About A&B Lobster House

700 Front Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Enjoy the freshest seafood on the island delivered daily. As our name implies, we specialize in lobster, both from Maine and Florida, prepared with a delicate fusion of the classic and contemporary styles of our talented chefs. We are also renowned for our steaks, always prime choice.

Dine outside on the wrap-around balcony or inside our timeless dining room, while our knowledgeable and attentive staff anticipates your every need and helps to make your experience unforgettable.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Simonton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-5880

Website:
http://aandblobsterhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Mick Pera

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area (bar only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • raw oysters
raw oysters

A&B Lobster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Scenic View
Florida Keys - Monroe County
1 More
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

scenic view (90)
special occasion (79)
great for outdoor dining (72)
See All
romantic (62)
fit for foodies (48)
notable wine list (31)
good for groups (30)
neighborhood gem (20)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
853 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant is very pricey. Has a ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant is very pricey. Has a very nice view. We requested to dine outside, however it was a little noisy with boats, etc, but it was our choice to be outside. The food was excellent. We were there for our Anniversary and it totally Fit the Event!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We arrived for our reservations made thr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived for our reservations made through Open Table and was told by the hostess that they didn't have our name in their system. They were not crowded at the time, and we were able to get a table. Food was fair, at most, and highly over priced for what you received--I believe they're living on their name. Very disappointed that our Open Table reservations were not in their system.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food great service great ambience! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food great service great ambience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A&B is great spot in the Key West area f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A&B is great spot in the Key West area for a fully composed meal as opposed to some variety of fancy bar food you'll find pretty much everywhere else on the island. Unfortunately the service was pretty slow considering that the place was pretty much empty the night my group was there. Same goes for the bar service. We ordered refills on drinks that didn't come until we were almost done our meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great location... Food was good, service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great location... Food was good, service ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Ordered the lobster tail and filet migno ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Ordered the lobster tail and filet mignon dinner. Was delicious. Not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very impressed with A&B Lobster Ho ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I was very impressed with A&B Lobster House - the service was impeccable. It was my birthday and they treated me like I was royalty! Highly recommended for their delicious food and scenic view over the marina.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what I expected. The server was not ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Not what I expected. The server was not helpful and not very friendly either. Food was good but very expensive for the quality. Nothing to brag about. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Regrettably my party of 6 business colle ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Regrettably my party of 6 business colleagues was directed to move from our table to another table after more than 15 minutes of settling in with drinks and wine bottle ordered. Very unprofessionally handled by inexperienced hostess. The original table was not seated for another hour and a half. This was avoidable and should never have happened. Thankfully our new server worked hard to improve the experience. Shrimp fettuccini with clam cream sauce was way too heavy, other seafood dishes of grouper and mixed grill were better prepared and enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Nice view of the harbor while dining. F ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Nice view of the harbor while dining. Food was excellent as was the service. Highly recommend the Oysters Rockefella. We dined here 16 years ago on our second date and the food is just as good now as it was then.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The lobster was great . We had our famil ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The lobster was great . We had our family dinner there while on vacation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hostesses were WAY too snobby and put me ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Hostesses were WAY too snobby and put me off completely. They were all hanging around the entrance and made us feel unwelcome. Our waiter was lovely though. Food was good but a bit overpriced for what we got. - Kate

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This is our second time at A&B Lobster H ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This is our second time at A&B Lobster House when we visit Key West. Everything is amazing, fresh and delicious. Seafood is expensive as well as beef so please review the menu before you make a reservation so you are aware of what things cost. This restaurant is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were a group of 8 on a holiday weeken ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were a group of 8 on a holiday weekend with reservation and were seated right away. The food was great, good service, friendly waiters, overall great time here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I really enjoyed my meal here! The serve ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I really enjoyed my meal here! The servers were extremely nice and accommodating, and the food was amazing. Was a little pricey, but the quality of the food made the price worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GOOD INTERIOR AND LOCATION. THE CHOICE ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

GOOD INTERIOR AND LOCATION.

THE CHOICE OF THE MENU WAS NOT REALLY BIG. DISHES LOOK BEAUTIFULLY.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

A & B Lobster House has perfectly prepar ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

A & B Lobster House has perfectly prepared fish and lobster, which is rare to find not overcooked most places. Our 3rd visit and just as good each time! Great service from Casey and food was excellent! We had the flounder topped with crabmeat special and grouper topped with crabmeat. All of us were impressed by the wonderful dinners.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here before. It is an iconic K ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I've been here before. It is an iconic Key West fine dining establishment. I was actually disappointed on several levels.

Service was inattentive and our waiter had zero personality or rapport.

When you pay top dollar (over $40) for seafood it better be amazing. This was just an average meal with a big ticket. Like I said, I've eaten there serval other times so thought I knew what to expect.

I brought my girlfriend here to share a great meal and although WE had a great time it was not because of A&B it could've been had anywhere else.

