About 411 West

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking

Restaurant Photos

  • Pulled Duck Confit
Pulled Duck Confit

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Chapel Hill
Best Value
Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
2 More
Special Occasion
Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Special Occasion (48)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Romantic (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Great for Brunch (23)
Great for Lunch (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Casual (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Wood Oven (6)
Business Meals (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great meal!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Heard good things about this restaurant, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Heard good things about this restaurant, and menu had interesting options, but was underwhelmed by the experience. Ordered roasted Brussel sprouts which were hot and tasty enough, but would have been so much better had they come as described with shaved Parmigiano cheese. And the cold artichoke dip could be so much better had it been warm or at least room temperature. But what was truly disappointing was that the kitchen sent out the salads and entrees for our table all at once. Who does that except maybe a chain restaurant?

Were we supposed to eat our salad and let our respective pasta and eggplant parmegiano grow cold? Or eat the pasta, push the plate aside and jump right into the salads afterward? I have truly never seen this done before and we were all perplexed and disappointed. Luckily Chapel Hill is filled with restaurants, so next time we are there we will try some place else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We have been to 411 West on multiple occ ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have been to 411 West on multiple occasions. The food is always good, service solid and we have always had an overall good experience. 411 West has a great location for us when we visit UNC. We have eaten on both very busy college weekends and on quiet evenings. The place is consistent and enjoyable. They handle the crowds well and service has never really suffered. On this visit we had a variety of Salads, appetizers and entrees. All were good and served at the correct temperature. We will return and recommend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

This was our first time here and as I w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time here and as I was not familiar with the place I took my chances with online reviews. We were greeted by a friendly host and waited only a minute to be seated even though it was very crowded. We did have reservations which I would highly recommend. The table for 4 was a bit small but we adjusted. The food was very well prepared. My salmon was cooked exactly as I had requested and was delicious. The bolognese was "outstanding" as were the flat iron steaks. The portion sizes were just right and nicely plated. The Tiramisu was served in a large goblet and was tasty and the creme brulee was yummy. The service was nice, attentive and paced quite well. I would definitely go back here and also recommend it to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Reasonably priced wine list. Food was p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Reasonably priced wine list. Food was pedestrian: not terrible, not particularly good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We have been to 411 several times. This ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We have been to 411 several times. This time however, it was not a good as in the past. The calamari appetizer was overdone and too crunchy. The spaghetti was not up to par. The grilled shrimp appetizer was really good. I had the basil pesto pasta and it was good. We will be back as we have always enjoyed it, hope they were just having an "off" night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our favorite restaurant. We go once a w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. We go once a week if not more. Love the food, the wait staff

and the overall ambiance.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the beer selection. The a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Really enjoyed the beer selection. The ambiance was enjoyable, lively, however not too loud. While the food was good, not great, I thought the portions were on the small side and it was overpriced.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Worst Manhattan I've ever had. Sent it b ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Worst Manhattan I've ever had. Sent it back. Waiter didn't know a thing about wine. Food was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I LOVED THE FOOD AND THE WAITRESS ANNA W ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I LOVED THE FOOD AND THE WAITRESS ANNA WAS FANTASTIC

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food seemed expensive and unfortunately ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food seemed expensive and unfortunately was nothing special. We ordered the beignets to share and they were only small balls of fried dough and there were only 6 of them. I ordered chicken and waffles; the waffle was very good but the chicken patty was very small and overlooked. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The appetizer and salads were delivered ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The appetizer and salads were delivered at the same time -barely room on the table for everything. We would have preferred to have had the time to enjoy our appetizers before our salads arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

great food and server (Burke). decor fel ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

great food and server (Burke). decor felt a bit outdated though

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Location was great parking can be a tric ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Location was great parking can be a trick on weekends, good was OK service was grear

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, People Watching, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love everything about 411 West! Recommen ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Love everything about 411 West! Recommend to anyone looking for a great meal, nice atmosphere and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Saturday and Sunday brunch are exception ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Saturday and Sunday brunch are exceptional, and the atrium seating is a very unique atmosphere.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

411 West is a great place for the family ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

411 West is a great place for the family or just you and your wife. Service was great and the food was as even better than I remembered.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

411 is the same concept as 518 was in Ra ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

411 is the same concept as 518 was in Raleigh before it closed. A bit smaller, the space is comprised of several small but well spaced rooms and additions. The bar is small but active and the brick oven products are excellent. The menu is basically the same, with seasonal additions and chef's specials. This restaurant will always have a special place in my heart, the lemon linguine is excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife here because the reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I took my wife here because the reviews raved about the atmosphere... It was not that great. Our server was obviously new and would stand awkwardly over us and wait for us to engage in conversation with him. The food was nothing to write home about, which I was already skeptical of because there were so many mixed reviews, but it really was just okay. I might give it another try, but I doubt it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

We have met for brunch on several occasi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have met for brunch on several occasions at 411 West; always good food & service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit this year for d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was my second visit this year for dinner, however, I was disappointed on many levels this trip (August 20).

