About 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar

800 NW 6th Ave at Union Station
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the 1898 renovated Union Station, just minutes from The Pearl and downtown Portland. Cozy red wing back chairs provide guests with an intimate escape from the world, 'Mad Men' atmosphere best describes the lounge and it's modern menu of classic cocktails, while listening to the best jazz, performed up-close and personal. Chef Deb Serkoian and expert staff prepare local and regional dishes with a modern twist. Tableside preparation of our award winning Caesar salad, Steak Diane or fresh local seafood and our 'incredible' burger or Reuben sets us apart for lunch. Catering and event planning for 2 to 2000, includes simple sack lunch, private corporate dining, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers to wedding receptions and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 3:00PM

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00PM - Closing

Casual Bar Menu 3:00PM - closing

Cross Street:
NW Irving

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-0070

Website:
http://www.wilfsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz notes from the piano drift through the dining room as the gracious waitstaff care for our guests. Wilfs has the proud reputation as one the best spots to hear Portland's jazz artists perform, and if you are lucky, national artists may "sit-in" or be relaxing to the music, just like you! Entertainment is Wednesday through Saturday. Check our website for our current entertainment calendar. www.wilfsrestaurant.com

Catering:
Parties for 2 to 2,000! Gatherings mark some of life's most important and intimate moments. Wilfs starts with the basics. We ask our clients to provide several key words to describe the atmosphere they want to create and then Wilfs works toward expressing their vision.

Wilfs uses only the freshest ingredients from our Northwest area, organic and hormone-free whenever possible, and can provide vegan and vegetarian options as well. Wilfs is proud to be a "sustainable" company of the Northwest.

Parking Details:
Wilfs has a limited number of RESERVED stalls in the lot across the street from Union Station, marked "Wilfs Reserved." All other stalls are 'pay to park'. Additional street parking available, free after 7pm.

Public Transit:
Wilfs is located on the Max light rail line, our stop is designated "Union Station" on NW 5th & 6th Avenues. For Rose Quarter events: dine with us before the event, pick up the light rail on NW 6th, you're just 3 minutes from the Rose Quarter, the first stop. Quick and easy.(Yellow & Green line)

Executive Chef:
Deb Serkoian

Private Party Facilities:
Wilfs is the perfect venue for all your dining events from 5-150. Our expert staff can create the most exquiste event from start to finish; a simple lunch, cocktail reception to a sit-down dinner. Classic American cuisine, with a Northwest twist, 'Mad Men' cocktails, jazz entertainment...at Wilfs.

Private Party Contact:
Candace: 8778794450

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant or Union Station Lobby...it's yours for the asking! Weddings, rehearsal dinners, retirement or holiday party, let us create your dream. Food, libations, music, flowers, photo booth, whatever you may want.

Restaurant Photos

  • House Salad
  • Seasonal Cheese Plate
  • Savory Truffle Bread Pudding
  • Catch Of The Day - Pan Seared Salmon
House Salad
Seasonal Cheese Plate
Savory Truffle Bread Pudding
Catch Of The Day - Pan Seared Salmon

800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Portland / Oregon
Romantic
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

romantic (37)
special occasion (32)
fit for foodies (20)
See All
neighborhood gem (15)
good for groups (14)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter did a great job explaining how an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Waiter did a great job explaining how and where the meals were from and found. Also very attentive to us but not overly attentive to where it was annoying asked about food taste and quality. Very respectful and quality place to eat will be coming back very soon to try other items on menu

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

John our server was awesome! The meals ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

John our server was awesome! The meals and desserts cooked table side were amazing we loved everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food. Highly rec ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Highly recommend Steak Diane! We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an enjoyable dinner at Wilf's and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had an enjoyable dinner at Wilf's and the entertainment was superb. The only thing we were disappointed in was the Cherries Jubilee. The menu says it is done flambe but it is not done at your table......only in the back where you can't see it then when it is delivered the ice cream is melted. Everything else was fine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to celebrate our anniversary and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went to celebrate our anniversary and we had an outstanding time. The food was great and the service was attentive and outstanding! We had the Steak Diane for our entree and the Cherries Jubilee for dessert and they were both prepared flambe at the table by the maître d'. He even explained the origins of each dish as he was preparing it. You won't find that at most (any?) other restaurants in town.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The experience we had was wonderful. The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The experience we had was wonderful. The staff was very friendly & the menu was very impressive. I can't wait to go back. Will definitely recommend it others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Everytime we eat at Wilf's we love our f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everytime we eat at Wilf's we love our food and the service is exceptional. The food is local and organic whenever possible. The range of choices on the menu will make anyone happy. Whenever we leave I can't wait to return to try something new!

