Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About 529 Wellington

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: (204) 487-8325

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (181)
Good for Anniversaries (135)
Romantic (121)
See All
Good for a Date (102)
Notable Wine List (97)
Business Meals (92)
Quiet Conversation (82)
Good for Birthdays (72)
Historic (71)
Authentic (54)
Great for Lunch (48)
Cozy (47)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Private Room (44)
Good for Groups (44)
Worth the Drive (40)
Local Ingredients (28)
Comfort Food (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Tasting Menu (17)
Scenic View (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Fun (14)
Family Style (13)
Healthy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Casual (12)
Seasonal (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Fireplace (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Waterfront (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 12 hours ago

Took my assistant out for birthday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

First time at 529 Wellington and it was great. The service and food were terrific. Wife and I went for our 20th Anniversary and had a great dinner. Would recommend to make it a must for your next date night or special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The Sommelier was friendly and knew exactly what to pair. Great!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a lovely lunch with the ladies. Our server made sure that our wine glasses were filled.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food and great staff. Really enjoy eating in the lounge and conversing with the bartender! Makes the visit very enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

the food, drink, ambience and the service were all excellent. We also heard the history of the house and of the neighborhood. It was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Lovely place for special occasions. Waiter was very knowledgeable and nice. Food was delicious. Definitely a place for fine dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wonderful service. The cost was a little more than we planned and the food was pretty good. It'd be a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was our first visit and the whole experience was wonderful

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service is very professional by extremely knowledgable individuals. Give your Server a clout and a price range and you will receive a bottle of wine that is absolutely perfect for your meal selection. The food is marvellous. It is a pricy evening, nevertheless, fine dining experiences costs a little more. And it is worth it. Enjoy.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great spot on the Patio. Never fails to impress at 529

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The steak is very tender and delicious. It's a nice touch to have the waiter show you all steaks before you order. The restaurant is very beautiful with the historic touches throughout. The prices are a little high for what you get.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We've been to 529 before. Every time it has been for a special occasion. We had a wonderful experience. The food was cooked to perfection. The service was impeccable. We didn't feel rushed. We enjoyed our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I've been to 529 many times for personal and business.
This time the food was not up to 529 standards and the service was extremely lacking.
I think next time I will I'll take my dinner to Hys.

Overall satisfaction was 2 out of 10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We celebrated my retirement dinner at 529 and was very impressed. It was a first visit for both my husband and I.

The server provided an excellent wine recommendation to accompany our dinner, which was very good. The overall service was spectacular.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great ambiance! Food was generously portioned!! We were seated in a quiet area which was appreciated so that we could visit without having to raise our voices. We were a bit surprised at the uniforms and how stained they were, perhaps it's tine fir new ones or a change in color?? Overall, great meal and worth the cost!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food was excellent. The ambience was a little loud. Service was quick and knowledgeable about the menu. Would recommend wholeheartedly....but ask for a table with less bustle and more ambience. Enjoy!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The service was amazing , very knowledgeable and attentive. The food delicious. The lobster bisque was decadent. The portions are large but manageable. The atmosphere is cozy and very historic.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Fantastic meal. Had to take some home with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our waiter was excellent! He helped us choose the perfect steak and suggested the best way to cook it as to enjoy the flavours the most.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was excellent & the waiter was very knowledgeable and pleasant an overall great experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Beautiful venue, whether you sit in the charming, flower filled back patio overlooking the river, or inside the elegant mansion in small intimate dining room.
Prices are high. Food is delicious and classic. Service is impeccable.

M

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Chris was excellent waiter & made the evening. Wish we had booked earlier & had got to sit on patio. We were seated beside father & son who were discussing business & life & were just too loud & kind of took away from the evening. Finished night off with drink in bar & my whiskey sours were excellent & bar tender was superb.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We loved the whole experience and can hardly wait to go again!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

My experience started when I placed my reservation online (which was really easy and painless). Then, when I was running late, I called the restaurant to let them know and the woman who answered the phone was incredibly warm and polite.

When we arrived, the same woman (I believe) greeted us and brought us to our seat. A gentleman brought us water and we ordered our drinks straight away while our server was helping another table. I only had a sip of my friend's cocktail and wine (darn antibiotics kept me from ordering my own), but both were delicious (the cocktail was the "Timlet" and it was incredibly sour and tasty).

Our food was well explained before we ordered, and I got a steak and my friend got a beef wellington. As for sides, we had a cheesy garlic bread, au gratin potatoes, and broccoli with a sauce (hollandaise, I think). The meat was tender and basically melted in my mouth, the cheesy bread was delicious and tangy and savoury. The potatoes were a bit rich tasting for me, but still quite nice. Portion sizes were very generous.

For dessert I had the Maple creme brûlée. It was creamy and delicious and I would eat another ten of them.

Overall, I would easily go to 529 Wellington again. It's a bit pricey, but I believe I got what I paid for: excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Great for a date or special occasion, or just a dinner where you want to splurge a bit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 15th anniversary on July 27th, which began with lunch on the patio at 529. The service was terrific and we wanted to share a couple of dishes, which the staff accommodated by splitting everything onto 2 plates for us. The food was amazing and the patio was lovely. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The garden patio is stunning! It feels like you are dining in a magical oasis!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The garden patio was intimate and shady. What a perfect place for sharing a fine dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 21, 2017

529 is always an elegant experience. The building is absolutely spectacular and I always enjoy the flower beds in front in the summertime. I love the fact that parking is so accessible. Our waiter was excellent, cocktails very yummy, but the service was a little bit too fast I thought this time around, although very polite and attentive. The beefsteak tomato salad was divine with the blue cheese dressing. My rack of lamb was a bit under done for my taste, but had good flavour. The sides tasted homemade, which is a good thing and were plentiful. Wine with dinner also very good. All in all a very pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Highly recommended, especially for those special occasions. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Worth every penny! The go to place for the perfect dining experience

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wonderful experience! It's a little dark but very romantic and sensuous! We'll be back. The service was impeccable!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Everything was great except one of the steaks was not what we expexted. One (the filet) was excellent and the other (strip loin) was only so so (thin and over cooked). Waiter (Chris) was fantastic, building was fantastic ( we had a tour ). Will go again however will have the filet.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything was perfect. Wine list is much more extensive than at most restaurants. This is more than a dinner out -- it is an experience. 529 Wellington is not cheap, but it is worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Dining at 529 is always a fabulous experience....

But the staff went above & beyond on this visit....and provided EXCEPTIONAL service!!!!

A special Thank you to Jim Armstrong & his phenomenal staff!!!!

Our salads, steak & side dishes were fabulous as always....the wine service was outstanding!!! 🍷

Becky Kaufmann

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 13, 2017

As always outstanding great food and the bartenders know how to make the perfect Martini

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Overall great! Best cod in the city as well as the steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Service was very good and accommodating to an alergy issue.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent service and quality food. The waiter was attentive and efficient. His recommendations were great. We never felt rushed and enjoyed our lunching experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great service, beautiful mansion. I always enjoy a gathering at 529! 5 stars every time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.