About 529 Wellington

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: 2044878325x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • Caprese Salad - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
  • Meatloaf And Mash Potat - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
  • Ribs - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
  • Onion Rings - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
  • Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
  • Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Caprese Salad - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Meatloaf And Mash Potat - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Ribs - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Onion Rings - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
9 More
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (73)
Romantic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for a Date (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Historic (26)
Business Meals (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Private Room (19)
Cozy (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (12)
Scenic View (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Family Style (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Fireplace (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Waterfront (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
852 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All in all was good however a little dis ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

All in all was good however a little disappointed with the steak - ordered medium and it was rare

We sent one steak back to be cooked more but it still came back rare. The crab we ordered with the steak was a very small portion as well. The rest was all delicious and good will definitely go back. All staff are great and funny

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

From the moment we walked through the do ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

From the moment we walked through the door we felt taken care of and special, from being greeted, being seated to our amazing server Russell who truly made our evening. He had great suggestions rolled with our crazy requests and even reserved us a table in the lounge to move into after dinner so we could continue the fun. The food was outstanding from the appetizers to the steak which was melt in your mouth delicious. Truly a fantastic evening!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a highlight of my winnipeg dinnin ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Always a highlight of my winnipeg dinning experience. #Fine29

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Everything was good. Enj ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was great. Everything was good. Enjoyed it! I'd definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I always love going to this classy resta ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I always love going to this classy restaurant. It is so unique, being in an old vintage home.

The moment you walk in, the people working there make you feel welcome. They are very kind and try to be as helpful as possible.

We went there for lunch on a Thursday and were seated in the main dining room as requested. The ambiance is so incredible.

We were quickly attended to and ordered a glass of wine. Wines are expensive but it's great that we can order a glass of wine versus a bottle. The wine sold but he glass was good. My wife loves Pinot Grigio and she was very happy with the selected wine. I first ordered the Malbec but I found that the Chilean Merlot was more to my taste.

My wife ordered the steak sandwich and I ordered the hamburger special. We shared this meal.

We were a little disappointed in the steak as it didn't have that much flavour. It was thinner than expected and I believe it could have had more kick to it...more spices.

The hamburger and fries were awesome. The meals were quite filling and so we had no room for desert.

We will definitely go back. It's always a favourite place of ours.

Next time, we want to try the French Onion soup.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were excellent howe ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food and service were excellent however a tad pricey for lunch

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Our waiter Tommy was terrific - very hel ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our waiter Tommy was terrific - very helpful and funny. I couldn't decide between steak and the fish trio and he suggested that I could combine one of the fish with a steak so that I could have both. It was the best of both worlds!! The food was excellent - we were seated right beside the kitchen so there was a little noise from there but overall an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable service and wonderful food. I ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Impeccable service and wonderful food. It made a special occasion even more special. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, ambience and food bu ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent service, ambience and food but the one downfall was the steaks arrived at our table barely warm so by the time we got to the middle of them the fat was almost congealed making them not too palatable. So we took them home and heated them the next day. Otherwise a great experience. I did not want to complain as it was a special occasion.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

529 Wellington is always superb when it ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 7, 2016

529 Wellington is always superb when it comes to food and service. A most enjoyable experience for business or pleasure.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Healthy, Private Room, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a steak house, although there is s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

It is a steak house, although there is seafood on the menu. It is in an old house, you will be seated in a room with a few other tables. We were in the old office, a little dreary. The other rooms looked much prettier.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I may as well order a veal cutlet becaus ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I may as well order a veal cutlet because my rib eye was thinner than that. Very disappointed...for the amount they charge for a steak you would think one would get a steak that was bigger than a veal cutlet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

This was my first time at 529 and it was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This was my first time at 529 and it was truly a special experience. I had been told of them in the past by friends and clients, but had never had the opportunity to go until the other night.

The service was impeccable, with a very well spoken - well groomed individual presenting our dishes. He was extremely knowledgeable when it came to the dishes on the menu, recommendations and even a bit of humour to keep us engaged. He was never abrasive and gave us just the right space needed to enjoy the meal. The timing for when our dishes were served was prompt, properly spaced and efficiently cleaned when the time came.

The decor and phenomenal service was just one aspect of our enjoyable night. The food itself was by far some of the best, if not the best food that Winnipeg has to offer. The quality of meat was second to none, and the ingredients used from our salad to our bread to our potatoes were obviously fresh, combined perfectly and possibly even local.

The cost aside, (as I am not from an affluent family or sit in our upper bracket of income here in Winnipeg) the experience was throuroughly enjoyable, and I will be going again. Cost however, although expensive from the norm of what I am used to eating, was fair and certainly worth the trip based on the quality of all items addressed above.

Well done 529, well done.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Cozy, Modern Decor, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I enjoyed our birthday lun ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed our birthday lunch and wonderful conversation. Waiter was very helpful with suggestions. Food was marvellous and he made sharing a dessert very seamless by bringing two plates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service is excellent and server whom I h ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Service is excellent and server whom I have had before is excellent...Food is always the best and very tasty...

Very comfortable and friendly restaurant...

Betty

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service from the time we entered was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service from the time we entered was outstanding, we had excellent food, steak that you can cut with a fork certainly applies here. The food was served exactly as we had requested, server had a well rounded knowledge of the products and offered helpful suggestions when we asked. The re-vamped menu was very complete with a wide variety to suit every appetite. Certainly will continue going back.

