About 40 Westt Steakhouse

2305 Aut Transcanadienne
Pointe-Claire, QC H9R 5Z5
View Larger Map

Discover 40 Westt, Montreal's West Island's best kept secret, located minutes from the airport and within proximity of downtown, offering an unsurpassed dining experience in its "Hotel Look" ambiance. Whether you're enjoying a succulent steak, sampling our freshly shucked oysters, indulging on one of our sinful desserts or enjoying the smooth sounds of soul; 40 Westt has all the ingredients for a memorable evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday -Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Sunday: Open for private events

Cross Street:
Boulevard des Sources

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 428-9378

Website:
http://40westt.com/

Executive Chef:
Stefanos Hinoporos

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

40 Westt Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Montreal / Quebec
Notable Wine List
Montreal
Steakhouse
Montreal
Best Restaurants in West Island ›

special occasion (42)
notable wine list (25)
good for groups (23)
See All
fit for foodies (20)
romantic (19)
great for lunch (12)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good quality but could use some zip

Dined on May 18, 2016

From the ease of on line reservations to paying the tab, everything went smoothly. Table was set properly, wine by the glass was superb, the lamb was properly prepared and plated. Service was great with the dishes served in a timely fashion. Coffee and desert were well received and a treat. The bill was properly itemized and presented. The ambiance is friendly, quietly reserved with a more relaxed and bustling scene at the bar. Interesting was the butcher and fish display as is the open food prep in the middle of it all. No hustle, nothing frantic, just good people doing a fine job whatever their position, from hostess, to server, to busboy to chefs. Will be back to do the filet mignon (again!) This is our fourth time, and as always, great. Can't wait to be back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Resturant will be back next week

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great Resturant will be back next week

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Very expensive restaurant according to the menu

Dined on May 8, 2016

Expensive restaurant! We can find the same quality of food at low price in a other restaurants!!! I will never go their! Nothing special

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal and service. Chose the "S ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent meal and service. Chose the "Shared Surf & Turf" which includes everything and it was perfect. Showed up for 8:45 reservation, but patrons weren't leaving so only sat down at 9:15.. They were very apologetic and attentive to all our needs. Mr. Joe refused to accept payment for our drinks and also brought us wine during dinner on the house. A class act. Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved it

Dined on April 30, 2016

Absolutely delicious, would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Value for money

Dined on April 30, 2016

Last year, had supper with my wife and enjoyed the ambiance and excellent food and service. Unfortunately, invited the family this time to enjoy the experience and was very disappointed. The service lacked professionalism for such a high standard restaurant compared to previous visit. The quality, presentation, and quantities were all above expectations from a food point of view but the greatest disappointment was the food was lukewarm at most. The fact we were 8 in our party should not of been a factor and you would expect nothing less than perfection based on the price they charge. Both appetizers and entrees were not even close to being hot, including the coffees we took which were cold. The only item was the onion soup which arrived hot. Thought I had found a special restaurant to celebrate special occasions last year, but based on past experience will not be returning nor recommending to any friends.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant in the west end of Montreal

Dined on April 27, 2016

The meat and seafood are particularly fine! Enjoy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & great service. One of m ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent food & great service. One of my favourite restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overrated

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was good, especially the steak but it is overpriced. The evening 3 course menu is reasonable but the choices are very limited. The wine prices are too high for the selection especially the wine by the glass.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

I found the layout to be very spacious a ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

I found the layout to be very spacious and the staff quite welcoming. There were nothing but rave reviews at our table of the à la carte and menu items. It was my first time at the 40 Westt and I will definitely be back.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had exceptional service and very friendly staff. Thanks for great business lunch!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mr Manning

Dined on April 19, 2016

We had an excellent business dinner with an important client. He was very impressed with the meal, the atmosphere and the fine selection of Wine. It helped with the close.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Grocery Store Stake

Dined on April 10, 2016

I have been to some of the best stake restaurants Canada and the US. 40 West is absolutely NOT on the list. I ordered the 14 oz ribeye and got a fatty 1/4 inch piece of meet from SuperC. also - I mentioned it to 2 servers and a hostess and I NEVER heard from a manager. DO not book here. Just go to the Keg in the west island or make the trip downtown to JoeBeef or anywhere else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food is amazing, the service is outstanding, the ambiance is lively. Our waiter Etien was friendly, efficient, courteous and professional. Our waitress Roxane was witty, friendly and efficient. A perfect evening. I've visited 40Westt often, and they never disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Just OK

Dined on April 7, 2016

Was expecting something over top I brough some customers and their reaction was ordinary The food was ok but didn't blow mw away Price per value was not even close Don't get me wrong the food was good but could have gone to another steak house for about 1/3 the price

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

A One Time Experience

Dined on April 1, 2016

I am glad that we tried this restaurant once however would not return. The service and ambiance were excellent. As for the food, I do not mind paying a lot of money however, the food is not worth it. They are known for their steaks and yet have had better at other restaurants.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Well planned fixed menu choices for lunch

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Always enjoy the 3 coarse lunch menu. As usual the wedge salad is refreshing, this day the soup was cream of cauliflower also very good. I saw the 3rd choice it was a very thin slice of eggplant wrapped around goat cheese, looked nice but really small. As the main we had a poached salmon, very good & a delicious boeuf bourguignon. They also have a beef selection & another seafood & a pasta of the week choice. Then the dessert remains the mini chocolate soufflé with ice cream, yummy. They also offered a fried doughnut stuffed with Nutella really good but slightly over fried/heavy. To finish off a nice meal you can choose tea &/or coffee.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. Excellent service.

