Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About 53 by the Sea

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Chef Thomas Ho’s artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (52)
Special Occasion (49)
Waterfront (44)
See All
Romantic (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Business Meals (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Private Room (5)
Live Music (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Good service, ambiance and gorgeous view of diamond Head and Waikiki.

It's pricey, but acceptable if food was memorable. Sorry food is average and even below average based on the price.

Too bad...It could really be a fantastic restaurant if the food was decent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Best place to celebrate your special days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Although our ambiance started with noisy drunk diners, our overall experience was fun, romantic and special. For one night, we felt like we were on a mini vacation to France or Italy and there was no problem in the world and we were tucked away in a very secluded place far away from all the hussels and bussels of our busy world. The atmosphere and view was phenomenal! The food was good, not the greatest due to my husband's steak being cooked improperly. I don't think the cooks are steak experts or not trained well. The second time around they still didn't get it right but my husband accepted it as we waited long enough for another steak to be fired up and I was already done with my meal without him. Other than that, we enjoyed ourselves for one night and overall experience was good! If price was more affordable, we would go back again next time for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

I wish we had one in San Francisco love it .
It very nice place ,beautiful builder and really great water view with plenty stuff .
Food great and piano music .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great view, ambience, and delicious food. A hidden gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Very attentive wait staff and the food was very good as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Efficient friendly service, good food, had the filet mignon very tender asked for it rare, could have stood a little less cooking but still very good

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Whew... ok... it was my mistake that I didn't read reviews before I make a reservation.
For me food is very important.
Maybe my expectations are too high but if you are someone who can spend $4-500 for dinner please skip this restaurant.
The only thing my daughter liked was mashed potato.
About the food... please read other reviews and please take their advice.. everything either over cooked or just doesn't taste right.
If you still want to enjoy this place just go for wine and fresh sea food.
I would never go again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and service. I really appreciated that any server would help at your table in case your main server was busy at another table.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Lunch took a long time. The spacing between courses was unusually long especially when the restaurant was empty. we even had to wait awhile to get our check and pay. Perhaps the restaurant should provide quicker service to the local business person who has. to get back to work versus tourist who have more time to have a leisurely lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I went here for a birthday dinner with my fiancè and I was very impressed. Our server Matt was very friendly. It was our first time there so he kindly answered all of our questions about the menu. The food was amazing. My fiancè and I enjoyed the entire meal. The only thing that was wrong was when the expeditor came to our table to give us our food. His attitude felt very rude. But overall, 53 by the sea was a great experience and I will plan to go here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very high class but awesome service! Food was expensive but not what you expect. Portion size was big and food tasted great! Not like other high end restaurants that have small portioned dishes. The view is also amazing!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent view and service. Nice food. Server Jordan is excellent. Thank you.

However did not like the feeling that the wedding party takes precedent over restaurant guests. We were usher in and out of the "side door ". Not a good feeling!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Filet was over cooked for $35 at lunch I would have expected better. Salad ok, fish sandwich ok. I would have expected better food. Service was excellent cocktails wonderful and ambience great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Service by wait staff was excellent, very attentive

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Enjoyed the chef's degustation menu and excellent wine pairings. Will definitely dine here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Never going back . I can't even express how disappointed I am with the disrespect from the workers . The food and wine was absolutely amazing. Everything was perfect up until the end , when we were the second to last table in there and could hear the workers blatantly talking about us in the kitchen . Talking crap about customers who are dropping over $600 on a bill is not okay . Obviously if I came to your establishment I have the money to drop . Also the bartender which was the manger on duty did not know the difference between sugar and salt and rimmed our $50 Patron platinum shots with sugar . Having experience working industry , I went along with it and order the rest of our shots the same way but let him know he put sugar instead of salt on our shots . I Demanded an apology from the server and he tried to offer the tip back but it doesn't work like that so I still tipped over 20 percent . The manager on duty was new and did not handle the situation properly. When you go to establishment like this you are paying for the experience and this was the worst dining experience I've ever encountered .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with delicious meals. The lamb was absolutely perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Lovely as always 💕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 27, 2017

My wife and I went there for our 6th anniversary and we absolute loved it. The service was great and the food was delicious. They knew about our special occasion and treated us very well. They provided us with a private table with an ocean view and allowed us to enjoy the evening minimal interruption. I will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is the best meal that we had in Hawaii during our 10-day trip. We're from San Francisco, and many places in Hawaii just don't measure up to the "foodie standards" that we're lucky enough to enjoy here. 53 by the Sea is an exception. The food is delightful and inventive, with unexpected flavors and combinations. The venue is elegant and the view is great. Also, our cocktails were outstanding - truly exceptional mixology. Highly recommended for a special occasion or date night.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It began at the front door. There are three huge entryways and we were unsure which door to open. For a facility that opulent I would expect there to be a doorman or someone greeting. Further, upon entering there was no one at the front greeting area/podium. We stood there and looked about expectantly. Someone came. With reservations made weeks prior to celebrate our anniversary, and we arrived on time, they knew to expect us but acted unprepared.

