About 529 Wellington

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: 2044878325x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • Caprese Salad
  • Meatloaf And Mash Potat
  • Ribs
  • Onion Rings
  • Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce
  • Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce
Caprese Salad
Meatloaf And Mash Potat
Ribs
Onion Rings
Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce
Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
11 More
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

special occasion (97)
romantic (63)
notable wine list (53)
See All
fit for foodies (45)
great for lunch (37)
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (24)
great for outdoor dining (17)
scenic view (11)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

enjoyable experience. Pleasent enviromen ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

enjoyable experience. Pleasent enviroment friendly and respectful staff

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at 529 were probably the best ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 3 days ago

The staff at 529 were probably the best I've ever had. From the host/hostess to the servers . Kind,attentive and would do anything they could to make your dining experience fantastic. Oh and if you like wine then this is the place for you. It's not a wine list..its a wine binder !! Impressive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great place for date night!!

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great place for date night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For that special occasion or just a lunc ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 7 days ago

For that special occasion or just a lunch with a special friend, 529 cannot be beat. Yes, it is a little on the expensive side but worth every penny. The steaks are the best I have ever tasted anywhere - they just melt in your mouth. The service is also excellent. I would recommend it highly.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fine29! Our cities best place to ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always fine29! Our cities best place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The first visit to your establishment to ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The first visit to your establishment to celebrate a milestone birthday. The food was amazing and the service was outstanding! The added touch of the birthday candle in the ice-cream dessert and the complimentary glass of French dessert wine finished off a beautiful evening.

Will attend again...Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a sumptuous meal that exceeded ou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a sumptuous meal that exceeded our expectations with great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic, friendly but unobtrusive serv ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic, friendly but unobtrusive service combined with excellent food. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the ambience, white linen and silv ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Loved the ambience, white linen and silverware. Server well-read on menu, beef selections, and wine list. Nice spacing between courses. Ample food per serving. Only issue we had was

noise that carried over from a large group down the hall. We had a table near a window

looking out over a garden--lovely. After supper, we went downstairs and asked the owner

if we could view their garden area. Even got a bit of history on the building. Lovely place.

Found it by accident while googling restaurants. Final comment--a little pricey, but worth

it for a special occasion. Many thanks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and myself celebrated our bir ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My husband and myself celebrated our birthdays with a special lunch on the Patio @ 529.

It is a spectacular spot--the most beautiful patio in Winnipeg. Our server Jeff was attentive without being obtrusive. He was quick to recommend 1/2 portions even with the wine, which was perfect for me. It was a lovely lunch and we've decided to go again and again in the near

future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not frequent diners at 529, but whenever ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Not frequent diners at 529, but whenever we go there, it has been a great dining experience. They do have however, a couple of accessibility issues. The ramp is constructed of steel grating which is very dangerous for one wearing high heels. The other being that you enter and exit the ramp through a special event room which means you have to disturb patrons in that room to enter or exit the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner prepared perfectly and in a reaso ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Dinner prepared perfectly and in a reasonable time. It was suggested that I have the blueberry bread pudding for dessert which I did and was not disappointed. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great evening outside even with ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a great evening outside even with some rain added . The service and food were great, and the staff looked after some dietary issues for us very well also.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a quiet dining room on the se ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We enjoyed a quiet dining room on the second level for celebration of a friends birthday. Great place to have a lovely salad, wine and dessert and conversation. Very good service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great occasion restaurant for fine dinin ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great occasion restaurant for fine dining. We went for an anniversary dinner. We did mention on our reservation that is was our 26th Anniversary and was surprised that there was no mention when we sat down. This would have been a nice touch..even though the service was excellent! The steak was the best fillet I have ever had, perfect flavour and taste. The seafood was also cooked perfectly:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always a great meal at 529. We shared a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Always a great meal at 529. We shared a rib eye steak and veggies. Done perfert.

The blueberry bread pudding is to die for.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were good, as usual. Pi ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food and service were good, as usual. Pickerel was excellent; chips were ho-hum (soggy and tasted store bought rather than the usual extremely tasty kenebec house made fries). Salmon was well prepared and delicious. We dined on the patio and mosquitoes were a problem.....spraying would be a welcomed service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Longtime patron of 529 and other WOW Hos ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Longtime patron of 529 and other WOW Hospitality locations. Overall our dining experiences have never left us wanting for anything. The food, the ambiance, service and wine list are very high end.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is not the type of restaurant to go ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is not the type of restaurant to go to for trendy items. Rather it is the place to go for refined dining in a dignified atmosphere. The food is excellent and the service is top notch. I highly recommend 529 Wellington.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely, wonderfully delicious dining ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Absolutely, wonderfully delicious dining. Never, ever disappointed with Service or Food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We chose 529 for our anniversary celebra ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We chose 529 for our anniversary celebration. The ambiance was perfect, the service was excellent, and the meal was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular patio, celebrated 5th annive ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Spectacular patio, celebrated 5th anniversary. Food was very good and service was great. Will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful night to dine at 529! After ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful night to dine at 529! After a perfect Cosmopolitan I had the Beef Carpaccio with Parmesan Reggiano, a 6 oz Filet Mignon paired with a half Lobster Tail, Twice Baked Loaded Baked Potato, my partner had the Cesar Salad, the Fish of the Day, Grilled Halibut with Spinach and the Twice Baked Loaded Baked Potato Perfect, Perfect, Perfect - no surprises here :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have to admit, that 529, has now earne ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I have to admit, that 529, has now earned the top spot as my favourite restaurant. For years and years, it was Hy's, but after an extremely disappointing recent experience there, I was so happy that 529 has taken over for their unfortunate decline.

