About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: 3148759900

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Baked French Escargot
Salmon
Caesar Salad
Rappahannock Oysters
Gulf shrimp
HASHBROWNS
Grilled Asparagus
Oven Roasted Half Chicken
Pancetta wrapped scallops
New York Strip
Asparagus
801 Chophouse Salad
Crab & Lobster Salad Tacos
Filet Mignon
Fruit Sorbet
Prime Rib
  Crème Brûlée
Ceasar Salad
Lobster Chowder
Oysters Rockefeller
Kusshi Oysters
Pickle Point Oysters
Bread and Butter
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese
Nasketucket Bay Oysters
Chicken Liver Pâté
Connecticut Blue Point Oysters
Crème brullée

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
St. Louis
Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Steakhouse
St. Louis
6 More
Best Overall
Midtown
Best Food
Midtown
Best Service
Midtown
Best Ambiance
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

special occasion (110)
notable wine list (63)
romantic (60)
See All
fit for foodies (57)
good for groups (43)
hot spot (31)
neighborhood gem (24)
vibrant bar scene (22)
great for outdoor dining (9)
great for brunch (8)
scenic view (6)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service2

Way overpriced for mediocre to poor food ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Way overpriced for mediocre to poor food. Everything was way too salty. Service slow and overbearing. I felt like I was trapped in an infomercial about how special everything was. They need to realize they didn't invite the concept of a steakhouse. Much better options for steak in St. Louis for much less the price.

food5
ambience4
service5

Service was impeccable, overall experien ...

Dined 3 days ago

Service was impeccable, overall experience was one of the best I've had in St. Louis

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

801 is a great place to enjoy special oc ...

Dined 5 days ago

801 is a great place to enjoy special occasions. It's very expensive but the food is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Way overpriced for what you receive. Th ...

Dined 7 days ago

Way overpriced for what you receive. This place fancies itself to be a high end, almost luxury restaurant. Unfortunately, when we visited, the place was nearly empty. Nevertheless we were seated at a table next to the bar, which caused us to have to listen to 4 drunk rednecks in t-shirts and shorts during what was supposed to be our nice anniversary dinner. Food was "ok", but I have had better and certainly not worth the price they ask. There are plenty of other true high end restaurants in Saint Louis, so I doubt we will return to 801 Chop House.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for Sunday evening special. Treated ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for Sunday evening special. Treated us just as well as if we were big spenders. Food was delicious. Service excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!!!

Dined on June 17, 2016

Love this place!!!

food5
ambience5
service2

Great food. Typical steakhouse atmospher ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food. Typical steakhouse atmosphere. Only downside was it was very hot in the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure. Fresh food with wonde ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a pleasure. Fresh food with wonderful specials. Server was attentive and focused. She was informative and friendly. Seafood was as good as the beef. Salads spot on. The by the glass wine menu was varied enough to make good pairings with our courses.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This was the fourth time I have eaten he ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was the fourth time I have eaten here, and it was most disappointing. The waiter got our order wrong and my steak came out well done, not medium like I had ordered. The manager did come over to check how things were, and he did offer to make a new steak for me, but I had already eaten too much of the rest of my meal to want more food. He did buy us a round of drinks and offered dessert (which we turned down). I was looking forward to a delicious, perfectly cooked steak and was so let down. It is always a special treat to be able to go to a nice restaurant like this, but , sadly, not so much this time. I am not quite sure if I would go back.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Josh was an excellent server - knowledge ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Josh was an excellent server - knowledgeable, friendly, good sense of humor and wit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I visited Chophouse for o ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I visited Chophouse for our Anniversary. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left, was a wonderful experience in all aspects of dining. My husband had the super huge porter house, it can feed a family of 6 it was so huge. I had Filet. Both cooked and seasoned perfectly. We weren't aware of the portion size of the side dishes despite our waiter who did adequately describe them, we were just being thick about it. The side were huge and could feed a family of 4. All were delicious! The winner of the FOUR sides we ordered out of garlic mash, green beans, broccoli or Brussels sprouts was the green beans hands down, if you eat at this Restaurant you Must eat the green beans!!! My husband has no pallet, he will eat processed turkey loaf, but I was born with a crazy sensitive pallet, and I have to say, everything was perfect!!! I could taste almost every ingredient, and I promise I won't tell anyone what your using lol. The Service aspect, well our waiter was awesome, very knowledgeable, you can tell he has culinary training of some kind even if it's just from hanging in the kitchen there, he knows his stuff, great recommendations, kind, attentive, and given we are pretty easy going people, we felt at ease and comfortable and not upstaged with arrogance and sophistication by our waiter, very refreshing, our waiter was a gentleman in the true sense of the word. We have been singing their praised to friends and family since our dine! Now for the price thing, I read in the reviews quite a bit that this place was over priced. However we felt it was completely in line with the quantity and quality of food your receive, not to mention the ambiance of the lovely interiors and the amazing wait staff. So comparing the prices of this place to Mortons or Ruth Chris isn't really fair, we are talking different portions, cuts of meat, etc. plus at Mortons you get a bland baked potato for $12 as a side but here you get a flavorful side to serve 2-4 .

