Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 31 times today

53 by the Sea

4.5
1247 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Waterfront
  • Romantic
Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Japanese chef and Local chef artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 536-5353
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hikaru Ide
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Olomehani St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking available on site.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1247 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

It was a beautiful occasion and the perfect place to do it. The only downside was the weather. Food and ambiance were delightful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated My husband 20 yrs of service with a perfect quiet dinner , the setting was ideal, service was excellent, food was a little on the salty side, my daughter enjoyed her turf surf , we also enjoyed the beautiful fire works, that complimented the evening well with celebration of 20 yrs of service. Will definitely return and try something else on the menu. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great setting, wonderful service, great menu and wine selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Our ohana came to visit us and today was their last day on island. We wanted to give them a great food and amazing views for their last evening on Oahu! 53 by the sea never disappoints us! The service is always impeccable and the food is the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

All I can say is "wow". We visited from the Mainland and tihs week we ate at all the high end restaurants in Waikiki, as we do every year. This was our first trip to 53 by the Sea. We had the Degustation Menu with Wine Pairing and it was quite good. We are not red meat eaters so the Chef accommodated us with seafood/ veg courses. The food and the wine pairings were exceptional. Views also quite nice as you get to see Waikiki and Diamond Head from Honolulu. Restaurant was quiet and service impeccable - we had a 3-waiter team and they were attentive but not obtrusive. Only thing that could have made it nicer would have been a direct outdoor seating, which doesn't seem to be available for dinner. We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

One of Oahu's best restaurants. Wonderfully crafted French, Italian, local inspired dishes and preset menus. Superb service and ambiance with arguably the best view in Oahu (coastline of Ala Moana / Waikiki / Diamond Head).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We selected 53 by the sea to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and they delivered an exceptional experience from the service to the quality of food with a creative presentation. This is a must restaurant if you are seeking a memorable dining experience
Thank you to all the staff that made our evening that more special!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We’ve had a dinner here every year when we meet up w/my family from Japan & us from Seattle. We’ve absolutely loved both the food & the service every time we visited there, so I was looking forward to it. It takes a lot to do to meet with my family living so far, so we picked here as special occasion before leaving Hawaii. BUT, we were absolutely disappointed w/the service by the server Anjela & her assistants. First of all, my mom was so shocked to see the server spilled the water when she poured (it could happen everywhere) with “no apology”. It can be seen in 1 star restaurant with the behavior. Another thing was the people assisted the server weren’t polite either. When the guy came to take our dishes away, my mom wasn’t sure if she was done. He seemed to be so annoyed. The server never asked if everything was good; she just bought the check without asking if we were done. We asked her to call a taxi when we would be done in 20 mins. While waiting, Japanese manager showed us the chapels upstairs; We thought it would be right time when done, so we thought the cab should be there, but it wasn’t. I asked the server; she said “I thought you were letting me know”, which I did 20 mins ago. I didn’t even finish talking to her, but she walked away & never came back to apologize. My husband who is American couldn’t come with us due to work. We all were Japanese this time; we’ve never been treated this way with him. I wonder we were seemed to be tourists who don’t pay enough tip or whatever to them. I’ve lived in Seattle for over 10 years, so I know how the tip works. I didn’t think it’d even worth 18% for the service at all, but we did. I’ve been to customer service industry before & was trained the customer facing position is the face of the company. It really was sad to finish the trip w/ the crappy service in the luxury restaurant & Anjela was absolutely rude at the moment we stepped in the restaurant the way she looked at us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

I took my girlfriend their for her birthday and she really loved it and so did I . The food was really delicious and flavorful the waitress was really friendly and helpful the atmosphere was great definitely going back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

The food and service was amazing. We mentioned it was our anniversary in our reservation and everyone from the valet to the manager came by to congratulate us. I had the surf and surf, a perfect meal when you want crab but don't want to get messy. My husbands scallops were cooked perfectly. We will definitely visit 53 by the sea next time we are in Honolulu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

I took my wife here for a date and it was a wonderful evening.

Breathtaking venue, amazing view, the service was absolutely too notch, and all of the food was delicious.

I highly recommend this restaurant to all couples.

We tried the seafood sampler, the lobster bisque, the 12oz ribeye, and the filet mignon with a full lobster.

