About 4th Base Restaurant

5117 W National Ave
Milwaukee, WI 53214
View Larger Map

The 4th Base Restaurant is one of Milwaukee's oldest sports restaurants & is walking distance from Miller Park. We offer an a la carte menu style that allows our customers to customize each dish & entree from the method it's prepared, seasoned, & what sides it comes with. We offer a large deli case for our customers to view & see the food available each day for order. Our food selection spans various steaks, seafoods, & fresh vegetables, along with our home made deserts showcased as well.

Our seafood selection consists of jumbo U-10 Shrimp, U-10 Scallops, Atlantic Salmon, Ahi Tuna, Sea Bass, large Alaskan King Crab Legs, Oysters, Perch, & Walleye.

Our steak selection allows you to choose from 32 oz Porterhouse, 24oz Ribeye, 20oz New York Strip, & Tenderloin Filets that can be cut in a 6-8-10 or 16oz portion cut. We also offer other meat including pork loin, & chicken breast.

We also have fresh vegetables, pasta, homemade rice & homemade soups.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 10:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
52nd & National Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 647-8509

Website:
http://www.the4thbase.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at the4thbase@yahoo.com for catering menu. Options include:

Homemade Quinoa
Homemade Rice Pilaf
Grilled Chicken and Primavera
3 Meat Meatballs

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is located in the rear of the building and has 20+ spots available. There is street parking available on National Ave and is monitored until 6pm

Public Transit:
We are located off the 18 and 19 routes which stop near the restaurant by the Veterans Hospital.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, 4th Base Restaurant can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator - Cj Papara: 8665362302

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us about renting out our dining room for your party, or special event. We offer a quiet room off the bar area that has excellent sports ambiance throughout.

Restaurant Photos

Alaskan King Crab Legs
Burger
Scallops
Omelette
Filet
Shrimp
Blackened Salmon
Cheesecake
Ribeye Steak
Surf'n'Turf
fish fry
Shrimp And Scallops
Ahi tuna
Stuffed Sole With Pesto Pasta
Lobster
Egg Skillet Bacon & Avacado
Tenderloin
Steak Sandwich and Fries
Oysters Rockefeller
Perch Rueben
Chicken Wrap & Fries
Chicken
Sea bass
Bloody Mary
Porterhouse

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

4th Base Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
fit for foodies (3)
See All
good for groups (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
kid-friendly (2)
special occasion (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
39 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good stop before brewers game

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food and atmosphere were very good. Service was friendly and helpful. Was nota fan of having no menu or prices.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food. Great service by owner ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding food. Great service by owner who served as our waiter. Chef came over and greeted us personally. Great experience all around. Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary date mid day

Dined on April 20, 2016

The owners, chef , atmosphere, laid back pub feel is an awesome mix. And the food kicks anything in Milwaukee. This coming from a Chicago foody. Not snobby just perfect place

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had out of town guests here for Easter and some of them are big baseball fans. We had a group of ten With "Major League" being partially filmed there it was a great choice with all the additional memorabilia in the restaurant. We also had our own area in the back and with a four year old in attendance it was great. The food was outstanding. The only thing I would suggest is they will make you anything you want. Any type of food. Seafood, Red Meat, and chicken. Cooked any way you want. They don't have a menu so make sure you ask prices so you don't get any surprises. But overall a very good restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

poor service

Dined on February 14, 2016

I was really disappointed about the Valentine's date me and my girlfriend attended last year it was a very awesome experience CJ was the best server I ever had I guess we sat at the bar this year's steak was not the same as last year service was not the same as last year and the price was extremely high than last year I felt like I lost something after last year experience I've been telling everyone about how great it was but coming back this year for valentines day I will not do it again I rather go to McDonalds Drive thru

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole experience could best be descr ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

The whole experience could best be described as "customized". The food options, the flexibility, the staff. I really felt like staff simply wanted us to have a great time and great food. A lot of other places with great food make it seem like they are doing you a favor. Not the case here. I'll be back!

food3
ambience3
service5

Not much for an expensive dinner.

