Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About 404 Kitchen

At The 404, Chef Matt Bolus offers a modern take on classical European cuisine with a menu influenced on available produce grown at local farms. Located in a shipping container, the restaurant is a uniquely quaint and casual fine dining venue.
We are unable to offer a children's menu.
Please call for seating in our glass enclosed dining area and to reserve tables of 5 or more.

404 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available throughout the Gulch at street meters as well as pay lots.

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat Dad to a special dinner this Father's Day at The 404 Kitchen. It is the perfect restaurant to show Dad how much you care.

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Local Ingredients (24)
Cozy (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Fun (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (10)
Seasonal (9)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (7)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Organic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
655 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent though noisy. Great food and service. A good option in the crazy Gulch

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved our experience at 404 Kitchen. We have lived in Nashville for about 10 years and can honestly say this was one of our best meals here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great evening amazing whiskey selection. Enjoyed dining at the bar

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went to 404 because of the favorable mention in the NY Times. It was nice enough but a bit disappointing. The food was fine (burrata, trout, rabbit) but nothing special. The wine (an Australian riesling) was ok but overpriced at $50. Service was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We are in Nashville for a week of food, music and historic sights. This happened to include Mother's Day so we went to a nice place to eat that came highly recommended by the various food press. Our server Frankie was delightful and the food terrific. We ordered starters and entrees and concluded that the diver's scallops crude of scallops on avocado toast was our favorite although the black truffle burrata in a bowl of leaks with a little ham was also good. My trip-tip on polenta was perfect. The polenta may have been my favorite version ever. My wife would go back anytime I wanted just for the chicken pot pie. It was amazing and a house specialty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Some of the best food I have ever had! 5 stars!!!

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

food and service great - waiter was the BEST; corkage fee high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Graduation for our son. We always love 404 and Jordan is the best server anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Seasonal dishes w fresh ingredients. Prepared with attention to mixing flavors. All 3 of us loved the various dishes!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Should have listened to the other reviewers- menu and wine list was way overpriced. Food was good but had better meals for 2/3's the cost of our dinner at 404 Kitchen which was ~ $300 for 2 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I must admit, bias, this is my fav restaurant in town. When I pay for a sitter I want to know my meal is going to be good and it ALWAYS is here. We had the Burrata to start and pretty much licked the plate clean. My rabbit was outstanding - I'd place and expletive before that if I was allowed on OT. My husband had the tri-tip and I am stupid picky on beef and he's almost never happy- it was exceptional. Some of the best beef I have had. We typically get the same waitress (Jordan, I believe, from another great Nash Orig) and sit in roughly the same table by circumstance. We had a new location and a new waiter and the hostess seeing my hesitancy was very professional, noted my preferences and spoke very highly of the waiter. The service was great, as always, and since we are all human there was an error made...however the to mark an excellent restaurant it how its handled. It was rectified, made up for and then entire staff was aware. And it was a petty issue. This really is a rare gem; exceptional food, fabulous, attentive staff and a warm environment. I will miss the current location but am excited to try the new one! Its the best in town, plain and simple.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A girlfriend visiting from New York City and I had a great dinner at 404 kitchen! She proclaimed it as good as anything she can get in NY. That says it all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Matt and his crew continue to impress us every time we dine at 404. This was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary as the dinner was excecuted perfectly. Not a single beat was missed and everything was delicious and unique. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Small and intimate restaurant construction of shipping containers. Nice modern look. Much energy and good vibes. Informative waitress, who made nice recommendations. Adequate portions.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went for a birthday celebration and were very much pleased. The cocktails were delicious, the cuisine delicious. I have to mention the service. Everyone was so attentive and friendly. They really topped the evening off for us.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

As always Matt out performs all the others. Soft shell crab over beans was amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had dinner at 404 Kitchen to celebrate our anniversary. The service was excellent and the meal was outstanding. We shared the burrata appetizer and took our servers suggestions on the entree--rabbit stew and pork bolognese over homemade pasta. Everything was so tasty and would highly recommend dinner here. Great atmosphere too!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 4, 2017

One of Nashville's best and in my top three. These folk demonstrably care about food and service. I went this time for the softshell crabs. They were absolutely delicious, served with peas. They are not to be missed while in season. The bartender is amazing and the selection of bourbon is unparalleled in the city.

Were it not for the softshell crabs, I would have had the tasting menu. It is always quite an experience with the pairings.

I have never been in love with the desserts, but I am OK with that as it it is clear that they have put much, much thought, passion, and effort into the food. Moreover, it affords me the opportunity for another cocktail...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This spot hits it out of the park every time, every course. Go-to restaurant for downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great upscale New American / Southern food. Just wanted to try the trout, which wasn't on the menu this visit.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Overall, food options and preperation was impeccable. Seating feels very "french bistro" (think cozy), which gives it a warm feeling.

