About 801 Fish - Leawood

11615 Rosewood
Leawood, KS 66211
View Larger Map

801 Fish is the newest restaurant concept of the 801 Restaurant Group. Our Executive Chef prepares a daily variety of the freshest fish and crustaceans from the world's most pristine waters reflecting the style of the region in which they were caught.

Our Raw Bar features multiple species of East & West coast Oysters. Join us for our Oyster Happy Hour - $1.50 East Oysters Monday-Friday. Oyster Thursday 1.50 Oysters all night in bar area

Your fresh fish cravings will be completely satisfied with one of our classic Fish House offerings such as the Whole Roasted Branzino. Don't forget our USDA Prime Beef to create your own Surf-n-Turf.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

We Offer Complimentary Valet Tuesday-Saturday

$1.50 Oysters & Happy Hour Drink pricing Monday-Friday from 4pm-6pm in the bar area. Oyster Thursday all night 1.50 oysters in bar area

Cross Street:
116th Place in Park Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 322-3474

Website:
http://www.801fish.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is Complementary available Tuesday-Saturday. Free Garage Parking, just South of the Restaurant, within walking distance, is available 7 days per week.

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private dining spaces at 801 Fish featuring seating for up to 16 guests in one of the rooms and up to 40 guests in the larger room. Both private dining spaces come fully equipped with Wi-Fi, audio, video, and teleconferencing capabilities.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Holmes - General Manager: 8558203709

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour from 4pm-6pm in the Bar Area Monday Thru Thursday. Features include $1.50 Oysters

Restaurant Photos

Hamachi Crudo
Scallops With Lemon Butter Risotto
Butter Roasted Lobster
Oysters Du Jour
Petite Platter
Soft Shell Crab
Ahi tuna
Assorted Oysters
Littleneck clams
Seafood Cioppino
Oysters
Crudo
Clams Casino
Crispy Skin Canadian Salmon & Pork Belly
saffron Tomato Cioppino
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
House Made Orange Soda
Panama Cobia Ceviche
Pan Roasted Columbia River Sturgeon
Bittersweet Chocolate Soufflé
New Zealand Salmon Ceviche
Barcat Oysters
Amuse Bouche
Oyster's Rockafeller
HH Raw Oysters
Scallop crudo
Wild Tisbury Oyster
Cherrystone Clam
Crawfish
Salmon
Branzino
Seafood Platter
Salmon Ceviche
Almond Cake
Caeser Salad

801 Fish - Leawood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City, KS
Romantic
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Leawood ›

special occasion (54)
romantic (34)
fit for foodies (32)
See All
notable wine list (20)
good for groups (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Very accommodating. Extraordinary servic ...

vip
Dined a day ago

Very accommodating. Extraordinary service! The food was very good. We love this place!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing! Everything! Service ex ...

Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing! Everything! Service exceptional. Server was knowledgeable on all products. They went all out for my husband's birthday. I took balloons earlier that day. They decorated the table with confetti, a personalized menu, and included dessert/champagne. A quiet evening in the restaurant. Will definitely visit again. Best kept secret!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

By far the best option for seafood in th ...

Dined 5 days ago

By far the best option for seafood in this part of KS! Even though the lobster fried rice wasn't available, I'll gladly wait for next visit to order it. I appreciate how 801 is meticulous about the quality and timeliness of delivery the fresh fish they receive must be. The only downside is, once they run out, you have to wait for next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was great though quite expensive fo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was great though quite expensive for the portion size. Service was absolutely excellent! Atmosphere is great. And if you go during non-high times it's very reasonable to be able to hear a conversation in

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The service was really no different than ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service was really no different than any other mediocre restaurant. We had been here before and it was spectacular. Service, food, the whole experience have really gone downhill. I will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

The cioppino and the whole branzino were ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The cioppino and the whole branzino were amazing.

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food was wonderful just like last time, ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was wonderful just like last time, but the service was not very good. No one really looked after us at all, in fact I got so tired of asking for things I ended up cutting my food with my butter knife.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My overall experience was very good. Th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My overall experience was very good. The seafood IS some of the freshest we get here in the Midwest. They offer a very broad selection of seafood along with a generous few non-seafood dishes. You will however pay for the quality of the meal so I would not recommend for the budget conscious but if you are looking for that special date night location this is the place.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Kevin was great, great suggestions We w ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Kevin was great, great suggestions We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service, defini ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food and excellent service, definitely a special occasion place.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

I had a wonderful dining experience. The ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I had a wonderful dining experience. The server was attentive and knowledgeable. I had oysters on the half shelf and the pan seared halibut. The oysters were tasty and the halibut was cooked perfectly.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. It is not located close to our home but the drive is well worth it. Service this last visit was outstanding and as always the food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Usually a terrific spot. Our waitress m ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Usually a terrific spot. Our waitress mis-directed us on a wine - recommending a Pinot which ended up being a Rose. My wife and I shared a chilled shellfish platter - the oysters and crab was excellent, but the shrimp were way way over done. We'll probably be back as our other visits have met with better results.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything was wonderful.

food3
ambience5
service5
value1

tiny food but gigantic price!

