About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: (314) 875-9900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Good for a Date (47)
See All
Business Meals (45)
Notable Wine List (35)
Romantic (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Bar Seating (30)
Private Room (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Worth the Drive (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Cozy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
People Watching (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Authentic (9)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
843 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything about our experience was wond ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything about our experience was wonderful. This is a great spot for a special occasion or if you'd like to treat yourself to a very nice meal. From our drinks to appetizers, steaks and dessert it was all superb. Our waiter (I wish I remembered his name) was excellent and so informative of the menu items. He was very kind to bring me a birthday dessert that was beautifully done. My husband had the chocolate soufflé and it was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, great service

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful meal, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food! Never had a bad ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and food! Never had a bad experience!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorry to rate this 3 stars. Service was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Sorry to rate this 3 stars. Service was sloppy at best. Two of four entree orders were incorrect. All four entrees were beef. The filet was very good. The ribeyes were chewy. The sides were really uninspired, and luke warm at best. I wish I could jump up and down for the creme brulee and chocolate souffle, but they were just ok. The place is beautiful, though. When a table of four bills out at almost $500 (with three drinks total) you expect superior........everything! Temper what I have written by knowing that I dined on a gift certificate. Had I been spending my own money the review wouldn't have been this nice.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Hopefully the next time the steak will b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Hopefully the next time the steak will be better. Compared to other steakhouses I was not impressed. The server recommended it and we were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Met my boyfriend in St. Louis and booked ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Met my boyfriend in St. Louis and booked an online reservation 2 weeks in advance. We were both excited to try this place out since it had great reviews online. I was going to great him to a Valentines Dinner. We went on 2/11 @ 8pm. Once we walked in, it was a beautiful place and looked very elegant. Our table was not ready yet so they seated us at the bar to wait until it was. We waited about 10 minutes until the table was ready. We were seated and about 5 minutes later our waiter (Joshua K) came to ask us what we would like to eat and went over the menu and brought out the different cuts / options that they had. This is where things went south....we didn't see him much after that. We both had empty drinks for over 20 minutes, and after the food was served (not by him) he did not come back for over 20 minutes with a dessert menu. My boyfriend and I both planned on getting dessert but by the time we got the menu we were both annoyed and ready to leave. Our waiter also did not bother telling us anything on the dessert menu. There was a table next to us with 6 people who were ordering lots of wine, food, etc. who he had no problem visiting every few minutes, yet always skipped over our table. We were made to feel very undervalued and for the price of the food, we really expected a better experience. The food was great, service was poor.

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We recently celebrated my son's 17th bir ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We recently celebrated my son's 17th birthday at 801 Chophouse. We ate here for the first time two years ago to celebrate my husband's birthday and enjoyed every bite and our server was phenomenal. This time, while the food and the service were solid we were not as impressed as the first time. We had an early reservation and when we arrived the majority of the booths were open. We were shown to a table in the center of the room between the bar and the kitchen despite indicating this was a special occasion. Lesson learned: make sure to request a booth when you make your reservation if you would like a more intimate dinner experience otherwise they will not accommodate you. We started with winter and caesar salads, oysters, pancetta wrapped scallops (a little under for my taste but yummy sauce). I sent my salad back because it was covered in cheese instead of on the side. This was quickly rectified and the server apologized and took ownership for not communicating the request to the kitchen. For our main course we had a mix of NY strips, ribeyes and filets with lobster mac and asparagus for sides. For dessert we shared a flourless chocolate cake and a complimentary birthday chocolate souffle. My son loved the chocolate souffle; the few bites he shared were absolutely amazing with a delicious fudgy chocolate sauce and vanilla creme anglaise. My hubby and I also shared a nice bottle of cab.

