Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

801 Chophouse – Kansas City801 Chophouse – Kansas City
(1210)
$$$$
Steakhouse | KC Power & Light District, Kansas City, MO
Booked 2 times today
801 Chophouse Leawood801 Chophouse Leawood
(964)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 5 times today
Pig & Finch GastropubPig & Finch Gastropub
(795)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 3 times today
Bristol Seafood Grill – Leawood, KSBristol Seafood Grill – Leawood, KS
(3628)
$$$$
Seafood | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 57 times today
North Italia – Kansas CityNorth Italia – Kansas City
(1261)
$$$$
Italian | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 32 times today
Red Door Woodfired Grill - LeawoodRed Door Woodfired Grill - Leawood
(488)
$$$$
American | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 13 times today
RyeRye
(1885)
$$$$
American | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 38 times today
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - LeawoodBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Leawood
(408)
$$$$
Italian | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 17 times today
Tavern at Mission FarmsTavern at Mission Farms
(969)
$$$$
American | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 16 times today
The Grille at Park PlaceThe Grille at Park Place
(327)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 2 times today
Sushi HouseSushi House
(325)
$$$$
Sushi | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 4 times today
Hereford House - LeawoodHereford House - Leawood
(1378)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 14 times today
RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - LeawoodRA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood
(145)
$$$$
Japanese | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Sullivan's Steakhouse - LeawoodSullivan's Steakhouse - Leawood
(1455)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 1 time today
La Bodega - LeawoodLa Bodega - Leawood
(786)
$$$$
Spanish | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 17 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Permanently Closed - 801 Fish - Leawood

This restaurant is permanently closed. 801 Fish is the newest restaurant concept of the 801 Restaurant Group. Our Executive Chef prepares a daily variety of the freshest fish and crustaceans from the world's most pristine waters reflecting the style of the region in which they were caught.

Our Raw Bar features multiple species of East & West coast Oysters. Join us for our Oyster Happy Hour - $1.50 East Oysters Monday-Friday. Oyster Thursday 1.50 Oysters all night in bar area

Your fresh fish cravings will be completely satisfied with one of our classic Fish House offerings such as the Whole Roasted Branzino. Don't forget our USDA Prime Beef to create your own Surf-n-Turf.

11615 Rosewood
Leawood, KS 66211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

We Offer Complimentary Valet Tuesday-Saturday

$1.50 Oysters & Happy Hour Drink pricing Monday-Friday from 4pm-6pm in the bar area. Oyster Thursday all night 1.50 oysters in bar area

Cross Street:
116th Place in Park Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 322-3474

Website:
http://www.801fish.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is Complementary available Tuesday-Saturday. Free Garage Parking, just South of the Restaurant, within walking distance, is available 7 days per week.

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private dining spaces at 801 Fish featuring seating for up to 16 guests in one of the rooms and up to 40 guests in the larger room. Both private dining spaces come fully equipped with Wi-Fi, audio, video, and teleconferencing capabilities.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Holmes - General Manager: (855) 820-3709

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour from 4pm-6pm in the Bar Area Monday Thru Thursday. Features include $1.50 Oysters

