About A&B Lobster House

700 Front Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Enjoy the freshest seafood on the island delivered daily. As our name implies, we specialize in lobster, both from Maine and Florida, prepared with a delicate fusion of the classic and contemporary styles of our talented chefs. We are also renowned for our steaks, always prime choice.

Dine outside on the wrap-around balcony or inside our timeless dining room, while our knowledgeable and attentive staff anticipates your every need and helps to make your experience unforgettable.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Simonton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-5880

Website:
http://aandblobsterhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Mick Pera

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area (bar only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • raw oysters
raw oysters

A&B Lobster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Key West / Florida Keys
Scenic View
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
3 More
Best Ambiance
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Scenic View
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

scenic view (96)
special occasion (84)
great for outdoor dining (75)
See All
romantic (63)
fit for foodies (51)
good for groups (31)
notable wine list (28)
neighborhood gem (20)
hot spot (16)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was DELICIOUS! We got right in ...

Dined 2 days ago

The food was DELICIOUS! We got right in and had our choice of indoor or outdoor seating. The service was great and the food was excellent! We will be back to this place for sure!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Better than ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. Better than most of the Key West restaurants we tried over the past week, but also one of the more expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was recommended to us by ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us by some friends. It was quite lovely.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My yearly visitoverall favorite in key w ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

My yearly visitoverall favorite in key west IdonatemyservicesofmassageeveryyeartotheTaskForceDaggerFoundationthatservesSpecialForcesveteransandtheirfamilies. Pleasecheckthe foundationout. Perhapsyouwouldliketobeinvolvedtoo. Wehaveawonderfulsupportfromthekeywestcommunity.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinning experience. A real gem ami ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great dinning experience. A real gem amidst the craziness of Key West. Lobster and steak was perfect. Service was outstanding.

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Very disappointing...lobster was tough a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Very disappointing...lobster was tough and steak was overcooked. Quality has gone down since our last visit.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good was excellent and our waiter was ve ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Good was excellent and our waiter was very polite and efficient. It was pricey but worth it for a special occasion. I would definitely recommend it and would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything expected

Dined on June 6, 2016

Anniversary dinner outside overlooking the marina. Very attentive service without being intrusive. Food very good. One dish my wife didn't care for after it arrived but not because it was prepared poorly, just wasn't her taste. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great View, Food and Service at A & B Lo ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great View, Food and Service at A & B Lobster House fine dining! Grouper with crabmeat was cooked perfectly and great service with a beautiful view of Key West Harbor. Oysters Rockefeller were delicious as well. Downstairs at Alonzo's has great food as well (1/2 price drinks and appetizers from 4-6:30 every day). Casey at Alonzo's makes a great Mojito as well!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A and B OUTSTANDING

Dined on June 4, 2016

Service , food, ambience all top notch. Probably our best meal in Key West . Scallops appetizer to die for.Everything off the boat fresh.Server was spot on. Great overall experience .A little pricy but worth every penny.They should put something on the menu about the history ,it is something to be proud of. Cigar lounge as well. A definite must do in Key West. Will return next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Great wine menu as w ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was delicious. Great wine menu as well. Make sure you request a seat outside on the patio and dinner around sunset is very fun. Luther was our waiter and he took excellent care of us.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual, a lovely evening. Great food, ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

As usual, a lovely evening. Great food, terrific service, beautiful ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time Won't Be My Last

Dined on June 2, 2016

Loved this place for a nice dinner with a group of friends. We sat outside and had a beautiful view of the marina. Our server was on point with all of his suggestions. Be prepared to pay high end prices, but the food and service well worth every penny. We stayed long after dinner was over and just enjoyed the atmosphere and ambiance. Everyone agreed we would definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at A&B

Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was excellent along with the service. We arrived a little early so went for drinks at the bar. The young lady behind the bar was very nice and made an awesome margarita from scratch (no pre-mix stuff). would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster bisque, lobster cooked in butter ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Lobster bisque, lobster cooked in butter, the bread was fantastic too, and the cocktail bar was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Probably the best oyster Rockefeller ive ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Probably the best oyster Rockefeller ive ever had (and I lived in New Orleans for 4 years) only disappointment was the restaurant running out of the 2lbs baked lobster, however, the lobster paella was an incredible substitute.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Key West Fine Dining

Dined on May 29, 2016

From start to finish this was a great experience. Our waitress was awesome; she was funny and helpful and on top of service. We ordered the tuna ap and it was cut incorrectly so that is was very sinewy. Our waitress immediately took it back to the kitchen and brought us a new dish prepared by the head chef and it was perfect. The rest of the food was delicious as well and prepared just right. My only complaint really has nothing to do with the restaurant itself. There were people talking on FaceTime and wearing hats and hoodies in the dining room. When I am at a fine dining restaurant these things just should not be going on.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Wine policy

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was very good as well as the service, but they do not allow you to bring your own wine even if your are willing to pay a corkage or even if they don't have the wine your are bringing.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I ordered lobster Oscar & the waiter bro ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I ordered lobster Oscar & the waiter brought me lobster pasta. Still charged me full price.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful ambiance... Fantastic service ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful ambiance... Fantastic service and good food... Would definitely return n

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorable Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wife and I had an excellent time. Service was great and the Food amazing. A night we will remember for a long time to come

