Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: (314) 875-9900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (123)
Good for Anniversaries (101)
Good for a Date (92)
See All
Good for Birthdays (76)
Romantic (76)
Business Meals (76)
Notable Wine List (53)
Bar Seating (49)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Groups (39)
Worth the Drive (39)
Hot Spot (29)
People Watching (28)
Cozy (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Happy Hour (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Fun (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Authentic (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Casual (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Scenic View (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Waterfront (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely amazing food and service. Chocolate soufflé for desert was delicious.
Have been several times and will be back. Tim was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

801 is consistent. Good food and service. The price is on the high side but for that special occasion it is worth the trip and price.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The chophouse used to be my favorite. I'm not sure what happened. The tuna was lousy, the corn fibery, prime rib was much better the other times I went. I asked for a manhattan served up. I got one on the rocks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I were celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary. She ordered the pork chop, which was super moist, and I had the ribeye steak. The surprises we received were outstanding. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to my family and friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent experience every time we went. Great food, great service. A little pricy but well worth it!! I highly recommend this establishment for special occasions and great food.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I ordered the 12 oz filet medium rare. The filet was medium rare as requested. However, the bottom of the steak was seared too much, it was burnt and overpowered the steak flavor. I didn't want them to throw the steak away and be wasteful, so I just cut the bottom off and ate the rest of the steak. Consequently, the steak did not have the flavor from the properly seared steak. The steak was good, but it could have been much better. For the price I paid for the steak, it should have been great. Also, I really didn't receive 12 oz edible steak, but paid for 12 oz. The bake potato was the highlight and the carrots were good. Considering all, I think the food is overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

I don't like dissing a restaurant...everyone was nice but when you're paying these prices you expect a lot more. The first time we dined here we got extremely attentive service from everyone & at the end of the evening were asked if we had used the valet & had our car waiting for us when we got outside. None of that happened this time & although my husband enjoyed his steak & sides ordered separately, I'm not a beef lover & thought I'd still enjoy a great piece of fish since 801 fish is just across the street & they "share" ingredients. Unfortunately my halibut looked & tasted as if I ordered it from Long John Silver. It was coated in something not tender...was difficult to cut, & had no seasoning...nor did the veggies that came on the plate. The creamed corn that accompanied it was the only seasoned item & in comparison tasted really salty. I'm glad my husband enjoyed his but we both agreed there's better restaurants to spend that kind of money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

my steak was burnt. maybe they are too busy that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was not worth the high price. The service was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Top of our list of places to eat. Enjoy dining with friends at 801.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great all the way around. Friendly outgoing staff and wonderful food! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Had a wonderful birthday dinner here with my friend. The Maine lobster was absolutely delicious, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food and atmosphere were fantastic, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had a great meal with great friends!! Service was EXCELLENT!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was amazing...service was top notch! Great place to celebrate a special occasion for sure!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great steak! A little too much kitchen noise, and a little pricey. Dinner for two with a bottle of wine will cost you at least $250 with tip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic meal as always! Wine list is a bit weak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service, our waiter was very informed with the wine and meat cuts, extremely personable and attentive. Food quality was excellent, steak could almost be cut with a fork it was so tender and perfectly seasoned. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion or date night out. Very nice ambience with private booths and larger tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our waiter was awesome. Can't remember his name but he had a bunch of pens in his pocket.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food and service was excellent. Our waitress was a little bit too chatty though. The wine list is outstanding, and the sommelier was very helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I'm a regular at the restaurant and generally have great things to say, but this was a very bad visit. The restaurant was slow, but the service was terrible. Servers were distracted and more involved in conversations w each other rather than being attentive to customers. I practically had to flag someone down just to get a drink. My meal came out painfully slow, even though there were very few other patrons. Very disappointing and totally unacceptable for a meal this expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great for steaks! It's usually pretty noisy but we were there on a Tuesday, so less busy and less noisy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food, great service, very loud. We used a Groupon on our recent visit to 801 Chophouse. We had been there before and came away thinking it was overpriced compared to other high-end restaurants in St. Louis specializing in steak. We also found it to be very noisy. We had a much better experience the second time around but the noise was still an issue. If you enjoy a lot of restaurant noise then 801 Chophouse is difficult to beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was our 5th visit. Most likely our last. We weren't seated at our regular table. This was supposed to be in their computer under our name. When my cocktail arrived, I took a taste. It was a generous pour, but the club soda was flat. Our server took it back, and brought another, stating, you were right, it was flat. He said he changed the line. The next was also flat. Server asked if I wanted something else. I asked for a fresh glass of club soda. It was great. He didn't offer me a fresh drink. He also charged us for it. When he took our order, we weren't offered the tray of choices. Disappointing. The table next to is was. After we ordered, I had to ask the server for chocolate shuffle for dessert. We knew it needed to be ordered ahead. After dinner I asked to have a doggie bag. When we arrived home, the bag that the container was in was soaked at the bottom from leakage. If the sides had been packed in small containers this wouldn't have happened. This was a disappointing $200 dinner, the Groupon helped, it not enough. Not enough attention to detail. I'd rather go to Citizen Kanes in Kirkwood.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent meal an service. It's quickly becoming a favorite.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This is a high-end steakhouse. It's expensive, easy to reach $250-300+ per couple. The service is outstanding, to be expected at these prices and did not disappoint. Our steaks were both undercooked, my wife ordered medium and it was closer to rare than medium rare. Seems like all the top steakhouses undercook their meat (can always send undercooked back) so perhaps it is us, but I don't think so. They use 1800 degree ovens, so the outside is crusty and I suppose to get the inside done the outside would be a little burned (?). Calamari appetizer was very good, and the tomato salad the best I've had all year. We ordered half-size sides and still took some home. The quality of the food was first rate, just undercooked steaks and way too much salt.

