About A&B Lobster House

700 Front Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Enjoy the freshest seafood on the island delivered daily. As our name implies, we specialize in lobster, both from Maine and Florida, prepared with a delicate fusion of the classic and contemporary styles of our talented chefs. We are also renowned for our steaks, always prime choice.

Dine outside on the wrap-around balcony or inside our timeless dining room, while our knowledgeable and attentive staff anticipates your every need and helps to make your experience unforgettable.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Simonton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-5880

Website:
http://aandblobsterhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Mick Pera

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • raw oysters
raw oysters

A&B Lobster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Scenic View
Florida Keys - Monroe County
1 More
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Scenic View (82)
Special Occasion (72)
Great for Outdoor Dining (69)
See All
Romantic (63)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for Groups (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food. Service was great too. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food. Service was great too. No pressure to turn the table so we enjoyed a leisurely meal. I enjoyed the grouper, crab overlay with a very good sauce, potatoes and asparagus. My husband got the Florida lobster tail. It looked pretty small, but he got completely full. Also the Caesar salad was awesome, a must get for Caesar lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, service, & ambiance. Try t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food, service, & ambiance. Try the banana foster dessert. Incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The A & B Lobster House is an outstandin ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The A & B Lobster House is an outstanding venue with exceptional staff (John our waiter). It is the perfect spot for a romantic, outdoor dinner. The attached Berlin's Cigar Bar is a bonus; also exceptional and knowledgeable staff (Sean our bartender).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The rice was over cooked, dry, like eati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The rice was over cooked, dry, like eating gravel. The seafood was exceptable. Missed caviar on the lobster bisque, but the bisque was still good. The food was far better previous years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

A&B Lobster House is one of our favorite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A&B Lobster House is one of our favorite restaurants to go when we visit Key West. They have both wonderful seafood and steak options. The Florida Lobster Tail was fantastic. Great ambience and wonderful view of the marina when dining outside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service! Wonderful vi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Fabulous food and service! Wonderful view of the docks and ocean.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Excellent food. Excel ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent service. Excellent food. Excellent ambiance! Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seems to me this is an expensive tourist ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Seems to me this is an expensive tourist destination, would not really recommend it as it really has nothing special to go for.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

My wife and I have made A & B our one tr ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I have made A & B our one traditional Key West restaurant for a time frame of nearly 20 years, and we recommend it to everyone we know that visits Key West. We will be back there again on our next visit to Key West! The filet mignon cuts like butter, and the Oscar grouper is fantastic!! We also enjoyed the HUGE shrimp cocktail martini!! Thank you chefs and staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our waiter was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely horrible. Everything ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was absolutely horrible. Everything we ordered came out raw, fishy and just nasty. Even the coffee was COLD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Totally overpriced. I ordered my steak m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Totally overpriced. I ordered my steak medium and it was medium well and my husbands was well done. The lobster was like rubber. Two people spent over $250.00. Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We had a great experience! Stephen was o ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a great experience! Stephen was our server and was so very helpful! Will return again and again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food. Have been going ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Consistently good food. Have been going for years and never had a bad meal or felt disappointment

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you're looking for somewhere very ni ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

If you're looking for somewhere very nice off of Duval St and away from the hustle and bustle

With a beautiful view this is the place to go You can dine inside if it's too hot outside. The outside deck is beautiful though. The service was good and the food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely a great place for an intimate ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Definitely a great place for an intimate date night and or birthday celebration. The food was great and the service was phenomenal. The view of the water on the balcony is fabulous and it's a very comfortable environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A must each time im in key west. Perfect ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A must each time im in key west. Perfect steak and lobster every time. Loved this place since my wedding night in 2007 when i first ate here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food options, it was also deliciou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food options, it was also delicious. The host was extremely rude, I spoke to her before she spoke to me and she rolled her eyes. I've worked in restaurants before and for a place as fancy as A&B Lobster House I know that is not how you treat a guest. Aside from that the meal and our server were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Another great meal with great service at ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Another great meal with great service at A&B. We opted to sit inside, but the dining outside is lovely as well. Best steak on the island. Seafood dishes amazing too. A perfect date night restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed this special restaurant for a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We enjoyed this special restaurant for a romantic dinner with a great view, in a warm evening of July. We was delighted by a delicious shrimp cocktail "Martini" and an excellent Butter poached Flirida lobster tail!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The scallop appetizer was amazing

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The scallop appetizer was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place for your white table cloth ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

A great place for your white table cloth dining experience in Key West. The hog fish was amazing and I usually don't eat fish. Attentive wait staff, table with a view. Convenient for those staying at or close to the marina.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Good: Two thumbs up for the Delicio ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Good: Two thumbs up for the Delicious food & great service.

