About 4th & Swift

621 North Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30308
View Larger Map

Atlanta chef, Jay Swift, brings his passion and creative interpretation of seasonal comfort food to 4TH & Swift. Occupying the space that was formerly the engine room to Southern Dairies, the restaurant retains many of the original elements. Exposed brick, concrete and beams are
updated with contemporary accents such as warm woods, rich fabrics and brushed white metals.

At 4th & Swift, Chef/Owner Jay Swift has created a new level in the evolution of the dining scene here in Atlanta. Jay’s culinary focus is one based on the advancement of Southern cuisine; for Jay Southern is less about reinventing regional classics than inventing new ones using regional and local products.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Dinner | 5:30 PM until 9:00PM;
Monday – Thursday | 5:30 PM until 10:00 PM;
Friday & Saturday | 5:30 PM until 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Glen Iris

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 904-0160

Website:
http://www.4thandswift.com/

Parking Details:
Drive up complimentary valet parking available every evening.

Executive Chef:
Jay Swift

Private Party Facilities:
At 4th & Swift we have several different private and semi-private dining options for you and your guests. In the Private Dining Room you and your guests can enjoy our Chefs table which sits on the other side of a glass wall that overlooks our entire kitchen.

Private Party Contact:
Breanna Washington: 6789040160x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

4th & Swift
4th & Swift
4th & Swift
4th & Swift
4th & Swift
4th & Swift
4th & Swift
4th & Swift
4th & Swift
Risotto
GRASS FED BEEF TARTARE

Caper Emulsion, Urfa Yolk, Black Garlic Mustard Seed
PASTURE RAISED VEAL SCHNITZEL

Rosemary Yoghurt Spatzle, Wilted Baby Greens, Farm Egg, Lingonberry Au Poivre
BRIOCHE FRENCH TOAST

Candied Pecans, Meyer Lemon Mascarpone, Ice Wine Blueberries  
BABY MIXED GREENS

Bacon, Toasted Pecans, Buttermilk Bleu, Pickled Red Onion, Dijon Vinaigrette
Pea Soup
Carrot Cake
Veal Scaloppini
Wood Grilled Octopus Lasagna
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Pan Roasted Sheepshead
Crispy Brussels Sprouts Salad
Wood Grilled Leg of Cervena Venison
Wagyu Beef
Pork Cheek
Braised Lamb
Chocolate Mousse
Sweet Corn Soup
Turkey Sausage
Chocolate Tart
Pan Seared Trout
Other Shore
Trout With Spicy Lentils
Smoke And Mirrors Margarita
Foie Gras Cheesecake
Sorghum Baked Beans
English sticky toffee pudding
Trotter Croquette
Sticky Toffee Pudding
BLT
The Allen Jones
Ham
Pork Loin
steak tartare
Manjari Chocolate Ganache Cake
Apple Fritters
Toffee & Coffee
Olive Oil Poached Asparagus Salad
Crispy Cotechino & Poached Farm Egg
Rider, Shadow, Wolf
Mozzerella and Heirloom Tomato Salad
"Three Little Piggies"
Vichyssoise
Grilled Baby Octopus
Heirloom Lettuce Salad
brioche french toast
Grilled Club Steak "Frites"
The Cries Of A Silent Man
Vegetables
Pan Seared Atlantic Speckled Trout
Scallop-Chef's Tasting
Pain Perdu
Biscuits, Muffins, Cinnamon Rolls
fried oysters
Spaetzle
Summer Sweet Corn Soup W/Lump Crab, Basil Crema, Crispy Pickled Okra  And Old Bay
Pan Seared Carolina Day Boat Flounder W/Shellfish Chowder, Fingerling Potatoes, Hobbs Bacon And Wilted Spinach
Chocolate Pecan Pie
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Red Pepper Papperdelle With Goat Cheese And Walnut Pesto
Arugula And Watermelon Salad
Truffle And Parmesan Popcorn
Swordfish
Scallop
Duck Comfit
Fried Dough With 3 Dips-Chef's Table
Pork Belly-Chef's Table
Chocolate Lava Cake
Chef's Table
Tomato Salad

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Pre Show for $40.00

Special valid Jun 20, 2016 - Oct 20, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Pre Show for $40.00

Special valid Jun 20, 2016 - Oct 20, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Pre Show for $40.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 20, 2016 - Oct 20, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM.

4th & Swift Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (63)
special occasion (49)
romantic (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (33)
good for groups (28)
notable wine list (26)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (13)
great for outdoor dining (13)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I love 4th and Swift. Dinne ...

Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I love 4th and Swift. Dinner is pricy but not unreasonably so for the quality of the food and excellence of the service. This is our go to place when we want to celebrate a special occasion like a birthday or anniversary and have time for a 3 or 4 course meal. My wife always orders the duck which is perfectly cooked every time. And I often branch out and try new things and have never been disappointed. They also have a fun cocktail menu:)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heard so much about this place and it di ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Heard so much about this place and it did not disappoint. Steak amazing. Prawn appetizer so so good. Shrimp sausage stuffed in squash blossom.... Beautiful. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Service was bad and the food was way ove ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was bad and the food was way over priced. We decided to get several small portions to share among the group. The food was very expensive and didn't fill any of us up. We ended up closing our tab after one round of food and leaving to get tacos across the street. $200 later, we were still hungry and very unimpressed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Graham Is a star. Tonight I enjoyed ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Chef Graham Is a star. Tonight I enjoyed Softshell Crab appetizer cleverly plated with hominy and fried corn. My entree was cobia in a rich broth with artichokes,fava beans, and clams. Desert was sorbet.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I am 100% certain that the experience we ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

I am 100% certain that the experience we had is not the norm for 4th and Swift, but that said we had a very odd experience with the service. There was clearly a miscommunication between our waiter and the assistant manager because they were literally passing each other to come take our order, check on us, etc. The weirdest part was when I ordered another gin and tonic with Plymouth gin and the assistant manager told me she didn't have that type of gin. We sat at the bar before our table was ready and I physically saw the bottle of Plymouth gin. True it is not on their menu, so I thought, "Oh, she just doesn't know. She's an assistant manager, not a bartender. No big deal." When I said, "Oh, you do. I saw it behind the bar before we came to our table" she argued with me about what I saw. Her arguing with me caught me off guard. I could still see the bottle behind the bar from our table. I just agreed with her and got another gin, but it was the icing on a really weird experience at 4th and Swift.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

our experience was top notch and we woul ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

our experience was top notch and we would return in a second. Food was superb, especially the duck breast but even all the vegetarian dishes were stars and the cocktails are excellent (although a bit smallish) overall a great place and we will be going back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not worth the money

Dined on May 28, 2016

Portions are extremely small and the food was over priced. I got the trout and it was pretty bland. Ambiance was decent but nothing special. Would definitely not recommend this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Grade A, Excellent. The service, the foo ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Grade A, Excellent. The service, the food, the presentation, were all above par by a margin.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

I enjoyed 4th & Swift. I had an order of ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I enjoyed 4th & Swift. I had an order of the scallops and it was delicious! Warning: You only get juicy 3 scallops for $32 *pout* I also had the duck breast. It was good but I've had better. I think the breast sat on the stove for a few seconds too long. Overall, I had a great experience. Excellent customer service and food was at expectation. I will definitely be back for more scallops.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dinner as usual: well prepared ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent dinner as usual: well prepared and presented food and a wine list at acceptable prices. We will be back and back

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Already Booked Return

Dined on May 14, 2016

The menu is so incredible it was hard to choose what to order. We ended up ordering a great variety of dishes to share and even more savory items for dessert. I wish we ordered more of the spring vegetable pasta entree!! Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was excellent. Good was excellent. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Staff was excellent. Good was excellent. Great date spot place. Worth every penny. Will definitely come back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal. Got the three piggies e ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Fantastic meal. Got the three piggies entree and loved it. Cocktails were superb - West meets East worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in town! ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in town! The menu is fantastic and ever changing! The proteins stay the same and the seasonings and sides change with the season! The wait staff is wonderful and it's always a great experience! We bring my toddler son and they are always accommodating!

food1
ambience4
service4

Atmosphere and service were lovely but w ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Atmosphere and service were lovely but we couldn't have been more disappointed by the food. The duck was tough and terrible, the fluke was supposed to come with crispy potatoes but had none at all, and the steak was tough and bland... With regard to the food, this was literally the worst restaurant I've been to in 20 years.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced experience. Food was bland if ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Overpriced experience. Food was bland if not boring.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I chose 4th and Swift to celebrate my bi ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

I chose 4th and Swift to celebrate my birthday with some girlfriends. We had an excellent time, our waiter was very attentive and the food was quite good. The only thing that decreased my ratings was the fact that we got to the restaurant for a reservation at 6 pm thinking we would have ample time to eat and leave for our 8 pm show. Despite informing the waiter at the beginning of the meal, we were unable to cash out until 7:30 and left at 7:45 so we ended up being almost 30 minutes late to the main event of the evening.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent, skillfully prepared food. On a night when the only other tables were two big groups of business diners, the hostess put my son and I right in between them although the rest of the restaurant was empty. Not smart or particularly pleasant. Service was a bit slow and inattentive which was weird.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service5

Great staff. Good wine recommendations.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great staff. Good wine recommendations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find -- excellent service!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I based my selecting of 4th & Swift on real-time reviews and they were right on. Top class service from initial contact throughout the entire dinner. Server was great, listened well, pleasant personality, knowledgeable towards menu and wines. The atmosphere is cool and classy, and down to earth all at the same time. For the experience, cost was definitely inline and not over the top in my opinion. Plan on making a return visit on next visit to city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Inspired menu. Clean, contemporary, fres ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Inspired menu. Clean, contemporary, fresh food with regional flavor profiles.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A bit disappointing

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was not my first visit. We have had better experiences in the past. Last Sunday, we arrived a few minutes before time of our reservation and were kept waiting a bit too long before being seated at our table. It was not a busy time. Others were pleased with their entrees; I found the Duck a little underwhelming.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Well worth your time

