About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: 5152886000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • New York Cheesecake
  • Shellfish Pan Roast
  • Ribeye Oscar
  • Heirloom Tomato Salad
  • USDA Prime Rib
  • Grilled Pork Chop
New York Cheesecake
Shellfish Pan Roast
Ribeye Oscar
Heirloom Tomato Salad
USDA Prime Rib
Grilled Pork Chop

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
Notable Wine List
Iowa
10 More
Romantic
Iowa
Steakhouse
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (118)
Romantic (91)
Notable Wine List (65)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent but the portions are enormous. ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent but the portions are enormous.

No wonder Americans are obese. The servings size is for four men sharing. Nothing for a couple. I would NEVER take left over food home....disgusting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak I've ever had, period.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Best steak I've ever had, period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as always. The drinks ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was great as always. The drinks were done just right. I am never disapointted with the total experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I flew in from Florida and my first stop ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I flew in from Florida and my first stop was 801 Chophouse. It was the best. If your in town you got to go. You deserve you be pampered and the staff knowers just how to do it. The food was out of sight. The best bone in fillet ever, I could not have done it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter Kyle, the food, and the entir ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The waiter Kyle, the food, and the entire staff were great.Wish I could have said he same for the people I ate with.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing for Des Moines finest rest ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Disappointing for Des Moines finest restaurant. Limited menu, average presentation, preparation and taste. Wine selection way over-priced, must be how they make a profit. Server asked my wife if she wanted to drink her beer out of the bottle...??!!! We were the most dressed up couple there-I can see if we were like the rest of the restaurant and dressed in shorts and gym clothes but that was mildly offensive. There are many many finer choices in Des Moines - Flemings, Johnny's, Biaggi's, Firebirds all much better...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The bartenders were very friendly and ma ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The bartenders were very friendly and made the best Long Islands EVER! Our server was EXTREMELY knowledgeable, professional, humorous and made our anniversary dinner all the better GREAT! Thank you for the decorated table and personalized menu for our special occasion. The steak? Best I have ever enjoyed living in Iowa 48 years! Thank you all!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little on the pricey side, but you def ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

A little on the pricey side, but you definitely get what you pay for! Outstanding food! The steaks were perfect, the baked potatoes were some of the best ever, and the soufflé is heaven in a ramekin! If fine dining is on your bucket list you could hardly go wrong with 801. :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is a little pricey but always good! ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food is a little pricey but always good! Service is great as well!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great date night. Fantastic foo ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

It was a great date night. Fantastic food, service & atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the food and service were both goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

While the food and service were both good, a meal for 2 people in excess of $200 is unreasonable for most diners

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Tuna appetizer was not fresh and the cra ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Tuna appetizer was not fresh and the crackers served with it were very greasy . Salad was over dressed . When entrees were brought , mine was incorrect and it took 20 minutes to get a new one . When my correct dish was brought out it was over cooked . Salmon was cooked well when I asked for medium rare . Salmon went back to kitchen to be corrected and a new one was brought out . 15 minutes later When the salmon was brought out it was cooked ok In the middle and ends were extremely dry .

My dinning partners steak was over cooked .

Was expecting a nice date night and celebration evening ; but was left with mediocre food and service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Prime rib and Brussel sprouts are amazin ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Prime rib and Brussel sprouts are amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was not impressed at all. It was loud ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I was not impressed at all. It was loud with bad music playing. There was nothing relaxing about the experience that a person should get in a so-called up-scale restaurant. The meat was good, but salad and sides left a lot to be desired. I will not be a future patron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

the food was ok, my steak was not the be ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

