About 801 Fish - Leawood

11615 Rosewood
Leawood, KS 66211
View Larger Map

801 Fish is the newest restaurant concept of the 801 Restaurant Group. Our Executive Chef prepares a daily variety of the freshest fish and crustaceans from the world's most pristine waters reflecting the style of the region in which they were caught.

Our Raw Bar features multiple species of East & West coast Oysters. Join us for our Oyster Happy Hour - $1.50 East Oysters Monday-Friday. Oyster Thursday 1.50 Oysters all night in bar area

Your fresh fish cravings will be completely satisfied with one of our classic Fish House offerings such as the Whole Roasted Branzino. Don't forget our USDA Prime Beef to create your own Surf-n-Turf.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

We Offer Complimentary Valet Tuesday-Saturday

$1.50 Oysters & Happy Hour Drink pricing Monday-Friday from 4pm-6pm in the bar area. Oyster Thursday all night 1.50 oysters in bar area

Cross Street:
116th Place in Park Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 322-3474

Website:
http://www.801fish.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is Complementary available Tuesday-Saturday. Free Garage Parking, just South of the Restaurant, within walking distance, is available 7 days per week.

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private dining spaces at 801 Fish featuring seating for up to 16 guests in one of the rooms and up to 40 guests in the larger room. Both private dining spaces come fully equipped with Wi-Fi, audio, video, and teleconferencing capabilities.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Holmes - General Manager: 8558203709

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour from 4pm-6pm in the Bar Area Monday Thru Thursday. Features include $1.50 Oysters

Restaurant Photos

801 Fish - Leawood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City, KS
Romantic
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Leawood ›

special occasion (44)
romantic (30)
fit for foodies (24)
See All
notable wine list (14)
good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Exemplary sea food that is fresh and wel ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Exemplary sea food that is fresh and well prepared. AMAZING oyster selection with many choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The seafood was the best we have ever ta ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The seafood was the best we have ever tasted in the Midwest.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and food! We made me ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Exceptional service and food! We made mention it was a birthday dinner. The menu's at our table had "happy birthday" on it and it made my wife's night. The Waitress was nothing short of awesome as well!! Very knowledgeable on menu items.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

The brunch menu for Mother's Day was fab ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The brunch menu for Mother's Day was fabulous! We had a hard time deciding what to order because everything sounded great. Our food was wonderful! The only downside was they were short staffed. We were weren't in a hurry but we went long spells without seeing our waiter. Beautiful restaurant and great food!

food5
ambience4
service5

Everything about our dining experience t ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything about our dining experience tonight was amazing! We started the evening off with Hawaiian Ahi tuna tartare and fried lobster chunks. For entrées we had salmon, grilled swordfish and panseared scallops. Everything was outstanding! We Things off with goat cheese cheesecake and a decadent chocolate cake. I would highly recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family. The ambience is nice and the service is top notch.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and attentive service

Dined on May 1, 2016

This is a very nice looking and comfortable place - ideal for special occasions or dates. The food is really terrific and the service is attentive without being intrusive. The menu provides many great options and the wine list is more than adequate. The biggest down side to 801 Fish is the price of just about everything. That being said, the quality of the food and drink is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for Birthday Dinner

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

This was the perfect place for a birthday dinner, romantic, and on a Thursday night, not too crowded. They have a special on oysters on Thursdays $1.50/each so we were able to sit in the bar and enjoy a drink and some oysters before our dinner reservation time. The entrees were both prepared exceptionally well (I had the Halibut and she had the Scallops. ) the brussel sprouts were a good choice as a side dish. We were both too full for desert but the Key Lime Soufflé sounded great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Quality of food has declined

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had been to 801 Fish several times in the past and found the food to be exceptional. This was expected because it's expensive. But it had been worth the high prices in the past for the delicious food and great service. The service is still very good, but this time the food was average. We even ordered the cioppino, one of our favorite dishes from the past, and it wasn't as good as we remembered. Even with ordering two appetizers, two entrees and a dessert, I can't think of anything we tasted that I would order again.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Decent food, competently delivered.

