Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About a Cena Ristorante

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: (503) 206-3291

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 2:00PM

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (77)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Special Occasion (63)
See All
Cozy (50)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Authentic (49)
Romantic (44)
Worth the Drive (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Notable Wine List (31)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Local Ingredients (24)
Comfort Food (21)
Casual (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Great for Lunch (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

You ask 'What makes this place special'? Couldn't find the category that said, 'Everything was delicious'!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Have been to northern Italy. This is the closest I've ever had - exceptional meal every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was very good with the exception of the tiramisu. The service was poor as the waiter was unable to keep up with the tables. We were there celebrating my birthday and when as if we had saved room for dessert I said yes and was greeted with a great I will be right back. When he returned he gave me a tiramisu with a candle in it and said happy birthday, then walked away without getting other guests at my table an opportunity to order dessert. After a lengthy wait he returned to ask if we want any other dessert and had to be told we still had not received a dessert menu. The food I will return for someday but I will not get the tiramisu and not during lunch. Our reservation was for 11:45 and all parties were seated by 12:00 and we still didn't get out of there until almost 2:20 so no a place for a normal 1 hour lunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Fantastic food, awkward, slightly rushed/pushy, inexperienced waitress. She tried, but not up to the quality of the food. VERY noisy but the food was terrific.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Once again, we impressed visitors with a wonderful dinner at A Cena.
The service, drinks, ambiance and food are outstanding. My only concern is the lack of parking in Sellwood. It's a shame that this problem isn't being addressed.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have been to A-Cena 4 times and each time has been a culinary delight, but the other night we were there with friends and the waitress came up to ask for our drinks and then asked it we were ready to order. We barely knew what we wanted to drink, let alone what we wanted for dinner. So we ordered our drinks and then she was back about 3 minutes later to ask if we were ready to order our food. The bottom-line is it was obvious that she was hurrying us along because the restaurant was packed. When you spend that kind of money, you don't want the feeling they are scooting you out of the restaurant. It was very annoying to all four of patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have dined at Acena for nearly 10 years and have never been disappointed. The food is great, atmosphere is warm and people are very friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

always a winner for a good meal, good drinks and good vibes

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lovely, classy and charming. The food was delicious from the appetizer to the entre. Attentive server, made great suggestions/recommendations. It was a relaxed, not hurried lunch for old friends wanting to catch up with each others lives; this was a perfect location with fantastic fare.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We enjoyed excellent food and service in fun atmosphere.
We will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

First time diners here. Street parking was available! Restaurant is small and cozy. Menu choices were just right! We ordered the Misto Frito which was excellent and generous for two people to share. I ordered the eggplant Parmesan. The sugo sauce was very good. The eggplant a bit too crispy but tasty. My friend ordered a pasta with kale and squash. She said the sauce was lacking so they brought her sugo sauce to liven it up. She was happy

We ended the affogatto and were very pleased.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food and friendly staff. Ideal place to done on weeknight evenings. The grilled romaine salad is a must.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We celebrated my mom's 90th birthday. She was delighted, as were we, in the food and atmosphere. It was quiet enough for her to hear our conversation but jumping enough to feel like a party. The food, well it's excellent. The "polpi" appetizer is magnificent. Just a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

food was excellent, interior a little dreary, service mediocre

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

When we sat at our table it was horribly unbalanced and insecure. BUT one of the employees fixed it stat and it was secure for the meal. The waitress was outstanding , the good as fresh as we've had there. They had a nice 'super tuscan' wine by the glass offering. This is one of those gems in Portland that doesn't get the credit and visibility in things like the Oregonian etc.

Net net: great place with very good good , nice wines and cocktails !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The grilled octopus was delicious, but the scallops were over seasoned and over salted. Friday night seemed to attract a lot of group tables, so the place was noisy with happy chatter. Hard for a couple who expected an intimate dinner setting. The wine was excellent and staff were nice and not at all fussy.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food. Loved our waitress. My only complaint was the gentleman bussing the tables would just reach in and grab plates or reach to fill water with out even a word. Would have been nice to have a " can I take that for you" and " can I fill your water" before some close calls of us reaching for something as he swooped in to take a plate or fill our glasses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Very few vegetarian option. My friend ordered a dish she did not like at all, when she said she didn't like it the just took the (full) plate away. Didn't offer her anything instead and still billed us for the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The caprese is the best
Lamache, crab in White wine sauce, so GOOD!
Tiramisu is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great Italian food. Great service. Great restaurant! My favorite place for Italian food in PDX.
The owner is very personable, and the the service is unpretentious and accommodating. The food is always consistently fresh, lovingly prepared and well executed.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

