About 4th & Swift

621 North Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30308
View Larger Map

Atlanta chef, Jay Swift, brings his passion and creative interpretation of seasonal comfort food to 4TH & Swift. Occupying the space that was formerly the engine room to Southern Dairies, the restaurant retains many of the original elements. Exposed brick, concrete and beams are
updated with contemporary accents such as warm woods, rich fabrics and brushed white metals.

At 4th & Swift, Chef/Owner Jay Swift has created a new level in the evolution of the dining scene here in Atlanta. Jay’s culinary focus is one based on the advancement of Southern cuisine; for Jay Southern is less about reinventing regional classics than inventing new ones using regional and local products.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Dinner | 5:30 PM until 9:00PM;
Monday – Thursday | 5:30 PM until 10:00 PM;
Friday & Saturday | 5:30 PM until 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Glen Iris

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 904-0160

Website:
http://www.4thandswift.com/

Parking Details:
Drive up complimentary valet parking available every evening.

Executive Chef:
Jay Swift

Private Party Facilities:
At 4th & Swift we have several different private and semi-private dining options for you and your guests. In the Private Dining Room you and your guests can enjoy our Chefs table which sits on the other side of a glass wall that overlooks our entire kitchen.

Private Party Contact:
Breanna Washington: 6789040160x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 21, 2016 - Jun 19, 2016 on Sundays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

4th & Swift Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (77)
special occasion (64)
romantic (54)
See All
notable wine list (38)
neighborhood gem (35)
good for groups (31)
vibrant bar scene (19)
hot spot (16)
great for outdoor dining (12)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dinner as usual: well prepared ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dinner as usual: well prepared and presented food and a wine list at acceptable prices. We will be back and back

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Already Booked Return

Dined on May 14, 2016

The menu is so incredible it was hard to choose what to order. We ended up ordering a great variety of dishes to share and even more savory items for dessert. I wish we ordered more of the spring vegetable pasta entree!! Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was excellent. Good was excellent. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Staff was excellent. Good was excellent. Great date spot place. Worth every penny. Will definitely come back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal. Got the three piggies e ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Fantastic meal. Got the three piggies entree and loved it. Cocktails were superb - West meets East worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in town! ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in town! The menu is fantastic and ever changing! The proteins stay the same and the seasonings and sides change with the season! The wait staff is wonderful and it's always a great experience! We bring my toddler son and they are always accommodating!

food1
ambience4
service4

Atmosphere and service were lovely but w ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Atmosphere and service were lovely but we couldn't have been more disappointed by the food. The duck was tough and terrible, the fluke was supposed to come with crispy potatoes but had none at all, and the steak was tough and bland... With regard to the food, this was literally the worst restaurant I've been to in 20 years.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced experience. Food was bland if ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Overpriced experience. Food was bland if not boring.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I chose 4th and Swift to celebrate my bi ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

I chose 4th and Swift to celebrate my birthday with some girlfriends. We had an excellent time, our waiter was very attentive and the food was quite good. The only thing that decreased my ratings was the fact that we got to the restaurant for a reservation at 6 pm thinking we would have ample time to eat and leave for our 8 pm show. Despite informing the waiter at the beginning of the meal, we were unable to cash out until 7:30 and left at 7:45 so we ended up being almost 30 minutes late to the main event of the evening.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent, skillfully prepared food. On a night when the only other tables were two big groups of business diners, the hostess put my son and I right in between them although the rest of the restaurant was empty. Not smart or particularly pleasant. Service was a bit slow and inattentive which was weird.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service5

Great staff. Good wine recommendations.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great staff. Good wine recommendations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find -- excellent service!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I based my selecting of 4th & Swift on real-time reviews and they were right on. Top class service from initial contact throughout the entire dinner. Server was great, listened well, pleasant personality, knowledgeable towards menu and wines. The atmosphere is cool and classy, and down to earth all at the same time. For the experience, cost was definitely inline and not over the top in my opinion. Plan on making a return visit on next visit to city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Inspired menu. Clean, contemporary, fres ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Inspired menu. Clean, contemporary, fresh food with regional flavor profiles.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A bit disappointing

