Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: (314) 875-9900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Business Meals (35)
Romantic (33)
Bar Seating (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Private Room (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Cozy (13)
People Watching (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
919 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to 801 multiple times now and our server and service was not what we have previously experienced. He would drop and item and quickly run off, left my water glass empty, brought out a wrong side, charges us for a salad we didn't order, and wasn't personable. I will ask to sit at the back of the restaurant away from the kitchen as there was so much noise that it distracted us from enjoying our meal. We will be back but hopefully we get another server who is a bit more attentive to his tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, service was excellent. A little pricey. Huge portions

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Another great experience at 801. A friend wanted to take her daughter for a special night. It was that and more. From our valet greeting, to the welcome at the front desk our dinner started off on the right foot and never fell short. We each tried something off the Sunday Prix Fixe menus, what a bargain. Be sure to upgrade your wedge salad to get the bacon lardons!! Both the prime rib and filets we ordered medium rare and they were spot on. We supplemented our meal with a side of lobster mac and cheese, because why not?? There's plenty of food with your set menu, but we love lobster mac. Brandon was a great server and having the car waiting with open doors when we walked out was the cherry on top. Well done or should I say perfect at medium rare!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing service and amazing food. Best steakhouse I have ever been to, and the service couldn't have been better.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

All I can say is that this was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had in St. Louis. Trust me. Try it. You're not going to be disappointed! No need to further explain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My favorite steakhouse in St Louis. Always a Grand Slam, nothing less.
Service. Food. All A+

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was wonderfully prepared and delicious. Service was impeccable. Didn't get full 5 stars across the board because it was so expensive to begin with and they didn't have a kid's menu or kids pricing. Overall it was wonderful but probably not with little kids.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

One of the best steak houses in St. Louis. The food and service is awesome.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our third visit to 801 Chop House, our previous two visits were amazing but this last visit was very sub par. Our waiter Justyn was extremely lacking in service for a green coat, very disappointing. We had first time diners with us and we had to ask to see the steak presentation, he was not knowledgeable regarding the cokctail menu and failed to check on the table. I ordered the 22oz NY Strip which lacked seasoning, our sides were just ok. The bartender for the night was seriously lacking major skills. We will not be returning here anymore, we will try the other steak houses in Clayton.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have eaten here about seven or eight times now. I had the best steak of my life. 25 oz. Delmonico. It keeps getting better. Service is unmatched. Pricey but worth it. Amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food. Excellent service. Everything that was put on the table was absolutely delicious. Love the presentation of the various off-menu selections. Ordered the bone-in filet mignon and it was incredible. Everything went off without a hitch. I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was great , food was very good. For the price though I would like to see sides come with your main meal. Overall great experience though.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Took my hubs there for a birthday dinner. Everything was phenomenal. Even surprised us with a birthday dessert! It was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great service, with Awesome food and drinks! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

An amazing fine dining experience! The service was impeccable, the food was truly outstanding. Our server was both friendly & highly professional, well versed & knowledgable about all aspects of the menu. For our appetizer we had the sauteed shrimp & the scallops wrapped in pancetta, both were delicious. My wife had the bone in pork chops, they were perfectly seasoned & succulent. I had the filet which was cooked to perfection.
As we were being seated I discretely told the mater'd that we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary & with out another word we were presented with a specially prepared dessert at the end of our meal.
While this is a high end restaurant, the service, food & overall experience was well worth the price. I can't say enough about how much we both enjoyed 801 Chophouse.
11 stars out of 10.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary. The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved it all :) the shrimp cocktail sauce could of had more kick to it but other than that. I loved it all!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Absolutely loved it. Food is amazing and the staff is very respectful and informative. We will be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was THE BEST meal we have ever had, hands down. Totally worth the price. You get what you pay for, and we got an excellent meal and amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service and food were outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great service but the food was a little over priced for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Sat at the bar. The bartender was fantastic and helped me decide on several courses ( I chose my bottle of wine from their fantastic wine list). I'm planning return tomorrow. Half a block from the Ritz-Carlton, it could not have been more convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The service was excellent!! My husband loved the steak, but my shrimp was so-so. But that was my fault. I knew it was going to be a bit spicy, but I ordered it anyway! The Crab Cake was the BEST I've eaten in this area!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic service and presentation. Far too much salt used to season the steaks. Couldn't taste the meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great atmosphere to relax and dine at a quality level.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

12 oz strip was OK not great. Sides service ambience very good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Normally I love 801, this trip was spotty, wrong salad was brought out, service 3was sloppy/choppy. Normally a solid offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Pretty good steak with pretty bad oysters and sides. OK but not stellar service. I always leave this place disappointed but not that many good options in Clayton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Dined for my Fiancé s birthday and our anniversary. Exceptional service and food. Very friendly staff and the Chef went out of her way to make a special sauce for my fiancé which made him a total fan of this fantastic restaurant. We will definitely return and bring friends and family.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed their Easter Brunch menu. Liked that they offered special dishes (and breakfast, no less!). Much preferred to the buffet style which usually means a big decline in food quality. Only minor complaint was that my eggs, ordered poached medium, were under-cooked. The steak was excellent as usual. My friend loved the prime-rib hash. Very unique. My Bloody Mary was crafted quite well. Our server was very personable and gave prompt service. And the atmosphere was quiet and perfect.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The wife and I at at 801 for our anniversary. I had the 24 once bone-in delmonico and she had the 8 once fillet. Both were delicious and my medium rare steak was perfectly prepared. The hash browns are a must try. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always Perfection and it did not dissapoint. We had friends from Toronto in town and one is a waiter at the highest end restaurants in Toronto and he was very impressed. Our waiter BOB was terrific but he always is that is why we always request him. We love the CHOPHOUSE and FISH. We live right across the street and love the convenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent, as usual!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Fantastic meal from start to finish! Probably one of the best meals we've had in St. Louis. Thanks for a great night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

801 Chophouse is a true special occasion restaurant- we were here for our anniversary. This was our 2nd time dine. Our waiter Carlos was top notch. Food was premium quality with a premium price tag to match. Dining here makes for a special evening out though it's not fussy - plenty of people dressed in jeans.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was excellent, as usual, and the service was fantastic! When we arrived (2 adults/1 infant), the restaurant already had our table ready with a high chair, napkin, butter knife (dull), and spoon for the baby. Our server was superb, as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great evening for business dinner. Our group was accommodated with being seated so we could discuss business. Kudos to our server Sarah. She exceeded everyone's expectations from suggestions on wine and entree choices. Not to mention her professionalism and outstanding service throughout the night. A very enjoyable dinner evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great ambience, food and service. Prices high but definitely worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Always enjoy the steaks and they have the best crab cakes I have ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good food and service, but they need to reduce the noise level with better acoustics.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.