Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: (515) 288-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (42)
Romantic (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Business Meals (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Cozy (24)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (7)
Private Room (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a fantastic venue, just as it always is. We went for Mother's Day and my wife felt truly celebrated.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our first time experiencing the special brunch for Mothers Day at 801 and it was fabulous! Nice selection of brunch items to choose from. The service was very attentive and the food was wonderful. We will differently be back to celebrate Mothers Day again next year!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've eaten at 801 Chophouse many times for dinner but this was our first time for brunch. The bacon donuts were out of this world. The menu choices were limited but uniformly excellent. I would recommend the Sunday brunch to everyone, it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was there for the mother's day brunch. Wish it was available every Sunday. One of the best brunches we've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our first time for the Sunday brunch, but excellent as always, just like it is every time for dinner service. Cinnamon rolls and crab cake Benedict both spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice place for our Anniversary . Will tell friends to come to try the food for future

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My friends and I enjoyed our experience at 801 Chophouse. This included hanging out at the bar and later the intimate table area and setting. I appreciated the attentiveness of the waiter as well as how they demonstrated knowledge of the meats. We will attend your restaurant again. Thanks again for the pleasant experience.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had great service and the food was wonderful and somewhat unique. The menu is challenging to understand. Servings are ample, so half orders of the sides were plenty. I did like the fact that we had our own secluded back room for our seven guests but what I really did not like was the acoustics. Between the music being too loud (our server even tried to get it turned down at the time we ordered because she couldn't hear us)and the loud guests beside us, it was nearly impossible to carry on a conversation. This really was disappointing to all of our guests.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Daughters wanted to take Mom to special dress up dinner for Mother's Day, I've been to CH for business meals multiple times and couldn't think of a better place in DSM. Great meal and was surprised to find that they had a children's menu as well. Great experience for Mom and the girls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food, great service. Waiter was kind and corteous. It was somewhat loud and the lighting somewhat dim, but overall great.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fabulous food wine and service. Very private booths in bar available

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Whenever we travel to DesMoines, a dinner at The Chop House is always on the schedule. The steaks, chops and sides are fantastic! The service is very professional. It is expensive but worth the money.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good, as always. A reliable choice if you want good steak in a formal steakhouse atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

ISU Graduation Dinner Celebration.
Everything was perfect from the Steaks to the sides. This Great Steakhouse rates right up there with the great traditional steakhouses in Minneapolis, New York and Chicago

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The steak was not what I would expect of prime, it was a little tough to cut and chewy. I have had better choice as well as prime steak at other restaurants. The prices seemed a little cheap for prime maybe thats why it was not up to par?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

As always, 801 Chophouse in Des Moines never fails me. Food is always good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our anniversary dinner was wonderful over all. However, we ordered asparagus to share only to have asparagus on our entrée. That would have been nice to know. It wasn't very good, so we had lots left over. Also, our appetizer was whisked away a little too soon -- felt a little rushed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing food and very enjoyable for my prom date and I.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 26, 2017

If you're in Des Moines and want a steak, this is the place for you! Lot's of options and FANTASTIC sides. Wonderful wine list and the best sommelier (Ben Nelson) in the city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Anniversary, thank you 801 Chop for making a super evening!🎉💕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went there with a party of 6 to enjoy celebrating my third son's confirmation!!
Excellent food, and amazingly service
4+ stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was excellent and the ambiance was pleasant. It is casual but the food and wine are far above average. Very much enjoyed our evening at 801 Chophouse. Would highly recommend. Very expensive however.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always a perfect experience. The most consistently great restsurant I know.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We celebrated our 3-year Anniversary with 801! Excellent food, service and evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent service and food! My wife and I will be returning soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A restaurant this level cannot have their air conditioning system down, no air and the place full of smoke. All my clothes were smoked, my hair and my eyes were affected too. Unfortunate and unacceptable. Didn't enjoy my dinner at all.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time and we look forward to returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Beautiful facility, Great service, our steak was cold? They did apologize and removed it from the bill. I would rather have had the steak ,hot and paid for it.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had an outstanding meal. The filet mignon was wonderful@

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent steaks, sides and appetizers. Superb service by Michael. We recommend the crab cake appetizer, chop house salad and the mixed salad. Our filets were extremely tender and cooked to perfection. The boursin potatoes had great flavor - between the two of us we could not finish the single order we got. The Gran Marnier soufflé we ordered for dessert was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My overall feelings after eating were
1. Wonderful service by every employee we came into contact with.... well done

2. Wonderful food by taste, quantity preparation and presentation. It just wasn't $50 better then other like places. I.e.: Ruth Chris or Mortensons

We certainly enjoyed ourselves very much simply not $50 better.

Once again great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our server was exceptional and took care of us through out the night. We ordered Carpaccio which was a touch on the oily side but everything else was above the line EXCEPTIONAL. My steak was perfectly cooked. The bread was exceptional, the wine recommendation was out of this world and the ceasar and chop salads were perfection. We ordered dessert and the cheesecake was creamy and delicious. Absolutely will be back again!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent as always. We always plan a meal here when in Des Moines. Our server (Debbie) was outstanding and was so efficient and pleasant. Great martinis!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My Husband and I, loved the whole dining experience..
It was our first monthversary celebration...
We had Chicken and Sea bass for our Main course and it was delicious, mind blowing and one of the best we ever had. The vegetarian appetizer we got was new and totally experimental - Endives in a new form with the curry sauce tasted phenomenal! Finally, desserts here have always been special, Crème brûlée and Cheesecake!! Ahhh perfect it was!

Glad we decided to celebrate our special occasion here. Thank you - Chophouse!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My husband & I love this place. Great food. Wonderful service. Quiet beautiful atmosphere. Thank you for a special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The steak was not good it was burnt. They put sauce on it when I asked for it to be left off. They wiped it off the steak and "seared it". It was burnt. Don't get the onion rings. You are better eating at Burger King. The waitress kept apologizing. I just wanted great food for the $280.00 I spent. It WAS by far the worst meal I've ever had. I entertain folks and take them to great restaurants but I will cross this off my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I can only give reviews on the steaks as every time I have been there I have the same thing - the fillet mignon. It is consistently the best steak I have had. It's so good, I can't get myself to try anything else. My wife is the same way. However, I can say that the salads are always great as are the sides. We like the garlic mashed potatoes and green beans.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food and service, even after trying to find something wrong we found nothing. Great time

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Outstanding evening! Shannon is a fabulous waitress!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent as always, from the cocktails to dessert. Clearly the best steakhouse Des Moines has to offer. Service also outstanding.

Only caveat I would say, is that the prices are incredibly high, even by high-end steakhouse standards. Their steak prices are nearly $10-$15 higher than high-end steakhouses in Chicago and other major cities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.