About 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego

8885 Balboa Ave
San Diego, CA 92123
View Larger Map

For over 30 years, one of San Diego's landmark dining destinations and one of the most unique and memorable restaurants you will ever find. Located inside a replica of a World War I French farmhouse decorated with fascinating military memorabilia, antiques, and aviation relics, the restaurant overlooks Montgomery Field Airport, and has a cozy and romantic ambiance, with large stone fireplaces intimate booths, and beautiful views. The extensive menu features mid-western aged beef and the freshest seafood. Here you will find USDA Choice & Prime Beef steaks, slow-roasted Angus prime rib, succulent lobster tail, fresh fish, rack of lamb, veal, chicken, pasta dishes, and fabulous desserts. Their famous Champagne Brunch is currently the #1 Sunday Brunch in the city on AOL's CityGuide poll and is not to be missed. Beautiful outdoor patios, a very popular Happy Hour, and excellent banquet facilities help make the 94th Aero Squadron one of the great dining experiences in all of San Diego.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - FRiday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ponderosa

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 560-6771

Website:
http://www.94thaerosquadron.signonsandiego.com/

Entertainment:
D.J. & Dancing on Fridays from 6:00 pm until 1:30 am. Singles Night with D.J. & Dancing on Tuesdays from 7:00 pm until 11:00 pm. Live Band July through October, every Thursday on the patios, 6:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Parking Details:
Large lot with ample free parking.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
  • French Onion Soup
  • Champagne Sunday Brunch
  • Filet Mignon
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
94th Aero Squadron - San Diego
French Onion Soup
Champagne Sunday Brunch
Filet Mignon

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Beautiful, unique banquet facilities for parties of 25 to 200. Wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, cocktail parties, birthday & anniversary dinners, retirement celebrations, private luncheons, etc. Superb food, attentive service, and affordable prices.

94th Aero Squadron - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
American
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
1 More
American
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Kearny Mesa ›

special occasion (71)
great for brunch (58)
good for groups (51)
See All
scenic view (50)
great for outdoor dining (48)
neighborhood gem (38)
great for lunch (36)
fit for foodies (30)
romantic (29)
kid-friendly (23)
notable wine list (4)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1672 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter's mind was somewhere else, food n ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Waiter's mind was somewhere else, food not impressive. Especially the bizzarre extra corn item that tasted like canned corn in glue. Waiter brought wine bottle to table, then left, didn't pour it for us. Caesar salad was dry-next to no dressing. Big party in the next room apparently had staff's full attention. Because we certainly didn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Fun Ambience with all the WWII decoratio ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fun Ambience with all the WWII decorations and pictures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The usual very good meal.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The usual very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always great food. The service was excel ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always great food. The service was excellent. Tuesday no corkage is a winner. Great place for a birthday dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice service as usual. Food choices goo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Nice service as usual. Food choices good and prepared nicely. The atmosphere is cute with restaurant overlooking Montgomery Field. Nice decor for theme restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Salad was small and wilted with not so g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Salad was small and wilted with not so good blue cheese salad dressing. The shrimp cocktail sauce was not the best either it is not very well put together, tastes like ketchup and celery never seen a sauce like this (no horseradish). The lemons served with the shrimp cocktail were not juicy but looked old and dried out. I had their best margarita, with gran marnier, it was not as good as a cadillac margarita should be, tasted watered down. My 28.00 pasta with3 shrimp and3 scallops turned into an Elmer,s Glue consistency , the shrimp and scallops were cooked well however and the lemon looked old and dried out. Service was just barely waitress needed some clean clothing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Always yummy Pasta bar Crepe bar Fajita ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always yummy

Pasta bar

Crepe bar

Fajita bar

Omelette bar

Amillion desserts

Yum yum yum

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, the champagne glasses ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was good, the champagne glasses on the table were never empty and the dessert table was a thing of dreams. I will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful ambiance, attentive and friend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, attentive and friendly staff, and great date night experience for the price. What more could you ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming atmosphere, great food, and se ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Charming atmosphere, great food, and service. Lounge was too crowded and charged cover. No cocktail bar available to go to after dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hate to write an uncomplimentary revie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I hate to write an uncomplimentary review, suffice to say the food was ok. The wait staff was ok.

I was very disappointed in the quality and presentation of the food. I'll go back because its a cute place but I really don't expect a 4 star meal. Its really too bad because the drinks from the bar are great and it looks like they have a nice happy hour. I really want to like this place. I'll give it another shot sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

