About 53 by the Sea

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Chef Thomas Ho’s artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
Amuse Bouche
Seafood Linguine
Filete Mignon
Pink Grapefruit Cocktail
Seafood Platter
53 Seafood Showcase
Broiled Mackerel
Arugala Salad
Sweet Potato Cake
Lobster Bisque
Seafood carpaccio
Niçoise salad
Dessert
Poke
Proscuitto
Eggplant Cioccolato
53 Pineapple Tart and Vanilla Bean Gelato
Hot Creme Tart With Gelato
Mahi Mahi
Salmon
Escargot
Shrimp Scampi
Grilled Opakapaka with Okinawan Sweet Potato Puree
Sashimi Style Ahi with Fresh Nalo Farms Greens
Mint Blend- Full Leaf Herbal Infusion
Grilled Veal Chop
Pan Seared Ahi with Light Sweet and Sour Sauce
Hot Cream Cheese Honey Pie and Vanilla Bean Gelato
By the Sea Spaghettini Frutti de Mare
Spaghetti ai Frutti di Mare Piccanti
Seafood
Opakapaka
Tiramisu

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Romantic
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
6 More
Contemporary American
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Romantic
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu
Contemporary American
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

special occasion (107)
scenic view (105)
romantic (93)
See All
fit for foodies (46)
great for lunch (38)
notable wine list (31)
good for groups (21)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for brunch (15)
great for outdoor dining (12)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The lack of vegetarian dishes...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

The lack of vegetarian dishes...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This was a lovely find! I have lived on ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was a lovely find! I have lived on Oahu for 25 years. I wanted to find somewhere new and different for a special dinner occasion. I'm so glad I found 53 by the Sea! It was a magnificent dinner! Great menu, terrific service, drinks and food were off the charts. The only downside for me was that it was noisy. The accoustics aren't so great and there were loud, noisy tables right next to us. Since I was there for a romantic, intimate dinner, this was not ideal for me personally in this instance. But other than that I am super glad I stumbled upon such a wonderful Restaraunt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's pricey, but you get what you pay fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

It's pricey, but you get what you pay for...excellent food and service! This was the perfect place for our anniversary. If you tell them ahead of time, they go above and beyond to make it special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was perfect We enjoyed celebrating ou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was perfect

We enjoyed celebrating our Anniversary there.💕💕

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood was excellent and cooked per ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

The seafood was excellent and cooked perfectly. The steak was a little overdone but lean and tender. But overall we were treated like royalty and the service was superb. We had a nice birthday celebration with a perfect window table that overlook the ocean. Will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place has one of the best water vie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This place has one of the best water views you can find. The building is magnificent. The kitchen keeps going through changes of chefs and hasn't quite found it's perfect balance yet. The lunch we had was adequate but not spectacular. The prices are high as expected for the quality of the food but the view makes you want to overlook them. They had great ice tea. Sad to say that was the best thing about our lunch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

First time visit since the change over f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First time visit since the change over from John Dominis. Beautiful view through large windows of Diamond Head and surfers. Must be very romantic at night. Wasn't expecting

much in terms of the food but was pleasantly surprised by the three course lunch meal. Everything was great except for the fly buzzing around our table. Also they kept letting guests out onto the lanai through a door right next to our table; which is probably what let the fly in. The wait staff was good except the waiter kept interrupting our meal to ask if we were done with each course even when only half of it had been eaten as if he was in a rush to go somewhere more important. It made us feel rushed. Its a shame for such a "high class" establishment in what was for the most part a pleasant experience. I think I will spend my hard earned dollars elsewhere in the future.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I had the Lamb Chops, wife had the Filet ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I had the Lamb Chops, wife had the Filet. Both really good but my son had the Chicken and it was Dry and disappointing.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! Great food, great ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful experience! Great food, great service, amazing ambiance and view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to cap off my birthday vacation ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went to cap off my birthday vacation week and it was fabulous. Our table was not ready when we arrived, but we were offered a prime seat at the bar to watch the fireworks over the water during our wait. The food was wonderful and so was the staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service with one o ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always great food and service with one of the best views in all of O'ahu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Scenic view was one of the top three in ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Scenic view was one of the top three in Honolulu. Robster % crub sandwich was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good restaurant that is spectacular ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very good restaurant that is spectacular inside with a grand staircase and scenic views. Very good food as well. It's a hidden gem that I highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous place, my 3rd time here and it' ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Gorgeous place, my 3rd time here and it's always worth it. I love everything about this place, love posing on the grand stairs, my friends who never experienced this place enjoyed our dinner, I celebrated my birthday and thankful for the birthday cake. I will come again and again and I'm sure won't get tired of this place. Thank you.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was excellent from the minute we ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was excellent from the minute we stepped out of the car. We will definitely be back again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great service. Modest portio ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great food. Great service. Modest portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