The overall experience at 801 Chophouse while very good was just not memorable compared to our experiences at other NY style steakhouses nor with our first experience here a couple years ago. When you spend almost $600 on a meal for a special occasion you expect it to be a step above. I am not sure we will return for another special occasion but I will definitely be back for my own souffle for dessert!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious! Great service! Valet! Love t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious! Great service! Valet! Love the atmosphere and the decor of the restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time, food and service was f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a great time, food and service was fantastic. Valet service was one their game! We highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We are new to living in St Louis and are ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We are new to living in St Louis and are still trying to find the food scene. We spent the last 8 years in the DC area, which is a great place for foodies. Unfortunately for us, 801 Chophouse did not impress. My husband had the chilean seabass which was just okay, not a ton of flavor although he did enjoy the vegetables and broth it was served over. I had the filet mignon and in hindsight I should not have taken the waiters recommendation to get the "house rub" because it was overpowering with salt and almost charred on the outside although I ordered my steak medium. We had the garlic mashed potatoes, fine nothing special, creamed corn was good and we sent the brussel sprouts back because they were terrible. We finished the night with bread pudding which was dry and sort of flavorless. We split a bottle of wine, they didn't have what we ordered originally so we ended up with what I suspect is the house wine. Overall, it was a 3 hour dinner with mediocre food, not worth the hefty price tag that came at the end of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Loud, food for the price we were unimpre ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loud, food for the price we were unimpressed. Got there early, checked in the Hostess forgot we were there to be seated to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Have eaten there many times and have had ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Have eaten there many times and have had excellent meals. My steak was mediocre at best. The service was outstanding. I don't think I will be back for sometime.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was great, the steaks were cook ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was great, the steaks were cooked perfectly and the brussel sprouts were great. we'll be back to try the other steak topper options.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

For me, 801 is the perfect place to ente ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 1, 2017

For me, 801 is the perfect place to entertain clients and celebrate a business victory. There's an old-school manly vibe that pairs well with the great meat that is served. Inventive cocktails and a great wine list add to the making of a memorable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great steak but very expensive. My stea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great steak but very expensive. My steak did come out cold but they remedied it right away. It is fairly loud in this restaurant

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My first time at 801 chophouse was great ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My first time at 801 chophouse was great. The food was delicious, and the service was very good also. This restaurant is one that everyone should visit at least once.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice experience here durin ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a very nice experience here during Clayton Restaurant Week. Though he chatted with us just a bit too much, our server was very pleasant. The steak (a 6-ounce filet) was delicious and cooked to perfection. Both the mashed potatatoes and the asparagus could have been hotter and the latter were cooked too long for my taste (they were a bit soggy).

The desserts were delicious - we tried the Baked Alaska (on a whim - it was very good, even if maybe I should have tried the Carrot Cake as our server suggested) and the creme brulee (which was excellent). Because it was our wedding anniversary, our server comped us an extra dessert. We picked the chocolate cheesecake, which we took home. Wow, was it delicious!

The atmosphere was lovely. We sat at a comfortable booth. When the sun went down, the place took on a calming, low-lit elegance. Overall, we had a great night! Regular menu prices are rather high, even for a high-end steakhouse. It looks like the Sunday Prix Fixe menu would be a good value at $33 per person.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for Clayton restaurant week and the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went for Clayton restaurant week and the menu was fabulous!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful classy venue Food is prestige ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Beautiful classy venue

Food is prestige steakhouse

Attentive service

High end hot spot

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife had the Pork Chop, it wasn't ter ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife had the Pork Chop, it wasn't terrible, it just did not have any flavor. We expect more from a restaurant like 801. This was a second time there and the first was much better all around. Not so much this time. I believe we will try them again, but I would say if it falls short then it will be the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was one of the best restaurant expe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was one of the best restaurant experiences that I have ever had! The food, service and ambiance was top notch. I work in fine dining and was thoroughly impressed with everything! Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding prime rib and amazing rib ey ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Outstanding prime rib and amazing rib eye... Good selection of handcrafted cocktails, wines, and spirits. An experience that you will remember that comes with its own price. Worthy.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wait for our table was not long. The fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wait for our table was not long. The food was perfect. Even though it was a busy night our waiter took good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was very pushy and rushed ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The wait staff was very pushy and rushed each course - it was clear that they were more interested in turning the table than they were our experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

801 chophouse is always a great experien ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

801 chophouse is always a great experience. The waiters actually make a career here.

