Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About 529 Wellington

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Romantic (40)
Notable Wine List (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Great for Lunch (25)
Business Meals (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Cozy (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Authentic (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Scenic View (8)
Casual (7)
Seasonal (6)
Waterfront (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

529 was an excellent experience and it's reasonably priced if you split dishes... best of all they didn't seem to mind at all! I've experienced some restaurants that were strict on this so, I really appreciated it.

Everything was so awesome! Rib eye steak, salad, potatoes, broccoli, dessert, had a few drinks too! I highly recommend trying to make it a little more affordable for yourself and going more often... that's certainly our plan!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The ambience is quiet and intimate. The waiter was unobtrusive, yet attentive. The food (especially the beef) was superb. The mahogany wood trim and small dining rooms give the restaurant a warm and genuine feel. I would recommend 529 Wellington for intimate dining for special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

I took my wife to 529 for her 50th birthday. When we were stuck in traffic, they were kind enough to call and ask whether to hold the reservation. Upon arrival, our coats were taken and we were seated promptly. We were shown a wine and drink list, we were also shown the options for a meat dinner. Each cut was explained in terms of flavour, fat content, and recommended temperature. When I selected a wine, the sommelier came over explained a bit about the wine. The dinner was exceptional; excellent flavour and temperature. They treated my wife to a complementary gas of very nice white dessert wine as well. Service was appropriately attentive and very professional, but friendly and not stuffy. The evening was more a dining experience than simply a meal. Well done 529.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great all around. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Food was absolutely mind blowing, brought my girlfriend and my friend and his wife, we were not expecting the best food we've ever had, Chris B was our server and he was well informed on wine and cocktails. Extremely professional

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2017

My wife and I go here around 3-5 times a year. Never had a bad meal or experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great for big or small eaters. One can enjoy an appetizer as a meal! Ambiance, service, food all spot on.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Great meal. Steak and lobster prepared perfectly. Scampi appetizer excellent. Portions were generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

I went with my family and everything about 529 was excellent, the food, service, and whole dining experience from as soon as we walked into the door until when we left was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2017

529 was superb as always. The service is unmatched. The ambience is perfect for buisness meetings - quite, private and with exceptional food. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

This was a good one-time experience for fine dining with high quality MB beef and lamb. But the staff were a little too serious for me to feel comfortable. Just not my cup of tea.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Excellent to mark a special occasion, memorable experience

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

I personally was very disappointed with the salad, New York steak , baked potato asparagus and salad that I had. The steak was just average not very flavoranle , for the $45.00 price I could have had a better one at the Keg or even the Headingley Grill or at home. It should have been melt in your mouth quality. We shared the baked potato it was almost mushy inside. The waiter dropped off our food with out the sour cream etc. And as we waited for it he took another order as our potato got cold. Asparagus was just okay . nothing special about it. Salad was half a head of lettuce cut into two (as we shared it) with a few slices of cucumbers and tomatoes with some sliced onions and very little dressing over it, pretty tasteless (had to add pepper to give some taste. Wine was good. Service was good. It was our 30th anniversary dinner which I mentioned when I made the reservation, no mention of it. For the amount of money we paid it diffently not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

From a NYC foodie passing through Winnipeg.....Great food and service at a reasonable price. Nice quiet old world setting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great food, excellent service, well worth your money.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great and fast service! Food was really good. Would come back here again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Appetizers and soups were lovely. The lobster was over cooked in more than one of our dishes... It was really disappointing as it was the main protein on the table. We didn't complain, as we didn't want to waste the food, you can't un-cook such a delicate meat. We expected more from a highly known and reviewed restaurant! The main course ruined the ambience, and we decided not to stay for dessert. Host's service was also lackluster, he took us through the building to seat us and didn't pay attention when the guests had questions. It's very important to keep your guests from feeling ignored, especially with first impressions.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Have been to 529 many times and it never fails to impress. This was our 35th anniversary and we chose 529 for this very special occasion. Although the food is nothing short of fabulous each and every meal we have had - the service is top notch and second to none. Thanks for the great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

the food and service was very good but I found it rather cold in the restaurant and had to keep my sweater on.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Amazing meal (goldeye, tenderloin ahi tuna), service, ambiance.
The noise level was a bit too high is my only criticism.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

This is one of our "go to" places for special family events. Very good food and great service. The ambiance of the old house makes it even more special. Probably the most complete wine list in Winnipeg

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food is always consistent and well prepared. The wine list offers many options for those that simply want a nice wine with dinner or oenophiles. Service was very good.

