Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: (314) 875-9900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Business Meals (59)
Romantic (58)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Bar Seating (39)
Notable Wine List (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fun (17)
People Watching (16)
Cozy (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Authentic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

SUPER EVENING....GREAT SERVICE....GREAT FOOD. WORSE PART WAS VALET PARKING...LONG WAIT>

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Loved from the valet to the valet again, and everything in between, our waiter had a TON of information and "hidden menu items" I loved the special treatment and honestly any way we wanted it, they were ready to take care of us.

I hope you get a chance to experience 801 chophouse, I'll be going back for sure.

The food.. absolutely amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter was in too big of a hurry to bother with us. Never once noticed our glasses were empty. The prime rib was ok - the filet was better. Avoid the baked spinach and lyonnaise potatoes. Will go again but order very differently and pray for a professional waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Always delicious and great service. Expensive but worth the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Service: We had one Groupon and a few friends by surprise asked to join our table so they had a Groupon. as well. The Groupon clearly stated it could not be utilized with other discounts. The manager was called and exercised his better judgement and allowed us to utilize 2 Groupons. The waiter Josh was rude and tried his best to frustrate us after the Manager made a "Business" not to allow money to walk out the door. Also, I am not sure why they allow guest to be seated next to (less than arms reach/coughing reach etc...) the waster and serving ware they utilize for many in the same area(looked like a window area). This appeared very unsanitary and unprofessional.

Food: The 801 Chop Prime Rib for $61 was so fatty they should not have served it. The steaks requested for all but one person were Med-Well but arrived well done. The Shrimps and Lobsters were like rubber.

Since this was my fifth time at this location my second time in a group setting, it is my humble opinion this site DOES NOT do well with GROUPS larger than 4 in a party.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was superb, the dinner was fine, the place was full and a bit noisy. Very nice overall

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Four of us went to 801 for their Sunday night special. Not being a big beef-eater but thinking everything would be well-prepared, I ordered salmon, as did two others. First, the salad was quite good - your basic green salad with some fun ingredients thrown in. I requested the salmon be cooked med-well (a little undercooked), and it was perfect. We ordered wine by the glass, and it was totally acceptable. I ordered their house-made sorbet - really, really tasty. Oh, and the fresh, hot bread they bring at the beginning - I coulda made a meal of it. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a reservation set for a special occasion (noted on the reservation) and arrived on time but still had to wait 25 minutes to be seated, which was difficult to swallow since there were vacant tables, people waiting ahead of us with earlier reservations, and it was a later dinner on a Saturday night (read: not busy time). The hostesses seemed flummoxed by the whole thing and we were told a couple of times our table was being prepared. Eventually we were seated and our server was wonderful, but it was still a rough start.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

I can get better steaks at Costco and cook them myself. Over priced. Sides were good. Waited 30 mins after my reservation to get my table. Very disappointed. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is quite delicious! The steaks are usually a bit undercooked, but the server does inform you of that. I normally get medium rare at other stake houses, but have to get medium here. The side dishes especially the mac and cheese is phenomenal! They sometimes ask you if you want a half order of side dishes since they are served family style, but the problem is that they charge you a little more than half. Therefore, I suggest you just get the full order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were outstanding my only complaint was that it was very noisy and we had to shout to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great, my med rare bone in strip was delicious but so was my mom's well done prime rib. Both arrived perfectly cooked at the same time. The portions are enormous, but it's all delicious. Perry was our server and he was very attentive. My only beef is that its very dark and very loud. I saw lots of folks using their phones to light the menu, which we did as well. It was also very loud even though it was early and we had a booth in the corner. With all hard surfaces the sound from tables bounces around and amplifies.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was nice but kind of rushed us a bit..plus removing dishes from the table too soon...cocktails had very little ice in them rendering them lukewarm...calamari a bit too chewy..lobster Mac and cheese very small portion and lobster was not sweet.. kind of not really worth the price tag of the meal...it was good just not as top notch a meal as we have previously had at 801.. will be back tho

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great meal again. Best steak in St. Louis by far. We are x never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always a treat. Excellent food, fantastic service in a beautiful environment

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great time with my Sis. We both love this place. Would recommend for ant occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Wonderful 2nd visit to 801! Perry, our waiter, was very prompt, courteous and knowledgeable. He informed us about their 1/2 sides which was a terrific compliment to our wonderful filets!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Both my NY strip steak and my husband's rib eye were supposed to be medium rare and were both definitely medium, pushing medium well in some areas. When paying 50+ dollars for a steak, it would be nice to have them come out to us the way we requested them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My son and I had a wonderful dinner and visit. 801 continues to be a special place for a special evening. Make sure your credit card has the ability to pay the bill. Even with a Groupon it I still was left with a $100 tab for 2 people and we only had one glass of wine and a beer.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

