Not bookable

This restaurant is temporarily offline. Please contact the restaurant directly or check back shortly for availability.

A-Town Bar & Grill

4.0
47 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Vibrant Bar Scene
  • Good for Groups
  • Hot Spot

Similar Restaurants

About

Located in the heart of downtown Arlington, A-Town Bar & Grill serves eclectic and diverse food. We are committed to providing the best in food, drink, and nightlife! Come see us at A-Town and we guarantee you’ll be back for more! We’re in Ballston, a block from the Orange Line Metro!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Tuesday: 11:00am - 12:00am, Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:30am - 2:00am, Sunday: 10:30am - 12:00am.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(703) 528-1110
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A-Town Bar & Grill is located one block from the Ballston Metro (Orange Line) and a half-block from the taxi cab stand.
What 47 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
3.8
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The server was nice but although when calling and booking my appointment I stated that it was my birthday, the server did not know that until I told her. When my guests arrived and asked for my table, they were told I was not here yet when I was already seated.

Other than that, the food was ok but the ambiance was nice.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We had great service throughout. Our waitperson was very nice, very attentive and brought a great birthday sundae for my spouse. However, the Thursday special half pound of shrimp was way over cooked and rubbery, though nicely spiced. Our spinach/Brussels sprouts salad was good. It was early on a Caps playoff night, and the noise wasn’t too bad. The beer was ok and the happy hour price good. Altogether just fine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Was team luncheon for 12 people. Pleasantly surprised that food was as good as reviews said. Great service and team was very happy with all of their entrees.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Great place for groups! The layout of the restaurant accommodates large groups seated together. We had 20 for a holiday party and it was excellent! Good service, good food, great time!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 11, 2017

No wow factor, just average
Food was good
Server was great but the kitchen was slow getting out the food
They were out of a few beers

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 13, 2017

The food was excellent and so was the service... The drinks were strong just how I like it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Ryan waiter #originalbeardgang was awesome very attentive and great customer service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 18, 2017

The bar area is by the kitchen which makes it very uncomfortable due to the heat from the kitchen

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Server explained to my party that the shrimp and fries were fried in the same oil...seems very problematic for shellfish allergies and other issues.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 13, 2017

I thought the ambiance was great, but seeing chairs that had tears in the seating just as you walked in was a negative. I would have moved those chairs to more discreet areas.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2017

The food was bland. A little salt and pepper would have been an improvement. Nothing bad just nothing special.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 10, 2017

Had to find a waiter cause one never came to the table food was just ok drinks are very bad very watered down had hockey on every tv & basketball on 1 small tv if you get what im saying i just wouldn't recommend for a person who likes a nice drink that you are paying for.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 24, 2016

The listing on OpenTable was completely misleading. We went for dinner on a Saturday Night, at 7:15, and the place was incredibly loud and clearly a bar scene. When we asked for a table where it was quiet, we were told that our only choice was to go outside, where it was quitter.
While it was quieter outside, most of the tables had Hookahs that people were actively smoking. The air was quite smoky, and the scene bizarre. We were with our children. We were horrified and left immediately. We travel a lot for sporting events, and always use Opentable. We have never had a problem in the past. You need to be more careful with the listings.and description.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 13, 2016

Happy hour drink prices and appetizers are excellent - we had very good food especially Mac and cheese balls and BBQ chicken flatbread. Service was attentive without being intrusive and we had a great time

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was terrible, food was terrible, so loud you can't hear anything, and the bartender can't even make simple drinks.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2016

This is not a place to take one's mother for brunch. The food is plentiful, but not necessarily gourmet. If one would to have conversation, one should arrive early (11ish) and be gone by 1:30 or 2. The noise level steadily rises to a point where one must yell or read lips.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2016

there is nothing exceptional about the place. it is good for casual lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2016

Had a wonderful time last Saturday, but the problem I faced was once the crowd increased because of the DJ. We saw our waitress less and less. This became problematic once we wanted to pay her.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2016

Save your money. In a town/area with so many options, pass this one by.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2016

Great happy hours, different options each night. Very random food selection, from tacos, to pasta, to sushi. Tried a bit of all and enjoyed them all.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 19, 2016

My family and I went to "A-Town" because of the reviews, and sadly it was so underwhelming, I wish we'd never wasted our time.

1.) 30 min went by from when we sat down, until our server came by to even ask for our drink orders. In fact, I had to go to the hostess and ask if we had a server before even that happened.

2.) I ordered a steak medium , that was so overcooked, even the server realized they screwed it up.

3.) It was such bad communication, that the server even admitted that she told the server who was supposed to take care of us she had a table sat 25 min before she (our server) came to the table.

Our server (when she finally came) was great. The food was not. The only person who ate their food was my wife and that's because she was starving.