As a matter of fact after dinner we went to a dessert place called Better than Sex which just about lived up to its name! Yummy, Good stuff.

I feel that A&B was just living on their past reputation they just phoned it in. Nothing unique especially rubbery lobster come on you have lobster in your name. Bottom line it should've been much better there are many other excellent choices in KW.

Too bad Its great going back to place you've been to before and loving the food plus turning someone else on to a place is always fun...this was not the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We sat outside and had a view of the mar ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We sat outside and had a view of the marina. We loved seeing the tarpon playing in the water. We really liked our waitress and the chef was able to accommodate our dietary issues. The food was great and so was the wine. If you are a scotch drinker, limited selection. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Came for my fiance's birthday as we do e ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Came for my fiance's birthday as we do every year. His favorite Surf and Turf was amazing as always. He really enjoyed it and talks about it for days after. We always have delicious meals and a fantastic time. Thanks to our server (Phillip) for wonderful service. See you next year!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going there for over 30 years ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been going there for over 30 years and I've never been disappointed before...lobster bisque was watery and didn't taste fresh, the lobster, shrimp and scallops were ok but not the quality usually found at A and B Lobster,no flavor. Definitely not worth the price. This was the first time I had been there in maybe 10 years so maybe it's the new ownership? My husband also didn't feel well later...I'm just sad.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Food and Service was outstanding. Do not ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and Service was outstanding. Do not pass this place by. I would hope there is some talk about opening for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food and great service!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Terrific food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was DELICIOUS! We got right in ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was DELICIOUS! We got right in and had our choice of indoor or outdoor seating. The service was great and the food was excellent! We will be back to this place for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All around AWESOME!!!!! Pricey, but wort ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

All around AWESOME!!!!!

Pricey, but worth every bite!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Better than ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. Better than most of the Key West restaurants we tried over the past week, but also one of the more expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was recommended to us by ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us by some friends. It was quite lovely.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My yearly visitoverall favorite in key w ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

My yearly visitoverall favorite in key west IdonatemyservicesofmassageeveryyeartotheTaskForceDaggerFoundationthatservesSpecialForcesveteransandtheirfamilies. Pleasecheckthe foundationout. Perhapsyouwouldliketobeinvolvedtoo. Wehaveawonderfulsupportfromthekeywestcommunity.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinning experience. A real gem ami ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great dinning experience. A real gem amidst the craziness of Key West. Lobster and steak was perfect. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing...lobster was tough a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very disappointing...lobster was tough and steak was overcooked. Quality has gone down since our last visit.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Good was excellent and our waiter was ve ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good was excellent and our waiter was very polite and efficient. It was pricey but worth it for a special occasion. I would definitely recommend it and would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything expected

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Anniversary dinner outside overlooking the marina. Very attentive service without being intrusive. Food very good. One dish my wife didn't care for after it arrived but not because it was prepared poorly, just wasn't her taste. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great View, Food and Service at A & B Lo ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great View, Food and Service at A & B Lobster House fine dining! Grouper with crabmeat was cooked perfectly and great service with a beautiful view of Key West Harbor. Oysters Rockefeller were delicious as well.

Downstairs at Alonzo's has great food as well (1/2 price drinks and appetizers from 4-6:30 every day). Casey at Alonzo's makes a great Mojito as well!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A and B OUTSTANDING

 
 (Cancún)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service , food, ambience all top notch. Probably our best meal in Key West . Scallops appetizer to die for.Everything off the boat fresh.Server was spot on. Great overall experience .A little pricy but worth every penny.They should put something on the menu about the history ,it is something to be proud of. Cigar lounge as well. A definite must do in Key West. Will return next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious. Great wine menu as w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was delicious. Great wine menu as well. Make sure you request a seat outside on the patio and dinner around sunset is very fun. Luther was our waiter and he took excellent care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, a lovely evening. Great food, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

As usual, a lovely evening. Great food, terrific service, beautiful ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First Time Won't Be My Last

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Loved this place for a nice dinner with a group of friends. We sat outside and had a beautiful view of the marina. Our server was on point with all of his suggestions. Be prepared to pay high end prices, but the food and service well worth every penny. We stayed long after dinner was over and just enjoyed the atmosphere and ambiance. Everyone agreed we would definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at A&B

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was excellent along with the service. We arrived a little early so went for drinks at the bar.

The young lady behind the bar was very nice and made an awesome margarita from scratch (no pre-mix stuff). would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster bisque, lobster cooked in butter ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Lobster bisque, lobster cooked in butter, the bread was fantastic too, and the cocktail bar was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably the best oyster Rockefeller ive ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Probably the best oyster Rockefeller ive ever had (and I lived in New Orleans for 4 years) only disappointment was the restaurant running out of the 2lbs baked lobster, however, the lobster paella was an incredible substitute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.