Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi
  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi
  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi

About 40 Westt Steakhouse

Discover 40 Westt, Montreal's West Island's best kept secret, located minutes from the airport and within proximity of downtown, offering an unsurpassed dining experience in its "Hotel Look" ambiance. Whether you're enjoying a succulent steak, sampling our freshly shucked oysters, indulging on one of our sinful desserts or enjoying the smooth sounds of soul; 40 Westt has all the ingredients for a memorable evening.

2305 Aut Transcanadienne
Pointe-Claire, QC H9R 5Z5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday -Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Sunday: Open for private events

Cross Street:
Boulevard des Sources

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 428-9378

Website:
http://40westt.com/

Executive Chef:
Stefanos Hinoporos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Westt Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Romantic (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Live Music (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Espace trės propre, service chaleureux et courtois.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 3 days ago

Great lunch and our server Maher was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

3 out of 4 diners happy. I was the disappointed one. My meat somewhat charred. Wine over priced . Desert(chocolate soufflé) and espresso saved the day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was cold and we poured our own wine so service could be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was excellent. Lousy service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent experience as usual. We had tuna and chilean sea bass and both exceptionally delicious ! The service was excellent and overall we were treated with a white glove experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Steak my husband ordered was not great and the shrimp in my pasta dishes were tough. It also took a while before we were served despite the fact that we arrived quite late and there few people in the restaurant. Staff was more concerned about clearing tables than serving tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 26, 2017

In a word, the evening was "Magic". From the greeting staff who arranged a special table and placing, to Dave our waiter who was attentive, generous with time and steering us to the best items, to the kitchen staff who put great food on our table, they enabled the magic to flow through the evening and create an experience, not just a dining occasion... Thank you

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 20, 2017

For the price ! Wasn't that great ..... was very load also !
Bar was booked ect ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Second time I have dined there, this time with some visitors from the US. The meal was excellent and the service was top-notch. A little pricey but to some extent you get what pay for and we could've chosen less pricey cuts too. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Had lunch here expecting the prices to be outrageous. Was extremely surprised! Best lunch ever!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 7, 2017

From our hostess to our server ( John) to the manager who came over and asked us how everything was, our experience was very memorable. GREAT FOOD, live jazz music and overall very comfortable ambiance. We would definitely recommend taking your loved there for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great food! The wine suggestion was spot on! Not my first time and I am always impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I am a vegan and I can still eat there no problem. I just hold the cheese on the village salad and order grilled vegetables and a baked potatoe. My guest enjoyed great fish, seafood and steak.

EVERYTHING is excellent!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner with a congenial waiter, Dave, and a friendly owner, who took time to come to our table. My husband had not had such a good steak in years. It was done exactly as he wanted. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

this is a great restaurant
prices are way overpriced
quality of food outstanding
good service but for the price could be better

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great place to have a great lunch or dinner. Atmosphere is first class. Food quality and service is excellent and expected for a high end priced establishment.
One little negative was on one drink they served - Margarita. The latter was too small and slushy to be truly enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great experience. Basile was a great waiter. 5star

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Très bon Steakhouse. Excellente viande. Cadre très agréable

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had the seafood linguini. Excellent with reasonable serving size. Leave room for desert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great service from Shaq! Food was very good (awesome desert) was told chelean sea bass was boneless but found several bones(not the end of the world).
Wife loverped the filet on the 40@40.
Cintrary to eaht i heard prices were ok.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Tout est délicieux, le service excellent et il y a un menu table d'hôte à un excellent rapport qualité/prix.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food ,great ambiance ,great service and great management too .

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great for business meals: lunch or dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Superb from start to finish. Seafood, steaks, all great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My mother and I had an amazing experience once again at 40Westt for Mother's day. The food was outstanding and the service was great like always. We really enjoyed our experience and would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nous apprécions beaucoup la qualité de la viande et le mode de cuisson.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Nice winelist, service was impacted when server had additional tables, one guest was not served a portion of the meal. overvalued for the level of service and quality of the food. Would expect more at these prices in terms of quality of service delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 11, 2017

40 Westt is a west island gem. Great steaks and fish. Service is personal and efficient . I highly recommend Friday and Saturday night jazz in the bar area. Best place for a business lunch as well.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We always enjoy our dining experience at 40west! Food is consistently good. Service is professional and enjoyable!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Standard food but some portions are overly big, and others too small... not consistent! Also highly pricy for what it is!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We dined from the 40 @ 40 which is why we were able to afford. Otherwise, the prices from the regular menu are quite pricey. Mind you, the food is good so for a VERY special occasion, I guess we might consider attending and dining from the regular menu. On our last visit, we had the cold shrimp cocktail which had only three shrimp. Even though they were large, we didn't feel they were worth $28.00.

This was our second visit and both times, we had the same male waiter. A mature fellow who served the tables in the bar area and whom spoke Italian. Both times he was so friendly, professional and made our dinner experience pleasant and comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Le steak "cowboy cut" était très ordinaire. Très gras avec beaucoup de nerfs. Je préfère le Keg ou autres Steakhouse de Montréal. Service pour un Steakhouse dit haut de gamme était ordinaire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always leave there satisfied. Joe is a very nice guy that always greets us well.

Food always testes good and waiters have always been attentive and very polite and accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Relatively easy to get a reservation for the time we asked for.
The food was excellent but could have been a tad warmer.
Expected $$$ but got $$$$. Do-able but not on a regular basis.
Asked for a booth and got it which was nice. Problem is the configuration of the booth means you cannot carry a conversation from one end to the other. Needs to be smaller and more intimate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was delicious as usual, and the chocolate soufflé is simply out of this world.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always a pleasant dining experience....no matter what the occasion !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The service was unusually casual. This wasn't the polished experience i expected when dining with two business guests from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great food...and better place to impress clients. Would recommend this place anytime

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 8, 2017

40th birthday amazing staff and treatment will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.