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

The restaurant is priced for exceptional, and delivers very good. There is room for improvement. The front of the house suffers from a similar affliction. They are friendly and attentive, but not well trained. At the price point, service should be less obtrusive, and less mechanical.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We never have a bad experience at 8:01 – ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We never have a bad experience at 8:01 –Fish Oysters are superb and service is top notch!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We loved this Place!

Dined on April 8, 2016

This place is a real gem! Having recently returned from a vacation in Miami, my family and I, hoping to get another taste of the seafood and ambiance we left behind, decided to give 801 Fish a try. We couldn't believe how beautiful the restaurant was and how much it reminded us of the restaurants we ate at in Florida. The food was delicious and the ambiance can't be beat. We'll absolutely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

some greats and some not so greats

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

My boyfriend and I chose to come here for our anniversary. Our server was great but the other staff (busser?/expo?) was not so good. My secondary plates and utensils never came. He said he'd be right back with some and we just watched him clear other people's plates and refill their waters instead. I finally just took the plate under the crab cocktail and steal my bf's other tiny fork. There were other small things that just kept getting overlooked. Below is what we ate and how we rate them: - charbroiled cajun oysters - it was pretty much all breadcrumbs. I didn't like them because I like the flavor of oysters. My bf did because he does not like oysters. I was hoping for something reminiscent of NOLA. - king crab cocktail - super yummy! whatever it was dressed in was subtle enough to let the crab shine but flavorful enough to enhance it. - scallops - bf loved it. he wished there was just a little bit more of it as a main - crab stuffed lobster - lobster was fantastic. the crab was good but I wish there was more items integrated in the crab mix. - asparagus - cooked perfectly just no flavor - chocolate cake - decadent as the name suggests. perfect with the coffee.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Freshest seafood in KC!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Outstanding service, lovely ambiance, delicious sea food!!! Can't wait to go back and try happy hour!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Only comment that I have is concerning t ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Only comment that I have is concerning the wedge salad. thought it said it was "dressed" with blue cheese when in fact the dressing was something similar to thousand island. Very confusing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience and excell ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had a wonderful experience and excellent service. The happy hour oysters were great and the drinks were tasty. Our server was very attentive. It was an overall enjoyable dinner. I was disappointed that our leftover hush puppies came home without the maple butter (the best part). We had only had 1 of the bunch before they were packed up and it ended up being a waste for them to come home with us without the butter. That aside, I love 801 Fish.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on March 18, 2016

great place for a special occasion...great service and food, but pricey

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service

Dined on March 13, 2016

This was a special celebration for my husband's retirement and his birthday. There was another couple and ourselves. Our server was Brianna and she was wonderful. She was knowledgeable of every aspect of the menu, made excellent suggestions, and had a sparkling personality. We each had a different entree: Alaskan skate, cioppino, scallops, and Chilean sea bass. All were prepared perfectly. Dessert was a shared event which was good as we were quite full by the end of the meal. Overall we could not have had a more enjoyable evening. The restaurant is expensive so it is not a restaurant we can frequent often, but it was a perfect choice for our celebration and we look forward to dining there in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Invisible????

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Unfortunately our experience at 801 Fish on 3/11 started rough. We were celebrating our anniversary and were seated promptly in a booth as requested-------then sat unnoticed and unattended for at least 20 minutes. No server came to start our order for drinks and many just walked right past us as if we were invisible. I was just about to get up to complain when our server finally showed up and told us he didn't see us (i a booth right in the windows surrounded by other diners). He was fine, but no real personality. He offered no excitement about what to eat, but did a basic job of serving us. The food, as usual, was excellent, but it was not good to have a bad start to a special evening. Since this review the manager called to apologize for the events of that evening. I find this extremely commendable and appreciate his caring enough to contact me.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our new favorite KC restaurant

Dined on March 10, 2016

We've been to 801 Fish twice now, and both times our experience has been terrific. The wait staff are appropriately attentive, and the food has been incredible. We were there on my birthday most recently, and they gave us a dessert of my choosing, which had to be the Irish donuts, a great end to a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

dinner with wife

Dined on March 6, 2016

The restaurant atmosphere and service was good. However, the quality of the food was very moderate. Did not get much for your money and will not return until the quality of the food improves or when the chef can learn to prepare it properly. Definetly would not recommend to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service4

