About a Cena Ristorante

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday 3-9pm
Monday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: 5032063291x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
Steak
Seafood Pasta
Affogato
pasta aglio e olio
Cavatelli With Lamb Ragu
Lobster Ravioli
Bruschettas
Finocchio
farro
Bianca Pizza
Spicy, Creamy Sausage Pasta
Cremini Mushroom Risotto

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland / Oregon
Neighborhood Gem
Portland
1 More
Italian
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

neighborhood gem (100)
fit for foodies (96)
special occasion (80)
See All
romantic (57)
notable wine list (37)
good for groups (24)
great for lunch (22)
great for outdoor dining (13)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time we visit Portland, we find an ...

Dined 4 days ago

Every time we visit Portland, we find an opportunity to take friends or family to A Cena. The food and service are always extraordinary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular meal. As a native San Franc ...

Dined 6 days ago

Spectacular meal. As a native San Franciscan I grew up with outstanding Italian fare. A Cena is right there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since moving to Portland in March we hav ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Since moving to Portland in March we have eaten here 6 or 7 times. The food is delicious, the wine list is quite good, and the service has been consistently excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was so delicious. My husband got th ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Food was so delicious. My husband got the which was cooked perfectly. I had the lamb chops and were tender so flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was very good, and our waiter w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very good, and our waiter was attentive but not overly so. The biggest problem we had was the noise!!!! It is a small space, with a cement floor, and no insulation in the ceiling. There was a large group behind us, that as the wine flowed the volume level increased, so of course we had to raise our voice. The owner was there, but made no effort to ask the group to quiet down a bit. I appreciated that they were having a good time, .but maybe a little more quietly. I will go back for the food and service

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is always good there. We hadn't be ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is always good there. We hadn't been in a while due to some bad service a year or two ago. This is an excellent Portland Italian restaurant with a good wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to celebrate our daughter getting a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Went to celebrate our daughter getting a new job. We split the grilled romaine salad with gorgonzola and pancetta, so good, but glad we split, it was huge! The bread here is awesome, focaccia. Our daughter got the fennel sausage pasta, which was so yummy and rich, definite comfort food! My wife got the seafood past, which wasn't on the menu, but we found out, you just have to request it. It had plenty of mussels, shrimp and calamari! I had the Dungeness crab risotto, which was very good and had a great amount of crab, could really taste it. We were so full we had to take home our tiramisu, which was sinfully delicious! Overall, a wonderful dinner and evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was delicious, as usual. Love the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious, as usual. Love the Lobster Agnolotti. Only negative - the dining room was extremely noisy. Service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and friendly, knowledgabl ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food and friendly, knowledgable servers. Definitely recommend this place. Great for a couple, even better for a group of friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best lobster agnolotti ever! Love the o ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Best lobster agnolotti ever! Love the owner and staff!!

food5
ambience5
service4

Great little place with authentic handcr ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great little place with authentic handcrafted, fresh Italian food.

food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place. The food is always e ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

I love this place. The food is always excellent. The duck on this visit was exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FABULOUS FOOD

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our second visit after an amazing first dining experience. We were not disappointed!!! It's like stepping into a small neighborhood Italian restaurant!!! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our very favorite gems in Portlan ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

One of our very favorite gems in Portland! If you haven't enjoyed a meal there yet, put it on the top of your short list!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love love this Restaurant

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was my second visit. Food was amazing....pasta was perfect.......I love Italian food and I loved this place. I WILL be back

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

always excellent

Dined on May 28, 2016

When dining here, it is always a given that the meal will be superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Can't Wait to Go Again

Dined on May 27, 2016

We had a group of 4 and we were all still raving about the food and service the next day. The food was excellent from the appetizer to the salad to the entrée. The wine was fabulous and the service was top notch. We dine out frequently and have to say this is a must. Not inexpensive but well worth it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply Wonderful

Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was fantastic, the staff perfectly attentive (and then perfectly blended into the background). I would highly reccomend the antipasta plate--oh my! the buffalo mozzarella was like something from a dream.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Delicious and great service but too loud

Dined on May 23, 2016

Wonderful service and delicious salads (grilled romaine) and entrees. However, I think we would only return if we could be assured of a quieter table. We don't have hearing issues but could hardly hold a conversation due to the noise level. I believe there were a couple large groups who were somewhat loud and continued to get louder as the evening wore on. We were told to request the alcove or the bar next time.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service, drinks, and c ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food, service, drinks, and conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to a Cena for our 10th anniversa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to a Cena for our 10th anniversary based on recommendations from friends. We were not disappointed. The food blended flavored perfectly, the atmosphere was just right for a cozy little neighborhood restaurant, and the service was relaxed but detail-oriented. Our waters were always full, the wait staff was always friendly, and if we got up from the table, our napkin was always refolded and placed back on the table for us when we returned. They may have the best cannoli I have ever tasted. Everything was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good and fresh pasta. Can get loud ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Very good and fresh pasta. Can get loud cause it's packed

