About 5A5 Steak Lounge

244 Jackson Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

5A5 Steak Lounge is San Francisco's first 'Steak Lounge' - a stylish and contemporary take on the traditional steakhouse with the upbeat ambiance of a cocktail lounge. Executive Chef Allen Chen (Alexander's Steakhouse) has developed an outstanding menu which both complements and explores the boundaries of the traditional 'steak & potatoes' fare. Steaks: we serve 100% Japanese Wagyu, US Certified Angus Beef, American and Australian 'Kobe'. A5 is the highest grade of beef in the world. 5A5- 5 senses/the A5 experience. 5A5 Steak Lounge is conveniently located in the northern FiDi . Please view our website for specials and other events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lounge Open for Drinks at 5:00pm

Dinner:
Mon-Thu: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Fri-Sat: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sun: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Battery Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-2539

Website:
http://www.5a5stk.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking on site (Mon - Sat)
Street Parking

Executive Chef:
Allen Chen

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining
sales@5a5stk.com

Restaurant Photos

5A5 Steak Lounge
5A5 Steak Lounge
5A5 Steak Lounge
25 Oz Bone In Rib Eye
Bacon Bread
Truffle Fries
Amuse Bouche
Truffle Mac and Cheese
Prime Rib
A5 Wagyu Ribeye
Lobster Wonton
Haricots Verts
Chili Chocolate Mousse Cake
Old Fashioned
A5 Wagyu Ny
Strawberry Souffle
Filet Mignon
Hamachi Shooter
Seared Foie Gras
Bone In Ribeye
tajima f1 ribeye
Sorbet Trio
Wagyu Rib Cap
A5 Waygu Steaks
Lobster Spoon
New York Strip
Wagyu Beef
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
torchon de foie gras
Maguro
Passion Fruit Squares And Cranberry Madelines
Butternut Squash Passion Fruit Amuse Bouche
intermezzo
Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Kobe Beef Sliders
Marrow T-Bone
Seabass
Scallops
Manhattan
Slow Roasted Prime Rib
Steak
Marble Potatoes
Colorado Duo Of Lamb
Beet Salad
Meatball Amuse Bouche
Grilled Peppers Amuse Bouche
Waygu Tartare Topped With Quail Egg
Dessert
12 Oz Waygu New York Strip
Kobe Beef Sashimi
Daikon Soup
Sauteed Swiss Chard
Colorado Duo Of Lamb (Other Half)
12 Oz Waygu Rib Eye
Cutie Negroni
Tapioca Brulee
Carrot Ginger Soup
Iceberg Lettuce Salad
Stella Artois
Wagyu Beef Tartar And Quail Egg Shooter
Shrooms
Appetizer spoons
Truffled Mac and Cheese
Wedge Salad
Waygu Tartare
Syrah
Waygu Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries
Iceburg Salad
Hamachi Spoons
Dirty Sapphire Martini
Seared Peppers
Madeleines
Sparkling Water
Savannah Sidecar
Iceberg Salad
Passion Fruit And Citrus Gelée
Jelly
Red Rice Hitachino Nest
Chimay Red
Palate Cleanser
Beef Kebab
Triple Chocolate Mousse
Matcha Donuts
Bread
Molten Chocolate Cake
Pistachio Cake
Truffle Mac'n Cheese
Brussel sprouts
Lobster Tempura
Pear Galette
Ribeye Steak
Chocolate Blueberry Cake
Wagyu Steak, Truffled Mac & Cheese & Shrooms
Hitachino Nest Red Rice Ale
Hamachi Shooters
Wagyu Slider
Toro Shooter
Boneless Ribeye Steak
Oyster Shooters
Macaroni and Cheese

Promotions

Happy Hour Special

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Happy Hour Special

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us for Happy Hour at 5A5 Steak Lounge. $3.00 Off all items on our lounge menu. Featuring specialty cocktails, wine by the glass, beers and shareables. *Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer valid only in the lounge. No lounge reservations. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 31, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:30PM - 6:45PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:15PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

5A5 Steak Lounge is proud to offer 2 private rooms and 3 semi-private event spaces accommodating groups of any size, up to 300 guests. With our diverse menu featuring everything from luscious steaks to unique vegetarian options, 5A5 is the ultimate venue for any variety of special events.