Celebrated my mom's birthday with family ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Celebrated my mom's birthday with family. Made reservation on Open Table, noting her birthday, and we showed up, seated in a great spot with menus that said "Happy Birthday" as well as a signed menu for her to take home-all made her feel special. Food and wine selection was great. As the restaurant got busier, we noticed attentiveness slow down-but there were still empty tables around us. Nice ambiance and experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

I made reservations for 8 of us on open table. In the comments section I noted that this was for my wife's birthday (and included her name). Also asked for a nice quiet spot. I really did not think that any of the comments would be read or acted on. Well...to my huge surprise...when we arrived they seated us at a nice large table in the back corner (perfect) then handed out the menus. It took me a few minutes to notice that at the top of the menu it said "Happy Birthday"! They then presented my wife with one to take home! Great job 801 Fish!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Serious Seafood for Midwest

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday this year. It was a special treat to share the experience and 801 Fish. This is a serious seafood destination for a Midwest location. The fish is ALL flown in daily and is fresh caught. The atmosphere and bar are fantastic. Have the exepectation of a white table cloth, a knowledgeable server, and a multi course experience. The raw bar is good and offers several raw oyster selections. Desserts are a nice selection if you have room following your meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food paired with great service.

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great food paired with great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy 801 Fish

Dined on January 30, 2016

The crab legs are very good, which is what I order every time we visit. My husband enjoy the lobster fried rice as a side to any meal he orders. Lobster fried rice is so good that a to go order is usually done so that it can be enjoyed the following day as well. We have never experienced anything but exceptional food and service at 801 Fish. It is on our go to list for seafood when we are craving it.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak night surprise!

vip
Dined on January 25, 2016

So we ended up going here with friends for the last night of restaurant week and 3 of the 4 of us ended up having steak. Highly recommended but not what I was expecting before hand. Though we've been there a few times, this was our first time in the bar area, which is spectacular to just gaze at the bar back. The restaurant was very full and the noise levels were low, though even when busier it doesn't seem to be that noisy. It was nice to see them offer some wine options for restaurant week also, and we had a very tasty Pinot Noir. Two bottles actually. The Cesar Salad is presented with a soft boiled yoke, which is mixed in and though I didn't have it was tasty but all account. The steaks we had was accompanied by some of the largest asparagus stalks and tasty mashed potatoes and a veal jus and very little was left on the plate by the time I had finished. I finished with the creme brule which is hard to get wrong, but The Wife had the Smores cake which was a bit of a disappoint. Overall a nice place for special occasions, but I tend to find it a little pricey and not the best value for money in terms of fish restaurants in the KC area.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Not what I was expecting.

Dined on January 25, 2016

My fiance and I decided to try 801 Fish for restaurant week as a possible new place to eat. We were sorely disappointed. It took 15 minutes to get our drinks which is quite ridiculous and the food was sub par. I ordered clam chowder, scallops, and a Smore cheesecake. While the clam chowder broth was pleasant, it toted on the menu having potatoes and clam. It had one potato and one piece of clam. The scallops arrived looking pleasant, too bad the tastes did not coincide. The scallops rested on a bed of risotto that was luke warm and had absolutely no flavor more like eating a bowl of oatmeal. And to top it off one of my scallops was ice cold. Lastly the cheesecake was more fun to try and pry off the plate than eat. The chef that prepared it went a little overboard with their torch. They had toasted a few marshmallow filling drops on the plate and due to it either sitting too long or a failure in preparation they were completely stuck to the plate. I tried prying them off and only succeeded in bending the fork. The service was fair but the overall didning experience was dreadful. To compare it to another decent restaraunt in town would be humorous.

