About 5A5 Steak Lounge

244 Jackson Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

5A5 Steak Lounge is San Francisco's first 'Steak Lounge' - a stylish and contemporary take on the traditional steakhouse with the upbeat ambiance of a cocktail lounge. Executive Chef Allen Chen (Alexander's Steakhouse) has developed an outstanding menu which both complements and explores the boundaries of the traditional 'steak & potatoes' fare. Steaks: we serve 100% Japanese Wagyu, US Certified Angus Beef, American and Australian 'Kobe'. A5 is the highest grade of beef in the world. 5A5- 5 senses/the A5 experience. 5A5 Steak Lounge is conveniently located in the northern FiDi . Please view our website for specials and other events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lounge Open for Drinks at 5:00pm

Dinner:
Mon-Thu: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Fri-Sat: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sun: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Battery Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-2539

Website:
http://www.5a5stk.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking on site (Mon - Sat)
Street Parking

Executive Chef:
Allen Chen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining
sales@5a5stk.com

Restaurant Photos

5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
25 Oz Bone In Rib Eye - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Bacon Bread - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Amuse Bouche - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Truffle Mac and Cheese - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Truffle Fries - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Prime Rib - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
A5 Wagyu Ribeye - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Lobster Wonton - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Haricots Verts - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Chili Chocolate Mousse Cake - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Old Fashioned - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
A5 Wagyu Ny - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Strawberry Souffle - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Filet Mignon - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Hamachi Shooter - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Seared Foie Gras - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Bone In Ribeye - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
tajima f1 ribeye - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Sorbet Trio - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wagyu Rib Cap - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
A5 Waygu Steaks - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Lobster Spoon - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
New York Strip - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wagyu Beef - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
torchon de foie gras - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Maguro - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Passion Fruit Squares And Cranberry Madelines - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Butternut Squash Passion Fruit Amuse Bouche - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
intermezzo - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Bacon Wrapped Scallops - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Kobe Beef Sliders - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Marrow T-Bone - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Seabass - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Scallops - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Manhattan - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Slow Roasted Prime Rib - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Steak - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Marble Potatoes - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Colorado Duo Of Lamb - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Beet Salad - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Meatball Amuse Bouche - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Grilled Peppers Amuse Bouche - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Waygu Tartare Topped With Quail Egg - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Dessert - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
12 Oz Waygu New York Strip - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Kobe Beef Sashimi - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Daikon Soup - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Sauteed Swiss Chard - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Colorado Duo Of Lamb (Other Half) - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
12 Oz Waygu Rib Eye - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Cutie Negroni - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Tapioca Brulee - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Carrot Ginger Soup - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Iceberg Lettuce Salad - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Stella Artois - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wagyu Beef Tartar And Quail Egg Shooter - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Shrooms - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Appetizer spoons - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Truffled Mac and Cheese - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wedge Salad - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Waygu Tartare - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Syrah - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Waygu Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Iceburg Salad - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Hamachi Spoons - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Dirty Sapphire Martini - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Seared Peppers - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Madeleines - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Sparkling Water - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Savannah Sidecar - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Iceberg Salad - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Passion Fruit And Citrus Gelée - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Jelly - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Red Rice Hitachino Nest - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Chimay Red - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Palate Cleanser - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Beef Kebab - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Triple Chocolate Mousse - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Matcha Donuts - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Bread - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Molten Chocolate Cake - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Pistachio Cake - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Truffle Mac'n Cheese - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Brussel sprouts - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Lobster Tempura - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Pear Galette - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Ribeye Steak - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Chocolate Blueberry Cake - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wagyu Steak, Truffled Mac & Cheese & Shrooms - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Hitachino Nest Red Rice Ale - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Hamachi Shooters - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wagyu Slider - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Toro Shooter - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Boneless Ribeye Steak - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Oyster Shooters - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Macaroni and Cheese - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us the day before Christmas for a delicious steak dinner. Enjoy the options of our Full Restaurant Menu.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Come to 5A5 Steak Lounge for your New Year's Eve dinner. Located blocks from the pier, join us for a prix-fixe dinner and end your year with fireworks by the pier.
Please Note: All New Year's Eve reservations have a 72 Hour Cancellation Policy of $50 per person.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

5A5 Steak Lounge is proud to offer 2 private rooms and 3 semi-private event spaces accommodating groups of any size, up to 300 guests. With our diverse menu featuring everything from luscious steaks to unique vegetarian options, 5A5 is the ultimate venue for any variety of special events.

