About 404 Kitchen

404 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

At The 404, Chef Matt Bolus offers a modern take on classical European cuisine with a menu influenced on available produce grown at local farms. Located in a shipping container, the restaurant is a uniquely quaint and casual fine dining venue.
We are unable to offer a children's menu.
Please call for seating in our glass enclosed dining area and to reserve tables of 5 or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The 404 Kitchen - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
The 404 Kitchen - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Exterior - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Fourth Course Tasting - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Baby Red Potatoes - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Burrata, Peppers, Peanuts - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Butter Beans - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Scallop Toast - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Gigante Beans - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Second Course Tasting - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Shortbread, Coffee Icecream, Butterscotch Caramel - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Fattoush, Cucumber, Tomatoes, Pita - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Dry Aged Beef Tartare - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Bear Creek Farms Tri Tip, Myatake Mushroom, Sweet Potato Puree - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Ponce Inlet Bay Scallops, Carolina Red Bean, Rice, Romesco - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Jimmy Red Corn Grits Cornbread - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Fattoush - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Allium Soup - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Asparagus With Egg - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Biscuits With Whiskey Jam - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Button Mushrooms - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Charlotte - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Crudo - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Gulf Rock Shrimp - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Olive & Sinclair Chocolate Budino - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Skillet Cookie - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Punched At The  404 - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Punched At The 404 - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Sangre Del Sol - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Cocktail Eight - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Cocktail Seven - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Fashionista - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Flight - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Foret Du Francais - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Sangre Del Sol - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
The Devil Went Down To Nashville - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Southern Pacific - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Chef's Jacket - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN
Menu - 404 Kitchen, Nashville, TN

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Nashville
American
Nashville
Fit for Foodies
Nashville
1 More
American
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Seasonal (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent drinks and excellent food. Bes ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined a day ago

Excellent drinks and excellent food. Best food we had in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very satisfied with my first meal at 404 ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Very satisfied with my first meal at 404 Kitchen. Really enjoyed my Pork Bolognese, and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her Tri Tip steak on a bed of polenta (a hint less salt would be appreciated, but this is a savory dish after-all. I was blown away by the bar selection - whiskeys that I haven't seen in years, are readily available at this bar. Year's deep in their BTAC and PVW (if you know, you know.)

I would highly recommend this restaurant (and I already have) to any of my friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the small room, it was very cozy. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Loved the small room, it was very cozy. The services was unbelievable, I think there may have been more staff than guests. Our waiter had complete mastery of the offerings and was able to make suggestions on both food and wine. The food was spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I had the chef tasting wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I had the chef tasting with wine pairings. I have diet restrictions and I was impressed with how they were able to adapt. I enjoyed the same dishes but created from scratch on the spot. Everything was delicious... the wine pairings were excellent with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent spot. Wonderful food, thoughtf ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent spot. Wonderful food, thoughtful service. The place is very small, which makes for a cozy feel. When it fills, because of the proximity of the tables to one another, conversation is a wee bit more challenging; if you make an early reservation, you can have a delightful date and beat the loud talkers and din.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Being seated in the first room closest t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Being seated in the first room closest to the door was a disappointment. Almost like our business and comfort was less important.

Aside from that the service was nice and prompt. All the food was creative and exciting.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Our waitress was very engaging and provi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waitress was very engaging and provided personal thoughts and observations about the menu. The space is small and intimate but relaxed and informal. The food was outstanding and the service very attentive but not overbearing. If you have the means, I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was to die for! The ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This restaurant was to die for! The service was phenomenal. The food was even better. This was by far our favorite restaurant in Nashville during our visit! Very small dining room, but tables were not uncomfortably on top of one another. Perfect place to impress a date.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine, beer, hors d'oeuvres, and dess ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The wine, beer, hors d'oeuvres, and desserts were great. The service was excellent. The entrees were less impressive, especially the rabbit entree. There were too many dumplings, hardly any rabbit and too much sauce.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent meal. Had a chance to visit w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent meal. Had a chance to visit with the chef, Matt. Great guy and he is very passionate about his business and his customers. Well done!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time that I've eaten ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is the second time that I've eaten there, and it was OUTSTANDING again. I took my wife there for her birthday, and the food was top shelf, and the service even more so. Priced extremely reasonably for how wonderful the experience was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. We had the burrata ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was amazing. We had the burrata and pompano for entree. The fish was melt-in-your mouth, and the burrata was unique. Delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing from start to finish! the servic ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

amazing from start to finish! the service, the drinks, the food, the space, the vibe.....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Between impeccable service and the even ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Between impeccable service and the even more INCREDIBLE(!!!) food, I can comfortably say that the 404 Kitchen is the best restaurant I've ever been to. I flew into Nashville for my first anniversary over this past weekend. Upon arrival, I gave my name for the reservation and the hosts immediately recognized it (I mentioned why we were coming in while making the reservation), saying "Happy Anniversary!" Our server then greeted us promptly, two glasses of champagne in hand, and also congratulated us. The recognition was a really sweet touch that made dinner all the more special.

