About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

A Raleigh Tradition Serving the Freshest Seafood Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Catering:
At 42 St. Oyster Bar we work with our clients to develop a catering event that fits their menu and budget needs. For more information visit http://42ndstoysterbar.com/Catering.html

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

special occasion (172)
good for groups (162)
fit for foodies (118)
See All
hot spot (81)
neighborhood gem (76)
vibrant bar scene (62)
romantic (60)
notable wine list (46)
late-night find (42)
great for lunch (35)
kid-friendly (32)
great for brunch (13)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, friendly service and delicious, f ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Great, friendly service and delicious, fresh food. Decent wine list, as well..

food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We were seated immediately with our rese ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were seated immediately with our reservation. Our Server was Awesome! He was fast and very friendly. The appetizers were good, slightly overpriced for the quantity they brought out. The Caesar salads arrived with no dressing, drinks were good, we were not impressed with our main course at all. It was incredibly overpriced for it's portion, quality, and flavor. Overall, not a horrible experience, however we will pass on returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous seafood fresh with huge variety including shellfish and famous for oysters. Exquisite wine list. Always a pleasure to dine there. Looking forward to our next meal there!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pan fried flounder was terrific. 42 ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The pan fried flounder was terrific. 42nd Street seldom disappoints . Want some good seafood i not on the coast? This is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 33rd wedding ann ...

Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. The seafood was awesome, the atmosphere was festive, and the waitress was exceptional. Thanks for a great night out!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We continue to be impressed with the won ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We continue to be impressed with the wonderful food and excellent service! We will definitely be back again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always The Best!

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Always The Best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! That was a great experience! I don' ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Wow! That was a great experience! I don't get seafood often since it isn't a favorite of the wife, and what better place to enjoy the seafood than 42nd St? The Mahi mahi was amazing. The oysters were fresh and tasty! The shrimp and scallops were delicious. What surprised me was how the collard greens were no less amazing! Really, when you have all that other yumminess in from of you and you actually have to decide between another bite of greens or the mahi mahi... Seriously, no one should have to make that difficult of a decision! Jason at the oyster bar was great in conversation, patience, and service. Definitely planning a return visit next time I'm in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visiting. So many choices .

Dined on May 14, 2016

We wanted to try everything. The seafood bisque was ok. The crab legs were cooked perfectly! Our waiter Michael was very pleasant, knowledgeable and efficient . Those that were eating Oysters really enjoyed them. We would like to return😉

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

This space was not romantic for our anniversary.

Dined on May 14, 2016

We used OpenTable to place a reservation for 8:45 PM on a Friday. When my husband and I arrived, I was told that they were running behind a few minutes. Then I started to notice that the hostess was letting people in that came after us. A waiter seemed to be seating everyone that came in after us. I eventually asked why we weren't being seated. Anyway, 9:20 PM the hostess claimed our table was ready. When we stood up to go be seated, she then claimed that the table wasn't ready and that she really just wanted to seat us because we had been waiting so long. My husband was hungry, so we cave in and took the seats at the bar. My point is had we been offered the bar when we first arrived, maybe I would not have been so mad. You offered the bar after we have been sitting and waiting for almost entire hour. I wanted to have a nice anniversary dinner with my husband at the table not at the oyster bar where you placed us after waiting so long.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner experience

Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was above and beyond what was expected...the food was really good and we had a very knowledgeable waiter who was able to answer all of our questions. Our whole dinner experience was enjoyable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again our evening at 42nd St. was a deli ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Again our evening at 42nd St. was a delight. Our waiter, Avery, was courteous, attentive and saw that our meal was served promptly. It is always a pleasure to eat here.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very historic seafood restaurant. I rea ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Very historic seafood restaurant. I really like going there when I am downtown Raleigh.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

Celebrated my Dad's birthday, and everything was great as usual. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was the most personable, atte ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter was the most personable, attentive and knowledgable staffer we have encountered in a long time. His recommendations of foods was outstanding. Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our first time here and we were celebrating my birthday. Everything was perfect, from the moment we entered the restaurant to the moment we left. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visit every time we are in town. Great food!

