About 53 by the Sea

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Chef Thomas Ho’s artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
Amuse Bouche
Seafood Linguine
Filete Mignon
Pink Grapefruit Cocktail
Seafood Platter
53 Seafood Showcase
Broiled Mackerel
Arugala Salad
Sweet Potato Cake
Lobster Bisque
Seafood carpaccio
Niçoise salad
Dessert
Poke
Proscuitto
Eggplant Cioccolato
53 Pineapple Tart and Vanilla Bean Gelato
Hot Creme Tart With Gelato
Mahi Mahi
Salmon
Escargot
Shrimp Scampi
Grilled Opakapaka with Okinawan Sweet Potato Puree
Sashimi Style Ahi with Fresh Nalo Farms Greens
Mint Blend- Full Leaf Herbal Infusion
Grilled Veal Chop
Pan Seared Ahi with Light Sweet and Sour Sauce
Hot Cream Cheese Honey Pie and Vanilla Bean Gelato
By the Sea Spaghettini Frutti de Mare
Spaghetti ai Frutti di Mare Piccanti
Seafood
Opakapaka
Tiramisu

Promotions

4th of July Barbecue

Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

4th of July Barbecue

Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Food.. Friends.. Fireworks! $75 per person for BBQ buffet. Call us for details and/or reservations. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Hawaii
Contemporary American
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Oahu
4 More
Romantic
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu
Contemporary American
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

scenic view (112)
special occasion (112)
romantic (94)
See All
fit for foodies (47)
great for lunch (42)
notable wine list (35)
good for groups (23)
great for outdoor dining (19)
great for brunch (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food. Great service. Modest portio ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Great service. Modest portions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

True 5 start food , setting, views and s ...

Dined 6 days ago

True 5 start food , setting, views and service. We enjoyed the chefs special menu and you surprised us with excellent wine pairing. The kids even ate everything and enjoyed the setting as well.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very good experience dining at ...

Dined 6 days ago

It was a very good experience dining at this restaurant. Very atmosphere. I will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Superior valet service. It was the perf ...

Dined 7 days ago

Superior valet service. It was the perfect touch that my car was waiting for us with doors open, as we left. Bravo! Very attentive and friendly waiters. Venue and view is beyond compare. The quality of the food was not on point.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice views, great service, food medium, ...

Dined 7 days ago

Nice views, great service, food medium, nothing special.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed my lunch here, as always. The vi ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed my lunch here, as always. The view is so beautiful and the food is good. The service is great. Highly recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Decided to bring my husband here for Fat ...

Dined 7 days ago

Decided to bring my husband here for Father's day. It was our first time here for the both of us and from the time we arrived to the time we left everything was perfect. The food was delicious, the service was wonderful and the view was beautiful. We will definitely be returning.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The wedding photo shoots are very bother ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The wedding photo shoots are very bothersome and distracting to the ambiance. Should schedule them during non-meals hours. They were there blocking the entrance before we entered and they were still there when we were leaving. The entire entrance foyer was occupied by the wedding party.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Spectacular view and even better with ou ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Spectacular view and even better with outdoor seating, but may be too warm for lunch. Dinner was perfect and great view of Friday fireworks. Food was appropriately priced. Was expensive but definitely felt we got our money's worth. Great spot for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time Experience

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were blown away as soon as we walked in. It was so different from its previous life. The service was outstanding and the food was great. Looking forward to the next time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Starters were outstanding And of cours ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Starters were outstanding And of course the view is magical Tables are far apart giving you privacy and quiet in elegant surrounding. Not expensive for the quality of food and service. I spent the same yesterday for a very mediocre lunch at Ala Moana.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the view spectacular.

Dined on June 8, 2016

We went here for our anniversary. The food was amazing and the service was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Palace for events upstairs yummy dining downstairs

Dined on June 7, 2016

The ambience is quiet and sparkling, with fabulous food and a fabulous ocean/diamondhead view. You can wear your diamond earrings but relax completely and settle in for conversation by the sea

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent romantic dinner! My husband an ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Excellent romantic dinner! My husband and I chose 53 by the sea to celebrate a wedding anniversary based on recommendations of friends and online ratings. They did not disappoint. We ordered the 6 course tasting menu w/wine pairing. Each dish was well executed. Ambiance was spectacular, we were there for sunset and enjoyed watching the surfers before sun went down. Wine pours were generous and although the courses were small portion size, we did not leave hungry. The service was a true standout. The teamwork was impressive and they even brought an extra personalized dessert to mark our anniversary. Highly recommend for special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Foodie Destinatation

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

53 by the Sea is in my top 5 restaurants list. A must visit destination for foodies who want excellent service, with outstanding delicacies and a romantic view. We will be back on the next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great first experience!!