Do not waste your time here if you're looking for dinner. Go here if you're looking to hook up with a college drop-out, looking for a cheap drink and a slutty chick.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2015

Service was excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 7, 2015

We came in expecting to get burgers & beer given the 'bro-like' scene and many TV screens. We found a pretty descent sushi offering. The rolls are pricey but the portions are large. Good for a late night meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 3, 2015

Went here with friends for dinner. The food was great and we had a hard time choosing what to get from the menu. It was very loud maybe because the game was on. The service could have been much better. Our group had to ask several staff members for certain items like silverware additional bread etc.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 15, 2015

Since I am from New York, I wasn't sure what I would roll up on. The place was large with indoor and outdoor bars. We only had apps, but they were large and filling. The wait staff was very helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2015

Menu was amazing pizza, sushi and all of the best apps. Food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 3, 2015

These guys catered our pool party the before night my first visit to A-Town. I enjoyed the pigs in a blanket and the Mac & cheese bites. I had the day off from work the next day (July 03), but it rained most of the day, so I decided to treat myself to dinner within walking distance. Three blocks from home, A-Town is one of those trendy places for young folks who like to party. It has a vibrant nightlife, which is why I came early (7:00pm). The dance music was already banging (but not too loud yet). This was the quiet before the storm! It was especially quiet for a Friday night, even this early. (I was thinking that Independence Day travel plans might be partially responsible for my good fortune.) The quiet time allowed me to chat with my server in a much more relaxed manner and much more frequently than if it was business as usual. Walid was very courteous, attentive, and friendly. I ordered the Mac & cheese bites and The A-Town Giant Burger: Double juicy patties, fried egg, beer battered onion rings, bacon, sharp cheddar, provolone and BBQ mayo. Delicious! I practice portion control so I took half of my order home for lunch the next day. It was still delicious warmed over in my tabletop oven, served with an ice-cold beer. Business was picking up when I left around 8:30pm. (I dined at a leisurely pace since business was slow.) Walid confirmed that Saturday brunch is more laid back than Sunday brunch. I had planned to return for brunch the next morning (Saturday, July 04, but the rain arrived just before I left home. Not looking to rub elbows when I dine, I will try a Saturday brunch very soon. I will also try to get another early dinner before the party people arrive!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 1, 2015

The appetizers and sushi were really great. The drinks were okay, a little weak. The service wasn't very good. The bus boy knocked over my friend's drink into her lap while putting some food down and didn't even acknowledge that it happened. They didn't offer to replace the drink.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2015

fun and energetic place for good food and drinks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 6, 2014

Went to A-town on a Sat night. It was loud for 730-800 but college football was still on so we knew it wasn't going to be quiet. The food was generally good. The sampler was the best thing we all ordered. We liked it so much we ordered a second. The hamburger was not good. It tasted funny; almost like a hamburger in a foreign country.

I've been to A-Town several times. I like it for drinks and a quick bite. Brunch is very good but you need reservations for it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 29, 2014

We had a large group and they were great - all of our orders were taken in a timely fashion, everything came out correct and quickly, we always had someone nearby to place drink orders, and they were just generally great with us.

Food was good and not ridiculously priced.

Yay A-Town!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 21, 2014

Food was very good. Some confusion with the open table reservation so we had to wait just a bit. Service was very good. The noise level got to be uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 25, 2014

Environment is friendly, staff is friendly BUT do not eat here! I had the fired chicken and it was very dry, my friend had the fajitas and the meat was not flavored. We were seated along side another group and overheard them complaining about the prime rib, I have no idea how a chef can mess up a prime rib!! This is a bar scene, and could be fun for just that, DO NOT EAT HERE!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2014

Atown is by far my favorite spot to come and eat, relax and socialize. I love all the staff that work there and love their customer services. Which is the reason I decide to celebrate my birthday at this location. And I also received excellent customer service from our waiter Eva Ramirez, who was curtious and attended all of my needs and my guests. She went above and beyond which I truely appreciate.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 4, 2014

Just as its name entails "bar and grill" it's a sports bar that offers some upscale food. We were looking for a pub type meal. One of us had fried chicken it was great, another had prime rib which was way too salty and it was smothered in gravy... so it was sent back and they got a lobster roll instead which was much better. Italian roast beef sandwich was dry and no flavor.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 3, 2014

Good food, great service but very very loud. The atmosphere was great, but it was difficult to even hear the person next to you because of the noise level.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 12, 2014

I like the 9.99 menu. There are a lot of good values to be found there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 11, 2014

they have a long list of happy hour specials that last till 9am on the weekdays

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 28, 2014

I liked it it! It's a great local place for lunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 18, 2014

I love the $9.95 lunch menu and the half-priced sushi on Mondays.

Report
Helpful
1
2