About 400 Beach Seafood & Tap House

400 Beach Dr NE
Unit 120
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
View Larger Map

Indoor - Outdoor dining on world famous Beach Drive overlooking waterfront Straub Park. Lunch Dinner daily and Sunday Brunch. Our relaxed coastal cuisine menu features fresh local fish, grass fed beef, farm raised seasonal produce. Voted Best in Tampa Bay for Best Business Lunch, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining and most romantic. Three private banquet rooms with a beautiful view available. Valet parking and dog friendly outdoor dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 Days a week
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 11:00am-11:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Drive and 5th Avenue North

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 896-2400

Website:
http://www.400beachseafood.com/

Catering:
Full Service Catering available for parties of every size and occasion. Corporate Dinners, Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthday Parties, Holiday Parties, Rehearsals and Cocktail Parties. Bar services also available in addition to vendor and venue suggestions.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking in our garage while you dine with us. If it's raining, we've got you covered.

Public Transit:
Trolley and Looper Bus stops within one block.

Executive Chef:
Ana Granucci

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Watch our website for special events at www.400BeachSeafood.com

Private Dining

400 Beach Seafood & Tap House is a beautiful indoor and outdoor venue to host your private parties. From corporate meetings & events to personal social gatherings and events; bridal showers and rehearsal dinners.

400 Beach Seafood & Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Casual (34)
People Watching (31)
See All
Scenic View (28)
Waterfront (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Business Meals (11)
Romantic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Healthy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Family Style (6)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

We have never had a bad meal or service. We drive from Bradenton, Fl to visit usually three times a year. Great food and fun spot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

I was pleased on how good the food was. I got the crab cakes I just wish it was four instead of three and my husband got the lobster Mac and cheese which was outstanding. Good service with no complaints. I will return again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is always first class. The sidewalk dining offers vpeople watching and views of one of the city's most impressive areas. What's not to like? RondaB

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Miso salmon is a must! Clam chowder was very good as our starter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We got a reservation at prime time on a Friday night. We were seated promptly and food came out fairly quickly. When I expressed some disappointment with my dish not having much crabmeat as described, the manager quickly corrected it by bringing a generous amount to add to what I had. Very nice waterfront place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The menu has a lot of meat+rice+stirfry vegetables.. not super inventive and we haven't seen a menu change in a few years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Grouper was overcooked for 2 out of three at our table. We had table for four near busboy stands. Atmosphere very ordinary. If you love grouper, go to 4th Street Shrimp Store.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

An early bird that's not too early! A choice of 6 appetizers - I recommend the clam chowder. 8 main courses if I remember right, all good and the veggies are not overlooked! Friendly servic, a small dessert and $3 glasses of wine during happy hour. What's not to like.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing! Went back the next night as well! Staff was terrific as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went out for valentine's day and had a great experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Absolutely delicious food! The crab cakes are fabulous. The chicken with lemon burre blanc sauce is wonderful as were the mashed potatoes. I don't care for sun dried tomatoes and requested the grilled asparagus in place of that and the spinach. My husband had the shrimp basket with fried potatoes. Both were well worth the money. I would definitely recommend the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great restaurant!! Server was very attentive to our needs and polite. Very nice outdoor atmosphere

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The atmosphere was awesome and the food was delicious with great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always been pleased with 400 beach. Early Bird dinner was awesome.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food and great staff! It was the perfect place for Mom's 80th birthday celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We brought friends from out of town to 400 Beach. It was their first experience here, and they raved about it -- with good reason. I had tonight's special -- grouper on a bed of mushroom risotto and asparagus, and it was the best meal I've had at 400 Beach (where, frankly, I've never had a bad meal). Our waiter was attentive, accommodating and friendly. A lovely evening that gave our friends a wonderful first impression of St. Petersburg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We eat at "400 Beach" a lot so this was a special occasion of two birthdays.. Not our fault that we picked Super Bowl Sunday and this is "The only day in the year when the TV sound is ON". Little did we know.... However the waitstaff was great and put us in a little part of the restaurant where the TV's were on mute. Mostly the noise was just exuberance from the bar and the folks who were watching the game. We could not fault them for trying to accommodate us and our own lack of interest in the game. Normally the ambiance has a tone of grace about it and we usually pick "400 Beach" for it's consistent good food and friendly atmosphere. So this is not a bad review. Only our picking the wrong day.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Terrible ambiance and felt like we were at Denny's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great meal. Shannon was a wonderful server- she gave us plenty of time for good conversation. Delicious cuisine. Festive atmosphere. Plenty of outdoor seating also/

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Mostly a great experience. After 30 minutes the server told us they messed up putting our order in and they were rushing it. It still took another 25 minutes to grill out fish. Besides the long disappointing wait for the food, the place is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had the calamari appetizer. Very good.

I had the lobster tail with sautéed veggies . Fresh tasting and fairly large. I'm a bit of a purist and would have preferred the drawn butter to have not been flavored. It was nice but lobster has a subtle flavor that shouldn't be hidden. The veggies were al dente - just the way I like 'em.

My compatriots both had the very large scallops. I had a bite. Mmmmmmm.

We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good service, excellent good and a great view overlooking the bay.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The Best Waiter we have ever seen

Spoke volumes of our experience due to him

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good food. We all had the early bird three course ($16 specials) The desert (pumpkin chesse cake with allspice)was not to our liking, but were not disappointed with the other courses which all offered choices. It would be great if they offered alternatives for the desert.