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place for dinner right in the ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent place for dinner right in the historic seaport in Key West, we stayed with a group of 8 until way past everyone else had left the restaurant and were never hurried out the door.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great view, good food and service, but be aware

Dined on May 21, 2016

This an upscale restaurant on the second level with inside sitting with A/C and outside sitting in an balcony with great view of the A and B Marina. Large yachts, the activity of the owners and the beautiful water view are there for your enjoyment while you dine. We were there just after sunset and all the catamarans and other boats were returning to port. An entertaining scene.The service was impeccable with one exception: when the server mentioned the special of the night, two key west lobster tails with coconut rice and asparagus he failed to tell the price, which was $85 per plate!! The prices of the other lobster entrees are not higher than in the mid $40 , so I was expecting the price for the special would be in that range. It would have been more professional if he had volunteer the price of the special when he offered and described it. The lobsters were good, so was the coconut rice and vegetables, but I would have order something else have I known the price. Unfortunately, what started as a magical evening was spoiled at the end. If you go to A and B Lobster House be sure to ask for the price of any special not listed. Lesson learned!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Key West

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

A and B Lobster House was the best meal we had in Key West. The chefs prepared my hog fish expertly. My husband's butter poached lobster was succulent and flavorful. The server was friendly and knowledgeable. Her suggestions were spot on.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Bartender was extremely rude and inappro ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Bartender was extremely rude and inappropriate upon trying to order drinks sayin "we don't serve that garbage and if you want it you should order it down the street". Referring to Whisky they apparently didn't have. This type of encounter was enough to make even the couple next to us at the bar uncomfortable to say the least.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exceptional. We had the lo ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was exceptional. We had the lobster and Grouper. Our waiter was ver pleasant and gave great advice concerning menu and wine!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Wonderful service. Beaut ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent meal. Wonderful service. Beautiful, covered outside dining overlooking the harbour. We would absolutely return. Cheers

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

In Key West celebrating a special occasi ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

In Key West celebrating a special occasion, picked A&B for the menu and the venue. They specialize in lobsters, of corse, but include both Florida and Maine varieties. Our party went Florida across the board, choosing, surf and turf, Oscar and risotto presentations; all were pleased. We split Key lime pie and bananas Foster, both very delicious, although bananas Foster were not flambeed. Beautiful dining room overlooking Key West marina, very peaceful place to be at the end of a busy day. Not a cheap date, but definitely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was engaged without being ove ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

The server was engaged without being overwhelming. The good was fresh and amazing. Highly recommend it. It was a beautiful night with great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delicious dinner on the outside ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a delicious dinner on the outside deck of the restaurant. It was a perfect night and the food was fantastic. We both had the hog fish with soft shell crab. Wow. So tasty! We shared the banana foster which was very good, but definitely something a small group should share. Should we ever visit Key West again, we will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! I will go back anytime I am i ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent! I will go back anytime I am in Key West. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic view. Pretty good food and exc ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Fantastic view. Pretty good food and excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous! The ambiance was ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was fabulous! The ambiance was the best. We sat out on the upstairs deck. The service was superb. We had Luther as our waiter. He was a most pleasant, personal and professional waiter. I give five stars to it all!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Old school fine dining

Dined on May 8, 2016

This place is a walk from Duvall street on the water. Great view while dining. We sat inside because all the outside tables were taken. This restaurant reminds me of old school fine dining. It's very nice but the furniture to the bathrooms were all old and outdated. That may be what they are going for. You have to walk thru an old cigar bar to get into the restaurant. It's beautiful and clean, just reminds me of a 70's or 80's movie. Service was great. The food was excellent. Your going to a lobster restaurant so they have lots of lobster dishes. The lobster bisque was delicious. My husband had steak and lobster and I had the lobster Chesapeake and both dishes were satisfyingly. We would go back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NEVER DISAPPOINTS

Dined on May 7, 2016

My girlfriend and I dined at the A&B on 5/6/2016. We had both been there on previous occasions, however, had never dined their together. As always, the food was delivered in exquisite fashion. We both opted for the Filet and Lobster Bisque, and were delighted. The bread is always warm and fluffy on the inside with a nice exterior crust. Our server was attentive w/o being overbearing and never let us want for a single thing... Very warm, friendly and professional. Have a Martini before, or an after dinner cordial in the lounge, they just don't make them like that anymore! Thanks again A&B... We'll be back soon! -Jorge & Marianne

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We spend several weeks a year in KW and always make reservations for A&B Lobster House each time. It has been our "go to" restaurant for Thanksgiving dinner when we spend that week in KW. They do have a traditional turkey dinner but we opt for seafood. Everything on the menu looks great but my favorite is the shrimp cocktail and the lobster thermidor (which is baked in a very rich cream/mushroom sauce). My wife has the lobster bisque and a fresh catch seafood dish of the day. This is a great place to eat outside with views overlooking the marina. Service is outstanding as is the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Surf and turf was mind blowing apps wher ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Surf and turf was mind blowing apps where so good! Cocktails where on point

food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time but definitely not our la ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our first time but definitely not our last!!! The hog fish was amazing!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice if you can get by the noise

Dined on April 30, 2016

A and B lived up to the high ratings which caused us to select it for one of our two nites in Key West. It met our expectations but the noise level from the bar downstairs was excessive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner & view! Customer servic ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Wonderful dinner & view! Customer service was the best.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.