Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Good for a Date (90)
Good for Birthdays (86)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Worth the Drive (67)
Good for Groups (65)
Authentic (64)
Casual (63)
Fun (61)
Bar Seating (50)
Business Meals (49)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Live Music (35)
People Watching (34)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Romantic (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Hot Spot (31)
Comfort Food (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Great Beer (26)
Cozy (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Happy Hour (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Late-night Find (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Seasonal (6)
Live Sports (5)
Spicy (4)
Organic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Went for our anniversary celebration. Really enjoyed the food, service was good reasonable price. We stayed for the music after dinner. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

It was another great evening at 42nd Street. Brittany did a very good job of taking care of us. Still the best hush puppies in the world!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great meal, fresh fish, great hush puppies. Loud is the only negative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We originally went to 42nd St when we first lived in Raleigh in the early 90's, over 20 years later we had the opportunity to return and found that the food was as good and that the atmosphere had not changed. I was still able to get the Cioppino which was everything I remember. There were little changes to the menu over time but I think that only enhanced the visit. Recommend this for dates, family get togethers', business meals or having dinner with friends. Love that it is the same.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall good but scallops a little too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

FOR A LANDMARK RESTAURANT THIS IS NOW A POOR EXCUSE.... SERVICE WAS POOR, WE FELT LIKE WE WERE AN INCONVENIENCE AND SHE SPENT LITTLE TO NO TIME AT OUR TABLE. THE FOOD WAS JUST O.K. FROM THE SNOW CRABS THAT WERE SERVED LUKE WARM TO THE SHRIMP AND GRITS THAT TASTED LIKE THEY WERE MADE LAST WEEK. YOU CAN BE CERTAIN WE WON'T BE GOING BACK AGAIN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I wish I could recall my wages his name when I came in yesterday at 5:30 With reservation for [Spears] sec. 26 table for 2 requesting for 4 on Saturday my waitress [Brown hair] I cannot recall her name :( but she was 2nd to none. best service EVER...KIND AND ATTENTIVE...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, the service and food was excellent! My favorite restaurant for a date night or get together. Second visit in 2 weeks 🎉 highly recommend the blackened Mahi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

great oysters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, good service and glad you have cloth tablecloths and napkins.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We are frequent guests of the 42nd St Oyster Bar, always a great meal, service & atmosphere. Was there on 10-10 to celebrate my wife's birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I've visited 42nd St on many occasions, for special occasion dinners and social gatherings. This was once one of my favorite places, but not so much any more. The food is usually (but not consistently) good and rarely great. For the price, I expect more. We've had the same ditzy, intrusive wait person the last two trips, which didn't improve the experience. And it is very loud; not conducive to much conversation over dinner. Overally, just not a great value and not worth the drive and the parking hassles.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The grouper was delicious! They also have great hush puppies! Brynn was our server she was awesome! The only issue is the tosses salad was bland - it needs more romaine tomatoes and cucumbers!!

Thanks
Doug and Sheila

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 6, 2017

I can’t think of a better restaurant to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The oysters were amazing and so fresh. Our waitress, Danielle (?) was knowledgeable about the wine lists and menu options. She made the night so special with complementary dessert. The apple pie with rum sauce was the perfect way to end the night. I wish we lived in Raleigh and could eat at 42nd Street more often. It is definitely one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always Fun and Lively! A Raleigh gem and tradition. For authenticity, ask for one of the oyster bar tables (they seat 4, and you don't have to order oysters, but it's fun to watch all the activity!) By the way, the steamed, shucked oysters were outstanding!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a great evening with friends. Our waitress could have been more attentive, she didn't refill our water, we went without drinks for a period of time, didn't really check on us regularly. Her friendliness and good attitude made up for some of it though. The food was great from appetizers to our entree.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Always good staff, usually great food -- this time grilled fish was a bit dry and potatoes not hot. The quality was not on par with the price this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Decor and atmosphere reflect menu. Comfortable style. Varied menu options attractively presented and delicious, from oysters to bacon wrapped scallops to blackened chicken and salmon. Wine list needs tweaking. Hostess who assisted with our seating seemed to object to my not wanting a cold windy table. Funny how no one ever sat there. She kept steering us away from other possible tables. Wait staff provided outstanding service .

