About 801 Chophouse – Des Moines

A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Soufflé made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.

801 Grand Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-6000

Website:
http://www.801restaurantgroup.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Dennis

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Damon Murphy with any private dining inquiries.

Private Party Contact:
Damon P. Murphy: 5152886000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • New York Cheesecake - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Shellfish Pan Roast - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Ribeye Oscar - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Heirloom Tomato Salad - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • USDA Prime Rib - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Grilled Pork Chop - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA

Report a photo problem

New York Cheesecake - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Shellfish Pan Roast - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Ribeye Oscar - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Heirloom Tomato Salad - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
USDA Prime Rib - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Grilled Pork Chop - 801 Chophouse – Des Moines, Des Moines, IA

801 Chophouse – Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Romantic (30)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (20)
Business Meals (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (6)
Historic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
895 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, the service, the cocktails! Ev ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

The food, the service, the cocktails! Everything was amazing! The biggest shrimp cocktail I have ever seen. What a wonderful experience! Wouldn't change a thing!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed one of the best filet's I have ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed one of the best filet's I have ever had. Our server, MIchael, was a true professional and really helped to make the meal top notch. We sat in the private room with a curtain, and it was the perfect ambience for an enjoyable dinner with our business colleagues and customer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, as always. Celebrated my ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner, as always. Celebrated my wife and daughters' (twins) birthdays. Server was very nice, attentive, and included a free dessert (fantastic chocolate soufflé). Steaks cooked perfectly. Salad and sides generously sized and tasted great. You get what you expect from a high-end steak restaurant -- excellent food, great service, and high prices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding restaurant. One of the top r ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. One of the top restaurants in the Midwest. Downtown Des Moines, 5 Stars all the way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were superb but other than that i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Steaks were superb but other than that it's just not that good. Crab cake (filled with filler, calamari (mostly fried zucchini), and tuna tartare (served with a syrupy soy substitute and zero ginge) appetizers were sub-par compared to other high-end steakhouses. Some sides were very good like the broccoli and mashed but others were just 'ok' such as the baked potato with soft mushy skin and the sauteed spinach drowning in butter Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Very nice place, not cheap but if money ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very nice place, not cheap but if money is no object or you are looking to impress someone this is the place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good is very good. Serve is knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good is very good. Serve is knowledgeable, however fine dinning should not be rushed. Plates were cleared before we could say we were done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great meal and service. It was my wife ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great meal and service. It was my wife and I 26th anniversary and they made it special for us. Decorated the table with confetti and also had a card for us on the table. It was a very romantic dinner for us. Thanks

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was super! Great food . We en ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was super! Great food . We enjoyed the meal very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal. Steaks were awesome an ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding meal. Steaks were awesome and garlic mash potatoes to die for. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks and sides but getting t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent steaks and sides but getting to be an expensive option.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as usual!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfectly done steaks. Bone in was so t ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Perfectly done steaks. Bone in was so tender you didn't need a knife. Side dishes were good but nothing special and expensive. 10 or 12 dollars for Mac and cheese and another 10 or 12 for lobster mashed potatoes. Mixed greens salad was spectacular and worth to 10 dollars. Chocolate souffle didn't really care for but raspberry sauce saved it. Cheese Cake was awesome and huge slice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a memorable occasion. A family ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was a memorable occasion. A family Christmas get together. The decorations, service and food were spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food excellent, entrees very slow on del ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food excellent, entrees very slow on delivery, difference between 4 & 5 rating.

Always enjoy celebrating special occasions here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great selection of wine, but pricey.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great selection of wine, but pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Always wonderful food and service!!!

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always wonderful food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and fantastic service. I ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fabulous food and fantastic service. I highly recommend 801 Chophouse if you are planning a special occasion, romantic night out or a small group business gathering. I have enjoyed all of these occasions at 801 Chophouse and have been impressed every time.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale Steak/Chop House with an upscal ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Upscale Steak/Chop House with an upscale price that matched value. Filet cooked to perfection. Service was professional, attentive and ensured Birthday Girl was a priority. New York City dining at it's best in Des Moines!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Took my fiance here for his birthday din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Took my fiance here for his birthday dinner on a Saturday night. Our table had been decorated with birthday confetti, a card from the staff, and even a menu with Happy Birthday printed on it. A delightful surprise! Our meal was delicious—everything was cooked and prepared beautifully. 801 Chophouse is definitely a place for special occasions, as the prices are rather high, but the quality of the food is worthy of the cost.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience. Been to a lot of gr ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Awesome experience. Been to a lot of great steakhouses and I would definitely rank this one in my personal top 5.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Expensive, but worth ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was excellent. Expensive, but worth it. Great atmosphere. Kathryn is a fantastic server.

