About 5A5 Steak Lounge

244 Jackson Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

5A5 Steak Lounge is San Francisco's first 'Steak Lounge' - a stylish and contemporary take on the traditional steakhouse with the upbeat ambiance of a cocktail lounge. Executive Chef Allen Chen (Alexander's Steakhouse) has developed an outstanding menu which both complements and explores the boundaries of the traditional 'steak & potatoes' fare. Steaks: we serve 100% Japanese Wagyu, US Certified Angus Beef, American and Australian 'Kobe'. A5 is the highest grade of beef in the world. 5A5- 5 senses/the A5 experience. 5A5 Steak Lounge is conveniently located in the northern FiDi . Please view our website for specials and other events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lounge Open for Drinks at 5:00pm

Dinner:
Mon-Thu: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Fri-Sat: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sun: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Battery Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-2539

Website:
http://www.5a5stk.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking on site (Mon - Sat)
Street Parking

Executive Chef:
Allen Chen

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining
sales@5a5stk.com

Restaurant Photos

5A5 Steak Lounge
5A5 Steak Lounge
25 Oz Bone In Rib Eye
Bacon Bread
Truffle Fries
Amuse Bouche
Truffle Mac and Cheese
Prime Rib
A5 Wagyu Ribeye
Lobster Wonton
Haricots Verts
Old Fashioned
Chili Chocolate Mousse Cake
A5 Wagyu Ny
Strawberry Souffle
Filet Mignon
Hamachi Shooter
Seared Foie Gras
Bone In Ribeye
tajima f1 ribeye
Sorbet Trio
Wagyu Rib Cap
A5 Waygu Steaks
Lobster Spoon
New York Strip
Wagyu Beef
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
torchon de foie gras
Maguro
Butternut Squash Passion Fruit Amuse Bouche
Passion Fruit Squares And Cranberry Madelines
intermezzo
Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Scallops
Seabass
Marrow T-Bone
Kobe Beef Sliders
Manhattan
Slow Roasted Prime Rib
Steak
Marble Potatoes
Beet Salad
Colorado Duo Of Lamb
Grilled Peppers Amuse Bouche
Waygu Tartare Topped With Quail Egg
Meatball Amuse Bouche
Dessert
Kobe Beef Sashimi
12 Oz Waygu New York Strip
Daikon Soup
Sauteed Swiss Chard
Colorado Duo Of Lamb (Other Half)
Cutie Negroni
12 Oz Waygu Rib Eye
Tapioca Brulee
Carrot Ginger Soup
Iceberg Lettuce Salad
Stella Artois
Wagyu Beef Tartar And Quail Egg Shooter
Shrooms
Appetizer spoons
Truffled Mac and Cheese
Wedge Salad
Syrah
Waygu Tartare
Waygu Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries
Iceburg Salad
Dirty Sapphire Martini
Seared Peppers
Hamachi Spoons
Madeleines
Savannah Sidecar
Sparkling Water
Iceberg Salad
Passion Fruit And Citrus Gelée
Chimay Red
Jelly
Red Rice Hitachino Nest
Palate Cleanser
Beef Kebab
Triple Chocolate Mousse
Matcha Donuts
Bread
Molten Chocolate Cake
Pistachio Cake
Lobster Tempura
Brussel sprouts
Truffle Mac'n Cheese
Pear Galette
Ribeye Steak
Chocolate Blueberry Cake
Wagyu Steak, Truffled Mac & Cheese & Shrooms
Hamachi Shooters
Hitachino Nest Red Rice Ale
Wagyu Slider
Toro Shooter
Boneless Ribeye Steak
Oyster Shooters
Macaroni and Cheese
Pineapple Coconut Upside Down Cake

Promotions

Happy Hour Special

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Happy Hour Special

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Join us for Happy Hour at 5A5 Steak Lounge. $3.00 Off all items on our lounge menu. Featuring specialty cocktails, wine by the glass, beers and shareables. *Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer valid only in the lounge. No lounge reservations. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 31, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

5A5 Steak Lounge is proud to offer 2 private rooms and 3 semi-private event spaces accommodating groups of any size, up to 300 guests. With our diverse menu featuring everything from luscious steaks to unique vegetarian options, 5A5 is the ultimate venue for any variety of special events.

