About 529 Wellington

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: (204) 487-8325

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Romantic (50)
See All
Historic (44)
Good for a Date (39)
Notable Wine List (38)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Business Meals (31)
Private Room (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Cozy (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Authentic (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Family Style (7)
Fun (7)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Fireplace (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Waterfront (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We arrived 1/2 hour early & prepared to have a drink in the lounge and they sat us right away for dinner. Excellent service and excellent food, had the seafood special platter and a couple of excellent ribeyes and mushroom side.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food, service, ambience all 5 star! We had an early seating yet everything was right on the mark. Haven't been disappointed with any visit to 529. Lunch or dinner, family occassion or special occassion we just love this place!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have now been there 5 times, and every time it has been excellent. The food, atmosphere, and the service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Took my girlfriend for a Valentine's dinner. We made a special point of arriving an hour early to have drinks in the bar, which reminds one of the type of place where men used to smoke in smoking jackets. The bartender came up with a creative drink when my girlfriend was undecided.

The food was exceptionally done. If you like beef, this is the place to go. They talk you through the different cuts, and explain why each has different tastes and textures. The result is that you get exactly what you want, and it tastes delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my husbands first visit. We got seated and ordered drinks. My husband ordered Prime Rib and I ordered Beef Tenderloin with Portobelo Mushrooms. The Prime Rib was over cooked like burnt and when asked how was the meal my husband said that is was over done. Server went back to kitchen only to find out that Prime Rib was all over done. He offered a replacement of a Sirloin and my husband said ok. It came within 3 minutes with all the fixing from the prime Rib still on the plate and the sirloin was the flattest steak we ever saw. Could not believe it. It is a shame that the sample cuts they show you are not the same as you get. Too bad that the server does not explain the salads as that was also another disaster. I called on Monday and spoke with Jim and he told me that he was busy as it was lunch period and would call me back. Guess what he did not. Not happy at all of this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were disappointed for the first time. My husband and I shared the 6 oz fillet and seafood. the Steak was not up to the 529 standard as well the onion soup had a burnt taste to it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was my first time at 529 Wellington and I loved it! We were greeted as soon as we walked in, got our coats checked and showed to our table upstairs. The service was fantastic! The waiter came to check on us quite frequently. From the time we ordered to the time we received our food was not a long wait. The food was delicious. The prosciutto wrapped scallops were really good and fresh. I had the fish trio with the salmon, cod, and sole, so good. Very friendly staff. Overall a great place! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife loved this place

Good food, good selection of wines

good service

nice ambiance.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Absolutely Fantastic service from Marnie and the rest of the staff that night.

Fabulous steak, incredible Lobster Mac n Cheese and a great wine menu.

Lots of neat little nooks and alcoves to make your own near-private function - and on-site parking!

Thanks for the Great Experience Winnipeg!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Historic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was my first time going there and it was amazing! The steak was beautiful and cooked to perfection, the lobster was great... if you get a chance, try the sweet potato with maple butter and pecans - to die for!

I will definitely go again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I reserved this restaurant while in Winnipeg to experience specifically the Beef Wellington and was very pleased. The wine list is extensive, was offered half portions since I was dining alone and well-timed courses. I enjoyed the décor and happy groups dining in the cozy room. Crème Brule dessert was well crusted and I opted to accompany it with ice wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 27, 2017

While I visited, I enjoyed grilled cod (loin, I think). It was excellent, but the truly outstanding feature was the sauce- about the most flavorable I have ever tasted and I am old. Congratulations to the chef!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It. reat place to eat in superior service as always

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 24, 2017

An excellent lunch. Ambiance lovely, servers prompt and cordial, food was amazing, the black cod literally melted in your mouth. Highly recommend for a special occasion!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Tom the server was fantastic. He knows his stuff and the menu/meat description was outstanding. He was the tipping point that made the meal special instead of just good. Steaks were cooked to perfection based on request. Wine options are deep and of great quality. Price to value is a bit off although based on overall experiece i would pay a premium for that quality meal and service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I went here for a special birthday occasion with my Significant Other. The food was very good but overpriced for what it is. The real problem was the VERY poor service. We frequent many upscale restaurants not only in Winnipeg, but other cities and this is the worst service we have received. We watched our server make eye contact with us three times as we waived him over, and watched him ignore us and serve other tables each time. Twice to the same table. It seemed like we were ignored because we are young and I can only assume our server wasn't expecting a decent tip. We waited for over 25 minutes to order after flagging our server 3 times. For this price range, I would much rather go to Hy's or Velvet Glove where we have always had great food and great service. I will not be returning to 529 anytime soon.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service by a friendly and knowledgeable server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great service by Russell. Delicious caesar salad and enjoyed the lobster mac and cheese. Main courses were all delish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We are not "regulars" when it comes to fine dining, but were made to feel very comfortable and welcome.

Our server was exceptional in taking time to explain everything and make suggestions when we asked.

