Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About 53 by the Sea

Designed around its breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, 53 By The Sea offers you the opportunity to experience Hawaii dining like never before. Delight at Chef Thomas Ho’s artistry as he combines fresh local ingredients with succulent seafoods and the finest hand-cut meats. Just as exquisite are the melodic sounds of local pianists playing on the Italian made Fazioli piano in the adjacent T’s at 53 lounge, featuring wines and spirits from around the globe. 53 By The Sea is truly a celebration for all the senses! Collared shirts are required please.

53 Ahui Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:00am-2:00pm (last order)
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-10:00pm (last order)

Bar: Daily 4:00pm-11:00pm (last order)

Cross Street:
Olomehani St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 536-5353

Website:
http://www.53bythesea.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 6:30pm-8:30pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available on site.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Ho

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM

53 by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (66)
Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (53)
See All
Waterfront (47)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Business Meals (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Cozy (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Live Music (8)
Healthy (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Private Room (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (0)
Sort By:
S
959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter, Ricky, was exceptional! Catch of the Day excellent too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Happy Birthday dinner for my wife was wonderfully rewarding. It's nice to see the valet parking return is timed with payment of the bill so the car is waiting upon finishing the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Fabulous views of the ocean, Diamond Head, and excellent foods and service! The daily catch was delicious, the golden snapper was beautifully prepared, just heavenly, and the lobster pasta was fantastic! The mille feuilles dessert combined w/the gelato w/light layers of pastry laced w/chocolate +peanut butter was a perfect dessert! The service by Devon along w/other service staff was professional and exceptional! ThankU!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had friends from out of town visiting, decided to go and was very happy with the service and food. Great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

View/ambiance was great. Food was nothing special, lacked flavor/seasoning, and prawns were tough/overcooked. Steak was not cooked as requested, replacement offered but after 20 minutes passed and all other members of party were done eating, steak dinner order was canceled. Only given a dessert to express apologies. Will not return.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been coming here since its opening, and we've noticed as a family, that the food is getting more and more tasty...and inventive. The hostesses were super nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place was amazing. I have food allergies and have trouble finding a place I can go where I can eat with no worries especially when traveling. They were amazing and so attentive. It also is an amazing venue with great views and wonderful atmosphere

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The Rib Steak was s tender and tasty and the combinations could be adjusted so it was very accommodating and flexible. The view was spectacular seeing the surfers, ocean, diamond head, moon, & etc. Thank you for making this event so special.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Very good but expensive because you are paying for the million dollar waikiki diamond head view!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Restaurant would not seat party by the window despite table being open the entire night. Service started slow with dinner menu coming quite a bit after starter drinks ordered and delivered. But, service after order made was very efficient and good.

Not sure about a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (東京)·Dined on May 8, 2017

場所は少し遠いけど、静かで落ち着いてムードのある素敵な雰囲気でした。窓から見える海を見ながら、ロマンチックな雰囲気に浸れます。お食事は良い素材で味付けはシンプルな印象です。飲みものも冷えてて、すごく美味しかった!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

As always a lovely dining experience. Our friend had never been before, she loved the food (she had the NY steak), the atmosphere, the majestic view of the ocean and Diamond Head. Ricky had waited on us before, he was again the superlative server. Thank you 53 for a memorable luncheon

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (大阪)·Dined on May 3, 2017

3年前に結婚式をした場所で、入籍記念日のランチをしました。やっぱりとっても美味しかったし、眺めも最高‼︎お店からサプライズでメッセージ付きデザートまでいただけちゃいました♡ ありがとうございました‼︎また行きます◡̈

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Fantastic!
We are filled with happy feelings after lunch, fully satisfied.

Beautiful scenery, awesome!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (沖縄)·Dined on May 1, 2017

景色だけでなく料理がとても美味しかったです。

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Good food and good service. Welcome and exit arrive - good. Table Service - should have more checking in to ensure all is going ok; or let us know how to get immediate service response. Lamb chops - great; snapper - so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Thank you for the great service it was such a great dinner indeed with a nice ambiance and accommodation also thank u for the free cake for our anniversary. Much mahalo!! 😊

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

15th year Anniversary :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A delicious dining experience with fabulous view of Diamond Head and Waikiki, great ambience and service and a delightful pianist in the bar. Will always return.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

53 By the Sea was very noisy and the acoustics do not allow for normal conversation between people at the table. That is why the ambiance was rated lower than the rest of the survey.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very great service. We were always checked up on to make sure everything was good. Very friendly staff! Other restaurants, fancy or not, should learn a few things from 53 by the Sea! When it came to dessert, my girlfriend and I were stumped on what to get. Our waiter provided suggestions and it made our decision easier. When we were ready to order our dessert, a waiter that we've never been approached by came by to ask if we were ready. I loved how prompt and attentive she was! We weren't told about the complimentary dessert for our anniversary, but it was quite a surprise and it tasted pretty good! It went well with what we initially ordered. Very good service and the food was great! The portions wasn't what I was expecting from a high-end restaurant. From previous experiences at different places on the mainland, the portions here made up for the past!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Scenic View, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Another Wonderful evening with excellent food and ambiance. Good friends and a good evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 19, 2017

ランチコースを頂きました。景色がとても良いので、明るい時間の訪問がおすすめです。
アラカルトももちろんあり、他の方の召し上がっているのを見ただけですが、ボリュームも適度にあっておいしそうでした。
事前に誕生日だと伝えていたので、デザートにメッセージを書いてサービスしていただけました。

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We went there to celebrate a friends birthday and departure for their honeymoon. My husbands brother had given us a $200 gift certificate to use at this establishment which he purchased with his credit card on his way out of town as a thank you for staying with us. We had stopped by the restaurant several times to show it to potential customers and asked for the certificate and were told "just bring in the print out we had".
At the end of of our meal we tried to use the gift certificate and were told it was of zero value.The manager said they were new owners and it was of no consequence to him.
Seems to me they did not change the name of the restaurant and should by law honor all gift certificates. We will not be dinning there again nor recommending this restaurant to any one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was my girlfriend and I's first time here and we loved it!