Dined on July 31, 2015

My husband and I went here before a Brewers game based on the recommendations that were posted as well as the location of the bar/restaurant. We love neighborhood gems but this place was unique due to the prices they charged. We had a rib eye steak that was not cooked very well - fried instead of grilled and same with the Walleye. The Portobello mushroom with crab and Provolone cheese was very good but not worth the $28.00 price! Loved the active ambiance which was perfect for before or after a game so we plan to go again but to try the burgers rather than the pricier items.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

We choice 4th base on a whim.

Dined on May 10, 2015

The food was excellent. Everyone working at the resturant was kind,helpful and excited to be at work. Our waitress was alittle over whelmed bit she handled it like a champ. I would definitely go back but I would save a little more room for the m&m cheesecake.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

Not what I expected but not to be missed.

Dined on April 26, 2015

This place was not at all what I was expecting, but something you just may need to experience for yourself. We stopped here for dinner and a game, looking for something other than typical bar food and this place delivered! Let's be clear, it has the look of a neighborhood dive bar...dim lighting, noisy and most of the decor dating back to before I was born. There's no menu...you just walk up to this refrigerated display, look at the extensive variety of fresh seafood, meats and vegetables that are offered and have a conference with Chef Marco about what he can do with whatever you choose. Then he does it, and the food is fresh, creative, plentiful and delicious. It's a total study in contrasts but something to experience. I would recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Outstanding food

Dined on April 12, 2015

An unexpected way of doing things for what appears to be a sports bar. For a quieter experience, eat in the dining room. You choose your food from the chef's case. Tell your server how you enjoy things and it will happen. Request a cocktail created for you based on your taste and it will happen. This all comes with a price but it is SO worth it! Buon Appetito!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

Just OK

Dined on April 11, 2015

The lack of a hard menu was unique. You order at the meat counter from a wide variety of seafood & meat. I wouldn't recommend getting the perch or walleye pan-fried.

food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem

Dined on April 3, 2015

From the outside you would not be able to guess for one moment what a wonderful dining experience you would have inside. It is a small bar and on the evening we dined it was on the quiet side so we were able to converse easily. I can see where if it were a busy time it would be hard to move around and hard to hear conversation. The food selection in the food case was plentiful and looked fresh and delicious. The chef asked us if we had any questions at all and went over some of the items available for our meal. Our server was polite, attentive and very helpful when trying to choose what we would like and the different preparations available. Our food was amazing from start to finish. We had bacon wrapped shrimp, bacon wrapped scallops, crab legs, mozzarella sticks, and the tuna filet. It was all cooked perfectly and was very flavorful and well presented. Be prepared to spend a good amount of money, but in our opinion it was well worth it. There is no menu with prices so if you are thrifty and looking for a deal or need to see everything in black and white this is not the place for you. If however, you enjoy good food, a fun atmosphere, good service and a unique dining experience I would suggest you go as soon as you can.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, it was definitely a different ...

Dined on March 27, 2015

Good food, it was definitely a different experience without menus. But nice to have food made to order.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food

Dined on March 21, 2015

My first time there and won't be my last! Our server was exceptional. Very attentive and friendly. Very good recommendations. Food was exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a very nice experience at the 4th ...

Dined on March 1, 2015

We had a very nice experience at the 4th Base. We have not been there in many years and were very glad we went back. Food was awesome and our bartender/ waitress ( Kirsten) was very nice and fun. We will be back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of a Kind!

vip
Dined on March 1, 2015

4Th Base is one of those places that you want to tell everyone about and yet just keep it to yourself. It's a guilty pleasure what with the pick your meal menu from a glass case in front of the chef (Prime Rib, Lobster, Jumbo Shrimp, Veal/Chicken, Scallops you name it prepared in any style you choose! The wait staff are friendly, remember your name and the bar keep pours your favorite drink almost before you finish settling at your table. This is like Cheers on steroids! Love it and highly recommend this wonderful throwback to the way service was back in the day! Great Juke Box music and d├ęcor filled with every type of sports memorabilia you could think of from every game!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Milwaukee Legend

