About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Steamed Oysters - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Oysters - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Grilled Grouper w/ Roasted Garlic - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Soft Shell Crab - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Blackened Bacon Wrapped Scallop Penne - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Norfolk Combo - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
PEI Mussels - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Blackened Swordfish - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Lobster Bisque - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Buffalo Shrimp Martini - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Peel and Eat Shrimp - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Seafood Chipino - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Flounder And Oysters Cajun Fried - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Bacon-wrapped Scallops - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Special Occasion (97)
Good for a Date (72)
Good for Groups (68)
See All
Casual (57)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Worth the Drive (47)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Bar Seating (42)
Authentic (40)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Fun (39)
Historic (36)
Comfort Food (36)
Business Meals (36)
Hot Spot (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Open Kitchen (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Romantic (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Live Music (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great Beer (19)
Family Style (18)
People Watching (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Seasonal (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Dancing (5)
Spicy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

42nd Street Oyster bar is a local legend ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

42nd Street Oyster bar is a local legend. I hadn't been for a while and forgot how good their food is. It's a great building with history that is comfortable for all dress codes. I recommend it.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, great service, our go to pla ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great service, our go to place for an evening of fine food & drinks!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy ourselves at 42nd Street ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy ourselves at 42nd Street. The atmosphere is lively, but not too loud. The food is normally really good. (This time my sweet potato chips were over cooked, almost burnt.) They have a decent wine list and portions of the menu change seasonally.

If you go, may sure to make a reservation. We went on a Saturday night and people without reservations were waiting over an hour for seats.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and great food. Perfec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Great atmosphere and great food. Perfect evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are fabulous, but i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service are fabulous, but if you are looking for a place to enjoy conversation, this isn't it. The restaurant is packed and noisy. Great for kids, and the hush puppies are awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Food & Ambiance.

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food & Ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice. Noise was higher because of ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very nice. Noise was higher because of some great live music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! The appearance w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was delicious! The appearance was perfect!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been going to 42nd street for 15 ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have been going to 42nd street for 15 years and it is one of our go to spots. always great meals and service. I had the chilian.sea bass. The best ever. Highly.recommended

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and the other couple we were wit ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and the other couple we were with had a great time here. Our waiter Ty, was excellent. His recommendations were all very helpful and on point.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our very favorite restaur ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is one of our very favorite restaurants. Best one for seafood Never had a bad meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food. Good service. Lots of options ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good food. Good service. Lots of options. Fresh seafood. If you get the crab cakes, try them sautéed instead of fried. Delish! Didn't even try the raw oysters but I will next time. I'm sure they're very good if the other food is any measure. My wife had the fried oysters/flounder combo. She loved it. I tried some of hers and it was wonderful, particularly the flounder. They do something special with that; not sure what it is but the fish is very soft, moist, and mildly flavorful. A little noisy but I enjoyed the atmosphere just the same.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for authentic seafood and oy ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great place for authentic seafood and oysters. Very busy restaurant but each table treated with plenty of time to make enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was outstanding, food amazing - ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Service was outstanding, food amazing - all around a fantastic dinner at a great place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food. Was a little noi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great service and food. Was a little noisy but my mom and I had a wonderful time celebrating her birthday. Our server was excellent and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful place for seafood of all kinds ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful place for seafood of all kinds, especially oysters, mussels, & clams. Very extensive menu. Service was excellent. Full bar. Pretty loud during the prime dinner hours, but still has an intimate feel! Booths or tables or sit at bar or oyster bar. You can spend a lot or a little!

All in all great place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come hungry to 42nd Street Oyster Bar! ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Come hungry to 42nd Street Oyster Bar! The many fish and seafood options are outstanding, creatively prepared or made the old fashioned way - your choice! The hot hush puppies served upon arrival threaten to intrude on your appetite, but, somehow, you are able to eat all of the delicious entres, sides (try the cheese potato!) and ample pre-dinner salad with fabulous homemade dressings. They also do a great job on beef!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place!! It is our second tim ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I love this place!! It is our second time eating here and we were, just like last time, not disappointed. Great seafood. We started with the oysters and mussels, they were great!! We had the lobster tail and the 42nd St. Cheese Potato and both were fantastic!! We will be back again soon.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined in based on a recommendation an ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We dined in based on a recommendation and unfortunately did not have the same experience that our friends praised about. Service was slow- our waitress ended up comping a beer because the one I ordered when we sat down never came until the meal was served. My wife's mahi was over cooked and she did not eat but one bite; server took the meal off the check and offered a complimentary dessert. 42nd Street definitely has the potential of being a great seafood restaurant, but we will most likely try others before going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I think the seafood at 42nd St. oyster b ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I think the seafood at 42nd St. oyster bar is well prepared but is kind of basic without any sauces or glazes that would make the fish entrées more interesting. It is more expensive than The quality of food would dictate.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our second time at 42nd Street ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our second time at 42nd Street Oyster Bar and again we had a very nice meal. I wasn't crazy about the crab cake (it was over cooked and a little "fishy") but the food is generally consistent and the service is always good. This time we ate at one of the tables in the dining room where the tables are a bit close. My son is very tall (6'5") and the waitress kept squeezing between him and the other table making him feel he was in the way. Maybe because the servers at the raw bar wait on you from the other side of the bar or maybe we came on a better night...but we all felt our first dining experience at the raw bar made the food taste better, the service more entertaining, and left us wanting more. We will be back...but next time I'll make our reservation for the raw bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

