About 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego

8885 Balboa Ave
San Diego, CA 92123
View Larger Map

For over 40 years, one of San Diego's landmark dining destinations and one of the most unique and memorable restaurants you will ever find. Located inside a replica of a World War I French farmhouse decorated with fascinating military memorabilia, antiques, and aviation relics, the restaurant overlooks Montgomery Field Airport, and has a cozy and romantic ambiance, with large stone fireplaces intimate booths, and beautiful views. The extensive menu features mid-western aged beef and the freshest seafood. Here you will find USDA Choice & Prime Beef steaks, slow-roasted Angus prime rib, succulent lobster tail, fresh fish, rack of lamb, salad entrees,seafood chicken, pasta dishes, and fabulous desserts. Their famous Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet is not to be missed. Beautiful outdoor patios, a very popular Happy Hour, and excellent banquet facilities help make the 94th Aero Squadron one of the great dining experiences in all of San Diego.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - FRiday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ponderosa

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 560-6771

Website:
http://www.94thaerosquadron.signonsandiego.com/

Entertainment:
D.J. & Dancing on Fridays from 6:00 pm until 1:30 am.
Singles Night with D.J. & Dancing on Tuesdays from 7:00 pm until 11:00 pm. Live Band July through October, every Thursday on the patios, 6:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Parking Details:
Large lot with ample free parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • French Onion Soup - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • Champagne Sunday Brunch - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • Filet Mignon - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA

Report a photo problem

French Onion Soup - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Champagne Sunday Brunch - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Filet Mignon - 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego, San Diego, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Beautiful, unique banquet facilities for parties of 25 to 200. Wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, cocktail parties, birthday & anniversary dinners, retirement celebrations, private luncheons, etc. Superb food, attentive service, and affordable prices.

94th Aero Squadron - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for a Date (36)
Great for Brunch (33)
See All
Historic (32)
Cozy (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Romantic (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Scenic View (23)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Business Meals (17)
Fun (17)
Fireplace (16)
Family Style (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Authentic (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Seasonal (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Dancing (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed our time with you. Will come aga ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed our time with you. Will come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Restaurant Week -- Really cozy, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for Restaurant Week -- Really cozy, good ambiance, food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Restaurant week I lucky to have the 94th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant week I lucky to have the 94th on it's list....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was extremely crowded. Next time we'l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

It was extremely crowded. Next time we'll come earlier. Even with reservations we still had to wait an additional 20 minutes to get seated. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Nice evening out,51 anniversary.We alway ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice evening out,51 anniversary.We always enjoy going to this restaurant.We also enjoy the brunch,thanks

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ubiquitous ambiance

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Ubiquitous ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our calamari appetizer was overlooked an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Our calamari appetizer was overlooked and rubbery. Also not very seasoned. Rest of dinner (early dining prime rib) was just fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good for brunch, champs were flowing and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good for brunch, champs were flowing and the waiter was very attentive. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Traditional dining in a clever atmospher ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Traditional dining in a clever atmosphere with great wait staff and consistently good food. Fun to watch the air traffic at Montgomery field when there's some action. Love the historical photos and arifcacts.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unexpected find along Balboa Ave. in bus ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Unexpected find along Balboa Ave. in business district.

Charming atmosphere, intimate yet family-friendly.

Old feel with carpet throughout yet delicious food, thoughtful and warm service, WWI decor.

Brought in-laws from The Netherlands along with our family of two adults and two young boys ages 5 and 3 for Monday night dinner. Great place for everyone, noise level just right to allow our kids to blend in yet quiet enough to feel intimate and cozy. In-laws loved the food from French onion soup to seafood entree to medium steak, and kids loved their hot dog and fries.

Would like to head back during day as Montgomery Field behind restaurant, to see planes taking off and landing. Told that helicopter training takes place there as well.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took a decent time to get our drinks, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It took a decent time to get our drinks, and it seems like the server was taking multiple orders at the same time and always disappeared for about 5-10 minutes everytime we asked for something or needed to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The beer cheese soup and prime rib were ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The beer cheese soup and prime rib were excellent as usual but the chicken roulade's sauce was much richer than last time so not as good. The desserts were disappointing. Using cool whip instead of real whipped cream is tacky and spoils the flavor. The apple dessert was not cooked fully particularly the pastry part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This is the best restaurant for brunch. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is the best restaurant for brunch. The variety is awesome and the quality is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group went on New Years Eve. The re ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our group went on New Years Eve. The receptionist was very friendly and got us to our table very quickly. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and plentiful. We all had a wonderful time and will be back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice ambiance. The service was very goo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice ambiance. The service was very good. The food was OK. The pistachio crusted fish was dry and the filet mignon was ok.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

94th Aerosquadron is our go-to restauran ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

94th Aerosquadron is our go-to restaurant for Special Occasions. Great food, great atmosphere, excellent service. It never disappoints!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve at 7:30 and we were able ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve at 7:30 and we were able to get a booth. We did hear that there had been a few cancellations probably due to the rain. Our waiter Kevin was very good but the servers brought our food while we were still eating our soup & salad. They did take them away and brought them back a few minutes later once we were ready. Only problem was my medium rare prime rib was now pretty much medium. Didn't let it spoil the evening since everything else was enjoyable. We've been coming here for years and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful time for New Years Ev ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time for New Years Eve dinner with great friends. From early drinks in the lounge, in front of the fire place to dinner to dessert; it was a wonderful experience! One of my favorite places to go for special occasions!