Dined on March 1, 2015

4th base is a unique, low-key & relax dining experience that any foodie should enjoy. You're the chef - design your own dinner with the ingredients available. Steak, seafood, fish - up to the imagination. Fun place for a group experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Back to 4th Base

vip
Dined on February 21, 2015

Haven't been to the 4th Base for awhile, glad we came back. We had a great fish fry and service to match. We'll be back.

food1
ambience4
service4

Dinner Review

Dined on February 15, 2015

I had a Ribeye Steak and wife had a Crab Stuffed Mushroom. Steak was extremely tough and the mushroom entre was cold by the time we were served. For a $45 steak, I expected better. Maybe a one time fluke but it was my only experience.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food!

Dined on February 15, 2015

Went here based upon a recommendation and was blown away by the selection of delicious food choices. A la carte style with a great bar feel. Highly recommended for a special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for the first time on Vale ...

Dined on February 15, 2015

We went there for the first time on Valentines Day. The service and food were exceptional. When a larger table became available in the back room, our waitress suggested we move to it. She helped us with our beverages.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

Dined on February 14, 2015

This ended up being a last minute Valentines find. Looks like a bar, but the food was some of the best I've ever had. There is also a quiet dining area in the back. Fresh meat that you get to pick yourself. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great time with great freinds!

Dined on February 8, 2015

Very unique place and well worth finding. Our meal was outstanding and the service was awesome. The chef made our order to what ever we wanted and everything came out excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Different, which is wake makes this place great!

Dined on February 7, 2015

4th Base is not your typical Resturant, you will realize this as soon as you walk in the door and they are very upfront about that as soon as the waitress comes to the table. They have no menus! You order by going up to a case and picking items that range from shrimp, scallops, filet, ribeye, crab legs, ribs, and all sorts of fresh veggies to go along. Once you pick what you want you let the chef know how you want the items prepared. What I love about this set up is that the food is so fresh and the quality is one of the best I have found in the Milwaukee area. Plus you can sample a little of everything! Some diners are intimidated by the no menu as you are ordering blind as far as price, but the price comes out to be very similar to a fine steak and seafood place anywhere else. The quality far out weighs the other places so spending a tad more is competely worth it! Our last time there the owner came out and talked to us about the history of the place among other thjngs. Everyone is always very friendly. Definitely give this place a try at least once and I can bet the majority of you will go back again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great for before or after Brewers game.

Dined on January 31, 2015

Had dinner here during off season. Dinner was excellent. Knew going in it was a bar with upscale food. Interesting concept. Would be fun to eat there again with other baseball fans before or after a game. Definitely would not have chosen by driving by so go in and give it a chance.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very friendly staff and great food

vip
Dined on January 11, 2015

you can have almost anything you are hungry for with great people serving you

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience2
service5

Unique place

Dined on December 20, 2014

Food was delicious. Don't miss the sirloin steak or carmelized brussel sprouts. Team service from Jamie and Paige was attentive, friendly and helpful!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

Dined on November 3, 2014

A friend recommended we try 4th Base for great food. Website said blue collar fine dining and they meant it. Picked out what we wanted to eat (no menu) and they made a feast! Crab stuffed shrimp wrapped in bacon, excellent filet, salad, veggies, bread, they had it all. Service was amazing - met the owner, the cook, the bartender, and the server was a great guy who really took care of us. He even recommended a place to go after for a drink. Definitely headed back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service5

Unique for dinner

vip
Dined on June 1, 2014

Several colleagues had recommended 4th Base for great steak and seafood. I'm not certain what I was expecting, but it wasn't what I observed. We went with my 18 month old niece after a home Brewers game. We opened the door and it was a loud bar scene. The drunk guy at the door who was getting his hair braided at the bar almost made us turn around leave. There is a quieter room in the back where we had dinner. The server was very attentive and walked us through the process of ordering with no menus. Food was good (great bacon wrapped shrimp, skip tuna) - bill was high. I'd recommend 4th Base, but with a few caveats; - don't bring a child - don't expect a menu or prices before you get your bill - don't go after a home Brewers game