First time, but will definitely not be the last. Excellent service and quality authentic Italian dining.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My first time at a Cena was for a birthday dinner, and I was pleasantly surprised. The service was so far above what one usually experiences at many Portland restaurants, without being overly stuffy. The room had nice, dim lighting, a moderate level of noise so conversation was possible without having to yell. We had two different servers, both delightful and informative. There's an actual busboy too, so our water glasses were always full and our dirty dishes promptly cleared. The food came -- papardelle and a faro side for me, margherita pizza for my date - came out hot and fresh, and perfectly prepared. A wonderful meal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Every visit to Portland includes dinner at this restaurant. The pasta is homemade and delicious. Creative ingredients and local items make for a delicious dinner. It is truly a neighborhood gem. It does get a bit loud as the night develops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Never disappoints. Great service. Good food. Authentic experience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Good experience and food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food and service are always good. Its better to go earlier if you want to have a conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always fabulous! Food is always perfect! Great service, location!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The mood lighting was great, I would have to say that with the tables within the door being so close, the waitress kept serving the tables from between, so her butt was at eye level, and hanging over the table which I thought was inappropriate. The food was great. Also they got our appetizer wrong, had asked for the shrimps, got a salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent service and meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Just a great neighborhood restaurant. Always good. Updates from the optional newsletter feature seasonal and regional Italian fare. Have been coming here fro years and never been
disappointed.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our last visit was for a 74th birthday. The upscale Italian restaurant is always very good and welcoming. Limited menu, but tasty selection of appetizers, first courses and main courses, with a changing deseet menu. Very much worth the owner,and staff are friendly and capable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great server with all the answers, great food, great wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I used to LOVE this place! I have taken many clients here, countless family dinners and always on Mother's Day. This last experience was AWFUL. Our server was very complacent, and overall pretty rude. We never got asked if we'd like another glass of wine, and we were checked on maybe twice. The worst of it was that my husband can not eat mushrooms- so he asked for no mushrooms on a dish- it wasn't possible since it was in the sauce- no big deal, so he ordered another entree. His meal came out and it was covered in mushrooms. He did not check to see how our food was, and then at the end of the meal he came over to see if we needed boxes- and he said to my husband in a very accusatory tone- You didn't like it? My husband said- I can not eat mushrooms as I told you before. The server blew up on him and exclaimed why didn't you tell me? You need to tell someone when it is not right- next time you have to speak up! It was very uncomfortable for us- I felt like my husband was being scolded... See, we couldn't get his attention until my little toddler was squirming her way out of her seat- so we didn't have time to wait for another meal. We were also celebrating his Mom's birthday- so he decided to play it cool and just get it to go for my daughter to eat the next day.
After all of that- the server slammed the bill down and we were on our way- needless to say- we will NOT be back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was very good, the place was quieter than most Portland restaurants and they served a basket of bread, unusual for Portland, but greatly appreciated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The owner and his staff run the place like you have been invited into their big family dining room. The food is tremendous, and the cocktails are worth an early arrival!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The waiter should inform you the price of the "specials". He did not , and it was a $49.00 entree

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Never disappointed at this restaurant. Always consistent good service and food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service & food. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our second time visiting a Cena and we have not been disappointed! The food is awesome and from the moment you walk through the door the staff is amazing!
For an appetizer, we ordered Cavoletti di Bruxelles-fried brussels sprouts with pancetta. Not only was it incredible, it also arrived at our table about 5 minutes after we ordered. For our main course, my wife had Garganelli alla Norcia -pasta with house-made fennel sausage, Cremini, white wine, and cream and I had Stracotto- boneless short rRib, horseradish, potato gnocchi Alla Bava'. We finished our meal with coffee and Affogato-vanilla bean gelato with warm chocolate sauce and a shot of espresso. It was a perfect way to end our anniversary dinner. If you love Italian food, you can not go wrong with a Cena!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our lunch was absolutely perfect. The lobster agnolotti is a dream. The pork chop special WAS truly special. We ordered ravioli to take home for dinner and it was delicious too. Our waiter, Alex, was the best! Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.