Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About 404 Kitchen

Chef Matt Bolus and the team at The 404 Kitchen in Nashville made their eagerly anticipated move across the street to 507 12th Avenue. The James Beard-nominated restaurant will open their new, state-of-the-art space that will allow executive chef Matt Bolus and his culinary team to build upon their celebrated repertoire of flavors while staying true to the original concept and style. The restaurant boasts a variety of indoor and outdoor seating perfect for a romantic dinner, family gathering, private event, catching up with friends or enjoying a cocktail on the patio.

507 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Mon–Thu: 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri & Sat: 5:00 pm–10:30 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
11th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://the404nashville.com/kitchen/

Parking Details:
Parking is available throughout the Gulch at street meters as well as pay lots.

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The 404 Kitchen, located in Nashville’s popular Gulch neighborhood, offers a full service event team that will help you design every detail for your private event. From corporate events to rehearsal dinners and everything in between, The 404 Kitchen will make every moment of your event extraordinary

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (37)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Creative Cuisine (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Business Meals (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fun (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Bar Seating (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined a day ago

Drink was great, food was pretty good. Atmosphere was nice. Service was great. I assume the menu changes often so I’d probably go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Engagement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Was sat 45 min after reservation time in possibly the worst table in the restaurant. They were out of several food options. Apps came early, main course came out over an hr later. Ordered drinks and never came. Mia the manager kindly comped our entire meal but overall I would rate 404 very poorly. There are so many amazing restaurants to put on your list before this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food, cocktails, and wine list! Great service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

This was the first time we had dinner at the new 404 location. The restaurant is beautiful and the food was as amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant provides an all-around high quality experience. We were seated promptly at reservation time, enjoyed an excellent meal, and had great service. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Not very impressed with our meal. The lobster toast had very little flavor. Steak was too tough to chew and had to be sent back. There are much better Nashville choices for the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, excellent food! Can’t wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for my birthday with a few friends. There was incredible food and super great staff. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a nicer place to have dinner in Nashville!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was terrible the swordfish was bland. The lobster toast had too much avacado and the lobster had too much lemon

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was mediocre.. I expected more from them. My fish tasted like it was frozen before and my boyfriends steak was underwhelming. Our server was amazing though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Only complaint need a better selection of wines by the glass

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2018

I enjoyed my meal here, but in my honest opinion some of the items on the menu are priced way higher than what they should be. The food is good but not life-changing (I had the rabbit, my husband had bolognese), but of course I appreciate the whole free-range, seasonal, farm-to-table aspect raising the price. My main complaint is the cheapest glass of wine is 12 dollars! Just seemed unreasonable to me and totally threw me off. In short, I found it to be satisfactory but overrated.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2018

We had a drink at gertie’s before dinner, which was delicious! The Burrata and tartare were delicious but the mains were fabulous. We had the catch if the day and the rabbit. The cannoli was delicious but the Blondie wasn’t our favorite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Our first visit to 404 and it lived up to the billing! Wonderful food and atmosphere

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 9, 2018

To me they have lost a little of the fun of going there with the change of locations. But having said that, the service is always great!! The food is limited and I wish they would expand the menu by a couple of items. They were out of many items during our dinner both drink and food. I guess that made it feel more limited. For the price I want a choice of fish I guess not just swordfish. The liver and beef were both amazing to start, and the rabbit is always a solid choice. All and all a good dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2018

This was wonderful , Ashley our Waitress was amazing.....I'll go back for sure

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Not a strong choice for vegetarian options (sides do not equal a veggie meal). Service was a little uneven. My fish was delicious and my husband enjoyed the rabbit, but our guest found the bolognese disappointing. It was worth trying to see what all the buzz is about, but I would never return or go out of my way to recommend. There's too many great options out there to repeat a solid, but just good, experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Took my son and his friend to a late dinner. The service was attentive but not overbearing. The cocktail choices in the bar were fabulous. The new space is very comfortable. The food is excellent so happy to be able to enjoy the new 404/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Awesome food. As a table for two, the first table they gave us literally had one seat touch the cutlery/ water station. It really shouldn't be an actual table. We asked to be moved and the new table was better but not great. The tables for 4 seem amazing though. Maybe they could pay better attention to the ambience of the tables for 2. But the food is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Our server, Hunter, was very friendly and helpful in explaining the menu. The sous vide beef tri tip was absolutely amazing. I also recommend the sweet potato side dish. The corn bread was very good, but probably not worth it. The blondie dessert I almost passed on, but am so glad my friend talked me into it. The name is misleading. The texture is nothing like any blondie I've ever had before. You have to like cinnamon to like it, but it was super delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 31, 2018

What a great evening! Service was professional yet friendly. The scallop toast was to die for, if you try nothing else, try this appetizer! Loved, loved, loved their version of the Southern Caesar Salad. Had the grilled fish as my main course and it was fresh and perfectly cooked. Cocktails were delicious. No room for dessert this visit, but I will definitely visit again.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2018

The service was wonderful! The food was fabulous. I still have dreams about the sweet potato side (velvety deliciousness).

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Awesome and will go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Food was above average. Drink prices were extremely high.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Our first visit to the new site for 404--we had been to the smaller venue across the street. Very energetic (almost too loud for conversation at times!), attentive staff, excellent food--we had steak tartar and burrata for appetizers, the rabbit, pozole, lamb sugo, and bolognese for main. The tartare was a bit bland, but the burrata delicious. Everyone loved their mains. Good wine selection.
Cons were the noise, the almost too-attentive staff not giving us enough time to review the menu, interrupting conversation repeatedly to get orders (which we had asked for more time a few times), and the valet up-charge. Will return. And park ourselves :).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2018

The new setting was a perfect backdrop to enjoy 404 favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2018

My mother always told me that if you dont have anything nice to say about someone, don't say anything at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Great meal and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Super tasty! The chicken with all the sauces! The skillet cornbread! Greens sweet potatoes
Everything was so delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2018

Incredible and innovative food, flavors and presentation! From appetizers to dessert to wine to coffee, this place is awesome. A little pricey but it will not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2018

Really superb meal.... great food and well thought out wine list.... pork bolognese was amazing o

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Sat at a two top table against wall. Not enough room on table! Shouldn’t put 2 top tables against wall, feels too closed in. Next time will ask for larger table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Amazing experience! One of the best in Nashville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 19, 2018

First time at 404 in any location, old or new. Service was excellent, but server was a bit intense and not chatty or fun. Had good recommendations when asked. Waited a long time in the bar to be seated, way past our reservation time. When we checked in the hostess didn’t tell us to let her know when we wanted to be seated-ummm at our reservation time, come and get us???
Food was excellent as was dessert. The blonde was great. Will definitely return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 19, 2018

My favorite restaurant in Nashville - consistently amazing in all aspects of dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Loved the experience with the only exception being the portions were so large.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2018

This place is just great! We had the pleasure of meeting the owner (he seated us0, and he was so charming and friendly as was our amazing waitress, Sam. Highly recommend this 404!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Ambiance and service fantastic, but my seafood was undercooked. For a $300 outing for 3 people, food needed to be top notch...and it wasn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2018

We dined with friends with whom we have traveled extensively, eating in wonderful restaurants all over the US and Europe. I would stack this food up against any restaurant i have been to n the past: ever. You can taste small and large plates family style, which we did. You can have oysters and salad: we had both raw and roasted. I look forward to my next visit. I highly recommend it!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.