The food was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service was fine and the atmosphere was great as always. My only negative comment would be that our steaks were slightly overdone but otherwise the food was very good. Not the best meal I've had in Winnipeg by any stretch but very good. And so overall I'd say it was a great meal but for the price I expect more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding restaurant with a cozy atmosphere in a winter city. Great for special occasions. Friendly efficient service with great steaks

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great experience! Good menu, nice wines, great services

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fun, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 3, 2017

amazing restaurant, excellent food , the best steak that I ever had, I ordered New York Strip and was very delicious. The service and the atmosphere was great as well

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good dinner, excellent prompt service. Would definetly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Without a doubt, the 14 Oz. New York was the best steak we have ever had. Service by Dale- awesome. Great 30th anniversary meal. Will be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ambiance, knowledge of our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 30, 2016

529 is the destination for the best steaks in Winnipeg. The service is always very attentive.

The steaks were great as were the onion rings and salad. Highly recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

great food and service, very relaxing. We were there for a Christmas get together. This was our fifth visit, it must be good since we keep going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Perfect ambiance for the holidays - warm, cozy, relaxed. Excellent friendly yet professional service, food always done perfectly. My filet mignon was to die for!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Historic, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our server Rod was fantastic, very friendly, knowledgable and charming. The onion soup with port, the caesar salad, the prime rib and Chef's trio fish dish were all fantastic. The only negative was the loudest of the adjacent tables - a quiet dinner it was not!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful service and terrific food. Great place for a special family lunch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was the first visit for my parents, husband and daughter and they all enjoyed their lunch, as did I.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Awesome waiter. 2nd visit. This time was better than the last too. Steak was unbelievable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at 529... it was the perfect, romantic restaurant to celebrate his birthday! We will be back!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Nice for a quiet lunch in the sunroom. Food was very good and nice presentation. Service was attentive. Love the old house.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

For a special occasion, 529 is always a great treat. Meals were excellent, service out standing

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Once again 529 delivered! We eat here for birthdays and anniversaries and I often stop in for lunch. This time I decided to try their fish - I had the black cod in Miran Soy Butter - i may never order their Steaks again it was that good. The carpaccio was excellent as usual and their creme brûlée is the best I've ever tasted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is an absolutely excellent restaurant. The service is fantastic. The restaurant is in a converted older, expensive house so you get the authentic feel of a historically significant building. It is restored to pristine conditions. The food is truly incredible. I could not imagine a better place for us to have gone for this very special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Took my wife out for our 1st wedding anniversary and decided to go to the best restaurant in town. We started off with Mojitos close enough to how they make them in Jamaica. Our second round we asked Levi to have the mints and lime crushed the way it's done in Jamaica and he personally did it for us. Our Appetizers were a half order of the Onion Rings, 2 oysters and the Tartar tuna. All of them, excellent!

For our main meal shehad Rack of lamb, medium rare with the seafood trio. I had the Wellington, medium rare with Chef's Mac and cheese. Everything was excellent, although I was expecting the bread on the wellington to be a little more crispier than what was given.

Very impressed and I do recommend 529 to anyone for any reason!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 13, 2016

excellent service , great food, ( comfort food) one of our favourite places

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Item ordered was poorly prepared - brisket was extremely greasy and the sandwich did not contain the appropriate dressing or cheese in an amount that could be detected. The waiter was inattentive and did not check on the quality of the meal. Have contacted the restaurant - no response thus far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 12, 2016

My husband and I always enjoy the meal and ambiance at 529 Wellington. It is our favorite "date night" venue!

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 9, 2016

You might expect such a fine establishment to be a bit snooty. But the staff is very warm and helpful. A very pleasant dining experience, unrushed and relaxing. Some may find it a tad pricey, although it's worth it.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always a wonderful time at 529. It's expensive, but well worth it for the quality and elegance. You get spoiled there every time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The table we were seated at was way too big for two people, we felt we had to almost shout to each other because of the distance across the table. I thought it was totally unnecessary to provide a "look" at the different cuts of meat, a little unsettling to be honest. And I find the prices to be way out of reach for everyday dining, especially an a la carte menu. The food was very good, beautiful venue, but not my style of everyday dining. I appreciate the chance to voice my opinions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The staff here are old pros - friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. This is my very favourite steakhouse in Canada, and one of he best in North America in my experience! The Sommelier can take your budget and find the most succulent gems from their cellar to enjoy with the your Prime Canadian steak. The old mansion is so charming and the e pertinence is one of a kind.

Treat yourself. You won't be sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Outstanding! 529 was as great as I'd heard it would be. The building is beautiful, the service impeccable, and the food was amazing. My husband and I both enjoyed the rib eye and lobster tail, since we were celebrating our 38th anniversary. The cocktails were tasty and imaginative and the dessert was the perfect finish. We were gifted dessert wine, which was a nice touch. Two negatives: the wine prices are astronomically above retail, so no. Not ordering any of them, and a loud guy at the next table went ON and ON about "he-who-will-not-be-named' (US President-elect). We'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This a great restaurant, and the food and wine are exceptional. It is very pricey, so be forwarned. Check out the menu before you go.

You will have a great time here. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I had a huge lobster that was pre-cracked for me which made it very easy to eat and the presentation was magnificent. Truly loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Atmosphere is wonderful- great respect to paid to the original character of the home. Table service was very good- not intrusive but good attention to how the meal was progressing.

Prime Rib was a little rubbery- not as pleasant as prior visits. Steaks were outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.