About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: (515) 288-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (31)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
Business Meals (24)
Cozy (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Private Room (8)
Fun (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (5)
People Watching (4)
Historic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
914 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

Wow, great steaks, nice to know they keep some of the good beef in Iowa...

Very nice waiter, pleasant staff, great for that "special" occasion

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Best restaurant in town. The desert menu is especially notable. Best deserts in town.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a great experience and we will definitely be back. Amazing service by our server, Skip. The food was the best we've had in the area and drinks were delicious as well. My husband orders steak everywhere he goes, and he said this is the best steak he's had by far. The sides were all so yummy as well. We will definitely be back. Perfect date night spot!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Absolutely perfect dinner, the food was amazing, the staff was extremely considerate as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very very nice place and people are very knowledgeable !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful food. Our steak was melt in your mouth delicious. Wrapped scallops for appetizer were perfect. The lobster mac n cheese was a treat!! All a little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Over priced $140 for a steak for (2) & it was cold very disappointed never again!! $227 for a split salad,potato,asparagus & steak & 2 ice teas. We have been going to flemings for the last 4 yrs for our anniversary much better food for the $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant was better than advertised! Everything from the bar to the food and staff was 5 star!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Must go place for any special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I made my reservations for the wrong night, and they were still able to get me in without a wait. Everyone was very gracious and friendly. The wine recommendations were superb.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The scene was a delight, our waiter named Lionel was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly, and the food was the most delicious, mouthwatering dishes my husband and I have had in long while since we moved into the area.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I never write reviews, but our experience at 801 Chophouse deserves a few minutes of my time. From the assistance with our reservation to picking up our coats at the end of the evening, I cannot imagine a better experience.

My wife and I have dined from coast to coast and can honestly say that this was the best meal we have ever had. The steaks, the service, and the overall quality was exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I would consider it higher end dinning at the cost. The ambiance was terrible, I was trying to have a nice dinner with my wife and people were standing at the bar and there were plenty of seats,they were being loud and obnoxious. And because of that the whole restaurant was loud. If you have to yell to talk to someone across the table it isn't a fine dinning establishment. It was brought to managements attention and they offered another table but we had our whole dinner we'd have to move so that was a no! Also service wasn't good, food was mediocre at that. Some of the food was like room service quality- greasy and Luke warm. Don't mind spending the money if it's quality all around. This wasn't , we were disappointed and will never go back. Latin King and Johnny Italian steakhouse has better food and ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Business meal -- table was close to the bar and there were several large groups gathering there, so noise was a little high. Brian, our waiter, was so accommodating and helpful, even asked if we wanted to move. Made great recommendations. Food was excellent and ample. Great experience! Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always enjoy 801 great for special occasions or just date night with my wife, been going to 801 since Sheri was the manager. Love it. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely birthday dinner for my husband. The staff gave us a corner booth and had decorated the table for my husband's birthday. As usual, the food was exceptional. We enjoyed steaks that were perfectly prepared and a few sides. On a downside, the sides are way too big! They are meant to be shared and two people is not enough. I would prefer small portions. Romantic atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great Meal. Greta variety and good quality. Awesome steaks.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food, the service, the cocktails! Everything was amazing! The biggest shrimp cocktail I have ever seen. What a wonderful experience! Wouldn't change a thing!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I enjoyed one of the best filet's I have ever had. Our server, MIchael, was a true professional and really helped to make the meal top notch. We sat in the private room with a curtain, and it was the perfect ambience for an enjoyable dinner with our business colleagues and customer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great dinner, as always. Celebrated my wife and daughters' (twins) birthdays. Server was very nice, attentive, and included a free dessert (fantastic chocolate soufflé). Steaks cooked perfectly. Salad and sides generously sized and tasted great. You get what you expect from a high-end steak restaurant -- excellent food, great service, and high prices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. One of the top restaurants in the Midwest. Downtown Des Moines, 5 Stars all the way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Steaks were superb but other than that it's just not that good. Crab cake (filled with filler, calamari (mostly fried zucchini), and tuna tartare (served with a syrupy soy substitute and zero ginge) appetizers were sub-par compared to other high-end steakhouses. Some sides were very good like the broccoli and mashed but others were just 'ok' such as the baked potato with soft mushy skin and the sauteed spinach drowning in butter Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good is very good. Serve is knowledgeable, however fine dinning should not be rushed. Plates were cleared before we could say we were done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very nice place, not cheap but if money is no object or you are looking to impress someone this is the place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great meal and service. It was my wife and I 26th anniversary and they made it special for us. Decorated the table with confetti and also had a card for us on the table. It was a very romantic dinner for us. Thanks

