About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: 5152886000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • New York Cheesecake - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Shellfish Pan Roast - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Ribeye Oscar - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Heirloom Tomato Salad - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • USDA Prime Rib - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Grilled Pork Chop - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
New York Cheesecake - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Shellfish Pan Roast - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Ribeye Oscar - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Heirloom Tomato Salad - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
USDA Prime Rib - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Grilled Pork Chop - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Iowa
Special Occasion
Iowa
Steakhouse
Iowa
7 More
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (45)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Notable Wine List (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Business Meals (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Family Style (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Historic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent. Expensive, but worth ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. Expensive, but worth it. Great atmosphere. Kathryn is a fantastic server.

Awesome place.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience the server was extrem ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing experience the server was extremely helpful as well, she helped both my date and I through the entire menu, she was very helpful. Great food the steak was perfectly cooked overall I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or a romantic date.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meals, snappy service, great a ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious meals, snappy service, great ambiance, but way too expensive for what it is. I would recommend this place for an anniversary or significant special occasion, but that's about it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The level of service we received was imp ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The level of service we received was impeccable. We celebrated out engagement and to be taken care of like that was really nice, thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricy, but great service and fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

A little pricy, but great service and food. It's worth a visit!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Repeat visit for a business dinner. Terr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Repeat visit for a business dinner. Terrific service and attitudes by all staff. food was exceptional. Nice wine list and plenty of beers and top shelf liquors. Great place for a top quality meal and dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best scallop preparation I have ever eat ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Best scallop preparation I have ever eaten. My husband had a fillet which arrived on a white plate, not one other thing on the plate , it was good and cooked perfectly, but a garnish would have been nice

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food quality far below expectations. Lob ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food quality far below expectations. Lobster corn chowder served thick and lukewarm. Mussels were served dry with little sauce. Other side dishes and appetizers were just average and served less than hot. Saw lemon cake served and we were hopeful, but icing was wax-like and cake layers were very, very dry. Even the coffee was not hot.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Totally overpriced. Steak was excellen ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Totally overpriced. Steak was excellent. But French fries limp, totally unacceptable. Highest priced steakhouse I've ever experienced and that's lots of steakhouses. For that money I expect fresh French fries. Glass of wines by the glass were outrageously priced. House red thin and also overpriced. Everything was absurdly priced. Just passing through on a trip back to California where steakhouses are expensive but ...... really. This was totally over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I made a reservation online. I made a c ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I made a reservation online. I made a comment that it was my wife and I's 5th anniversary. When we arrived, our table was ready and the staff had even made a happy anniversary card for the table as well as heart confetti on the table. It's the little touches that made this experience special for us. The meals were both wonderful in flavor and portion, and they even bought us a souffle for dessert. Kudos to 801 - PS, this was also my first time dining here, and as someone that has spent decades in the food and beverage industry, I can assure you that this isn't a fluke night - they are undoubtedly top notch at every point you dine here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the best tender and delicious ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I enjoyed the best tender and delicious prime rib I have ever had. The overall meal was wonderful. especially the lobster mac and cheese. The wine list selection had many options and had some of our favorite wine in which we enjoyed. The bartender was very accommodating when we ate our dinner at the bar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably a little overpriced for the qua ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Probably a little overpriced for the quality of food. It's a nice place to dine but would consider it a 4 Star restaurant with 5 star prices. Staff was excellent and well worth a 5 Star rating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing.... food my serve ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everything was amazing.... food my server everything is absolutely amazing

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Absolutely wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

The restaurant was beautiful....great me ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful....great menu...and across the street from the Marriott where we were staying. We thought the prices were a little high for Des Moines Iowa! (our group was from Newport Beach, CA and Omaha) The extra $2 here and $3 there for "pistachio encrusted" or "the works" for the potato was ridiculous....you either increase the cost or don't charge, but nickel and diming turned us all off.

The baked potatoes came out very lukewarm and we sent them back hoping to have HOT potatoes.... they came back a little warmer (not great) ...definitely not hot.

The salad was absolutely so drenched in dressing (we forgot to say "on the side") that we had to send that back too. (this was getting embarrassing to keep sending back)

The 3 others that ordered the chicken didn't like it at all...my Colossal Shrimp Cocktail was perfect. (I had originally wanted lamb chops but saw a LOT of fat in the sample Server brought to the table and changed my mind)

All in all, very disappointing and we'd never go back nor recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was undercooked and returned twice. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was undercooked and returned twice. Waitress argued about how steak was prepared. Bad experience with no one taking accountability

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The ambiance and service at the restraun ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The ambiance and service at the restraunt was top notch. The quality of food for the price doesn't match. The food was not poor but not worth the prices charged. We will not be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

One of our favorites: prime beef, super ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

