Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About a Cena Ristorante

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: (503) 206-3291

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 2:00PM

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (66)
Good for a Date (59)
Authentic (53)
See All
Special Occasion (49)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Cozy (42)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Romantic (34)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Business Meals (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Casual (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Fun (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Went for lunch with a friend and it was nice, quiet and laid-back, a perfect atmosphere for catching up. Lots to choose from on the lunch menu and you got a lot of food. A great value. I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food. We loved sitting outside on a warm evening; the eggplant parmesan and sward fish entrees were excellent; we enjoyed the nice wine selection; and the service was attentive and friendly. What's not to love?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Warm, intimate and bustling! A Cena is one of those Italian restaurants that makes you feel you are truly in Italy, in a local neighborhood hang out spot. The food is great, the atmosphere is wonderful and this is wonderful neighborhood for an after-dinner walk to burn off a few pasta calories. I had the lasagna, took home a part of it and it was even more outstanding the next day for lunch!

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

This is the second time I've eaten here and it did not disappoint. I ordered lamb chops, rare, and they came perfectly done. The cocktails was great, the wine perfect and no one complained, not even my mother-in-law, and believe me, that's something special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to this restaurant for our year anniversary and it was wonderful. The pasta was delicious! The servers were very flexible when my husband and I had to move inside due to his allergies. It is a romantic spot and the service is wonderful. Great wine selection!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Seating for two is challenging. I thought I could have joined the couple next to us.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was great. One of the best Italian food restaurants that I have ever eaten in. I would highly suggest finding this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Another excellent meal, but your dessert choices should be upgraded a bit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere, as always!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent as always. Delicious rissoto cheese balls, lasagna special, steak special, pasta and desserts. Whole family left happy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I absolutely LOVE it here, it's our very favorite restaurant. The food is awesome , the service is wonderful. It's their caring about everything. I can't say enough GOOD things. Thank you for being close to my neighborhood!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Authentic, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 13, 2017

As close as you'll get to Italy without a plane involved....wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I have been to A Cena several times and have never been disappointed. The staff is attentive and knowledgeable about wine pairing. The menu changes as fresh ingredients become available and is always good. Will be headed back again soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We love this place. Great food and atmosphere. It is one of our go-to spots for a nice dinner in Portland. A true Sellwood gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As usual, a cena delivers wonderful, creative food. I was served the best octopus I have ever eaten. This is my 8th year of celebrating my birthday here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent food, friendly service and a great location.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We were given a gift certificate to A Cena as a wedding present and finally decided to use it! We were not disappointed - as you would expect in an Italian "taverna", the ambiance was warm with an inviting décor and earthy color palate. The food matches: our burrata caprese did a quick disappearing act as did my Eggplant Parmigiana, which was not served old-school "deep-dish" but nicely plated and garnished in slices. My wine by the glass - a Nebbiolo & Vespolina Rosato (Rosé) was sturdy but light enough for a warm late spring evening.
Our server did a great job and had that great mix of personality, knowledge, and presence - something that is in short supply in Portland. Definitely on the Sellwood "short list" and totally worth a visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The service was pretty great and in our opinion their dessert is the best among all meals! Recommend the tiramisu!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Wonderful find! Excellent food and service. All five of us thoroughly enjoyed our visit

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The ambience, food, and service were good. My issue is that it was very early in he evening (they weren't busy) , we had made dinner reservations and even with that they put us in the "B" area or the bar area . I felt it was discrimination based on how we were dressed- jeans and tennis shoes for me while my daughter was dressed nicely as she was coming from work. I noticed the only people in our area were dressed casually in jeans. All the people in the other dining room were dressed In more business casual attire. I wanted to check this place out for a college graduation dinner, but think after the snub (whether perceived or otherwise) we will look elsewhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

wonderful authentic Italian with delicious homemade pastas in cozy bistro like setting--good for casual or special occasion...

