Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Brezza Cucina + PizzeriaBrezza Cucina + Pizzeria
(67)
Italian | Midtown, Atlanta
Reserve Now
Venkman'sVenkman's
(95)
Southern | Old Fourth Ward, Atlanta
Reserve Now
TWO urban licksTWO urban licks
(5835)
American | Virginia Highland, Atlanta
Reserve Now
City Winery - AtlantaCity Winery - Atlanta
(10)
Global, International | Midtown, Atlanta
Reserve Now
The Brasserie & Neighborhood Cafe at ParishThe Brasserie & Neighborhood Cafe at Parish
(1416)
American | Inman Park, Atlanta
Reserve Now
Poor Calvin'sPoor Calvin's
(1035)
Fusion / Eclectic | Midtown, Atlanta
Reserve Now
Sotto SottoSotto Sotto
(1937)
Italian | Inman Park, Atlanta
Reserve Now
MF Sushi- AtlantaMF Sushi- Atlanta
(88)
Japanese | Inman Park, Atlanta
Reserve Now
FrittiFritti
(1024)
Italian | Inman Park, Atlanta
Reserve Now
IL LocalinoIL Localino
(804)
Italian | Inman Park, Atlanta
Reserve Now
Cafe HighlandsCafe Highlands
(24)
Contemporary Southern | Virginia Highland, Atlanta
Reserve Now
Babette's CafeBabette's Cafe
(2631)
Contemporary European | Inman Park, Atlanta
Reserve Now
WisteriaWisteria
(2504)
American | Inman Park, Atlanta
Reserve Now
SerpasSerpas
(1869)
American | Inman Park, Atlanta
Reserve Now
La Tavola TrattoriaLa Tavola Trattoria
(1941)
Italian | Virginia Highland, Atlanta
Reserve Now

About 4th & Swift - Permanently Closed

621 North Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30308
View Larger Map

Permanently Closed - Atlanta chef, Jay Swift, brings his passion and creative interpretation of seasonal comfort food to 4TH & Swift. Occupying the space that was formerly the engine room to Southern Dairies, the restaurant retains many of the original elements. Exposed brick, concrete and beams are
updated with contemporary accents such as warm woods, rich fabrics and brushed white metals.

At 4th & Swift, Chef/Owner Jay Swift has created a new level in the evolution of the dining scene here in Atlanta. Jay’s culinary focus is one based on the advancement of Southern cuisine; for Jay Southern is less about reinventing regional classics than inventing new ones using regional and local products.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Dinner | 5:30 PM until 9:00PM;
Monday – Thursday | 5:30 PM until 10:00 PM;
Friday & Saturday | 5:30 PM until 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Glen Iris

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 904-0160

Website:
http://www.4thandswift.com/

Parking Details:
Drive up complimentary valet parking available every evening.

Executive Chef:
Jay Swift

Private Party Facilities:
At 4th & Swift we have several different private and semi-private dining options for you and your guests. In the Private Dining Room you and your guests can enjoy our Chefs table which sits on the other side of a glass wall that overlooks our entire kitchen.

Private Party Contact:
Breanna Washington: 6789040160x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

4th & Swift - Permanently Closed
4th & Swift - Permanently Closed
4th & Swift - Permanently Closed
4th & Swift - Permanently Closed
4th & Swift - Permanently Closed
4th & Swift - Permanently Closed
4th & Swift - Permanently Closed
4th & Swift - Permanently Closed
4th & Swift - Permanently Closed
Risotto
GRASS FED BEEF TARTARE

Caper Emulsion, Urfa Yolk, Black Garlic Mustard Seed
PASTURE RAISED VEAL SCHNITZEL

Rosemary Yoghurt Spatzle, Wilted Baby Greens, Farm Egg, Lingonberry Au Poivre
BRIOCHE FRENCH TOAST

