About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: 5152886000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • New York Cheesecake
  • Shellfish Pan Roast
  • Ribeye Oscar
  • Heirloom Tomato Salad
  • USDA Prime Rib
  • Grilled Pork Chop
New York Cheesecake
Shellfish Pan Roast
Ribeye Oscar
Heirloom Tomato Salad
USDA Prime Rib
Grilled Pork Chop

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
9 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Romantic
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (122)
Romantic (92)
Notable Wine List (68)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Groups (23)
Hot Spot (11)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a good beef place in town !

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good beef place in town !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

If you don't want to offer the less expe ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 5 days ago

If you don't want to offer the less expensive three course dinner option on Sunday's....don't do it! We all felt like we were a pain in the waitresses side for being there and ordering the "Sunday option". We could of got hot food and a thicker piece of prime rib at other nice restaurants in the city for less then what we paid for the "Sunday option!"

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food and ambience but pricey. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and ambience but pricey. Best for a special occasion

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was a hit or miss. Steak was wonder ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was a hit or miss. Steak was wonderful but seafood was dry. Sides were the same.. green beans were extremely salty and sautéed spinach was great. Would try again. Service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a place we reserve for special o ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is a place we reserve for special occasions. Service (Chip) was impeccable as always -- needs anticipated and met unobtrusively. The food meets the standards one would expect of a restaurant which bills itself as "prime" -- although the halibut was a bit overcooked for our taste. (We have been to restaurants where we are asked, like steak, how we want the fish done. So "overcooked" may be a judgment, as we were not asked.) If you're not told, "half-orders" are available on salads and sides. And a "half" of a side is still a LOT of food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Came from out of town for a date night. ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Came from out of town for a date night. Service was great! I had heard great things about the food so I think my expectations were high. I wasn't as impressed as I'd hoped. I would go back again for the great atmosphere and excellenct service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was great. The calamari was ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was great. The calamari was exceptional. The rest of our food was subpar. I ordered the 14oz ribeye it looked good when it arrived, but it was really fatty and it had unchewable grisly pieces. If you are going to charge $54 for a piece of meat it should be more meat than fat and should all be edible. My husband ordered the 16oz NY strip. Again it looked beautiful, but it had an overwhelming taste of butter (he ordered it with just regular seasoning). The grilled asparagus was bitter. The salad wedge was plain. The bacon in the greenbeans was the best part of the sidedish. For the 2 of us (and we splurged for an adult beverage a piece) the bill came to $212 dollars before tip, so it is pricey!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The filet was cooked and seasoned perfec ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The filet was cooked and seasoned perfectly. Our potatoes and veggies were also excellent. The low light provides a lovely ambience, and the service was perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy coming here. The food is gr ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always enjoy coming here. The food is great and the service is exceptional. Only issue this time was our server kept questioning my ID. I'm almost 24 years old and it made me very uncomfortable. Other than that I enjoyed my time at 801.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Wait staff was excellent. Very knowledge ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wait staff was excellent. Very knowledgeable and helpful . Food was exceptional , delivery was slow but acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Excellent food and service, as usual

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food and service, as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service was great ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was excellent and service was great with many personnel tips for dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, as usual, but ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was outstanding, as usual, but our server was exceptionally rude - repeatedly walking off mid conversation or if he asked us a question and someone delayed for even a second on a response. We found it so rude that it was comical and turned into a running joke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

I would say that this is the top restaur ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I would say that this is the top restaurant in Des Moines! I have been traveling to Iowa for business for many years and so happy to find this restaurant. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attention to detail, steaks cooked exact ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Attention to detail, steaks cooked exactly to your request. Staff is attentive and the the sides are tops, does that make any sense?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

came in at 7:30 pm to a nearly empty re ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

came in at 7:30 pm to a nearly empty restaurant we arrived about 10 minutes early and the hostess suggested the bar (high price point) when we declined about 5 minutes later a miraculous cancellation brought us to our table. Waiter arrived with sour dough bread and huge chunks of butter, decent small talk banter not condescending but declined drinks and he went over the nights specials. We ordered - steaks *filet mignon and a KC Strip. asparagus and garlic mashed potatoes. My wife said her filet was very tasty. my strip - first bite was a chunk of gristle and other than the 3 chunks of gristle I had to spit out the remaining portion of meat was good. The garlic potatoes were more like a paste definitely could have used more fluffiness but the garlic flavor itself was about right. The asparagus was fat which many times would be tough these were very tender but could have been a bit warmer.

We finished diner off with two coffee desert drinks which were tasty but my home ones are just as good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great steak, very private, pricey, long ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great steak, very private, pricey, long wine list, professional wait staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was wonderful and it should be ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was wonderful and it should be for the prices they charge. Only complaint, my wife and I ordered an after dinner shot (lemon drop), we wanted something fast as we were crunched for time and the waiter brought us 2 large martinis. We reiterated that we ordered just a shot and had to leave and he replied "oh, just put it down the hatch". The several sips of the martini was great but after a $100+ dinner I wasn't expecting to pay another $30 for several sips of 2 martinis that I didn’t order.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I just had a filet a month ago at a lead ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I just had a filet a month ago at a leading Chicago restaurant that leaped all competition and made it to the top of my list. But the 801 pulled an Usain Bolt and easily surpassed it. If it is possible for a piece of meat to be so perfectly tender and savory that it melts in your mouth, this was it. Gave a new meaning to "succulent." Sides were equally appealing and outsized, even when shared. (DO NOT order individual sides unless training for an Olympic-caliber eating contest.) We had lobster mashed potatoes and string beans with bacon. Would have loved to have had a dessert but was vanquished by then, even though this was the third time we've celebrated our anniversary at the 801 and we were determined to be cautious. Our server, Joni, was very personable and knowledgeable, helping guide us through the menu. All this comes with a price, but it's like the Disney World of steak houses. Enjoy the ride!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an evening reservation for a special ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Had an evening reservation for a special occasion that the restaurant knew about. Was disappointed to be seated at a table in the bar area. Good filet mignons, overpriced drinks.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Took my brother to the Chop house, is wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Took my brother to the Chop house, is was the first time he had ever been there,. We had the Chop House salad with pork belly nd a tarragon dressing, The rib eye as for two and was on the rib bone, was amazing and perfectly cooked as we ordered it. The service was flawless, e will definitely go back to find additional entrees. They are the only restraint with a grand marnier soufflé for desert, which was fabulous with the crème anglais sauce, certainly an experience to be repeated

