Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About 529 Wellington

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Romantic (46)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Great for Lunch (31)
Business Meals (30)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Cozy (18)
Authentic (17)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Scenic View (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Waterfront (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1084 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing meal (goldeye, tenderloin ahi tuna), service, ambiance.
The noise level was a bit too high is my only criticism.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

This is one of our "go to" places for special family events. Very good food and great service. The ambiance of the old house makes it even more special. Probably the most complete wine list in Winnipeg

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food is always consistent and well prepared. The wine list offers many options for those that simply want a nice wine with dinner or oenophiles. Service was very good.

My only disappointment was seating. We were celebrating an important event for our family. There were four in our party. I had asked for an especially nice table for the occasion. We were seated in one of the smaller rooms with four tables. The table next to us seated a family with two small children. They (mom and kids) came back and forth to the table half a dozen times while the dad remained making a number of cell phone calls. While we learned some interesting things about his callers and his personal life, it was disruptive. I was seated no more than 4 feet from him. Not sure the staff could have known this in advance, but perhaps parties with young children (at what one might consider Winnipeg's highest end restaurant) could be seated in a larger area to dissipate the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent food, impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Well worth the money! It was a great and memorable experience for my wife. Should would live to go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

From the breathtaking view of the mansion as you pull in to the satisfied saunter back to the car, you are wowed by the educated and elegant hosts and waiters. Savour every bite until you simply don’t want to ruin how amazing everything was by eating until you’re too full. So I took my leftovers with me because they were way too delicious!! What an experience to be served by the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 29, 2017

It was out son's 18 birthday so it was a very special occasion. While 529 is expensive it was worth it. Food we excellent and the service was top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Now THAT was a great steak. Love the venue. Very attentive service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We love 529. The food, service and ambience are among the finest💕

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Food was delicious, best food I've ever had and I've eaten at Gordon Ramsey's steaks houses. Our waiter was very knowledgable and pleasant made the experience that much better. Very well greeted upon arrival worth the money!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Amazing quality food! Steaks are phenomenal and the service is great !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 22, 2017

This was a surprise birthday celebration - the food was fabulous, service very attentive, room was beautiful and we had a wonderful time. The vegetarian entree was stunning to look at , very generous and delicious selection of grilled vegetables. The Beef Wellington was perfectly cooked and a ideal size with a side of steamed brocolli . The 2 desserts sampled- pecan pie and chocolate raspberry cheesecake were perfect ends to the meal- not too sweet. Thank you

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

This place treats everyone like royalty. I was amazed at the quality of service. We had steak. The fillet was the best I had ever tasted and the mashed potatoes are the creamiest and smoothest anywhere. This place is very pricey for us lower middle class folks, but I highly recommend a once in a life time splurge. Very worth while.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The service was excellent. Steak was the best I've ever had. Accompaniments were very good. It's expensive, but we will return. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

As our friends celebrated their 50th anniversary a couple of months ago and our 50th is in the very near future, we thought we would treat us to a very special lunch (they had never been to 529 Wellington). They were very impressed and a great time was had by all - very special!
From the minute we walked in til we left everything was perfect. You have some very special people on staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Our visit was great! Both service and food was great! There was 4 in our group and 3 had never been before..............everyone loved it and already making plans to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wow! The server was very knowable what they serve, Interior was very clean, love the wood and very cozy inside of the place. The server bring out and display the steaks and explain about the meat. I never seen server wear white before. Very well dress servers The food was awesome! We would come more often now since this is our first time and really enjoy it. Top notch to you guys!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great ambience, outstanding food and stellar service.

Lovely old building that has been converted to a classic mid to high end restaurant

Well trained and experience serving staff

We were truly impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always a lovely experience for great steak with great atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We've dined here many times and enjoyed the experience. However this visit was far below standard. The original table we were shown to was immediately beside a door to the service area/washroom, we were relocated. The food was not up to what we would expect. The shrimp app was over cooked and lacking flavour. The spinach salad was well seasoned but the spinach stems had not been removed. Finally one of the entrees, beef Wellington, had burnt and soggy pastry. Also wanted two glasses of Bon Anno but it was only available as a bottle. Overall a lacklustre dining experience and it has us questioning whether we'll return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We were on the patio and it was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food was absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed every mouthful. They have a great selection of steaks, and the ones we ordered were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Beautiful setting and wonderful food. Lunch is fairly reasonably priced but dinner is up there. Higher end but worth every penny.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great ambiance! Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

An elegant dining experience. Service was impeccable. Food was good, be prepared for high prices.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 3, 2017

First time for dinner on a date with my wife. Service was excellent and the food incredible. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Exceptional experience my wife and I had an amazing time to savvior the food and decor of a classic dinning odysesy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This was my first visit to this restaurant and will not be the last. Everything was delicious! Our server was impeccable (Michael) and the food was as wonderful as promised. The only downfall of this particular visit was the weather...we had been hoping to eat on the patio but being Winnipeg, the weather did not cooperate. But we shall try again and cross our fingers!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Loved the outside patio
I didn't know it existed
Should advertise this more

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Loving terrace setting and the food was excellent. Best meal I've had at 529

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Enjoyed our lunch on the patio and it is stunning! The flowers are breathtaking and the entire ambiance is so inviting and relaxing. The food was very good. The soup of the day was delicious! Service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

This is always an excellent meal and the serving staff is very professional. My wife and I have made it our annual anniversary dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our travel agent on NZ suggested 529 for our first visit to Canada & to celebrate my husband's birthday. Waiter very courteous & gave good suggestions for food & accompanying wine. Didn't have our firstchoice of wine but suggested substitute was good. We love the venue decor in keeping with the age of the house.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Perfect!!!!! Best evening out we've had in a long time!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was top notch, the environment setting was incredible and the food was awesome

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. A little pricier than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Great food and service. Really enjoyed the patio.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 24, 2017

the food and service is always top notch. We were served by a team of waiters who did a great job. While I understand that this is a Heritage Building, there needs to be some upgrades. The chairs in the bar are far overdue for new upholstery, and the large carpet in the main foyer is definitely showing it's age. We had a nice quiet table in a smaller room. When a large ands noisy party arrived in the adjacent room, the serving staff closed the doors to the area and we appreciated that. Very good attention to detail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great restaurant
Our first visit and amazing steaks
Our server was attentive and knowledgable
It was a great to go here and we will go again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Had my anniversary dinner there. Our waiter Russell was awesome. He had so much patience while waiting for us to be decisive. The food was amazing and very fulfilling. It was worth my drive from Edmonton.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.