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Historic, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the building and though it was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We loved the building and though it was a surprise last minute decision and we were underdressed the staff was great and very welcoming. Our server( I'm sorry I didn't get his name) was lovely. The only complaint I had was that the ceasar salad we had was much much too spicy, too much garlic. After supper we were allowed to look around on the upper floors and were pleased to see such an historic home used so nicely.

Tags: Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Everything was outstanding. One thing to ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everything was outstanding. One thing to mention is that for my 2015 Birthday, 529 generously offered a piece of cheesecake free of charge. This year and $200.00 later, birthday wishes from the Waiter. It was appreciated, but, cheesecake would have been a nice touch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was, without a doubt, the best stea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was, without a doubt, the best steak I have ever eaten. Immaculate.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and great atmosphere for a bu ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food and great atmosphere for a business lunch.

Took a client visiting from the U.S. to a business lunch at 529. The client expressed many times how the food was extraordinary. I found the food to be extraordinary as well.

The level of personal attention from the host and server was excellent. The décor was classic and portrayed an "oak panel boardroom" feel.

I would definitely recommend 529 for business lunches and dinners.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service from arrival to departure is ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The service from arrival to departure is always impeccable. One of my guests - a first time visitor - declared his Reuben "the best he had ever had". Others went to their old favourites and were not disappointed. The blueberry bread pudding should require a permit for being that good. I will be back many times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The quality of the meat and the preparat ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The quality of the meat and the preparation is without equal in Winnipeg for steak. No restaurant in Ottawa can compete with it in the same category.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall and awesome experience! Our serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Overall and awesome experience! Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive, recommended a wine and side dishes to go with our meal. Steak and the marrow sauce was a perfect combination. Wish we would have had room for dessert as the selection looked great!

A wonderful step back into time when dining at a mansion was a memorable experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent foot and service!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent foot and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to 529 Wellington for an Anniver ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We went to 529 Wellington for an Anniversary Dinner and it delivered everything we wanted. Let's be clear, this is an EXPENSIVE restaurant so you don't look for bargains - just quality. Everything was great - the service was friendly and prompt, the sommelier found us a fantastic wine in our price range that we would never have found for ourselves, the steaks were fantastic...

We felt special having our special dinner here, and we would love to go again - when we can afford to!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a lovely business dinner with two lo ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Had a lovely business dinner with two long time clients. They were so impressed they joked how could I possibly beat this next year? ; )

I, personally, loved the Tuna Tartar appetizer, the Beefsteak Tomatoe Salad (thick sliced, firm but juicy tomatoe, sweet red onion, the best blue cheese & buttermilk dressing). The steaks are always superb at 529. I especially love the combos...a smaller cut paired with very tasty options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good joice to celebrate our 67th. annive ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Good joice to celebrate our 67th. anniversary. Staff very good. Thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved it! Top notch service! ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Absolutely loved it! Top notch service! Our server was absolutely wonderful and went the extra mile to ensure we had a great experience. Other staff only added further to our evening by their exemplary service.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Best French Onion sou ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent service. Best French Onion soup in the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server made our first time there an ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our server made our first time there an amazing experience. He was very friendly and attentive. The cocktails were good and the food was absolutely delicious. I had the filet mignon and lobster tail.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a revs for 6 and were pushed out ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a revs for 6 and were pushed out after approx 2 hrs so they could turn our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

If you are into beef, this is the place ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 7, 2016

If you are into beef, this is the place for you. The steaks are delicious as this is their forte. That said, if anyone in the group is into healthier dining, this is not your restaurant of choice as the food is tasty because it is loaded with butter, salt, and fat. With such a high-end menu, it would be great if they actually offered some inventive, different, and healthy options made appetizing through the use of herbs and spices. It was a lovely evening and the waiter incredibly engaging, however, I would not return because of the lack of creativity of the dishes. For me to pay $$$ for a meal, I want their to be some energy expended on the preparation and not just a hunk of meat grilled and plated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were there for our 5th year anniversa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We were there for our 5th year anniversary and that was our first time. The chef helped us out on the steak cuts. They're accomodating. The best part is, the chef gave is complementary dessert as anniversary present.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Thank you for the great service. Our wai ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Thank you for the great service. Our waiter was Dale. We had such a nice nite. First time there for our anniversary. We love our three boys but was so nice to dine and not scarf and run..lol....

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

529 has always supplied an amazing dinin ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 27, 2016

529 has always supplied an amazing dining experience. Staff are knowledgeable and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Great food. Very interesting bu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Amazing! Great food. Very interesting building. Service was impeccable and friendly and gave privacy when preferred.

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and our server was very g ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wonderful food and our server was very good. We have been to 529 Wellington numerous times and the food always impresses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak (rib eye) presentation was disappo ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Steak (rib eye) presentation was disappointing - more like a production slice of roast beef than an individually cared for steak. Was also served cold. Best dish was the sweet potato fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food and service. Not cheap but a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and service. Not cheap but a great spot for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Looked forward to dinner for a special o ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Looked forward to dinner for a special occasion. We were ignored for more than several minutes while the door person chatted with a staff member. It was off putting with no apology for the wait. We were seated in a comfortable room upstairs & the server was very professional & knowledgeable. The steaks were the best we've ever had. The lobster bisque soup was alright but not worth $16. Same goes for the other sides. They were adequate but very overpriced. However it was a special occasion & we were served complimentary port after dinner. Would go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.