About 801 Chophouse - St. Louis

131 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

A classic American chophouse interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, granite counter tops and high ceilings accented with dramatic lighting. 801 Chophouse at The Crescent offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Our Executive Chef Christopher Dennis creates a Fresh Sheet that highlights our unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half-shell, five species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for our made from scratch Grand Marnier Soufflé! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Berkshire pork chops and Colorado lamb chops. Customizing parties from 6 to 70, our walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, our tables change for seating and conversation, and our custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9900

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available, as well as off-street lot.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms ranging can accommodate 6 to 50 guests, with areas of the restaurant available for larger groups.

Private Party Contact:
Ian Rockwell: 3148759900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Baked French Escargot
Salmon
Caesar Salad
Rappahannock Oysters
Gulf shrimp
HASHBROWNS
Grilled Asparagus
Oven Roasted Half Chicken
Pancetta wrapped scallops
New York Strip
Asparagus
801 Chophouse Salad
Crab & Lobster Salad Tacos
Filet Mignon
Fruit Sorbet
Prime Rib
  Crème Brûlée
Ceasar Salad
Oysters Rockefeller
Lobster Chowder
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese
Pickle Point Oysters
Kusshi Oysters
Bread and Butter
Nasketucket Bay Oysters
Chicken Liver Pâté
Connecticut Blue Point Oysters
Crème brullée

801 Chophouse - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
St. Louis
Most Booked
St. Louis
Best Overall
Midtown
5 More
Best Service
Midtown
Best Ambiance
Midtown
Romantic
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Special Occasion (175)
Romantic (98)
Notable Wine List (83)
See All
Fit for Foodies (69)
Good for Groups (42)
Hot Spot (41)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (16)
Bar Seating (11)
Modern Decor (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Scenic View (5)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
720 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great server

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Visiting St. Louis on vacation and stayi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Visiting St. Louis on vacation and staying next door at the Ritz Carlton. From NY where we go to a lot of steak houses. This was excellent. Our waiter Justyn was great!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there to celebrate a birthday and d ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Went there to celebrate a birthday and definitely was not disappointed! Blair is a fantastic waitress and the food was amazing. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Extremely pricey. Huge portions that cou ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Extremely pricey. Huge portions that could be split.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

A modern take on the traditional old ste ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A modern take on the traditional old steakhouse. 801 has done it right. I found this restaurant a welcome, refreshing change from the same old same old at Ruth's, Morton's, The Palm, etc. It meets or exceeds their standards in every way. Service from Donald was excellent.

Certainly a find which I will revisit the next time I'm in St. Louis. And the time after that. And...well, you get it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband to 801 Chophouse for h ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I took my husband to 801 Chophouse for his birthday. I wanted to take him somewhere new and nicer than our standard dinner date spots. We both love a fine steakhouse, so 801 was the perfect place. I knew it would be on the pricier side, but the food and service was well worth it. We ordered the crab cake with apple slaw to start. The crab cake was seasoned very well. I ordered the bone-in prime rib cooked medium rare for my entree. I love prime rib and order whenever I can. This was by far the best prime I've ever had. With a simple salt and pepper seasoning, it was cooked to perfection. Between the perfect temperature and flavorful au jus, it was simply amazing. Their sides are ordered a la carte and served family style, plenty for two or three diners. The list of sides was impressive and made it so hard to choose from. We ended up ordering the hashbrowns with aged cheddar, French green beans cooked with bacon lardon and baked wild mushrooms with boursin cheese. Everything we ate was to die for. It was definitely one of the best meals I've ever had, and we had plenty leftover for dinner the next night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Anya, who has helped us on pr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our server Anya, who has helped us on prior occasions, is the model for what a good server should be: knowledgeable, personable, friendly, at ease, and witty - a pleasure to be with.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was good!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Everything was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have been at 801 Chop house two times ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have been at 801 Chop house two times and each time, it was truly wonderful. The second time we had dinner there, two of our friends joined us and they enjoyed the restaurant as well.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Healthy, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a special occasion (Marine son on ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We had a special occasion (Marine son on leave). A waiter who is former Marine sent us a complimentary dessert which was very appreciated!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food, very impressive wine selectio ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Good food, very impressive wine selections. We had very good service. My friend wears hearing aids and they picked a relatively quiet table. But it is a noisy place.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best steaks I have ever had, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

One of the best steaks I have ever had, albeit a little pricey. It was crowded and a little noisy but the service and food was nearly perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service. Too loud and so ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food and service. Too loud and so many people serving food. Crazy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Absolutely delicious!! Had the seafood p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Absolutely delicious!! Had the seafood platter and the lamb chops.... Divine!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional and food was ver ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was exceptional and food was very tasty. My server went above and beyond to correct my order.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent as usual, a must ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was excellent as usual, a must try is the Shellfish bake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was so loud. We sat next to a large ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was so loud. We sat next to a large group that was very loud. If you looking for intimate settings I think I would choose another location. The food was great but service suffered because of the large group seated next to us. I would also enforce a dress code but I guess you can't do that anymore. We had fun but it was so loud I will not go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great service and food, everything was p ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service and food, everything was perfect. This place is pricey so be prepared to spend $150-$180 without a tip.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The service and food was phenomenal! The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service and food was phenomenal! The atmosphere was perfect for celebrating my husband's birthday! I love 801 Chophouse!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this Restaurant for our 38th We ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We chose this Restaurant for our 38th Wedding Anniversary. It being an expensive place to dine had us with high expectations.

