Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: (314) 875-9900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (99)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Good for a Date (73)
See All
Romantic (61)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Business Meals (52)
Notable Wine List (50)
Bar Seating (41)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Groups (32)
Worth the Drive (29)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Hot Spot (22)
Cozy (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
People Watching (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Authentic (14)
Fun (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Casual (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
1169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Lyndsey was great and the Chef was great. Atmosphere was live and I had a great time. My date, it was his first time and he really enjoyed himself. Most definitely we will be back

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food (sizzling steaks and fresh shellfish) and service - but bring your wallet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, very accomodating personnel and great food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Fish was only fair to poor. Had to be returned. Noise level was intolerable.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Here is my friend steaks was burn , no tast, poor decoration,server was not even care to ask for box unfinished fried calamari

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2017

This was my second visit to 801 Chophouse and the food and service were as outstanding as my first visit. The Corn Clam Chowder was excellent, ditto for the sea bass.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Super loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Exceeded my expectations and would return again to try more special items on their menu. The prime rib was cooked perfectly and melted in my mouth! Service was excellent and the whole experience was wonderful. This is a high end restaurant and you get what you pay for. Valet parking is a huge benefit for this location.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

I doubt that you could find better service anywhere and the food matched the level of service.
We had a show to go to that evening and with the precise and timely delivery of our meals (which were incredible) we made the show with time to burn. We never felt rushed during the meal, it was just super efficient! Great AAAAAAAAAA+++++++++crew!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Food was incredible, had the double cut bone in prime rib. The best I’ve ever had, cooked to perfection. Menu is pretty pricy, but everything is top notch. Look at Groupon for $100 gift card for $60

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2017

It was extremely noisy with constant dish clanking from the kitchen. Our prime rib & Strip steak dinners were good but definitely not the best St. Louis has to offer. Everything is a la carte & our side dishes were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Service and food were above average. Just wish when you spend this kind of money that the waiter/waitress would first introduce themselves by name when the appear at your table instead of asking right away what you want to drink.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We like to experience fine dining local restaurants. 801 ranks up there with the best St. Louis has to offer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great food and service.
Bar seating can be a bit noisy but the other side is quite pleasant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2017

I ordered the 8oz filet. I found it to be tough and chewy to the point that I could not cut it with my steak knife. I ordered it Oscar style with crab. The crab had a very strong fishy taste. I could only manage a few bites of my steak, opting to eat my asparagus side instead. On the other hand, my date ordered the prime rib. It was delicious. As a whole, the meal was decent but not to the standard I would expect for the price point. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 31, 2017

This is an outstanding steak house. Always terrific food, service and atmosphere. It is expensive but the quality of the food is worth the price. The will do 1/2 portions on salads which is great because a single portion is large. The also have chhicken, pork and a few fish entrees. One of my favorites is the petite shellfish platter and the ribeye melts in your mouth. We usually have Bob as our waiter but we were there on Halloween and he was off and Tim waited on us and did a great job.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2017

I flew in from Dallas to have a romantic birthday dinner at 801 Chophouse. I wasn’t disappointed. My steak was well seasoned and cooked to perfection. I loved the sides of macaroni and cheese and scalloped potatoes. My cocktail was strong and delicious. Our server, Gustavo, was attentive and courteous. They even gave me a free dessert for my birthday! I will definitely go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Spectacular service! Scrumptious food!
Carrot cake is the best I've ever experienced!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Our dinner was fine. My scallops were delicious. My husband had the tuna which was cooked perfectly yet under seasoned, not much flavor. We ordered a baked potato and returned it twice for being warm. The third time it was hot but hard, not fluffy. Our server Lindsey brought us some garlic mashed potatoes which were hot and tasty. My husband said he thought of 801 as a premier steakhouse yet has no desire to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