Dined on June 5, 2016

I am so conflicted about this place - it was red carpet service to the 'T' but I was SHOCKED at the portion size. I know in our country our portions are out of control but was speechless when my dish arrived. I ordered swordfish and steak - 37 dollars. I received 3 tiny medallions - about the size of a quarter - of swordfish with 2 even SMALLER medallions - about the size of a nickel each of what i am assuming was steak. it was so small i could barely taste it! there was some veggie garnish and that was it! Nothing comes with your entree so we ordered salad and a side to accommodate our meals and thank gosh we did or we would have been starving when we left! Either do the tiny dishes but price accordingly - or keep your current pricing and bulk up on the portions. DIshes range from the mid 30s thru the 50's just for entree with no sides. 801 Fish is located in the heart of Leawood but just because we can afford to dine here doesn't mean we want to feel ripped off after the meal! As an aside there was an extensive drink and wine menu and the Old Fashioned I had was delicious - 11 dollars for the one drink. Total bill for 2 drinks, 2 entrees, 1 salad we split and 1 side we split - 135 dollars!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific Oysters Rockafeller and Crab Ca ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Terrific Oysters Rockafeller and Crab Cakes. Sea Bass was good also

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Seafood and Service in the Area

Dined on June 4, 2016

If you are looking for fresh seafood, look no further that 801 Fish. The food and service is second to none. The wine list is amazing. And they have a special on Thu evening for $1.50 Oysters. I highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Service and attention to detail was impe ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Service and attention to detail was impeccable. Ambiance is acceptable. A very nice concept that struggles to provide food quality that matches the rest of the package, especially at the price points.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant 36 hour dock to table fish policy

Dined on June 1, 2016

801 Fish has a 36 hour dock to table fish policy. Which means from the time the fish hits the docks it has to be served within 36 hours. Not many places in the Midwest have fish this fresh. We thoroughly enjoyed our Anniversary dinner there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I will be back

Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent meal and service from salad to entree to dessert. Only one small suggestion, please prepare the lobster tail to make removal from shell easier.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the atmosphere, colored plates & li ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Love the atmosphere, colored plates & light fixtures...I feel like I'm on holiday the moment I step into this beautiful restaurant ⭐️great food/service = always !

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Exemplary sea food that is fresh and wel ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Exemplary sea food that is fresh and well prepared. AMAZING oyster selection with many choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The seafood was the best we have ever ta ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The seafood was the best we have ever tasted in the Midwest.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and food! We made me ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Exceptional service and food! We made mention it was a birthday dinner. The menu's at our table had "happy birthday" on it and it made my wife's night. The Waitress was nothing short of awesome as well!! Very knowledgeable on menu items.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

The brunch menu for Mother's Day was fab ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The brunch menu for Mother's Day was fabulous! We had a hard time deciding what to order because everything sounded great. Our food was wonderful! The only downside was they were short staffed. We were weren't in a hurry but we went long spells without seeing our waiter. Beautiful restaurant and great food!

food5
ambience4
service5

Everything about our dining experience t ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything about our dining experience tonight was amazing! We started the evening off with Hawaiian Ahi tuna tartare and fried lobster chunks. For entrées we had salmon, grilled swordfish and panseared scallops. Everything was outstanding! We Things off with goat cheese cheesecake and a decadent chocolate cake. I would highly recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family. The ambience is nice and the service is top notch.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and attentive service

Dined on May 1, 2016

This is a very nice looking and comfortable place - ideal for special occasions or dates. The food is really terrific and the service is attentive without being intrusive. The menu provides many great options and the wine list is more than adequate. The biggest down side to 801 Fish is the price of just about everything. That being said, the quality of the food and drink is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for Birthday Dinner

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

This was the perfect place for a birthday dinner, romantic, and on a Thursday night, not too crowded. They have a special on oysters on Thursdays $1.50/each so we were able to sit in the bar and enjoy a drink and some oysters before our dinner reservation time. The entrees were both prepared exceptionally well (I had the Halibut and she had the Scallops. ) the brussel sprouts were a good choice as a side dish. We were both too full for desert but the Key Lime Soufflé sounded great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Quality of food has declined

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had been to 801 Fish several times in the past and found the food to be exceptional. This was expected because it's expensive. But it had been worth the high prices in the past for the delicious food and great service. The service is still very good, but this time the food was average. We even ordered the cioppino, one of our favorite dishes from the past, and it wasn't as good as we remembered. Even with ordering two appetizers, two entrees and a dessert, I can't think of anything we tasted that I would order again.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Decent food, competently delivered.

