Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi
  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi
  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi

About 40 Westt Steakhouse

Discover 40 Westt, Montreal's West Island's best kept secret, located minutes from the airport and within proximity of downtown, offering an unsurpassed dining experience in its "Hotel Look" ambiance. Whether you're enjoying a succulent steak, sampling our freshly shucked oysters, indulging on one of our sinful desserts or enjoying the smooth sounds of soul; 40 Westt has all the ingredients for a memorable evening.

2305 Aut Transcanadienne
Pointe-Claire, QC H9R 5Z5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday -Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Sunday: Open for private events

Cross Street:
Boulevard des Sources

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 428-9378

Website:
http://40westt.com/

Executive Chef:
Stefanos Hinoporos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Westt Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (34)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Romantic (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Cozy (9)
Casual (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Live Music (7)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

We appreciated the food and atmosphere, but our waiter was not very accommodating when we asked for any special request. It all seemed to be a bother to him to serve us. Asked for HP sauce, never got it. very slow to react. One of my customers was an elderly man who had difficulty making his food choice. the waiter seemed frustrated with this man.
My biggest complaint is that, because we were 7 people, an 18% tip was automatically added. I do not believe this amount of tip was earned by our waiter and was very disappointed that I did not make the decision as to the amount of gratuity.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

We met some friends there who have never been before. And they were NOT disappointed! The delmoneco steak is my favorite.....always tender and perfectly seasoned for the true steak lover. Ambiance is higher end and trendy....perfect for dates with that special person. 🥂

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 13, 2017

we have been to this restaurant several times and every time the food and service has been exemplary.
This is a great place to indulge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

La nourriture étais excellente mais le service n'étais pas là

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Dislaimer: This Review is based on this specific visit only and therefore does not represent an adequate sample size to make any generalizations. Date of visit: Oct 8, 2017. This was our first and only visit. We went on a Saturday night, our reservation was for 8pm. We arrived at 7:50pm and were seated immediately. The hostess(s) were friendly (i.e. smiling and small talk). It appeared to be a busy night (i.e. dining room was full and there appeared to be a private party as well. Once seated, waited 10mins for bread, 20mins for water and wine menu, 25 mins before the waiter's first visit which consisted of "Are you ready to order?" No smile, no greeting "Hello..How are you?" No..."good evening welcome to 40West." No... "sorry you've waited so long..." (Thankfully there was an Asian guy in a suit who came and brought the water and wine list and another man maybe the owner/manager who was in our area and he asked how it was going). The waiter came to see us exactly 3x (1)to take the order, 2)bring the apps and 3)bring the mains. Didn't see him again for the rest of the night. He never came back to check on us "Is everything ok here?" Our water was never refilled and we waited another 15 mins for the bill which was brought to us by another waiter. Otherwise the food/drink-price/quality ratio was just ok for a fancy resto (had the octopus, tuna tartar, salmon on cedar and black cod). Lychee martini tasted like there was no alcohol. Have had much better experiences at similar places (e.g. Le Mechant Boeuf, Ferreira Cafe and Maestro SVP).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Extremely disappointing experience from start to finish. Extremely long ( 3.5 hours) they Forgot to bring my husband beer, they forgot our lambshop order and when they realized they had forgotten to order our meal, the waiter told us the excuse that our lambshops had been burnt they were making other ones? Everyone at our table was done eating, so we told forget it! Our Greek salad was also very disappointing, had soft grilled bread instead of crushy Croutons, we had zero service, we had to ask 4 times for a glass of water. They gave a porto and a chocolat dessert to forgive themselves, a porto and a dessert none of us wanted. We don't mine spending a 1,000$ for a great dinner! But not this,!T his restaurant his totally over rated, they need to change the entire staff. Horrible dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Not our first visit. A much liked venue for my Toronto family.
Celebrating my brother's birthday.
Reservations made well in advance. Birthday cake requested.
We were sat in a tiny, squishy corner, in the back of the restaurant.
Restaurant over crowded.
Service was horrible.
Wrong drink order to start.
Many requests for things, 2-3 times before getting them.
Long long time before we saw a server to request dessert menu, and the cake reminder. Cake came, no dessert menu, never offered coffee etc...
Servers were rushed and a bit rude.
After compliants, we received a digestive gratis and a grace on our bill.
It was a very disappointing evening from start to finish.
Food, as usual was overpriced, but delicious, first class; why we go.
We realized on leaving that their was a very high end private party going on, but, no excuse at a establishment of your stature.
Thank you.
Joanne Buccongello

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fantastic menu, fantastic wine list and great atmosphere. One of the best steaks that I have ever had!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Great time steak was perfect and delicious. Service was fun and professional. Wine selection was a bit pricy, you need more under $100 bottles

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My new favorite place ! Everything was outstanding !! I will be returning soon !

