About 404 Kitchen

404 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

At The 404, Chef Matt Bolus offers a modern take on classical European cuisine with a menu influenced on available produce grown at local farms. Located in a shipping container, the restaurant is a uniquely quaint and casual fine dining venue.
We are unable to offer a children's menu.
Please call for seating in our glass enclosed dining area and to reserve tables of 5 or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Nashville
American
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

Fit for Foodies (81)
Special Occasion (57)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
See All
Romantic (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Hot Spot (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good. Server was great, but hos ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good. Server was great, but hostess/front door man was not. He told us he had to flip the table by 8 before we even sat down! We had a 6:30 reservation. We wanted to relax and celebrate a birthday. However we just felt rushed. My food was okay but potatoes were way underdone. Probably because they rushed our food. We did not leave until after 8 and did not even have dessert! We felt pressure during the entire time by the hostess...working to get us gone. He even stepped in to help the server when we did not want him to. It was also extremely loud and tables are too close together. We used to love this place, but I have no desire to go back after this experience. It was disappointing!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

The whiskey/whisky wall was amazing.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

The whiskey/whisky wall was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

With a changing menu, you never know wha ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

With a changing menu, you never know what you're going to get, but it doesn't matter because it's always perfectly delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Matt visited our table. The servers ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Chef Matt visited our table. The servers are like authors reading their prize winning novel. Brilliant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The burrata was outstanding. The snapp ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The burrata was outstanding. The snapper was just ok, Tri tips just good. But not spectacular. Atmosphere was great, very knowledgable bar tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Very disappointed with the service. I m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very disappointed with the service. I made reservations 8 weeks in advance and the Hostess was too not welcoming or gracious. Our server had no personality and couldn't recommend the food (like he'd never tasted anything!) This restaurant is SO overrated. Way too expensive for uncomfortable chairs - felt like it was a cheap diner. This is NOT my idea of a nice evening out!!! I will not be back! The cost of the food is crazy considering how little is served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Wow, what a spectacular experience! As a ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wow, what a spectacular experience! As a couple who frequently dines out, we very rarely come across an exceptional restaurant where the food is creatively excellent, the service is absolutely professional and the environment is upbeat. 404 is all of that and more.

The menu is somewhat eclectic and innovative and the execution is outstanding. We had rabbit and red snapper. Both were great as was the salad and the desert and the drinks.

Highly recommend 404.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic meal. A great meal at Grandm ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic meal. A great meal at Grandma's meets 5 star dining.

Tags: Organic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to try 404 Kitchen while visi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We decided to try 404 Kitchen while visiting Nashville for our anniversary. Everything was great! It is a small intimate restaurant with a simple decor. The staff was excellent! Especially our server, Jordan. She guided us through the menu and she was spot on. The rest of the staff is also exceptional. It was just a lovely experience all around. It is nice to see a small restaurant that gives so much attention to the small details!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Innovative and delicious farm to table m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Innovative and delicious farm to table menu. Peach&Tomato Salad, Peach&Pork Ragout, Duck Egg, Burrata, Mushrooms and Skillet Cornbread and Coffee ice cream dessert were all our table faves!! Hip ambiance. Innovative, craft cocktails. Great location. Attentive service. Tops on our list! Recommended by my daughter, a local, as her favorite restaurant in Nashville! We totally get it!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4th time at 404 and we still live it. Th ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

4th time at 404 and we still live it. The food is great. As a vegetarian, I always just tell them to surprise me and they have yet to let me down. My boyfriend loves the rabbit. Great place for special occasion or just a Wednesday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and cocktails and service were ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food and cocktails and service were outstanding. So many great food and drink choices! Our server was quite helpful in assisting is with a wine pairing for our entrees. The amberjack was cooked to perfection as were the streak and rabbit dishes. Get the okra!! It was a leisurely dinner and we were not rushed at all through our meal. We would definitely return here if we lived locally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

whenever i go to nashville i go to this ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

whenever i go to nashville i go to this small owner/chef operated restaurant. so consistently good. the best corn bread in the world so that is a must at any meal.

don't miss this place

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We won't be back although the food and t ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We won't be back although the food and the service was excellent. The noise was horrific. We had to shout to be heard across the table. 404 Kitchen is not the only restaurant in Nashville to which this criticism applies. This is the single biggest reason why we don't return to otherwise excellent restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

We had heard so many good things about 4 ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had heard so many good things about 404 Kitchen and all of our expectations were met! Our server was delightful and the food spectacular!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance was great. Food was just ok. I ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Ambiance was great. Food was just ok. I had the pasta which was nice. The cornbread was delicious. The tri-tip was inedible. The flavoring was off and it was incredibly tough and chewy, even though we had it prepared medium rare.

