About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: 5152886000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
11 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Notable Wine List
Iowa
Steakhouse
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

special occasion (94)
romantic (61)
notable wine list (59)
See All
fit for foodies (46)
good for groups (26)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Let them know ahead of time it was our a ...

Dined 6 days ago

Let them know ahead of time it was our anniversary and they had a card and menus waiting for us. Food is always really good. Service was excellent. Wish they had a dress code. Would like a fancier place to go more often, but if jeans and shoes are worst part, that's ok

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was pricey but it was SO good. It wa ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

It was pricey but it was SO good. It was perfect for my husbands birthday. Definitely a great special occasions for us. It was a surprise for him and he was definitely not dressed for it (Jeans and Tshirt) but they were still awesome to us and didnt treat us negatively. We had a great server. My husband loved his steak. I went for the chicken which was also awesome. (Just not a steak person dont judge). Then we had their shortcake dessert which was unique with Rhubarb and strawberries and some kind of basil creme... YUM.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience and great service, as a ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great experience and great service, as always!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

801 was this year's choice for my wife's ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

801 was this year's choice for my wife's birthday, and it was a good one. Great food, great wine and excellent service. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This is our 2nd time here. The first was ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

This is our 2nd time here. The first was good. This time we were disappointed. We arrived earlier than our clients and chose to wait to be seated. Three different times the hostess asked if wanted to be seated in 10 minutes even though we wanted to wait. Our table was very small, too small for the food served. Interestingly, the table could have been enlarged to a round one but that was not offered. Next, our server interupted our conversation multiple times, kept trying to serve me wine even though I tried to make it clear I did not want any more. The food was only average, especially for the price.

food2
ambience4
service4

Today was Mothers Day and my husband and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Today was Mothers Day and my husband and son decided to take me out for the day. I was so excited when we decided on 801 Chophouse since we have had many delightful experiences there in the past. I'm going to cut right to the chase, today my husband and I ordered the 801 breakfast, which consists of eggs any style, red potatoes, thick slab bacon, and brioche toast for $19. What was delivered on my plate was frightful. 2 tablespoons of scrambled eggs that had been cooked hours before being served to me, a few baby red potatoes, and 2 pieces of bacon (which was thankfully quite good). My husband ordered his eggs over easy, and they were fried hard. No brioche toast. I politely asked for the toast, and was brought several pieces of white bread toasted and not buttered. So much had gone wrong here, and not wanting to embarrass my son or husband for their generosity on Mother's Day, I said nothing. Please 801, some attention to detail and what you are serving your loyal customers!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Chophouse

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband took me to the Chophouse for my birthday/mothers day. Although we are simple country folk and were dressed in jeans we were treated like royalty. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our food was amazing. The best prime rib we ever had. We appreiciated our waiter informing us about our dessert choices and how if we wanted the soufflé without delay we could order it when we got our prime rib. That worked out perfectly. I would highly recommend the chophouse to anyone who wants a really good meal with excellent service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent meal. Best steak I've ever had. The service was excellent. It is pricey ($150 for the two of us with tip) but the waiter was helpful in explaining that sharing and half portions are encouraged for groups of 2. That made it much more reasonable (relatively speaking). I would definitely recommend 801 to others and would definitely eat there again for the right occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, great staff, great attention

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our 26th anniversary , ad could not have picked a better place to go. Treated us extra special, extra special table with card wishing us happy anniversary. Awesome staff, awsome bartenders, awsome maire d, excellent food, fabulous steaks. We enjoyed oysters on half shell, served with extra sauses and great smiles. Desert was special , and had anniversay wish written in chocolate... tremendous experience. A must for your special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was absolutely wonderful. Our ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful. Our server was interested, informed and very attentive. Gave us just enough time to enjoy things without having to look for him when we needed something or were ready to leave.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The steak was fabulous! Best steak I hav ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

The steak was fabulous! Best steak I have ever had and I have eaten at some great steakhouses across the US.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for anniversary dinner

Dined on April 22, 2016

We come here every year for our anniversary. I really like how they dress up the table to make it special for occasion (I usually note this in our reservation notes). I also asked if they could have a specific dessert available (carrot cake). While they didn't have carrot cake, they did make special bundt cake with carrot caramel topping for us, which was fantastic. The staff always go out of their way to make the occasion special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Alaska over 20 times and ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I have been to Alaska over 20 times and Halibut is my favorite fish. The Halibut I had at 801, was one of the best I have ever had. The wine list included a perfect match. Leslie was our server and she was exceptional! Couldn't be happier with our dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Sunday night.

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The prices were a little high but we knew that before we went so there were no surprises. I would recommend 801 Chophouse to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great atmosphere

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were visiting our daughter at Drake and she really wanted a steak dinner. Our waiter was unbelievable and very knowledgeable. We will definitely go back, and next time we will make sure we have enough time. The waiter accommodated our timing and brought the food out in time for our daughter to make it to her conference at 7! Highly recommend the steak and the shrimp cocktail.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Steak

Dined on April 9, 2016

Probably the best steak in Iowa. As good or better than the name brand sites like Ruth's Chris or Capital Grille.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1

It took us I over an hour to get our foo ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

It took us I over an hour to get our food. My order was wrong and they offered to send it back but I didn't want another hour. In fairness to our server, she had a large private party plus two other tables .