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best prime rib ever!!! Great service, wi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Best prime rib ever!!! Great service, will go again!!!!

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love 801

Dined on June 11, 2016

Love to dine here whenever we're in town. We were coming in from Columbia, MO and got stuck on 64 in traffic caused by an accident. Gave the Chophouse a call, and they graciously pushed our reservation back to accommodate our needs. Love the food, and the service is exceptional!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love going to 80q Chophouse for a nice e ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Love going to 80q Chophouse for a nice evening out with guaranteed great food and drinks!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great waiter, great evening...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Since it was our first time the waiter made a great presentation with an explaination of the prime aged beef. The steaks were prepared perfectly. My ribeye was on the tough side from what I am used to be still tasty. My wife's filet was just the way she likes it. The vegetables were very good but too much for even two people. Very nice decor and attmosphere. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Steaks were good but slightly over cooke ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Steaks were good but slightly over cooked We had ordered medium rare but thy came prepared medium . Also a fire alarm was set off and continued to sound for approximately 15 minutes. We stayed a table but many guest went outside because you could not even have a conversation. No apology or offer to give a free drink or apologize.. Not very customer centric .

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and service, pricey though.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Fantastic food and steaks were perfectly prepared and extremely good cuts. Service was fantastic. But it's very pricey and a little loud - on the one hand that's good because this place is not stuffy (and I thought it would be); but for the price level I was expecting a little more intimate and private. Definitely worth it if you love steak, but probably best reserved for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, ambience, service-but it will cost you

Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I enjoy great steaks from time to time and so we thought we would try 801. For the most part it lived up to what I've heard as an excellent choice for a special evening out, in our case prior to the theater. What struck me most is the cost. It seemed out of proportion to other similar styled restaurants (I'm thinking Ruth's Chris). When the waiter listed the specials not on the menu he prominently included the cost which seemed higher than expected. Notes: - Getting 1/2 order of salad and 1/2 sized sides made a big difference -- otherwise too much food - The wine list is extensive but mostly served by the bottle, only a small number available by the glass - The steaks seemed a little too done to me. Not sure if that is a pattern but my wife's "medium" would have fit my definition of medium-well.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Burnt Prime Rib is ever in good taste

Dined on May 30, 2016

Nice server but Very stereotypical in how he treated our party. He assumed we wanted burnt steak, I am very upset about my experience but I don't think they have he attention to detail to notice they missed the mark.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First time...will be back