5A5 Steak Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

Special Occasion (52)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Romantic (35)
See All
Good for Groups (19)
Notable Wine List (12)
Hot Spot (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seemed like the restaurant was stuck in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Seemed like the restaurant was stuck in the 90s from dishes to plating to ambience. They executed quite well on everything and the service was excellent, but it did seem like a bit of a time machine. The exception were the amuse bouche, which were generally quite interesting and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

I love steaks. I love whiskey. This plac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

I love steaks. I love whiskey. This place has it both. I came here with my wife to unwind after another work week. They have a nice assortment of Japanese Whiskeys (tasted ok) but also had a nice selection of scotches too (I stuck with my Macallan). She had a T-Bone, I had their Wagyu Filet. My thinking: you go to a burger spot for their burgers, not something else on the menu.

Wagyu Filet was definitely an experience you will need to experience. It is on the pricier side (around 140ish for 4 oz) but I feel that its worth it. You can taste the laziness of spoiled life of the meat with every bite.

WILL DEFINITELY COME AGAIN FOR WAGYU!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We haven't dined here this year. We had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We haven't dined here this year. We had great experiences in the past. The appetizers were tasty. The steaks were top notch, the same quality as Roka Akor.

This time, we felt we ate at Outback. (I haven't been to an Outback since college. Outback possibly serves better steaks.)

The hamachi shots, the salads, the entrees taste cheaply made with inferior ingredients.

The heirloom burrata salad had very little burrata. It's just a pile of tomatoes without any flavor.no efforts were put into this dish.

The free bites were overly seasoned, so sweet and overpowering. It was gross.

The lobster tempura was the only acceptable dish.

The New York steak looked so sad. It looked like the meat had sat in the kitchen for a week. It tastes chewy. We couldn't finish it.

The sweet potato gnocchi was very salty and heavy. It's not SF cooking. It's more of "fancy" Midwest cooking.

This was a very disappointing experience. We rarely visit the same restaurant more than once a year because there are so many cool new ones to try. This return trip was horrifying. Now we can permanently cross 5A5 off our visiting list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

The place for steaks

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The place for steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant had come highly recommended, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Restaurant had come highly recommended, which made the experience even more disappointing.

The bone in ribeye was just OK, the mushroom side dish and creamed spinach were very good. There was an extremely long delay between the appetizer and main course. Then our waiter completely disappeared and we sat with empty plates in front of us for far too long once our main dishes were done. We had to chase him down for the bill. The decor is very dated and the bathroom stinks - literally. They smelled and were dirty. I booked this for a business dinner and I left embarrassed that I had recommended it. Don't make the same mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

The place was overrated, over priced, an ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The place was overrated, over priced, and the waiter was slower than slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Downstairs where the bathroom smells lik ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Downstairs where the bathroom smells like old garbage from a compactor. It maybe also the old carpeting they have downstairs. Some Febreeze spray can help the foul smell

Side dish we ordered "Shrooms " were way too salty! Really salty!

Music from the bar were so loud and can be heard at the dining area ....The kind of music chosen was not appropriate with the atmosphere where people are trying to have nice dinner.