I've been there a few times when visiting the Dali or Mahaffey. Very reliable. Takes reservations too.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2017

400 Beach provides a very pleasant dining experience. Seating is available at tables or in booths. Staff really makes an effort and is closely supervised. Prices are very fair and choices are varied. Emphas is on seafood. Bar mixes quality drinks. Free indoor valet parking in the same building, follow the signs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great place, great food and great service!! My new favorite place!!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Cozy, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Casual, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The brunch was fantastic! My wife and I love to brunch and have been to a lot of great ones. This is one of our favorites. It's a buffet with a great selection and variety of food. Everything is fresh and well made, including a carving station and omelet station. The price is unbeatable for such a quality brunch. The service was great, and the atmosphere and décor very nice. Would love to go for dinner or lunch some time.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Brunch isn't as good as it used to be and for the same price. It would be nice to have more lunch options.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A nice downtown spot, very good food, some interesting twists on familiar dishes surprisingly well done. Service was friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We are staying in Gulfport for a month and exploring dining places. This restaurant is very lovely and modern. It is bright and clean. We were seated immediately which was nice on a Friday evening. My husband ordered the soup, I had a salad and we both ordered the lobster mac and cheese. My husband raved about the soup and I enjoyed the salad as it wasn't the usual tossed salad. It had cheese crumbles, apple pieces and field greens. My husband loved the mac and cheese. I thought it was ok. They must have run it under a broiler and burnt the breaded toppings a little. It gave the mac and cheese a slight burnt flavor which is why I only gave it 4 stars. I would try this restaurant again, though.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice place to eat! Our server, Matilda was very good and our food was delicious! The oysers, both raw and specialty were amazing. I had the pasta dish which was wonderful as well as the shrimp, salmon and ribs! Very nice evening!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nice restaurant. Waiter was stuffy at first then relaxed with us. Nice place. It was to cold to eat outside this weekend which we enjoy. On the corner so view was fine. Would come back to.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food. Had the sword fish special. Best seafood dish I've ever had. I travel for work and spend a lot of time eating out. Also had the oyster trio for an app. It was to die for. Not only was the food amazing but so was the service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Perfect meal with a fabulous menu.... something for everyone! I've eaten here often and have never been disappointed; I know you won't be either !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This was a recommendation from our hotel and we were exceptionally pleased. Great food, attentive service, interesting menu without being too trendy. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a great dining experience here. Had the grouper which was fresh and grilled to my liking. Atmosphere was lovely. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Eating outside at a comfortable table was excellent. I won't go into detail but everything was perfect Food Service atmosphere location all excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 20, 2017

400 Beach Seafood and Tap House offers a comfortable outdoor venue a little bit north of the main Beach Drive drag. We made reservations and only had to wait 5 minutes for one of the outdoor tables that provided much less crowded seating than the competitors further south on the street, and where we were very comfortable. Our server soon brought water and the nice Kaiken Malbec we ordered. Our party of four started with two shared dishes - the seafood tacos topped with cheese and the crab cakes; the former were particularly good containing fresh fish and salad. Two of us then ordered the restaurant's supposed piece de resistance - Florida grouper Oscar - while the other two ordered battered fish and chips and jumbo shrimp. The Florida grouper Oscar was a disaster - overcooked, likely deep-fried and possibly reheated rather than freshly grilled. We sent both back. Good enough, our server brought the manager over who offered us apologies. But, hey, this should not happen. The substitute-seared tuna was fine, but of course we had to wait while our co-diners finished their entrees: shrimp was reported as good, the fish and chips so so (fish overcooked and dry). Finished off with chocolate cheesecake and banana pie, both of which were reported as good.

Service was great despite our server being knocked back by his chef's poor performance. A little more charitable response from the manager would not have gone amiss: say, take off the desserts. But, obviously, this was too much to ask. So, what should have been a really enjoyable was marred by serious problems with two of our entrees.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Dinner for four before the theater, all of our dinners were good, braised short rib was very good. Good beer selection, nice location with valet parking

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great appetizers and good service ... main dishes left us wanting ...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great meal and great service. Love this restaurant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food, server was attentive and very professional, with a sense of humor. Love the atmosphere, lively. Decor perfect for the area. Bar scene very active.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Exceptional in every way. This patio is much better than others on the street as it much deeper, therefore more private than others.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Never disappoints. Great food and service. Clean and very classy restaurant without being pretentious

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food, service, and ambiance were second to none.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Oysters were great. Grouper special was tasty too. Perfectly cooked fish. Nice by the glass wine list. Service was OK, our waiter seemed pre occupied by his regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The ceviche was not good, but our waitress exchanged it for another recommendation that was excellent, the seafood chili. The buffet was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Brunch did not hold up to reviews I read! The seafood bar, as they named it in advertising, was only a large bowl of shell on cold shrimp that were not jumbo! The omelette maker cooked the omelettes too long and he wasn't very pleasant at all. Eggs were the frozen premixed kind. The food bar ran out of food or it was cold. Not a good value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The location of this restaurant is wonderful, so I thought it would be perfect for meeting some family members for Sunday Brunch. Big mistake. We arrived at 11:30, and were seated in a booth (our request). It was extremely noisy, but most disappointing is that the Sunday Brunch is buffet only: for $24.95/person. There's no brunch menu. So the Eggs Benedict I was hoping to have wasn't available unless I was willing to pay nearly $25 for it. The waiter pushed us too hard to "take advantage of the buffet", and two in our party did. The rest of us ordered from the menu. Based on what I saw of the items available on the buffet, it was nothing special. In fact, if you're in the area for Sunday brunch, go to 300 Beach Drive which not only has a brunch menu, it has GREAT Eggs Benedict and better acoustics for dimming the sound level. All-in-all, not happy with the service, the food, and the ambiance.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.