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had an early reservation (5:30) so cannot judge noice otr crowd. In a word, the food was wonderful as was the wine suggestion our server made. The menu is well chosen with small and large plates and enough variety without being overwhelming. The selections are driven by the availability of key ingredients and appear to change based on that. The decor is very comfortable, heavy wood and industrial. Even so, it feels very inviting and cozy rather than cold as some others do. There is a small outside casual dining area as well. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We selected the pre fix menu with the wi ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We selected the pre fix menu with the wine pairing for each course. It was amazing. We had such a remarkable anniversary dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pampered!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The staff was so incredibly sweet and I felt so pampered the entire time. The food was unique and incredible. Definitely coming back for the sticky toffee nut pudding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic. Looking forwar ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was fantastic. Looking forward to Nobel Fin.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing evening..

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was so good. While eating each dish we were all talking about how interesting the flavors were and trying to figure out which dish was best. Hard to decide. The service was great. Manager stopped by to make sure all was well. Just a great evening.. hope to go back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service, entertaining cli ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great food and service, entertaining clients and all had a great experience.

food1
ambience5
service2

The appetizers were great we order one o ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The appetizers were great we order one of each since we had 7 in our party. The tartar was my favorite. I personally ordered the the duck, skin was soft and not pleasant the grits weren't flavorful and the dish wasn't hot. That we a recurring theme for every entree example the butter on top of the NY Strip never melted. The pork chop was over salted. I had high expectations but was sadly very disappointed. They ran out of scallops and brought my friend the fish without asking if that was a suitable substitution then charged him the auto gratuity. Coming from a service background I'm fine with auto grad for large parties but not when there's an issue like this. Also ordered all of the desserts the sticky toffee putting was great the other desserts I think they tried to hard to be different and lost their way on the flavor.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Its a lovely place and service was great.

Dined on April 3, 2016

My waiter Ian was hilarious, engaging and attentive. The elaborate menu sorely lacked vegetarian/vegan options although the veggies were abundantly distributed among the meated dished.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Management went out of their way to acco ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Management went out of their way to accommodate when our table wasn't ready despite a reservation on a Saturday night. Food and drinks were excellent, service slight gruff but not rude.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Benefit of the doubt

Dined on April 2, 2016

Another almost top tier experience. My error: order a small plate (soft shell crab.) Not sure of the fraction of the soft shell crab I was served, but it was too small. Main dish - 2 soft shells. Small plate, 1 soft shell crab. This was a portion (1/2?) of a soft shell crab. A bit disappointing, but delicious nevertheless.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 2, 2016

My wife and I both ordered dinners that were recommended by our waiter. We were both very disappointed in that both dishes had very little flavor. They were blah. For the cost (with drinks and tip it was just about $100) it was not a good experience. We won't be back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't let the road construction deter you!

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The road construction in front of the restaurant is annoying, but they still have great food and good service. They have a new chef from the west coast, adding a nice touch to their already great menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter Brunch at 4th & Swift and we were very pleased. Although the restaurant was very busy, the staff was very pleasant and took very good care of us. The special menu was amazing with so many good choices it was hard to decide what to order. Everything was very well prepared and delicious. It's not the most beautiful restaurant in the world, but everything else about it is top notch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Easter Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We took the family for Easter Brunch and it was great. There were lots of choices on the set menu to choose from. The food was delicious and I felt it was a great value.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Loved the ambiance and decoration! Reall ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Loved the ambiance and decoration! Really neat spot. Went there for Easter brunch. They had a pre set 3 course meal with amazing choices and we loved every single thing we ate!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not As Reliable As Usual

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We've been eating at 4th & Swift for years and this was one of the few disappointing visits. The brussel sprouts salad was not on the menu (apparently, it's out of season) and the fish was so over-salted that it was almost inedible. Not sure if this was just an "off" night, so I still recommend it, but beware.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food always good and service is excellent

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We come back here for special occasions. Food is always fresh, seasonal, and innovative. Service is excellent. Can be loud. Should consider some sound attenuation so parties can hear their conversations without yelling.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Place to Impress Friends

Dined on March 21, 2016

My mother and her friend were visiting me from out of town and I selected this restaurant as it is across the street from my office at Ponce City Market. Fellow Atlantans had raved that this was an excellent restaurant and now I am one of those ravers. It is set in an old warehouse so the restaurant already has charm the moment you walk-in. The customer service was unbelievable! Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable not only about the extensive wine list, but the dinner menu as well. The food was very electric and delicious! The Toffee Pudding dessert is a must! My mother and her friend never eat sweets and they could not stop eating the Toffee Pudding it was that great! My mother's friend is very hard to please, not only when it comes to food, but to service, and she did not complain at all, but instead loved 4th & Swift! We ordered a three course meal and all food was brought out in perfect allotments of time; that is, we were not still eating our appetizer and when dinner was brought out. This is definitely a great place for work business or to bring friends where you want to enjoy the company, but the food and wine as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.