About 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego

8885 Balboa Ave
San Diego, CA 92123
View Larger Map

For over 30 years, one of San Diego's landmark dining destinations and one of the most unique and memorable restaurants you will ever find. Located inside a replica of a World War I French farmhouse decorated with fascinating military memorabilia, antiques, and aviation relics, the restaurant overlooks Montgomery Field Airport, and has a cozy and romantic ambiance, with large stone fireplaces intimate booths, and beautiful views. The extensive menu features mid-western aged beef and the freshest seafood. Here you will find USDA Choice & Prime Beef steaks, slow-roasted Angus prime rib, succulent lobster tail, fresh fish, rack of lamb, veal, chicken, pasta dishes, and fabulous desserts. Their famous Champagne Brunch is currently the #1 Sunday Brunch in the city on AOL's CityGuide poll and is not to be missed. Beautiful outdoor patios, a very popular Happy Hour, and excellent banquet facilities help make the 94th Aero Squadron one of the great dining experiences in all of San Diego.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - FRiday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ponderosa

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 560-6771

Website:
http://www.94thaerosquadron.signonsandiego.com/

Entertainment:
D.J. & Dancing on Fridays from 6:00 pm until 1:30 am. Singles Night with D.J. & Dancing on Tuesdays from 7:00 pm until 11:00 pm. Live Band July through October, every Thursday on the patios, 6:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Parking Details:
Large lot with ample free parking.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 7:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Beautiful, unique banquet facilities for parties of 25 to 200. Wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, cocktail parties, birthday & anniversary dinners, retirement celebrations, private luncheons, etc. Superb food, attentive service, and affordable prices.

94th Aero Squadron - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Kearny Mesa ›

special occasion (87)
great for brunch (65)
good for groups (60)
See All
scenic view (59)
great for outdoor dining (55)
romantic (53)
neighborhood gem (46)
great for lunch (38)
fit for foodies (28)
kid-friendly (27)
hot spot (7)
notable wine list (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (4)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great Sunday brunch here --- ve ...

Dined 2 days ago

We had a great Sunday brunch here --- very neat building and location, too. Susan kept the champagne flowing and was very attentive and personable! We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First trip to 94th Aero was 45 years ago ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

First trip to 94th Aero was 45 years ago on Pacific Hwy. Still a great place for special occasions. The Beer Soup tastes like liquid gold smoked Gouda. The prime rib and top sirloin were fantastic. And service was impeccable.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Our first visit.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Our overall experience was great and the food was delicious. However, I felt like we were being ignored by our server. My wife and I observed the other tables and they seemed to have been receiving better service. But, they did have a different server too. We loved the atmosphere and the décor.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

Very slow service due to too many diners ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Very slow service due to too many diners, and not enough servers. Superb food, but several large parties caused a lot of noise, plus the restaurant apparently couldn't get enough reserve staff to handle such a large crowd. We were a party of two, but our server was also serving a large party of about 30 people.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a reservation but still waited ab ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a reservation but still waited about 10 minutes. It's a bit dark inside the restaurant. But overall, a good Sunday buffet with champagne for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Bottomless Champagne all you can eat ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The Bottomless Champagne all you can eat brunch is amazing! Definitely make reservations or you may wait over an hour!! We made reservations and waited 20 min as they were behind! But reservations or not....its worth the wait

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience, Service is t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a great experience, Service is the best ever. Brunch gets really busy so I love sitting outside, seems a bit calmer and relaxing.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal as usual. We both ha ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a great meal as usual. We both had chicken and loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Menu. My Mother was pleased.

