About a Cena Ristorante

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday 3-9pm
Monday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: 5032063291x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
Steak
Seafood Pasta
Affogato
pasta aglio e olio
Cavatelli With Lamb Ragu
Lobster Ravioli
Bruschettas
Finocchio
farro
Bianca Pizza
Spicy, Creamy Sausage Pasta
Cremini Mushroom Risotto

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

neighborhood gem (88)
fit for foodies (87)
special occasion (77)
See All
romantic (54)
notable wine list (33)
good for groups (23)
great for lunch (23)
great for outdoor dining (17)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved everything about ACena. Food was a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved everything about ACena. Food was amazing and the staff courteous and attentive. Will be my #1 place to go for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love A Cena and only wish I lived in P ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love A Cena and only wish I lived in Portland so I could visit more regularly. The food is creatively traditional Italian, the service is warm but nonintrusive, and the wine list is carefully curated and reasonably priced. A real gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the eggplant parmigiana and my hus ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the eggplant parmigiana and my husband had the raviolini both of which was very good.

Our server was familiar with the menu and served us promptly because we were going

to a concert afterwards.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Second time here. Loved the food last t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Second time here. Loved the food last time so we came back. Underwhelmed this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed a wonderful meal outdoors on ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal outdoors on a lovely evening. The grilled romaine lettuce was great. The scallops were perfectly prepared! Tuna was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carciofi are in! We have been waiting fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Carciofi are in! We have been waiting for this year's season for 2 months and finally got lucky at this dinner. So good!!! We also appreciated the friendly and professional service by Lauris and her cheerful splitting of the check for each of 3 couples. A Cena never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an enjoyable outdoor eating exper ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had an enjoyable outdoor eating experience at Cena. We enjoyed the sunny Portland evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner from start to fini ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a great dinner from start to finish. Great cocktails, delicious appetizers and salad and amazing entree's and oh yes, dessert. We did it all and enjoyed every single bit of it. We had a great waiter - top notch service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My small group of friends and I loved th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My small group of friends and I loved this restaurant for lunch! The menu was authentic and unique. Everything sounded so appetizing that we got several dishes to share, which was a great solution. We got the antipasto platter, which was wonderful. We ordered four pasta dishes that I don't recall seeing on menus elsewhere...each one quite delicious. Dessert was amazing. The service was impeccable. The space was intimate, but with an open feel. We all felt it was a great find in a city known for wonderful Italian choices! Returning soon!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu on the smaller side but all quality ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Menu on the smaller side but all quality food at good prices. Expansive wine list and responsive management.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was good, but the $100+ bill didn't r ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

It was good, but the $100+ bill didn't really seem to reflect outstanding like I was hoping. We got a few items to try, which were all pretty good. The only bad dish was the risotto which was crunchy and the crab on top wasn't very flavorful. If it's not crab season (or you can't get good crab), then don't put it on the menu! The agnolotti with gluten free pasta was outstanding. Everything was good. I just expected more.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, everything was fantastic. I a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

As always, everything was fantastic. I am never disappointed. The chef is creative and always pleases the taste buds.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

not great: There was hair in the napkin, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

not great: There was hair in the napkin, and the water was served to us warm. good side: The food was good though (although the signature Artichoke dish was a bit too oily).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The food and service was excellent. Out ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Outstanding...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A Cena is a real neighborhood gem of a f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A Cena is a real neighborhood gem of a find!! We had four different entrees and everyone thought they all were fantastic. I ordered the thick cut veal chop special. it was 20 oz of the best steak/chop i have EVER had. And that is no hyperbole!! We brought two young kids with us, and we have done that before at A Cena, the staff was not upset, the kids were well behaved and also enjoyed their meal. We will be back to A Cena over and over again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, an outstanding meal with an a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As always, an outstanding meal with an attentive and knowledgeable staff. Wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live close to a Cena so we go there o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We live close to a Cena so we go there often, by ourselves and with friends. It never disappoints, both in overall quality and in dedication to fresh-local-seasonal foods. We always feel like famiglia!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to a Chema for our anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Went to a Chema for our anniversary dinner. Great food, excellent wait staff. A lovely evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our table loved the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was great. Our table loved the grilled octopus. All of the entries were great. The wait staff was attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were in Portland for vacation and our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We were in Portland for vacation and our B&B recommended this place.

