Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About a Cena Ristorante

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: (503) 206-3291

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 2:00PM

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (72)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Authentic (48)
Cozy (47)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Romantic (39)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Notable Wine List (30)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Comfort Food (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Casual (18)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Fun (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

always a treat to eat here. .we come from NW portland 4 or 5 times a year..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

We are never disappointed here, the food and service are always outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

While I appreciate the ability to order smaller portions of pasta at this restaurant, I think it ought to consider mitigating the noise level, with some more sound-dampening surfaces or spacing tables farther apart. The party next to us was quite loud and became rather a nuisance, making our conversation difficult. And one of the four neighbors was swearing loud enough for us to hear. I really don't want to hear the F-word from somebody else when I am eating and trying to catch up with long-time friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a great authentic Italian gem. Excellent food and service was perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

So disappointed in our Mother's Day visit to aCena. Three of our party had food that was served at a tepid temperature while the fourth ordered the branzino which was piping hot and remained that way throughout the meal (it was delicious!). The pomodoro sauce on the ravioli was thin and tasteless and lukewarm lobster & corn agnolotti doesn't do justice to the flavors of that dish. Additionally, when we booked a table we requested to sit anywhere other than in the front room. Guess where we were seated? Hostess was not at all apologetic about seating us in front when we asked if table was available in back room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had a wonderful Mother's Day dinner with my wife and our 22-month old. Courteous, prompt , exceptional service and even better food! I was a little worried about bringing our kid based on previous reviews I'd read, but if you time it right and maybe bring a small snack or other quiet distraction, all should be fine. Food and drinks were fresh and quick, very little wait. The early dinner was just right for our kid, though we came with a small bag of snacks that held her over. [ We were still deciding what to order when she'd realized everyone around was being served food. Cereal to the rescue! :) ] Bread and the arancini appetizer came very quickly after ordering, promptly followed by our main courses. Note, a half order would probably suffice for most, but trust me, you'll be glad to order the full and take home what you don't finish, the food was so great. :) While getting our leftovers boxed up, they brought our daughter a cool tricolor crayon to use on the paper table liner.

For all the parents with young children, this is no Chuck-e-Cheese-type of place to take your kids, but they are most definitely kid-friendly for a nice, and more importantly delicious dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our first time with friends who have been before - owner recognized our friend and welcomed him back. Friendly and good service to go with excellent food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, delicious. There's a high energy level and buzz in A Cena with close tables but everyone is enjoying their meals and the staff is so nice.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food, selection, service, and ambiance, as always!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is ALWAYS exceptional. Service is just right. Always a treat to eat there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We've been here before and I would go back but this was not a great experience. One of the people in our group had never eaten at a Cena before and we had given glowing reviews so the meal did not live up to that. First of all, the place was not jam packed. Most of the tables were full but not all of them and some of the 4 tops only had 2 people. I've seen it much busier. Our server didn't come over to get our drink order in a timely fashion and once he did it took a bit. Three of the items my group and I were interested in ordering were either out or no longer available and only one of those had a replacement dish so the already small menu was even smaller. We ordered a pizza to start and a bottle of wine. The wine was delicious and we all enjoyed it. My entree came to the table before our pizza or anyone else's food. When we said we had ordered a pizza to start the guy bringing my entree (not our server) looked flustered and took the plate away. Next all of our entrees came out, followed by the pizza that was supposed to be the starter. At that point we ordered another bottle of wine to go with the entrees but it didn't come until we were all pretty much done. Our server was here and there but it was actually a very kind older gentleman, possibly the manager or owner, who checked on us and who apologized for the pizza coming out late. Like I said, I would probably go back but this was a disappointing experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were very disappointed with the value. Mediocre food, cramped table, shoe-horned right on top of our neighbors. High prices.

Will not return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Yet another great dinner. Staff and menu are exceptional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had an excellent meal! The restaurant is very cozy and we had a corner booth which was perfect for the 4 of us. Parking in this area can be difficult.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Alex greeted us warmly. He explained the restaurant's philosophy, sourcing and that everything is made in house. Wonderful Service, fantastic house made pizza, pasta and dessert. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great meal once again. We have always been pleased.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Both myself and my dining companion and I became ill with gastro intestinal problems later that evening after our meal. Pretty sure it was something we ate there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food is always amazing, the staff and the owner always are helpful and charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Usually go here for lunch, which is always excellent. The dinner prices were a little higher than I remembered, which meant we didn't try as many items as we might have otherwise. Overall, the pizza (sausage) and Aspargi appetizer were delicious. Era molto buono!

