Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About 404 Kitchen

At The 404, Chef Matt Bolus offers a modern take on classical European cuisine with a menu influenced on available produce grown at local farms. Located in a shipping container, the restaurant is a uniquely quaint and casual fine dining venue.
We are unable to offer a children's menu.
Please call for seating in our glass enclosed dining area and to reserve tables of 5 or more.

404 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available throughout the Gulch at street meters as well as pay lots.

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Wine

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Cozy (26)
Romantic (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Authentic (15)
Fun (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Seasonal (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Business Meals (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Casual (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Organic (5)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best meals I have ever had at a restaurant. Wonderful service, beautiful presentation and absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

What a surprise hole in the wall gem! Very friendly staff. I've lived here for 3 years and it may be the best meal I've had yet. Rivals east Nashville and germantown dining. Perfect for a special occasion. A tid bit noisy but not too bad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service - can be noisy but our table was in a great spot. Waiter is the BEST - Kaleb!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food and drinks were amazing! It can get a little loud (depending on who is sitting next to you) because it is a small restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing location, food and service. We loved EVERYTHING about this place. We will be back soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Best meal we have had all summer! It is now part of the monthly rotation!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We truly enjoyed ! From when we first arrived to desert !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Over rated. Crowded tables. Buratta was excellent. Rabbit was good. Tri tip was chewy and tough. Chef is creative. Actual cooks are lousy. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

An impeccable dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The best bartender in Nashville. Outstanding food.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 28, 2017

First time eating at 404 and we were blown away. Every single thing put on the table was incredible. The drinks, apps, entrees, sides, and desserts were spot on. The Bolognese was the best pasta meal I've ever put in my mouth but I'd go back for the butter beans alone. The restaurant is tiny and the seating is close quarters but totally worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Organic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Took a total shot in the dark when I picked 404 Kitchen for a business dinner. And I hit a home run. Spectacular food. Stellar service. Great cocktails. Truly a wonderful experience. Will definitely be going back the next time I head to Nashville.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great service. Awesome cocktails and spirits selection. Food choices were limited, but great offerings. Scallop avo toast was yum, the rabbit was delightful and the trip tip was great, if not a tad salty. Paired with okra and cornbread, this meal was memorable!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary here. Both the rabbit and the trout were exceptional. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly, and despite the fact that they were understaffed on the night we were there, her enthusiasm and meal suggestions made the experience outstanding. We highly recommend 404 Kitchen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Dinner was incredible. We had drinks beforehand so we didn't get to try many of their options, but we were definitely pleased with everything we got. The strawberry shortcake dessert was a little dry also, but the bolognese and tri tip were phenomenal. That cornbread tho... so good

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food and its preparation was very good, however I struggle with the prices. I know quality costs but... The massive bourbon and whiskey list was lost on us especially at the average price of probably $40 per drink.
We enjoyed the evening, service was great but...once may be enough.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Love 404 Kitchen. One of the best places in Nashville.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great server, great food, good experience overall. REALLY need to get that fruit fly situation fixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I was prepped to spend a premium for a great product, but it priced 20% higher than similar quality restaurants. The portion sizes are a bit on the smaller size. With that said, parking was easy, the server was spot on, and the food was good. I had a good experience but I don't think that I will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Portions are a little small for the price as a Canadian I don't like to have big portion but there is a minimum! Regardless the dishes we have chosen where delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We found 404 Kitchen through a Yelp search. We were unsure what to expect. When first entering the restaurant we amazed at how small the space was. Not surprising, since it is a shipping container. The employees were friendly and professional. At some restaurants one feels rushed; this was not the case here. We had plenty of time to study the beverage menu. The Bourbon list is impressive. Our meals were delicious and visually appealing as well. Portions were adequate: we left satisfied. Due to the size of the restaurant it was loud, but we could still hold a conversation and hear one another. If in Nashville, we would happily return.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Matt Bolus and crew continue to outdo themselves with each visit. Locally sourced ingredients prepared with amazing care are always on the menu. Sides shine as much as the mains. Highly recommended!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Always good, innovative food. Outstanding service. Looking forwrd to move across the street to larger facility when Watermark moves downtown. Larger place still "cozy" but will allow the chef to be even more creative with decent sized kitchen versus very small space presently working in....and that small space almost makes it a little cramped for dining expereince.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food was delicious! The chefs love what they do, and you can taste it in the very first bite! Trendy crowd and atmosphere. I will definitely stop by again when in Nashville.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Took my wife to this restaurant on an anniversary trip to Nashville. Asked for iced tea to begin our meal and they do not have that--settled for water with no ice. My wife had a nice glass of Cabernet and then things proceeded to go downhill. They were out of the tri-tip and substituted another beef cut from a ribeye. The steak was rubbery and had no flavor. No salt or pepper on the table to help out the flavor either. Totally disappointed in the food. Waiter was good and wine was good, the rest was a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent though noisy. Great food and service. A good option in the crazy Gulch

