About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: 3148759900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Baked French Escargot - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Salmon - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Caesar Salad - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Rappahannock Oysters - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Gulf shrimp - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
HASHBROWNS - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Grilled Asparagus - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Oven Roasted Half Chicken - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Filet Mignon - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Fruit Sorbet - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Prime Rib - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
  Crème Brûlée - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Ceasar Salad - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Oysters Rockefeller - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Lobster Chowder - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Pickle Point Oysters - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Kusshi Oysters - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Bread and Butter - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Nasketucket Bay Oysters - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Chicken Liver Pâté - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Connecticut Blue Point Oysters - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
New York Strip - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Asparagus - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Pancetta wrapped scallops - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
801 Chophouse Salad - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Crab & Lobster Salad Tacos - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Crème brullée - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
St. Louis
Steakhouse
St. Louis
Best Overall
Midtown
4 More
Best Service
Midtown
Best Ambiance
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Special Occasion (94)
Romantic (52)
Notable Wine List (50)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for a Date (43)
Business Meals (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Bar Seating (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Private Room (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Authentic (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Historic (4)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

1st visit; ambiance and service excellen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

1st visit; ambiance and service excellent. Quality and taste of meals was excellent. We found cost of both food and spirits higher than other higher priced restaurants in area to which we are accustomed, however the dining experience offsets much of that. However, we were surprised to find when we examined our bill that there was an uncharge for having our martini in a martini glass. We were not told of that uncharge. Hard to figure why having a martini in a martini glass which is a long standing tradition would carry an up charge; it is not the money,

it is the principle.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Great spot, excellent service, fabulous ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great spot, excellent service, fabulous food, absolutely love it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Great service fabulo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Never disappoints. Great service fabulous food expensive but totally worth it. I am a consistent repeat customer.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was element but highly overpric ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was element but highly overpriced. I asked for a booth but were only available in the bar. The booths were uncomfortable and the area was noisy. The waiter told us that he been there two years. He disappeared frequently and we had to ask for things again. We both had steaks and the carrot cake was to die for. The food was great but the service was not. I expected better for a $200 bill for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Overall good food and great service, des ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall good food and great service, desserts sorbet is so good. Steaks were great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the experience was exce ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything about the experience was excellent and our server Carlos made it a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was about my 6th or 7th visit and i ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was about my 6th or 7th visit and it was the best visit. In the past the steaks have been good but not great, but this time I had one of the best steaks I have ever had. The hash brown potatoes are good enough that if they were all I had I would be happy. The meal began with the house oysters and steak tartare, followed by salads for some and the roasted marrow bones for me. All starters were excellent. Main courses were steaks, tuna and sea bass. Every bite of every dish was eaten, indicating total satisfaction with the meal. Steaks were tender, a little charred on the outside but perfectly medium-rare on the inside. The fabulous hash browns were... fabulous. An order of Brussels sprouts were enjoyed by everyone else but me. Wine service was good as was the service for the meal. While 801 is pricey, when the food and service is this good, it is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food at 801 Chophouse. Knowledgea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food at 801 Chophouse. Knowledgeable servers and substantial wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Too salty, too noisy, too expensive! Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Too salty, too noisy, too expensive! The prime rib was so salty I couldn't eat it. The potatoes were good, the salad was good, the Moscow Mule was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

It's a beautiful restaurant. It is pric ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It's a beautiful restaurant. It is pricey, however, two of us had the Sunday Prixe Fix Menu which was very reasonable. The other two had entree's off the regular menu and they said they enjoyed their rib eye and veal chops. I had the prime rib which I asked for medium rare and got rare. Moreover, the rub on top of the prime rib was extremely salty. Otherwise it was ok. I agree with a previous review that the over taste of the meals were mediocre.

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Server forgot about us through out the n ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Server forgot about us through out the night. On a $750 tab I'd expect a little more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

The food was simply amazing. One of the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was simply amazing. One of the best meals that I can remember having. Everything was outstanding. Our server, Ian I believe, was awesome as well. Was our first time visiting the restaurant and will definitely be back. Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Chef's seemed to have a tough time betwe ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Chef's seemed to have a tough time between, medium, and medium rare. After a couple attempts just disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

We have been to 801 many times. This ti ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have been to 801 many times. This time was disappointing. Front desk check in girls were not friendly. Server was fine, food not good. Crab legs were good but steaks were fair at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful dinner/ birthday celebration w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful dinner/ birthday celebration with a lifelong friend - very enjoyable, the waiter was very helpful and the presentation was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious --first time to try ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was delicious --first time to try Sunday prices fixe and very nice. Husband liked wine. Service always good but Matthew was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food but very pricey. Delicio ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food but very pricey. Delicious wine and cocktails, loved the oysters, beef is impeccable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I loved everything about the restaurant! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I loved everything about the restaurant! Very elegant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food preparation was excellent and the q ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food preparation was excellent and the quality of the steaks very good. Service was also very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner was very very good. Wish that th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Dinner was very very good. Wish that the waiter had kept the wine flowing better. He poured very small glasses and rarely came back to refill. But, otherwise, he was very good.

