About 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar

800 NW 6th Ave at Union Station
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the 1898 renovated Union Station, just minutes from The Pearl and downtown Portland. Cozy red wing back chairs provide guests with an intimate escape from the world, 'Mad Men' atmosphere best describes the lounge and it's modern menu of classic cocktails, while listening to the best jazz, performed up-close and personal. Chef Deb Serkoian and expert staff prepare local and regional dishes with a modern twist. Tableside preparation of our award winning Caesar salad, Steak Diane or fresh local seafood and our 'incredible' burger or Reuben sets us apart for lunch. Catering and event planning for 2 to 2000, includes simple sack lunch, private corporate dining, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers to wedding receptions and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 3:00PM

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00PM - Closing

Casual Bar Menu 3:00PM - closing

Cross Street:
NW Irving

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-0070

Website:
http://www.wilfsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz notes from the piano drift through the dining room as the gracious waitstaff care for our guests. Wilfs has the proud reputation as one the best spots to hear Portland's jazz artists perform, and if you are lucky, national artists may "sit-in" or be relaxing to the music, just like you! Entertainment is Wednesday through Saturday. Check our website for our current entertainment calendar. www.wilfsrestaurant.com

Catering:
Parties for 2 to 2,000! Gatherings mark some of life's most important and intimate moments. Wilfs starts with the basics. We ask our clients to provide several key words to describe the atmosphere they want to create and then Wilfs works toward expressing their vision.

Wilfs uses only the freshest ingredients from our Northwest area, organic and hormone-free whenever possible, and can provide vegan and vegetarian options as well. Wilfs is proud to be a "sustainable" company of the Northwest.

Parking Details:
Wilfs has a limited number of RESERVED stalls in the lot across the street from Union Station, marked "Wilfs Reserved." All other stalls are 'pay to park'. Additional street parking available, free after 7pm.

Public Transit:
Wilfs is located on the Max light rail line, our stop is designated "Union Station" on NW 5th & 6th Avenues. For Rose Quarter events: dine with us before the event, pick up the light rail on NW 6th, you're just 3 minutes from the Rose Quarter, the first stop. Quick and easy.(Yellow & Green line)

Executive Chef:
Deb Serkoian

Private Party Facilities:
Wilfs is the perfect venue for all your dining events from 5-150. Our expert staff can create the most exquiste event from start to finish; a simple lunch, cocktail reception to a sit-down dinner. Classic American cuisine, with a Northwest twist, 'Mad Men' cocktails, jazz entertainment...at Wilfs.

Private Party Contact:
Candace: 8778794450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant or Union Station Lobby...it's yours for the asking! Weddings, rehearsal dinners, retirement or holiday party, let us create your dream. Food, libations, music, flowers, photo booth, whatever you may want.

Restaurant Photos

  • House Salad
  • Seasonal Cheese Plate
  • Savory Truffle Bread Pudding
  • Catch Of The Day - Pan Seared Salmon
House Salad
Seasonal Cheese Plate
Savory Truffle Bread Pudding
Catch Of The Day - Pan Seared Salmon

800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Portland / Oregon
Romantic
Portland
Special Occasion
Portland
1 More
American
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

Romantic (39)
Special Occasion (37)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Live Music (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Historic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Business Meals (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Relaxing. Classic. Live music was a trea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Relaxing. Classic. Live music was a treat. Overall, subtle classy joint for a delicious meal and drinks. Big thumbs up!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My sister and I enjoyed her birthday tho ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My sister and I enjoyed her birthday thoroughly. They really treated us well and the music was great.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love Wilf's and visit often. It's be ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We love Wilf's and visit often. It's been our 'go to' restaurant for almost 20 years.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plan to spend a good bit of money if you ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Plan to spend a good bit of money if you're going to enjoy several food and drink courses - +/- $100 per person. But you won't be grumbling about the food quality or experience. A mature adult atmosphere. Not for kids at all. Music menu varies and is pleasant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the food and the people who work th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love the food and the people who work there! We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was no one at the reception. Once ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

There was no one at the reception. Once someone noticed us standing at the entrance, we were asked if we were just looking or here for lunch .

First thing we noticed as we were seated a musty smell of old furniture and rug.

It appeared that Wilf's has not been updated for many many years.

