About A&B Lobster House

700 Front Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Enjoy the freshest seafood on the island delivered daily. As our name implies, we specialize in lobster, both from Maine and Florida, prepared with a delicate fusion of the classic and contemporary styles of our talented chefs. We are also renowned for our steaks, always prime choice.

Dine outside on the wrap-around balcony or inside our timeless dining room, while our knowledgeable and attentive staff anticipates your every need and helps to make your experience unforgettable.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Simonton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-5880

Website:
http://aandblobsterhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Mick Pera

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A&B Lobster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (26)
Scenic View (26)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Historic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (4)
Fun (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a very beautiful atmosphere servi ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

It was a very beautiful atmosphere service was impeccable food was good not great

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Really enjoyed the service provided and ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Really enjoyed the service provided and the Lobster Oscar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and drinks were good but the ou ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food and drinks were good but the outdoor dining experience along the water is what made our evening great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall it was good. The food was not sp ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall it was good. The food was not spectacular. Service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Delicious food and impeccable service wi ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious food and impeccable service with an old and ritzy yacht-club feel.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great location - we found ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great service, great location - we found the food very overpriced for what it was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food and great service. Highly ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Delicious food and great service. Highly recommend for their seafood and fish entrees. Glad we made a last minute decision to go here over the other touristy options. Right on the waterfront so seafood is fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Erica, our waitress, and the kitchen exc ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Erica, our waitress, and the kitchen exceeded our expectations! Another wonderful evening at A&B Lobster House!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was EXCELLENT!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was EXCELLENT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great staff but crazy ex ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful food, great staff but crazy expensive. Love the escargot and scallop appetizers .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing location, excelent food highly r ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing location, excelent food highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were there on Christmas Day for our D ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were there on Christmas Day for our Dinner and what a view we had upstairs and our waiter was wonderful and the food was very fresh!

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal at A&B. Sat outside ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Another great meal at A&B. Sat outside on Christmas night and really enjoyed the weather and the scenery. Nick did an outstanding job as our server. Very knowledgeable about the menu and exceptional service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Key West, dating to the 40s, excelle ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Old Key West, dating to the 40s, excellent local seafood, knowledgeable and efficient waiters. Food fresh and hot, well prepared and presented.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Matt was a great server. Best meal I've ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Matt was a great server. Best meal I've had in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were exceptional! W ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and service were exceptional! We would recommend dining outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing. We had a local's rec ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Very disappointing. We had a local's recommendation to eat here but it was really a tourist trap. The service and view were good but the food was incredibly overpriced and not special. It seemed very canned/boxed instead of homemade and local fresh which was what we had expected.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Seated where we requested and great view ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Seated where we requested and great view. Our waiter was great as well. The food was prepared as requested but was not hot when we were served. We did not complain since we did not wish to wait to have it re-prepared. Overall good experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good quality food. Lobster was amaz ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good quality food. Lobster was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was delicious and waitress was asto ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was delicious and waitress was astounding; friendly and knowledgeable, and knew how to pour a bottle of wine correctly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group had lobster tails, oysters Roc ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our group had lobster tails, oysters Rockefeller, ribeye steak and all of it was tasty. Points off for the fact that the waitress seemed to take order, bring drinks, fill water glasses and clear table. For $42 a plate of lobster I expect better, more attentive service. I don't blame our waitress but the management. It wasn't even crowded but we only saw our waitress a couple of times. So while I would recommend it, the service end was disappointing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a great restaurant. It is a litt ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

This is a great restaurant. It is a little on the pricey side, but the food and atmosphere is second to none. It has the best steak and lobster on the island and the wait staff is great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of our favorite spots in Key West. ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

One of our favorite spots in Key West. Very expensive but worth it. Service is excellent. But, food can actually come out too fast. Bananas Foster and lobster bisque are must haves.

Don't order all at once if you don't want to feel rushed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful setting outdoors. Food and ser ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Beautiful setting outdoors. Food and service were outstanding. We were comped for desert since we were celebrating a birthday .

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect location and wonderful on the up ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

Perfect location and wonderful on the upperdeck outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oysters Are very good as well as the cho ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Oysters Are very good as well as the chopped BLT salad. Florida lobster are usually not as tender as Main Lobster. Order the Sous vide lobster it's amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal and excellent service/sug ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent meal and excellent service/suggestions from our waiter!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely good service, very attentive w ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Extremely good service, very attentive waiter. Tasty food. Great wine selection.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I very much enjoyed our ex ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

My family and I very much enjoyed our experience at the A&B lobster house. We were originally seated outside, and a boat nearby was blaring Music. We asked to be moved inside, and they accommodated us immediately. The food was delicious, and it was generally a calm and laid back experience. I would highly recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Shrimp Cocktail both generous and delici ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Shrimp Cocktail both generous and delicious, a must try. Lobster Bisque was also a killer! The rest of my party loved their main course. I had the yellowtail snapper and would not recommend. Too much fire in the dish ruined the delicate flavor of the fish.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently vert good. Have dined here ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Consistently vert good. Have dined here several times. Enjoy Thanksgiving dinner here. On the waterfront.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have lived in the Keys for the past 2 ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have lived in the Keys for the past 20 years and A&B remains one of our favorites. Keep up the GREAT work!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Historic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever we are visiting Key West, we al ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

Whenever we are visiting Key West, we always love to visit A & B Lobster House for a wonderful meal! The cocktails are great, the food is superb and the ambiance is perfect! Go early to have a cocktail in the lounge....very comfortable! Our server was the best! He was very energetic and fun!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, beautiful restaurant. Price ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, beautiful restaurant. Pricey but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining at A&B Lobster House. ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Outstanding dining at A&B Lobster House. We brought several family members to Key West for Thanksgiving week and knew that A&B had to be one of the places we ate. We have been here many times before and this evening was a good as those before it. We like A&B so much it is our annual restaurant for Thanksgiving dinner (and there are many excellent places to eat in Key West). Our guests are leaving the Wednesday before Thanksgiving but we booked A&B for just the two of us for Thanksgiving dinner. Service is outstanding as is the marina view. The food is extraordinary with a variety of choices from steak to lobster and everything in between. You cannot go wrong eating here.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we visit Key West this restau ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Every time we visit Key West this restaurant is a must for us! The food is always delicious and the service is great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, our waitress was ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

The food was delicious, our waitress was fantastic and personable. Woukd recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good. Service was good. The food wa ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very good. Service was good. The food was outstanding! This was our 3rd time and we have never been disappointed. An excellent choice for both seafood and steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best place in key west

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best place in key west

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Refined atmosphere among the hustle and ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Refined atmosphere among the hustle and bustle of Key West. Delicious seafood, and steaks. Lobsters are their specialty. Very professional wait staff. Portions are on the small side, but that left room for a fabulous creme brulee. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.