About 529 Wellington

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: 2044878325x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • Caprese Salad
  • Meatloaf And Mash Potat
  • Ribs
  • Onion Rings
  • Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce
  • Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce
Caprese Salad
Meatloaf And Mash Potat
Ribs
Onion Rings
Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce
Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
11 More
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (116)
Romantic (77)
Notable Wine List (63)
See All
Fit for Foodies (60)
Great for Lunch (43)
Good for Groups (35)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Scenic View (25)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Used to be my favourite steakhouse in to ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 2 days ago

Used to be my favourite steakhouse in town. Ordered a filet medium well and received a very tough and undercooked piece of meat(wasn't filet),inedible! Did not want to make a scene so I discreetly informed my server. My wife was kind enough to share her steak with me so I told them I did not want to wait for a new one. We ordered a dessert to share and were told it was on the house. However when the bill came they charged us for the steak that was completely inedible. Unacceptable behaviour for a fine dining restaurant. I guess they can have the money for the steak as I will never be returning. Good luck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My husband and I celebrated our anniver ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here as this is where our wedding reception took place many years ago. The food was exquisite ,service fantastic . Very romantic experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is fabulous, service good ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The atmosphere is fabulous, service good +, but the food was mediocre and over priced. We started with Lobster Bisque which was excellent. My main course was a selection of 3 by 4oz pieces of fish (salmon, ling cod and black cod) which were fine. However my partner ordered 12 oz of prime rib which was not that great. part of it was cook just right (medium) while part was raw and unedible and there was only 6 oz of meat, the rest was fat. We understand that prime rib is fatty but this was excessive. The side dishes were pureed sweet potatoes with maple syrup and walnuts which tasted good but seemed like a soap they were so whipped and a spoon would have been appropriate to eat. The second side was broccoli with a bernais sauce. The broccoli was almost cold although the texture was medium like it was cooked at some time. We finished up coffee that we sent back because it was thin and tasted like tea.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My boyfriend and I visited 529 for a dat ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My boyfriend and I visited 529 for a date on a Friday evening, place filled up after we got there at 6pm. Food was expensive but high quality. Main dishes are small while the sides are huge. Ambiance of the place was like no other. Nice place for a special occasion or date or family birthday party. This restaurant is a once a year restaurant for us since we're students!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our party of 2 went for lunch to celebra ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our party of 2 went for lunch to celebrate an Anniversary. We sat on the patio which was beautiful in spite of a cool and windy day. Our waiter seemed a little inexperienced but was pleasant. The food was lovely and we had a lovely time. We didn't feel rushed

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

My only issue with the evening was with ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My only issue with the evening was with the steak I ordered, the Porterhouse. One half was perfect just the way I like a steak. The other half was very tough and chewy. A little disappointing for the price.

Everything else was perfect. An enjoyable dining experience.

Cheers KenB

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing a25th anniversary dinner... our ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing a25th anniversary dinner... our waiter was exceptional-cannot wait to come back!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined many times at 529 over the ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have dined many times at 529 over the years and I have to say that this was our least enjoyable experience. My husband LOVES the french onion soup that you serve, however, this time it was mediocre - not piping hot as it normally is served.

Our waiter wasn't the most "friendly" that we have had there either - perhaps he was having an "off" day.

All in all, for the price that was charged, we were disappointed this time around.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My friend and I were celebrating our bir ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My friend and I were celebrating our birthdays on August 16. It was our first time at 529 and we had a wonderful time. Our server and sommelier, Chris, was approachable and quite knowledgeable about the food, wine and building's history. He made us feel special and welcomed. Thank you to him and the chef for a delicious and enjoyable evening!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beef Wellington was excellent. Caesar s ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Beef Wellington was excellent. Caesar salad was garlic heavy and not prepared at our table as promised in the menu. Asparagus had some tough ends. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have been coming to this restraint sin ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been coming to this restraint since it first opened and I adore the classic old world charm! It's a place to go to feel truly taken care of! I highly recommend!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not my first time dining there, but it's ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Not my first time dining there, but it's like it gets better and better every time. I had requested the most private spot available and they definitely delivered. The food was plentiful and fantastic. The french onion soup, potatoes au gratin, and rib eye with marrow sauce are definitely highlights. A perfect top off was the trio of ice cream.

Above all, our service was impeccable. Friendly without being cheesy, formal without being snobby, and observant without hovering. We loved it.

Thank you for making our anniversary a special one. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you very much to Carl for getting ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Thank you very much to Carl for getting me a table on the patio! It was my mom's 80th birthday so I wanted it to be special. I requested the outdoor table at the last minute and Carl came through. It was very much appreciated! The service is excellent with friendly and attentive waiters. Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my children out for a family get ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I took my children out for a family get together as they come in every year--we had a fine meal with drinks and great conversation. The service was superb and very attentive. The steaks were well prepared and the specialty of black cod was amazing.

I have nothing further to say other than to say that I will be using 529 somewhat more often. As a matter of fact my son and I are going back tonight for a steak. this fills the fifty word review. Thank you for asking.

