About 53 by the Sea

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Chef Thomas Ho’s artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Amuse Bouche - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Seafood Linguine - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Filete Mignon - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Pink Grapefruit Cocktail - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Seafood Platter - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
53 Seafood Showcase - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Broiled Mackerel - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Sweet Potato Cake - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Arugala Salad - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Bisque - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Seafood carpaccio - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Niçoise salad - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Dessert - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Poke - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Proscuitto - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Eggplant Cioccolato - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
53 Pineapple Tart and Vanilla Bean Gelato - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Hot Creme Tart With Gelato - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Mahi Mahi - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Salmon - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Shrimp Scampi - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Escargot - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Sashimi Style Ahi with Fresh Nalo Farms Greens - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Mint Blend- Full Leaf Herbal Infusion - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Grilled Opakapaka with Okinawan Sweet Potato Puree - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
By the Sea Spaghettini Frutti de Mare - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Hot Cream Cheese Honey Pie and Vanilla Bean Gelato - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Pan Seared Ahi with Light Sweet and Sour Sauce - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Grilled Veal Chop - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Spaghetti ai Frutti di Mare Piccanti - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Tiramisu - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Seafood - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Opakapaka - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (35)
Scenic View (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Waterfront (29)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Live Music (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Family Style (5)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely experience. Good food. Service ju ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely experience. Good food. Service just a little slow tonight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was my first time here. Well worth it ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

It was my first time here. Well worth it. Along with the atmosphere and food, the staff was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Modern Decor, , Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jordan was the best waiter!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Jordan was the best waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely lovely venue and quiet enough ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Absolutely lovely venue and quiet enough that it was comfortable talking - even for a group.

I did not particularly like my entree; but, that was my own fault. The appetizers and the "free" delicious bread made up for it. It is quite pricey and the wine pour is scanty at best. That being said, the atmosphere makes it worth it especially if you go early enough to catch the view with all its colors. The wait-staff is well trained and very attentive. I wish there was actual parking instead of just valet. Given that so many expensive restaurants have zero view, this gives 53 an added star in my book.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, delicious food, wonde ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food, wonderful ambience, beautiful view. Thoroughly enjoyed our experience at 53 by the Sea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Myself and my significant other was very ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Myself and my significant other was very impressed with the food, service and overall ambiance. We would definitely love to return and also tell others to dine there as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, , Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ハワイの中で1番でした。ミッシェルズなども行きましたが、サーヴィス力桁違い。クリ ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 2, 2017

ハワイの中で1番でした。ミッシェルズなども行きましたが、サーヴィス力桁違い。クリュッグ2000とシーフードの相性が抜群。spécialitéのcaviarも半端なく良かった。

ここ最高です。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's special restaurant!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's special restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great view with Diamond Head and Waikiki ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great view with Diamond Head and Waikiki beach.

Superb cuisine with a great presentation.

Excellent staff with great service. Very friendly and professional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our drinks were always empty. We had to ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our drinks were always empty. We had to stop the staff numerous times for things. We should not have to flag them down especially for the prices that we're paying!

The manager was not friendly at all and did not apologize when we asked for a different glass because it was cracked. There was no offer to comp the drink but the least he could have done was apologize and when he brought back the drink and just dropped the drink without filling the other empty glasses!

Really, really poor service! Funny thing though, the Japanese people seemed to be getting way better service than us local people!

