About 529 Wellington

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: 2044878325x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

Restaurant Photos

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
13 More
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Value
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Best Value
Winnipeg
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

special occasion (107)
romantic (85)
notable wine list (64)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
great for lunch (34)
good for groups (33)
neighborhood gem (23)
hot spot (14)
great for outdoor dining (12)
scenic view (8)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
735 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak and prime rib was absolutely a ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The steak and prime rib was absolutely amazing, best ever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

It was a beautiful day (plus 20) May 13t ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

It was a beautiful day (plus 20) May 13th sunny and the restaurant was very quiet. We asked to sit outside on the patio but were told "we cannot sit outside it was not open" and I asked well why isn't it open and the reply was "we take longer than other restaurants to open". Ordered the ribye steak sandwich special and it came well done instead of medium rare .. and had no marble fat running through it so it was questionable weather it was indeed a ribye. Was not told it was a la carte and it came on a plate sitting on top of a piece of garlic toast (with mushrooms I added on) and no side or garnish. I had ordered a small mixed salad to start so not sure if that was my side. We were not in a rush so the half hour it took did not bother us. Waiter was friendly but not very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

529 lived up to our high expectations. F ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

529 lived up to our high expectations. Food was spectacular, especially the twice baked potato and beef tenderloin. Server (Tommy) was very attentive and anticipated what we needed. It was our 28th wedding anniversary and we celebrated a fabulous evening in style. Expensive but worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service, excellent staff througho ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Superb service, excellent staff throughout our visit and we felt very welcome in this beautiful historic home. Food was just right and we will both recommend and be back. Look forward to checking out the patio!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to visit 529 whenever I am in town ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I try to visit 529 whenever I am in town. There isn't a bad seat in the house. Reliable menu, personable staff, and the best food in the province. I couldn't have had a more enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A very enjoyable Mother's Day Dinner

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good especially the filet and the jumbo prawns. The french fries were quite good. The service was a bit slow due to the very busy evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

fancy

Dined on April 29, 2016

Very good steak. I am a person who is not well versed in fine dining terminology, and they seem to assume that I knew what crème brulet was etc. Other than that it was a great meal and we ended up in a private wing of the building by ourselves so the ambiance was great

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on April 27, 2016

It was our first time at 529 Wellington and we were celebrating our anniversary. It was a great dining experience that I would recommend for anyone's special occasion. It is pricey but the food and service was fantastic so it is all very worthwhile!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was friendly, yet profess ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

The atmosphere was friendly, yet professional. We were greeted as soon as we entered & taken upstairs to a smaller dining area. We were the first ones there, but soon filled up. Service was excellent: our waiter ( please forgive the lapse of my memory, name?) was knowledgeable of the menu & able to respond to a special dietary request, thank you so much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

unhappy ending ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

when we were told our table was required for the second seating we felt horrified. we spent good money for our meal .. we were there to celebrate a birthday and it left a very bad taste for us at 529. we will not return and should have been told of this policy perse when we booked our dinner reservations. very unacceptable treatment from a fine dining establishment ...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experiencee

Dined on April 15, 2016

Had a reservation but they were able to get us in early. Great food and service and you get what you pay for

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Gift in April

Dined on April 14, 2016

This evening was a gift to my wife for Christmas 2015 after a memorable tour of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights. An excellent dining experience worth an above market price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Special Occasion

Dined on April 6, 2016

We enjoyed dinner very much. If you can afford the dinner we would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on April 3, 2016

My husband and I always enjoy the incredible food and wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Greatest restaurant experience!! Not one ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Greatest restaurant experience!! Not one complaint. I expected to pay more. The food was perfect so was the service and so was the service. We will definitely be back!! Soon👍

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience!

Dined on April 2, 2016

This restaurant has welcoming, fun staff, and the best steak you'll ever eat! I took my wife here to celebrate a personal achievement of hers and was really glad I did! They make a great sangria and I highly recommend the peppercorn rib steak. Our server gave us the "beef tour" before we chose our meal which was entertaining and educational.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing engagement dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

We went to 529 to celebrate our engagement. The staff was extremely kind and friendly and even provided us with a complimentary desert "on the house"! :) We thought the steaks were easily some of the finest we have ever had. The portion sizes for the steaks as well as the sides were huge! We loved our time, and it was a very memorable evening for both of us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was delicious. I had French o ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Everything was delicious. I had French onion soup, onion ring tower, mixed Grill, sautéed mushrooms, mashed potatoes, and snap peas. Service was pleasant and attentive. Will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on March 28, 2016

It was our first time in the restaurant, I've heard a lot of good comments from my co-workers about the food and service of 529. So me and my friend tried it on my birthday and we're very glad that we tried it. The service and the food was great and our server was very nice and really knows what to suggest. I can say "the overall experience is superb!" And will definitely comeback.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great experience in a beautiful ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was a great experience in a beautiful building. Will dine there again!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food and service quality was less than i ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food and service quality was less than ideal compared to past visits. As we were seated just as the resaturant was opening, I equated this to them not being ready to serve immediately. I will give the benefit of the doubt on this occaision.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Value not there anymore

Dined on March 24, 2016

Dined here the other night and steak was subpar - my 10 ounce newyork was thin and grisly. Had to also send back side of mushrooms as they were way over salted. Usually dine at 529 once a year and past experiences were good, but now the quality no longer matches high prices.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion - Anniversary

Dined on March 13, 2016

My boyfriend and I went for our anniversary and we had a lovely time! One of the best wine lists I have ever seen, knowledgeable staff, and utterly amazing food. Our server was attentive but not overbearing (which is rare). He ensured we had enough wine and water at all time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

My husband ordered the Veal chop .

