About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (87)
Good for a Date (74)
Good for Birthdays (64)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Bar Seating (53)
Good for Groups (52)
Casual (51)
Worth the Drive (49)
Fun (48)
Authentic (46)
Business Meals (46)
Historic (43)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Comfort Food (40)
Open Kitchen (36)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Hot Spot (27)
Live Music (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Romantic (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great Beer (20)
People Watching (18)
Family Style (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Cozy (16)
Kid-friendly (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Healthy (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Seasonal (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Dancing (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our Valentine's Day dinner (a few ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

It was our Valentine's Day dinner (a few days late). Thank God we made a reservation because there was a line out the door! The food was absolutely fantastic, our sever was prompt & friendly and the cost wasn't as bad as we were expecting. Definitely will recommend and return for another date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an awesome waiter named Avery. He ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

We had an awesome waiter named Avery. He was the best! We will go back and we'll ask for him!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This is not our first time here and it i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

This is not our first time here and it is a special place for us. On this occasion in particular, our waitress was exceptionally friendly and helpful. She was great. I like the atmosphere at 42nd, busy, but not overwhelmingly noisy.

There are several items on your list (above) that I have not experienced...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fun, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining here but t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time dining here but trust me it will not be my last. The food was delicious and the server was excellent. I'll be back 😁

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was helpful and friendly. Food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was helpful and friendly. Food was exquisite and came relatively quickly. The overall environment of the restaurant was lively and upbeat. Very happy with my visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome seafood, very good cocktails, an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome seafood, very good cocktails, and great atmosphere..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live about an hour outside Raleigh, a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We live about an hour outside Raleigh, and 42nd St. is always on the short list when we dine in Raleigh. My go-to is Ciopinno, and as usual it was wonderful. Plenty of seafood items, and very satisfying. My wife had blackened Mahi with a Caribbean sauce, which was a great sweet & spicy compliment. We also got a side of collards (with ham!!) which was a great addition to the seafood. This place never fails to please!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall good quality faire. The Filet a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall good quality faire. The Filet and crab legs were very good. The raw clams were a little off. Should've gotten the oysters.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Even on Valentine's Day, everything func ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Even on Valentine's Day, everything functioned smoothly with the usual excellent but unobtrusive service and reliable food quality. Always a good choice for a nice casual dinner or a special occasion.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good but the service was fa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good but the service was fair. Our waitress was rushing us through our meal. We barely finished eating our salad before she was rushing out our entrees. We weren't even done with the main course before she brought out our check

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Made reservations here for Valentine's D ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Made reservations here for Valentine's Dinner, didn't have to wait at all, it was very crowded (as was expected) however, you couldn't tell it by the service! Our waiter was attentive to our needs all throughout the night and the food (we got oysters and crab legs) was superb. I love 42nd Street!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We love 42nd Street! Usually go here for ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We love 42nd Street! Usually go here for special occasions: birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, but it is a wonderful place any time! Seafood is always fresh and cooked to perfection. I would definitely recommend this place for everyone. The best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my 17 year old twins in for a birth ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Took my 17 year old twins in for a birthday dinner and they loved it! They loved that the waiter shucked the oysters for them!

Amazing dinner and awesome service - we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a little slow coming out, but e ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was a little slow coming out, but enjoyable experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I always always enjoy 42nd street oyster ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I always always enjoy 42nd street oyster bar! The food was wonderful and the service was amazing. They had a live band which always makes it a fun evening. Again, it was hands down the best place to be at on Saturday evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for fresh, authentic seafood ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place for fresh, authentic seafood cooked Southern-style. Seafood bisque is the best I've ever had anywhere!

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food selection, and the service was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food selection, and the service was outstanding. The presentation, and the taste, superb.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, , Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere. The pasta with shr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Loved the atmosphere. The pasta with shrimp and crabmeat was Devine. Live music added a festive buzz to what is already a joint that oozes with atmosphere.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Dancing, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

42st Oyster Bar is our favorite place to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

42st Oyster Bar is our favorite place to eat in the Triangle .Great atmosphere cordial staff exceptional service food perfectly cooked and seasoned SIMPLY THE BEST