Servers were great!!! Kitchen staffs were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food as always. The staff is wonde ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great food as always. The staff is wonderful and overall great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last time I came here it was very n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The last time I came here it was very nice so that is why I went to this restaurant again. However this time I went the steaks were not as good and was not worth the price. I wish we gotten a discount. My partner ended up dumping the steaks once he got home.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The service was unprofessional given the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was unprofessional given the price point.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Never again.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

The lobster tempura was incredible!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The lobster tempura was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service is good and decor is nice. The s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Service is good and decor is nice. The streaks are good but can be pricey. Been here many times before and this time it was a bit of an disappointment. I had the skirt steak which they had pieces of ginger which did nothing to help with the steak and it actually took away from the flavor. We also had he rib eye which was better but over all I expected more and it seem to be just okay but nothing to write home about. It was still an okay night but it was nothing special. They still have a good steak and good service, but nothing to brag about especially considering the price you pay, which is not cheap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love love love this place. It is one of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Love love love this place. It is one of our favorite. We do prefer to come earlier as the food seems to be fresher. The waitstaff is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been looking for a good steak hou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I have been looking for a good steak house in San Francisco for some time, now I have found it. The steak was excellent, the appetizers, meal and dessert top notch. It is a modern setting, not the old school wood paneled steakhouse. Everything was pricey, but very high quality and definitely worth it. Perfect for a special event or to impress a customer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. However, a steak restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food. However, a steak restaurant should not run out of prime rib hours before closing time.

Summer crowd of tourists more interested in their cell phones than their company and the food.

Some furniture in disrepair; booth sofa torn, so we asked for another table.

Service friendly enough, however amateurish, unexoected for a high end restaurant. Wine should be offeret and served with the meal, not into the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was wonderful but food was terri ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service was wonderful but food was terrible. The fries were luke warm and some of it was kind of soggy - ? re-fried. Also the steak was a big disappointment. Steak was again luke warm, lack of seasoning. Worst steak house I have been to (believe me, I have been to many top steakhouse in US and Tokyo).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over priced and so noisy. If you want t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Over priced and so noisy. If you want to pay 150 for a Japanese steak, this is the place for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Have always totally enjoyed this restaur ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Have always totally enjoyed this restaurant. Their food & service is unsurpassed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come back to 5A5 because the meal is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We come back to 5A5 because the meal is memorable. Yes it is expensive but we come back for special occasions when we want Wagyu. They have delicious sides like truffle mac and cheese or the creamed spinach. They also have other domestic steaks that are also very delicious. The service is excellent and the ambiance can be very romantic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, I had a wonderful dining expe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always, I had a wonderful dining experience at 5A5. The steak I got was cooked to perfection and was exactly what I was hoping for. The staff are extremely accommodating and try to make your visit as great as possible. Thanks for a fantastic dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Amazing service. We were t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing food. Amazing service. We were there to celebrate my husband's new job - and the kitchen staff gave him a small complimentary dessert with "Congratulations!" written on the plate in delicate chocolate icing calligraphy. It was beautiful!

Chairs were oddly low (or tables were oddly high), resulting in feeling like we were kids at a too-tall table. Everything else was fine.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was good, but there wasn't anyt ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was good, but there wasn't anything spectacular about it especially for the prices that you were paying. My friend and I shared the NY strip steak (amongst many other dishes) and we found this to be extremely salty which was disappointing since it is a steakhouse. I'm not sure that I'll be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

5A5 has a great bar. Ashley is an excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

5A5 has a great bar. Ashley is an excellent bar tender. The food, specializing in meat and steak, is very good. Management is involved and very friendly. All employees are attentive. We plan to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. Love the location. Awesom ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service. Love the location. Awesome staff. Ambiance is outstanding. Unfortunately, food leaves a lot to be desired. It was good, but no dishes were unforgettable. At the price point, you expect "mind-blowing."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately, the restaurant was more h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Unfortunately, the restaurant was more hype than quality. My husband & I spent $200 for our dinner. He liked the taste of the filet; I didn't like my chicken at all. It was dry and I should had returned it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

They need to up their game

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I was a little disappointed. Not as good as before. I had great experiences before and this time the food was very mediocre. Cocktails were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Food snobs

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Well, this was way expensive for not impressive food. Can't imagine who would want to pay upwards of $100 for a beef entre. Definitely NOT kid-friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

They provided the best dining service so far.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Very welcoming ambiance and staff! Food is awesome prime rib is the best!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am no foodie, and I'm far from a steak ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I am no foodie, and I'm far from a steak expert, but this was one of the best meals I've ever had. Absolutly everything was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but,......