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was not my first visit. We have had better experiences in the past. Last Sunday, we arrived a few minutes before time of our reservation and were kept waiting a bit too long before being seated at our table. It was not a busy time. Others were pleased with their entrees; I found the Duck a little underwhelming.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Well worth your time

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had an early reservation (5:30) so cannot judge noice otr crowd. In a word, the food was wonderful as was the wine suggestion our server made. The menu is well chosen with small and large plates and enough variety without being overwhelming. The selections are driven by the availability of key ingredients and appear to change based on that. The decor is very comfortable, heavy wood and industrial. Even so, it feels very inviting and cozy rather than cold as some others do. There is a small outside casual dining area as well. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We selected the pre fix menu with the wi ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We selected the pre fix menu with the wine pairing for each course. It was amazing. We had such a remarkable anniversary dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pampered!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The staff was so incredibly sweet and I felt so pampered the entire time. The food was unique and incredible. Definitely coming back for the sticky toffee nut pudding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic. Looking forwar ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was fantastic. Looking forward to Nobel Fin.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing evening..

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was so good. While eating each dish we were all talking about how interesting the flavors were and trying to figure out which dish was best. Hard to decide. The service was great. Manager stopped by to make sure all was well. Just a great evening.. hope to go back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service, entertaining cli ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great food and service, entertaining clients and all had a great experience.

food1
ambience5
service2

The appetizers were great we order one o ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The appetizers were great we order one of each since we had 7 in our party. The tartar was my favorite. I personally ordered the the duck, skin was soft and not pleasant the grits weren't flavorful and the dish wasn't hot. That we a recurring theme for every entree example the butter on top of the NY Strip never melted. The pork chop was over salted. I had high expectations but was sadly very disappointed. They ran out of scallops and brought my friend the fish without asking if that was a suitable substitution then charged him the auto gratuity. Coming from a service background I'm fine with auto grad for large parties but not when there's an issue like this. Also ordered all of the desserts the sticky toffee putting was great the other desserts I think they tried to hard to be different and lost their way on the flavor.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Its a lovely place and service was great.

Dined on April 3, 2016

My waiter Ian was hilarious, engaging and attentive. The elaborate menu sorely lacked vegetarian/vegan options although the veggies were abundantly distributed among the meated dished.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Management went out of their way to acco ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Management went out of their way to accommodate when our table wasn't ready despite a reservation on a Saturday night. Food and drinks were excellent, service slight gruff but not rude.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Benefit of the doubt

Dined on April 2, 2016

Another almost top tier experience. My error: order a small plate (soft shell crab.) Not sure of the fraction of the soft shell crab I was served, but it was too small. Main dish - 2 soft shells. Small plate, 1 soft shell crab. This was a portion (1/2?) of a soft shell crab. A bit disappointing, but delicious nevertheless.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 2, 2016

My wife and I both ordered dinners that were recommended by our waiter. We were both very disappointed in that both dishes had very little flavor. They were blah. For the cost (with drinks and tip it was just about $100) it was not a good experience. We won't be back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't let the road construction deter you!

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The road construction in front of the restaurant is annoying, but they still have great food and good service. They have a new chef from the west coast, adding a nice touch to their already great menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter Brunch at 4th & Swift and we were very pleased. Although the restaurant was very busy, the staff was very pleasant and took very good care of us. The special menu was amazing with so many good choices it was hard to decide what to order. Everything was very well prepared and delicious. It's not the most beautiful restaurant in the world, but everything else about it is top notch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Easter Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We took the family for Easter Brunch and it was great. There were lots of choices on the set menu to choose from. The food was delicious and I felt it was a great value.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Loved the ambiance and decoration! Reall ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Loved the ambiance and decoration! Really neat spot. Went there for Easter brunch. They had a pre set 3 course meal with amazing choices and we loved every single thing we ate!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not As Reliable As Usual

