About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: 5152886000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • New York Cheesecake
  • Shellfish Pan Roast
  • Ribeye Oscar
  • Heirloom Tomato Salad
  • USDA Prime Rib
  • Grilled Pork Chop
New York Cheesecake
Shellfish Pan Roast
Ribeye Oscar
Heirloom Tomato Salad
USDA Prime Rib
Grilled Pork Chop

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
10 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Notable Wine List
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

special occasion (105)
romantic (78)
notable wine list (70)
See All
fit for foodies (48)
good for groups (24)
hot spot (11)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had not been to 801 for many years. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had not been to 801 for many years. Our entire family celebrated our anniversary and we were not disappointed. Excellent food and wonderful service. This remains one of the best restaurants in the Des Moines Metro.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always have had wonderful food and stell ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always have had wonderful food and stellar service at 801! We've gone there for our anniversary several years in a row!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to 801 for a special night out w ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I went to 801 for a special night out with my step daughter. We arrived a bit early and were seated immediately. I requested a booth on the online reservation and we received one. The waiter was very friendly and attentive. We did not have to wait long for the food after ordering. I had a New York Strip, asparagus, and macaroni with lobster. The steak was very tasty however in seemed thin considering the price and upscale intent of the restaurant. The seating area seemed very noisy considering the upscale nature. Prices could be lower considering the local market. The food was very good, excellent service and nice tables/booths. I would recommend.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

once again, excellent service and food! ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

once again, excellent service and food! mixed green salad was fabulous. Filet mignon prepared medium rare was perfect and delicious. we love the green beans as a side and get it every time we go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. We were ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service were excellent. We were celebrating our aniversary and they bought our dessert which was nice.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

801 Chophouse has the best steak. Every ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

801 Chophouse has the best steak. Everything is always perfect. Their cheesecake is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went for a late birth ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went for a late birthday dinner last Friday. Everything wa fantastic. The service was impeccable. My boyfriend has never been before, and loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal, with exceptional service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent meal, with exceptional service and attention to detail. Can't miss for special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We showed up 30 minutes early as we were ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We showed up 30 minutes early as we were coming from out of town and were sure how long to allow for travel and parking. We were kept waiting for at least 20 minutes even though there were many empty tables. Otherwise, everything was excellent.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We requested a quite space due to busine ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We requested a quite space due to business meeting and had a private room, however, that space ended up being noisier than the general dining area. Next time I'll know what to request but as always, the food was fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I made my reservation through Open ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

When I made my reservation through Open Table, I let them know it was our anniversary and we would like to be seated in a cozy area. Not only did they seat us in a cozy area, they also decorated our menus that said " Happy Anniversary" but also a greeting card that said "Happy Anniversary" and thanks for celebrating with us. I would highly recommend open table and 801 Chophouse.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

801 Chophouse Des Moines is consistently ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

801 Chophouse Des Moines is consistently good. The food is reliably delicious and the service is attentive without being overbearing. I've been there with small groups and the service level is still impeccable. The bartenders are great and the staff always make a decent wine recommendation. Prices are above average for the local market, but the service and food quality are good enough to cause one to quickly forget this detail. Great place to celebrate a special occasion or just grab an excellent cocktail.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous spot for a special occasion. O ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fabulous spot for a special occasion. Outstanding food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think this place has outlived its time ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I think this place has outlived its time in the limelight. So many choices to spend money at in Des Moines. Would not go back. Just so-so for the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Everything is great, except the prices. ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything is great, except the prices. In opportunity cost, you could go to two very nice restaurants for the price of visiting 801 once.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Amazing food and great service!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Amazing food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a Thursday night. Very quiet and ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It was a Thursday night. Very quiet and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall very satisfied with the experien ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall very satisfied with the experience. Spent more than we had planned, but the food was excellent, and our waiter was great.

Special thanks to the waiter. I do not visit restaurants of this caliber often. He was great explaining the different items for my wife and I. We tried the oysters Rockefeller for the first time and both enjoyed it. We also had the Tomahawk.

The only thing that is keeping me from planning a return trip right away is that although the food is excellent. I cannot afford to pay $200 for a meal again in the near future.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening. Had Annervsary card and ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great evening. Had Annervsary card and special menus prepared before our arrival. Great food, great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was wonderful, but the servic ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our dinner was wonderful, but the service was even better. We enjoyed our perfectly cooked steaks along with wine our server recommended. We plan to return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I mentioned we were celebrating our anni ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary when I made the reservations and they decorated our table and even had Happy Anniversary on our menus as well as a card from the 801 staff thanking us for spending our anniversary with us. We loved the special touch!!!

