About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: (314) 875-9900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Baked French Escargot - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Salmon - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Caesar Salad - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Rappahannock Oysters - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Gulf shrimp - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
HASHBROWNS - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Grilled Asparagus - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Oven Roasted Half Chicken - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Filet Mignon - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Fruit Sorbet - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Prime Rib - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
  Crème Brûlée - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Ceasar Salad - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Oysters Rockefeller - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Lobster Chowder - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Pickle Point Oysters - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Kusshi Oysters - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Bread and Butter - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Nasketucket Bay Oysters - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Chicken Liver Pâté - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Connecticut Blue Point Oysters - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
New York Strip - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Asparagus - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Pancetta wrapped scallops - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
801 Chophouse Salad - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Crab & Lobster Salad Tacos - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO
Crème brullée - 801 Chophouse - St. Louis, Clayton, MO

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Business Meals (27)
See All
Notable Wine List (25)
Romantic (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Bar Seating (20)
Private Room (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (10)
People Watching (9)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (3)
Casual (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Atmosphere, decor, location were great. ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Atmosphere, decor, location were great. A bit disappointed with the meal overall. General consensus on ribeye and filets where that they were over seasoned/salty. Chophouse salad and Chophouse Wedge salad were great. Sides (glazed carrots, mushrooms) were ok, but not memorable. Noise level was a bit on the high side but bearable (Thursday night).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pork chops were excellent, as were side ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Pork chops were excellent, as were side dishes. Business expense account place for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food and service were excellent. Are fro ...

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Are from the Sunday Prix Fixe menu which is a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Staff is friendly ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Food is amazing with an atmosphere to match

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have to admit that the chicken is the ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

I have to admit that the chicken is the BEST chicken I have EVER had hands down. It was completely moist and delicious. I travel to St. Louis every year for business and always order the chicken when I am here. Definitely not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We bsolutely loved it. Don was a great ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

We bsolutely loved it. Don was a great waiter and the food was amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, , Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. This restaurant serv ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was great. This restaurant serves generous portions and has an excellent menu. We were there for a business dinner and while placing the order our waiter told us that we were ordering too much food for the table, which made us feel uncomfortable. He rushed us through the menu and was not very helpful. He seemed like he had better things to do. If you have a bad waiter they can really make or break the restaurant vibe for me. If I am in the area again I might consider going back but I will definitely try another restaurant first.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Top-notch experience. One of the best s ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Top-notch experience. One of the best steak houses I have been. Both the food and the staff we excellent. I would recommend 801 over any restaurant in town

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had great service but the steak was one ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Had great service but the steak was one of the worst pieces of meat I have had in years. The steak was cooked perfectly but it was very tough and had gristle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Outstanding rib eye perfectly prepared a ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Outstanding rib eye perfectly prepared and divided to our table of three. Sides were added feature being able to share family style.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Prime rib is unbelieveable!! I've t ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Prime rib is unbelieveable!! I've tried the steaks here before and they are great; but the Prime Rib will be my go to at 801. Carlos was our waiter and he did an outstanding job! Thanks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I can't say enough about this place! The ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I can't say enough about this place! The steak was only topped by that peppermint cheesecake!!! Oy!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent! The food was ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was excellent! The food was very good, however we didn't like the macaroni, it was quite bland and it's not cheesy.I also like that you can order half portions of the sides, most restaurants don't offer that. The 801 chop salad was amazing, the pork belly is so tender. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for New Years. The service was gre ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years. The service was great. The biggest issue is the high price. The food was good, nothing was bad, but I could get that same quality and quantity at many other, lower priced steakhouses in the area. Also, the scallops were pretty small. Great bourbon menu. Fantastic for seeing athletes. Many visiting teams stay at the ritz, so they come over to eat. Hometown athletes also frequent this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was excellent, the staff were f ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was excellent, the staff were friendly and professional. Our waiter was prompt but not pushy or in a hurry. Again, the food was excellent, and it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say? It's the best place for ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

What can I say? It's the best place for steak, shrimp, fries, service. I requested a booth and again, they accommodated us. Love the place. We never ususally go out NYE but we did this year. Place a bit 'festively" loud but it was all in fun. Thanks again for a memorable and delicious dinner!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time dining here and it was amazin ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time dining here and it was amazing! The steaks and service are top notch! This has to be the best place in stl to get a steak I recommend it if you have never been.