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Disappointed ted that I told the host that we were celebrating a birthday. He said he would pass info on to server but that Bieber happened.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wanted to try something new for our anniversary and found a Cena. Hubby ordered the ravioli special, Caramelitos, or something like that. The filling was truly remarkable and it was the best thing we had. The salad with grilled romaine would have benefitted from a bit more time on the grill. My tagliattelle with asparagus and lemon lacked lemon taste and was very short on sauce. I was left with a portion of plain pasta. I ordered tiramisu for dessert and while it was huge and had a serious dose of booze, it was a bit soggy and unremarkable. All in all, it was okay, but we probably won't return.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great meal for a friend's birthday. Couldn't have asked for more.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

always a treat to eat here. .we come from NW portland 4 or 5 times a year..

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We are never disappointed here, the food and service are always outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

While I appreciate the ability to order smaller portions of pasta at this restaurant, I think it ought to consider mitigating the noise level, with some more sound-dampening surfaces or spacing tables farther apart. The party next to us was quite loud and became rather a nuisance, making our conversation difficult. And one of the four neighbors was swearing loud enough for us to hear. I really don't want to hear the F-word from somebody else when I am eating and trying to catch up with long-time friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This is a great authentic Italian gem. Excellent food and service was perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

So disappointed in our Mother's Day visit to aCena. Three of our party had food that was served at a tepid temperature while the fourth ordered the branzino which was piping hot and remained that way throughout the meal (it was delicious!). The pomodoro sauce on the ravioli was thin and tasteless and lukewarm lobster & corn agnolotti doesn't do justice to the flavors of that dish. Additionally, when we booked a table we requested to sit anywhere other than in the front room. Guess where we were seated? Hostess was not at all apologetic about seating us in front when we asked if table was available in back room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had a wonderful Mother's Day dinner with my wife and our 22-month old. Courteous, prompt , exceptional service and even better food! I was a little worried about bringing our kid based on previous reviews I'd read, but if you time it right and maybe bring a small snack or other quiet distraction, all should be fine. Food and drinks were fresh and quick, very little wait. The early dinner was just right for our kid, though we came with a small bag of snacks that held her over. [ We were still deciding what to order when she'd realized everyone around was being served food. Cereal to the rescue! :) ] Bread and the arancini appetizer came very quickly after ordering, promptly followed by our main courses. Note, a half order would probably suffice for most, but trust me, you'll be glad to order the full and take home what you don't finish, the food was so great. :) While getting our leftovers boxed up, they brought our daughter a cool tricolor crayon to use on the paper table liner.

For all the parents with young children, this is no Chuck-e-Cheese-type of place to take your kids, but they are most definitely kid-friendly for a nice, and more importantly delicious dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our first time with friends who have been before - owner recognized our friend and welcomed him back. Friendly and good service to go with excellent food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, delicious. There's a high energy level and buzz in A Cena with close tables but everyone is enjoying their meals and the staff is so nice.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food, selection, service, and ambiance, as always!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is ALWAYS exceptional. Service is just right. Always a treat to eat there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We've been here before and I would go back but this was not a great experience. One of the people in our group had never eaten at a Cena before and we had given glowing reviews so the meal did not live up to that. First of all, the place was not jam packed. Most of the tables were full but not all of them and some of the 4 tops only had 2 people. I've seen it much busier. Our server didn't come over to get our drink order in a timely fashion and once he did it took a bit. Three of the items my group and I were interested in ordering were either out or no longer available and only one of those had a replacement dish so the already small menu was even smaller. We ordered a pizza to start and a bottle of wine. The wine was delicious and we all enjoyed it. My entree came to the table before our pizza or anyone else's food. When we said we had ordered a pizza to start the guy bringing my entree (not our server) looked flustered and took the plate away. Next all of our entrees came out, followed by the pizza that was supposed to be the starter. At that point we ordered another bottle of wine to go with the entrees but it didn't come until we were all pretty much done. Our server was here and there but it was actually a very kind older gentleman, possibly the manager or owner, who checked on us and who apologized for the pizza coming out late. Like I said, I would probably go back but this was a disappointing experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were very disappointed with the value. Mediocre food, cramped table, shoe-horned right on top of our neighbors. High prices.

Will not return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Yet another great dinner. Staff and menu are exceptional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had an excellent meal! The restaurant is very cozy and we had a corner booth which was perfect for the 4 of us. Parking in this area can be difficult.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Alex greeted us warmly. He explained the restaurant's philosophy, sourcing and that everything is made in house. Wonderful Service, fantastic house made pizza, pasta and dessert. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.