Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About A-Town Bar & Grill

Located in the heart of downtown Arlington, A-Town Bar & Grill serves eclectic and diverse food. We are committed to providing the best in food, drink, and nightlife! Come see us at A-Town and we guarantee you’ll be back for more! We’re in Ballston, a block from the Orange Line Metro!

4100 N Fairfax Dr
Arlington, VA 22203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Tuesday: 11:00am - 12:00am, Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:30am - 2:00am, Sunday: 10:30am - 12:00am.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 528-1110

Website:
http://www.a-townballston.com/

Public Transit:
A-Town Bar & Grill is located one block from the Ballston Metro (Orange Line) and a half-block from the taxi cab stand.

A-Town Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
See All
Live Sports (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
S
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The bar area is by the kitchen which makes it very uncomfortable due to the heat from the kitchen

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Server explained to my party that the shrimp and fries were fried in the same oil...seems very problematic for shellfish allergies and other issues.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Live Sports, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I thought the ambiance was great, but seeing chairs that had tears in the seating just as you walked in was a negative. I would have moved those chairs to more discreet areas.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The food was bland. A little salt and pepper would have been an improvement. Nothing bad just nothing special.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Had to find a waiter cause one never came to the table food was just ok drinks are very bad very watered down had hockey on every tv & basketball on 1 small tv if you get what im saying i just wouldn't recommend for a person who likes a nice drink that you are paying for.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The listing on OpenTable was completely misleading. We went for dinner on a Saturday Night, at 7:15, and the place was incredibly loud and clearly a bar scene. When we asked for a table where it was quiet, we were told that our only choice was to go outside, where it was quitter.
While it was quieter outside, most of the tables had Hookahs that people were actively smoking. The air was quite smoky, and the scene bizarre. We were with our children. We were horrified and left immediately. We travel a lot for sporting events, and always use Opentable. We have never had a problem in the past. You need to be more careful with the listings.and description.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Happy hour drink prices and appetizers are excellent - we had very good food especially Mac and cheese balls and BBQ chicken flatbread. Service was attentive without being intrusive and we had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was terrible, food was terrible, so loud you can't hear anything, and the bartender can't even make simple drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2016

This is not a place to take one's mother for brunch. The food is plentiful, but not necessarily gourmet. If one would to have conversation, one should arrive early (11ish) and be gone by 1:30 or 2. The noise level steadily rises to a point where one must yell or read lips.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2016

there is nothing exceptional about the place. it is good for casual lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Had a wonderful time last Saturday, but the problem I faced was once the crowd increased because of the DJ. We saw our waitress less and less. This became problematic once we wanted to pay her.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Save your money. In a town/area with so many options, pass this one by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Great happy hours, different options each night. Very random food selection, from tacos, to pasta, to sushi. Tried a bit of all and enjoyed them all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 19, 2016

My family and I went to "A-Town" because of the reviews, and sadly it was so underwhelming, I wish we'd never wasted our time.

1.) 30 min went by from when we sat down, until our server came by to even ask for our drink orders. In fact, I had to go to the hostess and ask if we had a server before even that happened.

2.) I ordered a steak medium , that was so overcooked, even the server realized they screwed it up.

3.) It was such bad communication, that the server even admitted that she told the server who was supposed to take care of us she had a table sat 25 min before she (our server) came to the table.

Our server (when she finally came) was great. The food was not. The only person who ate their food was my wife and that's because she was starving.

Do not waste your time here if you're looking for dinner. Go here if you're looking to hook up with a college drop-out, looking for a cheap drink and a slutty chick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2015

We came in expecting to get burgers & beer given the 'bro-like' scene and many TV screens. We found a pretty descent sushi offering. The rolls are pricey but the portions are large. Good for a late night meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2015

Went here with friends for dinner. The food was great and we had a hard time choosing what to get from the menu. It was very loud maybe because the game was on. The service could have been much better. Our group had to ask several staff members for certain items like silverware additional bread etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2015

Since I am from New York, I wasn't sure what I would roll up on. The place was large with indoor and outdoor bars. We only had apps, but they were large and filling. The wait staff was very helpful.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2015

Menu was amazing pizza, sushi and all of the best apps. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2015

