Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About a Cena Ristorante

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (54)
Good for a Date (52)
Authentic (40)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Cozy (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Notable Wine List (32)
Worth the Drive (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Casual (19)
Fun (17)
Business Meals (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Seasonal (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

overpriced and under seasoned. However the restaurant did not charge for the entree my wife did not want when it arrived and neither did I (wasn't worth the culinary experience to pick out all the fish bones).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

This was my third visit to A Cena. I come for the food, which is fantastic - although I love their Agnolotti so much (Raviolini filled with corn and mascarpone, and topped with lobster) that it's hard to convince myself to try other offerings. However, bites from the plates of my companions, as well as my varied antipasti and desert selections have been equally tasty.

The service is excellent (one problem with bus staff removing our plates too quickly was easily resolved), and the wait staff are quite knowledgeable about the wine list and dishes. The atmosphere is perfect for small groups of friends - not fancy or romantic, but comfortable and welcoming. I highly recommend A Cena.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food, beautiful surroundings, attentive service. I had a great moscato wine. My husband enjoyed his beer. I had candy-shaped ravioli which was good. I’d love to try the eggplant Parmesan.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Having lived in Europe for many years, quite a few of those within easy reach of the Italian border, I took advantage of the opportunity to eat true Italian cuisine many times. A Cena is as authentic as any I have had since returning to the US, and as good or better as quite a few places I ate in Italy. We had a wonderful meal at A Cena and overindulged ourselves. It was not inexpensive but it was worth every dime. We will return, with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Based off reviews, I was expecting a cozy romantic Italian restaurant experience. Instead, it felt more like a neighborhood cafe. The music that was being played sounded like Italian pop music with some fast paced electronic music thrown in. It didn't fit the vibe of the restaurant at all and set the tone of our whole experience. The service was friendly and very fast, too fast actually. Our whole dining experience lasted no longer than 35 minutes, which I guess I can't fault them for, but I was expecting a slower pace and more hands on server attention. Fortunately, our food was very delicious and was indeed the highlight of the evening. However, a Cena seems to charge fine dining prices but delivers an ambience and experience that falls more in line with a casual neighborhood cafe.

Ultimately, my experience at a Cena was a victim of my own expectations rather than anything the restaurant did wrong. If you live in Sellwood and want delicious Italian food, you can't go wrong here. But don't make my mistake and book this place for a special occasion or date.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

we’ve been here several times and it never disappoints. the food is fresh and fabulous, the servers are attentive and knowledgeable. i recommend that someone at your table order the Agnolotti (corn & marscapone ravioli with butter poached lobster in a sweet, creamy sauce) get the entree size since others at your table will be eating from your plate :-).

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Normally, this is best in food, service and ambiance. It was a busy Friday night and the restaurant was packed, full of noise and understaffed. Our wait person was exceptional to us, but run ragged. Our home made ice cream was not good and very icy, just not expected in this restaurant. It still a favorite, but will stick to week day dining.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to A Cena many times. The food is consistently very good as well as the service. It does get quite noisy as the evening progresses. We usually come early as it is quieter then. Great for special occasions or a very nice dinner out as the prices are fairly high. We have always been pleased. Good drinks also!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

On a double date, all four of us raved about our entree choices, even the appetizers and sides. Not a single dish, including desert, wasn't fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

An outstanding evening for a spontaneous mini-class reunion. Chris went out of his way to accommodate a special need, which made everybody comfortable.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 6, 2017

we have eaten here several times. every time it is great and the service is wonderful

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Excellent food and service. Only disappointed is that the menu doesn’t seem to change frequently enough for the price you pay and vegetarian options are limited to salads and 1main course which was the same as 10 months ago.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Taste, quality, service in a day and age where these basics faculties are slack in hospitality, food and beverage industry. If you do not try the Agnotti and the brussel sprouts kick yourself. Kick yourself!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We love this place so much we give gift card to friends and family,

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Was supposed to be one of the better Italian restaurants in PDX. Very average. Menu presented was different and limited from their web site. Best way to describe - average "meat & potato" Italian. Could have dined much closer to home and received better for less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

a Cena's food was tasty and enjoyable. The special pizza was even great cold leftover the next day. A great meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2017

