Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

MezMez
(1528)
$$$$
Mexican / Southwestern | Durham, Durham
Booked 19 times today
Page Road GrillPage Road Grill
(644)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Durham, Durham
Booked 35 times today
LanternLantern
(85)
$$$$
Asian | Chapel Hill, Durham
Booked 25 times today
Kipos Greek TavernaKipos Greek Taverna
(698)
$$$$
Greek | Chapel Hill, Durham
Booked 12 times today
Elaine's on FranklinElaine's on Franklin
(938)
$$$$
Global, International | Chapel Hill, Durham
Booked 12 times today
Talulla'sTalulla's
(608)
$$$$
Turkish | Chapel Hill, Durham
Booked 5 times today
MintMint
(89)
$$$$
Indian | Chapel Hill, Durham
Acme Food & Beverage Co.Acme Food & Beverage Co.
(1531)
$$$$
Southern | Carrboro, Durham
Booked 18 times today
Venable Rotisserie BistroVenable Rotisserie Bistro
(461)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Carrboro, Durham
Booked 13 times today
TandemTandem
(426)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Carrboro, Durham
Booked 2 times today
Crook's CornerCrook's Corner
(18)
$$$$
Southern | Carrboro, Durham
Booked 15 times today
Crossroads Chapel HillCrossroads Chapel Hill
(1015)
$$$$
Southern | Chapel Hill, Durham
Booked 20 times today
Cholanad Restaurant and BarCholanad Restaurant and Bar
(241)
$$$$
South Indian | Chapel Hill, Durham
Booked 1 time today
Weathervane RestaurantWeathervane Restaurant
(116)
$$$$
American | Chapel Hill, Durham
Booked 9 times today
MilltownMilltown
(55)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Carrboro, Durham
Booked 1 time today

About 411 West

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
See All
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

It was a nice visit, overall. All four in our party had great dishes -- above average, worth the reasonable price and obviously prepared with care. My flat iron steak, impressed! It's a simple interior, but that worked for us. We were a bit surprised to have several nearby tables with young children, given the menu and relative cost. But, their parents kept them in check, so good clientele, just the same. In the end, we all felt we had great dishes and we were pleased and would return.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had a nice casual meal at 411. The food was good, along the lines of above-average comfort foods, and there's no sense of pretense. The trout small plate with fingerling potatoes was excellent. Prices are very fair. The wine list is decent and matched to the food, and the service was outstanding. It's a nice choice for what will certainly be a comfortable, well-prepared meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was our first time to this establishment and we were impressed. The calamari appetizer didn't last long between the 4 of us and we even contemplated ordering a second round! Two of us had the fresh lemon linguine seafood pasta which was very tasty, but could have used more lemon flavor in my opinion. The other two had the flatbread pizzas and they were very happy with their selections. The pear and kale salads were also done well and came out very quickly. We were hoping to try the handmade limoncello drinks but alas they were sold out! They are a favorite so get there early if you want to partake in this drink. The tiramisu was delightful and noticeably handmade. We will definitely mark this as a premier Italian food Chapel Hill destination!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

411 West has been a favorite for a long time, and we usually stop by when we are in Chapel Hill. It's excellent all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great for dinner with a toddler!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I took my Ladies Bible Study group and they all had a wonderful time. Everyone thought their food was delicious and even though it was more than they usually spend, they thought it was a well worth it treat! Our waiter was so very kind, even though we were older guests. I am sure he did not realize he had the pleasure of serving a soon to be 99 year old at our table! She enjoyed herself as we all did. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Love 411 West. The food is always wonderful and the staff is very friendly. A great dining experience for anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Entrees were lacking in taste. The Shrimp tasted like shoe leather and was hidden under buckets of heavy cream sauce. Spaghetti and marnina was tasteless. Do not recommend..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Was disappointed in the pasta being very al dente.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very kid friendly, yet food is excellent, so everyone can enjoy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My wife and I had a great time at 411 West. The service was impeccable, the food was extraordinary, and the restaurant has one of the more relaxing and attractive atmospheres in the Triangle. We like it so much we got married there!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Delicious food, pretty good service and ok atmosphere. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent service and very good food! Enjoyed the round table and location in back room

