Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi
  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi
  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi

About 40 Westt Steakhouse

Discover 40 Westt, Montreal's West Island's best kept secret, located minutes from the airport and within proximity of downtown, offering an unsurpassed dining experience in its "Hotel Look" ambiance. Whether you're enjoying a succulent steak, sampling our freshly shucked oysters, indulging on one of our sinful desserts or enjoying the smooth sounds of soul; 40 Westt has all the ingredients for a memorable evening.

2305 Aut Transcanadienne
Pointe-Claire, QC H9R 5Z5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday -Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Sunday: Open for private events

Cross Street:
Boulevard des Sources

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 428-9378

Website:
http://40westt.com/

Executive Chef:
Stefanos Hinoporos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Westt Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (36)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (22)
Good for Groups (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (7)
Casual (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (5)
Live Music (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Excellent meal. Outstanding experience. Affordable.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Food was delicious and as always a great place to impress you invite. Service was lacking probably due to fact the place was full, although they acknowledge the lack of service they are used to giving, they treated us with some goodies, which was nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 30, 2017

The only damper on the lunch date was that we had made reservations for 1:00 and only got seated at 1:25 due the earlier seating not wanting to leave the table. Aside from that all was delicious and enjoyable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Our server was a true professional! She timed the food, drinks and dessert perfectly. The restaurant Maître D was super nice, friendly and accommodating. Will definitely will go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

Love coming here. The food is amazing and the service always attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2017

j'y etais il y a qq annees et j'etais decu du service et la qualite des plats. nous avons decide de revenir cette fois en esperant qu'il s'est replace comme il a etait au debut. Malheureusement, c'est encore pire.
Le plat de grillade de fruits de mer est noye dans le jus et le beurre. on ne sent pas la fraicheur de la pieuvre et du calamar.
la viande du Ribeye (Cowboy cut) a rien de special vu le prix, en plus le steack a ete beurre excessivement...
qd au service, le personnel manque de formation pour un restaurant de grand luxe et au prix paye...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 15, 2017

Excellent rapport qualité-prix. Menu diversifié et de grande qualité.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 14, 2017

As expected. A bit spicy but seafood and high quality steaks come with a price. Excellent service and pace of different courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and the waiter was very friendly and polite. The whole staff were always smiling and made you feel welcomed.
I will defineately recommend this restaurant to all my friends

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Excellent food and good service. Very pricey but worth the splurge for a special occasion. Nice atmosphere in the place and an upscale experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 7, 2017

They razed the price ,but the food went down in quality.We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great experience will be back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Steak was good however sauces were gluey tasting.
Had to send the fish back as it had a bad taste (like it had been left out too long and was not fresh at all).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2017

I simply love this place great food, good value. One thing I will say the waiter took it upon himself to bring me a glass of wine, but I didn't choose it. I didn't really appreciate that it was an assumption on his part so that I didn't like.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 2, 2017

One of the best lunches in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Très bel endroit, très bonne nourriture. Définitivement un restaurant à essayer.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 27, 2017

all perfect like usual. wine list is amazing! Cant wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

I always enjoy business lunch here when travelling to Montréal! Great oyster selection followed by a great steak ...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Excellent meal, as usual. The 40 for $40 is a great deal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 20, 2017

everything was supper amazing. great fod,great wine, great service

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 17, 2017

We appreciated the food and atmosphere, but our waiter was not very accommodating when we asked for any special request. It all seemed to be a bother to him to serve us. Asked for HP sauce, never got it. very slow to react. One of my customers was an elderly man who had difficulty making his food choice. the waiter seemed frustrated with this man.
My biggest complaint is that, because we were 7 people, an 18% tip was automatically added. I do not believe this amount of tip was earned by our waiter and was very disappointed that I did not make the decision as to the amount of gratuity.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

We met some friends there who have never been before. And they were NOT disappointed! The delmoneco steak is my favorite.....always tender and perfectly seasoned for the true steak lover. Ambiance is higher end and trendy....perfect for dates with that special person. 🥂

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 13, 2017

we have been to this restaurant several times and every time the food and service has been exemplary.
This is a great place to indulge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