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the service is always great! We have enjoyed the live music also!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food

Dined on May 6, 2016

Delicious food

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

excellent food and service

Dined on May 5, 2016

always has excellent seafood. very fresh. and excellent wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hushpuppies always hot, this trip a little cool.

Dined on May 5, 2016

My only compliant is (somewhat out of your control) the parking. I parked (as I have in the past) just as you are looking out your front door, to the right of the 4-way stop on the right side of the curb going in the correct direction. I received a $30.00 parking fine & we could not find a sign anywhere telling us that we could not park there. Your lot was full, what are we to do next time? I am sure we are not the only regular customers having problems with the parking. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Seafood

Dined on May 5, 2016

Always fresh and the service fast and not over the top

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food

Dined on May 1, 2016

I love going to 42nd Street Oyster bar! The food is always delicious, staff are prompt and friendly. LOVE the raw oysters!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

They do oysters better than any other Ral eatery.

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is not the place for a romantic dinner for 2 but if you are looking for great oysters, look no further. Above average service, and food came out quickly.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Fresh oysters, nothing over cooked...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Slightly overpriced oyster bar. The raw oysters were fresh. The fried fish had a good balance of batter. Not much in terms of atmosphere. Has a long history that someone over-renovated and kitsch.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Selected 'date" because Friday is date night

Dined on April 29, 2016

Outstanding selection of seafood. Well prepared. Portions are not to big or too small. Excellent drink choices. Love the old time atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our favorite restaurant

Dined on April 28, 2016

I love the fried oysters appetizer. And I usually get the spinach salad to top it off. Hubby eats big. He had the two crabcakes...to die for. Our server "Five" was very attentive, took care of our requests.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing!! Such a staple of Ra ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Absolutely amazing!! Such a staple of Raleigh!! Love it everytime!

food5
ambience5
service4

Food was delicious and the service was g ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best oysters I have had in a while!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Best oysters I have had in a while!

food3
ambience4
service4

Pasta is too rich. Stick to the seafood ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Pasta is too rich. Stick to the seafood especially crab legs , tuna and sword fish. Raw oysters are great Shrimp and grits is terrific.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Seafood and Selection

Dined on April 14, 2016

Oysters were very good. Good selection there as well as seafood - both shellfish and fresh fish plus daily specials. Service was attentive and knowledgable. I had the surf and turf and the steak was pretty good for a seafood dominated menu. There are also plenty of steak, chicken and pasta choices for the turf lovers. Also loved the basket of hush puppies to start the meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

The oysters were delicious with a good s ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

The oysters were delicious with a good selection to try. A nice muscadet was available by the glass to drink with the oysters. I also had the fried green tomatoes and a small Caesar salad with a crabcake. They were both okay, but nothing to write home about. The bill was fairly expensive. $74 before tip, including two glasses of wine and a dozen oysters.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service & food

Dined on April 11, 2016

Aaron was our server & was very knowledgable & attentive. Food was delicious. No complaints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on April 10, 2016

We dined here for my birthday. I chose 42nd Street because I wanted to try a new seafood restaurant/pub. I was impressed with our waitress she was amazing. The food was outstanding and the seating and whole setting was awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience.

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Our meal at 42nd St was wonderful experience with our server, Paul the Fifth; always an enjoyable evening out with delicious food and excellent service.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I miss their soft shell crabs

Dined on April 7, 2016

I love going to 42nd Street but I do miss their soft shell crabs. They haven't been on the menu the last three times I've been their. My meal was pretty darn good but my clams were a little chewy (over cooked).

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT FOOD

Dined on April 3, 2016

Had a wonderful 30th Anniversary dinner! The food was excellent… Even gave us a wonderful dessert to share. The waiter named Friday was fantastic! Will recommend to our friends and we will be back again. Thank you,

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good Oysters, Good Time

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Good time eating oysters and listening to live music. Oyster Shooter needs work though. It was terrible.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Service was good from all but the hostes ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Service was good from all but the hostess stand. That staff seemed to be bothered about questions about your reservations and, failed horribly at explaining anything. Other than that a great experience and food was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Reservations were super easy to make, th ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Reservations were super easy to make, the staff had everything set for us for our arrival, the food and service were world-class as always!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.