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent! Perfect date night! Service, food,atmosphere were all great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Been several times over the years, however found this last time to be a little slow on service. Had a 8:45 reservation and were seated promptly. Not sure if the kitchen was backed up or server forgot to put in orders. Our entrees didn't arrive til 9:45. Food good once we got it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great customer service and excellent atmosphere. Food was delicious and fresh. Will be going back soon!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

It is a very nice experience , the food is delicious, fresh fish , one of the best restaurants in Raleigh NC , the service is 5 stars , great place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

42nd St never fails to provide great service and excellent tasty food options. They have never disappointed me or my guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

A bit of a wait but worth it. Delicious meal. Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We go for the scallops, and we were not disappointed. So good. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Our food was absolutely phenomenal and we could not have had a better waiter! I highly recommend this restaurant for any type of occasion. Excellent choice for dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Service was excellent, just the right amount to time between courses. As always we enjoyed a fantastic dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2017

While in Raleigh for just one night, we looked for another restaurant when our favorite was totally booked. 42nd Street looked good, and we love raw oysters. We had a dozen of NC oysters from various locales. They were all good. The sauces were also good. Then we split a dish with Crab Cakes. Lots and lots of crab meat in the cakes. Much more than you usually see. Desert was apple pie a la mode, good but not outstanding. If we get back to Raleigh, 42nd Street would definitely be on our list to go to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Service, atmosphere and live music were very good. I was unhappy with the price we paid for overcooked seafood. Raw oysters and wine were great.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

42nd Street is one of my all time favorites!! Great atmosphere, great food, friendly staff!! I love it!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great meal served in record breaking time by a competent wait staff. We were in a rush to make another appointment. We enjoyed our dinner and got to the next event on time. 42nd Street never disappoints,

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great place for oyster bar followed by dinner. Menu includes lots of choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We go every 3 months and love the oysters! It's a very special place to go. Our service was outstanding! Thank you Sara and Hunter!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

There is a reason this restaurant has been around for a long time. It is very good. Excellent seafood, well prepared, excellent wait staff, fun ambience. I had tuna and my wife had swordfish, both well prepared. The hushpuppies upfront are to die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food remains sensational at 42nd St and I highly recommend. The salmon was cooked to perfection. The service this time around needed a little bit of attention. We waited for some things, the server was mechanical rather than warming and he got the bills wrong when he delivered them to the table. I will go back again soon as this is an area gem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Although we did not have oysters at 42nd Street Oyster Bar, our party did have calamari, swordfish, shrimp, scallops, and a seafood pasta dish. The calamari, shrimp, and pasta were average. The swordfish was a very thin slice, which was disappointing for the price. The scallops in both the appetizer and the platter were very overdone. In short, the food was not worth the price tag. However, the atmosphere is one to experience if you don't mind a lot of activity with a loud level of noise. Our server was impressive and impeccable, as was the hostess, who handled the line at the door with professionalism.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent dining experience because of great food and attentive waist staff. Great for date night, pre-theater/concert, and for special occasions. Reservations are a must!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Bren was our server and she was AMAZING. This was my first time going and I will be back again and again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Live Music, Scenic View, Fun, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a wonderful time! Great food and service. Loved the live band after we finished our meal. Everyone's meal was cooked perfect. We plan to attend again. Thank you for your service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Everyone in our group had a wonderful meal. Food was presented very well and we have come numerous times.
This particular night our waitress seemed slightly annoyed with our requests. She did not offer or ask if we wanted coffee. It was my husband's birthday and although he declined dessert, I specifically told her it was his birthday. At very least bring a piece of dessert with a candle but he got nothing. Personally declining dessert should not preclude a "birthday" offering. We asked for coffee which she brought but also never asked if sny of us wanted another cocktail. So 5 of us went to the bar and brought drinks back to the table since she chose to close our ticket. Ten people would have stayed longer....but we felt pushed out.
Do have waitresses ask if we want our check! None of us were asked and none of us wanted to end the night either. But we left.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.