About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: 3148759900

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Baked French Escargot
Salmon
Caesar Salad
Rappahannock Oysters
Gulf shrimp
HASHBROWNS
Grilled Asparagus
Oven Roasted Half Chicken
Pancetta wrapped scallops
New York Strip
Asparagus
801 Chophouse Salad
Crab & Lobster Salad Tacos
Filet Mignon
Fruit Sorbet
Prime Rib
  Crème Brûlée
Ceasar Salad
Lobster Chowder
Oysters Rockefeller
Kusshi Oysters
Pickle Point Oysters
Bread and Butter
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese
Nasketucket Bay Oysters
Chicken Liver Pâté
Connecticut Blue Point Oysters
Crème brullée

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
St. Louis
Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Steakhouse
St. Louis
7 More
Most Booked
St. Louis
Best Overall
Midtown
Best Food
Midtown
Best Service
Midtown
Best Ambiance
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

special occasion (120)
notable wine list (61)
romantic (60)
See All
fit for foodies (55)
good for groups (40)
hot spot (30)
neighborhood gem (21)
vibrant bar scene (17)
great for outdoor dining (11)
great for brunch (8)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

801 chophouse is one of the best restaur ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

801 chophouse is one of the best restaurants in the Saint Louis area. the ambience, The food and the service, everything is excellent. Knowledgeable waiter staff and great experience overall. I will definitely go back to 801 chophouse.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet was awesome, perfecto!!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Filet was awesome, perfecto!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible. Food was sub standard and ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Terrible. Food was sub standard and service was terrible. Scallops tasted like they were raw and on a bed of strawberry jelly. Steak was the only redeeming thing. Drinks watered down and after my last sip there was a blonde hair at the bottom. I'm brunette... tried reaching out to management, no reply. Really shocked being as it was supposed to be a special night for our anniversary and we spent $235... just for for the two of us..

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

one of the best meals I've had in St. Lo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 7 days ago

one of the best meals I've had in St. Louis! Great food for the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food. The chocolate souffle was a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food. The chocolate souffle was amazing. I liked everything about the experience.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent appetizers and main courses, e ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent appetizers and main courses, especially the steaks. Dessert menu is a bit avant-garde for my taste (orange dreamsicle cheesecake???)- I prefer more a traditional selection at a steak house. Service was excellent but I was somewhat annoyed when we arrived three minutes before our reservation time and the hostess made an emphatic point of informing us of the "on-time seating policy" of the restaurant and that we would need to wait at the bar and then seated us nearly ten minutes after our reservation time. I saw plenty of empty tables when we arrived so this came off as a ploy to sell us a drink at the bar even if that wasn't the intention. She could have just said that it would be a few minutes instead of reciting a corporate policy and I probably wouldn't have given it a second thought. There is a TV at the bar and they had the baseball game on and some people whooping it up whenever the Cardinals scored - not befitting of the ambiance of the restaurant in my view. Overall, a very good steak house but not something that distinguishes itself from the other excellent choices in town. They also need to update the menu on the website - food selection and prices are not the same as on the menu at the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Steaks are awesome! Suggest getting 1/2 ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Steaks are awesome! Suggest getting 1/2 salads and sides to share. Check out the wine special of the day.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Host Andy Ahr is fantastic and had an ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Host Andy Ahr is fantastic and had an outstanding waiter in Bob Tucci. Made the whole night and experience great.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

5th time here. It's gotten worse each ti ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

5th time here. It's gotten worse each time. Went for 1st time about a year ago. Awesome service and food. We usually get the prime rib and ribeye. We've had to send them back last two times not cooked right. Mac and cheese is good. Onion rings, hash browns, fries nothing special. Mashed potatoes and scallops were good. Cheesecake was horrible. Citrus flavoring was overpowering. If you get David as a waiter I recommend going with someone different. Started off fine but when we weren't happy with food seemed agitated and not friendly. Had him twice. Not sure why restaurant has gone south.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Great for date night. The ambiance was a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great for date night. The ambiance was amazing . I really enjoyed the service

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks are amazing and wit a bone ma ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The steaks are amazing and wit a bone marrow butter bath, even better. Service is excellent. Would not recommend for a date, very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Every time we go to 801 Chop, the exper ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Every time we go to 801 Chop, the experience is fantastic. I can't say I've ever had a better steak anywhere and I have eaten at a number of great steak places.

When you go, ask for Nick. He will certainly take great care of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter was extremely nice & another ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The waiter was extremely nice & another waiter was extremely attentive too. The restaurant itself is beautiful & the wine list is fabulous. I do recommend more Merlot options. The brussel sprouts were delicious (I was shocked that the walnuts were not toasted though -bringing out the natural oils of the walnut mixed with the citrus zest would be phenomenal!), the lobster mac & cheese was disappointing. I expected there to be lobster in it but it appeared to be shreds of krab. My 8oz filet was only 1/2 an inch thick. Extremely disappointing from an establishment of this type. The sauce that came with the peppercorn option was overwhelming because there was so much on the plate. The sauce was good but there was too much of it that it took away from the highlight. Hope this helps!

