Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About a Cena Ristorante

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Romantic (42)
Authentic (41)
Cozy (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fun (18)
Casual (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Seasonal (14)
Business Meals (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
1620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

This is an amazing restaurant with great tasting food and fast service. I would highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Always good food. The Lobster Ravioli is my favorite dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Got a quiet private window table. Food and cocktails were amazing. The impecable service was the cream. Really a nice spot for foodies and romantics. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Omg that lobster agnolotti made me say "Holy Sh?!" upon my first bite. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Consistently good food. Service is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Crowded Saturday night, and our reservation was ready exactly on time. Service was excellent and efficient. Friendly servers and a nice visit from the owner or manager. It was our first time here. We had three different pastas. All were great, fresh, and homemade. The signature agnolotti with lobster was a fine choice. Other dishes were the caramelle (creamy ricotta filling) and the garganelli with white wine cream sauce. We loved the place but felt the price for pasta was a little high. We will return though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Bellisimo!!! Wonderful time, delicious food, we'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Truly delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Awsome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Some how we missed A Cena for many years. We were really impressed. The food was fantastic. Didn't love the bait and switch to a more expensive wine, but everything else was really good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Everything was delicious! The lobster ravioli, the sea scallops, the burrata... Mmmm

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2017

As always, perfect! I took 3 other ladies with me, who've never experienced a Cena, to celebrate one of their birthdays. Food wowed them, service was great, and the whole birthday dinner was nothing but fabulous! A Cena is our go to place to take people when visiting from out of town or friends who have never experienced such wonderful authentic cuisine.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

This place is a gem! The food is over-the-top delicious . The staff make you feel like your dining experience is very important. I took my daughter here for her birthday and we had a wonderful time. We were still talking about it the next day. So impressed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2017

A Cena never disappoints ! The food is presented beautifully. The wine list is extensive . The service is top notch. I especially like the fact that they have seasonal specials and that their menu includes vegetarian items. Italian food at its best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 20, 2017

We have been to A Cena many times. It is one of our favorites. The food is always amazing and the service is extremely friendly. We love the warm and elegant environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2017

It was good but not as exciting as we had hoped. It was a little heavy and rich and our stomachs felt a little funny all night after. We also felt that even though the staff was great, our server was really trying to turn the table. Everything came out too fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Some of the best pastas I have ever had. Short rib over papardelle was amazing. Tiramisu was different than the typical slice and really delicious as well. Quite a rushed pace of a dinner but it was very good overall.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The place itself is very nice, warm and welcoming. The prices are very high and unnecessarily so. $12 to $15 for salads. $30 for a bolognese and $40 for spaghetti frutti di mare. My husband’s dish, garganelli alla norcia, was very good, according to him, but mine, caramelle, was not. The ends of the “knots “ were chewy, hard and thick. I would suggest making the caramelle smaller to avoid cooking the center but not the ends. The wine was great and the prices for a glass were reasonable. Not a fun, satisfying dinner experience for me, unfortunately. My husband and I commented that we wouldn’t go back, especially because of the prices, compared to other similar Italian restaurants in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Second time there. Food and service were both excellent!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Delicious meal, great service, fabulous bottle of Brunello!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2017

The service was exceptional and the food amazing. It is nice they have half portions as well.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Have loved A Cena for many years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Food was great and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great food and fine service. I’ll be back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Salads very good, house and apple, risotto mediocre, desserts not memorable(cannelloni)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2017

My wife and I shared the lobster agnolotti which was amazing -- one of the best things I've ever eaten. We also shared the scallops, also wonderful. Wine list is great, and cocktails too. This is one of our favorite Portland restaurants -- the food is always great. It can be noisy on a busy night, so not ideal for a quiet conversation. The staff work hard to keep up on busy nights but the service is good, and never too long a wait to be served.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We had an excellent meal and lovely evening. Would recommend getting rid of the canned pop music on the speakers, however, as it was distracting.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Absolutely awesome food. Great wine list and wonderful staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2017

It’s like eating in Northern Italy. Food, ambiance, and wines. Fantastic experience from start to finish.
Consistant, always a terrific experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2017

A Cena is one of the best restaurants I've been to. If I lived in Portland, it would be a regular. My friends will be making frequent visits to this restaurants. It's on their list for having great food.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2017

This was a quiet birthday with close friends on a quiet Sunday night; nice wine, quick service and most of the food was very good. Wonderful breadsticks and focaccia with olive oil,fresh lovely salad with pears, halibut special with firm flaky fish, creamy mashed potatoes, lovely spinach and chanterelles. Lamb tagliatelle must have been great as our friend who ordered it refused to share and ate it all. House made salted Carmel gelato and dark chocolate Sorbetto were attractively served and delicious. But tonight's tiramisu was a puny bite of cake; served in a bowl mounded with whipped cream and sprinkled with cocoa powder. Despite including birthday candles for the guys, it was a disappointing dessert for the couple who shared it.
A Cena has been one of my favorite Italian places, hope it can continue to be in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Our waiter, Donlon, was attentive, quick and knowledgeable. It was a wonderful experience and one to repeat! The octopus appetizer was delicious and how about the lobster agnolotti...superb!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Always enjoy our meals at a Cena. Good solid restaurant with a dependable kitchen.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Great all around. Lovely atmosphere, outstanding service and delicious food. Rather generous portions for a boutique restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

The chef Gabe is wonderfully creative; the food is delicious; the flavors are wedded and delightful to both eye and taste. If you have been to Veneto you will recognize the tastes as authentic. Favorites remain on the menu for returning diners, plus there are always new items to be savored.
Don't leave without a sip of Nocino, made in house walnut flavored spirit. The owner Chris, greets each diner with a smile and perhaps a suggestion for beverage or dish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

We celebrated our 14th wedding anniversary there. Service was superb, friendly, and informative. The food was interesting and tasty. If I had to choose any one blemish, I'd say my lobster Agnolotti was a tiny bit on the sweet side. However, I have nothing to compare it to, since I've not had it anywhere else! So, overall a great neighborhood Italian spot. I look forward to visiting many more times in the future!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2017

You almost don't have to go beyond "home-made pasta!" The pasta was amazing--from the texture to the taste, everything was perfect about it. We also had the seafood risotto, and there was plenty of seafood in it! The food was excellent, the service great, and the atmosphere was perfect for our romantic date. I definitely recommend a Cena!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2017

We had an excellent dinner - the option of getting a half portion was great, as this already provides plenty of food. Great atmosphere and ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Portions were VERY small for the price. Service was slow, took forever to get our order and the place was not busy. Food was fine not exceptional and again high price small portions. If i am going to spend 100.00 for dinner I better be stuffed and take home leftovers. I would recommend the Italian restaurant in Troutdale first.

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Amazing as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.