Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Good for a Date (89)
Good for Birthdays (71)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Good for Groups (61)
Casual (60)
Bar Seating (55)
Worth the Drive (55)
Fun (52)
Authentic (50)
Business Meals (48)
Historic (48)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Hot Spot (40)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Comfort Food (36)
Open Kitchen (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Live Music (32)
Romantic (31)
Local Ingredients (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Family Style (22)
Great Beer (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
People Watching (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Cozy (15)
Healthy (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Dancing (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Seasonal (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Live Sports (5)
Tapas (5)
Spicy (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dubai)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazingly see food and courteous staff. Fun and great spot to hang out

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Oysters were a bit small for the price. Otherwise the good was delicious. Blackened bacon wrapped oysters and crab cakes were amazing.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

My bf and I went to celebrate our 9 year anniversary. The Mahi was one of the fresh fish of the day. It was delicious. My bf had crab legs and they were huge and delicious also. Our waiter, "Five" was wonderful. Very attentive and had a great personality.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Was here in December when in town and came back to Raleigh and only place we went to again from last December trip. Had better seafood elsewhere but this was by far the best meal in Raleigh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Birthday dinner for son. Mahi was awesome, grouper was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Oysters were great, especially the ones from Chesapeake VA. Plump and delicious. The blue point were good but tiny in size and not work the cost. Great service. Will definitely come back wen I am in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great oysters and drinks. Service was fantastic. 42nd st never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Favorite eatery in Raleigh area by far. Fresh grouper and oysters you can't get anywhere else. Historic and charming to top off great food and wine. Love it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Live Music, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were visiting Raleigh and will be back. Great seafood, great value, and great ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I am from Cincinnati, Oh and came there for Easter. We relaxed and had a great time. The waitress was friendly and seemed to always know when to check on us. We had a variety of foods and everyone enjoyed there meals with no complaints.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Easter dinner!! Pre easter day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Really great food and fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Holy hell this place is noisy. First time visit and the place was packed, I'm so glad we made a reservation. The food was amazing and delicious, but it felt to me like we were just in a huge high school dining hall. I would suggest this for a fun night out with friends, not a good place if you want to be able to have a nice quiet conversation with the people you're with. We had to yell across the table to hear each other. Like I said, it's definitely a great place to eat as long as you're expecting that type of energy! Food was on point, everything was fresh and piping hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, great service, I highly recommend it, if you love seafood!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent as always. Great that they take reservations as always busy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our waiter, Avery, made our evening outstanding. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always great for a seafood fix. The kitchen prepared a plain pasta dish for our grandson. Great job.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Me and hubby really enjoyed our dinner. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

$2 St Oyster Bar is a mainstay of the Raleigh restaurant scene. It features fresh catch of the day ,oysters from all over the East and Gulf coast, great cocktails, evening Jazz groups, and classic Southern Coastal fare in a vibrant open kitchen setting. A must on your trip to the Triangle.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Waiter very hurried. Felt as if he was rushing us. Plus he talked way TOO FAST!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Enjoyed dinner with a friend of mine. We both had a blast! The food and atmosphere was great! The waiter Fav was outstanding! Great times!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Live Music, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Service was exceptional and the food was great! The piping hot hush puppies were delicious. The calamari was very good as well. The cornmeal encrusted trout, recommended by our waiter Tripp, was also delicious. My husband got the broiled seafood platter and said it was good. He normally gets a fried seafood platter at other places, so that is high praise coming from him. Very much enjoyed our visit and will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always the best choice for oysters and seafood. Large crowd on a Thursday night reservations recommended.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Delicious cioppino! Everything was fresh and very tasty.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The food was very good, but the best thing about our evening was our server. He was personable, friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. His name was "5".

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual, Historic, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Overall decent. Food seems to have taken a nose dive since we last dined there about 6 years ago. Portion sizes are large but the seafood quality and taste were below average. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was my second visit to 42nd Street Oyster Bar; the food was delicious and the wait team was very attentive. Wonderful dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent service and food. Parking was a hassle. Would definitely dine there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The oil Easters were clean fresh and very good, our waitress was awesome she was right there when we needed her to be but wasn't too intrusive, and we had a very good martini made by the female bartender that was there that night.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Living in a more remote area of the midwest I am always on the lookout for fresh oysters when I travel closer to the seaboards and I found a good one in 42nd street. The oysters were amazing, the balance of the meal was too. My wife and our dinner guest were very pleased with the service, atmosphere and superb quality of the meal.
Well done to all involved!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We were able to get a great table. Our waitress was warm, fast and friendly. The hostess was very welcoming as well. Food was very good. Great fried oysters and local beer

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This was my first experience dining at 42nd Street Oyster Bar. It was absolutely wonderful! The oysters were perfectly​ prepared, and the filet mignon practically melted in my mouth. I'm thrilled to have discovered this hidden gem in downtown Raleigh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Running 1/2hr behind but called ahead & had no problem rescheduling! Sat right away by a friendly hostess into a nice booth. Very attentive & well informed waiter took our order, hush puppies come with your drinks! I have food allergies& he was so helpful as to let me know what was safe, the kitchen took the extra time to batter & fry my seafood special without any complaints! Not cheap but amazing quality & freshness is 100%

Tags: Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, People Watching, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I like to eat here whenever I visit Raleigh. Outstanding seafood. Live music on Friday and Saturday nights.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I started off with a selection of 1/2 dozen oysters and they were fantastic. I followed this up with the pan-seared scallops with the twice baked potato and a glass of white wine. The service was just right, not too pushy and the food came out at the right time. Well done

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great seafood preparation and always good. The wait staff is great and very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a variety of seafood, it was high quality and an enjoyable experience.
It's a big restaurant , lively and packed when we were there, a little noisy but it's not a quiet dinner kind of place. I would highly recommend it if you like seafood.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Historic, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent food and impeccable service. Waitress made a great recommendation for the special trout with crabmeat. Nice salad came with the meal. Busy restaurant so pretty noisy but a great choice for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We had a great time & service was awesome!! The entire family enjoyed the food they ordered!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall good experience. Salmon had no flavor though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.