Great birthday dinner. Food was amazing! Drinks were delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner for my wife.I had the marrow bones, my wife the escargot,fantastic wedge salad, Delmonico steak with sides. We also had the crab cake,great! Cocktails perfect. Lastly but not least, Carlos was a pleasure at our table service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Another trip to 801 Chophouse, another great meal with superb food.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The steak was good. Pork chop too fatty.
LOUD restaurant. Overpriced.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We went to 801 Chophouse for our 14th wedding anniversary dinner. The food was amazing, but more than that was the outstanding service that we received from our waiter, Andrew Ahr. Andrew made it more than just dinner, it was an experience! He laughed and joked with us and complimented our choice to add the bone marrow butter bath to our steak selections (BTW, this is a must for any steak -- it was phenomenal!) At the end of the evening, Andrew brought us a dessert, the donuts with lemon sugar, blueberry compote and vanilla cream. Not only were they delicious, but they took the time to write Happy Anniversary, in chocolate, on the plate. All in all, this was a fantastic anniversary dinner and we will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Food and service were great. However, at this level I had expected the attire of the patrons to at least match the of the environment as well. Very disappointing to walk in after getting the family dressed up to find folks dressed in t-shirts, sweatshirts and shorts. No, it is certainly not my place to judge, but if 801 management supports this type of environment there are plenty of other options in this category. Or if I want to dress down for dinner I’ll head to Applebee’s.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Our dinner was great. Best Prime rib I have ever had. I got the small cut and took it home whch was sufficient for 2 more dinners. Bob Tucci was our waiter and he is the best of the best. Be sure to ask for him when you dine at Chophouse 801.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We loved everything about our experience at 801 chophouse. The food was absolutely delicious and prepared to our liking. The service was impeccable and the ambience very nice. We would definitely recommend dining here for special occasions!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2017

It was very nice waitress was great I learned about the different cutz of meat🤔🤔🤔

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We were celebrating my Birthday while stayed in Clayton area for visiting WASHU campus. We would definitely come back to the restaurant next time we back in town. The food and dessert was excellent. The server was very nice and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We had a fantastic experience at 801 Chophouse, thanks to our incredibly knowledgeable server Bradley. He was well informed, provided great recommendations, and made our overall dining experience both fun and memorable with his warm personality and attitude! Well definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2017

The food was delicious as was the service and we look forward to the next time we visit

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I'm not sure what happened this visit, but we've always had great service and food. Our waitress wasn't the most out going server we've ever had, but she wasn't horrible.
We had a problem with my husband's baked potato being hard on the bottom and lukewarm. We rarely complain, but an $8 potato should be steaming. It took awhile to get the replacement and we assumed it was a manager who dropped it off. No "sorry" or acknowledgement or anything. The waitress never asked if it was better (it was). She never asked if I wanted another drink near the end of the meal nor suggested any desserts or did any of the usual upsell.
If we were picky or complainers, I'd understand, but we're really easy customers.
It was just a strange experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food was amazing, it is pricey but a real value - you get a lot of food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

As usual, Great dinner, great service, favorite restaurant in St. Louis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Always a great meal. Great place to take business clients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Took my daughter here for her birthday. Fantastic food, superior/attentive service, excellent atmosphere.
The food, ambiance and treatment made the night perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Server recommended the perfect bottle of wine for the table's combined pallette, Belle Glass Pinot Noir. The Down Home Shrimp appetizer was excellent, as was the chopped salad and carrot cake, unfortunately the meat wasn't as good. The prime rib just wasn't very flavorful, although the portabello mushroom sauce was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was great. Service was good, until we finished our meals. I had ordered the chocolate souffle, which takes about 35-40 to bake, at the same time of ordering my dinner. After we finished, the server offered us dessert menus, I said, "no thanks, just the souflfe I ordered earlier." Unfortunately, 35 min later my souffle came out. The server didn't apologize for forgetting, nor did he admit to forgetting. No one is perfect, and I still gave him a 20% tip on my $230 check. Maybe I'll try it again. Maybe I won't.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was great, the service was great. I can't wait til my next visit to this restaurant it was well worth it.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our meal was absolutely delicious and our service was very nice, with our server being extremely detail oriented and happy to share his knowledge of the food and restaurant. We had a lovely evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.