Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: (314) 875-9900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (74)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Business Meals (50)
Notable Wine List (42)
Romantic (37)
Bar Seating (35)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Private Room (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Groups (22)
People Watching (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Cozy (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Fun (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Authentic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

We are a frequent customers and always enjoy the ecellent food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food!! My fist time and I will for sure be back

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Outstanding from the vary start! Excellent food, even better service. Colleen was a complete professional through the whole meal. Request her and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We usually love 801, & have been there probably 10 times, but last night was disappointing. The food was mostly fine with the exception of the escargot appetizer. We ordered it without the havarti cheese (because who does that?). It came out with hardly any garlic butter when the escargot should have been swimming in it. We told the waiter, who had to inspect the dish with his flashlight & then shrugged his shoulders. Later he came back & said he spoke with his manager & they would take it off the bill. Not necessary, & a very nice gesture - except when the bill came they hadn't taken it off. We ordered an oyster appetizer & asked for half grilled & half Rockefeller. Each was listed on the menu at the same price ($19) but they charged us $25.50, a 34% up charge - why? We also had to ask for bread. We brought our own wine & paid a $25 corkage fee. The waiter opened it & we said he could pour it later as we were still drinking our pre-dinner cocktails. We ended up pouring it ourselves, as he never came back & offered to pour. Also our empty cocktail glasses sat on the table until our food came & we had to ask the server to take them away. In fairness to the waiter, there appeared to be no bussers or assistant servers anywhere around. That is a serious management problem, as expectations are high for a restaurant with those kind of prices. Everything should be at the highest level of service & quality. Finally, we know that a ribeye can be a fatty cut of meat, but if they're charging $57, they should only put out the best. One of our ribeyes was much fattier than the other. They shouldn't even accept such cuts from their supplier, or they should grind it up for sliders for happy hour at the bar. If we're dropping $500 on dinner in St. Louis, we expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Dave our server was really great! Made my husbands birthday wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My husband and I went to 801 Chophouse for a date night. The atmosphere was very romantic as well as elegant. Service was magnificent our drinks were always full, the waiter continuously checked on us, the food was served promptly and was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Overpriced for food quality. Waiters attitude and service changed halfway through our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary, had been to 801 before and liked our experience. This night not so much, our waiter Don seemed to be in a hurry all night. When we sat we had our drinks from the bar. He immediately came over and asked if we were ready to order the second we were seated. Asked him to give us time, came back in what seemed 2-3 min, at which time I asked about specials. He took the order at which time he cleared my wives drink that was half full. We asked when he brought our first course, and he had no recollection of taking the drink, very odd. This continued all night trying to clear our plates before we finished, after a certain point it was kind of comical. After we finished my wife asked if he was in a hurry? He answered " yes I have to take care of the table behind you"
We spoke to the manager who was very professional, but doubt we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was good, but definitely not worth the price. I've had a better steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Will recommend and return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great relaxing atmosphere. The handcrafted cocktails were outstanding. The steaks were fantastic and prepared per our request. All the side dishes are made to be shared. We were able to get half orders of salads and side dishes as well as allowing us to split a steak between two people. A great place to celebrate a special occasion or for entertaining clients.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was good but had an issue with my first steak. Was a filet but had fat throughout. Told waiter he used a flashlight to look and said that was normal. Sorry. Filets have no fat especially he first 3 bites. I was concerned when it arrived as the shape was unusual and it looked as if it had been cut into but it was just a portion of fat. They did remake it which was much better and perfect. If this had been the first one I would have given 5 stars but the whole experience was unacceptable and there really wasn't an apology given or an offer for anything. Even my colleagues were shocked. Was handlesd poorly. Manager (at least I assume)came over to ask how things were but didn't acknowledge here was an issue. I even joked it was better the second time around and he just walked away. I have been at this location 3 times now and have not had great steaks. Been to Des Moines location many times and always perfect there. I feel more could and should have been done. This was my choice to eat here as I had collegues from out of town and could have gone anywhere. Will not choose this next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I have nothing bad to say about this restaurant. The food was delicious, the service was great and it is a beautiful restaurant inside. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food, service and ambiance were outstanding, however drinks are overpriced and valet should be complimentary given the price of the meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything (food, service, ambiance) was awesome. Pricey, but worth it for a birthday or anniversary. Can't wait to try their seafood place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent food in cozy atmosphere! Went here for my wife's birthday and we were very pleased. We shared shrimp cocktail (very fresh and meaty with delicious horseradish cocktail sauce) and lobster corn dogs (deep fried goodness!) for appetizers. You can order as few as you'd like, which is very handy as my wife eats like a bird!
