About a Cena Ristorante

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday 3-9pm
Monday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: 5032063291x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Steak - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Seafood Pasta - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Affogato - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
pasta aglio e olio - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Bruschettas - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Lobster Ravioli - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Finocchio - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Cavatelli With Lamb Ragu - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
farro - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Bianca Pizza - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Spicy, Creamy Sausage Pasta - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Cremini Mushroom Risotto - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 2:00PM

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Neighborhood Gem (48)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Romantic (36)
Cozy (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Authentic (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Fun (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Family Style (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice services and nice food!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Very nice services and nice food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at a Cena was meant to be a speci ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner at a Cena was meant to be a special occasion with a meal and ambience to match the specialness of the evening. We were not let down. The server, I forget her name, really made the experience much nicer. The meal, while completely delicious, was not the most spectacular. But, I've had spectacular Italian food, so my bar is set relatively high. However, the meal, the service, and the ambience set this place apart from some of the spectacular food I have had in very cold and sterile environments. Great food with no soul is overdone. A Cena delivered everything necessary for a wonderful evening with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food-great service!

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food-great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has it all and you won't ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant has it all and you won't be dis-appointed as the owner was on-site to ensure a wonderful dinning experience. Nice to see a good mix of people including families having dinner at this restaurant. The atmosphere, service, food and staff was terrific. We had a small issue but it was resolved by the staff and owner immediately...we stayed until they closed. I'm looking forward in coming back here again and recommend it to all my friends.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter was excellent as was the back ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The waiter was excellent as was the backup crew. My daughter and I loved the choices and shared appetizers and dessert plus loved out main dish.

I was part of her Christmas present as she lives in Sacramento Ca and will not be here for Christmas.

Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food! So delicious. My mom loved h ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food! So delicious. My mom loved her spaghetti and the pasta was amazing. Dessert just sealed the deal. Server was super helpful which was awesome because it was our first time there. Can't wait to come back for another occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little spot in the neighborhood. A ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great little spot in the neighborhood. Always good food and wine and cute/romantic ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great, food, wine list, and service. We' ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great, food, wine list, and service. We'll be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our business guest had a serious dairy a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our business guest had a serious dairy allergy. I was impressed with how well our waitress knew the menu and immediately recommended a couple of choices and described how the kitchen could accommodate our guest's needs. Very gracious and accommodating.

All the food was excellent: we had salad and then the scallop dish with butternut squash and risotto and our guest had bucatini without the cheese, with the scallops served over spinach/greens instead of the risotto. The ambience was perfect for this occasion; we were able to converse easily. Highly recommend for business or a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at a Cena is always a special ple ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Dinner at a Cena is always a special pleasure. From the intial greeting to the time you walk out the door — happy and satisfied — the service, food, wine and atmosphere are all memorable. We live in Roseburg and get to PDX often to enjoy the wonderful dining landscape in the city. A Cena is among our favorites and worth a visit as often as we can. Thanks to all who work so hard to make it all possible.

Paul and Lory, Roseburg

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place! The food was delicious ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Loved this place! The food was delicious and he service was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally Awesome evening! Food, Wine, Se ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Totally Awesome evening! Food, Wine, Service, all over the top great!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a warm and wonderful evening at A ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a warm and wonderful evening at A Cena. The food is excellent, perfectly seasoned with accompaniments that hit the mark. Well selected wine list, and either Chris or Jonathan can steer you to what's drinking well right now.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a great feel in a good Sellwood loc ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It's a great feel in a good Sellwood location, you can tell it's been there awhile, they have confidence in what they are doing. All the food options were great, lots of lobster in the pasta, the steak was perfect, seafood very fresh. The apple arugula salad is terrific.

While equally expensive to many PDX spots, the high quality helps all that match. We would certainly return for a special evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server was very nice and we were sea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our server was very nice and we were seated immediately. The food overall was good I was just disappointed with the ravioli. We couldn't get even a hint of the black truffle and the crab meat inside was quite dry. The chicken meatball spaghetti was great and I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The food was basically perfect. If you ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food was basically perfect. If you want hearty, bold, rich food you will not be disappointed. The crab artichoke ravioli was loaded with crab, homemade pasta was of high quality,cooked correctly. The sausage ravioli was also as good as it gets! Although we are probably 10th degree black belt gastronauts, once in awhile we just want good food that isn't pushing the envelope of ridiculous. This was a nice break from the ultra trendy food scene that can be a bit esoteric and pretentious at times. Anyway, off topic rant, but try this place, was awesome, we'll be back.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A Cena is a favorite. Creative food, fr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

