About A&B Lobster House

Enjoy the freshest seafood on the island delivered daily. As our name implies, we specialize in lobster, both from Maine and Florida, prepared with a delicate fusion of the classic and contemporary styles of our talented chefs. We are also renowned for our steaks, always prime choice.

Dine outside on the wrap-around balcony or inside our timeless dining room, while our knowledgeable and attentive staff anticipates your every need and helps to make your experience unforgettable.

700 Front Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Simonton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-5880

Website:
http://aandblobsterhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Mick Pera

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A&B Lobster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (54)
Scenic View (47)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Historic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1031 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

The service and the food were both excellent. They prepare lobster just about every possible way you could imagine. The other menu items consist of high quality meats and seafood. Great view of the marina and bay!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined 4 days ago

Took a party of 8 to Prime the night before and they forgot all the side dishes. Went to A&B the next night and had a wonderful meal. Service was excellent. Food was devine. Sit outside if the weather is nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Wife's 50th Birthday

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

best steak au poivre I have had in a very long time

Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding seafood restaurant. I had the lobster tail and my friend had the steak. All was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always our must do every year in Key West...

Excellent and consistant food. Seasoned wait staff...👍🏼

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was unreal , ambience excellent , staff very nice , little over priced

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service. Serving size a bit small

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was a nice restaurant. Food and service were good. We sat outside with a nice view. It was way over priced for the meals, they were good but not great. And we are from Connecticut so we are used to high prices. Had a 3 year old child with us and after 30 minutes we had to ask for a child's menu. Then he brought one and crayons, why would you not bring this in the very beginning. The biggest negative to this place is you walk through the bar area where people are allowed to smoke. Which is also where the bathrooms are. And there were people smoking on the deck while we were eating. Would never go back due to these two things no matter how good food or service might be. Would not recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were a group of 9 , celebrating Valentine's Day. We had a wonderful meal and terrific service. Yes, its pricey but its worth it. Ladies were given a box of truffles as we left. Nice touch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and the service was top shelf, but the cocktails were very weak. A rip off at ten dollars a pop.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Valentines Day dinner. The seafood is always memorable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The atmosphere and service was very nice. We sat inside and would like to try sitting outside sometime. Overall, the food was decent but the lobster I ate in the surf and turf meal was disappointingly overcooked. However, the filet was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We tried A&B on recommendation from a friend who goes to Key West regularly. The ambience and the food were both very good. I had the shrimp fettucine, and my companion had the tuna. Portions were quite large; we were glad we didn't order an appetizer, and had no room to try a dessert. We were disappointed that we couldn't get a table outside as that was one of the reasons we chose it, but it seems there must be regulars who get first dibs on those tables. Wait staff was very good. Nice decor with lots of dark wood, and white tablecloths.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I went to this fabulous restaurant for the first time in the 80's & it continues to be as amazing as it was then. The best key lime pie in Key West & the lobster was delicious !

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This is a great waterfront restaurant in Key West. Wait for an outdoor table upstairs. It's worth it. Food and service were both great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We loved our dinner out on the balcony overlooking the harbor and docked boats. The food was excellent as was our server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous local seafood with a great ambiance and excellent service. We have dined there before a few years ago when in KeyWest. Always look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Lobster was dry on top from sitting under a warmer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Both my wife and I had Florida lobster tail that was over cooked. My surf and turf steak came with an unusual sauce that it could have done without.

The service was top notch and very friendly. Desert was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The filet mignon was horrible , ran out of spoons. Spotty service. Drinks took forever to get. Outside is best. The inside bar area entertainment was a 3 on a scale of 10

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Lcoated on the harbor side of downtown Key West. Everyone was happy with taste of foods, presentation was well done. My crab cakes were excellent.

Tags: Disabled Access, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A little pricey, but well worth it. The seafood was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were recommended to come here for dinner. I have to admit sitting outside at sunset was beautiful but.... We did not find the food worth the high prices. I ordered the Maine Lobster that came with the hefty tag of $58 (not as big as expected) and my husband had the ribeye. When our good arrived I thought the steak tasted good (not the best I've had) and the side of scalloped potatoes were so over seasoned with garlic they were not eatable.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A must go to when in Key West. We've eaten here twice - each time with a different couple. Each time, all diners happy and satisfied. Awesome local seafood. Servers are top-notch. We'll definitely go in again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Business Meals, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was great. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nicer dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The crab and clam soup was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Amazing food, even better service! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was excellent; the service was great; the view was spectacular.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Fresh seafood and veggies were excellent. Cozy bar in separate room was very inviting.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 30, 2017

When arriving the hostess was friendly the waitress was wonderful but we are lobster lovers and being a lobster house the lobster tail was very tuff and not very tasty.I had the oscar grouper and it was delicious We were a little disappointed in the lobster the main reason we went.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Une excellente adresse. Tout était parfait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We choose this location for a quiet dinner with friends in Key West. It was the perfect selection; menu was great, food delicious and the server perfectly attentive !!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome dinner, waiter was great, ambiance was very dull!!

Overall food was great

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Delicious food - good choices on menu - great bread and Cesear salad - good value for the price - big portions

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Matt was a wonderful server. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Had a lovely dinner outside next to the marina. Recommend sitting outside if the weather is good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We were married on the beach on January 24. Had a lovely dinner that evening. Only negative was we arrived 15 minutes early and the parking lot attendant wouldn't let us in the lot and told us when we came back we'd have two hours to eat dinner. We left and considered going somewhere else but found a spot on the street so we didn't feel rushed. Our waitress was wonderful and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have been coming here for decades. It remains the best seafood restaurant in Key West. Serving the best, only the best, always the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I liked our dinner Florida Lobster and Crap cakes! Very nice wine selection, robust Rosa was enjoyed. Additional plus is the warm bread and salads. Very generous portions ruled out dessert! Expresso not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Outstanding restaurant with amazing service.

The food was fantastic and we enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

ate outside noise level low much louder indoors. sevice by Steven was excellent, clam chowder to die for, baked loster dinner great but they could have done a better jo crackin the claws like they said neede assistance which was provided. wine was very good

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Best Lobster ever!!! Don't settle for second best...come here and order the 2lb. We have tried several restaurants in Key West...and Lobster house surpassed all of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It was a very beautiful atmosphere service was impeccable food was good not great

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great atmosphere with waterfront views. The food was excellent, the service was good but a bit slow. Although crowded it was relatively quiet and easy to have a conversation. We ordered 2 lobster dishes, classic thermidor and a lobster, sausage and pasta dish and both were outstanding, as was the clam chowder soup. The bar is dark and caters to cigar smokers so we didn't linger over pre-dinner drinks. All in all an excellent meal at prices very reasonable for the area.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food was excellent. Ironically, none of us had traditional lobster, but the seafood we had was well prepared and delicious. Our waiter was friendly and took great care of us. We enjoyed everything about this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Really enjoyed the service provided and the Lobster Oscar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Hotel staff recommended this place, & we were not disappointed. Our waiter was friendly & efficient, & helpful with suggestions. Their lobster bisque was the best I have ever eaten. It is a little pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food and drinks were good but the outdoor dining experience along the water is what made our evening great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall it was good. The food was not spectacular. Service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.