Dined on May 29, 2016

We really enjoyed our first time dining here. They have an incredible deal for early bird dining but I went off script and got a large lobster. Everyone loved their meals.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We went for our 37th year wedding anniversary and had a wonderful meal! They have a great affordable Sunday menu!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinner! We love coming here, e ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Fantastic dinner! We love coming here, excellent steak and my favorite sides!!! Creamed corn and Boursin mashed potatoes are to die for!!! Nick was an excellent server! Will be back again!! Chocolate soufflé and 'adult' candy bar were very noteworthy as well!!!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful space, excellent service. My f ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Beautiful space, excellent service. My filet was overcooked, but when brought to the attention of our waitress, it was replaced within just a few minutes. We had a table of five. Everyone enjoyed their meal, including cocktails, wine, appetizers and entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My extended family spent a memorable eve ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My extended family spent a memorable evening at 801 Chophouse for a birthday celebration. The restaurant provided us with a private dining room for the evening. This is a special place.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and delicious food. We ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food. We ordered the small shellfish appetizer consisting of 6 oysters on the half shell, a king crab leg, and 5 giant tiger prawns with three different sauces. The prime rib and ribeye were perfectly cooked. The side dishes are generous to share. The sourdough bread is to die for. No room for dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

would "melt in my mouth" she wasn't kidding!!

Dined on May 20, 2016

The service that our waiter, Bob, provided was excellent. The steak was the best I have ever had. Really terrific experience. Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Oh boy good! I always get the lobster to ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Oh boy good! I always get the lobster topped tenderloin tips and they are always good. My son got the filet and it was perfect! They discontinued the creamed peas! They managed to recreate them though! Very nice staff. Some waiters better and nicer than others but professional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful post graduation dinne ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a wonderful post graduation dinner. The steaks and sides were excellent. Sadly no room for dessert but plenty of leftovers. Our waiter, Bob, was friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back when in St. Louis.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection of steaks! Best steakhou ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great selection of steaks! Best steakhouse dinner I have had in a long time. Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I never take the time to write a review. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I never take the time to write a review. That's how good this was.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good although pricey. I ordere ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was good although pricey. I ordered a rib eye Medium and it was more on the well done side . While they offered to redo it as they agreed it was overdone, it took a long time to get the food the first time that my partner would have been done by the time a new steak would have come out. Other than that the food was great and service spectacular and the restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a party of 8 dining for Mother's ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a party of 8 dining for Mother's Day. The food & ambiance was great as usual. The service this time was just ok. We had to request a number of things several times, which started to get very frustrating. They didn't have the bottle of wine we selected either, another had to be chosen.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall Excellent

Dined on May 8, 2016

Pricey, but with correspondingly high end food and service. Steaks were top notch. On the advice of other reviewers we tried the hash browns, that was a good call.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great dinner and service. Dingbat hoste ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great dinner and service. Dingbat hostess sat a couple that came in after us before seating us. We had to make a stink to the management. We were not comped anything for our treatment, but we weren't looking for it. It would have been a nice gesture to go along with an empty apology.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

just okay

Dined on May 7, 2016

quality of food was acceptable but nothing to write home about. drinks were watered down and on the small side. would say this is probably a middle of the road eatery and the only reason i can remotely justify the prices is their rent. very nice location, easy access and great surroundings. our service was exceptional

food1
ambience5
service3

The decor and ambience was beautiful. E ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The decor and ambience was beautiful. Enjoyed our drinks at the bar before we went to our booth. Tenderloin medallions were tough and chewy and were ordered medium rare. (They were medium and awful.). My husband's veal chop was also tough. We were astounded how bad the meat was with the prices. The sautéed spinach had raw garlic on top. Yuk. We will never return unfortunately. We could have been good customers...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazingly perfect every.single.time

Dined on April 24, 2016

Amazingly perfect every.single.time. Never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit with guests. Love the hash ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Always a hit with guests. Love the hash browns with the steaks. Calamari exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful service.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everyone at my table was pleased. We had a party of 6 for dinner. Our waiter, Derrick was very attentive but not annoying. We shared the shellfish platter for an appetizer which was wonderful. My prime rib was cooked to perfection and full of flavor. We also shared the hash browns for a side. The sides are plenty big to share. We had not been there before but we will be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.