Food was average and service matched the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The service and food was beyond amazing. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service and food was beyond amazing. Such a kind and knowledgable staff! Loved having the matrede create beautiful dishes table side and explain the history of the meals.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff helped make a memorable birthd ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The staff helped make a memorable birthday for my boyfriend. They went above and beyond for making us feel like special guests. It being both of our first times here, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although this was a very good dinner and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Although this was a very good dinner and the live music was great, I am not sure that it was worth the price. The food was very good, not great; same with service. The food preparation was hit and miss. Short ribs were way too salty. Shrimp was just okay, not great. Steak was undercooked. Some items were very good though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The atmosphere was good as was the wine ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The atmosphere was good as was the wine !!! I didn't appreciate the $10 cover or the min charge when the band was playing !!! These charges are redundant !!! If you can't afford to pay the band a good salary then don't have one !!! The music was good but not worth $60 !!! Get rid of the band charge and min !!! Your prices are high enough without them !!! It would have been a better experience if I didn't have to pay an extra $20 for the band !!!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We love Wilf's for our "special occasion ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We love Wilf's for our "special occasion" dinners. John is a fabulous matre d' and makes everyone feel so special. The food and service is impecable. Best flaming entrees and desserts in all of Portland!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the lush dining experience with t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I love the lush dining experience with the service, décor and food - we can't wait to go back, this is a dining experience at its finest, providing classic fine dining service and traditions. and OMG that savory bread pudding! makes the heart sing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WILF's has become our "go-to" place for ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

WILF's has become our "go-to" place for celebrations (her's and my birthdays; New Year's Eve; "Just Because" nights.

John and Adelle have always been welcoming, making this patron feel more like family, attending to every aspect of the fine dining, "fresh-to-table" experience.

Adding to the evenings has always been the great live jazz performers we enjoy, and I hesitate to even write this review, since WILF's is my guilty pleasure, and I while I want to see this Portland institution continue to flourish, I don't want to be blocked from being able to find a table when we want to go there!

Bon Appetite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wilf's is the last bastion of old school ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wilf's is the last bastion of old school formal dining in Portland. When Henry Ford's closed down years ago, Wilf's was nearly the last place standing with a jazz lounge and velvet seats and tableside preparations of your salad, steak, and dessert. It's not quite steakhouse - not the place where you go in and point to your cow and order a bunch of separate sides, but a high class eatery that constantly delivers. Sure, I could've had a better cut of steak than the meat that was the basis for my Steak Diane, but I couldn't have gotten a better story or a much better dish overall. And the Truffle Bread Pudding, that's just a delicious mouthful every time. Everything is just well done, and I will continue to make it a spot for special occasions as long as it sticks around. Love

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Wilf's twice now, and I hav ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I've been to Wilf's twice now, and I have to say it's one of the best restaurants in Portland. The steak is always perfect, and John is just delightful. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter did a great job explaining how an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Waiter did a great job explaining how and where the meals were from and found. Also very attentive to us but not overly attentive to where it was annoying asked about food taste and quality. Very respectful and quality place to eat will be coming back very soon to try other items on menu

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

John our server was awesome! The meals ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

John our server was awesome! The meals and desserts cooked table side were amazing we loved everything!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food. Highly rec ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Highly recommend Steak Diane! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an enjoyable dinner at Wilf's and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had an enjoyable dinner at Wilf's and the entertainment was superb. The only thing we were disappointed in was the Cherries Jubilee. The menu says it is done flambe but it is not done at your table......only in the back where you can't see it then when it is delivered the ice cream is melted. Everything else was fine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to celebrate our anniversary and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went to celebrate our anniversary and we had an outstanding time. The food was great and the service was attentive and outstanding! We had the Steak Diane for our entree and the Cherries Jubilee for dessert and they were both prepared flambe at the table by the maître d'. He even explained the origins of each dish as he was preparing it. You won't find that at most (any?) other restaurants in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The experience we had was wonderful. The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The experience we had was wonderful. The staff was very friendly & the menu was very impressive. I can't wait to go back. Will definitely recommend it others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Everytime we eat at Wilf's we love our f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everytime we eat at Wilf's we love our food and the service is exceptional. The food is local and organic whenever possible. The range of choices on the menu will make anyone happy. Whenever we leave I can't wait to return to try something new!