We come here often because of the atmosp ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We come here often because of the atmosphere primarily. It is great for both lunch and dinner. I especially like that I can meet friends here and we can hear one another talk (except on Friday nights if the bar scene is busy). I brought some friend there last week from England and they loved the atmosphere and food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great experience at this restau ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had a great experience at this restaurant. The service was outstanding and the manager let us take advantage of the early meal price. Most of our party had the prime rib and loved it. The kids had a great time and loved that they could listen to the control tower for the incoming flights right from our table.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time at Sunday brunch at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a great time at Sunday brunch at friend's birthday party. The food was good quality and great selection, and we enjoyed the ambience of this unique place, as always. The service was good as well.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to 94th Aero Squadron sever ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to 94th Aero Squadron several times. We were not impressed this time. Waffles were not hot, roast beef was tough and the ribs did not have much meat. The teriyaki salmon was excellent and the dessert bar was very good. Probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We're from San Jose,California . We enjo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We're from San Jose,California . We enjoyed the same restaurant there. Unfortunately, it no longer is in business. While in San Diego,we located the restaurant within a few minutes from our hotel . We enjoyed it with some friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My steak was ok but the seafood leaves m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My steak was ok but the seafood leaves much to be desired. We used to like the escargot but the last two times it was cold and not edible.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We always enjoy going to this restaurant ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We always enjoy going to this restaurant! It has great staff and management that are there to make your dining experience the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable, food delicious, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was impeccable, food delicious, and I loved the quiet dining room with 1940s big band music in the background! We took my brother who loves anything aviation related and he loved it! I'm not a flying buff but had a great time and would love to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great dining experience. The ser ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Really great dining experience. The server was excellent and kept beverages flowing. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for good food and a great atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never had a bad meal here. We bring frie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Never had a bad meal here. We bring friends who are new to 94th Aero, and they are always very satisfied with the meal, venue, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I first went there almost 30 years ago. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I first went there almost 30 years ago. It was great then, and still is now. Most recently was a first date. It was a great way to begin what looks like a beautiful relationship.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch good, buffet service seems to ove ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

lunch good, buffet service seems to overshadow the ones ordering from the menu,

we ordered from the menu because of the steps up and down to the buffet, prices good, food good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I made the reservation on line and did n ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I made the reservation on line and did not see that it was buffet only because of Father's Day. Either it didn't say that it was a buffet or it was not front and center. We like this restaurant normally but I don't generally like buffets and this was no exception. Very disappointed that I couldn't even order off the menu. It needs to be clear if it is going to be a buffet only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Was disappointed! Expected a lot better ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was disappointed! Expected a lot better for the money we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We used to love going here but we have t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We used to love going here but we have to remember that Friday nights is hip-hop night. If you're looking for a relaxing dinner it's not the night to go ! My kids wanted to go outside and see the planes and the ducks and the bouncer kick them out and said it was adult time at 6:30 PM ! It was my 13-year-old daughter walking my eight-year-old son around they werent miss-behaving. Our server dropped our silverware on the table with our dessert and said here you go. I was very disappointed and thought it was disrespectful. I think the servers are really unhappy but they have nowhere else to go make the money they make. I don't usually complain because my husband was in the industry but this was just too unfortunate.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Great lunch. Have been here many times t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great lunch. Have been here many times throughout the years and always enjoy the good food, ambiance, service and view. Great for children of all ages. Warmly greeted at the door boy entering and departing. Wish the bread served was a little tastier. We rec'd a small wheat loaf that was really bland.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there for four hours it felt lik ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were there for four hours it felt like 15 minutes great place !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great but the waiter (this ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was great but the waiter (this experience only) wasn't very helpful - almost to the point of being rude. Didn't even try to answer questions we asked.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Went to 94th to have a get together with ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Went to 94th to have a get together with friends from LA and Moreno Valley. They love to come here and we had a wonderful visit. Was a weeknight so we could take our time and not feel rushed. Our waiter was wonderful also, very attentive but not hovering. Love this restaurant and I will be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food and service; topped off the crab-stuffed shrimp with the upside-down apple/walnut pie.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Steven was amazing!!! Great experience a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Steven was amazing!!! Great experience and can't wait to come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a darling "old school" restauran ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a darling "old school" restaurant. The service was wonderful and the food was delicious. My family and I had a great experience and can't wait to come back for the half price bottle of wine special on Wednesday nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for dining!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were treated like royalty! They made a special occasion "more special"!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My wife and I had the first flights.

It is a great deal and the food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

94th Aero Squadron is Excellent!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I have never had a bad meal here!! Their Sunday brunch is always fantastic!! Went for lunch with a friend who has never dined here before. She was very impressed and totally enjoyed her meal. They have a lunchtime brunch that was awesome. And the wait staff is incredible!! They treat you like you are their only table. One of my favorite places to dine!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great Sunday brunch here --- ve ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a great Sunday brunch here --- very neat building and location, too. Susan kept the champagne flowing and was very attentive and personable! We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First trip to 94th Aero was 45 years ago ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

First trip to 94th Aero was 45 years ago on Pacific Hwy. Still a great place for special occasions. The Beer Soup tastes like liquid gold smoked Gouda. The prime rib and top sirloin were fantastic. And service was impeccable.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Our overall experience was great and the food was delicious. However, I felt like we were being ignored by our server. My wife and I observed the other tables and they seemed to have been receiving better service. But, they did have a different server too. We loved the atmosphere and the décor.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Very slow service due to too many diners ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Very slow service due to too many diners, and not enough servers.

Superb food, but several large parties caused a lot of noise, plus the restaurant apparently couldn't get enough reserve staff to handle such a large crowd. We were a party of two, but our server was also serving a large party of about 30 people.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.