About 411 West

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Casual (24)
Romantic (20)
Wood Oven (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Fun (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great Beer (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice little find in Chapel Hill. Our waiter Sophie was very friendly and personable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent food, service and overall value. Except for a rowdy, loud patron at the bar, it was perfect. We both had pasta dishes that were extremely flavorful. Wonderful to have a "small" size, lower cost pasta serving option, which was more than enough food even for dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We love eating at 411 West when we are visiting campus and our students at UNC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have eaten at 411 West as a pre-theater ritual for many years. The food is well prepared and the small plates are of generous proportions. Salads are invariably fresh, well made and artfully presented. Even the inexpensive wines are lovely. We have never had service that was less than faultless. This restaurant is a great value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Classic Chapel Hill restaurant never disappoints. The service is superior. Excellent value. Try it again some time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

OMG! Could not believe we could get a table for Easter Sunday brunch, and now we know why! The food was so ordinary. Our server, Kenzie was great, but what she brought us was not up to par. Poached eggs style not discussed with us, grits cold, Hollandaise sauce cold, crab/salmon cake also odd and cold and English muffin not toasted. No garnish on plate so presentation was poor. You may think this was all 'cause they were so busy--NOPE--not busy cause food was just not good. Restaurant has seen better days!! Very disappointing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thought I was in New Orleans, especially because of patio ambience and beignets. I would go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a great place for breakfast. Everything is homemade from scratch and really fresh and delicious. Server was friendly and helpful. Cute little restaurant with yummy food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food is very good. But the place is terribly noisy. Installing some acoustic tile would go a long way. As is, don't go there for a quiet conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Cannot beat the attentive service and food choices! The back sunroom is a delight for privacy and comfort. Portion sizes are just right. Definitely a go to place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to 411 West for a date night, and had an awesome time. The restaurant was beautiful, the food was delicious but not overpriced, and the service was excellent. My only complaint is that it was noisier and less intimate than we had hoped for a date night, but we were there at peak times and during prom season. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Ask for lunch vs brunch menu as breakfast here is only fair. Wanted 518 Italian food.
Sunroom is a bit too sunny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Best place in town to watch NCAA BB Championship game! Maybe 25 total in the bar area, all wearing the correct shade of blue. All seats taken, some standing but not jammed in, not loud, but plenty of cheering. FANTASTIC BAR STAFF -- truly outstanding. Minutes from the center of the action after the win -- will come here again and again for a nice dinner out but will also remember what a great experience this was!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Good menu choices. Food well prepared. Server friendly and helpful with suggestions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant was clean, knowledgeable server, not too loud, excellent menu. Only issue is the parking, but granted, we were there during a NCAA basketball game, so it might not be that bad on a regular Saturday.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent menu. Appreciate the small/large plate option. Servings are generous.
Service a bit slow, perhaps due to private party in back room.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2017

A good place for four of us to celebrate a birthday on a Monday evening. Delicious food and excellent service. We also delighted in the half-price bottle of wine on Mondays.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Been there twice. Very nice place. My pasta was excellent. Wines are a great value. Very pleasant and would not hesitate to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

411 has been a favorite for a long time. The weather was nice, so we could eat at the outside tables and enjoy the sunshine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We sat outside and the ambiance was perfect for my birthday dinner! The staff was friendly and professional and knew the menu well. The food was fresh and had a great mixture of unique and classic Italian dishes.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food selections were outstanding. Had a yummy starter of Brussels sprouts and a kale/quinoa salad which was great with a surprise in every bite (pear/pomegranate/toasted almonds/goat cheese).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place was perfect for our family of 4! Our kids (ages 10 and 11) absolutely loved the food, casual ambiance and quaint atmosphere.
If you like fried calamari, you'll love it here. The salads were good-they could have mixed the dressing better- but overall, they were good.
The dinners were superb. The Chicken Parm is a must and the spaghetti bolognese was fabulous! The kids loved their pizza and ravioli-overall, a great place for families!!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

411 West continues to please with a lovely menu. My data enjoyed a classic shrimp puttenesca while I tried the local trout, something a little off the beaten path but it was delicious. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a cute date night or other special dinner. I will say our server was a little pushy like she wanted us to pay and get out so she could get another table. A small flaw in an otherwise perfect experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Sometimes it all comes together and we had such a night at 411 West. My meal was delicious, if somewhat pricey, but I never mind paying for a meal I cannot replicate at home. The wait staff was personable, friendly and engaging, from the moment we walked in, until we stepped back out the door. Basically, we had a great time, ate a scrumptious meal and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This, in no small part, reflects on the staff and ownership. To parse the experience further would do a disservice to the restaurant. If you choose to dine at 411 West, be prepared to enjoy yourselves. We sure did.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My husband and I have been here many times. In the past we were not completely impressed with the food since its hit or miss but the last time we went was delicious . We do enjoy the creativity of the menu. We had the steak pizza and thought it was very good. Steak was tender and cooked just right. I had the pesto angel hair and it was mushy not al dente but the flavor was on point.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

A great place to have an enjoyable lunch/brunch on Franklin St. Menu is full of enjoyable specialities. We look forward to trying them all.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always a pleasurable dining experience whether as a couple or with guests. Wonderful to have a reliable go-to place for out-of-town company that never disappoints. Five different brunch menu selections and five satisfied diners. Server Jonathan was polite and attentive despite having a pretty full section to serve.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Messed up my order and chicken Parmesan tasted bad. Not impressed at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

T was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We often visit 411 West for Sunday Brunch. The cheese grits and egg dishes are always delicious. This time I tried a special---the Smoked Salmon Benedict with avocado and a spinach/avocado sauce. Absolutely wonderful! Compliments to the chef for this new dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service and food overall was average to above average. The Chicken Parmesan was very good. The Shrimp Puttanesca was average. The Shrimp were over cooked and the sauce was OK. The pesto pasta with eclectic vegetables was OK. The Chicken Marsala was good. The flat iron steak looked good, but was cooked rare when it was supposed to be medium-rare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The service was prompt, and the food was amazing! I couldn't believe the portion sizes for the price. Well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had ta hurried meal because we had theatre tickets. Our waiter was attentive, very helpful and we had a delicious meal. In addition, we were out in ample time to get to the theatre. I cannot wait to go back when we can relax and enjoy the ambiance. It is a lovely place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very good except too noisy which may have been due to the group next to us who were very loud.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always love an opportunity to dine here! We don't live in Chapel Hill but 411 is our first choice when we are in town for a UNC game. Favorite app is the prosciutto wrapped shrimp with wilted spinach. Delicious! Also love the grilled pear salad and all of their pizzas. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Received wine after we finished our appetizer. Lemon Linguine tasted like nothing. Very disappointing. Coffee was great however. Lavazza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This restaurant is one of our favorites. The food is excellent ,and Franklin Street is a great place to be.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I have been dining at 411 West for many decades. I greatly appreciated that 411 West participated in the nationwide protest "A Day Without Immigrants".

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My only regret is that I ordered the small dish and I wanted more once I was finished! The Peanut Butter (Millionaire's) Pie was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We decided to celebrate Valentine's a day late to avoid crowds. It was a good decision. Ambiance, food and service all very satisfactory. We chose several small plates to share. The endive and very salad was a wonderful start. We followed this with mussels and frites which were good but not spectacular. However the mushroom ravioli is not to be missed. Prices are very reasonable. All in all this restaurant is a real gem in Chapel Hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.