Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About 404 Kitchen

At The 404, Chef Matt Bolus offers a modern take on classical European cuisine with a menu influenced on available produce grown at local farms. Located in a shipping container, the restaurant is a uniquely quaint and casual fine dining venue.
We are unable to offer a children's menu.
Please call for seating in our glass enclosed dining area and to reserve tables of 5 or more.

404 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available throughout the Gulch at street meters as well as pay lots.

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Wine

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (51)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Romantic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Cozy (21)
Tasting Menu (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Fun (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Seasonal (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

oh MY. i went here this evening... and then i went again the following night. the burrata is superb, but beware the leeks in it as they, in spite of being melt-in-your-mouth delicious, do cause your tongue to absorb their flavor for a good 24 hours thereafter.

that said! the winner was the burrata, but the pork bolognese came a close second. the pasta was perfectly done, and the sauce tasted both fresh and hearty. i ended my meal with the chocolate budino, which tasted like a hand-made chocolate pudding with hints of orange and topped with hazelnut halves. i continue to salivate when i think of 404 kitchen and ache to return...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Every dish was amazing, starting with the cocktails. Excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was outstanding. Our waitstaff was terrific. She was very knowledgeable about the menu, preparation and made a great wine pairing recommendation as well. This is a foodies dream!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere! From the cocktails to the entrees, all was prepared perfectly and the staff was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We dined at 404 Kitchen before going to see the Chieftans with the Nashville Symphony. Food was great. We started with the scallop appetizer and grilled cabbage. The scallop appetizer was especially good. For entrees, we had the halibut and the pork bolognase. Both were excellent. Wine list is good. Our service was outstanding. My only suggestion is that some of the tables be removed. Seating is too tight and I don't like to feel like I'm dining with the neighbors at the next table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Organic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fabulous food, service. Possibly Nashville's best restaurant. Bonus: it's a smaller intimate place, so it's never so loud you can't talk with those you're with. Not inexpensive by any means, and worth it.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 7, 2017

404 Kitchen is a very intimate restaurant with amazing food and a suburb staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Spectacular evening. Kitchen was flawless as were offerings from the bar. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I have a dairy allergy and 404 was not accommodating in the least. There was literally only one (1) entree' on the menu that I could order. All of the sides were made with dairy. The server, though knowledgeable about the menu and what did/did not contain dairy, didn't offer any accommodations. Our bill, including tip, was almost $100- for two (2) mediocre entree's and two (2) sparkling waters. I didn't feel like our server was striving at all to give us a good restaurant experience, especially since neither of us were drinking. My husband gave up alcohol for lent and I'm 34 weeks pregnant. I doubt we will return, which is unfortunate. This was our second time at 404 -we loved it the first time, but found it was not worth our time and money this last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything was wonderful except for our waitress. She was very rude and had no manners. On top of that when me and my friend decided to order a cocktail at the end of our meal she rolled her eyes to the other wait staff standing next to the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Hostess and waiter were both very friendly and personable. Also accommodated us by moving us to a table that would allow a car seat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food was hit or miss, service was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food and service were great. One odd item: they do not serve iced tea. Sweet or unsweet, you cannot get it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The dining experience was great! Food top notch even though the main team was out at an event. Definitely worth going back. The flavor profiles where unique and refreshing. The Tri-Tip could have been more tender.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent bartender! Excellent food! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The ambiance was very pleasing and the low ceiling kept the noise level down so that it was possible to have a normal conversation. The menu was interesting and varied and the wine selection had some unusual options. I would definetly go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Another spectacular meal at 404. It is never less. Service, beautifully prepared meals, best whiskey bar in Nashville. What is not to love?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Damien, the bartender, provided exceptional service. The food and drinks were outstanding. I will most definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Caleb took good care of us. The food was excellent, particularly the scallop toast and the pork bolognese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our Valentine date at the 404. The food tasted incredible and the service was great! Would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was outstanding, service was exceptional. Server very knowledgeable about menu and wine/bourbon selection. Menu was not extensive, but highly inventive and just plain delicious. Best meal I've had in Nashville.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The lamb sugo, bourbon cocktails, and steak were absolutely magnificent. The swordfish was overcooked, which was very disappointing and the dessert: brownie with coffee ice cream was hard! Also, the server was kind of rude and she didn't come around to the table often.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very much enjoyed dinner for Valentine's Day. Great service

