Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
10:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 44 times today

801 Chophouse - St. Louis

4.6
1358 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting.
801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available.
Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our
unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé!
Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops.
Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon - Sun

4:00 - Close
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 875-9900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Christopher Dennis
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ian Rockwell: (314) 875-9900
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room
What 1358 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

The food was really delicious. They make the best Caesar salad in the whole world. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and offered up great suggestions. The prices are a bit high and I would only recommend it for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Andrea and the meal were fabulous!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Don our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu and cuts of meet abd attentive to my drinks. He never let my glass go below halfway down. Thw pancetta-wrapped scallops appetizer is absolutely delicious and so was the kwmob tart for dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Always good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Great steaks but wouldn’t recommend “ unsold” sauces. Very expensive and not worth it. Sides are huge and large enough for four. Expensive. Probably better value elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

The appetizers, entrees, side dishes, drinks and service were excellent. Two of the four desserts served to our table were not of the quality I expect from this restaurant. I still love the place and intend to eat there again, but my wife's Souffle and my Dulce de Leche cake were less than excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Fantastic food and great service. The desserts were exceptional.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 11, 2018

The waitress was not interested in servicing us I believe because the color of our skin I mean I hate to pull the race card but it was apparent we was the only blacks in there and she was ignoring us didn’t want to be bothered with us our steaks was burnt some part but we managed just didn’t feel welcome then when we was ready to leave she just took the tip the change was $3 or less but she treated us so badly she didn’t deserve that but I will definitely be calling the store

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

$57 steaks were not as good as other options in town. New York prices with smaller serving sizes for the steaks. Grilled oysters were disappointing. Salads and sides were all fine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Food is always the high point. Can be noisy, especially when unlucky enough to be seated in the bar area. Service was adequate.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Solid place to go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Graduation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Good food great services

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

This place was perfect for a special birthday. They even printed his name on the menu! So special and so delicious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Birthday & Father’s Day celebration

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great food, but go hungry as the portions are large,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Fine dining, nice people, food was delicious and I would recommend this resturant to family and friends .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Excellent food, fantastic service. Bone in filet cooked to perfection, oscar style with scallops I highly recommend. . Brussel sprouts and morrel mushrooms were a perfect complement.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

The service!!! What a fantastic staff! This was where I proposed to my now wife. We came back for our first anniversary and were treated like royalty. What a Greta experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 30, 2018

I had provided the notes that this was a business dinner. Unfortunately our group of three was placed in a booth versus table. I suggest paying attention to these details as a booth is certainly not the preferred option w a group of business associates. Otherwise the food was very good and the waiter did his job

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The food was absolutely delicious. The service, however, was not what we would have expected for the price point. Considering we have received top tier service there many times before, we would have to call this service experience an anomaly. If not for that, this would have been a 5 star review.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Gustav was the best!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Celebrating 15 yr Anniversary. Excellent dining experience adding to a memorable evening. Looking forward to our next dining opportunity visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Love it!!! Always delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Exceptional service from Sarah Bauer. Wine selection decent. Tenderloin a little better than average. Pancetta wrapped scallops were substandard and undercooked with a horrible tasteless sauce. Two in-bone pork chop w/apple was AMAZING! Buy better olive skewers for the martinis. Oysters Rockefeller were great. Appetizers and sides were standard quality, but I would expect more for the price. For the price, I should have not been disappointed with any item and I was disappointed. Three people for $470 + the tip. Again, Sarah was worth the tip. Excellent service. I would come back for her and the service, but not the food. I can get better food at MANY more affordable places in St. Louis. It's a shame, the place has a lot of potential. Great location. Interior and atmosphere is great. Bring magnifying glasses with the menu. I was hoping to be impressed. Meh. (except for the service)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We went for an anniversary dinner. Started with a drink at the bar which was fantastic. My husband said their bourbon list is very impressive. Dinner was wonderful. Highly recommend the scallops. We both had filet and it was wonderful. Soufflés were also a great way to end the dinner. Great time and we will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Everything exceeded our expectations! The only thing I’d recommend is risking a little more light during dinner hours. I’m 36 with great eyesight yet it was difficult to read the menu ( which was printed to commemorate our 4yr anniversary 😍)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Food was excellent. Great place for a really nice dinner. Delicious deserts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Excellent in every way.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

What an amazing restaurant. Everyone friendly and service was outstanding. Tim at the bar was awesome and helpful with wine and bourbon selections. Carlos was an excellent server and so very accommodating when we emives tables.
The pork chop was perfectly cooked and the hash brown was as good as everyone said. Amazing wine list! Cannot wait to go back. Love the artwork too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We went for our anniversary on a Saturday night. We had the mussels as an appetizer, and we often eat mussels, they were phenomenal! Most restaurants use too much garlic, but these were perfect. We then split a bone in filet. It was very good. We eat a lot of filet and this was good. We got it prepared Oscar style —this was okay—have had Oscar style preparations. For dessert we had the Alaskan something. It was an orange homemade frozen custard covered in a toasted merengue — it was absolutely amazing!!! One of my favorite desserts ever! The dessert chef is awesome! Our service was great. Ambiance is ok. Basic nice steakhouse ambience. Overall we were very impressed! We will be back for sure.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

My husband and I dined here before The Muny and because we had a gift card. Started off good. Our server was attentive and described the menu in depth. However, as soon as more tables were filling up, he became scarce. I always order my meat medium but this was very rare. Manager sent back for me. It was better - at least it was hot finally. Husband had to find our server to get check. If we hadn’t had a gift card we would have been more upset. They are extremely expensive and I feel there are better steak houses in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great steak service was good and attentive, but waitresses lacked in friendliness and personality but don't let that deter you from going because the food is just that good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

food was outstanding. I would go back again. I do not like the restriction that Open Table puts on reviews but that has nothing to do with how much I enjoyed the restaurant. Food was delicious

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Dinner was good, however we've had better dining experiences at 801s in other cities. To compete with them this location needs to address the noise situation. Throughout the entire 2 hours we had nonstop dishes clattering from somewhere in the back and it was LOUD. 7 on a 1-10 scale loud. It worth mentioning the wife's ribeye cut was uneven resulting in a well done third on a steak that was supposed to be medium-rare. We took that part home for the dog.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Brett was a fantastic server. He guided us through our dinner from start to finish with expertise. I love the team work at 801. Everyone makes you feel welcome and special. The food was excellent as always.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

All three of our steaks were under cooked. The service that evening was very slow. We have eaten at this restaurant several times and have always had excellent service with the steaks being properly cooked. I will go back because I am hoping it was because it was mothers day and they were crowded.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mother's Day and ordered on the Sunday Prefix menu. The food was great and we had 2 bottles of wine. Unfortunately, I felt like our waiter somewhat treated us like 2nd class citizens from ordering off the prefix menu (3 courses for $36). He never checked to see how our food was, asked for more bread never got it and was taking a LONG time to bring our 2nd bottle of wine. They were busy - but NOT that busy. Loved the filet mignon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We were not particularly pleased with the service, food took too long and meat was over cooked. On the positive side, they cook it again for my wife.

We went in a busy day (Mother’s Day); I may try again in a less busy day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The music is way too loud. The food and service is exceptional!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34