Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: (515) 288-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Good for a Date (75)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
See All
Romantic (67)
Business Meals (51)
Notable Wine List (45)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Worth the Drive (27)
Cozy (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Authentic (10)
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Casual (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 19 hours ago

Wonderful evening celebrating our 2nd Wedding Anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to eat for any occasion. Service it too notch and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was pretty non-existent. Several other people refilled waters, removed plates, gave us the dessert menu and even a different server paid out our bill. Not what I expected from such an expensive resturant. I hated even tipping her because she did nothing but take out order.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and the service of 801 are always excellent. Known for their wonderful steaks, there is great seafood on the menu as well. This last visit we had the veal chop, good sized and cooked to exactly medium, the filet medallions, two beef filets topped with lobster and a wine reduction, and we shared two generous sides of potatoes and creamed spinach. We started with a beef carpaccio, thinly sliced and served with a warm garlic bread. We finished by sharing a dessert, which are also huge portions. We chose the very moist carrot cake although there were seasonal and chocolate dessert offerings available. The wine list is wonderful as are their cocktails.
A wonderful and our attentive server saw to it that we had everything we needed when we needed it. A very nice evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

The experience was great as usual. Good food. Good atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

The steaks were amazing. Great flavor and cook to perfection. Highly recommend for steak lovers. Loved all the starch (mainly potato) options for sides. Wish there were a few more vegetable sides on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

3rd visit to this steak house group. 2nd in Des Moines. Not sure if I will spend to top dollar for establishment again for a while. Food was good but pricy. We knew this going in to it. You do get large quantities and will most likely be taking home leftovers. They do make you feel special and welcome (as all waiters and cooks in the open kitchen say hello). The waiter was great. Staff keeps your water glass full. It is a nice date night location. Did have a LONG wait between appetizer and meal, as a former caterer and waitress I felt too long and wanted to have it boxed to go as it was wearing on us but didn't want to ruin the evening. Saw in some reviews of some disappointments from other reviews--thing maybe some management changes or kitchen issues have happened

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

We always enjoy eating at 801 Chop house for a special night out. A bit too expensive for a weekly visit but worth spending the extra money when wanting to feel special

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Excellent presentation as well outstanding quality with each item. We will return.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We enjoyed the Sunday evening special menus. Just enough food. The server, Skip, was great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a wonderful time. As usual, the food and service were exemplary. We never tire of dining with you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything from the service to the food was absolutely the best!! Went there for our anniversary and were treated like royalty!! Thank you for making our anniversary a night to remember?!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 6, 2017

New Teaching job for wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

First time for our 10th anniversary. Happy Hour first. Then dinner. We are used to dining at the best restaurants and recently moved from Milwaukee to DSM, by way of Chicago, Nashville, and South Bend. Absolutely loved atmosphere and bar (especially happy h), will come for that again soon! Dinner was good, with the best wedge salad we have ever had anywhere. Bone in filet with Oscar topping was killer, but not anything more killer than you could get at any other steakhouse for half the price. We were supremely disappointed to find out the price of that one steak was about $120 on the bill. ONE STEAK. We just heard the sound of a record scratching to the end! One of my personal favorite things was to see the fabulous Viola Frye sculpture in the lobby so all in all it was great, but value could be better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

801 Chophouse is a traditional high-end steakhouse. Ambiance is dark wood and leather. Service is professional and top notch. Food is as expected--prime steaks, excellent seafood, and big shared side dishes. Every dish is prepared with attention to detail. Although mostly traditional, there are inventive touches and twists to many dishes. Excellent cocktail menu and a deep wine list. Always a reliable pick for a special occasion or a major business dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 1, 2017

801 Steak + Chophouse is one of my favorite restaurants. The level of service, professionalism, impeccable attention to detail and fabulous food is what makes this place so top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Was a tuff night for 801. Typically enjoy this steak house in De Moines and Omaha. Last night ordered tomahawk ribeye medium it's a long prep but comes sliced by chef... Well done. I'm not sure why they tried to serve it? I guess to see if I noticed? Replacement filets ordered medium... They come medium rare. Manager says medium for them is warm red center. I'm ok with that if it's a hint of red center but an inch and a half filet had one inch of red. We had ordered souffles, in the past delicious. Our son usually eats his and finishes mine. This time the souffles come out, my son takes a bite, I ask what's wrong as I dig into mine... They are the consistency of cake. Waitress stops by apologizes and indicates, for the trouble my souffle is on them. I ask to speak with the manager, recap the entire meal, ask about their expectations, and the manager concludes with our entire meal is on them. We still left the waitress the tip, we will come back, we like this restaurant, but this was not their night. I wonder why? Every other experience, I would rate them excellent in every category.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Overall the meal and experience was just "ok". We have been to the Chop House before and had an excellent experience, but this trip was certainly below the high standards we held for this restaurant. My wife and I ordered steak and it was not prepared to our specifications "Medium" (was probably one of the rarest steaks we have ever eaten), which was not a huge issue as we are not picky and ate it anyways. We were certainly made aware that surrounding tables also had issues with how their steaks was prepared incorrectly - seeing steaks returned and hearing complaints for other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

