About a Cena Ristorante

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: (503) 206-3291

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 2:00PM

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (65)
Special Occasion (59)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
See All
Romantic (49)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Cozy (40)
Worth the Drive (32)
Authentic (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Casual (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Family Style (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Historic (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Vegan (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our second time dining at a Cena. The food is amazing and the atmosphere cozy. It reminds us of a couple of the restaurants we ate at in Italy. I would highly recommend a Cena Ristorante to anyone looking for delicious authentic Italian food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The bread was very good. The food itself was okay but not great. They used too much garlic and salt, masking the taste of the food itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice ambiance and definitely a neighborhood gem. The salads were delicious and the pasta entrees were excellent. Moderate noise level and the service was very accommodating and attentive. Prices were moderate but the quality was worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, exciting, delicious options -- a trip to Italy!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A cena was recommended to me by my father to take my Valentine's date (now girlfriend) for a special occasion. The waitress was fantastic helping my novice self through a menu that seems a little overwhelming but in reality makes for a great dining experience. The food was fantastic, I honestly can't remember the last time I've had food equal to or better than this. Granted, it's a little on the spendy side so check the menu and prices first. I will say that the money was well worth the delicious food, atmosphere, and fantastic service. Will definitely be a repeat guest at this fantastic restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was not exciting. Nuts on salad burnt grilled romaine was fair. Sauces lacked the wow we were anticipating from reviews. Waitress was good but others were lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I frequent this restaurant because I love their lobster agnolotti! the owner Chris is wonderful as is all the waitstaff! it's not pretentious and the food is delicious as is the service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This place is a wonderful culinary experience. The food is always delicious, romantic atmosphere with friendly knowledgeable staff. Have come here multiple times over the past couple years, always tried a different dish and everything has been absolutely delicious. Definitely would recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had a scrumptious dinner, (I had the eggplant parmigiana), the service was first class, my house glass of wine, a Pinot noir was lip smacking good, and the butterscotch pudding was to die for. Four of us shared two deserts and we loved every bite. We will definitely be back!

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service is outstanding. We love the food too. We had lobster ravioli and their dinner special filet mignon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good. Pasta from scratch is fantastic. Butterscotch puding crazy good. Knowledgable and helpful staff.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I loved the eggplant Parmesan. I've made this dish for years

and I think A Cena got it right - better than other places I've eaten it in Portland.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I love taking my wife here for lunch on special occasions. The wait staff is always superb--cheerful, helpful and top of all our needs. The food is always to die for!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This neighborhood restaurant has been here for several years but we had never tried it ( we live in the area) . Picked it for my husband and I to enjoy Valentines Day dinner (although we went the night before). The place was surprisingly hopping for a Monday night! I had the pasta with Boar meat (delicious!) and my husband had the fettuccine with prawns (outstanding!). He had the large bowl of pasta and I had the smaller portion. (both just right for each of us).Even though his bowl was $30. he felt the amount he got and the quantity was totally worth it. Waitress was attentive and very nice. She recommended just the right glass of wine based on the type of wine I told her I liked. Although I was not impressed with the Tiramisu (it amounted to a bowl full of whipped cream), my husband's butterscotch pudding he said was very good.

I would definitely come back again (and get what my husband got!) but it is also a great place to bring friends or for an anniversary. We had one small and one large pasta dish, two glasses of wine and two desserts--with tip it was a bit over $100. While steep, the quality of the food was so good we did not feel ripped-off.

Oh yeah, and the little nuggets of focaccia bread dipped in that olive oil--divine!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Super impressed with the fantastic dishes. A cut above any other Italian Restaurant in portland.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Cozy little restaurant with excellent hand made pasta, great cocktails and superb service! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Surprisingly disappointed with our meal. We've come here on and off for years. Felt the food has gone down hill the last couple of visits. My pasta w/boar sauce tasted & looked like a ragu meat sauce? I've never seen ground boar? The restaurant is charming and the staff friendly, hope they can pull it together again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We really enjoyed our lunch at a Cena Ristorante. The staff were helpful and polite, and we were not rushed in any way. It was quiet enough for us to enjoy table side conversation, although one of us is hearing impaired. The food was excellent and the waiter's suggestions ver helpful. I thought that the prices were reasonable also.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I LOVE this restaurant!! The food is phenomenal and the owner is SO friendly and concerned that everyone is satisfied with their meal and experience as well. Wine choices are excellent and of course the food is top notch. I would recommend this restaurant and have to anyone!

