About 411 West

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Wood Oven (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ordered the flank steak with pimento che ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Ordered the flank steak with pimento cheese and bacon jam. Easily subbed fries out for a grilled veggies (asparagus, tomatoes, yellow squash) that had a subtle smokiness. Olives were a tasty and affordable app to start with. Wine was also solid and a good deal (montepulciano 250ml for $8).

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very enjoyable evening. Great food and s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Very enjoyable evening. Great food and service.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went there early on a Saturday night. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

went there early on a Saturday night. All three entrees were excellent, as were the cocktails. The service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful as always. We had our kids wi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful as always. We had our kids with us, and they loved their pizza and pasta entrees. My Lemon Linguine was fabulous, and the Whole Wheat Fettuccine with Chicken is great every time. They were able to get us in and out by game time. Always a favorite stop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu looks a lot better than it actu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The menu looks a lot better than it actually is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

4 Eleven West is my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

4 Eleven West is my favorite restaurant in Chapel Hill and the food was fantastic once again ...

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our visit to 411 West. Our me ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We enjoyed our visit to 411 West. Our meals were very satisfying and the service was very attentive. It was fun seeing Woody D and Lenny R.

Tags: Wood Oven, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It’s been a number of years since I dine ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It’s been a number of years since I dined at 411 West but I came back because of memories of really good Italian food. This trip was a disappointment. The food was not to the quality that I remember; the shrimp was overcooked, dry and tough and the sauce lacked the vibrancy of the past. Still, I found the prices to be moderate and the ingredients of good quality. The greatest sadness was taking good ingredients, good wait staff and fair prices to produce a disappointing food experience. I think the chefs need to pay more attention to their cooking.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Their bread used to be sooo good. Now th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Their bread used to be sooo good. Now they bring rolls that are not warm. The lasagna was average. The small Ceasor salad was quite abundant. I had not been there for several years & it just did not seem the same.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Waitress was very efficient and helpful. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Waitress was very efficient and helpful. Food was great.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my Favorites in Chapel Hill. The ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of my Favorites in Chapel Hill. The millionaire's pie is always very good

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food is always excellent, service is dep ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food is always excellent, service is dependable. Locally owned and operated and an excellent choice for consistently well-prepared dishes. I highly recommend 411 West if you find yourself in Chapel Hill!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, , Special Occasion, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to try 411 West after being a hu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Decided to try 411 West after being a huge fan of the former 518 West in Raleigh. We loved the similar decor and comfortable feel to the restaurant. The server was on the newer and younger side and seemed a bit timid. He was a bit uncomfortable opening our bottle of wine but did so with decent form. Very polite and accommodating but a bit late on the check back as my husband and I were both more than halfway through our meal. My Chicken Marsala was delicious accompanied with the mashed potatoes and green beans. More mushrooms would be great! My husband's Chicken Parmesan was good as well; however, there could have been more sauce on the pasta. Overall, a good experience. Would go back if I were in the area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

LOVE the mushroom ravioli dish but shrim ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

LOVE the mushroom ravioli dish but shrimp were overcooked.

My husband ordered the mahi and found it to be dry; it was redone but took a long time for the re-do to come out even though restaurant was practically empty.

I do love bossa nova but the music was redundant. Kept playing the same tracks over and would have liked some variety.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Was a little disappointing, hoping to fi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was a little disappointing, hoping to find authentic Italian food . One dish didn't match its description, the lemon pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

411 West is a known quantity. Food is a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

411 West is a known quantity. Food is always excellent; atmosphere cozy; and staff friendly. We go to 411 when we want a good meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I ate at 411 on New Year's E ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I ate at 411 on New Year's Eve, and everything was perfect for this special occasion. Beyond the excellent food, private table location next to a window overlooking Franklin Street, and wonderful atmosphere in the space, we specially want to acknowledge our waitress whose name is Cat. She couldn't have been more delightful and really made our evening.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Early NYE dinner. Always a great experie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Early NYE dinner. Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the perfect dining experience for ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was the perfect dining experience for what we were looking for - except maybe our food came a little too quickly and we were leaving the restaurant before we knew it. 😉 very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great. Service was good. Quick, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was great. Service was good. Quick, delicious pregame meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated behind a large group with ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were seated behind a large group with unruly children. Thought about leaving but decided against it because our server was great. Perhaps we will have better luck next time ( if we are not thrown beside the birthday party with kids).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Crab dip with flatbread came out bubblin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Crab dip with flatbread came out bubbling but scrumptious, perhaps toast pointes would have been preferred, but a solid appetizer. The entrée is what it's all about. Salmon was perfect, medium sized portion with a hollandaise-like sauce over tender squash, cherry tomatoes, and mashed red potatoes. Very tasty. Intimate 2 person table right overlooking Franklin street.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very well prepared and serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was very well prepared and served. The waitperson (God, I hate that pc word!) was great.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly good, comfortable setting, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Surprisingly good, comfortable setting, pleasant atmosphere , food was fresh and attractively presented, breakfast omelettes were very good and fresh

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent cocktails, good food, and frie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent cocktails, good food, and friendly service. Overall, had a very good experience. The noise within the restaurant was a bit too high for my taste - we got seated next a 16 person birthday party. Otherwise, this gem offers great value and taste. Will definitely return again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, wonderful service. The serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food, wonderful service. The server never left us hanging, and the food was ready at just the right time.

Tags: Casual, , Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always reliable. Food is high quality. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always reliable. Food is high quality. The menu is not expansive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Wonderful as always! This has become my ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Wonderful as always! This has become my favorite spot when visiting Chapel Hill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was surprised to find Sausage Gravy bisc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Was surprised to find Sausage Gravy biscuits and beignets. Enjoyed them both>

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thank you for having gluten free options ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Thank you for having gluten free options throughout your menu. It would be great if you had substitute rolls for the beginning of the meal as well. Thanks again!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

411 West is consistently excellent! Ove ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

411 West is consistently excellent! Over 25 years of good food, service and value.

Tags: , Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our experience was perfect from before d ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our experience was perfect from before dinner drinks (try the Basil Gimlet) to dessert. Service is always professional, yet not stuffy, and food comes out quickly. Our favorite Chapel Hill restaurant for years.

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed dinner with a friend before head ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Enjoyed dinner with a friend before heading to Playmakers. Server was friendly and courteous. Food came out in a timely fashion. Great place for such an occasion. I will return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We liked the small portion options. Very ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We liked the small portion options. Very good food...especially the duck confit pizza. We were all chilly, seated by the front window, and wished we had asked to move tables.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service and seating. I ordere ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent service and seating. I ordered a salad (small) and a small plate. Plenty of food, but the small plate was too salty. i could not eat it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

When arrived we were seated promptly. Se ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

When arrived we were seated promptly. Server was very nice but did not know the menu well. When we asked about how something was prepared or if it was a good choice he would just say " I haven't had that". We haven't been to this restaurant in a year or more, but it seems too not be as good as it used to be. The salad were just okay, lettuce seemed old and limp. Three people had pasta with bolognese sauce. It came with a lot of sauce, very little meat and pasta. I feel it has gone downhill since last visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our favorite restaurant in CH!! Always ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in CH!! Always exceeds our expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Always try to eat there whe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great food. Always try to eat there when staying in the Chapel Hill area. Monday wine special also a draw.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Dancing, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

A must place to check out for fine Itali ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A must place to check out for fine Italian food when you're in Chapel Hill

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Things didn't look promising when rolls ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Things didn't look promising when rolls that came at the start of the meal tasted like they came from a Wonder Bread factory. What followed was better than this insipid bread. Still, it was only marginally above mediocre. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.