My wife had the grilled prime rib, which was cooked perfect, and as she described delicious, and I had the salmon, but the sides were terrible.

We paid $10.00 for a loaded baked potato that came out almost cold. The cheese that was supposed to be melted on top was in a cold lump on top, and butter wouldn't even melt on it.

We also paid $11.00? for a side of Brussels sprouts. They were so bitter we had to send them back.

The only saving grace was the triple sorbet we were given by the waitress as a gift for our Anniversary. Loved the writing in chocolate on the plate. But as for the food, it lacked much.

We were very disappointed in the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was great. Our servers were bu ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was great. Our servers were busy with other guests. The couple next to us were seated after us, eat and left before our food arrived.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Very good . Ate at the bar and split the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good . Ate at the bar and split the rib eye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The steaks were some of the best I've ev ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The steaks were some of the best I've ever had in St. Louis. The lobster corn dogs, mashed potatoes, macaroni & cheese, and Brussel sprouts were also great! The menu is pricey though, so not an everyday dining option.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service from Carlos was outstanding. Fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Service from Carlos was outstanding. Food was not as good as in the past. Very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

We shared a delicious 40oz. steak.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We shared a delicious 40oz. steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall I really like this restaurant. W ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Overall I really like this restaurant. Went for carrot cake but it was not on the menu. We opted for the grand mariner soufflé. It was really disappointing in comparison to the other things I have eaten there. Will definitely go back but not for the soufflé.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great! I would recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eater there before. The prices h ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have eater there before. The prices have sky rocketed and portions have gotten smaller.

Don't think we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

This is one the best prime steakhouses i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This is one the best prime steakhouses in town! The food is excellent and the service is superb! I would recommend 801 Chophouse to any true steak-lover.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am not a "white table cloth" kind of g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I am not a "white table cloth" kind of gal. But if you are, and you like to be fussed over, this place is great. The service was great and my steak was amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding service, tremendous food, gr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Outstanding service, tremendous food, great atmosphere, but as with most high-end steakhouses, pricey.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The steak was good, but not exceptional. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The steak was good, but not exceptional. Great filet minion is to be sod like butter. This one was not. The side dishes: Brussels sprouts and potatoes were very dry - overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

After prior visit we decided we would go ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

After prior visit we decided we would go back but not rush back. This visit was an improvement on that, food-wise. While the oysters were not up to par from previous visits, the sea bass was a great menu addition and was excellently prepared. The strip steak was great as usual and my favorite, their hash browns were perfect. Dan our server was on top of everything as usual and except for the high noise level (made is challenging for the 4 of us to converse), this was the kind of dining experience that would make me rush back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our bartender and waiter were excellent. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our bartender and waiter were excellent. Very professional with good senses of humor. Our waiter was very helpful when my wife and I differed on sides and said he could split the order.

We will definitely consider 801 Chop House for our next special dinner occasion. We are also looking forward to trying your Seafood restaurant.

Lastly, we like your Groupon opportunities!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I think the price of the food is way ove ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I think the price of the food is way over priced for any meal. The food was good but not better than Bristol's and you get more for less money there. Glad we tried it but would not go back due to the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Absolutely fantastic. Service was very ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Service was very good. The waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. The food was terrific. Pan on going again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I absolutely love this place. If anyone ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I absolutely love this place. If anyone is looking for a very nice, well seasoned, but juicy, tender steak, this is the place to go. Be prepared to spend a little extra than your average steak restaurant, but the price is worth it. Oh, and make sure to try the lobster Mac and cheese. Superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way over priced. I've traveled a lot an ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Way over priced. I've traveled a lot and eaten in restaurants all over the U.S. The chop house food was good, service excellent, but priced too high. Two people, one cocktail each, one bottle of one of the lower priced wines on the list, shared prime rib (very fatty), shared dessert, over $250. Very noisy. Not planning another trip back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

THE PLACE FOR STEAK, VALET PARKING AT TH ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

THE PLACE FOR STEAK, VALET PARKING AT THE FRONT DOOR

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a gift groupon to use for this re ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a gift groupon to use for this restaurant. The food was very expensive, but very good.

The service was great, our waiter was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.