The restaurant is stunning. The multi-million dollar upgrade was decorous taking full advantage of the "to die for" view of the ocean with Diamond Head in the background. The extensive walls of floor to ceiling windows allow for unobscured gazing upon the breathtaking oceanfront view by day, while by night the lights of nearby Waikiki create a dazzling display.

The food took a back seat to both the beautiful surroundings and the ambiance made more perfect by the almost magical talent of the gifted pianist whose selections garnered repeated applause from the diners. This is not to say the food was not good. Like too many restaurants who devote a wealth of resources to creating an amazing atmosphere - the food becomes an unfortunate sideshow.

Regrettably, this deficit was markedly apparent in my first course - the lobster bisque appetizer. It would be cruel to say that it tasted like seasoned dishwater with a few crumbles of lobster sprinkled about. Yet, that was my first impression. My husband tasted and agreed, commenting that it lacked body and flavor. He was delighted that he had chosen the crab cake appetizer which was tasteful and generous.

Our main course of monchong seasoned with garlic and browned butter was delicious. As a pescetarian I place high value on well prepared fish. Our dining experience concluded with a complimentary anniversary treat. In all, I find it difficult to recommend this restaurant to others without caution. But there are certainly pleasures there to enjoy.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Although a bit pricey for "regular" lunch, if you have an occasion this is a perfect place to celebrate! On a sunny day the view is absolutely spectacular!

I had the fixed menu, appetizer (ahi in kataifi) with fresh catch of the day which was monchong & dessert. The other two in the party had the steak salad.

The raspberry mousse was good but my Coconut Panna Cotta was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The service was so great as always. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent service from valet in parking lot to hostess greeting upon entry to table service from appetizer to dessert, and back to valet upon exiting. Would recommend for special occasion of every kind. Will return often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was fantastic. I am not used to the amount of special treatment, especially having the napkin opened and placed in my lap. My only issues were that our water wasn't filled regularly so I ran out of water before it was refilled, and the waiter did not ask if I was done with my food before taking it away; it was only a piece of shrimp but nonetheless.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Had dinner here with great views!! Definitely come here again! Food was great dessert was very delicious even though we were full off of our appetizer and dinner entrees. Staff was very nice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing experience. From the decor to the service to the food- everything was spot on & exceeded our expectations. What a wonderful way to celebrate our first year anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Found this place for an impromtu birthday/late valentines dinner. It was amazing! Never even thought such a gorgeous and delicious place existed in the back of Kaka'ako area. Valet entrance with water fountain, grand staircase and chandelier. When seated you are greeted by Scenic views of waikiki and diamond head. What blew us away was the menu! Starters we had the seafood platter (the variety of sashimi and oysters were amazing) and foie gras which was buttery. Entrees: My husband got the 6oz wagyu beef with roasted vegetables and potato puree. That beef melted in our mouths. I got the surf and surf, king crab and jumbo prawns with lemon buerre blanc. No complaints. Dessert: mixed berry affogato and the haupia creme brulee. My 2 ultimate desserts are haupia and creme brulee so i fell in love with 53 by the seas Haupia creme brulee! The husband loved the mixed berry affogato with the shaken strawberry cream, he almost licked the bowl. As if everything we ordered wasn't enough the servers brought a complimentary birthday strawberry shortcake which my husband also ate all of.
Everything was so delightful and yummy. What surprised us the most was the bill (and i don't mean in a bad way). You see we like to play guess the amount before we get our bill and to our surprise the total was way under our estimates. We were very happy overall and we definitely want to come back, maybe on a friday so we can catch the fireworks from the amazing view.
We highly recommend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The service and ambience were were excellent. The food itself was so so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

嵐のロケ地ということで、素晴らしいロケーションも期待して、アラモアナショッピングセンターからぶらぶら徒歩で来店。

窓からの眺めが料理を一層引き立ててくれて、友人二人でドリンク1杯づつとワンオーダーで71ドルプラスチップでした。

ランチタイムでこの価格は高いと思いますが、せっかくハワイに来てるのだから、こういうスペシャルなランチもいいかなと思います。この価格にコーヒー1杯くらい含まれていたら最高でした。

帰りは海岸で嵐のロケ地を満喫でき、そこも含めて大満足です。

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The restaurant was very pretty and the view was great. Loved the atmosphere, however the food wasnt what I expected. Very disappointed. I was expecting the food to be great for the amount that was paid. Lobster was rubbery, Shrimp was overcooked and the Lamb was bland. The desserts were great!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was good but it code have been better .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food is disappointing(not flavorful) for prices, but view is gorgeous. Caters more to Japan clientele, not very welcoming for local population.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I've been coming here quite often but this time didn't meet my expectation. Service wasn't consistent and course meal has gone down the quality. I was not happy with their dessert that they didn't put any effort to create nice final touch for end meal. It was like they already prep and just serve to the table.
Hope they will keep the better food quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 3, 2017

美味しい食材で、びっくりしました。シェフお薦めのコースが良いと思います。
堪能させて頂きました。またの機会にも利用したいと思います。

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent and great view of the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2017

one of the top 5 on this islandddddddddddddddddddddd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food, service, and ambiance is always perfect! Thank you for another memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.