About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: 3148759900

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Restaurant Photos

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Steakhouse
St. Louis
Best Overall
Midtown
5 More
Best Food
Midtown
Best Service
Midtown
Best Ambiance
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

special occasion (111)
romantic (69)
notable wine list (63)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
good for groups (49)
hot spot (29)
vibrant bar scene (26)
neighborhood gem (26)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (8)
scenic view (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinner! We love coming here, e ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic dinner! We love coming here, excellent steak and my favorite sides!!! Creamed corn and Boursin mashed potatoes are to die for!!! Nick was an excellent server! Will be back again!! Chocolate soufflé and 'adult' candy bar were very noteworthy as well!!!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful space, excellent service. My f ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Beautiful space, excellent service. My filet was overcooked, but when brought to the attention of our waitress, it was replaced within just a few minutes. We had a table of five. Everyone enjoyed their meal, including cocktails, wine, appetizers and entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My extended family spent a memorable eve ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My extended family spent a memorable evening at 801 Chophouse for a birthday celebration. The restaurant provided us with a private dining room for the evening. This is a special place.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and delicious food. We ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food. We ordered the small shellfish appetizer consisting of 6 oysters on the half shell, a king crab leg, and 5 giant tiger prawns with three different sauces. The prime rib and ribeye were perfectly cooked. The side dishes are generous to share. The sourdough bread is to die for. No room for dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

would "melt in my mouth" she wasn't kidding!!

Dined on May 20, 2016

The service that our waiter, Bob, provided was excellent. The steak was the best I have ever had. Really terrific experience. Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Oh boy good! I always get the lobster to ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Oh boy good! I always get the lobster topped tenderloin tips and they are always good. My son got the filet and it was perfect! They discontinued the creamed peas! They managed to recreate them though! Very nice staff. Some waiters better and nicer than others but professional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful post graduation dinne ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a wonderful post graduation dinner. The steaks and sides were excellent. Sadly no room for dessert but plenty of leftovers. Our waiter, Bob, was friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back when in St. Louis.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection of steaks! Best steakhou ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great selection of steaks! Best steakhouse dinner I have had in a long time. Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I never take the time to write a review. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I never take the time to write a review. That's how good this was.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good although pricey. I ordere ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was good although pricey. I ordered a rib eye Medium and it was more on the well done side . While they offered to redo it as they agreed it was overdone, it took a long time to get the food the first time that my partner would have been done by the time a new steak would have come out. Other than that the food was great and service spectacular and the restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a party of 8 dining for Mother's ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a party of 8 dining for Mother's Day. The food & ambiance was great as usual. The service this time was just ok. We had to request a number of things several times, which started to get very frustrating. They didn't have the bottle of wine we selected either, another had to be chosen.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall Excellent

Dined on May 8, 2016

Pricey, but with correspondingly high end food and service. Steaks were top notch. On the advice of other reviewers we tried the hash browns, that was a good call.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great dinner and service. Dingbat hoste ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great dinner and service. Dingbat hostess sat a couple that came in after us before seating us. We had to make a stink to the management. We were not comped anything for our treatment, but we weren't looking for it. It would have been a nice gesture to go along with an empty apology.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

just okay

Dined on May 7, 2016

quality of food was acceptable but nothing to write home about. drinks were watered down and on the small side. would say this is probably a middle of the road eatery and the only reason i can remotely justify the prices is their rent. very nice location, easy access and great surroundings. our service was exceptional

food1
ambience5
service3

The decor and ambience was beautiful. E ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The decor and ambience was beautiful. Enjoyed our drinks at the bar before we went to our booth. Tenderloin medallions were tough and chewy and were ordered medium rare. (They were medium and awful.). My husband's veal chop was also tough. We were astounded how bad the meat was with the prices. The sautéed spinach had raw garlic on top. Yuk. We will never return unfortunately. We could have been good customers...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazingly perfect every.single.time

Dined on April 24, 2016

Amazingly perfect every.single.time. Never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit with guests. Love the hash ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Always a hit with guests. Love the hash browns with the steaks. Calamari exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful service.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everyone at my table was pleased. We had a party of 6 for dinner. Our waiter, Derrick was very attentive but not annoying. We shared the shellfish platter for an appetizer which was wonderful. My prime rib was cooked to perfection and full of flavor. We also shared the hash browns for a side. The sides are plenty big to share. We had not been there before but we will be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great steaks, overpriced wine list, sides okay

Dined on April 23, 2016

As is true with so many chop houses, they have great steaks-- really great steaks. But the wine list borders on ridiculous pricing. The steaks are huge as are the side dishes, competently prepared, but our waiter was somewhat aggressive about suggesting additional courses. I think it's terrific for a special occasion-- the ambience is very nice-- or for a business dinner when you want to impress customers, hopefully with a generous expense account.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best steak dinners I've ever ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

One of the best steak dinners I've ever had !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing cut of meat

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Service was great and the bone-in delmonico was simply out of this world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grateful for the Special Treatment

