About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Catering:
At 42 St. Oyster Bar we work with our clients to develop a catering event that fits their menu and budget needs. For more information visit http://42ndstoysterbar.com/Catering.html

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Steamed Oysters
Oysters
Grilled Grouper w/ Roasted Garlic
Soft Shell Crab
Blackened Bacon Wrapped Scallop Penne
Norfolk Combo
PEI Mussels
Blackened Swordfish
Lobster Bisque
Buffalo Shrimp Martini
Peel and Eat Shrimp
Seafood Chipino
Flounder And Oysters Cajun Fried
Bacon-wrapped Scallops

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Special Occasion (144)
Good for Groups (116)
Fit for Foodies (75)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Hot Spot (59)
Vibrant Bar Scene (53)
Romantic (45)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for a Date (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Late-night Find (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Casual (21)
Kid-friendly (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fun (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Historic (14)
Authentic (13)
Business Meals (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Live Music (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Family Style (8)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Dancing (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2056 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistent with excellent food and servi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Consistent with excellent food and service. Great layers, tuna and shrimp appetizers. Service is accommodating, helpful and polite. Always a groups crowd pleaser!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to 42nd Street Oyster Bar on our ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

We came to 42nd Street Oyster Bar on our daughter's recommendation, she recently got a job as hostess there. Growing up on the Eastern Shore of Maryland and Delaware I tend to be a seafood snob, when it comes to freshness and how I like my seafood prepared. Avery was our waiter and he was spectacular. I was very pleased with his wine selection for me and his food recommendations. The scallops were amazing, the swordfish some of the best my husband has ever had, the grouper was fabulous, the filet mignon was far beyond expectations. My old school rule of not eating steak in a seafood house was just blown out the door. The service was excellent. The only thing I would change is your steamed clams are top necks and not little necks. Little necks are still available from Chincoteague VA. I really had no idea what to expect when I walked in the door, really just coming to support our daughter at her new job. That has surely changed, I've been telling everyone about my experience and I can't wait to come back. We were told we really screwed up and did not order dessert, I certainly will make sure not to do that next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The breading on the fried crab cakes was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The breading on the fried crab cakes was too salty. I ended up removing the breading and eating the inside, which was delicious. Otherwise, good service, good prices, and good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our third time here. Raw oyster ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

This was our third time here. Raw oysters and cold draft beer are the only reason we'll go back. We've found the food to be mediocre at best and overly salty. The ambience is very nice, comfortable and nostalgic. The wait staff is great! The kitchen is slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

For the price, I expected A LOT more in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

For the price, I expected A LOT more in regards to the amount of food. The 42st Seafood Platter came with a few shrimp, a few scallops, a piece of fish which was half the size of my hand, a side, and a salad. For $30, I expected a platter, per the item description.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We had a nice time at 42nd. It was a spe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a nice time at 42nd. It was a special occasion and we were treated with respect. Everything was brought out in the proper way. Our waitress was a super professional!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Reservation,service and food was excelle ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Reservation,service and food was excellent! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was prompt and friendly. The foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Service was prompt and friendly. The food has never disappointed me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We only care about the oysters! Always ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We only care about the oysters! Always woth the drive from durham, NC.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastically fun atmosphere for celebra ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fantastically fun atmosphere for celebrating my hubby's birthday. The sea scallops were great and my daughter's popcorn shrimp were fantastic. The cioppino was good, but the scallops were really over cooked. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

First time in many years I had a fish th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

First time in many years I had a fish that tasted fishy at 42nd Street.

The shrimp were great as usual, as were the slaw and hush-puppies.

The collards were bitter and had way too much vinegar and spices in them. Would be better if the stems were removed, change the cooking water half-way through the cooking process, and have the vinegar seasoning on the side.

The service was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Historic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly place the nice place to visit grea ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Truly place the nice place to visit great for first date look forward to coming back here again and the near future

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

There was a 20 minute wait for 8:15 rese ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

There was a 20 minute wait for 8:15 reservations and Wahoo was WAY overcooked!

