About 53 by the Sea

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Chef Thomas Ho’s artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
53 by the Sea
Amuse Bouche
Seafood Linguine
Filete Mignon
Pink Grapefruit Cocktail
Seafood Platter
53 Seafood Showcase
Broiled Mackerel
Sweet Potato Cake
Arugala Salad
Lobster Bisque
Seafood carpaccio
Niçoise salad
Dessert
Poke
Proscuitto
Eggplant Cioccolato
53 Pineapple Tart and Vanilla Bean Gelato
Hot Creme Tart With Gelato
Mahi Mahi
Salmon
Shrimp Scampi
Escargot
Sashimi Style Ahi with Fresh Nalo Farms Greens
Mint Blend- Full Leaf Herbal Infusion
Grilled Opakapaka with Okinawan Sweet Potato Puree
By the Sea Spaghettini Frutti de Mare
Hot Cream Cheese Honey Pie and Vanilla Bean Gelato
Pan Seared Ahi with Light Sweet and Sour Sauce
Grilled Veal Chop
Spaghetti ai Frutti di Mare Piccanti
Tiramisu
Seafood
Opakapaka

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Contemporary American
Hawaii
6 More
Best Overall
Oahu
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Romantic
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu
Contemporary American
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Scenic View (81)
Special Occasion (76)
Romantic (71)
See All
Great for Lunch (26)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Brunch (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Waterfront (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (1)
 (1)
Casual (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent dinner experience. I will be b ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dinner experience. I will be back! Scallops were spot on freshest and cooked to perfection. Seafood platter was beautifully presented and super fresh. Surf & Turf was perfect! Nothing to fault the evening was magical!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The person whom served us was very frien ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

The person whom served us was very friendly and hospitable, and valet personnel is very attentive. My husband and I are impressed. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious dishes a d exceptional service

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious dishes a d exceptional service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very please with the service. Great Mea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Very please with the service. Great

Meal. Wonderful view even when it get dark.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Business Meals, Modern Decor, People Watching, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal. We had the tast ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was phenomenal. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings and enjoyed all of it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was such an amazing place to dine f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was such an amazing place to dine for our wedding anniversary. The servers were outstanding and very attentive. The food was so delicious and hit the spot. The view couldn't have been better. It was so nice having dinner while watching the surfers ride in the waves during sunset. I highly recommend this place. You will not be disappointed!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful family dinner for us in ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was wonderful family dinner for us in Waikiki.

Dinner started around 5:30, and just before we finish starters, the sun set and gorgeous night view coming.

It was not a issue for us, but some Japanese family, one man looked like farther wear T-shirt, the other young man looked his son, wore T and had baseball cap and lady looked old man's wife wore nicely but had flip-flop were escorted 2nd low from window just behind us.

There were a lot of open tables by the window when they had a table, and the lady started yelling "We should have table by the window, look there are so many seats."

This restaurant officially requires strict dress code, but if the guest would like to have nice view seats must wear nicely, don't spoil the other guests feeling.

They were applied seats by the window but all the end of corner.

To floor manager, thank you for your smart arrangement.

We will come this restaurant back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is very elegant and the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant is very elegant and the ambiance very intimate and romantic. The menu has item to meet every persons palette. Pricing is a bit pricey but worth the portions. Definitely will return again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time with friends. Grea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had a wonderful time with friends. Great food, ambiance and our server was excellent. Would most likely go back again and highly recommend with friends.

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

beautiful view & good service. Very impr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

beautiful view & good service. Very impressed with the valet service. When we're heading to the parking lot, our car was waiting in the front of the building!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best view in Oahu. Lovely restaurant wit ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Best view in Oahu. Lovely restaurant with excellent food and service. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is located in an abandone ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The restaurant is located in an abandoned industrial area surrounded by homeless camp grounds. It is an unsafe area. I would not recommend having dinner here. As for the view, there are better places to go for the view that are much safer, I would highly recommend Halekulani Hotel (House Without a Key and Orchids) instead of 53 by the sea.

The hostess, Erin was rude and unprofessional. Terrible first impression and experience. The manager, Trina was incompetent in addressing concerns.

For a much better experience, quality, and ocean view, go to Halekulani Hotel, House without a Key and Orchids restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect atmosphere, great service and fo ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Perfect atmosphere, great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good location. Enjoyed the food. Especia ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Good location. Enjoyed the food. Especially for the special occasions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was good. My entree was a disapp ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Service was good. My entree was a disappointment . I had the duck and it was gray and I prefer my duck breast to be pink. The sauce and the nuts did not compliment the duck. I have eaten duck at a lot of restaurants from La Mer, Roys, Nobu etc and this place did not deliver. I did not care for the steak or lobster appetizer either. I will say the desserts stole the show and the desserts were exceptional. The green tea cake had a great texture and flavor. I will only come back to eat the desserts. Overall setting, service, and desserts were great. I would not recommend the duck because it was poorly executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The overall experience was outstanding! ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The overall experience was outstanding! A great venue for an intimate dinner and a good reason to dress up in Hawaii