My only disappointment was seating. We were celebrating an important event for our family. There were four in our party. I had asked for an especially nice table for the occasion. We were seated in one of the smaller rooms with four tables. The table next to us seated a family with two small children. They (mom and kids) came back and forth to the table half a dozen times while the dad remained making a number of cell phone calls. While we learned some interesting things about his callers and his personal life, it was disruptive. I was seated no more than 4 feet from him. Not sure the staff could have known this in advance, but perhaps parties with young children (at what one might consider Winnipeg's highest end restaurant) could be seated in a larger area to dissipate the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent food, impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Well worth the money! It was a great and memorable experience for my wife. Should would live to go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

From the breathtaking view of the mansion as you pull in to the satisfied saunter back to the car, you are wowed by the educated and elegant hosts and waiters. Savour every bite until you simply don’t want to ruin how amazing everything was by eating until you’re too full. So I took my leftovers with me because they were way too delicious!! What an experience to be served by the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 29, 2017

It was out son's 18 birthday so it was a very special occasion. While 529 is expensive it was worth it. Food we excellent and the service was top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Now THAT was a great steak. Love the venue. Very attentive service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We love 529. The food, service and ambience are among the finest💕

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Food was delicious, best food I've ever had and I've eaten at Gordon Ramsey's steaks houses. Our waiter was very knowledgable and pleasant made the experience that much better. Very well greeted upon arrival worth the money!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Amazing quality food! Steaks are phenomenal and the service is great !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 22, 2017

This was a surprise birthday celebration - the food was fabulous, service very attentive, room was beautiful and we had a wonderful time. The vegetarian entree was stunning to look at , very generous and delicious selection of grilled vegetables. The Beef Wellington was perfectly cooked and a ideal size with a side of steamed brocolli . The 2 desserts sampled- pecan pie and chocolate raspberry cheesecake were perfect ends to the meal- not too sweet. Thank you

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

This place treats everyone like royalty. I was amazed at the quality of service. We had steak. The fillet was the best I had ever tasted and the mashed potatoes are the creamiest and smoothest anywhere. This place is very pricey for us lower middle class folks, but I highly recommend a once in a life time splurge. Very worth while.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The service was excellent. Steak was the best I've ever had. Accompaniments were very good. It's expensive, but we will return. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

As our friends celebrated their 50th anniversary a couple of months ago and our 50th is in the very near future, we thought we would treat us to a very special lunch (they had never been to 529 Wellington). They were very impressed and a great time was had by all - very special!
From the minute we walked in til we left everything was perfect. You have some very special people on staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Our visit was great! Both service and food was great! There was 4 in our group and 3 had never been before..............everyone loved it and already making plans to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wow! The server was very knowable what they serve, Interior was very clean, love the wood and very cozy inside of the place. The server bring out and display the steaks and explain about the meat. I never seen server wear white before. Very well dress servers The food was awesome! We would come more often now since this is our first time and really enjoy it. Top notch to you guys!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great ambience, outstanding food and stellar service.

Lovely old building that has been converted to a classic mid to high end restaurant

Well trained and experience serving staff

We were truly impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always a lovely experience for great steak with great atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We've dined here many times and enjoyed the experience. However this visit was far below standard. The original table we were shown to was immediately beside a door to the service area/washroom, we were relocated. The food was not up to what we would expect. The shrimp app was over cooked and lacking flavour. The spinach salad was well seasoned but the spinach stems had not been removed. Finally one of the entrees, beef Wellington, had burnt and soggy pastry. Also wanted two glasses of Bon Anno but it was only available as a bottle. Overall a lacklustre dining experience and it has us questioning whether we'll return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We were on the patio and it was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.