Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About A&B Lobster House

Enjoy the freshest seafood on the island delivered daily. As our name implies, we specialize in lobster, both from Maine and Florida, prepared with a delicate fusion of the classic and contemporary styles of our talented chefs. We are also renowned for our steaks, always prime choice.

Dine outside on the wrap-around balcony or inside our timeless dining room, while our knowledgeable and attentive staff anticipates your every need and helps to make your experience unforgettable.

700 Front Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Simonton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-5880

Website:
http://aandblobsterhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Mick Pera

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A&B Lobster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (84)
Scenic View (75)
Special Occasion (63)
See All
Good for a Date (54)
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Romantic (46)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Local Ingredients (36)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Authentic (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (13)
Historic (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Family Style (6)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Live Music (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server, Kevin, was delightful and attentive. Our trip to Key West was short so choosing exceptional experiences was key. A&B Lobster House hit all our must haves; premium wine list, Escargo & lobster in puff pastry appetizer, ceaser salad and our lobster entrees were all exceptionally well seasoned, sauced and presented.
Must go!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Lobster Thermador was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a fantastic meal! Would not hesitate to recommend on all levels of service and
Food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food (scallops); above average service, very loud. Hostess needs training - although part of the prob was that it was so loud she couldn't hear us.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, service and location. Couldn't have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The location is perfect, the food not so much. The restaurant overlooks the marina and has a beautiful view. The food was average- very large portions but unremarkable to taste.
Our waitress was lovely and the drinks were good. I would not be back or recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was marginal and the service was awful. Would not return nor recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Go for the water view not the food. A and B overlooks several marinas, which is pretty. The food is unremarkable and pricey; local broiled lobster is $42, with small sides of green beans and mashed potatoes. Service was fine.
This is a white linen tablecloth, fine dining place, and there are better places in Key West that are less expensive.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Solid food...nothing gourmet. The Caesar salad was great including the anchovies. Lobster was fresh and prepared well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Make a reservation and sit outside, if possible. Views are amazing. Food is very good (steak / lobster house style. Service was outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The staff was nice, though it was clear that the hostess was a bit stressed when we arrived. The service was generally slow. Unfortunately, the food was good, not great. Given the price point, this was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Once we arrived, we asked for outdoor dining. There was some communication challenges with the hostess. Other than that , outstanding meal! I would give this restaurant a 7.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Excelente restaurante, mas no tiene vista al atardecer

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This was our second visit to Key West and our second dining experience at A&B. Our reservation was at 6:00 and we were seated promptly with a nice view outdoors, facing the marina. My sons enjoyed 2 pound Maine Lobsters while I tried the Cobia special. I never had this fish before but I found it even more delicious than my other favorite - Grouper, so try it when it is available. The service was prompt and friendly as always. It is a little pricey but we only do this once a year and it is worth it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The service was just okay and the cocktails weren't strong. Other than that, the food was incredible and the price was what you would expect. I would most definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nice view from the balcony outdoors. One of us was served the wrong dish so we had to wait for the correct one while the other party already received his dish. The waiter seemed to be inattentive as we received wrong things several times. Very nice person though. Not sure I would go here again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great meal and great service. On vacation. Had a great night

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This was the last dinner of our one week stay in Key West, a special anniversary trip. The restaurant is old school Florida dining of the highest character. Right on the water. All of the food we had was excellent. The Oysters Rockefeller was as close to Antoine's original as I have had. I wish we could have tried more dishes..they all sounded great. The lobster and mushroom risotto was exceptional. The baked Florida lobster was excellent. Very attentive and knowledgeable service. A bit pricey but you do get what you pay for.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was our 2nd visit here and both times were very memorable experiences. Nice classy joint off the craziness of Duval St. The lobster risotto was heavy but had amazing flavor. Lobster tails were a good 8 oz and the dirty martinis were amazing! Service was also top notch. If you can, sit outside but the inside is very comfy too!

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Must visit. We always visit when we come to the keys.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 2, 2017

So derful service and a very nice lobster meal for our family of four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Shana at the front was fantastic and that carried through all the service team member. We have wonderful food and the view was so spectacular!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Loved Loved Loved Loved Loved!!!!Wow what a restaurant, the service and food was unreal and the view of the water and yachts were spectacular!!! Five stars in my book!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great views of the harbor. Excellent lobster tails. Very good service our waiter was very nice and tried to make the experience memorable

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 31, 2017

A delicious meal! We were 1/2 early for our reservation and were seated. On a side note, my husband left his hat and sunglasses on a chair at our table. On the day after, we called and they were found! This often doesn't happen. Thank you so much for a great evening.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This was our 4th visit. A favorite place for sure. Food was awesome, but was cool for the temperature when should've been hot. Unfortunately there was a miscue between our waiter and the busboy who brought out our dinners on the tray. Our dinners sat a good 3-4 minutes before being served. My husband needed to find our waiter to tell him our dinners were on the tray. That was the only downside. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great staff, amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Sorry, but overpriced. Food fair.
I ordered the grouper with lobster. Where's the lobster? Very disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

First, the good...if you can snag an outside table, the ambience can't be best. Be sure to ask for it in your reservation notes. Also, the service was outstanding, no complaints there. The appetizer was wonderful, best escargot I have ever eaten.

The bad part of the review comes from their food. If you are a steak house charging 45 for a steak, you should know how to cook it. We ordered steaks med rare. They came out closer to med well. We sent them back, they cooked new ones and they came out medium. We are them as the rest of the party was nearly finished with their meal, but it's greatly disappointing when a steak house can't properly prepare a steak.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Very nice upper end dining in the keys. Great view of the marina. The food was on the upper end scale of fine dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

In the casual-ness of Key West, this was a great find. Old school, dark bar, lovely terrace overlooking the harbor. If you are sick of toting around plastic cup margaritas and eating nachos, run here! You can dress up or be casual. Great bartender & martinis, nice wine list, good food. We had seafood pasta and lobster w/ fish in a cream base. There was an issue with how the fish was cooked, and they corrected it beautifully.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Like the name implies go for the lobster. If you don't want lobster go somewhere else. Lots of different plates of lobster to choose from and very tasty, but be ready to pay for it.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 20, 2017

After watching a sunset , great meal to start the evening, my wife had a Lobster Oscar and I had lobster risotto, lobster bisque was fantastic, great meal

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful balcony view of the marina. Food was excellent. Great service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent dining experience as always. Both seafood and meat were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Buena calidad de producto, Cocina sin innovación , precio medio alto

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was a fabulous dinner, the view to the port, perfect service, warm bread and homemade butter, I had the main lobster which was fantastic. Unforgettable! A destination!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is always a great meal in Key West. The steak & lobster is always perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We sat outside on the balcony. So glad we did. Even though it was dark, the view was still awesome. Our server duo was very attentive. The lobster bisque was fabulous along with the fresh bread. I enjoyed the Lobster Thermidor, while my husband had the Lobster and mushroom risotto. Both were outstanding. The portions were large. In hindsight we could have easily split an entree as neither of us were able to finish ours. We would definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.