Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About 529 Wellington

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: (204) 487-8325

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Romantic (38)
See All
Historic (35)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for a Date (32)
Business Meals (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Private Room (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Authentic (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Family Style (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fireplace (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
963 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent dinner! Michael was best server we have had at 529!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Outstanding venue and food. Pricey, but worth every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Winnipegs premier steak house. Nothing overly fancy on the menu, but great steaks and seafood!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have visited many times. Was seated second floor room by window with dirty ripped screens. Lady bugs crawling all over windowsills.
Steak ordered was supposed to be medium well but was well. Sent back. Second steak was excellent.

Service excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was our first visit to 529. The ambience was worth the trip. The food was excellent , as was the service. Eating great food in a romantic historic setting where you didn't feel rushed made the evening special. We especially enjoyed the beef and my husband loved the asparagus- perfectly cooked.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was one of the most wonderful dining experiences I've ever had. The night could not have gone bether!

Tags: Late-night Find, Historic, Organic, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was our first time here. It was great. They took the time to explain everything in detail and provided perfect advice. Most upscale restaurants you expect very little for what you pay but 529 is the complete opposite! Plan to make this an anniversary tradition going forward.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food at an expensive price. Best steak ive ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Been to 529 many times. And everytime we have a great experience. The veal chop was slightly tough, But that was the only thing that wasn't perfect as usual
Service ..ambience .. food top notch

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 21, 2017

As always 529 never disappoints, this is my go to place when entertaining business clients, it never fails to empress and the food and wine are spectacular

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Such a beautiful place. Whole restaurant is made from an old mansion with each room having seating areas. All employees definitely made you feel royal and high -class. The prices definitely reflect what you get and was all worth it, especially if you have a love, passion, and sense of art with food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time we were there and it was amazing. The steaks melt in your mouth and sides were amazing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had extraordinary service, the food was outstanding and Christopher Sprague is a darling!!! Great service!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Authentic, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Birthday celebration, never a disappointment - a glass of a lovely dessert wine was complimentary for my birthday to cap off a delicious dinner!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent meal, prepared and served excellently. Everyone enjoyed their emails, from appetizers to deserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We arrived 1/2 hour early & prepared to have a drink in the lounge and they sat us right away for dinner. Excellent service and excellent food, had the seafood special platter and a couple of excellent ribeyes and mushroom side.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food, service, ambience all 5 star! We had an early seating yet everything was right on the mark. Haven't been disappointed with any visit to 529. Lunch or dinner, family occassion or special occassion we just love this place!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have now been there 5 times, and every time it has been excellent. The food, atmosphere, and the service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Took my girlfriend for a Valentine's dinner. We made a special point of arriving an hour early to have drinks in the bar, which reminds one of the type of place where men used to smoke in smoking jackets. The bartender came up with a creative drink when my girlfriend was undecided.

The food was exceptionally done. If you like beef, this is the place to go. They talk you through the different cuts, and explain why each has different tastes and textures. The result is that you get exactly what you want, and it tastes delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my husbands first visit. We got seated and ordered drinks. My husband ordered Prime Rib and I ordered Beef Tenderloin with Portobelo Mushrooms. The Prime Rib was over cooked like burnt and when asked how was the meal my husband said that is was over done. Server went back to kitchen only to find out that Prime Rib was all over done. He offered a replacement of a Sirloin and my husband said ok. It came within 3 minutes with all the fixing from the prime Rib still on the plate and the sirloin was the flattest steak we ever saw. Could not believe it. It is a shame that the sample cuts they show you are not the same as you get. Too bad that the server does not explain the salads as that was also another disaster. I called on Monday and spoke with Jim and he told me that he was busy as it was lunch period and would call me back. Guess what he did not. Not happy at all of this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were disappointed for the first time. My husband and I shared the 6 oz fillet and seafood. the Steak was not up to the 529 standard as well the onion soup had a burnt taste to it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was my first time at 529 Wellington and I loved it! We were greeted as soon as we walked in, got our coats checked and showed to our table upstairs. The service was fantastic! The waiter came to check on us quite frequently. From the time we ordered to the time we received our food was not a long wait. The food was delicious. The prosciutto wrapped scallops were really good and fresh. I had the fish trio with the salmon, cod, and sole, so good. Very friendly staff. Overall a great place! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife loved this place
Good food, good selection of wines
good service
nice ambiance.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Absolutely Fantastic service from Marnie and the rest of the staff that night.

Fabulous steak, incredible Lobster Mac n Cheese and a great wine menu.

Lots of neat little nooks and alcoves to make your own near-private function - and on-site parking!

Thanks for the Great Experience Winnipeg!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Historic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was my first time going there and it was amazing! The steak was beautiful and cooked to perfection, the lobster was great... if you get a chance, try the sweet potato with maple butter and pecans - to die for!

I will definitely go again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I reserved this restaurant while in Winnipeg to experience specifically the Beef Wellington and was very pleased. The wine list is extensive, was offered half portions since I was dining alone and well-timed courses. I enjoyed the décor and happy groups dining in the cozy room. Crème Brule dessert was well crusted and I opted to accompany it with ice wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 27, 2017

While I visited, I enjoyed grilled cod (loin, I think). It was excellent, but the truly outstanding feature was the sauce- about the most flavorable I have ever tasted and I am old. Congratulations to the chef!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It. reat place to eat in superior service as always

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 24, 2017

An excellent lunch. Ambiance lovely, servers prompt and cordial, food was amazing, the black cod literally melted in your mouth. Highly recommend for a special occasion!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Tom the server was fantastic. He knows his stuff and the menu/meat description was outstanding. He was the tipping point that made the meal special instead of just good. Steaks were cooked to perfection based on request. Wine options are deep and of great quality. Price to value is a bit off although based on overall experiece i would pay a premium for that quality meal and service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I went here for a special birthday occasion with my Significant Other. The food was very good but overpriced for what it is. The real problem was the VERY poor service. We frequent many upscale restaurants not only in Winnipeg, but other cities and this is the worst service we have received. We watched our server make eye contact with us three times as we waived him over, and watched him ignore us and serve other tables each time. Twice to the same table. It seemed like we were ignored because we are young and I can only assume our server wasn't expecting a decent tip. We waited for over 25 minutes to order after flagging our server 3 times. For this price range, I would much rather go to Hy's or Velvet Glove where we have always had great food and great service. I will not be returning to 529 anytime soon.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service by a friendly and knowledgeable server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great service by Russell. Delicious caesar salad and enjoyed the lobster mac and cheese. Main courses were all delish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We are not "regulars" when it comes to fine dining, but were made to feel very comfortable and welcome.
Our server was exceptional in taking time to explain everything and make suggestions when we asked.

The food was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service was fine and the atmosphere was great as always. My only negative comment would be that our steaks were slightly overdone but otherwise the food was very good. Not the best meal I've had in Winnipeg by any stretch but very good. And so overall I'd say it was a great meal but for the price I expect more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding restaurant with a cozy atmosphere in a winter city. Great for special occasions. Friendly efficient service with great steaks

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great experience! Good menu, nice wines, great services

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fun, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 3, 2017

amazing restaurant, excellent food , the best steak that I ever had, I ordered New York Strip and was very delicious. The service and the atmosphere was great as well

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good dinner, excellent prompt service. Would definetly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Without a doubt, the 14 Oz. New York was the best steak we have ever had. Service by Dale- awesome. Great 30th anniversary meal. Will be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.