Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

A10 Hyde Park

4.0
708 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French / American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Business Meals
  • Creative Cuisine
A10 is the only restaurant South of Chinatown named to Michelin’s Bib Gourmand list in 2014. Our menu has been described by the Chicago Tribune’s food critic Phil Vettel as “a little French, a little Italian and a lot of American”. He added that A10 “should drop the 0 and call the restaurant A1, because that’s how good I think it is”. Chef Matthias Merges couldn’t agree more with the Chicago Tribune, adding that the menu is "about 75 percent recognizable and 25 percent dishes you may not have tried before but you’re gonna love!"

We’d be truly honored to welcome you to our table for your next dinner or event.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French / American, Italian, French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(773) 288-1010
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matthias Merges
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
53rd & Harper
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
A parking lot is available 1 block north on Harper Court. Street parking is also available.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Wine
What 708 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
72% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 7 days ago

Food thrown together and unappetizing

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

When we arrived we were seated right away. After a few moments of getting settled in, we were greeted by our server and were informed that the menu had recently been revised to reflect the seasonal offerings. While deciding on our selections we never felt rushed and our server was very pleasant. Their wine selections were very good, as well as their offerings of in-house cocktails. We ordered a variety of menu options in order to get a true sense of the chef's abilities and we weren't disappointed. I recommend having an appetizer, a salad, a pasta and an entree which is how the menu should be experienced, much like they do in Italy. An after dinner digestivo before coffee and dessert will leave you quite satiated. This is a fantastic upscale restaurant and I'm looking forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Overall, the experience was moderate. What disappointed me the most was that the reservation was never acknowledged. We specifically told the hostess that we booked a reservation, but she seated us without asking to confirm it. There were notes on the reservation that we were celebrating our anniversary, which were therefore never carried over to the hostess. We actually had our first date at A10, which is why we chose to go back for our anniversary. We live in Lakeview, on the opposite side of the city.

The ambiance in the restaurant is great. The decor, the music, the lighting, it all makes for a great dining experience. The service was moderate. Our server was friendly, but also low energy, so I can't rate the service higher than average. She didn't discuss any of the menu items in great detail or provide recommendations, which would have enhanced the experience (and ultimately would have led to a higher check too). Food quality is definitely very good, certainly higher than average, but also nothing mind-blowing to write home about.

I think the restaurant is a great addition to the Hyde Park neighborhood, but the overall guest experience could be improved upon if I were to consider returning.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

food was ok. but my steak had a lot of cartilage and fat. portions small. barely any goat cheese on the goat cheese salad. poor selection of drinks. also the seating was strangely arranged and uncomfortable. the waitstaff was was dressed poorly street clothes, one chick I could see her underwear everytime she picked food up.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Food was very cold and not fresh.

The room was also very chilly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Food was delicious and well-presented. Server was attentive but not overbearing. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Date night!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

This was my first time dining here. We ordered the Brussel Sprouts for an appetizer. They were tasty and liked by all. Three out of four of us ordered the cheeseburger and we all thought it was very well cooked and tasty. Overall we enjoyed the food and the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Didn't stay. Had reservations but couldn't partake of Happy Hour so we decided to sit at the bar. Was given drink specials for Happy Hour, we made our decision but was then told shipment didn't come in so only one drink was available. Food items weren't made to sound appealing so we left. Thanks for the water.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The fresh pasta dishes are highly recommended. There was a good selection of wines by the glass. The desserts were also innovative and there was an interesting selection of after dinner drinks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Amazing food, amazing service. A friend and I are both culinary students, and we were thoroughly impressed with our meal. We tasted 7 dishes from the menu, but we think everything would have been more than delicious. The focaccia is an absolute MUST to start with. And of course, save room for dessert 😉

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

It shouldn't be as easy to get a same-day Saturday reservation at A10 as it is. Hyde Park is often overlooked, so if A10 would be packed if it was anywhere on the north side.

We were really impressed by everything from the asthetics to the service to the food. Highlights were one of the best takes on a Manhatten I've had in a long time, perfectly prepared Brussels sprouts, and an amazing sweet brioche dessert.

