About 411 West

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking

Restaurant Photos

  • Pulled Duck Confit
Pulled Duck Confit

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Chapel Hill
1 More
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Special Occasion (56)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Good for Groups (35)
Romantic (34)
Great for Brunch (28)
Great for Lunch (26)
Hot Spot (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have met for brunch on several occasi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have met for brunch on several occasions at 411 West; always good food & service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit this year for d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was my second visit this year for dinner, however, I was disappointed on many levels this trip (August 20).

I will preface my comments by saying that my two other guests enjoyed their meals. To begin, although the server was pleasant and professional, I ordered a small salad as an appetizer and it arrived at the same time as my chicken parmigiana entree. Perhaps the server was confused as my guests ordered large salads with salmon as their entrees? Additionally, he did not check on the table again until after the meals were fully consumed. Anyway, the chicken was dry and over-cooked, as well as the spaghetti and inexpensive tasting tomato sauce. I was surprised that this was how they would have served a meal, and, at the request of my guests, I did not send it back. This is obviously a restaurant that has a good reputation and following, and I was a repeat customer. I'm hoping that this was just an off night for them?

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

On a trip to visit relatives. Found 411 ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

On a trip to visit relatives. Found 411 West on line. Excellent choice for casual atmosphere, delicious food, and reasonably priced evening out. Excellent prosciutto wrapped shrimp and Eggplant Parmesan!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We held a small birthday party (4 of us) ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We held a small birthday party (4 of us) all of whom are food and wine connoisseurs. It was fabulous and very reasonable for the quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us dined. All entrees were exce ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Three of us dined. All entrees were excellent. Mushroom Ravioli, salmon and lasagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I've been going to 411 since my college ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I've been going to 411 since my college days back in the 90s, and it never disappoints. Enjoyed taking my daughter and remembering the good times. The food and service was great, and although a bit more expensive than "back in the day" it was worth it. Loved the "small plate" options. My daughter loved the flatbread pizza.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Server was completely untrained and it a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Server was completely untrained and it appears had never worked in a restaurant before. Hadn't tried any of the food, left all dirty dishes on the table during the meal, etc.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Had asked for quiet table due to hearing ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Had asked for quiet table due to hearing disorder of my husband. . Believe hostess tried to accommodate us but, she sat us near a very large part in back (garden) area. Party was extremely loud & rather obnoxious. This was very unfortunate as the waiter, the drinks, the food was fantastic but the irritating incessant braying from a woman at the large table was rather like chalk squealing in a chalkboard. It totally destroyed an evening that would've been one of the most pleasant in quite sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Every bite was exceptional...and sip too ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Every bite was exceptional...and sip too! The cocktails were unusual and delicious and the food truly excellent. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We really enjoyed the fried okra, calama ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We really enjoyed the fried okra, calamari, and chocolate chess pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A very nice restaurant, with good food a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A very nice restaurant, with good food and excellent service. A pleasure to have a nice meal at and friendly conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

411 is one of the better restaurants for ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

411 is one of the better restaurants for ambiance and value in Chapel Hill. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to 411 West on a trip ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife and I went to 411 West on a trip through North Carolina. The food was excellent and the total value was exceptional for the cost. Shared a bottle of Jerman Pino Grigio with wonderful seafood dishes and the total bill was less than $90 before tip. The waitress was a UNC student whose service was perfect. Totally recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The only thing that would have made it b ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The only thing that would have made it better would have been a round table rather than a rectangular one. (we were a party of 5) I asked for one and was told that there were none. I find it very awkward with an odd number of guests to have a conversation. The last to be seated is hanging outside the first group of four but a round table solves the problem.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great restaurant with great food and ser ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great restaurant with great food and service. Only concern was being one of the first to be seated that nite, with reservations, and being stuck in a corner table. So much for reservations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful spot for Saturday or Sunday am ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful spot for Saturday or Sunday am brunch! Love the Eggs Bene

dict, French Taost and Fresh squeezed Orange Mimosas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner here. Only downside t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had a great dinner here. Only downside to this popular restaurant is the noise level.

Love the food and the service is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff is outstanding, very accommoda ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The staff is outstanding, very accommodating. We were a group of 6 neighbors and we all had different entrees, each of which were delicious. We will be back often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was absolutely wonderful. We st ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our meal was absolutely wonderful. We started with wine and appetizers then our main course. The service is always impeccable whether sitting at a table or at the bar and entrees are always fresh and right when they come out of the kitchen. You just can't go wrong at 411 West...it's a Chapel Hill gem!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for brunch after I proposed ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went here for brunch after I proposed because it was the spot of our first date five years ago. It was our first time there for brunch, and the menu was pretty standard. The eggs benedict was prepared well and tasted good - just the right amount of hollandaise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to 411 West many many times be ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I've been to 411 West many many times before my dinner on Saturday. I've always experienced a similar consistent level of customer service and a lovely meal. This visit was no different, another great meal, delicious Bolognese, strawberry shortcake, and dinner rolls. Will be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good Italian food. I'm fr ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great service, good Italian food. I'm from Brooklyn, by so it's very hard to please me outside of that town. Pretty restaurant, great drinks