Tags: Wood Oven, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 24, 2017

First time here. Amazing staff and above par food. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

You ask 'What makes this place special'? Couldn't find the category that said, 'Everything was delicious'!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Have been to northern Italy. This is the closest I've ever had - exceptional meal every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A great date night place. It is cozy yet lively. The staff is so attentive and warm. Food excellent. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was very good with the exception of the tiramisu. The service was poor as the waiter was unable to keep up with the tables. We were there celebrating my birthday and when as if we had saved room for dessert I said yes and was greeted with a great I will be right back. When he returned he gave me a tiramisu with a candle in it and said happy birthday, then walked away without getting other guests at my table an opportunity to order dessert. After a lengthy wait he returned to ask if we want any other dessert and had to be told we still had not received a dessert menu. The food I will return for someday but I will not get the tiramisu and not during lunch. Our reservation was for 11:45 and all parties were seated by 12:00 and we still didn't get out of there until almost 2:20 so no a place for a normal 1 hour lunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Fantastic food, awkward, slightly rushed/pushy, inexperienced waitress. She tried, but not up to the quality of the food. VERY noisy but the food was terrific.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Once again, we impressed visitors with a wonderful dinner at A Cena.
The service, drinks, ambiance and food are outstanding. My only concern is the lack of parking in Sellwood. It's a shame that this problem isn't being addressed.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have been to A-Cena 4 times and each time has been a culinary delight, but the other night we were there with friends and the waitress came up to ask for our drinks and then asked it we were ready to order. We barely knew what we wanted to drink, let alone what we wanted for dinner. So we ordered our drinks and then she was back about 3 minutes later to ask if we were ready to order our food. The bottom-line is it was obvious that she was hurrying us along because the restaurant was packed. When you spend that kind of money, you don't want the feeling they are scooting you out of the restaurant. It was very annoying to all four of patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have dined at Acena for nearly 10 years and have never been disappointed. The food is great, atmosphere is warm and people are very friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

always a winner for a good meal, good drinks and good vibes

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lovely, classy and charming. The food was delicious from the appetizer to the entre. Attentive server, made great suggestions/recommendations. It was a relaxed, not hurried lunch for old friends wanting to catch up with each others lives; this was a perfect location with fantastic fare.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We enjoyed excellent food and service in fun atmosphere.
We will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

First time diners here. Street parking was available! Restaurant is small and cozy. Menu choices were just right! We ordered the Misto Frito which was excellent and generous for two people to share. I ordered the eggplant Parmesan. The sugo sauce was very good. The eggplant a bit too crispy but tasty. My friend ordered a pasta with kale and squash. She said the sauce was lacking so they brought her sugo sauce to liven it up. She was happy

We ended the affogatto and were very pleased.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food and friendly staff. Ideal place to done on weeknight evenings. The grilled romaine salad is a must.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We celebrated my mom's 90th birthday. She was delighted, as were we, in the food and atmosphere. It was quiet enough for her to hear our conversation but jumping enough to feel like a party. The food, well it's excellent. The "polpi" appetizer is magnificent. Just a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

food was excellent, interior a little dreary, service mediocre

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

When we sat at our table it was horribly unbalanced and insecure. BUT one of the employees fixed it stat and it was secure for the meal. The waitress was outstanding , the good as fresh as we've had there. They had a nice 'super tuscan' wine by the glass offering. This is one of those gems in Portland that doesn't get the credit and visibility in things like the Oregonian etc.

Net net: great place with very good good , nice wines and cocktails !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The grilled octopus was delicious, but the scallops were over seasoned and over salted. Friday night seemed to attract a lot of group tables, so the place was noisy with happy chatter. Hard for a couple who expected an intimate dinner setting. The wine was excellent and staff were nice and not at all fussy.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food. Loved our waitress. My only complaint was the gentleman bussing the tables would just reach in and grab plates or reach to fill water with out even a word. Would have been nice to have a " can I take that for you" and " can I fill your water" before some close calls of us reaching for something as he swooped in to take a plate or fill our glasses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Very few vegetarian option. My friend ordered a dish she did not like at all, when she said she didn't like it the just took the (full) plate away. Didn't offer her anything instead and still billed us for the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.