Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: (515) 288-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (71)
Special Occasion (70)
Romantic (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Business Meals (52)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Notable Wine List (43)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Cozy (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (10)
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1051 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had high expectations based on the reviews by others and the referral from the concierge at our hotel. The waiter was exceptional in his description of the aging of the beef and the various menu options. Our salads (wedges) were very nice.

The meat was, in a word, disappointing. It was nowhere close to being the best meat that I had ever eaten. Portions were very large with prices to match. The taste just simply wasn't there in the ribeye or filet mignon.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered the lamb chops with a bernaise sauce with grilled asparagus. I started with the wedge salad with blue cheese. 5 Star deliciousness, presentation. Our service was impeccable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

801 Chophouse is always a great experience. This time I dined with my daughter to celebrate her taking the MCATs. The service was excellent. The food was amazing - best steak around.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

For the price of the food...we were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great Place!! Would go again!! It can be a wallet buster but we got the Groupon and it helped. Also, server was not put off by the groupon, instead said "Good find!" Service was great. 1,200 degree oven works great on steaks but not so well on the bone. I would recommend not to get a steak with a bone in it. Otherwise, you won't be disappointed!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Classic up class American steak house. The steaks are great and seafood is good too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had a very nice time celebrating my birthday. However we were seated next to a very loud table with about 8 people. It really ruined the ambience and ability to talk. Considering we spent over $500 it was frustrating that this group (or our group) wasn't seated further apart. It was crowded and uncomfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

This is always a great place to go for special occasions we were celebrating our 7th anniversary and had an awesome meal in a great establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Everything about this restaurant was terrific. Service was outstanding as was the food.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 5, 2017

801 Chophouse never disappoints! I took a friend for her first visit and she was impressed. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable, the wine list was noteworthy, and the food was superb. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very expensive, but everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My wife and I go to 801 for our special occasions and celebrations. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and always go the extra mile for any special requests we have. The food is second to none. We use a groupon whenever available as 801s prices match the quality of their food. That said, paying full price would be worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very good for a romantic dinner. It is definitely a special occasion type place. Everything we ate was wonderful. The steaks were especially good. The service was also exceptional. We received an anniversary card from the restaurant and complimentary desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

It was a good meal except we both noticed that the halibut and creamed spinach were quite salty. Also, our server Michael seemed to have an attitude and no personality. It was as though we were beneath him and didn't appreciate his smugness. We still tipped 20% though as we are both in the industry and understand that servers can have off nights.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

No bathroom attendant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Prompt seating, friendly waiter, the steak fell apart in my mouth, only had a single complaint: This is probably just me being picky, but the steak was char-cooked on the outside. The inside was medium-rare, I just wasn't expecting the char on a filet, the prime rib didn't have any and was better in my opinion than the filet. If that was an option, it was never offered to me. That said, the steak was still delicious on the inside, I just didn't appreciate the burnt meat taste I got with every bite from the outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

They obviously were having an off night. Steak was not cooked as requested, server was snooty. It'll be awhile before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food and the service were great and the booths are comfortable and spacious. It was my fiances birthday and they put some small decorations on the table with a card which scored me some extra points. The only real downside was it was very loud in there so it was difficult to carry a conversation as well as it being quite warm in there so even with the food being really good your ready to leave by the time your meal is over.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 30, 2017

great food. too noisy we were there for anniv. and sat near the bar.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always love enjoying a meal as a couple at 801! We have our anniversary dinner here every year and it never disappoints. The steak is amazing and so is the creme brûlée!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great dining experience for my wife and I.
The only thing I would recommend is that the item description for the Shellfish Pan Roast be updated to explain that this is a pasta dish. We follow a diet that is very low carb and my wife would have ordered another dish if she had known about the pasta.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Mature d' was very short with us on our arrival (and they weren't that busy). Waiter was what I would describe as snobbish and condescending. The atmosphere was nice, but the food was very average at best. Nothing was really "bad", just not the experience you expect when you spent $200 a couple for a meal. Definitely would not go back or recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Always an outstanding Experience from the food to the staff.. Never a disappointment. Keep up the great job!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Treated me like royalty! Was a wonderful experience and can't wait to go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 24, 2017

As always, the food and service were excellent at 801 Steak and Chop in Des Moines. I've only had one bad experience there once and it was due to a poor waiter. However 801 took care of it and I'm a customer for life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

I had great expectations for the evening at 801 Chophouse in Des Moines. However, my mama taught me, "If you don't have something good to say........" My mama was a wise woman.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My husband and I went to 801 Chophouse to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The evening started out very pleasantly with good drinks and very tasty salads (wedge and Caesar). Then our entrees arrived. My husband ordered the prime rib medium rare. The piece of meat that was delivered was rare (completely red), had more fat than usual for a prime rib, and was very small. He said it was the worst prime rib he has ever been served and was surprised that there wasn't someone in the kitchen reviewing the plates before they were sent out to make sure the meat was presentable and met the restaurant's quality standards. In retrospect he realizes he should have sent his dinner back but he is not the type to make waves. I ordered the 8 oz Filet Mignon and although it was cooked medium rare (as I ordered) it was very dry and did not have much flavor. In summary, the service was very good and all aspects of the meal were delicious except the meat. Since this is a chop house, we find this unacceptable and do not plan to return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Steak was quite a bit over cooked but still good. Ordered medium and majority of steak was well done the rest medium well. Please bring back sweet corn ice cream with Templeton Rye caramel and candy bacon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

AC was out so a little warm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Just love the food and atmosphere of 801 Chophouse.
We can only afford it by using a Groupon but it makes for a nice once a year event.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food and service was awesome. We highly recommend. We go every year for our anniversary

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 21, 2017

food and service both were very good when we were there. Pricey but we expected that. What really ruined things was the restaurant was uncomfortably hot. Admittedly, we were in the middle of a heatwave when we were there but the restaurant's ac should be able to handle that. It really took what could have been a very nice evening and ruined it. We basically hurried through our meal so we could get out of there. As we were waiting in the lobby afterwards, other patrons came out also complaining about the heat

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Everything was delicious. Staff had the table decorated and an Anniversary card for us, plus lots of nice Anniversary wishes from all who served us that evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Friendly and attentive staff. Generous portions for fine dining. Great food selection in comfortable surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We decided to skip the new "hot spots" and stick to what we know best. That best is 801 and Billie as our waiter. I can't say enough about the evening but the fact that the food and staff embarassed the competition is enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always an excellent dinner!!! The medallions were delicious! Wonderful service as well!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

The food was very good . We didn't have anything that wasn't good. I particularly liked the bread. The service was responsive and appropriate. The ambiance was nice with the only criticism being that it was surprisingly noisy. I had expected a rather quiet dinner but that is not what we experienced. The cost is outrageous but then I suppose there is a purpose or two for that. All thing considered everything was acceptable except the sound level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 20, 2017

in a word fabulous, steaks perfectly prepared, scalloped potatoes (yum) and the grand marnier soufflé is UNBELIEVEABLE

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

We paid $99 for steak. I asked for medium. It was presented rare. A forth of the cut had a large very hard vein. That part could not be eaten. 1 steak, 1 vegetable, 2 glasses of wine, and a piece of cake.... $168. Plus the waitress not impressed with her service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We have never had a bad experience here! It is terrific!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.