About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Catering:
At 42 St. Oyster Bar we work with our clients to develop a catering event that fits their menu and budget needs. For more information visit http://42ndstoysterbar.com/Catering.html

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Steamed Oysters
Grilled Grouper w/ Roasted Garlic
Soft Shell Crab
Oysters
Blackened Bacon Wrapped Scallop Penne
Norfolk Combo
PEI Mussels
Lobster Bisque
Blackened Swordfish
Peel and Eat Shrimp
Buffalo Shrimp Martini
Seafood Chipino
Flounder And Oysters Cajun Fried
Bacon-wrapped Scallops

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

special occasion (155)
good for groups (138)
fit for foodies (89)
See All
neighborhood gem (74)
hot spot (66)
vibrant bar scene (56)
romantic (46)
late-night find (36)
notable wine list (36)
great for lunch (33)
kid-friendly (23)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We've previously posted several reviews ...

Dined 3 days ago

We've previously posted several reviews for 42nd Street. We make this a regular stop when we're in Raleigh. Consistently great food. Consistently engaged and helpful service. Maybe we're in a rut, but who cares? We'll be back!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was outstanding and the service was ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was outstanding and the service was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I have eaten swordfish here many times. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have eaten swordfish here many times. This time the texture and taste seemed a little weird. My son also had the swordfish and made no comment. We usually order dessert at a "nice" place, but not here. The dessert offerings are rather pedestrian and not what one expect from a higher-priced menu.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charles, our server was excellent! He w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Charles, our server was excellent! He was attentive, remember details and provided service that will make us want to return.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and great service. We lo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fantastic food and great service. We loved the crab legs.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, good prices, everyone was e ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place, good prices, everyone was extremely helpful, all over a good time was had by all!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Edward, our server was outstanding. I h ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Edward, our server was outstanding. I have dietary restrictions and he went 'over and above' to make sure I had a good meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of my daughter's favorite re ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This is one of my daughter's favorite restaurants, as they have excellent swordfish. The cheese potatoes are also very good one of their signature sides. We got there at opening and had to wait a bit, but the table was nice, the dining room was pretty full, and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Our service was very good- overall, a great experience. I am sure we will return again for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

8pm reservation and the restaurant was p ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

8pm reservation and the restaurant was packed! We were seated immediately! Two servers working together made for such a pleasant evening. They immediately greeted us with hush puppies when we sat down. I had the crab cakes and house specialty potatoes...delicious! My companions had the bacon wrapped scallops and oysters. Everything was perfect. Can't say enough about the great service!! A must visit when in Raleigh!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Reservation was on time, food and servic ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Reservation was on time, food and service were great, will be back

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent food, very good service ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always excellent food, very good service, a local dining experience, not a chain experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter was very good! We ordered oys ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Our waiter was very good! We ordered oyster sampler & flavors were great but unfortunately 2 of the 6 oyster contained quite a bit of shell. Overall experience & food was good & I would recommend dining there.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was impeccable as always - dynamit ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was impeccable as always - dynamite crab cakes! Energetic environment, but then one likely doesn't go to an Oyster Bar for an intimate dining event.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food with great service. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

As always great food with great service. What else can you ask for?

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

I doubt the Restaurant Week menu showed ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

I doubt the Restaurant Week menu showed the restaurant off to best advantage.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great raw oysters!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great raw oysters!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and drinks were great, staff was fr ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food and drinks were great, staff was friendly but a little slow buy overall it was an awesome time

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our evening at 42nd St was delightful. ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Our evening at 42nd St was delightful. Our server, Warren, made the whole experience very enjoyable.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere and wonderful food. Eve ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great atmosphere and wonderful food. Everyone was warm and friendly and our order was out very quickly. Can't wait to go again!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Bacon wrapped scallo ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was excellent. Bacon wrapped scallop app is a must!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for end of work week relaxation

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

I went to the bar which is first come first seating and was pleasantly surprised by the limited menu. While no full dinners, it had a wide variety of heavy appetizers including their signature oysters. Then, the pleasant surpise of live music that started at 10pm was the fitting cap to a busy week and a relaxing evening. Good food. Great atmosphere. Outstanding service

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great ambience. Great food. Wide assortm ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Great ambience. Great food. Wide assortment of oysters which was the best.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food and drinks were delicious as usual. ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Food and drinks were delicious as usual. Hush puppies are addictive. Crab legs are awesome. I recommend the Pomegranate martini as well. Classic old school Raleigh/NC coast vibe.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

resturantant week

Dined on June 8, 2016

Wife and I came before another couple sitting next to us and they were served before us. My wife order the Jamabayla more rice than anything. My trout was ok, hush puppies were great. Would not go back. Too many other places in Raleigh are better. Its a landmark don't know why.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Was awesome!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Was awesome!

food3
ambience5
service5

Love the idea of this place - the servic ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Love the idea of this place - the service was great! Oysters were great! Entrees were both over cooked. Drinks were great as well! Atmosphere was great! We will give it another try...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Experience Each Time!

