About 411 West

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking Restaurant

Restaurant Photos

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Chapel Hill
Best Value
Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
2 More
Special Occasion
Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

special occasion (75)
neighborhood gem (75)
good for groups (62)
See All
fit for foodies (59)
great for brunch (48)
romantic (48)
great for lunch (42)
notable wine list (25)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (17)
kid-friendly (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

411 West is outstanding. I've been dinin ...

Dined 6 days ago

411 West is outstanding. I've been dining there since it opened. Food and service are always outstanding. Never disappointed with my visits. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Good service. Reasonable prices. Clean. ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Good service. Reasonable prices. Clean. Food was wholesome.

food2
ambience4
service4

Overall OK but a number of items were to ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Overall OK but a number of items were too salty. I usually like salty but this was too much. The flavors were well developed, the ambiance was good, service was good too.

food2
ambience4
service5

First time in a few years to visit 411. ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

First time in a few years to visit 411. Ordered the Margherita pizza. The tomatoes tasted like they came from a can. Quite disappointing. Salads were good and service was attentive. But canned tomatoes...really?

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Just ok

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've eaten here before and it's always palatable. Service is always excellent. This time I had the seafood pasta dish from the luncheon menu and although it was tasty the seafood was seriously overcooked and the portions were rather small (and I am not a big eater). It was a special occasion luncheon and I think we will find a less expensive alternative next time.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Helped make a wonderful graduation weekend

Dined on May 6, 2016

Very nice and helpful during a crazy weekend. Good food, not great....Nice servers, very accommodating to picky eaters. Nice enough. Would go back if given the opportunity.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Waiter was very loud and excessively soc ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Waiter was very loud and excessively social with other patrons to the point that we couldn't hear ourselves at our table under the glass in the back (atrium?). He even challenged me when I asked for salad dressing on my salad, telling me it already had enough dressing on it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as Always

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

411 West continues to be a favorite. Good food, good service, and Franklin Street in Chapel is a great location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great little spot

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fresh Italian. We loved it. Our waiter was awesome, very polite and attentive. It's a small place so make a reservation. We will definitely go back when we move to the area.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great spot to have dinner. Vibrant scene ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great spot to have dinner. Vibrant scene, great service. Scallop dish was very good, risotto cooked perfectly. Scallops were smaller than I anticipated, but still tasty.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a dinner here before a show at UNC. All of our food was delicious (salad, a salmon and gnocci appetizer, and a fresh pasta with spring vegetables in a cream sauce). The service was excellent, and graciously accommodating of our slightly late arrival due to traffic and parking issues. We will happily go back in the future!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Ambiance was lost due to noisy table

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food and service were great but a large, noisy group tarnished our experience. Some people do not have "indoor" voices and it was clearly a work gathering. I wished we had moved to another table, since we were seated beside this obnoxious group. Unfortunately, the waiter did not seem to notice and we ate quickly and left within an hour of sitting down. We will return but will specifically request to be away from large groups. I hope they sufficiently tipped the wait staff...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

boyfriend and I met my parents here for ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

boyfriend and I met my parents here for dinner before going to a concert. Always consistently good and I jump at any opportunity to come here. Always loved their sister restaurant 518 in Raleigh, too (and it was much closer for us) until they closed. The lemon linguine is the best!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

411 West, a perfect night

Dined on April 16, 2016

We visited 411 West on a Saturday night in April. There were several large parties as this was a prom night for the local high school. This did not disrupt our dining experience at all. The atmosphere was bright and energetic. We had a great table by the front window with a fabulous view of Franklin Street. The service was professional, helpful and seemed to know what we needed before we did. The food was spot on. We ordered steaks, chicken Marsala, chicken Parmesan, pesto pasta and margarita pizza. Everything was superb and perfectly prepared. The desserts were definitely the best part of our experience! 411 West was fabulous and we can't wait to return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the dining experience , 411 W ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We enjoyed the dining experience , 411 West a nice find as we go to Chapel Hill often each year. Food was very good, the peanut butter chocolate dessert was a perfect end to a good meal . Pastas hand made in house a nice touch as well. Service was well above par, our waiter was always within reach but let us enjoy the meal at our pace. We will come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant ambience and overall dining experience

Dined on April 14, 2016

Pleasant dining experience. The wait staff was courteous and attentive. He offered wine and meal suggestions. I appreciated that he was very patient as we sampled a variety of wines and mulled over the menu. My salad was a bit unremarkable but my friends mushroom ravioli was to die for.

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

A Bit Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

We have dined at 411 a number of times and have always been pleased. They have obviously played with their brunch menu which is not as satisfying as it once was. No biscuit with the eggs and it seemed to me that Luigi came in a skillet and was pipping hot. Not this time. Perhaps they ought to reexamine the changes which do n it seem for the better.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant for Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second brunch in a month's time. The first time we took a couple to brunch on Easter Sunday. We had such a good time and the food was so good, we decided to take another set of friends to brunch this past weekend. Eat time we dined on the patio serviced by Hannah. She did a very nice job both times. We will be back for Sunday brunch again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a favorite

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

411 West has been a favorite for years and continues to please. :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent food bur wait staff was mediocre

Dined on April 8, 2016

Our waiter seemed more interested in his phone than waiting on us. He did the bare minimum and never cracked a smile. The food however was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dining Surprise…

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We enjoyed dinner with friends. The service was prompt, informed and very at tentative. The food was very good from pasta to pizza, chicken marsala and more! Take an opportunity to visit 411 West. You will not be disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A great place to celebrate a special occ ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

