About 529 Wellington

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: 2044878325x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • Caprese Salad
  • Meatloaf And Mash Potat
  • Ribs
  • Onion Rings
  • Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce
  • Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce
Caprese Salad
Meatloaf And Mash Potat
Ribs
Onion Rings
Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce
Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
11 More
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (116)
Romantic (71)
Notable Wine List (68)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Great for Lunch (44)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Scenic View (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (8)
Private Room (7)
Historic (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
814 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food and our server was very g ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food and our server was very good. We have been to 529 Wellington numerous times and the food always impresses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Not cheap but a ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and service. Not cheap but a great spot for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Looked forward to dinner for a special o ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Looked forward to dinner for a special occasion. We were ignored for more than several minutes while the door person chatted with a staff member. It was off putting with no apology for the wait. We were seated in a comfortable room upstairs & the server was very professional & knowledgeable. The steaks were the best we've ever had. The lobster bisque soup was alright but not worth $16. Same goes for the other sides. They were adequate but very overpriced. However it was a special occasion & we were served complimentary port after dinner. Would go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Best steak in town. They "always" get it ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Best steak in town. They "always" get it right and the wine list is insane. You cannot eat any better.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fantastic. Our waiter Chris ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was fantastic. Our waiter Chris was awesome. Knew his meats and how to cook them for the best flavour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Home is lovely and food was good but not ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Home is lovely and food was good but not great. Service was slow and rooms were small and crowded. Expected more from 529 and will try again one day and hope that the service is improved.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food and service was excellent as al ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food and service was excellent as always.

One of the best restaurants in Winnipeg.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

529 Wellington, Great service but littl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

529 Wellington,

Great service but little value considering the price.

Considering there was a newborn baby screaming the entire time of our meal and the drunken cursing loudmouth that sat directly behind me, not really the experience we had hoped for.

Obviously the drunken loudmouth was way over served his alcohol limit which is directly the fault of the waiter and management. This guys own mother had repeatedly asked him to lower his voice and stop swearing, not to mention.....

My other comment would question why a newborn baby be put in the middle of a busy dining room to scream and cry all night? I'm sure there are private rooms available....

The hypersensitivity of the politically correct has left us with no sense of what should have been done in both of these situations but again, the management would have to have been "on the ball", so to speak, to address the situation of the drunken cursing loudmouth and the crying baby.

Having worked in hospitality for more than 15 years doesn't make me the expert in any case but anyone with common sense and logic would have made some necessary movements to make the dining experience for the rest of the people an enjoyable one.

Again, I believe the hypersensitivity of the politically correct has removed any logic or common sense in situations like this because " we don't want to offend anybody (heaven forbid)" even though it's OK to ruin the night of the majority to appease a few people who can't or choose not control themselves because of their false sense of entitlement.

I will leave it as bad timing on our part and I'm sure this comment will go unanswered as this is common among large restaurant chains/companies like wow.

