About 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego

8885 Balboa Ave
San Diego, CA 92123
View Larger Map

For over 30 years, one of San Diego's landmark dining destinations and one of the most unique and memorable restaurants you will ever find. Located inside a replica of a World War I French farmhouse decorated with fascinating military memorabilia, antiques, and aviation relics, the restaurant overlooks Montgomery Field Airport, and has a cozy and romantic ambiance, with large stone fireplaces intimate booths, and beautiful views. The extensive menu features mid-western aged beef and the freshest seafood. Here you will find USDA Choice & Prime Beef steaks, slow-roasted Angus prime rib, succulent lobster tail, fresh fish, rack of lamb, veal, chicken, pasta dishes, and fabulous desserts. Their famous Champagne Brunch is currently the #1 Sunday Brunch in the city on AOL's CityGuide poll and is not to be missed. Beautiful outdoor patios, a very popular Happy Hour, and excellent banquet facilities help make the 94th Aero Squadron one of the great dining experiences in all of San Diego.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - FRiday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ponderosa

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 560-6771

Website:
http://www.94thaerosquadron.signonsandiego.com/

Entertainment:
D.J. & Dancing on Fridays from 6:00 pm until 1:30 am. Singles Night with D.J. & Dancing on Tuesdays from 7:00 pm until 11:00 pm. Live Band July through October, every Thursday on the patios, 6:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Parking Details:
Large lot with ample free parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • French Onion Soup
  • Champagne Sunday Brunch
  • Filet Mignon
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
French Onion Soup
Champagne Sunday Brunch
Filet Mignon

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Beautiful, unique banquet facilities for parties of 25 to 200. Wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, cocktail parties, birthday & anniversary dinners, retirement celebrations, private luncheons, etc. Superb food, attentive service, and affordable prices.

94th Aero Squadron - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Kearny Mesa ›

Special Occasion (67)
Great for Brunch (59)
Scenic View (47)
See All
Good for Groups (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Romantic (30)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Kid-friendly (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this place. Overall it is good. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place. Overall it is good. The Prime Rib was good but too much fat.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been to this restaurant a few tim ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to this restaurant a few times over the years. The food and service are consistently excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We booked this restaurant for its value ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We booked this restaurant for its value ( Early Flight meals for 18.95) and its charm. It is a bit old but still charming and unique in its setting next to Montgomery Field. They were aware of it being my husband's birthday, but only the host noted it and nothing was done out of the ordinary like a complimentary dish being offered. We were seated initially at the window, but on the inside of the aisle was a large table of all females. It was a bit close and noisy, so we asked to be moved and they accommodated us by moving us to a window table in the next room, unused up until then. It was much quieter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a farewell dinner with our friend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a farewell dinner with our friends that are moving away from San Diego and it was a great send off with excellent food and service. Our friends will miss 94th and were so excited we recommended it for the dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon here is really good. Prime r ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The salmon here is really good. Prime rib too. Someone had the coconut shrimp and said it was mushy and not too good. But otherwise, everything was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrific food! Wonderful service. Love t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Terrific food! Wonderful service. Love the atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie was the best server!!! So attentiv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Eddie was the best server!!! So attentive and took special care to make sure we had beverages refilled a most amazing brunch with large variet of choices from egg dishes to main course to crepe station!! The array of pastries was so artistic we really appreciated the cappuccino machine !! A very nice assortment of salads and fresh fruit the scallop and shrimp ceviche was delicious!! This is the best valued brunch in San Diego County!!! I recommend you do the 9 AM reservation for the best and freshest selections!!The lit candles on the table where an added delight!!!! Thank you to all the cooks waiters and stuff !!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We go her many Wednesdays because the s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We go her many Wednesdays because the steak is great, they gladly split meals, that day is half off wine, and I can look at the airport my plane is hangared at.

We get special service from their manager Fred.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very special historic atmosphere, unique ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very special historic atmosphere, unique in that regard. Great ambience including music and view of air strip---perfect for aviation buffs. Food very good, esp. filet mignon, though the corn pudding thing that comes with everything was a little strange, in my opinion. Excellent French onion soup. Waiter a little rushed but generally OK. All in all a fun evening and we'd happily go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Sunday brunch with variety of food ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Sunday brunch with variety of food options. Eggs Benedict and salmon were amazing. Endless champagne was major selling point. Great deal for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

John is an excellent server! My seafood ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

John is an excellent server! My seafood linguini was really good, but my date's beef was just so-so.

Love the decor and music!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I were very much looking for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I were very much looking forward to dinner here on our 50th wedding anniversary and very pleased with the experience. Our waitress was fabulous, the food was perfectly prepared and we couldn't have asked for a better time.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had their early flights and both my w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had their early flights and both my wife and I enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for Sunday brunch again and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We came here for Sunday brunch again and we knew this time to make sure to have reservations before hand. We made them for noon and surprisingly, it wasn't too busy from the looks outside. Not too many people waiting for tables because they were all able to be seated. I'm still baffled how they have the buffet line set up. It gets so crowded and I am finding myself regularly having to lift my plate over peoples heads as I walk through. It's never relaxing and I always feel rushed to either get some food or move along so I'm not creating a road block.

After we got our first plate and went back to our table, we noticed we were only given spoons; no forks or knives. We sat there patiently for our server to come back but our food started to get cold. We asked another female server if we could get utensils and she told us to "ask your server, thanks". So we waited longer. Finally he comes back and we ask for utensils as well as water. Well, the utensils finally arrived but no water. The server passed by at least 3-4 times and just kept saying that the water was coming. Well, we were almost done with our first plate by the time we got some...in a small plastic juice cup.

