About 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego

8885 Balboa Ave
San Diego, CA 92123
View Larger Map

For over 40 years, one of San Diego's landmark dining destinations and one of the most unique and memorable restaurants you will ever find. Located inside a replica of a World War I French farmhouse decorated with fascinating military memorabilia, antiques, and aviation relics, the restaurant overlooks Montgomery Field Airport, and has a cozy and romantic ambiance, with large stone fireplaces intimate booths, and beautiful views. The extensive menu features mid-western aged beef and the freshest seafood. Here you will find USDA Choice & Prime Beef steaks, slow-roasted Angus prime rib, succulent lobster tail, fresh fish, rack of lamb, salad entrees,seafood chicken, pasta dishes, and fabulous desserts. Their famous Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet is not to be missed. Beautiful outdoor patios, a very popular Happy Hour, and excellent banquet facilities help make the 94th Aero Squadron one of the great dining experiences in all of San Diego.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - FRiday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ponderosa

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 560-6771

Website:
http://www.94thaerosquadron.signonsandiego.com/

Entertainment:
D.J. & Dancing on Fridays from 6:00 pm until 1:30 am.
Singles Night with D.J. & Dancing on Tuesdays from 7:00 pm until 11:00 pm. Live Band July through October, every Thursday on the patios, 6:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Parking Details:
Large lot with ample free parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • French Onion Soup
  • Champagne Sunday Brunch
  • Filet Mignon
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
French Onion Soup
Champagne Sunday Brunch
Filet Mignon

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Free Corkage

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. * The Wine Special is not valid with other discounts or on major holidays . Special valid Sep 19, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Free Corkage

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Free Corkage. In dinning room only, and with purchase of a dinner entree . Special valid Sep 19, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Beautiful, unique banquet facilities for parties of 25 to 200. Wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, cocktail parties, birthday & anniversary dinners, retirement celebrations, private luncheons, etc. Superb food, attentive service, and affordable prices.

94th Aero Squadron - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Kearny Mesa ›

Special Occasion (65)
Great for Brunch (59)
Good for Groups (49)
See All
Scenic View (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Romantic (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Historic (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1720 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was looking for something unique for o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

I was looking for something unique for our anniversary dinner and when I read about the 94th Aero Squadron I knew I found it given its theme and decor. I was hoping for good food and service since I picked it and found that too. Our table was along the window in the dining room away from the open kitchen offering views of the outdoor dining area and of planes landing in the adjacent private airport. When the sun set the patio was lightly lit,very nice. Our waiter was personable, knew the menu and paced the meal well. My only regret is forgetting his name. We chose from the restaurant week menu and were very pleased with the results. From start to finish we enjoyed the experience and will most definitely return on our next visit to San Diego.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for Reaturant week. We had great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

We came for Reaturant week. We had great service and the food was delicious. I'll be back for their Sunday brunch.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and great service! There brunc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and great service! There brunch is also delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always one of my favorites. We held our ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always one of my favorites. We held our wedding and reception here 11 years ago and always try to get back when we can on our anniversary. Food and service are amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Jason, was friendly, helpful ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter, Jason, was friendly, helpful and very professional. Our dinners were excellent and we always enjoy coming here for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent as usual. Food wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent as usual. Food was prepared to order and served promptly.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is a bit dark. It had been rai ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The place is a bit dark. It had been raining so the patio was closed. The shades were down inside so it was not as pretty as I remembered. Our shade was broken but waiter never came back to assist with getting it up. Cobb salad and the french onion soup were great. We sat and chatted a long time after the meal since the place was cleared out. Never got asked if we wanted coffee, dessert etc....

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and had dinner and we both had ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

My wife and had dinner and we both had chicken.

Mine was good and my wife's was OK

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu for Brunch with omelette, car ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great menu for Brunch with omelette, carving and crepe stations; attentive service including champagne/mimosas;

comfortable seating arrangements.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the 94th. The brunch is nicely p ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We love the 94th. The brunch is nicely priced and offers a great variety. The noice level can make it difficult to carry aon a conversation. The service is mostly good.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Historic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great decor, very good food and service. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great decor, very good food and service. Enjoyed both the patio and indoor dining. Went there for both lunch and dinner on different days and had equally good food and service for both.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

After a family memorial service we came ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

After a family memorial service we came here for a mid-week late afternoon lunch. The atmosphere was appropo for celebrating our loved one's military service. Our waitress was friendly and attentive and the food was great, even offering a buffet option mid-week. A wonderful and very affordable option for a group luncheon. I would recommend this restaurant to friends, particularly those who enjoy a bit of nostalgia. Will come back when I'm in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We join a group of freinds every couple ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We join a group of freinds every couple of months for brunch-Michael takes great care of us, so we always request his section. The food options are plentiful and delicious. Great dinners too and the most yummy scallop appetizer during restaurant week.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our 11 year old grandson's ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We celebrated our 11 year old grandson's birthday by having dinner at Aero Squadron. Our waiter was excellent and everyone enjoyed their dinner. We have dined at Aero Squadron many times before and have always enjoyed the food and surroundings. We will continue to frequent the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed a delicious buffet, waitress ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious buffet, waitress was great. All 12 of us loved it.

We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The 94th Aerosquadron's ambiance carries ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The 94th Aerosquadron's ambiance carries through with the WWI French chateau motifs. The food is very good. The service is outstanding. They handled our party of eight smoothly. There was nothing to comlain about and a great many things to applaud. We will certainly go back.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie was our server and for us having a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Eddie was our server and for us having approximately 13 people (who all wanted champagne!) he did a great job of keeping up with the demand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been dining here for 45 years. W ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have been dining here for 45 years. We vacation in San Diego and make to your restaurant often more than once during our stay. It is consistently good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very good, food and servi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything was very good, food and service as good as it always has been over the years we have been going to the 94th.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for lunch. We had a table by the w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great for lunch. We had a table by the window so we could watch the planes. We were seated promptly, orders taken and food arrived in a timely manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant for brunc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant for brunch, lunch, dinner, and afternoon munchies on the patio!