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

good food as we have come to expect over ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

good food as we have come to expect over the years. great service. like the ambience. surprised at 7:30 dining not more people dining on a Thursday night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was a regular at 411 for a number of y ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was a regular at 411 for a number of years but this visit was only my second this year, due to family obligations. The Margharita pizzette was my usually appetizer; on this occasion the crust was chewier & less crisp than previously. Several of my favorite dishes (the black pepper angel hair pasta with salmon & the red pepper pappardelle are no longer on the menu, although I did overhear our waiter tell someone that the kitchen could approximate the angel hair dish with the ingredients on hand). I had the shrimp ravioli with mushrooms and it was very good. (The shrimp were slightly overcooked, but that's been true fora as long as I can remember.) On the advice of our waiter, I ordered the larger portion and it was normal entree size. The smaller size is now more of a 'small plate', apparently (a change from previous visits.) I like the fact that they now offer a 250 ml option for their wines by the glass - that's about a glass and a half, which suits me. Service was excellent - our waiter was friendly, attentive & knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

You have to ask for bread now.. Just FYI

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

You have to ask for bread now.. Just FYI

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We've dined here before - always a good ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We've dined here before - always a good experience. The food is wonderfully prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All our food was outstanding. We had a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

All our food was outstanding. We had a party of six and we all had different things. presentation of food is very simple. No frills, all is a la carte thus no garnishes to speak of. Service is excellent and the restaurant has a very nice atmosphere. The chairs are especially comfortable. There is a separate bar area, noise level was fine for talking at the table. I really like this [place. It is expensive, 500 for six, but worth it on a special evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience at 411 though ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a great experience at 411 though I wish the portions had been a bit bigger for brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

One of the best! The waiter was amazing, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

One of the best! The waiter was amazing, we were difficult, but he did great! 😊

The food was spectacular, one of the best chicken parm meals I have ever had!

Best experience on a date ever, good job guys!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and our server was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was awesome and our server was great! The ribeye is outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did an early Father's Day dinner at 4 ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We did an early Father's Day dinner at 411 last Saturday night. We got a table that I had

requested for noise reduction. The restaurant was very busy and our waiter was new to the wine scene. He was very sweet opening his first bottle on the job with us.

I had heard of 411 as "the place to dine." However, the bread (rolls) very stale and could have been day-old hamburger buns. The Cesar salad was fine, but nothing special. The calamari

was more bread than calamari. Good flavor, but lots of bread. Sauce nice!

My daughter's salmon was very good and the swiss chard with potatoes very savory and perfectly done. My husband's dinner was tasty. My shrimp dish was totally overcooked and the shrimp very tough. Lemon sauce nice... Our wine was reasonable and nice. Had it before at another restaurant.

I would rate this restaurant about three stars. Was looking for a more all-around great meal.

We had a nice time... but won't be going back right away.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

My husband had been to this restaurant a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband had been to this restaurant a number of times in the past years. I remembered it as have a special ambiance and menu to make this return trip worth it. It was our wedding anniversary. We dressed nicely and had reservations at 6 pm. The dinner crowd wore completely casual clothes. Some people had flip flops and shorts. Our food was not tasty or special. It was also over priced. I would not go there again for a special celebration

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Always a favorite

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

411 is one of my all time favorite restaurants from college and it's always a treat as an alumni to go back with my husband. Just cute and classy enough to feel special without being too crowded or expensive. The texture of the Gnocchi is just dreamy and they always have very flavorful sauces.

The only suggestion that I would have is to make the scallops and gnocchi a full size dish. It's clearly marked small plate, so it's fairly not enough for a full entree. You should adjust the proportions a bit and make it an entree. So tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Meh.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

You would expect better food from a restaurant that was voted "Best Italian Food in the Triangle." We have been to 411 West a number of times in the past and were very pleased. So, we returned for my birthday in early June. First of all, the patio was absolutely FREEZING, but in all fairness, the waiter asked for the A/C to be adjusted, and it was. The most disappointing thing was the food. Two of us ordered the shrimp pasta dish and were seriously amazed at how bad it was. The pasta was overcooked, cold, and dried out by the time it got to the table. The shrimp were COMPLETELY overcooked, and the dish was very under seasoned. So much so that I couldn't eat them. My daughter ordered the lasagna, which she noted tasted good, but visibly unappealing. The sauces was dry and charred around the edge of the dish. Lastly, one of our party ordered the linguine with (I think) chicken and mushrooms. Again, the pasta was cold, and the dish lacked seasoning. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

A disappointing dinner experience

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I chose 411 for my birthday dinner with my husband because I had enjoyed the restaurant and the food for many years, but we had not been there in awhile.

We were seated promptly and the restaurant did not seem busy, but it took a very long time for the waiter to come to our table. That set the tone for the meal: extremely slow service.

The rolls that were brought out before the meal were warm, but I assume they were rewarmed since they were very hard on the bottom. These were not the soft and tasty rolls I remember from previous visits.

The entrees were also disappointing. I ordered the pizza which was a pre-made crust with meager toppings. Husband ordered the trout which he said was overly seasoned.

We did not order dessert.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Delicious! Great service. Lovely atmosp ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Delicious! Great service. Lovely atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything great

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Had not been here for a long table but on a whim got resv with open table

Seated immediately with great service and food, do try the strawberry shortcake

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

411 West is outstanding. I've been dinin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

411 West is outstanding. I've been dining there since it opened. Food and service are always outstanding. Never disappointed with my visits. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service. Reasonable prices. Clean. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Good service. Reasonable prices. Clean. Food was wholesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall OK but a number of items were to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Overall OK but a number of items were too salty. I usually like salty but this was too much. The flavors were well developed, the ambiance was good, service was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.