We will be gong back next time were in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent dishes and ingredients. Servings are not large, but sufficient. The fusion of flavor was spectacular. Best meal during my 3 day visit to Nashville.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service… Lovely ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

After reading the reviews, I figured I'd found the right spot to celebrate our anniversary. (My wife's a foodie.) While the service was top notch, the food itself fell short of expectations. Honestly, we usually split 1 chefs menu + choose 1 main, typically going with an item their known for. In this case, there was no "wow" factor or desire to say "you really have to try this" with my spouse. Just ok. Even the foodie was disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was innovative and perfectly prepared. The staff was excellent and a great asset to a wonderful experience. Would happily go again.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at 404 Kitchen for our 2nd anniversary. It was highly recommended based on reviews and people we know so we were excited to try it for our special occasion.

The ambiance of the restaurant is great. It is set in a renovated shipping container, and while the space is small they have cleverly arranged the tables, bar, and kitchen. The tables are very close together and the noise level when the restaurant is full can make it difficult to hear your server or have a conversation at times.

We started our meal with two specialty cocktails (Georgian Victory and Punched at the 404) which were both great. For our appetizer we chose the cheese plate which ended up being our favorite part of the meal by far.

My wife's entree was the pork bolognese which was good. My entree was the "Bermudian" Fish Stew, and it was disappointing. The cod was bland and slightly overcooked, and the broth was lacking in both salt and spice. Overall the stew flavor was very flat.

Our dessert was the Dark and Stormy Rum Cake. My wife loved the ginger ice cream, and I loved the whole thing.

Service was outstanding throughout the meal.

The menu at 404 kitchen changes frequently so maybe we happened to be there during an offseason from the ingredients the chef prefers, but our entrees were underwhelming enough that we left slightly disappointed. Overall we didn't feel that the cost (>$100 per person including gratuity) equaled the value or our expectations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very disappointing. After a 35 minute wait for our table we had a series of really bizarre and mediocre dishes. Banana and scallops just didn't work. My rabbit dish had a butter sauce that was broken and should never have left the kitchen. Chef seems to love cloyingly sweet flavors. A real waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2017

404 was fantastic. The food was some of the best that I've had in Nashville and the cocktails held up to that standard as well. The place is very small, yet the meal did not feel tight. We got seated a little late due to an earlier party lingering longer than normal, but everyone went out of their way to ensure that we had a great experience: the hostess, manager, and waiter were all great and provided not only a great meal, but a great experience. Without a doubt, this was one of my best dining experiences in Nashville in the 2 years that I've lived here.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I had a delicious meal in this small restaurant in Nashville. The food was outstanding, service great, and it was not too noisey. I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Everything was great, but we ordered the tasting menu and the portions were too large. I know this may seem like not an issue to many people, but it is to me. The last dish before the desert was almost a full portion and the desert was definitely a full portion. I hate to throw away food that has been nicely made. I feel calling the menu a tasting menu is inaccurate and rather it should be called a 3-dish menu or else.
Service was excellent and they were accommodating, my only complain is the size of the portions... too large to be called a taste.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This small restaurant was incredibly loud, to the point that we had to pretty much yell at each other across the table. It isnt the sort of environment I'm expecting for $100 per person meal. The meals we had were OK, but could have been had at other restaurants without so much culinary hype. It was frustrating ordering off the menu, as they use esoteric words for common ingredients. I have been eating at fine restaurants for 25 years; I shouldn't have to have the server point out which entree is steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

One word "Amazing"!!

The food is like a party in your mouth, from the cocktails to the deserts..

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great place for foodies! Inventive menu and food with fine nuances and contrasts. Would return multiple times so as to sample the whole menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent service and amazing bar selections. Food was spot on and the love the daily menu changes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 20, 2017

So pleased to finally have the opportunity to try this delightful restaurant which is fun, hip, delicious, clever, and in a great location. My only concern was that we were so stressed to make it there on time and avoid stiff penalty that we ran inside (just as downpour started), neglecting to pay for parking...thus incurring a different stiff penalty. Not restaurant's fault, the evening was successful in spite of this, but did add stress to hosting an important out of town guest. Lesson learned, and hope to return to enjoy a more relaxed dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This was our first time at 404 and it was fantastic! Small place, incredible service, fantastic food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Our dining experience was really disappointing. The food was terrible. The space was small and a bit uncomfortable. Our table was practically in the doorway... which wouldn't bother me as much if the food wasn't so bad. I will say that the service was their saving grace. But when you pay $100/person, you would just really hope that you would be leaving happy. Unfortunately, that was not the case for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic food. Really extraordinary Lamb Sagu, Scallop Toast, and Frescatelli Ragu.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great Anniversary trip to Nashville. 404 Kitchen started us off with a complimentary glass of bubbly and treated us well throughout the entire meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I've eaten here before and previous experiences were five stars. This time the food was not outstanding. The waiter could use some training in people skills and knowledge of the menu. I hope this was a fluke night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.