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We've been eating at 4th & Swift for years and this was one of the few disappointing visits. The brussel sprouts salad was not on the menu (apparently, it's out of season) and the fish was so over-salted that it was almost inedible. Not sure if this was just an "off" night, so I still recommend it, but beware.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food always good and service is excellent

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We come back here for special occasions. Food is always fresh, seasonal, and innovative. Service is excellent. Can be loud. Should consider some sound attenuation so parties can hear their conversations without yelling.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Place to Impress Friends

Dined on March 21, 2016

My mother and her friend were visiting me from out of town and I selected this restaurant as it is across the street from my office at Ponce City Market. Fellow Atlantans had raved that this was an excellent restaurant and now I am one of those ravers. It is set in an old warehouse so the restaurant already has charm the moment you walk-in. The customer service was unbelievable! Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable not only about the extensive wine list, but the dinner menu as well. The food was very electric and delicious! The Toffee Pudding dessert is a must! My mother and her friend never eat sweets and they could not stop eating the Toffee Pudding it was that great! My mother's friend is very hard to please, not only when it comes to food, but to service, and she did not complain at all, but instead loved 4th & Swift! We ordered a three course meal and all food was brought out in perfect allotments of time; that is, we were not still eating our appetizer and when dinner was brought out. This is definitely a great place for work business or to bring friends where you want to enjoy the company, but the food and wine as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food , music, ambiance was great. Our server, Ian, was very friendly, fun and attentive. I highly recommend. I've been here for a business dinner as well as an anniversary celebration with my wife.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Sadly, Can No Longer Recommend 4th & Swift

Dined on March 19, 2016

As recently as a couple of years ago, I considered 4th & Swift to not only be one of the best restaurants in Atlanta, but in fact to be one of the best in this part of the country. To keep it short, the food just isn't up to their prior standards. And while I know any restaurant can have an off night, this is not the first time in the last year or so where I found myself thinking, "Hmm...I don't know that I will be coming back". In fact, it's taken me three separate mediocre meals over the course of a year to unhappily write this review. The smoked octopus used to be a favorite. Last night, it was chewy, and inexplicably, accompanied not by a hickory-smoked sauce, but a peanut-butter(?) type sauce. I was hungry, so I ate it...but it was not good. For an entree, I ordered "The Three Pigs", another favorite dish of mine that I've had numerous times. It's a collection of three types of pork (hence it's name)...pork loin, bacon, and pigs ears. At least, that's what it is supposed to be. Mine arrive featuring several pieces of pork loin...but no bacon nor pigs ears. And the pork loin itself was relatively flavorless and terribly dry. My guest had a somewhat similar experience, judging the food as "It's...okay."To end on a positive note, their deserts were fantastic. Toffee pudding and the chocolate tart were absolutely fantastic. Absolutely delicious. Unfortunately, this was the only part of the meal that reminded me of my earlier, more enthusiastic experiences at 4th & Swift. Truly hope they can get their magic back. When in their prime, this place was as good as it gets.

food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 4th wedding anniversar ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

We celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary there and we could not have been happier. The food and service were excellent.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Maybe Weekends are Out

Dined on March 13, 2016

Years ago, when 4th and Swift was first open, we had one horrendous dining experience there and vowed never to return. I have been back a few times in the last year - all good - not great, but good. Not so Saturday night when my husband finally agreed to return after so many years. Slow, unprofessional service - the wait staff just couldn't have cared less - undercooked, lukewarm food that might have been good if cooked properly, but hard to tell. Thank goodness the wine was potable and the valet was courteous. Unfortunately my husband's worse nightmares were fulfilled and he won't be going back again - ever. I will hope that the restaurant was just overworked on a Saturday night - and I might venture back on a week night.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great food

food4
ambience4
service2

Amazing food; good environment ; service ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing food; good environment ; service just OK , they will bulk your tab with bogus items , so do check the check before paying .

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food, a bit pricy

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was excellent, but a bit on the expensive side. Great for foodies as there are some rare finds. As for service: at first our server seemed a bit rude but by the end we loved him.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent service, delicious seasonal food, at a reasonable price. Really enjoyed our meals here and will return often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was amazing

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food and service was amazing

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.