Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Tue, 5/22
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

529 Wellington

4.7
1237 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(204) 487-8325
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Fraser MacLeod
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Academy Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample parking available on site.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined a day ago

They ran out of lobster tails and several steaks. They should have closed. This is the second time we have experienced this. The last time they ran out of their Sunday special, prime rib. Pretty bad... we went there for lobster and were disappointed. We likely won’t go back. 👎👎👎

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

It’s a very nice setting with great food and friendly service.
We loved our evening out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Lived up to the hype! Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic experience, well knowledgeable staff excellent service at a fair price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Dine at 529 a couple of times per year. If you don’t drink alcohol expect to spend $100 per person. Great atmosphere and service. Rating reflects an over cooked lobster tail and a table of 4 business seated next to us that were quite loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

An authentic Steak House!

I was very pleased with the overall experience. The service was outstanding and the food overall, was excellent!
A la carte side dish portions were a little big for two people, which they did advise us of.

Our only real complaint was that the room we were in was a little too crowded. There wasn’t enough room to pull the corner chair out fully, which made sitting quite awkward. One less table in that room would have made a huge difference.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Excellent experience. Russell, our server, was professional and made our evening a relaxed and special one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Myself and two others attended 529 for a first time ever recently and after our overall experience, we will all be returning again someday and definately recommending this place if you want to experience true fine dining and an outstanding high quality meal cooked to perfection. No complaints. I learned from our server that this building that has been transformed into a restauraunt is a piece of Winnipegs History as it was originally a house built in 1912 by Winnipegs first mayor. I regret that I have already lived in Winnipeg since 2008 now and have never tried dining at 529 until May 2018. It may be pricey but you’ll know why as soon as you see the atmosphere that has been maintained. It should be on everyones bucket list to try at least once, but I am sure you will return again and again. And don’t be afraid to dress up for this place. You may even see some celebrities or an NHL player within.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Celebrated our 10 yr Anniversary here--awesome!! The food was the best to date! The steaks are phenomenal!! Thank you!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

It was our 52nd anniversary and we had very enjoyable dinner and the evening was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food is always exceptional. It is clear that all food is made with the highest quality ingredients, and it was expertly crafted by the chef. Food was flavourful and rich and delicious. The menu has so many wonderful choices that it was difficult to choose! We were dining out for a special occasion and the atmosphere was cozy and romantic. The cocktails were fresh and delicious. We will be back for future special occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The food was excellent. The decor was excellent. As a past potentate of Khartum Shrine, I spent many years in the building and it was wonderful to see it again. My only critisism was the price. Far to expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Food was absolutely fabulous. Large portions- could easily share.

Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Very lovely venue and food was delicious as was the bottle of wine! We were given complimentary dessert for our anniversary. Very impressed by top notch service! A higher priced meal but worth the money. Will go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

It was my one year anniversary and I asked if the waiter could put a handle on my table....he one-upped me and got me my own private dining room. The atmosphere was so beautiful, waiter extremely professional, personal, informal etc. Before my wife and I ate the waiter brought a ton of sample meats out to explain the wide variety of meats they had and which one might best meet our taste buds.

The food is to die over.


the whole experience was just so mind mind-blowing expectations were exceeded.

The

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Very good service, although our food came very quickly, almost as though to get rid of us. The steak was amazing and the truffle jus as well! The French onion soup was delicious. Could use more salad options. Quite expensive but the meal was very delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The one problem for our meal was that the dining room was easily 75-80 degrees. Which made it uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Fantastic overall, 1st time on this place and very well invited to comeback.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Fantastic night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great service as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Very happy. Waiter was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Amazing service and perfect atmosphere , highly recommended

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

We had a quiet birthday lunch for a friend. The server Karl was very good with suggestions, we were not rushed, the food was very good, and the ambiance is the reason we come back for special occasion's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

It was a friend of mines' birrhday I did mention it when I booked but the waiter was not aware when I mentioned it He was a wonderful waiter and he did apologize and bring my friend a piece of cheesecake We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch amd and stated that I have to bring my husband here Loved it here

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Great meal and attentive service!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The food was cold. Had to ask for clean plates, service was not up to par

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Excellent food and service. I highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Always great tasting food and mouth watering steak selection!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

I am always impressed with my dinners at 529. The service is delightful as well as the atmosphere. The portion sizes are incredible for all of the dishes! Will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The atmosphere was awesome loved the mansion and then you walk inside absolutely beautiful. Definitely go there again. Food was amazing. Need to experience for yourself.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

It was a great night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

529 is not only the best steak house in town, but is arguably the best restaurant in town. It is one of a dying breed of restaurants where every question that starts with “Could I get..?” always receives “Absolutely” as an answer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

A great experience. It was the first visit for my daughter and son in law and they loved it. We were celebrating my wife's retirement and 529 delivered as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Best steaks I've been able to find anywhere on the prairies, or the west coast.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Everything about the restaurant was lovely! The service was excellent, the atmosphere delightful and the food was delicious. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

This is a wonderful restaurant that is my go-to every time I am in Winnipeg. It is worth the taxi drive from downtown. Service is impeccable, food is marvellous. Enjoy, and you will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The entire Sunday dinner experience was memorable. The dinners were prepared with great detail, and the service from our waiter Michael was performed with both knowledge and humour. The building is unique, which added to the charm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Excellent evening celebrating my husband’s birthday at 529 Wellington. The location is so charming. We had wonderful cocktails at the bar and the wine recommended by the sommelier was fantastic and exactly what we were looking for. Dinner was wonderful as well. The scallops were great for an app and our steaks were cooked perfectly and so tender. We will certainly be back next time we are in winnipeg!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We had the rib eye and it was incredibly tasty and cooked perfectly. Our waiter, Michael, was very personable and able to provide some great recommendations for dinner.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31

Tweets by 529 Wellington