About 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego

8885 Balboa Ave
San Diego, CA 92123
View Larger Map

For over 40 years, one of San Diego's landmark dining destinations and one of the most unique and memorable restaurants you will ever find. Located inside a replica of a World War I French farmhouse decorated with fascinating military memorabilia, antiques, and aviation relics, the restaurant overlooks Montgomery Field Airport, and has a cozy and romantic ambiance, with large stone fireplaces intimate booths, and beautiful views. The extensive menu features mid-western aged beef and the freshest seafood. Here you will find USDA Choice & Prime Beef steaks, slow-roasted Angus prime rib, succulent lobster tail, fresh fish, rack of lamb, salad entrees,seafood chicken, pasta dishes, and fabulous desserts. Their famous Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet is not to be missed. Beautiful outdoor patios, a very popular Happy Hour, and excellent banquet facilities help make the 94th Aero Squadron one of the great dining experiences in all of San Diego.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - FRiday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ponderosa

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 560-6771

Website:
http://www.94thaerosquadron.signonsandiego.com/

Entertainment:
D.J. & Dancing on Fridays from 6:00 pm until 1:30 am.
Singles Night with D.J. & Dancing on Tuesdays from 7:00 pm until 11:00 pm. Live Band July through October, every Thursday on the patios, 6:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Parking Details:
Large lot with ample free parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • French Onion Soup - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • Champagne Sunday Brunch - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • Filet Mignon - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
French Onion Soup - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Champagne Sunday Brunch - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Filet Mignon - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Free Corkage

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. * The Wine Special is not valid with other discounts or on major holidays . Special valid Sep 19, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Free Corkage

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Free Corkage. In dinning room only, and with purchase of a dinner entree . Special valid Sep 19, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Beautiful, unique banquet facilities for parties of 25 to 200. Wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, cocktail parties, birthday & anniversary dinners, retirement celebrations, private luncheons, etc. Superb food, attentive service, and affordable prices.

94th Aero Squadron - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for Groups (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
See All
Great for Brunch (32)
Good for a Date (30)
Historic (29)
Cozy (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Scenic View (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Romantic (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Comfort Food (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Casual (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fun (14)
Authentic (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Family Style (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fireplace (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I usually come here for the Sunday brunc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I usually come here for the Sunday brunch buffet (which is amazing!!!) But the other night my boyfriend and I came here for dinner. It was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! He got the blue cheese steak and I got the panko chicken- they were both mouth watering dishes!! Yum!! Our server jefferey was awesome as well, checking up on us at perfect times and was so nice. We sat inside since it was a little cold outside, but I loved it!! The inside is cool with stuff hanging everywhere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the 94th for many ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have been going to the 94th for many years. The food is always great but Sat it was exceptionally delicious. Prime rib melted in your mouth.

There were 10 of us, 3 were children. Our waiter Jeffery was very engaging with the kids. Very impressed.

It was a 5 fork dining experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Xavier was our server and was amazing, o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Xavier was our server and was amazing, our glass never ran dry and we was super friendly and courteous. We've been coming here for almost a decade and love the food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Price is getting a bit high. Don't go as ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Price is getting a bit high. Don't go as often as I use to.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife ordered a filet and I ordered a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife ordered a filet and I ordered a New York Stip.

