About 91 South

91 South St.
Gorham, ME 04038
View Larger Map

91 South is an intimate and personal 20 seat dining establishment with 65 wines by the glass. We features local produce, Gulf of Maine seafood, local farm raised grass fed beef. Don't be alarmed as you will enter through a side door directly into the kitchen where you will be welcomed by ChefJessie. 91 South is hosted in the back room of the PineCrest Inn on RT 114 in the village of Gorham You will however have to join our private dining club for $1.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Mondays & Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Morrill Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 839-5843

Website:
http://www.pinecrestmaine.com/91-south--food-and-wine.html

Entertainment:
Live Jazz with Clarinet/Whistling Legend Brad Terry every Thursday night. He joins the Unlikely Trio with Barry Saunders and Peter Herman. Ken Karby entertains quietly on solo guitar with his own Jazz styling on Friday evenings. Don Roy Trio frequents Wednesday evenings with his trio and performs Acadia style fiddle tunes.

Catering:
Your space or ours. Take 91 South cuisine to your office, home or special event space. Our planners will work to make your event special, on time and on budget.

Parking Details:
You and your guests can park on site or on the street.

Public Transit:
none

Executive Chef:
Chef James Turner

Private Party Facilities:
Our 20 seat intimate dining room is perfect for any private function, meeting, dinner or reception.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Mattingly: 2078395843x

Additional:
Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 91 South, Gorham, ME
91 South, Gorham, ME
Sort By:
S
41 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 17, 2015

We were very surprised with this restaurant. We just moved to Gorham and are trying out the neighborhood restaurant. This one was hard to find as it is in the back of a B&B. Once inside, it was very cozy. The food was amazing. I highly recommend the Salmon. They have a great wine list. The Whitehall reserve cab was perfect. What really impressed us was the service. Our waiter kept checking with us often and provided suggestions and recommendations. We really enjoyed ourselves and will be back soon to try other items on their menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable Evening

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2015

The food was fantastic, but I would caution going on a Friday night. The music was way to loud for such a small space. The same players could do some nice soft jazz instead of a hybrid irish / hee-haw square dance music that is way too loud for the space. Everyone around us could not talk because of music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great DInner

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Always enjoy our visit to a local gem. Main course had a lot of flavor. Temperature could have been a little warmer. But overall, great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A great experience!

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2015

A great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a gem!

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2015

We had the pleasure of eating here one evening during our stay at PineCrest Inn and boy, were we glad we did! Everything about this restaurant is special from the quaint atmosphere to the top-notch service and the outstanding food.

The decor of the small, intimate dining room has a friendly and inviting vibe that is matched by the attentiveness of the staff. Our server, Niko was witty and knowledgable and made us feel very much at home. The chef's passion and creativity came through in every detail with each course being a beautiful, expertly executed work of art - and delicious to boot!

If you're looking for an exceptional and unique dining experience, treat yourself to dinner at 91 South. Then take it a step further and stay overnight at the inn so you can experience their gracious hospitality and the scrumptious gourmet breakfast that is served every morning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely a hidden gem. All courses wer ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2015

Definitely a hidden gem. All courses were excellent and the wine list was thoughtful and very reasonably priced. Intimate, quiet setting with frequent live music. I am looking forward to the next visit already. The entrance goes right through the kitchen, so be sure to thank the chef on your way out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem in the suburbs

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2015

Honestly, we only made a reservation at 91 South because we were staying in the attached inn. To my surprise, it was the highlight of our visit to Portland! The food was beautifully balanced, fresh, and seasonal. My husband's steak piled with mushrooms and surrounded by a velvety sauce was perfect, and my seafood-stuffed cod had large pieces of scallops and shrimp in a flavorful sauce that was creamy without being heavy. They have live music most nights, and we had a lovely anniversary dinner with great food, a bottle of wine ($10 markup!), and a piano player who happily took requests. It's a small, intimate-feeling place, just right for a date night, and definitely worthy of a trip out from Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about it was excellent!

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2015

The food was perfectly prepared and delicious. The service was extraordinary. And the live music (a pianist) created the right atmosphere for a romantic dinner with the one I love.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

nice find

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2015

Definitely will return. Welcoming ,

the menu is limited but good, relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner in an intimate and lovely setting

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2015

We went hog wild w/ appetizers, entree, the awesome wine list, and even had dessert. Service was outstandingly. Chef even accommodated our request for some side dishes that weren't part of our entree selection. Couldn't ask for a more romantic or intimate dinner setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem.