Food was fantastic! Service was impeccable.

Thank you 529. We'll be back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcome by maître-di was very nice howev ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Welcome by maître-di was very nice however waiter could have been more friendly and less abrupt in his conversation with us and our guests who were visiting from the UK. They asked us to take them to the best steak restaurant and while the food was excellent the service left a slightly bad taste.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We sat on patio which is very nice. Sta ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We sat on patio which is very nice.

Started off with the oysters, they were very small so that was a waste of money. I had the 6oz fillet which was done and tasted perfect, it came with a scallop, jumbo shrimp both were properly cooked. Also a 1/2 Canadian lobster tail which was mushy. Husband had prime rib which was perfect. Also had mushrooms and the lobster Mac and cheese (3pieces of lobster in it) they were tasty.

Server was ok and because it was my birthday they brought me a free glass of

Dessert wine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

If I am going out for steak this is the only place I would go. Great service, intimate surroundings and the food was superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The servers were very prompt, friendly, ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The servers were very prompt, friendly, and professional. Food was amazing, even their 6oz steaks, as small as it is, it's packed with juiciness! Would recommend to all who are looking for a nice quiet romantic dinner or even a casual lunch. You get what you paid for!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Let down

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My 12oz New York steak was terrible, I had a pile of unchewable meat on my plate by the end of it.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not worth the price.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was good but way over priced. I can't believe they are still in business.

The value is not there. a la carte to the extreme. Really? $10.00 for a baked potato!

Although the featured starter salad of the day was lovely, it was after all a starter salad and when we got the bill, they were $14 each. Had trouble getting coffee refills. Felt rushed to leave. The waiter even wanted the party I was with to guess which dessert I wanted, as I was away from the table when he came back to take our dessert order. Overblown with its own sense of importance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Relax

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our waiter was very good however we felt like we were being rushed. She could have taken her time a more.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Treat every visit

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I make sure to visit every time I come to Winnipeg. I took a colleague for his first experience and now he's hooked!

Thanks for another great visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great waiter-Levi and great location and building.

Food was excellent but I would have preferred that my side dishes were hotter.

They were okay, my taste.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Best service in town and best rib steak in Western Canada - what more could you want in a high end steak house?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at 529. Waiter was attentive, cordial and knowledgeable. First time dining on the main floor and think I prefer the upper level which is not as dark. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wine by the glass selection could be a t ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Wine by the glass selection could be a touch more extensive. Would like to see a French wine or two added, perhaps Cote du Rhone.

They served the wrong vegetable dish we ordered

All in all, good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Phenomenal doesn't describe the experien ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Phenomenal doesn't describe the experience. Although quite pricey, the cuisine, and the service are above many standards. Wait staff was incredibly knowledgeable and courteous. If you like the feel of an old mansion with doors with the old keyholes you can see through and a grand entrance you'll love it at 529!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

May Long Weekend

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

AS always the restaurant was great. From the greeting at the front door to the walk upstairs to our room all folks very pleasant. The food was excellent from presentation to consumption. The only notable last evening was the noise coming from a table of 10 directly beside us.

They were quite loud to the point our group of 4 had some difficulty hearing each other at times.

Realize you can't always control that and maybe we should have said something but didn't.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The steak and prime rib was absolutely a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The steak and prime rib was absolutely amazing, best ever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a beautiful day (plus 20) May 13t ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

It was a beautiful day (plus 20) May 13th sunny and the restaurant was very quiet. We asked to sit outside on the patio but were told "we cannot sit outside it was not open" and I asked well why isn't it open and the reply was "we take longer than other restaurants to open".

Ordered the ribye steak sandwich special and it came well done instead of medium rare .. and had no marble fat running through it so it was questionable weather it was indeed a ribye. Was not told it was a la carte and it came on a plate sitting on top of a piece of garlic toast (with mushrooms I added on) and no side or garnish. I had ordered a small mixed salad to start so not sure if that was my side.

We were not in a rush so the half hour it took did not bother us. Waiter was friendly but not very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.