Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About 404 Kitchen

At The 404, Chef Matt Bolus offers a modern take on classical European cuisine with a menu influenced on available produce grown at local farms. Located in a shipping container, the restaurant is a uniquely quaint and casual fine dining venue.
We are unable to offer a children's menu.
Please call to reserve tables of 5 or more.

404 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available throughout the Gulch at street meters as well as pay lots.

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Wine

Specials

Kavalan Taiwanese Whiskey Dinner

Monday Sep 25, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Kavalan Taiwanese Whiskey Dinner

Monday Sep 25, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Kavalan Taiwanese Whiskey Dinner, With Scott Crawford, Monday, September 25, 2017. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please call to make a reservation. Space is limited. Special valid on Monday Sep 25, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (40)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Local Ingredients (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (19)
Hot Spot (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Seasonal (11)
Fun (10)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our first time at 404 and our first time trying tri-tip and we could not have been more impressed with the restaurant and the food. The staff was very friendly and the food and flavor pairing the chef came up with were phenomenal. We wished there was a bit more of it, but that usually the case when the food is that good. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Overrated. We decided to eat here based on reviews. While the venue was interesting, the food was a disappointment. We ordered a salad with "burrata" cheese. The center was too solid and heavy; more like a cream cheese. We also ordered a farro dish for the table. It came out looking and tasting like couscous and tasting greasy. When we asked the waiter to confirm it was farro he indicated that the chef treated it differently to get that texture. The dish was a fail. I did order a cold shrimp salad that was described as a fatoush salad with shrimp. It was good....but it was a salad. Overall I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We went for my birthday and enjoyed it. I had no idea what to expect so was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant was small, cozy, with just enough lighting, and delicious food! I have to say though, I would not recommend for groups of more than 3, unless they have a larger room hidden away that I didn't see, because it is tight quarters no matter where you sit. Our reservation was for 9pm and it was busy until we left at 11pm. Great food, kind and easy going servers, can't complain about our evening- we really enjoyed it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We have been to 404 Kitchen multiple times and it has been consistently great. Small restaurant setting, not too loud but not uncomfortably quiet, with excellent wait staff/bartenders with educated recommendations. Would recommend to anyone for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and service, but the restaurant is tiny... we literally were next to the check in desk. I've heard they are moving to a bigger location - which should make the world of difference

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were in town for a game and wanted to try out this cool restaurant in shipping containers. Small intimate place with fantastic service and even better food. Would definitely go back next time I'm in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent quality food; relatively small menu , excellent quality but quite pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Really incredible food. Don't be put off by the small menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful food and service, loved the appetizers and entrée, a bit on the pricey side but excellent food and drink. Would gladly recommend to a friend and would dine there again on a special occasion! Seating was a bit cramped but manageable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great service and food - appreciate Raven's gesture and always good to see staff I know from previous visits.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Amazing whiskey selection. Ambiance and waitstaff not up to par with our Nashville establishments of the same ilk. Food excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Something about eating in a shipping container is fabulous, especially when exceptional ambiance, food, wine, and service is part of the deal. Don't miss this hidden gem! But know that it is very small and reservations are pretty much a must.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

All our main dishes were over seasoned with salt. It was a very different experience than we had had at this restaurant a year ago. The first course was excellent, but the desert was good not great. Our waiter recommended a wine based off our desire for something Bordeaux like and he recommended something Merlot like despite our reservations. It was an expensive wine. Was an expensive meal and not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I took my husband to Nashville for his birthday. This was definitely a highlight! The Scallop Toast was amazing. We are looking forward to going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

My sister and I enjoyed eating our first Nashville dinner here during our trip to the area. The cocktails were great! We shared the amazing salmon crudo, and a great green salad as appetizers. We split the chilled shrimp over a diced tomato/ zuchinni creation. For dessert we experienced caramelized white chocolate with peanuts and green olives. I am generally not a fan of green olives, but they worked in the sweet and savory dessert! Thanks for a great meal!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We have visited this restaurant before . Our son Attends Belmont University . We always enjoy the wine and food . The service people are outstanding I have severe allergies . I was able to enjoy dinner without fear of an allergic reaction . Our sever was caring and efficient . Thanks Sam !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 22, 2017

