About 40 Westt Steakhouse

2305 Aut Transcanadienne
Pointe-Claire, QC H9R 5Z5
View Larger Map

Discover 40 Westt, Montreal's West Island's best kept secret, located minutes from the airport and within proximity of downtown, offering an unsurpassed dining experience in its "Hotel Look" ambiance. Whether you're enjoying a succulent steak, sampling our freshly shucked oysters, indulging on one of our sinful desserts or enjoying the smooth sounds of soul; 40 Westt has all the ingredients for a memorable evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday -Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Sunday: Open for private events

Cross Street:
Boulevard des Sources

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 428-9378

Website:
http://40westt.com/

Executive Chef:
Stefanos Hinoporos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Beef - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Cheesecake - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Oysters - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Shrimps - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Fish - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Surf And Turf - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Salmon Smoked With Chopped Egg And Caviar - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Petit Filet Mignon - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Pan Seared Scallops with Sauteed Gnocchi/Mushrooms - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Blueberry Tartelette - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Iceburg Wedge Salad - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Eggplant Parmesan With Heirloom Tomatoes, Organic Eggplant And Mozzarella Di Buffalla - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Chocolate Souffle - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Cowboy Cut 20 Oz - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Lentil Soup & Crostini - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Martini Vermouth On The Rocks - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Filet Mignon wrapped in Pancetta on Mashed Potato - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Lobster Burger - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Handcut Fries - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Feta Greek Imported (Barrel) - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Grilled Baby Octopus - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Chocolate Soufle With French Vanilla Ice Cream - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Asian Beef Spring Rolls - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Veal Chop Pan Seared - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Kefalograviera Fried  - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Bread Basket - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Calf Liver On Mashed Patato And Prosciuotto Chips - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Espresso Short - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Wine Pinot Noir Diamond Collection 2009 - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Greek Village Salad - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Hot Apple Crumble With Vanilla Ice Cream - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Delmonico Aged Cut  - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Dry Aged Bone In Filet Mignon - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Shrimp Cocktail U6 - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Crab Cakes - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Asian Beef Spring Rolls In Plum Sauce - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Dry Aged Ny Strip With Fries - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Fresh Shucked Oysters - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Cedar Plank Salmon - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
Seafood Linguini with Lobster - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC
24oz Porterhouse - 40 Westt Steakhouse, Pointe-Claire, QC

40 Westt Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Montreal / Quebec
Steakhouse
Montreal
Best Restaurants in West Island ›

Special Occasion (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Business Meals (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Romantic (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Family Style (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Casual (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Music (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We sat for about 15 minutes before anyon ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 2 days ago

We sat for about 15 minutes before anyone came to say 'hello'. Another 10 mins went by and we had to ask for the wine menu. Service after that was OK....not at all comparable to any other mediocre restaurants. I have gone there a few times and this was the worst. We had to wait another 10 mins before anyone got us the dessert menu or coffee. Will definitely not recommend this place to anyone but in general, people are usually quite familiar w/the poor service. I guess most people go to this place coz it is the only decent steak house in the West Island. Good luck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The service and food was excellent. Beau ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The service and food was excellent. Beautiful restaurant, the decor and atmosphere is very nice.

The octopus entree was amazing. Great for company parties and going in groups.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed food was not at the le ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very disappointed food was not at the level I was expecting, Service was great other than the floor manager yelling at his staff in front of clients embarassaing everyone around him. Every restaurant has an off night but for me not even close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

It was my first experience at 40 Westt a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It was my first experience at 40 Westt and I did not like it one bit. Our waiter was very condescending and was making smart remarks. Maybe its because I looked young and was dining at a fancy place. Their food is ok. I've been to many steakhouses around north America and this one was the worst. Steaks had a great crust but lacked seasoning on the meat. Definitely not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Dining room needs total overhaul. The ba ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Dining room needs total overhaul. The banqettes were worn and torn in places. Wood rubbed out. Felt like the good times were gone. Too bad as the food was good and it is a nice large space

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

For the price i paid the food was abit b ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

