About 411 West

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Casual (22)
Wood Oven (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fun (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great Beer (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We had ta hurried meal because we had theatre tickets. Our waiter was attentive, very helpful and we had a delicious meal. In addition, we were out in ample time to get to the theatre. I cannot wait to go back when we can relax and enjoy the ambiance. It is a lovely place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good except too noisy which may have been due to the group next to us who were very loud.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Always love an opportunity to dine here! We don't live in Chapel Hill but 411 is our first choice when we are in town for a UNC game. Favorite app is the prosciutto wrapped shrimp with wilted spinach. Delicious! Also love the grilled pear salad and all of their pizzas. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Received wine after we finished our appetizer. Lemon Linguine tasted like nothing. Very disappointing. Coffee was great however. Lavazza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I have been dining at 411 West for many decades. I greatly appreciated that 411 West participated in the nationwide protest "A Day Without Immigrants".

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My only regret is that I ordered the small dish and I wanted more once I was finished! The Peanut Butter (Millionaire's) Pie was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We decided to celebrate Valentine's a day late to avoid crowds. It was a good decision. Ambiance, food and service all very satisfactory. We chose several small plates to share. The endive and very salad was a wonderful start. We followed this with mussels and frites which were good but not spectacular. However the mushroom ravioli is not to be missed. Prices are very reasonable. All in all this restaurant is a real gem in Chapel Hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine. Disappointed. We eat at this restaurant 1 to 2 times per week. This is the first time we ever had bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a thoroughly delightful evening at 411 West. From the handcrafted cocktails at the bar before dinner to the last sip of wine at our table, the experience was great. Our server was wonderful--charming & very discreet while still attentive to our requests & needs. Monday is half-price wine night, & we indulged in an excellent French red. Our entrees were delicious--cooked & seasoned perfectly. The patio area is my favorite, but the entire space is open & inviting. A definite winner for a romantic dinner for two.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

411 West once again lived up to its well deserved reputation as a great place to eat in Chapel Hill. Good food, creative recipes and presentation, a fine wine list, and a vibrant ambience without pretense. (And I was easily accommodated in my request to order just a bit off the menu).

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent cuisine and service. Although we had to wait about five minutes for our reserved table to be cleared, our waiter (a UNC student) was ever attentive to our needs.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was delicious. The table was ready when we arrived and our server was excellent. Also, there was not too much noise in the restaurant so we were able to converse easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were a group of friends getting together on a Saturday evening just after the water crisis ended. 411 opened quickly and was ready to go. The appeared to have a full staff and had everything on their menu.

We arrived and our table was ready. Our waitress was pleasant and knowledgable. Our drinks were served quickly. Our food came at the right intervals and the food was excellent.

411 is in a great location to campus and has delivered time and time again.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

A fine evenings meal. The pasta dishes were perfectly al dente, although the puttanesca, with shrimp, not anchovies, was a bit salty, and the shrimp was a bit over cooked. The calamari was superb - well seasoned and fried to perfection. Everything arrived in short order. A note of caution - if you order the Caesar salad, don't get the Classic dressing. Either there wasn't enough dressing or it was rather tasteless.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food and very good service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very average food. Ordered a drink upon arrival , bottle of wine & the wine was not brought to the table until after the dinner arrived AND we ordered apps. Much too long to wait for a drink. We just expected better food and service. The waitress was pleasant enough but did not provide adequate service. We had to ask for pepper & grated cheese and that doesn't happen at an Italian restaurant of the reported caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a fantastic experience! We told them in advance that we were celebrating a special birthday and we got a great table (in the corner, next to the window). The wait staff timed everything beautifully and brought a "lit" candle with the dessert we ordered. People generously clapped when we sang happy birthday ... the atmosphere was congenial and upbeat. It was a little noisy, but our 2 ten year olds contributed to that. Overall, great choice for date night or an evening with friends if you don't mind the noise during peak hours.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I was disappointed in my latest trip to 411 West. I think the menu has become limited and it is very pricey for the amount of food you get. It was my husband's birthday so we were looking forward to a nice dinner. Definitely not as good as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Ordered the flank steak with pimento cheese and bacon jam. Easily subbed fries out for a grilled veggies (asparagus, tomatoes, yellow squash) that had a subtle smokiness. Olives were a tasty and affordable app to start with. Wine was also solid and a good deal (montepulciano 250ml for $8).

