Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 47 times today

53 by the Sea

4.6
1306 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Scenic View
  • Waterfront
Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Japanese chef and Local chef artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 536-5353
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hikaru Ide
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Olomehani St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking available on site.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1306 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.8
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 11 hours ago

Great food, great company. Great service by Tim and team. Had a satisfying father's day lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

One of the best restaurants in Oahu! Beautiful ambience, knowledgeable and attentive staff, incredible food, and the best wine and champagne selection on the island. Perfect upscale restaurant for any occasion! The 6-course samplings are just phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Excellent overall. Our waitress Anjela was fantastic. Great food with a wonderful view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The venue is a beautiful period mansion and the interior is elegant. My wife and I both had the Fillet Mignon with crab legs. The steak was so tender you could almost break it apart with just your fork. All of the food was exceptional. We were served by two people and constantly received attention all night. The service was first class. A must visit fine dinning experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

We came in to celebrate the wife Retirement
Service from Matt was Excellent
The food overall was really good except my Entree Veges were salty and I had to send them back
Management corrected the problem .
We will return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The service at 53 by the Sea is amazing! We had to change our reservation twice due to my attendance at a conference and sessions getting out late. So we could not arrive until 9:00PM and they were very understanding and accommodating. Our server had exceptional customer service and walked us through questions we had about the cuisine and how it was prepared. He made great recommendations and was also very mindful of the fact that I was allergic to macadamia nuts and avocados.

In addition, this restaurant has an amazing view of the harbor and skyline. Truly a gem of a place to have an elegant dinner or share a special occasion with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Appreciated the staff accommodating our time schedule. They got us out in good time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The restaurant is beautiful. The views are exceptional. The service was flawless. The bartender informed us that they were collaborating with Alan Wong and a new menu would be released in Sept. Perhaps it will improve the menu. It was ok. Prawns a bit overdone. Salad was spot on. Sauce for scallops was bland. Asparagus cooked to perfection. Don't order the pinot grigio. The house cab was very drinkable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Food was awesome. Noise keep the staff from hearing my friend a couple of time. So she had to wait for them to return.

The the most annoying thing, and most persistent, of the evening was we sat behind a guest who blew his nose ceaselessly. He would not excuse himself from dinner table.

This ruined the birthday celebration, affected the enjoyment of our dinner and the staff did not address with guest.

A huge turn-off for return visit.

I feel the staff sound notice and address comfort for all. Especially after I pointed it out to the staff as it was repeatedly being done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Simply....Everything was Perfect! From the amazing smoldering seafood showcase appetizer, to the gooey luscious lava cake and homemade vanilla bean ice cream, it was a perfect 10! Mahalo!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Dining at 53 by the Sea was a fantastic experience for our special occasion. Friendly atmosphere, nice view, delicious food selection and outstanding wait staff. We would probably return to this fine dining restaurant but probably on another special occasion. It truly was a fantastic and intimate experience for my wife and I celebrating our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Perfect place to celebrate my family's and friend's high school graduation, successful completion of first year of college and birthday. Food was delicious as always. Server was apprehensive in dealing with us, but we live here and will remain loyal customers!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Incredible food, nearly perfect service. Our reservation specified seaside window seating but we ended up having to wait 10-15 to actually get a table Oceanside (and was inside not outside as sometimes pictured).
Salad greens crisp and fresh, accented with tasty onion and citrus slices and a lightly sweet dressing.
Steak was so tender, cooked perfectly. Lobster with garlic butter was just what you would hope for. My wife’s pasta dish was so flavorful and pasta cooked flawlessly. Dessert (lava cake) was slightly runny, perhaps they rushed it a little to get it out to us. Flavor delicious combination of sweet and bitter chocolate.
Service as we ate was fully attentive to our needs without hovering.
Quiet enough to carry on an intimate conversation without having to raise your voice or read lips. Wonderful experience.
Side note: different sites list restaurant as either 53 by the Sea or Terrace by the Sea. Caused confusion to taxi driver getting us there, but no problem for Uber picking us up.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

とても素晴らしいおもてなしでした。
ワインもたくさんの種類があって選ぶのが楽しみ(^ ^)
ダイアモンドヘッドがいい眺望

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

I base my rating mainly on service. The server was courteous professional and nice. This place is amazing for both ambience and taste of food. Was a dream.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

While we ate there was a wedding couple and party alongside. Seemed like the couple should have more privacy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food was great. Had the lamb chops and hubby had the surf and surf. Our actual server was just ok, but the lady who took our drink order and refilled our water glasses was excellent, as was the bassist who was playing and singing that night. 4 stars overall. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

This was our first visit to 53 by the Sea and we were taken aback by the beautiful architecture and ambience. The waterfront view of the basin and Diamond Head were just gorgeous, especially at sunset. This served as an amazing backdrop to a truly delectable dinner. The chilled seafood showcase appetizer was exquisite, and the tomahawk steak delicious. For dessert, we sampled the green tea lava cake, mixed berry affogato, and coconut panna cotta which were simply heavenly.

