Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 4/22
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 27 times today

801 Chophouse - St. Louis

4.6
1300 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting.
801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available.
Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our
unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé!
Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops.
Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon - Sun

4:00 - Close
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 875-9900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Christopher Dennis
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ian Rockwell: (314) 875-9900
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room
What 1300 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Very nice. Top restaurant in stl alittle pricey but great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Food was outstanding and our server Colleen was very nice and on point all night. Great person and took great care of us. Loved our experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

As usual, the meal was fantastic! The service is always phenomenal and this time didn't disappoint. The food is worth the price and we highly recommend the bone marrow butter bath on your steak - it takes it over the top!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Awesome service. Requested private room for 6 for bday dinner - was perfect! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Not a top notch stake house

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Our family truly enjoyed our dinner. Staff was friendly and food was outstanding. The Sunday Supper option is a great value. Would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Surprisingly Disappointed with our experience this time, as we normally thoroughly enjoy our dining experience at 801 Chophouse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Colleen went above and beyond to make my wife and daughters birthday celebration extra special. Outstanding service and delicious food as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

801 was amazing and perfect for the 9-person business meeting we held. The food was phenomenal and the wine selection was top notch. I can't wait to bring my husband back for a date night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great! Danny was our waiter and he was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Beautiful and exquisite meal, with exceptional service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

There is a lot of competition in the high-end steak house space. There are other places locally that are less expensive with equal or better quality. I enjoy the atmosphere and the service at 801 and the food is always good...it is just not top on my list for steak houses in STL.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

It was perfect! Great server and great food! It was perfect! I think I found another great location which is here and we also brought our children along.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Dinner date with my wife, both of our steaks were cooked to perfection and had tremendous flavor. Baked potatoes were huge. Great service from start to finish. Great selection of wine and mixed drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Second time...different date...proves the point that it takes good food and great company to make a magical evening...and it was. Was given an umbrella to battle the rain on the walk to the Ritz Carlton for drinks and several attempts to dance afterwards...you should do the same...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Went for my wife's birthday. Everything was great. Food was excellent, service was good, ambiance was great.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Service was very good. I ordered a ribeye medium rare. Steak was thin, at most 3/4” thick and tough. In my opinion it is way overpriced and not the quality you would expect for prime aged beef. You can get a much better steak for a much better price elsewhere in St Louis. The sides and salad were very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The carpaccio was salty and my steak I asked for
Medium and it was med well.
The waitress asked and I wasn’t going to send back because did not want my wife to eat alone.
The service was excellent as usual.
I like 801 but at their price point they should always be
100% on.
Will go back because best atmosphere for steak in the Lou.
Tried Capitol Grill and for $$
Prefer 801.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Food and service was excellent....!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Everything was outstanding. Have had better escargot but everything else was above average.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

As first time customers to 801 Chop House, our dinner service and food were excellent. We arrived early and decided to have a cocktail before dinner. The bartender was not overly friendly and the drink menu was pretty limited. I ordered a Lemon Drop martini and my husband ordered a Crown on the rocks. With tip, our drinks were $32.00. Often when having a martini they will leave the rest of the drink in the shaker for you to add to your drink. It was good, however, I feel like they were a little overpriced. All in all it was a good experience, and we are likely to go back for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

This is the premier steakhouse in St Louis. The service, ambience, and food is exceptional. My wife and I look forward to visiting 801 Chop house again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Noise level was somewhat high, making conversation difficult. It was Saturday and crowed. However, the quality of food, wine, service was over the top.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Both the food and service were excellent. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

From pulling up to valet parking, to drinks, the meal, leaving and everything in between everything was absolutely amazing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 8, 2018

For my birthday I wanted to try a new restaurant and decided to try 801 chophouse. I had a lot of family and friends recommend this restaurant. However, I was really disappointed that the staffed wasn't engaging. I would like to try it again but I don't know if I would want to spend the money on an "ok" experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

98 out of 100 stars. Sear on steak could have been better (still outstanding) and the old fashion was served with small ice cubes, not a fan of watered down old fashions (asked for big cube on second drink and got it) .

I'd recommend this to every person that likes fine dining .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

It was very good, however we felt that the food was overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

This was our 7th or 8th trip to 801. The waiter recognized us, knew that we would order quickly, dine, and leave. As usual, 801 did not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

The food was delectable! Large portions, great bursts of flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

The food was excellent but the noise was too loud. We will return for another dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The service was excellent. My waiter was very professional and friendly. The steak was the best I have ever had.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Our waiter, Bob Tucci made our experience worth it all. Bob’s knowledge and attention to detail is amazing. He alone is worth going there for a meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The food was great, server was a bit condescending, and the lighting was SO incredibley dark. Every table had their cell phone flash lights out to see the menu. It was strange to be so dark.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Good food and great service, but dark and overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Amazing is the best word for this steak house! My husband and I had an amazing date! We will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Excellent service! Prime rib was delicious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2018

It was pouring down rain and when I arrived I was informed by the valet that he didn’t drive a stick shift and asked me to valet across the street at 801 Fish. So I pulled around to that valet and was told the same thing and that I had to park in the garage up the street. It was also very windy and by the time I reached the door of the restaurant I was pretty wet. I was surprised that such a high-end restaurant would not have valets that can park all cars.

We got oysters to share amongst the three of us and one fork with no one in sight to ask for more. We had to order our entrees twice because our waiter took two of the three orders while we were waiting for the last person to show up and then forgot. We had to ask someone to track down one of our side dishes. In all, the was good but at $100 plus tip per person; I expected a lot better service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Delicious steaks, but the boursin mashed potatoes are the star.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33