I have yet to be disappointed with the menu selections, portion sizes, ambiance, and service.

I ordered the Seafood Combo and Fettucine - such a nice variety of Lobster, Salmon, Shrimp,

and Scallops--- and of course, the creamed corn is a specialty! it was plenty for two of us and even had leftovers! Jason was our awesome server and one of the Managers, Fred, came by to check that we were enjoying our dinner. The Cheesecake was complementary for my birthday...so creamy and delicious with a great cup of Decaf. Kudos to the 94th Aero Squadron staff!! I really appreciate the quiet ambiance to be abe to have a conversation without talking loud. The fresh flowers and candlelight add such a touch of class on the white tablecloths. The decor is nostalgic and creates a cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were promptly seated at our reserved ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were promptly seated at our reserved time. We waited a long time be foo the waiter greeted us. And pricey for brunch. It was 160.00 for five people

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

My daughter and I had dinner here for th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My daughter and I had dinner here for the first time, and it is absolutely wonderful! Had such great food and such a good time. We will definitely be back. Our server, Jeff, was a gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Overall it is good. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Love this place. Overall it is good. The Prime Rib was good but too much fat.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been to this restaurant a few tim ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I have been to this restaurant a few times over the years. The food and service are consistently excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We booked this restaurant for its value ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We booked this restaurant for its value ( Early Flight meals for 18.95) and its charm. It is a bit old but still charming and unique in its setting next to Montgomery Field. They were aware of it being my husband's birthday, but only the host noted it and nothing was done out of the ordinary like a complimentary dish being offered. We were seated initially at the window, but on the inside of the aisle was a large table of all females. It was a bit close and noisy, so we asked to be moved and they accommodated us by moving us to a window table in the next room, unused up until then. It was much quieter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a farewell dinner with our friend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a farewell dinner with our friends that are moving away from San Diego and it was a great send off with excellent food and service. Our friends will miss 94th and were so excited we recommended it for the dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon here is really good. Prime r ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The salmon here is really good. Prime rib too. Someone had the coconut shrimp and said it was mushy and not too good. But otherwise, everything was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrific food! Wonderful service. Love t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Terrific food! Wonderful service. Love the atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie was the best server!!! So attentiv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Eddie was the best server!!! So attentive and took special care to make sure we had beverages refilled a most amazing brunch with large variet of choices from egg dishes to main course to crepe station!! The array of pastries was so artistic we really appreciated the cappuccino machine !! A very nice assortment of salads and fresh fruit the scallop and shrimp ceviche was delicious!! This is the best valued brunch in San Diego County!!! I recommend you do the 9 AM reservation for the best and freshest selections!!The lit candles on the table where an added delight!!!! Thank you to all the cooks waiters and stuff !!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We go her many Wednesdays because the s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We go her many Wednesdays because the steak is great, they gladly split meals, that day is half off wine, and I can look at the airport my plane is hangared at.

We get special service from their manager Fred.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very special historic atmosphere, unique ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very special historic atmosphere, unique in that regard. Great ambience including music and view of air strip---perfect for aviation buffs. Food very good, esp. filet mignon, though the corn pudding thing that comes with everything was a little strange, in my opinion. Excellent French onion soup. Waiter a little rushed but generally OK. All in all a fun evening and we'd happily go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Sunday brunch with variety of food ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Sunday brunch with variety of food options. Eggs Benedict and salmon were amazing. Endless champagne was major selling point. Great deal for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

John is an excellent server! My seafood ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

John is an excellent server! My seafood linguini was really good, but my date's beef was just so-so.

Love the decor and music!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I were very much looking for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I were very much looking forward to dinner here on our 50th wedding anniversary and very pleased with the experience. Our waitress was fabulous, the food was perfectly prepared and we couldn't have asked for a better time.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had their early flights and both my w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had their early flights and both my wife and I enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for Sunday brunch again and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We came here for Sunday brunch again and we knew this time to make sure to have reservations before hand. We made them for noon and surprisingly, it wasn't too busy from the looks outside. Not too many people waiting for tables because they were all able to be seated. I'm still baffled how they have the buffet line set up. It gets so crowded and I am finding myself regularly having to lift my plate over peoples heads as I walk through. It's never relaxing and I always feel rushed to either get some food or move along so I'm not creating a road block.

After we got our first plate and went back to our table, we noticed we were only given spoons; no forks or knives. We sat there patiently for our server to come back but our food started to get cold. We asked another female server if we could get utensils and she told us to "ask your server, thanks". So we waited longer. Finally he comes back and we ask for utensils as well as water. Well, the utensils finally arrived but no water. The server passed by at least 3-4 times and just kept saying that the water was coming. Well, we were almost done with our first plate by the time we got some...in a small plastic juice cup.

I really like this place but they just need to change up the brunch display. It's a mess and hard to navigate when there are multiple people racing for food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We didn't know your Sunday brunch prices ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We didn't know your Sunday brunch prices had gone up. Guess it's been awhile since our last visit.

We wanted to give it a try again so kept the reservation. It's probably a better value for big eaters. Food was good. Place is still a bit dark and not as handicap friendly as it could be inside the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

This rating is based on Sunday Brunch. W ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This rating is based on Sunday Brunch. We went at 9 am to avail of discounted price less $5 versus after 10 am you pay $29.95. I felt the food was good, but the service & ambiance made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good food, great service, enjoyable view ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food, great service, enjoyable view. Will be back soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.