Alex.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Je recommande ce restaurant car la nourriture est excellente. Les employés sont très gentils et serviables.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

We really enjoy everything about our diner The waitress was tremendous,lots of knowledge about wine,drinks,and steak.

Best steak in years.... still buzing about how Good it was....

We will Come back ,for sure....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great stesks.
Menu for all prices and fab service .
They know how to do service and make you all feel welcome.
Grest experience .

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

From the moment you walk in you know you have arrived at a classy establishement wihtout it being snobish.

The reception staff and wait staff are on point!

The food is exceptional, great all around vibe, a bit on the pricy side, but well worth it for a special occasion or special date!

2 people no sides, 2 glasses of wine and two steaks, 180$ tip included.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2017

OUTSTANDING IN EVERY WAY! Service, food & ambiance...you cannot go wrong! Big shoutout to Maria for seating us & our incredible waiters Dave & Fadi!!! Everything was absolutely spectacular. Thank you for a fantastic evening. We will definitely be coming back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Another amazing meal! Good was delicious as always and staff was wonderful. Joe was very kind and always makes us feel welcome!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Casual, Business Meals, Healthy, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was an amazing night, thanks to all the staff of 40 west , they made my daughter feel better than a movie star .. the food was excellent and the ambience was perfect..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Awesome as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 23, 2017

At 40 West I consistently find good service and quality food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food is great, the steak incredible but be sure you are served the correct size of steak. ( 12 oz not 8 oz for example)
The mistake was corrected but it was somewhat disappointing that the server had not noticed when he served the plates.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great place with equally great food and service. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent service. The food was good. A bit noisy but the restaurant was very busy.
Hightly recommend to dine at 40 W.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 16, 2017

First time at this restaurant with friends (6 of us) to celebrate a birthday but principally to buy a gift certificate for our club manager who likes 40 Westt. We found the restaurant quite expensive and noisy. While nearly everyone was impressed with the food and service (John K.), I found that their "signature " cod dish very ordinary and expensive at $38. Don't think we will return as we felt that our dining experience wasn't worth the 30 minute drive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great meal and fantastic service provided by Tracey Lynn!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The experience was great. Food was delicious , must try the Grilled Calamari so delicious .
Thank you you a great evening .

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always an amazing meal, its pricey but every mouthful was perfect!! My husband and I save 40 Westt for our special occasions and date nights. I'm looking forward to the next one already.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I ordered the $60.00 New York cut and it was the toughest steak I had ever eaten in my life. I have eaten at 40 westt on multiple occasions for work and personal dinners. This was by far the worst meal I have had in a long time. By the way I did not complain during the meal as I did not want to make a fuss in front of my date. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food and service are top shelf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

40 West was an excellent choice for our business meal; the food and service were impeccable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 23, 2017

As usual, excellent food and steak prepared to perfection and exceptional service from our waiter. This is our go-to steakhouse and we will be back again soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great food and service. Lunch table d'hǒte menu is good value. Their chocolate souffle is to die for.

We were there late for lunch so the noise level is manageable. Might be noisy when crowded.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food was excellent as usuel. Been going there for many years and I was never disappointed
My top 1 restaurant in the west Island ..can wait to go back..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Espace trės propre, service chaleureux et courtois.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great lunch and our server Maher was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

3 out of 4 diners happy. I was the disappointed one. My meat somewhat charred. Wine over priced . Desert(chocolate soufflé) and espresso saved the day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was cold and we poured our own wine so service could be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was excellent. Lousy service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent experience as usual. We had tuna and chilean sea bass and both exceptionally delicious ! The service was excellent and overall we were treated with a white glove experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Steak my husband ordered was not great and the shrimp in my pasta dishes were tough. It also took a while before we were served despite the fact that we arrived quite late and there few people in the restaurant. Staff was more concerned about clearing tables than serving tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 26, 2017

In a word, the evening was "Magic". From the greeting staff who arranged a special table and placing, to Dave our waiter who was attentive, generous with time and steering us to the best items, to the kitchen staff who put great food on our table, they enabled the magic to flow through the evening and create an experience, not just a dining occasion... Thank you

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.