About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Steamed Oysters - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Oysters - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Grilled Grouper w/ Roasted Garlic - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Soft Shell Crab - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Blackened Bacon Wrapped Scallop Penne - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Norfolk Combo - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
PEI Mussels - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Blackened Swordfish - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Lobster Bisque - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Buffalo Shrimp Martini - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Peel and Eat Shrimp - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Seafood Chipino - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Flounder And Oysters Cajun Fried - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC
Bacon-wrapped Scallops - 42nd Street Oyster Bar, Raleigh, NC

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Good for a Date (66)
Good for Birthdays (55)
See All
Bar Seating (49)
Casual (48)
Good for Groups (46)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Fun (38)
Business Meals (37)
Authentic (37)
Comfort Food (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Historic (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Open Kitchen (30)
Local Ingredients (23)
Live Music (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Great Beer (21)
People Watching (18)
Family Style (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Romantic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Disabled Access (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Cozy (11)
Healthy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Dancing (3)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great waitress

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 10 hours ago

Great waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time trying this restaur ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

It was my first time trying this restaurant and my date and I really enjoyed the décor, the food and all of the many choices. It was hard to decide but to solve that problem, we plan on going again to try out another to selection from the menu.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a Couples Date night. My wife and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

I had a Couples Date night. My wife and I has been to 42nd Street many times since we have move here from Texas. 42nd Street never disappoints! Food was great and our friends love this place. If you like good food +nice dinning, 42nd Street Oyster Bar is the best in Raleigh! Bacon Wrap Scallops is the Best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Enjoyed my service and food. The staff w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed my service and food. The staff was very pleasant. Our waiter went beyond expectations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had fried shrimp, which he li ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband had fried shrimp, which he liked OK. I ordered two appetizers...the Buffalo shrimp & grits and the mussels, both of which were very good. Our friends had some type of fried seafood, which they really liked. Being there is like going back in time; we love the ambiance. The service was fairly good, but not as good as it has been in the past. We'll be back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was Great Our server "Five" was ve ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was Great Our server "Five" was very attentive. Always a nice experience

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordererd a cocktail called West margar ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

I ordererd a cocktail called West margarita , description was good but it tasted like a lime sugar water. Total waste. They have no clue hot to make a cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wide variety of seafood options. The oys ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Wide variety of seafood options. The oysters were very fresh and nicely sized, same with the raw clams. The Manhattan clam chowder was very good with lots of clams and was served nice and hot. The only issue with my entree, the sautéed shrimp with garlic and Cajun seasonings, was not enough broth. The pansear scallops were perfectly done, and the collard were delicious. The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The waitress was lovely, very accommodat ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The waitress was lovely, very accommodating and understanding of our dietary restrictions. Both my husband and I had blackened fresh fish and could not get over how perfectly cooked it came out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Business meal while in Raleigh, was not ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Business meal while in Raleigh, was not my first nor last trip here. Service was exceptional and great recommendations. I did feel the food was a little off from my past experiences, it was not bad but from past visits it has always been over the top. Will not stop me from going back...

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place for high quality f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is a great place for high quality food and service and a vibrant, historic atmosphere. We always love their calamari and clam chowder. Fish is always fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We are a regular & love your restaurant. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We are a regular & love your restaurant. We give you a 8 #/4. The only reason why we don't give you a 9 or 9+ or a 10 is for one reason, it depends on two areas of service. One, who is cooking your dish & 2, who is your server that evening. No question, your restaurant is the best restaurant in North Carolina for seafood. We have had the very best seafood anywhere one night & then just good seafood another night. For instance, our last visit 2 nights ago, when the server brought out our hushpuppies to start our evening out, they were semi burnt or over cooked. The cooked over cooked the hushpuppies But the server should have caught that, right? I spent 39 years in the foodservice industry & I have my culinary degree. I am only giving you my honest opinion. Thank you for everything you do & continue to be the best. I know that I continue to tell everyone I know about your fine restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Live Music, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A must come back. Excellent oysters and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A must come back. Excellent oysters and seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easily my favorite restaurant in all of ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Easily my favorite restaurant in all of Raleigh. We go here for all of our special occasions. Unbeatable fresh seafood dishes at a great price.

