About A&B Lobster House

700 Front Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Enjoy the freshest seafood on the island delivered daily. As our name implies, we specialize in lobster, both from Maine and Florida, prepared with a delicate fusion of the classic and contemporary styles of our talented chefs. We are also renowned for our steaks, always prime choice.

Dine outside on the wrap-around balcony or inside our timeless dining room, while our knowledgeable and attentive staff anticipates your every need and helps to make your experience unforgettable.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Simonton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-5880

Website:
http://aandblobsterhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Mick Pera

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area (bar only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

A&B Lobster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Key West / Florida Keys
Scenic View
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
5 More
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Ambiance
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Scenic View
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

scenic view (105)
special occasion (92)
great for outdoor dining (79)
See All
romantic (78)
fit for foodies (65)
good for groups (31)
notable wine list (28)
neighborhood gem (20)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
great for lunch (11)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I ordered lobster Oscar & the waiter bro ...

Dined 4 days ago

I ordered lobster Oscar & the waiter brought me lobster pasta. Still charged me full price.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful ambiance... Fantastic service ...

Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful ambiance... Fantastic service and good food... Would definitely return n

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorable Anniversary Dinner

Dined 7 days ago

Wife and I had an excellent time. Service was great and the Food amazing. A night we will remember for a long time to come

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place for dinner right in the ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent place for dinner right in the historic seaport in Key West, we stayed with a group of 8 until way past everyone else had left the restaurant and were never hurried out the door.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great view, good food and service, but be aware

Dined on May 21, 2016

This an upscale restaurant on the second level with inside sitting with A/C and outside sitting in an balcony with great view of the A and B Marina. Large yachts, the activity of the owners and the beautiful water view are there for your enjoyment while you dine. We were there just after sunset and all the catamarans and other boats were returning to port. An entertaining scene.The service was impeccable with one exception: when the server mentioned the special of the night, two key west lobster tails with coconut rice and asparagus he failed to tell the price, which was $85 per plate!! The prices of the other lobster entrees are not higher than in the mid $40 , so I was expecting the price for the special would be in that range. It would have been more professional if he had volunteer the price of the special when he offered and described it. The lobsters were good, so was the coconut rice and vegetables, but I would have order something else have I known the price. Unfortunately, what started as a magical evening was spoiled at the end. If you go to A and B Lobster House be sure to ask for the price of any special not listed. Lesson learned!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Key West

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

A and B Lobster House was the best meal we had in Key West. The chefs prepared my hog fish expertly. My husband's butter poached lobster was succulent and flavorful. The server was friendly and knowledgeable. Her suggestions were spot on.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Bartender was extremely rude and inappro ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Bartender was extremely rude and inappropriate upon trying to order drinks sayin "we don't serve that garbage and if you want it you should order it down the street". Referring to Whisky they apparently didn't have. This type of encounter was enough to make even the couple next to us at the bar uncomfortable to say the least.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exceptional. We had the lo ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was exceptional. We had the lobster and Grouper. Our waiter was ver pleasant and gave great advice concerning menu and wine!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Wonderful service. Beaut ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent meal. Wonderful service. Beautiful, covered outside dining overlooking the harbour. We would absolutely return. Cheers

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

In Key West celebrating a special occasi ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

In Key West celebrating a special occasion, picked A&B for the menu and the venue. They specialize in lobsters, of corse, but include both Florida and Maine varieties. Our party went Florida across the board, choosing, surf and turf, Oscar and risotto presentations; all were pleased. We split Key lime pie and bananas Foster, both very delicious, although bananas Foster were not flambeed. Beautiful dining room overlooking Key West marina, very peaceful place to be at the end of a busy day. Not a cheap date, but definitely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was engaged without being ove ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

The server was engaged without being overwhelming. The good was fresh and amazing. Highly recommend it. It was a beautiful night with great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delicious dinner on the outside ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a delicious dinner on the outside deck of the restaurant. It was a perfect night and the food was fantastic. We both had the hog fish with soft shell crab. Wow. So tasty! We shared the banana foster which was very good, but definitely something a small group should share. Should we ever visit Key West again, we will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! I will go back anytime I am i ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent! I will go back anytime I am in Key West. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic view. Pretty good food and exc ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Fantastic view. Pretty good food and excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous! The ambiance was ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was fabulous! The ambiance was the best. We sat out on the upstairs deck. The service was superb. We had Luther as our waiter. He was a most pleasant, personal and professional waiter. I give five stars to it all!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Old school fine dining

Dined on May 8, 2016

This place is a walk from Duvall street on the water. Great view while dining. We sat inside because all the outside tables were taken. This restaurant reminds me of old school fine dining. It's very nice but the furniture to the bathrooms were all old and outdated. That may be what they are going for. You have to walk thru an old cigar bar to get into the restaurant. It's beautiful and clean, just reminds me of a 70's or 80's movie. Service was great. The food was excellent. Your going to a lobster restaurant so they have lots of lobster dishes. The lobster bisque was delicious. My husband had steak and lobster and I had the lobster Chesapeake and both dishes were satisfyingly. We would go back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NEVER DISAPPOINTS

