Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 66 times today
Special offers available. See details

404 Kitchen

4.5
919 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
Chef Matt Bolus and the team at The 404 Kitchen in Nashville made their eagerly anticipated move across the street to 507 12th Avenue. The James Beard-nominated restaurant will open their new, state-of-the-art space that will allow executive chef Matt Bolus and his culinary team to build upon their celebrated repertoire of flavors while staying true to the original concept and style. The restaurant boasts a variety of indoor and outdoor seating perfect for a romantic dinner, family gathering, private event, catching up with friends or enjoying a cocktail on the patio.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu: 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri & Sat: 5:00 pm–10:30 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(615) 251-1404
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt Bolus
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
11th Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available throughout the Gulch at street meters as well as pay lots.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The 404 Kitchen, located in Nashville’s popular Gulch neighborhood, offers a full service event team that will help you design every detail for your private event. From corporate events to rehearsal dinners and everything in between, The 404 Kitchen will make every moment of your event extraordinary

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Happy Mother's Day from The 404 Kitchen! Treat Mom to a wonderful dinner experience she won't soon forget, and we guarantee you will be her favorite child all year long.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 919 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Phenomenal! World class. Food was great , service was incredible and whiskeys to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great food and wonderful personal service. It was noisier than I like. Was a good time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Perfect night. !!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

We had a lovely evening. We like the new location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Our server was patient and informative. Her recommendations were on point.

The food was delicious and nicely plated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We had a limited amount of time for dinner due to theater tickets. We told the waiter upfront and he was able to work with our time frame while still providing excellent service. The food was amazing. Definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Incredible service and food!! Such a cool place!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

On our visit to Nashville we decided to go to 404 Kitchen and Husk. Food was better at 404 Kitchen, more taste (except the poor choice of serving a bland soft tortilla with the tartare). So the place is super cool but we were seated in the back room which absolutely killed the experience! No thanks, if you go, make sure to ask for a table in the main dining area and not the “event room” that had table cloths on catering tables to make it look better. So it could have been a totally different experience but ambiance is everything for me and that unfortunate ruined it. We were comped a few appetizers and the manager apologized but that made us just look like whiners and complainers. Sad:(

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

I am so upset that I missed going to 404 Kitchen when it was small and intimate. Sadly, in the new 300+ seat space, I think the quality has fallen off. The space was frankly overwhelming and had a very "corporate" feel to it and lacked true intimacy and connection. The menu looked intriguing, but a bit challenging for someone with some dietary restrictions, even though the chef was totally willing to make modifications. I was pleased with my Souther Caesar salad - lightly charred romaine with smoked trout instead of anchovies. Unfortunately I can't say the same of my entree - the rabbit (which I had heard great things about). I had to modify the set up as I couldn't have the ricotta gnudi it went with and instead had potatoes. But even then my rabbit was very chewy and dry and the dish was over salted to the point of being almost inedible. The wine list was nice, but no great bargains to be found here. I won't be going back as I think there are many more inviting restaurants in Nashville. Like I said, I am really bummed that the move to a much larger space has affected the quality and feel of 404 Kitchen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

First time dining at the new location and it was superb. The Lamb Suga app was delicious, this is a must try, flavorful with a bite of acidic flavor. Grilled romaine salad with smoked trout was delicious. Rabbit was tender and the pork bolognese was fabulous. We had the blondie for dessert, with coffee ice cream, two thumbs up. They also have Sea Smoke wine, always a winner. Would recommend to all for a perfect dinner out. Service started out great, tapered off when another large table was seated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Best pizza I have ever had. Black pasta was exceptional!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Very good food, reasonable prices, kind staff. Enjoyed our experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We were visiting Nashville for a girls weekend and our appetizers at 404 kitchen were the best of the trip, hands down! The food was fantastic and the drinks were inventive and delicious too. You must order the mushroom risotto is you are a fungus fan like me - it was over the moon fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great food. Great Location. The food is always fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Fabulous restaurant, food was delicious and great location to our hotel in the Gulch, waitress was very helpful and friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Amazing experience. Great food, friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We were so looking forward to a special meal. It was very disappointing. Ridiculously slow service, over cooked fish, flavorless food and super noisy. We won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Just OK. First course was delicious, salad course was unremarkable. Both steaks were well cooked but lacked flavor. Accompanying potatoes tasted like they had been sitting in a warming drawer. Dessert, average. Good wine list, friendly service. Decor and ambiance looked and felt like nobody really cared. Expected more. There are better options in this city to spend this kind of money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The service and food were amazing! The bar has a great whiskey/bourbon collection. I think the desserts were small for the price but tasted good. I’d highly recommend 404 for a fancy date night or if you are visiting Nashville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Continually one of my favorite restaurants in Nashville. The food is always impeccable, both inventive and approachable, and the combination of atmosphere and service is warm and welcoming.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Best restaurant we visited in Nashville. Wonderful service and excellent food. Very nice ambience. Great drinks. A gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This was our first time to404 since their move across the street, and we were a little nervous. But the food is still fantastic, the service is excellent, and the atmosphere, while different, was great.

