About 411 West

411 W. Franklin St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

411 West, an Italian restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC, specializing in seasonal fresh pastas, wood-fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located on the west end of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill's main thoroughfare, 411 West is convenient to the campus of the University of North Carolina and a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. 411 West is also well known for a great selection of wines and fabulous desserts made in-house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 967-2782

Website:
http://www.411west.com/

Additional:
Non-Smoking Restaurant

Restaurant Photos

  • Pulled Duck Confit
Pulled Duck Confit

411 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Chapel Hill
1 More
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

neighborhood gem (67)
special occasion (67)
good for groups (51)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
romantic (43)
great for brunch (39)
great for lunch (39)
notable wine list (21)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for outdoor dining (7)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined here before - always a good ...

Dined 7 days ago

We've dined here before - always a good experience. The food is wonderfully prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All our food was outstanding. We had a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

All our food was outstanding. We had a party of six and we all had different things. presentation of food is very simple. No frills, all is a la carte thus no garnishes to speak of. Service is excellent and the restaurant has a very nice atmosphere. The chairs are especially comfortable. There is a separate bar area, noise level was fine for talking at the table. I really like this [place. It is expensive, 500 for six, but worth it on a special evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a great experience at 411 though ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a great experience at 411 though I wish the portions had been a bit bigger for brunch.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best! The waiter was amazing, ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

One of the best! The waiter was amazing, we were difficult, but he did great! 😊 The food was spectacular, one of the best chicken parm meals I have ever had! Best experience on a date ever, good job guys!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and our server was ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was awesome and our server was great! The ribeye is outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We did an early Father's Day dinner at 4 ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We did an early Father's Day dinner at 411 last Saturday night. We got a table that I had requested for noise reduction. The restaurant was very busy and our waiter was new to the wine scene. He was very sweet opening his first bottle on the job with us. I had heard of 411 as "the place to dine." However, the bread (rolls) very stale and could have been day-old hamburger buns. The Cesar salad was fine, but nothing special. The calamari was more bread than calamari. Good flavor, but lots of bread. Sauce nice! My daughter's salmon was very good and the swiss chard with potatoes very savory and perfectly done. My husband's dinner was tasty. My shrimp dish was totally overcooked and the shrimp very tough. Lemon sauce nice... Our wine was reasonable and nice. Had it before at another restaurant. I would rate this restaurant about three stars. Was looking for a more all-around great meal. We had a nice time... but won't be going back right away.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

My husband had been to this restaurant a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband had been to this restaurant a number of times in the past years. I remembered it as have a special ambiance and menu to make this return trip worth it. It was our wedding anniversary. We dressed nicely and had reservations at 6 pm. The dinner crowd wore completely casual clothes. Some people had flip flops and shorts. Our food was not tasty or special. It was also over priced. I would not go there again for a special celebration

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite

Dined on June 10, 2016

411 is one of my all time favorite restaurants from college and it's always a treat as an alumni to go back with my husband. Just cute and classy enough to feel special without being too crowded or expensive. The texture of the Gnocchi is just dreamy and they always have very flavorful sauces. The only suggestion that I would have is to make the scallops and gnocchi a full size dish. It's clearly marked small plate, so it's fairly not enough for a full entree. You should adjust the proportions a bit and make it an entree. So tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Meh.

Dined on June 8, 2016

You would expect better food from a restaurant that was voted "Best Italian Food in the Triangle." We have been to 411 West a number of times in the past and were very pleased. So, we returned for my birthday in early June. First of all, the patio was absolutely FREEZING, but in all fairness, the waiter asked for the A/C to be adjusted, and it was. The most disappointing thing was the food. Two of us ordered the shrimp pasta dish and were seriously amazed at how bad it was. The pasta was overcooked, cold, and dried out by the time it got to the table. The shrimp were COMPLETELY overcooked, and the dish was very under seasoned. So much so that I couldn't eat them. My daughter ordered the lasagna, which she noted tasted good, but visibly unappealing. The sauces was dry and charred around the edge of the dish. Lastly, one of our party ordered the linguine with (I think) chicken and mushrooms. Again, the pasta was cold, and the dish lacked seasoning. We will not be returning.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