Both were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This has become our new go to! We love t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This has become our new go to! We love this place. The food is always fantastic and great portion sizes as some items are a bit more expensive. The drinks have always been great, staff is fantastic, and can't be the view/ambiance it has. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice dinner there. I like ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had a very nice dinner there. I like how they give you an extra side dish, of creamed corn, in addition to your dinner entree. I enjoyed the military memorabilia decor inside. The food was excellent. All in all, we had a very very nice dinner date.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the few San Diego gems. Food,serv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One of the few San Diego gems. Food,service, ambiance. All 100% on target Sargent. Good cooking solider, now lets eat!.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have been to 94 Aero Squadron in other c ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Have been to 94 Aero Squadron in other cities, first time to this on in San Diego. As always, this is a fun place to go to. Atmosphere, food, and service all great, some of our group had the lunch buffet, they lived it. We will be going again, remembered they have a good happy hour, so our group will meet for that soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brilliant value and amazing choice of fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Brilliant value and amazing choice of food. I wish we lived in the area and could go more often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a pleasure to have a lovely paced ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It is a pleasure to have a lovely paced dinner in a room where you can hear your guests.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere with homey fireplac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere with homey fireplace and window view full of historic conversation topics. Went back for seconds on salmon teriyaki, roast beef, and ham. Fresh fruit was tasty and sweet. Loved the chocolate cake and eclair I chose. Eggs Benedict and blueberry/ricotta were dry overlooked but so many other choices. Waiter was very attentive. Plenty of seating and did not feel like I was trapped in my seat. Easy to move in and out. Would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Fireplace, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was friendly and ag ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The whole experience was friendly and agreeable. Prices were reasonable and the Prime Rib was delicious. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This is my second time there in one mont ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is my second time there in one month and I love it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Always a go ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. Always a good dining experience to enjoy with friends. Perfect location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went 94th Aero Squadron an ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I went 94th Aero Squadron and Had a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food..

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Eddie made our brunch experie ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our waiter Eddie made our brunch experience FANTASTIC! Can't wait to go back and the food was so good!!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both my husband and I had the Seafood Pa ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Both my husband and I had the Seafood Pasta dish. Outstanding! Service by Michael was excellent. We go there often and never disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My server was David, he was great! the f ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My server was David, he was great! the french onion soup was good. I ordered the sirloin steak which was okay. I liked the atmosphere and the decor. I went to celebrate for my birthday, overall I was happy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This hidden gem is a wonderful to place ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This hidden gem is a wonderful to place eat. The food and service are always consistent. ( this is a good thing)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef's special was amazing tonight!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The chef's special was amazing tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Parking was the only issue.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Parking was the only issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We hadn't visited 94th Aero Squadron in ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We hadn't visited 94th Aero Squadron in over 30 years. When we had passed by it recently and knew Restaurant Week was coming up we thought to celebrate my husband's birthday. The decor inside and out hasn't changed. The front of the building looks charming but the inside looks pretty run down. The food was hit and miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was plentiful and delicious. Th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was plentiful and delicious. There was a nice selection and something for everybody. I can't wait to return😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our waitress was friendly enough. But th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our waitress was friendly enough. But the meat carver at the buffet was so rude. He practically went out of his way to make you feel like he didnt want to be there. The desserts are all soft and gooey. Not a very good selection because of it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had very high expectations for brunch ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I had very high expectations for brunch at 94th Aero Squadron, as several friends have eaten there and recommended it. Maybe it was because my daughter and I reserved at 1pm for brunch and brunch starts at 9...but I felt the food was poor quality. Most dishes were lukewarm, not cold or hot...lukewarm eggs, lukewarm melon, lukewarm shrimp. Speaking of shrimp, the peel and eat shrimp were weird...limp and leggy, not fat and pink and fresh. Eggs Benedict shouldn't have been on the buffet, they should have been made to order, as they were awful. I tried a "made to order" crepe, but was offered no choice of fruit and the crepes weren't cooked to crispy as they should be, but were limp and raw. The carving station prime rib and lamb were tasty but the slices were paper thin. Desserts were standard and okay, but the flan wasn't good. All in all, low marks for the food. I will say that the ambience is nice, attempting WW1 vintage, though music was definitely WWII....cute outside area with tables for casual dining, replica biting planes, etc. I'd like to give this place one more chance and arrive earlier for brunch or try a dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