For the price i paid the food was abit burnt i tasted the grill more then the 70$ steak hoping to come here for a 1st date served with good food but i would think twice about coming back especialy that i spent 250$ for 2 people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was WONDERFUL! We had a grea ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Everything was WONDERFUL! We had a great time. It was our first time there. Our waitress was GREAT - OKSANA - but the restaurant seemed short staffed. Hard to get attention for a few things. We will DEFINITELY go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very great place we will be back for sur ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very great place we will be back for sure the chef and team are great and welcoming special thanks to Billy

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was exceptionally for lunch ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The service was exceptionally for lunch time. We were there for 1 pm, ordered pasta and had to wait 1.5 hours to get the meal. It arrived at 2:25 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Overpriced! Food was OK, similar to any ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Overpriced! Food was OK, similar to any chain restaurant. Wine is marked up 10 times the cost of a bottle. A $9 bottle of wine will set you back $90, and 1/2 glass of wine is $20. Service was OK, a little stuffy, but OK. Not what I expected for a premium restaurant. Save your money, its not that great, go to a national chain restaurant, get some good seafood and buy some premium hockey tickets for the night. It will cost less and you'll have more fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

It's very hard to go wrong with 40 Westt ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 20, 2016

It's very hard to go wrong with 40 Westt. The food is excellent and the service impeccable. There are not many private tables if you're looking for a romantic dinner, but the tables are well spaced out and it works fine. I do wish they would cut down on the salt. With food of this quality, that much salt is unnecessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was a beautiful dining experience. Th ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 18, 2016

It was a beautiful dining experience. The waitress was very nice and the food was delicious

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

i enjoyed my meal. My partner particular ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 14, 2016

i enjoyed my meal. My partner particularly liked the steak, it was perfectly cooked to his liking. Our meals came fast but we had to wait for a while for our dessert, we started to wonder if it was included in the table d'hote. Then we practically had to beg for our coffee. Let's say, that for the service we got, there's room for improvement

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I have NEVER EVER been disappointed of A ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I have NEVER EVER been disappointed of ALL the times I have been at 40 Westt . The food is consistently Stellar, a mouth watering experience at each visit. The waiters are always on top of their game, and seen passionate of their work. I will keep going back over and over. thank you for your hard work in keeping this West Island restaurant top quality!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat was very good, but mashed potat ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The meat was very good, but mashed potato was cold, the service was almost non existent, that 60 or 70 years old waiter should retired or become a busboy, when we finish a meal and before dessert, the waiter should clean the crumbs of the table, being that kind of high end resto. Nothing more annoying then eating your dessert with crumbs attach to your sleeves. The atmosphere is not suitable for romantic dinner, too many business dinners, but did I mention the meat was excellent, very excellent

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Plates with just a steak, nothing else, ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Plates with just a steak, nothing else, very poor presentation. Extremely expensive, waiter was not very pleasant, table was small with all the extra plates for the veggies made eating crowded at the table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Service at the bar and dining room was g ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Service at the bar and dining room was good. At the cost of dining here, I can permit myself to be picky: my side order did not come at the same time as my main meal. My dining partner was served her side and main at the same time; I did not wait long and the server apologized for the delay. Other than that, all was as expected for this type of restaurant. Food quality and service was in line with what we had experienced in other similarly priced restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice place to eat, seated quickly a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very nice place to eat, seated quickly and served fast. Food was good and hot and server checked on us often.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Special occasion dinner with my sister a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Special occasion dinner with my sister and my partner. Started with lobster bisque - very good; then had an excellent steak. My partner had the same, and my sister chose a salad and the ahi tuna, which was also excellent. We were surprised by dessert on the house - lava cakes with ice cream, which were tasty but not anything to rave about. Service is was excellent also. The downside was the price - virtually everything was overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

If you order your filet mignon rare at a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 15, 2016

If you order your filet mignon rare at a steakhouse, you do not expect to get medium, right ? Well, this is what happened....surprising to say the least since 40 Westt should know better.

Also, when you have a bottle of wine opened at your table, the cork should be placed on the table...not in the opener's pocket.

