About 411 West

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking Restaurant

Restaurant Photos

  • Pulled Duck Confit
Pulled Duck Confit

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

special occasion (62)
neighborhood gem (60)
fit for foodies (45)
See All
good for groups (43)
romantic (39)
great for lunch (35)
great for brunch (34)
hot spot (17)
notable wine list (17)
kid-friendly (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful spot for Saturday or Sunday am ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful spot for Saturday or Sunday am brunch! Love the Eggs Bene

dict, French Taost and Fresh squeezed Orange Mimosas!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner here. Only downside t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great dinner here. Only downside to this popular restaurant is the noise level.

Love the food and the service is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff is outstanding, very accommoda ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The staff is outstanding, very accommodating. We were a group of 6 neighbors and we all had different entrees, each of which were delicious. We will be back often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was absolutely wonderful. We st ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our meal was absolutely wonderful. We started with wine and appetizers then our main course. The service is always impeccable whether sitting at a table or at the bar and entrees are always fresh and right when they come out of the kitchen. You just can't go wrong at 411 West...it's a Chapel Hill gem!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for brunch after I proposed ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went here for brunch after I proposed because it was the spot of our first date five years ago. It was our first time there for brunch, and the menu was pretty standard. The eggs benedict was prepared well and tasted good - just the right amount of hollandaise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to 411 West many many times be ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I've been to 411 West many many times before my dinner on Saturday. I've always experienced a similar consistent level of customer service and a lovely meal. This visit was no different, another great meal, delicious Bolognese, strawberry shortcake, and dinner rolls. Will be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good Italian food. I'm fr ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great service, good Italian food. I'm from Brooklyn, by so it's very hard to please me outside of that town. Pretty restaurant, great drinks

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

good food as we have come to expect over ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

good food as we have come to expect over the years. great service. like the ambience. surprised at 7:30 dining not more people dining on a Thursday night.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was a regular at 411 for a number of y ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was a regular at 411 for a number of years but this visit was only my second this year, due to family obligations. The Margharita pizzette was my usually appetizer; on this occasion the crust was chewier & less crisp than previously. Several of my favorite dishes (the black pepper angel hair pasta with salmon & the red pepper pappardelle are no longer on the menu, although I did overhear our waiter tell someone that the kitchen could approximate the angel hair dish with the ingredients on hand). I had the shrimp ravioli with mushrooms and it was very good. (The shrimp were slightly overcooked, but that's been true fora as long as I can remember.) On the advice of our waiter, I ordered the larger portion and it was normal entree size. The smaller size is now more of a 'small plate', apparently (a change from previous visits.) I like the fact that they now offer a 250 ml option for their wines by the glass - that's about a glass and a half, which suits me. Service was excellent - our waiter was friendly, attentive & knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

You have to ask for bread now.. Just FYI

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

You have to ask for bread now.. Just FYI

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We've dined here before - always a good ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We've dined here before - always a good experience. The food is wonderfully prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All our food was outstanding. We had a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

All our food was outstanding. We had a party of six and we all had different things. presentation of food is very simple. No frills, all is a la carte thus no garnishes to speak of. Service is excellent and the restaurant has a very nice atmosphere. The chairs are especially comfortable. There is a separate bar area, noise level was fine for talking at the table. I really like this [place. It is expensive, 500 for six, but worth it on a special evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience at 411 though ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a great experience at 411 though I wish the portions had been a bit bigger for brunch.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

One of the best! The waiter was amazing, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

One of the best! The waiter was amazing, we were difficult, but he did great! 😊

The food was spectacular, one of the best chicken parm meals I have ever had!

Best experience on a date ever, good job guys!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and our server was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was awesome and our server was great! The ribeye is outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did an early Father's Day dinner at 4 ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We did an early Father's Day dinner at 411 last Saturday night. We got a table that I had

requested for noise reduction. The restaurant was very busy and our waiter was new to the wine scene. He was very sweet opening his first bottle on the job with us.

I had heard of 411 as "the place to dine." However, the bread (rolls) very stale and could have been day-old hamburger buns. The Cesar salad was fine, but nothing special. The calamari

was more bread than calamari. Good flavor, but lots of bread. Sauce nice!

My daughter's salmon was very good and the swiss chard with potatoes very savory and perfectly done. My husband's dinner was tasty. My shrimp dish was totally overcooked and the shrimp very tough. Lemon sauce nice... Our wine was reasonable and nice. Had it before at another restaurant.

I would rate this restaurant about three stars. Was looking for a more all-around great meal.

We had a nice time... but won't be going back right away.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

My husband had been to this restaurant a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband had been to this restaurant a number of times in the past years. I remembered it as have a special ambiance and menu to make this return trip worth it. It was our wedding anniversary. We dressed nicely and had reservations at 6 pm. The dinner crowd wore completely casual clothes. Some people had flip flops and shorts. Our food was not tasty or special. It was also over priced. I would not go there again for a special celebration

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Always a favorite

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

411 is one of my all time favorite restaurants from college and it's always a treat as an alumni to go back with my husband. Just cute and classy enough to feel special without being too crowded or expensive. The texture of the Gnocchi is just dreamy and they always have very flavorful sauces.

The only suggestion that I would have is to make the scallops and gnocchi a full size dish. It's clearly marked small plate, so it's fairly not enough for a full entree. You should adjust the proportions a bit and make it an entree. So tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Meh.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

You would expect better food from a restaurant that was voted "Best Italian Food in the Triangle." We have been to 411 West a number of times in the past and were very pleased. So, we returned for my birthday in early June. First of all, the patio was absolutely FREEZING, but in all fairness, the waiter asked for the A/C to be adjusted, and it was. The most disappointing thing was the food. Two of us ordered the shrimp pasta dish and were seriously amazed at how bad it was. The pasta was overcooked, cold, and dried out by the time it got to the table. The shrimp were COMPLETELY overcooked, and the dish was very under seasoned. So much so that I couldn't eat them. My daughter ordered the lasagna, which she noted tasted good, but visibly unappealing. The sauces was dry and charred around the edge of the dish. Lastly, one of our party ordered the linguine with (I think) chicken and mushrooms. Again, the pasta was cold, and the dish lacked seasoning. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

A disappointing dinner experience

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I chose 411 for my birthday dinner with my husband because I had enjoyed the restaurant and the food for many years, but we had not been there in awhile.

