Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About a Cena Ristorante

At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, handmade pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!

7742 SE 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday 5-9pm
Friday-Saturday 5-10pm

Lunch:
Tuesday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
SE Lambert St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 206-3291

Website:
http://www.acenapdx.com/

Catering:
Most of our menu items and other creative items designed between our chef and the client

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
Several on 13th Street

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Gabreski

Private Party Facilities:
Three adjoining rooms allow for separate or joined private dining for 20 to 70 people

Private Party Contact:
Chris Custer: (503) 206-3291

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 2:00PM

a Cena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (57)
Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Authentic (41)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Cozy (32)
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Notable Wine List (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Business Meals (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fun (15)
Casual (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Delizioso! Really good. Half portions of the pasta dishes would be enough for many people. It is a little pricey but a good place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We went there recently on a friend's recommendation, and found it to be an excellent restaurant. We were there with our son, his wife, and 2 teenage son. We found that there was something for everyone on the menu. My son and I had the roasted lamb special, husband had small ravioli with poached lobster, one teen ordered a pizza, other one a rigatoni dish, and daughter-in-law order the tuna. As you can tell there is a nice variety of choices, and that doesn't even include the various appetizers and desserts. We would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

I've been to a Cena 4 times now and each time has been fabulous. The food is amazing. The service is always good. The only complaint I have, and it's a minor one, is that the quaint little restaurant is small so they pack you in a bit. That adds to it's character but it also makes it a bit noisy, which may be difficult for someone with a hearing problem. The food totally makes up for the noise and they are located in the Antique Row district of Sellwood so there's great little shops to walk to before or after your meal. Lovely area and friendly people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Chris and his team never disappoint. Always excellent food and friendly service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We always enjoy our time at A Cena. What a wonderful gem of a restaurant! Food was fantastic (spare ribs and spaghetti), service was as always stellar.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I brought my girlfriend here for a well-deserved date night after both having a less-than great week. The wait staff is on their game with drinks and taking orders. The food was delicious! We ordered Fritto Misto for an appetizer. She loves calamari and I love shrimp, so that worked perfectly and it was very tasty. It comes with a slightly tangy aioli that pairs well with the breading on the food. For the meal, I ordered the Amatriciana. It was perfectly cooked with a nice tomato sauce. She ordered the Spaghetti with meatballs, which is her favorite food (and why I took her to A Cena Ristorante). She said it was the best homemade spaghetti she has had at a restaurant. Meaning that it wasn't the BEST she's ever had, but for a nice restaurant that cannot possibly cater to everyone's individual preference, she loved it. The dessert list looked quite impressive, but we were both very full. The waiter didn't ask us if we would like dessert; instead, he just brought us the dessert menus. In my opinion, I would have rather been asked if I was interested in seeing the dessert menu than to have feigned interest, but that's such a minute complaint. Our waiter also asked if we were sisters when we first sat down, but I think he caught on when we quickly denounced his assumption. No biggie there, either. We laughed about it.

Overall, I say this place is definitely worth it. My partner freaked out about the price a bit since I didn't tell her where we were going until the very last minute, so don't go unless you're absolutely sure you want to pay about $100. There is a very cozy and intimate atmosphere, despite the amount of people there as it was a Friday night. When my family visits for Christmas, I'll be bringing my parents just because my mom loves tiramisu and I'm pretty convinced they do that well since their pasta was phenomenal.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We love A Cena and our visiting friends loved it too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Because we had to wait for our table to become ready the manager was kind enough to
send us complementary appetizers; the service was excellent; all 5 diners found their
dinners to be excellent; we appreciated the 1/2 orders; excellent deserts as well; great
location

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was delicious but over priced. The staff were very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent fresh ingredients . Birthday celebration and was not disappointed . Interesting combinations of food items that worked . Octopus was tender and flavorful .

