About 801 Fish - Leawood

11615 Rosewood
Leawood, KS 66211
View Larger Map

801 Fish is the newest restaurant concept of the 801 Restaurant Group. Our Executive Chef prepares a daily variety of the freshest fish and crustaceans from the world's most pristine waters reflecting the style of the region in which they were caught.

Our Raw Bar features multiple species of East & West coast Oysters. Join us for our Oyster Happy Hour - $1.50 East Oysters Monday-Friday. Oyster Thursday 1.50 Oysters all night in bar area

Your fresh fish cravings will be completely satisfied with one of our classic Fish House offerings such as the Whole Roasted Branzino. Don't forget our USDA Prime Beef to create your own Surf-n-Turf.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

We Offer Complimentary Valet Tuesday-Saturday

$1.50 Oysters & Happy Hour Drink pricing Monday-Friday from 4pm-6pm in the bar area. Oyster Thursday all night 1.50 oysters in bar area

Cross Street:
116th Place in Park Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 322-3474

Website:
http://www.801fish.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is Complementary available Tuesday-Saturday. Free Garage Parking, just South of the Restaurant, within walking distance, is available 7 days per week.

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private dining spaces at 801 Fish featuring seating for up to 16 guests in one of the rooms and up to 40 guests in the larger room. Both private dining spaces come fully equipped with Wi-Fi, audio, video, and teleconferencing capabilities.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Holmes - General Manager: 8558203709

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour from 4pm-6pm in the Bar Area Monday Thru Thursday. Features include $1.50 Oysters

Restaurant Photos

Hamachi Crudo
Scallops With Lemon Butter Risotto
Butter Roasted Lobster
Oysters Du Jour
Petite Platter
Soft Shell Crab
Ahi tuna
Assorted Oysters
Littleneck clams
Seafood Cioppino
saffron Tomato Cioppino
Oysters
Crudo
Clams Casino
Crispy Skin Canadian Salmon & Pork Belly
Panama Cobia Ceviche
House Made Orange Soda
Pan Roasted Columbia River Sturgeon
Bittersweet Chocolate Soufflé
Barcat Oysters
New Zealand Salmon Ceviche
Amuse Bouche
Oyster's Rockafeller
Scallop crudo
Cherrystone Clam
Wild Tisbury Oyster
HH Raw Oysters
Crawfish
Salmon
Branzino
Seafood Platter
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
Salmon Ceviche
Almond Cake
Caeser Salad

801 Fish - Leawood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Romantic (32)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great ambiance and amazing food. Only t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great ambiance and amazing food. Only to be topped by outstanding service by a knowledgeable waiter. This was our first time there and we will be returning. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

everything was excellent, everything. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

everything was excellent, everything. This will be our special occasion fish restaurant from now on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food excellent service excellent our sec ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

food excellent

service excellent

our second visit

look forward to many more

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding meal on our most r ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We had an outstanding meal on our most recent visit. The food was significantly better than previous meals we have had at 801 Fish. My husband and I will be back - soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is so perfect at this beautif ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Everything is so perfect at this beautiful restaurant.....staff, food, music, ambiance. Cant wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful server she did great. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a wonderful server she did great. We were celebrating a big birthday, however, the birthday girl had to also get sick. A bit embarrassing but the server and other staff was wonderful. We are so happy we reserved the private room due to this little mishap but again we were very pleased with everything.

We will return without the big group. We would recommend, except we must say it is a little pricey but still great food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was Very expensive. It was goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was Very expensive. It was good but not excellent. We were there on a Friday evening during what I consider to be prime dining hours and the restaurant was not half full Looks like they need to make some adjustments if they plan to remain in business. Our waitress was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The wait staff was amazing. The way the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The wait staff was amazing. The way the menu was described and how in-depth the explanation was was great. We took many of our waiters recommendations and was not disappointed at all. Food was great, walked out full but not miserable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was not as good as other fresh flow ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was not as good as other fresh flown in seafood restaurants(Bristol, McCormick and Schmick's). Seemed a little over priced for the quality of food. Fish was dry and mashed potatoes very salty and bland. Over all, for the price I will eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was fresh and deliciously seasoned. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was fresh and deliciously seasoned. Our server Tiffany, was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A bit of an uneven experience. Our serv ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

A bit of an uneven experience. Our server, when with us, was friendly, helpful and pleasant. But she seemed to have too many tables to serve and we had to try and flag her down a number of times. The food was great, but the whole meal seemed to take a strangely long time. Like we waited 15 minutes for bread - but once it arrived, it was delicious with its accompanying perfectly-softened-butter. We waited at least 25 minutes between our appetizer and our main course. Food was good when it arrived, but really? Dinner with appetizer, main course, no dessert or coffee (we were afraid we'd be there another 30 mins) was over about 2 hours. Great atmosphere, great food, but hmmm, do I want to invest all that time again? Not sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was a little slow the evening we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was a little slow the evening we were there, however it did seem unusually busy for a Tuesday evening. This would definetly be what I would call a fine dining experience requiring at least slacks and a colored shirt for a gentlemen so I was offended by the two gentlemen that arrived in less then dress shorts, and tee shirts. I think at the very least there should be something said about that kind of dress. The food was incredibly delicious, and well prepared, also creative but still edible. The portion sizes were wonderful with no nessecity for take home containers . Overall the evening was a big hit, and we will be dining here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always fresh fish flown in daily w/ impe ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always fresh fish flown in daily w/ impeccable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have given this restaurant 4 separate ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have given this restaurant 4 separate chances and will not be back. From my husbands mushy oysters (for which we did complain) to my lukewarm linguini, we just have finally said enough is enough. We will continue to enjoy 801 Chophouse, but 801 Fish is no longer worth the price you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