Candied Pecans, Meyer Lemon Mascarpone, Ice Wine Blueberries  
BABY MIXED GREENS

Bacon, Toasted Pecans, Buttermilk Bleu, Pickled Red Onion, Dijon Vinaigrette
Pea Soup
Carrot Cake
Veal Scaloppini
Wood Grilled Octopus Lasagna
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Pan Roasted Sheepshead
Crispy Brussels Sprouts Salad
Wood Grilled Leg of Cervena Venison
Wagyu Beef
Pork Cheek
Braised Lamb
Chocolate Mousse
Sweet Corn Soup
Turkey Sausage
Chocolate Tart
Pan Seared Trout
Other Shore
Trout With Spicy Lentils
Smoke And Mirrors Margarita
Foie Gras Cheesecake
Sorghum Baked Beans
English sticky toffee pudding
Trotter Croquette
Sticky Toffee Pudding
BLT
The Allen Jones
Ham
Pork Loin
steak tartare
Manjari Chocolate Ganache Cake
Apple Fritters
Toffee & Coffee
Olive Oil Poached Asparagus Salad
Crispy Cotechino & Poached Farm Egg
Rider, Shadow, Wolf
Mozzerella and Heirloom Tomato Salad
"Three Little Piggies"
Vichyssoise
Grilled Baby Octopus
Heirloom Lettuce Salad
brioche french toast
Grilled Club Steak "Frites"
The Cries Of A Silent Man
Vegetables
Pan Seared Atlantic Speckled Trout
Scallop-Chef's Tasting
Pain Perdu
Biscuits, Muffins, Cinnamon Rolls
fried oysters
Spaetzle
Summer Sweet Corn Soup W/Lump Crab, Basil Crema, Crispy Pickled Okra  And Old Bay
Pan Seared Carolina Day Boat Flounder W/Shellfish Chowder, Fingerling Potatoes, Hobbs Bacon And Wilted Spinach
Chocolate Pecan Pie
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Red Pepper Papperdelle With Goat Cheese And Walnut Pesto
Arugula And Watermelon Salad
Truffle And Parmesan Popcorn
Swordfish
Scallop
Duck Comfit
Fried Dough With 3 Dips-Chef's Table
Pork Belly-Chef's Table
Chocolate Lava Cake
Chef's Table
Tomato Salad

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Pre Show for $40.00

Special valid Jun 20, 2016 - Oct 20, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Pre Show for $40.00

Special valid Jun 20, 2016 - Oct 20, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Pre Show for $40.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 20, 2016 - Oct 20, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM.

4th & Swift - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (59)
special occasion (50)
romantic (42)
See All
neighborhood gem (37)
notable wine list (28)
good for groups (24)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A wonderful evening. The food was inte ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

A wonderful evening. The food was interesting, beautifully presented and delicious. The service was spot on. Our server Ron was outstanding. Even knowledgeable about where all the local food came from, which was impressive. Great restaurant!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm just so sorry to see it go. It was a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

I'm just so sorry to see it go. It was always outstanding, even through the last meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most amazing meals I can reme ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the most amazing meals I can remember! This is a destination restaurant that is not to be missed! Excellent food, service, atmosphere!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a great dinner and a chance ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had such a great dinner and a chance to really visit with good friends. Couldn't have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Repeat diners here for good reason. Menu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Repeat diners here for good reason. Menu is varied and well thought out. Staff is friendly w/o hovering over. Mood was relaxed and pleasant. This visit could have been more but wasn't. The trout was barely done and my strip steak wasn't trimmed well, some gristle too. The waitress was attentive however, when tables began to fill, she was absent far too long...as if they were short staffed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The staff couldn't have been more friend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The staff couldn't have been more friendly. Loved the open space/vaulted ceilings and soft lighting. I ordered the tasting and had so much fun trying the dish with duck foam, etc. The waiter made excellent drink suggestions especially with dessert. If I could suggest anything, would be to use less sauce on veggies (on NY Strip plate). I would definitely go back next time I visit Atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall, this was a really great experie ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Overall, this was a really great experience. The service was top notch. I definitely never had an empty water glass which is oddly important to me when it comes to service. The food was fantastic. The only reason I'm giving it a 4 out of 5 stars is because the variety of food. I think the last time I was here was around 3 or 4 years ago and really nothing has changed when it comes to the main plates. Maybe if ain't broke they don't fix it. Would love to have more "shareable" items on here! Great place overall!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef's tasting and wine pairing was fab! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Chef's tasting and wine pairing was fab!!! Even made main course substitution!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4th & Swift is our favorite restaurant i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

