About 53 by the Sea

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Chef Thomas Ho’s artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Scenic View (45)
Romantic (37)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Waterfront (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Live Music (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing experience. From the decor to th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing experience. From the decor to the service to the food- everything was spot on & exceeded our expectations. What a wonderful way to celebrate our first year anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this place for an impromtu birthda ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Found this place for an impromtu birthday/late valentines dinner. It was amazing! Never even thought such a gorgeous and delicious place existed in the back of Kaka'ako area. Valet entrance with water fountain, grand staircase and chandelier. When seated you are greeted by Scenic views of waikiki and diamond head. What blew us away was the menu! Starters we had the seafood platter (the variety of sashimi and oysters were amazing) and foie gras which was buttery. Entrees: My husband got the 6oz wagyu beef with roasted vegetables and potato puree. That beef melted in our mouths. I got the surf and surf, king crab and jumbo prawns with lemon buerre blanc. No complaints. Dessert: mixed berry affogato and the haupia creme brulee. My 2 ultimate desserts are haupia and creme brulee so i fell in love with 53 by the seas Haupia creme brulee! The husband loved the mixed berry affogato with the shaken strawberry cream, he almost licked the bowl. As if everything we ordered wasn't enough the servers brought a complimentary birthday strawberry shortcake which my husband also ate all of.

Everything was so delightful and yummy. What surprised us the most was the bill (and i don't mean in a bad way). You see we like to play guess the amount before we get our bill and to our surprise the total was way under our estimates. We were very happy overall and we definitely want to come back, maybe on a friday so we can catch the fireworks from the amazing view.

We highly recommend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and ambience were were excel ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

The service and ambience were were excellent. The food itself was so so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

嵐のロケ地ということで、素晴らしいロケーションも期待して、アラモアナショッピング ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

嵐のロケ地ということで、素晴らしいロケーションも期待して、アラモアナショッピングセンターからぶらぶら徒歩で来店。

窓からの眺めが料理を一層引き立ててくれて、友人二人でドリンク1杯づつとワンオーダーで71ドルプラスチップでした。

ランチタイムでこの価格は高いと思いますが、せっかくハワイに来てるのだから、こういうスペシャルなランチもいいかなと思います。この価格にコーヒー1杯くらい含まれていたら最高でした。

帰りは海岸で嵐のロケ地を満喫でき、そこも含めて大満足です。

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was good but it code have been better ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

It was good but it code have been better .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Food is disappointing(not flavorful) for ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is disappointing(not flavorful) for prices, but view is gorgeous. Caters more to Japan clientele, not very welcoming for local population.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I've been coming here quite often but th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I've been coming here quite often but this time didn't meet my expectation. Service wasn't consistent and course meal has gone down the quality. I was not happy with their dessert that they didn't put any effort to create nice final touch for end meal. It was like they already prep and just serve to the table.

Hope they will keep the better food quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

美味しい食材で、びっくりしました。シェフお薦めのコースが良いと思います。 堪能さ ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 3, 2017

美味しい食材で、びっくりしました。シェフお薦めのコースが良いと思います。

堪能させて頂きました。またの機会にも利用したいと思います。

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent and great view of the ocean.

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent and great view of the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of the top 5 on this islandddddddddd ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2017

one of the top 5 on this islandddddddddddddddddddddd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, and ambiance is alway ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food, service, and ambiance is always perfect! Thank you for another memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My wife and I loved this place. Great se ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I loved this place. Great service, venue, food, and drink. Very classy we compliment the chef! We'll be back, thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a regular at 53 by the Sea because ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I am a regular at 53 by the Sea because of its quiet and elegant ambiance and exemplary service. However, service for this brunch was not as expected, including the lack of valet service upon leaving. I hope this was an exception to the standard of service I have come to expect at 53!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This is the second time 4 of the 6 of us ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is the second time 4 of the 6 of us have h been here, and it did not disappoint. The service was excellent , as was the food and the wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great scenery and service. The food was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great scenery and service. The food was excellent. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for lunch with my parents and ord ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I went for lunch with my parents and ordered pre-fix course. Presentaion was beautiful and we also enjoyed magnificent panoramic ocean view and nice service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience. Good food. Service ju ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Lovely experience. Good food. Service just a little slow tonight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was my first time here. Well worth it ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was my first time here. Well worth it. Along with the atmosphere and food, the staff was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Modern Decor, , Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jordan was the best waiter!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Jordan was the best waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely lovely venue and quiet enough ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Absolutely lovely venue and quiet enough that it was comfortable talking - even for a group.