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food. Excellent service.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Please remove the big TV screens

Dined on March 19, 2016

40 Westt is not a cage aux sports. I appreciated the food and the band but please remove the hideous TV screens. Also, the restaurant is hard to find. There are no directions from des sources nor inside the mall.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food ... but lack the whole experience!

Dined on March 19, 2016

With this level of restaurant, you expect an experience ... which i did not get from my last visit. The food was excellent, presentation and service was under expectation but I would defiantly give it another try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not many restaurants can offer this level of food!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Whenever we want to celebrate an occasion, or want to sit down and enjoy a meal with our family, we dine at the 40 West Steakhouse. The selection, quality, preparation, and presentation of their menu are second to none in my opinion. Not to mention the service, the wait staff are extremely attentive, and even our children comment on how amazing everything is. From the moment you enter the lobby you know that your dining experience will be special. 40 West Steakhouse is the definition of fine dining!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the best steakhouse in town for m ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Simply the best steakhouse in town for my taste and experience, and I've been to many.

food4
ambience2
service1
value1

40 Westt - a Dissapointment

Dined on March 10, 2016

The service was slow. Steaks were excellent, mashed potato was bland and asparagus slightly undercooked. Wine by the glass was the smallest amount I have ever been served. Can get a better meal, at a much lower price at other good quality steak restaurants.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just love it

Dined on March 4, 2016

The service is well beyond the call of duty. The food is excellent and so is the seafood. The wine list is great, they always have a few bottles off-the-list that are phenomenal, ask the maitre-d' . Great jazz atmosphere, even some live events at night. Large windows, large room, decorated with great art. I go there at least once a week. Fully recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good

Dined on February 28, 2016

What I like about 40 Westt is that unlike some other establishments when I take guests over I will not have to worry about spotty service or quality and be given excuses. My experience has been that they provide consistently good food and great service. This is the main reason why we go back and not shy to recommend to others as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Jessica was wonderful. Attent ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our server Jessica was wonderful. Attentive while keeping interruptions to a minimum and recommended a nice wine, she was always available if we needed anything. Food was excellent, cooked to specifications requested. 40 Westt never disappoints.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food a returning customer

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food a returning customer

food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, the 40 Westt beats many others ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

As usual, the 40 Westt beats many others hands down! And we received a complimentary coffee and dessert 👍👍👍👍👍

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat lovers delight

Dined on January 21, 2016

If you enjoy a great steak, this is it. However be prepared to pay for it as well, it's not cheap.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant for Steak

Dined on January 12, 2016

Excellent restaurant for steak. This restaurant is great for business lunches and special occasions.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on January 12, 2016

Took my girlfriend here for our anniversary and all in all it was a great experience. Easily the best steak I've ever had and the dessert was delicious too. The meal was pricey but I honestly can't complain as it was phenomenal

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice steakhouse - excellent service

Dined on December 23, 2015

My Spouse and I ordered filet mignon, even cooking. Mine was perfect but my spouce's steak was too cooked. Other than that, we spent a pleasant night

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good meal!

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

a very nice evening. Food is great. Salmon, steaks, ahi tuna is excellent. Huge sides. Nice service. Wonderful desserts. Go for a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wow....

Dined on December 19, 2015

great food, amazing service, ambiance next to none. If you are going to spend $$$ on an evening out, you cannot go wrong at 40 Westt. Special mention to Fekry who really made the night special with his amazing charm and knowledge.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Tremendous service and great food offering!

Dined on December 14, 2015

It was our first time at 40 Westt. Our server, Basile, took the time to explain just about every item on the menu... what it was, how it was prepared and what accompaniments go best with that meal, including appetizers. Truly a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

Dined on December 12, 2015

Delicious . Best steak I had . Rockefeller oysters , a must try !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, wine-list a bit over-priced.

Dined on December 10, 2015

Lunch was terrific, atmosphere terrific. I can just never figure out why they charge 3x more for wine than anywhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A Great Night Out with our Dinner Group

Dined on November 19, 2015

Our group of 6 just had an amazing meal at 40 Westt! The appetizers (chicken dumplings) were excellent but the main meal of filet mignon was out of this world. So juicy and tender. The desserts were just as good. The ambience, Christmas decor, waiter (John) and the owner (Joe) were very attentive throughout our meal. We had the $40 special (40 @40) which was a great deal: appetizer, main meal (4 choices), dessert, and coffee. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a a pleasant way to spend an evening. You won't be disappointed! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

loud and burnt

Dined on November 8, 2015

I found it too loud to enjoy the rest of the guests at the table and was not happy with my steak. It seems everyone else enjoyed their meal once sending one dish back because it wasn't hot and another one, which was a seafood linguine, as it only had clams and no other seafood. I didn't bother sending mine back, but my potatoes were not hot and my steak was burnt.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Not Worth the Price

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Although the steaks were good, the prices they charged were greatly exaggerated . Extensive wine list but the prices were at least triple the price of wine at the SAQ. Then they expect you to add at least another 15% in tip on the alcohol and tax. Definitely overpriced!!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.