We'll definitely be coming back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Would not go there again. They were out of many things and didn’t apologize. We ordered two different bottles of wine they were out of, a type of beer on the menu too and they wouldn’t give us a compromable item for the Same price. This was Friday of at Patrick’s Day and they should have been prepared. Carrots were burnt. And they were out of several types of tea too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

This is an awesome spot and is highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 22, 2018

A-10 is a restaurant that would not return, their food was in an intermediate level, nothing special and also expensive ...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Service was fantastic, the food was hit or miss. We arrived at 5:00 and needed to leave by 6:45 for a movie in the area. It felt like the kitchen was not ready for the first diners of the evening. One entree was served cold and the other could have been hotter. Our waitress was doing everything she could to make it better. I don't mind paying top prices for a great dining experience but A10 did not deliver this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Wonderful evening for our party of eight, visiting our UChicago son with his friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

The food was good and well presented, but nearly every pasta dish had dairy. I would have preferred to have more choice though the waitress was very helpful in guiding me with my final food choice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

A10, a Hyde Park staple delivers. Good cocktails and a great beer/wine list. Try the mussels. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Sorry, but do not waste your time....went for Valentine’s Day and the food was bad. The menu is limited in the food area. Signature drinks were fair. It looks as though they had a rather large wine list. ( I am not a wine person.)
I had the New York strip, the only steak on the menu and it was pretty fatty. At least trim the fat off of the steak. Don’t serve an excessively fatty steak! The steak was uneventful and excessively fatty.
The starters were the lamb meatballs and the house bread...Yes, the house bread, with a different name (so they can charge)was on the menu. Please A10 see it expedient to serve your customers bread in the beginning. Non gratis.
The lamb meatball were ok. We had some left over, if that can tell the story. Over all....don’t waste your time.
Peace

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great job. Great ambiance, great server, creative cuisine.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Terrible service. The food took over an hour. Taste not great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 9, 2018

The place is over all good, we will go there again for business dinners.
The quality of food was fair, for a mixed French\Italian cuisine, I am Italian.
It's a pity all waiters were not that talented, all the service was a bit clumsy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

My sisters were in town and wanted a healthy-ish, nice dinner. Reservation went smoothly. Service was not good. Both the hostest and server yawned widely while speaking to us. Server pushed getting a bottle over glasses, only to tell us the two bottles we wanted were unavailable. Food was mediocre. Empty wine glasses before entrees arrived but our server was missing throughout appetizers and entrees (delivered by runners) so we were unable to order more wine. 200 dollars later, we went to a liquor store to buy more wine and ate a snack when we got home. I’ve been to A10 a few times in the past year and it’s been disappointing every time. Probably won’t return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Since I have only been in Hyde Park a short period of time, I try to go out and try restaurants in the area. The menu looked good so my friend and I decided to go. The service was great! The food was amazing! The housemade cocktail was to die for!! We were a little disappointed in the dessert selection, but overall, it was a wonderful dining experience for the both of us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2018

A bunch of us met for a surprise birthday dinner. Everyone woking at A10 were super accommodating.

Thomas made amazing drinks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Good solid food, well presented. It wasn't as adventurous as I remember it from previous years. Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. Very small portions - could be good or bad depends on what you're looking for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 3, 2017

Prompt service.... Food was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Great food, excellent service. .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

The cocktails were very good. The red fish entree is highly recommended.

Great place

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 16, 2017

Our food was poor. Place too noisy. Not returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2017

overall good experience. drinks were expensive. the n.y. strip steak was great except not enough. left still feeling hungry. would rather pay more for a 20 oz. and leave full.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2017

The restaurant was good and the waitress was very friendly. Food was pretty good, but the desert was horrible. Italian Tiramisu.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 4, 2017

What a disappointment. I recommended
A10 to friends for pre-theatre dinner. The service was very poor. The food mediocre. And the noise in the restaurant makes it impossible to have a conversation. I was embarrassed as it had been my suggestion we go there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Enjoyed a dinner with a group of 10. The staff was attentive and friendly. They made sure our orders were correct and let us know when wines were not available. The food is good, only a couple of minor negatives, e.g. salty ragu, and olives with pits cooked with cheese. Great place for larger groups.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 20, 2017

The decor and ambiance was very inviting and the service was exceptional. Lively comfortable bar area. Very attentive and polite staff from beginning to end. Comfortable seating and well lit dining area. The food was acceptable but not great for the price points and the menu is quite limited in choices. A very noisy experience which made conversation a challenge even at close quarters. Could use some strategically placed sound attenuation to suppress the background noise. Will try their Sunday Brunch if they have one.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 15, 2017

Service was below average for the price. Slow on drinks. Food was to eclectic. Same smoked salmon used on various dishes and it was just average at best

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was good quality and the service friendly although a bit disjointed. Nice wine list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 13, 2017

A great evening all around. Service was good, a little eager,but a great experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18

Tweets by A10 Hyde Park