4th & Swift is our favorite restaurant in Atlanta. We return again and again when we want a guaranteed nice meal. Amazing food, fantastic service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very solid, still delicious, standard- ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

A very solid, still delicious, standard-bearer in the Ponce Market area. Our group of 8 enjoyed everything we ate, the waitstaff was professional but warm and casual, and kept things moving along. There is a bit of a bottleneck at the valet station at the bottom of the stairs because of the narrow landing but nothing to spoil a mood. We go back time and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined on Saturday night. Restaurant was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Dined on Saturday night. Restaurant was surprisingly not busy at 7 pm but we were told that there were lots of reservations for later.

Server was very good-friendly available but not intrusive. Food was wonderful. Distinct flavors and textures.

Had the steak and the duck entrees, Both excellent. sides were good. The cold soup appetizer and the roasted cauliflower apps were different and extremely good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved the food, drinks and service. I r ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Loved the food, drinks and service. I really can't say anything but wonderful things and I can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My bf and I went to 4th and Swift to cel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My bf and I went to 4th and Swift to celebrate our four year anniversary and I cannot say enough good things about it! The waiter brought over complimentary champagne as soon as we sat down and cookies with a beautiful chocolate "Happy Anniversary" writing at the end. All of the food and drinks were absolutely amazing. We will definitely be back over and over again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love 4th and Swift. Dinne ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I love 4th and Swift. Dinner is pricy but not unreasonably so for the quality of the food and excellence of the service. This is our go to place when we want to celebrate a special occasion like a birthday or anniversary and have time for a 3 or 4 course meal. My wife always orders the duck which is perfectly cooked every time. And I often branch out and try new things and have never been disappointed. They also have a fun cocktail menu:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heard so much about this place and it di ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Heard so much about this place and it did not disappoint. Steak amazing. Prawn appetizer so so good. Shrimp sausage stuffed in squash blossom.... Beautiful.

Can't wait to go back.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was bad and the food was way ove ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was bad and the food was way over priced. We decided to get several small portions to share among the group. The food was very expensive and didn't fill any of us up. We ended up closing our tab after one round of food and leaving to get tacos across the street. $200 later, we were still hungry and very unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Chef Graham Is a star. Tonight I enjoyed ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Chef Graham Is a star. Tonight I enjoyed Softshell Crab appetizer cleverly plated with hominy and fried corn. My entree was cobia in a rich broth with artichokes,fava beans, and clams. Desert was sorbet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am 100% certain that the experience we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I am 100% certain that the experience we had is not the norm for 4th and Swift, but that said we had a very odd experience with the service. There was clearly a miscommunication between our waiter and the assistant manager because they were literally passing each other to come take our order, check on us, etc. The weirdest part was when I ordered another gin and tonic with Plymouth gin and the assistant manager told me she didn't have that type of gin. We sat at the bar before our table was ready and I physically saw the bottle of Plymouth gin. True it is not on their menu, so I thought, "Oh, she just doesn't know. She's an assistant manager, not a bartender. No big deal." When I said, "Oh, you do. I saw it behind the bar before we came to our table" she argued with me about what I saw. Her arguing with me caught me off guard. I could still see the bottle behind the bar from our table. I just agreed with her and got another gin, but it was the icing on a really weird experience at 4th and Swift.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

our experience was top notch and we woul ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

our experience was top notch and we would return in a second. Food was superb, especially the duck breast but even all the vegetarian dishes were stars and the cocktails are excellent (although a bit smallish) overall a great place and we will be going back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not worth the money

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Portions are extremely small and the food was over priced. I got the trout and it was pretty bland. Ambiance was decent but nothing special. Would definitely not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Grade A, Excellent. The service, the foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Grade A, Excellent. The service, the food, the presentation, were all above par by a margin.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoyed 4th & Swift. I had an order of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I enjoyed 4th & Swift. I had an order of the scallops and it was delicious! Warning: You only get juicy 3 scallops for $32 *pout*

I also had the duck breast. It was good but I've had better. I think the breast sat on the stove for a few seconds too long. Overall, I had a great experience. Excellent customer service and food was at expectation. I will definitely be back for more scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent dinner as usual: well prepared ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent dinner as usual: well prepared and presented food and a wine list at acceptable prices.

