About 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego

8885 Balboa Ave
San Diego, CA 92123
View Larger Map

For over 30 years, one of San Diego's landmark dining destinations and one of the most unique and memorable restaurants you will ever find. Located inside a replica of a World War I French farmhouse decorated with fascinating military memorabilia, antiques, and aviation relics, the restaurant overlooks Montgomery Field Airport, and has a cozy and romantic ambiance, with large stone fireplaces intimate booths, and beautiful views. The extensive menu features mid-western aged beef and the freshest seafood. Here you will find USDA Choice & Prime Beef steaks, slow-roasted Angus prime rib, succulent lobster tail, fresh fish, rack of lamb, veal, chicken, pasta dishes, and fabulous desserts. Their famous Champagne Brunch is currently the #1 Sunday Brunch in the city on AOL's CityGuide poll and is not to be missed. Beautiful outdoor patios, a very popular Happy Hour, and excellent banquet facilities help make the 94th Aero Squadron one of the great dining experiences in all of San Diego.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - FRiday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ponderosa

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 560-6771

Website:
http://www.94thaerosquadron.signonsandiego.com/

Entertainment:
D.J. & Dancing on Fridays from 6:00 pm until 1:30 am. Singles Night with D.J. & Dancing on Tuesdays from 7:00 pm until 11:00 pm. Live Band July through October, every Thursday on the patios, 6:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Parking Details:
Large lot with ample free parking.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • French Onion Soup
  • Champagne Sunday Brunch
  • Filet Mignon
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
French Onion Soup
Champagne Sunday Brunch
Filet Mignon

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 7:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Beautiful, unique banquet facilities for parties of 25 to 200. Wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, cocktail parties, birthday & anniversary dinners, retirement celebrations, private luncheons, etc. Superb food, attentive service, and affordable prices.

94th Aero Squadron - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Kearny Mesa ›

special occasion (80)
scenic view (60)
good for groups (58)
See All
great for brunch (57)
great for outdoor dining (52)
neighborhood gem (43)
great for lunch (40)
romantic (38)
fit for foodies (30)
kid-friendly (23)
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great dining experience. The ser ...

Dined 4 days ago

Really great dining experience. The server was excellent and kept beverages flowing. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for good food and a great atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Never had a bad meal here. We bring frie ...

Dined 5 days ago

Never had a bad meal here. We bring friends who are new to 94th Aero, and they are always very satisfied with the meal, venue, and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I first went there almost 30 years ago. ...

Dined 5 days ago

I first went there almost 30 years ago. It was great then, and still is now. Most recently was a first date. It was a great way to begin what looks like a beautiful relationship.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

lunch good, buffet service seems to ove ...

Dined 6 days ago

lunch good, buffet service seems to overshadow the ones ordering from the menu, we ordered from the menu because of the steps up and down to the buffet, prices good, food good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

I made the reservation on line and did n ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I made the reservation on line and did not see that it was buffet only because of Father's Day. Either it didn't say that it was a buffet or it was not front and center. We like this restaurant normally but I don't generally like buffets and this was no exception. Very disappointed that I couldn't even order off the menu. It needs to be clear if it is going to be a buffet only.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Was disappointed! Expected a lot better ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Was disappointed! Expected a lot better for the money we paid.