People of Hawaii, if you want to feel prejudice go to 53 By the Sea!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

We were treated very well from everyone ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were treated very well from everyone that worked there. They made it feel like an important place. The atmosphere was so so considering the great view but too much glare at night off the big windows so not as good as we hoped. We have oysters and raw seafood assortment to start and both were great. I had a ribeye which was as close to perfect as you can get. Basically all the food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We loved the food and service. The waite ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We loved the food and service. The waiter's were outstanding. Everyone was so polite and helpful. Awesome for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's difficult to find a restaurant with ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It's difficult to find a restaurant with an outstanding lunch or brunch menu these days. I was very disappointed after sampling several lunch menus for other places I have frequented in the past and found that the offerings are either pedestrian or way overpriced for the cuisine. I found that Fifty-Three by the Sea, however, prepares outstanding lunch selections. Because of that, I am confident in recommending lunch or dinner there to my friends.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, great service..it's also a g ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, great service..it's also a good feeling that they know that you're celebrating a special occasion and they let you know right off the bat and I think that goes a long way...

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the moment we arrived, we were made ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome, even though we were not dressed appropriately, even for lunch. (We were out walking and decided to find a great place for lunch, before we returned to our hotel to change. The host told us not to worry and our server, Nick, advised that super casual was ok for lunch.) The service was excellent and the food was even better, in presentation, quality of ingredients, preparation and most importantly taste. The beef short rib appetizer was tender and moist and delicious. The Ahi was fresh and perfectly accompanied. Thank you for a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant well prepared gourmand experienc ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Elegant well prepared gourmand experience served by knowledgable staff. Also a dining room with a view! And what a view! The entire length of Ala Moana and Waikiki! Been here twice during my 6 weeks in Honolulu and have been pleased both times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, great good. The portions ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great service, great good. The portions can be considered small, buy if you are ordering appetizers, entrees and desserts they are just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Gave this place a second chance. Did not ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Gave this place a second chance. Did not have a good first experience but decided to give them another try. Service was slow - our water was empty frequently. The main server wasn't the greatest; not exactly the friendliest and not what I expected from such an establishment - a little passive/aggressive and a little impatient/rushed. I signed the bill and he took it away while we were still at the table. We didn't stay long afterward we finished dessert, maybe 10 minutes if that. Just felt rushed. Food was average. Overpriced for sure but nothing to write home about. The risotto was not creamy. The snapper was overcooked. The ribeye my cousin said was okay. The risotto croquette special was good per his girlfriend. Tomato avocado salad she liked. My cousin liked the crab cakes. I had the lobster bisque which was creamy but $18. My husband ordered the seafood tower, waaaaaay overpriced. We shared the chocolate lava cake (very good) and my cousin shared the haupia creme brulee which they enjoyed. WILL DEFINITELY NOT RETURN NOR RECOMMEND. There are better places with a beautiful view, delicious food, and better service than here. Should go back to being John Dominis. :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Wine list was amazing, views were amazin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wine list was amazing, views were amazing - food was not. They have some work to do in that department.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Their Xmas brunch special was amazing! ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Their Xmas brunch special was amazing! Everything was perfectly flavored!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a pre-fixed menu @$95 + foie gras ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a pre-fixed menu @$95 + foie gras as extra. Food was ok and not you would expect for the price. The foie gras was in with the lobster tail and sauce. Huh, why would you mix the foie gras with lobster tail and sauce? Took away from the foie gras. Besides that ambience and service was very good. Just wished the food would of lived up the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Family got one of the private rooms at 5 ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Family got one of the private rooms at 53. The waiter Matt was great even helping turn down the lights when the Hilton fireworks started at 745. This is a favorite of ours as it is great food with an amazing ambience. If you want a private room highly recommend this location and talk to Tracy. She is great to help people get this all done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good meal.

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome tasting menu! Really good and at ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Awesome tasting menu! Really good and attentive service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Attentive staff from valet to departure. ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Attentive staff from valet to departure. Food was delicious and presentation appealing. Our son who has lived in oahu for 18 years never knew of 53's existence and is quite the patron of fine restaurants, Thot it a real find and plans to be back! Spectacular view of Diamondhead, surfers and sailing boats coming and going. Delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

