About 404 Kitchen

404 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

At The 404, Chef Matt Bolus offers a modern take on classical European cuisine with a menu influenced on available produce grown at local farms. Located in a shipping container, the restaurant is a uniquely quaint and casual fine dining venue.
We are unable to offer a children's menu.
Please call for seating in our glass enclosed dining area and to reserve tables of 5 or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Nashville
American
Nashville
Fit for Foodies
Nashville
1 More
American
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

Fit for Foodies (75)
Special Occasion (56)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
See All
Hot Spot (30)
Romantic (29)
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrific food, terrific service...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 2 days ago

Terrific food, terrific service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

404 Kitchen is one of Nashville's best r ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

404 Kitchen is one of Nashville's best restaurants. I have eaten there many times and have celebrated special occasions with family and friends. The staff members are warm and knowledgeable about the food without being snooty in the least. The food is wonderful. Most recently I enjoyed the rabbit entree. Their cocktails are superb. If you love good food and drink, you will love 404 Kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Good flavors in every dis ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great evening. Good flavors in every dish. The experience was made even better by a knowledgable waiter who helped us make some great choices from the wine list and the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had dinner here and the food was exce ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had dinner here and the food was excellent. I had the pork ragout, which was mixed with a dense homemade pasta (sort of a cross between tiny gnocci and spaetzel) - delicious! My husband had the chicken dish, which was also great - incredibly tender. The appetizers we had were also excellent. The fatoush (a middle eastern cucumb & tomato salad) was tasty but not special. Also, the cocktails get rave reviews, but the bartender was rather arrogant & annoying (maybe an aspiring actor?) and the drinks were unusual but not particularly good. And they were served in very small glasses - so each $15 cocktail contained about 6 oz. I can do better than that in NYC!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waiter Andrea was outstanding, the f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our waiter Andrea was outstanding, the food was fantastic and this cool little restaurant in The Gulch is one not to miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had early reservations and we were tu ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had early reservations and we were tucked away in a corner table outside the main restaurant. Throughout the meal, we felt rushed. We were able to get a few sips from our drinks before the appetizers arrived and, while not ideal, we knew the restaurant could have a crowd; so we weren't overly surprised. Two of the appetizers were very good (Peach and Tomato Salad and the Maitake Mushrooms) and one was interesting, but mediocre (Beef Tartare). We hadn't yet finished the appetizers when the meals arrived; so we quickly gobbled down the remaining appetizers to make room on the table. Of the three mains, one was good (Pork and Peach Ragot). The swordfish was not a good cut and was overcooked in a very salty broth). The halibut was a good cut and prepared beautifully; however, the accompaniments were too salty, but edible. A rice pudding dessert was shared with coffee and it was good. Had we not lingered a little over dessert, we would have been in and out in 45 minutes instead of 50. Not one of our best dining experiences.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The peach and tomato salad is one of the ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The peach and tomato salad is one of the best dishes I've had in a long time! The halibut was great, and it was easy to adjust menu items to my gluten free diet, if needed. Service was excellent! I also liked that they had alcohol-free specialty drinks to choose from. Only drawback was being placed at a tiny table for two right by the serving station.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow. One of my favorite restaurants. I w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wow. One of my favorite restaurants. I went with my best friend to Nashville and we did a LOT of research trying to find hidden gems, holes in the wall, local spots, etc. This spot is not exactly hidden, as it's in popular neighborhood, but it is a GEM. It is very small, wonderful food, fantastic service, excellent cocktails. Would go back in a heartbeat and HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent but the restaurant wa ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was excellent but the restaurant was extremely noisy. Most of this is due to too many tables crammed so close together. It was almost impossible to have a conversation. The food could greatly benefit from a comparable atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

The menu was small and limited. However ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The menu was small and limited. However, everything we ordered was delicious and unique. Highly recommend the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Every single thing we ate was flawlessly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Every single thing we ate was flawlessly executed and expertly composed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but make sure to request seat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good food, but make sure to request seating inside the main restaurant. Seating in the front is too quiet and removed from the fun vibe of the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great experience at 404 kitchen. Food w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great experience at 404 kitchen. Food was fantastic, service was excellent. I would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

404 Kitchen was hands down some of the b ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

404 Kitchen was hands down some of the best food I have EVER had. We had heard so much about a few of Nashville's other dining options, and are so glad that we decided to stick with this option. The cornbread was to die for, so incredible, as was the pork and peach ragout and the beef tri-tips. This was actually our favorite part of our trip to Nashville, I could see coming back just for a special meal here.

We really liked our service as well - very attentive, our water glasses were always filled, and they did such a great job explaining our options.

Seriously can't stop dreaming about the food!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

404 Kitchen was a wonderful dining exper ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

404 Kitchen was a wonderful dining experience. The restaurant is small and best for small parties (e.g., a couple or maybe a couple of couples). The bar has an extremely impressive array of whiskies and the bartender is knowledgeable about them.

The atmosphere is cozy and quiet. My wife and I went for our anniversary and it was easy to talk and to be heard.

Our server was warm, friendly, knowledgeable, and appropriately present.

The menu changes frequently, so I won't get into specific items. I'll just say this is a great spot for foodies. Everything we ate was excellent. The menu was unique without trying to hard to be unique.

