Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About 529 Wellington

Experience the splendour of 529 Wellington, Winnipeg's Premier Steakhouse. The beautifully restored historic mansion offers intimate dining in 8 elegantly appointed rooms, as well as a beautiful 2-tiered riverside terrace for alfresco dining. 529 serves exclusively Prime Beef, the best available in Canada, as well as exotic fresh fish & seafood. The restaurant is also home of Manitoba's highest rated wine list, Wine Spectator Magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence". Please note: We are a two-storied building without an elevator. Please indicate if stairs are a difficulty for any guests.

529 Wellington Cres.
Winnipeg, MB R3M 0A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Academy Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 487-8325

Website:
http://529wellington.ca/

Catering:
Catering available through WOW Hospitality. Call 204-942-1090 for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site.

Public Transit:
Bus Routes #20 & #29 (which stop @ Academy & Wellington).
The #99 also stops along Wellington further East @ Kingsway.

Executive Chef:
Fraser MacLeod

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When hosting a private party, we can host a max. of 36 people in one of our rooms.

529 Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Romantic (50)
See All
Good for a Date (43)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Great for Lunch (34)
Business Meals (33)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Authentic (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Cozy (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Scenic View (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Casual (6)
Seasonal (6)
Waterfront (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1069 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

As our friends celebrated their 50th anniversary a couple of months ago and our 50th is in the very near future, we thought we would treat us to a very special lunch (they had never been to 529 Wellington). They were very impressed and a great time was had by all - very special!
From the minute we walked in til we left everything was perfect. You have some very special people on staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

Our visit was great! Both service and food was great! There was 4 in our group and 3 had never been before..............everyone loved it and already making plans to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Wow! The server was very knowable what they serve, Interior was very clean, love the wood and very cozy inside of the place. The server bring out and display the steaks and explain about the meat. I never seen server wear white before. Very well dress servers The food was awesome! We would come more often now since this is our first time and really enjoy it. Top notch to you guys!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great ambience, outstanding food and stellar service.

Lovely old building that has been converted to a classic mid to high end restaurant

Well trained and experience serving staff

We were truly impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always a lovely experience for great steak with great atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We've dined here many times and enjoyed the experience. However this visit was far below standard. The original table we were shown to was immediately beside a door to the service area/washroom, we were relocated. The food was not up to what we would expect. The shrimp app was over cooked and lacking flavour. The spinach salad was well seasoned but the spinach stems had not been removed. Finally one of the entrees, beef Wellington, had burnt and soggy pastry. Also wanted two glasses of Bon Anno but it was only available as a bottle. Overall a lacklustre dining experience and it has us questioning whether we'll return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We were on the patio and it was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food was absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed every mouthful. They have a great selection of steaks, and the ones we ordered were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Beautiful setting and wonderful food. Lunch is fairly reasonably priced but dinner is up there. Higher end but worth every penny.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

An elegant dining experience. Service was impeccable. Food was good, be prepared for high prices.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 3, 2017

First time for dinner on a date with my wife. Service was excellent and the food incredible. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Exceptional experience my wife and I had an amazing time to savvior the food and decor of a classic dinning odysesy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This was my first visit to this restaurant and will not be the last. Everything was delicious! Our server was impeccable (Michael) and the food was as wonderful as promised. The only downfall of this particular visit was the weather...we had been hoping to eat on the patio but being Winnipeg, the weather did not cooperate. But we shall try again and cross our fingers!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Loved the outside patio
I didn't know it existed
Should advertise this more

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Loving terrace setting and the food was excellent. Best meal I've had at 529

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Enjoyed our lunch on the patio and it is stunning! The flowers are breathtaking and the entire ambiance is so inviting and relaxing. The food was very good. The soup of the day was delicious! Service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

This is always an excellent meal and the serving staff is very professional. My wife and I have made it our annual anniversary dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our travel agent on NZ suggested 529 for our first visit to Canada & to celebrate my husband's birthday. Waiter very courteous & gave good suggestions for food & accompanying wine. Didn't have our firstchoice of wine but suggested substitute was good. We love the venue decor in keeping with the age of the house.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Perfect!!!!! Best evening out we've had in a long time!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was top notch, the environment setting was incredible and the food was awesome

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. A little pricier than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Great food and service. Really enjoyed the patio.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 24, 2017

the food and service is always top notch. We were served by a team of waiters who did a great job. While I understand that this is a Heritage Building, there needs to be some upgrades. The chairs in the bar are far overdue for new upholstery, and the large carpet in the main foyer is definitely showing it's age. We had a nice quiet table in a smaller room. When a large ands noisy party arrived in the adjacent room, the serving staff closed the doors to the area and we appreciated that. Very good attention to detail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great restaurant
Our first visit and amazing steaks
Our server was attentive and knowledgable
It was a great to go here and we will go again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Had my anniversary dinner there. Our waiter Russell was awesome. He had so much patience while waiting for us to be decisive. The food was amazing and very fulfilling. It was worth my drive from Edmonton.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Took my assistant out for birthday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent service, wonderful meal, steak cooked exactly as requested. A great place, with old rich mahogany charm, especially for a special occasion, which the restaurant recognized. Awesome. Totally would recommend

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

First time at 529 Wellington and it was great. The service and food were terrific. Wife and I went for our 20th Anniversary and had a great dinner. Would recommend to make it a must for your next date night or special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The Sommelier was friendly and knew exactly what to pair. Great!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a lovely lunch with the ladies. Our server made sure that our wine glasses were filled.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food and great staff. Really enjoy eating in the lounge and conversing with the bartender! Makes the visit very enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

the food, drink, ambience and the service were all excellent. We also heard the history of the house and of the neighborhood. It was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Lovely place for special occasions. Waiter was very knowledgeable and nice. Food was delicious. Definitely a place for fine dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wonderful service. The cost was a little more than we planned and the food was pretty good. It'd be a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was our first visit and the whole experience was wonderful

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service is very professional by extremely knowledgable individuals. Give your Server a clout and a price range and you will receive a bottle of wine that is absolutely perfect for your meal selection. The food is marvellous. It is a pricy evening, nevertheless, fine dining experiences costs a little more. And it is worth it. Enjoy.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great spot on the Patio. Never fails to impress at 529

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The steak is very tender and delicious. It's a nice touch to have the waiter show you all steaks before you order. The restaurant is very beautiful with the historic touches throughout. The prices are a little high for what you get.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We've been to 529 before. Every time it has been for a special occasion. We had a wonderful experience. The food was cooked to perfection. The service was impeccable. We didn't feel rushed. We enjoyed our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I've been to 529 many times for personal and business.
This time the food was not up to 529 standards and the service was extremely lacking.
I think next time I will I'll take my dinner to Hys.

Overall satisfaction was 2 out of 10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.