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Very disappointing evening NO recommenda ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Very disappointing evening NO recommendations to friends.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our family enjoyed dinner at 801 fish on ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Our family enjoyed dinner at 801 fish on Saturday night. The crab cakes are delicious and have a lot of crab meat with little fillers. The clam chowder is creamy and smooth. We greatly enjoy the Caesar salad presentation with egg on the side. The service was good despite the restaurant being very busy. The downside to a busy Saturday night is the noise level at times were such that it was hard to talk to each other.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

not impressed

Dined on January 23, 2016

for the money we were just not impressed- did not think the food was that great we did like the deserts -- on the other hand we highly recommend 801 chophouse

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth the big bill

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Yes, an expensive restaurant but we went for our second visit during restaurant week. Great value during restaurant week at least. We did have to wait over 30 minutes for our table even though it wasn't very busy, but the manager recognized the problem and took care of it very graciously by taking care of our appetizers. Our server was very attentive and took great care of our large group. The calamari was a little overcooked, but everything else that we ordered was just perfectly cooked and tasted great. Salmon, crab cakes, scallops, everything was delicious. We will go back for special occasions for sure.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good but not remarkable

Dined on January 23, 2016

If I hadn't been to 801 Chophouse before, I think I would have really liked this place and given it 5 stars, but since I had, I expect it to be equally amazing. It was definitely good. I have no complaints about my meal or experience; it just didn't blow me away.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

beyond restaurant week

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Four of us ate here for restaurant week and it was a fun night! Food was delicious, portions generous and lots of options. We added cocktails, sides and wine to our meal so the cost was a bit above the RW price -- but well worth it. Most importantly, we had an excellent server. She has only been there a few months but she is a pro!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't beat Restaurant Week

Dined on January 22, 2016

Went 801Fish during Restaurant Week will definitely go back. While I know Restaurant Week is not a favorite time in the industry, this place and staff rocked it. The server, Nicole, was upbeat and gave us her recommendations which were spot on! The food was beautiful and tasted even better than it looked. The busser, Lou, was inconspicuously there keeping water glasses full and removing empty plates. The GM, Michael, stopped by most tables talking with patrons and making sure everything was perfect. The ambiance is wonderful. I couldn't ask for a better evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very Good Food

Dined on January 22, 2016

The carts the waiters push around are loud and awkward. For a white table cloth restaurant, it was really loud because of all of the hard surfaces & those carts. The restaurant is beautiful. Even the stainless steel on the walls in the kitchen resembles fish scales. The overhead lighting & sconces are works of art. The Caesar salad was the best I have ever had. Charred romaine lettuce with an egg on the side. The scallops were good, but not the best I've had this week (Novel) and the risotto with Myer lemon was interesting but again, not the best I've had this week (J. Gilbert). The salmon with lentils & sweet potatoes was delicious (I wish I would have ordered it). The desserts were way too sweet and pretty boring, I tried the blackberry crumble & the s'more and did not particularly enjoy any of them. The s'more tasted more like sweetened condensed milk than chocolate. The server provided no warning that the blackberry crumble was being served in a ramekin fresh from the oven. This could really be a problem for someone. All in all, very good and I will go back - I'll likely skip dessert.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Restaurant Week

Dined on January 21, 2016

Great opportunity to try this restaurant. Good food, service and ambiance. Will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect Restaurant Week try!

Dined on January 20, 2016

This place was amazing! The scallops and risotto were SO tasty. The caesar salad came out with an egg, which was unexpected, but it was very tasty. The dessert also hit the spot. The happy hour was perfect to enjoy before our dinner reservation. Great spot for Restaurant Week!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on January 19, 2016

Enjoyed the restaurant week menu....great choices. Salad was good but the entrees (scallops & crab cakes) were outstanding. Our waiter was very helpful & professional. The location is in an office park so not great views from the many windows. This is a great place if you enjoy really fresh seafood.....wonderful oysters....great deals during happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Evening

Dined on January 19, 2016

The fish was very fresh, and the crab was excellent, never frozen as served in other fish restaurants locally. The caesar salad was very unusual presentation and excellent taste. The scallops were normal, tasty, but nothing outstanding. The chocolate cheesecake was special, but they should lose the cookie on top, tasted store bought! Wine was good by the glass, and sides were nicely prepared. Atmosphere was friendly, and the server was very attentive and personable but not intrusive. Excellent evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Delicious

Dined on January 18, 2016

This was my first visit to this restaurant and it was delicious. We went during restaurant week so we were treated to an exceptional meal at a very reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.