料理は非常に美味しかったし、サービスも行き届いてました。素晴らしいです。

 
 (東京)·Dined on December 19, 2016

料理は非常に美味しかったし、サービスも行き届いてました。素晴らしいです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took my daughter and friends for her ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We took my daughter and friends for her UH Manoa graduation...Beautiful like a movie set.Service impressive. Lobster pasta bland and over cooked .. fish was good but not amazing.All dishes seemed to need more flavor. I would try it again with just my husband.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Brought my mother and daughter to celebr ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Brought my mother and daughter to celebrate my mother's 79th birthday. Excellent service from the valet in the parking lot to door attendant to the host and servers. Beautiful exterior as well as interior. We were sat right away with a view of Honolulu harbor. It was a beautiful day for dining at 53 By The Sea. The ambiance and service was perfect: the food servers were professional and respectful: not too intrusive and the food portions were excellent - not too small, nor too big. The restaurant is kept very clean and the restrooms are a delight to use as they have bidet-style toilets with ample room in the stalls. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining room is too dark for my taste ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The dining room is too dark for my taste. Otherwise, great place, great view.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was awesome from everyone an ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service was awesome from everyone and the atmosphere was amazing. What an incredible location and they took full advantage of the view with their arrangement of the seats.

The challenge was that their food wasn;t very good. The sashimi was good, however the lobster didn;t have much flavor and the coctail sauce for the crab tasted like ketchup. The seared scallops with eggplant tasted like it was cooked in BBQ sauce which just didn;t taste very good. The macnut crusted mahi was alright. Desserts were not special.

This place could be amazing if they would serve better tasting food. The entry area with the staircase was gorgeous too....such a shame the food didn;t match the service or the location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We were so excited to go to 53 By The Se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We were so excited to go to 53 By The Sea. Service was uncongenial - robotic, going-through-the-motions, no eye contact, and no sincerity. Eric (back server) was the most hospitable out of everyone. Will (server) approached us as if he could care less about our satisfaction or experience. The space is beautiful, but unfortunately, service and attention to detail is extremely lacking in the fundamentals of hospitality.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Love the jazz music, sat at the right ta ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Love the jazz music, sat at the right table. Thanks for following

on my request. Looking forward in dining and listening

instrumental jazz again in 5-6 months. Oh yes, the food was

great. Foie gras is melt in your mouth, close your eyes and

just enjoy it. The lobster pasta was great but too much pasta

and the extra scallops where again a melt in your mouth, eyes

closed experience. The surf and surf was great, already peeled

and one did not have to work at getting at the good stuff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Tomahawk Ribeye very nice, bi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had the Tomahawk Ribeye very nice, big piece of meat!

They did not have the Halibut, so my wife got the snapper but the snapper was not soft.

The sauce was nice.

The dessert was great, green tea lava cake.

It was a Friday night and great view of the fireworks.

Very memorable night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service , typical of more ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food and service , typical of more recent visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Worth the money. Will definitely return ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Worth the money. Will definitely return in the near future!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambience. Excellent servi ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great food and ambience. Excellent service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely worth it. Food was great, se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Definitely worth it. Food was great, service amazing, we were there on Friday evening ate dinner inside and enjoyed deserts and coffee out side by the water and watched the fireworks. It was so romantic. If you are looking for good view, fancy restaurant and great food try it out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, , Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our lunch was disappointing in several r ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our lunch was disappointing in several respects but mostly because the portions seemed so small. For example, my husband had the 'catch of the day' which consisted of a small piece of grilled white fish atop some asparagus spears with several Roma tomatoes. He is of average build and size, and still felt hungry after lunch. My crustacean sandwich was one of the most expensive dishes ($35), but the lobster had little flavoring and the crab seemed to be mostly mayo. All in all, it was a disappointing experience. But, our window-side view of Waikiki and Diamond head and the beach and ocean was superb.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Perfect chef prepared meals. Everything ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Perfect chef prepared meals. Everything looked like art!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a wonderful night with an spectac ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was a wonderful night with an spectacular view, incredible food, amazing service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.