the food was ok, my steak was not the best, our server was average

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We are from Minneapolis and were in Des ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We are from Minneapolis and were in Des Moines for an Iowa Cubs game. Prior to the trip MSN had a article on the top steak restaurants in every state and 801 Chophouse was the top rated steakhouse in Iowa. My boyfriend and I decided to split all of the plates so we could try a greater variety of items. We started out with the Watermelon Salad which was fabulous. The balsamic vinegar drizzled over the top worked well with the toasted almonds, feta and arugula. It was so good I Googled a similar recipe and added to my Pinterest page before I forgot. The second course was Pancetta Wrapped Scallops. Though the scallops were cooked perfectly they were charred from the 1,500 degree grill in which we were told the steaks were cooked on to sear in the juices. All we could taste was the char which took away from the delicate flavor of the scallops. Next we ordered the Ribeye and the Scalloped Potatoes. Once again the steak was cooked perfectly to medium rare but again all we could taste was char. They were offering a special of Chanterelle mushrooms on top of the steak and we only received about 8 for $10 not worth it when we could have ordered the side of mushrooms for $12. The potatoes were good, maybe little under cooked but the flavor was great. The Chocolate Cake was light and fluffy and a great way to end the meal. All in all it was a good experience but will probably not go back in the event that we are in town again. One of our favorites is still Seven in Minneapolis.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had to wait for out table even with a ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had to wait for out table even with a reservation, service was a little slower than normal due to all the people using their Groupon. Food was ok, capers were extremely dry and when we told the waiter - he just said he would tell the chef. No one mentioned it after that. Rest of the food was good.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I had the filet and my husband had the p ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I had the filet and my husband had the prime rib. Both were excellent! We also ordered the calamari, which was the best I've ever had! Delish!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good beef place in town !

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Always a good beef place in town !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

If you don't want to offer the less expe ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

If you don't want to offer the less expensive three course dinner option on Sunday's....don't do it! We all felt like we were a pain in the waitresses side for being there and ordering the "Sunday option". We could of got hot food and a thicker piece of prime rib at other nice restaurants in the city for less then what we paid for the "Sunday option!"

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food and ambience but pricey. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food and ambience but pricey. Best for a special occasion

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was a hit or miss. Steak was wonder ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was a hit or miss. Steak was wonderful but seafood was dry. Sides were the same.. green beans were extremely salty and sautéed spinach was great. Would try again. Service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a place we reserve for special o ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a place we reserve for special occasions. Service (Chip) was impeccable as always -- needs anticipated and met unobtrusively. The food meets the standards one would expect of a restaurant which bills itself as "prime" -- although the halibut was a bit overcooked for our taste. (We have been to restaurants where we are asked, like steak, how we want the fish done. So "overcooked" may be a judgment, as we were not asked.) If you're not told, "half-orders" are available on salads and sides. And a "half" of a side is still a LOT of food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Came from out of town for a date night. ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Came from out of town for a date night. Service was great! I had heard great things about the food so I think my expectations were high. I wasn't as impressed as I'd hoped. I would go back again for the great atmosphere and excellenct service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was great. The calamari was ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was great. The calamari was exceptional. The rest of our food was subpar. I ordered the 14oz ribeye it looked good when it arrived, but it was really fatty and it had unchewable grisly pieces. If you are going to charge $54 for a piece of meat it should be more meat than fat and should all be edible. My husband ordered the 16oz NY strip. Again it looked beautiful, but it had an overwhelming taste of butter (he ordered it with just regular seasoning). The grilled asparagus was bitter. The salad wedge was plain. The bacon in the greenbeans was the best part of the sidedish. For the 2 of us (and we splurged for an adult beverage a piece) the bill came to $212 dollars before tip, so it is pricey!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The filet was cooked and seasoned perfec ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The filet was cooked and seasoned perfectly. Our potatoes and veggies were also excellent. The low light provides a lovely ambience, and the service was perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy coming here. The food is gr ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always enjoy coming here. The food is great and the service is exceptional. Only issue this time was our server kept questioning my ID. I'm almost 24 years old and it made me very uncomfortable. Other than that I enjoyed my time at 801.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Wait staff was excellent. Very knowledge ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wait staff was excellent. Very knowledgeable and helpful . Food was exceptional , delivery was slow but acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Excellent food and service, as usual