A great place to celebrate a special occasion . We were celebrating my husband's 50th Birthday. The pasta dishes were delicious. Terrific atmosphere. Look forward to going back again soon!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Easter Brunch "miss"

Dined on March 27, 2016

We took our family for Easter Sunday Brunch and were very disappointed. After a fairly long wait for our food, my wife's meal was completely wrong from the one she ordered, with food items she specifically could not eat. The best we got was "sorry" and no other options to try to make it right. There was not much food with the other plates we ordered either, but pretty high prices. The general vibe on this visit seemed to be "it's Easter, we're busy, get used to it". This was a busy day, our bill was quite high, and we're not inclined to return. A concession on at least her meal would have been appreciated, but that didn't happen and she left hungry. Huge disappointment with a long time favorite of ours.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lunch

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Had a very nice lunch on a Thursday. The restaurant was pretty empty and quiet. Food was good, but nothing too special. Service was fine too

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great time... great food... lousy service

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

I LOVE going to 411 West when I'm in Chapel Hill. Half-off Wine bottles on Monday nights and a great wine list. Was disappointed with our service this time - wrong orders, long time between getting water and not too friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants

Dined on March 21, 2016

411West feels both like a great neighborhood restaurant but also has a special feel to it. The wait staff is pleasant and unpretentious, the menu is varied and the food delicious. Appreciate being able to order "small plates" when not wanting a full-size entry. The mushroom ravioli and chicken marsala are two of our favorites. When it's crowded, it can be too noisy, but that's to be expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

The place was nice and romantic. We had ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The place was nice and romantic. We had brunch on Sunday and the food was okay. The omelette had good flavors but was overcooked. The side of potatoes served were very tasty but was not warmed up all the way. It was borderline cold. The best thing was the cheesy grits. It was really good. Service was okay but the server clearly did not know the menu very well. Overall, the place was great but food was average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

411 has been a favorite for a long time. Franklin Street is a lot of a fun a good location. Good service and good food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Italian on the drag...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

The restaurant is well located on Franklin with an attractive interior setting. Our server was attentive, pleasant, and helpful. A house salad with walnuts and assorted greens was very good. One of us had spaghetti marinara, the other chicken parmesan. The chicken was somewhat dry and chewy. The pasta overcooked. The evening was pleasant and enjoyable but the food tonight was average.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, excellent service always a v ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Great meal, excellent service always a very good value with friendly staff. Our go to dinner spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service; nice atmosphere

Dined on March 9, 2016

The service was excellent. We have loved this restaurant for a long time. However, the last two times we have been the food has not been up to par. The Lemon Linguini is usually great but the last two times, the scallops and shrimp were over-cooked and the spaghetti marinara sauce was terrible.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed dinner!

Dined on March 8, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner while visiting Chapel Hill. My husband and I are both Italian and enjoyed the pasta Bolognese. The pasta was delicious The Bolognese sauce a bit strong for us - but still great. Loved the warm bread and the wine recommendation was amazing. Our waitress was so friendly and helpful but not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Just Okay.

Dined on March 5, 2016

411 West was an okay restaurant. There is nothing really special about it, but it meets the mark for an average restaurant. The best thing about it tonight was the service provided by the waitress. Otherwise, I could take it or leave it.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food great service.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Basic Italian with great wine selection. Caesar salad left a little something to be desired as dressing was minimal. Entrees were excellent. Atmosphere was nice. Our service was tremendous. Would recommend to others.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Poor Food Preparation

Dined on March 3, 2016

The food we ordered was poorly prepared. We both ordered the Shrimp Carbonaro. It came as a GLOB of pasta. No sauce. The bacon favor was non existent. It looked like they use salad bacon chips. My wife an I love spaghetti carbonaro and this was nothing like we have experienced in the past.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect again!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Again and again, 411 West shows us why they're one of the Chapel Hill restaurant scene favorites. There were 5 of us for dinner and everyone was very pleased with the food, service and atmosphere. Trey is a fabulous bartender and helps to create a welcoming atmosphere. 411 West is always one of our recommendations.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Resting on Past Laurels

Dined on February 28, 2016

I have been here a few times in the past and enjoyed it -- but that was years ago. I just found myself back in Chapel Hill this past weekend and the food has gone downhill in a big way. The Bruschetta tasted like it was made with cheap, canned red sauce and my daughter's Lasagne Bolognese had the flavor and texture of Chef Boyardee. The food bears no resemblance to what it once did or to anything remotely resembling well-prepared Italian food. On the upside, the space is clean and inviting and our server was fabulous.

food2
ambience2
service5
value2

What happened?

Dined on February 23, 2016

This is the first restaurant my wife and I ate at when we moved to Chapel Hill 15 years ago. We've been back on numerous occasions as we've always found the food and service to be very good. Well, this will be our last time there! Service was still great, but the food was not good and our salads and main course were brought to the table at the same time. Sorry to take 411 off our list.

food5
ambience4
service2

Food was great. Diner was served prior ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was great. Diner was served prior to appetizer being finished

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Pleased and Will Return

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

Came in with customers before the big game. Courtney was our server. Couldn't have been happier with her prompt and very cheery service and her appreciation for the fact that we wanted a nice meal, but had a 'game time deadline'. Everything went so well and we so appreciated the nice meal (apps, salads, chicken parm, tuna, etc;) and then prompt 'check out' so we could drive to the game. I couldn't have thought of a better place and Courtney made it that much more special. 411 West, I'll see you again soon!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.