food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We used to love going here but we have t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We used to love going here but we have to remember that Friday nights is hip-hop night. If you're looking for a relaxing dinner it's not the night to go ! My kids wanted to go outside and see the planes and the ducks and the bouncer kick them out and said it was adult time at 6:30 PM ! It was my 13-year-old daughter walking my eight-year-old son around they werent miss-behaving. Our server dropped our silverware on the table with our dessert and said here you go. I was very disappointed and thought it was disrespectful. I think the servers are really unhappy but they have nowhere else to go make the money they make. I don't usually complain because my husband was in the industry but this was just too unfortunate.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great lunch. Have been here many times t ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great lunch. Have been here many times throughout the years and always enjoy the good food, ambiance, service and view. Great for children of all ages. Warmly greeted at the door boy entering and departing. Wish the bread served was a little tastier. We rec'd a small wheat loaf that was really bland.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for four hours it felt lik ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were there for four hours it felt like 15 minutes great place !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was great but the waiter (this ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was great but the waiter (this experience only) wasn't very helpful - almost to the point of being rude. Didn't even try to answer questions we asked.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to 94th to have a get together with ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Went to 94th to have a get together with friends from LA and Moreno Valley. They love to come here and we had a wonderful visit. Was a weeknight so we could take our time and not feel rushed. Our waiter was wonderful also, very attentive but not hovering. Love this restaurant and I will be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent as usual!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food and service; topped off the crab-stuffed shrimp with the upside-down apple/walnut pie.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Steven was amazing!!! Great experience a ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Steven was amazing!!! Great experience and can't wait to come back

food4
ambience4
service5

This is a darling "old school" restauran ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a darling "old school" restaurant. The service was wonderful and the food was delicious. My family and I had a great experience and can't wait to come back for the half price bottle of wine special on Wednesday nights.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for dining!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We were treated like royalty! They made a special occasion "more special"!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

My wife and I had the first flights. It is a great deal and the food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

94th Aero Squadron is Excellent!!

Dined on June 1, 2016

I have never had a bad meal here!! Their Sunday brunch is always fantastic!! Went for lunch with a friend who has never dined here before. She was very impressed and totally enjoyed her meal. They have a lunchtime brunch that was awesome. And the wait staff is incredible!! They treat you like you are their only table. One of my favorite places to dine!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great Sunday brunch here --- ve ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a great Sunday brunch here --- very neat building and location, too. Susan kept the champagne flowing and was very attentive and personable! We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First trip to 94th Aero was 45 years ago ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

First trip to 94th Aero was 45 years ago on Pacific Hwy. Still a great place for special occasions. The Beer Soup tastes like liquid gold smoked Gouda. The prime rib and top sirloin were fantastic. And service was impeccable.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Our first visit.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Our overall experience was great and the food was delicious. However, I felt like we were being ignored by our server. My wife and I observed the other tables and they seemed to have been receiving better service. But, they did have a different server too. We loved the atmosphere and the décor.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

Very slow service due to too many diners ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Very slow service due to too many diners, and not enough servers. Superb food, but several large parties caused a lot of noise, plus the restaurant apparently couldn't get enough reserve staff to handle such a large crowd. We were a party of two, but our server was also serving a large party of about 30 people.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very interesting and cozy

Dined on May 18, 2016

Hear about the place from a friend and decided to check it. Great decide with a lot of military aircraft pieces and parts on the wall along with vintage aircraft outdoors. Staff was very friendly and knowledgable and the manager came to our table to introduce himself. Food was great and the selections were varied along with the price. Definitely would recommend to others.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a reservation but still waited ab ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a reservation but still waited about 10 minutes. It's a bit dark inside the restaurant. But overall, a good Sunday buffet with champagne for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Bottomless Champagne all you can eat ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The Bottomless Champagne all you can eat brunch is amazing! Definitely make reservations or you may wait over an hour!! We made reservations and waited 20 min as they were behind! But reservations or not....its worth the wait

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience, Service is t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a great experience, Service is the best ever. Brunch gets really busy so I love sitting outside, seems a bit calmer and relaxing.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal as usual. We both ha ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a great meal as usual. We both had chicken and loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Menu. My Mother was pleased.

