About 42nd Street Oyster Bar

508 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

A Southern Seafood Tradition Since 1931.

The 42nd St. Oyster Bar is one of the South's most famous landmark restaurants, satisfying thousands of grateful patrons since its humble beginnings in 1931 as a grocery store offering oysters and draft beer.

Our Mission: To provide a remarkable experience by recognizing and appreciating that each guest is the most important person in the world while dining at the 42nd St. Oyster Bar.

We invite you to join us for dinner tonight!

“Eat seafood … live longer

Eat oysters … love longer

Eat clams … last longer"

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon-Thur 5:00pm-10:00pm Fri - Sat 5:00pm-11:00pm Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 831-2811

Website:
http://www.42ndstoysterbar.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment (Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Top 40, Beach, Disco, Dance, Blue Grass, 70's, 80's,)

Friday and Saturday 10pm-1pm

Catering:
At 42 St. Oyster Bar we work with our clients to develop a catering event that fits their menu and budget needs. For more information visit http://42ndstoysterbar.com/Catering.html

Parking Details:
We offer two private lots. There is street and public parking also available.

Public Transit:
RLine stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Joe Rohrer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Steamed Oysters
Grilled Grouper w/ Roasted Garlic
Soft Shell Crab
Oysters
Blackened Bacon Wrapped Scallop Penne
Norfolk Combo
PEI Mussels
Lobster Bisque
Blackened Swordfish
Peel and Eat Shrimp
Buffalo Shrimp Martini
Seafood Chipino
Flounder And Oysters Cajun Fried
Bacon-wrapped Scallops

42nd Street Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

special occasion (161)
good for groups (146)
fit for foodies (94)
See All
neighborhood gem (73)
hot spot (72)
vibrant bar scene (61)
romantic (51)
late-night find (40)
notable wine list (35)
great for lunch (34)
kid-friendly (28)
great for brunch (10)
scenic view (8)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Scallops had not been cleaned properly. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined a day ago

Scallops had not been cleaned properly. They had lots of sand in them. One was so bad I spit it out. The Mahi was over cooked and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great food, service, and value. Would ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, service, and value. Would definitely return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh oyster selection very good. Qualit ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fresh oyster selection very good. Quality of food and service very good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating a special birthday. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating a special birthday. The food was excellent. Our waitress was courteous and nice. It was a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scheduled a birthday dinner for 6 adults ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Scheduled a birthday dinner for 6 adults for my son's birthday - making a written note on OT and verbally discussing it with 42 St OB when they phoned to confirm the reservation. I had asked for a dessert with a candle and was confirmed that would be available. We ordered dessert which was delivered, but without the candle. The waiter was totally not aware of any such request nor did he acknowledge a birthday at the table. Even after stepping to the hostess stand and asking them for assistance they said they would see what they could do - but nothing transpired. Disappointing given so many cueing opportunities to deliver great service.

The food was tasty, but forgetting this important detail left a bad impression of the level of customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Hostess was rude and not helpful, but on ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Hostess was rude and not helpful, but once we got past the hostess, the wait staff was excellent and the food was superb

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is exquisite, service is great, atm ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food is exquisite, service is great, atmosphere is lively and fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great place!! Food was excellent ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Such a great place!! Food was excellent and the overall atmosphere was outstanding!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is consistently very good. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service is consistently very good. Cocktails are usually made with plenty of "love."

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

this is the best place in Raleigh to get ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

this is the best place in Raleigh to get oysters on the half shell. Definetly make a reservation before you go if not the wait is very long. Parking lot is not that big so have patience when trying to park downtown. Food was great, we thought the appetizers were a little pricey but overall we will go again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The entire experience was fantastic. The ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The entire experience was fantastic. The server was very knowledgeable, the service was fast and friendly and considering the quality of the food, I would say that the price in comparison to value was also good. There were a ton of people waiting to get in the door so I would highly recommend making a reservation, we did and were quickly seated. NOTE: Check the spiciness of your dish. My food ( Linguini with crab and shrimp) had a pretty serious bite. I loved it and I think most people that like that kick would love it but, if you are not a fan of spicy, I could see how it could be a problem. That being said, there are a ton of items on their menu that caters around individual tastes. This restaurant is great for date night, to mingle with friends or to just grab a drink and a snack at the bar. The night we went they also had live music that started around 9PM. ***** (Five Stars)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The oysters were amazing- as was everyth ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The oysters were amazing- as was everything we got. Went for a birthday - my first time there. Loved it- will go again when I am in Raleigh

