About 5A5 Steak Lounge

244 Jackson Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

5A5 Steak Lounge is San Francisco's first 'Steak Lounge' - a stylish and contemporary take on the traditional steakhouse with the upbeat ambiance of a cocktail lounge. Executive Chef Allen Chen (Alexander's Steakhouse) has developed an outstanding menu which both complements and explores the boundaries of the traditional 'steak & potatoes' fare. Steaks: we serve 100% Japanese Wagyu, US Certified Angus Beef, American and Australian 'Kobe'. A5 is the highest grade of beef in the world. 5A5- 5 senses/the A5 experience. 5A5 Steak Lounge is conveniently located in the northern FiDi . Please view our website for specials and other events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lounge Open for Drinks at 5:00pm

Dinner:
Mon-Thu: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Fri-Sat: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sun: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Battery Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-2539

Website:
http://www.5a5stk.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking on site (Mon - Sat)
Street Parking

Executive Chef:
Allen Chen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining
sales@5a5stk.com

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

25 Oz Bone In Rib Eye - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Bacon Bread - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Amuse Bouche - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Truffle Fries - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Truffle Mac and Cheese - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Prime Rib - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
A5 Wagyu Ribeye - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Lobster Wonton - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Haricots Verts - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Chili Chocolate Mousse Cake - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Old Fashioned - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
A5 Wagyu Ny - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Strawberry Souffle - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Filet Mignon - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Hamachi Shooter - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Seared Foie Gras - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Bone In Ribeye - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
tajima f1 ribeye - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Sorbet Trio - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wagyu Rib Cap - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
A5 Waygu Steaks - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Lobster Spoon - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
New York Strip - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wagyu Beef - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
torchon de foie gras - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Maguro - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Passion Fruit Squares And Cranberry Madelines - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Butternut Squash Passion Fruit Amuse Bouche - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
intermezzo - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Bacon Wrapped Scallops - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Kobe Beef Sliders - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Marrow T-Bone - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Seabass - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Scallops - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Manhattan - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Slow Roasted Prime Rib - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Steak - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Marble Potatoes - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Colorado Duo Of Lamb - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Beet Salad - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Meatball Amuse Bouche - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Grilled Peppers Amuse Bouche - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Waygu Tartare Topped With Quail Egg - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Dessert - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
12 Oz Waygu New York Strip - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Kobe Beef Sashimi - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Daikon Soup - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Sauteed Swiss Chard - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Colorado Duo Of Lamb (Other Half) - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
12 Oz Waygu Rib Eye - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Cutie Negroni - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Tapioca Brulee - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Carrot Ginger Soup - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Iceberg Lettuce Salad - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Stella Artois - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wagyu Beef Tartar And Quail Egg Shooter - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Shrooms - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Appetizer spoons - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Truffled Mac and Cheese - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wedge Salad - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Waygu Tartare - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Syrah - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Waygu Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Iceburg Salad - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Hamachi Spoons - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Dirty Sapphire Martini - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Seared Peppers - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Madeleines - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Sparkling Water - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Savannah Sidecar - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Iceberg Salad - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Passion Fruit And Citrus Gelée - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Jelly - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Red Rice Hitachino Nest - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Chimay Red - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Palate Cleanser - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Beef Kebab - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Triple Chocolate Mousse - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Matcha Donuts - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Bread - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Molten Chocolate Cake - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Pistachio Cake - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Truffle Mac'n Cheese - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Brussel sprouts - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Lobster Tempura - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Pear Galette - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Ribeye Steak - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Chocolate Blueberry Cake - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wagyu Steak, Truffled Mac & Cheese & Shrooms - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Hitachino Nest Red Rice Ale - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Hamachi Shooters - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Wagyu Slider - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Toro Shooter - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Boneless Ribeye Steak - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Oyster Shooters - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA
Macaroni and Cheese - 5A5 Steak Lounge, San Francisco, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join 5A5 Steak Lounge for a romantic $120 per person, four course prix-fixe dinner. End your day with a walk on the Embarcadero Pier with your loved ones.
*Please Note: All reservations require a Credit Card and have a 72 hour cancellation policy of $50/person.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

5A5 Steak Lounge is proud to offer 2 private rooms and 3 semi-private event spaces accommodating groups of any size, up to 300 guests. With our diverse menu featuring everything from luscious steaks to unique vegetarian options, 5A5 is the ultimate venue for any variety of special events.