We were greeted in the front by Valet (complimentary!) and he had also opened the door and directed us to the the hostess, where we were asked if it was a special occasion (it was just a fancy dinner date for us) and just waited a bit for our table.

We did get seated at a two-seater (couch? chair? Lol) that it faced the window, which showed the city lights and Diamond Head. Good view, probably better if we had been there for sunset.

Our Waiter, Devon/Devin, very polite and helpful with the menu and gave really good service. Everyone was friendly and did their job very well.

Food was DELICIOUS! Expected it to be on the smaller side (not used to fancy restaurants) but it was a good portion and very filling! I had the Roasted Duck and the girlfriend tried their Lobster Pasta, which were both on the Dinner Specials...very good choices!!

A very good first experience for us and will be coming back!:)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great Food and drinks option .
Needed a photographer to click some snaps .

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 12, 2017

ワイキキを少し離れて、静かな雰囲気でワインも美味しかった。
海が見えるロケーションで遠くにダイヤモンドヘッドを眺めながらですが、方向的に、サンセットは見えないのだけが残念でした。

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Amazing three course meal for great value. I enjoy it for business lunches cause it's quiet. I'm not fighting noise from other tables. The view is amazing. The service is impeccable. Everything is 5 stars. I will always go here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Healthy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (東京)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Many Japanese groups and no mood for special occasion. Dishes are okay but it's not valuable. Go to other hotel should be safety.

The good thing is valet parking only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Almost empty restaurant at 8 o'clock on Friday night. 6 different servers, none of whom spoke to one another. Beautiful setting but sadly, mediocre menu and poor service. We won't be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Such a beautiful location, a shame the food and service don't match or fit this location. To be a 5 star restaurant, it takes management dedication to train and demand excellence in each area, food, service and charm. From my first cocktail I knew there was no training, no management. I ordered Negroni, the waiter didn't know what that is, the bartender made me something with compari and gin and no vermouth. The chilled seafood platter app was the best item we had at this restaurant. The pork belly was dry on the plate with dots of sauce, not enough to taste or make the pork belly flavorful .The Lamb chops had no seasoning, no sauce, dry, and tough but they were cooked MR, they took them back and off our bill...the fish of the day a piece of loneliness on a plate, again no flavor.
The service was slow, when serving the plate dropped on the table in front of us and go, no follow up. My glass empty unless track down the waiters. No management interaction at all, even when we sent back food. Friday night the restaurant was half full the entire evening, one of the most beautiful restaurant locations and structures on the island should never have an empty table. But nobody cares about the restaurant, I'm sure the tourist events and weddings will keep them afloat...sad, with management that cared this place would be stellar!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food and lovely view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Seafood is so fresh and everything is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Superb! Staff was very attention to detail very impressive. Absolutely wonderful! great service, ambience was nice, great view of the ocean & Diamond Head. Love the atmosphere & decor very intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Three course lunch - great value.
Nice place for special lunch meetings.
Best view of Kewalo surf, ocean, Diamond Head

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 3, 2017

お店の雰囲気、店員さんの対応、料理の質、量、味 どれをとっても最高だと思います。
特別なディナーは必ず利用することにしています。
今回で、8度目の利用です。

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 2, 2017

My wife and I came to celebrate our 17th anniversary and were welcomed with the best service. Every server took the time to wish us a happy anniversary and gave us a top notch dining experience.

It's located on the waters of the nearby marina and has a fabulous view of Waikiki and Diamonhead. The sun sets behind you and lights up the city, leaving you to enjoy the nightscape. A pianist and bassist played classic Sinatra and soft jazz while we dined. It was a nice touch and wasn't overbearing on our conversation.

The menu wasn't overwhelming yet had a wide variety of styles to pick from. I had the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi and she had the duck. Both were cooked to perfection and elegantly presented. There is a plethora of wines to pick from and many desert options.

Every one of our needs were catered to as the team of waiters kept our drinks topped off and plates promptly cleared. When we went to take some pictures to record our night, one of the managers came out to ensure it was captured perfectly. He wouldn't let us settle for a selfie.

All in all, we would recommend this place over and over again. Great experience that want just another dinner.

Thanks 53 By The Sea!

Noah and Diana

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Last year we were in Hawaii and had a great meal at 53 by the Sea, so we wanted to visit it again on this trip. Few is awesome and the meal was up to our expectations. Problem was that there was a table a couple tables away from us that was extremely loud, had children watching tablets with loud volume and then the kids getting up fighting with each other. For the prices that are charged, and the type of atmosphere they try to create this was a total disappoint that the management did nothing to lookout for the other patrons. Our dinner was a disappoint and we had no want to stick around for dessert or after dinner drinks. I would say next time we visit things will be better, but the view and food do not offset the rudeness of other customers, so next time we will choose elsewhere, as there are many upscale restaurants in Honolulu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing view! Food is absolutely incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Went to 53 by the Sea to celebrate wedding anniversary. Outstanding food and service, highly recommend for a date night or celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.