasant and attentive waiter. Wine was fine and at a reasonable

price.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

food arrived cold after 90 minutes

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Service was very slow - I don't think it was our servers fault. The kitchen was very slow - even though the restaurant was not crowded. We were there for over 90 minutes before we received our entrees. Our enrees were fairly cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Poor service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We dined at A10 for my husband's birthday and it was a disappointing experience. The service was terrible. It took far too long to merely get a cocktail. It is understandable if the restaurant is busy but it was not. It had more open tables than full tables. Our food was delayed which I was also able to overlook as I understand that the kitchen can get behind. It took forever to get a dessert menu. At that point we opted to skip dessert because it also took forever for the waiter to return to take our order. Will never return. Will never recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Excellent attention to allergies

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I have a severe gluten allergy, and the staff at A10 were really helpful. They listened carefully

and helped me pick the right options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Do not serve brunch anymore!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We drove to Hyde Park for brunch because I had read great reviews. When we arrived, learned that they no longer serve brunch. Lunch menus consisted of 6 sandwiches...

We decided to stay and shared a BLT. It was good, due largely to the decadent toasted brioche bread. Server meant well, and was friendly but asked a lot of 'odd' questions...

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Normally love this place but both pastas ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Normally love this place but both pastas were way over salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Total Rip Off

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I have never felt so ripped off. We went today for their special Easter brunch. It was a $35 per person prix fixe menu, which got you a small plate of dry and tasteless breads, and one entree with no side dishes and lukewarm coffee. That's it. The food was mediocre, and it was so vastly overpriced I felt like a total chump paying it. We complained, and they brought us a free mimosa, but that was after we already paid $12 for the first tiny and tart mimosa. I will never ever go back. For our party of four I paid over $200, and left to go find some lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not my definition of Brunch...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband I and went to A-10 for brunch on Easter. We wanted to go to a location that was close to home with a quite vibe. A-10 fits that description, however, what they call "brunch" was just an overpriced sweets plate with coffee and and entree. My husband had the french toast, plus a side of eggs and bacon. That alone cost $50. I had shrimp and grits, which came out cold and had to be sent back. When it came back, the grits were warm but the shrimp were burnt on one side. Including 2 mimosas, out bill was $115, not including tip. I really want to like this restaurant, but they are so overpriced for what they serve its ridiculous. Moreover, the service is just mediocre. This was our 2nd time visiting. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent food - Pretty good service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a very nice meal. As vegetarians we were not disappointed by our options - there were more menu choices than things we could eat. We ordered a combination of small plates, "for the table" selections, pasta main plates, and dessert. I would have preferred that it did not come out all at once, or that we be asked our preference. That being said, everything we delicious and we would certainly return. We had an early evening reservation so we could attend a show at U of C and had no problem with timing.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unfortunate choice

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was overpresented and not done well. Overall balance in taste, substance, cooking was 'off'. It was a very disappointing dinner. The people were lovely but the food selection was poor. Trying to be something they couldn't back up with the actual food.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

so so

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Must have more vegetarian and vegan options. Chef left before we can order our dessert. Cocktails delicious. Ambiance perfect. Need to work on variety on menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I am not loving the new menu.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I get that they have to put more attainable options for the people who are not foodies but they completely dumbed it down. To extreme and it was so hard to find something I liked. Come on guys, give another try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

meh

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We found this experience disappointing. The reputation was very high so we expected a lot. Drinks and appetizers were excellent, and the ambiance was very agreeable. But entrees were average in flavor and imagination. One person's order was mistaken and it took a long time for the right dish to be brought. We want to support great dining in Hyde Park, but A10 needs to keep up its end of the bargain.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Came for dinner on Valentine's Day and a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Came for dinner on Valentine's Day and absolutely loved the meal and wine pairings. My only complaint is that the service model is very strange...no fewer than 5 people served us throughout the night. All were very kind and hospitable but it really hindered the pace of our meal. Overall, I'd highly recommend A10, especially when specialty menus are available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The staff engaged us at every moment wit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The staff engaged us at every moment with outstanding service. The menu selections were outstanding. The price for a 3-course meal was a bit high for Hyde Park but my spouse thoroughly enjoyed the total experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a server who was not great. When ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a server who was not great. When our salad was delivered to a wrong table, rather than have another made for us, she went to that table and without explanation removed it and then gave it to us. She openly questioned why another staff member had done something (he's brought me a glass of wine I'd asked him for), and when the manager came over to explain that my meal would be slightly delayed because of a kitchen error, she came to our table after he left and asked me why he had been at our table rather than asking him. Finally, and this is a perve, when I thanked her for pouring me an additional glass if water, she responded "No problem." As a server, the response should really always be "it's my pleasure" or something similar as serving customers is what the job is and it shouldn't be even barely suggested it might have been a problem.

