Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (98)
Special Occasion (96)
Good for Birthdays (74)
See All
Casual (69)
Worth the Drive (65)
Good for Groups (64)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Fun (60)
Bar Seating (55)
Historic (48)
Business Meals (48)
Authentic (47)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Hot Spot (40)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Comfort Food (37)
Live Music (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Local Ingredients (35)
Open Kitchen (32)
Romantic (31)
Notable Wine List (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Great Beer (24)
People Watching (22)
Family Style (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Kid-friendly (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Outstanding Value (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Healthy (11)
Dancing (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Spicy (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Tapas (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Live Sports (4)
Scenic View (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service and value was very fair considering the quality of the food. Will be back !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

As always, great food and great service! It never disappoints and we will be back very soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary here and it was an overall wonderful night! Blackened grouper close to perfection, but sautéed shrimp and scallops could have been better. An attentive Michelle added to our special night and we will definitely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We could only get a reservation at 10pm. However we showed up around 9 maybe before. They seated us right away. Hush puppies come immediately and are delicious!! My husband ordered a steak and he said it wasn't spectacular but it was good. I ordered fried oysters & fried calamari. The oysters were excellent and the calamari was ok. I wish I had just ordered the oysters. This has been a long tradition of Raleigh and I try to go here when I visit. They started live music around 10 in the bar area. You could hear in the main dining room which was a nice thing. Definitely give it a try if you never have.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Thereste two things I did not like. We were cramped in a corner and it was hard getting out of the booth. There was a table so close to us, which is not a deal breaker. The atmosphere was vibrant. Server was great the second thing was that I don't believe that I was eating butter...it smelled like margarine, even the garlic butter for my crab legs was melted margarine. Yuck!!! But it was fun and the band 120 min was soooo good I would go back for the band and bar area

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall good but the calamari we got as appetizer was less than good. The hush puppies were too greasy. The main course was good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Our dinner was a fantastic experience. Had reservations at 5:30 PM and was seated at 5:25 PM

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Worked very well with me changing how many for our reservations. Didn't have to wait. Waitress and trainee were wonderful

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Brought my parents for dinner here while they were in town. It was my first time here. Everything was great, except for my food. I ordered the Seabass and I could not stop staring at everyone else's food. It was the smallest piece of fish I'd ever seen, certainly not worth what it was charged. I left still hungry. Regardless, I would still like to dine here again, I just would definitely order something else. Great drinks, great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, drinks and service. Seafood very fresh, especially the oysters.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Go for the raw oysters!! We had the Old Salts from Virginia, and they were scrumptious! We shared a seafood platter..... the Chilean sea bass with wilted spinach was quite good, the shrimp were average, and the scallops were disappointing.... in fact, we left one. I usually pass on hush puppies, but the ones at 42nd street are irresistible!! We liked the seafood bisque. Server was plenty attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

My son took me here for the first time a couple of nights ago. I've always heard the rave reviews. WOW. The food was amazing. The service was impressive. Can't wait to go back. Some of the best oysters I've ever had!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing service food was great awesome atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Service was attentive. We felt a bit rushed at first so the server did slow it down. Oysters were very good.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great steamed oysters and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing service, wonderful food, great experience sitting at the oyster bar!

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food, service and band were outta sight. We would go back, again and again anytime we visit Raleigh!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was great! Band was amazing! Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service and food was excellent. Table was ready when we arrived

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

At first it started off Rocky. Our server, Kenny ended up rebounding and did an excellent job. We could tell he was probably fresh out of training and he confirmed that with us. He is very personable and amazing after he got the jitters out. Great asset to your company. Food was great. I wish ice cream would've came with the apple pie though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fabulous local seafood. Fabulous cocktails. Fabulous ambiance. Fun. We loved our dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The restaurant is one of our favorites. I am always impressed the way they honor their reservations and this night was no exception. On a busy Saturday night we arrived a few minutes early and were immediately seated in our preferred booth. We ordered blackened grouper and grilled salmon. Both were prepared perfectly and served piping hot. The salad portion was generous and all of the greens were fresh and crisp. The cherry tomatoes were tasty. The special cheese potatoes and garden vegetables were also very good. Our server, Jonna, was pleasant and efficient.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We always enjoy 42nd Street. The food is hot, tasty, well-prepared, fresh. It's a long standing Raleigh favorite for good reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful graduation dinner, oysters were superb! We had reservations for 5 but had 2 extra join us and hostess was accommodating even though booked up and got us a table at the oyster bar! Blaine was an excellent waiter and very knowledgeable about menu and the oysters. Got a little more noisy when band started up, hard to hear conversations. But that's not til 10pm. We always like coming here when in Raleigh, consistently good food every time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always fantastic. Waitstaff are always great. Food is great.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It was noisy and hard to hold a conversation, but the dining experience was excellent and the waitress we had was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food was ok. Noise level was very loud. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Dinner was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Awesome. It's true, if the seafood was any fresher it would be in the sea!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great experience at 42nd street! Have not been there for years but had family in town and we wanted seafood. All appetizers were wonderful. My favorite was the bacon wrapped scallops but oysters and the fried green tomatoes were also hits. Soft shell crab dinner was highly praised. Delightful server also added to the night. Absolutely will be back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Sitting under an A/C vent was freezing. The bar area is much nicer . Food was good, service very good and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and service! Looking forward to returning jng soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great fresh seafood! We sat at the oyster bar and two of us had steamed oysters. The third in our party had fried seafood. All were happy.

The oyster bar staff were very helpful in determining how many oysters we should order and were very attentive to our needs. They checked on us but didn't hover.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Family visiting from Texas. Seven of us thoroughly enjoyed the Oyster bar, crab legs, shrimp, grouper and the oysters were to die for. Paul did a wonderful job on taking great care of us.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We took some friends visiting from France here to experience a true Raleigh institution. While both the oysters and the lightly blackened grouper were delicious (as were the hush puppies!!), unfortunately some of our other food was just ok (like the overcooked sautéed scallops). We expected more consistent food given the prices. All in all, it was an enjoyable evening and our waiter was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our food was burnt. Never got our oysters...just terrible. And it was my birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great seafood and excellent service. Even comp'd a Birthday dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very disappointed. Server spilled melted butter all over my wife's new dress. Manager did comp her meal, but by the time we cleaned up the mess food was cold and crab legs were chewy. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

One of my family's favorite restaurants!!! Great service and great food!!! Never had a bad experience there!!! I would highly recommend!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We were a group of ten having a business dinner. The food was great, the service was superior, and I would definitely recommend it for any occasion. The last time I was there, I bought a gift certificate for my nephew and his wife, and they used it for their anniversary dinner. They absolutely loved the restaurant.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.