About 404 Kitchen

404 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

At The 404, Chef Matt Bolus offers a modern take on classical European cuisine with a menu influenced on available produce grown at local farms. Located in a shipping container, the restaurant is a uniquely quaint and casual fine dining venue.
We are unable to offer a children's menu.
Please call for seating in our glass enclosed dining area and to reserve tables of 5 or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

The 404 Kitchen - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
The 404 Kitchen - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Exterior - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Fourth Course Tasting - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Baby Red Potatoes - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Burrata, Peppers, Peanuts - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Butter Beans - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Scallop Toast - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Gigante Beans - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Second Course Tasting - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Shortbread, Coffee Icecream, Butterscotch Caramel - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Fattoush, Cucumber, Tomatoes, Pita - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Dry Aged Beef Tartare - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Bear Creek Farms Tri Tip, Myatake Mushroom, Sweet Potato Puree - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Ponce Inlet Bay Scallops, Carolina Red Bean, Rice, Romesco - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Jimmy Red Corn Grits Cornbread - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Fattoush - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Allium Soup - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Asparagus With Egg - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Biscuits With Whiskey Jam - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Button Mushrooms - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Charlotte - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Crudo - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Gulf Rock Shrimp - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Olive & Sinclair Chocolate Budino - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Skillet Cookie - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Punched At The  404 - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Punched At The 404 - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Sangre Del Sol - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Cocktail Eight - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Cocktail Seven - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Fashionista - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Flight - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Foret Du Francais - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Sangre Del Sol - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
The Devil Went Down To Nashville - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Southern Pacific - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Chef's Jacket - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Menu - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (40)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Cozy (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Hot Spot (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Seasonal (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
People Watching (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My sister recommended 404 as one of her ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

My sister recommended 404 as one of her favorite places in Nashville, a city already teeming with amazing food finds. The cheese plate was divine. Trust me, cheese is my love language.

My husband ordered the tri-tip (holy moly, that meat though) and I got the pork bolognese. Sorry, herbivores, their meat dishes is where 404 shines.

Their bourbon selection was RIDICULOUS in the very best way. My husband could have died happy; maybe one day in the super-far-off future I'll just read their bourbon list as his eulogy.

The atmosphere was beautiful, tight, and cozy like a hug from your favorite, not-old-smelling aunt - don't go here unless you're willing to make some good conversation with the rest of your party.

We will definitely be back, roughly 350 times (hint: that's the approximate number of different bourbons they have).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous in every way. Unusual food choi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous in every way. Unusual food choices. All delicious. Highly recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined at 404 and while it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I dined at 404 and while it was mostly a good experience, it didn't live up to the standards we'd come to expect from similar restaurants in Nashville. My wife's rabbit was quite good but my food came out so salty that neither of us could stand it. It was only the second time I've ever had to send something back, and while I felt bad about it, I can't imagine anyone being able to enjoy such salty food. I wouldn't rule out giving them a second chance sometime down the road because they do have an interesting menu and good cocktail and wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Exceptional food and service. Really lov ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional food and service. Really love this place, very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always outstanding . My go to for perfec ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always outstanding . My go to for perfection. You will not find a better bar or bartenders anywhere. The starters and the dinner menu is truly unique and always fabulous.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food spectular service good locati ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

great food spectular service good location and atmosphere

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite Nashville restaurant ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of our favorite Nashville restaurants! The rabbit dish is perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The plate served never disappoints. Smal ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The plate served never disappoints. Small menu and everything on it is perfection.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food quality rivals the best in Nashvill ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food quality rivals the best in Nashville, but there are better places for the same price point when all things are considered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We had an exceptional meal here. It is a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had an exceptional meal here. It is a small restaurant with a nice atmosphere and cozy feel. The menu is creative and the execution is great/delicious. We eat out frequently and have had the opportunity to try many of the best high end dining spots in Nashville - this is right at the top, with the only other place worth mentioning in the same sentence being Etch.

We tried: scallop toast (truly amazing), lamb sugo (earthy, citrus, and very good), pork bolognese (amazing flavor, perfectly done pasta), tri tip (excellent dish), and we split the brownie which was great too. We had intended to order the burrata but they were sold out for that night (our reservation was 815p). It was a fun night out and the servers and even other diners nearby were helpful and engaging. I highly recommend 404, happy eating!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a dinner that was pretty close to ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a dinner that was pretty close to perfect in this very small but very interesting place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were outstanding - high ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food and service were outstanding - highly recommend the pointed arch cocktail, the housemade burrata, the lamb sugo, pappardelle bolognese (surprisingly light!), chicken on a string (so crispy and juicy), the cornbread, and the butterbeans. Oh my, those butterbeans. I would love the recipe for those. The brownie with coffee ice cream was also good - warm and gooey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Exceptional food!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Exceptional food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and a great selection of d ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service and a great selection of drinks and cocktails made dining here a pleasure. The food is exquisitely prepared and follows a generally French theme. The one downside is that I think that the dishes are somewhat limited in comparison to 404's peers in Nashville, both in selection and value. Since I'm more interested in the food than the beverages, I can't see revisiting very often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Date night with my wife - had heard good ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Date night with my wife - had heard good things about 404 - our scallop toast appetizer was great - my wife ordered the beef and it was good - I ordered the Amberjack - found out they had sold out and the replacement was Trout - the trout was okay - we ordered the red potatoes as a side and found them plain

