About 404 Kitchen

404 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

At The 404, Chef Matt Bolus offers a modern take on classical European cuisine with a menu influenced on available produce grown at local farms. Located in a shipping container, the restaurant is a uniquely quaint and casual fine dining venue.
We are unable to offer a children's menu.
Please call for seating in our glass enclosed dining area and to reserve tables of 5 or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pine St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 251-1404

Website:
http://www.the404nashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt Bolus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen
404 Kitchen

404 Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Nashville
American
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

fit for foodies (89)
special occasion (63)
neighborhood gem (40)
See All
romantic (39)
notable wine list (35)
hot spot (33)
vibrant bar scene (8)
good for groups (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My spouse and I recently dined at 404 Ki ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

My spouse and I recently dined at 404 Kitchen on a Friday night. We'd heard many terrific things about the restaurant and were very much looking forward to our meal there. I must say: we enjoyed every aspect of our visit, except the food. The restaurant itself is stylish and attractive; the greeting at the door was welcoming; our server was engaging and attentive but without being intrusive; the bar is well-stocked and well-staffed; and they know how to make an excellent dry martini. With all that, it was shaping up to be one of our favorite dinners in Nashville, Unfortunately, we found the food lacking. We began with the scallop crudo; to be honest, the scallops tasted, well, not sweet and fresh, as one expects with raw scallops. We moved to the garlic burrata, which was the best of the lot, though the pickled squash salad underneath to our palate detracted from the dish overall. Next up was the amberjack, which was significantly overcooked-- with fish of course being particularly difficult to time --which was supposed to be accompanied by bacalao (but may have been missing?). We also shared the rabbit man farm's rabbit; the rabbit was shredded (and so nearly indistinguishable from chicken), and came with ricotta gnudi (which were velvety and heavenly, more of those in the dish, please) which were significantly oversauced with lemon agrumato. As in, swimming in it. It was thin, soupy, lemony, and not very enjoyable. I hate to say we won't go back, because so many of the other aspects of the experience were so good; and perhaps we were there with an off-night for the kitchen. We did not comment to our server, as it would have been impossible to do so without being overheard by the two tables immediately on either side of us. So perhaps we'll give it another try, if I can convince my spouse (who is a hard sell) to do so. In truth, though, it will be hard to get him past the previously underwhelming food.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great place, amazing bar selection and t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place, amazing bar selection and the food was to die for. Going to make this a stop everytime I have to travel into Nashville!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience. Wedge Oak ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dining experience. Wedge Oak duck egg and the trout. Cocktails outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been trying a lot of new restaur ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have been trying a lot of new restaurants in Nashville and finally got here. We were very disappointed in the quality of the food - especially for the price. The food was nothing special at all; could get much better food at many other places. Plus everything was overpriced - $15.00 for a lemon drop martini is nuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Probably the best fine dining meal I've ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Probably the best fine dining meal I've ever had in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu is inventive. Food was unbelievably ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Menu is inventive. Food was unbelievably good. The service was very friendly and so helpful. Not stuffy at all. I can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2 glasses of wine each & a couple apps c ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

2 glasses of wine each & a couple apps cost $140 with tip. That's my only real gripe. Was hungry when I left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Pork and Peach Ragout was by far the mos ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Pork and Peach Ragout was by far the most outstanding dish from our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and drinks were delicious and t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and drinks were delicious and the service was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

404 greeted us with an intimate atmosph ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

404 greeted us with an intimate atmosphere thanks to the smaller restaurant size. It wasn't too noisy so we could enjoy a pleasant conversation. We started with a cocktail called "the Devil's in the Details" which was probably my favorite part of dinner. Each of the waiters invented something on the drink menu and you an tell they're passionate about their creations.

We really liked that the menu featured fresh seasonal produce. We started with the burrata and the qual egg appetizers. The burrata was ok, served on some pickled veggies, but not super unique. The quail egg, on the other hand, was fantastic, served in a surprisingly homey way (in toasted bread with a hole) but with fantastic, warm flavors that were pleasantly exotic. For the main course, my husband had the barracuda served in a tomato broth which was amazing. I had the peach and pork ragout which was underwhelming. The peach sort of blended into the sauce and didn't stand out to give the dish the sweet and savory flavor I'd been hoping for. We ordered a side of pan fried okra, which was very well prepared (in a garlic oil that I wish I could have dunked a loaf of bread in) not a hint of slime. We were so stuffed we had no room for dessert. But overall it was a good meal and a lovely dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

amazing bartender, he was very knowledge ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