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

My husband and I were disappointed with ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My husband and I were disappointed with our experience. Our waiter only told us the specials after we asked. The table behind us had a different waiter who explained everything to them. The noise level was high. The waiters were having a hard time hearing their customers. The next time we are having a special dinner we will go somewhere else. It is definetly a business man place and not someone paying out if their own pocket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Service and the quality of the food was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Service and the quality of the food was top notch. The Waiter made sure that we understood the menu and was very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Such a once in a lifetime experience as ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Such a once in a lifetime experience as my husband and I celebrated 14 years of marriage! 801 Chophouse was more than we expected. We wouldn't be able to dine there on a regular, as our budget wouldn't allow for such fine dining, but we look forward to returning for our next celebration!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was very good . service was a bit ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

food was very good . service was a bit slow, took about 15 - 20 minutes to get a drink order in. help was very nice and seemed knowledgeable. is certainly priced for perfection. dinner for 4 was $700, including 2 bottles of wine and the tip.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was excellent. We will definit ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was excellent. We will definitely come back but it will be for a special occasion due to the prices. We feel we can get a comparable steak for a lesser cost at other St Louis steak restaurants like Citizen Kane's or Sam's Steakhouse. Also, I was warned by a friend that the wine list was pretty pricey so I was very thankful that we brought in our own bottle of cab sauvignon and paid the corkage fee as I couldn't find a bottle below $65 on the menu.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Fantastic food and service!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful, as usual. The s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was wonderful, as usual. The staff is always very friendly and makes you feel like they are happy you are there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the Sunday night prix fixe menu. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Enjoyed the Sunday night prix fixe menu. Prime rib was cooked to perfection. Sorbets were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service are always great! T ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food and service are always great! Their sides are worth the trip alone. Their steaks are good, but I do feel they are overpriced for the taste. It's a great atmosphere with exceptional service that my wife and I love.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I went to 801 Chophouse for my wedding a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I went to 801 Chophouse for my wedding anniversary. I heard great things about the restaurant but it was better than I expected . The service was awesome. Kevin was great. The food was unbelievable. The appetizers were delicious. I ate so much that I was miserable. I think I ate too much. Kudos to the chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The second time we had a meal there. th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The second time we had a meal there. the first time we arrived and the fire alarm went off which made the occasion annoying. The second time the service, food was great. The only flaw was when we got home and my fiancé' was going to share the mac and cheese we caught it in time as it had shrimp in it (Allergic to sea food) and to the best of our knowledge we were not informed that mac and cheese had seafood in it. Overall a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bone marrow appetizer was under don ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The bone marrow appetizer was under done unfortunately which gives it a gamey taste. The rest of the meal was excellent however.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

First time there. Loved the food and the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

First time there. Loved the food and the awesome service. Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very friendly and knowled ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable however the service was very slow. I was confused by this as we dined at 8pm on a Friday night and the restaurant was not very busy. Our waiter had 4 tables it appeared. The Tuscan ribeye steak was so flavorful and highly recommend. The chef even sliced it and played it for us as we were doing a surf and turf combo. The side portions are so huge that we wasted half of them as I feel one item could feed 4 and there were only two of us. I wish the portions and price were smaller so one could try more without waste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The food was excellent, from the appetiz ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was excellent, from the appetizers down to the desserts. The waiter was excellent in his presentation and explanation of dining options, both on and off menu. Yes, the price may be somewhat of a sticker shock, but the quality and taste of the food was more than ample to justify the price.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always 5 star service when we have Carlo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always 5 star service when we have Carlos as our waiter.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice for special occasions. Prices are b ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nice for special occasions. Prices are but worth it for the food and service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had dinner at 801 Chophouse and the pr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I had dinner at 801 Chophouse and the prime rib was fabulous. My waiter, Donald C, did a great job and I would request him if I returned. I never felt pressured by Donald C to purchase anything I did not already want and his knowledge of the menu was great. I would return again for dinner or special occasion with my entire family

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Way overpriced for mediocre to poor food ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Way overpriced for mediocre to poor food. Everything was way too salty. Service slow and overbearing. I felt like I was trapped in an infomercial about how special everything was. They need to realize they didn't invite the concept of a steakhouse. Much better options for steak in St. Louis for much less the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food and ambiance were excellent. T ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and ambiance were excellent. The food was very expensive and everything was ala carte (mashed potatoes $11, salad $11, etc.)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was impeccable, overall experien ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was impeccable, overall experience was one of the best I've had in St. Louis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The parking situation was terrible and k ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The parking situation was terrible and kind of set our date night off to a bad start. We would have done valet parking had they accepted debit cards.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

801 is a great place to enjoy special oc ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

801 is a great place to enjoy special occasions. It's very expensive but the food is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way overpriced for what you receive. Th ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Way overpriced for what you receive. This place fancies itself to be a high end, almost luxury restaurant. Unfortunately, when we visited, the place was nearly empty. Nevertheless we were seated at a table next to the bar, which caused us to have to listen to 4 drunk rednecks in t-shirts and shorts during what was supposed to be our nice anniversary dinner. Food was "ok", but I have had better and certainly not worth the price they ask. There are plenty of other true high end restaurants in Saint Louis, so I doubt we will return to 801 Chop House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Went for Sunday evening special. Treated ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for Sunday evening special. Treated us just as well as if we were big spenders. Food was delicious. Service excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this place!!!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Love this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Typical steakhouse atmospher ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food. Typical steakhouse atmosphere. Only downside was it was very hot in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.