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on May 9, 2016

I chose this restaurant because it had many positive reviews. I had a high expectation that dinner would have been a special event considering the reviews and prices. My date and I were placed between two families with young children. It felt as if we were in the school cafeteria. The food was good. But not so spectacular that we could justify spending what we did for dinner. It was mediocre service, mediocre ambiance, we left with no desire to return. We hoped we had found a new and interesting place to eat. It just wasn't. If spending $100+ on dinner for two is something you do everyday this is the place for you. The food was good the experience was average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on May 8, 2016

A Cena provided food at Willakenzie winery. The Lamb Ragu, Mushroom Ragu, Pasta and White Bean Salad, Sausage and Lasagna were so delicious we went to the restaurant for dinner the next night for Mother's Day. They did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Server had her mind somewhere else.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Server had her mind somewhere else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been wanting to try a Cena for a w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been wanting to try a Cena for a while and finally got there. The six of us were celebrating a family birthday. Excellent service, delicious food, great wine. Our favorites were the osso bucco, rigatoni, and lamb chops. Osso bucco was tender and generous. Rigatoni was meaty and full of flavor. Lamb chops were charred just right- so delicious. We had several appetizers and on a whim, ordered the lobster ravioli. One of the best things I've ever tasted. We were ready to lick the plate. We all voted that a return visit soon was in order.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday celebration

Dined on May 7, 2016

We consider A Cena one of our neighborhood gems and love recommending it to foodies as well. Waiting outside on a lovely evening for a few minutes on the outdoor bench heightened our anticipation perfectly. Our corner table was cozy and accommodating for 4. We started with salads which were fresh and gently dressed. The Special squid ink pasta was exactly as our waiter described, as was their signature dish of Raviolini with lobster. These are delicious pasta entrees as was the halibut entree (always a favorite). In addition, we appreciated our waiter's recommendation of specific wines by the glass, at our request, to go with each of our orders. Sharing a tiramisu and flourless chocolate dessert was perfect ending for a fine birthday celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Special birthday dinner

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great food, as always. Husband had octopus which he loved and I had the delicious grilled romaine salad and the homemade corn/mascarpone ravioli with lobster. Desserts were awesome, too. All a bit on the spendy side, but worth it!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice for my wife's birthday

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very nice for my wife's birthday

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every bite was delicious!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Full disclosure- we had never heard of this place, but my husband received a gift card from his place of employment for a special acknowledgement. We looked at the reviews and were excited to try it for ourselves. Every course was wonderful. My lemoncellotini was scrumptious, my husband enjoyed his local brew, the bread was great, our appies....as a Brussels sprouts lover I had to order them as a side. OMG. They were delectable. Worth going back just for those! My husband enjoyed the bass, my halibut and risotto were both creamy and eye-rollingly delicious. Thank you to my husband's workplace as we might not have otherwise found this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food was also great. Good value.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Nice wines, fast service, and reasonable prices. Busy place and making a reservation really helped.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Another guest's favorable impression

Dined on April 28, 2016

We as local residents are repeat customers and find pleasure to have guests leave our home and walk to/from dining at Sellwood's best restaurant, in our humble opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

delicious and freindly!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was great especially the lobster ravioli-excellent grilled halibut too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful service and amazing food!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We came in for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was perfectly Romantic, and the service was top notch! We ordered the special, soup and salad. Everything was amazing! The home made tiramisu was over the top! thanks for making our anniversary very special!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Satisfied!

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Great experience! Service, food and ambiance were great. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. The octopus salad was to die for. Two of us had the Fruitti de Mare and it was delectable. A lot of food for a reasonable price. Our next visit, we will order a small plate portion. We eat out often and we give his place a high 5.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must try...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere, and service. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST ITALIAN IN PORTLAND

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Consistently good home cooked Italian food. Menu changes regularly, straight forward Italian without a lot of fuss. Good value and lively atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food! Knowledgable and friendly s ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great food! Knowledgable and friendly staff. A must try for any Italian food lovers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian in Portland

Dined on April 10, 2016

Downtown, I like Mama Mia's. If I'm in a hurry and don't know exactly where I'll be, Pastini has locations all over the place (and good food). But if you really want to go gourmet for a special occasion or take it up a notch for date night, A Cena Ristorante is the place. Excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Unfortunately the caprese was served wit ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Unfortunately the caprese was served with burnt bread. The mozzarella and tomatoes were delicious. Sunday gravy was delicious but Luke warm. Owner took both off the bill though.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.