Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About 529 Wellington

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: (204) 487-8325

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (35)
See All
Business Meals (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Authentic (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Cozy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Historic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Waterfront (3)
Casual (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1016 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

The garden patio was intimate and shady. What a perfect place for sharing a fine dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

529 is always an elegant experience. The building is absolutely spectacular and I always enjoy the flower beds in front in the summertime. I love the fact that parking is so accessible. Our waiter was excellent, cocktails very yummy, but the service was a little bit too fast I thought this time around, although very polite and attentive. The beefsteak tomato salad was divine with the blue cheese dressing. My rack of lamb was a bit under done for my taste, but had good flavour. The sides tasted homemade, which is a good thing and were plentiful. Wine with dinner also very good. All in all a very pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Highly recommended, especially for those special occasions. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Worth every penny! The go to place for the perfect dining experience

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wonderful experience! It's a little dark but very romantic and sensuous! We'll be back. The service was impeccable!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Everything was great except one of the steaks was not what we expexted. One (the filet) was excellent and the other (strip loin) was only so so (thin and over cooked). Waiter (Chris) was fantastic, building was fantastic ( we had a tour ). Will go again however will have the filet.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything was perfect. Wine list is much more extensive than at most restaurants. This is more than a dinner out -- it is an experience. 529 Wellington is not cheap, but it is worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Dining at 529 is always a fabulous experience....

But the staff went above & beyond on this visit....and provided EXCEPTIONAL service!!!!

A special Thank you to Jim Armstrong & his phenomenal staff!!!!

Our salads, steak & side dishes were fabulous as always....the wine service was outstanding!!! 🍷

Becky Kaufmann

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 13, 2017

As always outstanding great food and the bartenders know how to make the perfect Martini

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Overall great! Best cod in the city as well as the steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Service was very good and accommodating to an alergy issue.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent service and quality food. The waiter was attentive and efficient. His recommendations were great. We never felt rushed and enjoyed our lunching experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great service, beautiful mansion. I always enjoy a gathering at 529! 5 stars every time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We were hoping for a table in patio and were told it was fully booked but when we looked there were some empty tables. The lamb was under cooked (we asked for medium on the side of well cooked) and it was like warm when it arrived at our table. The potatos were nothing to write about as was the broccoli. The lobster tails my daughter had were also below average.
Overall the food was over priced and underwhelming- a disappointment for all the hype- we will not be going back if we can help it and not recommending either. There are a handful of exquisite restaurants around Winnipeg which deserve our attention.
Oh, and did I mention the stuffy atmosphere? On a beautiful summer evening, the last thing we wanted was to be stuck in a dark room with blinds drawn. Needs much to be desired, perhaps 529 is now passée or in need of serious updates to both menu and look.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Steak did not disappoint. The service was exactly what you would expect from a fine dining establishment. The tenderloin was to die for, melts in your mouth. The side dishes were well proportioned, and you definitely wont leave hungry. Even the fish at this steakhouse was excellently prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

To be honest we didn't expect a lot going into it, but we wanted to try it out for a special occasion...Upon arriving the greeting for the host was rather nonchalant, once seated service was rather slow, and I don't expect to rush through an expensive dining experience. Our servers attitude was borderline curt, we didn't feel overly welcomed, lets put it that way...Regarding the servers attire, they wear white smocks/jackets, which imo look tacky, but that's another issue...my real issue was that they were dirty, pockets had inks stains, whites weren't white anymore. I noticed this on more than one server. Completely unacceptable IMO. I realize I'm being picky but were talking about $250 for two person dinner.

Food: Meal was decent enough, though no wow factor, not memorable other than for it's cost...dirty dished remained on table for quite some time after meal was finished.