I cannot say I am in any rush to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great restaurant. Food and service is e ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great restaurant. Food and service is excellent. Often take customers to 40 Westt as it is a sure bet!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was dry, tiny and mediocre, a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The steak was dry, tiny and mediocre, a porterhouse, to boot.

the dessert was served in an oven-hot glassware and I was not warned about this, I burned my hand

this is typical of the queue du cheval - pretentious without the quality. I'll stick to Moishe's next time. If you like Bro culture, this is the place for you - they even have television screens inthe main dining hall - always a sign of class.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great evening.,well treated ,waiter was ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great evening.,well treated ,waiter was a bit distracted but all good over all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

It was our first time at the restaurant ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 29, 2016

It was our first time at the restaurant and we were very impressed. I will definitely come again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were very happy with our latest exper ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were very happy with our latest experience at 40 West. It was our first time for lunch and the value/atmosphere/service/menu were excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not good ratio price/quality. Good steak ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Not good ratio price/quality. Good steak, bad fish.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

40West is a great place to eat; Food is ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 16, 2016

40West is a great place to eat; Food is delicious, ambiance is fantastic, wine list is absolutely fantastic, a lot of choices for every type of persons. Bravo for the excellent service; Employees are dedicated and passion and smiling!

Thanks for this great moment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Considérant le coût du repas, j'étais dé ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Considérant le coût du repas, j'étais déçue qu'il n'y ai pas d'accompagnement de légumes inclut avec le steak. Au final, il s'agit d'une portion modérée à un prix excessif, même si tout était délicieux.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambience at 40 Westt Steakhouse was ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The ambience at 40 Westt Steakhouse was very nice, and our server was a true gentleman. My problem with this restaurant was the reason we went there in the first place - the steak... It was okay, but for the price and the overall bill that I new I was going to have to pay, I would have honestly preferred to have gone to Gibby's, or even The Keg. The entire meal left me with a void, and luckily I was able to fill that void the following evening as we coincidently had steak again with family. Our steaks cost $28.00 (for 2) at Costco and were fantastic. Would I recommend it to other guests? Perhaps, if they lower their prices to match the quality of the finished product that they offer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Other than the food that was excellent, ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Other than the food that was excellent, we were surprised by the piece of cake we were offered in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. We had mentioned the occasion while booking, they took a note, and surprised us! This is called "exceeding expectation" and pleasing your customer. We did not expect it at all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant très chic très classe mais vr ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Restaurant très chic très classe mais vraiment très dispendieux pour pouvoir y revenir souvent

Même si je suis content d'y avoir invité ma tendre moitié. Je ne pense pas que $400.00 pour manger deux repas soit raisonnable pour y retourner fréquemment

Resto chic mais pour les riches !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding service from Oxsana!!! Outs ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding service from Oxsana!!! Outstanding dishes!!! Beautiful setting!!! Just outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak. Beautiful restaurant. Perfe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great steak. Beautiful restaurant. Perfect for a celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very disappointed in the food. Ordered a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. Ordered a medium rare NY and got it rare. People behind us were loud and regulars so the waiter couldn't do nothing about it. not a great overall experience for my first time. I've been to many high end restaurant for a steak and this wasn't great. Rather go to moishes or gibby's for a good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

40 Westt is a great West Island spot for ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 27, 2016

40 Westt is a great West Island spot for a more sophisticated/business lunch and likely a no-brainer for dinner! The lunch table d'hote has delicious options at a range of prices. The servings are generous and brought to your table without delay out of the kitchen. The service is quite attentive and polished. The choices for meals cover meat/fish/vegetarian, although at this time of year I would have liked more seasonal offerings i.e. cold soup, more salad choices, etc. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service inegal Mais excellent homard et ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Service inegal

Mais excellent homard et filet mignon

Tags: Lieu huppé, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Amazing and service was great and joe wa ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing and service was great and joe was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible; just god awful. Worst steak I ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Horrible; just god awful. Worst steak I've ever seen - it tasted even worse! I could only tolerate a few bites. I paid $52 for a ribeye steak that should never have been served. This was the last time that my wife and I will dine at this place. Avoid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I wanted to make my son's 19th birthday ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 20, 2016

I wanted to make my son's 19th birthday an evening to remember and the staff and of course the meals did not disappoint.

To quote my son after his first bite of the Filet Mignon " Christmas has come early this year". Priceless

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and fantastic weekday value menu

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Menu great for all types of diners (non-beef eaters alike). My favorite is the grilled octopus.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.