About 411 West

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking

Restaurant Photos

  • Pulled Duck Confit - 411 West, Chapel Hill, NC
Pulled Duck Confit - 411 West, Chapel Hill, NC

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Special Occasion (30)
Casual (25)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Brunch (16)
Wood Oven (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Romantic (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (5)
Great Beer (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful as always! This has become my ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful as always! This has become my favorite spot when visiting Chapel Hill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was surprised to find Sausage Gravy bisc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Was surprised to find Sausage Gravy biscuits and beignets. Enjoyed them both>

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thank you for having gluten free options ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Thank you for having gluten free options throughout your menu. It would be great if you had substitute rolls for the beginning of the meal as well. Thanks again!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

411 West is consistently excellent! Ove ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

411 West is consistently excellent! Over 25 years of good food, service and value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our experience was perfect from before d ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our experience was perfect from before dinner drinks (try the Basil Gimlet) to dessert. Service is always professional, yet not stuffy, and food comes out quickly. Our favorite Chapel Hill restaurant for years.

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed dinner with a friend before head ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Enjoyed dinner with a friend before heading to Playmakers. Server was friendly and courteous. Food came out in a timely fashion. Great place for such an occasion. I will return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We liked the small portion options. Very ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We liked the small portion options. Very good food...especially the duck confit pizza. We were all chilly, seated by the front window, and wished we had asked to move tables.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service and seating. I ordere ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent service and seating. I ordered a salad (small) and a small plate. Plenty of food, but the small plate was too salty. i could not eat it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

When arrived we were seated promptly. Se ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

When arrived we were seated promptly. Server was very nice but did not know the menu well. When we asked about how something was prepared or if it was a good choice he would just say " I haven't had that". We haven't been to this restaurant in a year or more, but it seems too not be as good as it used to be. The salad were just okay, lettuce seemed old and limp. Three people had pasta with bolognese sauce. It came with a lot of sauce, very little meat and pasta. I feel it has gone downhill since last visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our favorite restaurant in CH!! Always ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in CH!! Always exceeds our expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Always try to eat there whe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great food. Always try to eat there when staying in the Chapel Hill area. Monday wine special also a draw.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Dancing, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

A must place to check out for fine Itali ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A must place to check out for fine Italian food when you're in Chapel Hill

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Things didn't look promising when rolls ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Things didn't look promising when rolls that came at the start of the meal tasted like they came from a Wonder Bread factory. What followed was better than this insipid bread. Still, it was only marginally above mediocre. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

First time @ 411 West. Attentive server, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

First time @ 411 West. Attentive server, wish he'd known more about the menu in order to help us make our selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Five women went after canvassing. We wer ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Five women went after canvassing. We were tired and wanted a glass of wine and dinner. The service was fast and excellent. The food was really good. Not too noisy!!!

I'd go there again in a minute.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The first time I had Tiramisu I had it a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The first time I had Tiramisu I had it at 411 West and it was delicious. Since then I have ordered it whenever/wherever it was on the menu; I loved it so much. This time the tiramisu was dreadful. It will be a long time before I return to 411 West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

411 West consistently offers great food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

411 West consistently offers great food for a great price. It is definitely one of my "go to" restaurants in Chapel Hill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite places to rel ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is one of my favorite places to relax, eat and unwind. I have been coming here for a number of years and it never disappoints. The ambience is a great, a perfect blend of cozy and romantic. The food is great and Trey always makes the perfect martini!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has delicious food. Great men ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This place has delicious food. Great menu and wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st timer - was impressed. UNC Homecomi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

1st timer - was impressed. UNC Homecoming with daughter. Made open table reservation without issue. Got stuck in traffic and called restaurant to hold reservation. Hostess was very accommodating and said not a problem. Arrived 10 minutes late and set right down. Ordered drinks and appetizers. Got calamari - was good, but just a tad over fried (but not bad). Entrees were Tuna, Salmon, Steak and Pizza. All came out timely and all were terrific. Noise level was a bit high, but old building with lots of hard surface to bounce noise around.