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was super! Great food . We enjoyed the meal very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding meal. Steaks were awesome and garlic mash potatoes to die for. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent steaks and sides but getting to be an expensive option.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Perfectly done steaks. Bone in was so tender you didn't need a knife. Side dishes were good but nothing special and expensive. 10 or 12 dollars for Mac and cheese and another 10 or 12 for lobster mashed potatoes. Mixed greens salad was spectacular and worth to 10 dollars. Chocolate souffle didn't really care for but raspberry sauce saved it. Cheese Cake was awesome and huge slice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was a memorable occasion. A family Christmas get together. The decorations, service and food were spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food excellent, entrees very slow on delivery, difference between 4 & 5 rating.

Always enjoy celebrating special occasions here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great selection of wine, but pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always wonderful food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fabulous food and fantastic service. I highly recommend 801 Chophouse if you are planning a special occasion, romantic night out or a small group business gathering. I have enjoyed all of these occasions at 801 Chophouse and have been impressed every time.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Upscale Steak/Chop House with an upscale price that matched value. Filet cooked to perfection. Service was professional, attentive and ensured Birthday Girl was a priority. New York City dining at it's best in Des Moines!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Took my fiance here for his birthday dinner on a Saturday night. Our table had been decorated with birthday confetti, a card from the staff, and even a menu with Happy Birthday printed on it. A delightful surprise! Our meal was delicious—everything was cooked and prepared beautifully. 801 Chophouse is definitely a place for special occasions, as the prices are rather high, but the quality of the food is worthy of the cost.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Awesome experience. Been to a lot of great steakhouses and I would definitely rank this one in my personal top 5.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was excellent. Expensive, but worth it. Great atmosphere. Kathryn is a fantastic server.

Awesome place.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Amazing experience the server was extremely helpful as well, she helped both my date and I through the entire menu, she was very helpful. Great food the steak was perfectly cooked overall I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or a romantic date.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious meals, snappy service, great ambiance, but way too expensive for what it is. I would recommend this place for an anniversary or significant special occasion, but that's about it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The level of service we received was impeccable. We celebrated out engagement and to be taken care of like that was really nice, thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

A little pricy, but great service and food. It's worth a visit!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Repeat visit for a business dinner. Terrific service and attitudes by all staff. food was exceptional. Nice wine list and plenty of beers and top shelf liquors. Great place for a top quality meal and dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Best scallop preparation I have ever eaten. My husband had a fillet which arrived on a white plate, not one other thing on the plate , it was good and cooked perfectly, but a garnish would have been nice

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food quality far below expectations. Lobster corn chowder served thick and lukewarm. Mussels were served dry with little sauce. Other side dishes and appetizers were just average and served less than hot. Saw lemon cake served and we were hopeful, but icing was wax-like and cake layers were very, very dry. Even the coffee was not hot.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Totally overpriced. Steak was excellent. But French fries limp, totally unacceptable. Highest priced steakhouse I've ever experienced and that's lots of steakhouses. For that money I expect fresh French fries. Glass of wines by the glass were outrageously priced. House red thin and also overpriced. Everything was absurdly priced. Just passing through on a trip back to California where steakhouses are expensive but ...... really. This was totally over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I made a reservation online. I made a comment that it was my wife and I's 5th anniversary. When we arrived, our table was ready and the staff had even made a happy anniversary card for the table as well as heart confetti on the table. It's the little touches that made this experience special for us. The meals were both wonderful in flavor and portion, and they even bought us a souffle for dessert. Kudos to 801 - PS, this was also my first time dining here, and as someone that has spent decades in the food and beverage industry, I can assure you that this isn't a fluke night - they are undoubtedly top notch at every point you dine here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I enjoyed the best tender and delicious prime rib I have ever had. The overall meal was wonderful. especially the lobster mac and cheese. The wine list selection had many options and had some of our favorite wine in which we enjoyed. The bartender was very accommodating when we ate our dinner at the bar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Probably a little overpriced for the quality of food. It's a nice place to dine but would consider it a 4 Star restaurant with 5 star prices. Staff was excellent and well worth a 5 Star rating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.