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not eaten here in several years and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Had not eaten here in several years and had forgotten how good the seafood is! Actually, better than what we had recently on the coast and for a better price!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really good food at reasonable prices. G ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Really good food at reasonable prices. Good variety. Good size portions. Very attentive wait staff. Even better than the last time.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant. The very best - ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My favorite restaurant. The very best - they do everything in excellence and I absolutely love going there for all occasions!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and fantastic service mad ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent food and fantastic service made this a great business dinner with my team members.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is nearly always top notch but ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food is nearly always top notch but the service is very hit or miss, which keeps us from dining here as often as we would if it were more consistent.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent seafood and awesome service. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellent seafood and awesome service. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated on time. Our waiter was g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We were seated on time. Our waiter was great in helping us choose from the menu, seeing on how it was a first time for some of us. He was very interactive. The drinks were great. A bit pricy but overall the food was really good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food, excellent service. I wou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Visited 42nd Street with a group for my ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Visited 42nd Street with a group for my wife's birthday. Had a fantastic time and enjoyed the fare. The service was excellent and very attentive! Would definitely recommend and wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful fresh oysters. Very kind and s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Wonderful fresh oysters. Very kind and service minded waiter

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday. Our serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. Our server was very attentive, the food was delicious and the mood was festive. We had 6:00 PM reservations and were seated promptly. While we waited for other members of our party, we sat at the bar during happy hour and my husband ordered the oysters on the half shell for .75 each. He really enjoyed them. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is an institutio ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is an institution in Raleigh. There's nothing else quite like it for a social event. I particularly like medium to large group get togethers. For this visit, I entertained a business associate from out of town for her first visit.

I had the crab cakes (fried) and thought they were excellent. The portions are generous and my habit of eating too many hush puppies caught up with me about half way through the second crab cake. My guest had the fried sea scallops. She thought they were very good and ended up taking some back to the hotel.

Noise has been a problem for me on previous visits; however, we had a booth on this visit and conversation was not a problem. They have a great selection of local micro brews on tap. Our server was attentive and the evening was a success.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fried food has continue to decline. Expe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Fried food has continue to decline. Expensive for food quality. Amt is good but quality poor. Exec chief needs to taste his food. Always full of business trade.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This is the best restaurant in Wake Coun ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Wake County. In fact, just yesterday, I read the same things about 42nd street in the News and Observer. I have been eating at 42nd street for over ten years and have never been disappointed. Great service, great food and just a great place to dine.

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The blackened bacon wrapped scallop appe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The blackened bacon wrapped scallop appetizer was a over cooked though we did not return it. Everything else was above average! The service was outstanding! We cannot remember the name of our server, but he is a young AA male who is in college. We have had him several times and he, by far, is the best server at 42nd. And yes, we have had others. The four of us were celebrating a birthday. The birthday person ordered the steamed lobster tail. It was exceptional! Suggestion . . . consider serving something in addition to the cornbread hushpuppies for initial appetizer. For example, whole grain raisin bread slices or toasted sesame bread would please the palate of some of us who are not over excited about hushpuppies. The cheesecake for the birthday person melted in our mouths.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been coming to 42nd Street for the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We've been coming to 42nd Street for the past three years during the Southern Farm Show for business meals. The ambiance is OK and food usually pretty good. Prices are high. I ordered a popcorn shrimp plate and can honestly say I've had much better shrimp at Captain D's and Food Lion's freezer section for about 1/3 of the price. It seemed like it was just run of the mill frozen shrimp from their food vendor. Not much flavor, nothing spectacular. Our waiter was attentive and courteous, though.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

When you want great seafood in a casual ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

When you want great seafood in a casual atmosphere, this is the place to be! Love the oysters, the fresh fish, and the pasta dishes are awesome too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I dined to celebrate my birthday. First ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I dined to celebrate my birthday. First time dining and I absolutely loved the food! Extremely flavorful with awesome service. Crablegs and flounder a must try!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome atmosphere and food. The service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Awesome atmosphere and food. The service was top notch and super friendly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Casual, People Watching, Business Meals, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was tremendous! The food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our server was tremendous! The food was delicious and the champagne was great! This were here for our 16th Wedding Anniversary dinner and it could not have been a better night. We look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great crab cakes and oysters Rockefeller ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great crab cakes and oysters Rockefeller especially. Good bar. Blake (server) was very friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. No vegetarian options except a few side dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.