All in all, would visit again without question.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious meal made with fresh ingredien ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Delicious meal made with fresh ingredients! The service was awesome!

Tags: Wood Oven, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to 411 for years and I l ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I've been going to 411 for years and I love it every time. Fresh ingredients, good service and a great value. They also have a great wine list! It's also my family's favorite brunch spot. I highly recommend this Chapel Hill gem.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TERRIFIC FIND that was recommended by ho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

TERRIFIC FIND that was recommended by hotel staff where we were staying.

Service very good; food exceptional! Beet salad, mushroom ravioli, lasagna all a 10+ !

Only very slight negative is that the tables are quite close to each other and conversations can easily be overheard.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a winner. Great food. Good drinks ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always a winner. Great food. Good drinks. Pizza. Pasta.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Have been going to 411 for years. This ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Have been going to 411 for years. This was the first time the salad was terrible. Ordered roasted beet salad and think the beets were out of a can and the dressing was horrible. Pizza was great as usual and my husband had the Cesar salad that we usually split and it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner, wine, and service. Definit ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great dinner, wine, and service. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

no problem with parking, server was frie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

no problem with parking, server was friendly and attentive, good drinks, good wine and a fabulous meal at a reasonable cost.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food selection was fairly good but t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food selection was fairly good but the creativity and quality kept the choices a little limited, but that trade off is perfectly acceptable and, in fact, preferred. Our server was Hanna. I asked for the manager when done to tell him what a great job she did as well as tell him the food was also very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Atmosphere is classy and food is well pr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Atmosphere is classy and food is well prepared and presented. Perfect venue for a business meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, small table, but ruined my 5 ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food, small table, but ruined my 5 star review because the server placed us directly next to a couple practically "getting it on" at their table about 2 ft from my mom and me (her daughter). Open tables around the restaurant were open. We were just so close to them once we sat down we figured they would leave soon and it was too awkward. Surprise surprise, after 1.5 hour dinner.... we left before them!!!! Best food I have had in chapel hill, worst dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a lovely dinner for our anniversa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had a lovely dinner for our anniversary at 411 West. Service was prompt, friendly, informative. Meal timing was well paced in terms of arrival of drinks, appetizers, entrees, and dessert. Fresh bread was fantastic. Warm olives with rosemary were a wonderful appetizer as we enjoyed our drinks waiting for our meal. Both entrees were well portioned; I took the remainder of mine home and it made for a great lunch. The dessert sampler platter was also a hit. I would recommend 411 West highly and I look forward to our next visit. We will recommend it to our friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

411 West is a good, predictable place. ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 9, 2016

411 West is a good, predictable place. Went for brunch. Good as always.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place, but too loud for dinner con ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great place, but too loud for dinner conversation. Our food and service were outstanding and most enjoyable as we watched each other eat.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always impeccable. The duck confit with ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always impeccable. The duck confit with risotto was out of this world and their pizzas are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food, great atmosphere, gre ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always great food, great atmosphere, great service. We will return!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food (as always). Was very noisy ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great food (as always). Was very noisy where we were seated next to a function room. We could barely hear each other at our table. Wish they had informed us of this situation.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

What a beautiful, quaint hidden treasure ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

What a beautiful, quaint hidden treasure sitting right on Franklin Street. We were impressed from the moment we walked in - friendly and accommodating hostess and our server went out of her way to make our dining experience the most pleasant we have had in a long time. We were there for brunch and loved the eclectic menu with the daily specials. Delicious food, reasonably priced, great atmosphere, wonderful service. Very impressed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been going for years and usually a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Have been going for years and usually a salad and split it and a pizza that is always good. this time we thought we would try something different. My salad was not good at all and it was a special. Roasted beets. We both ordered the spaghetti and it was drowning in tomato sauce. Not good at all. BUT the cosmo drink was delicious. As I said been going for years, we will just go back to our normal order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious food and perfect for a birthda ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Delicious food and perfect for a birthday dinner! Got the italian pizza, lasagna and bruschetta and all were amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.