Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Good for a Date (87)
Good for Birthdays (81)
See All
Casual (80)
Worth the Drive (70)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Good for Groups (65)
Authentic (63)
Fun (60)
Bar Seating (52)
Business Meals (50)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Romantic (35)
Live Music (34)
Hot Spot (33)
Local Ingredients (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Comfort Food (30)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
People Watching (25)
Great Beer (22)
Cozy (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Historic (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Spicy (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Live Sports (4)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Server was great! Very attentive and personable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I do not live in the area, but if I did this place would be visited frequently. Both times I have been here, the food has been fabulous and the staff nice and accomodating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I had my wife 50th birthday get together.. In it was a priceless Birthday for her.. Everyone really enjoyed themselves.. Thank You!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Slight wait on arrival. Waiter was very attentive. Oysters on the half shell were excellent as was my wife's Chilean Sea Bass and my Swordfish.
I have been coming to dine at this restaurant for over 30 years. Never had but one bad experience, but had nothing to do with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I can certainly understand why 42nd Street Oyster bar has been around for so long. The quality of the food and the ambiance has remained one of the best in the area.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was excellent (as always)! However, our server was very unfriendly and made us feel very rushed and unimportant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great! Made a reservation so there was no wait. Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

42nd Street is usually one of our go to places for a great dinner. On this occasion we only wanted a light meal and the salads and shrimp appetizer were perfect. Another great meal at a reasonable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always enjoy going to 42nd st. For dinner. The food and atmosphere is enjoyable. Best seafood restaurant in Raleigh with oyster bar. Kelsey had been our server last two times and she has been great. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great experience.. honored our reservation on time! Asked for a booth.. we got it! We had the best waiter, fabulous service.. his name is FIVE! The food was delicious and cooked to perfection! Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The overall visit was good. Service was just fair. Apps were really good. The main courses, that's where the problem is. We had one of the most expensive entree's on the menu - Chilean Sea Bass (this was my own entree). It had really good flavor, and unfortunately, many bones. They actually caused me to choke, which brought the waiter over. All he said was "that shouldn't have bones in it". That was it. No manager, and nothing was done to adjust our bill. I of course did not eat any more of the filet, and instead shared one of my co workers meal - which was blackened swordfish and very good. I expect more oversight from a restaurant that doesn't hesitate to hand us a $250 check, even with the entree being sent back, and bones on the table top from a filet.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Waitress Alie was excellent, reservation was as requested. Good food. We enjoy local restaurants with some history to them, we were visiting our daughter from Cleveland
42nd Street fit the bill.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We've been there several times and it's consistently a pleasant experience. The food is always pretty good, and the service is great! Would highly recommend it!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have been eating here for many years but sadly things have slipped. The service was very good and the ambiance is the same it has been for 30+ years While never gourmet, the seafood was always fresh & well prepared. While my companion's Chilean sea bass was good, the portion was quite small (especially for a $31 price). My plate of fried "large" shrimp (not the tiny popcorn variety) & oysters was totally lacking in taste, except for the fried (and unfried) batter. The oysters we're especially lacking in ANY oyster flavor but the shrimp we're not much better. Can't see any compelling reason to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Awesome swordfish & bacon-wrapped blackened scallops with cream sauce & penne pasta. This is our favorite weekend trip to Raleigh dining experience!! Definitely worth the 2hr drive!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Organic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This restaurant is one of our favorites and we dine there many times in a year. It is a place we like to take visitors because of the ambiance and delicious seafood. On this night we ordered blackened grouper, grilled salmon, shrimp and grits and grilled sea scallops. All of the meals were served hot and prepared perfectly. Our guests raved about the quality of their meals. They even purchased tee shirts as we left the restaurant as a remembrance. As sides we had cheesy potato, collard greens and a sweet potato. All were excellent. The salads were fresh and crisp. The service was very good. We were very appreciative that even though the restaurant was very busy we were seated on-time in our preferred booth. We couldn't be more pleased with how the food and service impressed our family guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great service and food served promptly. Cheesy potatoes tasted suspiciously like instant mashed. Overall pleasant evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Awesome food, great ambiance, outstanding service, ample portions, very relaxing. . Could not ask for a better evening!! Recommend 42nd Street Oyster Bar without hesitation!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great experience. Sat at the Oyster Bar and got steamed oysters with Austin as our shucker

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great food and service everything was spaced out perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Sit at the bar and order a peck or half peck of the steamed oysters. Much better deal and they shuck them right in front of you. Live music on Friday and Saturday nights. Love the fresh local seafood.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Very good service and fresh delicious seafood! You wouldn't think a landlocked city would have delicious seafood, but 42nd St. Oyster bar does!