5A5 Steak Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (63)
fit for foodies (54)
romantic (44)
See All
good for groups (29)
hot spot (20)
notable wine list (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
neighborhood gem (12)
late-night find (11)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing food. Amazing service. We were t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing food. Amazing service. We were there to celebrate my husband's new job - and the kitchen staff gave him a small complimentary dessert with "Congratulations!" written on the plate in delicate chocolate icing calligraphy. It was beautiful! Chairs were oddly low (or tables were oddly high), resulting in feeling like we were kids at a too-tall table. Everything else was fine.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was good, but there wasn't anyt ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was good, but there wasn't anything spectacular about it especially for the prices that you were paying. My friend and I shared the NY strip steak (amongst many other dishes) and we found this to be extremely salty which was disappointing since it is a steakhouse. I'm not sure that I'll be back again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

5A5 has a great bar. Ashley is an excell ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

5A5 has a great bar. Ashley is an excellent bar tender. The food, specializing in meat and steak, is very good. Management is involved and very friendly. All employees are attentive. We plan to return

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

Great service. Love the location. Awesom ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service. Love the location. Awesome staff. Ambiance is outstanding. Unfortunately, food leaves a lot to be desired. It was good, but no dishes were unforgettable. At the price point, you expect "mind-blowing."

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Unfortunately, the restaurant was more h ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Unfortunately, the restaurant was more hype than quality. My husband & I spent $200 for our dinner. He liked the taste of the filet; I didn't like my chicken at all. It was dry and I should had returned it.

food2
ambience3
service5
value1

They need to up their game

Dined on June 2, 2016

I was a little disappointed. Not as good as before. I had great experiences before and this time the food was very mediocre. Cocktails were good.

food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Food snobs

Dined on May 29, 2016

Well, this was way expensive for not impressive food. Can't imagine who would want to pay upwards of $100 for a beef entre. Definitely NOT kid-friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They provided the best dining service so far.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Very welcoming ambiance and staff! Food is awesome prime rib is the best!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am no foodie, and I'm far from a steak ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I am no foodie, and I'm far from a steak expert, but this was one of the best meals I've ever had. Absolutly everything was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Good but,......

Dined on May 8, 2016

5A5 is a nice place and has really good food. But last Saturday evening they allowed a Birthday party with 5+ children in a private room that was just getting started around 6pm. The noise and the children walking around is not something you want or expect when you having a $300 dinner. The manager finally closed the door after an hour but the evening had been dampened by then. Plus, the table next to us not at all dressed appropriately and was watching the Warriors game with sound. I am not sure restaurants understand that when they enable and tolerate very rude people it ruins the experience for many.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Pretty Good but Really Expensive

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food is pretty good but not worth the high prices. The steak is great quality but slathered in only ok sauces. Plus the noise level is high and the seating is awkward (more like a hotel lounge) which makes it near impossible to have dinner conversation. If I was in the mood for steak would not return – probably go back to my normal joint which is House of Prime Rib. Same kind of place but considerably bettern

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Disappointed in ambience. Too many kids, ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Disappointed in ambience. Too many kids, that were loud and ruined the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boys Night Out

Dined on May 1, 2016

I brought 4 friends to 5A5 who have never been there before and they had an amazing time. They loved the service and the food was over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Almost 100%

Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything was great except that server told us that they could not split the soup that we ordered. She at least tried, but it was weird that they couldn't just give us another bowl to share.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Not a bad spot for steak.

Dined on April 27, 2016

This is good steak place. If you are a steak purist this may not be your place. While they do have great cuts of meat. This includes their excellent choices in A5 Wagyu cuts. They add different sauces to their steaks rather than let the meat stand alone. That is fine for me but may not be if folks like their steak bare or with the sauces on the side. It was different for me. The sides were very good. There were very unique pinafores. We had their mushrooms which was good as well as their mashed potatoes. Dessert was great. Quality is what you would expect from a higher end restaurant like this. Why I felt I had to write a review, was because of the service. I felt we were not treated right by our server. It was not busy the night we went. Our server took our order and repeated it three times to us. Also wrote it down. I thought that was cool. But then one of our main dishes was missing. And our server was no where to be found. I had to track down our server to ask about our missing dish after all of our other dishes were brought out. When the server finally came to check on us and we informed him of the missing dish, he blamed the mistake on us. This was after he repeated the order to us three times in the beginning. That piece kind of ruined our experience. If he just apologized and owned the mistake we would have been fine, but to blatantly just say it was our fault. There were three of us there they heard him repeat the order three times and witnessed him write it down. After that again we did not see our server for extended periods of time. I had to get up and find our server for our bill. That one piece did not sit well with us. Not sure if we would go back especially with other great steak places like Alexander's and Bobo's.

