Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About A10 Hyde Park

A10 is the only restaurant south of Chinatown named to Michelin’s Bib Gourmand list in 2014. Our menu has been described by the Chicago Tribune’s food critic Phil Vettel as “a little French, a little Italian and a lot of American”. He added that A10 “should drop the 0 and call the restaurant A1, because that’s how good I think it is”. Chef Matthias Merges couldn’t agree more with the Chicago Tribune, adding that the menu is "about 75 percent recognizable and 25 percent dishes you may not have tried before but you’re gonna love!"

We’d be truly honored to welcome you to our table for your next dinner or event.

1462 E. 53rd Street
Chicago, IL 60615
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian, French

Hours of Operation:


Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
53rd & Harper

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 288-1010

Website:
http://www.a10hydepark.com/

Parking Details:
A parking lot is available 1 block north on Harper Court. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Matthias Merges

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

A10 Hyde Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Casual (10)
See All
Seasonal (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
People Watching (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Cozy (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Romantic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 9 hours ago

HVAC problems in dining room. Too warm and humid. Cool and nice in bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The good - Spinach salad was delicious and they make their own tonic for their gin and tonic. The wine they suggested as a pairing for my pasta was spot-on.

The bad - Spinach salad was listed as a "Small plate" it was a meal size salad - would have changed my order had I known that. The foccacia bread appetizer came out served in a cast iron pan, but was not warm. Also no instructions on how to eat it.

The ugly - the host seemed at best, non-plussed that I was there. I was seated without assistance and had trouble getting into the booth. First impression was poor and little was done to improve on it. My table wobbled and immediately my water spilled (due to the table wobble). Every time I did something that wobbled the table (such as cutting the cold focaccia bread with the steak knife I was given to do so) my water spilled.

There are other options to eat in this neighborhood. I suggest you look to those if you are looking to have a special meal out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

One of the best meals we have had in a long time. Excellent Manhattan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Very good food, an outstanding woman server. It was for a birthday and she made it special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was very good, although the pasta bolognese was salty. Chicken Piccata portion was huge & warm Spinach salad was yummy. Service could use some work. Although we asked for a table in the dining room, the hostess sat us in the bar area even though throughout the evening the dining room had several empty tables. Small but very nice menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our meal met our expectations, the service was attentive but not overbearing (waitress was awesome!), and the decor was pleasant and interesting. We were very pleased with our dining experience. It made our trip from downtown well worth while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Always a delight. A10 never disappoints, and is great at accommodating varying diets and food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was a bit salty but tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great outdoor space. Flavors were okay, but we were expecting outstanding. The restaurant features a vegetable each week through the summer; we'll be back for a seond chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food is interesting and quite good - for example, a very nice take on pasta carbonara - but it is a bit overpriced for what you get. We ordered a tasty cauliflower "entree," but, at $19, the markup is kind of obscene for a plate that probably costs under a couple of bucks to prepare. I also think it would help if they served a salad with their dinners, or, at a minimum, provided bread, instead of trying to get you to pony up for a "small plate" of focaccia (at @$9.00). I get that it isn't easy to make a go of it in Hyde Park, but a price point and some amenities that will make repeat business likelier will prove a better gambit than soaking one-time diners. Oh, and the wonderful desserts almost stole the show! Despite my reservations, I truly hope this unique, thoughtful eatery makes it. Hyde Park needs it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Had another great experience at A10-- this time on a Saturday night sitting outside. Service was wonderful, excellent spinach salad, homemade pasta and steak special. People watching in Hyde Park can't be beat. Even the giant Kilwin's cow came and hung out on the corner for a while. Great fun and great food. Thanks A10!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, People Watching, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Service was friendly and prompt.

The appetizers were pretty good. The olives are excellent. Foccacia bread was good but nothing that special. French fries but the aioli very tasty.

The octopus dish was excellent and probably the best thing on the menu. The Porkchop was too salty. The rigatoni with Bolognese sauce was also excellent but the Bucatini was not very good. Would agree with previous reviews that the pasta dishes were a bit small for the price. I would still highly recommend the octopus dish.

For dessert we have the softserve shortcake.
This was just average.

No valet. No drink refills. Just FYI.

Parking is a bit tricky but there is a multi level parking lot at Harper Square that is very close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Pricey, small portions, nothing included (bread, salad, soup), dessert was nothing more than Dairy Queen ice cream with a piece of cake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

