Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About 53 by the Sea

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Japanese chef and Local chef artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (69)
Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (59)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Good for a Date (50)
Waterfront (45)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Great for Lunch (21)
Cozy (21)
Business Meals (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (9)
Live Music (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We can enter before the reservation time and have enough time to take photos of sea view. and food serving time was not so long, so we could enjoy the lunch within limited time about 1 hour.
Bread was the best and the most delicious in our Hawaii journey.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing view. Good service. Nice quality oysters. Ok food. Very expensive, but impressive wine list. Go for the sunset lighting up diamond head and Waikiki beach.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Everyone, from the valet that greeted us and walked us into the restaurant, to the waiters and managers who wished us a happy anniversary, to the hostess who walked us back out to our car, were all very attentive and genuinely wanted us to have a special evening. The food was delicious as always. While we miss the bread basket that used to accompany dinner, the wait staff made sure to offer us more bread when we devoured the olive focaccia. All in all it was a very pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

This place really has a million dollar view. Ambience is excellent. I just had some few issues with the service as the waiter was not as professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Was okay they just had some hair in my food. Then when the bill come they said someone paid for it but called me later to have me pay the bill.... weird.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved it we will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Very romantic ambiance with a beautiful view overlooking Diamond Head. Feels like you're dining in a mansion. Service was excellent. Food was good, but not great. Really enjoyed the desserts though. Restaurant was kind enough to acknowledge our anniversary dinner with a free dessert. First time dining here for my significant other and she really enjoyed herself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This is a unique location, with a dining experience that is first-class and elegant.
We arrived early and the ambience was perfect until about 7 pm, then there was an increase in the noise level as larger groups settled into their celebrations. All in all, a memorable evening
with close friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great food and nice ambiance, plus a fantastic view of Waikiki and Diamondhead. They treated us special for a special anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great view during sunset! Delicious food. Will definitely come again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We came to enjoy the view - which was spectacular at sunset. Then we reviewed the meu and decided to share the Tasting Menu with accompanying wine selections. What a wonderful choice! All of he food was wonderful, and in appropriate portion sizes. The wines were also good matches. I especially loved the lobster roll and the abalone risotto, while my husband favored the steak (the one course he would have liked more of). The service was thoughtful and we had time to enjoy each course and the wine before moving on. We can recommend this dinner to other tourists looing for a special meal on Oaho.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

$150のコース料理を家族5人でいただきました。
ホノルル中心地からはタクシーで片道約20分、$20です。
お料理・サービス・雰囲気は申し分なく、日本人の口にも合い大変満足のいくものでした。ただし、コースメニューの品数が多かったため、お肉が来る頃には皆お腹いっぱいになってしまったのが残念でした。
記念日であることを伝えていたためか、デザートにお祝いプレートをつけてくださりました。ありがとうございます。
コース料理と飲み物(ビール3杯、ジュース4杯、食後の紅茶)で、サービス料込みトータル$950($190/人)。コストパフォーマンスがそれほど良くないため、普段のお食事ではなく、大切な記念日に利用したいお店です。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Disorganized: Our guest were told we were not there yet. We waited at the table while they were in the waiting area. My wife's drink was wrong. One waiter stopped by to replace the plates and a few minutes later another waiter come by to take them away. Too many waiters for one table that were not communicating.

Food: I don't know how they can charge those prices. Seafood was of low quality and over cooked. Fish and shrimp were dry and tough. Desserts were boring and fair at best.

It was a disappointing evening. I cannot recommend this restaurant. This restaurant will probably last for only a few more years and depend on the tourist business. Not return customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I treated my in laws to dinner for their wedding anniversary. They enjoyed their dinner and felt the staff was very attentive. They raved about the delicious foods they had the amazing fine dining restaurant and the Beautiful views. They were also treated to dessert with happy anniversary on it wish made it special . They want to go back and take us there for dinner now.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

素晴らしい景色と素晴らしい料理で記念日には最適な場所です。そして何より、サプライズを準備してくれていた事がとても嬉しかったです。思い出に残る夜になりました。ありがとうございます!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service at 53 by the Sea is amazing, from the valet to the wait staff. Everyone is courteous, always with a smile. Food is good, the calamari and seafood trio was wonderful as was the lava cake for dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 1, 2017