It was loud, we were seated in the bar, with the kitchen to our left and the bar directly next to us to the right, which means you can expect to be bumped into by those at the bar, which we were several times. If going for a special occasion, tell them and ask to be seated in the back of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our filets were perfectly prepared! The waiter's service was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Delicious and the service was beyond amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Always love this place but this time Carlos exceeded our expectations when we didn't think that was even possible

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 31, 2017

very mediocre experience. restaurant was not busy but they crammed everyone in one section making it very noisy. we complained about the noise and hostess was not very responsive. after that service did improve but was not at the highest level you expect from a premium steak house.

food was hit or miss, some items were good like the filet, some were just ok like the prime rib, and the scalloped potatoes were not edible.

it's apparent why this restaurant needs to offer a Groupon to get people in the door. Once capital grille opens in September my guess is that this restaurant may not survive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Celebrating an 85th birthday for dear friend. The difference between dinner and dining was evident that night. An amazing evening almost magical

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

We first went there to celebrate his birthday which is August 1st - 801 ;-) last year. It became his favorite place. Excellent service, great menu and smooth ambiance.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The filet was excellent and cooked perfect, the service was also great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Server and staff was truly amazing. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our waitress was amazing, and the other wait staff was too.

She explained menu items in great detail, taking her time.

Food was excellent as always, good atmosphere too.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The steak was tough but everything else was perfect. We've had a very memorable anniversary. The baked alaska is the #1 dessert I've had!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

A great restaurant to be sure but it is unnecessarily expensive, imho. It's very popular, of course, so they seem to have crammed a lot tables in the space, which takes away from the niceness of the experience. Which isn't cheap. All that said, I'll likely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our food was very good, especially the Grand Marnier Souffle. Our steaks were also quite good, and very well prepared. The 3 of us had the Sunday Dinner prix fixe meal. We enjoyed our selections, and only went "off menu" for one souffle for dessert, while the other 2 in our party had the Creme Brulee, which was also very good. Our service started out very nicely, and our server was certainly proficient, but he had a private room in addition to us, and then got another table of 6 about halfway through our meal. He may have had others that we did not notice. He was noticeably absent from our table at that point, and did not come back again to pour wine for us. Certainly, we are able to pour our own, but at a restaurant like this, we expected that service throughout the meal, as well. He was obviously very busy with his other patrons, going quickly back and forth, right by our table, to his other tables and the kitchen. We felt for him because it appeared that the number of people he was serving was too great to provide the service which would be commensurate with the establishment and cost of meals. We think the restaurant should make certain that they're not spreading their servers too thin. Other than this, we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had a beautiful dinner and the food was amazjnf

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.