About A10 Hyde Park

1462 E. 53rd Street
Chicago, IL 60615
View Larger Map

A10 is the only restaurant south of Chinatown named to Michelin’s Bib Gourmand list in 2014. Our menu has been described by the Chicago Tribune’s food critic Phil Vettel as “a little French, a little Italian and a lot of American”. He added that A10 “should drop the 0 and call the restaurant A1, because that’s how good I think it is”. Chef Matthias Merges couldn’t agree more with the Chicago Tribune, adding that the menu is "about 75 percent recognizable and 25 percent dishes you may not have tried before but you’re gonna love!"

In addition to the restaurant, A10 also offers a bar next door offering the same dining menu and a huge selection of spirits, wine and beer curated by Alex Bachman, the mastermind behind Chicago’s Billy Sunday cocktail lounge.

We’d be truly honored to welcome you to our table for your next dinner or event.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Harper Court

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 288-1010

Website:
http://www.a10hydepark.com/

Parking Details:
A parking lot is available 1 block north on Harper Court. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Matthias Merges

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

A10 Hyde Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There were some good things about he mea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

There were some good things about he meal. Our waiter was great- helpful and friendly. However, not much else went right. Our first course arrived before the drinks, and they tried twice to serve us dessert whilenwenwerenstillneating the main course. Some of the food was good, including the tomato salad and bucatini with cauliflower. But, I was served a roast chicken that was barely cooked- only thenouternlayernwasncooked, the inside was cold and raw. We also got a very undercooked lamb chop. They were nice and didn't charge for the chicken, but an attempt to provide a cooked lamb chop failed- the replacement was still raw. The place is cute, but they need to get their act together. I hope they're, because they all seemed nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The restaurant was not crowded, presumab ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant was not crowded, presumably because it was early on a Tuesday night during the summer when there are fewer students and faculty around. We had a great table by the window where we could watch the world go by. The salads, heirloom tomato and wedge, and the entrees, spaghetti and a rolled pasta, were wonderful. To top if off, we shared an enormous blackberry soft serve ice cream. Beer and wine selection were good, and the wait staff were friendly and efficient and interesting people. And A10 was across the street from our hotel, making it very convenient. We will definitely eat here again when we are next in Hyde Park.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Perhaps it was a bad night for A10, but ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Perhaps it was a bad night for A10, but neither the service nor the food seemed worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Staff is outstanding and personable. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Staff is outstanding and personable. The heirloom tomatoes were unbeatable, and the Piedmont barbecue tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday BBQ prix-fixe dinner was surprisi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Sunday BBQ prix-fixe dinner was surprisingly good and a phenomenal value at $20 for a salad with bacon deviled eggs, a huge portion of pulled pork shoulder with slaw and cornbread plus a glass of wine or cocktail. Will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good service and interesting menu choice ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good service and interesting menu choices. Did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Enjoyed dinner....but didn't appreciate ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Enjoyed dinner....but didn't appreciate our waitress telling us the cost for the appetizer.

We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was great! My friend recommen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This place was great! My friend recommended it and it was just perfect! The service was spot on. The food was very tasty, everything we ordered was seasoned and prepared to our liking! The DJ/live music was a nice surprise. We weren't quite expecting that. He was playing the right music to keep the mood happy and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have eaten at A10 on several occasion ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have eaten at A10 on several occasions. This time, the food was not as good as previously. We did not like the steak tartare preparation--the spicy mayonnaise did not work well. The spaghetti with bolognese sauce was good, but not special. The bucatini, which we have eaten before, was good. The service was attentive, and quick, but a little perfunctory. We'll go again--it's a nice restaurant for us, provided we get there early--a good place to eat in Hyde Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I had the pasta, which was chewy. The c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I had the pasta, which was chewy. The carbonara was OK at best but runny. The egg was not mixed in with the sauce, but poached and the yolk had stirred in. My friend had a steak - definitely overdone. The cocktails were uninspired and not particularly good. Overall, I would not recommend or go back..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The service is great. My cell phone bat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The service is great. My cell phone battery was about to die. I asked my server if she could ask around for a charger and she gladly found one.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great location!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Aside from its fantastic location near two prominent theaters, A10 offers a solid wine list and delicious food. I went there on a double date there and had the spring tartine and the octopus a la plancha; the tartine was the best I ever had and the octopus was out of this world. Everyone there loved their meals. The serving staff were highly professional, very accommodating, and extremely knowledgeable of their foods and wines. I would recommend A10 to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, and the service, whil ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was good, and the service, while a bit lackadaisical on a slow Monday evening, was good as well. I do worry that some shortcuts on food quality are creeping in. I had campanelle that was supposed to include "lump crab meat" but instead had wisps of crab scattered lightly across the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very good experience in Hyde Park

