About 411 West

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Good for Birthdays (23)
Casual (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Wood Oven (17)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Brunch (12)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fun (10)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Been there twice. Very nice place. My pasta was excellent. Wines are a great value. Very pleasant and would not hesitate to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

411 has been a favorite for a long time. The weather was nice, so we could eat at the outside tables and enjoy the sunshine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

We sat outside and the ambiance was perfect for my birthday dinner! The staff was friendly and professional and knew the menu well. The food was fresh and had a great mixture of unique and classic Italian dishes.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Food selections were outstanding. Had a yummy starter of Brussels sprouts and a kale/quinoa salad which was great with a surprise in every bite (pear/pomegranate/toasted almonds/goat cheese).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place was perfect for our family of 4! Our kids (ages 10 and 11) absolutely loved the food, casual ambiance and quaint atmosphere.
If you like fried calamari, you'll love it here. The salads were good-they could have mixed the dressing better- but overall, they were good.
The dinners were superb. The Chicken Parm is a must and the spaghetti bolognese was fabulous! The kids loved their pizza and ravioli-overall, a great place for families!!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

411 West continues to please with a lovely menu. My data enjoyed a classic shrimp puttenesca while I tried the local trout, something a little off the beaten path but it was delicious. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a cute date night or other special dinner. I will say our server was a little pushy like she wanted us to pay and get out so she could get another table. A small flaw in an otherwise perfect experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Sometimes it all comes together and we had such a night at 411 West. My meal was delicious, if somewhat pricey, but I never mind paying for a meal I cannot replicate at home. The wait staff was personable, friendly and engaging, from the moment we walked in, until we stepped back out the door. Basically, we had a great time, ate a scrumptious meal and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This, in no small part, reflects on the staff and ownership. To parse the experience further would do a disservice to the restaurant. If you choose to dine at 411 West, be prepared to enjoy yourselves. We sure did.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My husband and I have been here many times. In the past we were not completely impressed with the food since its hit or miss but the last time we went was delicious . We do enjoy the creativity of the menu. We had the steak pizza and thought it was very good. Steak was tender and cooked just right. I had the pesto angel hair and it was mushy not al dente but the flavor was on point.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

A great place to have an enjoyable lunch/brunch on Franklin St. Menu is full of enjoyable specialities. We look forward to trying them all.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always a pleasurable dining experience whether as a couple or with guests. Wonderful to have a reliable go-to place for out-of-town company that never disappoints. Five different brunch menu selections and five satisfied diners. Server Jonathan was polite and attentive despite having a pretty full section to serve.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Messed up my order and chicken Parmesan tasted bad. Not impressed at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

T was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We often visit 411 West for Sunday Brunch. The cheese grits and egg dishes are always delicious. This time I tried a special---the Smoked Salmon Benedict with avocado and a spinach/avocado sauce. Absolutely wonderful! Compliments to the chef for this new dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service and food overall was average to above average. The Chicken Parmesan was very good. The Shrimp Puttanesca was average. The Shrimp were over cooked and the sauce was OK. The pesto pasta with eclectic vegetables was OK. The Chicken Marsala was good. The flat iron steak looked good, but was cooked rare when it was supposed to be medium-rare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The service was prompt, and the food was amazing! I couldn't believe the portion sizes for the price. Well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had ta hurried meal because we had theatre tickets. Our waiter was attentive, very helpful and we had a delicious meal. In addition, we were out in ample time to get to the theatre. I cannot wait to go back when we can relax and enjoy the ambiance. It is a lovely place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very good except too noisy which may have been due to the group next to us who were very loud.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always love an opportunity to dine here! We don't live in Chapel Hill but 411 is our first choice when we are in town for a UNC game. Favorite app is the prosciutto wrapped shrimp with wilted spinach. Delicious! Also love the grilled pear salad and all of their pizzas. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Received wine after we finished our appetizer. Lemon Linguine tasted like nothing. Very disappointing. Coffee was great however. Lavazza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This restaurant is one of our favorites. The food is excellent ,and Franklin Street is a great place to be.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I have been dining at 411 West for many decades. I greatly appreciated that 411 West participated in the nationwide protest "A Day Without Immigrants".