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is outstanding. All in our gro ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is outstanding. All in our group enjoyed both the appetizers and entrees. The service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So we've been twice for dinner on the we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

So we've been twice for dinner on the weekend over the past 2 months. The salad was great. The hushpuppies were great but the main course was only adequate. The first time I had lobster and had to wait for the waitress to bring the shell crackers and butter so it got cold and was only okay. The second time the wait staff was better but the main course of scallops was just okay. Very rich. We did like the atmosphere but the chairs were only moderately comfortable. All in all the cost did not match the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Took my wife for our wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Took my wife for our wedding anniversary and had a great dinner and great service. They gave us each a complimentary glass of champagne which was nice.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food were great. The oy ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service and food were great. The oyster bar was excellent.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers at the oyster bar are so awe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The servers at the oyster bar are so awesome and cute. We had a Bachelorette with out party and they treated us like queens!!!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Don't sit in Blue's section. He's very t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Don't sit in Blue's section. He's very talkative and intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food and music! We will be back so ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food and music! We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've visited 42nd Street Oyster Bar for ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We've visited 42nd Street Oyster Bar for many years. I don't know what's happened but this time the food was terrible. Our waiter really talked up the seafood bisque and while I was already set on clam chowder, I went with his suggestion. Yuck. It was thick like it was several days old & simply reheated. It was way too salty and to be honest it just tasted like doctored up Campbell's soup...

I ordered the oysters Rockefeller. I ate one oyster, spit it into my napkin & couldn't finish them. This may sound crazy but they tasted of how a barnyard smells. They were mushy and the spinach just looked like mushy moldy gunk. I tried to pawn them off on my family but that didn't work either. The entire platter went uneaten and while our waiter inquired and I told him they weren't good, he never offered to take them off the bill. I didn't ask him to either, but honestly I was a little shocked at his lack of concern. My daughters entire bowl of seafood bisque went uneaten as well. No mention of that either. .

The hush puppies were the only thing I enjoyed so they ended up being my meal.

On a positive note..... Our waiter was mostly awesome! Professional and very attentive!

Probably won't return. Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

This was a wonderful dining experience. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience. Comfortable and relaxing environment.

Food was good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Been here several times busy and not so ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Been here several times busy and not so busy. I really like the place but my meal was not great, got the cod and chips $18.95. Never had the potato chips before and never again. Two small pieces of cod breaded and good. Slaw not sweet not vinegary, just ah so so. Party of 12, oysters great!. Others meals just ok. Service VERY good. They excel at some items and just forget about the classics. Still a good seafood restaurant . Watching the cooking line not much enthusiasm. Needs a bit of attention to detail.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

This is the place to go if you are in th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is the place to go if you are in the mood for good seafood.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Dinner was held as a surprise for girlfr ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Dinner was held as a surprise for girlfriend's birthday and the staff did a great job accommodating this surprise. Food was wonderful and service was good.

Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Been coming to this restaurant for 15 ye ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Been coming to this restaurant for 15 years and have rarely been disappointed. Oysters are 1st rate, especially on the half shell . the wife had crab legs and I had the sea bass. Both were great. Highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

M y husband and I just moved to Raleigh ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

M y husband and I just moved to Raleigh and several people recommended this restaurant. We were not disappointed. I. f you haven't been you definitely should go. The food is excellent, the beer is local, the atmosphere is relaxed and our server Warren was by far the best in the business. I would recommend reservations, the place fills up fast.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Oysters are very commendable. Waiters ar ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Oysters are very commendable. Waiters are very friendly. I will definitely coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the love of seafood and entertainmen ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

For the love of seafood and entertainment friends fun

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I've been going here for years. My last ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I've been going here for years. My last experience was mediocre and the service was very spotty.

