About 53 by the Sea

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Chef Thomas Ho’s artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Amuse Bouche - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Seafood Linguine - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Filete Mignon - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Pink Grapefruit Cocktail - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Seafood Platter - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
53 Seafood Showcase - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Broiled Mackerel - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Sweet Potato Cake - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Arugala Salad - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Bisque - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Seafood carpaccio - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Niçoise salad - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Dessert - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Poke - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Proscuitto - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Eggplant Cioccolato - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
53 Pineapple Tart and Vanilla Bean Gelato - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Hot Creme Tart With Gelato - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Mahi Mahi - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Salmon - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Shrimp Scampi - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Escargot - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Sashimi Style Ahi with Fresh Nalo Farms Greens - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Mint Blend- Full Leaf Herbal Infusion - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Grilled Opakapaka with Okinawan Sweet Potato Puree - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
By the Sea Spaghettini Frutti de Mare - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Hot Cream Cheese Honey Pie and Vanilla Bean Gelato - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Pan Seared Ahi with Light Sweet and Sour Sauce - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Grilled Veal Chop - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Spaghetti ai Frutti di Mare Piccanti - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Tiramisu - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Seafood - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI
Opakapaka - 53 by the Sea, Honolulu, HI

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

New Years Eve Gala 2017- A Speakeasy Affair with Live Performance by Jordan Segundo, Rocky Brown & Nueva Vida

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Contemporary American
Oahu
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Scenic View (52)
Romantic (43)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Waterfront (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Business Meals (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Live Music (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our lunch was disappointing in several r ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Our lunch was disappointing in several respects but mostly because the portions seemed so small. For example, my husband had the 'catch of the day' which consisted of a small piece of grilled white fish atop some asparagus spears with several Roma tomatoes. He is of average build and size, and still felt hungry after lunch. My crustacean sandwich was one of the most expensive dishes ($35), but the lobster had little flavoring and the crab seemed to be mostly mayo. All in all, it was a disappointing experience. But, our window-side view of Waikiki and Diamond head and the beach and ocean was superb.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Perfect chef prepared meals. Everything ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Perfect chef prepared meals. Everything looked like art!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a wonderful night with an spectac ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was a wonderful night with an spectacular view, incredible food, amazing service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a surprise planned for my husband to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had a surprise planned for my husband to meet his birth father for the first time. The hostess knew of the plan and said it'd be ok to use the stairs as part of the surprise. The manager on the other hand would not budge on their rules even after told the situation. She almost blew the entire thing. When we were brought to our table reserved for four, it was only set up for three. The hostess rudely said, "It's four now? I'll get another setting." Come to find out, she seated us at the wrong table and we had to wait to be moved. A passing server spilled a drink on my father and offered no cloth or napkins for him to wipe himself. The food was nothing special. The waitress was friendly, the ambiance is just beautiful, but everything else was terrible. My entire family will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Xcellent! Best Thanksgiving meal, new f ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Xcellent! Best Thanksgiving meal, new flavors, great combinations. Wait staff very attentive and efficient. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful effortless entry from valet to ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful effortless entry from valet to greeter. Quick seating with reservation. Choice nook seating in booth or open tables. Very accomplished servers with attentive smiles and very hard working. The whole experience was delightful. Restaurant Week Lunch with a view. 5 stars all the way!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bartender was great! Made my favorit ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The bartender was great! Made my favorite Martini perfectly!

We were a party of 6 for restaurant week lunch and if I knew they were not going to have the staff to accommodate us I wouldn't have booked a luncheon there. The wait staff was spread wayyy tooo thin! We actually needed to get up twice for service as everyone was way to busy to attend to our party. Water was not even refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Overpriced for the quality of food. You ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Overpriced for the quality of food. You are paying more for the ambiance. So if you want a romantic dinner this would be the place. Quality of service is what you expect for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

目の前にダイヤモンドヘッドと海が見渡せて、とても素敵なレストランです! 景色を見 ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 17, 2016

目の前にダイヤモンドヘッドと海が見渡せて、とても素敵なレストランです!

景色を見たい方は、ぜひランチで♡

コース料理もとても美味しかったし、トロピカルブラックティー(名前は怪しいです…)もとても美味しかった!

お酒が苦手な方にはオススメです。

Tags: 充実のワインリスト, デートにピッタリ
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful birthday dinner. Gre ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday dinner. Great food, excellent service, elegant decor, beautiful view, and private table arrangements. The eggplant appetizer and lobster bisque were particularly amazing! We will definitely return to try other dishes.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view and great food! We all had en ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great view and great food!

We all had enjoyed lunch.

Service was great.