A disappointing dinner experience

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

I chose 411 for my birthday dinner with my husband because I had enjoyed the restaurant and the food for many years, but we had not been there in awhile. We were seated promptly and the restaurant did not seem busy, but it took a very long time for the waiter to come to our table. That set the tone for the meal: extremely slow service. The rolls that were brought out before the meal were warm, but I assume they were rewarmed since they were very hard on the bottom. These were not the soft and tasty rolls I remember from previous visits. The entrees were also disappointing. I ordered the pizza which was a pre-made crust with meager toppings. Husband ordered the trout which he said was overly seasoned. We did not order dessert.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Great service. Lovely atmosp ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Delicious! Great service. Lovely atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything great

Dined on May 27, 2016

Had not been here for a long table but on a whim got resv with open table Seated immediately with great service and food, do try the strawberry shortcake

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

411 West is outstanding. I've been dinin ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

411 West is outstanding. I've been dining there since it opened. Food and service are always outstanding. Never disappointed with my visits. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Good service. Reasonable prices. Clean. ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Good service. Reasonable prices. Clean. Food was wholesome.

food2
ambience4
service4

Overall OK but a number of items were to ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Overall OK but a number of items were too salty. I usually like salty but this was too much. The flavors were well developed, the ambiance was good, service was good too.

food2
ambience4
service5

First time in a few years to visit 411. ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

First time in a few years to visit 411. Ordered the Margherita pizza. The tomatoes tasted like they came from a can. Quite disappointing. Salads were good and service was attentive. But canned tomatoes...really?

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Just ok

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've eaten here before and it's always palatable. Service is always excellent. This time I had the seafood pasta dish from the luncheon menu and although it was tasty the seafood was seriously overcooked and the portions were rather small (and I am not a big eater). It was a special occasion luncheon and I think we will find a less expensive alternative next time.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Helped make a wonderful graduation weekend

Dined on May 6, 2016

Very nice and helpful during a crazy weekend. Good food, not great....Nice servers, very accommodating to picky eaters. Nice enough. Would go back if given the opportunity.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Waiter was very loud and excessively soc ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Waiter was very loud and excessively social with other patrons to the point that we couldn't hear ourselves at our table under the glass in the back (atrium?). He even challenged me when I asked for salad dressing on my salad, telling me it already had enough dressing on it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as Always

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

411 West continues to be a favorite. Good food, good service, and Franklin Street in Chapel is a great location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great little spot

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fresh Italian. We loved it. Our waiter was awesome, very polite and attentive. It's a small place so make a reservation. We will definitely go back when we move to the area.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great spot to have dinner. Vibrant scene ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great spot to have dinner. Vibrant scene, great service. Scallop dish was very good, risotto cooked perfectly. Scallops were smaller than I anticipated, but still tasty.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a dinner here before a show at UNC. All of our food was delicious (salad, a salmon and gnocci appetizer, and a fresh pasta with spring vegetables in a cream sauce). The service was excellent, and graciously accommodating of our slightly late arrival due to traffic and parking issues. We will happily go back in the future!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Ambiance was lost due to noisy table

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food and service were great but a large, noisy group tarnished our experience. Some people do not have "indoor" voices and it was clearly a work gathering. I wished we had moved to another table, since we were seated beside this obnoxious group. Unfortunately, the waiter did not seem to notice and we ate quickly and left within an hour of sitting down. We will return but will specifically request to be away from large groups. I hope they sufficiently tipped the wait staff...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

boyfriend and I met my parents here for ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

boyfriend and I met my parents here for dinner before going to a concert. Always consistently good and I jump at any opportunity to come here. Always loved their sister restaurant 518 in Raleigh, too (and it was much closer for us) until they closed. The lemon linguine is the best!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

