Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About A&B Lobster House

Enjoy the freshest seafood on the island delivered daily. As our name implies, we specialize in lobster, both from Maine and Florida, prepared with a delicate fusion of the classic and contemporary styles of our talented chefs. We are also renowned for our steaks, always prime choice.

Dine outside on the wrap-around balcony or inside our timeless dining room, while our knowledgeable and attentive staff anticipates your every need and helps to make your experience unforgettable.

700 Front Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Simonton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 294-5880

Website:
http://aandblobsterhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Mick Pera

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A&B Lobster House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (106)
Scenic View (94)
Special Occasion (70)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (60)
Good for a Date (60)
Romantic (59)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Local Ingredients (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Authentic (20)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Historic (14)
Casual (12)
Fun (10)
People Watching (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (5)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Live Music (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was very good, and far exceeds the quality of the food. Local fish and lobster should have been exceptional considering the high prices charged by A&B. I could barely get through a lobster and escargot appetizer. The lobster entree was chewy. Overall, an underwhelming meal at what many would call Key West's best restaurant. Just average food, with exceptional service and a great waterfront location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Key West)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolute favorite Resturant in Key West
All the staff is amazing, especially Stephen! Top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Lobster thermidor was absolutely amazing!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined 7 days ago

Took a chance based on pictures and the menu online .. was above what I expected.. the food was great... the view was spectacular.. good service and an overall good price was not as expensive as I thought.. definitley going back when we visit the Keys next

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service and outstanding cuisine . Perfect location for enjoying Key West's nightlife. Lobster was wonderful and wine superb

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Been going for 20 years! Lobster bisque and ceasar are one of the best in the world! Erica our server is always on top of her game! Ask for a Table in her section

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Place is very nice. Ordered our drinks and the oysters Rockefeller which were very good only wish they served then on a bed of rock salt, sort of the classic presentation. The lobster themidor was excellent a classic, my wife filet was not very good no taste but when you go to a seafood restaurant you order seafood. The lounge area leaved us a little upset as we sat in the lounge hoping to enjoy a nice cigar and a glass of cognac the service was very bad, bartender was rude to my wife when she went to order our drinks and made no attempt to see to our table needs. Need more staff working there.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Went for my wife's birthday . We both had the filet mignon and was outstanding . Great experience , would highly recommend .

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Very old school, in good and bad ways. Gorgeous room with heavily shuttered too-small windows obscuring marina view. Menu heavy on classics, a great place to take your mom.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Spoiled fish!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Birthday - restaurant didn't even acknowledge. Food tastes canned.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Love A&B--always great food and service. We enjoy every time we visit Key West.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was average at best. A very nice view however it took a while for someone to come and take our order. Overall there a may other restaurants in the area with better food and better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My entrée was the best food I have ever eaten in Key West. Our waiter disappointed us by refusing to check downstairs for the fresh oyster options. The rest of the meal was lovely. Typical Key West dessert options (boring).

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food and server was excellent. The 2 hostesses could use some training in hospitality and customer service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I should preface this by saying that we eat out five of seven nights and generally go to upscale restaurants. We thought that this restaurant was supposed to be something special but the food was just average. Also and more importantly to us, we felt that the server was below average for a supposed fine dining restaurant - no tableside manner whatsoever. We wouldn't go there again. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 9, 2017

James our waiter did a real nice job for our party of 8. Great meal and night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The location is great and the food was very good. Waiter rushed us a little until he figured out we were going to enjoy our dinner together.