The bad: Ambiance was not what we expected based on the menu price point. The restaurant was only 3/4 full and the crowd was a little boisterous, but the acoustics in the dining room amplified everything. Arrived around 8:15 pm on an the off-season Friday night and you couldn't carry on a conversation without raising your voice to be heard across the table. Finally moved across to sit next to my wife.

The Ugly (but very comical): Moving across the table allowed me to hear my wife speak without shouting, but set us up perfectly for the show which was about to begin at the next table. Five clearly intoxicated gentlemen arrived, ordered more alcohol, and began act one of the show. The first act was the their loud drunken memories of adventures at a local gentlemens' club . Apparently, one of their group had fallen in love, and had invited one of the entertainers along for a lobster dinner. Act two began when she joined them. The conversation turned political and the poor young lady happened to mention her support for a certain orange skinned businessman. This really upset one of their more drunken buddies. He proceeded to unleash a loud, profanity laced tirade in favor of the other candidate. The young lady tried to ignore him and eat her lobster, and his buddies tried in vain for 20 minutes to get him to calm down.

Dinner and a free show, what more could you ask for on your anniversary. That being said, it was Key West on a Friday night🤔

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Waiter was rude. Food was not prepared ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Waiter was rude. Food was not prepared to order and the fish was drowning in sauce. Not what we expected.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Didn't realize gratuity was added onto b ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Didn't realize gratuity was added onto bill until next day. It was listed before the total and discreetly hidden. Not good business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The restaurant is very pricey. Has a ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The restaurant is very pricey. Has a very nice view. We requested to dine outside, however it was a little noisy with boats, etc, but it was our choice to be outside. The food was excellent. We were there for our Anniversary and it totally Fit the Event!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great recommendation from our hotel. Ve ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great recommendation from our hotel. Very well prepared seafood in a comfortable setting, topped off by great service from Luther, our waiter. The Oscar Grouper and Key West Shrimp Pasta were excellent, but you have to like rich sauces...which we do. Large stately dining room with additional outdoor seating on the wrap-around balcony.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived for our reservations made thr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We arrived for our reservations made through Open Table and was told by the hostess that they didn't have our name in their system. They were not crowded at the time, and we were able to get a table. Food was fair, at most, and highly over priced for what you received--I believe they're living on their name. Very disappointed that our Open Table reservations were not in their system.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food great service great ambience! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food great service great ambience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A&B is great spot in the Key West area f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A&B is great spot in the Key West area for a fully composed meal as opposed to some variety of fancy bar food you'll find pretty much everywhere else on the island. Unfortunately the service was pretty slow considering that the place was pretty much empty the night my group was there. Same goes for the bar service. We ordered refills on drinks that didn't come until we were almost done our meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great location... Food was good, service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great location... Food was good, service ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Ordered the lobster tail and filet migno ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Ordered the lobster tail and filet mignon dinner. Was delicious. Not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very impressed with A&B Lobster Ho ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I was very impressed with A&B Lobster House - the service was impeccable. It was my birthday and they treated me like I was royalty! Highly recommended for their delicious food and scenic view over the marina.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what I expected. The server was not ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Not what I expected. The server was not helpful and not very friendly either. Food was good but very expensive for the quality. Nothing to brag about. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Regrettably my party of 6 business colle ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Regrettably my party of 6 business colleagues was directed to move from our table to another table after more than 15 minutes of settling in with drinks and wine bottle ordered. Very unprofessionally handled by inexperienced hostess. The original table was not seated for another hour and a half. This was avoidable and should never have happened. Thankfully our new server worked hard to improve the experience. Shrimp fettuccini with clam cream sauce was way too heavy, other seafood dishes of grouper and mixed grill were better prepared and enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Nice view of the harbor while dining. F ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Nice view of the harbor while dining. Food was excellent as was the service. Highly recommend the Oysters Rockefella. We dined here 16 years ago on our second date and the food is just as good now as it was then.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The lobster was great . We had our famil ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The lobster was great . We had our family dinner there while on vacation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hostesses were WAY too snobby and put me ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Hostesses were WAY too snobby and put me off completely. They were all hanging around the entrance and made us feel unwelcome. Our waiter was lovely though. Food was good but a bit overpriced for what we got. - Kate

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This is our second time at A&B Lobster H ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This is our second time at A&B Lobster House when we visit Key West. Everything is amazing, fresh and delicious. Seafood is expensive as well as beef so please review the menu before you make a reservation so you are aware of what things cost. This restaurant is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were a group of 8 on a holiday weeken ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were a group of 8 on a holiday weekend with reservation and were seated right away. The food was great, good service, friendly waiters, overall great time here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.