I did not particularly like my entree; but, that was my own fault. The appetizers and the "free" delicious bread made up for it. It is quite pricey and the wine pour is scanty at best. That being said, the atmosphere makes it worth it especially if you go early enough to catch the view with all its colors. The wait-staff is well trained and very attentive. I wish there was actual parking instead of just valet. Given that so many expensive restaurants have zero view, this gives 53 an added star in my book.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, delicious food, wonde ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food, wonderful ambience, beautiful view. Thoroughly enjoyed our experience at 53 by the Sea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Myself and my significant other was very ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Myself and my significant other was very impressed with the food, service and overall ambiance. We would definitely love to return and also tell others to dine there as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, , Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ハワイの中で1番でした。ミッシェルズなども行きましたが、サーヴィス力桁違い。クリ ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 2, 2017

ハワイの中で1番でした。ミッシェルズなども行きましたが、サーヴィス力桁違い。クリュッグ2000とシーフードの相性が抜群。spécialitéのcaviarも半端なく良かった。

ここ最高です。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's special restaurant!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's special restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great view with Diamond Head and Waikiki ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great view with Diamond Head and Waikiki beach.

Superb cuisine with a great presentation.

Excellent staff with great service. Very friendly and professional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our drinks were always empty. We had to ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our drinks were always empty. We had to stop the staff numerous times for things. We should not have to flag them down especially for the prices that we're paying!

The manager was not friendly at all and did not apologize when we asked for a different glass because it was cracked. There was no offer to comp the drink but the least he could have done was apologize and when he brought back the drink and just dropped the drink without filling the other empty glasses!

Really, really poor service! Funny thing though, the Japanese people seemed to be getting way better service than us local people!

People of Hawaii, if you want to feel prejudice go to 53 By the Sea!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

We were treated very well from everyone ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were treated very well from everyone that worked there. They made it feel like an important place. The atmosphere was so so considering the great view but too much glare at night off the big windows so not as good as we hoped. We have oysters and raw seafood assortment to start and both were great. I had a ribeye which was as close to perfect as you can get. Basically all the food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We loved the food and service. The waite ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We loved the food and service. The waiter's were outstanding. Everyone was so polite and helpful. Awesome for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's difficult to find a restaurant with ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It's difficult to find a restaurant with an outstanding lunch or brunch menu these days. I was very disappointed after sampling several lunch menus for other places I have frequented in the past and found that the offerings are either pedestrian or way overpriced for the cuisine. I found that Fifty-Three by the Sea, however, prepares outstanding lunch selections. Because of that, I am confident in recommending lunch or dinner there to my friends.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, great service..it's also a g ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, great service..it's also a good feeling that they know that you're celebrating a special occasion and they let you know right off the bat and I think that goes a long way...

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the moment we arrived, we were made ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome, even though we were not dressed appropriately, even for lunch. (We were out walking and decided to find a great place for lunch, before we returned to our hotel to change. The host told us not to worry and our server, Nick, advised that super casual was ok for lunch.) The service was excellent and the food was even better, in presentation, quality of ingredients, preparation and most importantly taste. The beef short rib appetizer was tender and moist and delicious. The Ahi was fresh and perfectly accompanied. Thank you for a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant well prepared gourmand experienc ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Elegant well prepared gourmand experience served by knowledgable staff. Also a dining room with a view! And what a view! The entire length of Ala Moana and Waikiki! Been here twice during my 6 weeks in Honolulu and have been pleased both times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, great good. The portions ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great service, great good. The portions can be considered small, buy if you are ordering appetizers, entrees and desserts they are just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Gave this place a second chance. Did not ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Gave this place a second chance. Did not have a good first experience but decided to give them another try. Service was slow - our water was empty frequently. The main server wasn't the greatest; not exactly the friendliest and not what I expected from such an establishment - a little passive/aggressive and a little impatient/rushed. I signed the bill and he took it away while we were still at the table. We didn't stay long afterward we finished dessert, maybe 10 minutes if that. Just felt rushed. Food was average. Overpriced for sure but nothing to write home about. The risotto was not creamy. The snapper was overcooked. The ribeye my cousin said was okay. The risotto croquette special was good per his girlfriend. Tomato avocado salad she liked. My cousin liked the crab cakes. I had the lobster bisque which was creamy but $18. My husband ordered the seafood tower, waaaaaay overpriced. We shared the chocolate lava cake (very good) and my cousin shared the haupia creme brulee which they enjoyed. WILL DEFINITELY NOT RETURN NOR RECOMMEND. There are better places with a beautiful view, delicious food, and better service than here. Should go back to being John Dominis. :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Wine list was amazing, views were amazin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wine list was amazing, views were amazing - food was not. They have some work to do in that department.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Their Xmas brunch special was amazing! ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Their Xmas brunch special was amazing! Everything was perfectly flavored!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a pre-fixed menu @$95 + foie gras ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a pre-fixed menu @$95 + foie gras as extra. Food was ok and not you would expect for the price. The foie gras was in with the lobster tail and sauce. Huh, why would you mix the foie gras with lobster tail and sauce? Took away from the foie gras. Besides that ambience and service was very good. Just wished the food would of lived up the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Family got one of the private rooms at 5 ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Family got one of the private rooms at 53. The waiter Matt was great even helping turn down the lights when the Hilton fireworks started at 745. This is a favorite of ours as it is great food with an amazing ambience. If you want a private room highly recommend this location and talk to Tracy. She is great to help people get this all done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good meal.

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome tasting menu! Really good and at ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Awesome tasting menu! Really good and attentive service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.