801 Fish - Leawood - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

2.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

2.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.0

value

2.0

noise

Moderate

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
S
572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was fine. At this price point the food can only be excellent and it was mediocre at best. The clam chowder came out cold and we had to send it back to be heated. I had a 60.00 entree of crab stuffed lobster and it just wasn't spectacular. For 60.00 it has to be spectacular or I won't go back. I don't mind spending the money to take my wife out for a wonderful dinner but it just wasn't wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was good, service was amazing!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wonderful oysters and great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Love every shrimp dish we have tried there. The lobster is fantastic, crab legs are fantastic. Oysters are great. Everything is very fresh. Skip the Sole and Lobster Bisque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and nice atmosphere. We really enjoyed everything about our experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was well prepared, appealing to the eye and overall very good. Our service was not great but the server was very friendly. I thought your pricing was high on your apps. and sides. I thought your drink prices were very high, $13.00 for Johnny Walker Red, $7.00 to $9.00 anywhere else in town.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Loved the place. Had been to 801 Chop many times, but first time for 801 Fish. Loved it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I thought the restaurant had a really nice atmosphere! Unfortunately, our "restaurant week" menu items were disappointing. Our crab cakes were an appetizer portion and the items that accompanied the crab cakes were cold. Our server was very sweet and friendly.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The brussel sprouts we too salty.
Otherwise food was good.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I went for restaurant week and loved this place and will return soon. The service by our waiter was impeccable! This restaurant is a must if you like great food & service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was great. Our server was attentive and knew her sea food. The cost for the value of the food was not a good match. The desserts were mediocre.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great seafood and wine selection. The wait staff is very professional and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Friends steak over Cooked. Management did make it right, but really delayed her receiving main course. I wanted to wait for her to eat so then mine was cold.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Disappointed in our meal. The Salmon was overly sweet and crab cakes had no lumps of crab. The best part of the meal was a key lime cheesecake, it was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We have known 801 Fish has an amazing HH with their $1 oysters, but since we don't live/work close, we were eager to visit for a special occasion dinner. Katie Owens (she had a business card!), our server, was phenomenal. The cuts of steak and salmon were top-notch and cooked to perfection! We had a wonderful time, and left satisfied, feeling like we experienced a wonderful VALUE for what we received. Highly recommend, and we will be back soon; this "Fish" place tops the Plaza steakhouses for steak-eaters, and has amazing seafood, even in the Midwest --and is a beautiful venue! I was so impressed!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great time. Nice quality of food
Perfect for business

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Over priced tiny portions, and I had shell pieces in my crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food was very good. The fish was prepared perfectly and fresh. The waiter was completely accommodating to my wife's vegetarian and our dairy free wishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Lovely place and food was awesome! Nice space between tables and the wait staff very attentive with bothering you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My wife and I were introduced to 801 Fish due to Restaurant week. We are both fish lovers and
the fish served was excellent. The restaurant is very modern and lovely. We were seated at a
window seat and had an outstanding, personable server named Drew. Drew explained everything that he served to us. He engaged in nice conversation with us and did not rush our
service. Our dinner was excellent and Drew invited us to return to enjoy the full menu.
We thought it would be a nice special occasion restaurant for us. However, we did notice
several business groups enjoying dinner there as well.

We will definitely return.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We ate here during Restaurant Week, so I'd like to give them the benefit of the doubt, but I'm not sure they can take it this far. There were two of us, we ordered quickly and we were still there 2 hours. Not by choice. The food was mediocre. My filet was charred so heavily that it was barely edible. Soup was cold. Service was so slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We went as a part of R- week and I was surprised to find that there was not fresh fish on the 3 items which were offered for the special. Our choice was Salmon, crab cake, or a small filet. I wanted some grilled fish. I though there service was very slow and the portions were very small. The wine was expensive . I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We went for the first time during restaurant week. The ambience and service was great the food was lacking. Potion sizes were small on the clam chowder and crab cakes. The clam chowder was really good just very little of it. The salmon portion I had had many scales left on it taking away from the dish. The creme brûlée was a huge disappointment, texture was off, very thick more like a thick pudding and there was no crunchy top that you crack through fur each bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This is a very classy place with exceptional service. The prices are a little high, so I would only go there on special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It took forever to get our food and the restaurant was not crowded in the least. Slowest service I have ever experienced. Food was very good after the unexplained long, long wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Disgusting experience! If you don't like your food touched by strangers then stay away! My husband I wanted to try 801 Fish for a long time, so we made reservations for the first Saturday of Restaurant Week. The place is pretty, but that's all it has going for it. Everything is over-priced, so I expected to be extra impressed. I was disappointed right away.
It was clear to me that 801 Fish does NOT know these basics of professionalism, cleanliness or the importance of proper food handling. Having an open kitchen invites people to look in, so everything should be in top performance, especially at a place like 801 Fish.
Here's the disgusting part. We saw the salad makers eating food over the salads they were preparing with their bare hands. One in particular put his hand in his mouth several times and continued making salads. Mixing, putting the toppings on, taking the lettuces out of what I assume is a grill...all with bare hands. Then, the salad maker would go cut open oysters with his bare hands and go back to making salads. At one point an oyster fell out of the shell onto a questionable surface and we watched him pick it up with his bare hands and put it back in the shell and served. Then, I looked over where the steaks and main hot dishes are prepared, again no gloves. I saw a guy grab his whole bare hand around a cooked steak to move it to another plate, and then manhandled the cooked asparagus in the same way. It was gross. My husband and I had clam chowder and crab cakes, and we did not see our food touched, but I can only assume that it was also carelessly prepared with bare hands. We spent $100 and walked away feeling sick about what we saw. I so wish we would have left when we started seeing the lack of standards, but felt bad because we had already ordered and ate our first course. I didn't even feel like we could enjoy our food because all we thought about was "did they wash their hands?" Never returning. Bristol has better food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Ordered off the restaurant week menu. Food was good not memorable and service was as expected in a fine dining restaurant. Appetizers ordered off the regular menu were not good. Hawaiian tuna had no flavor and we should have sent it back but we don't like to do that. Oysters Rockefeller were marginal and not made well. Had them here previously and they were amazing. Very disappointing as the first time we went everything was very, very good. We won't be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went for restaurant week. Have been there 1 time before. I love the decor and mood.
Our service was excellent and food was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food and service were excellent. The creme brûlée was disappointing. We will go back there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

