About 5A5 Steak Lounge

244 Jackson Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

5A5 Steak Lounge is San Francisco's first 'Steak Lounge' - a stylish and contemporary take on the traditional steakhouse with the upbeat ambiance of a cocktail lounge. Executive Chef Allen Chen (Alexander's Steakhouse) has developed an outstanding menu which both complements and explores the boundaries of the traditional 'steak & potatoes' fare. Steaks: we serve 100% Japanese Wagyu, US Certified Angus Beef, American and Australian 'Kobe'. A5 is the highest grade of beef in the world. 5A5- 5 senses/the A5 experience. 5A5 Steak Lounge is conveniently located in the northern FiDi . Please view our website for specials and other events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lounge Open for Drinks at 5:00pm

Dinner:
Mon-Thu: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Fri-Sat: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sun: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Battery Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-2539

Website:
http://www.5a5stk.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking on site (Mon - Sat)
Street Parking

Executive Chef:
Allen Chen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining
sales@5a5stk.com

Restaurant Photos

5A5 Steak Lounge
5A5 Steak Lounge
5A5 Steak Lounge
25 Oz Bone In Rib Eye
Bacon Bread
Truffle Fries
Amuse Bouche
Truffle Mac and Cheese
Prime Rib
A5 Wagyu Ribeye
Lobster Wonton
Haricots Verts
Chili Chocolate Mousse Cake
Old Fashioned
A5 Wagyu Ny
Strawberry Souffle
Filet Mignon
Hamachi Shooter
Seared Foie Gras
Bone In Ribeye
tajima f1 ribeye
Sorbet Trio
Wagyu Rib Cap
A5 Waygu Steaks
Lobster Spoon
New York Strip
Wagyu Beef
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
torchon de foie gras
Maguro
Passion Fruit Squares And Cranberry Madelines
Butternut Squash Passion Fruit Amuse Bouche
intermezzo
Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Kobe Beef Sliders
Marrow T-Bone
Seabass
Scallops
Manhattan
Slow Roasted Prime Rib
Steak
Marble Potatoes
Colorado Duo Of Lamb
Beet Salad
Meatball Amuse Bouche
Grilled Peppers Amuse Bouche
Waygu Tartare Topped With Quail Egg
Dessert
12 Oz Waygu New York Strip
Kobe Beef Sashimi
Daikon Soup
Sauteed Swiss Chard
Colorado Duo Of Lamb (Other Half)
12 Oz Waygu Rib Eye
Cutie Negroni
Tapioca Brulee
Carrot Ginger Soup
Iceberg Lettuce Salad
Stella Artois
Wagyu Beef Tartar And Quail Egg Shooter
Shrooms
Appetizer spoons
Truffled Mac and Cheese
Wedge Salad
Waygu Tartare
Syrah
Waygu Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries
Iceburg Salad
Hamachi Spoons
Dirty Sapphire Martini
Seared Peppers
Madeleines
Sparkling Water
Savannah Sidecar
Iceberg Salad
Passion Fruit And Citrus Gelée
Jelly
Red Rice Hitachino Nest
Chimay Red
Palate Cleanser
Beef Kebab
Triple Chocolate Mousse
Matcha Donuts
Bread
Molten Chocolate Cake
Pistachio Cake
Truffle Mac'n Cheese
Brussel sprouts
Lobster Tempura
Pear Galette
Ribeye Steak
Chocolate Blueberry Cake
Wagyu Steak, Truffled Mac & Cheese & Shrooms
Hitachino Nest Red Rice Ale
Hamachi Shooters
Wagyu Slider
Toro Shooter
Boneless Ribeye Steak
Oyster Shooters
Macaroni and Cheese

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:30PM - 6:45PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:15PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

5A5 Steak Lounge is proud to offer 2 private rooms and 3 semi-private event spaces accommodating groups of any size, up to 300 guests. With our diverse menu featuring everything from luscious steaks to unique vegetarian options, 5A5 is the ultimate venue for any variety of special events.

5A5 Steak Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

Special Occasion (53)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Romantic (33)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for a Date (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Scenic View (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing steaks! Really good service, wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing steaks! Really good service, with a wonderful menu. So happy I was able to use my rewards points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wasn't impressed at all. Granted, I d ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

I wasn't impressed at all. Granted, I didn't have a steak, but what I did have, salmon, mac and cheese (very bland) had no great appeal. This place looked like it was going to be a great place, but I was mistaken. The noise was almost unbearable as well. Now, realize that I dine out at least twice a week and always search for amazing restaurants, but, I'm sorry to say, I won't be going back here. The pentacle reviews were overstated. Oh, as a side not I also worked in the restaurant biz for 15 years. I'm not a rookie. I'm sorry to be leaving this review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Two big problems with the experience. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Two big problems with the experience. The first was that our entrees took well over an hour to come out. It was acknowledged by the staff as they came by multiple times to apologize. But what got really frustrating is they apologized a final time and asked if we wanted something else to eat while we waited. He offered a few different appetizer options and we selected one. That appetizer then appeared on the check as they charge me for it!