5A5 Steak Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Business Meals (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Casual (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1874 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The taste of the food and most definitel ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

The taste of the food and most definitely the service did not match the $600 dinner for four. You shouldn't have to ask three times for butter. You should't get an eye roll when you ask for the drinks that got forgotten about at a restaurant of that price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was amazinggg, the cleanliness ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazinggg, the cleanliness and service was not. I booked a reservation wayyyy in advance and the table we were given was next to a pole and not desirable for an advance booking. Last minute reservation or walk-in sure, the table would be fine for that. My bread plate and the table were dirty, they ran out of spoons, so they never gave us any. So we couldn't eat part of our meal. Good thing I didn't get the soup. They ignored us because we were placed at a bad table. When they took our plates to box the food, they placed dirty dishes directly on my food!!! Carry what you can and come back, don't put dirty dishes on my food. Overall very disappointing. Food amazing, I doubt I would go back.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was top notch. To be clear I did ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was top notch. To be clear I did not have the Waygu steak which is what they are known for. My girlfriend and I chose a t-bone and a ribeye along with the mushroom side.

Both those steaks were average middle of the road in terms of texture and flavor, and came heavily coated in their respective sauces (I knew this going in). I'm from New York, and this is the context I'm using for this review - I eat steak on the regular and unfortunately I wouldn't return for either of the two steaks listed above. The restaurant staff was incredibly friendly and exceptional in their quality of service. I will return to try the Waygu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to new years and the food was ho ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to new years and the food was horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

New Year's Eve price fixe dinner was hor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve price fixe dinner was horrible. Steak was barely warm, sides were nothing special. Apps were a joke. 3 raviolis!! 3! Salad was wilted. We will never be back! Best part was the drinks at the bar. Very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Left in the middle of NEW YEARS EVE din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Left in the middle of NEW YEARS EVE dinner as service was horrendous. Had to wait over 45 minutes between courses. Soup came out cold, etc.

Terrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Poor service, unfriendly service, very v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Poor service, unfriendly service, very very small portions for price paid as well as not top quality food for the price charged. Would not reccomend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We both got sick after eating there for ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We both got sick after eating there for New Years and couldn't enjoy midnight hitting!

Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Food was okay, everything was okay. Peop ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was okay, everything was okay. People around us were sending food back because it was to cold. You pay for excellence and recieve okay food and service. Wouldn't recommend when it's busy, possibly better when it's slower and they can handle it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We were completely disappointed with our ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were completely disappointed with our NYE prix fixe meal. For being a self claimed high standard steakhouse we had good expectations going in but our steaks were tasteless and overcooked. Probably the worst steak we've ever had!

The beets in the beet salad were overly salted and tasted like they had been soaked in a brine too long. We overheard a person at a table next to us complaining about the same thing. She sent hers back while we only ate a small portion of ours. There was no question that like we overpaid for a poor quality meal and we were extremely dissatisfied. We were tempted to dispute the charges but we let it go. The wait staff was good enough and we tipped very generously despite the bad experience. We were a party of two and spent $500 for a terrible meal! Money down the drain!! We will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Came here with my fiance after reading g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Came here with my fiance after reading great reviews and we're not disappointed! Had the tuna and the lettuce cups to start with then I had the fillet mignon which was honestly the best steak I have ever eaten! Great ambience and interiors, Perfect for a date night!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High-end, well aged, top grade beef. Gre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

High-end, well aged, top grade beef. Great space. Heavy food but very tasty. Impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak restaurant within the financ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great steak restaurant within the financial district , but our steaks were over done. The cost they charge, you would think they could gets this right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food and service were both great!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food and service were both great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service me and my wife loved it we ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great service me and my wife loved it we would go back great food service and atmosphere

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but not a typical steak house ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Good food, but not a typical steak house. This menu had an asian flair. It's also pricey, but that's typical for a steak house. Just be prepared for $30 for the cheapest option which you won't end up getting since it's too small. Sides are also additional (not included).

