About 529 Wellington

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Private Party Facilities:
Private party facilities for groups of 8-50 depending on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Armstrong: 2044878325x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • Caprese Salad
  • Meatloaf And Mash Potat
  • Ribs
  • Onion Rings
  • Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce
  • Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce
Caprese Salad
Meatloaf And Mash Potat
Ribs
Onion Rings
Peppered Rib Steak With Cognac Peppercorn Sauce
Ribsteak With Marrow Sauce

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
13 More
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Value
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Best Value
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

special occasion (98)
romantic (70)
notable wine list (52)
See All
fit for foodies (45)
great for lunch (33)
good for groups (27)
neighborhood gem (22)
great for outdoor dining (14)
hot spot (9)
scenic view (8)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
750 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful night to dine at 529! After ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful night to dine at 529! After a perfect Cosmopolitan I had the Beef Carpaccio with Parmesan Reggiano, a 6 oz Filet Mignon paired with a half Lobster Tail, Twice Baked Loaded Baked Potato, my partner had the Cesar Salad, the Fish of the Day, Grilled Halibut with Spinach and the Twice Baked Loaded Baked Potato Perfect, Perfect, Perfect - no surprises here :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have to admit, that 529, has now earne ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I have to admit, that 529, has now earned the top spot as my favourite restaurant. For years and years, it was Hy's, but after an extremely disappointing recent experience there, I was so happy that 529 has taken over for their unfortunate decline. Food was fantastic! Service was impeccable. Thank you 529. We'll be back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat on patio which is very nice. Sta ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We sat on patio which is very nice. Started off with the oysters, they were very small so that was a waste of money. I had the 6oz fillet which was done and tasted perfect, it came with a scallop, jumbo shrimp both were properly cooked. Also a 1/2 Canadian lobster tail which was mushy. Husband had prime rib which was perfect. Also had mushrooms and the lobster Mac and cheese (3pieces of lobster in it) they were tasty. Server was ok and because it was my birthday they brought me a free glass of Dessert wine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love it

Dined on June 12, 2016

If I am going out for steak this is the only place I would go. Great service, intimate surroundings and the food was superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The servers were very prompt, friendly, ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The servers were very prompt, friendly, and professional. Food was amazing, even their 6oz steaks, as small as it is, it's packed with juiciness! Would recommend to all who are looking for a nice quiet romantic dinner or even a casual lunch. You get what you paid for!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Let down

Dined on June 8, 2016

My 12oz New York steak was terrible, I had a pile of unchewable meat on my plate by the end of it.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Not worth the price.

Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was good but way over priced. I can't believe they are still in business. The value is not there. a la carte to the extreme. Really? $10.00 for a baked potato! Although the featured starter salad of the day was lovely, it was after all a starter salad and when we got the bill, they were $14 each. Had trouble getting coffee refills. Felt rushed to leave. The waiter even wanted the party I was with to guess which dessert I wanted, as I was away from the table when he came back to take our dessert order. Overblown with its own sense of importance.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Relax

Dined on June 3, 2016

Our waiter was very good however we felt like we were being rushed. She could have taken her time a more.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treat every visit

Dined on June 1, 2016

I make sure to visit every time I come to Winnipeg. I took a colleague for his first experience and now he's hooked! Thanks for another great visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Anniversary

Dined on May 30, 2016

Great waiter-Levi and great location and building. Food was excellent but I would have preferred that my side dishes were hotter. They were okay, my taste.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on May 29, 2016

Best service in town and best rib steak in Western Canada - what more could you want in a high end steak house?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at 529. Waiter was attentive, cordial and knowledgeable. First time dining on the main floor and think I prefer the upper level which is not as dark. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Wine by the glass selection could be a t ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Wine by the glass selection could be a touch more extensive. Would like to see a French wine or two added, perhaps Cote du Rhone. They served the wrong vegetable dish we ordered All in all, good experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

Phenomenal doesn't describe the experien ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Phenomenal doesn't describe the experience. Although quite pricey, the cuisine, and the service are above many standards. Wait staff was incredibly knowledgeable and courteous. If you like the feel of an old mansion with doors with the old keyholes you can see through and a grand entrance you'll love it at 529!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

May Long Weekend

Dined on May 21, 2016

AS always the restaurant was great. From the greeting at the front door to the walk upstairs to our room all folks very pleasant. The food was excellent from presentation to consumption. The only notable last evening was the noise coming from a table of 10 directly beside us. They were quite loud to the point our group of 4 had some difficulty hearing each other at times. Realize you can't always control that and maybe we should have said something but didn't.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak and prime rib was absolutely a ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The steak and prime rib was absolutely amazing, best ever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

It was a beautiful day (plus 20) May 13t ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

It was a beautiful day (plus 20) May 13th sunny and the restaurant was very quiet. We asked to sit outside on the patio but were told "we cannot sit outside it was not open" and I asked well why isn't it open and the reply was "we take longer than other restaurants to open". Ordered the ribye steak sandwich special and it came well done instead of medium rare .. and had no marble fat running through it so it was questionable weather it was indeed a ribye. Was not told it was a la carte and it came on a plate sitting on top of a piece of garlic toast (with mushrooms I added on) and no side or garnish. I had ordered a small mixed salad to start so not sure if that was my side. We were not in a rush so the half hour it took did not bother us. Waiter was friendly but not very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