One thing that is for sure and very clear was that there was no "wow" in our experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Used to be my favourite steakhouse in to ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Used to be my favourite steakhouse in town. Ordered a filet medium well and received a very tough and undercooked piece of meat(wasn't filet),inedible! Did not want to make a scene so I discreetly informed my server. My wife was kind enough to share her steak with me so I told them I did not want to wait for a new one. We ordered a dessert to share and were told it was on the house. However when the bill came they charged us for the steak that was completely inedible. Unacceptable behaviour for a fine dining restaurant. I guess they can have the money for the steak as I will never be returning. Good luck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We enjoyed the food very much. Portions ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much. Portions were generous & the service was very accommodating & friendly. We have reservations made for this week again & hope to try out the patio. Oh, did I mention the wine menu - wow!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I celebrated our anniver ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here as this is where our wedding reception took place many years ago. The food was exquisite ,service fantastic . Very romantic experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is fabulous, service good ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The atmosphere is fabulous, service good +, but the food was mediocre and over priced. We started with Lobster Bisque which was excellent. My main course was a selection of 3 by 4oz pieces of fish (salmon, ling cod and black cod) which were fine. However my partner ordered 12 oz of prime rib which was not that great. part of it was cook just right (medium) while part was raw and unedible and there was only 6 oz of meat, the rest was fat. We understand that prime rib is fatty but this was excessive. The side dishes were pureed sweet potatoes with maple syrup and walnuts which tasted good but seemed like a soap they were so whipped and a spoon would have been appropriate to eat. The second side was broccoli with a bernais sauce. The broccoli was almost cold although the texture was medium like it was cooked at some time. We finished up coffee that we sent back because it was thin and tasted like tea.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My boyfriend and I visited 529 for a dat ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My boyfriend and I visited 529 for a date on a Friday evening, place filled up after we got there at 6pm. Food was expensive but high quality. Main dishes are small while the sides are huge. Ambiance of the place was like no other. Nice place for a special occasion or date or family birthday party. This restaurant is a once a year restaurant for us since we're students!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our party of 2 went for lunch to celebra ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our party of 2 went for lunch to celebrate an Anniversary. We sat on the patio which was beautiful in spite of a cool and windy day. Our waiter seemed a little inexperienced but was pleasant. The food was lovely and we had a lovely time. We didn't feel rushed

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

My only issue with the evening was with ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My only issue with the evening was with the steak I ordered, the Porterhouse. One half was perfect just the way I like a steak. The other half was very tough and chewy. A little disappointing for the price.

Everything else was perfect. An enjoyable dining experience.

Cheers KenB

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing a25th anniversary dinner... our ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing a25th anniversary dinner... our waiter was exceptional-cannot wait to come back!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined many times at 529 over the ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have dined many times at 529 over the years and I have to say that this was our least enjoyable experience. My husband LOVES the french onion soup that you serve, however, this time it was mediocre - not piping hot as it normally is served.

Our waiter wasn't the most "friendly" that we have had there either - perhaps he was having an "off" day.

All in all, for the price that was charged, we were disappointed this time around.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My friend and I were celebrating our bir ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My friend and I were celebrating our birthdays on August 16. It was our first time at 529 and we had a wonderful time. Our server and sommelier, Chris, was approachable and quite knowledgeable about the food, wine and building's history. He made us feel special and welcomed. Thank you to him and the chef for a delicious and enjoyable evening!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beef Wellington was excellent. Caesar s ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Beef Wellington was excellent. Caesar salad was garlic heavy and not prepared at our table as promised in the menu. Asparagus had some tough ends. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have been coming to this restraint sin ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been coming to this restraint since it first opened and I adore the classic old world charm! It's a place to go to feel truly taken care of! I highly recommend!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not my first time dining there, but it's ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Not my first time dining there, but it's like it gets better and better every time. I had requested the most private spot available and they definitely delivered. The food was plentiful and fantastic. The french onion soup, potatoes au gratin, and rib eye with marrow sauce are definitely highlights. A perfect top off was the trio of ice cream.

Above all, our service was impeccable. Friendly without being cheesy, formal without being snobby, and observant without hovering. We loved it.

Thank you for making our anniversary a special one. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you very much to Carl for getting ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Thank you very much to Carl for getting me a table on the patio! It was my mom's 80th birthday so I wanted it to be special. I requested the outdoor table at the last minute and Carl came through. It was very much appreciated! The service is excellent with friendly and attentive waiters. Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my children out for a family get ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I took my children out for a family get together as they come in every year--we had a fine meal with drinks and great conversation. The service was superb and very attentive. The steaks were well prepared and the specialty of black cod was amazing.

I have nothing further to say other than to say that I will be using 529 somewhat more often. As a matter of fact my son and I are going back tonight for a steak. this fills the fifty word review. Thank you for asking.