Our server spent a lot of time with us (table for 2) while we were ordering but after that, she was very hard to pin down for refills and other requests that come along with an hour plus dining experience. She also paid too much time with another table nearby which was really annoying.

I actually tipped less than usual because the service was so inconsistent and I don't go out to dinner to watch other people get good service while I sit with an empty drink for 10 minutes.

The cole slaw was sour and we had to send that back. This was a first in all the years we've gone here. The caesar salad was really mediocre for a restaurant of this caliber.

The 42nd St. Cheese Potato was spot on as always....so were the hush puppies.

The blackened swordfish was very good but not as consistent as you would want. I get this often and you'd like to get exactly what you enjoyed last time.

This is a loud place so if you're looking for a quiet meal, take a pass. This place is usually very busy and buzzing with activity.

We had a reservation and we were seated immediately upon arrival which is great.

PROS-seated quickly, most of the food was great

CONS-server not accessible, food needs to be spot-on at these prices, keep your customers drinks filled or at least ask

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We stop for dinner every time we fly int ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We stop for dinner every time we fly into Raleigh. This time it included our anniversary and the management provided us with 2 glasses of champagne on the house! My wife had the shrimp and grits and I had the platter with Flounder my choice of fish. Allison was our server and she was attentive fast and delightful. The manager was moving among the diners checking to see if needs were being met and we had a brief cordial conversation with him. We met several other travelers in the bar who were enjoyable to converse and share stories with. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Couldn't wait to get of there as the air ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Couldn't wait to get of there as the air conditioning was blowing down on our backs making it difficult to really enjoy our meals. Also the noise level was loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

One of the finest, if not the best seafo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the finest, if not the best seafood restaurants I have dined in and around North Carolina.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our dinner at 42nd Street Oyster Bar was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our dinner at 42nd Street Oyster Bar was enjoyable. The food was good. However, the hushpuppies were a little on the salty side and the clam chowder had too much smoked meat. The seafood was fresh and the cheesy potato was yummy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food & service. The appetizers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent food & service. The appetizers were delicious. The drinks were unique & enjoyable. Our waiter had great suggestions on food & cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a good dining experience for our ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Overall a good dining experience for our large group.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

did not expect to start with complimenta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

did not expect to start with complimentary hush puppies, enough for a meal! portions and quality of each dish were very good. cajun fried oysters were outstanding (but the ones at their airport locations were not quite as good, came with less side orders and cost more!)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Your Resturant has been me and my wife's ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Your Resturant has been me and my wife's favorite place for 20 years! The quality of the food or service has not diminished a bit!

I am from the coast and had to move to Raleigh for work and I find the best seafood place in the world!!!

Thank you guys for always giving me the best dining experience ever!

Raymond Carrino

919 795 0027

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I would describe the noise level more as ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I would describe the noise level more as in a blacksmith's shop rather than energetic. This is a great restaurant nonetheless and we have eaten here since it opened (again in this location)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

42nd Street Oyster Bar is somewhat of a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

42nd Street Oyster Bar is somewhat of a Raleigh institution. I ate there for the first time despite growing up here and am glad I got to experience it. Before I went there, they were very accommodating as we kept increasing the size of our party, which is no small thing since our reservations were for a Saturday night. They had live music and a dance floor, but there are sections where you can sit if you want to have a conversation. The food and cocktails were good. I sampled the oysters and had the bacon-wrapped scallops and crab cakes. The scallops and crab cakes were all right, but naturally, the star of my dining experience was the oysters. The next time I go, the bulk of my meal will be oysters and maybe I will sample some of the other seafood.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We wanted to try this from a recommendat ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We wanted to try this from a recommendation. We were not disappointed. Only downside was parking was a minor issue, could you a bigger lot. The food was good and the service was friendly good, We had a great time and will return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.