We then split filet medallions with a tarragon reduction sauce (wonderful flavor and the steak was the perfect texture), Boursin mashed potatoes (yum!), and roasted Brussels sprouts with walnuts. Quite good. We were too full for dessert, but several items caught my eye that I'll have to return to try (cheesecake, bread pudding, soufflé, and baked Alaska to name a few).
Our server (Kevin?) was very knowledgeable and attentive.
Would definitely come here again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great steak. Poor Service this last visit. In the past, when things are slower, service was quite nice. We were basically ignored this visit being placed in the back of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were in town on business and read all the steakhouse reviews and chose 801 chophouse and we made the right decision.
The service and food were excellent. Everyone was happy and thrilled with the choice. Prime rib was exceptional. Scallops wrapped in bacon, fresh asparagus it was all excellent. Would definitely return when in St. Louis again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Outstanding service! Made us feel special from the beginning to the end. Great food and team work. So good I'm going back tonight. If you want professional service ask for Andrea.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The sides tasted good, more of a home style type. The steak was ok. I was disappointed for what we paid compared to what we got. When paying nearly $125 for 2 steaks I expect an excellent steak.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything about our experience was wonderful. This is a great spot for a special occasion or if you'd like to treat yourself to a very nice meal. From our drinks to appetizers, steaks and dessert it was all superb. Our waiter (I wish I remembered his name) was excellent and so informative of the menu items. He was very kind to bring me a birthday dessert that was beautifully done. My husband had the chocolate soufflé and it was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our experience was fantastic. Our server Carlos was very informative and attentive. It was our first visit and my wife and I definitely plan to return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful meal, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service and food! Never had a bad experience!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been to a handful of places throughout the world that have prepared a $50US steak for me. None of the others felt worth it at the end of the meal; 801 chophouse is the exception. I had the bone in prime rib and my wife had a bone in filet mignon. Both were absolutely incredible. The service was great as well, hostess and server. Our server took pride in his job and took careful time explaining the menu items and answered all of our questions. The only complaint I would have with the place is that the lighting is dim. Even at only 32 years old I had to angle the menu toward the window so that I could read it well. This however, is not a reason that I would deter from going again.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to 801 for Valentine's day. The waiter was patient and kind as we slowly picked out our perfect meal. He answered all of our questions and never made us feel rushed. I highly recommend 801 for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Sorry to rate this 3 stars. Service was sloppy at best. Two of four entree orders were incorrect. All four entrees were beef. The filet was very good. The ribeyes were chewy. The sides were really uninspired, and luke warm at best. I wish I could jump up and down for the creme brulee and chocolate souffle, but they were just ok. The place is beautiful, though. When a table of four bills out at almost $500 (with three drinks total) you expect superior........everything! Temper what I have written by knowing that I dined on a gift certificate. Had I been spending my own money the review wouldn't have been this nice.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Hopefully the next time the steak will be better. Compared to other steakhouses I was not impressed. The server recommended it and we were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Met my boyfriend in St. Louis and booked an online reservation 2 weeks in advance. We were both excited to try this place out since it had great reviews online. I was going to great him to a Valentines Dinner. We went on 2/11 @ 8pm. Once we walked in, it was a beautiful place and looked very elegant. Our table was not ready yet so they seated us at the bar to wait until it was. We waited about 10 minutes until the table was ready. We were seated and about 5 minutes later our waiter (Joshua K) came to ask us what we would like to eat and went over the menu and brought out the different cuts / options that they had. This is where things went south....we didn't see him much after that. We both had empty drinks for over 20 minutes, and after the food was served (not by him) he did not come back for over 20 minutes with a dessert menu. My boyfriend and I both planned on getting dessert but by the time we got the menu we were both annoyed and ready to leave. Our waiter also did not bother telling us anything on the dessert menu. There was a table next to us with 6 people who were ordering lots of wine, food, etc. who he had no problem visiting every few minutes, yet always skipped over our table. We were made to feel very undervalued and for the price of the food, we really expected a better experience. The food was great, service was poor.