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Great food and service.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

went there early on a Saturday night. All three entrees were excellent, as were the cocktails. The service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful as always. We had our kids with us, and they loved their pizza and pasta entrees. My Lemon Linguine was fabulous, and the Whole Wheat Fettuccine with Chicken is great every time. They were able to get us in and out by game time. Always a favorite stop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The menu looks a lot better than it actually is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

4 Eleven West is my favorite restaurant in Chapel Hill and the food was fantastic once again ...

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We enjoyed our visit to 411 West. Our meals were very satisfying and the service was very attentive. It was fun seeing Woody D and Lenny R.

Tags: Wood Oven, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It’s been a number of years since I dined at 411 West but I came back because of memories of really good Italian food. This trip was a disappointment. The food was not to the quality that I remember; the shrimp was overcooked, dry and tough and the sauce lacked the vibrancy of the past. Still, I found the prices to be moderate and the ingredients of good quality. The greatest sadness was taking good ingredients, good wait staff and fair prices to produce a disappointing food experience. I think the chefs need to pay more attention to their cooking.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Their bread used to be sooo good. Now they bring rolls that are not warm. The lasagna was average. The small Ceasor salad was quite abundant. I had not been there for several years & it just did not seem the same.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Waitress was very efficient and helpful. Food was great.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of my Favorites in Chapel Hill. The millionaire's pie is always very good

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food is always excellent, service is dependable. Locally owned and operated and an excellent choice for consistently well-prepared dishes. I highly recommend 411 West if you find yourself in Chapel Hill!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Decided to try 411 West after being a huge fan of the former 518 West in Raleigh. We loved the similar decor and comfortable feel to the restaurant. The server was on the newer and younger side and seemed a bit timid. He was a bit uncomfortable opening our bottle of wine but did so with decent form. Very polite and accommodating but a bit late on the check back as my husband and I were both more than halfway through our meal. My Chicken Marsala was delicious accompanied with the mashed potatoes and green beans. More mushrooms would be great! My husband's Chicken Parmesan was good as well; however, there could have been more sauce on the pasta. Overall, a good experience. Would go back if I were in the area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

LOVE the mushroom ravioli dish but shrimp were overcooked.

My husband ordered the mahi and found it to be dry; it was redone but took a long time for the re-do to come out even though restaurant was practically empty.

I do love bossa nova but the music was redundant. Kept playing the same tracks over and would have liked some variety.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was a little disappointing, hoping to find authentic Italian food . One dish didn't match its description, the lemon pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

411 West is a known quantity. Food is always excellent; atmosphere cozy; and staff friendly. We go to 411 when we want a good meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I ate at 411 on New Year's Eve, and everything was perfect for this special occasion. Beyond the excellent food, private table location next to a window overlooking Franklin Street, and wonderful atmosphere in the space, we specially want to acknowledge our waitress whose name is Cat. She couldn't have been more delightful and really made our evening.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Early NYE dinner. Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was the perfect dining experience for what we were looking for - except maybe our food came a little too quickly and we were leaving the restaurant before we knew it. 😉 very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was great. Service was good. Quick, delicious pregame meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were seated behind a large group with unruly children. Thought about leaving but decided against it because our server was great. Perhaps we will have better luck next time ( if we are not thrown beside the birthday party with kids).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Crab dip with flatbread came out bubbling but scrumptious, perhaps toast pointes would have been preferred, but a solid appetizer. The entrée is what it's all about. Salmon was perfect, medium sized portion with a hollandaise-like sauce over tender squash, cherry tomatoes, and mashed red potatoes. Very tasty. Intimate 2 person table right overlooking Franklin street.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was very well prepared and served. The waitperson (God, I hate that pc word!) was great.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Surprisingly good, comfortable setting, pleasant atmosphere , food was fresh and attractively presented, breakfast omelettes were very good and fresh

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent cocktails, good food, and friendly service. Overall, had a very good experience. The noise within the restaurant was a bit too high for my taste - we got seated next a 16 person birthday party. Otherwise, this gem offers great value and taste. Will definitely return again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food, wonderful service. The server never left us hanging, and the food was ready at just the right time.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always reliable. Food is high quality. The menu is not expansive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Wonderful as always! This has become my favorite spot when visiting Chapel Hill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Was surprised to find Sausage Gravy biscuits and beignets. Enjoyed them both>

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Thank you for having gluten free options throughout your menu. It would be great if you had substitute rolls for the beginning of the meal as well. Thanks again!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

411 West is consistently excellent! Over 25 years of good food, service and value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our experience was perfect from before dinner drinks (try the Basil Gimlet) to dessert. Service is always professional, yet not stuffy, and food comes out quickly. Our favorite Chapel Hill restaurant for years.

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.