Tags: , Historic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first trip to 42ndSt Oyster Bar was o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My first trip to 42ndSt Oyster Bar was on New Year's Eve. The atmosphere was hoppin', the place was packed....And it was only 5:30. The busy atmosphere was lively and fun and the warehouse structure is fabulous. Our waitress did not miss a single beat and was on top of every little thing. Service is clearly a priority here! We enjoyed the oysters Rockefeller for an appetizer and they were delicious. I had the Chilean Sea Bass special and it was quite unique. It was very good. We had cheesecake for dessert with strawberry sauce - I can honestly say it was the best cheesecake I have ever had. It wass light, fluffy and creamy, and had real strawberries in the sauce. My husband and I enjoyed it all very much, but as it is very pricey, it will probably be a special occasion place for us. Thanks for a great New Year's Eve!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

New Year's Eve

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Food and Service!!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous Food and Service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent cuisine and atmosphere. Great ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent cuisine and atmosphere. Great dining for that special event or occasion

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seated immediately!!! Great service, goo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Seated immediately!!! Great service, good drinks from the bar and food was outstanding from hush puppies, appetizers to entrees. A wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With reservation went straight to table. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

With reservation went straight to table. Good food and variety appreciated.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly boisterous atmosphere. Perhap ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Pleasantly boisterous atmosphere. Perhaps not ideal for anyone wanting to avoid being in the.vicinity of hush puppies and other fried food. Remarkably flavorful blackened fish, okay selection of fresh oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our favorites. You can ha ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This is one of our favorites. You can have a casual dinner or make it a special occasion. Good wine and beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for my husband's birthday. It wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday. It was great!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, outstanding service , ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service , always a stop when in Raleigh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very happy with the food. The service wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very happy with the food. The service was great. Very friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, very reasonably price ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent service, very reasonably priced for the experience

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our graduation party had an excellent di ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our graduation party had an excellent dinner. Thank you, Avery, for your wonderful service for our party of twelve.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raleigh's version of the Tadich Grill in ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Raleigh's version of the Tadich Grill in San Francisco. Fun, old, classic................ worth a visit. We had fun there. The bacon scallops starter was very very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First time I had tried this restaurant e ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

First time I had tried this restaurant even though I have been to Raleigh many times. I liked it so much I am going to purchase gift certificates for family members I have in Raleigh. I also see this as a venue for business dinners for a large group.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was amazing - the service, th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Restaurant was amazing - the service, the food, the atmosphere - the overall experience was the best ever! Highly recommend everyone trying it at least once.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caitlin, our waitress, was outstanding. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Caitlin, our waitress, was outstanding. Very attentive. And the food was superb, as usual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a nice dinner date with my SO celeb ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had a nice dinner date with my SO celebrating a number of months together. The food was very good and service impeccable. A bit pricey but you're paying for atmosphere and service in addition to a well prepared dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great seafood and service!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great seafood and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came in not knowing what to expect an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We came in not knowing what to expect and were pleasantly surprised by how large the restaurant is. It is kitschy inside, filled with sea-life decor and fiberglass fish, which is fun to stare at. We sat down and were immediately treated to the best hushpuppies I've had in a while. They were definitely the high point of the meal. I ordered their 42nd st. Chardonnay and was disappointed. The food we got came out in a timely manner, but was overpriced and pretty much gross. I got the crab and shrimp fettuccine and my boyfriend got fried calamari and shrimp. Do yourself a favor and spend your money somewhere else.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Eat here on a regular basis. Best seafoo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Eat here on a regular basis. Best seafood in the area.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

super friendly and service and excellent ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 7, 2016

super friendly and service and excellent seafood selections.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to dine. Everything great a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great place to dine. Everything great and the waitress was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were dining to celebrate my wife's 55 ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were dining to celebrate my wife's 55 birthday. Our waiter Ty was exceptional. The food was terrific as usual. Awesome experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was top notch. You have to try t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service was top notch. You have to try the apple pie ala mode. Best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have eaten many times at 42nd. We alwa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Have eaten many times at 42nd. We always enjoy the food and our family from Texas always want eat at least 2 times at 42nd during their stay. You can't go wrong eating here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.