I really like this place but they just need to change up the brunch display. It's a mess and hard to navigate when there are multiple people racing for food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We didn't know your Sunday brunch prices ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We didn't know your Sunday brunch prices had gone up. Guess it's been awhile since our last visit.

We wanted to give it a try again so kept the reservation. It's probably a better value for big eaters. Food was good. Place is still a bit dark and not as handicap friendly as it could be inside the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

This rating is based on Sunday Brunch. W ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This rating is based on Sunday Brunch. We went at 9 am to avail of discounted price less $5 versus after 10 am you pay $29.95. I felt the food was good, but the service & ambiance made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good food, great service, enjoyable view ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food, great service, enjoyable view. Will be back soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

94th Aero Squadron is our favorite place ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

94th Aero Squadron is our favorite place to have a romantic dinner. We know the food is good and the service outstanding. I highly recommend this place especially the brunch. A pure gem in San Diego.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff and service excellent, cleanliness ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Staff and service excellent, cleanliness? Air conditioner not working until just before we left.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

have always liked this place. have been ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

have always liked this place. have been here for happy hours on weeknights, and clubbing on certain weeknights and Friday nights. I've always liked the crowd, atmosphere, service, everything about it to the parking spaces. Very convenient to get to and very friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for our anniversary dinner. The ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went for our anniversary dinner. The food was great, we loved the ambiance, and the service was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter's mind was somewhere else, food n ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Waiter's mind was somewhere else, food not impressive. Especially the bizzarre extra corn item that tasted like canned corn in glue. Waiter brought wine bottle to table, then left, didn't pour it for us. Caesar salad was dry-next to no dressing. Big party in the next room apparently had staff's full attention. Because we certainly didn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Fun Ambience with all the WWII decoratio ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fun Ambience with all the WWII decorations and pictures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

94th Aero was a great quiet atmosphere t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

94th Aero was a great quiet atmosphere that allowed us to get to know some new friends in a great setting. If your an aviation enthusiast you will also really enjoy this setting. Great food and fantastic service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The usual very good meal.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The usual very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always great food. The service was excel ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always great food. The service was excellent. Tuesday no corkage is a winner. Great place for a birthday dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice service as usual. Food choices goo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Nice service as usual. Food choices good and prepared nicely. The atmosphere is cute with restaurant overlooking Montgomery Field. Nice decor for theme restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Salad was small and wilted with not so g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Salad was small and wilted with not so good blue cheese salad dressing. The shrimp cocktail sauce was not the best either it is not very well put together, tastes like ketchup and celery never seen a sauce like this (no horseradish). The lemons served with the shrimp cocktail were not juicy but looked old and dried out. I had their best margarita, with gran marnier, it was not as good as a cadillac margarita should be, tasted watered down. My 28.00 pasta with3 shrimp and3 scallops turned into an Elmer,s Glue consistency , the shrimp and scallops were cooked well however and the lemon looked old and dried out. Service was just barely waitress needed some clean clothing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Always yummy Pasta bar Crepe bar Fajita ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always yummy

Pasta bar

Crepe bar

Fajita bar

Omelette bar

Amillion desserts

Yum yum yum

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, the champagne glasses ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was good, the champagne glasses on the table were never empty and the dessert table was a thing of dreams. I will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful ambiance, attentive and friend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, attentive and friendly staff, and great date night experience for the price. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming atmosphere, great food, and se ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Charming atmosphere, great food, and service. Lounge was too crowded and charged cover. No cocktail bar available to go to after dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hate to write an uncomplimentary revie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I hate to write an uncomplimentary review, suffice to say the food was ok. The wait staff was ok.

I was very disappointed in the quality and presentation of the food. I'll go back because its a cute place but I really don't expect a 4 star meal. Its really too bad because the drinks from the bar are great and it looks like they have a nice happy hour. I really want to like this place. I'll give it another shot sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

We come here often because of the atmosp ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We come here often because of the atmosphere primarily. It is great for both lunch and dinner. I especially like that I can meet friends here and we can hear one another talk (except on Friday nights if the bar scene is busy). I brought some friend there last week from England and they loved the atmosphere and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great experience at this restau ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had a great experience at this restaurant. The service was outstanding and the manager let us take advantage of the early meal price. Most of our party had the prime rib and loved it. The kids had a great time and loved that they could listen to the control tower for the incoming flights right from our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time at Sunday brunch at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a great time at Sunday brunch at friend's birthday party. The food was good quality and great selection, and we enjoyed the ambience of this unique place, as always. The service was good as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to 94th Aero Squadron sever ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to 94th Aero Squadron several times. We were not impressed this time. Waffles were not hot, roast beef was tough and the ribs did not have much meat. The teriyaki salmon was excellent and the dessert bar was very good. Probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We're from San Jose,California . We enjo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We're from San Jose,California . We enjoyed the same restaurant there. Unfortunately, it no longer is in business. While in San Diego,we located the restaurant within a few minutes from our hotel . We enjoyed it with some friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My steak was ok but the seafood leaves m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My steak was ok but the seafood leaves much to be desired. We used to like the escargot but the last two times it was cold and not edible.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We always enjoy going to this restaurant ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We always enjoy going to this restaurant! It has great staff and management that are there to make your dining experience the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.