About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: 3148759900

Additional:
Banquet, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Baked French Escargot
Salmon
Caesar Salad
Rappahannock Oysters
Gulf shrimp
HASHBROWNS
Grilled Asparagus
Oven Roasted Half Chicken
Pancetta wrapped scallops
New York Strip
Asparagus
801 Chophouse Salad
Crab & Lobster Salad Tacos
Filet Mignon
Fruit Sorbet
Prime Rib
  Crème Brûlée
Ceasar Salad
Oysters Rockefeller
Lobster Chowder
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese
Pickle Point Oysters
Kusshi Oysters
Bread and Butter
Nasketucket Bay Oysters
Chicken Liver Pâté
Connecticut Blue Point Oysters
Crème brullée

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
St. Louis
Most Booked
St. Louis
Best Overall
Midtown
3 More
Best Service
Midtown
Best Ambiance
Midtown
Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Special Occasion (154)
Romantic (84)
Notable Wine List (71)
See All
Fit for Foodies (63)
Good for Groups (44)
Hot Spot (39)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Late-night Find (6)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was so loud. We sat next to a large ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was so loud. We sat next to a large group that was very loud. If you looking for intimate settings I think I would choose another location. The food was great but service suffered because of the large group seated next to us. I would also enforce a dress code but I guess you can't do that anymore. We had fun but it was so loud I will not go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great service and food, everything was p ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and food, everything was perfect. This place is pricey so be prepared to spend $150-$180 without a tip.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The service and food was phenomenal! The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service and food was phenomenal! The atmosphere was perfect for celebrating my husband's birthday! I love 801 Chophouse!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our servers were bu ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great. Our servers were busy with other guests. The couple next to us were seated after us, eat and left before our food arrived.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Very good . Ate at the bar and split the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good . Ate at the bar and split the rib eye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The steaks were some of the best I've ev ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

The steaks were some of the best I've ever had in St. Louis. The lobster corn dogs, mashed potatoes, macaroni & cheese, and Brussel sprouts were also great! The menu is pricey though, so not an everyday dining option.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service from Carlos was outstanding. Fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service from Carlos was outstanding. Food was not as good as in the past. Very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

We shared a delicious 40oz. steak.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

We shared a delicious 40oz. steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall I really like this restaurant. W ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Overall I really like this restaurant. Went for carrot cake but it was not on the menu. We opted for the grand mariner soufflé. It was really disappointing in comparison to the other things I have eaten there. Will definitely go back but not for the soufflé.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was great! I would recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eater there before. The prices h ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have eater there before. The prices have sky rocketed and portions have gotten smaller.

Don't think we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

This is one the best prime steakhouses i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This is one the best prime steakhouses in town! The food is excellent and the service is superb! I would recommend 801 Chophouse to any true steak-lover.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am not a "white table cloth" kind of g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I am not a "white table cloth" kind of gal. But if you are, and you like to be fussed over, this place is great. The service was great and my steak was amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding service, tremendous food, gr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Outstanding service, tremendous food, great atmosphere, but as with most high-end steakhouses, pricey.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The steak was good, but not exceptional. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The steak was good, but not exceptional. Great filet minion is to be sod like butter. This one was not. The side dishes: Brussels sprouts and potatoes were very dry - overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

After prior visit we decided we would go ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

After prior visit we decided we would go back but not rush back. This visit was an improvement on that, food-wise. While the oysters were not up to par from previous visits, the sea bass was a great menu addition and was excellently prepared. The strip steak was great as usual and my favorite, their hash browns were perfect. Dan our server was on top of everything as usual and except for the high noise level (made is challenging for the 4 of us to converse), this was the kind of dining experience that would make me rush back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our bartender and waiter were excellent. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our bartender and waiter were excellent. Very professional with good senses of humor. Our waiter was very helpful when my wife and I differed on sides and said he could split the order.

We will definitely consider 801 Chop House for our next special dinner occasion. We are also looking forward to trying your Seafood restaurant.