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Unique fine dining and handcrafted cocktails with superb barstaff! Amazingly deep bar selection with multiple vintages of the best spirits and a number many rare bottles for special occasions. Count on great food and knowledgeable, fun staff. Look for Damien serving up excellent cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Loved our experience at 404 Kitchen. We have lived in Nashville for about 10 years and can honestly say this was one of our best meals here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great evening amazing whiskey selection. Enjoyed dining at the bar

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to 404 because of the favorable mention in the NY Times. It was nice enough but a bit disappointing. The food was fine (burrata, trout, rabbit) but nothing special. The wine (an Australian riesling) was ok but overpriced at $50. Service was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We are in Nashville for a week of food, music and historic sights. This happened to include Mother's Day so we went to a nice place to eat that came highly recommended by the various food press. Our server Frankie was delightful and the food terrific. We ordered starters and entrees and concluded that the diver's scallops crude of scallops on avocado toast was our favorite although the black truffle burrata in a bowl of leaks with a little ham was also good. My trip-tip on polenta was perfect. The polenta may have been my favorite version ever. My wife would go back anytime I wanted just for the chicken pot pie. It was amazing and a house specialty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Some of the best food I have ever had! 5 stars!!!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

food and service great - waiter was the BEST; corkage fee high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Graduation for our son. We always love 404 and Jordan is the best server anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Seasonal dishes w fresh ingredients. Prepared with attention to mixing flavors. All 3 of us loved the various dishes!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Should have listened to the other reviewers- menu and wine list was way overpriced. Food was good but had better meals for 2/3's the cost of our dinner at 404 Kitchen which was ~ $300 for 2 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I must admit, bias, this is my fav restaurant in town. When I pay for a sitter I want to know my meal is going to be good and it ALWAYS is here. We had the Burrata to start and pretty much licked the plate clean. My rabbit was outstanding - I'd place and expletive before that if I was allowed on OT. My husband had the tri-tip and I am stupid picky on beef and he's almost never happy- it was exceptional. Some of the best beef I have had. We typically get the same waitress (Jordan, I believe, from another great Nash Orig) and sit in roughly the same table by circumstance. We had a new location and a new waiter and the hostess seeing my hesitancy was very professional, noted my preferences and spoke very highly of the waiter. The service was great, as always, and since we are all human there was an error made...however the to mark an excellent restaurant it how its handled. It was rectified, made up for and then entire staff was aware. And it was a petty issue. This really is a rare gem; exceptional food, fabulous, attentive staff and a warm environment. I will miss the current location but am excited to try the new one! Its the best in town, plain and simple.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A girlfriend visiting from New York City and I had a great dinner at 404 kitchen! She proclaimed it as good as anything she can get in NY. That says it all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Matt and his crew continue to impress us every time we dine at 404. This was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary as the dinner was excecuted perfectly. Not a single beat was missed and everything was delicious and unique. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Small and intimate restaurant construction of shipping containers. Nice modern look. Much energy and good vibes. Informative waitress, who made nice recommendations. Adequate portions.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.