Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About a Cena Ristorante

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: (503) 206-3291

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 2:00PM

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (70)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Special Occasion (59)
See All
Fit for Foodies (52)
Romantic (48)
Cozy (45)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Authentic (40)
Worth the Drive (34)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Comfort Food (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Casual (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Historic (2)
Vegan (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Loved our waitress. My only complaint was the gentleman bussing the tables would just reach in and grab plates or reach to fill water with out even a word. Would have been nice to have a " can I take that for you" and " can I fill your water" before some close calls of us reaching for something as he swooped in to take a plate or fill our glasses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Very few vegetarian option. My friend ordered a dish she did not like at all, when she said she didn't like it the just took the (full) plate away. Didn't offer her anything instead and still billed us for the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The caprese is the best
Lamache, crab in White wine sauce, so GOOD!
Tiramisu is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great Italian food. Great service. Great restaurant! My favorite place for Italian food in PDX.
The owner is very personable, and the the service is unpretentious and accommodating. The food is always consistently fresh, lovingly prepared and well executed.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

First time, but will definitely not be the last. Excellent service and quality authentic Italian dining.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My first time at a Cena was for a birthday dinner, and I was pleasantly surprised. The service was so far above what one usually experiences at many Portland restaurants, without being overly stuffy. The room had nice, dim lighting, a moderate level of noise so conversation was possible without having to yell. We had two different servers, both delightful and informative. There's an actual busboy too, so our water glasses were always full and our dirty dishes promptly cleared. The food came -- papardelle and a faro side for me, margherita pizza for my date - came out hot and fresh, and perfectly prepared. A wonderful meal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Every visit to Portland includes dinner at this restaurant. The pasta is homemade and delicious. Creative ingredients and local items make for a delicious dinner. It is truly a neighborhood gem. It does get a bit loud as the night develops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Never disappoints. Great service. Good food. Authentic experience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Good experience and food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food and service are always good. Its better to go earlier if you want to have a conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always fabulous! Food is always perfect! Great service, location!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The mood lighting was great, I would have to say that with the tables within the door being so close, the waitress kept serving the tables from between, so her butt was at eye level, and hanging over the table which I thought was inappropriate. The food was great. Also they got our appetizer wrong, had asked for the shrimps, got a salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent service and meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Just a great neighborhood restaurant. Always good. Updates from the optional newsletter feature seasonal and regional Italian fare. Have been coming here fro years and never been
disappointed.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our last visit was for a 74th birthday. The upscale Italian restaurant is always very good and welcoming. Limited menu, but tasty selection of appetizers, first courses and main courses, with a changing deseet menu. Very much worth the owner,and staff are friendly and capable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great server with all the answers, great food, great wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I used to LOVE this place! I have taken many clients here, countless family dinners and always on Mother's Day. This last experience was AWFUL. Our server was very complacent, and overall pretty rude. We never got asked if we'd like another glass of wine, and we were checked on maybe twice. The worst of it was that my husband can not eat mushrooms- so he asked for no mushrooms on a dish- it wasn't possible since it was in the sauce- no big deal, so he ordered another entree. His meal came out and it was covered in mushrooms. He did not check to see how our food was, and then at the end of the meal he came over to see if we needed boxes- and he said to my husband in a very accusatory tone- You didn't like it? My husband said- I can not eat mushrooms as I told you before. The server blew up on him and exclaimed why didn't you tell me? You need to tell someone when it is not right- next time you have to speak up! It was very uncomfortable for us- I felt like my husband was being scolded... See, we couldn't get his attention until my little toddler was squirming her way out of her seat- so we didn't have time to wait for another meal. We were also celebrating his Mom's birthday- so he decided to play it cool and just get it to go for my daughter to eat the next day.
After all of that- the server slammed the bill down and we were on our way- needless to say- we will NOT be back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was very good, the place was quieter than most Portland restaurants and they served a basket of bread, unusual for Portland, but greatly appreciated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The owner and his staff run the place like you have been invited into their big family dining room. The food is tremendous, and the cocktails are worth an early arrival!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The waiter should inform you the price of the "specials". He did not , and it was a $49.00 entree