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My only regret is that I ordered the small dish and I wanted more once I was finished! The Peanut Butter (Millionaire's) Pie was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We decided to celebrate Valentine's a day late to avoid crowds. It was a good decision. Ambiance, food and service all very satisfactory. We chose several small plates to share. The endive and very salad was a wonderful start. We followed this with mussels and frites which were good but not spectacular. However the mushroom ravioli is not to be missed. Prices are very reasonable. All in all this restaurant is a real gem in Chapel Hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine. Disappointed. We eat at this restaurant 1 to 2 times per week. This is the first time we ever had bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a thoroughly delightful evening at 411 West. From the handcrafted cocktails at the bar before dinner to the last sip of wine at our table, the experience was great. Our server was wonderful--charming & very discreet while still attentive to our requests & needs. Monday is half-price wine night, & we indulged in an excellent French red. Our entrees were delicious--cooked & seasoned perfectly. The patio area is my favorite, but the entire space is open & inviting. A definite winner for a romantic dinner for two.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

411 West once again lived up to its well deserved reputation as a great place to eat in Chapel Hill. Good food, creative recipes and presentation, a fine wine list, and a vibrant ambience without pretense. (And I was easily accommodated in my request to order just a bit off the menu).

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent cuisine and service. Although we had to wait about five minutes for our reserved table to be cleared, our waiter (a UNC student) was ever attentive to our needs.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was delicious. The table was ready when we arrived and our server was excellent. Also, there was not too much noise in the restaurant so we were able to converse easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were a group of friends getting together on a Saturday evening just after the water crisis ended. 411 opened quickly and was ready to go. The appeared to have a full staff and had everything on their menu.
We arrived and our table was ready. Our waitress was pleasant and knowledgable. Our drinks were served quickly. Our food came at the right intervals and the food was excellent.
411 is in a great location to campus and has delivered time and time again.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

A fine evenings meal. The pasta dishes were perfectly al dente, although the puttanesca, with shrimp, not anchovies, was a bit salty, and the shrimp was a bit over cooked. The calamari was superb - well seasoned and fried to perfection. Everything arrived in short order. A note of caution - if you order the Caesar salad, don't get the Classic dressing. Either there wasn't enough dressing or it was rather tasteless.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food and very good service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very average food. Ordered a drink upon arrival , bottle of wine & the wine was not brought to the table until after the dinner arrived AND we ordered apps. Much too long to wait for a drink. We just expected better food and service. The waitress was pleasant enough but did not provide adequate service. We had to ask for pepper & grated cheese and that doesn't happen at an Italian restaurant of the reported caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a fantastic experience! We told them in advance that we were celebrating a special birthday and we got a great table (in the corner, next to the window). The wait staff timed everything beautifully and brought a "lit" candle with the dessert we ordered. People generously clapped when we sang happy birthday ... the atmosphere was congenial and upbeat. It was a little noisy, but our 2 ten year olds contributed to that. Overall, great choice for date night or an evening with friends if you don't mind the noise during peak hours.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I was disappointed in my latest trip to 411 West. I think the menu has become limited and it is very pricey for the amount of food you get. It was my husband's birthday so we were looking forward to a nice dinner. Definitely not as good as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Ordered the flank steak with pimento cheese and bacon jam. Easily subbed fries out for a grilled veggies (asparagus, tomatoes, yellow squash) that had a subtle smokiness. Olives were a tasty and affordable app to start with. Wine was also solid and a good deal (montepulciano 250ml for $8).

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Great food and service.
Highly recommend.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

went there early on a Saturday night. All three entrees were excellent, as were the cocktails. The service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful as always. We had our kids with us, and they loved their pizza and pasta entrees. My Lemon Linguine was fabulous, and the Whole Wheat Fettuccine with Chicken is great every time. They were able to get us in and out by game time. Always a favorite stop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The menu looks a lot better than it actually is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

4 Eleven West is my favorite restaurant in Chapel Hill and the food was fantastic once again ...

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.