Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About 529 Wellington

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: (204) 487-8325

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Notable Wine List (26)
See All
Romantic (26)
Business Meals (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Authentic (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Historic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Waterfront (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. A great option for fine dining with excellent beef and lamb menu items. I can't comment on any other main courses only because I've never gotten beyond beef and lamb.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

We ate lunch on the patio....absolutely gorgeous! Gardens are outstanding. Very relaxing and tranquil setting. I had the reuben with a side caesar. Salad was very good ; the romaine was crisp and fresh. Corned beef was unusually fatty (looked more like bacon) but when I cut off the excess fat the sandwich was absolutely delicious. My friend had the prime rib sandwich with button mushrooms. The steak came exactly as ordered and both the steak and mushrooms were excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 4 days ago

Another memorable night with excellent food, service and classic setting. 529 remains our favourite for family occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined 5 days ago

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food and service! We went for a 50th Anniversary and it was perfect. They even gave a glass of dessert wine on the house. Button mushrooms and au gratin potatoes are excellent choices for a side and steaks were the best we've had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Karl was great as usual

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food is always made with top notch ingredients, service is always the best as well. Steak is always made to perfection and comes out prompt. Would highly suggest to anyone for any occasion as the ambience is great as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great as always except our steak way over cooked and our server was as tentative as usual

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service is always amazing. The food even better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 16, 2017

529 Wellington has the best tasting food. The steak was mouth watering, cooked to perfection, as were the side dishes and salad. Even the broccoli was perfectly cooked and best I've ever tasted! An amazing experience all around!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 14, 2017

we had a fantastic night, girls night out, our servicer was excellent paced our food excellent and never felt rushed. will be come again.

thanks Kim

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Was looking forward to the experience but was disappointed for the $$$. We both sent our entree back because it was luke warm. It was reheated to warm but not hot. Steak was OK but my cheaper cuts of steaks on the bbq at home are tastier.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

One of the best steakhouses we have ever dined at. Wife's 75th birthday and she ended up thrilled by everything. Michael, our server, was knowledgeable, gracious and took all the time required to give us the background on the historic building and the menu. We are on a 6K, 55 day trip in our motorhome and I had made the reservation prior to leaving the Seattle area on 1 May. Turned out to be one of the best moves I've made in a long time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 5, 2017

First time dining at 529 and left already planning when we can go back! Everything was fantastic from food to service couldnt ask for more, beautiful patio on beautiful grounds and food was great value for money paid! Large portions, steak was cooked perfect, Best mashed potatos and bread pudding. Great place to celebrate! Highly reccomend

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Outstanding service. Probably the best steak I've ever had. The wine list was the best in the city and had top options at all price points even reasonable ones! Our server loved his job, knew a ton about wine, and really made our night because of his passion for his work and his attentiveness. Pricey but sooooo worth it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My girlfriend had the salad special and said it was awesome. I had the sirloin beef burger special, it needed a bit more salt and if it would have had a bit more smokey or charred flavour it was have been outstanding instead of just good. The waiter was amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I had been here once a year 4-5 yrs ago on business and decided to visit on cross Canada drive. It was a wonderful dinner, service, ambiance. This is a high end steakhouse, and delivers. Thx

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We have never had a bad experience at 529, and we expect that to continue

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

One of the GREATEST dining experiences we have ever had. Top quality service and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Amazing as usual. Always ask for extra caramel sauce for the blueberry bread pudding.
Waiter was amazing and friendly
Best ambience.
Overall great experience.
Say hit to Doug

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Have been to 529 several times and have never been disappointed. Always great food, great waiters, great time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 22, 2017

an absolute treat, I have always wanted to go to this restaurant & finally got the chance & was not disappointed, brought family with & they thoroughly enjoyed, we will be sure to go back for kore, service was over the top & the food matched that with colors.
Bill

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing, quaint and great service! Wine was amazing and steak was perfect!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Chris was an excellent server. And the good was equally amazing.
We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food great service: server was very knowledgeable and helpful when choosing portion sizes

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Was disappointed with the amount of gristle on such an expensive steak. 529 grattin potatoes just ok (wife makes better at home) snow peas swimming in sesame oil which was over powering. $14! French onion soup was the highlight.
So disappointed to pay $275 for 35th anniversary for 2 people.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always an excellent meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Delicious like usual.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Never disappointed any time we dine at 529. This was a spur of the moment decision to dine at lunch time instead of evening to celebrate our 35th anniversary. The lunch menu is very extensive and always great with a glass of wine. Service was great and found the whole experience very relaxing. Can't imagine how many times we have eaten lunches and dinners at 529 but we love it because it is consistent with great service and food and always meets our expectation. Looking forward to summer dining on the patio and enjoying all the great food creations 529 offers. Thanks for another great memory.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent dinner! Michael was best server we have had at 529!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Outstanding venue and food. Pricey, but worth every penny!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Winnipegs premier steak house. Nothing overly fancy on the menu, but great steaks and seafood!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have visited many times. Was seated second floor room by window with dirty ripped screens. Lady bugs crawling all over windowsills.
Steak ordered was supposed to be medium well but was well. Sent back. Second steak was excellent.

Service excellent as always

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was our first visit to 529. The ambience was worth the trip. The food was excellent , as was the service. Eating great food in a romantic historic setting where you didn't feel rushed made the evening special. We especially enjoyed the beef and my husband loved the asparagus- perfectly cooked.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was one of the most wonderful dining experiences I've ever had. The night could not have gone bether!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Historic, Organic, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was our first time here. It was great. They took the time to explain everything in detail and provided perfect advice. Most upscale restaurants you expect very little for what you pay but 529 is the complete opposite! Plan to make this an anniversary tradition going forward.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food at an expensive price. Best steak ive ever had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Been to 529 many times. And everytime we have a great experience. The veal chop was slightly tough, But that was the only thing that wasn't perfect as usual
Service ..ambience .. food top notch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 21, 2017

As always 529 never disappoints, this is my go to place when entertaining business clients, it never fails to empress and the food and wine are spectacular

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Such a beautiful place. Whole restaurant is made from an old mansion with each room having seating areas. All employees definitely made you feel royal and high -class. The prices definitely reflect what you get and was all worth it, especially if you have a love, passion, and sense of art with food!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.