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have been to 404 about 4 times now and it has become a "Go To" for a business dinner for me. The bar is a great place to sit and have a conversation over a craft drink (bar has an amazing bourbon selection...even their own barrels), the food is excellent (though they could have more red meat on the menu), and the atmosphere is hip and quaint. Wine list is also quite good. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food did not disappoint. The tables however are extremely close to one another. So be prepared to have quiet conversations and suck in as you squeeze into your seat so you don't tip the drinks on the table beside you. This place is best suited for dates, not large groups. The food was outstanding though. I'd go back & would recommend to friends. Had the rabbit , scallop toast, butter beans and husband had chicken leg. All were delicious on had flavors that were different from usual tastings. Thoroughly enjoyed for vday!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The rabbit was really good. Cornbread is also fantastic. My wife had the chicken and loved it. Wait staff was great. Incredible whiskey menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had! Food was impeccable!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great day before Valentine's Day dinner. Went out to beat the crowds the day of, great service and outstanding food. Definitely worth checking out, the menu changes often so keep your eye out for new additions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This tiny place is a gem amid the much larger and less personal gulch dining options. Although we four ordered wine, the spirit selection (so wonderfully displayed) looks amazing. We would love to go back and sit at the bar for dinner. The food is super - delicious and plated beautifully. Desserts are definitely worth the calorie splurge. The service is attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Small portions, but great taste. The restaurant is little so expect to sit really close to the other guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and drinks. Wine list was lacking. Could've had a better range of wines and prices.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is a delightful little( seriously little ) restaurant. It is tucked in to the ground level of the 404 Hotel and has a limited number of comfy seats. If you are a patron of size this might not be a great choice.We were squished up against the wall and were positively forced to hear every word, slurp and burp at the table next to us. Our waitress was outstanding and knowledgable and provided us with excellent service and food recommendations. I did feel that the menu was limited and several of the entree options were of the pasta gnocchi variety, quite tasty but also quite pricey for a bowl of pasta( $28-$30). I think it would have been fun to sit at the bar and eat, you can see into the kitchen and there did appear to be a bit more personal space. The food was tasty, the service very good and the limited menu interesting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

One of our top 3 Nashville favs. SENSATIONAL! FANTASTIC!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I love the relaxed feel of this place. Very unique construction from shipping containers. Food was creative with some unusual combinations of ingredients. Our table had rabbit in a tasty broth, (my dish and very good), chicken, and trout. We were treated with a special lamb small plate as a gift from the chef. It was so, so good. We will definitely return to try more dishes. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable. I was surprised they did not offer iced tea - we are in the south you know!

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday. Our server was phenomenal!!!! Such an understated manner while paying attention to every single detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our server Gaylon was superb ... couldn't have asked for a better first trip to this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

After a few disappointing meals in Nashville we were so happy with our meal at 404 Kitchen. From the awesome service (thanks Jordan) to the beer selection and presentation of the delicious meal, it was a great experience that I would definitely do again.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything we had was tasty; as a whole the menu tended toward simple (humble?) dishes. Unfortunately to command this sort of price for simply prepared food, a restaurant needs to elevate the dish or have some special ingredients. It was very well done, don't get me wrong, but the menu and drink prices lead me to believe that this restaurant's size simply can't sustain the operating costs for a rather ordinary menu.

Last bit, when your vaunted whisky selection is priced 25% over other places and you're pouring 1.5 oz instead of 2, it doesn't feel fancy, it just feels like taking advantage.

The food was certainly good enough for 4 or 5 stars, and it's worth trying it out once, but between the price and somewhat less than pleasant atmosphere, I am not sure we'll be back. Ironic that the tiny shipping container digs are the only thing that makes this restaurant novel and the only thing holding it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.