About 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar

800 NW 6th Ave at Union Station
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the 1898 renovated Union Station, just minutes from The Pearl and downtown Portland. Cozy red wing back chairs provide guests with an intimate escape from the world, 'Mad Men' atmosphere best describes the lounge and it's modern menu of classic cocktails, while listening to the best jazz, performed up-close and personal. Chef Deb Serkoian and expert staff prepare local and regional dishes with a modern twist. Tableside preparation of our award winning Caesar salad, Steak Diane or fresh local seafood and our 'incredible' burger or Reuben sets us apart for lunch. Catering and event planning for 2 to 2000, includes simple sack lunch, private corporate dining, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers to wedding receptions and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 3:00PM

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00PM - Closing

Casual Bar Menu 3:00PM - closing

Cross Street:
NW Irving

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-0070

Website:
http://www.wilfsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz notes from the piano drift through the dining room as the gracious waitstaff care for our guests. Wilfs has the proud reputation as one the best spots to hear Portland's jazz artists perform, and if you are lucky, national artists may "sit-in" or be relaxing to the music, just like you! Entertainment is Wednesday through Saturday. Check our website for our current entertainment calendar. www.wilfsrestaurant.com

Catering:
Parties for 2 to 2,000! Gatherings mark some of life's most important and intimate moments. Wilfs starts with the basics. We ask our clients to provide several key words to describe the atmosphere they want to create and then Wilfs works toward expressing their vision.

Wilfs uses only the freshest ingredients from our Northwest area, organic and hormone-free whenever possible, and can provide vegan and vegetarian options as well. Wilfs is proud to be a "sustainable" company of the Northwest.

Parking Details:
Wilfs has a limited number of RESERVED stalls in the lot across the street from Union Station, marked "Wilfs Reserved." All other stalls are 'pay to park'. Additional street parking available, free after 7pm.

Public Transit:
Wilfs is located on the Max light rail line, our stop is designated "Union Station" on NW 5th & 6th Avenues. For Rose Quarter events: dine with us before the event, pick up the light rail on NW 6th, you're just 3 minutes from the Rose Quarter, the first stop. Quick and easy.(Yellow & Green line)

Executive Chef:
Deb Serkoian

Private Party Facilities:
Wilfs is the perfect venue for all your dining events from 5-150. Our expert staff can create the most exquiste event from start to finish; a simple lunch, cocktail reception to a sit-down dinner. Classic American cuisine, with a Northwest twist, 'Mad Men' cocktails, jazz entertainment...at Wilfs.

Private Party Contact:
Candace: 8778794450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant or Union Station Lobby...it's yours for the asking! Weddings, rehearsal dinners, retirement or holiday party, let us create your dream. Food, libations, music, flowers, photo booth, whatever you may want.

Restaurant Photos

  • House Salad - 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar, Portland, OR
  • Seasonal Cheese Plate - 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar, Portland, OR
  • Savory Truffle Bread Pudding - 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar, Portland, OR
  • Catch Of The Day - Pan Seared Salmon - 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar, Portland, OR
House Salad - 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar, Portland, OR
Seasonal Cheese Plate - 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar, Portland, OR
Savory Truffle Bread Pudding - 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar, Portland, OR
Catch Of The Day - Pan Seared Salmon - 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar, Portland, OR

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland
American
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

Live Music (23)
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Historic (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Organic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A dinner at Wilfs is always a special ev ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

A dinner at Wilfs is always a special evening. Great food, exquisite service, and wonderful live music.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is beautiful, the food is g ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The ambiance is beautiful, the food is great and John is simply an undeniably the best ever! You will never find a better maitre d or human for that matter then John. He is Simply Amazing and is definitely the reason why we go back more than once a year. Don't get me wrong, it is our favorite restaurant but seeing John is like spending time with an old friend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very nice 47th wedding annivers ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was a very nice 47th wedding anniversary. Low key, excellent food and drinks, and the pecan pie was out of this world.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wilf's is our special date nite treat, c ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wilf's is our special date nite treat, comfortable welcoming and inviting. Always a treat to be with John and his staff, who take impeccable care of their diners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to Wilfs twice now and both ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have been to Wilfs twice now and both times the food and service have been phenomenal. Highly recommend for a nice elegant night out..