My party arrived and was told that we di ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My party arrived and was told that we did not have a reservation even though I had made it well in advance. This used to be a quality place for brunch, but the food has gone downhill. The quality of the carved meats was lacking and the people at the omelette station completely ignored my friend. It is also too dark in the area where you get the food and you can not see what you are getting until you return to your table. Needless to say the experience was lacking and we will not be returning. The price is too high for the lack of quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Love 94tb. Service, food and ambience ar ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Love 94tb. Service, food and ambience are excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this restaurant on Restaurant W ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We chose this restaurant on Restaurant Week as we try to pick a place we have never gone to before and it had good ratings. We got there a full hour early, due to errands in the area, and they very nicely seated us after a short wait. The place was full and had lots of big groups celebrating some occasions. We picked off of the Restaurant Week menu as it had things we both liked. The food was very good. Our waiter was nice but service really lagged at times. We just needed water, for example, and we couldn't stop anyone to even ask for a glass. We waited for ever after we finished to get a box to take home left overs and get our bill. I had to stop a buss person and ask him to get our waiter so we could pay. All in all we enjoyed it as a new place but probably won't make an effort to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I were trying a "new place t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My wife and I were trying a "new place to us" in the 94tth Aero Squadron. We had no idea that it was "Restaurant Week" in San Diego. The place was very busy! We were escorted to a table that was isolated from the rest of the dining room. This allowed us the chance to talk and dine in relative calm! We were very pleased with the delicious food and ambience. We are already planning a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really crowded for restaurant week, a ch ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Really crowded for restaurant week, a challenge for the air conditioning. But everything ran smoothly as always. Several new items on the restaurant week menu like bacon wrapped, crab stuffed scallops and the lettuce wedge with blue cheese were very good.

A nice vegetable medley came with the extremely tender short ribs, my favorite. The filet was also very good.

Strawberries in Gran Marnier sauce was great dessert.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were seated in a back room, either th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were seated in a back room, either there was no air or it wasn't working as it was very warm and we could feel the air in the other room as we left, tables were close together so the noise level was high and it was hard for server and customers to get by. They were busy and service was slow and not what we expected from previous times. One meal was wrong and had to wait for the correct meal to be brought out. I will go back but next time will request to wait for a table in the main room and stay away during Friday night restraint week event.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

My husband and I come here often. We lo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My husband and I come here often. We love the food and the ambience. We also bring friends when they come to town.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was ok/acceptable for the price. Th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was ok/acceptable for the price. The biggest turn-off was the fact that the A/C was clearly not turned on (in the area that we dined in) and the server insisted that it was. OK, having lived in SD for 21 years, I think I know when an A/C is on...after our dine in and making a positive mention of the food and service, I made ess of a favorable mention of the A/C. In agreement, Server said I should say something to a manager because as a server, he's listened to less. This statement implied that he knew the A/C wasn't on, but said it was anyway...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our food was delicious and service was e ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our food was delicious and service was excellent! Thank you Sheryl! We really enjoyed our visit! Will for sure be back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very busy for restaurant week,no surpris ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very busy for restaurant week,no surprise. Noise level high but manageable. First time dining here,great window table,nice patio dining in view. Garlic scampi was delicious ! Server was great,but kitchen sent out our entres too soon as we weren't finished with salads, so server could have communicated this to kitchen prior. Our dinner bread was overlooked, so we had to request it. My dinner companion 's entre, steak and lobster, was lukewarm since he wasn't finished with salad course when food runner delivered our enters. His plate could have used some veggies besides the mashed potato, so it would look and taste more appealing. Good money spent , so how about enhance ,finish your plates guys with 50 cents worth of fresh veg?. Overall, a nice experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was TERRIBLE! food was not much ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Service was TERRIBLE! food was not much better. For the price we could have gone to Chili's and gotten better food and service and still have money left. Very disappointed.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent, as usual. Server also had pa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent, as usual. Server also had part of a large party, but made sure our party of two got prompt attention.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best brunch in town...Michael is our go ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Best brunch in town...Michael is our go to waiter....always takes great care of us. Dinners are great too, especially during restaurant week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.