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very good experience in Hyde Park

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

food very not great and the service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

food very not great and the service was VERY slow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

A10 is A+

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went there for an early dinner before a performance at U of C. She had the salmon salad and I had the roast chicken. We each loved our dinners. Service was fun and friendly. Upbeat decor right on the strip for fun people watching. Next time we will save room for desert - it looked wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been there twice in two years. Decent bu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Been there twice in two years. Decent but not exceptional at anything. I expect to return but will try to sit away from loud groups of singles who dominate the center of the restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Not Happy!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Not enough menu choices, the decor was mediocre, my food arrived cold, I ordered a pitcher of the popular drink, it came out in a vase. Total disappointment!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Good for Hyde Parkers

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

For any one in Hyde Park (or outside) it is a place that is a .good. restaurant. The kind of place I like to eat out, where it is a little upscale, a little fancy, somewhere you can take someone important, yet not intimidatingly formal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best place in Hyde Park if ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

This is the best place in Hyde Park if you would like to go out for dinner to celebrate a special occasion. The food is very tasty and special enough to change from more common dinner entrees and starters. I can also recommend the cocktails and the wine selection is quite good as well. My personal favorite is the grilled octopus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Portion sizes are small for the price. D ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Portion sizes are small for the price. Dessert descriptions don't match well. I ordered a strawberry ice cream dessert described with crumble topping and there were bacon bits in it. I am a vegetarian so I didn't eat it.

This was my 2nd time going. Un the future I would go only for drinks and maybe a starter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Honestly, I was not impressed. I realize ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Honestly, I was not impressed. I realize Hyde Park is a college community, but our server was pretty clueless. There were three of us and we shared a couple of appetizers, and two of us shared a salad and entree. We used our appetizer plates because our server didn't bring fresh plates for us to dish out our salads or entree when it arrived. I would have asked for new plates, but the food was dropped and she ran away so fast, I didn't have a chance. The food was over thought and the mushroom pasta rollatini we had was terrible. No flavor. No salt. The beet salad was OK. Was missing something. We had the bread pudding for dessert and it was dry. It was close to the hotel my colleagues were staying at, so that was about the only bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

All the courses were delicious the one c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

All the courses were delicious the one complaint we had was the potato was served cold.

Otherwise good experience, pleasant and attentive waiter. Wine was fine and at a reasonable

price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

food arrived cold after 90 minutes

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Service was very slow - I don't think it was our servers fault. The kitchen was very slow - even though the restaurant was not crowded. We were there for over 90 minutes before we received our entrees. Our enrees were fairly cold.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Poor service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We dined at A10 for my husband's birthday and it was a disappointing experience. The service was terrible. It took far too long to merely get a cocktail. It is understandable if the restaurant is busy but it was not. It had more open tables than full tables. Our food was delayed which I was also able to overlook as I understand that the kitchen can get behind. It took forever to get a dessert menu. At that point we opted to skip dessert because it also took forever for the waiter to return to take our order. Will never return. Will never recommend.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Excellent attention to allergies

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I have a severe gluten allergy, and the staff at A10 were really helpful. They listened carefully

and helped me pick the right options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Do not serve brunch anymore!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We drove to Hyde Park for brunch because I had read great reviews. When we arrived, learned that they no longer serve brunch. Lunch menus consisted of 6 sandwiches...