Also not a fan of the elaborate description of the steaks with the view of the raw steaks. Maybe most customers liked that but our table did not. Way to long a description.

But, again, food was delicious and the wine selection was very good. We would recommend and also will return for special events.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

the best, most attentive server EVER!!!! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

the best, most attentive server EVER!!!!! A great meal to celebrate Dan's birthday. Good Time Was Had By All!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a special dinner with family. R ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Went for a special dinner with family. Restaurant is comfortable with private rooms for groups. Large wine list and lots of beef choices. We were happy with almost everything we ordered. Autumnal salad was tasty and I'd definitely recommend it. The Filet medallions with Lobster melted on your mouth. NY steak was equally as good. Loaded Baked Potato comes with chunks of pork belly. Skip the onion rings though - not that good. Save the calories for the chocolate soufflé for dessert! It was yummy

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice atmosphere, excellent server, excel ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Nice atmosphere, excellent server, excellent steaks. Pricey (ie New York prices in St. Louis) however you get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

real-deal steakhouse with the ambience a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

real-deal steakhouse with the ambience and the highly experienced waiters. very hip (and expensive) part of town. delicious food. when it has to be a steakhouse-this is a great choice in St Louis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

801 Chophouse has become one of my "go-t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

801 Chophouse has become one of my "go-tos" for business dinners and special occasions. out of this world food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steakhouse next to the Ritz.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great steakhouse next to the Ritz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been there before and have had gr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I have been there before and have had great meals. I like the Sunday special from a price perspective. One issue, my steak was a bad cut of meat. With a tiny 6 ounce filet you expect it to be lean and not have gristle running through it. This was probably an aberration and we will go back, but if I got another cut of meat like that, I would take it off the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Amazing! I had a last minute party of 1 ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Amazing! I had a last minute party of 12 on Saturday night and 801 Chophouse could accomodate us! Not only did they accomodate a party of 12, we had our own room which was spacious and perfect for family members who hadn't seen each other for a long time! We could move around and not be a bother to other guests. The food was out of this world! Steaks were fantastic and the family-style side dishes were not only delicious, but plenty for our group to share. The 801 Chophouse Salad may be the best restaurant salad I've had in a while. All in all, fabulous - expensive, but fabulous and worth every penny. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Received gift card from employer, never ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Received gift card from employer, never heard of the restaurant. Loved the atmosphere and the food was superb, will patronize 801 Fish in the next few months. Would recommend for very special occasion. Well worth the 38 mile drive to Clayton..

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner steaks were amazing. Bought ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great dinner steaks were amazing. Bought a bottle of Opus One great wine perfect match to a steak dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Business Meals, People Watching, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my second visit to 801 Chop Hou ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my second visit to 801 Chop House and it was even better than the first time! The food, service, wine selection, and ambience were perfect for creating a memorable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous steaks and the mushrooms were w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fabulous steaks and the mushrooms were wonderful. So was the carrot cake!

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and service was fantastic ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was great and service was fantastic. A little pricey but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The shellfish pan roast was cooked to pe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The shellfish pan roast was cooked to perfection. My husband got the salmon which was cooked medium which left it nice and moist. The shrimp appetizer sauce made you want to dip nothing but bread in it. Never disappointed when dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came to this place upon recommendation ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I came to this place upon recommendation from a friend in the area. We were looking for a great steak house where we could dress up a bit. Upon being seated, there was an ever-so-small hiccup but we were stoked for the meal. Immediately, the manager, and server apologized and rushed to make it up to us - even though it was something very, very minor. Server was knowledgeable and friendly. I would absolutely eat here again and recommend to anyone in search of great dining.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday. The serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday.

The service was outstanding as was our meal!

Can't wait to return!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terribly overpriced. One of our steaks ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Terribly overpriced. One of our steaks was not prepared to diners satisfaction.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Excellent meal, although a few items wer ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Excellent meal, although a few items were not available maybe due to the timing on a Monday evening.

Amazing steaks, and other dishes were excellent too.

Waiter did a great job and checked back frequently to make sure we were doing well.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my clients executive team for a big ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Took my clients executive team for a big dinner. Service was impeccable, steaks were perfect. The sister restaurant has an impressive seafood selection that they also offer at the steakhouse. Several of my guests had excellent fish entrees. Overall one of the better steakhouse experiences I've had. If you find yourself in STL For business you have to get a table here. I'll certainly be back the next time I am in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything stood out at the Chophouse. F ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything stood out at the Chophouse. Food, service, ambiance, prices, menu choices. Staff was ver knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely be a repeat customer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.