Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Good for a Date (90)
Casual (81)
See All
Good for Birthdays (79)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Fun (59)
Good for Groups (58)
Worth the Drive (57)
Bar Seating (52)
Business Meals (48)
Authentic (48)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Live Music (36)
Comfort Food (36)
Historic (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Hot Spot (29)
Romantic (28)
People Watching (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Open Kitchen (21)
Great Beer (20)
Family Style (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Cozy (12)
Healthy (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Spicy (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Dancing (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tapas (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Live Sports (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined a day ago

We really love this place, but the last couple of times we've gone has been disappointing concerning the food. If you are going to charge $32 for Ahi Tuna, I would like to get more than 3, 1 inch by 3 inch pieces of fish on my plate. And it was overcooked as well. I also ordered the sweet potato and it came with nothing on it, and I had a salad to start and asked for blue cheese dressing that came with ranch instead. The place was really noisy and full of out-of-town business people. Our server was excellent though... overall it was a 1 for food quality however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

A great find when I have business in Raleigh, have brought clients 3 times know and everyone loves it.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Service and food excellent as always. Cajun Oysters were really good. Melted in your mouth

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Extension of a business meeting with an out of town guest. The restaurant was a great place to continue our business discussion and show off Raleigh's great food.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

42nd Street is a fun place that feels like (old) Raleigh in a good way. The food is good -- though we didn't have the steamed oysters (next time). The ambiance is fun. The service was very good. We will go back when we are looking for good food, a place to relax, and a fun time.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

As always, 42nd Street delivers. Server / service was a little off tonight - nothing to be too concerned about - perhaps this was a new person or too many tables to fast. Enjoyed the pan sauteed scallops -cheese potatoes (very good but a very small serving - little bit disappointed in that).

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food and service were outstanding! Our waiter, Five, was superb! We enjoyed our food and evening. The food is consistently good!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Everything was great!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The service was excellent as was the food. Particularly great cole slaw. I am partial to fried seafood so I thoroughly enjoyed the oysters. Portions were substantial.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, People Watching, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Service was really exceptional for our party of nine. Each course was paced very well and our food came out hot and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

OUTSTANDING food and service! Our son loves this place on his travels to Raleigh!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This is always my families go-to spot for our big family events! Great place

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food, good service. Nice evening out with friends.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My friend and I went for Restaurant Week and I am glad we did. I will plan to go again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We through enjoyed our meal and our server Avery was quite conscientious about helping us
select a menu item.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Service was great. Food was great.

I would recommend to a friend and co-workers.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Restaurant Week 2017!!
The Cornmeal Crusted Trout was so delicious. I went with a group of 4 friends two of them ordered "off menu", but those of us who ordered from the selected restaurant week menu , were ecstatic!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The Sea Bass and Grouper were amazing, fried shrimp just Ok. Chipino had a lot of seafood but very little taste. No comparison to San Francisco's 😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Band was good. Need more dancing room. Food service too slow! Offer fried shrimp on spinach salad. Chatter was too loud.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This was a birthday dinner, and all four of us were thrilled with the dinner. It was a little noisy, but we had been there before and that was not the case. So all in all, it was a very positive experience. We all highly recommend it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Good. Very good. Great place to eat

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had made a reservation and were seated as soon as all of party were present. We were pleased to be seated in a booth which keep it a bit more private. Food was well prepared and our server was attentive. We were celebrating a birthday so I was happy everyone enjoyed their evening. Plan on returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We found this restaurant on Open Table and are happy that the reviews were so accurate. The server was terrific and the oysters were plentiful and fried perfectly. It is a large restaurant and parking is available on site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our favorite choice for family special occasions. Best filet anywhere. Never had a bad meal, or bad service. Reasonable pricing for what you get.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent food and service! Enjoyed eating here and will return again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This place is an institution in the city of Raleigh, great fresh seafood awesome place to catch a meal before heading out to some of the surrounding night spots or to make the night attraction

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Go to spot every time we visit the Raleigh area from NYC. Staff is amazing and it always hits the spot to get our seafood fix.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great dinner

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great atmosphere and dining!!!! Food was delicious and service was amazing!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 23, 2017

A large amount of food and very good. Can totally recommend fried oysters and fried flounder. Place was quite filled up for a Tuesday evening and so it was noisy but could still talk. Will definitely be going there again. Lots of NC history on the walls.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Always an excellent meal, with a great wait staff, and good energy at 42nd Street. If you love seafood, this is the place to eat!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Have never been disappointed with food and ambiance. Servers always friendly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food and service and value was very fair considering the quality of the food. Will be back !

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

As always, great food and great service! It never disappoints and we will be back very soon!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary here and it was an overall wonderful night! Blackened grouper close to perfection, but sautéed shrimp and scallops could have been better. An attentive Michelle added to our special night and we will definitely return again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We could only get a reservation at 10pm. However we showed up around 9 maybe before. They seated us right away. Hush puppies come immediately and are delicious!! My husband ordered a steak and he said it wasn't spectacular but it was good. I ordered fried oysters & fried calamari. The oysters were excellent and the calamari was ok. I wish I had just ordered the oysters. This has been a long tradition of Raleigh and I try to go here when I visit. They started live music around 10 in the bar area. You could hear in the main dining room which was a nice thing. Definitely give it a try if you never have.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Thereste two things I did not like. We were cramped in a corner and it was hard getting out of the booth. There was a table so close to us, which is not a deal breaker. The atmosphere was vibrant. Server was great the second thing was that I don't believe that I was eating butter...it smelled like margarine, even the garlic butter for my crab legs was melted margarine. Yuck!!! But it was fun and the band 120 min was soooo good I would go back for the band and bar area

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall good but the calamari we got as appetizer was less than good. The hush puppies were too greasy. The main course was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our first visit to 42nd Street Oyster Bar. Our daughter has been encouraging us to dine here. Food was tasty; service was great. We will return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our dinner was a fantastic experience. Had reservations at 5:30 PM and was seated at 5:25 PM

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.