Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (90)
Good for a Date (81)
Good for Birthdays (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Good for Groups (57)
Casual (57)
Fun (53)
Worth the Drive (50)
Bar Seating (50)
Business Meals (48)
Authentic (45)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Historic (41)
Open Kitchen (39)
Comfort Food (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Hot Spot (33)
Romantic (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Live Music (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Family Style (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Great Beer (21)
People Watching (21)
Outstanding Value (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Cozy (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Healthy (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Seasonal (7)
Dancing (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (4)
Live Sports (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time & service was awesome!! The entire family enjoyed the food they ordered!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall good experience. Salmon had no flavor though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellence in Seafood defined in Raleigh, NC. If you want the best service with perfect balance of attentiveness and anticipation. 42nd St Oyster bar is the choice in Raleigh, NC. Great ambiance and touch of history makes this a must do. Great music and roomy bar. Don't miss oyster bar, steamed oysters are perfection.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food is consistently excellent... as is the service. I love to take friends and family who are visiting from out of town. I try to avoid the weekends because of the crowd.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Drinks were top shelf! Appetizers were all excellent, especially the seafood bisque. Everyone's entree was just right and so delicious. Wait staff, even those on the floor and serving other tables were friendly and considerate. Look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We have a great time when we come here, the only problem that we had this time was that the last meal that came out was crab leg dinner and it was not hot while the other six meals were. The waitress offered to take them back but we declined due to all of us wanting to eat together at the same time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great seafood and local history.
Local, friendly, unique. One of a kind.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went for the first time last night. Fantastic seafood place. Live music on Friday & Saturday nights. Super fresh oysters and great service. We got a 1/2 peck of steamed oysters, they were huge. Fried green tomatoes topped with pimento cheese and fried shrimp were super tasty. Cornmeal crusted trout topped with crab meat & lemon caper sauce was great, HUGE portion of fish. The seafood combo with shrimp, scallops and wood grilled fish was delicious. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Music, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Casual, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great seafood in a casual atmosphere. Makes one feel they are near the beach.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was great, but seems overpriced. Our waiter was too pushy and wanted us to order more than we wanted, which made us feel uncomfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Oysters on half shell were high quality. It takes a little while for the oysters to come out so order them as soon as you sit down. This slows down whole meal a bit but overall service is good. Fried shrimp were cooked just right and some of best I've had in NC or away from the coast. Fried oysters, baked oysters and crabcakes were all good also. Prices were very reasonable for quality seafood in downtown Raleigh. I will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding dining for my birthday. Food and service was outstanding. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our server, Avery, was fantastic! Very knowledgeable about the menu, made great recommendations, and we had great conversations. Food was great as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Was craving crab legs and got them. Love this restaurant ❤

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great dining experience, very good food for a most reasonable price. Atmosphere was friendly and the service was exceptional. Will definitely return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was great and our 2 waitress was Awesome...However, my dislike was the handling of seating..I reserved a party of 17 and only 15 arrived...As we all know most people are never on time...They refused to seat us with a partial party...Although I knew 15 were confirmed and enroute...Finally at 6:30 we had 12 people and decided to seat us after pleading with them...I had to explain people were traveling from out of town and they would be late...That's my biggest dislike...Thankfully our waitress made up and handled with great satisfaction!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was my first time at this restaurant and everything that I ordered exceeded my expectations. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Romantic, Family Style, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great food! My favorite place to eat seafood! The location is good and I am never disappointed when I go there. If there is a problem, the restaurant always tries to make it right.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Randall, the server, was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was great and so was our waiter. Can't remember his name but, he was great as well. Our dinner was just as we thought fresh and cooked to our satisfaction. We all would definitely recommend 42nd street! It was my husband's Birthday. We all had a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Enjoyed a nice meal out with my husband. Everything was as delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is one of our favorite places for special occasions. The food is normally especially good. One of my favorites is the oyster sampler. On this occasion my wife got very sick from the food later that night, not like her, it was definitely something she ate that night.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was ok. The server left the table soiled and full of plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was delicious and the service was spot on. Can't wait to return with friends and family..Will return soon

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We had family in from Pittsburgh so we wanted to take them for seafood! The 42nd Street Oyster Bar did not disappoint!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The oysters are awesome, always a unique selection. Besides a wonderful seafood selection, their non-seafood dishes are delicious too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food is amazing. Worth every penny spent. Servers are engaging and prompted when you need them. Second time there and is just as awesome as the first.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We had a good meal here but had two challenges. First, the service was very slow. There were a number of large groups and they appeared to order and receive their food faster than our medium sized group. Second, it was very chilly inside to the point of distraction from the meal.

The food was good and came to the table hot and well-prepared.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

"Five" is THE BEST server i have ever had. I travel for business a lot and dine out a lot. I have never had a server remember what i ordered last time i was there after dealing with so many other customers. He is very pleasant and respectful and i will only eat here if hes working

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Excellent spot for a birthday celebration. The wait staff were very attentive and the food is consistently amazing !

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Celebrated Birthdays for my Mom and daughter-in-law on Sunday night (they were full-up on Saturday), and as usual, everything was excellent. The Cioppino is my "go-to" plate, and it did not disappoint. Other hits were the blackened Mahi & the Salmon. Had two buffalo shrimp plates as an appetizer, and it was very good.
Highly recommend has a place for a special event...we even took a cake, and they kept it in the fridge until the dessert. Had lots of fun...

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great find with OpenTable App. Was seated right away, friendly waiter, really good food. Will definitely go back!

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date, Dancing, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

42ND is a spot you have to see to believe. Its authentic and genuine in being an oyster bar. The food is fresh, no fishy smells in this building. The live music takes you right to the beach with great cocktails to boot.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was AMAZING and worth the drive from Fayetteville. The only improvement would be to turn down the AC. It was extremely cold. Again, the food was amazing and worth the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a great time. Wil return the food was great waitress was awesome. Had a live band and they where great also.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Dancing, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Live Music, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had a wonderful time. First time ever eating oysters...I'm a oyster queen now. We loved it!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We all had great meals, and what made our evening even more enjoyable was our waitress, Danielle. She was attentive without being overbearing. Very professional and friendly at the same time. Very nice evening!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We celebrated a 65th birthday. The food was good but not exceptional -- the scallops were a little rubbery/overcooked -- but overall we had a very nice dinner. Our server was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

You cannot go wrong when choosing 42nd Street. A Raleigh tradition all of my life!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great food

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.