5A5 Steak Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Steak
San Francisco
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Business Meals (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
People Watching (4)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food, but not a typical steak house ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, but not a typical steak house. This menu had an asian flair. It's also pricey, but that's typical for a steak house. Just be prepared for $30 for the cheapest option which you won't end up getting since it's too small. Sides are also additional (not included).

That being said, the food was delicious! They know what they are doing in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place has a great rib eye --- it wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

This place has a great rib eye --- it was tremendous although slightly greasy. Wish they seared their steaks. And how can you NOT have a baked potato?? Should have sides not drenched in oil/butter. Even the edamine was dripping in sauce. Why would you put cauliflower in a cream sauce. Hey chef, young people want to eat healthier.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

2nd time here. Food are great as usual. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

2nd time here. Food are great as usual. Would appreciate if we have more size options. 32oz is just too big for me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From the moment we walked in we should h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

From the moment we walked in we should have known this would be a terrible dining experience. Our waiter didn't explain the cuts of the meat properly. My husbands boss ended up with a rare steak when he ordered medium well. My husband ended up with a massive cut of rare meat. We didn't have a chance to tell our waiter to change things as he never came back to check on us. Very embarrassing to us as we picked the restaurant for this dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Our evening began with a nice plate of b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our evening began with a nice plate of bread and delicately seasoned shrimp, courtesy of the chef.

We placed our drink orders in and they arrived in a timely manner. The Oaxacan Cocktail is the best on the menu. Would have drank those the entire night but wanted to try every drink on the menu.

Our soups were the first to arrive, Lobster Corn Soup and Zoup du Jour (Saffron Mussel Soup). They were both very tasty, the first had a strong curry base while the second tasted more creamy, buttery.

Next came the shishito peppers. By far the best variation I've ever had. Peppers were not to spicy and had a sweet reduction on top of the Truffle shavings. This was a must have for sure.

Our steaks finally came, the T-Bone with egg. The best steak paired with their special sauce I've ever had. Definitely next time, I'd love to try their wagyu steak.

Unfortunately, the service was a bit weird. Our empty waters sat there for half an hour before being filled. Our final order of cocktails came out way late too. It seems that once they give the final dish, they stop coming to check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

This was horrible. We chose this place g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was horrible. We chose this place given the good reviews for steak. They gave the high-priced sales pitch with the marbled (aka fatty raw meat) upon our arrival, which simply turned my stomach. We ordered, and low and behold, they were completely out of our choice. Apparently you need to be there in the first 30 minutes of opening to consume the prime rib (per our waiter). We left. And we went to the kitschy but reliably good House of Prime Rib for prime rib (which was worth the 2 hour wait - which tells you how unimpressed we were with every aspect of 5A5).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

To charge these types of prices you have ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

To charge these types of prices you have to be dialed on all levels of service....booth was not comfortable, felt worn like I was sitting on wood under the seat...flickering fake candles didn't stay lit...fruit flies near the booth...no serving utensils with appetizers...steaks and sides where delicious but the lack of attention to detail on other things wouldn't bring me back due to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Ordered two wines. One not available. On ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Ordered two wines. One not available. One took over an hour to find and was presented at the END of the meal. My wife is a sommelier and she was horrified by this. I won't be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a 7:45 reservation and were a few ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a 7:45 reservation and were a few minutes late and they still seated us promptly. The service was outstanding. I had the Sirloin and my Date had the Prime rib. Both were tender and perfectly cooked. Friendly and courteous waiter. All in all a very enjoyable time at 5A5.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dry aged T-Bone. Ordered Foie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent Dry aged T-Bone. Ordered Foie Gras as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant. Good service, nice ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome restaurant. Good service, nice decor, friendly and attentive staff, great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

too loud, too expensive for the quality ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

too loud, too expensive for the quality of steak .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

This was one of the best places I've pic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was one of the best places I've picked to go on an anniversary at first I was nervous because I thought it wasn't romantic enough but it blew me away. The ambiance was just so right and the waiters not waiter really took care of us by bringing complimentary food. Although it is a bit pricey it was still worth it and the steak was amazing! Overall I give it a 4.8 out of 5 it was a really good experience for my girlfriend and I who left satisfied and full