I don't mind spending good money if the whole experience is excellent, I feel they fell short. Unfortunately the tone was set by the cool welcome by both the host and server, initial impressions are everything.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food is always amazing! LOVE the meatloaf. The lemon cheesecake is THE BEST cheesecake I have ever had; so light and packed with flavour!
Outstanding service and very friendly!
Always enjoy the coffee!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We enjoy dining at 529 Wellington a few times a year. The food is always top notch and so is the service. Pricing is what you would expect for High End Restaurant. You will enjoy yourself, just be prepared for the bill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very expensive but the service and the steaks (and other food) are excellent. Their wine list is the best that I have ever seen! (Just remember the good stuff costs like it's good stuff.) I've been 4 or 5 times but I have to save up between trips. It's got to be a very special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was marvellous and the cheese toast was one of the best I've eaten

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great atmosphere, food and service. Portions are too large. They should have smaller portion options.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. A great option for fine dining with excellent beef and lamb menu items. I can't comment on any other main courses only because I've never gotten beyond beef and lamb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We ate lunch on the patio....absolutely gorgeous! Gardens are outstanding. Very relaxing and tranquil setting. I had the reuben with a side caesar. Salad was very good ; the romaine was crisp and fresh. Corned beef was unusually fatty (looked more like bacon) but when I cut off the excess fat the sandwich was absolutely delicious. My friend had the prime rib sandwich with button mushrooms. The steak came exactly as ordered and both the steak and mushrooms were excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Another memorable night with excellent food, service and classic setting. 529 remains our favourite for family occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing food and service! We went for a 50th Anniversary and it was perfect. They even gave a glass of dessert wine on the house. Button mushrooms and au gratin potatoes are excellent choices for a side and steaks were the best we've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 22, 2017

For a $135.00 lunch for two this was sadly disappointing. We chose 529 as we wanted a high-end experience. When we arrived for our reservation they seated us at a table that was not set and literally just had a table cloth. The food was poor, greasy and exceptionally salty. My wife had a spinach salad with prawns and it was a handful of overdressed spinach two nuts, a cranberry and a teaspoon of blue cheese with two overcooked prawns. After lunch we decided to have a cappuccino, which was served in a teacup, and pass on the limited dessert menu. When the waiter saw we had anniversary cards he offered to bring us something special to celebrate the occasion. A lemon tart was delivered which was nice except that it was also added to our bill. If I wanted to buy a dessert I would have ordered a dessert. Overall we left thinking about all the amazing Winnipeg restaurants that we should have gone to instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Karl was great as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The food is always made with top notch ingredients, service is always the best as well. Steak is always made to perfection and comes out prompt. Would highly suggest to anyone for any occasion as the ambience is great as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great as always except our steak way over cooked and our server was as tentative as usual

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service is always amazing. The food even better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 16, 2017

529 Wellington has the best tasting food. The steak was mouth watering, cooked to perfection, as were the side dishes and salad. Even the broccoli was perfectly cooked and best I've ever tasted! An amazing experience all around!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 14, 2017

we had a fantastic night, girls night out, our servicer was excellent paced our food excellent and never felt rushed. will be come again.

thanks Kim

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Was looking forward to the experience but was disappointed for the $$$. We both sent our entree back because it was luke warm. It was reheated to warm but not hot. Steak was OK but my cheaper cuts of steaks on the bbq at home are tastier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

One of the best steakhouses we have ever dined at. Wife's 75th birthday and she ended up thrilled by everything. Michael, our server, was knowledgeable, gracious and took all the time required to give us the background on the historic building and the menu. We are on a 6K, 55 day trip in our motorhome and I had made the reservation prior to leaving the Seattle area on 1 May. Turned out to be one of the best moves I've made in a long time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 5, 2017

First time dining at 529 and left already planning when we can go back! Everything was fantastic from food to service couldnt ask for more, beautiful patio on beautiful grounds and food was great value for money paid! Large portions, steak was cooked perfect, Best mashed potatos and bread pudding. Great place to celebrate! Highly reccomend

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Outstanding service. Probably the best steak I've ever had. The wine list was the best in the city and had top options at all price points even reasonable ones! Our server loved his job, knew a ton about wine, and really made our night because of his passion for his work and his attentiveness. Pricey but sooooo worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My girlfriend had the salad special and said it was awesome. I had the sirloin beef burger special, it needed a bit more salt and if it would have had a bit more smokey or charred flavour it was have been outstanding instead of just good. The waiter was amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I had been here once a year 4-5 yrs ago on business and decided to visit on cross Canada drive. It was a wonderful dinner, service, ambiance. This is a high end steakhouse, and delivers. Thx

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We have never had a bad experience at 529, and we expect that to continue

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.