The seafood was amazing! The wine was wo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The seafood was amazing! The wine was wonderful as well. Our waitress was very knowledgeable of the entrees and the best wine to pair with the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a disappointment. Service was g ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was a disappointment. Service was good. The restaurant has a nice feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Food quality is not what it used to be. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food quality is not what it used to be. Otherwise service remains good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Good selection of food items. Service w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good selection of food items. Service was very good and food was perfect .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service was great as always. Fi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food and service was great as always. First time taking our kids and think it is more enjoyable as a date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The small shell fish platter was excelle ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The small shell fish platter was excellent as were the scallops in cream sauce. Outstanding meal, a tad expensive .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was good (lobster bisque has a kick ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was good (lobster bisque has a kick as does the shrimp & grits). Beware, all of the entrees are served with some sort of sauce so don't hesitate to ask for sauce on the side in order to taste the fresh fish. Wine list is extensive. Biggest complaint was to have a very nice restaurant & experienced staff wheel food out on a rolling cart.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a very nice dining experience. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a very nice dining experience. The waitress was very attentive and friendly. The food was very good. Bread was warm and fresh. The crabcake was made mostly of crab, which is delightful as other restaurants tend to use more filler. We both had the 801 wedge salad. To my disappointment, my wedge was on a "bad" head of lettuce. My husband notified the waitress and she took it off our bill. Little did I know, my husband also had a "bad" head of lettuce, but he did not say anything and just kept on eating it. That would be the only thing that was bad during this experience. I had salmon and my husband had the halibut. The salmon was delicious! Overall, it is a very nice place with good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service and atmosphere. Foun ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. Found that food portions were not as generous as sister restaurant 801 Chophouse, but still enjoyable nonetheless.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful food and we'll informed staff ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful food and we'll informed staff with beautiful presentation that didn't disappoint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding fresh seafood-dont miss the ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

outstanding fresh seafood-dont miss the crabcake. service is meticulous and very personal. probably the best meal I have had in the past 6 months

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think the price was a little high for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I think the price was a little high for the level of food. The choice of desserts was limited. But overall the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very accommodating. Extraordinary servic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very accommodating. Extraordinary service! The food was very good. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

"Prime Rib of Salmon" was a unique prepa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

"Prime Rib of Salmon" was a unique preparation of salmon, with a horseradish cream and peppercorn topping. Very good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Overpriced for the quality of food serve ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Overpriced for the quality of food served. Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was amazing! Everything! Service ex ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was amazing! Everything! Service exceptional. Server was knowledgeable on all products. They went all out for my husband's birthday. I took balloons earlier that day. They decorated the table with confetti, a personalized menu, and included dessert/champagne. A quiet evening in the restaurant. Will definitely visit again. Best kept secret!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

By far the best option for seafood in th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

By far the best option for seafood in this part of KS! Even though the lobster fried rice wasn't available, I'll gladly wait for next visit to order it. I appreciate how 801 is meticulous about the quality and timeliness of delivery the fresh fish they receive must be. The only downside is, once they run out, you have to wait for next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great though quite expensive fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was great though quite expensive for the portion size. Service was absolutely excellent! Atmosphere is great. And if you go during non-high times it's very reasonable to be able to hear a conversation in

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The service was really no different than ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was really no different than any other mediocre restaurant. We had been here before and it was spectacular. Service, food, the whole experience have really gone downhill. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The cioppino and the whole branzino were ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The cioppino and the whole branzino were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful just like last time, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was wonderful just like last time, but the service was not very good. No one really looked after us at all, in fact I got so tired of asking for things I ended up cutting my food with my butter knife.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

My overall experience was very good. Th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My overall experience was very good. The seafood IS some of the freshest we get here in the Midwest. They offer a very broad selection of seafood along with a generous few non-seafood dishes. You will however pay for the quality of the meal so I would not recommend for the budget conscious but if you are looking for that special date night location this is the place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Kevin was great, great suggestions We w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Kevin was great, great suggestions

We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service, defini ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food and excellent service, definitely a special occasion place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had a wonderful dining experience. The ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I had a wonderful dining experience. The server was attentive and knowledgeable. I had oysters on the half shelf and the pan seared halibut. The oysters were tasty and the halibut was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. It is not located close to our home but the drive is well worth it. Service this last visit was outstanding and as always the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.