404 was amazing ! We were traveling to Nashville and 404 was at the top of our list. We loved it! I highly recommend it. Very creative very tasty. Also loved the whiskey selections.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Always great food and service. One of my favorite restaurants in the US. A must try in Nashville if you are a foodie.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Was in Nashville for the Great American Eclipse. Found 404 on the internet and decided to try. The reviews do not do this place justice. Total great experience. Food was unbelievably good. Scallop toast, pork and peaches stew and Whisky parfait for dessert. On issue was I was the Designated driver and could not tap into the huge list of whiskeys and bourbons. I am not sure when I will be back in Nashville again, but if I am I will visit again and get an Uber. This place would be at the top of the scale in any city in the US.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was fantastic! The chef knocked it out of the flavor park with both courses. The food is worth the money, but the dining experience isn't. We didn't love sitting at the bar having glasses washed 2 feet away from our food. Sitting at a table would've spared us that experience, but it still wouldn't have been on par with the food: tables are cramped and close together, the staff bustling about frenetically at your elbows in the tiny space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Unbelievably hospitable hosts, very accomidating, pleasantly enthusiastic, all around amazing spot to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Gaylan gave us exceptional service and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great place from start to finish. Loved the food, the service and the energy of the place.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a small meal due to having a late dinner so unfortunately didn't taste as much of the menu as we normally would. That said, the chicken that I ordered was delicious. I never order chicken at a restaurant but the waiter recommended it - and it was indeed worth it.

Cool space, great location. Only complaint is the acoustics of the container space is terrible with sound bouncing all over the place, making it super loud and difficult to fully enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Sat at the bar for dinner and drinks; at first wife was disappointed we didn't have a table, but the bartender was so amazing to watch work and to talk to that it made the experience much better than sitting at a table. We had amazing food, amazing drinks, and an amazing experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Felt like NYC in the best way. Great flavors and great service. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

404 was a nice experience. The place is really small, I guess that is why they are moving. Maybe they won't put the wine racks in the Men's Restroom at the new location. Not sure if it will succeed at a much larger place. Everything is a little pretentious. Exotic beers, drinks and food. But that is sort of its appeals. The food was good, the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent & innovative food! Cozy & intimate setting. However, we sat at the bar and our bartender was not very informative or even hospitable.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was outstanding, particularly the chicken. Our server could not have been more knowledgeable, attentive or personable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The location was very convenient for us, since we're were staying at The Thompson and then headed to. The Raman die a show. The fact that it is a small restaurant was appealing to us. The food was very good, except for my Swordfish, which I felt was very "fishy". The waitress offered to take this entree off our bill, which was was courteous. Nice wine list, and overall a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We did not enjoy our meal. Expensive and pretentious dishes that did not taste good. Tables crowded together. Noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food and service were great, but it was very noisy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I loved the food. My girlfriend and I shared the rabbit and the monkfish. Both were excellent. Cocktails were good, but next time we'll probably drink at home to save money for the entrees. A little pricey, but delicious. One of the best meals I've had in Nashville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. The food was off the charts and the drinks menu was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had at a restaurant. Wonderful service, beautiful presentation and absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

What a surprise hole in the wall gem! Very friendly staff. I've lived here for 3 years and it may be the best meal I've had yet. Rivals east Nashville and germantown dining. Perfect for a special occasion. A tid bit noisy but not too bad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food and service - can be noisy but our table was in a great spot. Waiter is the BEST - Kaleb!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food and drinks were amazing! It can get a little loud (depending on who is sitting next to you) because it is a small restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing location, food and service. We loved EVERYTHING about this place. We will be back soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.