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service & food. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our second time visiting a Cena and we have not been disappointed! The food is awesome and from the moment you walk through the door the staff is amazing!
For an appetizer, we ordered Cavoletti di Bruxelles-fried brussels sprouts with pancetta. Not only was it incredible, it also arrived at our table about 5 minutes after we ordered. For our main course, my wife had Garganelli alla Norcia -pasta with house-made fennel sausage, Cremini, white wine, and cream and I had Stracotto- boneless short rRib, horseradish, potato gnocchi Alla Bava'. We finished our meal with coffee and Affogato-vanilla bean gelato with warm chocolate sauce and a shot of espresso. It was a perfect way to end our anniversary dinner. If you love Italian food, you can not go wrong with a Cena!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our lunch was absolutely perfect. The lobster agnolotti is a dream. The pork chop special WAS truly special. We ordered ravioli to take home for dinner and it was delicious too. Our waiter, Alex, was the best! Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We had a delicious pre-theater dinner with excellent service and respect for our timeline.

Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Superb food that dazzled the taste buds. Wonderful service with a very attentive and helpful/informative staff. Not even a little bit snooty which is refreshing from a higher end restaurant. We had a truly exceptional experience celebrating my birthday!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We've been coming here for years and consider it one of the best restaurants in the Southeast Portland area. On a culinary or "foodie" level it's as good as any of them. It's open for lunch, unlike many restaurants of this caliber. On our recent visit we had especially good service, being allowed to take our time with absolutely no sense of being urged to order more; our server allowed us to order only one course at a time in case we found we didn't need another course. The first courses were so good and filling (grilled octopus salad and Brussels sprouts with pancetta) that they could have been a complete lunch, but in the true sense of an "appetizer" these dishes made us want to order more. Our entrees (filet of sole and short-rib ravioli) were as excellent as the first courses, as was the bottle of French Chardonnay we had. All in all a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had to wait a while on our 7:30 reservation. Everything slightly slow. Noise level way too high. Food good not great. Expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Drinks made from handcrafted specialty Italian drinks, and authentic Italian food make this a local gem. Their homemade pasta is fantastic--I had the handmade ravioli which had a unique blend of unexpected flavors. For dessert try to the Cannoli and top it off with the homemade Limoncello --which is a treat.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We sais after we left...."that was really great, we should come here more often".

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my second time dining here and the restaurant does not disappoint. The service
is outstanding and the entire meal was to die for. The pastas are fresh daily and the Lobster Agnolotti is unlike anything I have ever tasted. Melt in your mouth...heavenly!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was our second time dining at a Cena. The food is amazing and the atmosphere cozy. It reminds us of a couple of the restaurants we ate at in Italy. I would highly recommend a Cena Ristorante to anyone looking for delicious authentic Italian food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The bread was very good. The food itself was okay but not great. They used too much garlic and salt, masking the taste of the food itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very nice ambiance and definitely a neighborhood gem. The salads were delicious and the pasta entrees were excellent. Moderate noise level and the service was very accommodating and attentive. Prices were moderate but the quality was worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

As always, exciting, delicious options -- a trip to Italy!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A cena was recommended to me by my father to take my Valentine's date (now girlfriend) for a special occasion. The waitress was fantastic helping my novice self through a menu that seems a little overwhelming but in reality makes for a great dining experience. The food was fantastic, I honestly can't remember the last time I've had food equal to or better than this. Granted, it's a little on the spendy side so check the menu and prices first. I will say that the money was well worth the delicious food, atmosphere, and fantastic service. Will definitely be a repeat guest at this fantastic restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was not exciting. Nuts on salad burnt grilled romaine was fair. Sauces lacked the wow we were anticipating from reviews. Waitress was good but others were lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I frequent this restaurant because I love their lobster agnolotti! the owner Chris is wonderful as is all the waitstaff! it's not pretentious and the food is delicious as is the service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This place is a wonderful culinary experience. The food is always delicious, romantic atmosphere with friendly knowledgeable staff. Have come here multiple times over the past couple years, always tried a different dish and everything has been absolutely delicious. Definitely would recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful evening at A Cena again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had a scrumptious dinner, (I had the eggplant parmigiana), the service was first class, my house glass of wine, a Pinot noir was lip smacking good, and the butterscotch pudding was to die for. Four of us shared two deserts and we loved every bite. We will definitely be back!

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.