Dined on May 7, 2016

My girlfriend and I dined at the A&B on 5/6/2016. We had both been there on previous occasions, however, had never dined their together. As always, the food was delivered in exquisite fashion. We both opted for the Filet and Lobster Bisque, and were delighted. The bread is always warm and fluffy on the inside with a nice exterior crust. Our server was attentive w/o being overbearing and never let us want for a single thing... Very warm, friendly and professional. Have a Martini before, or an after dinner cordial in the lounge, they just don't make them like that anymore! Thanks again A&B... We'll be back soon! -Jorge & Marianne

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We spend several weeks a year in KW and always make reservations for A&B Lobster House each time. It has been our "go to" restaurant for Thanksgiving dinner when we spend that week in KW. They do have a traditional turkey dinner but we opt for seafood. Everything on the menu looks great but my favorite is the shrimp cocktail and the lobster thermidor (which is baked in a very rich cream/mushroom sauce). My wife has the lobster bisque and a fresh catch seafood dish of the day. This is a great place to eat outside with views overlooking the marina. Service is outstanding as is the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Surf and turf was mind blowing apps wher ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Surf and turf was mind blowing apps where so good! Cocktails where on point

food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time but definitely not our la ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our first time but definitely not our last!!! The hog fish was amazing!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice if you can get by the noise

Dined on April 30, 2016

A and B lived up to the high ratings which caused us to select it for one of our two nites in Key West. It met our expectations but the noise level from the bar downstairs was excessive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner & view! Customer servic ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Wonderful dinner & view! Customer service was the best.

food4
ambience4
service5

Fabulous surf & turf and whole lobster- ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Fabulous surf & turf and whole lobster- one flaw was the potatoes tasted like instant mashed potatoes which was disappointing considering the quality of the other dishes. The scallop appetizer was amazing. Our server Rita was very professional and excellent at reading her tables needs

food5
ambience5
service4

Ambiance was amazing. Perfect evening on ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Ambiance was amazing. Perfect evening on the outside deck at sunset. Perfect temperature with a light breeze

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on April 27, 2016

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here . Our waitress recommended a wine that fit both of our tastes. Very attentive staff. The food was excellent. I would highly recommend the grouper Oscar and my wife throughly enjoyed her lobster risotto. Great atmosphere and scenery. Will definitely go back next time we are in Key West.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place! Food is excellent!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great place! Food is excellent!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place to visit

Dined on April 26, 2016

We enjoyed this restaurant while we were on vacation in Key West. I had the Grouper with crab meat which was very good. My husband had the scallop appetizer which was excellent. He also had a scallop entree but he felt the scallops were tougher than the appetizer. That was the only complaint we had. It is a bit pricey. Our waiter was attentive and very nice. We sat outside and had a very nice view of the marina. We would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Sat inside, very good service, great app ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Sat inside, very good service, great appetizers and delicious dinner.

food3
ambience5
service2

Beautiful venue. Inattentive service, we ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Beautiful venue. Inattentive service, we didn't get what we ordered. Lobster was overcooked

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 23, 2016

In the past we have been happy with A&B Lobster House. But this time we were disappointed because our house salad contained black slimy lettuce. We switched to Caesar salad which had almost no dressing. They deducted the bad house salad but upcharged us for the replacement Caesar salad. We were celebrating a birthday and it was a disappointing way to start our meal. And below our expectations.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Traditional upscale steak/seafood house ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Traditional upscale steak/seafood house with great marina views. Good wine list. Cigar and martini bar adjoining restaurant with upscale atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected and Exceptional

Dined on April 20, 2016

I was expecting an expensive meal that was okay as the restaurant is located on the water. What I got was an exceptional meal in a fantastic setting. The food was amazing! It was a last minute decision and one of the best of our trip. Simple food prepared in an extraordinary way. And the cost of the meal was surprising in a good way.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hood food and service, would go again

Dined on April 18, 2016

Hood food and service, would go again

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Perfect diner

Dined on April 14, 2016

HWe love this place especialy for dining outside overlooking the marina. Our waitress was professional and very friendly. We share a delicious crabcake and our fish was so fresh as It was coming directly from the sea . No Room for desert !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant

Dined on April 12, 2016

The cream sherry lobster was to die for. This restaurant was recommended to me and I will definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accurate recommendations

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Waiter was very personable and his recommendations and descriptions matched my expectations. Go early to be sure the local catches do not sell out early. The hogfish special was very good and flavorful. Pomegrenate martini was perfect starter. Lobster bisque was the best you could ever have.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best seafood in the area mat ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Some of the best seafood in the area matched with great views of the marina. Couldn't ask for more in a waterfront experience.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Nothing special.

Dined on April 7, 2016

Meal was average. The food was ok, but since we didn't order a lot I think we were overlooked by waiter. We always tip as if 2 full meals ordered. The view was great.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, ambience and service. Sit ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Fabulous food, ambience and service. Sit outside, it's a wow. Nick was our waiter and he was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

keywest1

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

We had the Florida lobster served traditional style, which was excellent. Service was great. The restaurant over looks the Marina and is only three blocks from busy Duval Street.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.