About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: 5152886000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • New York Cheesecake
  • Shellfish Pan Roast
  • Ribeye Oscar
  • Heirloom Tomato Salad
  • USDA Prime Rib
  • Grilled Pork Chop
New York Cheesecake
Shellfish Pan Roast
Ribeye Oscar
Heirloom Tomato Salad
USDA Prime Rib
Grilled Pork Chop

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
11 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Notable Wine List
Iowa
Steakhouse
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

special occasion (84)
romantic (57)
notable wine list (51)
See All
fit for foodies (42)
good for groups (24)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
752 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall very satisfied with the experien ...

Dined 4 days ago

Overall very satisfied with the experience. Spent more than we had planned, but the food was excellent, and our waiter was great. Special thanks to the waiter. I do not visit restaurants of this caliber often. He was great explaining the different items for my wife and I. We tried the oysters Rockefeller for the first time and both enjoyed it. We also had the Tomahawk. The only thing that is keeping me from planning a return trip right away is that although the food is excellent. I cannot afford to pay $200 for a meal again in the near future.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Had Annervsary card and ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great evening. Had Annervsary card and special menus prepared before our arrival. Great food, great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner was wonderful, but the servic ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Our dinner was wonderful, but the service was even better. We enjoyed our perfectly cooked steaks along with wine our server recommended. We plan to return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I mentioned we were celebrating our anni ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary when I made the reservations and they decorated our table and even had Happy Anniversary on our menus as well as a card from the 801 staff thanking us for spending our anniversary with us. We loved the special touch!!! Staff was very friendly and attentive when needed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Was very disappointed on my first (and t ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Was very disappointed on my first (and this will be my only) visit. We tried the pre-fixe meal on Sunday evening. Lag between salad and entree had us looking at our watch. Only three choices for main course and waiter brought my husband wrong item and our daughter knew he didn't like so she switched so as to not make a big deal- and waiter did not seem to care much. It was loud, not good acoustics. Would never pay premium $$ when we could have much better meal at many other places. If service is lessened when pre-fixe ordered then they should just not even have one. I was expecting to be wow-ed and just wasn't happening.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Father's day. Dad said it was t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for Father's day. Dad said it was the best steak he ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect place to celebrate our anniversa ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate our anniversary! Table was decorated and had a card from the staff on our table! We done here frequently, but they made it very special!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was attentive, prompt and gracio ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was attentive, prompt and gracious. Our waiter explained the menu and our options as it was our first time there. Our appetizers were amazing and served quickly. Our main courses were delicious and plentiful. They offered to take a picture of us on our phone and insisted on comping us dessert since it was our anniversary. Plan on spending $150-200 for a party of 2, but completely worth it for a special occasion. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, our service was exceptional a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

As always, our service was exceptional and the food outstanding. The filet was done perfectly and just melted in my mouth. green beans as a side were superb. we tried the lobster mac and cheese for the first time and it was good but a little rich. peach arugula salad was excellent. best steak in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome food, great service, upscale but ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome food, great service, upscale but made you feel vary welcome and open to questions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and steaks are always outstandi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and steaks are always outstanding. Drinks are spot on. The sides and HUGE and always cooked to perfection. Wonderful service. This is one of the best restaurants in Des Moines.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Service was outstanding. Drinks were we ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Service was outstanding. Drinks were well crafted. The steak was very good; however, it was curious that their steaks are more expensive than Barclay's Prime in Philadelphia or in some regards, even Manny's in Minneapolis. 801 was very good, but not quite in the league of the national Top 10 - the prices should probably reflect that.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to 801 Chophouse for our wedding ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We went to 801 Chophouse for our wedding anniversary and it was a very nice evening. The food and wine were outstanding, as was the friendly service. Unfortunately, it was pretty noisy inside the restaurant and the light was so dim that you could hardly read the menu. Other than that, we were very satisfied and would love to go there again for a special occasion. It is a bit pricy to go there more often, but definitely worth the money every once in a while

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Really good service! Grouping always is ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Really good service! Grouping always is so helpful! Food is outstanding!!!

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

A let down.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Disappointing steak for a steak house. Unrecognizable as a rib-eye and certainly not prime. I should have sent back but as other diners around us were sending food back as well. My wife's fish was way overcooked. Waitress was not very helpful either.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

CEO

Dined on June 9, 2016

Restaurant was very good some live music would be great

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Staff and Great Food

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I had our first dining experience at 801 Chop House for our 20th wedding anniversary. When I made our reservation with Open Table, I made reference to our 20th anniversary. We were quite surprised to find our table decorated and that there was an anniversary card waiting for us. The staff was excellent all through our dining experience. It was really nice on how much they went out of their way to make our anniversary extra special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointing!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We ate here with friends and we're all disapponted with the restaurant. The food and service were just so - so. We were seated in a booth near the kitchen with a good deal of traffic in and out. The meals were OK but not wonderful. I had a New York strip that was grissly and not as thick as you would expect from a top steak house. The other 3 in our party all had the filet which was delicious. All of them ordered the same steak but the variance in size was interesting. We're not thinking about rushing back. Our best service was in the bar before the meal. The martinis were wonderful.

