About 404 Kitchen

We are in the process of moving across the street to our new location
507 12th Avenue South. Please call 615-251-1404 with any questions.

507 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available throughout the Gulch at street meters as well as pay lots.

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The 404 Kitchen, located in Nashville’s popular Gulch neighborhood, offers a full service event team that will help you design every detail for your private event. From corporate events to rehearsal dinners and everything in between, The 404 Kitchen will make every moment of your event extraordinary

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Romantic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Cozy (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Casual (12)
Seasonal (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort by
S
765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Very Disappointed
Returned 2 of 4 dinner entrees as not edible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food prep was superb, service excellent we did not wait for our meal, the bar tender was very knowledgable, and the time in and out good. The ambience will be better when they move to their new location across the street.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Overall a wonderful experience with a couple of disappointments--we were hoping for some Japanese whiskey which we could see up on the top shelf, but were told it wasn't available. ??? Also, while the appetizers were amazing, the entries were, by and large, not mind blowing. I guess our expectations were too high. Our table also wasn't ready and we were staying at the hotel, so we were told we could wait in our lobby and someone would come and take our drink order there. No one ever showed up...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Top notch food - best I've had in Nashville. The chicken was outstanding, as was the maitaki mushroom appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves, food was creative and tasty,.... except tri tip was tough. :(. Drinks good. Good vibe/atmosphere. Desserts were both enjoyable — pudding and chocolate cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2017

New menu every day using the best ingredients, prepared beautifully and with great flavor. Service staff was attentive. They are moving across the street, and allowed their wine selection to dwindle, but it should restock after the move.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Awesome! Great food and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Delightful and delicious. Creative and wonderful flavors

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Fish was bland and meat was fatty...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Excellent menu and the dishes were superb. Recommend sitting at the bar with full menu if you enjoy the interaction.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Great food as usual. Staff seemed a little harried though and as a result service slower than usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was fantastic— in particular the pork bolognese and the scallop toast. Small, albeit well curated wine list. Our server was smug and was the only dark spot on an otherwise wonderful evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Restaurant had limited charm. Food was good but expensive for type of food ($38 for six ounces of white fish, for example). Tables are too close for private chats. Not a great evening out. Did not live up to its reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2017

My second visit and it was as good as the first time. This is a tiny venue where attention is made to every detail, but not in a previous way. This is a very cool vibe, relaxed but attentive service. Fresh, well seasoned food not hidden under heavy sauces or ingredients. Clean and inventive menu. Extensive whiskey bar selections. Nice evening, highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The scallop toast was the best thing I’ve ever tasted... only a very slight exaggeration. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The experience was disappointing. The staff was not friendly considering that it was pouring rain. The quality of the food did not meet the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Amazing experience. Was there to drink some whiskey and eat some good food. We sat at the bar and Chef Matt Bolus pulled down some bottle that we had to try. The experience only got better once the food came out. All around great experience. The entire staff including the bartender were great. Highly recommended!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2017

This was our first visit. The whiskey bar is visually impressive. The food was very good but slow to emerge from the kitchen. We were a bit taken aback by the prices (i.e. $38 for fish of the day vs. less for tri-tip steak). Cocktails are pricey; whiskey is even more. We just didn't feel that the value/cost ratio was a favorable one. This in addition to our usual experiences in Nashville of noise levels preventing normal conversation over dinner and poor lighting so that one is unable to really see the food.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 25, 2017

404 was at one time my favorite restaurant in Nashville, maybe not anymore. The food was very good and the server was obviously (maybe painfully) familiar with the menu and preparation. Unfortunately, 404 seems to be going the way of many new restaurants into what i term "food/dining/chef snobbery". It used to be just a comfortable, tiny, FRIENDLY, easy-going neighborhood restaurant with amazing food. Now falls into the pretentious category with prices to match, but without the really outstanding food. Maybe this experience is what today's diners want, but not my cup of tea.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Excellent meal. The menu is always fresh and new. The scallop toast appetizer was great and the bolognese was unbelievably good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Excellent food. Great menu. Staff was helpful and supremely knowledgeable. The food was fresh and more flavorful than can be described. Great date spot. Limited but excellent alcohol selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Service was wonderful. Food was inventive and delicious. Chef Matt was charming and very accomodating. A lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Food was not that good it was too oily and too pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The food was incredible, as well as the service. Our server gave wonderful recommendations and he didn’t mislead us. From food to drinks he was very knowledgeable of the menu. Would definitely go back when visiting Nashville.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Everything about the experience was awesome! From the cocktails to the very creative and delicious food! One of the best meals we have had out! Staff is excellent too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 17, 2017

As always, 404 delivers an amazing meal and experience. Everything we had was top notch. Bet whiskey selection in Tennessee, hands down! This is a must try!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Have eaten here before and enjoyed the food and service. This last occasion was disappointing in comparison - the service was very spotty, began on a good note but then left clearly finished plates on the table for close to half an hour. The food also was disappointing in comparison to previous times. I had the chicken and it was a very small leg and thigh on a bed of lettuce - not bad but not something I would come back for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

404 was recommended by a friend and it would do the same in a heartbeat! It was enjoyable , delicious and quaint. The staff was very knowledgable about the wonderful whiskey inventory. I highly recommend the scallop toast! We enjoyed the guests at the table beside us who had been there the night before and wanted to come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Nice dinner date before concert. Server was attentive. Food was fresh, light, flavorful. Drinks a bit pricey. All in all a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Very loud!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We loved 404! Every single dish we ordered was delicious (green salad, root veggies, cornbread, pork bolognese, Glendale farms chicken, chocolate cake). Our server was super knowledgeable and a cool dude. The only issue I had was we were seated next to the server’s station and the A/C was on really high, so it didn’t feel as romantic as it could’ve been...but a different table would have made this a perfect night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent dining experience. Food was delicious, service was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Cannot say enough positive things about this place. The food was stellar, the service fabulous (great conversation with the bartender) we ate dinner at the bar. The Bourbon/Whiskey list is out of this world - if you can't find one you like then you don't like Bourbon. The atmosphere is fantastic, cozy, sophisticated and not pretentious!! Make sure to visit - you will not be disappointed

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 13, 2017

A little gem! During our 5 day stay in Nashville, we ate at 404 Kitchen twice. That says it all.
If you like bourbon 🥃 you will be delighted. The selection is huge!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Food was spectacularly mediocre. I didn't care for the selections in the menu which were different than what I saw online. The dish was bland and my husbands steak nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Everything we had was fantastic. Intimate setting and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great food and the service was too notch. This is a great small dining experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We dined for my husbands birthday dinner. The food was good but the desert was terrible we had the chocolate cake which tasted like it came out of a box at the grocery store. What made the entire experience worse was the terrible service. They had 2 service people serving the entire restaurant full of people and they were rerunning back and forth like wild chickens. The hostess had to step in to help and she took our desert order. Also I asked them in the beginning of the night to put a candle for my husband and they forgot when they brought the cake and had to bring the candle in separately. We were very disappointed with the overall experience and would not dine here again. Completely not worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This restaurant has such an exclusive atmosphere. With only a few tables u know the waitstaff will take excellent care of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 5, 2017

This is one of our very favorite spots in Nashville. I look forward to the move across the street. It is difficult to get in for reservations and street noise can be intense at times. We had an ambulance across the street (which cannot be helped) and this time we had the police arresting a shoplifter from across the street. (again, can't be helped)

Tags: Organic, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.