About 404 Kitchen

404 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

At The 404, Chef Matt Bolus offers a modern take on classical European cuisine with a menu influenced on available produce grown at local farms. Located in a shipping container, the restaurant is a uniquely quaint and casual fine dining venue.
We are unable to offer a children's menu.
Please call for seating in our glass enclosed dining area and to reserve tables of 5 or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available throughout the Gulch at street meters as well as pay lots.

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Wine

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Romantic (32)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Cozy (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Tasting Menu (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (12)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Business Meals (9)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined a day ago

Excellent bartender! Excellent food! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Another spectacular meal at 404. It is never less. Service, beautifully prepared meals, best whiskey bar in Nashville. What is not to love?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Damien, the bartender, provided exceptional service. The food and drinks were outstanding. I will most definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Caleb took good care of us. The food was excellent, particularly the scallop toast and the pork bolognese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our Valentine date at the 404. The food tasted incredible and the service was great! Would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was outstanding, service was exceptional. Server very knowledgeable about menu and wine/bourbon selection. Menu was not extensive, but highly inventive and just plain delicious. Best meal I've had in Nashville.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The lamb sugo, bourbon cocktails, and steak were absolutely magnificent. The swordfish was overcooked, which was very disappointing and the dessert: brownie with coffee ice cream was hard! Also, the server was kind of rude and she didn't come around to the table often.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very much enjoyed dinner for Valentine's Day. Great service

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have been to 404 about 4 times now and it has become a "Go To" for a business dinner for me. The bar is a great place to sit and have a conversation over a craft drink (bar has an amazing bourbon selection...even their own barrels), the food is excellent (though they could have more red meat on the menu), and the atmosphere is hip and quaint. Wine list is also quite good. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food did not disappoint. The tables however are extremely close to one another. So be prepared to have quiet conversations and suck in as you squeeze into your seat so you don't tip the drinks on the table beside you. This place is best suited for dates, not large groups. The food was outstanding though. I'd go back & would recommend to friends. Had the rabbit , scallop toast, butter beans and husband had chicken leg. All were delicious on had flavors that were different from usual tastings. Thoroughly enjoyed for vday!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The rabbit was really good. Cornbread is also fantastic. My wife had the chicken and loved it. Wait staff was great. Incredible whiskey menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had! Food was impeccable!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great day before Valentine's Day dinner. Went out to beat the crowds the day of, great service and outstanding food. Definitely worth checking out, the menu changes often so keep your eye out for new additions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This tiny place is a gem amid the much larger and less personal gulch dining options. Although we four ordered wine, the spirit selection (so wonderfully displayed) looks amazing. We would love to go back and sit at the bar for dinner. The food is super - delicious and plated beautifully. Desserts are definitely worth the calorie splurge. The service is attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Small portions, but great taste. The restaurant is little so expect to sit really close to the other guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and drinks. Wine list was lacking. Could've had a better range of wines and prices.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is a delightful little( seriously little ) restaurant. It is tucked in to the ground level of the 404 Hotel and has a limited number of comfy seats. If you are a patron of size this might not be a great choice.We were squished up against the wall and were positively forced to hear every word, slurp and burp at the table next to us. Our waitress was outstanding and knowledgable and provided us with excellent service and food recommendations. I did feel that the menu was limited and several of the entree options were of the pasta gnocchi variety, quite tasty but also quite pricey for a bowl of pasta( $28-$30). I think it would have been fun to sit at the bar and eat, you can see into the kitchen and there did appear to be a bit more personal space. The food was tasty, the service very good and the limited menu interesting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

One of our top 3 Nashville favs. SENSATIONAL! FANTASTIC!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I love the relaxed feel of this place. Very unique construction from shipping containers. Food was creative with some unusual combinations of ingredients. Our table had rabbit in a tasty broth, (my dish and very good), chicken, and trout. We were treated with a special lamb small plate as a gift from the chef. It was so, so good. We will definitely return to try more dishes. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable. I was surprised they did not offer iced tea - we are in the south you know!

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday. Our server was phenomenal!!!! Such an understated manner while paying attention to every single detail.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our server Gaylon was superb ... couldn't have asked for a better first trip to this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

After a few disappointing meals in Nashville we were so happy with our meal at 404 Kitchen. From the awesome service (thanks Jordan) to the beer selection and presentation of the delicious meal, it was a great experience that I would definitely do again.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything we had was tasty; as a whole the menu tended toward simple (humble?) dishes. Unfortunately to command this sort of price for simply prepared food, a restaurant needs to elevate the dish or have some special ingredients. It was very well done, don't get me wrong, but the menu and drink prices lead me to believe that this restaurant's size simply can't sustain the operating costs for a rather ordinary menu.

Last bit, when your vaunted whisky selection is priced 25% over other places and you're pouring 1.5 oz instead of 2, it doesn't feel fancy, it just feels like taking advantage.

The food was certainly good enough for 4 or 5 stars, and it's worth trying it out once, but between the price and somewhat less than pleasant atmosphere, I am not sure we'll be back. Ironic that the tiny shipping container digs are the only thing that makes this restaurant novel and the only thing holding it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We had an absolute blast on our date night! The food and service were incredible.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our main dishes were soupy stews. This was not our idea of fine dining.