We decided to stay and shared a BLT. It was good, due largely to the decadent toasted brioche bread. Server meant well, and was friendly but asked a lot of 'odd' questions...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Normally love this place but both pastas ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Normally love this place but both pastas were way over salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Total Rip Off

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I have never felt so ripped off. We went today for their special Easter brunch. It was a $35 per person prix fixe menu, which got you a small plate of dry and tasteless breads, and one entree with no side dishes and lukewarm coffee. That's it. The food was mediocre, and it was so vastly overpriced I felt like a total chump paying it. We complained, and they brought us a free mimosa, but that was after we already paid $12 for the first tiny and tart mimosa. I will never ever go back. For our party of four I paid over $200, and left to go find some lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not my definition of Brunch...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband I and went to A-10 for brunch on Easter. We wanted to go to a location that was close to home with a quite vibe. A-10 fits that description, however, what they call "brunch" was just an overpriced sweets plate with coffee and and entree. My husband had the french toast, plus a side of eggs and bacon. That alone cost $50. I had shrimp and grits, which came out cold and had to be sent back. When it came back, the grits were warm but the shrimp were burnt on one side. Including 2 mimosas, out bill was $115, not including tip. I really want to like this restaurant, but they are so overpriced for what they serve its ridiculous. Moreover, the service is just mediocre. This was our 2nd time visiting. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent food - Pretty good service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a very nice meal. As vegetarians we were not disappointed by our options - there were more menu choices than things we could eat. We ordered a combination of small plates, "for the table" selections, pasta main plates, and dessert. I would have preferred that it did not come out all at once, or that we be asked our preference. That being said, everything we delicious and we would certainly return. We had an early evening reservation so we could attend a show at U of C and had no problem with timing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unfortunate choice

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was overpresented and not done well. Overall balance in taste, substance, cooking was 'off'. It was a very disappointing dinner. The people were lovely but the food selection was poor. Trying to be something they couldn't back up with the actual food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

so so

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Must have more vegetarian and vegan options. Chef left before we can order our dessert. Cocktails delicious. Ambiance perfect. Need to work on variety on menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I am not loving the new menu.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I get that they have to put more attainable options for the people who are not foodies but they completely dumbed it down. To extreme and it was so hard to find something I liked. Come on guys, give another try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

meh

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We found this experience disappointing. The reputation was very high so we expected a lot. Drinks and appetizers were excellent, and the ambiance was very agreeable. But entrees were average in flavor and imagination. One person's order was mistaken and it took a long time for the right dish to be brought. We want to support great dining in Hyde Park, but A10 needs to keep up its end of the bargain.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Came for dinner on Valentine's Day and a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Came for dinner on Valentine's Day and absolutely loved the meal and wine pairings. My only complaint is that the service model is very strange...no fewer than 5 people served us throughout the night. All were very kind and hospitable but it really hindered the pace of our meal. Overall, I'd highly recommend A10, especially when specialty menus are available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The staff engaged us at every moment wit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The staff engaged us at every moment with outstanding service. The menu selections were outstanding. The price for a 3-course meal was a bit high for Hyde Park but my spouse thoroughly enjoyed the total experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a server who was not great. When ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a server who was not great. When our salad was delivered to a wrong table, rather than have another made for us, she went to that table and without explanation removed it and then gave it to us. She openly questioned why another staff member had done something (he's brought me a glass of wine I'd asked him for), and when the manager came over to explain that my meal would be slightly delayed because of a kitchen error, she came to our table after he left and asked me why he had been at our table rather than asking him. Finally, and this is a perve, when I thanked her for pouring me an additional glass if water, she responded "No problem." As a server, the response should really always be "it's my pleasure" or something similar as serving customers is what the job is and it shouldn't be even barely suggested it might have been a problem.

This was the third time we'd been to A10 and two of the three times the service, while not horrible, fell subtly short of being truly professional. While the food is always quite good, the restaurant could really stand to better train its wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We love A10. This was a great brunch exp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We love A10. This was a great brunch experience and we brought new diners, who also loved it. It did not start out well as the hostess was not friendly, bordering on rude. Beyond that we had a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

How I found paper in my dessert

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Good looking place. Nice service. Excellent salad and Oxtail focaccia too much bread and baked clam had way too much breading

Then I found a piece of paper baked into the bread pudding...they comped the dessert but it really took away from the whole experience

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.