As always this is our go to place. We know the food will always meet our expectations . Our wait person was especially good tonight.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

went there for our anniversary. great eggplant parmesan . nice wine options. fabulous salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent place to get together with friends. Great friendly knowledgeable staff. Fun Atmosphere, as we enjoyed conversation with two couples at the bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My favorite place to eat. Great food. A little spend but worth it and great cocktails. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Family visiti

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Consistently superb in every facet ...food, service, ambience...... We have dined here regularly for 8 years and never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

My first visit to A Cena and I will definitely return! Wonderful food and I had portion size control which is so nice. Great place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Everything is made from scratch and is always delicious. The breadsticks that come complimentary are a solo addictive! The service is attentive without over bearing.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

The food was great as always but what impressed me most was how easily the hostess and waiter handled my friend's diet restrictions - lactose intolerance was dealt with easily and in an Italian restaurant where cheese is the norm. There were other restrictions that were met with no fuss.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Authentic Italian cuisine using local ingredients. Outstanding wine selections. Good value for money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We went on a Tuesday, was only a couple other people there. Very quiet. Staff was very nice and accommodating! Although expensive, I highly recommend the Agnolotti! Honestly the most delicious pasta dish I've ever had and my boyfriend agreed. Very rich dish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Small and very simple place but the food is Very "awesome". My boyfriend didn't eat for the following day. He got so full.

Our server Mark is awesome he's very nice and friendly. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Just really good Italian food where the neighborhood eats.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We've celebrated special occasions at A Cena many times in the past, and this occasion was without a doubt the most disappointing.

The food was good, not great (better in the past) and the portions and quality for the price are decent at best. Frustratingly, I don't feel like the menu has EVER changed, which is disappointing, because it would be nice to get a broader taste of the Italian cuisine that it's supposed to specialize in.

The service -- for a nice restaurant, on a relatively slow night -- was unacceptably and frustratingly pushy. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary on a Saturday night, yet felt as though we were getting churned through, rather than being invited to enjoy a nice, leisurely dinner. The table next to us had the same complaint.

A Cena has some charm and decent food -- it's worth checking off your list, but after this last experience, I think we'll be finding ourselves trying out its many competitors before going back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Second time for us and we really enjoyed our selections. One day we should just Uber it and enjoy some of their amazing Italian wines! Service was great as usual and we will be going back!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

In a city with dozens of Italian restaurants a Cena has been our consistent favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This is always a favorite and we have yet to invites others here that don't end up coming back on their own. The Tiramisu is the best in the city

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 7, 2017

A Cena is a neighborhood restaurant I always forget about when I am thinking pasta. However every time I go I am always reminded what a good choice it is.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fantastic food, wine, and service. The seating is a little cramped, a noise level was high. It was a very warm night. The AC was not working very well at all, making the conditions a little too warm.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Absolutely incredible food with wonderful service! Try the Tuscan mule for a great cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Servers make you feel special - very attentive! Pasta dishes are inventive. Charred Romaine is excellent!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Loved the food and the experience! Enjoyed the cozy feel and the atmosphere of comfort and fun. Really enjoyed the wine list and how knowledgeable the server was. The gentlemen who moved among the tables (the owner, we assume) checking on everyone was fun to talk to and he really knew the wines. Food was fabulous. Didn't know about the place until a friend gave me a gift card: now that I know where it is, I'm sure I'll be a regular!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Delicious Food and great service. Always consistent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by a real 'foodie' who would never let me down and boy did he nail it with this one!

We arrived early and the Manager greeted us warmly, seating us at a cozy table near a window. We were greeted promptly by our Server, Alex who was personable and very knowledgeable of the menu. He offered us a sample of the prosecco, as we inquired about it. He then suggested an artichoke appetizer which was Heaven on a plate! We each enjoyed a glass of wine and shared two entrees. The spaghetti and meatballs was flavorful, although the sauce a bit thin. The corn and marscapone ravioli with lobster however, was flawless! So was the house made fococcia. We ended the meal with a divine sea salt and caramel gelato and decided collectively that we'd return to a Cena in a heartbeat!

The Manager graciously thanked us for our patronage as if we were old friends.

On a sidenote - we used to frequent this location when it was Assagio (so sad when they closed their doors) and it's lovely to see such a gem on this little corner. :-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.