Dined on May 31, 2016

It was a great first experience here. We both enjoyed the beautiful and quiet scenery as well as the food and awesome service we received!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service3

Upon my arrival Trina was so welcoming.. ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Upon my arrival Trina was so welcoming...however; I was truly disappointed when the hostess took myself and my guest to our table. It was a surprise birthday celebration that I had personally called and spike to the gentlemen that answered the phone( can't remember his name) he also repeated that it was a surprise!!! as soon as the hostess greeted us to seat us she said happy birthday! My eyes rolled with disappointment... My guest had no idea that I was celebrating her birthday. That made the entire night unenjoyable for me. Devin our waiter was nice however; each time a table came in we didn't see him and had to ask where he went. There were so many other buser, waiter and who know who else came to our table. At times I had to wave my help for assistance when I really needed something. The other unprofessional service was when they kept telling me at the end of our dinner that the dessert was on the house. Honestly, the entire dinner should have been on the house. My bill was $200.00 and I still tipped them 20% a $40.00 tip what was I thinking... I didn't want to embarrass my friend she knows how generous I am with tips therefore I didn't want to make it any different since she had enjoyed her dinner. Trina was gracious and I hoped the entire ambiance and service was the same. I looked forward to a beautiful evening... I would not recommend this restaurant because of this terrible experience I encounter. It was so disappointing. The staff should be trained with professionalism , know how to read a guest request when it is states SURPRISE!!! On the reservation ... And to be taught not to repeat something is on the house from the restaurant honestly no class!!! Word of mouth is so important especially with the circle of influence I associate with...

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent Food and View from Reataurant

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were celebrating my wife's best friend's surprise birthday at the restaurant for lunch. Food was excellent, as they are always. The only problem we had was the slow service. It took 2 hours until we completed our lunch and receive the check. There were some wedding parties held at different area of the restaurant, so maybe they were short on staffs, but they shouldn't make other regular customers to feel that. Overall, we still strongly recommend this place, especially for dinner for special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second experience dining he ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

This was our second experience dining here. Quality of food, service, ambiance is still outstanding. It is a little pricey, but the food and view are worth it. Our only complaint was that they don't serve a starch with the entree, so if you want a starch, you have to pay. It was $3.50 for a scoop of rice, and $25 for a mushroom risotto (excellent!). But overall, this restaurant is definitely a place to go for a truly fine dining experience. And the service is wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Solid food, great food, better off to ea ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Solid food, great food, better off to eat there in light as you get a great view of the ocean. At night not much to see.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

special spectacular views for lunch or dinner

Dined on May 26, 2016

second time I booked this for special occasion for lunch. perfect both times. excellent service, food, parking. the only bummer is that it is jewel in the middle of a terrible area, due to homelessness. hope that gets fixed and no doubt would turn around some folks. but give it a chance, and you will amazed. it is worth the risk. this is the old John Dominis Restaurant and did a good job of repurposing and redefining the entire space. you would never never know. kind of sad, but that is progress. I can see why Japanese visitors want to get married here. it is a perfect venue. too bad the drive up is so ugly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Disappointed for a first time here. Alt ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Disappointed for a first time here. Although the service and ambiance was good the overall quality of the food for a 4 star was lacking. Although a good wine selection, a bit overpriced in comparison to similar restaurants in the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted with our dining experi ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

We were delighted with our dining experience here. The restaurant itself provides a tremendous view of Diamond Head in an upscale mansion setting. The food is the real star here though. Everything is expertly prepared and presented, salads and entrees, and the attention to detail by the chefs is evident. Food is spectacular, the service outstanding and the evening memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice place

Dined on May 24, 2016

The staff were nice. Love the risotto, the shrimp were huge but was overcooked though. The place was clean. Love that the place is bright and doesn't feel dark and tight. We'll come back.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is perhaps one of the most el ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

This place is perhaps one of the most elegant restaurants in Hawaii. Upon arriving and entering you feel like you're entering a billionaire's mansion. The service is top notch, attentive, friendly, and helpful. The view overlooking the water is fabulous; rivaling any other restaurant view on the island. The dining room ambience is also elegant. We were there for a late (8:00pm) Sunday dinner and it felt like we were in our own private dining room with personal butlers and waiters. The only disappointment is that the food, though presented quite nicely, did match. Tasty but not top chef quality. Our orders included chicken, steak, scallops, fish, mushrooms stuffed with escargot (this was a tasty dish), Caesar salad, and wine. Everything was quite good but not quite among the best we've had at the other fine dining restaurants in Honolulu. The expected "pop" in taste seemed to be missing. Nevertheless, the whole experience was very nice and worth repeating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great for Anniversaries

