HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - 91 South

4.6
41 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (53)
  • Special Occasion (51)
  • Romantic (51)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Currently Closed
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Currently Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(207) 839-5843
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: Morrill Ave.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 41 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6
  based on all time ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.4
ambience
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Beni (Austin)
5.0
Dined on October 17, 2015

We were very surprised with this restaurant. We just moved to Gorham and are trying out the neighborhood restaurant. This one was hard to find as it is in the back of a B&B. Once inside, it was very cozy. The food was amazing. I highly recommend the Salmon. They have a great wine list. The Whitehall reserve cab was perfect. What really impressed us was the service. Our waiter kept checking with us often and provided suggestions and recommendations. We really enjoyed ourselves and will be back soon to try other items on their menu.

Report
Helpful
foodie (New England)
4.0
Dined on October 16, 2015

The food was fantastic, but I would caution going on a Friday night. The music was way to loud for such a small space. The same players could do some nice soft jazz instead of a hybrid irish / hee-haw square dance music that is way too loud for the space. Everyone around us could not talk because of music.

Report
Helpful
BJD60 (New England)
4.0
Dined on October 10, 2015

Always enjoy our visit to a local gem. Main course had a lot of flavor. Temperature could have been a little warmer. But overall, great.

Report
Helpful
Book (New England)
5.0
Dined on September 18, 2015

A great experience!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0
Dined on September 2, 2015

We had the pleasure of eating here one evening during our stay at PineCrest Inn and boy, were we glad we did! Everything about this restaurant is special from the quaint atmosphere to the top-notch service and the outstanding food.
The decor of the small, intimate dining room has a friendly and inviting vibe that is matched by the attentiveness of the staff. Our server, Niko was witty and knowledgable and made us feel very much at home. The chef's passion and creativity came through in every detail with each course being a beautiful, expertly executed work of art - and delicious to boot!
If you're looking for an exceptional and unique dining experience, treat yourself to dinner at 91 South. Then take it a step further and stay overnight at the inn so you can experience their gracious hospitality and the scrumptious gourmet breakfast that is served every morning!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0
Dined on August 28, 2015

Definitely a hidden gem. All courses were excellent and the wine list was thoughtful and very reasonably priced. Intimate, quiet setting with frequent live music. I am looking forward to the next visit already. The entrance goes right through the kitchen, so be sure to thank the chef on your way out!

Report
Helpful
Steve (New England)
5.0
Dined on August 12, 2015

Honestly, we only made a reservation at 91 South because we were staying in the attached inn. To my surprise, it was the highlight of our visit to Portland! The food was beautifully balanced, fresh, and seasonal. My husband's steak piled with mushrooms and surrounded by a velvety sauce was perfect, and my seafood-stuffed cod had large pieces of scallops and shrimp in a flavorful sauce that was creamy without being heavy. They have live music most nights, and we had a lovely anniversary dinner with great food, a bottle of wine ($10 markup!), and a piano player who happily took requests. It's a small, intimate-feeling place, just right for a date night, and definitely worthy of a trip out from Portland.

Report
Helpful
HappyDiner (New England)
5.0
Dined on July 29, 2015

The food was perfectly prepared and delicious. The service was extraordinary. And the live music (a pianist) created the right atmosphere for a romantic dinner with the one I love.

Report
Helpful
Mainwind (New England)
5.0
Dined on July 22, 2015

Definitely will return. Welcoming ,
the menu is limited but good, relaxing atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
Yvonne (New England)
5.0
Dined on June 11, 2015

We went hog wild w/ appetizers, entree, the awesome wine list, and even had dessert. Service was outstandingly. Chef even accommodated our request for some side dishes that weren't part of our entree selection. Couldn't ask for a more romantic or intimate dinner setting.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Currently Closed
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Morrill Ave.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(207) 839-5843
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Jazz with Clarinet/Whistling Legend Brad Terry every Thursday night. He joins the Unlikely Trio with Barry Saunders and Peter Herman. Ken Karby entertains quietly on solo guitar with his own Jazz styling on Friday evenings. Don Roy Trio frequents Wednesday evenings with his trio and performs Acadia style fiddle tunes.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Your space or ours. Take 91 South cuisine to your office, home or special event space. Our planners will work to make your event special, on time and on budget.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
You and your guests can park on site or on the street.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
none
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef James Turner
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our 20 seat intimate dining room is perfect for any private function, meeting, dinner or reception.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Matt Mattingly: (207) 839-5843
Additional
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine