About 53 by the Sea

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Chef Thomas Ho’s artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
Contemporary American
Hawaii
5 More
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Romantic
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu
Contemporary American
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

scenic view (110)
special occasion (108)
romantic (90)
See All
fit for foodies (43)
great for lunch (42)
notable wine list (39)
good for groups (19)
great for outdoor dining (19)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for brunch (14)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (6)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Disappointed for a first time here. Alt ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Disappointed for a first time here. Although the service and ambiance was good the overall quality of the food for a 4 star was lacking. Although a good wine selection, a bit overpriced in comparison to similar restaurants in the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted with our dining experi ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We were delighted with our dining experience here. The restaurant itself provides a tremendous view of Diamond Head in an upscale mansion setting. The food is the real star here though. Everything is expertly prepared and presented, salads and entrees, and the attention to detail by the chefs is evident. Food is spectacular, the service outstanding and the evening memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is perhaps one of the most el ...

Dined 6 days ago

This place is perhaps one of the most elegant restaurants in Hawaii. Upon arriving and entering you feel like you're entering a billionaire's mansion. The service is top notch, attentive, friendly, and helpful. The view overlooking the water is fabulous; rivaling any other restaurant view on the island. The dining room ambience is also elegant. We were there for a late (8:00pm) Sunday dinner and it felt like we were in our own private dining room with personal butlers and waiters. The only disappointment is that the food, though presented quite nicely, did match. Tasty but not top chef quality. Our orders included chicken, steak, scallops, fish, mushrooms stuffed with escargot (this was a tasty dish), Caesar salad, and wine. Everything was quite good but not quite among the best we've had at the other fine dining restaurants in Honolulu. The expected "pop" in taste seemed to be missing. Nevertheless, the whole experience was very nice and worth repeating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great for Anniversaries

Dined on May 18, 2016

My partner and I came here on a recommendation from a friend, and we were not disappointed. The decor is majestic and the food is wonderful. Also, the cocktails are very nice. This is definitely a place to go for special occasions and celebrations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my husbands 1st time & his birthd ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

It was my husbands 1st time & his birthday. We were seated at a nice table next to the window. The view was breathtakingly beautiful. Good Food, Good Drinks, & Great Service!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, 53 was terrific. Was a littl ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

As always, 53 was terrific. Was a little hesitant about booking at first since the menu had changed. The food we ordered was even better than our last visit. Loved it.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kind of off the beaten path but just an ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Kind of off the beaten path but just an awesome place for excellent interesting food and a spectacular view of Waikiki and the Kakaako shore. Helpful, friendly staff, we will definitely be back every time we're in the islands. Mahalo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Gorgeous view, food doesn't disappoint

Dined on May 16, 2016

Food is great, view isspectacular, service is generally excellent, even the valet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a view! Delicious food and empecab ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

What a view! Delicious food and empecable service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was impeccable, we had 2 waiters for the 2 of us. We were seated in a love seat lookin out the floor to ceiling glass windows with views of Diamond Head and Waikiki. The food was delicious and just the right portion size. We order lobster bisque, and crab cakes for appetizer dinner we had the sea scallops and the special which was monchong. Dessert was the chocolate lava cake and they gave us a slice of strawberry shortcake for our anniversary. It was a great night and would definitely recommend for a special occasion. The valet was complimentary and they also checked you is so when you walked into the restaurant they took you immediately to your table.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Desserts were amazing. Server seemed a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Desserts were amazing. Server seemed a little distracted when he was helping us and the view was outstanding as always.

food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Been eating here since they changed from ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Been eating here since they changed from John Dominus, but this time the service was lacking. Lacking very much. So, I give them a 2 for service. Was pretty bad, since we didn't order a bottle of wine and the other tables did and got great service. That's good enough as I wrote a long descriptive story on a travel site. The food is good. Scenic views are awesome. Your choice

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd recommend 53 by the Sea to anyone wh ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I'd recommend 53 by the Sea to anyone who seeks a special experience. The view is absolutely beautiful. The ambience is peaceful and elegant. The food is delicious, tastefully presented and affordable for such a lovely setting. Service is impeccable and friendly. We also had a Christmas party last year for a group of around 25. The catering manager worked with us to create a special menu, printed our logo on the menus which were presented to each attendee. It's the attention to detail that is very impressive. Our ladies were thrilled. Leila Nagamine

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enter your review title here.