Dined on June 3, 2016

June 3rd, I treated my boyfriend to 42nd Street Oyster Bar for his birthday!!!! The service was top-notch as usual! Food was delicious!!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS AWESOME!

Dined on June 1, 2016

ALWAYS AWESOME!

food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Been there, done that

Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was not nearly as good as we expected. Service ws okay.

food2
ambience3
service1

This is our second time eating here and ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

This is our second time eating here and I don't think we'll return. We were waited on by two staff- experienced waiter and trainee. There were too many missteps and excuses for poor service, missing food and incorrect orders. I don't mind being patient with new staff but the seasoned waiter blamed everything on the new staff (including those not serving us). Only 2 of 4 salads were brought out and it took a while to rectify this. One of two appetizers didn't arrive at all. Two members of my party ordered medium well steaks and rare arrived. It took 10 minutes to get someone's attention and when the steaks were returned they had only been slightly warmed and we're still rare. It was overall a very uncomfortable experience.

food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Server forgot about us repeatedly. After ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Server forgot about us repeatedly. After we were seated we watched other tables around us get seated, served, pay and leave. Still no food! It was not a full evening or understaffing problem - he just blew us off! Funny because I ordered a $100+ bottle of wine to begin. So, $200 for dinner and I was so fed up, NO TIP.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

If you're looking for a booth

Dined on May 29, 2016

When we were being seated at a nearby table, we asked the young lady who showed us to the table if we could have an open booth nearby. She said "no, it's reserved". So we asked if, for our next reservation, we should ask for a booth at the time we made the reservation. We got a very non-specific answer to the effect "you could try that". It was clear to us she was making it up as she went along. No real big thing, but the evening started with something that was either dishonest or simply non-customer friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent. Enjoyed the band also.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Enjoyed the oyster bar, dinner in the main dining room and the band later in the evening. A nice way to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Friendly, clean, had a new waiter in tra ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Friendly, clean, had a new waiter in training, so wait was a tad bit long. We didn't mine too much because we had good conversation and great surroundings. Would bring family and friends from out of town here, prices were reasonable.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Couples night out to celebrate 20 yr anniversary!!

Dined on May 25, 2016

Two couples who Came to celebrate 20 years of Marriage!! Tried raw oysters for the first time!! They were great. Our servers (2 ladies- one was training) were wonderful. They were attentive to our requests and the table in general. Glasses were never empty unless we declined a refill. The Sea bass was d e l i c i o u s!! Everyone left w a smile and we each had a great time sharing stories w each other and our servers. Thanks for being part of our celebration.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

excellent as usual

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We have never had a meal here that was less than excellent. I had crab cakes which were wonderful and my wife had the swordfish done to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, friendly service and delicious, f ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Great, friendly service and delicious, fresh food. Decent wine list, as well..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time at this place was excellent

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great hush puppies, baked cheese oysters, oyster stew, buffalo shrimp. Not the healthiest but yummy food. I love seafood and their selection was amazing. Nothing wrong with that particular place, anywhere you go for outside dining the food is always salty. If you want super healthy, eat at home. I enjoyed my time there and the service was perfect. Nice, clean with fun writings on the wall restrooms too. Go and check out that place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We were seated immediately with our rese ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were seated immediately with our reservation. Our Server was Awesome! He was fast and very friendly. The appetizers were good, slightly overpriced for the quantity they brought out. The Caesar salads arrived with no dressing, drinks were good, we were not impressed with our main course at all. It was incredibly overpriced for it's portion, quality, and flavor. Overall, not a horrible experience, however we will pass on returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fabulous seafood fresh with huge variety including shellfish and famous for oysters. Exquisite wine list. Always a pleasure to dine there. Looking forward to our next meal there!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.