The second big problem is they asked if we ever ate there before. We both said "no." He then proceeded to show us their lineup of steaks and asked if we ever heard of that kind of steak. We both said "no." My business guest chose one and the waiter simply took the order. He never found it necessary to let us know the steak was 256 dollars! That seems like an obvious curtesy given we've never been there before, never heard of that steak, and the prices aren't listed online. Very very money grubbing place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

An expensive birthday treat for my daugh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

An expensive birthday treat for my daughter but well worth it. Creative menu, well trained, friendly waitstaff . I can't remember a better meal. The imaginative sides more than complemented the delicious steaks. Everything was a treat down to the desserts and the Japanese whiskey flights. I highly recommend that Mac and cheese, the creamed spinach, sautéed mushrooms, and bacon topped mashed potatoes. I assure you, the flavors will light up your palet.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I set up this reservation for my husband ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I set up this reservation for my husband while traveling on business. He was hosting clients and his manager. He said it was a great experience. Good choice for business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NY Strip was cooked to perfection, nice ...

 
 (Cambridge)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

NY Strip was cooked to perfection, nice flavour and the shrooms were great (they had run out of asparagus!)

Unfortunately the Foie Gras was cold in the middle, bad job ... Poor choice of red wine ( no Malbec!?!) and even poorer selection of wines by the glass... Oh well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We dined at the bar and had great servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We dined at the bar and had great service. The oysters are a very good choice as they are prepared with a tasty variety of items with just enough kick. My husband had the prime rib, and was very pleased. I had the Tajima Filet and the demi glaze and mushrooms added great flavor. The restaurant did a very good job with my "special" ordering. The Flying Lotus drink is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Old and tired. The years it's been here ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Old and tired. The years it's been here show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

The Lobster Tempura was "to die for" and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The Lobster Tempura was "to die for" and the salads were yummy, too. All of us were disappointed in our filets and we probably should have sent them back. The one that was supposed to be cooked well-done was cooked medium at the most and all three of the filets were served lukewarm (at best). As I mentioned, we should have called our server over and asked her to take them back and warm them up but our server never checked on us. We were not alcohol drinkers and I cannot help but think our lack of ordering alcohol may have contributed to the inattentiveness of our server.

If we ever went again I would order two orders of Lobster Tempura and I would make them my entree. I would go back just to have that again! As far as steaks go, we would go to a different San Francisco restaurant.

We did love the ambiance of the restaurant and everyone was extremely nice and welcoming.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good, well prepared and pre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good, well prepared and presented. Couple of things that were not up to par for a restaurant that charges the price it does. One, made a reservation and showed up little early and waited patiently in lounge area. Was told that they would call us up when table was ready, our time comes up but they forget about us and help others to their tables before us even though they came later. Two, host sat us in right next to a big group even though there were open tables away from the big crowd. Three, server was attentive initially but after bringing the food out we did not get checked for drink refill or any follow up. Also took 10-15 mins to get our bill after we had asked for the bill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

the service is excellent but the steak u ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

the service is excellent but the steak unfortunately is not. i would recommend trying the non-steak options. those were all pretty decent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

My colleagues and I came here for a clie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

My colleagues and I came here for a client dinner. It was amazing and the clients were impressed. Don't forget to ask for the whiskey cart!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great and the steaks ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The restaurant was great and the steaks were incredible. The restaurant was a little slow as we came at 9:00 pm on a Monday. The owner actually came to our table and spent a little time explaining their menu. I don't live in San Francisco but I will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Scott was the best, he made o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our server Scott was the best, he made our birthday celebration wonderful. He was so polite and perfect in serving and adequate placing the utensils, wonderful personality and that is what makes the restraunt awesome. Best server ever. He should be a head waiter. I highly recommend to coming back because he works there and for his perfect service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretentious and the food under delivers. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Pretentious and the food under delivers. I had the lobster tempura and it was greasy and lacked flavor. My husband had the sliders and there were good, but nothing special. We passed on the entrees and the desert list left us wanting as well. There are many, many restaurants in San Francisco and I recommend you look elsewhere for a delicious dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was AMAZING. The scallop appat ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was AMAZING. The scallop appatizer is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WAY overpriced and pretentious!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

WAY overpriced and pretentious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was great overall. Not amazing ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was great overall. Not amazing where I have to come back again but don't mind coming back...if this make sense. The T-bone steak was very tasty and it's so big we could have shared. Service was a bit slow but our servers were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Disappointing dinner. Recent changes in ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Disappointing dinner. Recent changes in bar staff resulted in the absence of wines and standard top shelf booze selections. Server was largely inattentive. Steaks and Prime Rib was decent, but not world class as the name or other reviews had suggested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Seemed like the restaurant was stuck in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Seemed like the restaurant was stuck in the 90s from dishes to plating to ambience. They executed quite well on everything and the service was excellent, but it did seem like a bit of a time machine. The exception were the amuse bouche, which were generally quite interesting and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

I love steaks. I love whiskey. This plac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love steaks. I love whiskey. This place has it both. I came here with my wife to unwind after another work week. They have a nice assortment of Japanese Whiskeys (tasted ok) but also had a nice selection of scotches too (I stuck with my Macallan). She had a T-Bone, I had their Wagyu Filet. My thinking: you go to a burger spot for their burgers, not something else on the menu.

