About A&B Lobster House

700 Front Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Enjoy the freshest seafood on the island delivered daily. As our name implies, we specialize in lobster, both from Maine and Florida, prepared with a delicate fusion of the classic and contemporary styles of our talented chefs. We are also renowned for our steaks, always prime choice.

Dine outside on the wrap-around balcony or inside our timeless dining room, while our knowledgeable and attentive staff anticipates your every need and helps to make your experience unforgettable.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Simonton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-5880

Website:
http://aandblobsterhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Mick Pera

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • raw oysters
raw oysters

A&B Lobster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Scenic View
Key West / Florida Keys
5 More
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Ambiance
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Scenic View
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Scenic View (60)
Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Romantic (51)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Groups (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Waterfront (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
893 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sat outside on second floor deck was bea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Sat outside on second floor deck was beautiful view and fantastic food! Will go back next time in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the only negative of that night - the l ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined 4 days ago

the only negative of that night - the lobster bisque was out !

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic fresh seafood! My wife and I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fantastic fresh seafood! My wife and I went there to celebrate three life events that occurred in a relatively close timeframe and we had a memorable, romantic meal. Can't wait for our next trip back to Key West so we can go to the A&B again!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, food and ambience. No ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent service, food and ambience. No complaints. Will return

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Main criticism of this place was ambianc ...

vip
 (Kent)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Main criticism of this place was ambiance which wasn't their fault. We were there on a Tuesday out of season and weather wasn't great so virtually no other customers. Service was very attentive. Lobster a bit overcooked but oysters rockefeller were excellent. Wine not badly priced and cocktails very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Beautiful setting, wonderful food, excel ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Beautiful setting, wonderful food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My son and I visit Key West on a fairly ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My son and I visit Key West on a fairly regular basis and our visit to paradise would not be complete without visiting A&B. The food, service and ambience are superb, already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing and knowledgeable Server! Great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing and knowledgeable Server! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will not ever go back even if it was for ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Will not ever go back even if it was for free worst lobster bisque ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I was interested in a succulent seafood ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I was interested in a succulent seafood dinner and the Paella was the most delicious and well prepared I have ever eaten.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a great meal here. ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

My husband and I had a great meal here. The food was amazing as well as the atmosphere. It is quite pricey but we knew this beforehand so this was not a problem at all. We were stuffed by the end of the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was an amazing restaurant to cap off my ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Was an amazing restaurant to cap off my honeymoon. The food was pricey but you definitely get what you pay for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Service was great too. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very good food. Service was great too. No pressure to turn the table so we enjoyed a leisurely meal. I enjoyed the grouper, crab overlay with a very good sauce, potatoes and asparagus. My husband got the Florida lobster tail. It looked pretty small, but he got completely full. Also the Caesar salad was awesome, a must get for Caesar lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, service, & ambiance. Try t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food, service, & ambiance. Try the banana foster dessert. Incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The A & B Lobster House is an outstandin ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The A & B Lobster House is an outstanding venue with exceptional staff (John our waiter). It is the perfect spot for a romantic, outdoor dinner. The attached Berlin's Cigar Bar is a bonus; also exceptional and knowledgeable staff (Sean our bartender).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The rice was over cooked, dry, like eati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The rice was over cooked, dry, like eating gravel. The seafood was exceptable. Missed caviar on the lobster bisque, but the bisque was still good. The food was far better previous years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

A&B Lobster House is one of our favorite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A&B Lobster House is one of our favorite restaurants to go when we visit Key West. They have both wonderful seafood and steak options. The Florida Lobster Tail was fantastic. Great ambience and wonderful view of the marina when dining outside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service! Wonderful vi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Fabulous food and service! Wonderful view of the docks and ocean.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Excellent food. Excel ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent service. Excellent food. Excellent ambiance! Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seems to me this is an expensive tourist ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Seems to me this is an expensive tourist destination, would not really recommend it as it really has nothing special to go for.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

My wife and I have made A & B our one tr ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I have made A & B our one traditional Key West restaurant for a time frame of nearly 20 years, and we recommend it to everyone we know that visits Key West. We will be back there again on our next visit to Key West! The filet mignon cuts like butter, and the Oscar grouper is fantastic!! We also enjoyed the HUGE shrimp cocktail martini!! Thank you chefs and staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our waiter was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely horrible. Everything ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was absolutely horrible. Everything we ordered came out raw, fishy and just nasty. Even the coffee was COLD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Totally overpriced. I ordered my steak m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Totally overpriced. I ordered my steak medium and it was medium well and my husbands was well done. The lobster was like rubber. Two people spent over $250.00. Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We had a great experience! Stephen was o ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a great experience! Stephen was our server and was so very helpful! Will return again and again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food. Have been going ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Consistently good food. Have been going for years and never had a bad meal or felt disappointment