Dined on May 10, 2016

This was our first time at 53 by the Sea and it was definitely worth the wait. The staff provided excellent service.. from the time we exited our car and entered the front doors to entering our car to leave. The food was excellently prepared and delicious .. everything was just perfect! Thank you again !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife and I arrived 10 minutes early to o ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Wife and I arrived 10 minutes early to our reservation. The valet checked us in before we even entered the restaurant!! As soon as we walked in the door they met me and addressed me by name. Just can't speak enough about how MUCH this place got right!! Will be going back on a Friday so we can see the Fireworks from the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service! The hostess overhea ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Exceptional service! The hostess overheard me saying it was a bit chilly, so she lowered the thermostat in our area and brought a blanket. Clear view of Diamond Head and Waikiki right on the water where we could also enjoy watching boats return to the harbor. Magnificent architecture! Highly recommend for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The crab cake appetizer is terrific! Lob ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The crab cake appetizer is terrific! Lobster bisque is absolutely delicious. We ordered two surf and surf entrees and we're able to feed myself and the wife and kid on the two plates. Great food.

food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the Shrimp Cocktail, it had 5 ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ordered the Shrimp Cocktail, it had 5 gigantic shrimp! Nice and with a slight crunch. We also had the Panko Eggplant with a light sweet sauce drizzled on the top. Yummy! Surf and surf included 4-5 large shrimps and about 3-4 pieces of King Crab served over potato purée and broccolini. The seafood was so fresh and flavorful. Another guest had their lamb. He said that it was the best lamb ever! Our 90 year old guest of honor ate the Chilean Sea Bass, she ate everything on her plate! We shared two deserts, the Coconut Haupia with Coconut Ice Cream and the other that I can't recall its name but included the word, Affocado. It included kanten, sorbet, raspberries, strawberries, blackberries with condensed milk poured over it. Both were good, not outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Great food. Beautiful ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent service. Great food. Beautiful view.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

thank for splendid correspondence.

Dined on May 3, 2016

On May 3, 2016, I had a lunch. All the dishes were really delicious, and the view from a window was the best, too. Thank Mr. Hirota for its help very much. Parents and daughters thank you for great satisfaction, too. In addition, I look forward to the day when I can visit it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on April 26, 2016

At the end of our lunch the restaurant presented a plate of cake with a special anniversary congratulations with their two names spelled out in chocolate. My daughter and her husband were totally impressed with the entire meal and outstanding service.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Very pleasant. Wait staff well trained.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Very pleasant. Wait staff well trained.

food5
ambience5
service5

The beautiful view we had and the wonder ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The beautiful view we had and the wonderful/quick service.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a very nice restaurant off the b ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant off the beaten path. First, it is beautiful inside- very elegant. Our wait staff, led by Wil, was top notch- their attention level was absolutely perfect. I had the tasting menu with wine pairing and it was the perfect amount of food. My husband asked for a special chef selection with no restriction on cost or food type. I highly recommend going in this direction if you are not on a budget and enjoy being pampered. The chef clearly enjoyed showcasing his talents... And he is very talented! To put it simply, we were delighted with our meals. We have both eaten in Michelin-ranked restaurants all over the globe, and we would put this near the top of our experiences. This is the perfect venue to impress someone and live decadently for a night. We had no special occasion to celebrate, but it would have been perfect for an anniversary or birthday. It was a last minute, rainy day dining choice for us and I am so glad we did it. The staff treated us like royalty. It was a night to remember, and we will definitely recommend it to friends.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good overall

Dined on April 17, 2016

It was lovely overall. The food was good, but the view was to die for. A good place to go for a romantic, quiet evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

pretentious but good

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent seafood. Delightful service. High proced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

pretty and not on the beaten path

Dined on April 14, 2016

Whereas the food is good it is overrated and expensive. It is attractively presented and the service is fine. However, we got a waiter with little knowledge of wine and this was a deterrent. As so many places in Hawaii, we accept this but it certainly is not a San Francisco normal for all aspects of dining out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

What is missing?