This is a GREAT restaurant for networking, socializing or enjoying good company. This is the perfect place for celebrating birthdays or anniverssaries . I enjoyed this spot last year for a birthday dinner AND I look fwd to the same thing this year.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Simply a fantastic steak house. Have them grill the prime rib!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I've dined at 801 on numerous occasions for business and pleasure however, this will be my last visit. We were seated in the bar area which was extremely noisy (expected). It was noted that we were celebrating my husband's bday plus our wedding anniversary. There was no acknowledgement of either. Lastly, our food (lobster and salmon) were both extremely salty!!! We told the manager who offered us more water and nothing else!!! We left a nice tip (not the waiter's fault) and left immediately. I will NEVER return as the Manager made a lame excuse high sodium content. There was never an attempt to offer anything (drink, dessert, re-cook entree'). Thanks 801 for ruining our special day!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food and service was spectacular - nothing like good beef from the Midwest. They can do away with the "meat" presentation at the table. 801 was very accommodating to my Vegan guest. Great wine and cocktail menu, but they are overpriced relative to other premium steak houses - so fair warn.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

801 chop house was exquisite. From the fabulous service to the excellent cuisine. Everything was great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was somewhat disappointed in our dining experience at 801 Chophouse. We arrived 1/2 hr prior to our reservation in hopes of having a drink at the bar prior to being seated. We were told to "come back up" to the hostess stand at the exact time for our reservation. I didn't understand why they wouldn't come get us from the bar when our table was ready knowing that we were at the bar. It took almost 15 min to be waited on by the bartender as they only had 1 bartender serving the bar patrons on a Saturday night. We split a 12oz filet and shrimp scampi which was excellent but the scalloped potatoes had large chunks of onion in them which made it seem as if the potatoes were not fully cooked. They go the extra mile bringing the meat selection around but then they don't bother showing you actual slices of dessert or even bothering to pump up the desserts. I expected a great deal more from a restaurant and service to be impeccable for the price. I absolutely have no desire to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Service great. Steaks a bit over cooked. Medium was well done and my well done was charred. Enjoy the restaurant a lot and this was the first time that happened. Maybe because they were so busy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was excellent, but service was rushed. We ordered an appetizer, which came out with the bread and butter. Our waitress tried a couple of times to clear our appetizer plates before we had finished the appetizer and bread, which was extremely frustrating especially considering 801 Chophouse's price point. The rest of the meal was more relaxed, but her hurried manner through our first course left a bitter taste in my mouth the rest of dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The whole experience was wonderful. We were greeted promptly and seated. Our server was very friendly and incredibly knowledgeable about everything on the menu and offered his suggestions. The food was fantastic! We actually purchased the Groupon as a way to try this restaurant, but we will be back for sure. We informed them up front that we were using a Groupon and the service never faltered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our first trip for my birthday. Service was great. Food was perfection even though expensive. I had a filet and my spouse had lamb chops. Our server Nick was attentive and took great care of us with excellent recommendations. We will return for special events.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Fish very fair. My husbands steak was charred could not eat. Dessert worst soufflé ever. No manager or anything will not return. We dine out 2-3 times a week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Exceptional as usual. We were celebrating our daughter's birthday, and all had a great time with great food. The staff is friendly and can answer any questions anyone may have. I am anxious to return very soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Too noisy. Difficult to hold a conversation. Steaks were excellent, sides were excellent, service was excellent, staff was excellent, but the noise ruined the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our dinner was fabulous. Tender steaks, seasoned to perfection. An array of sauces to choose from. Sides available were served in large quantities and dessert was delicious. Service excellent, waiter very friendly and knowledgeable concerning the cut of meats and the menu items. A special evening out.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

801 has never disappointed us, and this trip was no exception. The staff, from the hostess to the waitress, is top-of-the-line!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We love going to 801 for special occasions. They do groupons occasionally and I always take advantage. The service is great and food is exactly what you'd hope for!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 3, 2017

Poor experience. Caprese was not good at all! The tomatoes were tasteless and soggy. The steaks were mediocre at best. Our waiter knew we were not pleased, but offered no remedy. For this price point, I would not recommend. No plans to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The first time I went it was absolutely amazing. This time I feel the au grautin was not as good as I remember. The prime rib was OK. Good meal, just not amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent in all categories , looking forward to return visit

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Been here many time and always had great food and service. Had guests from out of town and wanted a special evening. Carlos our waiter seemed to not want to be at work. Didn't give any info on specials and gave minimal service. One diner ordered mid rare and the 60 dollar steak was well done halfway through. Carlos overheard us discussing should he send the steak back and disappeared. Never could get him back to the table to resolve the issue. The scalloped potatoes were dry and flavorless but very greasy around the edges. The parm tweel on the salad was not crisp but chewy from not being fresh. Creme Brulee was very average. This was a very disappointing visit. Will do Ruth Chris next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Dinner date with out of town guests.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.