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dinner we've ever had! Phenomenal w ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best dinner we've ever had! Phenomenal wait staff! Literally can't complain about a single thing! Definitely one of Portland's hidden gems!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As mentioned above; good food, excelle ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

As mentioned above; good food, excellent service, great ambiance. Too expensive. Not good value. My original receipt had my total at 198.00. I had fresh catch (halibut) 41.00 + 71.00. When asked the waiter responded "oh I saw that and I meant to take it off but, forgot ."

Total cost 119.00 for a bottle of sparkling water, seafood pasta, halibut, ceasar salad, and 2 glasses of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Celebrated wedding anniversary; liked th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Celebrated wedding anniversary; liked the menu, maitre'd, waiter, and jazz band. Nice ambiance. Maybe 'something' for special occasion; but didn't receive a song, dessert, etc or anything.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another wonderful evening of fine dining ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Another wonderful evening of fine dining at Wilf's; we absolutely love this restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a small group to celebrate my bi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were a small group to celebrate my birthday. The atmosphere was very cozy, waitstaff very hospitable, attentive, and informative. When my daughter mentioned her gluten sensitivity, our waiter recommended to change her dining choice to avoid a sauce that had gluten in it, and there were no problems whatsoever to accommodate the change even after the order was placed. The music from the launch was lovely and the singer excellent. We could tell she has a great voice, but she lowered her volume, to not overwhelm the people dining there. All our food was locally grown, fresh and delicious. The House salad and Diana Steak were fantastic, mushed potatoes smooth and silky, and veggies cooked perfectly. We didn't order dessert, but I got a little birthday treat, and the chocolates were superb. I'm glad I chose Wilfs for my celebration, and I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wilfs never disappoints! It is located ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wilfs never disappoints! It is located in Union Station in downtown Portland. Have had dinner there on 2 occasions. Both meals were great. Our server, John, was also amazing. He provided impeccable service and also entertained us with interesting history about Mr. Wilf and the restaurant. The food, drinks and service were fantastic. And last visit, on a Thursday, there was live jazz! You just can't find a better place in Portland for great food and music!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall staff was friendly but slow. Th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Overall staff was friendly but slow. The waiter lacked personality however did his job. The Steak Diana was very good and was prepared tableside which was nice.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

My girlfriend and I went there for our 5 ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My girlfriend and I went there for our 5th year anniversary and I proposed. Everything was perfect, Adele was amazing, she worked with me to have flowers on the table and gave extra special service, the night was perfect! Any my girl said yes!! Wilfs will forever be our special place. Oh and besides amazing food and wine, the music was off the hook!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to pass the time while wai ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 3, 2016

A great place to pass the time while waiting for the Amtrak Coast Starlight....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wish I could have stayed for the live ja ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Wish I could have stayed for the live jazz. Food was good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Once an elegant restaurant whose décor i ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Once an elegant restaurant whose décor is looking tired. The service was excellent as was the food, but rather expensive for the daily special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our 5th or 6th visit to Wilfs. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was our 5th or 6th visit to Wilfs. The service is always spot on, and the food has always been prepared to our liking. We enjoy the ambiance and the live jazz entertainment. Of course we will return.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxing. Classic. Live music was a trea ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Relaxing. Classic. Live music was a treat. Overall, subtle classy joint for a delicious meal and drinks. Big thumbs up!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My sister and I enjoyed her birthday tho ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

My sister and I enjoyed her birthday thoroughly. They really treated us well and the music was great.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love Wilf's and visit often. It's be ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We love Wilf's and visit often. It's been our 'go to' restaurant for almost 20 years.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plan to spend a good bit of money if you ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Plan to spend a good bit of money if you're going to enjoy several food and drink courses - +/- $100 per person. But you won't be grumbling about the food quality or experience. A mature adult atmosphere. Not for kids at all. Music menu varies and is pleasant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the food and the people who work th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love the food and the people who work there! We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was no one at the reception. Once ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2016

There was no one at the reception. Once someone noticed us standing at the entrance, we were asked if we were just looking or here for lunch .

First thing we noticed as we were seated a musty smell of old furniture and rug.

It appeared that Wilf's has not been updated for many many years.