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think the service is getting better th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I think the service is getting better than before. It would be better if you provide a different menus occasionally.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The location was excellent and service e ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The location was excellent and service extraordinary. The food was delicious and served in a timely manner. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was very friendly. We had the tas ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Staff was very friendly. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing, which was perfect. Food was great. Nice place to go on a special date. Venue is elegant which makes the experience worth remembering.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Outstanding in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Diamond head and ocean view was great. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Diamond head and ocean view was great. Of course, the food was good also. I would like to come again.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best part of my meal was the dessert ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The best part of my meal was the dessert. Great tea lava cake with vanilla Gelato. First I've seen it done this way and I love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had brought a bottle of wine and was m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I had brought a bottle of wine and was more than happy to pay the corkage fee but they would not let me open it as it was on their wine list. The restaurant was less than 1/2 full and it would not have hurt them to let us open it. Why not 2 prices for corkage: one if the wine you bought is on their menu and one if it is not. I have had this experience in restaurants before and find it a fair compromise. The host was very cold and did not say hello or bother to discuss the wine policy with us. He peaked around the corner to see us while the waiter was asking him if he could open the bottle of wine we brought. The fish of the day was dried out and the lamb was marginal with little flavor. Service was very nice and attentive. The view is great. Maybe a good place to go for cocktails but the meal is way overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent cuisine in their prix fixe lun ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent cuisine in their prix fixe lunch offering. Our special occasion lunch was a total success with the attentive and dramatic presentation of each dish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked medium rare filet. When I got t ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I asked medium rare filet. When I got the filet it was well done. Manager did not rectify the problem. Horrible customer service.

The area appears to be swamped with homeless camps. Not sure about the ambiance and surrounding areas.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The fresh Opakapaka was divine! The sta ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The fresh Opakapaka was divine! The staff is always attentive and respond quickly to requests. Our party had arrived late so we were in a bit of a rush. Service was prompt and excellent as always without compromising quality of experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Appetizer better than the main course. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Appetizer better than the main course. Not impressed. Not enjoyable. Stuffy. Waiters more concerned with extra silverware on/off the table and folding napkin when we left the table than the customers enjoyment

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was a 3 because we ordered 3 app ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Service was a 3 because we ordered 3 apps, 1 entree, and 1 dessert. The 3 entrees came very quickly and the entree followed right after. For a romantic dinner I would have rather had the appetizers and entree coursed. Our server was good in the beginning but, as the night carried on we were serviced by the other staff and it wasn't that busy. Overall, I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The service was excellent. The view pic ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The service was excellent.

The view picture perfect.

The bill didn't kill my wallet. I thought I was going to spend a lot more.

The oysters were to die for. I haven't had oysters taste this good since I was in Anacortes Washington.

Going back on my birthday 10/10.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was amazing. Great ambiance ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This place was amazing. Great ambiance and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Definitely a special occasion restaurant ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Definitely a special occasion restaurant. Our servers were amazing and the food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The entire dining experience at 53 By Th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The entire dining experience at 53 By The Sea was great! From the Hostess & Dining Room staff doing their jobs professionally, efficiently and happily and helping take a couple of photos. Great food and amazing views. The facility is now about 5 years old but is in pristine condition. We also appreciated the special Birthday dessert which was amazing. And even the friendly and fast parking valet helped to make the entire visit excellent. Mahalo! Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience is always amazing ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The overall experience is always amazing. The food, the ambiance, the view...and great company with friends! Can't wait to come back again.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thank you for a wonderful time at 53. T ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful time at 53. This was my first time to come to Hawaii and your place. My mother likes the sea and I'd wanted to do something for her then I chose here. I was right to do so and I really appreciate your kindness with delicious dinner. Also thank you so much for the message dessert. My mother loved it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, food, and view for a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent service, food, and view for a birthday lunch. The prix fixe special that included an appetizer, entree, and dessert was so good, we are bringing our neighbors for another birthday lunch. Fine fine-dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got to send your out of town guests to t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Got to send your out of town guests to this post card picturesque restaurant for an unforgettable aloha experience that they will keep talking about it months later.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The lack of vegetarian dishes...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The lack of vegetarian dishes...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We only went for appetizers as our 20 ye ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We only went for appetizers as our 20 year anniversary plans had changed. My Jordan wine was worth it and the view from our spot made the food taste more delicious! A bit disappointed in the sashimi carpaccio dish (bland), but everything else was delicious. Service was impeccable - felt badly that I didn't do an entree. Tomato and avocado salad is a repeat must and so is the lobster bisque. We shall return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a lovely find! I have lived on ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This was a lovely find! I have lived on Oahu for 25 years. I wanted to find somewhere new and different for a special dinner occasion. I'm so glad I found 53 by the Sea! It was a magnificent dinner! Great menu, terrific service, drinks and food were off the charts. The only downside for me was that it was noisy. The accoustics aren't so great and there were loud, noisy tables right next to us. Since I was there for a romantic, intimate dinner, this was not ideal for me personally in this instance. But other than that I am super glad I stumbled upon such a wonderful Restaraunt.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's pricey, but you get what you pay fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

It's pricey, but you get what you pay for...excellent food and service! This was the perfect place for our anniversary. If you tell them ahead of time, they go above and beyond to make it special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.