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We recently celebrated my son's 17th birthday at 801 Chophouse. We ate here for the first time two years ago to celebrate my husband's birthday and enjoyed every bite and our server was phenomenal. This time, while the food and the service were solid we were not as impressed as the first time. We had an early reservation and when we arrived the majority of the booths were open. We were shown to a table in the center of the room between the bar and the kitchen despite indicating this was a special occasion. Lesson learned: make sure to request a booth when you make your reservation if you would like a more intimate dinner experience otherwise they will not accommodate you. We started with winter and caesar salads, oysters, pancetta wrapped scallops (a little under for my taste but yummy sauce). I sent my salad back because it was covered in cheese instead of on the side. This was quickly rectified and the server apologized and took ownership for not communicating the request to the kitchen. For our main course we had a mix of NY strips, ribeyes and filets with lobster mac and asparagus for sides. For dessert we shared a flourless chocolate cake and a complimentary birthday chocolate souffle. My son loved the chocolate souffle; the few bites he shared were absolutely amazing with a delicious fudgy chocolate sauce and vanilla creme anglaise. My hubby and I also shared a nice bottle of cab.

The overall experience at 801 Chophouse while very good was just not memorable compared to our experiences at other NY style steakhouses nor with our first experience here a couple years ago. When you spend almost $600 on a meal for a special occasion you expect it to be a step above. I am not sure we will return for another special occasion but I will definitely be back for my own souffle for dessert!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious! Great service! Valet! Love the atmosphere and the decor of the restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a great time, food and service was fantastic. Valet service was one their game! We highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always love/hate with 801. The food rarely disappoints whether you go tried and true with a cut of meat or in my case a fish. I could probably be happy eating the 801 Wedge, chopped in advance of course all the time. Sides are great...service top notch...always happening...and then you get the bill.....always leave wondering if was worth the cost. Never sure but must be because we keep going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We are new to living in St Louis and are still trying to find the food scene. We spent the last 8 years in the DC area, which is a great place for foodies. Unfortunately for us, 801 Chophouse did not impress. My husband had the chilean seabass which was just okay, not a ton of flavor although he did enjoy the vegetables and broth it was served over. I had the filet mignon and in hindsight I should not have taken the waiters recommendation to get the "house rub" because it was overpowering with salt and almost charred on the outside although I ordered my steak medium. We had the garlic mashed potatoes, fine nothing special, creamed corn was good and we sent the brussel sprouts back because they were terrible. We finished the night with bread pudding which was dry and sort of flavorless. We split a bottle of wine, they didn't have what we ordered originally so we ended up with what I suspect is the house wine. Overall, it was a 3 hour dinner with mediocre food, not worth the hefty price tag that came at the end of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loud, food for the price we were unimpressed. Got there early, checked in the Hostess forgot we were there to be seated to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Have eaten there many times and have had excellent meals. My steak was mediocre at best. The service was outstanding. I don't think I will be back for sometime.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was great, the steaks were cooked perfectly and the brussel sprouts were great. we'll be back to try the other steak topper options.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 1, 2017

For me, 801 is the perfect place to entertain clients and celebrate a business victory. There's an old-school manly vibe that pairs well with the great meat that is served. Inventive cocktails and a great wine list add to the making of a memorable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great steak but very expensive. My steak did come out cold but they remedied it right away. It is fairly loud in this restaurant

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.