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2015

This place is just so cool and charming we love to go every chance we get. Make sure you have the mushroom toast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, this restaurant gets a rating ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2015

Overall, this restaurant gets a rating of 3, mainly because of the owner. The staff was amazing, the food impeccable, and the ambiance fantastic. However, the owner repeatedly complained about the OpenTable application to us while checking in, and obviously didn't understand the application. The owner constantly checked in with a table next to us to see if they were enjoying their dinner, but never once checked in with us. He blatantly ignored us while catering to a table that was loud and carrying on in a negative manner. As a frequent OpenTable user and one who enjoys eating out regularly, I found this disheartening and disappointing. We LOVE eating out! I never complain, because I love to eat out and always enjoy it! Unfortunately, the owner made what would have been an enjoyable evening out (our first since the birth of our child and therefore an important evening out), a let down. I do not expect to return. An unfortunate loss as we thoroughly enjoyed the food, our waiter, and the ambiance. I thoroughly applaud the amazing staff for their excellent job. They salvaged the evening and helped us relax and enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Great Surprise in Gorham

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2015

We had no idea there was such a "scene" in Gorham until we went to have dinner and hear live music at 91 South. Great energy, wonderful food and hospitality, and a 3-piece Gypsy band that took our breath away. A great evening all in all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small and pricey.

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2015

This is a house converted into a restaurant. you enter thru a side door that goes right into the kitchen. Then you turn left into the dinning room which was the garage. They list their place as a wine club. They have a huge wine selection. The food was OK, but not worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Outstanding

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2015

Great service, great food, great music! Perfect place for a date night! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great overall dinner!

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2015

It was Valentine's night, and overall everything went well. We didn't expext the music because it was a Saturday evening, so it was not as intimate as initially intended. The fixed menu was appropriate as it was expected to be a busy evening. As far as the atmosphere, most noticeably there were no candles or flowers on the tables. The final price on a cosmopolitan rang it at $22 which was incredibly overpriced.

This is our second time into 91 South and we definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

91 South

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2014

This was a repeat visit to 91 South and the food did not disappoint. The menu was varied and the food was fabulous.

The service was good with the only glitch being that the appetizers were not delivered. We were disappointed but the other courses were exceptional. The server realizing his error apologized -- we discussed among ourselves that writing down the orders would not have made us less appreciative of the experience.

There was a piano player who was enjoyable; he was diverse in his selections and very accommodating of requests. However, as the evening went on, the music (piano and singers) got progressively louder which restricted the ability of diners to hold a conversation. It is an intimate space and enjoyable for the diners if they can interact with each other. However, the music began to overwhelm the scene. When you go out for dinner it is an opportunity to interact and enjoy each other's company - when the music is overly loud so as to preclude conversation it ruins the atmosphere and enjoyment. I was with guests that I only see occasionally and we were having a Christmas celebration; I would have appreciated having that time to speak with them and catch up.

I appreciate what they are trying to do at 91 South but they should scale the music to the size of the venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A Rural Gem

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2014

Situated in Gorham ME, a small town a few miles west of Portland, Maine's largest city, 91South is a small cozy restaurant that offers a superior dining experience. 91 South operates from a B&B, and has limited seating. The menu offers a pleasing wine list, and a limited, but delicious array of garden to table entrees ($$$). 91South is welcoming, with a fire place, 3 piece music group, and very friendly staff. We will return many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great find!

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 24, 2014

We totally enjoyed our visit to 91 South. Our meals were fantastic, and the addtion of live music makes it a wonderful experience. It is very casual and not at all "fussy" (we love that) , but the food is very "fine dining". We would highly recommend giving this place a try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice experience

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2014

Unfortunately I did not get this review down in time to remember my specific meal details. However, I do know the bread and cheese platter was delicious as were our salads and main dishes. The wine was a decent value also. I'd recommend it for special occasions especially during the week when it may be less crowded and you can sit in the main dining area when there's no piano player (it can get a bit loud). During cold weather you may need a little blanket or your coat if you sit in the winterized enclosure as it can be a little drafty. The food will be well worth it and we'd certainly go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

great food just not much

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2014

went there for our anniversary and the atmosphere was very nice and romantic. The server was very pleasant. I asked to have a dozen roses placed on the table before we arrived and they did not problem. The food was excellent EXCEPT the portions. My wife got the duck and that was decent but I got the scallops for an entrée and it came with 3. not 3 of the large scallops but just 3 regular scallops. For the price I was pretty disappointed. So expect to pay quite a bit for a good atmosphere but I wouldn't expect to be full when you leave.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Wonderful Restaurant

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2014

We have been to 91 south many times both before and after moving to the area. The food, atmosphere and service are always good. The restaurant is small so reservations are a must. As far as we can see this is the nicest dining outside of Portland..casual yet sophisticated, and usually there is a jazz or other light dinner music trio playing on Thursdays and Fridays.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Special vacation dinner