ドレスコードが有ると口コミで見て期待して行きましたが、Tシャツ 短パン ビーチサンダルできている人もいてびっくりでした。雰囲気は良かったのに残念に感じました。

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Awesome food, top notch service, and a tremendous view. Would recommend this venue for a date night or special occasion. Definitely a must for your time on the island!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Love the restaurant and the service was EXCEPTIONAL.. But we were seated in the lounge area from a friend that suggested it.. BUT the piano was too loud.. We couldn't have a nice conversation... People was talking louder in the lounge as well I would suggest the Piano volume be set as "back ground" music... that would have made the dinner great !
I will return to the restaurant for lunch or after work Pau Hana.. they have a great Happy Hour Menu...

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The restaurant was immaculate and views are spectacular
But the service from the get go was the worst
From the cocktail service to the bresd and butter. Nd forgetting our last request for another glass of wine
The food was hot and wonderfully plated the flavors were too notch
It was an off night for our experience
Im sure a restauant of this size and standards would never survive if this was the usual way if doing business

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 28, 2017

2nd time my girlfriend and I have been here. Both times incredible food, service, and view. Will surely be back many more times!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Awesome everything! I will always return. The service, menu and attention to detail always exceeds my expectation. Love the wide selection of seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I thought it was an overall great meal. The food wasn't the best I had ever had and the portions were a little bit small but overall value was great. We were given a complimentary cake dessert for our anniversary which was very nice and the view and restaurant were beautiful. Service was top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We loved celebrating our anniversary here! The food, atmosphere and service is exceptional. It is definitely worth it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. We like to come here for special occasions. Always a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

From the decor, service, and food everything was exquisite! It was our first time there and very much enjoyed dining there. By far one the top restaurants to frequent for dining options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Impeccable food. Pricy but not overpriced. Actually excellent cost performance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was excellent! Beautiful scenery of Diamond Head, Ocean & watching the surfers.
Atmosphere was comfortable with Aloha Spirit. With a taste of class but felt comfortable.
Waiters were very accommodating .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Lovely view, spectacular service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food was excellent. However, it was our anniversary and this was indicated through the Open Table App but the restaurant made no effort to acknowledge the special date for us with even so much as a simple, "happy anniversary". I've been to less expensive venues that offered a more nuanced gestures to ensure the night was special for you, the food was the redeeming quality, that made up for what it lacked elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 15, 2017

素晴らしい景色と共に、ハワイの新鮮なシーフードが堪能できるお店。味付けが非常に日本人好みだと思う。後から聞いたら、日本のブライダル会社が経営してるそう。納得。ホノルルからタクシーで20ドル程度で行けるのでアクセスも良い。アラモアナでショッピングしつつ、行くのが良いかな。お酒飲んで食事してチップ込みで100ドル行かないくらいなので、デートや特別な食事には良いと思います。

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We chose 53 by the Sea because we knew that we wanted to celebrate our anniversary at a special restaurant. The view was beautiful, the food was so delicious, service was awesome, and they even presented my wife and I with a special dessert saying happy anniversary nice touch to end our wonderful lunch celebrating our marriage.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The view is stunning...food is good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Myself and husband had a great time. It was out 12 year anniversary. My husband loved it and we laughed a lot. The waiters were great and chef was great! We are definitely going back but in the daytime. I think the view would be better in the day.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Fantastic place for a special occasion or some cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great service.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great overall experience, best waterfront restaurant on Oahu...classy... think they do need to keep wedding parties upstairs..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Overall experience was very good.

Made a reservation on relatively short notice (2-3 days in advance). Had changed our plans because we heard there would be a fireworks show over Waikiki. It was for our anniversary and we requested a table close to the windows. Which was not able to be accommodated perhaps due to making the reservations a few days prior. In hindsight perhaps we should have requested a booth (prob wouldn't have been able to get it for the same reason).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food and service was phenomenon . The view was amazing and the fireworks for such a plus! Thank you for accommodating my friend's birthday dinner :)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was awesome dinning experience well educated staff and friendly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.