It's a quiet atmosphere with some people there on dates, others grabbing a bite before leaving on the train, or just stopping in with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum, yum, yum. Fabulous service, incredi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Yum, yum, yum. Fabulous service, incredible food, really wonderful live jazz.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT spot for jazz. We really enjoyed ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

GREAT spot for jazz. We really enjoyed the ambience, and After Six played great music! They were lots of fun for both my mother and myself, and they even had a guest vocalist sing impromptu on stage.

The food was over-priced, and that was definitely the biggest drawback for the experience. Beyond that, we had a great time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

Over priced small servings chairs need ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Over priced small servings chairs need reupholstering never go again

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Wonderful time warp of a place. Get tabl ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful time warp of a place. Get table side everything as the staff will delight with personality and professionalism. Live music is a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Wilf's is a very nice venue for jazz per ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wilf's is a very nice venue for jazz performances. Not overly crowded, reasonable cost, friendly staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We'll b back

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Really good, nice and laid back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Please, PLEASE eat here.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My partner and I came here for our anniversary. Our server was funny and very helpful. The food...oh my goodness, the food was some of the absolute best I've ever had. The truffle bread pudding was to DIE for. I am typically a very fast eater and this appetizer compelled me to slow down to a fraction of my pace so I could fully experience all the flavors in every bite. I swear, it put me in a state of dizzy euphoria. I got a duck special with couscous and a fruity glaze. My partner got the best macaroni and cheese of his life. For dessert, we had to-die-for bananas foster made right in front of us. The seating was luxurious, the jazz band playing that night was highly talented, and I will be dreaming of the next super special occasion that will allow me to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't go wrong with live music! Wilfs i ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Can't go wrong with live music! Wilfs is a great throwback to restaurants of a different period. It was nice to have the Martie d do the table side and tell stories. Very interesting man. It is on the pricey side so prepare to drop some coin for a meal including drinks, appetizers, entrees and dessert. I will be back for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dated

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The manager and waiter were entertaining, gracious, and excellent. The food was quite good, but probably a little overpriced. My daughter was annoyed that they did not serve bread. Do not drink the tap water - not sure if it the age of the pipes, but it must not be filtered. The pricey fizzy water is very good. The restaurant's decor is quite dated. I did not see any entertainment on their website but they had a decent jazz singer in the piano/bar section. ...problem is there is no separation between the restaurant and the piano/bar which makes it difficult to have a conversation. I would go back to see some of their entertainment and get a drink and an appetizer. I had been there for lunch a couple of years back and the food was good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

As always, a wonderful evening. Terrific ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

As always, a wonderful evening. Terrific food, wonderful staff and lovely live music. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best service I've had in yea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Some of the best service I've had in years. We truly had a memorable time and would highly recommend this restaurant. Great food, great live jazz and superior staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with live music

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This place was the perfect place for an evening date. The live music was great and the ambiance was perfect for the occasion. Service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traditional Change of Pace

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a good spot for a change of pace. The restaurant has been around for years. What sets the place apart besides location, is they have live Jazz Music during dinner. Food itself is good. With the Portland area, you can find better for the money, but this place is about the experience.

I would recommend for anyone looking for something old school and romantic. Be prepared to spend some money. Their customer is aimed towards the upper scale. It's an older establishment though, so keep in mind it won't be trendy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Elegantly old-fashioned

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was very good, but not truly outstanding. The live music - at the other end of the room - was enjoyable but not so loud that it precluded conversation. The service was impeccable. The atmosphere is dignified - white tablecloths, etc. A fun place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a great experience

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Ambiance is amazing. The maitre de is very entertaining. If you're in a hurry or operating on a very limited budget this is not your place. But if you want to treat yourself or someone you love, this is your place .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to see Tom Grant and the food was great!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

First time diners; menu was traditional and the service top notch old school style with tableside productions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The steak Diane and bananas Foster are delicious beyond belief and John was amazing as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent date night!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful evening listening to the live jazz music while enjoying filet mignon and halibut. The maitre d was superb in his recommendations and regularly checked in with us to ensure all was well. The wine selection allowed for excellent pairings. We will certainly be returning for another enjoyable date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.