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my boyfriend to 5A5 for his birth ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I took my boyfriend to 5A5 for his birthday. Neither of us had been there before so it was a nice surprise. The service was amazing. Never were we left with a drink even close to empty or crumbs on our table. There was a snack compliments of the Chef that was delicious. I had the prime rib and my boyfriend got the bone in ribeye and they were both cooked perfect and tasted great! The prices were as expected. Would definitely go back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers are really good. Steak is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The appetizers are really good. Steak is a bit saltier than expected. Would prefer the raw/original taste of the steak instead of tasting the sauce or cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Had eaten here before, a couple years ag ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had eaten here before, a couple years ago on a week night, with young Asian clients, but made the mistake of coming again recently with a date on a weekend. Trendy crowd, odd 90's retro decor, with loud blaring disco music. Don't think we will be back since it's obvious the crowd they are marketing to (dare I say the crowd that has more money than sense) , doesn't really care about the food or the dining.

As mentioned in previous reviews, this place is about up selling, starting with the presentation of hunks of-- dried out looking-- meat. You'll see the prices on the menu when you look for them; I wasn't shocked because I know what Japanese Wagyu retails for.

None of the entrees seem to be served with accompaniments so if you are hungry (which is why we went!) expect to order many add ons. Why are there no steakhouses that serve plain baked potatoes (a big profit maker!) ? Why do we need 10 ingredients in every side dish or salad? So they can charge $12+ for a plate. Food here is WAY too overworked and busy.

Waiter seemed insulted that we only wanted wine by the glass; very limited selection. The whole evening was just too weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Great ambiance and awesome customer serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great ambiance and awesome customer service! The meal was amazing as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love great steak, the Wagyu kind ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

If you love great steak, the Wagyu kind - this place is unbelievable! You'll pay a hefty price per 4oz piece - but the flavor and texture is phenomenal!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing experience. We tried the Wagyu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Amazing experience. We tried the Wagyu beef. A must at this restaurant. It is pricey but when you try it you'll see why. My husband and I tried the filet mignon Wagyu style and it slices like butter. For the appetizer try the Octopus, it melts in your mouth. So yummy. Our dinner choices were prime rib and filet mignon regular style with mashed potatoes and creamed spinach sides and those choices were amazing too. Service was awesome. You never had an empty water glass.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, creative cuisine. I had the ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food, creative cuisine. I had the fille minion which was awesome, and my husband enjoyed the salmon. Both soups we had were delicious and the citron Panacota was exquisite. The service was attentive and helpful. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service! The Wyagu steak ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great food and service! The Wyagu steak is amazing!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience. At first we though ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing experience. At first we though we had been given the best table in the house. Then after looking around it was apparent that all the tables and booths were excellent. The architect deserves special praise for that. Starters were delicious. The steaks were perfect. Service was excellent. Even the bathroom is special.

We've had favorite restaurants for years and now this one jumped to the top of our list.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of food was good, but it was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The quality of food was good, but it was noisy. It wasn't comfortable to talk with my husband with the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Steak was very good. Servers were very n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Steak was very good. Servers were very nice and accommodating. I would refer this place to any steak lovers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating 2 year anniversary at a plac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Celebrating 2 year anniversary at a place we've never been and we were quite happy. The food was delicious, our waiter was patient with us, sizes were mostly proportional to prices (We had the mac and cheese and felt it should have been a bigger portion). Otherwise the prices were what we expected and we would go back if only we lived in or near San Francisco but we don't.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Vegetables very salty.Quality of meat ok ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Vegetables very salty.Quality of meat ok but preparation not really outstanding

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was horrendous, decor was tacky ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Service was horrendous, decor was tacky and the food didn't nearly live up to the price tag. The biggest turn off was that restaurant staff made zero effort to accommodate a patron with food allergies. Would never set foot in this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Food and space are very pretentious. We ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food and space are very pretentious. We left after cocktails and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

I brought my mate here for her birthday ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I brought my mate here for her birthday and she absolutely loved it! The food, service, (Leila P.) and ambience was perfect! Will definitely be returning to dine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were going to see a play at the Eurek ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were going to see a play at the Eureka Theatre across the street. We checked out the local restaurants before deciding on 5A5 Steak Lounge. The valet server who took our car was great, he told us to pick up the car after the play. The Mixologist at the bar concocted a Tanquray Martini, she sprinkled the class with vermouth before pouring in the gin and added a orange spray. Delicious! The waiters are numerous and were top notch and fun, especially, Ali. The menu gave us many delicious choices. We started with an amuse bouche, wonderful, enjoyed the best hamburgers, truffle fries and mac and cheese. Dessert was three small scoops of ice cream which tasted like they were made by the pastry chef.