Wagyu Filet was definitely an experience you will need to experience. It is on the pricier side (around 140ish for 4 oz) but I feel that its worth it. You can taste the laziness of spoiled life of the meat with every bite.

WILL DEFINITELY COME AGAIN FOR WAGYU!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We haven't dined here this year. We had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We haven't dined here this year. We had great experiences in the past. The appetizers were tasty. The steaks were top notch, the same quality as Roka Akor.

This time, we felt we ate at Outback. (I haven't been to an Outback since college. Outback possibly serves better steaks.)

The hamachi shots, the salads, the entrees taste cheaply made with inferior ingredients.

The heirloom burrata salad had very little burrata. It's just a pile of tomatoes without any flavor.no efforts were put into this dish.

The free bites were overly seasoned, so sweet and overpowering. It was gross.

The lobster tempura was the only acceptable dish.

The New York steak looked so sad. It looked like the meat had sat in the kitchen for a week. It tastes chewy. We couldn't finish it.

The sweet potato gnocchi was very salty and heavy. It's not SF cooking. It's more of "fancy" Midwest cooking.

This was a very disappointing experience. We rarely visit the same restaurant more than once a year because there are so many cool new ones to try. This return trip was horrifying. Now we can permanently cross 5A5 off our visiting list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

The place for steaks

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The place for steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant had come highly recommended, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Restaurant had come highly recommended, which made the experience even more disappointing.

The bone in ribeye was just OK, the mushroom side dish and creamed spinach were very good. There was an extremely long delay between the appetizer and main course. Then our waiter completely disappeared and we sat with empty plates in front of us for far too long once our main dishes were done. We had to chase him down for the bill. The decor is very dated and the bathroom stinks - literally. They smelled and were dirty. I booked this for a business dinner and I left embarrassed that I had recommended it. Don't make the same mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

The place was overrated, over priced, an ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The place was overrated, over priced, and the waiter was slower than slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Downstairs where the bathroom smells lik ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Downstairs where the bathroom smells like old garbage from a compactor. It maybe also the old carpeting they have downstairs. Some Febreeze spray can help the foul smell

Side dish we ordered "Shrooms " were way too salty! Really salty!

Music from the bar were so loud and can be heard at the dining area ....The kind of music chosen was not appropriate with the atmosphere where people are trying to have nice dinner.

Servers were great!!! Kitchen staffs were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food as always. The staff is wonde ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great food as always. The staff is wonderful and overall great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last time I came here it was very n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The last time I came here it was very nice so that is why I went to this restaurant again. However this time I went the steaks were not as good and was not worth the price. I wish we gotten a discount. My partner ended up dumping the steaks once he got home.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The service was unprofessional given the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was unprofessional given the price point.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Never again.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

The lobster tempura was incredible!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The lobster tempura was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service is good and decor is nice. The s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Service is good and decor is nice. The streaks are good but can be pricey. Been here many times before and this time it was a bit of an disappointment. I had the skirt steak which they had pieces of ginger which did nothing to help with the steak and it actually took away from the flavor. We also had he rib eye which was better but over all I expected more and it seem to be just okay but nothing to write home about. It was still an okay night but it was nothing special. They still have a good steak and good service, but nothing to brag about especially considering the price you pay, which is not cheap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love love love this place. It is one of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Love love love this place. It is one of our favorite. We do prefer to come earlier as the food seems to be fresher. The waitstaff is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been looking for a good steak hou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I have been looking for a good steak house in San Francisco for some time, now I have found it. The steak was excellent, the appetizers, meal and dessert top notch. It is a modern setting, not the old school wood paneled steakhouse. Everything was pricey, but very high quality and definitely worth it. Perfect for a special event or to impress a customer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. However, a steak restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food. However, a steak restaurant should not run out of prime rib hours before closing time.

Summer crowd of tourists more interested in their cell phones than their company and the food.

Some furniture in disrepair; booth sofa torn, so we asked for another table.

Service friendly enough, however amateurish, unexoected for a high end restaurant. Wine should be offeret and served with the meal, not into the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was wonderful but food was terri ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service was wonderful but food was terrible. The fries were luke warm and some of it was kind of soggy - ? re-fried. Also the steak was a big disappointment. Steak was again luke warm, lack of seasoning. Worst steak house I have been to (believe me, I have been to many top steakhouse in US and Tokyo).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over priced and so noisy. If you want t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Over priced and so noisy. If you want to pay 150 for a Japanese steak, this is the place for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Have always totally enjoyed this restaur ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Have always totally enjoyed this restaurant. Their food & service is unsurpassed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come back to 5A5 because the meal is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We come back to 5A5 because the meal is memorable. Yes it is expensive but we come back for special occasions when we want Wagyu. They have delicious sides like truffle mac and cheese or the creamed spinach. They also have other domestic steaks that are also very delicious. The service is excellent and the ambiance can be very romantic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.