About A&B Lobster House

700 Front Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Enjoy the freshest seafood on the island delivered daily. As our name implies, we specialize in lobster, both from Maine and Florida, prepared with a delicate fusion of the classic and contemporary styles of our talented chefs. We are also renowned for our steaks, always prime choice.

Dine outside on the wrap-around balcony or inside our timeless dining room, while our knowledgeable and attentive staff anticipates your every need and helps to make your experience unforgettable.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Simonton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-5880

Website:
http://aandblobsterhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Mick Pera

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • raw oysters - A&B Lobster House, Key West, FL
raw oysters - A&B Lobster House, Key West, FL

A&B Lobster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Outdoor Dining
Florida Keys - Monroe County
1 More
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Romantic (26)
Scenic View (25)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Waterfront (22)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Historic (6)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Casual (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfect location and wonderful on the up ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 2 days ago

Perfect location and wonderful on the upperdeck outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oysters Are very good as well as the cho ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Oysters Are very good as well as the chopped BLT salad. Florida lobster are usually not as tender as Main Lobster. Order the Sous vide lobster it's amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal and excellent service/sug ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent meal and excellent service/suggestions from our waiter!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely good service, very attentive w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Extremely good service, very attentive waiter. Tasty food. Great wine selection.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I very much enjoyed our ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My family and I very much enjoyed our experience at the A&B lobster house. We were originally seated outside, and a boat nearby was blaring Music. We asked to be moved inside, and they accommodated us immediately. The food was delicious, and it was generally a calm and laid back experience. I would highly recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Shrimp Cocktail both generous and delici ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Shrimp Cocktail both generous and delicious, a must try. Lobster Bisque was also a killer! The rest of my party loved their main course. I had the yellowtail snapper and would not recommend. Too much fire in the dish ruined the delicate flavor of the fish.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently vert good. Have dined here ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Consistently vert good. Have dined here several times. Enjoy Thanksgiving dinner here. On the waterfront.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have lived in the Keys for the past 2 ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have lived in the Keys for the past 20 years and A&B remains one of our favorites. Keep up the GREAT work!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Historic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever we are visiting Key West, we al ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Whenever we are visiting Key West, we always love to visit A & B Lobster House for a wonderful meal! The cocktails are great, the food is superb and the ambiance is perfect! Go early to have a cocktail in the lounge....very comfortable! Our server was the best! He was very energetic and fun!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, beautiful restaurant. Price ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, beautiful restaurant. Pricey but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining at A&B Lobster House. ...

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Outstanding dining at A&B Lobster House. We brought several family members to Key West for Thanksgiving week and knew that A&B had to be one of the places we ate. We have been here many times before and this evening was a good as those before it. We like A&B so much it is our annual restaurant for Thanksgiving dinner (and there are many excellent places to eat in Key West). Our guests are leaving the Wednesday before Thanksgiving but we booked A&B for just the two of us for Thanksgiving dinner. Service is outstanding as is the marina view. The food is extraordinary with a variety of choices from steak to lobster and everything in between. You cannot go wrong eating here.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we visit Key West this restau ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Every time we visit Key West this restaurant is a must for us! The food is always delicious and the service is great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, our waitress was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The food was delicious, our waitress was fantastic and personable. Woukd recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good. Service was good. The food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very good. Service was good. The food was outstanding! This was our 3rd time and we have never been disappointed. An excellent choice for both seafood and steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best place in key west

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best place in key west

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Refined atmosphere among the hustle and ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Refined atmosphere among the hustle and bustle of Key West. Delicious seafood, and steaks. Lobsters are their specialty. Very professional wait staff. Portions are on the small side, but that left room for a fabulous creme brulee. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a little disappointed with this ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We were a little disappointed with this visit. Before this visit, this was hands down our favorite place for a nice dinner in Key West. The menu has changed from the one I was familiar with; which is fine, except they don't have one of my favorite entrees now. The oysters Rockefeller were marginal. The food is still good but it is not the stellar dining experience we were used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great site. Love outside dining. Food fa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great site. Love outside dining. Food fantastic. Service great ant servers professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good. We really enjoy ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food was very good. We really enjoyed the out door dining and our service was good. We had a very good experience and will visit again when we are back in Key West!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although pricey and a special occasion d ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Although pricey and a special occasion destination, we felt A&B delivered for the price! We had a beautiful view of the marina, it was removed from the noise of Duval (even during fantasy fest), but only a short walk, GREAT location. Our server was EXCELLENT! Not one time were we waiting or looking for him. I ordered the Lobster/mushroom/truffle risotto....OMG YUMMMMMM. Highly recommend. We were a party of 4 and honestly I don't remember what everyone got, my husband got a lobster pasta dish which we both loved, the other wife got the lobster tail and I think scallops, whatever it was we were all thrilled with the presentation, portion sizes, flavors, textures, temperatures etc. I'm usually able to offer some constructive criticism for the restaurant but can't think of a single thing they can improve on! Awesome dinner! Thank you A&B!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to dine if you enjoy a stuff ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great place to dine if you enjoy a stuffy atmosphere and a rude waiter. My wife and I made a late evening reservation with the intention of each having a bowl of Lobster Bisque. You should have seen the change in our waiter's attitude when we told him we just wanted Lobster Bisque.