We were really glad we didn't order that $115 bottle of wine (that retails for $30) to got with this dinner.

Also, despite having reservations, we were assigned a table literally 6' from the front door.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Waiter was very nice as was food. Bartender was rude and we had to wait for a half hour in the foyer to a hotel. Felt very forgotten and weird. Not a pleasant way to start a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our dinner at 404 Kitchen was incredible, start to finish. We began with the Beef Tartare and Scallop Toast, followed by main courses of Tri-Tip and Pork Bolognese (maybe the best bolognese I've ever had the pleasure of devouring). For dessert, we indulged in the Dark and Stormy Rum Cake and the Chocolate Budino—both were decadent and beautifully presented. As impressive as the food was the service. Our server, Caleb, and the bartender, Galen, were knowledgable, attentive and fun—as was also the very welcoming manager, Melinda. Looking forward to dining at 404 again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Not a good experience at all.. I go out to eat 2/3 times a week . No special effort made after I even called to say it was a BDAY .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Ask for Jordan. She is wonderful, attentive and very knowledgeable of all the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our dinner was amazing. We will definitely be returning to 404 in the future. The service and atmosphere were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food delicious but portions too small even for someone who is a light eater

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I thought the 404 Kitchen served some great food. I thought the wine list was way over-priced. It seemed as if their focus was to steer everyone toward brown liquor. I didn't get that approach, but that's my problem I guess. The Rabbit dish was worth the trip, as was my wife's pasta preparation. A little too close to the other patrons, but the service was good, and the pricing was reasonable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My sister recommended 404 as one of her favorite places in Nashville, a city already teeming with amazing food finds. The cheese plate was divine. Trust me, cheese is my love language.

My husband ordered the tri-tip (holy moly, that meat though) and I got the pork bolognese. Sorry, herbivores, their meat dishes is where 404 shines.

Their bourbon selection was RIDICULOUS in the very best way. My husband could have died happy; maybe one day in the super-far-off future I'll just read their bourbon list as his eulogy.

The atmosphere was beautiful, tight, and cozy like a hug from your favorite, not-old-smelling aunt - don't go here unless you're willing to make some good conversation with the rest of your party.

We will definitely be back, roughly 350 times (hint: that's the approximate number of different bourbons they have).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fabulous in every way. Unusual food choices. All delicious. Highly recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I dined at 404 and while it was mostly a good experience, it didn't live up to the standards we'd come to expect from similar restaurants in Nashville. My wife's rabbit was quite good but my food came out so salty that neither of us could stand it. It was only the second time I've ever had to send something back, and while I felt bad about it, I can't imagine anyone being able to enjoy such salty food. I wouldn't rule out giving them a second chance sometime down the road because they do have an interesting menu and good cocktail and wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Exceptional food and service. Really love this place, very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always outstanding . My go to for perfection. You will not find a better bar or bartenders anywhere. The starters and the dinner menu is truly unique and always fabulous.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

great food spectular service good location and atmosphere

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of our favorite Nashville restaurants! The rabbit dish is perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The plate served never disappoints. Small menu and everything on it is perfection.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food quality rivals the best in Nashville, but there are better places for the same price point when all things are considered

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had an exceptional meal here. It is a small restaurant with a nice atmosphere and cozy feel. The menu is creative and the execution is great/delicious. We eat out frequently and have had the opportunity to try many of the best high end dining spots in Nashville - this is right at the top, with the only other place worth mentioning in the same sentence being Etch.

We tried: scallop toast (truly amazing), lamb sugo (earthy, citrus, and very good), pork bolognese (amazing flavor, perfectly done pasta), tri tip (excellent dish), and we split the brownie which was great too. We had intended to order the burrata but they were sold out for that night (our reservation was 815p). It was a fun night out and the servers and even other diners nearby were helpful and engaging. I highly recommend 404, happy eating!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a dinner that was pretty close to perfect in this very small but very interesting place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food and service were outstanding - highly recommend the pointed arch cocktail, the housemade burrata, the lamb sugo, pappardelle bolognese (surprisingly light!), chicken on a string (so crispy and juicy), the cornbread, and the butterbeans. Oh my, those butterbeans. I would love the recipe for those. The brownie with coffee ice cream was also good - warm and gooey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Exceptional food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service and a great selection of drinks and cocktails made dining here a pleasure. The food is exquisitely prepared and follows a generally French theme. The one downside is that I think that the dishes are somewhat limited in comparison to 404's peers in Nashville, both in selection and value. Since I'm more interested in the food than the beverages, I can't see revisiting very often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Date night with my wife - had heard good things about 404 - our scallop toast appetizer was great - my wife ordered the beef and it was good - I ordered the Amberjack - found out they had sold out and the replacement was Trout - the trout was okay - we ordered the red potatoes as a side and found them plain

We will give 404 another try and will recommend it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our family enjoyed celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary together at 404! Loved the rabbit stew with a perfectly pared wine. Our waiter was very helpful and answered all our questions. Desserts were a mesmerizing treat as well. Thank you 404 Kitchen!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.