It's a quiet atmosphere with some people there on dates, others grabbing a bite before leaving on the train, or just stopping in with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum, yum, yum. Fabulous service, incredi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Yum, yum, yum. Fabulous service, incredible food, really wonderful live jazz.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT spot for jazz. We really enjoyed ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

GREAT spot for jazz. We really enjoyed the ambience, and After Six played great music! They were lots of fun for both my mother and myself, and they even had a guest vocalist sing impromptu on stage.

The food was over-priced, and that was definitely the biggest drawback for the experience. Beyond that, we had a great time.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

Over priced small servings chairs need ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Over priced small servings chairs need reupholstering never go again

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Wonderful time warp of a place. Get tabl ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful time warp of a place. Get table side everything as the staff will delight with personality and professionalism. Live music is a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Wilf's is a very nice venue for jazz per ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wilf's is a very nice venue for jazz performances. Not overly crowded, reasonable cost, friendly staff.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We'll b back

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Really good, nice and laid back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Please, PLEASE eat here.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My partner and I came here for our anniversary. Our server was funny and very helpful. The food...oh my goodness, the food was some of the absolute best I've ever had. The truffle bread pudding was to DIE for. I am typically a very fast eater and this appetizer compelled me to slow down to a fraction of my pace so I could fully experience all the flavors in every bite. I swear, it put me in a state of dizzy euphoria. I got a duck special with couscous and a fruity glaze. My partner got the best macaroni and cheese of his life. For dessert, we had to-die-for bananas foster made right in front of us. The seating was luxurious, the jazz band playing that night was highly talented, and I will be dreaming of the next super special occasion that will allow me to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't go wrong with live music! Wilfs i ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Can't go wrong with live music! Wilfs is a great throwback to restaurants of a different period. It was nice to have the Martie d do the table side and tell stories. Very interesting man. It is on the pricey side so prepare to drop some coin for a meal including drinks, appetizers, entrees and dessert. I will be back for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dated

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The manager and waiter were entertaining, gracious, and excellent. The food was quite good, but probably a little overpriced. My daughter was annoyed that they did not serve bread. Do not drink the tap water - not sure if it the age of the pipes, but it must not be filtered. The pricey fizzy water is very good. The restaurant's decor is quite dated. I did not see any entertainment on their website but they had a decent jazz singer in the piano/bar section. ...problem is there is no separation between the restaurant and the piano/bar which makes it difficult to have a conversation. I would go back to see some of their entertainment and get a drink and an appetizer. I had been there for lunch a couple of years back and the food was good and reasonably priced.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

As always, a wonderful evening. Terrific ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

As always, a wonderful evening. Terrific food, wonderful staff and lovely live music. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best service I've had in yea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Some of the best service I've had in years. We truly had a memorable time and would highly recommend this restaurant. Great food, great live jazz and superior staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with live music

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This place was the perfect place for an evening date. The live music was great and the ambiance was perfect for the occasion. Service was top notch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traditional Change of Pace

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a good spot for a change of pace. The restaurant has been around for years. What sets the place apart besides location, is they have live Jazz Music during dinner. Food itself is good. With the Portland area, you can find better for the money, but this place is about the experience.

I would recommend for anyone looking for something old school and romantic. Be prepared to spend some money. Their customer is aimed towards the upper scale. It's an older establishment though, so keep in mind it won't be trendy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Elegantly old-fashioned

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was very good, but not truly outstanding. The live music - at the other end of the room - was enjoyable but not so loud that it precluded conversation. The service was impeccable. The atmosphere is dignified - white tablecloths, etc. A fun place for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a great experience

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Ambiance is amazing. The maitre de is very entertaining. If you're in a hurry or operating on a very limited budget this is not your place. But if you want to treat yourself or someone you love, this is your place .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to see Tom Grant and the food was great!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

First time diners; menu was traditional and the service top notch old school style with tableside productions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The steak Diane and bananas Foster are delicious beyond belief and John was amazing as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent date night!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful evening listening to the live jazz music while enjoying filet mignon and halibut. The maitre d was superb in his recommendations and regularly checked in with us to ensure all was well. The wine selection allowed for excellent pairings. We will certainly be returning for another enjoyable date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service for table side dining. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent service for table side dining. Enjoyed the stories of the Caesar salad and steak diane. Wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pricey...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Place was awesome. Love the oldies vibe of the place. The Jazz music playing on the background is romantic. Food was fantastic.