Dined on May 9, 2016

This is not our first trip to 94th Aero Squadron. It is in our neighborhood, is reasonably priced, the food is good and we like to watch the planes at Montgomery field. We also like to watch the ducks. The menu was a good one. The only disappointing thing was the restaurant's signature bread. It wasn't a warm as usual and had a bit if a yeasty taste to it. The meal was beyond excellent. My prime rib was done to perfection, tender and delicious. My Mother enjoyed her seafood platter and was impressed with the amount of salmon, shrimp, scallops and even half a lobster tail on a pasta with cream sauce. The shrimp cocktail I had had the best cocktail sauce. My Dad enjoyed his calamari and both my parents enjoyed their French onion soup. The chocolate mousse cake we brought home was finished off that evening. This will not be our last visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The transition between brunch and dinner ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The transition between brunch and dinner on mother's day was difficult - there were too many people scheduled at 4:30 PM and not enough places to stand or sit as we waited for over 20 minutes before being seated. Recommend not to take reservations so close to this changeover to avoid hallway crowding. Generally unpleasant.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great Place to Eat

Dined on May 7, 2016

My family has been going here since it opened. Have always enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the food. This time is was for Mother's Day. Our waiter, Michael, was very attentive and knowledgeable. Never had anything other than Great food. When it gets really busy, it can be a little loud and crowded, but worth it for the food & Waite staff attention.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice window table and we could carry on ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Nice window table and we could carry on a conversation without yelling despite 94th being fairly busy on Friday night. Attentive waiter and good prime rib and swordfish selections. It had been years since our last visit but it won't be very long before we shall return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Early Dinner Specials

Dined on May 7, 2016

The early dinner specials were great! Salad, entree with sides and dessert-great place to take your whole family

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Dining at the 94th

Dined on May 7, 2016

Thank you for the dining experience. My family enjoyed themselves and had no complaints. My only issue was with the service. I drink coffee before during and after the meal. I don't like to feel like I'm imposing on the staff the have a refill. It may have been my sensitivity to having to flag down a busboy to get another cup, but I do tend to judge the service by how comfortable I feel about the waiter asking me, before I have to ask any of the staff walking by. Again, a small issue, but a minor irritant.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

One of the last few restaurants who offer a Sunday Buffet Brunch, they sure pack a lot of food in one area. Hidden restaurant which we always seem to forget is there, convenient location and not having to go to a large hotel in a tourist area to dine for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place to celebrate

Dined on April 30, 2016

94th Aero Squadron is our favorite place for a romantic dinner or to get together with friends. We celebrated our anniversary and our friend's 80th birthday and could not ask for a better experience. The food was excellent and the service provided by Eddie was exceptional. The Early flight menu is a good time to meet and get an excellent value for your dining pleasure. It is before the Friday night bar scene happens and parking becomes a premium.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Cool scenery, but the food is lacking

Dined on April 28, 2016

Went here for a business lunch because I had heard it was a cool place. It's located right on the airstrip of Montgomery Field and has a WWII vibe to it, both inside and out - lots of old plane and war memorabilia. The building itself and location is really cool, but the food was severely lacking. I had the lunch brunch which was a combination of very average food and not much variety. My colleagues had the Cobb salad, which was average as well. I won't be returning.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Back to the trenches

Dined on April 28, 2016

As soon as you walk through the doors of 94th Aero Squadron, you feel transported back to wartime. Apt not only for romantics, history enthusiasts, but also for foodies of all ages, this hidden gem is definitely worth a visit. The wine list is fit for purpose and presented by an outstanding staff, which has been clearly well-trained. Exquisite treatment, a cared and well-crafted menu - desserts are their only weakness, although the creme brulee is definitely the shining jewel -. Ambiance is superb: you feel part of something big, with music from the 40s, headphones available to help you follow each movement fromthe neighbouring Montgomery Field, aviation-related antiques elegantly cluttering each room....

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Michael is the best waiter ever!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

It is always a special treat to dine early at 94 Aero and what made it especially memorable was the service and friendly welcome from Michael our waiter!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

My wife and I celebrated her birthday and had a great meal. We both had the Sunday steak special and it was really good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Sunday brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Lots of people had the same idea, find a place with interesting atmosphere, plenty of good food at a very reasonable price. It was crowded but overall a pleasant experience. Friendly and helpful staff.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom's birthday brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food. Outstanding atmosphere and service. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Airplane Friendly

Dined on April 17, 2016

The 94th Aero Squadron has been at this location since 1980. It is a hangout for anyone who likes airplanes, especially World War I airplanes and memorabilia. Do not count the food as second rate. The food is very good and at a reasonable price. The wait staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Outdoor dining is available with a view of Montgomery Field but I found that dining inside more romantic with a very warm atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Surprisingly Good Meal