food3
ambience4
service4

Had the bone in rib eye. Very tasty but ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Had the bone in rib eye. Very tasty but a bit undercooked for medium rare. Possibly due to it being a 32oz cut and almost 2" thick but would rather have it cooked a bit more evenly and thorough for medium rare. Was medium on the outside and rare in the middle. Definitely needed more attention when cooking. Next time if we return will order medium but then it may be well done on the outside and medium rare in the middle. Iceberg salad was amazing as was the house cab (good pairing with the rib eye) and mashed potatoes. Unfortunately the asparagus side was overcooked and a bit droopy.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Better Service Required

Dined on April 21, 2016

The steak was one of the best I have ever had in my life. It definitely wasn't cheap, and therefore, I think the quality of service should be elevated. If you are going to pay a significant price for delicious food, you should have a superior level of service to match. This restaurants waiters need some additional training to ensure their skills are up to par.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Night with Special Friends

Dined on April 21, 2016

I wanted to go some place nice and memorable. We were rewarded with a great experience. The steak was great and the dessert was a great finish. The rib eye my husband ordered was huge.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Swing and a miss

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were in SF for weekend celebrating my wife's 40th birthday & friend said 5A5 steak was the best they ever had, so we made a reservation & arrived a bit early. They were kind enough to accommodate us but table was directly under A/C vent & my wife was freezing whole meal despite asking several staff to turn it down. We switched sides, but she was still pretty uncomfortable. We should have moved. Not the restaurant's fault obviously, but we were surrounded by tables with small children who were clearly over the steak lounge vibe, was a surprise on the so-so ambiance. We didn't opt not for the Wagyu beef but still paid hefty prices for a filet & bone-in rib-eye. My wife orders her steak well-done (I know...) but usually isn't a prob but they brought out a charred piece of meat so dry & tasteless that we were shocked! We hardly ever send food back, but this hockey puck went back. They were quick to bring out a replacement, maybe too quick as 2nd steak was closer to medium than well, but by then she wasn't prepared to send another steak back again. We had truffle mac & shrooms as sides. Mac was avg, shrooms were very good. We didn't notice until half-way through our meal other tables were getting an amuse-bouche compliments of chef, but we never did. No biggie by itself, but just added to an overall slighted feel. Early I mentioned on the sly to waiter that it was her birthday & he let the staff know, but at the end of meal we were presented with dessert menus anyway & when we didn't order anything there, we were given check like it was time to go...no birthday desert. The bill was wrong (they charged us twice for the bad filet and the replacement both) so I had to send that back too. They clearly forgot the birthday desert (I get its complimentary so don't expect anything ), but by then I told them not to worry about it when waiter brought the corrected bill back and he seemed to take offense & brought it anyway. We left it untouched - bad B-day experience!

food3
ambience5
service4

Deserts where beyond great. I had the ri ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Deserts where beyond great. I had the ribeye and it lacked flavor the wife had the prime rib and said it was good but not great. The lobster appetizer was excellent. Mac and cheese was a big let down. The overall vibe of the restaurant and presentation of the food was above expectations!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite!

Dined on April 14, 2016

I come here every time I am in the city. My new husband and I had our first (marital) dinner date here. The food is delicious and the truffle Mac and cheese it a must try. The staff is friendly and attentive. This is one of the BEST restaurants in the city! And yes, I've been to most restaurants in SF :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable dinner, great side dishes

Dined on April 12, 2016

Steaks were cooked to perfection, very good though expected a bit more taste. Side dishes were excellent and plentiful. Ambiance is enjoyable, atmosphere not overly loud.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great PRIME RIB AND IN BONE STEAK

Dined on April 11, 2016

NICE QUIET PLACE. WE HAD A GIFT CARD VALUED AT $100. OUR MEAL COME TO UNDER $200. PRIME RIB WHICH IS LIMITED OFFERING---OVER 160Z--WAS COOKED PERFECT . IT WAS BETTER THAN THE HOUSE OF PRIME RIB ( IT WAS EXPENSIVE BUT WORTH IT). I HAD THE BONE-IN RIB-EYE. AGAIN, COOKED PERFECT. OUTSTANDING!!! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND IF YOU CAN PAY $200 FOR AN OUTSTANDING MEAL. GREAT PLACE.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Disappointing Food

Dined on April 10, 2016

The ingredients were good quality, but all our food was overly seasoned and smothered in a lot of different flavours so that you could not taste the nice ingredients. My husband's steak came smothered with a cup of sauce that was sickly sweet and incredibly salty at the same time, he spent ages scraping it off to attempt to eat some of it. Call me old-fashioned, but steak sauce should come on the side, specially one so overpowering as this...

