About 529 Wellington

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: (204) 487-8325

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Caprese Salad - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Meatloaf And Mash Potat - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Ribs - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Onion Rings - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB
Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce - 529 Wellington, Winnipeg, MB

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Romantic (48)
See All
Historic (41)
Good for a Date (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Business Meals (34)
Private Room (28)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Authentic (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Comfort Food (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Family Style (8)
Fun (7)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fireplace (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Waterfront (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service by a friendly and knowledg ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 17 hours ago

Great service by a friendly and knowledgeable server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service by Russell. Delicious caes ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service by Russell. Delicious caesar salad and enjoyed the lobster mac and cheese. Main courses were all delish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We are not "regulars" when it comes to f ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

We are not "regulars" when it comes to fine dining, but were made to feel very comfortable and welcome.

Our server was exceptional in taking time to explain everything and make suggestions when we asked.

The food was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was fine and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service was fine and the atmosphere was great as always. My only negative comment would be that our steaks were slightly overdone but otherwise the food was very good. Not the best meal I've had in Winnipeg by any stretch but very good. And so overall I'd say it was a great meal but for the price I expect more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding restaurant with a cozy atmos ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding restaurant with a cozy atmosphere in a winter city. Great for special occasions. Friendly efficient service with great steaks

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! Good menu, nice wines, ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great experience! Good menu, nice wines, great services

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fun, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

amazing restaurant, excellent food , the ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 3, 2017

amazing restaurant, excellent food , the best steak that I ever had, I ordered New York Strip and was very delicious. The service and the atmosphere was great as well

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good dinner, excellent prompt servi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good dinner, excellent prompt service. Would definetly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Without a doubt, the 14 Oz. New York wa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Without a doubt, the 14 Oz. New York was the best steak we have ever had. Service by Dale- awesome. Great 30th anniversary meal. Will be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance, knowledge of our waiter.

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ambiance, knowledge of our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

529 is the destination for the best stea ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 30, 2016

529 is the destination for the best steaks in Winnipeg. The service is always very attentive.

The steaks were great as were the onion rings and salad. Highly recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great food and service, very relaxing. W ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

great food and service, very relaxing. We were there for a Christmas get together. This was our fifth visit, it must be good since we keep going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect ambiance for the holidays - warm ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Perfect ambiance for the holidays - warm, cozy, relaxed. Excellent friendly yet professional service, food always done perfectly. My filet mignon was to die for!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Historic, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Rod was fantastic, very frien ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our server Rod was fantastic, very friendly, knowledgable and charming. The onion soup with port, the caesar salad, the prime rib and Chef's trio fish dish were all fantastic. The only negative was the loudest of the adjacent tables - a quiet dinner it was not!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and terrific food. Gre ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful service and terrific food. Great place for a special family lunch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the first visit for my parents, ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was the first visit for my parents, husband and daughter and they all enjoyed their lunch, as did I.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome waiter. 2nd visit. This time was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Awesome waiter. 2nd visit. This time was better than the last too. Steak was unbelievable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at 529... it was the perfect, romantic restaurant to celebrate his birthday! We will be back!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice for a quiet lunch in the sunroom. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Nice for a quiet lunch in the sunroom. Food was very good and nice presentation. Service was attentive. Love the old house.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For a special occasion, 529 is always a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

For a special occasion, 529 is always a great treat. Meals were excellent, service out standing

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again 529 delivered! We eat here f ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Once again 529 delivered! We eat here for birthdays and anniversaries and I often stop in for lunch. This time I decided to try their fish - I had the black cod in Miran Soy Butter - i may never order their Steaks again it was that good. The carpaccio was excellent as usual and their creme brûlée is the best I've ever tasted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an absolutely excellent restaura ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is an absolutely excellent restaurant. The service is fantastic. The restaurant is in a converted older, expensive house so you get the authentic feel of a historically significant building. It is restored to pristine conditions. The food is truly incredible. I could not imagine a better place for us to have gone for this very special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife out for our 1st wedding ann ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Took my wife out for our 1st wedding anniversary and decided to go to the best restaurant in town. We started off with Mojitos close enough to how they make them in Jamaica. Our second round we asked Levi to have the mints and lime crushed the way it's done in Jamaica and he personally did it for us. Our Appetizers were a half order of the Onion Rings, 2 oysters and the Tartar tuna. All of them, excellent!

For our main meal shehad Rack of lamb, medium rare with the seafood trio. I had the Wellington, medium rare with Chef's Mac and cheese. Everything was excellent, although I was expecting the bread on the wellington to be a little more crispier than what was given.