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Dive Dining

Dined on May 10, 2014

We were told about this little "dive bar" by some fellow Brewer fans. We went on a Saturday afternoon. Food and Service was outstanding. The ambience was cool, all the memorabilia was neat to look at. The Chef personally asked how we wanted our dishes prepared, he did an outstanding job. We rate it up there with any high end place in Madison or Wisconsin Dells. Didn't care for the fact we had to order blind. We asked the server about pricing, she said "we really don't have a price list" You just choose what you want. Needless to say we were quite sticker shocked when the tab came. We will go back again. We have even recommended it to ma ny friends. We just told them to be cautious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Surprise

vip
Dined on April 22, 2014

Local place with excellent food. No menu and a pick your dinner approach works great. Deserves a try!

food3
ambience1
service4

Overrated

Dined on April 14, 2014

Had group of 8 for pre-Brewers game dinner. Entree's came prepared as the chef wanted, not as ordered. Waitress apologized. Very expensive. Great place for a neighbor hood beer, but not for dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5

What a surprise!

Dined on March 15, 2014

Never would have thought this neighborhood bar could put out such a wonderful made to order meal. You go to the case and choose your dinner. Filet, lobster, walleye , fresh veggies ... They prepare just about anything you want.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Local Gem

Dined on February 22, 2014

Great food in an unexpected location. Select what you want from the display case then it's cooked to perfection and brought to you're table. The monster porterhouse was amazing and smothered in red peppers, onion and mushrooms.. My counterpart had seafood which was every bit as good as my steak.. A Milwaukee must!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for people watching

Dined on February 15, 2014

Strange place to find such good food! Looks like your neighborhood bar on the outside, looks the same on the inside. But when you walk through the door you don't smell old grease from the fryer, you catch the aroma of an excellent surf and turf! Mmm. Your mouth immediately starts to salivate. I had the steak and bacon wrapped scallops, both were amazing. My fiancee' had the steak and bacon wrapped shrimp. Her steak was cooked perfectly, but the shrimp (huge by the way) were very bland, there was no flavor to them but the bacon and some Cajun seasoning. Maybe it was because they were too big, not sure, but that was the reason for a 4 star on food. The bar selection was outstanding. Can't wait to go back next time I'm in Milwaukee.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great concept! Great food!

Dined on February 10, 2014

Went to 4th Base for lunch and had a surprisingly fantastic meal. I ordered lamb chops and done steamed vegetables. Where can you go and just order a plate of steamed veggies?! Nowhere!! It is very gourmet food and expensive but if you like eating the best quality this is a great place. Huge portions of everything, even the side salad I saw go out and everything is homemade. Can't beat this spot. Already lining up some brewer games I have in mind to go Barack.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Made it to 4th base

Dined on February 9, 2014

4th base is a hidden gem in the neighborhood of West Milwaukee- the food was really excellent, we were welcomed very nicely, And had a great time. My friends from Chicago who were with me had never been to a place like 4th base before- and said this was a place they would Like to bring their friends to.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The service at Fourth Base

Dined on February 8, 2014

The service at Fourth Base was flawless and the food was impeccable. My husband's ribeye steak was just outstanding and my shrimp was fabulous. This is not just a great place for food but the atmosphere is fun and lively. We had a most enjoyable time and can't wait to go back again!! Thank you Fourth Base!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service3

Great Bar with Very Good Food

Dined on January 12, 2014

It has been years since I have been to the 4th Base. It is though what I remembered. A neighborhood bar with high end dining. It is very causal with great music. IF you are going out for white table cloths this is not the place, however if you want very good food and friendly service you have found your neighborhood joint...

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.