amazing bartender, he was very knowledgeable and fun to talk to. All of your wait staff are first rate.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently a great option for special ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Consistently a great option for special evenings, 404 Kitchen once again delivered. Our meal was creative, fresh, and delicious. Service was, per usual, attentive and gracious. We love the personal touches in both the cuisine and the experience at 404 Kitchen and we'll be back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The chef was very understanding and crea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The chef was very understanding and created vegan options for my girlfriend. Everything was amazing! 404 Kitchen is a true gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the tri tips, way too salty. Bit int ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had the tri tips, way too salty. Bit into one piece and wanted so badly to spit it out because it had a bug chunk of salt on it but felt it would be too uncouth to do so. My fiancee's barracuda was very good but not memorable. The cheese plate was delish and amazing whiskey selection that made my fiancee very happy. Server was very awkward and we actually waited at least 10-15 minutes before being helped. During that time, got served plenty of water. Our server didn't really introduce herself ,just popped by and asked what we wanted. She didn't seem to have server experience, we felt like we were in an SNL skit, it was so surreal and strange, in a way that left us laughing. I was really full afterwards. Full of water-water service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

The food was very fresh and tasty, it is ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was very fresh and tasty, it is a seasonally limited menu. The service was outstanding.

On a scale of 1-10, I would rate it as a 7 and there are so many 9's now in Nashville. We would go back, but not on the top of the list we will frequent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Went there for anniversary dinner after ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went there for anniversary dinner after hearing tons of good things so expectations were high. If rating on the space alone I'd probably go four stars, but my wife and I found the food to not be any more special than several other "hot" restaurants. The rice pudding dessert was my favorite part of the meal...server was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were greeted by a lady who quote "I j ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were greeted by a lady who quote "I just don't want to be here I would rather be back in Mexico on my vacation" The front of house then showed us an empty dining area and pointed to our table--when i asked if we could sit somewhere else he said no—I pushed the issue and he replied in a huff, "OK-where do you want to sit?" real bad attitude--talk about getting first impressions wrong. Our table was small but that’s OK, server (Caleb) was great, food was very good except my tri tip came out genuinely cold not just luke warm and had to go back but the flavors were great. The kicker for me was the $50 corkage fee--no mention of it until it was on the bill. We were on our wedding anniversary and there was nothing extraordinary about the service or accommodations for this special day. They could have at least charged a reasonable price for corkage not this obscene amount. I had heard they are pretentious there which I don’t mind sometimes but they are arrogant pretentious not fun pretentious. Won’t go back. Nashville has so many better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a delicious and very memorable me ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had a delicious and very memorable meal at 404 Kitchen. The fusion of flavors were amazing and nothing I could prepare at home. Our waiter was great, recommending the perfect wine pairing for each dish. I suggest starting with a cocktail! A little pricey but made for a special meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

My friend and I visited the 404 Kitchen ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My friend and I visited the 404 Kitchen as part of our foodie-visit to Nashville. It was my gift to my friend for her birthday and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. As I am lactose-intolerant the restaurant did a fab job to accommodate this. The cocktail menu is very interesting and the cocktail I enjoyed was very refreshing yet delightful for the tastebuds. Overall we had a great experience and will definitely come back on our next trip down to Tennessee.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great space - small and perfect for a sp ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great space - small and perfect for a special occasion. Food was light and flavorful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything on the menu was top notch. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything on the menu was top notch. I particularly loved the rock shrimp with lead and the trout. Damien, the bar tender hooked us up with cocktails to match our dining experience. Graceful and intelligent service, absolutely delicious food and a calm/ beautiful atmosphere. Couldn't ask for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip to 404 Kitchen. ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was our first trip to 404 Kitchen.

First, the good: The food was AMAZING. Some of the best we've had in Nashville, and I'd put it right up there with Catbird, Sinema, and Josephine. I had the duck egg, followed by the rabbit. Both were incredible. My wife had the cheese plate and the pork and peach ragout and was equally pleased. We had a pre-dinner cocktail, bottle of wine, dessert (bourbon ice cream), and then both of us had a pour of bourbon.

On the down side, the space is tiny. You're basically sitting on top of each other with very little privacy in conversation. That's okay, but our big issue was the pretentious service. We probably had the worst table in the restaurant--odd because it was a 6:45 so it seems like the spot we had would be for later arrivals. I say that because I had the sun directly in my eyes for an hour after we arrived. When I mentioned it to our server, he basically just gave me an "oh well" and didn't offer to move us or anything. On the other side of the table my wife repeatedly got bumped into by servers and other visitors. That's because there's about 2 feet between her chair and the wall. This probably happened a dozen times throughout the night, with one server even accidentally dropping a knife on her. Our server also took the whiskey list out of my hands twice while I was trying to read it. I'm WANTING to spend lots of money on bourbon but the guy keeps taking the list so ultimately we got something a little cheaper. Finally, our server brought a side of cornbread to us because he thought it went well with our order (it did and was delicious), but then proceeded to charge us for it. Keep in mind, we didn't order it so we assumed this was on the house. It obviously wasn't.