I will preface my comments by saying that my two other guests enjoyed their meals. To begin, although the server was pleasant and professional, I ordered a small salad as an appetizer and it arrived at the same time as my chicken parmigiana entree. Perhaps the server was confused as my guests ordered large salads with salmon as their entrees? Additionally, he did not check on the table again until after the meals were fully consumed. Anyway, the chicken was dry and over-cooked, as well as the spaghetti and inexpensive tasting tomato sauce. I was surprised that this was how they would have served a meal, and, at the request of my guests, I did not send it back. This is obviously a restaurant that has a good reputation and following, and I was a repeat customer. I'm hoping that this was just an off night for them?

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

On a trip to visit relatives. Found 411 ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

On a trip to visit relatives. Found 411 West on line. Excellent choice for casual atmosphere, delicious food, and reasonably priced evening out. Excellent prosciutto wrapped shrimp and Eggplant Parmesan!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We held a small birthday party (4 of us) ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We held a small birthday party (4 of us) all of whom are food and wine connoisseurs. It was fabulous and very reasonable for the quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us dined. All entrees were exce ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Three of us dined. All entrees were excellent. Mushroom Ravioli, salmon and lasagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I've been going to 411 since my college ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I've been going to 411 since my college days back in the 90s, and it never disappoints. Enjoyed taking my daughter and remembering the good times. The food and service was great, and although a bit more expensive than "back in the day" it was worth it. Loved the "small plate" options. My daughter loved the flatbread pizza.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Server was completely untrained and it a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Server was completely untrained and it appears had never worked in a restaurant before. Hadn't tried any of the food, left all dirty dishes on the table during the meal, etc.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Had asked for quiet table due to hearing ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Had asked for quiet table due to hearing disorder of my husband. . Believe hostess tried to accommodate us but, she sat us near a very large part in back (garden) area. Party was extremely loud & rather obnoxious. This was very unfortunate as the waiter, the drinks, the food was fantastic but the irritating incessant braying from a woman at the large table was rather like chalk squealing in a chalkboard. It totally destroyed an evening that would've been one of the most pleasant in quite sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Every bite was exceptional...and sip too ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Every bite was exceptional...and sip too! The cocktails were unusual and delicious and the food truly excellent. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We really enjoyed the fried okra, calama ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We really enjoyed the fried okra, calamari, and chocolate chess pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A very nice restaurant, with good food a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A very nice restaurant, with good food and excellent service. A pleasure to have a nice meal at and friendly conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

411 is one of the better restaurants for ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

411 is one of the better restaurants for ambiance and value in Chapel Hill. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to 411 West on a trip ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife and I went to 411 West on a trip through North Carolina. The food was excellent and the total value was exceptional for the cost. Shared a bottle of Jerman Pino Grigio with wonderful seafood dishes and the total bill was less than $90 before tip. The waitress was a UNC student whose service was perfect. Totally recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The only thing that would have made it b ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The only thing that would have made it better would have been a round table rather than a rectangular one. (we were a party of 5) I asked for one and was told that there were none. I find it very awkward with an odd number of guests to have a conversation. The last to be seated is hanging outside the first group of four but a round table solves the problem.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great restaurant with great food and ser ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great restaurant with great food and service. Only concern was being one of the first to be seated that nite, with reservations, and being stuck in a corner table. So much for reservations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful spot for Saturday or Sunday am ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful spot for Saturday or Sunday am brunch! Love the Eggs Bene

dict, French Taost and Fresh squeezed Orange Mimosas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner here. Only downside t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had a great dinner here. Only downside to this popular restaurant is the noise level.

Love the food and the service is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff is outstanding, very accommoda ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The staff is outstanding, very accommodating. We were a group of 6 neighbors and we all had different entrees, each of which were delicious. We will be back often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was absolutely wonderful. We st ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our meal was absolutely wonderful. We started with wine and appetizers then our main course. The service is always impeccable whether sitting at a table or at the bar and entrees are always fresh and right when they come out of the kitchen. You just can't go wrong at 411 West...it's a Chapel Hill gem!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for brunch after I proposed ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went here for brunch after I proposed because it was the spot of our first date five years ago. It was our first time there for brunch, and the menu was pretty standard. The eggs benedict was prepared well and tasted good - just the right amount of hollandaise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to 411 West many many times be ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I've been to 411 West many many times before my dinner on Saturday. I've always experienced a similar consistent level of customer service and a lovely meal. This visit was no different, another great meal, delicious Bolognese, strawberry shortcake, and dinner rolls. Will be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.