True 5 start food , setting, views and s ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

True 5 start food , setting, views and service. We enjoyed the chefs special menu and you surprised us with excellent wine pairing. The kids even ate everything and enjoyed the setting as well.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a very good experience dining at ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It was a very good experience dining at this restaurant. Very atmosphere. I will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior valet service. It was the perf ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Superior valet service. It was the perfect touch that my car was waiting for us with doors open, as we left. Bravo! Very attentive and friendly waiters. Venue and view is beyond compare. The quality of the food was not on point.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice views, great service, food medium, ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Nice views, great service, food medium, nothing special.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed my lunch here, as always. The vi ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed my lunch here, as always. The view is so beautiful and the food is good. The service is great. Highly recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Decided to bring my husband here for Fat ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Decided to bring my husband here for Father's day. It was our first time here for the both of us and from the time we arrived to the time we left everything was perfect. The food was delicious, the service was wonderful and the view was beautiful. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wedding photo shoots are very bother ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The wedding photo shoots are very bothersome and distracting to the ambiance. Should schedule them during non-meals hours. They were there blocking the entrance before we entered and they were still there when we were leaving. The entire entrance foyer was occupied by the wedding party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Spectacular view and even better with ou ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Spectacular view and even better with outdoor seating, but may be too warm for lunch. Dinner was perfect and great view of Friday fireworks. Food was appropriately priced. Was expensive but definitely felt we got our money's worth. Great spot for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First Time Experience

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were blown away as soon as we walked in. It was so different from its previous life. The service was outstanding and the food was great. Looking forward to the next time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Starters were outstanding And of cours ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Starters were outstanding And of course the view is magical

Tables are far apart giving you privacy and quiet in elegant surrounding. Not expensive for the quality of food and service.

I spent the same yesterday for a very mediocre lunch at Ala Moana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was excellent and the view spectacular.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We went here for our anniversary. The food was amazing and the service was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palace for events upstairs yummy dining downstairs

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The ambience is quiet and sparkling, with fabulous food and a fabulous ocean/diamondhead view. You can wear your diamond earrings but relax completely and settle in for conversation by the sea

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent romantic dinner! My husband an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Excellent romantic dinner! My husband and I chose 53 by the sea to celebrate a wedding anniversary based on recommendations of friends and online ratings. They did not disappoint. We ordered the 6 course tasting menu w/wine pairing. Each dish was well executed. Ambiance was spectacular, we were there for sunset and enjoyed watching the surfers before sun went down. Wine pours were generous and although the courses were small portion size, we did not leave hungry. The service was a true standout. The teamwork was impressive and they even brought an extra personalized dessert to mark our anniversary. Highly recommend for special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Foodie Destinatation

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

53 by the Sea is in my top 5 restaurants list. A must visit destination for foodies who want excellent service, with outstanding delicacies and a romantic view. We will be back on the next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great first experience!!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

It was a great first experience here. We both enjoyed the beautiful and quiet scenery as well as the food and awesome service we received!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon my arrival Trina was so welcoming.. ...

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Upon my arrival Trina was so welcoming...however; I was truly disappointed when the hostess took myself and my guest to our table.

It was a surprise birthday celebration that I had personally called and spike to the gentlemen that answered the phone( can't remember his name) he also repeated that it was a surprise!!! as soon as the hostess greeted us to seat us she said happy birthday! My eyes rolled with disappointment...