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Great variety of ent ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was delicious. Great variety of entree's. Excellent ambiance. Service was outstanding. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did a family holiday dinner gathering ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We did a family holiday dinner gathering and had a wonderful experience with great food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the WW1 atmosphere. Food is reall ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I love the WW1 atmosphere. Food is really good. They really decorate beautifully at Christmas time!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I had a great meal as usual. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I had a great meal as usual.

We both had the first flights, a great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Never a disappointment, 94th Aero Squadr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Never a disappointment, 94th Aero Squadron hit it out of the park again. Had a fussy eater with us, and he (an adult!) was very pleased. Whew. Service, perfect. Staff, very friendly seeing how it was Christmas Eve and they were working. Always a pleasing experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time there, I loved this ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was my first time there, I loved this place. I will be back soon for the brunch. The service, food, and atmosphere are amazing.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is far and away my favorite restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is far and away my favorite restaurant so I've been here several times. This time around was quite good but not the best. Our booth was in the back near the stove fire so there was a lot of activity, more noise than usual, and too far back for any real view. It was cozy, but a bit busy. The food, as always, was amazing. Our server was quite good. Overall it was still a nice experience. I would just sit somewhere a little less trafficked :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant! Excellent food, pr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very nice restaurant! Excellent food, professional service and reasonable prices. The dinner menu is very good, and the Sunday brunch is exceptional. The 94th Aero Squadron is well worth a try! You won't regret it!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service and Food. We had Michelle ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great Service and Food. We had Michelle who took great care of us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding even w the numerous office p ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Outstanding even w the numerous office parties they had. Buffet as well as menu items can never go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WE brought out of state friends and they ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

WE brought out of state friends and they loved the aero squadron memorabila and theme. The food was wonderful.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Historic, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a nice time this time. A far cry ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a nice time this time. A far cry from 14 years ago when we had a bad experience.

My only critique about the food is: still serving the same thing for at least 14 years. Nothing has really changed when it comes to brunch, but the service was better. My recommendation (not that it matters) try to introduce new original dishes, can you imagine how much more people you will attract?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and ambience was Excellent.. recom ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food and ambience was Excellent.. recommend the restaurant for good meeting place, lunch or evening meal

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great It's was very bu ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was great It's was very busy but someone was always right there to take the dirty plates away. The choice of foods is outstanding . We will be back again. Everything tasted wonderful .

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to the 94th numerous times. I ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We've been to the 94th numerous times. It's one of our favorite restaurants. When booking our reservation I stated that it was a special occasion but there was no mention of that or recognition of that. Why bother to put it as an option when making a reservation? Our server was adequate at best. He left a lot to be desired. The personality of a wet wash rag at best. Food of course was excellent. We'll be back but hope to get better service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Good prime rib and Cheryl our server was ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good prime rib and Cheryl our server was very personable and attentive. Noise level was a bit much, a lot of people there for the night club. Parking was difficult on a rainy Friday night. Salad was good as was the creamed corn. The bread and dessert were just passable. Will try their brunch sometime in the near future.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Our waiter Michael was awesome. Appreci ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Our waiter Michael was awesome. Appreciated his suggestions. and his overall service!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Worth trying. Better than average for th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Worth trying. Better than average for this style restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I usually come here for the Sunday brunc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I usually come here for the Sunday brunch buffet (which is amazing!!!) But the other night my boyfriend and I came here for dinner. It was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! He got the blue cheese steak and I got the panko chicken- they were both mouth watering dishes!! Yum!! Our server jefferey was awesome as well, checking up on us at perfect times and was so nice. We sat inside since it was a little cold outside, but I loved it!! The inside is cool with stuff hanging everywhere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the 94th for many ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have been going to the 94th for many years. The food is always great but Sat it was exceptionally delicious. Prime rib melted in your mouth.

There were 10 of us, 3 were children. Our waiter Jeffery was very engaging with the kids. Very impressed.

It was a 5 fork dining experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Xavier was our server and was amazing, o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Xavier was our server and was amazing, our glass never ran dry and we was super friendly and courteous. We've been coming here for almost a decade and love the food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Price is getting a bit high. Don't go as ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Price is getting a bit high. Don't go as often as I use to.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.