That being said, the food was delicious! They know what they are doing in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place has a great rib eye --- it wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

This place has a great rib eye --- it was tremendous although slightly greasy. Wish they seared their steaks. And how can you NOT have a baked potato?? Should have sides not drenched in oil/butter. Even the edamine was dripping in sauce. Why would you put cauliflower in a cream sauce. Hey chef, young people want to eat healthier.

Tags: Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

2nd time here. Food are great as usual. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

2nd time here. Food are great as usual. Would appreciate if we have more size options. 32oz is just too big for me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From the moment we walked in we should h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

From the moment we walked in we should have known this would be a terrible dining experience. Our waiter didn't explain the cuts of the meat properly. My husbands boss ended up with a rare steak when he ordered medium well. My husband ended up with a massive cut of rare meat. We didn't have a chance to tell our waiter to change things as he never came back to check on us. Very embarrassing to us as we picked the restaurant for this dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Our evening began with a nice plate of b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our evening began with a nice plate of bread and delicately seasoned shrimp, courtesy of the chef.

We placed our drink orders in and they arrived in a timely manner. The Oaxacan Cocktail is the best on the menu. Would have drank those the entire night but wanted to try every drink on the menu.

Our soups were the first to arrive, Lobster Corn Soup and Zoup du Jour (Saffron Mussel Soup). They were both very tasty, the first had a strong curry base while the second tasted more creamy, buttery.

Next came the shishito peppers. By far the best variation I've ever had. Peppers were not to spicy and had a sweet reduction on top of the Truffle shavings. This was a must have for sure.

Our steaks finally came, the T-Bone with egg. The best steak paired with their special sauce I've ever had. Definitely next time, I'd love to try their wagyu steak.

Unfortunately, the service was a bit weird. Our empty waters sat there for half an hour before being filled. Our final order of cocktails came out way late too. It seems that once they give the final dish, they stop coming to check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

This was hands down the best steak I hav ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was hands down the best steak I have ever eaten. This place blew away STK in Las Vegas that had held that place in my heart. Recommend ten fold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was horrible. We chose this place g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was horrible. We chose this place given the good reviews for steak. They gave the high-priced sales pitch with the marbled (aka fatty raw meat) upon our arrival, which simply turned my stomach. We ordered, and low and behold, they were completely out of our choice. Apparently you need to be there in the first 30 minutes of opening to consume the prime rib (per our waiter). We left. And we went to the kitschy but reliably good House of Prime Rib for prime rib (which was worth the 2 hour wait - which tells you how unimpressed we were with every aspect of 5A5).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

To charge these types of prices you have ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

To charge these types of prices you have to be dialed on all levels of service....booth was not comfortable, felt worn like I was sitting on wood under the seat...flickering fake candles didn't stay lit...fruit flies near the booth...no serving utensils with appetizers...steaks and sides where delicious but the lack of attention to detail on other things wouldn't bring me back due to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Ordered two wines. One not available. On ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Ordered two wines. One not available. One took over an hour to find and was presented at the END of the meal. My wife is a sommelier and she was horrified by this. I won't be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a 7:45 reservation and were a few ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a 7:45 reservation and were a few minutes late and they still seated us promptly. The service was outstanding. I had the Sirloin and my Date had the Prime rib. Both were tender and perfectly cooked. Friendly and courteous waiter. All in all a very enjoyable time at 5A5.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dry aged T-Bone. Ordered Foie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent Dry aged T-Bone. Ordered Foie Gras as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant. Good service, nice ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome restaurant. Good service, nice decor, friendly and attentive staff, great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

too loud, too expensive for the quality ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

too loud, too expensive for the quality of steak .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