We will come back to 5A5 Steak Lounge soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fine, but wouldn't pay that ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food was fine, but wouldn't pay that much to go there again--many other steak houses in the city with better food, especially for the price. Certainly many places that are that expensive with MUCH better ambiance.

Food aside, I really didn't like the ambiance of the place, the lighting was super bright, it was very loud, and gave the impression of sitting in some sort of modern but cheap cafeteria where you're basically shouting to hear the person sitting across the table from you. The bathrooms are gross, all one bathroom for men and women with a trough sink ... no thank you. The booths feel really close to each other which is exacerbated by the way that they are arranged where it feels like the people next to you are filling the empty spaces at your table bc they are arranged kitty-corner. Also, the valet left the lights on in my car and when we came out the car was dead and the valet offered no assistance and we found jumper cables and got the car started by ourselves.

Try House of Prime Rib, Alexander's, Ruths Chris, Espetus, etc etc. before this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Amazing steaks! Really good service, wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Amazing steaks! Really good service, with a wonderful menu. So happy I was able to use my rewards points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wasn't impressed at all. Granted, I d ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I wasn't impressed at all. Granted, I didn't have a steak, but what I did have, salmon, mac and cheese (very bland) had no great appeal. This place looked like it was going to be a great place, but I was mistaken. The noise was almost unbearable as well. Now, realize that I dine out at least twice a week and always search for amazing restaurants, but, I'm sorry to say, I won't be going back here. The pentacle reviews were overstated. Oh, as a side not I also worked in the restaurant biz for 15 years. I'm not a rookie. I'm sorry to be leaving this review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Two big problems with the experience. T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Two big problems with the experience. The first was that our entrees took well over an hour to come out. It was acknowledged by the staff as they came by multiple times to apologize. But what got really frustrating is they apologized a final time and asked if we wanted something else to eat while we waited. He offered a few different appetizer options and we selected one. That appetizer then appeared on the check as they charge me for it!

The second big problem is they asked if we ever ate there before. We both said "no." He then proceeded to show us their lineup of steaks and asked if we ever heard of that kind of steak. We both said "no." My business guest chose one and the waiter simply took the order. He never found it necessary to let us know the steak was 256 dollars! That seems like an obvious curtesy given we've never been there before, never heard of that steak, and the prices aren't listed online. Very very money grubbing place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

An expensive birthday treat for my daugh ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

An expensive birthday treat for my daughter but well worth it. Creative menu, well trained, friendly waitstaff . I can't remember a better meal. The imaginative sides more than complemented the delicious steaks. Everything was a treat down to the desserts and the Japanese whiskey flights. I highly recommend that Mac and cheese, the creamed spinach, sautéed mushrooms, and bacon topped mashed potatoes. I assure you, the flavors will light up your palet.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I set up this reservation for my husband ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I set up this reservation for my husband while traveling on business. He was hosting clients and his manager. He said it was a great experience. Good choice for business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NY Strip was cooked to perfection, nice ...

 
 (Cambridge)·Dined on September 19, 2016

NY Strip was cooked to perfection, nice flavour and the shrooms were great (they had run out of asparagus!)

Unfortunately the Foie Gras was cold in the middle, bad job ... Poor choice of red wine ( no Malbec!?!) and even poorer selection of wines by the glass... Oh well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We dined at the bar and had great servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We dined at the bar and had great service. The oysters are a very good choice as they are prepared with a tasty variety of items with just enough kick. My husband had the prime rib, and was very pleased. I had the Tajima Filet and the demi glaze and mushrooms added great flavor. The restaurant did a very good job with my "special" ordering. The Flying Lotus drink is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Old and tired. The years it's been here ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Old and tired. The years it's been here show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

The Lobster Tempura was "to die for" and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The Lobster Tempura was "to die for" and the salads were yummy, too. All of us were disappointed in our filets and we probably should have sent them back. The one that was supposed to be cooked well-done was cooked medium at the most and all three of the filets were served lukewarm (at best). As I mentioned, we should have called our server over and asked her to take them back and warm them up but our server never checked on us. We were not alcohol drinkers and I cannot help but think our lack of ordering alcohol may have contributed to the inattentiveness of our server.

If we ever went again I would order two orders of Lobster Tempura and I would make them my entree. I would go back just to have that again! As far as steaks go, we would go to a different San Francisco restaurant.

We did love the ambiance of the restaurant and everyone was extremely nice and welcoming.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.