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Hostess(blonde with glasses) couldn't se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Hostess(blonde with glasses) couldn't seem to be bothered by diners. Checked in with her a couple times on our reservation and she seemed bothered more than anything. After letting her know where we were seated at the bar, she did not clarify that I should expect a text to confirm that our table was available. In an attempt to be focused on my date for her birthday, I did not have my phone out and did not check it until 10 minutes after the text was received. At that point we had lost our table despite being about 20 feet away from the hostess stand within eyesight. We ended up sitting at the oyster bar which was perfectly fine but for a higher end restaurant like 42nd Street, I would expect a quality first impression from the hostess which we did not receive. Fortunately the food made up for this and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

seafood fresh as always and service fast ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

seafood fresh as always and service fast and nice. hot hushpuppies are always better than just warm - that was only minus

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always,exceptional service. Great foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As always,exceptional service. Great food! Lots of fresh options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food as always, the only issue I w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food as always, the only issue I would point out, and I have been going here for years is the fact that they have added tables to the stage / dancing area, making it very difficult to move there... I find it hard to believe the few dollars in revenue they bring in, offsets the hassle people who want to dance to the live music that the additional tables cause...

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been here quite a few times. This dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Been here quite a few times. This dinner was disappointing. Fish dry and had to sit at high top dispite reservation. Not comfortably for a meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

It had been years since I had been to th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It had been years since I had been to this restaurant. It did not disappoint. We both ordered the 42nd Street Combo Platter. My wife would have liked the shrimp and scallops to have been grilled instead of broiled in butter, though they were excellent as prepared. We each tried a different fresh fish on the platter, and both were prepare excellently. Everything comes with hush puppies, and they are really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time! Food was absolutely ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a great time! Food was absolutely great as were the staff and the ambiance!! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here for 23 years. Everything ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Have eaten here for 23 years. Everything from a date, family outing and business. Never had a bad experience or a bad meal. Live it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

wonderful seafood as always!! Fresh and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

wonderful seafood as always!! Fresh and good and the hushpuppies are to die for!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Returning from VA to Raleigh it had been ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Returning from VA to Raleigh it had been 8 years since frequenting 42nd St. It was refreshing to see one of our favorite restaurants still at it's best. Unique casual setting, excellent food (wide range of pricing), and friendly service (Ashton). We drove 37 miles (each way) for dinner and already planning another outing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The help was great. She was very helpful ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The help was great. She was very helpful and timely! Knowledgable too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the food this time. Mus ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Disappointed in the food this time. Mussels were small and oyster stew was average. My 23 dollar entree was well worth 12. Not up to our usual experience. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We absolutely this place will be back!!! ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We absolutely this place will be back!!! Shrimp & Crab Alfredo was Amazing!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Family Style, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, People Watching, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and we received g ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was excellent and we received great service. The only disappointment was that when I made the reservation, I noted that we would be ordering oysters and I did not realize that reservations cannot be made for the oyster side tables. I recommend that they make more tables by the bar where steamed oysters can be ordered. Overall, we enjoyed the food and the service was great. We will return!!!!

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Waitress was excellent and the service was professional. Menu was what we expected. Food was prepared well. A little noisy. A solid go to,place for sea food and casual dining.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

42 St Oyster Bar is an Excellent Value. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

42 St Oyster Bar is an Excellent Value. Great Food, Great Energy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great meal and service. One of the most ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great meal and service. One of the most enjoyable dinners I've had in Raleigh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We both had the fried shrimp. They were ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We both had the fried shrimp. They were great & could not finish our order. They let you substitute a side salad for the Cole slaw, with no up charge. Great blue cheese dressing. Very noisy, but other than that it is a great restaurant for seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food. Waiter was the best ever. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Awesome food.

Waiter was the best ever.

Thank you

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had a meal I didn't like at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I have never had a meal I didn't like at 42nd Street.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Dancing, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great!! i havent been in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was great!! i havent been in a long time but i had a nice time and the food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food & excellent service!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food & excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been going to 42nd Street since the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I've been going to 42nd Street since the time it opened in the 80's. Great if you can get a booth off to the side and for couples. The waiter we had was not the greatest, but that was not typical of my experiences here. If you are in a large group, you do not want the 6 top in the heavy traffic zone. It is very noisy and you cannot hear conversations at the table and there are way too many people walking around. Very unsettling. The food was as good as always.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding on all possible counts from ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Outstanding on all possible counts from the time we entered the restaurant until we exited. Dined with a couple of family members from out of town who are foodies and love oysters. We all love good fresh seafood and being from Boston, we hold the bar pretty high. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been many times. And food was wonderful. ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Been many times. And food was wonderful. Tonight was an off night. Food was bad and server was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We went for the Raleigh restaurant week ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went for the Raleigh restaurant week and both the food and service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Have eaten at 42nd OB several times. Th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Have eaten at 42nd OB several times. This was first time I was disappointed in the food. The salad was brown and lettuce wilted. I have always ate fried oysters because they were excellent. This time the first two I ate were so hard and salty I couldn't eat. The remaining were salty but eatable. The service was great and I have always enjoyed the atmosphere. I will go back because of positive past dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.