Tags: , Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed! Over Priced Poor Serv ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very disappointed!

Over Priced

Poor Service

Rude People

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We celebrated my husband's birthday at 8 ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday at 801 Chop- the food was spectacular! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was superbly prepared and pre ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything was superbly prepared and presented. Fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good however I felt the pr ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was very good however I felt the prices were a little on the high side. Example 8oz filet was 45.00 however again it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was very good but also very exp ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was very good but also very expensive. The service was excellent and the server was terrific. We would use this restaurant for business occasions and for special occasions but probably not for simple evening dinners. Next time we would request a booth as it was a bit noisy at the table. But all in all, we did enjoy the evening very much.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal great wine. $$$$

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great meal great wine. $$$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service!

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was almost great. The snag was some ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was almost great. The snag was something that should have been the hit of the evening; the steak. Great atmosphere, friendly, welcoming staff, good service with excellent tableside manner and good knowledge of the menu. The drinks, appetizers and salad were first rate. We ordered a 12-oz ribeye, medium rare, to share. The steak was overdone, over charred so that the crust, instead of adding to the flavor, was just hard and not pleasant. We were surprised at the thickness--or really thinness--of the steak, too. Expectations from high-end steak houses are thick steaks cooked to perfection. This did not make the grade. That said, we would give it another try as it was Christmas Eve and maybe just not the best night for the kitchen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

801 chophouse is always amazing the stea ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

801 chophouse is always amazing the steak is to die for as well as the mac n cheese. Always a pleasure dining with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the Sunday prix fixe menu this time ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Had the Sunday prix fixe menu this time and it was just right. I'd enjoy other desserts more but creme brûlée was still good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! They brought ou ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food and service! They brought out complimentary champagne to celebrate my nephews graduation from nursing school...excellent touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! What a steakhouse... No a cho ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fantastic! What a steakhouse... No a chop house should be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bar staff was very friendly. The TV ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

The bar staff was very friendly. The TV's are useless. Very hard to see.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

All great. Fun evening.

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

All great. Fun evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

1st visit; ambiance and service excellen ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

1st visit; ambiance and service excellent. Quality and taste of meals was excellent. We found cost of both food and spirits higher than other higher priced restaurants in area to which we are accustomed, however the dining experience offsets much of that. However, we were surprised to find when we examined our bill that there was an uncharge for having our martini in a martini glass. We were not told of that uncharge. Hard to figure why having a martini in a martini glass which is a long standing tradition would carry an up charge; it is not the money,

it is the principle.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Great spot, excellent service, fabulous ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great spot, excellent service, fabulous food, absolutely love it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great room Easy to widen with staff At ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great room

Easy to widen with staff

At our beck and call

-Only misses were the temperature In in e room could Have been cooler as it rose for r a while

-needed all the wine to be poured out continuously vs a more conservative approach

Music ambiance was a challenge until of of the waitresses score with a speaker we could jam out to. She saved the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Never disappoints. Great service fabulo ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Never disappoints. Great service fabulous food expensive but totally worth it. I am a consistent repeat customer.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was element but highly overpric ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was element but highly overpriced. I asked for a booth but were only available in the bar. The booths were uncomfortable and the area was noisy. The waiter told us that he been there two years. He disappeared frequently and we had to ask for things again. We both had steaks and the carrot cake was to die for. The food was great but the service was not. I expected better for a $200 bill for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Overall good food and great service, des ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall good food and great service, desserts sorbet is so good. Steaks were great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the experience was exce ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything about the experience was excellent and our server Carlos made it a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was about my 6th or 7th visit and i ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was about my 6th or 7th visit and it was the best visit. In the past the steaks have been good but not great, but this time I had one of the best steaks I have ever had. The hash brown potatoes are good enough that if they were all I had I would be happy. The meal began with the house oysters and steak tartare, followed by salads for some and the roasted marrow bones for me. All starters were excellent. Main courses were steaks, tuna and sea bass. Every bite of every dish was eaten, indicating total satisfaction with the meal. Steaks were tender, a little charred on the outside but perfectly medium-rare on the inside. The fabulous hash browns were... fabulous. An order of Brussels sprouts were enjoyed by everyone else but me. Wine service was good as was the service for the meal. While 801 is pricey, when the food and service is this good, it is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food at 801 Chophouse. Knowledgea ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food at 801 Chophouse. Knowledgeable servers and substantial wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.