La nourriture étais excellente mais le service n'étais pas là

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Dislaimer: This Review is based on this specific visit only and therefore does not represent an adequate sample size to make any generalizations. Date of visit: Oct 8, 2017. This was our first and only visit. We went on a Saturday night, our reservation was for 8pm. We arrived at 7:50pm and were seated immediately. The hostess(s) were friendly (i.e. smiling and small talk). It appeared to be a busy night (i.e. dining room was full and there appeared to be a private party as well. Once seated, waited 10mins for bread, 20mins for water and wine menu, 25 mins before the waiter's first visit which consisted of "Are you ready to order?" No smile, no greeting "Hello..How are you?" No..."good evening welcome to 40West." No... "sorry you've waited so long..." (Thankfully there was an Asian guy in a suit who came and brought the water and wine list and another man maybe the owner/manager who was in our area and he asked how it was going). The waiter came to see us exactly 3x (1)to take the order, 2)bring the apps and 3)bring the mains. Didn't see him again for the rest of the night. He never came back to check on us "Is everything ok here?" Our water was never refilled and we waited another 15 mins for the bill which was brought to us by another waiter. Otherwise the food/drink-price/quality ratio was just ok for a fancy resto (had the octopus, tuna tartar, salmon on cedar and black cod). Lychee martini tasted like there was no alcohol. Have had much better experiences at similar places (e.g. Le Mechant Boeuf, Ferreira Cafe and Maestro SVP).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Extremely disappointing experience from start to finish. Extremely long ( 3.5 hours) they Forgot to bring my husband beer, they forgot our lambshop order and when they realized they had forgotten to order our meal, the waiter told us the excuse that our lambshops had been burnt they were making other ones? Everyone at our table was done eating, so we told forget it! Our Greek salad was also very disappointing, had soft grilled bread instead of crushy Croutons, we had zero service, we had to ask 4 times for a glass of water. They gave a porto and a chocolat dessert to forgive themselves, a porto and a dessert none of us wanted. We don't mine spending a 1,000$ for a great dinner! But not this,!T his restaurant his totally over rated, they need to change the entire staff. Horrible dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Not our first visit. A much liked venue for my Toronto family.
Celebrating my brother's birthday.
Reservations made well in advance. Birthday cake requested.
We were sat in a tiny, squishy corner, in the back of the restaurant.
Restaurant over crowded.
Service was horrible.
Wrong drink order to start.
Many requests for things, 2-3 times before getting them.
Long long time before we saw a server to request dessert menu, and the cake reminder. Cake came, no dessert menu, never offered coffee etc...
Servers were rushed and a bit rude.
After compliants, we received a digestive gratis and a grace on our bill.
It was a very disappointing evening from start to finish.
Food, as usual was overpriced, but delicious, first class; why we go.
We realized on leaving that their was a very high end private party going on, but, no excuse at a establishment of your stature.
Thank you.
Joanne Buccongello

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fantastic menu, fantastic wine list and great atmosphere. One of the best steaks that I have ever had!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Great time steak was perfect and delicious. Service was fun and professional. Wine selection was a bit pricy, you need more under $100 bottles

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My new favorite place ! Everything was outstanding !! I will be returning soon !

Alex.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Je recommande ce restaurant car la nourriture est excellente. Les employés sont très gentils et serviables.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

We really enjoy everything about our diner The waitress was tremendous,lots of knowledge about wine,drinks,and steak.

Best steak in years.... still buzing about how Good it was....

We will Come back ,for sure....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great stesks.
Menu for all prices and fab service .
They know how to do service and make you all feel welcome.
Grest experience .

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

From the moment you walk in you know you have arrived at a classy establishement wihtout it being snobish.

The reception staff and wait staff are on point!

The food is exceptional, great all around vibe, a bit on the pricy side, but well worth it for a special occasion or special date!

2 people no sides, 2 glasses of wine and two steaks, 180$ tip included.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2017

OUTSTANDING IN EVERY WAY! Service, food & ambiance...you cannot go wrong! Big shoutout to Maria for seating us & our incredible waiters Dave & Fadi!!! Everything was absolutely spectacular. Thank you for a fantastic evening. We will definitely be coming back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Another amazing meal! Good was delicious as always and staff was wonderful. Joe was very kind and always makes us feel welcome!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Casual, Business Meals, Healthy, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was an amazing night, thanks to all the staff of 40 west , they made my daughter feel better than a movie star .. the food was excellent and the ambience was perfect..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Awesome as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 23, 2017

At 40 West I consistently find good service and quality food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.