Dined on May 9, 2016

This is not our first trip to 94th Aero Squadron. It is in our neighborhood, is reasonably priced, the food is good and we like to watch the planes at Montgomery field. We also like to watch the ducks. The menu was a good one. The only disappointing thing was the restaurant's signature bread. It wasn't a warm as usual and had a bit if a yeasty taste to it. The meal was beyond excellent. My prime rib was done to perfection, tender and delicious. My Mother enjoyed her seafood platter and was impressed with the amount of salmon, shrimp, scallops and even half a lobster tail on a pasta with cream sauce. The shrimp cocktail I had had the best cocktail sauce. My Dad enjoyed his calamari and both my parents enjoyed their French onion soup. The chocolate mousse cake we brought home was finished off that evening. This will not be our last visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The transition between brunch and dinner ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The transition between brunch and dinner on mother's day was difficult - there were too many people scheduled at 4:30 PM and not enough places to stand or sit as we waited for over 20 minutes before being seated. Recommend not to take reservations so close to this changeover to avoid hallway crowding. Generally unpleasant.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great Place to Eat

Dined on May 7, 2016

My family has been going here since it opened. Have always enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the food. This time is was for Mother's Day. Our waiter, Michael, was very attentive and knowledgeable. Never had anything other than Great food. When it gets really busy, it can be a little loud and crowded, but worth it for the food & Waite staff attention.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice window table and we could carry on ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Nice window table and we could carry on a conversation without yelling despite 94th being fairly busy on Friday night. Attentive waiter and good prime rib and swordfish selections. It had been years since our last visit but it won't be very long before we shall return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Early Dinner Specials

Dined on May 7, 2016

The early dinner specials were great! Salad, entree with sides and dessert-great place to take your whole family

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Dining at the 94th

Dined on May 7, 2016

Thank you for the dining experience. My family enjoyed themselves and had no complaints. My only issue was with the service. I drink coffee before during and after the meal. I don't like to feel like I'm imposing on the staff the have a refill. It may have been my sensitivity to having to flag down a busboy to get another cup, but I do tend to judge the service by how comfortable I feel about the waiter asking me, before I have to ask any of the staff walking by. Again, a small issue, but a minor irritant.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

One of the last few restaurants who offer a Sunday Buffet Brunch, they sure pack a lot of food in one area. Hidden restaurant which we always seem to forget is there, convenient location and not having to go to a large hotel in a tourist area to dine for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place to celebrate

Dined on April 30, 2016

94th Aero Squadron is our favorite place for a romantic dinner or to get together with friends. We celebrated our anniversary and our friend's 80th birthday and could not ask for a better experience. The food was excellent and the service provided by Eddie was exceptional. The Early flight menu is a good time to meet and get an excellent value for your dining pleasure. It is before the Friday night bar scene happens and parking becomes a premium.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Cool scenery, but the food is lacking

Dined on April 28, 2016

Went here for a business lunch because I had heard it was a cool place. It's located right on the airstrip of Montgomery Field and has a WWII vibe to it, both inside and out - lots of old plane and war memorabilia. The building itself and location is really cool, but the food was severely lacking. I had the lunch brunch which was a combination of very average food and not much variety. My colleagues had the Cobb salad, which was average as well. I won't be returning.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Back to the trenches

Dined on April 28, 2016

As soon as you walk through the doors of 94th Aero Squadron, you feel transported back to wartime. Apt not only for romantics, history enthusiasts, but also for foodies of all ages, this hidden gem is definitely worth a visit. The wine list is fit for purpose and presented by an outstanding staff, which has been clearly well-trained. Exquisite treatment, a cared and well-crafted menu - desserts are their only weakness, although the creme brulee is definitely the shining jewel -. Ambiance is superb: you feel part of something big, with music from the 40s, headphones available to help you follow each movement fromthe neighbouring Montgomery Field, aviation-related antiques elegantly cluttering each room....

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Michael is the best waiter ever!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

It is always a special treat to dine early at 94 Aero and what made it especially memorable was the service and friendly welcome from Michael our waiter!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

My wife and I celebrated her birthday and had a great meal. We both had the Sunday steak special and it was really good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Sunday brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Lots of people had the same idea, find a place with interesting atmosphere, plenty of good food at a very reasonable price. It was crowded but overall a pleasant experience. Friendly and helpful staff.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom's birthday brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food. Outstanding atmosphere and service. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.