Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About 53 by the Sea

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Japanese chef and Local chef artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (60)
Special Occasion (48)
Waterfront (47)
See All
Romantic (45)
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Tasting Menu (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Live Music (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1058 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 9 hours ago

当日予約でお邪魔しました。18:30の予約でした。サンセットを迎える頃でしたからまだ外は明るく、ダイヤモンドヘッドがとっても美しくて眺め最高!でした。すっかり夜になると今度はワイキキのキラキラ光る宝石の様な夜景が一望でき、本当に素晴らしい眺めです。
お食事は、私達はお酒を飲まないので、グァバジュースと、アップルジュースをお願いし、デザートの際はディカフェコーヒーを頂きました。
シーザーサラダは、レモンっぽいドレッシングが酸味もキツくなく、上に掛かったチーズとコショウとがとてもあっていて、とても美味しく、量もたっぷりなサラダで大満足でした。
メインはロブスターのパスタと、本日のお魚料理をお願いしました。お魚は欧米らしくバターでムニエル風でしたから、美味しいのですが日本食が恋しい方には“アァ、煮付けが食べたい…”と感じるのかも知れませんが、日本料理店では無いし仕方ないですね…。ロブスターのパスタは、何とも奥深い風味のソースがパスタに絡まって、濃厚さが後を引きます。もともと少食なのに味付けが良く、完食してしまいました。しかし、最後の方はお腹いっぱいだけど食べよう!と詰め込んだ感じです。
最後のデザートは、チョコレートのケーキ。これはまたぜひ食べたいと思うほどです。あたたかいチョコレートケーキをフォークで割ると、中からトロリととろけだすチョコが…。添えられたバニラアイスと一緒に食べてもGOODでした。バニラアイスは、ジャージー牛乳のバニラアイスみたいな味でした。
お会計の時。口コミで200ドル位と見ていて、高いな〜と少し怖かったのですが、私達は、130ドルちょっとと、チップが30ドルで、高級レストランとしては普通なお値段で、これだけ美味しいお料理に、最高の接客でしたから大満足でした。
因みに英語しか通じない様ですが、心の声に耳を傾けて下さる接客には感謝です。
また訪れたいレストランです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, view of ocean, food was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This was deffinetly not worth the money. The wait staff had no personality what so ever. Constantly someone was at the table taking things away. Never ask if we were done with our food or drink. I have had better seafood and steak at roys and motions. Wouldn't suggest it to friends or come back again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

景色もお料理もサービスも最高でした。
旅行の最終日のディナーで利用させてもらいましたが、大満足です。またハワイに来た際はぜひこちらのレストランに伺いたいと思います!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

My husband and I went here for our anniversary of being together for 10 years and it's the best romantic dinner we've ever had. Our waiters were so informative and amazing! Plus the view gave us plenty to talk about. We're definitely having our anniversary dinners here from now on......during sunsets🙌🏼

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Spicy ahi tempura bowl was just delicious
Not spicy
Shrimp huge
I'm going back for that!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 12, 2017

ハワイには、1968年以降今まで数えきれない位行っていますが、この店には初めて行きました。海に面した眺めが素晴らしく、何れまた行きたいレストランになりました。料理は、スターターにプチトマト、アボガド、モツアレラチーズの一皿、メインは8ozのフィレミニオン、ワインは、シャルドネとピノの手頃な価格のものを飲みました。まだ、一回行っただけなので、実態は良く分かりませんが、雰囲気・料理・サービスの三拍子が揃った第一印象としては素晴らしかったです。帰りはタクシーを呼んでもらい、フロアマネジャーが重厚なドアを開けて送りだしてくれたまでは良かったのですが、タクシーは直ぐ前に停まっていたので、せめて我々が車に乗り込むまでは見届けてもらったほうが良いのにと思いました。
余談ですが、少し離れた席にカップルが座っていましたが、男性が帽子をかぶったまま食事をしていました。女性の帽子はOKですが、男性の帽子はマナー違反です。これは絶対に良くないと思ったら、最近は抗がん剤を服用していて髪の毛が抜けてしまう人もいて、一概にマナー違反とは言えないようです。

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

My husband and I had a lovely dinner to celebrate our 40th anniversary. Everything from the view to the service to the food was terrific. We dined at John Dominis years ago and were very impressed with the new building.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The experience begins from the road. You drive in and you see a beautiful setting. It's like driving up to your dream home. When you walk in, you are greeted right away and shown to your seat in an instant. The service was EXCELLENT. The food was small BUT you get full. The food has so much flavor and played so nicely you cannot stop yourself from taking a picture. The staff was so kind and always refilled your water without even having to ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Service was way beyond our expectations! Food was exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Good food and beautiful view. The seafood was fresh and flavorful. The presentation was appealing to the eye and the portion size just right - not huge like a suburban food trough, but not too small and overly-artsy. My only complaint was that the servers failed to place the main course simultaneously with one waiter notably lagging behind the other and they failed to serve from the right side. At these prices I expect that level of service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Setting and view wonderful! Very good food and service. Expensive, however. Recommended!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Service was impeccable. Had a great evening with the best view in Honolulu.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great sea view and perfect food and kind server and great wine pairing