We recommend to everyone to try this place!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here for lunch at restaurant wee ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We were here for lunch at restaurant week and everything was superb! The ambiance and view is already two thumbs up then you add the delicious food and you have a winner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely lunch here. Special men ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had a lovely lunch here. Special menu for Restaurant Week, and we both thought the food was very, very good. Maybe the wine pairing helped;) Gorgeous views, but on a Monday it was not very busy and that made it appear a bit desolate.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the food and service. Tile floor i ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Loved the food and service. Tile floor is a little loud. Definitely dining there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

今回、初めて昼食に利用しました。ディナーとは客層が違うせいか店内の雰囲気がカジュ ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

今回、初めて昼食に利用しました。ディナーとは客層が違うせいか店内の雰囲気がカジュアルなのに驚きました、記念日の方なども多く、大切な環境を作るにはドレスコードを昼でも適応すべきとおもいます。

Tags: 特別なお食事
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great service by Alyssa and Angela. Lar ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service by Alyssa and Angela. Large portions. Extensive wine list. On Friday nights when the fireworks go off at Hilton Hawaiian Village they dim the lights in the restaurant for a better view. nice touch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent view and grand architecture. S ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent view and grand architecture. Service was excellent. Best kept secret in Honolulu. My wife really liked the items in the tasting menu, and I've never tasted a better eggplant dish. Overall, a 5-star experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ハネムーンで挙式後に食事で使ったが、日本人が常駐していて、日本語注文も出来て非常 ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 8, 2016

ハネムーンで挙式後に食事で使ったが、日本人が常駐していて、日本語注文も出来て非常に良かった!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great views, romantic environment

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great views, romantic environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

とにかくダイヤモンドヘッドを望む「ザ☆ハワイ」の景色が素晴らしい! ワインの種類 ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 2, 2016

とにかくダイヤモンドヘッドを望む「ザ☆ハワイ」の景色が素晴らしい!

ワインの種類も豊富。

料理もとても美味しかったです。

Tags: リラックスできる雰囲気, 接待, グルメ・美食家, 充実のワインリスト, デート, 特別なお食事, 誕生日のお祝いにピッタリ, デートにピッタリ, 景色・眺めが良い
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server, Alyssa was great! Food was y ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our server, Alyssa was great! Food was yummy. The view was beautiful. Thanks for the special birthday dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Attentive service without bei ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good food. Attentive service without being over bearing. Tables close together though and party next to us was talking loud, although we had a booth.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place to celebrate and to begin ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A great place to celebrate and to begin anew and continue friendships.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view of the ocean and all the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Beautiful view of the ocean and all the boats going in and out of the harbor at sunset, with Diamondhead looming in the background. The food was excellent, the service was great, and the tasting menu and wine pairings were outstanding! We will definitely be sure to come back to this Hawaiian gem when we return to Oahu!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautifully decorated, wonderful view, W ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Beautifully decorated, wonderful view, Waitress was very sweet. ~

Meals were very disappointing.

Waitress came with a complimentary dessert which would be the ONLY reason I would ever go again. It was the best!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Lobster roll was really good for appetiz ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Lobster roll was really good for appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Even though our reservations were messed ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Even though our reservations were messed up some how from reserving online they were quick to accommodate us and get us seat. Amazing Experience. The view was gorgeous and the food best I've tasted in a long time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for our anniversary, Allis ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Perfect place for our anniversary, Allisa along with the rest of the wait staff were extraordinary. They always checked up on us, did everything in a timely manner, and catered to our needs. Definitely, one of the places to go to for a romantic personal dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small plate beautiful presentation. No v ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Small plate beautiful presentation. No view of the sunset, but if you're there during the daylight you can watch the surfing which can be quite entertaining. Excellent service, beautiful interior. Perfect choice if you want to feel fancy and sophisticated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife there for our anniversary a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Took my wife there for our anniversary and it was very wonderful. The price was $240 (inc tips) so depending on your budget, this may or may not be your place. Service was outstanding and everyone was professional. If it is your birthday or anniversary let them know any you will get a small touch of class at the end (small cake decorated with class). The wife is very picky but came away very happy with the experience. If you want to impress or show your appreciation for your significant other...this is the place to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great job with the service and dining ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great job with the service and dining experience. The staff are professionals.

Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for anniversary dinner and was blow ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Went for anniversary dinner and was blown away. 1st class service with an amazing view of Diamond Head in the background.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sensational venue and friendly staff, bu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Sensational venue and friendly staff, but alas the menu seems to have changed down and was not as stylish or annoy able as previous times at this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very noisy. Seated to a very large grou ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Very noisy. Seated to a very large group. Hard to hear each other.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I usually recommend this restaurant to a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I usually recommend this restaurant to all our guests staying at the Hilton. Last time the service wasn't as great as the first time we dined there. The valet and Devon held it down. The seafood platter was amazing. Other than that we are gonna try and find another restaurant to recommend.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

53 by the Sea is always a great choice f ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 3, 2016

53 by the Sea is always a great choice for an overall 5 star experience! The food is always great although I do not prefer their course set menus.. Most likely because you're unable to choose exactly what you want but that's not their fault! Love love love this place! :) The place itself is gorgeous as well!

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been my 7th time at 53 by the S ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 28, 2016

This has been my 7th time at 53 by the Sea and every experience has been exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Honolulu's best place to dine

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 26, 2016

One of Honolulu's best place to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing location. Outstanding value. Sur ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Amazing location. Outstanding value. Surprised Michelin makes no mention of it.

Spectacular seafood showcase with thick pieces of sashimi and unbelievable oysters.

Creme Brûlée is a must try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner experience. I will be b ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent dinner experience. I will be back! Scallops were spot on freshest and cooked to perfection. Seafood platter was beautifully presented and super fresh. Surf & Turf was perfect! Nothing to fault the evening was magical!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.