food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Pretty bad service

Dined on May 28, 2016

Liking chophouses, we were looking forward to this. Waiter was rude, inattentive, and impertinent. He got orders wrong. Even simple things like providing the requested number of olives for a martini was beyond him (he provided more and presented the cocktail with a crazy, clownish explanation for why there were so many). The potato was unpalatable. Very surprised by the unpleasant experience. At $150 per person, we look for considerably better.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak house in the country enough s ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Best steak house in the country enough said!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable dining experience. This w ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience. This was our first visit and we hope to return as soon as possible. Excellent steak and ample sides. This dining experience exceeded our expectations!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Let them know ahead of time it was our a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Let them know ahead of time it was our anniversary and they had a card and menus waiting for us. Food is always really good. Service was excellent. Wish they had a dress code. Would like a fancier place to go more often, but if jeans and shoes are worst part, that's ok

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was pricey but it was SO good. It wa ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

It was pricey but it was SO good. It was perfect for my husbands birthday. Definitely a great special occasions for us. It was a surprise for him and he was definitely not dressed for it (Jeans and Tshirt) but they were still awesome to us and didnt treat us negatively. We had a great server. My husband loved his steak. I went for the chicken which was also awesome. (Just not a steak person dont judge). Then we had their shortcake dessert which was unique with Rhubarb and strawberries and some kind of basil creme... YUM.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience and great service, as a ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great experience and great service, as always!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

801 was this year's choice for my wife's ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

801 was this year's choice for my wife's birthday, and it was a good one. Great food, great wine and excellent service. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This is our 2nd time here. The first was ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

This is our 2nd time here. The first was good. This time we were disappointed. We arrived earlier than our clients and chose to wait to be seated. Three different times the hostess asked if wanted to be seated in 10 minutes even though we wanted to wait. Our table was very small, too small for the food served. Interestingly, the table could have been enlarged to a round one but that was not offered. Next, our server interupted our conversation multiple times, kept trying to serve me wine even though I tried to make it clear I did not want any more. The food was only average, especially for the price.

food2
ambience4
service4

Today was Mothers Day and my husband and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Today was Mothers Day and my husband and son decided to take me out for the day. I was so excited when we decided on 801 Chophouse since we have had many delightful experiences there in the past. I'm going to cut right to the chase, today my husband and I ordered the 801 breakfast, which consists of eggs any style, red potatoes, thick slab bacon, and brioche toast for $19. What was delivered on my plate was frightful. 2 tablespoons of scrambled eggs that had been cooked hours before being served to me, a few baby red potatoes, and 2 pieces of bacon (which was thankfully quite good). My husband ordered his eggs over easy, and they were fried hard. No brioche toast. I politely asked for the toast, and was brought several pieces of white bread toasted and not buttered. So much had gone wrong here, and not wanting to embarrass my son or husband for their generosity on Mother's Day, I said nothing. Please 801, some attention to detail and what you are serving your loyal customers!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Chophouse

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband took me to the Chophouse for my birthday/mothers day. Although we are simple country folk and were dressed in jeans we were treated like royalty. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our food was amazing. The best prime rib we ever had. We appreiciated our waiter informing us about our dessert choices and how if we wanted the soufflé without delay we could order it when we got our prime rib. That worked out perfectly. I would highly recommend the chophouse to anyone who wants a really good meal with excellent service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent meal. Best steak I've ever had. The service was excellent. It is pricey ($150 for the two of us with tip) but the waiter was helpful in explaining that sharing and half portions are encouraged for groups of 2. That made it much more reasonable (relatively speaking). I would definitely recommend 801 to others and would definitely eat there again for the right occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, great staff, great attention

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our 26th anniversary , ad could not have picked a better place to go. Treated us extra special, extra special table with card wishing us happy anniversary. Awesome staff, awsome bartenders, awsome maire d, excellent food, fabulous steaks. We enjoyed oysters on half shell, served with extra sauses and great smiles. Desert was special , and had anniversay wish written in chocolate... tremendous experience. A must for your special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was absolutely wonderful. Our ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful. Our server was interested, informed and very attentive. Gave us just enough time to enjoy things without having to look for him when we needed something or were ready to leave.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The steak was fabulous! Best steak I hav ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

The steak was fabulous! Best steak I have ever had and I have eaten at some great steakhouses across the US.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for anniversary dinner

Dined on April 22, 2016

We come here every year for our anniversary. I really like how they dress up the table to make it special for occasion (I usually note this in our reservation notes). I also asked if they could have a specific dessert available (carrot cake). While they didn't have carrot cake, they did make special bundt cake with carrot caramel topping for us, which was fantastic. The staff always go out of their way to make the occasion special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Alaska over 20 times and ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I have been to Alaska over 20 times and Halibut is my favorite fish. The Halibut I had at 801, was one of the best I have ever had. The wine list included a perfect match. Leslie was our server and she was exceptional! Couldn't be happier with our dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Sunday night.

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The prices were a little high but we knew that before we went so there were no surprises. I would recommend 801 Chophouse to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great atmosphere

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were visiting our daughter at Drake and she really wanted a steak dinner. Our waiter was unbelievable and very knowledgeable. We will definitely go back, and next time we will make sure we have enough time. The waiter accommodated our timing and brought the food out in time for our daughter to make it to her conference at 7! Highly recommend the steak and the shrimp cocktail.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Steak

Dined on April 9, 2016

Probably the best steak in Iowa. As good or better than the name brand sites like Ruth's Chris or Capital Grille.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1

It took us I over an hour to get our foo ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

It took us I over an hour to get our food. My order was wrong and they offered to send it back but I didn't want another hour. In fairness to our server, she had a large private party plus two other tables .

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was burnt. Went elsewhere for dese ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Steak was burnt. Went elsewhere for desert due to lack of wheat free options.

Tags: romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.