When we asked for our check, he accidentally (wink, wink) gave us someone else's bill for $250 -- such a classy move. We also noticed that if you spend $250, he writes his name and "Thank You" on the bill, but not if you order a measly two bowls of Lobster Bisque for $10 per bowl. Sorry to disappoint you, Mr. Waiter. The next time we are in Key West and we are hungry for seafood, we will be sure to avoid A&B.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service with beautiful view of the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great service with beautiful view of the marina .

Food was very good but small portions and very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Very nice setting and good sevice. The f ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very nice setting and good sevice. The food was marginal. Very overpriced for bla food.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous meal for two and attentive serv ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fabulous meal for two and attentive service. We had hogfish with lobster and the ribeye steak. Followed by key lime pie. Food was absolutely delicious and steak cooked to perfection. Book ahead to avoid disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a great waiter Luke who knew ever ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a great waiter Luke who knew everything about the menu and explained how every thing was cooked.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A & B Lobster House is a beautiful place ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A & B Lobster House is a beautiful place to dine on local fare. We had Lobster and Hog Fish, and both were very good. We also had a single, jumbo sized Stone Crab Claw, one claw = $22! That's right, one single crab claw for $22. I don't mind paying upscale prices for upscale food, but the charge for one claw was outrageous! I will likely not return to A & B Lobster House, as there is upscale quality dining all over Key West that is much more affordable.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Good meal. Great views.

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Good meal. Great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was great . Waiter was very friendl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food was great . Waiter was very friendly and attentive. Had amazing Key Lime pie on the house for my 50th Birthday! Your staff was very friendly towards my friend and her- Medical Alert Service Dog "Buzzer". Staff member gave "Buzzer" water.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Waterfront, Cozy, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An unexpected treat. We needed a table ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

An unexpected treat. We needed a table for a large group last minute and found this on OT. They were able to accommodate us and provide us with an excellent table. Servings were generous and everything was flavorful. The food was fantastic - most people at the table wanted to keep eating but were just too full. There services was great - very attentive, but not overbearing. In all one of the best meals I have had in a while in a beautiful setting. The only downside - very expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Just one word. Disappointed. Not anymore ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Just one word. Disappointed. Not anymore the A&B that it used to be. My steak came undercooked and my wife's yellowtail was swimming in oil. I've been a loyal patron for years, sorry to tell you, I won't be back. To be fair, the only thing outstanding was service. That's it.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Sat outside on second floor deck was bea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sat outside on second floor deck was beautiful view and fantastic food! Will go back next time in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the only negative of that night - the l ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 24, 2016

the only negative of that night - the lobster bisque was out !

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic fresh seafood! My wife and I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fantastic fresh seafood! My wife and I went there to celebrate three life events that occurred in a relatively close timeframe and we had a memorable, romantic meal. Can't wait for our next trip back to Key West so we can go to the A&B again!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, food and ambience. No ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent service, food and ambience. No complaints. Will return

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Main criticism of this place was ambianc ...

vip
 (Kent)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Main criticism of this place was ambiance which wasn't their fault. We were there on a Tuesday out of season and weather wasn't great so virtually no other customers. Service was very attentive. Lobster a bit overcooked but oysters rockefeller were excellent. Wine not badly priced and cocktails very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Beautiful setting, wonderful food, excel ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Beautiful setting, wonderful food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My son and I visit Key West on a fairly ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 11, 2016

My son and I visit Key West on a fairly regular basis and our visit to paradise would not be complete without visiting A&B. The food, service and ambience are superb, already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing and knowledgeable Server! Great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing and knowledgeable Server! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will not ever go back even if it was for ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Will not ever go back even if it was for free worst lobster bisque ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I was interested in a succulent seafood ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I was interested in a succulent seafood dinner and the Paella was the most delicious and well prepared I have ever eaten.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.