Awesome place.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience the server was extrem ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Amazing experience the server was extremely helpful as well, she helped both my date and I through the entire menu, she was very helpful. Great food the steak was perfectly cooked overall I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or a romantic date.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meals, snappy service, great a ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious meals, snappy service, great ambiance, but way too expensive for what it is. I would recommend this place for an anniversary or significant special occasion, but that's about it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The level of service we received was imp ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The level of service we received was impeccable. We celebrated out engagement and to be taken care of like that was really nice, thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricy, but great service and fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

A little pricy, but great service and food. It's worth a visit!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Repeat visit for a business dinner. Terr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Repeat visit for a business dinner. Terrific service and attitudes by all staff. food was exceptional. Nice wine list and plenty of beers and top shelf liquors. Great place for a top quality meal and dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best scallop preparation I have ever eat ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Best scallop preparation I have ever eaten. My husband had a fillet which arrived on a white plate, not one other thing on the plate , it was good and cooked perfectly, but a garnish would have been nice

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food quality far below expectations. Lob ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food quality far below expectations. Lobster corn chowder served thick and lukewarm. Mussels were served dry with little sauce. Other side dishes and appetizers were just average and served less than hot. Saw lemon cake served and we were hopeful, but icing was wax-like and cake layers were very, very dry. Even the coffee was not hot.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Totally overpriced. Steak was excellen ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Totally overpriced. Steak was excellent. But French fries limp, totally unacceptable. Highest priced steakhouse I've ever experienced and that's lots of steakhouses. For that money I expect fresh French fries. Glass of wines by the glass were outrageously priced. House red thin and also overpriced. Everything was absurdly priced. Just passing through on a trip back to California where steakhouses are expensive but ...... really. This was totally over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I made a reservation online. I made a c ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I made a reservation online. I made a comment that it was my wife and I's 5th anniversary. When we arrived, our table was ready and the staff had even made a happy anniversary card for the table as well as heart confetti on the table. It's the little touches that made this experience special for us. The meals were both wonderful in flavor and portion, and they even bought us a souffle for dessert. Kudos to 801 - PS, this was also my first time dining here, and as someone that has spent decades in the food and beverage industry, I can assure you that this isn't a fluke night - they are undoubtedly top notch at every point you dine here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the best tender and delicious ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I enjoyed the best tender and delicious prime rib I have ever had. The overall meal was wonderful. especially the lobster mac and cheese. The wine list selection had many options and had some of our favorite wine in which we enjoyed. The bartender was very accommodating when we ate our dinner at the bar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably a little overpriced for the qua ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Probably a little overpriced for the quality of food. It's a nice place to dine but would consider it a 4 Star restaurant with 5 star prices. Staff was excellent and well worth a 5 Star rating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing.... food my serve ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everything was amazing.... food my server everything is absolutely amazing

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Absolutely wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

The restaurant was beautiful....great me ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful....great menu...and across the street from the Marriott where we were staying. We thought the prices were a little high for Des Moines Iowa! (our group was from Newport Beach, CA and Omaha) The extra $2 here and $3 there for "pistachio encrusted" or "the works" for the potato was ridiculous....you either increase the cost or don't charge, but nickel and diming turned us all off.

The baked potatoes came out very lukewarm and we sent them back hoping to have HOT potatoes.... they came back a little warmer (not great) ...definitely not hot.

The salad was absolutely so drenched in dressing (we forgot to say "on the side") that we had to send that back too. (this was getting embarrassing to keep sending back)

The 3 others that ordered the chicken didn't like it at all...my Colossal Shrimp Cocktail was perfect. (I had originally wanted lamb chops but saw a LOT of fat in the sample Server brought to the table and changed my mind)

All in all, very disappointing and we'd never go back nor recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was undercooked and returned twice. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was undercooked and returned twice. Waitress argued about how steak was prepared. Bad experience with no one taking accountability

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The ambiance and service at the restraun ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The ambiance and service at the restraunt was top notch. The quality of food for the price doesn't match. The food was not poor but not worth the prices charged. We will not be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

One of our favorites: prime beef, super ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

One of our favorites: prime beef, super fresh seafood, 5-star service and food and the best Cosmos in town. It's a regular for us whether a special occasion or everyday dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our ribeyes were miserable. Burnt on the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our ribeyes were miserable. Burnt on the outside, raw in the center. Garlic mashed potatoes were so dry they were inedible and cold to boot. I certainly enjoy fine dining and $ is not the issue. For $236.00 this place is a complete and total ripoff. Ambiance sucked sounds like a sports bar.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.