Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: (515) 288-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (39)
See All
Business Meals (37)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Cozy (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Private Room (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
984 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent- our anniversary dinner celebration with family. Table decorated. Perfect!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience, as always

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Benjamin our waiter was great. Food was even better than past visits

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and good service, but not as nice as in previous visits. While the food is always good, the little things like a quiet table and complimentary special occasion desserts typically are what keep bringing us back. This last experience, we were in a loud bar-side table and the little extras didn't appear. Not a requirement, but when the menu prices are what they are, a nice touch.

Service was very professional and cocktails were excellent, as usual.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

801 Grand is one of my favorite restaurants in Des Moines!! Love to go there for special occasions! Our usual place for New Year's Eve dinner. Food, service and atmosphere is THE BEST!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was fantastic, the food was delicious, the ambience was great. My only knock would be one others have stated, which is the value you are getting for the price. You do get a good portion on your plate, so you won't be leaving hungry, but I do believe it is a touch more expensive then needed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

They did an outstanding job with food and service. They made my anniversary dinner special for my wife and I.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food is normally great but this time it wasn't. My steak wasn't cooked right and my fiancés salmon was very over cooked. The onion rings were super greasy also. The only thing we ended up eating were the sides and our dessert, we got the rest to go. We wish it would have been better, we don't get out together much and when we do it we want a good experience. I don't think we'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food period!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best steaks I have ever had and the atmosphere and service was excellent. Definitely on the expensive side, but well worth it.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 18, 2017

Have eaten at the 801 several times and the food is always excellence though the service spotty.
Using Opentable I expect a table and had one by my appointed time though we were ten minutes early and made to wait until six, and then were seated in the bar even though we could see many open tables on the floor, next time I will walk out.
Again the food was great except for the iceberg wedge Bishops Cafeteria did it better and the garlic mashed potatoes that were whipped not mashed, plus my household garlic use is ten times the national average but these were strong for us. My server though seemed distracted or over burdened. Never the less the time between my finished entree and desert was entirely too long, as was my wait for the check, 12 minutes after my desert was finished[ I time things like that].
The floor manager came around to ask how everything was just after finishing entree...should have ask before I left.
Again, when want a piece of beef done right I will go here, the rest is so-so.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and great service! They made our anniversary very special!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always great food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on June 17, 2017

We are regulars and never disappointed. Always great service, food and ambience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 16, 2017

This restaurant is always a great place to go with great food and great service. Shannon, our waitress was AMAZING!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 14, 2017

Fabulous meal, wine, and atmosphere! The menu is loaded with flavorful and elegant meats, sides, salads, and appetizers.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 13, 2017

Service was top notch, server was beyond professional and on point with her service and highly knowledgeable about the menu. It was a birthday occasion and they came through perfectly. I will definitely be returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was just great - everything. Steak was fantastic. Our waiter Skip was so good. Best overall dining experience in years.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great experience, I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and they set up the table for the occasion. It had some confetti, handwritten note, and the menu even had a happy birthday on it. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and made a great recommendation. The food was absolutely amazing if I would have any complaints it would be the price, but I knew this before hand.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 3, 2017

Terrific Service and Food. We loved the family style dining and the excellent entrees. We save our meat intake for special occasions and places like this one. Leon, our server, was superb.
It's very nice to walk to this restaurant from our hotel. Thanks!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 2, 2017

At 801, the service and the ambience is always first-class, and tonight was no.exception. Every course of food from the fresh baked bread, jumbo shrimp, lobster corn chowder to the medium rare filet mignon, was spot-on. 801 Chop House is my place of choice for a special celebration dinner, birthday or anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on June 2, 2017

Seafood plate was extremely over cooked. Definitely not worth the price.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on June 2, 2017

Best prime rib I've ever had. Glad we chose the Chop House for a Birthday celebration.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our server, Debbie, was fantastic. We had never been to this restaurant, and she made sure we were comfortable and accommodated. The food was top of the line, very pricey, but was over-all great! My only suggestion would be to open the blinds so it wasn't so dark in there and guests could enjoy the view.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was the best we've ever had. The steak is phenomenal. If you don't try this at least once, you'll be missing out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a fantastic venue, just as it always is. We went for Mother's Day and my wife felt truly celebrated.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our first time experiencing the special brunch for Mothers Day at 801 and it was fabulous! Nice selection of brunch items to choose from. The service was very attentive and the food was wonderful. We will differently be back to celebrate Mothers Day again next year!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've eaten at 801 Chophouse many times for dinner but this was our first time for brunch. The bacon donuts were out of this world. The menu choices were limited but uniformly excellent. I would recommend the Sunday brunch to everyone, it was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was there for the mother's day brunch. Wish it was available every Sunday. One of the best brunches we've ever had

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our first time for the Sunday brunch, but excellent as always, just like it is every time for dinner service. Cinnamon rolls and crab cake Benedict both spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice place for our Anniversary . Will tell friends to come to try the food for future

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

My friends and I enjoyed our experience at 801 Chophouse. This included hanging out at the bar and later the intimate table area and setting. I appreciated the attentiveness of the waiter as well as how they demonstrated knowledge of the meats. We will attend your restaurant again. Thanks again for the pleasant experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had great service and the food was wonderful and somewhat unique. The menu is challenging to understand. Servings are ample, so half orders of the sides were plenty. I did like the fact that we had our own secluded back room for our seven guests but what I really did not like was the acoustics. Between the music being too loud (our server even tried to get it turned down at the time we ordered because she couldn't hear us)and the loud guests beside us, it was nearly impossible to carry on a conversation. This really was disappointing to all of our guests.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined on May 12, 2017

Daughters wanted to take Mom to special dress up dinner for Mother's Day, I've been to CH for business meals multiple times and couldn't think of a better place in DSM. Great meal and was surprised to find that they had a children's menu as well. Great experience for Mom and the girls.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food, great service. Waiter was kind and corteous. It was somewhat loud and the lighting somewhat dim, but overall great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fabulous food wine and service. Very private booths in bar available

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 7, 2017

Whenever we travel to DesMoines, a dinner at The Chop House is always on the schedule. The steaks, chops and sides are fantastic! The service is very professional. It is expensive but worth the money.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good, as always. A reliable choice if you want good steak in a formal steakhouse atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on May 7, 2017

ISU Graduation Dinner Celebration.
Everything was perfect from the Steaks to the sides. This Great Steakhouse rates right up there with the great traditional steakhouses in Minneapolis, New York and Chicago

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 4, 2017

The steak was not what I would expect of prime, it was a little tough to cut and chewy. I have had better choice as well as prime steak at other restaurants. The prices seemed a little cheap for prime maybe thats why it was not up to par?

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.