But the price of the food was just terrible. So over-priced and I'm not even exaggerating.

Plus on top of that, you have to pay $10 for the cover of the band playing.

I do understand, we need to pay local artists or whoever is playing that night,

but please be considerate enough to at least lower the price of the food, or if they keep the higher pricing, make sure the place takes care of the musicians and don't charge a cover anymore to the diners.

Just sayin.... Thank you

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

Nice "Old Portland" Ambience

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Always love this place. The music was fantastic tonight.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Old time Portland classic

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The wait staff is either awesome (the maitre'd is rad, funny and has this excellent prattle) but the rest of the staff was cloying and annoying and talked at the wrong times and didn't talk at the wrong times. The food was solid and good, as you would expect from dishes that haven't changed for fifty years. We're glad we went but i don't think we'll be going back any time soon. Definitely worth one trip.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and midweek music

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We were able to enjoy the waning days of Portland Dine out month, having a well prepared meal. Sitting in the Lounge to enjoy Thursday's music, we had a more than decent glass of wine , and were well served by restaurant staff. We'll look for an opportunity to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bait and Switch

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We visited Wilfs as part of the Portland Dining Out month. The menu listed on the Dining Out website was not what we were offered upon arrival. We were instead offered a beautiful thick tenderloin by our very chatty, very inappropriate waiter. What we received was a thick piece of pork that could not even be cut with a steak knife. When I informed our waiter that the meat was too tough to cut, his response was, "Well, let me know" and then he disappeared. The manager, a super nice man who had introduced himself previously, was close by so I flagged him down and let him know that the meal was not edible. He immediately took the food away. He then came back and said he wanted to make it right by offering us the original offering of fish (prepared a different way). We accepted his offer as we had no desire to go down the tough meat road again. The replacement meal was much better; however, based on the waiter's attitude, the presentation of inedible food, the prices, and the atmosphere, this is not a place that I plan to return to for a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was a little salty, I'll try th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was a little salty, I'll try the burger another time, it looked tasty!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and delicious food

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

My foursome dined at Wolf's as part of the Portland Dining Month and we were impressed. The service was helpful and well informed...offering gluten-free alternatives that were just as tasty as the standard offerings. We loved the 3-course meal and will be looking forward to dining there again in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wilf's is a great restaurant for special ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Wilf's is a great restaurant for special occasions, romantic twosomes, music and the best service in town. I think this is the only restaurant in Portland that still does tableside preparation of Caesar salad and Steak Diane. The food is always excellent and the live music is unexpected and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old fashioned elegance with great food a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Old fashioned elegance with great food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, but safe

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

This is the kind of restaurant your grandparents would love for a special night out. The ambiance is cool and the live jazz is a great touch. However, everything else feels very old school to the point of slightly dull.

The food was above average and tasty, although for $30/plate I wanted to feel like the short ribs melted in my mouth which wasn't the case.

Overall, I probably won't be back unless someone invites me out for a special occasion. Or maybe I'll just come back for the jazz and a get a drink in the lounge.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

menu

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

I ordered the pork belly sandwich for lunch. the pork belly was fried too much,making for a tough chew when it should have had less of the fat fried out of it.

Service was good and efficient.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great experience, but music was too loud.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Our party of four sat in the back of the restaurant and still found the music too loud to truly enjoy quiet dinner conversation. The food was wonderful and John entertained us with his well rehearsed food stories.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Debbie S

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Service was excellent, very attentive and friendly. Food, AMAZING !! Creme brulee was the best I've ever had. Filet and steak Diane were like butter ! Everything was top notch. Will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

mediocre for value

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Extremely expensive for value. Filet was good/cooked well, but generic; like any other steakhouse. An extra charge for sharing an appetizer. They really push the wilf's salad...overpriced and underwhelming. The waiter asked the table next to us if he could taste their bottle wine they had orderes; it had been two years since he's tried that bottle--rude and inappropriate! Unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.