Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi
  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi
  1. Distance: 1.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.48mi
  4. Distance: 2.57mi

About 40 Westt Steakhouse

Discover 40 Westt, Montreal's West Island's best kept secret, located minutes from the airport and within proximity of downtown, offering an unsurpassed dining experience in its "Hotel Look" ambiance. Whether you're enjoying a succulent steak, sampling our freshly shucked oysters, indulging on one of our sinful desserts or enjoying the smooth sounds of soul; 40 Westt has all the ingredients for a memorable evening.

2305 Aut Transcanadienne
Pointe-Claire, QC H9R 5Z5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday -Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Sunday: Open for private events

Cross Street:
Boulevard des Sources

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 428-9378

Website:
http://40westt.com/

Executive Chef:
Stefanos Hinoporos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Westt Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (29)
Special Occasion (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Open Kitchen (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Private Room (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (10)
Live Music (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

The quality and presentation were fantastic. Though you will not find your meal to be cheap, the quality makes the dining experience fantastic. If you happen to be there on a Saturday night one of the owners may make a stop at your table to see how you are enjoying the meal. For groups of 10 or an intimate dinner for 2, I recommend 40 Westt.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great Food and a wonderful atmosphere all served by a professional staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Très bien pour repas spécial, service exceptionnel avec grande qualité des aliments.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Went there before food, service, decor good , the table d'hote @ $40 during week days is very good value

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was as is expected in a high end restaurant. Our choices were exactly as requested. John our waiter was exceptional.. Thank you John for the great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

40 westt is an amazing restaurant . From the parking attendant the girls at the front door and waiters are all very polite and helpful. The wine list has a good selection and the food and deserts are great. Would recommend to anyone to go and experience it .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 20, 2017

2hr lunch was excessive. Kitchen and table service were excruciatingly slow. I ordered the seafood Cioppino that lacked seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went to 40 Westt with my husband last Saturday and we didn't have a good time. The food wasn't as good as we expected and it was very expensive!!!. The soup was OK, but the filet mignon was served alone, without vegetables. The waiter wasn't very polite, and the tables were too close, so there was no privacy. I wouldn't recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was good, however the cost versus the value is not present on all of the items we ordered. For example, the Ahi Tuna was very small, had little flavor, it came with avocado but the pieces were so small I didn't even notice them on my plate. There was a special dressing which came with the dish, and again there was barely any of it on the plate.

I do however give our waiter credit for being attentive to us during the meal, my wife ordered a drink and she didn't like it. We didn't say anything, at the end of the meal our waiter ask her why she didn't drink it and she explained to him that she didn't care for it. He took it away and didn't charge us for it. This is truly the first time in over 15 years of going there that something nice was done for us, other than just push us to order more and drink more.

We sat in the bar area, which is very nice and a little more romantic than the main restaurant. They also had a live jazz singer which really added to the whole diner/date experience.

I would recommend this restaurant for a nice night out, however it is a little over the top when it comes to price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

You can watch the entire crew in the kitchen working on your dish.
The leading chef (with purple shirt, I guess) worked on my cowboy steak and it surprised me it was full of juice inside. Well I don't know if your dish cooked by the second or third chef you can get a discount or not?

The quality of the meat was OK. It is cowboy not fillet mignon so it is acceptable.

The decoration and the vibe of the place are great.

Also saw a few Asian waiters and waitresses which is not common in a restaurant like this and I like it cause I am from Asian. Employee diversity usually happens when the boss is good.

Highly recommended over all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was mediocre and was not prepared the way it was ordered. The steak was ordered medium and came rare. Another steak was ordered medium rare and came medium. The service was very slow. We asked for the bread basket twice before it came.
The steak was not as good as It was in the past. The Onion soup was very good.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always an enjoyable time at 40 Westt ! Atmosphere and food is very good !
Usually one of our first choices for West Island dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 10, 2017

La nourriture est succulente! Que ce soit le steak de thon ou le filet mignon de bœuf c'est simplement amazing👌

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Toujours exceptionnel, haute qualité, Bon vins, atmosphère

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Last time went there on Wednesday for dinner service and meals good (as usual) and good fixed price of $40 for table d'hote only Monday to Friday, wine list expensive

