About a Cena Ristorante

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: (503) 206-3291

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Steak - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Seafood Pasta - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Affogato - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
pasta aglio e olio - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Bruschettas - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Lobster Ravioli - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Finocchio - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Cavatelli With Lamb Ragu - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
farro - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Bianca Pizza - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Spicy, Creamy Sausage Pasta - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR
Cremini Mushroom Risotto - a Cena Ristorante, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 2:00PM

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Romantic (40)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Cozy (31)
Authentic (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Casual (13)
Seasonal (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Family Style (5)
Business Meals (4)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner for 6, to celebrate a 60th birthd ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner for 6, to celebrate a 60th birthday; terrific food, terrific service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a birthday with a small group & ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for a birthday with a small group & had a fabulous time. Wonderful food & service at a very reasonable price. A Cena is a local Gem!!!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing experience! From the oc ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

What an amazing experience! From the octopus appetizer to the filet mignon, everything was perfect. Scallops and ribs were cooked exactly. Before the spoon hit the floor a server was replacing it. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, amazing food. The owner ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing service, amazing food. The owner Chris makes sure everyone is getting what they need. The entire wait staff checks on everyone. The menu changes monthly with a mix of new dishes and old favorites. Dishes at every price point and generous portions. Can't recommend it enough.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go with friends - warm an ...

vip
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to go with friends - warm and inviting. Good mix of reliable favorite dishes and tasty specials. Nice selection of Italian wines to choose from. The staff is always welcoming and helpful. We are looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our dining experience. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We really enjoyed our dining experience. We are not that familiar with an Italian menu and everything we tried was excellent. The wait staff was helpful and friendly, and anticipated our needs without being obtrusive. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food here is delicious. One person had ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food here is delicious. One person had special which was crab ravioli with spinach.f Two of us had the corn marscapone pasta with lobster. Everything is fresh and handmade including sorbet. Service was great! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Priced too high. My 'special' lamb was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Priced too high. My 'special' lamb was $48 and my fiancée's primi crab dish had little or no crab and was $32, which, on thinking about it, we agree was MORE than on the menu ($26). Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

I had the lamb bolognese and chevre pas ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had the lamb bolognese and chevre pasta special on New Year's Eve, along with fried brussel sprouts. Both completely wonderful. The downside was that I was seated at a table right next to the kitchen exit that is normally used for serving walk-ins. It was very noisy, with all the servers squeezing by with food and plates all the time. I'm not sure the that table should even be used.

All in all, I would like go back but try to get a better table.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service g ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was excellent and the service great. I would love to return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always very special. Food and staff!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always very special. Food and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't say enough about the delicious foo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Can't say enough about the delicious food at a Cena. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the restaurant has a lovely and comfortable ambiance, and again - the food was divine. The best pasta I've had in Portland.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I recommend the seafood dishes. The re ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I recommend the seafood dishes. The restaurant accommodated my gluten and milk sensitivities when preparing my Fritto Misto and Delicata squash. They were very tasty and much appreciated. Three in my party had seafood dishes and we all enjoyed them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

All food was great except the scampi app ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

All food was great except the scampi app....the shrimp was tasteless...seem like it had all the flavor boiled out of it and the broth had no flavor. The foods very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fabulous!! We loved the food. The resta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous!! We loved the food. The restaurant was clean. The server was fun and friendly and the food was excellent. A wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visitor. Excellent food, goo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First time visitor. Excellent food, good service and nice ambiance. A bit pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderfully warm and welcoming space, se ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderfully warm and welcoming space, service, ambience; just what you want in the leading neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Simply superb! The scallops were lightly ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Simply superb! The scallops were lightly and perfectly cooked for this picky about seafood person. The warm spinach salad was exquisite combination of quince, beets, goat cheese and lightly warmed spinach! Excellent Christmas Eve service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to a Cena Ristorante at lea ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have been to a Cena Ristorante at least 5 times in the past year. Never disappointed. Good menu selection, quality food and good service. Need a reservation