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

I swear I haven't been to the restaurant since the first time after it opened in 1976, and it was a Surprisingly Good Meal. Recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lamb chops were excellent as was our ser ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Lamb chops were excellent as was our server! Next time we'll come before 6 for the prefixe menu We will definitely be back!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The aviation artifacts were in poor condition.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The Waiter was excellent. It appeare that the vast majority of the patrons were thoroughly enjoying themselves.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Menu and Very Reliable

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

94th Aero Squadron has been around for awhile but don't let that scare you away. They have a nice menu of steak, lamb, chicken and salad entrees. We are frequent diners and are never disappointed with the quality of the service and food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and succulent food, ju ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful service and succulent food, just wish the portions were bigger. Highly recommend!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy meeting friends here for ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We always enjoy meeting friends here for drinks and dinner. Great location.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

25th Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were seated by the windows facing the airstrip. All of our meals were cooked just right. Appetizers and drinks arrived shortly after being seated. The appetizers we ordered were very satisfying. My husband and I ordered the top sirloin and prime rib. They were cooked to perfection...delicious and tender. One of our children had the shrimp scampi and loved it. Two of our other children ordered the chicken strips and didn't complain about their food. Kids can be picky at times. Everyone in our party loved the view. Our waiter was excellent! He was quick, friendly, and patient.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great value

Dined on March 22, 2016

My wife and I went here for our anniversary. We ordered off the early flight dinner menu. We had the 8 oz. prime rib. The other choices are a 8 oz. prime sirloin steak, chicken and a fish of the day. The dinners come with soup or salad, a side to the main course, dessert and a beverage all for $18.95. We had ice tea and then were offered coffee when dessert came. My wife had the cream of asparagus soup and said if the dinner is as good as the soup it would be great and it was. The service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointing

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Been here before with great food.. Was definitely lacking this trip. Bloody Mary mediocre at best! Eggs Benedict.........I don't know what they do to those poor english muffins, but you almost can't cut them with a knife.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner and great ambiance

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Spectacular menu and a really great collection of WWI memorabilia. This is a great spot for special occasions and even just a night out. The grounds are beautiful with a lot to see inside and out of this "French Chateau" building. Added bonus is that it is at an airport. I would highly recommend the 94th Aero Squadron and suggest you ask for Victor as your waiter because he is simply amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Reasonably priced steak, chicken and seafood

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

94th is a moderately priced steak,chicken and seafood restaurant. Although not at the Fleming's, Donovan's or Morton's level, neither are the prices. Food selection is varied enough for most and the wine selections are reasonably priced as well.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

94th Aero Dinner

Dined on March 13, 2016

Very impressed with the quality of meal served on a busy Saturday night. All food expertly prepared and came to the table in perfect timing. It was amazing to watch the staff hustling on a busy night; they made it look easy. Selected a rib eye steak and requested medium; steak arrived at perfect temperature. Steak was juicy and tender with wonderful flavors expected at twice the cost. Wife ordered a Filet Mignon an was ordered medium well and they hit the mark. Obvious a very seasoned staff to pull of a great meal on a busy night. Never waited for a refill and enjoyed the special attention we received during our dinning experience. Recommend planning ahead with a reservation to allow the staff to fulfill any special needs to make your evening something to remember.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I give it a 5 for sure we had the best Waiter.

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a wonderful time at dinner for my Birthday. our waiter was the best.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Meal

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

We both did the early flight dinners. They are a great deal.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining

Dined on March 7, 2016

Our waiter was great! The food was beyond great! The waiter kept our drinks full. The food was exactly as ordered! What is the significance of creamed corn? Will go back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Victor is the best!

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

The food is consistently good and if you're lucky enough to have Victor as your server, you'll have an excellent dining experience. It is obvious that Victor enjoys his job and takes pride in his work. All servers should be trained by him. His sense of humor and attention to every detail sets the standard for 5 star service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice food... Beautiful place... Amazing ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Nice food... Beautiful place... Amazing service... Good wine list...

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.