We will be back and back

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Already Booked Return

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The menu is so incredible it was hard to choose what to order. We ended up ordering a great variety of dishes to share and even more savory items for dessert. I wish we ordered more of the spring vegetable pasta entree!! Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was excellent. Good was excellent. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Staff was excellent. Good was excellent. Great date spot place. Worth every penny. Will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal. Got the three piggies e ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Fantastic meal. Got the three piggies entree and loved it. Cocktails were superb - West meets East worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in town! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in town! The menu is fantastic and ever changing! The proteins stay the same and the seasonings and sides change with the season! The wait staff is wonderful and it's always a great experience! We bring my toddler son and they are always accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere and service were lovely but w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Atmosphere and service were lovely but we couldn't have been more disappointed by the food. The duck was tough and terrible, the fluke was supposed to come with crispy potatoes but had none at all, and the steak was tough and bland... With regard to the food, this was literally the worst restaurant I've been to in 20 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Overpriced experience. Food was bland if ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Overpriced experience. Food was bland if not boring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I chose 4th and Swift to celebrate my bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I chose 4th and Swift to celebrate my birthday with some girlfriends. We had an excellent time, our waiter was very attentive and the food was quite good. The only thing that decreased my ratings was the fact that we got to the restaurant for a reservation at 6 pm thinking we would have ample time to eat and leave for our 8 pm show. Despite informing the waiter at the beginning of the meal, we were unable to cash out until 7:30 and left at 7:45 so we ended up being almost 30 minutes late to the main event of the evening.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent, skillfully prepared food. On a night when the only other tables were two big groups of business diners, the hostess put my son and I right in between them although the rest of the restaurant was empty. Not smart or particularly pleasant. Service was a bit slow and inattentive which was weird.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great staff. Good wine recommendations.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Great staff. Good wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great find -- excellent service!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I based my selecting of 4th & Swift on real-time reviews and they were right on. Top class service from initial contact throughout the entire dinner. Server was great, listened well, pleasant personality, knowledgeable towards menu and wines. The atmosphere is cool and classy, and down to earth all at the same time. For the experience, cost was definitely inline and not over the top in my opinion. Plan on making a return visit on next visit to city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inspired menu. Clean, contemporary, fres ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Inspired menu. Clean, contemporary, fresh food with regional flavor profiles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit disappointing

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This was not my first visit. We have had better experiences in the past. Last Sunday, we arrived a few minutes before time of our reservation and were kept waiting a bit too long before being seated at our table. It was not a busy time.

Others were pleased with their entrees; I found the Duck a little underwhelming.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Well worth your time

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had an early reservation (5:30) so cannot judge noice otr crowd. In a word, the food was wonderful as was the wine suggestion our server made. The menu is well chosen with small and large plates and enough variety without being overwhelming. The selections are driven by the availability of key ingredients and appear to change based on that. The decor is very comfortable, heavy wood and industrial. Even so, it feels very inviting and cozy rather than cold as some others do. There is a small outside casual dining area as well.

Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We selected the pre fix menu with the wi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We selected the pre fix menu with the wine pairing for each course. It was amazing. We had such a remarkable anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

pampered!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The staff was so incredibly sweet and I felt so pampered the entire time. The food was unique and incredible. Definitely coming back for the sticky toffee nut pudding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great, the oysters were amazing.. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

It was great, the oysters were amazing....highly recommended as is the aged ribeye. My other guests chose a different cut of steak and u fortunately theirs was cooked beyond the medium that was ordered. Still good, and the service and comped dessert made up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was fantastic. Looking forwar ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was fantastic. Looking forward to Nobel Fin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.