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined here several times before a ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have dined here several times before and have always been so satisfied by everything. This time was different. We had a reservation for 5 p.m. We had to sit outside the restaurant and wait until exactly 5 before they opened the doors so when they finally allowed people in it was a rush of everyone who had been waiting. I've never had this happen before. Even though we were the first to arrive, everyone else who arrived after us was able to get in and get seated ahead of us. Our waiter was the biggest disappointment of the whole experience, however. He was so pretentious and rude. Then when we went to order, he acted very irritated that we didn't order steak (or some other entrée). We ordered plenty of other food to rack up a good sized bill, although that shouldn't matter anyway. The food was good but the service really put a damper on the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

It was wonderful that we could order hal ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was wonderful that we could order half portions of many things, that way got to taste more items. We ordered one prime rib meal and they brought it out split on two plates, wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good restaurant for a special occasion. ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good restaurant for a special occasion. Dimly lit atmosphere is a throw back to Chicago steakhouses. Service is attentive though our waiter this evening was a little obnoxious with his manner. The wine list is great and the portions are huge. Great place for a date night or special occasion dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointing compared to our last two t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Disappointing compared to our last two trips.

I ordered a steak cooked medium and the outside was charred. Parts of the inside were cooked to medium, others well-done. My wife ordered a steak cooked medium-well and the outside of hers also tasted like charcoal. The temperature of hers on the inside of the steak also ranged from medium to well-done.

On the other hand, the server was fantastic, and the fried calamari and dessert were excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great restaurant! The staff is always ve ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great restaurant! The staff is always very knowledgable about everything on the menu. This time server went above and beyond for us for our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wildly overpriced for what you get. If ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wildly overpriced for what you get. If this were in mid-town Manhattan, I would have expected prices like these. And the money-grab was exacerbated by the hostess' attempt to get our group of 7 to hang out at the bar while they "got our table ready" for a 6:30 pm reservation (as if they had to clean it up from the prior occupants??), which, after we politely declined, we found out was actually in fact quite ready. Nothing wrong with the food other than the prices. The wine list has some decent selections, but (again) the vast majority are insanely overpriced. So come with a big wallet or an expense account.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food at 801 is always exceptional. ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food at 801 is always exceptional. From the selection to the quality to the preparation, it is top notch.

At this most recent visit, our service wasn't quite as noteworthy. Our waiter forgot our appetizer and wasn't quite as attentive as others we've had in the past. He was apologetic and we completely understand everyone makes mistakes. However, when you pay the 801's prices you do have a certain expectation of the experience.

Overall still very good and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The grand seafood platter is a staple, a ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The grand seafood platter is a staple, and throwing in the hot platter now and again is worth it! Another fantastic meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey it is, but one knows that if one ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Pricey it is, but one knows that if one has looked at the menu before going. (Which, I suggest, one should always do for any location. ) The sides are HUGE. Not mentioned on the menu is the availability of "1/2 orders" of most sides. The half-order of a salad satisfied. The half orders of hash browns and brussel sprouts each served two with leftovers. Server was knowledgeable and helpful , and impeccable. Both of us got seafood which was well prepared. While we didn't do it, the Sunday fixed-price menu looks like an incredible bargain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were a little late getting us in, e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

They were a little late getting us in, even with a reservation but the wait was worth it. Prime rib was superb and waiter was friendly and prompt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Service and the food was very good ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great Service and the food was very good. The waiter was very personable and he helped us with our selections. We sat near the bar so it was a bit loud.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had not been to 801 for many years. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had not been to 801 for many years. Our entire family celebrated our anniversary and we were not disappointed. Excellent food and wonderful service. This remains one of the best restaurants in the Des Moines Metro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always have had wonderful food and stell ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always have had wonderful food and stellar service at 801! We've gone there for our anniversary several years in a row!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to 801 for a special night out w ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I went to 801 for a special night out with my step daughter. We arrived a bit early and were seated immediately. I requested a booth on the online reservation and we received one. The waiter was very friendly and attentive. We did not have to wait long for the food after ordering. I had a New York Strip, asparagus, and macaroni with lobster. The steak was very tasty however in seemed thin considering the price and upscale intent of the restaurant. The seating area seemed very noisy considering the upscale nature. Prices could be lower considering the local market. The food was very good, excellent service and nice tables/booths. I would recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

once again, excellent service and food! ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

once again, excellent service and food! mixed green salad was fabulous. Filet mignon prepared medium rare was perfect and delicious. we love the green beans as a side and get it every time we go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. We were ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service were excellent. We were celebrating our aniversary and they bought our dessert which was nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

801 Chophouse has the best steak. Every ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

801 Chophouse has the best steak. Everything is always perfect. Their cheesecake is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went for a late birth ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went for a late birthday dinner last Friday. Everything wa fantastic. The service was impeccable. My boyfriend has never been before, and loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal, with exceptional service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent meal, with exceptional service and attention to detail. Can't miss for special occasions!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.