Our server was nice, but we probably wouldnt come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The menu is somewhat limited and tends t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The menu is somewhat limited and tends toward salty. Drinks selection is excellent, food quality high, and service quite good. Overall good, albeit not up to the hype. Still a solid selection and no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

My friends and I were eager to try 404 K ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My friends and I were eager to try 404 Kitchen. We were not disappointed as the food and service was very good. We were so glad we tried it. However, it is notably a smaller and intimate restaurant with limited seating which could be a disadvantage. Luckily for us we were given a table at the front of the restaurant that offered us some separation and space. I would recommend this restaurant to my friends to try.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great waitress. Great food. Tables were ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great waitress. Great food. Tables were a little tight but it's an intimate reastaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed my birthday dinner with my hus ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I enjoyed my birthday dinner with my husband at 404 Kitchen. They even had "Happy Birthday" at the top of my menu. The food was amazing-- tasting menu was delicious. Drinks were great. It's a very small restaurant, which was fine for us. Everyone on staff was so very nice and helpful. So glad we finally got the enjoy dinner there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious, as always. Truly N ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Absolutely delicious, as always. Truly Nashville's best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Amazing service! Can't w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious food. Amazing service! Can't wait to go back. Highly recommend any rabbit entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cornbread was very good. Book early ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The cornbread was very good. Book early. My husband really enjoyed the tri tip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, great service, great little ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food, great service, great little restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was great. Expect to pa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food and service was great. Expect to pay $$ for parking Valet was $9.00, several resturant in the area are free.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I dined at the 404 for the f ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I dined at the 404 for the first time Saturday, July 30. The restaurant was packed and lively. The noise level was not uncomfortable. Our server was attentive and offered great suggestions. The Bartender prepared great cocktails. The food was spectacular. I have absolutely nothing to complain about. I read reviews on Yelp that indicated the staff was "snooty". Nothing could be further from the truth. The staff was laid back and attentive. We will return soon. We really loved this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely fabulous! Loved ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was absolutely fabulous! Loved the unique combinations, like our appetizer of peas and rock shrimp in a parmesan broth. So yummy! Definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Nashville. Al ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Nashville. Always happy with anything we order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My spouse and I recently dined at 404 Ki ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My spouse and I recently dined at 404 Kitchen on a Friday night. We'd heard many terrific things about the restaurant and were very much looking forward to our meal there. I must say: we enjoyed every aspect of our visit, except the food. The restaurant itself is stylish and attractive; the greeting at the door was welcoming; our server was engaging and attentive but without being intrusive; the bar is well-stocked and well-staffed; and they know how to make an excellent dry martini. With all that, it was shaping up to be one of our favorite dinners in Nashville, Unfortunately, we found the food lacking. We began with the scallop crudo; to be honest, the scallops tasted, well, not sweet and fresh, as one expects with raw scallops. We moved to the garlic burrata, which was the best of the lot, though the pickled squash salad underneath to our palate detracted from the dish overall. Next up was the amberjack, which was significantly overcooked-- with fish of course being particularly difficult to time --which was supposed to be accompanied by bacalao (but may have been missing?). We also shared the rabbit man farm's rabbit; the rabbit was shredded (and so nearly indistinguishable from chicken), and came with ricotta gnudi (which were velvety and heavenly, more of those in the dish, please) which were significantly oversauced with lemon agrumato. As in, swimming in it. It was thin, soupy, lemony, and not very enjoyable. I hate to say we won't go back, because so many of the other aspects of the experience were so good; and perhaps we were there with an off-night for the kitchen. We did not comment to our server, as it would have been impossible to do so without being overheard by the two tables immediately on either side of us. So perhaps we'll give it another try, if I can convince my spouse (who is a hard sell) to do so. In truth, though, it will be hard to get him past the previously underwhelming food.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great place, amazing bar selection and t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great place, amazing bar selection and the food was to die for. Going to make this a stop everytime I have to travel into Nashville!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience. Wedge Oak ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Wedge Oak duck egg and the trout. Cocktails outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been trying a lot of new restaur ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have been trying a lot of new restaurants in Nashville and finally got here. We were very disappointed in the quality of the food - especially for the price. The food was nothing special at all; could get much better food at many other places. Plus everything was overpriced - $15.00 for a lemon drop martini is nuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Probably the best fine dining meal I've ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Probably the best fine dining meal I've ever had in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu is inventive. Food was unbelievably ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Menu is inventive. Food was unbelievably good. The service was very friendly and so helpful. Not stuffy at all. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2 glasses of wine each & a couple apps c ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

2 glasses of wine each & a couple apps cost $140 with tip. That's my only real gripe. Was hungry when I left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Pork and Peach Ragout was by far the mos ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Pork and Peach Ragout was by far the most outstanding dish from our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Bolus is an artist; he's kind to his ing ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Bolus is an artist; he's kind to his ingredients and presents them in simple, delicious ways. I've only ever had fantastic meals here. Always get the burrata, the sugo and try to order all the small plates and share. You can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and drinks were delicious and t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and drinks were delicious and the service was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

404 greeted us with an intimate atmosph ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

404 greeted us with an intimate atmosphere thanks to the smaller restaurant size. It wasn't too noisy so we could enjoy a pleasant conversation. We started with a cocktail called "the Devil's in the Details" which was probably my favorite part of dinner. Each of the waiters invented something on the drink menu and you an tell they're passionate about their creations.

We really liked that the menu featured fresh seasonal produce. We started with the burrata and the qual egg appetizers. The burrata was ok, served on some pickled veggies, but not super unique. The quail egg, on the other hand, was fantastic, served in a surprisingly homey way (in toasted bread with a hole) but with fantastic, warm flavors that were pleasantly exotic. For the main course, my husband had the barracuda served in a tomato broth which was amazing. I had the peach and pork ragout which was underwhelming. The peach sort of blended into the sauce and didn't stand out to give the dish the sweet and savory flavor I'd been hoping for. We ordered a side of pan fried okra, which was very well prepared (in a garlic oil that I wish I could have dunked a loaf of bread in) not a hint of slime. We were so stuffed we had no room for dessert. But overall it was a good meal and a lovely dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

amazing bartender, he was very knowledge ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

amazing bartender, he was very knowledgeable and fun to talk to. All of your wait staff are first rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.