In all, AMAZING food. Staff gets job done but just isn't that friendly--especially compared to other local restaurants on this level. I would go back if guaranteed I wouldn't be staring at the sun for an hour and have a less pretentious server.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Excellent meal at 404 Kitchen, as always ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent meal at 404 Kitchen, as always! Service was professional and attentive, but not over bearing. The food is inventive and delicious. It's expensive but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great ambiance, good for a romantic glas ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great ambiance, good for a romantic glass of wine. I was very underwhelmed with the food I ordered and would not go back for a meal. Perhaps the restaurant had been talked up too high and my expectations were unrealistic. Very bland, not impressed, not worth the menu price.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Great food. Tip: Watch out for the Sun i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food. Tip: Watch out for the Sun if eating an early dinner--not a lot of shade and its blinding if you are facing the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Eat before and after you go

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Eat before and after you go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great food as usual - service was slower ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food as usual - service was slower than I have had in the past. Still one of our fav places

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Fantastic, fresh food. Only 42 seats so ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Fantastic, fresh food. Only 42 seats so tight squeeze. Definitely need reservations. Great bourbon cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Nashville. New tasti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Best restaurant in Nashville. New tasting menu is another great option.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good rabbit, peach and pork ragout ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

very good rabbit, peach and pork ragout was amazing and the trout delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

404 Kitchen never disappoints in food qu ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

404 Kitchen never disappoints in food quality and service. I hate to not give this restaurant all 5 stars, but the only issue is the noise and crowded nature of this small restaurant. Otherwise it would be spectacular in all areas. This is one of the top 5 restaurants in Nashville. The unique and creative menu keeps us coming back. The rabbit, barrel fish and pork ragout are outstanding. For starters we enjoyed the scallop crude and shrimp. We are regulars and look forward to our next night out at 404.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very cool vibe, farm to table, in a conv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very cool vibe, farm to table, in a converted shipping container in the Gulch. Staff were all amazing, friendly and down to earth. A must order is the cornbread!! Best I've ever had!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Disappoints!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I love 404 because it's this small and unexpected venue. The service is always fantastic, very knowledgable, and eager to guide you through their menu. It has a speakeasy yet trendy vibe with a young charismatic staff. The menu is always changing but successfully meets a delectable level of satisfaction. The bar is unexpectedly vast, with a tremendous whiskey selection. I look forward to our next meal at the 404!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gotta try the 404!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our server, jordan, has an impressive command of the ingredients and the processes used in creating the enticing menu items. The chefs/kitchen staff outdid themselves . Treat yourself and dine at the 404!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were blown away!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I dined at 404 Kitchen for his birthday, and what a gift it was. Our server, Jordan, was a wealth of know leg with the wine/food pairings, suggestions, and high level of service. The weekend manager, Galen, treated us like royalty in how attentive he was to the occasion and any needs we had. The food, wine, and dessert was incredible, only elevated by the intimate setting and stellar service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner! I came with my boyfrien ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Fabulous dinner! I came with my boyfriend and my mom for dinner. We had the beef, burrata, veggie plate, rabbit, and tri tips. All were amazing! Lindsey, our server, was helpful, knowledgeable, and was very very pleasant. We started with cocktails and then switched to wine. The cocktails were so unique and tasty. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

404 Kitchen is tiny but very special. Th ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

404 Kitchen is tiny but very special. The menu always reflects a unique spin on the season and the service is top notch! We went for a wedding anniversary celebration and really enjoyed the cozy vibe and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I knew I had to go after reading about t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I knew I had to go after reading about the Anson Mills Skillet Cornbread with Kentucky bourbon barrel sorghum butter in Food & Wine. Wow! It definitely did not disappoint. The rest of the meal was just as amazing! We shared the Roasted Garlic Burrata and Scallop Crudo. Then for my entree I had Sunburst Trout. Each dish had really great flavors!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I lucked in to getting a reservation onl ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I lucked in to getting a reservation only a few days before we arrived in Nashville. The food was very good. Definitely try the cornbread - to die for! As I said the food was very good, the service was great but the noise level was a distraction. This is not the place to go to have a conversation. Be prepared to drop $150+ for two people.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great. They were very accomod ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was great. They were very accomodating for me, a vegan. Service was excellent. My only complaint was the noise. It was really hard to have a conversation. We were in the outside part, which was a quieter than inside, but still it was hard.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.