As always, the food never disappoints at 801. On the few occasions we have celebrated my husband's birthday at 801, we have always received excellent service. This time around, the service was adequate, but the server seemed to be in a rush; quick to ask for our orders (multiple times) and in clearing out dishes before things were not entirely ate. The dining experience I would expect from 801 Chophouse would be that of leisure or a server that assesses each guest for the dining experience they are looking for. I did feel rushed and when you are out for a special occasion (like a birthday that 801 was well aware of), it is nice to have time to talk with friends and enjoy a kid-free dining experience. I will go back, but hope we can truly enjoy fully the experience of the food, ambiance and adult time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2017

This place is wonderful, from the service to the amazing food, you will be delighted. Don't miss the hash browns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

My husband and I went for a date night and if we hadn’t had a Groupon we wouldn’t have ever gone. Way over priced even with the groupon. Beer and drink prices are not listed and my husband ordered a bottle of beer that we learned when we got our bill the beer cost $19. Great food, but not worth the price. Johnny’s and AJ have just as good of food for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Re-visit to 801 Chophouse for a business dinner. Service, Quality, Ambiance.. terrific restaurant!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Overall a great experience. The best place to get a steak in town & you'll pay for it. I got the 24 oz porterhouse ($62) & it was delicious. Only a special occasion place in my opinion, but worth going to at least once.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was outstanding which made up for the terrible service from the moment we walked through the door (arrived 10 minutes early and seated over 20 minutes after our reservation), through the meal (e.g. bread served with main course rather than before or with the appetizer, always have to wave service down rather than check in, and even getting the bill and paid. So for a very good meal yes, but if you are expecting the service to match the meal and the price, you will be disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great service and explanation of meal choices. But the steaks were absolutely phenomenal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was great!! Service was excellent and took the right amount of time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Amazing! Best date night outing we've ever had. Beyond excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Amazing food and service as always! Steaks are always phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We used a Groupon on our dinner which made our dinner even more affordable. Wedge, steak and lobster mac n cheese were all excellent! Ben was our waiter and he did an excellent job.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The meal was great, the steak succulent, the service wonderful to a single, the only thing that ended the meal with a dud was the coffee which was "burnt" from sitting too long. I would switch it out every 20 minutes or move to a Kurieg for single serve. Pricey but preparation was top notch.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Really nice restaurant. Expect to spend about 300-400 for a dinner for two here. Usually we have a great experience here but last weekend was very disappointing- one of the steaks arrived so salty it was inedible- we ended up sharing the other entree. Everything else was great, but for 400$ I would expect the main courses to be perfection.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Just wanted to thank our server and the manager for another wonderful evening at 801...as always, the food was excellent and our server did everything to accommodate our needs and desires. The cocktails and wine were great and the manager did everything to make sure that we had a very special evening.

We look forward to our next dinner at 801!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We have been visiting 801 Chophouse for special occasions and an occasional splurge for a number of years.. The steak is arguably the best in the area, including Flemings. It is possible to get half portions of some appetizers, salads and sides, which is enough for two people. Service is excellent, at least when we've been there. It's expensive -- not something you're going to do every week unless money is no object -- but worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This restaurant has never gone wrong. Great idea for the Sunday "deal". I love it. This is just a great experience every single time!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Live Music, Romantic, Live Sports, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

If you are not a regular here your server will be less attentive, and your experience will be less than ideal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

We had eaten there about 5 weeks ago and had the same waiter again. He remembered us and what we ordered 5 weeks ago. The reservation was under a completely different name, too. The salmon and seafood pasta were delicious as was the lobster mashed potatoes and the mushroom dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We were celebrating my wife's 70th B'day and were disappointed in the food. The Delmonico steak was not cooked to proper temperature. We ordered medium and received rare. Waitress did not ask if it was cooked ok. It also was not tender and had a lot of fat and gristle. For desert we ordered key lime pie. Big mistake. Having lived in Florida for 3 years we know good key lime pie when we see it and this was not even close. I would recommend they take it off the menu.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service was great, the ambiance was awesome! Now the food was so-so and WAY overpriced for the quality. I ordered the rib-eye steak, very gristly and under cooked. We also ordered the mushrooms that were very bland. bottom line I would not go back there. Save yourself a $100.00+ and go somewhere else!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went above and beyond for us when I asked if they could a few small things for our anniversary. It's was amazing

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We came expecting the best and left disappointed. Three of the four ordered the Sunday evening special filet. We also enjoyed 2 bottles of wine. All 3 of them were underdone. We were seated in the bar area in a booth which was fine but the service was spotty and the serving assistant who brought our salads and meals was indifferent when she sort of plopped them in front of us. The steaks and accompaniments were tasty. We had friends in for The Solheim Cup and we wanted them to taste the best and enjoy great service in Des Moines. It did not work out that way.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.