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything tasted great, staff was aweso ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything tasted great, staff was awesome. The only downside was I got the spaghetti frutti do mare- there was a ball of noddles cooked together into a -well ball. Other than that everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice dinner in cosy restaurant with nice ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Nice dinner in cosy restaurant with nice wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of my go-to places for Italian food. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of my go-to places for Italian food. Most recent visit was as good as usual. Highly recommend for an easy-access place to get a great meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always enjoy dining at A Cena...food is ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always enjoy dining at A Cena...food is excellent! Can be noisy, but we were in the room between the barroom and the larger main room. This in between room is quieter and since we were with another couple, it was easier to have conversations!! Will return for sure!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place had the most phenomenal food; ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This place had the most phenomenal food; I am in love. I ordered the trout with brussel sprouts and squash, and it tasted amazing. Everything was crisp, warm, and delicious. There were few bones in the fish, and I found the veggies the most enjoyable part of the meal. The atmosphere was also lovely. It's a quiet place with mood lighting and candles, and it seemed to be relatively kid friendly as well. I went to celebrate Yule with a friend, and it was a very enjoyable experience. The staff did not comment on the fact that I brought my own wassail to the table! Speaking of which, the non-alcoholic drink list was sadly sparse. However, the wine list appeared extensive. The desserts were also fabulous. I ordered the spumoni sundae, and it was delicious. It was a little tart for my taste though, as they use marionberry gelato rather than cherry. It was more expensive than I usually go for, but it was still a nice meal and I think it was worth it. I would highly recommend this place for special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our visit. The food was good ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We enjoyed our visit. The food was good though not inexpensive. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant itself was warm and cozy on a chilly winter night. A good restaurant when you want to live it up a bit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We ❤️ a Cena! Great menu great service ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We ❤️ a Cena! Great menu great service great wine great ambience Great all the way around!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food changes. Not outstanding this ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food changes. Not outstanding this time around. Service folks were pretty friendly.

Ambience is somewhat jammed, alas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

What an excellent restaurant! The food w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

What an excellent restaurant! The food was uniformly fantastic, with interesting flavors and great execution. Staff was attentive, if a bit harried, the place was packed! Good wine list, great drinks, and good dessert to round it all off.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Simply wonderful, every time, food is de ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Simply wonderful, every time, food is delicious and ambience and service is superb. All hats off to Chris and his team.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Meal at a Cena was absolutely perfec ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our Meal at a Cena was absolutely perfect from start to finish. Maybe the best Italian meal we've ever had. It was perfect for my husband and I to have a special date night. So romantic and quaint. Will be back again and again!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always welcoming with excellent food. W ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Always welcoming with excellent food. We were advised that one of the entrees we had ordered was subsequently not available, but the waiter offered a free dessert to compensate for the disappointment. Was really responsive throughout the meal. Great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and superb service. Just ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Delicious food and superb service. Just the right amount of attention without being a pest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best meals I've eaten in Port ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of the best meals I've eaten in Portland. Each course better than the previous one

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice services and nice food!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Very nice services and nice food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at a Cena was meant to be a speci ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dinner at a Cena was meant to be a special occasion with a meal and ambience to match the specialness of the evening. We were not let down. The server, I forget her name, really made the experience much nicer. The meal, while completely delicious, was not the most spectacular. But, I've had spectacular Italian food, so my bar is set relatively high. However, the meal, the service, and the ambience set this place apart from some of the spectacular food I have had in very cold and sterile environments. Great food with no soul is overdone. A Cena delivered everything necessary for a wonderful evening with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food-great service!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food-great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has it all and you won't ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This restaurant has it all and you won't be dis-appointed as the owner was on-site to ensure a wonderful dinning experience. Nice to see a good mix of people including families having dinner at this restaurant. The atmosphere, service, food and staff was terrific. We had a small issue but it was resolved by the staff and owner immediately...we stayed until they closed. I'm looking forward in coming back here again and recommend it to all my friends.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter was excellent as was the back ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The waiter was excellent as was the backup crew. My daughter and I loved the choices and shared appetizers and dessert plus loved out main dish.

I was part of her Christmas present as she lives in Sacramento Ca and will not be here for Christmas.

Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food! So delicious. My mom loved h ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food! So delicious. My mom loved her spaghetti and the pasta was amazing. Dessert just sealed the deal. Server was super helpful which was awesome because it was our first time there. Can't wait to come back for another occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little spot in the neighborhood. A ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great little spot in the neighborhood. Always good food and wine and cute/romantic ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.