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you're looking for somewhere very ni ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

If you're looking for somewhere very nice off of Duval St and away from the hustle and bustle

With a beautiful view this is the place to go You can dine inside if it's too hot outside. The outside deck is beautiful though. The service was good and the food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely a great place for an intimate ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Definitely a great place for an intimate date night and or birthday celebration. The food was great and the service was phenomenal. The view of the water on the balcony is fabulous and it's a very comfortable environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A must each time im in key west. Perfect ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A must each time im in key west. Perfect steak and lobster every time. Loved this place since my wedding night in 2007 when i first ate here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food options, it was also deliciou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food options, it was also delicious. The host was extremely rude, I spoke to her before she spoke to me and she rolled her eyes. I've worked in restaurants before and for a place as fancy as A&B Lobster House I know that is not how you treat a guest. Aside from that the meal and our server were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Another great meal with great service at ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Another great meal with great service at A&B. We opted to sit inside, but the dining outside is lovely as well. Best steak on the island. Seafood dishes amazing too. A perfect date night restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed this special restaurant for a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We enjoyed this special restaurant for a romantic dinner with a great view, in a warm evening of July. We was delighted by a delicious shrimp cocktail "Martini" and an excellent Butter poached Flirida lobster tail!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The scallop appetizer was amazing

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The scallop appetizer was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place for your white table cloth ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

A great place for your white table cloth dining experience in Key West. The hog fish was amazing and I usually don't eat fish. Attentive wait staff, table with a view. Convenient for those staying at or close to the marina.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Good: Two thumbs up for the Delicio ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Good: Two thumbs up for the Delicious food & great service.

The bad: Ambiance was not what we expected based on the menu price point. The restaurant was only 3/4 full and the crowd was a little boisterous, but the acoustics in the dining room amplified everything. Arrived around 8:15 pm on an the off-season Friday night and you couldn't carry on a conversation without raising your voice to be heard across the table. Finally moved across to sit next to my wife.

The Ugly (but very comical): Moving across the table allowed me to hear my wife speak without shouting, but set us up perfectly for the show which was about to begin at the next table. Five clearly intoxicated gentlemen arrived, ordered more alcohol, and began act one of the show. The first act was the their loud drunken memories of adventures at a local gentlemens' club . Apparently, one of their group had fallen in love, and had invited one of the entertainers along for a lobster dinner. Act two began when she joined them. The conversation turned political and the poor young lady happened to mention her support for a certain orange skinned businessman. This really upset one of their more drunken buddies. He proceeded to unleash a loud, profanity laced tirade in favor of the other candidate. The young lady tried to ignore him and eat her lobster, and his buddies tried in vain for 20 minutes to get him to calm down.

Dinner and a free show, what more could you ask for on your anniversary. That being said, it was Key West on a Friday night🤔

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Waiter was rude. Food was not prepared ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Waiter was rude. Food was not prepared to order and the fish was drowning in sauce. Not what we expected.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Didn't realize gratuity was added onto b ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Didn't realize gratuity was added onto bill until next day. It was listed before the total and discreetly hidden. Not good business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The restaurant is very pricey. Has a ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The restaurant is very pricey. Has a very nice view. We requested to dine outside, however it was a little noisy with boats, etc, but it was our choice to be outside. The food was excellent. We were there for our Anniversary and it totally Fit the Event!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great recommendation from our hotel. Ve ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great recommendation from our hotel. Very well prepared seafood in a comfortable setting, topped off by great service from Luther, our waiter. The Oscar Grouper and Key West Shrimp Pasta were excellent, but you have to like rich sauces...which we do. Large stately dining room with additional outdoor seating on the wrap-around balcony.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived for our reservations made thr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We arrived for our reservations made through Open Table and was told by the hostess that they didn't have our name in their system. They were not crowded at the time, and we were able to get a table. Food was fair, at most, and highly over priced for what you received--I believe they're living on their name. Very disappointed that our Open Table reservations were not in their system.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.