We opted for the chef's tasting menu, myself with the wine pairing included, and I couldn't have been happier with it. The scallop toast is to die for - and can be ordered off of their standard menu! I definitely recommend it. We also had lobster thermidor, fish stew, swordfish, and rum cake. Each dish was special in its own right. The chefs, servers, and all employees of the 404 should take pride in themselves because everything was absolutely perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience I've had in nashville

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Best experience I've had in nashville

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. We had the swordfish. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great restaurant. We had the swordfish. Also try the beef tartare, simply amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was such a great experience. Very int ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was such a great experience. Very intimate setting. The food was phenomenal! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Couldn't have enjoyed it more! The serve ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Couldn't have enjoyed it more! The servers were on top of things, cocktails were inventive and delicious, and the swordfish was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On our second visit to 404, the excuse w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

On our second visit to 404, the excuse was an anniversary, and we were not disappointed with the ambiance, the service, or the quality of the food. This is a lively environment with closely-set tables, so don't expect seclusion or privacy. 404 is a decidedly non-pretentious eating spot that certainly rivals anything else in the Gulch neighbohood.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had superb service from our friendly ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had superb service from our friendly and knowledgeable waiter. The food, starting with the appetizer and ending with dessert was excellent. The flavors of the food were not overpowering; on the lighter side and fresh tasting. We are from out of town and we're very glad that we tried 404 kitchen. We loved the intimate atmosphere as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of our first dinners out al ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was one of our first dinners out alone since having our baby- FOR A REASON- this place is always on the mark, always. The staff is friendly and knows their stuff. We had cocktails while waiting on our table - the wheat vodka suggested was a nice change to my regular Tito's. Once seated we got our 'normal' waitress who came from another great Nashville original and she is FABULOUS. Our appetizers were great. The lamb tartare was life changing - seriously delicious. Our entrees were spot-on. This place doesn't promise, but it does deliver, always.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visiting Nashville from Jacksonville, Fl ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Visiting Nashville from Jacksonville, Florida and what a nice experience at 404. Atmosphere was relaxing and friendly, service was great, our waitress was friendly and informative about the menu. Food was perfect!!

Innovative cocktail and good wine selection

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. It's intimate and warm ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Love this place. It's intimate and warm Great service and wonderful food

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quaint. Good food. Nice waiters. Th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very quaint. Good food. Nice waiters. The duck and bolognese were awesome. Need better desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were referred to 404 by a former Nash ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We were referred to 404 by a former Nashville resident. We were blown away by the quality of the food and dining experience! Beautifully displayed dishes, excellent wine/drink offerings, and wonderfully friendly server. All in all, an excellent experience and restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

404 Kitchen is a great little place. Fo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

404 Kitchen is a great little place. Food is great, service is great. It is a bit cramped and it is also pricey. The wine list is expensive for a bottle, most were over $100. We were there at 7:00 and it was crowded and so hard to have conversation, but as it cleared out it was quieter and much better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was outstanding! The atmosphere ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was outstanding! The atmosphere was ok not my favorite. We're hoping to dine inside in the main restaurant next time. Reminds me of a small restaurant you would see in New York. But the food was definitely worth it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food! Great service! Just a very p ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food! Great service! Just a very pleasant tasty experience. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great dinner at 404. Perfect s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a great dinner at 404. Perfect service, great wine and fantastic food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining ambiance. One of the best b ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great dining ambiance. One of the best bartenders ever. Helpful staff. Sounds like a trifecta to me. Try them. You won't regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best restaurants I've ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants I've been to in Nashville! The food was phenomenal. We were a party of three and we all ordered something different and loved our food. The waiter was wonderful. Very open to opining on one dish over another and his recommendations were on the money! The rice pudding is a must try dessert. It was the best I've ever had. The space is very small and the tables are very close together. Some may not like that but my party struck up a conversation with the couple next to us and we all had a great time. This is definitely a Nashville gem. If you want to go, you should make reservations well in advance.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy this exceptional dining exp ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always enjoy this exceptional dining experience in Nashville. Still feel like I'm in New York every time I'm there. Great food, incredible service, a memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh, inventive, exciting food - great ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fresh, inventive, exciting food - great decor! Every dish we ordered was perfectly executed! Loved it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reserved a table for a date and staff wo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Reserved a table for a date and staff worked with me in order to move my reservation to a later time when plans changed the day of. Friendly and helpful staff at every interaction. Good food and atmosphere. Everything we tasted was delicious and prepared excellently.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

each time at 404 is better. don't ever ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

each time at 404 is better. don't ever go to nashville without eating there

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we have had in Nas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

One of the best meals we have had in Nashville! Outstanding service and the food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Other than having the table right beside ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Other than having the table right beside the host/hostess table, our evening was very nice, and the food, as usual, wonderful. Our waitress was particularly good.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Terrific food, terrific service...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Terrific food, terrific service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

404 Kitchen is one of Nashville's best r ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 22, 2016

404 Kitchen is one of Nashville's best restaurants. I have eaten there many times and have celebrated special occasions with family and friends. The staff members are warm and knowledgeable about the food without being snooty in the least. The food is wonderful. Most recently I enjoyed the rabbit entree. Their cocktails are superb. If you love good food and drink, you will love 404 Kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Good flavors in every dis ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great evening. Good flavors in every dish. The experience was made even better by a knowledgable waiter who helped us make some great choices from the wine list and the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.