These guys catered our pool party the before night my first visit to A-Town. I enjoyed the pigs in a blanket and the Mac & cheese bites. I had the day off from work the next day (July 03), but it rained most of the day, so I decided to treat myself to dinner within walking distance. Three blocks from home, A-Town is one of those trendy places for young folks who like to party. It has a vibrant nightlife, which is why I came early (7:00pm). The dance music was already banging (but not too loud yet). This was the quiet before the storm! It was especially quiet for a Friday night, even this early. (I was thinking that Independence Day travel plans might be partially responsible for my good fortune.) The quiet time allowed me to chat with my server in a much more relaxed manner and much more frequently than if it was business as usual. Walid was very courteous, attentive, and friendly. I ordered the Mac & cheese bites and The A-Town Giant Burger: Double juicy patties, fried egg, beer battered onion rings, bacon, sharp cheddar, provolone and BBQ mayo. Delicious! I practice portion control so I took half of my order home for lunch the next day. It was still delicious warmed over in my tabletop oven, served with an ice-cold beer. Business was picking up when I left around 8:30pm. (I dined at a leisurely pace since business was slow.) Walid confirmed that Saturday brunch is more laid back than Sunday brunch. I had planned to return for brunch the next morning (Saturday, July 04, but the rain arrived just before I left home. Not looking to rub elbows when I dine, I will try a Saturday brunch very soon. I will also try to get another early dinner before the party people arrive!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2015

The appetizers and sushi were really great. The drinks were okay, a little weak. The service wasn't very good. The bus boy knocked over my friend's drink into her lap while putting some food down and didn't even acknowledge that it happened. They didn't offer to replace the drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2015

fun and energetic place for good food and drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2014

Went to A-town on a Sat night. It was loud for 730-800 but college football was still on so we knew it wasn't going to be quiet. The food was generally good. The sampler was the best thing we all ordered. We liked it so much we ordered a second. The hamburger was not good. It tasted funny; almost like a hamburger in a foreign country.

I've been to A-Town several times. I like it for drinks and a quick bite. Brunch is very good but you need reservations for it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2014

We had a large group and they were great - all of our orders were taken in a timely fashion, everything came out correct and quickly, we always had someone nearby to place drink orders, and they were just generally great with us.

Food was good and not ridiculously priced.

Yay A-Town!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2014

Food was very good. Some confusion with the open table reservation so we had to wait just a bit. Service was very good. The noise level got to be uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2014

Environment is friendly, staff is friendly BUT do not eat here! I had the fired chicken and it was very dry, my friend had the fajitas and the meat was not flavored. We were seated along side another group and overheard them complaining about the prime rib, I have no idea how a chef can mess up a prime rib!! This is a bar scene, and could be fun for just that, DO NOT EAT HERE!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2014

Atown is by far my favorite spot to come and eat, relax and socialize. I love all the staff that work there and love their customer services. Which is the reason I decide to celebrate my birthday at this location. And I also received excellent customer service from our waiter Eva Ramirez, who was curtious and attended all of my needs and my guests. She went above and beyond which I truely appreciate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2014

Just as its name entails "bar and grill" it's a sports bar that offers some upscale food. We were looking for a pub type meal. One of us had fried chicken it was great, another had prime rib which was way too salty and it was smothered in gravy... so it was sent back and they got a lobster roll instead which was much better. Italian roast beef sandwich was dry and no flavor.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2014

Good food, great service but very very loud. The atmosphere was great, but it was difficult to even hear the person next to you because of the noise level.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2014

I like the 9.99 menu. There are a lot of good values to be found there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2014

they have a long list of happy hour specials that last till 9am on the weekdays

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2014

I liked it it! It's a great local place for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2014

I love the $9.95 lunch menu and the half-priced sushi on Mondays.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2014

The Fish Taco was a different choice for me to try and I must said they were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2014

The food was great, we got the A-town sampler for an appetizer and then ordered the fish and chips, which was too light on the salt and than the A-Town Bomber which was just delicious. The food is genuinely good. The sound however is unreal. For that reason I could never go back. We sat at a small table for two yet had to shout across the table to each other. Conversations were a hardship to maintain and I found myself with a headache just 20 minutes in. All in all, we fled the restaurant in less than an hour as our ears could not endure the assault. A noisy environment normally wouldn't bother me but the sheer volume of the music was abusive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2014

We enjoyed a variety of interesting and tasty meals. The outside dining was too smokey, so we moved inside where we didn't have to deal with cigarette smoke. Aside from a rough start, the service, food, and drinks were great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2014

The half-priced shushi and the $9.95 lunch menu make it worthwhile to come on Mondays.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2014

Thought this place was very modern and unique inside and out. TV's all over the place even outside, and there was also a bar inside and outside. The menu was great, there was a good amount of options and they are all worth trying too. Outside dining is nice, its not on the road so it is quieter. Would definitely come back again, especially late at night to see how the bar scene is. Good spot to catch a game and drink with your friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2014

The $9.95 lunches are a good bargain. Definitely, I'm coming back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2014

I reserved a table for 12 and was placed outside, on the couches. It was perfect for our group who grew to 18 people. The TV's are placed very well so you could always see the game.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.