The food was fabulous! One of the best Italian restaurants I have ever been to.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone passing through Portland.

The pasta was home made. The antipasti plate was excellent. The service was excellent also.

You are able to choose between different sizes of pasta depending on your appetite or if you want to order other courses. The wine recommendation was great, also!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we visit Portland, we find an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Every time we visit Portland, we find an opportunity to take friends or family to A Cena. The food and service are always extraordinary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular meal. As a native San Franc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Spectacular meal. As a native San Franciscan I grew up with outstanding Italian fare. A Cena is right there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since moving to Portland in March we hav ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Since moving to Portland in March we have eaten here 6 or 7 times. The food is delicious, the wine list is quite good, and the service has been consistently excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was so delicious. My husband got th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Food was so delicious. My husband got the which was cooked perfectly. I had the lamb chops and were tender so flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very good, and our waiter w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very good, and our waiter was attentive but not overly so. The biggest problem we had was the noise!!!! It is a small space, with a cement floor, and no insulation in the ceiling. There was a large group behind us, that as the wine flowed the volume level increased, so of course we had to raise our voice. The owner was there, but made no effort to ask the group to quiet down a bit. I appreciated that they were having a good time, .but maybe a little more quietly. I will go back for the food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is always good there. We hadn't be ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is always good there. We hadn't been in a while due to some bad service a year or two ago. This is an excellent Portland Italian restaurant with a good wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to celebrate our daughter getting a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went to celebrate our daughter getting a new job. We split the grilled romaine salad with gorgonzola and pancetta, so good, but glad we split, it was huge! The bread here is awesome, focaccia. Our daughter got the fennel sausage pasta, which was so yummy and rich, definite comfort food! My wife got the seafood past, which wasn't on the menu, but we found out, you just have to request it. It had plenty of mussels, shrimp and calamari! I had the Dungeness crab risotto, which was very good and had a great amount of crab, could really taste it. We were so full we had to take home our tiramisu, which was sinfully delicious! Overall, a wonderful dinner and evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious, as usual. Love the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious, as usual. Love the Lobster Agnolotti. Only negative - the dining room was extremely noisy. Service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and friendly, knowledgabl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food and friendly, knowledgable servers. Definitely recommend this place. Great for a couple, even better for a group of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best lobster agnolotti ever! Love the o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best lobster agnolotti ever! Love the owner and staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little place with authentic handcr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great little place with authentic handcrafted, fresh Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I love this place. The food is always e ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I love this place. The food is always excellent. The duck on this visit was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FABULOUS FOOD

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our second visit after an amazing first dining experience. We were not disappointed!!! It's like stepping into a small neighborhood Italian restaurant!!! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our very favorite gems in Portlan ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

One of our very favorite gems in Portland! If you haven't enjoyed a meal there yet, put it on the top of your short list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love love this Restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was my second visit. Food was amazing....pasta was perfect.......I love Italian food and I loved this place. I WILL be back

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

always excellent

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

When dining here, it is always a given that the meal will be superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Can't Wait to Go Again

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had a group of 4 and we were all still raving about the food and service the next day. The food was excellent from the appetizer to the salad to the entrée. The wine was fabulous and the service was top notch. We dine out frequently and have to say this is a must. Not inexpensive but well worth it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply Wonderful

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was fantastic, the staff perfectly attentive (and then perfectly blended into the background). I would highly reccomend the antipasta plate--oh my! the buffalo mozzarella was like something from a dream.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and great service but too loud

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Wonderful service and delicious salads (grilled romaine) and entrees. However, I think we would only return if we could be assured of a quieter table. We don't have hearing issues but could hardly hold a conversation due to the noise level. I believe there were a couple large groups who were somewhat loud and continued to get louder as the evening wore on. We were told to request the alcove or the bar next time.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Excellent food, service, drinks, and c ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food, service, drinks, and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.