This was the third time we'd been to A10 and two of the three times the service, while not horrible, fell subtly short of being truly professional. While the food is always quite good, the restaurant could really stand to better train its wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We love A10. This was a great brunch exp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We love A10. This was a great brunch experience and we brought new diners, who also loved it. It did not start out well as the hostess was not friendly, bordering on rude. Beyond that we had a great meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

How I found paper in my dessert

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Good looking place. Nice service. Excellent salad and Oxtail focaccia too much bread and baked clam had way too much breading

Then I found a piece of paper baked into the bread pudding...they comped the dessert but it really took away from the whole experience

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Very Dissapointed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

The appetizers were a major disappointment. We ordered four: three were very small and terrible, and the fourth came after the main course arrived. The server asked us 50 times over the course of 5 minutes if we were ready to order. Despite assuring us there was no hurry, we all felt pressed to move things along. (The restaurant was only half full - I don't know why they were in such a hurry to get us out.) The main course dishes were good, as was the beer. Overall, it was a terrible experience, and we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Terrible restaurant, noisy, expensive, bad food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

If you are eager to go to noisy place, pay lots of money for a medium-quality food (and by the way, tiny amount of food per plate), scream to try to get listened by your companions, I totally recommend A10. Never coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Overall a disappointing dinner experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

An iffy start when we pulled up in front for valet service but there was no attendant to be found. After 5 minutes the hostess finally stepped out from the restaurant and offered to take our keys and have the car parked when he returned.

We were seated promptly and enjoyed the vibrant atmosphere. We ordered an appetizer and a salad, both to share, and each ordered a pasta entre. First the salad arrived, rather than the appetizer. We sent it back as we had requested the salad to be served first. A few minutes later the appetizer did arrive; beef tartar which was top quality and quite delicious. After finishing the appetizer the salad was served, a caesar style with a warm bacon dressing. While the ingredients were again top quality, the dressing was quite bland with no acidic taste at all. Our pastas were served, again quality ingredients, but the chef needs to locate his spice and herb rack. My Bolognese sauce was again bland, almost tasteless, with no trace of garlic or onion and badly in need of salt. My wife's alfredo style cream sauce was similarly bland. When we asked for grated parmesan to add a little flavor to each pasta, it was a 10 minute wait as the waiter said they couldn't locate a small cup to serve it in. I have never been to a restaurant that features pastas on the menu and didn't offer grated cheese as a matter of course. To his credit, the waiter did recommend a wine which was quite good.

Upon leaving to make a performance at the Court Theatre, again, no trace of the valet and 4 people waiting for cars, all trying to make the theatre. The one and only attendant finally appeared and ran back to the lot, which must be at least a block away, to get each car. All in all a 20 minute wait for our car and almost missed the curtain time. A10 advertises on the Court Theatre website and also advertises valet service. If you are going to promote that, you need adequate valet attendants, not a one man show to be overwhelmed by theatre goers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Decent meal, not worth the trip

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We came as a party of seven during restaurant week, although only one of us took advantage of the restaurant week menu. Service was friendly and generally well-paced. Overall flavors were not exceptional as we expected them to be and some dishes did go unfinished. A10 seems like a nice restaurant for the area but we would not travel from the north side to visit again.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A10 needs to sharpen its attention to details

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We were not enthusiastic. Our server forgot to place our entrée order with the result that dinner took three hours! When he finally brought our entrees, the roast chicken had little or no seasoning, was flavorless, and was undercooked (my wife barely touched hers, and when our server picked up the plate he never inquired about our satisfaction). However, shrimp soup, salad, and chocolate ice cream were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Our Favorite Restaurant

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

A10 is my wife and I's go to date spot. The food, drinks, service, and ambiance are all excellent. We particularly like their wine, homemade pasta, and desserts.

One of our favorite aspects of A10 is that the service is attentive but deliberately slow paced. They do not rush you through the meal at all. Instead, they give you a lot of time to enjoy the meal and your company.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A10 does not dissapoint.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Perfect everything--wonderful service. All four of us ordered different items and we all were happy with our selections. I've eaten here 3 times and every time has been great. Wonderful food, casual atmosphere, unpretentious and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience from ambie ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

A wonderful dining experience from ambience to food to service!! Wish A-10 were in Lincoln Park--- would be my new fave local restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the second time eating there the foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

For the second time eating there the food is very salty. The servings of pasta are quite small. The desert chocolate icecream was rather bland and watery. The waiters are constantly in a rush to clear your plate even if othe people at the table haven't finished their course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

New chef and new menu at A10

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I loved my previous visits to A10 and looked forward to more poutine, etc. I was disappointed to see an entirely new menu--because of a new chef, according to our server--without my old favorites. The new menu is Italian, well executed but not innovative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.