411 West, a perfect night

Dined on April 16, 2016

We visited 411 West on a Saturday night in April. There were several large parties as this was a prom night for the local high school. This did not disrupt our dining experience at all. The atmosphere was bright and energetic. We had a great table by the front window with a fabulous view of Franklin Street. The service was professional, helpful and seemed to know what we needed before we did. The food was spot on. We ordered steaks, chicken Marsala, chicken Parmesan, pesto pasta and margarita pizza. Everything was superb and perfectly prepared. The desserts were definitely the best part of our experience! 411 West was fabulous and we can't wait to return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the dining experience , 411 W ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We enjoyed the dining experience , 411 West a nice find as we go to Chapel Hill often each year. Food was very good, the peanut butter chocolate dessert was a perfect end to a good meal . Pastas hand made in house a nice touch as well. Service was well above par, our waiter was always within reach but let us enjoy the meal at our pace. We will come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant ambience and overall dining experience

Dined on April 14, 2016

Pleasant dining experience. The wait staff was courteous and attentive. He offered wine and meal suggestions. I appreciated that he was very patient as we sampled a variety of wines and mulled over the menu. My salad was a bit unremarkable but my friends mushroom ravioli was to die for.

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

A Bit Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

We have dined at 411 a number of times and have always been pleased. They have obviously played with their brunch menu which is not as satisfying as it once was. No biscuit with the eggs and it seemed to me that Luigi came in a skillet and was pipping hot. Not this time. Perhaps they ought to reexamine the changes which do n it seem for the better.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant for Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second brunch in a month's time. The first time we took a couple to brunch on Easter Sunday. We had such a good time and the food was so good, we decided to take another set of friends to brunch this past weekend. Eat time we dined on the patio serviced by Hannah. She did a very nice job both times. We will be back for Sunday brunch again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a favorite

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

411 West has been a favorite for years and continues to please. :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent food bur wait staff was mediocre

Dined on April 8, 2016

Our waiter seemed more interested in his phone than waiting on us. He did the bare minimum and never cracked a smile. The food however was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dining Surprise…

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We enjoyed dinner with friends. The service was prompt, informed and very at tentative. The food was very good from pasta to pizza, chicken marsala and more! Take an opportunity to visit 411 West. You will not be disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A great place to celebrate a special occ ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

A great place to celebrate a special occasion . We were celebrating my husband's 50th Birthday. The pasta dishes were delicious. Terrific atmosphere. Look forward to going back again soon!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Easter Brunch "miss"

Dined on March 27, 2016

We took our family for Easter Sunday Brunch and were very disappointed. After a fairly long wait for our food, my wife's meal was completely wrong from the one she ordered, with food items she specifically could not eat. The best we got was "sorry" and no other options to try to make it right. There was not much food with the other plates we ordered either, but pretty high prices. The general vibe on this visit seemed to be "it's Easter, we're busy, get used to it". This was a busy day, our bill was quite high, and we're not inclined to return. A concession on at least her meal would have been appreciated, but that didn't happen and she left hungry. Huge disappointment with a long time favorite of ours.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lunch

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Had a very nice lunch on a Thursday. The restaurant was pretty empty and quiet. Food was good, but nothing too special. Service was fine too

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great time... great food... lousy service

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

I LOVE going to 411 West when I'm in Chapel Hill. Half-off Wine bottles on Monday nights and a great wine list. Was disappointed with our service this time - wrong orders, long time between getting water and not too friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants

Dined on March 21, 2016

411West feels both like a great neighborhood restaurant but also has a special feel to it. The wait staff is pleasant and unpretentious, the menu is varied and the food delicious. Appreciate being able to order "small plates" when not wanting a full-size entry. The mushroom ravioli and chicken marsala are two of our favorites. When it's crowded, it can be too noisy, but that's to be expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

The place was nice and romantic. We had ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The place was nice and romantic. We had brunch on Sunday and the food was okay. The omelette had good flavors but was overcooked. The side of potatoes served were very tasty but was not warmed up all the way. It was borderline cold. The best thing was the cheesy grits. It was really good. Service was okay but the server clearly did not know the menu very well. Overall, the place was great but food was average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

411 has been a favorite for a long time. Franklin Street is a lot of a fun a good location. Good service and good food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.