We started with a shrimp cocktail and 1/2 dozen oysters, both of which we finished quickly!! We tried to savor them, but they were too good to let sit.

I got the order of snow crab and their cheesy potatoes and my bf got their fresh scallops. We were both very satisfied with our food and our service and will return again soon!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

This is a good place for seafood. The service was great. We all feel comfortable and satisfied. Highly recommend to others looking for such a place.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our waiter, Five, gave excellent suggestions on what to try. The food was delicious.
It was our anniversary and we felt special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food is really good. It is hard to find good seafood in this area but this restaurant continues to deliver time after time. The service was great. Our favorite waitress is Kelly. She is always right on time with everything we need. Cannot wait to go back!!!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Hadn't been here in 14 years because I live in a different state. My father went here as a kid in the 50s with his father. I took my son this time and he loved it. The blackened swordfish was cooked perfectly and my sons fried shrimp dinner was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Kenny was AMAZING. Service is always impeccable at this establishment, but it was almost like Kenny was picked just for us! Food and drinks (starting with the house hush puppies)were fantastic as well. My spouse (dining at 42nd street for the first time) had a large seafood platter and I had a bacon-wrapped filet. We both had the twice-baked, cheesy potatoes. The seafood was prepared just right and my medium-rare steak was almost perfect. Based on past dining experiences with 42nd Street, I set the bar high and was still impressed. The staff works really hard to provide fresh, quality food at reasonable prices. Thank you for a great dinner! Will definitely be back next time I'm in town. Ask for Kenny if he's available-you will not regret it! P.S. I had the raspberry sorbet for dessert and it was so good I didn't want to share!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Always a great place to dine. I have been here with business clients for both lunch and dinner. They never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 24, 2017

This was my first visit to this location. Our waitress was awesome! She was so patient with one of the older people in my party who is easily overwhelmed by menus. The food was very good. I would go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was my first time at the 42nd Street Oyster Bar in about a decade. It's gone downhill. There was no broiled seafood on the menu. No softshell crab. The fried catfish was good, but the batter on the fried oysters and especially the fried shrimp was soggy. The cocktail sauce was little more than just ketchup. The hushpuppies were over-done, and the cole slaw was among the worst I've had - large chunks of cabbage in it. The service was fine, and the ambience was as good as ever. I'll probably go back someday, but I'll make different menu choices - and hope for better hushpuppies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

There was a group of 10 including two children celebrating two birthdays and a 35th wedding anniversary. The restaurant was picked because we remembered the food was good and the place would be fun. The server did her job very well; drink orders were taken quickly and delivered. She was patient as we decided on starters and they too arrived fairly quickly. The whole thing fell apart with the entrees. The 4 shrimp and grits were cold and the two oyster platters were lukewarm with soggy French fries. Only the steamed shrimp, appetizer portion of oysters and bacon scallops came out hot. THE KITchen needs to get better at timing the servings. The server did take the rejected dishes back and had new plates made, but by them people had waited another 20 mins and had lost there appetite. WE WONT GO BACK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Went there for the first time this past Saturday and it was a pleasant experience! My waiter was nice and we had a reservation for a party of four... as soon as I told the hostess that I was shown to my table. The service was fast and up to par! Would definitely come again. The shrimp and grits were BOMB

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This is always such a fun place to visit. The service is excellent and knowledgeable. The food is outstanding.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Kelly was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. There is a reason why this eatery has been around for along time, go there and find out for yourself.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We had dinner @ 42nd St Friday night for the first time to celebrate a family birthday. We started with raw oysters and pimento cheese baked oysters which I had seen prepared on the PBS Show spotlighting this restaurant which is why we chose it! These were scrumptious! The warm, melted and browned pimento had a little heat and went very well as a topping on the baked oysters! The four of us all ordered different dishes: cioppini, Mahi Mahi, grouper and shrimp. All were excellent and well prepared. We have lived in Maryland and Florida and this seafood compared to the very best. We all agreed this is one of the best if not the best in the whole Raleigh area! We can't wait to return so we can try other dishes on the menu.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food is absolutely amazing and the atmosphere was great!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

First time visit and very impressed. Food and service were excellent. Took a friend to dinner and easily could carry a conversation. Oyster Rockefeller and the Sea Bass were outstanding. Can't wait to come again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Good food, great service, and nice comfortable atmosphere. We were looking for a good locals' spot and this fit the bill. Great Raleigh flavor.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Came here for a Birthday dinner and everything was outstanding! Will be back for sure.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.