been to 801 Fish multiple times....meal was good this time but not great..
Tad overpriced for what you get...all was good but not overwhelming heap with praise great.
For a Saturday night place was not very full...hope it does not create cause for concern that it may be leaving us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were celebrating my sister in law's birthday with some friends. It was excellent, always is!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been here before and enjoyed out meals and experiences but this time celebrating New Year's Eve was overall disappointing. I love the ambience, the service was great, but the food and pacing left Much to be desired. Our apps were quite good but then we waited over an hour for our mains to come out and by then they were luke warm. Even if the temps had been as they should be the flavors were not up to par. I don't mind paying high end prices if the food stands up to it but this night that was not the case. I believe they were severely short staffed and there was no point to complaining as there was nothing that could be done to correct the problems but quite a bummer when celebrating a special night. Will probably try it again but not for quite some time. I hope they do better next time because I'd love to be able to go back and enjoy an evening there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The ambiance and food are wonderful. The problem here, as was on our last visit, is it takes forever to get the wonderful food.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We sat at Chef's table, as requested. Chef Joshua was fantastic. One of the best meals we've had at 801 Fish. Fun, attentive staff from start to finish. Great way to kick off our New Year's Eve! Our primary server , Tiffany Stanwood, was exceptional. Relaxed, never rushed, great humor, detailed recommendations. From the valets, to hostess to asst mgr, it was as wonderful as always. Our friend's 1st time & she was Wow'd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food. Most underrated restaurant in the Kansas. Amazing seafood and steak. The staff was friendly and very accommodating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful venue for a birthday dinner with great seafood and attentive service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I have never had a bad meal there. The fish is always cooked perfectly and the service is great!!

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This restaurant is worth the drive. The service is spot on as is the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I highly recommend this restaurant. I had the 16 oz lobster tail and we ordered half portions of the sides so we could try out more options. Trust me on what I am about to say, order the brussel sprouts. Even my wife, who is not a huge fan of brussel sprouts by any measure, loved them. The manager came out and gave us a free shrimp cocktail since our food was taking a little bit longer than he thought it should and he did so before we were thinking it had been too long.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

801 Fish is a very good seafood house, with a very creative menu, great service and super ambiance. My suggestion would be to include some additional items on the menu that are more traditionally prepared fish and shellfish. Items such as aha tuna "pot roast" was not appealing to me, but an item which featured a filet of tuna would have caught my attention and appetite. The place is a bit on the pricy side which made it OK for a special occasion, but not sure if I would select it for a routine night out for dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.