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great spot. Little neighborhood place with great service and food as well. Don't miss this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent food, friendly service, and had several options for our reservation! Love bringing parents to this restaraunt when they come to town for special occasions. Every one of their desserts is wonderful, too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Clearly one of the best restaurants in Portland. The Italian food is scrumptious. I've always had a perfect meal there. My husband is 100% Italian - the son of a chef-it's his favorite restaurant in town. The people are friendly and the service is prompt but not overly so. Prices are reasonable. You can get a "half order" if you want! If this restaurant was in my neighborhood I'd be there once a week.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

A real highlight while on our family vacation to Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We ordered several pastas, a pizza, the short ribs, as well as several appetizers! Everything was amazing. We loved it all, and we are real foodies!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food and exceptional service! We just stopped by a Cena last Friday and had an amazing experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have eaten there twice now. It's always a place where you know you can get tasty food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been here many times. Every item we have ever ordered is great.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

My wife and I have eaten at A Cena a number of times on our way to chamber music concerts at Reed College and each meal has been excellent. This was a birthday celebration for me. I had an excellent salmon dish, my wife had eaten a late lunch and just had the pickled vegetables. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This is our third visit in 9 weeks. We hardly ever go to the same restaurant that often but it's fine dining at a reasonable price. It always feels cozy, the service has been great and the owner visited to introduce himself on this visit. It's just one of those restaurants you want in your neighborhood. The food is terrific--appetizers, pasta dishes and entrees. Never had dessert because we couldn't eat anymore.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food, but on the pricey side. Wine list nicely selected. Server very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 20, 2017

A Cena is perfect. They have worked it to a science.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The restaurant sent a message advertising Carciofi alla Judea, a favorite. So I got a friend to join me and we made a reservation. I had been anticipating this delicious dish for days only to find out that they do not have the artichokes (carciofi)! The main course I ordered was ok but not traditional and the gelato we were told would be one small scoop was in fact two, making for a large dish of gelato---more than we really wanted. The salted carmel was far too gooey and not up to standards of others I have had this summer. We were disappointed. In the past I have had excellent meals, but this was by and large a hit and then a miss with some items being great and others being at the other end of the spectrum. Sorry, but that was our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This restaurant has some of the best Italian food I've ever eaten, simply delicious. We have eaten here twice, first as a way to earn extra Open Table bonus points, but, second, because our first experience was so pleasant. The service was impeccable. Our server was both friendly and helpful in making menu decisions. Even though I only ordered a "primi" and the portion was a bit smaller for that reason, I still had plenty to take home for seconds.

The only "down" side to a Cena is that only street parking is available. So parking might be a bit more difficult during rush times.

I would recommend a Cena to anyone who likes good Italian food in a pleasant and relaxing environment.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always special, we enjoy the true Italian cooking at A Cena and the ability to eat outside (weather permitting) in the lovely Sellwood neighborhood where the restaurant is located. Everything is bursting with flavor, even traditional spaghetti and meatballs, one of my favorites. Desserts are wonderful too. Prices are reasonable and half portions are available. Don't miss this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great spot for outdoor seating in a neighborhood on a comfortable summer evening. Good service, tasty meals, friendly visit by the owner.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A great dinner as always. This is always worth the short drive from West Linn to Sellwood. Highly recommend the caprese salad -- it was excellent this time, as was Garganelli alla Norcia.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food is delicious. Great staff and very friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always delicious food! Friendly staff (who will even sing you happy birthday). Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Lovely evening. Four of us shared the wonderful fritto misto with lemon aioli. The guys loved their pasta and the ladies had the night's special of fresh sole stuffed with crab. Superb. Couldn't leave without dessert and they were the perfect finish.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were passing thru Portland on our way South to Bandon & did a quick search for Italian food and thought we'd give A Cena a try... Wow - this is a definite gem & a must try for anyone that likes authentic Italian... We'll be back for sure...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The best corn filled pasta I've ever had. The tiramisu was also amazing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Went for lunch with a friend and it was nice, quiet and laid-back, a perfect atmosphere for catching up. Lots to choose from on the lunch menu and you got a lot of food. A great value. I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Delicious as usual!! Our family had a great time visiting and enjoying all that A Cena has to offer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food. We loved sitting outside on a warm evening; the eggplant parmesan and sward fish entrees were excellent; we enjoyed the nice wine selection; and the service was attentive and friendly. What's not to love?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Warm, intimate and bustling! A Cena is one of those Italian restaurants that makes you feel you are truly in Italy, in a local neighborhood hang out spot. The food is great, the atmosphere is wonderful and this is wonderful neighborhood for an after-dinner walk to burn off a few pasta calories. I had the lasagna, took home a part of it and it was even more outstanding the next day for lunch!

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is the second time I've eaten here and it did not disappoint. I ordered lamb chops, rare, and they came perfectly done. The cocktails was great, the wine perfect and no one complained, not even my mother-in-law, and believe me, that's something special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always a great meal. We have loved this place for years and higher recommend it. They were very accommodating for the vegetarian in our group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.