Dined on May 18, 2016

My partner and I came here on a recommendation from a friend, and we were not disappointed. The decor is majestic and the food is wonderful. Also, the cocktails are very nice. This is definitely a place to go for special occasions and celebrations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my husbands 1st time & his birthd ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

It was my husbands 1st time & his birthday. We were seated at a nice table next to the window. The view was breathtakingly beautiful. Good Food, Good Drinks, & Great Service!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, 53 was terrific. Was a littl ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

As always, 53 was terrific. Was a little hesitant about booking at first since the menu had changed. The food we ordered was even better than our last visit. Loved it.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kind of off the beaten path but just an ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Kind of off the beaten path but just an awesome place for excellent interesting food and a spectacular view of Waikiki and the Kakaako shore. Helpful, friendly staff, we will definitely be back every time we're in the islands. Mahalo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Gorgeous view, food doesn't disappoint

Dined on May 16, 2016

Food is great, view isspectacular, service is generally excellent, even the valet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a view! Delicious food and empecab ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

What a view! Delicious food and empecable service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was impeccable, we had 2 waiters for the 2 of us. We were seated in a love seat lookin out the floor to ceiling glass windows with views of Diamond Head and Waikiki. The food was delicious and just the right portion size. We order lobster bisque, and crab cakes for appetizer dinner we had the sea scallops and the special which was monchong. Dessert was the chocolate lava cake and they gave us a slice of strawberry shortcake for our anniversary. It was a great night and would definitely recommend for a special occasion. The valet was complimentary and they also checked you is so when you walked into the restaurant they took you immediately to your table.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Desserts were amazing. Server seemed a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Desserts were amazing. Server seemed a little distracted when he was helping us and the view was outstanding as always.

food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Been eating here since they changed from ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Been eating here since they changed from John Dominus, but this time the service was lacking. Lacking very much. So, I give them a 2 for service. Was pretty bad, since we didn't order a bottle of wine and the other tables did and got great service. That's good enough as I wrote a long descriptive story on a travel site. The food is good. Scenic views are awesome. Your choice

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd recommend 53 by the Sea to anyone wh ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I'd recommend 53 by the Sea to anyone who seeks a special experience. The view is absolutely beautiful. The ambience is peaceful and elegant. The food is delicious, tastefully presented and affordable for such a lovely setting. Service is impeccable and friendly. We also had a Christmas party last year for a group of around 25. The catering manager worked with us to create a special menu, printed our logo on the menus which were presented to each attendee. It's the attention to detail that is very impressive. Our ladies were thrilled. Leila Nagamine

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enter your review title here.

Dined on May 10, 2016

This was our first time at 53 by the Sea and it was definitely worth the wait. The staff provided excellent service.. from the time we exited our car and entered the front doors to entering our car to leave. The food was excellently prepared and delicious .. everything was just perfect! Thank you again !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife and I arrived 10 minutes early to o ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Wife and I arrived 10 minutes early to our reservation. The valet checked us in before we even entered the restaurant!! As soon as we walked in the door they met me and addressed me by name. Just can't speak enough about how MUCH this place got right!! Will be going back on a Friday so we can see the Fireworks from the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service! The hostess overhea ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Exceptional service! The hostess overheard me saying it was a bit chilly, so she lowered the thermostat in our area and brought a blanket. Clear view of Diamond Head and Waikiki right on the water where we could also enjoy watching boats return to the harbor. Magnificent architecture! Highly recommend for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The crab cake appetizer is terrific! Lob ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The crab cake appetizer is terrific! Lobster bisque is absolutely delicious. We ordered two surf and surf entrees and we're able to feed myself and the wife and kid on the two plates. Great food.

food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the Shrimp Cocktail, it had 5 ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ordered the Shrimp Cocktail, it had 5 gigantic shrimp! Nice and with a slight crunch. We also had the Panko Eggplant with a light sweet sauce drizzled on the top. Yummy! Surf and surf included 4-5 large shrimps and about 3-4 pieces of King Crab served over potato purée and broccolini. The seafood was so fresh and flavorful. Another guest had their lamb. He said that it was the best lamb ever! Our 90 year old guest of honor ate the Chilean Sea Bass, she ate everything on her plate! We shared two deserts, the Coconut Haupia with Coconut Ice Cream and the other that I can't recall its name but included the word, Affocado. It included kanten, sorbet, raspberries, strawberries, blackberries with condensed milk poured over it. Both were good, not outstanding.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.