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

5A5 is a nice place and has really good food. But last Saturday evening they allowed a Birthday party with 5+ children in a private room that was just getting started around 6pm. The noise and the children walking around is not something you want or expect when you having a $300 dinner. The manager finally closed the door after an hour but the evening had been dampened by then. Plus, the table next to us not at all dressed appropriately and was watching the Warriors game with sound. I am not sure restaurants understand that when they enable and tolerate very rude people it ruins the experience for many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Pretty Good but Really Expensive

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food is pretty good but not worth the high prices. The steak is great quality but slathered in only ok sauces. Plus the noise level is high and the seating is awkward (more like a hotel lounge) which makes it near impossible to have dinner conversation. If I was in the mood for steak would not return – probably go back to my normal joint which is House of Prime Rib. Same kind of place but considerably bettern

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Disappointed in ambience. Too many kids, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Disappointed in ambience. Too many kids, that were loud and ruined the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Boys Night Out

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I brought 4 friends to 5A5 who have never been there before and they had an amazing time. They loved the service and the food was over the top.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost 100%

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything was great except that server told us that they could not split the soup that we ordered. She at least tried, but it was weird that they couldn't just give us another bowl to share.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not a bad spot for steak.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

This is good steak place. If you are a steak purist this may not be your place. While they do have great cuts of meat. This includes their excellent choices in A5 Wagyu cuts. They add different sauces to their steaks rather than let the meat stand alone. That is fine for me but may not be if folks like their steak bare or with the sauces on the side. It was different for me. The sides were very good. There were very unique pinafores. We had their mushrooms which was good as well as their mashed potatoes. Dessert was great. Quality is what you would expect from a higher end restaurant like this. Why I felt I had to write a review, was because of the service. I felt we were not treated right by our server. It was not busy the night we went. Our server took our order and repeated it three times to us. Also wrote it down. I thought that was cool. But then one of our main dishes was missing. And our server was no where to be found. I had to track down our server to ask about our missing dish after all of our other dishes were brought out. When the server finally came to check on us and we informed him of the missing dish, he blamed the mistake on us. This was after he repeated the order to us three times in the beginning. That piece kind of ruined our experience. If he just apologized and owned the mistake we would have been fine, but to blatantly just say it was our fault. There were three of us there they heard him repeat the order three times and witnessed him write it down. After that again we did not see our server for extended periods of time. I had to get up and find our server for our bill. That one piece did not sit well with us. Not sure if we would go back especially with other great steak places like Alexander's and Bobo's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Had the bone in rib eye. Very tasty but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Had the bone in rib eye. Very tasty but a bit undercooked for medium rare. Possibly due to it being a 32oz cut and almost 2" thick but would rather have it cooked a bit more evenly and thorough for medium rare. Was medium on the outside and rare in the middle. Definitely needed more attention when cooking. Next time if we return will order medium but then it may be well done on the outside and medium rare in the middle. Iceberg salad was amazing as was the house cab (good pairing with the rib eye) and mashed potatoes. Unfortunately the asparagus side was overcooked and a bit droopy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Better Service Required

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The steak was one of the best I have ever had in my life. It definitely wasn't cheap, and therefore, I think the quality of service should be elevated. If you are going to pay a significant price for delicious food, you should have a superior level of service to match. This restaurants waiters need some additional training to ensure their skills are up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Special Night with Special Friends

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I wanted to go some place nice and memorable. We were rewarded with a great experience. The steak was great and the dessert was a great finish. The rib eye my husband ordered was huge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.