A10 is doing its Tour the Garden dinners again. Each Wednesday features another theme vegetable or fruit with four courses built around it. The food is creative and delicious. We also love the optional wine pairings with each course!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The available menu for Wednesday nights has very little option for large groups. Very disappointed in the choices, as well as not being notified of the limit of options when reservation was placed. Potential customers should be notified while calling to place the reservation. The food, once received, and after a very long wait, and while not busy, tasted decent but nothing special.
The server forgot multiple items and requests, and she seemed irritated when she had to be reminded of the requests. Service like that is the reason people do not return.
I would not recommend A10 for any reason, nor would I return if I have the choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A10 was amazing! Our waitress gave us some great recommendations on food and drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent service and drinks. Entree (carbonara) was good but not great. That said, definitely coming back. Great ambience and perfect for a date or special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great environment with creative, fusion dishes. Would recommend for date nights and special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The restaurant was memorable in appearance and those sitting near the windows had a great people watching experience (a brew fair was going on around the corner). The service was good and we liked the pasta dishes and broccoli salad -- original, excellent ingredients, fine housemade pasta. Portions seemed small given the prices. The dessert special, described as a peach cobbler pie, was a disappointment. Made of tasteless apples and some random peach slices, the crust was sodden and heavy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I love the Hyde Park area because it's easy. There's no hassle of downtown traffic or parking. A10 is an easy place to visit. The service is fair and the food is the same. The quality of the food has declined. I was very disappointed at this visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Scallops pasta was creative, but under-spicy for my taste. I really loved the Justice of The Pies dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Healthy, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I wanted and expected to love this place. The menu is ambitious and creative, but the execution was so-so. Fresh pasta was too thin and overcooked. The plates are described to be shared, but I don't see how we would have done that easily. The focaccia was outstanding.
A member of my party ordered salmon. She wasn't asked about how cooked she wanted it, and it arrived quite rare, seared more than cooked. She sent it back and they graciously prepared and served her a fresh piece. It too was underdone and the server should have checked back right away. When she finally did check back, my friend was done trying and declined to order anything else. They comped us two desserts, but they left the salmon on the final bill. We would not go back and cannot recommend it. Sadly, though 'cause it has a cool vibe. I just can't say that you're sure to get a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Stayed 15 minutes with no server. Left when we saw almost nobody had been served. Seemed understaffed. On a Tuesday at 8pm, for what it's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was great at A10 with the exception of a misunderstanding with my reservation.
I will definitely go again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed our appetizers of smoked fish on toast and marinated olives. The entrees ranged from good (pork chop, scallop tortallini) to bad (sausage cannalonni). Good wine and beer list. Chocolate creme for dessert drew a "worst dessert ever" from one of our diners, so the restaurant comped an after dinner drink for us.

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and server was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very small $20 pasta entrees-appetizer size-won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great Service from Caitlin!!! Food was great!! Perfect ambiance for a relaxed meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I found this restaurant on OpenTable. I was very delighted with my dining experience. The service was great and fast. The food was also very good. And I drink one of the best bloody Mary's I've had a long time. I definitely will be returning

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was so excited to try out this restaurant based on their reviews. I made a reservation on Easter Sunday. My overall experience was not very pleasing. Upon walking in, the restaurant was dead/not busy. I was not greeted nor shown to my table. 👎🏼The hostess showed me where my table was bc my other party arrived 5 minutes early and was already seated! Then, I waited like 10 minutes until my server arrived, again, the restaurant was still dead at 12pm on Easter Sunday. My server made us feel as if we inconvenience her for showing up. She was not authentic, geniune, nor attentive. She did not even run thru their specials/hot items knowing this was our first visit. Anyway, I was excited to try the chicken & waffles. To my surprise, the meal was so bland and not good at all. I was extremely disappointed and ate less than half of my food. My server clearly did not care what thought of the food bc she never ask. I did not even want to take my leftover bc I wanted no trace/memory of this experience nor food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I made a reservation and yet, it look > 45 minutes to be seated. We were left languishing at the bar for nearly an hour and weren't seated at our table even though several empty tables were visible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Academic meeting

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A10 was a tasty night out, but was definitely not French/Italian. They had some good pastas, several all-American entrees (grilled salmon, burger, etc.), but nothing French. The desserts were minimal. The service was friendly and good, and the fries were amazing.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Kids menu needs more variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Nice room. Good option in Hyde Park. Has potential to be so much better, and I remember it being so when it first opened. Drinks and menu still wintery in April. Just average food. No one in our party of 5 had anything bad, just not delicious or memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Pasta was luke warm, wine was mediocre and the noise level was high. Our server was pleasant

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food arrived cold after a ridiculously long wait. Bizarre as we were virtually the only customers in the dining area. Waitress was great but the rest of the team clearly wanted to close up and go home. They even turned up the sound system to I suppose chase us out. All the staff had to do was courteously ask. I have no idea if it was closing time though there were multiple customers in the bar area so if it was it wasn't obvious. Net what could have been a nice experience was ruined by multiple employees not caring about the customer experience or handling things professionally. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a nice meal on Saturday evening. Food was very good. Service was just ok, our server didn't know how to set a table when replacing silverware or wine glasses. Music was so LOUD that we could barely hear each other. They turned it up about halfway into our meal and after asking to turn it down, we were ignored. Booth/bench seating is too low for the table, so opt for a table with 4 chairs instead. We were celebrating a friend's birthday, so management handed out free glasses of champaign with our dessert. Overall a good place, if you like it loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Have to say a bit disappointing. Everything good, nothing negative, but nothing particularly special and did not meet expectations. We are rarely in Hyde Park and we were looking forward to finding a place that would be a draw from our Lakeview home.

Too many as good or better places closer to home to make a special trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. My wife and dine here for dinner on our date night. The service was really good, our wait staff was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The food was cooked just right and the music that played in the background was smooth.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Loved this place and would definitely revisit! Totally enjoyed the food but the drinks were made exceptionally well also. It was a little pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.