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food and service, as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service was great ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was excellent and service was great with many personnel tips for dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, as usual, but ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was outstanding, as usual, but our server was exceptionally rude - repeatedly walking off mid conversation or if he asked us a question and someone delayed for even a second on a response. We found it so rude that it was comical and turned into a running joke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

I would say that this is the top restaur ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I would say that this is the top restaurant in Des Moines! I have been traveling to Iowa for business for many years and so happy to find this restaurant. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attention to detail, steaks cooked exact ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Attention to detail, steaks cooked exactly to your request. Staff is attentive and the the sides are tops, does that make any sense?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

came in at 7:30 pm to a nearly empty re ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

came in at 7:30 pm to a nearly empty restaurant we arrived about 10 minutes early and the hostess suggested the bar (high price point) when we declined about 5 minutes later a miraculous cancellation brought us to our table. Waiter arrived with sour dough bread and huge chunks of butter, decent small talk banter not condescending but declined drinks and he went over the nights specials. We ordered - steaks *filet mignon and a KC Strip. asparagus and garlic mashed potatoes. My wife said her filet was very tasty. my strip - first bite was a chunk of gristle and other than the 3 chunks of gristle I had to spit out the remaining portion of meat was good. The garlic potatoes were more like a paste definitely could have used more fluffiness but the garlic flavor itself was about right. The asparagus was fat which many times would be tough these were very tender but could have been a bit warmer.

We finished diner off with two coffee desert drinks which were tasty but my home ones are just as good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great steak, very private, pricey, long ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great steak, very private, pricey, long wine list, professional wait staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was wonderful and it should be ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was wonderful and it should be for the prices they charge. Only complaint, my wife and I ordered an after dinner shot (lemon drop), we wanted something fast as we were crunched for time and the waiter brought us 2 large martinis. We reiterated that we ordered just a shot and had to leave and he replied "oh, just put it down the hatch". The several sips of the martini was great but after a $100+ dinner I wasn't expecting to pay another $30 for several sips of 2 martinis that I didn’t order.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I just had a filet a month ago at a lead ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I just had a filet a month ago at a leading Chicago restaurant that leaped all competition and made it to the top of my list. But the 801 pulled an Usain Bolt and easily surpassed it. If it is possible for a piece of meat to be so perfectly tender and savory that it melts in your mouth, this was it. Gave a new meaning to "succulent." Sides were equally appealing and outsized, even when shared. (DO NOT order individual sides unless training for an Olympic-caliber eating contest.) We had lobster mashed potatoes and string beans with bacon. Would have loved to have had a dessert but was vanquished by then, even though this was the third time we've celebrated our anniversary at the 801 and we were determined to be cautious. Our server, Joni, was very personable and knowledgeable, helping guide us through the menu. All this comes with a price, but it's like the Disney World of steak houses. Enjoy the ride!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an evening reservation for a special ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Had an evening reservation for a special occasion that the restaurant knew about. Was disappointed to be seated at a table in the bar area. Good filet mignons, overpriced drinks.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Took my brother to the Chop house, is wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Took my brother to the Chop house, is was the first time he had ever been there,. We had the Chop House salad with pork belly nd a tarragon dressing, The rib eye as for two and was on the rib bone, was amazing and perfectly cooked as we ordered it. The service was flawless, e will definitely go back to find additional entrees. They are the only restraint with a grand marnier soufflé for desert, which was fabulous with the crème anglais sauce, certainly an experience to be repeated

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined here several times before a ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have dined here several times before and have always been so satisfied by everything. This time was different. We had a reservation for 5 p.m. We had to sit outside the restaurant and wait until exactly 5 before they opened the doors so when they finally allowed people in it was a rush of everyone who had been waiting. I've never had this happen before. Even though we were the first to arrive, everyone else who arrived after us was able to get in and get seated ahead of us. Our waiter was the biggest disappointment of the whole experience, however. He was so pretentious and rude. Then when we went to order, he acted very irritated that we didn't order steak (or some other entrée). We ordered plenty of other food to rack up a good sized bill, although that shouldn't matter anyway. The food was good but the service really put a damper on the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.