Dined on April 12, 2016

This restaurant supports a building built around being a wedding site. The views from the restaurant are very special. The staff were welcoming and attentive. We shared a very good Caesar salad. Our entrees of the macadamia encrusted Mahi Mahi and the Sea Bass were very tasty. Even though each of the elements were there, something about the dining room was missing. Perhaps, we were comparing to the other outstanding dinners of the week but this was a once and done visit for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It was "ok"

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is definitely a locals place but there was something a bit cold about the room. The service was outstanding but I felt a little isolated from other tables making it a bit of a staged experience. The wine selections for the 5 course meal were ok. We are food people and love both casual as well as 5 star dining experiences in new york, SF , paris etc but mostly we need thefood, the room and the experience to gel. The food was good but needs to step up a bit for the price. m

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful dining experience

Dined on April 10, 2016

As a special place to go for my birthday, 53 By The Sea met and even exceeded all of our expectations. The restaurant is beautiful, the service was outstanding , and the food was delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Restaurant

Dined on April 5, 2016

The atmosphere and view are great! The service is outstanding. The food is delicious. Everytime we visit Honolulu we will return to 53 By The Sea!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite food by the sea

Dined on April 4, 2016

Apparently there are chapels and banquet halls upstairs, which carry on the weddings and receptions the place was built to accommodate. The restaurant is beautifully lit, juts out over the ocean and showcases a surf spot. The food may be the best I have had in Honolulu. Euro-Asian fusion featuring beautiful fish and meat dishes. Divine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 4, 2016

We had fabulous dining experience at 53 but the Sea! Everything was wonderful, the food, the service and also the beautiful view. Yes we will go back and yes you should also dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Been here 3 times, twice impressed but o ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Been here 3 times, twice impressed but once let down. Overall it is a nice place to have more exquisitely prepared meals with an eclectic selection. No doubt I will be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dining with an amazing view!

Dined on April 3, 2016

53 by the Sea was AMAZING! From the valet attendant to the waiters everyone was so kind, polite and respectful. Everyone greeted us by name and the entire staff was so nice. The food and drinks were delicious. The wine pairings were well done. We never felt rushed and truly enjoyed our special evening. After dinner we returned to the bar for drinks and the bartender remembered how my husband liked his martini. When we were finishing our drinks the bartender asked for our valet ticket. He went and had our car pulled around so it would be waiting for us. The hostess offered to take our picture prior to leaving! All around it was an excellent evening. I almost forgot to mention the beautiful views of Waikiki and Diamondhead! I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this restaurant! We can't wait to visit there again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

If u are in Waikiki this place is a must do. Best place on island - really. View, grandeur, ambiance, service and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The ambiance and view overlooking Diamon ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The ambiance and view overlooking Diamond Head and Pacific was outstanding! I have been here before but was disappointed in the food quality this time.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience4
service3

Food was mediocre at best. Service a bit ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Food was mediocre at best. Service a bit rushed.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful view

Dined on March 28, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Wife oredered ribeye medium rare. Came out medium well, they replaced but my food was cold by time hers came back correct. Atmosphere was excellent and beutiful view of Honolulu.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience! The drive in to 53 b ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Amazing experience! The drive in to 53 by the sea is rough but once we got there, I couldn't believe a place like this exist in Hawaii. What a GEM! Service provide by Eric and Tony the GM is beyond expectation. Food is delicious! Will definitely return.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.