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I have enjoyed really nice lunch and dinner here but skip Sunday brunch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

If you like 411West the first time, you will like it again. We have been doing there for over 25 years and their consistent quality, service, and value is remarkable!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Food was good. One dish - the lemon linguini did not have any lemon taste whatsoever - the tomatoes literally overwhelmed the dish. Was expecting light, lemony taste but it was good though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Our waiter was a bit surly and had a bit of an attitude when we first arrived. His attitude improved throughout the course of our meal though. The food was impeccable, as always, and the atmosphere is conducive to good conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had a delightful waitress who paid us the perfect amount of attention. The food was excellent and the decor very welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Brussels sprouts rule!!! Dessert a definite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Never disappointed here. Next to a table of approx 15 so very noisy, but won't stop us from going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Menu offers a very good variety of food. Plates arrived at about the right pace for dinner (salad, main course, dessert). Main course was well prepared and the mushroom ravioli was outstanding! My husband and I shared the dessert special - strawberries on a puffed pastry with white chocolate mousse filling - it was delicious! We will be back. I would recommend reservations since this is a popular place and restaurant was full.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food and service good but it was very hot and humid in restaurant. Asked for air to he turned down 2 times then told AC was not working. Found out of course once main course served...Perspired during meal...Wish we had known before we were to far into service....Not sure if we will return....Very disappointed. As was one of my wife's favorite restaurants....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great go to spot for 2 or with friends. Have come here for years with students and friends, game day and off season. Great food and vibe!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had a very nice diner. The food was good, we did not feel rushed and enjoyed the experience

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Service was very good. Staff were friendly, food was ok nothing special my wife and I had
chicken parm mine tasted a little burnt on the edges not what I expected sauce was so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was the restaurant my daughter chose to celebrate her college graduation with her family. Cheese board was delicious! Each family member was happy with their entree. Very few leftovers. A family favorite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went with friends before a concert at Memorial Hall. (It's a nice walk; about 15-20 minutes). We shared the brussells sprout appetizer and we both had the shrimp carbonara. It was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was wonderful and we eat all over the world.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 4, 2017

411 always has good food, relatively quiet atmosphere, and a good wine selection. The service was very good as well. They really haven't changed much since I have eaten here over the last 20 years or so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have eaten here many times with no problems but Saturday night my food came out barely warm so chose another item which was hot but mostly sauce and little pasta ... the manager did right by not charging for the meal
Service was good but had to flag down waiter several times
Ordered dessert but coffee came out barely warm but waiter did make more.
Overall was disappointed and will avoid on busy nights
Very loud

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food and service were good but venue was noisy (prom night?). Split pasta, appetizer and salad with my wife. Lasagna was good but portion was the smallest I have ever received in a restaurant. Grilled shrimp wrapped in prosciutto was good. Salad was good but needed some nuts to go with the citrus and cheese.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Family in town for a wedding.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Nice little find in Chapel Hill. Our waiter Sophie was very friendly and personable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food, service and overall value. Except for a rowdy, loud patron at the bar, it was perfect. We both had pasta dishes that were extremely flavorful. Wonderful to have a "small" size, lower cost pasta serving option, which was more than enough food even for dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We love eating at 411 West when we are visiting campus and our students at UNC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have eaten at 411 West as a pre-theater ritual for many years. The food is well prepared and the small plates are of generous proportions. Salads are invariably fresh, well made and artfully presented. Even the inexpensive wines are lovely. We have never had service that was less than faultless. This restaurant is a great value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Classic Chapel Hill restaurant never disappoints. The service is superior. Excellent value. Try it again some time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

OMG! Could not believe we could get a table for Easter Sunday brunch, and now we know why! The food was so ordinary. Our server, Kenzie was great, but what she brought us was not up to par. Poached eggs style not discussed with us, grits cold, Hollandaise sauce cold, crab/salmon cake also odd and cold and English muffin not toasted. No garnish on plate so presentation was poor. You may think this was all 'cause they were so busy--NOPE--not busy cause food was just not good. Restaurant has seen better days!! Very disappointing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thought I was in New Orleans, especially because of patio ambience and beignets. I would go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.