53 by the Sea was simply a wonderful experience for your eyes, ears and palate. This is now my most favorite restaurant in Hawaii.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We visit 53 by the Sea every time we come to Honolulu. Ambiance, service, food, drinks and views are all A+!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

初めて食事をさせて頂き大満足でした。又、ハワイに来た時は食事に行きます。料理も美味しく、サービスも良く、景色も素晴らしく、すべて満足しました。
早速お友達にお話をしました。

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Two thumbs up!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Amazing meal and great service. Did the $100 5 course. Have done many tastings and this preparation was “spot on” with every course. The chef was fantastic. Great views of ocean and diamond head. Best meal of the week.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

First time we have visited 53 by The Sea. It was a lovely experience. The food was delicious, and the service very good. We were seated side by side at a booth table with a view of the water, which was cosy and felt very private, despite the restaurant being full. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Great food and ambience. My fave! Impeccable service and great views.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

以前も利用していましたが
今回はバースデーランチで利用させて頂きました。
とても感じが良くステキな時間を過ごす事ができました。
ありがとうございました。

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 21, 2018

This is to celebrate my hubby's birthday. We requested to be assigned at the table with good view, it was confirmed, however, nothing special from the restaurant even though we did not have any happy birthday words. We don't expect additional surprise food or dessert usually, but this is not like another fancy restaurant though we mentioned about his birthday when we made the reservation. Taste and presentation of food was not bad but they changed the chef ? We enjoyed more last year. Taking care of food preference(my hus can't have milk) was well handled, they made original pasta without white sourse for him though it was tasting menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This was our 3rd time dining at 53 by the Sea. We always enjoy the service & food. Because we dine at lunch time, it’s not busy at all so we do seem to get the best service. For this experience only, I would say a complaint is regarding the hostess who wasn’t very friendly upon our arrival. If first impressions matter, then I would be very disappointed if that was my first time entering the restaurant. She didn’t greet us with a “hello” or “good morning” but waited for us to say something first. She actually gave us a weird look as if we didn’t belong there. But after we got seated I felt comfortable with the waitress and her assistants. No worries, though, we will be back because the food is soooo yummy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

景色のいい席をリクエストしたら並び席でとてもいい景色かつ会話のしやすいテーブルでとても楽しい時間を過ごせました!
日本人スタッフの方もいてオススメなど分かり易く丁寧で大変満足です!
また利用させていただきます!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

food was tasty, service was perfrct everyone psid attention to us but not overboard!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Nice restaurant, pretty view, valet was cordial and opened our door to the restaurant, food was good and the service nice. They could have smiled more when clearing our plates and serving us, but they weren’t rude. The hostesses were friendly but their dresses were a little short. When they bent down to pull tables out their dress went up a little too high in the back for my taste. Nothing you want to see while you’re eating. And before the hostess sat us she made sure to look me up and down. Uncool. Overall, good experience and would recommend eating there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The 12 zo. Prime rib had a lot or fat. And the chicken my wife didn't like it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

海が綺麗に見えてよかったです!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

景色と雰囲気が素晴らしかったです。もちろん食事も美味しかったです。家族で行きましたが、子供用のメニューも用意してあったので助かりました。また行きたいです。

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Incredible views, magnificent ambience, fabulous dinner- simply bring the companion you love sharing an elegant dining experience with you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

No words can describe but ... totally awesome

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The only downside to our experience was the slow service. Food took extremely long to come out from cocktails to appetizer to main to dessert without any update by staff. Total time for a lunch for six was just shy of THREE hours. Not exactly office lunch friendly. Unbeatable view and ambiance and creative cuisine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

A baby crying loudly was there, and the parents were no care, continue bite dishes.
Unbelievably the staff didn’t care.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

My friend and I were celebrating our 53rd Birthdays and thought it fitting to eat at 53 by the Sea. The tasting menu was lovely and the wine pairings were thoughtfully selected to complement each dish. The service was impeccable and we will definitely return. The views of the ocean waves and Diamond Head weren’t so shabby either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We visited 53 by the Sea, which was recommended by our friend, as part of our honeymoon and for our special dinner.
To get straight to the point, the restaurant exceeded our expectation and I would rate it as the best restaurant we visited during this trip.
We were pleased with their delicious foods (with lots of local seafood) and drinks, friendly and decent servers as well as pleasant and relaxing atmosphere.
Although it was not a cheap meal, I feel the moment here worth more than what we have paid.

The only thing that I didn't like was its location.
We took the Bus to get to the closest bus stop and we needed to take a walk for five minutes or so. Within this short period of time, I could imagine that it was not a safe region.
Nevertheless, it was not a big issue after all as a generous server arranged us a taxi to take us back to our hotel.
So I would recommend using a taxi to be there in the evening.

In conclusion, 53 by the Sea is an amazing restaurant for those who want to spend some special moment with family, partner and/or friends, and I would love to be back there in the future.
Thanks to chefs and servers for their great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

どのお料理も美味しくて大満足でした。

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33