About a Cena Ristorante

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday 3-9pm
Monday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: 5032063291x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
a Cena Ristorante
Steak
Seafood Pasta
Affogato
pasta aglio e olio
Bruschettas
Lobster Ravioli
Finocchio
Cavatelli With Lamb Ragu
farro
Bianca Pizza
Spicy, Creamy Sausage Pasta
Cremini Mushroom Risotto

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Neighborhood Gem
Portland
Italian
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Neighborhood Gem (97)
Special Occasion (89)
Fit for Foodies (88)
See All
Romantic (67)
Notable Wine List (48)
Great for Lunch (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first date was at a Cena and we've c ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our first date was at a Cena and we've come back on our anniversary every year...as well as many other times. We love a Cena. Best Italian restaurant in Portland. The tier one food, service and warm feeling are always present.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Cena continues to be one of our very f ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

A Cena continues to be one of our very favorite restaurants! The appetizers and small plates make wonderful light meals, and their entrees are great if you want a full-on dinner. Yummy wines and desserts, too. Attentive and informative service, friendly and warm atmosphere.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were delighted to hear of delicious d ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were delighted to hear of delicious daily specials, which we sampled with relish, then had a nice variety of options for the 5 of us, including a nice selection of wines. I liked that several dishes could come in half sizes for shared tasting. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently excellent food and service. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Consistently excellent food and service. Brown paper tablecloths, blue jeans on the host, and old-school R&B music set an atmosphere at odds with the quality and cost of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our second visit. Enjoyed the ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was our second visit. Enjoyed the food and the service was attentive but not intrusive. This is a busy place. So, it can get noisy. If you're looking for a quiet place to converse, I would not recommend a Cena.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They were unexpectely busy, so the servi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

They were unexpectely busy, so the service was a bit slow. The food was delicious (Sea Bass), and we had a very nice time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It's always a treat having a meal here! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It's always a treat having a meal here! The food is fantastic and the staff is wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal! The lobster angolli was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent meal! The lobster angolli was amazing as usual.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had an enjoyable Friday night. Good f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had an enjoyable Friday night. Good food and atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I appreciated that our server gave sugge ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I appreciated that our server gave suggestions and was knowledgeable about both the food and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, spotty service and poor food ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food, spotty service and poor food choice descriptions. The sea bass is just OK and full of bones. The fried seafood platter appetizer was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We ate outside this time - a first for u ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We ate outside this time - a first for us. I was worried that the traffic, etc. would detract from the experience but we were seated on the side street and there was no problem. It was quieter outside. Food, wine, and wonderful service were as outstanding as ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Chose this restaurant for a date night. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Chose this restaurant for a date night. The food tasted fresh and I can say for sure that it was some of the best Italian that I have had in Portland so far. All of the staff were very kind and attentive. The manager/owner? even went so far as to offer to take a photo for my girlfriend and I. I would definitely recommend a cena. LGBTQ friendly!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have had many very good meals at A Cen ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I have had many very good meals at A Cena but this was not one of them. The kitchen must have had a off night as most of the dishes were just plain disappointing. We started with the Fritto Misto which was quite tasty but the grilled romaine salad was really overdressed, the Bucatini was undercooked, had no spice and was just plain bland, the Salsiccia pizza crust was completely under cooked and the $46 steak while cooked perfectly was tough. Our group had a great time and the waitress had some great wine recommendations so I will chalk it up to the kitchen having a bad night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

while some of the food was good, it was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

while some of the food was good, it was inconsistent and EVERYTHING was cold (even though I specifically asked the server to make sure dinner was hot after the pasta appetizer came out cold). Desserts were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

a Cena was a great place for my wife and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

a Cena was a great place for my wife and I to have a birthday dinner! The service was great and the staff did a fantastic job.

My only knocks would be that I had a question about my reservation that I entered in opentable, but didn't receive a response until the day of the actual reservation. It wasn't hugely pressing, but I was hoping someone would've followed-up a bit sooner.

Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic. But a little expensive, but ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fantastic. But a little expensive, but a great place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a Cena is great. They have an excellent ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

a Cena is great. They have an excellent selection of food. The grilled octopus is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

a Cena is one of the friendliest places ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

a Cena is one of the friendliest places in town for Italian comfort food. One of my favorites.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time but not last time. Staff is ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

First time but not last time. Staff is very friendly but over worked. We got lots of apologies. The food is very good. I would recommend that everyone who is getting a pasta dish as an entree get the smaller portion because it is plenty of food, and a great value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We enjoyed our meal so much at A Cena! E ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We enjoyed our meal so much at A Cena! Everything from the focaccia bread on the table to the cannoli for dessert was just absolutely delicious. The go to dish is their Lobster Angolotti, it will haunt your dreams for months! We tried a few of their specials, the fried artichokes were delicious and the duck confit cannelloni were top notch! Great service and staff as well very attentive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing short of awesome. My sisterand ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nothing short of awesome. My sisterandI for a spontaneous Friday night dinner. We were seated at table had a lovely evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about ACena. Food was a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Loved everything about ACena. Food was amazing and the staff courteous and attentive. Will be my #1 place to go for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love A Cena and only wish I lived in P ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love A Cena and only wish I lived in Portland so I could visit more regularly. The food is creatively traditional Italian, the service is warm but nonintrusive, and the wine list is carefully curated and reasonably priced. A real gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the eggplant parmigiana and my hus ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the eggplant parmigiana and my husband had the raviolini both of which was very good.

Our server was familiar with the menu and served us promptly because we were going

to a concert afterwards.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Second time here. Loved the food last t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Second time here. Loved the food last time so we came back. Underwhelmed this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed a wonderful meal outdoors on ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal outdoors on a lovely evening. The grilled romaine lettuce was great. The scallops were perfectly prepared! Tuna was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carciofi are in! We have been waiting fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Carciofi are in! We have been waiting for this year's season for 2 months and finally got lucky at this dinner. So good!!! We also appreciated the friendly and professional service by Lauris and her cheerful splitting of the check for each of 3 couples. A Cena never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an enjoyable outdoor eating exper ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had an enjoyable outdoor eating experience at Cena. We enjoyed the sunny Portland evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner from start to fini ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a great dinner from start to finish. Great cocktails, delicious appetizers and salad and amazing entree's and oh yes, dessert. We did it all and enjoyed every single bit of it. We had a great waiter - top notch service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My small group of friends and I loved th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My small group of friends and I loved this restaurant for lunch! The menu was authentic and unique. Everything sounded so appetizing that we got several dishes to share, which was a great solution. We got the antipasto platter, which was wonderful. We ordered four pasta dishes that I don't recall seeing on menus elsewhere...each one quite delicious. Dessert was amazing. The service was impeccable. The space was intimate, but with an open feel. We all felt it was a great find in a city known for wonderful Italian choices! Returning soon!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu on the smaller side but all quality ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Menu on the smaller side but all quality food at good prices. Expansive wine list and responsive management.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was good, but the $100+ bill didn't r ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

It was good, but the $100+ bill didn't really seem to reflect outstanding like I was hoping. We got a few items to try, which were all pretty good. The only bad dish was the risotto which was crunchy and the crab on top wasn't very flavorful. If it's not crab season (or you can't get good crab), then don't put it on the menu! The agnolotti with gluten free pasta was outstanding. Everything was good. I just expected more.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, everything was fantastic. I a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

As always, everything was fantastic. I am never disappointed. The chef is creative and always pleases the taste buds.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best pasta in Portland. Wonderful, frien ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Best pasta in Portland. Wonderful, friendly wait staff and excellent ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not great: There was hair in the napkin, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

not great: There was hair in the napkin, and the water was served to us warm. good side: The food was good though (although the signature Artichoke dish was a bit too oily).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The food and service was excellent. Out ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Outstanding...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A Cena is a real neighborhood gem of a f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A Cena is a real neighborhood gem of a find!! We had four different entrees and everyone thought they all were fantastic. I ordered the thick cut veal chop special. it was 20 oz of the best steak/chop i have EVER had. And that is no hyperbole!! We brought two young kids with us, and we have done that before at A Cena, the staff was not upset, the kids were well behaved and also enjoyed their meal. We will be back to A Cena over and over again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, an outstanding meal with an a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As always, an outstanding meal with an attentive and knowledgeable staff. Wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live close to a Cena so we go there o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We live close to a Cena so we go there often, by ourselves and with friends. It never disappoints, both in overall quality and in dedication to fresh-local-seasonal foods. We always feel like famiglia!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.