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited during Clayton restaurant wee ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We visited during Clayton restaurant week. The ambiance was great. The food was delicious and just beautiful. Our waiter was awesome and even treated our daughter to dessert. It was a great experience and I will be back when we have a very special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a neighborhood restaurant for us. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It is a neighborhood restaurant for us. Service and food were exceptional!!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Live Sports, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there during Restaurant Week and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went there during Restaurant Week and it was very good. I had the Filet with asparagus and it was cooked exactly to my liking and very delicious. I would recommend Chophouse and will go back again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our visit during restaurant week was won ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our visit during restaurant week was wonderful--food, service, and ambiance. One glitch our fault--my husband ordered his steak well done (yes, sorry!), and it arrived barely medium, But, he did not say anything till almost done. My creme brulee was tasty but soupy. The dinner was an incredible bargain for $35.00. We find the regular prices quite high.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for Clayton Restaurant Week, w ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went here for Clayton Restaurant Week, which is an awesome deal at a high-end restaurant such as this one. I had a large party and I can't thank the staff enough for accommodating myself and all of my friends. We all wanted to sit together and the staff made it happen with a smile on their faces.

The table service was wonderful - no glass stayed empty, our food came out quickly and timely, nice and hot and with the orders correct. Everyone loved their steaks, salmon, bisque, cheesecakes, and creme brulee.

This is an excellent restaurant that works hard to please their customers with both service and cuisine. I highly recommend it and will definitely be back soon! Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time to Chophouse. I ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This was my second time to Chophouse. It was as good as the first time and will be my number one "go to" place for great steaks! Best in town!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed our meal and the space ~ quiet a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Enjoyed our meal and the space ~ quiet and tasty. Great value with Clayton Restaurant Week.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clayton restaurant week

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Clayton restaurant week

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Clayton Restaurant week, and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We went for Clayton Restaurant week, and the food and service for $35 were excellent! Wedge salad was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my daughter there to celebrate he ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I took my daughter there to celebrate her 35th birthday. The steak was the best I've ever had...seared perfectly and cooked to perfection (just the way I like steak cooked). Our server was wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everyone was great from the hostesses wh ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Everyone was great from the hostesses who greeted us, the bartender and our server. Food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Traditional steak house all the through ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Traditional steak house all the through and through, pricing is a la carte. Good fish selection if not a carnivore, the wife had salmon that was excellent. Sides are more than easily shared. The waiter was very good in explaining how it all works including the various sizes of steaks available, even if not indicated on the menu. Decoration, IMO is traditional steak house, in that it was dark wood with greens and reads, lot of "beef and cattle" artwork. It is a small chain bu all in all enjoyed it quite a bit. And with top end steak houses it is not inexpensive.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We went here for a business dinner and h ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We went here for a business dinner and had a table in one of the private rooms. The room was perfect for what we were there for. Loved the décor and private/intimate space.

Our server was very friendly, however there were some issues. We ordered a nice bottle of wine and he did not ask if anyone wanted anything other than wine (which people would have ordered specialty cocktails). We ordered one bottle for the table, which obviously wasn't enough. He should have suggested two bottles for the amount of people because he would barely fill our wine glasses and half of the time they were empty. We were ready to spend more money on wine and drinks, but didn't get the opportunity. Most of the time we were left with empty glasses - which this was a thank you business dinner that was fun and definitely encouraged drinking. The apps were amazing! Best calamari I've ever had. The server suggested ordering more for the table, so I don't understand why he wouldn't do that for the wine. Most of the steaks were cooked perfectly, but mine and two others had steaks that were way under cooked. I ordered mine medium rare and it was the rarest steak I have ever had. The middle was raw (I could not eat).

Overall, we had a great time, but for the money we spent it should have been better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Atmosphere, decor, location were great. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Atmosphere, decor, location were great. A bit disappointed with the meal overall. General consensus on ribeye and filets where that they were over seasoned/salty. Chophouse salad and Chophouse Wedge salad were great. Sides (glazed carrots, mushrooms) were ok, but not memorable. Noise level was a bit on the high side but bearable (Thursday night).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pork chops were excellent, as were side ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Pork chops were excellent, as were side dishes. Business expense account place for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.