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

The restaurant is priced for exceptional, and delivers very good. There is room for improvement. The front of the house suffers from a similar affliction. They are friendly and attentive, but not well trained. At the price point, service should be less obtrusive, and less mechanical.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We never have a bad experience at 8:01 – ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We never have a bad experience at 8:01 –Fish Oysters are superb and service is top notch!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We loved this Place!

Dined on April 8, 2016

This place is a real gem! Having recently returned from a vacation in Miami, my family and I, hoping to get another taste of the seafood and ambiance we left behind, decided to give 801 Fish a try. We couldn't believe how beautiful the restaurant was and how much it reminded us of the restaurants we ate at in Florida. The food was delicious and the ambiance can't be beat. We'll absolutely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

some greats and some not so greats

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

My boyfriend and I chose to come here for our anniversary. Our server was great but the other staff (busser?/expo?) was not so good. My secondary plates and utensils never came. He said he'd be right back with some and we just watched him clear other people's plates and refill their waters instead. I finally just took the plate under the crab cocktail and steal my bf's other tiny fork. There were other small things that just kept getting overlooked. Below is what we ate and how we rate them: - charbroiled cajun oysters - it was pretty much all breadcrumbs. I didn't like them because I like the flavor of oysters. My bf did because he does not like oysters. I was hoping for something reminiscent of NOLA. - king crab cocktail - super yummy! whatever it was dressed in was subtle enough to let the crab shine but flavorful enough to enhance it. - scallops - bf loved it. he wished there was just a little bit more of it as a main - crab stuffed lobster - lobster was fantastic. the crab was good but I wish there was more items integrated in the crab mix. - asparagus - cooked perfectly just no flavor - chocolate cake - decadent as the name suggests. perfect with the coffee.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Freshest seafood in KC!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Outstanding service, lovely ambiance, delicious sea food!!! Can't wait to go back and try happy hour!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Only comment that I have is concerning t ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Only comment that I have is concerning the wedge salad. thought it said it was "dressed" with blue cheese when in fact the dressing was something similar to thousand island. Very confusing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience and excell ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had a wonderful experience and excellent service. The happy hour oysters were great and the drinks were tasty. Our server was very attentive. It was an overall enjoyable dinner. I was disappointed that our leftover hush puppies came home without the maple butter (the best part). We had only had 1 of the bunch before they were packed up and it ended up being a waste for them to come home with us without the butter. That aside, I love 801 Fish.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on March 18, 2016

great place for a special occasion...great service and food, but pricey

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service

Dined on March 13, 2016

This was a special celebration for my husband's retirement and his birthday. There was another couple and ourselves. Our server was Brianna and she was wonderful. She was knowledgeable of every aspect of the menu, made excellent suggestions, and had a sparkling personality. We each had a different entree: Alaskan skate, cioppino, scallops, and Chilean sea bass. All were prepared perfectly. Dessert was a shared event which was good as we were quite full by the end of the meal. Overall we could not have had a more enjoyable evening. The restaurant is expensive so it is not a restaurant we can frequent often, but it was a perfect choice for our celebration and we look forward to dining there in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Invisible????

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Unfortunately our experience at 801 Fish on 3/11 started rough. We were celebrating our anniversary and were seated promptly in a booth as requested-------then sat unnoticed and unattended for at least 20 minutes. No server came to start our order for drinks and many just walked right past us as if we were invisible. I was just about to get up to complain when our server finally showed up and told us he didn't see us (i a booth right in the windows surrounded by other diners). He was fine, but no real personality. He offered no excitement about what to eat, but did a basic job of serving us. The food, as usual, was excellent, but it was not good to have a bad start to a special evening. Since this review the manager called to apologize for the events of that evening. I find this extremely commendable and appreciate his caring enough to contact me.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our new favorite KC restaurant

Dined on March 10, 2016

We've been to 801 Fish twice now, and both times our experience has been terrific. The wait staff are appropriately attentive, and the food has been incredible. We were there on my birthday most recently, and they gave us a dessert of my choosing, which had to be the Irish donuts, a great end to a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.