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2014

Wanted a special dinner to wrap up our small vacation getaway and 91 South was perfect! Very creative and delicious food as well as excellent prices on bottles of wine (good wine...not moonshine wine!). Sat in the closed-in outdoor portion of the restaurant as it was a beautiful night and was very romantic and secluded feeling. Nice waitress - prompt service but left us alone to talk which was perfect. The owners are great too - very friendly and helpful. Overall a great dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Such a great place

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I recently ate here and were completely blown away with the excellent attentive service, the wonderful wine selection, and amazing food! It was not overly busy either for a Saturday night which was great! Cant say enough great things about our experience at 91 South!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three of us had the codfish stuffed with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2014

Three of us had the codfish stuffed with scallop and lobster and it was superb as my wife's steak. Normally, she can never finish a restaurant steak but I can confirm that the 3 bites she left for me were extremely tender and flavorful and perfectly cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2014

Beautiful setting and great food. Live music every night too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful find/Don't miss it

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2014

We have dined at 91 South many times and always enjoyed it. It's small and classy, with very good food and a friendly sophisticated atmosphere. To add to the evening, local groups play jazz, classical and other types of dinner ambience music. Sometimes it's base, piano, guitar, sometimes violin and piano, always good music. The menu is limited but seems to have something for everyone. Definitely find the time to dine at 91 South. Unfortunately it's only open (I think...) Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Reservations definitely needed because it's popular and the dining room is small.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

What a find!

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2014

Searched for a restaurant to take my wife out for her birthday. Found this place on Open Table, and decided to try it. We were pleasantly surprised; small and somewhat intimate, limited wine list and menu. However, the food was excellent, presentation was lovely, the service was superb, and I found a great bottle of Cab for $38. My wife was thrilled, and we'll go back for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent meal -

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2014

We enjoyed a very good meal here. Service was great, food interesting and delicious, and the drinks were well crafted. Can't wait to go back -

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2014

Loved the food and service. Everything was prepared and cooked properly and the service was excellent. I found the ambiance suffered somewhat from a lack of attention to the upkeep of an old building and a lack of attention to the first impressions as you arrive and make your way to the dining area.

We will definitely be back as the good food and service far outweighed the negatives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Hidden Jewel

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 18, 2014

We made reservations at the Inn on short notice. We were pleased with the lodgings but to our surprise was dinner, it was great. Good wine list, food was just perfect, I ordered the duck and it was tender, and very tasty. You can have a four course dinner if you wish and the price was very reasonable. We had a bottle of red French wine that somewhere else we probably pay more than $100, here it was very affordable.

Every thing from appetizer to dessert was done just right. For dessert I had the fig wrapped in wanton threads, yummy!! My husband had the steak and it also was done just right, not typical steak taste you find somewhere else. Great food at a very cozy, friendly and welcoming Inn and restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

limited but nice

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2014

I have been here several times but not since they renovated and changed the menu. We were disappointed that their website menu was not offered. The food was good amd wine list fine but nothing outstanding. I would go again with lower expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Wonderful!

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2014

Highly recommend! Great food, wonderful service, charming place! We will definitely be back and are so pleased we found this "gem!"

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An almost hidden gem!

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2014

91 South is 750ft from our front door, therefore making it the neighborhood gem for us! The food is always absolutley fantastic and the service is both friendly and attentive. We have come to enjoy 91 South immensly for that foodie experience I appreciate whole heartedly and I am never let down! In fact, I am already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

very nice restaurant

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2014

Small, intimate, excellent cuisine and service. . . Some may consider it pricy and it is compared to other restaurants in this college town but the quality is also far above the others. It is comparable to what we are used to paying for better restaurants in Portland. They are creating a screened in porch space with lovely garden views and an outdoor fire pit which should be nice on a hot night. They also offer entertainment on weekend nights.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small restaurant with very personalized ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2014

Small restaurant with very personalized service. Good choice of wines by glass and bottle. Easy to find from where we were staying in Scarborough. Will go back when we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot!

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2014

This restaurant is a hidden gem. We loved the atmosphere. Cozy dining room with live music but they played at the perfect volume. Great food. Very friendly staff. We felt very relaxed after a wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Romantic Night

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2014

91 South has what it takes for a fabulous romantic night out, incredible wine list with the owner Matt being very knowledgable for help with selection, a menu that is varied and sophisticated, the food was second to none and we've never been disappointed in our selections, service is warm, friendly and prompt. You never get rushed and you leave with a feeling "Wow where did the time go!". When they have live entertainment it doesn't interfere with your dining conversation. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, a truly great place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best kept secret

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2014

Remains consistently creative and fresh! Outstanding in all aspects if you are looking for intimate atmosphere, attentive service, knowledgable about all aspects of meal AND music to dine by. My favorite local dining spot.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent neighborhood gem

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2014

Excellent food in a small but charming dining room in the middle of Gorham. What a treat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.