Very impressed and I do recommend 529 to anyone for any reason!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

excellent service , great food, ( comfor ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 13, 2016

excellent service , great food, ( comfort food) one of our favourite places

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Item ordered was poorly prepared - brisk ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Item ordered was poorly prepared - brisket was extremely greasy and the sandwich did not contain the appropriate dressing or cheese in an amount that could be detected. The waiter was inattentive and did not check on the quality of the meal. Have contacted the restaurant - no response thus far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value4

My husband and I always enjoy the meal a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 12, 2016

My husband and I always enjoy the meal and ambiance at 529 Wellington. It is our favorite "date night" venue!

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You might expect such a fine establishme ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 9, 2016

You might expect such a fine establishment to be a bit snooty. But the staff is very warm and helpful. A very pleasant dining experience, unrushed and relaxing. Some may find it a tad pricey, although it's worth it.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a wonderful time at 529. It's ex ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always a wonderful time at 529. It's expensive, but well worth it for the quality and elegance. You get spoiled there every time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The table we were seated at was way too ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The table we were seated at was way too big for two people, we felt we had to almost shout to each other because of the distance across the table. I thought it was totally unnecessary to provide a "look" at the different cuts of meat, a little unsettling to be honest. And I find the prices to be way out of reach for everyday dining, especially an a la carte menu. The food was very good, beautiful venue, but not my style of everyday dining. I appreciate the chance to voice my opinions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The staff here are old pros - friendly, ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The staff here are old pros - friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. This is my very favourite steakhouse in Canada, and one of he best in North America in my experience! The Sommelier can take your budget and find the most succulent gems from their cellar to enjoy with the your Prime Canadian steak. The old mansion is so charming and the e pertinence is one of a kind.

Treat yourself. You won't be sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This a great restaurant, and the food an ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This a great restaurant, and the food and wine are exceptional. It is very pricey, so be forwarned. Check out the menu before you go.

You will have a great time here. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding! 529 was as great as I'd hea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Outstanding! 529 was as great as I'd heard it would be. The building is beautiful, the service impeccable, and the food was amazing. My husband and I both enjoyed the rib eye and lobster tail, since we were celebrating our 38th anniversary. The cocktails were tasty and imaginative and the dessert was the perfect finish. We were gifted dessert wine, which was a nice touch. Two negatives: the wine prices are astronomically above retail, so no. Not ordering any of them, and a loud guy at the next table went ON and ON about "he-who-will-not-be-named' (US President-elect). We'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had a huge lobster that was pre-cracke ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I had a huge lobster that was pre-cracked for me which made it very easy to eat and the presentation was magnificent. Truly loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere is wonderful- great respect t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Atmosphere is wonderful- great respect to paid to the original character of the home. Table service was very good- not intrusive but good attention to how the meal was progressing.

Prime Rib was a little rubbery- not as pleasant as prior visits. Steaks were outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

As always 529 is Winnipeg's best dining ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 30, 2016

As always 529 is Winnipeg's best dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All in all was good however a little dis ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 27, 2016

All in all was good however a little disappointed with the steak - ordered medium and it was rare

We sent one steak back to be cooked more but it still came back rare. The crab we ordered with the steak was a very small portion as well. The rest was all delicious and good will definitely go back. All staff are great and funny

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

From the moment we walked through the do ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 27, 2016

From the moment we walked through the door we felt taken care of and special, from being greeted, being seated to our amazing server Russell who truly made our evening. He had great suggestions rolled with our crazy requests and even reserved us a table in the lounge to move into after dinner so we could continue the fun. The food was outstanding from the appetizers to the steak which was melt in your mouth delicious. Truly a fantastic evening!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a highlight of my winnipeg dinnin ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Always a highlight of my winnipeg dinning experience. #Fine29

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Everything was good. Enj ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was great. Everything was good. Enjoyed it! I'd definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I always love going to this classy resta ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I always love going to this classy restaurant. It is so unique, being in an old vintage home.

The moment you walk in, the people working there make you feel welcome. They are very kind and try to be as helpful as possible.

We went there for lunch on a Thursday and were seated in the main dining room as requested. The ambiance is so incredible.

We were quickly attended to and ordered a glass of wine. Wines are expensive but it's great that we can order a glass of wine versus a bottle. The wine sold but he glass was good. My wife loves Pinot Grigio and she was very happy with the selected wine. I first ordered the Malbec but I found that the Chilean Merlot was more to my taste.

My wife ordered the steak sandwich and I ordered the hamburger special. We shared this meal.

We were a little disappointed in the steak as it didn't have that much flavour. It was thinner than expected and I believe it could have had more kick to it...more spices.

The hamburger and fries were awesome. The meals were quite filling and so we had no room for desert.

We will definitely go back. It's always a favourite place of ours.

Next time, we want to try the French Onion soup.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.