Cheers to A Cena 🍷

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A cena is consistently amazing. If there is a dish on the menu I have never tried anywhere, I know that ordering it here will show me the best of what this dish should be. First rate, don't miss it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday at a'Cena. It was highly recommended, on Yelp, during my search for "Italian Restaurant Portland." The food was fabulous! The most authentic Italian meal I've found, outside of Italy. The four of us ordered the two highest recommended entrees on Yelp. The mushroom pene and the lobster pasta. Absolutely delicious! Our only complaint would be that our waitress seemed bored, wasn't very engaging, and service was quite slow. Our second drink order never came. It was a weeknight, so we just let it go. Overall wonderful restaurant in a great Sellwood location. Well worth the drive from Wilsonville. We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Chicken cacciatore is my favorite Italian dish. A Cena served the worst version I have ever eaten. "Energetic" interpreted as meaning "loud". One of the most disappointing culinary experiences I can remember. Where did they get that picture on their website making the decor appear charming? "Recommend" none of the above. "Expensive" for "nothing" sums up my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Promptly seated, efficient and friendly servers, wonderful food, great wine, nice ambience, although somewhat loud, but it felt like family. Totally would recommend and return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a great time. The service and food were top notch. Great job Cena Ristorante!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Best fresh pasta I've ever had! Great wine list and specials of the day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent experience, prompt service but not rushed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A Cena was a very pleasant surprise. It was not on our radar, but the reviews seemed promising. The food was truly wonderful and the equal of any Italian restaurant in Portland and much better than several of the top picks. The pasta was perfectly prepared and clearly made by people who know their craft. Service was excellent. We will absolutely return. It is pretty noisy, so not a place to have a quiet dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fab. That's all I need to say, but the review is making me type at least 50 characters.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is truly an authentic Italian dining experience. We celebrated a friend's birthday at lunch this week and we're already planning a return visit. Our service was attentive and the food was outstanding. I highly recommend the Antipasto plate to start the meal. It is filled with high quality charcuterie and a variety of olives with exceptional burrata. Our other favorites were the pasta with house made fennel sausage and the pasta and lobster dish. Prices are fair and the wine choices are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Delightful special occasion lunch. Wonderful food and service, great atmosphere. Forget the supposed Italian food "in" spots -- this is the place to dine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our server was amazing. She recommended food and wine and everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This restaurant fit us in when we arrived early after a very stressful day. Their service and wonderful food both refreshed and relaxed us—thank you. This City neighborhood restaurant reminds me why Portland values its neighborhoods and is a town for foodies. We will return the next time we are in Portland—this was our favorite restaurant of all that we ate at during a series of recent trips.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good food and nice ambiance for a date night. Great dessert was an unexpected surprise.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

always a pleasure to eat at A Cena. Warm, friendly atmosphere like family table in Italy. Food is uniformly excellent, service superb. Genial host and servers. I love the spring artichoke dish , but year-round pastas are the best in the City.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A Cena is a diamond in the rough, hidden in Sellwood but a top notch Portland restaurant. The house made pasta is the star but even their salads and mains are really inventive and delicious. The portion sizes are large so be forewarned. The half pasta is big enough for an entree if you get an appetizer or have a small appetite. We will be back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food great staff

Pretentious food and friendly humble staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I really enjoyed our experience at aCena Ristorante. Food was delicious. Quite pleased with the variety and the specials which were offered. Not a "cookie cutter" restaurant which was refreshing. Deserts were fabulous!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic! We recently moved to the neighborhood and are thrilled with this neighborhood gem. Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

As always, an excellent meal with excellent service! Special thanks to our fabulous server, Alex!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Dinner for 6, to celebrate a 60th birthday; terrific food, terrific service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went for a birthday with a small group & had a fabulous time. Wonderful food & service at a very reasonable price. A Cena is a local Gem!!!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

What an amazing experience! From the octopus appetizer to the filet mignon, everything was perfect. Scallops and ribs were cooked exactly. Before the spoon hit the floor a server was replacing it. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Amazing service, amazing food. The owner Chris makes sure everyone is getting what they need. The entire wait staff checks on everyone. The menu changes monthly with a mix of new dishes and old favorites. Dishes at every price point and generous portions. Can't recommend it enough.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great place to go with friends - warm and inviting. Good mix of reliable favorite dishes and tasty specials. Nice selection of Italian wines to choose from. The staff is always welcoming and helpful. We are looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 9, 2017

What a great find! Take your time, enjoy every bite. Definitely a treat worth going back for.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We really enjoyed our dining experience. We are not that familiar with an Italian menu and everything we tried was excellent. The wait staff was helpful and friendly, and anticipated our needs without being obtrusive. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food here is delicious. One person had special which was crab ravioli with spinach.f Two of us had the corn marscapone pasta with lobster. Everything is fresh and handmade including sorbet. Service was great! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Priced too high. My 'special' lamb was $48 and my fiancée's primi crab dish had little or no crab and was $32, which, on thinking about it, we agree was MORE than on the menu ($26). Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had the lamb bolognese and chevre pasta special on New Year's Eve, along with fried brussel sprouts. Both completely wonderful. The downside was that I was seated at a table right next to the kitchen exit that is normally used for serving walk-ins. It was very noisy, with all the servers squeezing by with food and plates all the time. I'm not sure the that table should even be used.

All in all, I would like go back but try to get a better table.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.