food5
ambience5
service5

The overall quality of the experience wa ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The overall quality of the experience was amazing! I felt like we had our own personal chef!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a wonderful evening! From the host to the bar staff to our waiter, the service was terrific. I chose the foie gras, octopus salad, truffle fries, and chocolate creme brulee. It was all delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Two of us went for a nice dinner. Had be ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Two of us went for a nice dinner. Had been once before. We both had steaks, she had the fillet and I had the T-Bone. Both were absolutely delicious. Very good service I felt and would certainly go back again. Surprisingly not very busy considering the quality of the dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

jrh5a5

Dined on March 30, 2016

Went for a special birthday, we just had the regular meats not the special Wagyu. so was very nice service super great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good - perfect steak

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was excellent - quiet, an excellent selection of steak plus some other good dishes for people who might not want steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I am an Alexander's Steakhouse guy, thou ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

I am an Alexander's Steakhouse guy, thought I would try another Kobe place. The steaks were just as good, atmosphere was a bit ROWDY for my liking. It is advertised as a LOUNGE so I cannot complain, service was good , but not as good as Alexander's. I will continue my KOBE journey and report back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great food!!

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was amazing, and those truffle fries were divine. Along with the exceptional flavors of every course that Chef Chen created!! I will definitely be going back there just for the food & recommending all my friends & family!! Keep up the good work Chef!! You deserve all the praise, food is what brings people together & creates good memories forever!! 😋😊

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My guests and I had a fantastic dining e ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

My guests and I had a fantastic dining experience! Thanks to the team.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another Great Meal

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

5A5 is our go-to restaurant for special occasions and again they did not disappoint. The food was fantastic and we had excellent services. I look forward to going back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Staff was inattentive, steaks were WAY overdone

Dined on February 27, 2016

Make sure that when you get your steak it is prepared how you specify. Ordered a medium steak, received well done piece of cardboard. I couldn't eat more than three bits and the waiter never came back for me to even send my dish back. Considering what I paid for my meal I was not impressed.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food presentation and preparation.

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Great Food presentation and preparation.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Wagyu Rib Eye and the Tajima ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

We had the Wagyu Rib Eye and the Tajima F1 Filet and I can say it was the best beef I've ever had! If you're looking for authentic, melt in your mouth, marble, top quality A5 100% Japanese Miyazaki Wagyu beef, you have to give it try here. It was soo good! Buttery goodness! The Tajima F1 was really tasty too. You can tell the difference of course between the 100% Wagyu and the Tajima but I really enjoyed the cut and it was very flavorful and tasty with a good buttery-ness too. We also had the truffle fries which were one of the bests we've had also. It was an overall great experience at 5A5 and the food was superb. The server and waitstaff were great and attentive. Our server was very helpful as well. The palate cleanser sorbet and compliments of the chef tasting was very yummy too.

food3
ambience5
service5

I had expectations of the everyday steak ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

I had expectations of the everyday steaks being super tasty but they were just average. I guess when you specialize in the upscale beef you are wanting us to order that instead. The meal was costly and taste was just average. So it was over priced. Service was great.

food4
ambience3
service3

Hamachi plate was outstanding. Prime rib ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Hamachi plate was outstanding. Prime rib was good, but didn't blow my socks off or anything. Wagyu steaks look incredible, but way out of my price range at 120-150 each.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

A fun experience.

Dined on February 21, 2016

We loved this venue. Nice decor, and seating is beautifully arranged, providing a very intimate feeling. We really enjoyed lounging at the bar prior to being seated at our table for five. We were celebrating both a 68th birthday and 20th anniversary, and it was made very special by the staff by bringing out two complimentary desserts with the words Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary written in chocolate syrup! Service was excellent: very attentive, without being overwhelming or intrusive. We tried two of the A5 Wagyu beef offerings, along with the dry aged bone-in T-bone, filet mignon, rib-eye, several sides, and appetizers. Dessert selection was minimal and more "fancy" than flavorful. The meats were tender and cooked to perfection. The flavor of each dish was unique and intense, but when you put everything together in a meal, it almost overwhelmed your palate. The biggest downside was that everything was overly salted. We anticipated spending a lot of money, but thought $1,000 (including tip) was a bit high for a party of five. The atmosphere was amazing, and we had a fantastic evening; we may return again, but only for a special celebration.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Mediocre

Dined on February 21, 2016

For the price of this place, suggest going to Ruth's Chris or similar. Overall the place was a bit pretentious and the food (we had TBone and fish) was really not that great and covered with a lot of sauce to make up for taste. Tables did not even have proper tablecloths. Servers were friendly though and the chef provided a few nice appetizers.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.