About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Catering:
At 42 St. Oyster Bar we work with our clients to develop a catering event that fits their menu and budget needs. For more information visit http://42ndstoysterbar.com/Catering.html

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Steamed Oysters
Oysters
Grilled Grouper w/ Roasted Garlic
Soft Shell Crab
Blackened Bacon Wrapped Scallop Penne
Norfolk Combo
PEI Mussels
Blackened Swordfish
Lobster Bisque
Buffalo Shrimp Martini
Peel and Eat Shrimp
Seafood Chipino
Flounder And Oysters Cajun Fried
Bacon-wrapped Scallops

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Special Occasion (162)
Good for Groups (135)
Fit for Foodies (91)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Hot Spot (68)
Vibrant Bar Scene (57)
Romantic (50)
Great for Lunch (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Late-night Find (30)
Kid-friendly (27)
Great for Brunch (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2022 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have never had a meal I didn't like at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have never had a meal I didn't like at 42nd Street.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Dancing, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great!! i havent been in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was great!! i havent been in a long time but i had a nice time and the food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food & excellent service!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food & excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been going to 42nd Street since the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I've been going to 42nd Street since the time it opened in the 80's. Great if you can get a booth off to the side and for couples. The waiter we had was not the greatest, but that was not typical of my experiences here. If you are in a large group, you do not want the 6 top in the heavy traffic zone. It is very noisy and you cannot hear conversations at the table and there are way too many people walking around. Very unsettling. The food was as good as always.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding on all possible counts from ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Outstanding on all possible counts from the time we entered the restaurant until we exited. Dined with a couple of family members from out of town who are foodies and love oysters. We all love good fresh seafood and being from Boston, we hold the bar pretty high. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been many times. And food was wonderful. ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Been many times. And food was wonderful. Tonight was an off night. Food was bad and server was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We went for the Raleigh restaurant week ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went for the Raleigh restaurant week and both the food and service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The items listed for restaurant week wer ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The items listed for restaurant week were terrible. We tried two different appetizers and two different entrees. None of them were good. Very poor quality for what they cost. A "$20 entree" should not be a small sad piece of breaded fish on a small plate with zero presentation. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The portions were very small. The fried ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The portions were very small. The fried green tomatoes with shrimp appetizer was delicious, but everything else was not very good. We were disappointed that we spent a lot of money, yet left hungry. We will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The raw oysters were excellent. The cio ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The raw oysters were excellent. The cioppino was somewhat disappointing as it lacked robust flavor. Popcorn shrimp were as expected. The service was excellent and the ambiance was energetic and friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great seafood . Try to eat here a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always great seafood . Try to eat here at least once a month.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The service was great and the food was d ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was great and the food was delicious! One of my favorite spots in Raleigh!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

42nd Street Oyster Bar was fabulous! Nei ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

42nd Street Oyster Bar was fabulous! Neither my fiancé nor I like oysters, but we looked up the rest of the menu online before making reservations. We both loved our food! Our waiter made drink recommendations and we were both pleased with what we ordered. The atmosphere was wonderful, we sat in the back corner so it was quiet and private and romantic. It was a bit pricy, but we both agreed that it was worth it and that we would be back. Would definitely recommend to others!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time here but, the foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was my first time here but, the food was delicious. I will come back again. When I'm in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was disappointed in the food selection. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Was disappointed in the food selection. High prices weren't in sync with food quality or portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Old school, quality dining. Seafood is ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Old school, quality dining. Seafood is excellent. Have been several times when in town, have always enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great fresh seafood and good service.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great fresh seafood and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great! We had oysters for ap ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service was great! We had oysters for appetizers and they were perfect. For dinner we had the 42nd street platter and the bacon wrapped scallops with penne pasta. All the items on the platter looked and tasted bland. The pasta was just ok. I would come back but just for drinks and oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Nice seafood find in Raleigh. Hard to f ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Nice seafood find in Raleigh. Hard to find many good seafood restaurants in the area, so we were excited to find this place. Will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food were spectacular. A thr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Service and food were spectacular. A throw back to old time sea food restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to this restaurant for years ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Been going to this restaurant for years and they are very consistent, great food with dynamite service

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had not been to 42nd Street Oyster ba ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had not been to 42nd Street Oyster bar for several years and were looking forward to coming back while we were in Raleigh. The menu selections and food preparation were outstanding. There were three of us and everyone was extremely pleased with our selections. The ONLY down-side in our opinion is that we felt we were rushed to complete our orders. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu selections, and made valuable, welcome recommendations, but pushed us to make a quick app order, and once he submitted that, he immediately returned for our dinner order. I know turning tables is the way the waitstaff earn their money, but we've never felt rushed this way before. It was early evening and the dining room was not half full yet, so there was no reason to rush us so that someone else could have our table. Still, we had a delicious meal, however this detracted a little from the over-all experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Came here a few days ago for a birthday ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Came here a few days ago for a birthday dinner and it was fabulous! Highly recommend. Great food and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinners! So fresh and creative ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious dinners! So fresh and creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our experience was GREAT!! We celebrated ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our experience was GREAT!! We celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary and some friends of our surprised us and they were very accommodating to allowing us to bump our party from 4 to 8!! Thank you so much for the cheesecake!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great seafood. I wonder wh ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food. Great seafood.

I wonder why I haven't gone here until now. Don't miss out and check it out. Have a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great wait or and service. He was excep ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great wait or and service. He was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome experience.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Awesome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going to the 42nd st. oyste ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We have been going to the 42nd st. oyster bar for over 14 yrs. It has always been one of our favorite eatery's. The service has always been outstanding. I must say you have a Great thing going here , don't fix it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service. Can be a bi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very good food and service.

Can be a bit noisey depending upon the seating location

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always! The food and service we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great as always! The food and service were the best.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome seafood and a great wait staff- ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Awesome seafood and a great wait staff- definitely recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time I eat here I am am so pleased ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Every time I eat here I am am so pleased. never fails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good food and service waiter was at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

very good food and service

waiter was attentive and nice

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was disappointing. My entree s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was disappointing. My entree salad with tuna was mostly iceberg lettuce and was not good. The shrimp cocktail looked like something you would buy frozen from a grocery store and the calamari was obviously out of a frozen bag. Our server was not very friendly and took offense when we asked her to keep the drinks coming. We were there to celebrate my friends 50th birthday and I can honestly say we will not be dining there again. The bands and the bar are fun but not dining.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent service from a great waitress- ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent service from a great waitress-Casey!!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Scallops had not been cleaned properly. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Scallops had not been cleaned properly. They had lots of sand in them. One was so bad I spit it out. The Mahi was over cooked and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Delicious, fresh and quality ingredients ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Delicious, fresh and quality ingredients; excellent service; an overall fabulous spot to dine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, very noisy, staff is very att ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good food, very noisy, staff is very attentive. overall good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Oysters tasted wonderful! Our waiter ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The Oysters tasted wonderful! Our waiter was awesome!! Great date nite with my husband!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.