Great place to watch the sunset on the boats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I had the 2 lb. Maine lobster served lazy-man [in other words they cleaned it out of the shell for me and served it with a side of drawn butter] and it was beyond delicious. There was a large group seated next to us and we were also a large group, but the food arrived in a very reasonable amount of time and prepared as requested. We had outdoor seating overlooking the marina and the breeze coming off the water was perfect. Our entire group agreed we would definitely return on our next visit.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Bisque was too flour laden and cold.
Scallops were undercooked on top of meager amounts of vegetables.
My wife only ate half her fish.
A local had recommended it.
Worst experience of the week. Plus the most expensive.
Staff seemed very young.
Go for the view but leave after your cocktail.
Typical overpriced tourist trap with a view so the food doesn't need to be warm or tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We sat outside on the porch overlooking the marina, great spot..delicious food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very nice, we sat at the balcony with a great view to the piers

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Restaurant does not pay attention to their utensils. Half the forks on the table were bent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Awesome meal
Good waiter
Will definitely be back! A must try.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Grouper Oscar and the yellowtail snapper entrees were both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was our 2nd visit to A & B. The servers are very good to explain the menu and the different preparations. Our service was timely (not too fast or slow). It is a bit pricey but we enjoyed our meals. I had the butter poached lobster and my husband had the lobster with risotto. His was described by our server as "comfort meal" as it was very rich. Overall I would recommend this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on May 3, 2017

Amazing food and service second to none. Would definitely recommend as a must while in key west

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had excellent wait service. I saw some mixed reviews, but our server was great. The pair of hostesses could have been a bit warmer as it seemed we interrupted their conversation when we showed up, but no real issue there. The food was also excellent. My shrimp and scallops and pasta was excellent, so I took home leftovers. My wife also enjoyed her meal. We were able to be seated outside overlooking the harbour and thoroughly enjoyed that experience.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

A must when in Key West. Great local seafood and a decent wine list

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing game food. I have seen puppies smaller the shrimp pael la very creative

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Recommended and thoroughly enjoyed. The ambiance is wonderful... upscale
From the typical Key West restaurants we've
Visited this far.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Dinner was not as good as last time we visited. Tuna Tataki was a disappointment, not as fresh!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great menu, service and wine list and the view of the harbor was spectacular

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Best dinner we've had in Key West. Lobster bisque, lobster thermidore, butter poached lobster tail, lobster pasta, and risotto... all super delicious. We visit often from Miami and all 8 of us where very impressed. Great wine list. Highly recommend the Terra Valentine Cabernet. Lava cake, crembulé, and chocolate martini were all amazing too!
Our server Casey was fantastic!! Looking forward to our next dinner at A&B!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My wife and I were visiting Key West for the first time. A friend had recommended the restaurant as a very nice place for "a memorable dinner". We cannot thank that friend enough. We had an outstanding experience. The food was outstanding. I had ordered the special and my wife off the menu. Both choices were excellently prepared and presented. The taste was outstanding. If you go to the restaurant you have to order the soups as a appetizer. I am a Yankee and I have to admit that I've never had a clam chowder that good. The lobster bisque was also outstanding.

If we had one issue, it was our fault. I had requested an outside table and it was really windy. After dinner, talking to locals it appears that it is often windy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Excellent, we visit everytime in Key West at our timeshare

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

First time to Key West. Concierge at Casa Marina recommended. Authentic old fish house in historic seaport district. We sat on the deck looking at the harbor at sun down. Food and service were excellent. It gets mixed reviews on some sites, but our experience was memorable. Luther our waiter was attentive and a consummate professional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

First words that come to mind in describing A&B Lobster House setting are Comfortable, Elegant and Clean. We sat on the outdoor deck (A&B is on the 2nd floor of their building), where the tables are comfortably spaced, white table clothed with elegant white dinnerware, as opposed to the funky stuff and plastic at many Key West restaurants. And the outside deck was very clean, was no evidence it was outside exposed to salt water waterfront.

Oh yeah, the food. We did not have Lobster, and everything we had was great. My wife had the tuna, seabass for me, both were excellent.

We will return to A&B - and have already recommended it to others.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Such a lovely , Old world ,classy restaurant. We have decided to return again to dine before we leave Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 24, 2017

An absolute MUST when we're down in Key West. The food is always delicious. We've never had a bad meal here. The service is impeccable. The ambiance is soothing. We make it a point to have dinner here while visiting. You won't regret it!!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.