Dined on April 21, 2016

I called ahead to let you know I was celebrating my nephew. He is a police officer and he received accommodation for carrying people out of a burning building. I didn't expect he would get such recognition from your staff. I was so grateful for each kind instance of attention and there were many. My nephew said he had never been treated so well. As soon as he sat down the waitress said "I hear you are special and that she was going to take great care of him." He received the menu with his name at the top and sent a photo to his mom. You had all taken the time to sign it!! Later someone came up and shook his hand and thanked him for his service. Of course the meal was amazing; the best steak he's ever had he said. On top of that the desert was free. Please let your staff know what a great job they did and how special it made my nephew feel. I will never forget your kindness.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT EXCEPT THE CHEFS WE ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT EXCEPT THE CHEFS WERE TOO HEAVY HANDED WITH THE SALT!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time in St. Louis

Dined on April 17, 2016

It was a very special occasion for my family , it was our 1st time in St. Louis and our son had graduated that day from Fort Leonard to become a M.P. He left Saturday for South Korea. My wife and I wanted to take him somewhere special for the fact he will be gone for over a year, and we don't know when we will be able to see him again. She had friends in the St. Louis area and they stated the Chophouse was one of the best in the St. Louis area. We came from Western Massachusetts, and it one the most memorable meals we have ever eaten out as a family. Thank-You for making our night complete and making us have a very lasting memory from our experience with your restaurant. Hope to be able to get back there someday when our son returns home.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

We are true Ruths' fans and use that as a measure. Having dined at the finest steakhouses in the United States from Coast to Coast, and, opened Porter's Steakhouse 23 years ago, I can say that I enjoy a good steak. 801 did not disappoint on any front. The reception was efficient and professional, as well as warm and hospitable. Our server, Derek, was OUTSTANDING. He took his time to explain the menu and showed us the fresh meat offerings for the evening. We enjoyed the fresh chilled shellfish platter - which was both plentiful and tasty! Jumbo Shrimp( U-10), fresh crab claw & legs as well as 6 raw oysters started our experience. I had the 16oz NY Strip which was well seasoned and an Au Poivre sauce and she had the Lobster tail. Both were excellent. prepared properly allowing the flavor to really shine. The creamed spinache was tasty as well. We finished with a Grand Marnier Souffle which did not disappoint. A great wine and cocktail list rounded out a fantastic experience. Diner was paced as we wanted. I can highly recommend 801 Chop House to everyone. We will return! Thank you for a memorable experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my son's 21st

Dined on April 13, 2016

We enjoyed this place immensely. The staff ensured we had a great time while enjoying a tremendous steak and good drink.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great steakhouse!

Dined on April 10, 2016

801 Chophouse is a great pace for beef! Our group had the filet, prime rib and NY strip and each was cooked perfectly.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The quality of the food was outstanding. ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The quality of the food was outstanding. I had the filet medallions and the beef was perfect. The burgundy terragon sauce was a bit salty. Desserts were exceptional and it was a treat to meet the pastry chef who shared tips on the creme brûlée. . The service was also impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best steak in town

Dined on April 8, 2016

Our first time here. Great happy hour. Bob our server was attentive and knowledgable about everything from wine to food. The steak (801 chop), was prepared perfectly, love the ala carte side items were perfect for two. Will be back sooner than later.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

First timer

Dined on April 4, 2016

Great ambiance for a quiet and exquisite dining experience. Extensive wine list and dinner did not disappoint. Prior to being seated, service at the bar was a bit slow considering there weren't a lot of customers seated at the bar. That was the only drawback the whole night except for when the valet driver dropped my friend's bag of leftovers as she was getting in her car. Although disappointing, it was an accident and he felt as bad as we did!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carlos and 801 Chophouse never fail to a ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Carlos and 801 Chophouse never fail to amaze. A great way to spend an evening of fine food. I tend to only use Carlos since the evening is a business evening and I receive reliability and superior service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

This was the first time 801 tried Sunday Brunch in STL and for the most part the results were positive. As always the food quality and service were top notch. The menu was very broad for a first run with lots of choices. At some other top notch restaurants, brunch becomes a time when you can go and get a quality meal for a little less cost. At 801, the highest priced menu in St. Louis is still the highest priced brunch. It is what it is I guess.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steakhouse in St. Louis

Dined on March 26, 2016

We have never had a bad meal. It is always excellent. Attention to detail is great. We are definitely fans of this place. It is expensive but worth it. You never feel that you have been ripped off.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific

Dined on March 26, 2016

Everything was truly outstanding. The food was perfect, service was terrific, and the wine list was amazing; however it all comes with a hefty price tag so be prepared to drop some serious cash.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Steak was over cooked - indicated not to ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Steak was over cooked - indicated not to over when I ordered

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5

We like the Sunday dinner fixed price me ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We like the Sunday dinner fixed price menu. Compared to the every day menu, this program has value. The regular ala carte menu is very expensive by St. Louis standards - more like New York prices. The food is very good but not worth the price.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Steak House

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Another excellent dinner at 801 Chophouse. I had the ribeye. My wife had the lamb chops. Both were excellent. For dessert they offered a chocolate souffle and it was marvelous. The service was attentive without being overbearing. There is an extensive wine list that the establishment is very proud of (read pricey) but we found an excellent cabarnet to a accompnay the meal.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Amazing Appetizers!

Dined on March 14, 2016

We shared two appetizers and they were AMAZING! I would go back just for them!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary at 801 and it was fantastic. The food is great as you would expect but what I loved was the service. Our server was extremely nice and explained every nuance of the menu and answered every question we had. We both had a few cocktails, steaks and sides and out bill with tip was 240.00. Not cheap, but what great things are? Do yourself a favor and check this place out if you want a great dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.