Dined on March 6, 2016

It was very fatty, more that described by the Waiter. He did not complain, as by his nature, but I could tell he was not enjoying his steak.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

elegant

Dined on February 28, 2016

Wow, I just saw some negative reviews, hard to believe. I have eaten in some of the best steak houses in North and South America. Although I would not label 529 the best I have ever experienced, it is right up there. Is it expensive, absolutely. Is it fine dining, without a doubt. Started with a lobster bisque that was very well composed,with just a hint of sherry. Followed with a Caesar salad which was good but not memorable. No anchovies, but I had neglected to ask for them. The pontalba potatoes are a must, loved them, and the bone-in 22 oz rib steak was perfectly cooked as requested with full expected flavour. Had to try their salt caramel ice cream to go along with an excellent grappa and espresso. Beautiful meal, excellent service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding once again!

Dined on February 27, 2016

My partner treated me to a wonderful birthday dinner at 529 Wellington - We shared the Tequila Prawn in a spicy red Thai sauce, delicious! I had the Beef Carpaccio with Parmesan Reggiano, a 6 oz Filet Minion paired with a half Lobster Tail, Au Gratin Baked Potatoes, and we shared the Sauteed Sugar Snap Peas. My partner ordered the Cesar Salad to start, 16 oz Prime Rib, and Doug's Creamed Mashed Potatoes. Needless to say, we did not have room for their tempting desert menu. I did have 2 amazing Cosmopolitans - best in Winnipeg! Our server was attentive, knowledgeable and charming. We always enjoy dining at 529 Wellington! No disappointments ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great experience for a date night! Food was great as well and the service was impeccable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must go and Try

Dined on February 19, 2016

My wife and I paid our first visit to Winnipeg for the Chinese New Year in Feb., 2016!! We had visited Canada several times for the past ten years. 529 Wellington was among one of the best restaurants in Canada.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

We were celebrating our 3rd anniversary. ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

We were celebrating our 3rd anniversary. Everything from start to finish was amazing. Food is supreme!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special lunch

Dined on February 16, 2016

Ambiance, food and service all very good. Really nice place to visit for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food I've ever had, with the best a ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Best food I've ever had, with the best and most knowledgeable waiter I've met.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous Meal

Dined on February 15, 2016

I eat at 529 frequently, both the bar and main dining area are exceptional. the only concern is the high mark up on the wine. For example, a wine I had a couple of months ago, I just had a few weeks ago and the price increased $100 for a bottle.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints...

Dined on February 15, 2016

My aunt and I had the grilled salmon clubhouse sandwich with Caesar salad, best clubhouse sandwich ever! Can't wait to return and order it again. Plenty of grilled salmon, crispy bacon, apple slices, tomato, lettuce and mayo, very filling with just enough Caesar salad to compliment the sandwich. My friend had the hot turkey breast sandwich with gravy, mashed potatoes and a Caesar salad. Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Valentines dinner with my wife

Dined on February 14, 2016

The evening started off well with a very pleasant server who was very helpful. Went through steak tour with another person. We ordered - my wife a combo plate 6 oz tenderloin medium rare with lobster and bernaise sauce as well as a beefstake salad. Myself a combo plate 6 oz tenderloin medium well with lobster, shrimp and scallop. My wife's plate was fine when it arrived. Contrary my steak was presented as rare. I let the server know - he apologized and confirmed my steak was not properly cooked. He returned a few minutes later and it was still not cooked past medium rare. I ate it anyway. We also shared the homemade salted caramel ice cream which had some very salty spoonfuls and left a distinct aftertaste. For the price charged, these type of errors are not acceptable. Steak is their specialty and only use prime cuts? Will likely never return.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Notfarg

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went the 13th of February and got a 9pm seating. The food was fabulous only to be out done by the staff. The truly make you feel special. The wine list is second to none.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A flavourful experience with generous portions

Dined on February 13, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at our first visit to 529. The single Caesar's salad was sufficient for two, as were each of our two sides, the button mushrooms and the Portalba potatoes. The only little hitch was our meat orders may have been reversed with me receiving the medium and my wife the med-rare. Service was quick and courteous and with our early seating at 5:00 PM, we were finished and satisfied by 6:20.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service

Dined on February 11, 2016

Our server was so very helpful, knowledgable about all aspects of the menu, He constantly asked that we needed anything and that if everything was OK

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner at five-two-nine

Dined on February 9, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed dinner at 529 Wellington just this past week. We agreed that it couldn't bet much better than this. The food was fantastic and, thanks to the impeccable service, each course arrived with perfect timing. The ambience of that grand old dwelling lends itself to a relaxed and welcoming attitude. I have read some reviewers refer to 529 as pricey, but I suggest you get what you pay for. As I already mentioned, the service was impeccable and I would like to take this opportunity to single out Danny as among the best waiters I have had the pleasure of having provide us our dinner. Many thanks to all at 529, we will be returning and bringing friends. --Stuart Alcorn

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Will keep coming back

Dined on February 9, 2016

Me and the wife have been going to 529 for years, we love the food and top notch service. A wonderful place to eat in Winnipeg!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on February 7, 2016

Best place in Winnipeg CON:Some tables are too close together so you can sometimes feel like you are dining with the table next to you. CON:Too bad a dress code is not enforced for the dining room, something simple like business casual.In the summer when I was there a few times people came in in shorts and flip flops PRO:Food and wine list are excellent PRO: Servers are superb and attentive PRO: Consistent quality, I have never been disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.