Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi
  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi
  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi

About 40 Westt Steakhouse

Discover 40 Westt, Montreal's West Island's best kept secret, located minutes from the airport and within proximity of downtown, offering an unsurpassed dining experience in its "Hotel Look" ambiance. Whether you're enjoying a succulent steak, sampling our freshly shucked oysters, indulging on one of our sinful desserts or enjoying the smooth sounds of soul; 40 Westt has all the ingredients for a memorable evening.

2305 Aut Transcanadienne
Pointe-Claire, QC H9R 5Z5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday -Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Sunday: Open for private events

Cross Street:
Boulevard des Sources

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 428-9378

Website:
http://40westt.com/

Executive Chef:
Stefanos Hinoporos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Westt Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Open Kitchen (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Private Room (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Family Style (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Live Music (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

Great for business meals: lunch or dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Superb from start to finish. Seafood, steaks, all great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My mother and I had an amazing experience once again at 40Westt for Mother's day. The food was outstanding and the service was great like always. We really enjoyed our experience and would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nous apprécions beaucoup la qualité de la viande et le mode de cuisson.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Nice winelist, service was impacted when server had additional tables, one guest was not served a portion of the meal. overvalued for the level of service and quality of the food. Would expect more at these prices in terms of quality of service delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 11, 2017

40 Westt is a west island gem. Great steaks and fish. Service is personal and efficient . I highly recommend Friday and Saturday night jazz in the bar area. Best place for a business lunch as well.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We always enjoy our dining experience at 40west! Food is consistently good. Service is professional and enjoyable!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Standard food but some portions are overly big, and others too small... not consistent! Also highly pricy for what it is!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We dined from the 40 @ 40 which is why we were able to afford. Otherwise, the prices from the regular menu are quite pricey. Mind you, the food is good so for a VERY special occasion, I guess we might consider attending and dining from the regular menu. On our last visit, we had the cold shrimp cocktail which had only three shrimp. Even though they were large, we didn't feel they were worth $28.00.

This was our second visit and both times, we had the same male waiter. A mature fellow who served the tables in the bar area and whom spoke Italian. Both times he was so friendly, professional and made our dinner experience pleasant and comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Le steak "cowboy cut" était très ordinaire. Très gras avec beaucoup de nerfs. Je préfère le Keg ou autres Steakhouse de Montréal. Service pour un Steakhouse dit haut de gamme était ordinaire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always leave there satisfied. Joe is a very nice guy that always greets us well.

Food always testes good and waiters have always been attentive and very polite and accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Relatively easy to get a reservation for the time we asked for.
The food was excellent but could have been a tad warmer.
Expected $$$ but got $$$$. Do-able but not on a regular basis.
Asked for a booth and got it which was nice. Problem is the configuration of the booth means you cannot carry a conversation from one end to the other. Needs to be smaller and more intimate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was delicious as usual, and the chocolate soufflé is simply out of this world.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always a pleasant dining experience....no matter what the occasion !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The service was unusually casual. This wasn't the polished experience i expected when dining with two business guests from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great food...and better place to impress clients. Would recommend this place anytime

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 8, 2017

40th birthday amazing staff and treatment will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The quality and presentation were fantastic. Though you will not find your meal to be cheap, the quality makes the dining experience fantastic. If you happen to be there on a Saturday night one of the owners may make a stop at your table to see how you are enjoying the meal. For groups of 10 or an intimate dinner for 2, I recommend 40 Westt.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great Food and a wonderful atmosphere all served by a professional staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Très bien pour repas spécial, service exceptionnel avec grande qualité des aliments.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Went there before food, service, decor good , the table d'hote @ $40 during week days is very good value

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was as is expected in a high end restaurant. Our choices were exactly as requested. John our waiter was exceptional.. Thank you John for the great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

40 westt is an amazing restaurant . From the parking attendant the girls at the front door and waiters are all very polite and helpful. The wine list has a good selection and the food and deserts are great. Would recommend to anyone to go and experience it .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 20, 2017

2hr lunch was excessive. Kitchen and table service were excruciatingly slow. I ordered the seafood Cioppino that lacked seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went to 40 Westt with my husband last Saturday and we didn't have a good time. The food wasn't as good as we expected and it was very expensive!!!. The soup was OK, but the filet mignon was served alone, without vegetables. The waiter wasn't very polite, and the tables were too close, so there was no privacy. I wouldn't recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was good, however the cost versus the value is not present on all of the items we ordered. For example, the Ahi Tuna was very small, had little flavor, it came with avocado but the pieces were so small I didn't even notice them on my plate. There was a special dressing which came with the dish, and again there was barely any of it on the plate.

I do however give our waiter credit for being attentive to us during the meal, my wife ordered a drink and she didn't like it. We didn't say anything, at the end of the meal our waiter ask her why she didn't drink it and she explained to him that she didn't care for it. He took it away and didn't charge us for it. This is truly the first time in over 15 years of going there that something nice was done for us, other than just push us to order more and drink more.

We sat in the bar area, which is very nice and a little more romantic than the main restaurant. They also had a live jazz singer which really added to the whole diner/date experience.

I would recommend this restaurant for a nice night out, however it is a little over the top when it comes to price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

You can watch the entire crew in the kitchen working on your dish.
The leading chef (with purple shirt, I guess) worked on my cowboy steak and it surprised me it was full of juice inside. Well I don't know if your dish cooked by the second or third chef you can get a discount or not?

The quality of the meat was OK. It is cowboy not fillet mignon so it is acceptable.

The decoration and the vibe of the place are great.

Also saw a few Asian waiters and waitresses which is not common in a restaurant like this and I like it cause I am from Asian. Employee diversity usually happens when the boss is good.

Highly recommended over all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was mediocre and was not prepared the way it was ordered. The steak was ordered medium and came rare. Another steak was ordered medium rare and came medium. The service was very slow. We asked for the bread basket twice before it came.
The steak was not as good as It was in the past. The Onion soup was very good.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always an enjoyable time at 40 Westt ! Atmosphere and food is very good !
Usually one of our first choices for West Island dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 10, 2017

La nourriture est succulente! Que ce soit le steak de thon ou le filet mignon de bœuf c'est simplement amazing👌

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Toujours exceptionnel, haute qualité, Bon vins, atmosphère

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Last time went there on Wednesday for dinner service and meals good (as usual) and good fixed price of $40 for table d'hote only Monday to Friday, wine list expensive

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great as usual. Service was a little slow.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very nice setting with open space concept. 40 special promo was good value and the service was very good. Don't forget to leave room for dessert...excellent chocolate cake with icecream !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was great, as always. What made it special were the servers, Oksana and John, who were very engaging and both had a great sense of humour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 20, 2017

candidly the food was good and the service excellent but I can find food that is just as good in many places in the city for a fraction of the cost, the blue cheese tomato salad was plain at best.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very consistent.
Always delicious and great service.
My favourite west island restaurant!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Love the wedge salad. Good wine selection and great service by knowledgeable staff!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was perfect. The food was great. However, our racks of lamb was over cooked. We ordered them medium and there was nothing pink in the meat when cut open. And the meat was very tough as well. Alexia, our server graciously canceled the main course. Even that, we had our stomach filled to capacity.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food was great as always! Service was perfect too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.