Lastly, we like your Groupon opportunities!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I think the price of the food is way ove ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I think the price of the food is way over priced for any meal. The food was good but not better than Bristol's and you get more for less money there. Glad we tried it but would not go back due to the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Absolutely fantastic. Service was very ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Service was very good. The waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. The food was terrific. Pan on going again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I absolutely love this place. If anyone ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I absolutely love this place. If anyone is looking for a very nice, well seasoned, but juicy, tender steak, this is the place to go. Be prepared to spend a little extra than your average steak restaurant, but the price is worth it. Oh, and make sure to try the lobster Mac and cheese. Superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way over priced. I've traveled a lot an ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Way over priced. I've traveled a lot and eaten in restaurants all over the U.S. The chop house food was good, service excellent, but priced too high. Two people, one cocktail each, one bottle of one of the lower priced wines on the list, shared prime rib (very fatty), shared dessert, over $250. Very noisy. Not planning another trip back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

THE PLACE FOR STEAK, VALET PARKING AT TH ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

THE PLACE FOR STEAK, VALET PARKING AT THE FRONT DOOR

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a gift groupon to use for this re ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a gift groupon to use for this restaurant. The food was very expensive, but very good.

The service was great, our waiter was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

changed the recipe for lobster mac and c ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

changed the recipe for lobster mac and cheese - preferred the older recipe - not much lobster in the dish; steak was prepared as asked

waiter very good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was decent. We did have to sen ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was decent. We did have to send one steak back for being the wrong temperature. The service was decent but could have been more friendly. He tended to mumble under his breath on a couple of our requests. I would go back, but for the cost of the food, I do expect better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Steak was amazing, drinks were strong an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Steak was amazing, drinks were strong and i enjoyed the atmosphere. Side dishes are pretty good size portions so might share just one...

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

excellent service, food and ambiance. De ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

excellent service, food and ambiance. Definitely a special occasion restaurant

We did use a Groupon which is helpful. honored the reservation on time

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service which is the expe ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and service which is the expectation for a restaurant of this caliber.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and waiter was at ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was delicious and waiter was attentive and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service as always. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and great service as always. Also, let them know that it's a special occasion and they'll make you feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the best prime rib that I ever ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was the best prime rib that I ever had. My wife's lamb chops were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was so fantastic!!! Such great foo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was so fantastic!!! Such great food - skip the steaks and just treat it like tapas with the different appetizers and the sides. The salad was great, the sides . . . SOO GREAT!!!! The drink menus and wines were so delicious. The old fashioned was a great choice!!!

Kevin was our waiter. He was a great server, super attentive and fun to chat with. The valet was great. I wasn't sure if this would be too stuffy but it was such a great place, laid back, and fun!!! Both good for business and a laid back fun evening out. So much fun!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Filet was fatty. Prepared how I like, j ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Filet was fatty. Prepared how I like, just bland. Sauce waiter convinced me to order not good. Will not return. Flemings is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Wonderful ambiance and amzing food! Ther ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful ambiance and amzing food! There was even a personalized dinner menu for my birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The filet minion was excellent. Perfect ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The filet minion was excellent. Perfectly medium rare! Nails it every time! Besides the scrumptious food we come for the service as well. We went in July on a Sunday, but our favorite waiter wasn't there, so we were pleased that we got in Carlos' section this time. The last guy was ok, but Carlos does not disappoint! Very personable and charismatic, and knows the menu inside and out. Remembered our regular orders and tended to the needs of our 4 year old daughter. Normally high end restaurants are not kid friendly, but he makes it kid friendly. We always tell our friends and family to request Carlos as their waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and a great atmosphere. T ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Delicious food and a great atmosphere. The service was very good would definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We called to tell them it was a special ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We called to tell them it was a special 7 year old birthday - they said they would do something fun. They did not. My steak was ordered medium rare. It came out raw/rare. They fixed it but I was surprised at how much fat there was on it. About 25% was not edible - expensive for not being able to eat it. Prime Rib was great however.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The manager is always professional and d ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The manager is always professional and displays excellence. The only issue was with the bugs outside. However, the manager retrieved some citronella candles for us. W

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious Food, but expensive. If it is ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious Food, but expensive. If it is your first visit, the waiter describes the cuts of meat in great detail. Waiters are very attentive during your dinner.Birthday dessert was dreamsicle cheesecake ,which was massive, with chocolate Happy Birthday written on the edge of the plate. Pastry chef checked in to see how we liked the dessert, and that was a nice touch.

Atmosphere is upscale with a mixture of diners who range very dressed up to casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were both very good. P ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food and service were both very good. Prices are high, so this is a special-occasion restaurant for us rather than a regular favorite. We have dined at both 801 Chop House and 801 Fish on several occasions, and both are always a treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.