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was burnt. Went elsewhere for dese ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Steak was burnt. Went elsewhere for desert due to lack of wheat free options.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

801 over sells itself

Dined on April 8, 2016

Let me first say it wasn't horrible but it wasnt what they billed them selves to be and definitely way over priced. We shared a deep fried lobster tail which may have been the highlight as a starter. The 801 cut prime rib billed as the "best you will ever have" may as well come from the Texas Roadhouse. It wasn't anything special at all. We also had the "Pan Roast" which I questioned but was assured it was authentic... and it was not. The only similarity between a real pan roast and this one was seafood. It was not exciting, reasonable bland and the muscles were down right awful. it ended up being over $100 a head for food quality that was equal to a Longhorn on a bad day.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined on April 3, 2016

My girlfriend and I celebrated our one year anniversary at the 801 Chophouse. We were amazed by the professional service we received and the food was outstanding. I mentioned to her that I love a good steak and that I have been looking for the ever elusive "perfect steak". Let me tell you that I have found that steak. I ordered the 16oz Ribeye Tuscan style medium rare. It was by far the best steak I have ever had and I was at a loss for words. We will definitely be returning every year for our anniversary and hopefully for some occasions in between!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic again

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

I'm from Chicago, visiting Des Moines for the 2nd time. In my first visit, I was lucky enough to dine here and loved it. So, this time, I brought 4 business associates, and we all raved at the quality of the food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

The meat was better than Flemings, Ruth Chris, Sullivans, Peter Luger, Del Frisco, or any monster steak house. The prime rib was the best i ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Okay food, bit overpriced

Dined on March 19, 2016

Pros: good service, nice romantic ambiance , extensive menu for both food and drinks. Cons: steak did not taste like USDA "prime", very expensive (expect >100$/person), quality simply did not match the price, side dishes were average, steak toppings were expensive and the only complementary topping was a dry rub.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was perfection.

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food and service are nothing less than exceptional. Not being one to eat beef, they have a wide variety of choices. The pork chop was amazing! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Too expensive

Dined on March 6, 2016

The restaurant was great and the cuts of beef where outstanding but overall the wine list was much too expensive and the cuts of beef were extremely expensive

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. service, and atmosphere.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Being a fan of Manny's steakhouse I never imagine this little gem would ever compare or live up to my high expectations. This place was so fantastic that I am ruined. From the perfectly seasoned and cooked prime rib to the bread and sides, the food is hands down some of the best I have ever had! The wine list was excellent, the service was topnotch, and the atmosphere, warm and romantic. I can't wait for our next road trip from Minneapolis to Des Moines.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

801 Chophouse never disappoints.

Dined on March 4, 2016

Paul is the best server I've had there. Great selection of wines and liquor. The steak is mouth watering delicious. 5 star on all counts except value. It's an expensive restaurant - know that up front. Definitely a great special occasion place for a celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great spot. Best in Des Moin ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food. Great spot. Best in Des Moines.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Top Steakhouse

Dined on March 2, 2016

Took potential new customers to 801 Chop House. Was outstanding. Waiter was probably most knowledgeable person ever had explaining cuts of meat. Steaks were excellent as were the appetizers. Try the fried lobster bites! One of best steakhouses I have ever been to.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed convenient free weekend parking ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Enjoyed convenient free weekend parking across the street! Very fast service and best steak ever! Wine selection was unexpectedly great as well

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Fantastic Food

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food. I would recommend the veal chop and the shellfish pasta dish. The crab cake was to die for! The Cesar salad was very good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place with AMAZING food!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for Valentine's day. Our reservations were at nine. Normally if I go to a place late you can tell the waiters and waitresses do not want to be there. It was completely the opposite here. Our waiter was so attentive, not to mention the manager. Our food was cooked to perfection . I had a medium Tuscan Ribeye. It was actually medium. It was so tender and succulent I had to savor every bite. My wife had the scallops. She said they weren't chewy and they melted in her mouth. The sides were for more than two people. We ordered three side so we could have leftovers. The asparagus sadly was a little over cooked, but the cream corn and macaroni and cheese were amazing. For dessert we had Creme Brulee, the top had a beautiful thick sugar crust. Very well made. Overall we had wonderful experience. Pricey but we'll worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was amazing!! I can't say e ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our waitress was amazing!! I can't say enough great things about her!!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, wine and service.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our steak was excellent. Exceptional wine list. Top notch service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great AND Quiet Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had our reservations on Valentine's Day on Sunday(I finally retired) so it was a different setting! I still expected it to be crowded but there was only 1 person at the bar so it was like being alone on a special night! We stayed at the bar for 45 min or so to enjoy the setting and then where sitter. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the the mashed potatoes were wonderful. I had to pass on dessert as I gave up sugar for Lent! A great night overall!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in Des Moines

Dined on February 15, 2016

What can I say? The food was excellent, everything was cooked to perfection. The wine selection was very nice as well. If you do choose to go just a reminder this is fine dining and you will pay for the quality.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2

Second trip into 801 in 3-weeks. Food i ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Second trip into 801 in 3-weeks. Food is consistent and always great.......... Some of the best steak I've had in the country!! The bad side of this latest visit was the service. Poor would be an understatement!! Clearly a great Restraunt but I question wether I'd come back for a $200.00 that includes poor service like the last visit

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place and service is fantastic. Very ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The place and service is fantastic. Very impressed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It was ok

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service was pretty good. But the food wasn't worth the money we had to pay for it. Except the dessert. The dessert was amazing! Overall, we probably won't go back to this restaurant. The steak was a bit too charred for my liking and I ordered mine medium and it wasn't quite done to my liking. Our appetizer was the scallops. They were cooked perfectly, but they also had a charred taste to them. I also didn't like that the sides were served family style. I wanted the Mac n cheese and my husband wanted the lobster mashed potatoes. We got the potatoes and I wasn't overly impressed. But our server was friendly and the wine was good. And again, the soufflé was amazing!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.