I can’t go on enough about the venue, the wine selection, and the view.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 11, 2018

I thought the ambiance was beautiful, service was descent, and food was good. We felt somewhat rushed at the conclusion of our meal, knowing that we came in for a mid week dinner and they weren't very busy. I assumed staff was trying to get out early. Understandable, but not at that price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Perfect restaurant to celebrate any type of occasion. The food was delicious and the service was more than outstanding.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Took an hour and ten minutes to get our dinner served and the weight staff never even came to check on us...pretty view , terrible service!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Although our water glasses were filled pretty quickly the waitress wasn't around that much.
Especially after the meal. We waited forever for the bill.

Plus I didn't like that the two-seaters against the wall was positioned where they are staring right at us since we were by the glass window. Very uncomfortable having two people staring right at you while we are eating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Beautiful setting. We had a window seat overlooking the water with downtown Honolulu and Diamond Head in the distance. Perfect service, including the fact that we didn’t even receive the food menu’s until after we had taken our first sips of our adult beverages. They also place the napkin in your lap, changing the color to what is appropriate for your clothing (black or cream). Love that kind of attention to detail. The food was great. I had the Tasting Menu and my wife ordered the Surf-and-Surf. We shared a light salad. The wines were ordered by the glass and the server offered a taste prior to pouring. They gave us an anniversary dessert matching that shown in the pictures. The valet parking service was perfect. Definitely recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My wife and I truly enjoyed it. Everything was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My experience here was excellent!! The view, service and food were top notch! They recently changed their menu which was a pleasant surprise. The portions were just the right size. Also, the wait staff were extremely attentive and went above and beyond to accommodate any request. Definitely going back again and again!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The wedding groups make a lot of noise during your dining experience. Aside from that it is a very good venue for business meeting lunches.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Squid ink pasta taste so fishy I didn’t like it at all The lobster pasta is better but it’s not in the menu anymore.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Disappointed that they provided a menu with error and did not honor the mistake or make any compensation for the error.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Everything was great, except the servings were small. Otherwise, no complaints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

It was a delightful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We had a wonderful meal. The view was beautiful. This place is a gem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

What an awesome experience! Very roomy and a great view goes with great food. They have earned a loyal customer!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Everything about this place was nothing short of amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

お店の雰囲気、接客が良く、なにしろお料理が美味しかった。また、ハワイに行った際は立ち寄りたい。

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

My wife and I celebrated our fifth anniversary here and this was our first dinning experience. Having no other fine dinning experience makes it impossible to compare however, this was an amazing experience. We will definitely be back. We decided on the tasting menu with wine paring and everything was exquisite and very fast as well. The entire staff was very professional, from the moment we stepped out of the car to the moment we entered. Thank you for such a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Wonderful setting with terrific food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Dining room setup could have been designed better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Professional service and great dining always when I come here. My favorite fine dining place of all time. I love how the servers know how to describe whats on the menu and they have personal recommendations that are on point. Best place to splurge and feel fancy and special once in awhile.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Love the atmosphere and customer service. Food tasted fresh and was visually appealing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Best place I’ve ever eaten. The service here they treat you like your a millionaire and the food is top notch. Had my wedding Anniversary here and it was perfect.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Had pre-ordered appetizer which was not in, waitress did not attempt to double check if there were such a request. Just told us that did not get info so ordered what was on the menu. Not sure what type of cuisine the restaurant was to present. It is a miss mash of all type, no identity.
Not sure if I would be try again, service was on the slow side. Restaurant was not even half full,
but still service was a bit slow, this was lunch. Not sure if I would go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 12, 2018

My order for Medium rear,was over well done. Asparagus was black burn like. My business left their lobster spaghetti after 2 bit. I think this restaurant is over rates.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We were seated at a window table with a beautiful view of Diamond Head and Waikiki. The ambience is lovely with beautiful live music in the background. There is also quick on-site valet parking. Glenn was our server and he did an excellent job along with the rest of the staff. Lobster bisque, house salad and seared foie gras were all very good. Wine selection, both by the glass and bottle was quite good. Chocolate lava cake dessert was tasty, albeit nothing out of the ordinary. We had Surf & Surf and Macadamia nut crusted mahi-mahi for our entrees. Both entrees were unfortunately dry/over cooked and overall preparation and presentation for both should be re-evaluated as menu items. This is hard to say. The restaurant has so much to offer, but the entrees were a major drawback.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Poor service and food not meeting standards of a fine dining restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Everything was so delicious! Highly recommend for lunch I wish there was a kamaaina discount I would think more locals would come due to that and also if there was afternoon tea service it would be a amazing venue for that

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Wonderful. Watched the fireworks from the Hilton was a nice addition.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32