Les Ullyot

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to 529 on a recent trip home to ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went to 529 on a recent trip home to Winnipeg. Our family used to go there for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries and such. I have very fond memories of the place it used to be and so my expectations were high. Every time we have been back since leaving the city in 2009, our experience has been worse at this restaurant. I phoned to inform the hostess we would be late and I believe her reply was "yah-ok" followed by silence. We were not greeted at the door. I ordered the Yorkshire with roast beef appetizer and it was cold, hard and greasy. Next time I will definitely go elsewhere as there are so many better options in Winnipeg.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

All meals were fantastic. Prime rib was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

All meals were fantastic. Prime rib was my choice everything was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always amazing. Fantastic food and excep ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always amazing. Fantastic food and exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing wine list. Excellent beef selec ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Amazing wine list. Excellent beef selection. Attentive servers. All the food was done to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly service.

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

529 has been mine and my wife's place to ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

529 has been mine and my wife's place to go for any special occasion. The food is always great and the staff is always friendly, helpful and accommodating. We will definitely be back

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this spot for our 5 year weddin ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We chose this spot for our 5 year wedding anniversary. This was the msot amazing food I have even eaten. Service was a bit slow (we arrived at 6 pm, and left at 9 pm), as they were really full that night, but that just made us savour our food even more. I have never had steak or pecan pie so good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service and atmosphere were outstanding. ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service and atmosphere were outstanding. I was there by myself and was treated just as well as if I'd been part of a table full of people. The presentation of the beef carpaccio appetizer was beautiful, and tasted very fresh. However, it was a little bland, perhaps a drizzle of truffle oil or even the addition of capers would have given it some oomph. Freshly ground pepper would have even enhanced the flavour. Ordered the filet, which was cooked perfectly. Instead of a ordering a side I ordered the beefsteak tomato appetizer, which was extremely fresh and tasty. No room for dessert, though the menu looked amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great meal at 529. The patio t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a great meal at 529. The patio this year is absolutely beautiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there to celebrate our Fiftieth ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were there to celebrate our Fiftieth Wedding Anniversary. The food was great but little over priced compared to other fine restaurants. The wine was good (Australian Pinot Noir approximately $25.00 per bottle retail) but were charged $64.00 plus taxes.

The waiter poured the first glass each but only topped up one of glasses later and I had to pour my own later. They also gave us two liquors and said they were on the house, but did charge for one.

We felt the service was a bit rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

excellent food great atmosphere no rush, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

excellent food

great atmosphere

no rush, well paced

friendly and welcoming staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My second time and my wife's first. Had ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My second time and my wife's first. Had a very nice evening. Food was fabulous with a great selection of sides. Service was great. Always hard to pick a wine and on my first visit had a sommelier assist however this time not. The waiters recommendation was good but it's always nice having that extra touch. Overall I would recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Really enjoyed the foo, service and ambi ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Really enjoyed the foo, service and ambiance. The sides were fantastic and the steak was very good. Definitely a little more pricey, but quality was excellent. Would highly recommend for special occasions .

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lovely terrace is so very perfect at ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The lovely terrace is so very perfect at 529. The hostess greeted us promptly and we were seated at the bar while our table was prepared. The bartender was excellent. Once seated our server started out well, pleasant and informative. Unfortunately he forgot my husbands lobster bisque soup which was disappointing but we realize mistakes do happen. However, when we told him his response was "oh so I did". Our dinner was already delivered at that point. After that he became inattentive to us and seemed to us to be much more focused on his other tables. Eventually, another very pleasant server took over our table and my assumption was that he may have asked her to. Obviously wasn't a great experience for us but in spite of that my husband still left his usual 20% tip. I want to clarify we weren't being unreasonable or difficult clients.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Combination of food, service and ambianc ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Combination of food, service and ambiance is unbeatable in the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

enjoyable experience. Pleasent enviromen ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

enjoyable experience. Pleasent enviroment friendly and respectful staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.