One of our favorites: prime beef, super fresh seafood, 5-star service and food and the best Cosmos in town. It's a regular for us whether a special occasion or everyday dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our ribeyes were miserable. Burnt on the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our ribeyes were miserable. Burnt on the outside, raw in the center. Garlic mashed potatoes were so dry they were inedible and cold to boot. I certainly enjoy fine dining and $ is not the issue. For $236.00 this place is a complete and total ripoff. Ambiance sucked sounds like a sports bar.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

One of the great US steakhouses. Has no ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 20, 2016

One of the great US steakhouses. Has not disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top notch service, friendly staff, very ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Top notch service, friendly staff, very good food. Only comment was that my girlfriend's steak had a little more fat on it than she desired. Very minor issue, didn't bring it up to the staff. Steaks otherwise were cooked to perfection and the side dishes were awesome as well. Overall a very pleasant experience!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the Chophouse. Amazing service, wi ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Loved the Chophouse. Amazing service, wine list and food of course. Recommend to anyone for any special occasion! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

In my honest opinion, for the cost of t ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 9, 2016

In my honest opinion, for the cost of the food, the overall experience wasn't worth it. It was a loud environment sitting by the bar, I was not blown away by the service and I'm not sure why they brag about the 1200 degree broiler. I could have went to Texas Road House and fed a party of 6 for what it cost my wife and I to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value5

Always a can't miss for dinner. The se ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always a can't miss for dinner. The service is second to none in town. The menu is simple but done to perfection, steak and seafood are the staples. The dessert menu is a perfect ending to a fantastic experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent Service and impeccable food! P ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent Service and impeccable food! Pricey but worth every penny. Big side servings so make sure to share everything except your mail dish!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent but the portions are enormous. ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Excellent but the portions are enormous.

No wonder Americans are obese. The servings size is for four men sharing. Nothing for a couple. I would NEVER take left over food home....disgusting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak I've ever had, period.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Best steak I've ever had, period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as always. The drinks ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was great as always. The drinks were done just right. I am never disapointted with the total experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I flew in from Florida and my first stop ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I flew in from Florida and my first stop was 801 Chophouse. It was the best. If your in town you got to go. You deserve you be pampered and the staff knowers just how to do it. The food was out of sight. The best bone in fillet ever, I could not have done it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter Kyle, the food, and the entir ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The waiter Kyle, the food, and the entire staff were great.Wish I could have said he same for the people I ate with.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing for Des Moines finest rest ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Disappointing for Des Moines finest restaurant. Limited menu, average presentation, preparation and taste. Wine selection way over-priced, must be how they make a profit. Server asked my wife if she wanted to drink her beer out of the bottle...??!!! We were the most dressed up couple there-I can see if we were like the rest of the restaurant and dressed in shorts and gym clothes but that was mildly offensive. There are many many finer choices in Des Moines - Flemings, Johnny's, Biaggi's, Firebirds all much better...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The bartenders were very friendly and ma ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The bartenders were very friendly and made the best Long Islands EVER! Our server was EXTREMELY knowledgeable, professional, humorous and made our anniversary dinner all the better GREAT! Thank you for the decorated table and personalized menu for our special occasion. The steak? Best I have ever enjoyed living in Iowa 48 years! Thank you all!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little on the pricey side, but you def ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 30, 2016

A little on the pricey side, but you definitely get what you pay for! Outstanding food! The steaks were perfect, the baked potatoes were some of the best ever, and the soufflé is heaven in a ramekin! If fine dining is on your bucket list you could hardly go wrong with 801. :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is a little pricey but always good! ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food is a little pricey but always good! Service is great as well!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great date night. Fantastic foo ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 29, 2016

It was a great date night. Fantastic food, service & atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the food and service were both goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 29, 2016

While the food and service were both good, a meal for 2 people in excess of $200 is unreasonable for most diners

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Tuna appetizer was not fresh and the cra ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Tuna appetizer was not fresh and the crackers served with it were very greasy . Salad was over dressed . When entrees were brought , mine was incorrect and it took 20 minutes to get a new one . When my correct dish was brought out it was over cooked . Salmon was cooked well when I asked for medium rare . Salmon went back to kitchen to be corrected and a new one was brought out . 15 minutes later When the salmon was brought out it was cooked ok In the middle and ends were extremely dry .

My dinning partners steak was over cooked .

Was expecting a nice date night and celebration evening ; but was left with mediocre food and service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Prime rib and Brussel sprouts are amazin ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Prime rib and Brussel sprouts are amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was not impressed at all. It was loud ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I was not impressed at all. It was loud with bad music playing. There was nothing relaxing about the experience that a person should get in a so-called up-scale restaurant. The meat was good, but salad and sides left a lot to be desired. I will not be a future patron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

the food was ok, my steak was not the be ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2016

the food was ok, my steak was not the best, our server was average

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.