As much as I love (and will miss) the cozy intimacy of the old establishment, it was nice to have a little space between tables. It is also good that the new expanded space allows for a little less advanced planning.

Can’t wait to come back, consistently one of Nashville’s best meals.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Disappointed in the food and the friendliness of the wait staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Our dinner was exceptional! Had the Tri-tip(family style)...delicious. Cornbread is always a must! Drinks and server were top notch. Can not go wrong having dinner at 404.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Lovely dining experience! Our server Victoria T was very knowledgeable with the menu and had great recommendations! Thank open table for putting a candle on my husbands desert for his birthday as I requested 😊

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The atmosphere was fine but the noise level was out the roof. The price of wine was ridiculous. Food was good and service was fine. Probably won’t return. Too many other more reasonable restaurants.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Went to this location a dozen times when it was Watermark. I love the location, the outside patio, and now since 404 redid the area downstairs into a new bar, it is even better.. The menu is very, very limited, and just good, not excellent or great. The best things we ate were the side vegetable dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Wait staff were attentive and friendly, made for the perfect 25th Wedding Anniversary Celebration. Decor and ambiance was perfect and it was great for fun intimate conversation.
Food and portions were perfect and thanks for the complimentary celebration desserts.
Check the address - Uber app picked the old location across the street.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Our server made our evening special. She was so attentive and friendly. I don’t remember the last time I had that level of service at a restaurant! Food was delicious. An all around fabulous experience. We’ll definitely return on another trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

I have heard great things about 404 and as someone in the business the good words live up to it. I stopped by the bar while I waited for my date. Had the 404 old fashion- it’s epic. Great way to start the evening. Don’t get the dr Seuss menu— but my date had keep confusing the drinks and ended up ordering 2 drinks wrong because she said the wrong fish. Looks like it could happen often.- just a thought, not a critique. (Didn’t ruin the night)

We shared the amberjack and tri-tip. Equally epic.

My date, who has some allergies felt super comfortable because of our servers knowledge.


I look forward to meeting the chef and if y’all ever come to New York , I’ll show you the same great experience.

We look forward to coming back during our next trip to Nashville.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Great food and experience overall. Some of the dishes are a bit overpriced. But really enjoyed the dishes we ordered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Really nice, quiet courses meal with great service! High marks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Amazing experience, drinks, and food! Definitely get a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My husband and I went here on our trip from Chicago to Nashville. We had such a great experience. The food, service, and ambiance are impressive. No detail was overlooked. We ordered the burrata and it was amazing. Love this restaurant!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Fantastic experience. We’re from the NYC area and the 404 could hold it’s own compared with the Big Boys. Truly enjoyed the food and service. Definitely on the list to visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Always delicious! A favorite of ours. We always look forward to dining at 404 Kitchen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Excellent dining experience all the way around. Food and service were outstanding. Unique in that for the first time in a restaurant plates were offered for sharing of appetizers. Great idea.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The Tri tip was braised to be over cooked which is sad because we have had it before and it was outstanding. This time it was not very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

I was hoping that our experience would compare to the old location, but, sadly, we were disappointed. The ambiance is very cold and sterile and our food didn’t have the care and interest of past meals at 404.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We were obsessed with 404!! The gorgeous space matched the quality of the food and we were blown away with every bite. The food felt special but not stuffy, which is hard to pull off! Can’t wait to come back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23

Tweets by 404 Kitchen