We will give 404 another try and will recommend it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our family enjoyed celebrating our 25th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our family enjoyed celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary together at 404! Loved the rabbit stew with a perfectly pared wine. Our waiter was very helpful and answered all our questions. Desserts were a mesmerizing treat as well. Thank you 404 Kitchen!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in southeast or US for t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best restaurant in southeast or US for that matter.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we can remember! A ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

One of the best meals we can remember! Amazing cocktails, food, and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to 404 several times and they ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

I've been to 404 several times and they never disappoint. Great food, great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing meal, will be back soon!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing meal, will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant always goes above and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This restaurant always goes above and beyond with their service and cuisine. One of my favorites in Nashville.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my bro-in-law from out of town who' ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Took my bro-in-law from out of town who's a major foodie. He was thrilled. Our waitress was amazing, very knowledgeable and personable. She took extra care in meeting our every whim. Food was wonderful as always. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

404 is the best! We live in Nashville a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

404 is the best! We live in Nashville and this is one of our go to favorites for special occasions. 404 is always the right choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was so knowledgable and perso ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our server was so knowledgable and personable and I hate that I can't remember his name...

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved this place! The food was delicious ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Loved this place! The food was delicious, I had the bolognese, it was fantastic! The whiskey selection is great. The atmosphere was warm, welcoming and intimate. We were in Nashville for a fun weekend away and loved this gem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both entrees were good but very very sal ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Both entrees were good but very very salty. If they weren't so salty, they would have been great.

We had the rum cake and ginger ice cream. It was fantastic! Service was excellent and atmosphere was wonderful.

Will return again, but please watch the salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Have now visited 404 twice in a week, an ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Have now visited 404 twice in a week, and it's fantastic. The food prep is outstanding, the flavors and combinations are creative and so pleasing, the wait staff is superb!

It's a tight seating, but once there it is a special Nashville treasure, Scott Bolus is a fabulous chef, and this is definitely a must try.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, best Bourbon selection in to ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great food, best Bourbon selection in town. Chef Matt Bolus is a awesome and very friendly to talk with. I recommend booking early to get a seat. This place stays busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! Cold and rainy night but so wa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Fabulous! Cold and rainy night but so warm and comforting inside!

We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent drinks and excellent food. Bes ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent drinks and excellent food. Best food we had in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an awesome venue and great atmos ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is an awesome venue and great atmosphere. The staff is awesome and great at explaining the menu and making recommendations. The menu is nice and there is definitely something for everyone. There were four of us and we had the Halibut (very good), the fish stew (also very good) and the tri-tip (also good) and that summarizes the food. It is really good but nothing stands out EXCEPT the cornbread. Everything else was really good.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at 404. I was prepared for th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time at 404. I was prepared for the tight quarters based on the shipping container construction. That was the only thing small about our experience. I had the Bahamian tasting menu which was fantastic. My wife had the tri-tip with polenta. Dessert was the Dark and Stormy rum cake with ginger ice cream. A truly fantastic meal. Oh yeah, our server (can't remember his name) worked harder than an ugly stripper. Although he had other tables, he made us feel like we were the only ones in the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice atmosphere and great service. ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very nice atmosphere and great service. The food was okay, not amazing. We had two main meals, a side, and dessert. The side and dessert outshined our main meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very satisfied with my first meal at 404 ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very satisfied with my first meal at 404 Kitchen. Really enjoyed my Pork Bolognese, and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her Tri Tip steak on a bed of polenta (a hint less salt would be appreciated, but this is a savory dish after-all. I was blown away by the bar selection - whiskeys that I haven't seen in years, are readily available at this bar. Year's deep in their BTAC and PVW (if you know, you know.)

I would highly recommend this restaurant (and I already have) to any of my friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the small room, it was very cozy. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Loved the small room, it was very cozy. The services was unbelievable, I think there may have been more staff than guests. Our waiter had complete mastery of the offerings and was able to make suggestions on both food and wine. The food was spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I had the chef tasting wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I had the chef tasting with wine pairings. I have diet restrictions and I was impressed with how they were able to adapt. I enjoyed the same dishes but created from scratch on the spot. Everything was delicious... the wine pairings were excellent with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent spot. Wonderful food, thoughtf ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent spot. Wonderful food, thoughtful service. The place is very small, which makes for a cozy feel. When it fills, because of the proximity of the tables to one another, conversation is a wee bit more challenging; if you make an early reservation, you can have a delightful date and beat the loud talkers and din.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Being seated in the first room closest t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Being seated in the first room closest to the door was a disappointment. Almost like our business and comfort was less important.

Aside from that the service was nice and prompt. All the food was creative and exciting.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Our waitress was very engaging and provi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waitress was very engaging and provided personal thoughts and observations about the menu. The space is small and intimate but relaxed and informal. The food was outstanding and the service very attentive but not overbearing. If you have the means, I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was to die for! The ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This restaurant was to die for! The service was phenomenal. The food was even better. This was by far our favorite restaurant in Nashville during our visit! Very small dining room, but tables were not uncomfortably on top of one another. Perfect place to impress a date.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.