Food was average and service matched the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The service and food was beyond amazing. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service and food was beyond amazing. Such a kind and knowledgable staff! Loved having the matrede create beautiful dishes table side and explain the history of the meals.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff helped make a memorable birthd ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The staff helped make a memorable birthday for my boyfriend. They went above and beyond for making us feel like special guests. It being both of our first times here, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although this was a very good dinner and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Although this was a very good dinner and the live music was great, I am not sure that it was worth the price. The food was very good, not great; same with service. The food preparation was hit and miss. Short ribs were way too salty. Shrimp was just okay, not great. Steak was undercooked. Some items were very good though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The atmosphere was good as was the wine ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The atmosphere was good as was the wine !!! I didn't appreciate the $10 cover or the min charge when the band was playing !!! These charges are redundant !!! If you can't afford to pay the band a good salary then don't have one !!! The music was good but not worth $60 !!! Get rid of the band charge and min !!! Your prices are high enough without them !!! It would have been a better experience if I didn't have to pay an extra $20 for the band !!!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We love Wilf's for our "special occasion ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We love Wilf's for our "special occasion" dinners. John is a fabulous matre d' and makes everyone feel so special. The food and service is impecable. Best flaming entrees and desserts in all of Portland!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the lush dining experience with t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I love the lush dining experience with the service, décor and food - we can't wait to go back, this is a dining experience at its finest, providing classic fine dining service and traditions. and OMG that savory bread pudding! makes the heart sing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WILF's has become our "go-to" place for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2016

WILF's has become our "go-to" place for celebrations (her's and my birthdays; New Year's Eve; "Just Because" nights.

John and Adelle have always been welcoming, making this patron feel more like family, attending to every aspect of the fine dining, "fresh-to-table" experience.

Adding to the evenings has always been the great live jazz performers we enjoy, and I hesitate to even write this review, since WILF's is my guilty pleasure, and I while I want to see this Portland institution continue to flourish, I don't want to be blocked from being able to find a table when we want to go there!

Bon Appetite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wilf's is the last bastion of old school ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wilf's is the last bastion of old school formal dining in Portland. When Henry Ford's closed down years ago, Wilf's was nearly the last place standing with a jazz lounge and velvet seats and tableside preparations of your salad, steak, and dessert. It's not quite steakhouse - not the place where you go in and point to your cow and order a bunch of separate sides, but a high class eatery that constantly delivers. Sure, I could've had a better cut of steak than the meat that was the basis for my Steak Diane, but I couldn't have gotten a better story or a much better dish overall. And the Truffle Bread Pudding, that's just a delicious mouthful every time. Everything is just well done, and I will continue to make it a spot for special occasions as long as it sticks around. Love

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Wilf's twice now, and I hav ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 22, 2016

I've been to Wilf's twice now, and I have to say it's one of the best restaurants in Portland. The steak is always perfect, and John is just delightful. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter did a great job explaining how an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Waiter did a great job explaining how and where the meals were from and found. Also very attentive to us but not overly attentive to where it was annoying asked about food taste and quality. Very respectful and quality place to eat will be coming back very soon to try other items on menu

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

John our server was awesome! The meals ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2016

John our server was awesome! The meals and desserts cooked table side were amazing we loved everything!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food. Highly rec ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Highly recommend Steak Diane! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an enjoyable dinner at Wilf's and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had an enjoyable dinner at Wilf's and the entertainment was superb. The only thing we were disappointed in was the Cherries Jubilee. The menu says it is done flambe but it is not done at your table......only in the back where you can't see it then when it is delivered the ice cream is melted. Everything else was fine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to celebrate our anniversary and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went to celebrate our anniversary and we had an outstanding time. The food was great and the service was attentive and outstanding! We had the Steak Diane for our entree and the Cherries Jubilee for dessert and they were both prepared flambe at the table by the maître d'. He even explained the origins of each dish as he was preparing it. You won't find that at most (any?) other restaurants in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The experience we had was wonderful. The ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The experience we had was wonderful. The staff was very friendly & the menu was very impressive. I can't wait to go back. Will definitely recommend it others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Everytime we eat at Wilf's we love our f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everytime we eat at Wilf's we love our food and the service is exceptional. The food is local and organic whenever possible. The range of choices on the menu will make anyone happy. Whenever we leave I can't wait to return to try something new!

It's a quiet atmosphere with some people there on dates, others grabbing a bite before leaving on the train, or just stopping in with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum, yum, yum. Fabulous service, incredi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Yum, yum, yum. Fabulous service, incredible food, really wonderful live jazz.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.