Staff was very friendly and attentive when needed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very disappointed on my first (and t ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Was very disappointed on my first (and this will be my only) visit. We tried the pre-fixe meal on Sunday evening. Lag between salad and entree had us looking at our watch. Only three choices for main course and waiter brought my husband wrong item and our daughter knew he didn't like so she switched so as to not make a big deal- and waiter did not seem to care much. It was loud, not good acoustics. Would never pay premium $$ when we could have much better meal at many other places. If service is lessened when pre-fixe ordered then they should just not even have one. I was expecting to be wow-ed and just wasn't happening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Went for Father's day. Dad said it was t ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for Father's day. Dad said it was the best steak he ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect place to celebrate our anniversa ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate our anniversary! Table was decorated and had a card from the staff on our table! We done here frequently, but they made it very special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was attentive, prompt and gracio ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was attentive, prompt and gracious. Our waiter explained the menu and our options as it was our first time there. Our appetizers were amazing and served quickly. Our main courses were delicious and plentiful. They offered to take a picture of us on our phone and insisted on comping us dessert since it was our anniversary. Plan on spending $150-200 for a party of 2, but completely worth it for a special occasion. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, our service was exceptional a ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As always, our service was exceptional and the food outstanding. The filet was done perfectly and just melted in my mouth. green beans as a side were superb. we tried the lobster mac and cheese for the first time and it was good but a little rich. peach arugula salad was excellent. best steak in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, great service, upscale but ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome food, great service, upscale but made you feel vary welcome and open to questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food and steaks are always outstandi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and steaks are always outstanding. Drinks are spot on. The sides and HUGE and always cooked to perfection. Wonderful service. This is one of the best restaurants in Des Moines.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Drinks were we ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Service was outstanding. Drinks were well crafted. The steak was very good; however, it was curious that their steaks are more expensive than Barclay's Prime in Philadelphia or in some regards, even Manny's in Minneapolis. 801 was very good, but not quite in the league of the national Top 10 - the prices should probably reflect that.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

We went to 801 Chophouse for our wedding ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We went to 801 Chophouse for our wedding anniversary and it was a very nice evening. The food and wine were outstanding, as was the friendly service. Unfortunately, it was pretty noisy inside the restaurant and the light was so dim that you could hardly read the menu. Other than that, we were very satisfied and would love to go there again for a special occasion. It is a bit pricy to go there more often, but definitely worth the money every once in a while

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Really good service! Grouping always is ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really good service! Grouping always is so helpful! Food is outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A let down.

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Disappointing steak for a steak house. Unrecognizable as a rib-eye and certainly not prime. I should have sent back but as other diners around us were sending food back as well. My wife's fish was way overcooked. Waitress was not very helpful either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

CEO

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Restaurant was very good some live music would be great

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic Staff and Great Food

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I had our first dining experience at 801 Chop House for our 20th wedding anniversary. When I made our reservation with Open Table, I made reference to our 20th anniversary. We were quite surprised to find our table decorated and that there was an anniversary card waiting for us. The staff was excellent all through our dining experience. It was really nice on how much they went out of their way to make our anniversary extra special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We ate here with friends and we're all disapponted with the restaurant. The food and service were just so - so. We were seated in a booth near the kitchen with a good deal of traffic in and out.

The meals were OK but not wonderful. I had a New York strip that was grissly and not as thick as you would expect from a top steak house. The other 3 in our party all had the filet which was delicious. All of them ordered the same steak but the variance in size was interesting. We're not thinking about rushing back.

Our best service was in the bar before the meal. The martinis were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Pretty bad service

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Liking chophouses, we were looking forward to this. Waiter was rude, inattentive, and impertinent. He got orders wrong. Even simple things like providing the requested number of olives for a martini was beyond him (he provided more and presented the cocktail with a crazy, clownish explanation for why there were so many). The potato was unpalatable. Very surprised by the unpleasant experience. At $150 per person, we look for considerably better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Best steak house in the country enough s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Best steak house in the country enough said!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable dining experience. This w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience. This was our first visit and we hope to return as soon as possible. Excellent steak and ample sides. This dining experience exceeded our expectations!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Let them know ahead of time it was our a ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Let them know ahead of time it was our anniversary and they had a card and menus waiting for us. Food is always really good. Service was excellent. Wish they had a dress code. Would like a fancier place to go more often, but if jeans and shoes are worst part, that's ok

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.