We were seated promptly and the restaurant did not seem busy, but it took a very long time for the waiter to come to our table. That set the tone for the meal: extremely slow service.

The rolls that were brought out before the meal were warm, but I assume they were rewarmed since they were very hard on the bottom. These were not the soft and tasty rolls I remember from previous visits.

The entrees were also disappointing. I ordered the pizza which was a pre-made crust with meager toppings. Husband ordered the trout which he said was overly seasoned.

We did not order dessert.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Delicious! Great service. Lovely atmosp ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Delicious! Great service. Lovely atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything great

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Had not been here for a long table but on a whim got resv with open table

Seated immediately with great service and food, do try the strawberry shortcake

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

411 West is outstanding. I've been dinin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

411 West is outstanding. I've been dining there since it opened. Food and service are always outstanding. Never disappointed with my visits. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service. Reasonable prices. Clean. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Good service. Reasonable prices. Clean. Food was wholesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall OK but a number of items were to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Overall OK but a number of items were too salty. I usually like salty but this was too much. The flavors were well developed, the ambiance was good, service was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

First time in a few years to visit 411. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

First time in a few years to visit 411. Ordered the Margherita pizza. The tomatoes tasted like they came from a can. Quite disappointing. Salads were good and service was attentive. But canned tomatoes...really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Just ok

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I've eaten here before and it's always palatable. Service is always excellent. This time I had the seafood pasta dish from the luncheon menu and although it was tasty the seafood was seriously overcooked and the portions were rather small (and I am not a big eater). It was a special occasion luncheon and I think we will find a less expensive alternative next time.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Helped make a wonderful graduation weekend

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Very nice and helpful during a crazy weekend.

Good food, not great....Nice servers, very accommodating to picky eaters. Nice enough. Would go back if given the opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Waiter was very loud and excessively soc ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Waiter was very loud and excessively social with other patrons to the point that we couldn't hear ourselves at our table under the glass in the back (atrium?). He even challenged me when I asked for salad dressing on my salad, telling me it already had enough dressing on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Fabulous as Always

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

411 West continues to be a favorite. Good food, good service, and Franklin Street in Chapel is a great location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Fresh Italian. We loved it. Our waiter was awesome, very polite and attentive. It's a small place so make a reservation. We will definitely go back when we move to the area.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great spot to have dinner. Vibrant scene ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great spot to have dinner. Vibrant scene, great service. Scallop dish was very good, risotto cooked perfectly. Scallops were smaller than I anticipated, but still tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a dinner here before a show at UNC. All of our food was delicious (salad, a salmon and gnocci appetizer, and a fresh pasta with spring vegetables in a cream sauce). The service was excellent, and graciously accommodating of our slightly late arrival due to traffic and parking issues. We will happily go back in the future!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambiance was lost due to noisy table

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food and service were great but a large, noisy group tarnished our experience. Some people do not have "indoor" voices and it was clearly a work gathering. I wished we had moved to another table, since we were seated beside this obnoxious group. Unfortunately, the waiter did not seem to notice and we ate quickly and left within an hour of sitting down. We will return but will specifically request to be away from large groups. I hope they sufficiently tipped the wait staff...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

boyfriend and I met my parents here for ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

boyfriend and I met my parents here for dinner before going to a concert. Always consistently good and I jump at any opportunity to come here. Always loved their sister restaurant 518 in Raleigh, too (and it was much closer for us) until they closed. The lemon linguine is the best!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

411 West, a perfect night

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We visited 411 West on a Saturday night in April. There were several large parties as this was a prom night for the local high school. This did not disrupt our dining experience at all.

The atmosphere was bright and energetic. We had a great table by the front window with a fabulous view of Franklin Street.

The service was professional, helpful and seemed to know what we needed before we did.

The food was spot on. We ordered steaks, chicken Marsala, chicken Parmesan, pesto pasta and margarita pizza. Everything was superb and perfectly prepared.

The desserts were definitely the best part of our experience!

411 West was fabulous and we can't wait to return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the dining experience , 411 W ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We enjoyed the dining experience , 411 West a nice find as we go to Chapel Hill often each year. Food was very good, the peanut butter chocolate dessert was a perfect end to a good meal . Pastas hand made in house a nice touch as well. Service was well above par, our waiter was always within reach but let us enjoy the meal at our pace. We will come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant ambience and overall dining experience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Pleasant dining experience. The wait staff was courteous and attentive. He offered wine and meal suggestions. I appreciated that he was very patient as we sampled a variety of wines and mulled over the menu. My salad was a bit unremarkable but my friends mushroom ravioli was to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Bit Disappointing

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We have dined at 411 a number of times and have always been pleased. They have obviously played with their brunch menu which is not as satisfying as it once was. No biscuit with the eggs and it seemed to me that Luigi came in a skillet and was pipping hot. Not this time. Perhaps they ought to reexamine the changes which do n it seem for the better.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Restaurant for Sunday Brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second brunch in a month's time. The first time we took a couple to brunch on Easter Sunday. We had such a good time and the food was so good, we decided to take another set of friends to brunch this past weekend. Eat time we dined on the patio serviced by Hannah. She did a very nice job both times. We will be back for Sunday brunch again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.