I'd put 404 Kitchen among my favorite Nashville restaurants.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

404 Kitchen did not disappoint! Everythi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

404 Kitchen did not disappoint! Everything was fantastic from drinks to dessert and will be going again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was good. Server was great, but hos ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was good. Server was great, but hostess/front door man was not. He told us he had to flip the table by 8 before we even sat down! We had a 6:30 reservation. We wanted to relax and celebrate a birthday. However we just felt rushed. My food was okay but potatoes were way underdone. Probably because they rushed our food. We did not leave until after 8 and did not even have dessert! We felt pressure during the entire time by the hostess...working to get us gone. He even stepped in to help the server when we did not want him to. It was also extremely loud and tables are too close together. We used to love this place, but I have no desire to go back after this experience. It was disappointing!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

The whiskey/whisky wall was amazing.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The whiskey/whisky wall was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

With a changing menu, you never know wha ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

With a changing menu, you never know what you're going to get, but it doesn't matter because it's always perfectly delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Matt visited our table. The servers ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Chef Matt visited our table. The servers are like authors reading their prize winning novel. Brilliant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The burrata was outstanding. The snapp ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The burrata was outstanding. The snapper was just ok, Tri tips just good. But not spectacular. Atmosphere was great, very knowledgable bar tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Very disappointed with the service. I m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very disappointed with the service. I made reservations 8 weeks in advance and the Hostess was too not welcoming or gracious. Our server had no personality and couldn't recommend the food (like he'd never tasted anything!) This restaurant is SO overrated. Way too expensive for uncomfortable chairs - felt like it was a cheap diner. This is NOT my idea of a nice evening out!!! I will not be back! The cost of the food is crazy considering how little is served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Wow, what a spectacular experience! As a ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wow, what a spectacular experience! As a couple who frequently dines out, we very rarely come across an exceptional restaurant where the food is creatively excellent, the service is absolutely professional and the environment is upbeat. 404 is all of that and more.

The menu is somewhat eclectic and innovative and the execution is outstanding. We had rabbit and red snapper. Both were great as was the salad and the desert and the drinks.

Highly recommend 404.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic meal. A great meal at Grandm ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic meal. A great meal at Grandma's meets 5 star dining.

Tags: Organic, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to try 404 Kitchen while visi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We decided to try 404 Kitchen while visiting Nashville for our anniversary. Everything was great! It is a small intimate restaurant with a simple decor. The staff was excellent! Especially our server, Jordan. She guided us through the menu and she was spot on. The rest of the staff is also exceptional. It was just a lovely experience all around. It is nice to see a small restaurant that gives so much attention to the small details!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Innovative and delicious farm to table m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Innovative and delicious farm to table menu. Peach&Tomato Salad, Peach&Pork Ragout, Duck Egg, Burrata, Mushrooms and Skillet Cornbread and Coffee ice cream dessert were all our table faves!! Hip ambiance. Innovative, craft cocktails. Great location. Attentive service. Tops on our list! Recommended by my daughter, a local, as her favorite restaurant in Nashville! We totally get it!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4th time at 404 and we still live it. Th ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

4th time at 404 and we still live it. The food is great. As a vegetarian, I always just tell them to surprise me and they have yet to let me down. My boyfriend loves the rabbit. Great place for special occasion or just a Wednesday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and cocktails and service were ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food and cocktails and service were outstanding. So many great food and drink choices! Our server was quite helpful in assisting is with a wine pairing for our entrees. The amberjack was cooked to perfection as were the streak and rabbit dishes. Get the okra!! It was a leisurely dinner and we were not rushed at all through our meal. We would definitely return here if we lived locally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

whenever i go to nashville i go to this ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

whenever i go to nashville i go to this small owner/chef operated restaurant. so consistently good. the best corn bread in the world so that is a must at any meal.

don't miss this place

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We won't be back although the food and t ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We won't be back although the food and the service was excellent. The noise was horrific. We had to shout to be heard across the table. 404 Kitchen is not the only restaurant in Nashville to which this criticism applies. This is the single biggest reason why we don't return to otherwise excellent restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

We had heard so many good things about 4 ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had heard so many good things about 404 Kitchen and all of our expectations were met! Our server was delightful and the food spectacular!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance was great. Food was just ok. I ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Ambiance was great. Food was just ok. I had the pasta which was nice. The cornbread was delicious. The tri-tip was inedible. The flavoring was off and it was incredibly tough and chewy, even though we had it prepared medium rare.

Our server was nice, but we probably wouldnt come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The menu is somewhat limited and tends t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The menu is somewhat limited and tends toward salty. Drinks selection is excellent, food quality high, and service quite good. Overall good, albeit not up to the hype. Still a solid selection and no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

My friends and I were eager to try 404 K ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My friends and I were eager to try 404 Kitchen. We were not disappointed as the food and service was very good. We were so glad we tried it. However, it is notably a smaller and intimate restaurant with limited seating which could be a disadvantage. Luckily for us we were given a table at the front of the restaurant that offered us some separation and space. I would recommend this restaurant to my friends to try.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great waitress. Great food. Tables were ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great waitress. Great food. Tables were a little tight but it's an intimate reastaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed my birthday dinner with my hus ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I enjoyed my birthday dinner with my husband at 404 Kitchen. They even had "Happy Birthday" at the top of my menu. The food was amazing-- tasting menu was delicious. Drinks were great. It's a very small restaurant, which was fine for us. Everyone on staff was so very nice and helpful. So glad we finally got the enjoy dinner there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious, as always. Truly N ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Absolutely delicious, as always. Truly Nashville's best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Amazing service! Can't w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious food. Amazing service! Can't wait to go back. Highly recommend any rabbit entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cornbread was very good. Book early ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The cornbread was very good. Book early. My husband really enjoyed the tri tip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, great service, great little ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food, great service, great little restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.