A Cena is a favorite. Creative food, friendly staff, good wine list; why wouldn't we return often?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a small, upscale but friendly re ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is a small, upscale but friendly restaurant with great wait staff and good, mostly Italian or mediterranean food. My only complaint was that it is a little dark and that made it hard to read the menu - but the waitress was happy to tell us about everything.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is our second time and we enjoyed i ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is our second time and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time! The food is still authentic and reminds us of our trip to Northern Italy. Everyone is very friendly there, food is delicious, wine menu is great, and corkage fee if you bring your own wine is very fair! One of our new found favorites!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever I'm in town, I try to visit A C ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Whenever I'm in town, I try to visit A Cena. It has authentic Italian food and is a small restaurant in a good neighborhood. There is side street parking. They have a good selection and if the eggplant wasn't undercooked, I'd probably given them 5 stars. My companions had the Osso Bucco and spaghetti w/meatballs (or sauce) and said they were quite good. The seafood appetizer with scallops and calamari was very good as was the cannoli. Make a reservation if it's a weekend night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and atmosphere, as ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere, as always! I did feel, however, that $23 for eggplant parmesan was overly pricey.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our fourth time here, likely the last. I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our fourth time here, likely the last. It's not the same anymore. 1) they don't accept Open Table award certificates. 2) Plates were small (had the main scallop dish) 3) Server not once came back to fill our wine glasses, btw - we had a $75.00 bottle. 4) Server did not ask how our food was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We had such a good meal the first time w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had such a good meal the first time we came with friends we wanted to come back.

It was well worth it and we will return again.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Went here for a late dinner. Nice, easy ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went here for a late dinner. Nice, easy atmosphere. Food was well prepared- risotto and ravioli de zucca. Fairly good wine list. Like the small/larger plate option. Would recommend this place for just about any occasion, just not a large group as it is a fairly intimate space.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a special occasion. Food was ex ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Went for a special occasion. Food was excellent, even had a lot of choices for vegetarian guest.

Lobster Ravioli and Brussel Sprouts were a hit, overall food and service were great.

We have to travel an hour to get there but it is definitely worth it. Definite repeat place.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Italian place that makes their own ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Good Italian place that makes their own limoncello and has good gluten free options for those who need it. A little pricey but a solid option if looking for somewhere with a good atmosphere, good food, and friendly staff.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This an excellent restaurant. One of the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This an excellent restaurant. One of the better ones in Portland. Really great food and service. A fantastic neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual, a special treat for excellent ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 17, 2016

As usual, a special treat for excellent dining using fresh, local ingredients.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely evening meal, starting w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a lovely evening meal, starting with the friendly greeting at the door and continuing through all the pleasant exchanges with the wait staff, and fantastic food and drink. Our only small complaint was that we were sitting under a cold air vent which cycled on and off. Off was good, on was chilly. We like the vibes there.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. And the sign ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent food and service.

And the signature dish is to die for!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great dining experience! Service ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a great dining experience! Service was wonderful, atmosphere was great and the food.....oh my sooo good! We had the lobster pasta dish and i think it is the best thing i have ever tasted. It was our anniversary and they went out of thier way to make it special. We will be back and bring all our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice! Our server Mark was attentive ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Very nice! Our server Mark was attentive but not annoying like many servers can be in an effort to give good service. He was around when needed, but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have ALWAYS had excellent meals at a ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We have ALWAYS had excellent meals at a Cena. I consistently get the lobster agnolotti - DIVINE! It's pricey, but luckily the smaller portion always fills me up. The main dining area near the kitchen is often breezy/cold, so we sat in the bar room, which was more quiet and warmer. We always end the meal with affogato with Frangelico - YUM!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salads were great but main course was ov ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Salads were great but main course was overcooked.

Usually better than this trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

a Cena is always PERFECT. Their lobster ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 4, 2016

a Cena is always PERFECT. Their lobster agnoli is what I would request for my last meal. (to die for!) I have never had anything here that I could complain about. It's my very favorite restaurant. YaHoo

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love a Cena, it's one of our favorite re ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Love a Cena, it's one of our favorite restaurants. Excellent food, unique options, attentive service. Highly recommended!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

How do they do it? Same quality time af ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

How do they do it? Same quality time after time. Delicious, innovative food and impeccable service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous time. Took my wife for her bir ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Marvelous time. Took my wife for her birthday with a bunch of friends. The food was outstanding, the place was vibrant, a little loud, and the service was awesome.

Though not inexpensive I was very happy that they had gluten-free pasta options. And I was told, that they make the pasta in house. Love it ! I will be back !!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The attention received by all of the tea ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The attention received by all of the team was fabulous, very welcoming. The food was out of this world. Really a special place. A little spends but well worth it. This is a city for foodies and this is my new top place. Reservations a must

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the years, a Cena has gone from ups ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Over the years, a Cena has gone from upscale dining to casual neighborhood bistro. Food is still good. Get one of pasta or risotto dishes; it's what they do best. LOUD when they seat large parties, especially those with kids.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.