Les Ullyot

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All meals were fantastic. Prime rib was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

All meals were fantastic. Prime rib was my choice everything was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always amazing. Fantastic food and excep ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always amazing. Fantastic food and exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing wine list. Excellent beef selec ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Amazing wine list. Excellent beef selection. Attentive servers. All the food was done to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly service.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

529 has been mine and my wife's place to ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

529 has been mine and my wife's place to go for any special occasion. The food is always great and the staff is always friendly, helpful and accommodating. We will definitely be back

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this spot for our 5 year weddin ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We chose this spot for our 5 year wedding anniversary. This was the msot amazing food I have even eaten. Service was a bit slow (we arrived at 6 pm, and left at 9 pm), as they were really full that night, but that just made us savour our food even more. I have never had steak or pecan pie so good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service and atmosphere were outstanding. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service and atmosphere were outstanding. I was there by myself and was treated just as well as if I'd been part of a table full of people. The presentation of the beef carpaccio appetizer was beautiful, and tasted very fresh. However, it was a little bland, perhaps a drizzle of truffle oil or even the addition of capers would have given it some oomph. Freshly ground pepper would have even enhanced the flavour. Ordered the filet, which was cooked perfectly. Instead of a ordering a side I ordered the beefsteak tomato appetizer, which was extremely fresh and tasty. No room for dessert, though the menu looked amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great meal at 529. The patio t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a great meal at 529. The patio this year is absolutely beautiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there to celebrate our Fiftieth ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were there to celebrate our Fiftieth Wedding Anniversary. The food was great but little over priced compared to other fine restaurants. The wine was good (Australian Pinot Noir approximately $25.00 per bottle retail) but were charged $64.00 plus taxes.

The waiter poured the first glass each but only topped up one of glasses later and I had to pour my own later. They also gave us two liquors and said they were on the house, but did charge for one.

We felt the service was a bit rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

excellent food great atmosphere no rush, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

excellent food

great atmosphere

no rush, well paced

friendly and welcoming staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My second time and my wife's first. Had ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My second time and my wife's first. Had a very nice evening. Food was fabulous with a great selection of sides. Service was great. Always hard to pick a wine and on my first visit had a sommelier assist however this time not. The waiters recommendation was good but it's always nice having that extra touch. Overall I would recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Really enjoyed the foo, service and ambi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Really enjoyed the foo, service and ambiance. The sides were fantastic and the steak was very good. Definitely a little more pricey, but quality was excellent. Would highly recommend for special occasions .

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lovely terrace is so very perfect at ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The lovely terrace is so very perfect at 529. The hostess greeted us promptly and we were seated at the bar while our table was prepared. The bartender was excellent. Once seated our server started out well, pleasant and informative. Unfortunately he forgot my husbands lobster bisque soup which was disappointing but we realize mistakes do happen. However, when we told him his response was "oh so I did". Our dinner was already delivered at that point. After that he became inattentive to us and seemed to us to be much more focused on his other tables. Eventually, another very pleasant server took over our table and my assumption was that he may have asked her to. Obviously wasn't a great experience for us but in spite of that my husband still left his usual 20% tip. I want to clarify we weren't being unreasonable or difficult clients.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Combination of food, service and ambianc ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Combination of food, service and ambiance is unbeatable in the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

enjoyable experience. Pleasent enviromen ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

enjoyable experience. Pleasent enviroment friendly and respectful staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at 529 were probably the best ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The staff at 529 were probably the best I've ever had. From the host/hostess to the servers . Kind,attentive and would do anything they could to make your dining experience fantastic. Oh and if you like wine then this is the place for you. It's not a wine list..its a wine binder !! Impressive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The restaurant is never disappointing, i ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The restaurant is never disappointing, it's always a first class dinning experience from the Friendly greeting as you arrive, extraordinary food and fantastic service. It's not just a special occasion restaurant but if you want a great dinning experience and priced just as well as other well known steak and seafood restaurant. A must experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for date night!!

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great place for date night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've heard of this place for years. My h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I've heard of this place for years. My husband & I figured we'd try it. We had beef Wellington & ribeye which exceeded our expectations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For that special occasion or just a lunc ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

For that special occasion or just a lunch with a special friend, 529 cannot be beat. Yes, it is a little on the expensive side but worth every penny. The steaks are the best I have ever tasted anywhere - they just melt in your mouth. The service is also excellent. I would recommend it highly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fine29! Our cities best place to ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always fine29! Our cities best place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The first visit to your establishment to ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The first visit to your establishment to celebrate a milestone birthday. The food was amazing and the service was outstanding! The added touch of the birthday candle in the ice-cream dessert and the complimentary glass of French dessert wine finished off a beautiful evening.

Will attend again...Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a sumptuous meal that exceeded ou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a sumptuous meal that exceeded our expectations with great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic, friendly but unobtrusive serv ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic, friendly but unobtrusive service combined with excellent food. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the ambience, white linen and silv ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Loved the ambience, white linen and silverware. Server well-read on menu, beef selections, and wine list. Nice spacing between courses. Ample food per serving. Only issue we had was

noise that carried over from a large group down the hall. We had a table near a window

looking out over a garden--lovely. After supper, we went downstairs and asked the owner

if we could view their garden area. Even got a bit of history on the building. Lovely place.

Found it by accident while googling restaurants. Final comment--a little pricey, but worth

it for a special occasion. Many thanks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.