Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: (515) 288-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Business Meals (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Private Room (6)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Anniversary, thank you 801 Chop for making a super evening!🎉💕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Went there with a party of 6 to enjoy celebrating my third son's confirmation!!
Excellent food, and amazingly service
4+ stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent and the ambiance was pleasant. It is casual but the food and wine are far above average. Very much enjoyed our evening at 801 Chophouse. Would highly recommend. Very expensive however.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always a perfect experience. The most consistently great restsurant I know.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We celebrated our 3-year Anniversary with 801! Excellent food, service and evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent service and food! My wife and I will be returning soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A restaurant this level cannot have their air conditioning system down, no air and the place full of smoke. All my clothes were smoked, my hair and my eyes were affected too. Unfortunate and unacceptable. Didn't enjoy my dinner at all.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time and we look forward to returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Beautiful facility, Great service, our steak was cold? They did apologize and removed it from the bill. I would rather have had the steak ,hot and paid for it.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had an outstanding meal. The filet mignon was wonderful@

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent steaks, sides and appetizers. Superb service by Michael. We recommend the crab cake appetizer, chop house salad and the mixed salad. Our filets were extremely tender and cooked to perfection. The boursin potatoes had great flavor - between the two of us we could not finish the single order we got. The Gran Marnier soufflé we ordered for dessert was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My overall feelings after eating were
1. Wonderful service by every employee we came into contact with.... well done

2. Wonderful food by taste, quantity preparation and presentation. It just wasn't $50 better then other like places. I.e.: Ruth Chris or Mortensons

We certainly enjoyed ourselves very much simply not $50 better.

Once again great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our server was exceptional and took care of us through out the night. We ordered Carpaccio which was a touch on the oily side but everything else was above the line EXCEPTIONAL. My steak was perfectly cooked. The bread was exceptional, the wine recommendation was out of this world and the ceasar and chop salads were perfection. We ordered dessert and the cheesecake was creamy and delicious. Absolutely will be back again!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent as always. We always plan a meal here when in Des Moines. Our server (Debbie) was outstanding and was so efficient and pleasant. Great martinis!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My Husband and I, loved the whole dining experience..
It was our first monthversary celebration...
We had Chicken and Sea bass for our Main course and it was delicious, mind blowing and one of the best we ever had. The vegetarian appetizer we got was new and totally experimental - Endives in a new form with the curry sauce tasted phenomenal! Finally, desserts here have always been special, Crème brûlée and Cheesecake!! Ahhh perfect it was!

Glad we decided to celebrate our special occasion here. Thank you - Chophouse!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My husband & I love this place. Great food. Wonderful service. Quiet beautiful atmosphere. Thank you for a special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The steak was not good it was burnt. They put sauce on it when I asked for it to be left off. They wiped it off the steak and "seared it". It was burnt. Don't get the onion rings. You are better eating at Burger King. The waitress kept apologizing. I just wanted great food for the $280.00 I spent. It WAS by far the worst meal I've ever had. I entertain folks and take them to great restaurants but I will cross this off my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I can only give reviews on the steaks as every time I have been there I have the same thing - the fillet mignon. It is consistently the best steak I have had. It's so good, I can't get myself to try anything else. My wife is the same way. However, I can say that the salads are always great as are the sides. We like the garlic mashed potatoes and green beans.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food and service, even after trying to find something wrong we found nothing. Great time

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Outstanding evening! Shannon is a fabulous waitress!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent as always, from the cocktails to dessert. Clearly the best steakhouse Des Moines has to offer. Service also outstanding.

Only caveat I would say, is that the prices are incredibly high, even by high-end steakhouse standards. Their steak prices are nearly $10-$15 higher than high-end steakhouses in Chicago and other major cities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Been to the restaurant many times for business and family dining events. Always had a great overall experience until last weekend. Ordered oysters as an appetizer and one of the oysters not only tasted terrible but had a rancid smell. Had to actually spit it out in front of my family as I gagged as soon as it hit my tounge. Told the server and showed her the oyster. She took it away and ten mins later a replacement oyster arrived. After tasting the first bad oyster, the last thing I wanted was another one. I told the server thank you but I wasn't interested in another oyster. I was surprised at the end of the night when my $500 bill came and neither the one oyster for $4 or the $17 for the six oysters that I had ordered wasn't taken off of the bill. Not only that, but a manager never came over to apologize for my oyster experience or to even ask if there was anything that they could do. As Des Moines's finest steakhouse, I would've expected more than a replacement oyster. Not sure that I will go back to the restaurant in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Definitely the place to go for a celebration! Our steaks were done to perfection, the lobster was divine, the signature cocktail delicious, our server attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great bar service and cocktails. We requested a booth in the bar so we could enjoy the buzz of this popular watering hole for downtown professionals and the comfort of a booth. Martinis were served icy cold!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Unfortunately our waiter was not at the top of his game on the night we visited. He was not attentive at all. There were guests in the table across from us who were very loud and made it difficult to carry on a conversation. Food was good. Best steak in a long time. All in all I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Wow, great steaks, nice to know they keep some of the good beef in Iowa...
Very nice waiter, pleasant staff, great for that "special" occasion

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Best restaurant in town. The desert menu is especially notable. Best deserts in town.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was a great experience and we will definitely be back. Amazing service by our server, Skip. The food was the best we've had in the area and drinks were delicious as well. My husband orders steak everywhere he goes, and he said this is the best steak he's had by far. The sides were all so yummy as well. We will definitely be back. Perfect date night spot!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Absolutely perfect dinner, the food was amazing, the staff was extremely considerate as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very very nice place and people are very knowledgeable !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful food. Our steak was melt in your mouth delicious. Wrapped scallops for appetizer were perfect. The lobster mac n cheese was a treat!! All a little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Over priced $140 for a steak for (2) & it was cold very disappointed never again!! $227 for a split salad,potato,asparagus & steak & 2 ice teas. We have been going to flemings for the last 4 yrs for our anniversary much better food for the $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant was better than advertised! Everything from the bar to the food and staff was 5 star!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Must go place for any special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I made my reservations for the wrong night, and they were still able to get me in without a wait. Everyone was very gracious and friendly. The wine recommendations were superb.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The scene was a delight, our waiter named Lionel was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly, and the food was the most delicious, mouthwatering dishes my husband and I have had in long while since we moved into the area.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I never write reviews, but our experience at 801 Chophouse deserves a few minutes of my time. From the assistance with our reservation to picking up our coats at the end of the evening, I cannot imagine a better experience.

My wife and I have dined from coast to coast and can honestly say that this was the best meal we have ever had. The steaks, the service, and the overall quality was exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I would consider it higher end dinning at the cost. The ambiance was terrible, I was trying to have a nice dinner with my wife and people were standing at the bar and there were plenty of seats,they were being loud and obnoxious. And because of that the whole restaurant was loud. If you have to yell to talk to someone across the table it isn't a fine dinning establishment. It was brought to managements attention and they offered another table but we had our whole dinner we'd have to move so that was a no! Also service wasn't good, food was mediocre at that. Some of the food was like room service quality- greasy and Luke warm. Don't mind spending the money if it's quality all around. This wasn't , we were disappointed and will never go back. Latin King and Johnny Italian steakhouse has better food and ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Business meal -- table was close to the bar and there were several large groups gathering there, so noise was a little high. Brian, our waiter, was so accommodating and helpful, even asked if we wanted to move. Made great recommendations. Food was excellent and ample. Great experience! Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always enjoy 801 great for special occasions or just date night with my wife, been going to 801 since Sheri was the manager. Love it. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.