the 42nd Street Oyster Bar is a hopping ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

the 42nd Street Oyster Bar is a hopping place. The service is outstanding. The food is good. It is noisy with low lightening, but conversational is doable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were very unhappy with the inattentiv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were very unhappy with the inattentive waitress and her lack of being prepared. Example, Got my apps (oysters) with no plates, Crablegs for 3 ppl and seemed inconvenienced by bringing everyone their own. Thats how people get SICK! Gave us our waters to go in another restaurants Togo cups. I had to ask for more drink, napkinscustomary with orders of oysters and crablegs, silverware as said above. I feel I could have served my party myself and been a better experience. NOT HAPPY

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent food Salmon was great! Shrimp ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food Salmon was great! Shrimp primavera was also great. Serve was very good, even with it being busy. Wine selection was also very good. Overall a great experience. Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It is what it is.. a Seafood place. Alth ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It is what it is.. a Seafood place. Although the steak (rib eye) was excellent and cooked properly as well. A little pricey but the value for the $ spent warrants no complaints. Tasty and serving size more than fair.So if you want to spend a little more but get a good fair portion of good food.. You should have no complaints when your dinner is complete. Nov. 5, 2016

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Waiter was very knowlegable of the dynam ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Waiter was very knowlegable of the dynamic menu that changes daily. Appetizers came to the table quickly as did our meal. Food was outstanding as usual and super fresh. Beer was icy cold in a frosty glass. This is our go-to spot for special occasions in Raleigh.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love, love this place! We always plan on ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love, love this place! We always plan on dinner there when we are in town for few days visiting our son who lives in Raleigh. Bacon wrapped scollops and bacon wrapped filet were cooked just as I asked even though the restaurant was very busy. Lots of people waiting in line but thanks to OpenTable we were seated on time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Iconic Raleigh eatery. Fish entrees are ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Iconic Raleigh eatery. Fish entrees are okay. Plating is non descript - - a little garnish and nicer presentation of lemon could improve the total appearance of the dish.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The 42nd Street was great as always. The ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The 42nd Street was great as always. The food and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at the bar waiting f ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a great time at the bar waiting for our reservation time, then got seated promptly. The food was delicious, but the serving size on one of our entrees was noticeably tiny. Our server got the item removed from our bill, but a manager never came by. Overall a good experience.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Our Server, Paul, aka "Five", was wonder ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Our Server, Paul, aka "Five", was wonderful. He was personable, friendly, informative and knowledgable about the items on the menu. We ordered 3 of every oyster and they were delish. I had the chilean Sea Bass and it was like eating a cloud. Perfectly done, smooth, almost creamy. At Paul's urging we also had an order of the scallops wrapped in bacon and they were all he said they would be. I had been to 42nd St. on a previous visit to Raleigh and was recommending it to my traveling companions, so my reputation ws on the line. It lived up to everything I said it would be...and more! Three of us left the restaurant well pleased and happy that we had a nice walk back to the hotel to walk off the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best oysters I have had the last 6 month ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Best oysters I have had the last 6 months. Waiter was excellent, knew his stuff, gave us superb direction when we asked for a bit of guidance on meals we were interested. His name was Alex. NC scallops and Chilean seabass were excellent. Cioppino was very good though a bit overcooked. Still, a good size meal with wonderful flavor.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the shrimp are always good and the hot h ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

the shrimp are always good and the hot hushpuppies are the best

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't believe this restaurant has been a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Can't believe this restaurant has been able to maintain its high quality for so many years. Still has amazing food, service and ambiance...an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ty, our server was exceptional. Very att ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Ty, our server was exceptional. Very attentive, knowledgeable. Food was great and the cheese potatoes didn't disappoint us. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here to celebrate my wife's birt ...

 
 (México)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went here to celebrate my wife's birthday and our two year wedding anniversary, and the staff was incredibly accomodating and welcoming! We were given perks for each of the events that we were celebrating, and different staff members (waiters, hostesses, bus boys) were alerted that it was a special occasion and they would stop by and congratulate us! It really made it feel like they truly value the customer experience here. The food here is also really good and very affordable considering it is extremely well prepared and you would probably pay more at some other competitors. All in all it is an incredible restaurant, with a very modern, yet welcoming feel.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, People Watching, Historic, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter ty was awesome. We were a cou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our waiter ty was awesome. We were a couple visiting from New York and his attentiveness and energy was awesome. It set the mood for the amazing meal we had provided for us. The oyster buffet and seafood bisque led the way for our steak and snow crab legs... we had to take some home because the portions are so generous. My fiancée and I had zero complaints, we plan to move to Raleigh soon and will most definitely be regulars!!!

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Historic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was clean, historic looki ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The restaurant was clean, historic looking in presentation, nicely decorated- food was amazing and so were the drinks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent fish and excellent service. I ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent fish and excellent service. I plan to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome . We can always count on them fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Awesome . We can always count on them for freshest fish &seafood.cooked to perfection.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.