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 5, 2017

ランチで利用させていただきました。ランチは前菜とデザートがつくとの口コミをみて伺いましたが、前菜はつきませんでした。デザートは、ハネムーンだと伝えたところケーキを出してくださいました。通常のランチの方にデザートがつくかはわかりません。
シーフードサラダを頼んだのですが、えびが半分に切ってあり、夫はえ?って思ったようです。シーフードの量は少ないと感じました。あと味もあまりなくて美味しいとは感じなかったです。
ロブスターのサンドイッチは美味しかったです。
景色は本当に絶景です。サンセットは最高なのではないでしょうか。
結婚式もやってました。雰囲気は抜群です。

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Beautiful view and great service. Entrees were average due to under-seasoning of high quality ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 4, 2017

More for tourist. Not for local people. Employees too serious. Not much smiling. I liked the local employees there. Felt at home with them. Celebrated our Anniversary and no one recognized that or made it seem "special ". The hostess asked if we were celebrating a special occasion . At other restaurants wether fine dining or not that we celebrated our anniversary, and mind you this was our 23rd, made us feel special from the time we walked into the time we left. 53 By the Sea did not have that effect on us and I would not recommend anyone to go there at celebrating a special occasion sorry .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Venue was great, food was good, but service was lacking. Dropped over $325 for dinner but was very disappointed with the service. It was almost as if the servers were doing us a favor being there. We had Will as our server and he was assisted by Angela(?), and both were sadly lacking. We had more assistance from the other servers who happened to be passing our table during dinner. The poor service in the long run may be the eventual demise of a very nice restaurant. The food and venue can go head to head with other great local restaurants (e.g., Hy's, La Mer, etc.) but the server Will truly dulled the shine of a special evening. I would welcome a call from management to further discuss my concerns as I would really like to see 53 by the Sea succeed and be a continued go to restaurant. Thank you.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I had an accident at the restaurant. It was about tip. I asked check. And then, the waiter brought the bill which was included 20% tip. I was surprised at the total. So I asked him to decide about the tip by myself. I paid 15% tip. I was very disappointed because I liked this restaurant. I think it is no good to force us to pay 20% tip. I have been there twice. But I don't want to go there anymore.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

AMAZING SERVICE! Best service we have ever reviewed and the food was to die for

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 2, 2017

A special evening to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The restaurant brought us a delicious complimentary dessert which was a lovely surprise and perfect end to the meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Service very good; waiter very cordial and helpful including taking photos of us outside.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Maybe the most fancy place I have been to plus great servers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

We had a wonderful meal with superb service by all ! We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and this restaurant was an excellent choice for that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Arrived expecting to see a make over of the previous restaurant. Not so. Complete new building. Designer did an outstanding job of creating a magnificent property. Spacious and not noisy. Food and service excellent.

Will return each year when we vacation in Honolulu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We went to celebrate a birthday. We had a great time.

Pros: service is good. Food is good. Ambience is really good. Down to earth feeling, which I liked a lot.

Cons: hostesses could have been warmer at the entrance. Not sure why we had to pay separately at the bar and then the restaurant, they are supposed to be one restaurant. Would be nice to have a vegetarian menu.

Bottomline: I'll go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Birthday celebration. Perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

My girl and I came here for dinner for out anniversary, perfect place to celebrate and we plan on coming back again. Great service, great food, great view, and just overall great to have someone by your side through the evening. It is very romantic and calm. 10 out of 10 would recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The servers were great, very attentive and polite. Having been here before, the food was definitely better this time around. All dishes were amazing, however a bit on the pricier side for the portions which is the only drawback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Gorgeous place!! Tasty food! Very fancy! Very good service!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Awesome view of Diamond Head along with beautiful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great scenery and delicious food.
But that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

ダイアモンドヘッドが眺めれて食事できるなんて最高のロケーションでした。サービスも良くスタッフも親切でまた利用したいです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Gorgeous restaurant with amazing waterfront views. The service was over the top wonderful. We enjoyed the food. Just a bit out of the way but worth the Uber drive in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

A superbly situated restaurant with breathtaking views of Diamondhead. The Prix Fixe menus are creative and fascinating. The a la carte menu is a little more steakhouse oriented. But the food is exquisitely prepared, and the ingredients are top notch. An exceptional wine list, well priced. Absolutely recommended.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I booked a 500 point time, but only received 100 points. Terrible.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fabulous time...food delicious and the service was excellent....it was a nice touch having a special dessert brought to our table and compliments of the restaurant in celebration of our anniversary...the staff were so friendly and attentive...they made the whole evening just so perfect!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Have had a couple of friends say they loved the food and experience. Came for birthday celebration and was not disappointed at all. The food, service and view was amazing and excellent. There were kids sitting next to us that got loud after fireworks parents tried to keep quiet and apologized when leaving but overall was very pleased with everything. Kinda seems in a sketchy part of town but can't bet views. Sorry about not tipping valet guy more.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2017

家族で大切なひと時を過ごせました。
また、ハワイに来た時は利用させて頂きます。ありがとうございました。

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We had a very nice dinner there to celebrate our anniversary. The servers were attentive and knowledgeable. We had a table for two where we could sit side-by-side and both enjoy the gorgeous view of Ala Moana and Diamond Head. We enjoyed a kampachi sashimi appetizer, salads and a lobster pasta dish. All were done perfectly, and although we decided that we were too full for dessert, they treated us to a piece of cake with a thoughtful anniversary wish written in chocolate. It was the perfect place for our anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.