529 lived up to our high expectations. F ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

529 lived up to our high expectations. Food was spectacular, especially the twice baked potato and beef tenderloin. Server (Tommy) was very attentive and anticipated what we needed. It was our 28th wedding anniversary and we celebrated a fabulous evening in style. Expensive but worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service, excellent staff througho ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Superb service, excellent staff throughout our visit and we felt very welcome in this beautiful historic home. Food was just right and we will both recommend and be back. Look forward to checking out the patio!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to visit 529 whenever I am in town ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I try to visit 529 whenever I am in town. There isn't a bad seat in the house. Reliable menu, personable staff, and the best food in the province. I couldn't have had a more enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A very enjoyable Mother's Day Dinner

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good especially the filet and the jumbo prawns. The french fries were quite good. The service was a bit slow due to the very busy evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

fancy

Dined on April 29, 2016

Very good steak. I am a person who is not well versed in fine dining terminology, and they seem to assume that I knew what crème brulet was etc. Other than that it was a great meal and we ended up in a private wing of the building by ourselves so the ambiance was great

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on April 27, 2016

It was our first time at 529 Wellington and we were celebrating our anniversary. It was a great dining experience that I would recommend for anyone's special occasion. It is pricey but the food and service was fantastic so it is all very worthwhile!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was friendly, yet profess ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

The atmosphere was friendly, yet professional. We were greeted as soon as we entered & taken upstairs to a smaller dining area. We were the first ones there, but soon filled up. Service was excellent: our waiter ( please forgive the lapse of my memory, name?) was knowledgeable of the menu & able to respond to a special dietary request, thank you so much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

unhappy ending ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

when we were told our table was required for the second seating we felt horrified. we spent good money for our meal .. we were there to celebrate a birthday and it left a very bad taste for us at 529. we will not return and should have been told of this policy perse when we booked our dinner reservations. very unacceptable treatment from a fine dining establishment ...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experiencee

Dined on April 15, 2016

Had a reservation but they were able to get us in early. Great food and service and you get what you pay for

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Gift in April

Dined on April 14, 2016

This evening was a gift to my wife for Christmas 2015 after a memorable tour of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights. An excellent dining experience worth an above market price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Special Occasion

Dined on April 6, 2016

We enjoyed dinner very much. If you can afford the dinner we would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on April 3, 2016

My husband and I always enjoy the incredible food and wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Greatest restaurant experience!! Not one ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Greatest restaurant experience!! Not one complaint. I expected to pay more. The food was perfect so was the service and so was the service. We will definitely be back!! Soon👍

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience!

Dined on April 2, 2016

This restaurant has welcoming, fun staff, and the best steak you'll ever eat! I took my wife here to celebrate a personal achievement of hers and was really glad I did! They make a great sangria and I highly recommend the peppercorn rib steak. Our server gave us the "beef tour" before we chose our meal which was entertaining and educational.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing engagement dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

We went to 529 to celebrate our engagement. The staff was extremely kind and friendly and even provided us with a complimentary desert "on the house"! :) We thought the steaks were easily some of the finest we have ever had. The portion sizes for the steaks as well as the sides were huge! We loved our time, and it was a very memorable evening for both of us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was delicious. I had French o ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Everything was delicious. I had French onion soup, onion ring tower, mixed Grill, sautéed mushrooms, mashed potatoes, and snap peas. Service was pleasant and attentive. Will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on March 28, 2016

It was our first time in the restaurant, I've heard a lot of good comments from my co-workers about the food and service of 529. So me and my friend tried it on my birthday and we're very glad that we tried it. The service and the food was great and our server was very nice and really knows what to suggest. I can say "the overall experience is superb!" And will definitely comeback.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great experience in a beautiful ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was a great experience in a beautiful building. Will dine there again!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food and service quality was less than i ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food and service quality was less than ideal compared to past visits. As we were seated just as the resaturant was opening, I equated this to them not being ready to serve immediately. I will give the benefit of the doubt on this occaision.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Value not there anymore

Dined on March 24, 2016

Dined here the other night and steak was subpar - my 10 ounce newyork was thin and grisly. Had to also send back side of mushrooms as they were way over salted. Usually dine at 529 once a year and past experiences were good, but now the quality no longer matches high prices.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion - Anniversary

Dined on March 13, 2016

My boyfriend and I went for our anniversary and we had a lovely time! One of the best wine lists I have ever seen, knowledgeable staff, and utterly amazing food. Our server was attentive but not overbearing (which is rare). He ensured we had enough wine and water at all time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

My husband ordered the Veal chop .

Dined on March 6, 2016

It was very fatty, more that described by the Waiter. He did not complain, as by his nature, but I could tell he was not enjoying his steak.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

elegant

Dined on February 28, 2016

Wow, I just saw some negative reviews, hard to believe. I have eaten in some of the best steak houses in North and South America. Although I would not label 529 the best I have ever experienced, it is right up there. Is it expensive, absolutely. Is it fine dining, without a doubt. Started with a lobster bisque that was very well composed,with just a hint of sherry. Followed with a Caesar salad which was good but not memorable. No anchovies, but I had neglected to ask for them. The pontalba potatoes are a must, loved them, and the bone-in 22 oz rib steak was perfectly cooked as requested with full expected flavour. Had to try their salt caramel ice cream to go along with an excellent grappa and espresso. Beautiful meal, excellent service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.