This was one of the best places I've pic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was one of the best places I've picked to go on an anniversary at first I was nervous because I thought it wasn't romantic enough but it blew me away. The ambiance was just so right and the waiters not waiter really took care of us by bringing complimentary food. Although it is a bit pricey it was still worth it and the steak was amazing! Overall I give it a 4.8 out of 5 it was a really good experience for my girlfriend and I who left satisfied and full

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my boyfriend to 5A5 for his birth ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I took my boyfriend to 5A5 for his birthday. Neither of us had been there before so it was a nice surprise. The service was amazing. Never were we left with a drink even close to empty or crumbs on our table. There was a snack compliments of the Chef that was delicious. I had the prime rib and my boyfriend got the bone in ribeye and they were both cooked perfect and tasted great! The prices were as expected. Would definitely go back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers are really good. Steak is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The appetizers are really good. Steak is a bit saltier than expected. Would prefer the raw/original taste of the steak instead of tasting the sauce or cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Had eaten here before, a couple years ag ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had eaten here before, a couple years ago on a week night, with young Asian clients, but made the mistake of coming again recently with a date on a weekend. Trendy crowd, odd 90's retro decor, with loud blaring disco music. Don't think we will be back since it's obvious the crowd they are marketing to (dare I say the crowd that has more money than sense) , doesn't really care about the food or the dining.

As mentioned in previous reviews, this place is about up selling, starting with the presentation of hunks of-- dried out looking-- meat. You'll see the prices on the menu when you look for them; I wasn't shocked because I know what Japanese Wagyu retails for.

None of the entrees seem to be served with accompaniments so if you are hungry (which is why we went!) expect to order many add ons. Why are there no steakhouses that serve plain baked potatoes (a big profit maker!) ? Why do we need 10 ingredients in every side dish or salad? So they can charge $12+ for a plate. Food here is WAY too overworked and busy.

Waiter seemed insulted that we only wanted wine by the glass; very limited selection. The whole evening was just too weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Great ambiance and awesome customer serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great ambiance and awesome customer service! The meal was amazing as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love great steak, the Wagyu kind ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

If you love great steak, the Wagyu kind - this place is unbelievable! You'll pay a hefty price per 4oz piece - but the flavor and texture is phenomenal!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing experience. We tried the Wagyu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Amazing experience. We tried the Wagyu beef. A must at this restaurant. It is pricey but when you try it you'll see why. My husband and I tried the filet mignon Wagyu style and it slices like butter. For the appetizer try the Octopus, it melts in your mouth. So yummy. Our dinner choices were prime rib and filet mignon regular style with mashed potatoes and creamed spinach sides and those choices were amazing too. Service was awesome. You never had an empty water glass.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, creative cuisine. I had the ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food, creative cuisine. I had the fille minion which was awesome, and my husband enjoyed the salmon. Both soups we had were delicious and the citron Panacota was exquisite. The service was attentive and helpful. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service! The Wyagu steak ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great food and service! The Wyagu steak is amazing!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience. At first we though ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing experience. At first we though we had been given the best table in the house. Then after looking around it was apparent that all the tables and booths were excellent. The architect deserves special praise for that. Starters were delicious. The steaks were perfect. Service was excellent. Even the bathroom is special.

We've had favorite restaurants for years and now this one jumped to the top of our list.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of food was good, but it was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The quality of food was good, but it was noisy. It wasn't comfortable to talk with my husband with the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Steak was very good. Servers were very n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Steak was very good. Servers were very nice and accommodating. I would refer this place to any steak lovers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.