My guest had no idea that I was celebrating her birthday. That made the entire night unenjoyable for me.

Devin our waiter was nice however; each time a table came in we didn't see him and had to ask where he went. There were so many other buser, waiter and who know who else came to our table. At times I had to wave my help for assistance when I really needed something.

The other unprofessional service was when they kept telling me at the end of our dinner that the dessert was on the house. Honestly, the entire dinner should have been on the house. My bill was $200.00 and I still tipped them 20% a $40.00 tip what was I thinking...

I didn't want to embarrass my friend she knows how generous I am with tips therefore I didn't want to make it any different since she had enjoyed her dinner.

Trina was gracious and I hoped the entire ambiance and service was the same. I looked forward to a beautiful evening...

I would not recommend this restaurant because of this terrible experience I encounter. It was so disappointing.

The staff should be trained with professionalism , know how to read a guest request when it is states SURPRISE!!! On the reservation ...

And to be taught not to repeat something is on the house from the restaurant honestly no class!!!

Word of mouth is so important especially with the circle of influence I associate with...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Excellent Food and View from Reataurant

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were celebrating my wife's best friend's surprise birthday at the restaurant for lunch.

Food was excellent, as they are always. The only problem we had was the slow service. It took 2 hours until we completed our lunch and receive the check.

There were some wedding parties held at different area of the restaurant, so maybe they were short on staffs, but they shouldn't make other regular customers to feel that.

Overall, we still strongly recommend this place, especially for dinner for special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was our second experience dining he ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This was our second experience dining here. Quality of food, service, ambiance is still outstanding. It is a little pricey, but the food and view are worth it. Our only complaint was that they don't serve a starch with the entree, so if you want a starch, you have to pay. It was $3.50 for a scoop of rice, and $25 for a mushroom risotto (excellent!). But overall, this restaurant is definitely a place to go for a truly fine dining experience. And the service is wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid food, great food, better off to ea ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Solid food, great food, better off to eat there in light as you get a great view of the ocean. At night not much to see.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

special spectacular views for lunch or dinner

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

second time I booked this for special occasion for lunch. perfect both times. excellent service, food, parking. the only bummer is that it is jewel in the middle of a terrible area, due to homelessness. hope that gets fixed and no doubt would turn around some folks. but give it a chance, and you will amazed. it is worth the risk. this is the old John Dominis Restaurant and did a good job of repurposing and redefining the entire space. you would never never know. kind of sad, but that is progress. I can see why Japanese visitors want to get married here. it is a perfect venue. too bad the drive up is so ugly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed for a first time here. Alt ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Disappointed for a first time here. Although the service and ambiance was good the overall quality of the food for a 4 star was lacking. Although a good wine selection, a bit overpriced in comparison to similar restaurants in the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We were delighted with our dining experi ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We were delighted with our dining experience here. The restaurant itself provides a tremendous view of Diamond Head in an upscale mansion setting. The food is the real star here though. Everything is expertly prepared and presented, salads and entrees, and the attention to detail by the chefs is evident. Food is spectacular, the service outstanding and the evening memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The staff were nice. Love the risotto, the shrimp were huge but was overcooked though. The place was clean. Love that the place is bright and doesn't feel dark and tight. We'll come back.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This place is perhaps one of the most el ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This place is perhaps one of the most elegant restaurants in Hawaii. Upon arriving and entering you feel like you're entering a billionaire's mansion. The service is top notch, attentive, friendly, and helpful. The view overlooking the water is fabulous; rivaling any other restaurant view on the island. The dining room ambience is also elegant. We were there for a late (8:00pm) Sunday dinner and it felt like we were in our own private dining room with personal butlers and waiters. The only disappointment is that the food, though presented quite nicely, did match. Tasty but not top chef quality. Our orders included chicken, steak, scallops, fish, mushrooms stuffed with escargot (this was a tasty dish), Caesar salad, and wine. Everything was quite good but not quite among the best we've had at the other fine dining restaurants in Honolulu. The expected "pop" in taste seemed to be missing. Nevertheless, the whole experience was very nice and worth repeating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.