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great as usual. Service was a little slow.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very nice setting with open space concept. 40 special promo was good value and the service was very good. Don't forget to leave room for dessert...excellent chocolate cake with icecream !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was great, as always. What made it special were the servers, Oksana and John, who were very engaging and both had a great sense of humour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 20, 2017

candidly the food was good and the service excellent but I can find food that is just as good in many places in the city for a fraction of the cost, the blue cheese tomato salad was plain at best.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very consistent.
Always delicious and great service.
My favourite west island restaurant!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Love the wedge salad. Good wine selection and great service by knowledgeable staff!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was perfect. The food was great. However, our racks of lamb was over cooked. We ordered them medium and there was nothing pink in the meat when cut open. And the meat was very tough as well. Alexia, our server graciously canceled the main course. Even that, we had our stomach filled to capacity.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food was great as always! Service was perfect too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 9, 2017

AlwAys pleasure memorable special occasion xx thanks

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was fantastic, the live band kept the night going!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Have been coming here for years but recent visit was rather disappointing. Reviewed specials the. We decided on a la carte. For appetizers we went with lobster bisque and ahi tuna tartare. Soup was good ; was asked if I wanted the tartare to be spicy before it was prepared then several minutes went by and was told there was no tartare available.!? It was 6:15pm so was not sold out as too early in evening ! But was told that they had ahi tuna with foie gras if I wanted to order-more expensive. What I don't understand is if they had the tuna why could they not prepare it as a tartare?! Server could not respond so I left as is. Ordered the Tunisian grilled octopus-tasted good but was only warm not hot off grill. Delmonico steaks were very good as was the garlic mashed potatoes. Grilled asparagus was okay-nothing special. We drank Bloody Caesars but the 2 we ordered did not taste same as well they ran out of Caesar/celery salt to rim glass so they ended up using g steak spice instead ! Guess a number of items were not properly ordered for that evening?! Who knows. Dessert -we ordered the apple pie -delicious and most filling with good vanilla ice cream and caramel on top! To top off the evening we were charged for item (tartare) that was not available so glad I caught that error !! Always check your bills!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 26, 2016

J'ai été déçu de la nourriture.
Il n'y avait aucun Tartare disponible comme entrée ( poisson ou bœuf ) alors j'ai pris une bisque de homard. La bisque ne goûtait rien de plus qu'une bisque en boîte !
Pour le steak, il était d'une minceur qui n'avait rien à voir avec son prix de 52 $ et il n'était pas particulièrement savoureux.
Quant au serveur, je crois qu'il avait plus hâte de terminer son travail que d'être attentif à ses clients.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Eventhough we had made a reservation we waited for at least 20 minutes to get seated. Very difficult to find parking . Although the service was very quick, the food was poor especially the beef spring rolls

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Receptionist was pretty "cold"; maybe by arriving at 11:40am is a bit too early. The booth was very dirty.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent food and service and ambiance.
Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food was excellent however they did get my salad wrong twice.
The restaurant should have been closed as there was an office party with someone speaking very loudly from a microphone along with periods of loud music. I was extremely surprised that a restaurant like 40 W. would allow this . I did ask the waiter if they could lower it a bit but there was no difference .
This very much affected my lunch experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We had a great meal, very good. But we had a poor server with bad attitude, he didn't seem to be happy to serve us so we didn't feel we wete welcome...very sad

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Reservation was at 12:30 and we arrived at 12:31. The main course wasn`t served until 1:45pm. The entire meal lasted for over 2 hours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We went with a big group and the service was great. Good place for a business lunch in that area (not downtown). The food was not spectacular but still good for the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Very good overall. Nice place. Friendly staff. Appetizers are a little too expensive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We sat for about 15 minutes before anyone came to say 'hello'. Another 10 mins went by and we had to ask for the wine menu. Service after that was OK....not at all comparable to any other mediocre restaurants. I have gone there a few times and this was the worst. We had to wait another 10 mins before anyone got us the dessert menu or coffee. Will definitely not recommend this place to anyone but in general, people are usually quite familiar w/the poor service. I guess most people go to this place coz it is the only decent steak house in the West Island. Good luck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The service and food was excellent. Beautiful restaurant, the decor and atmosphere is very nice.
The octopus entree was amazing. Great for company parties and going in groups.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very disappointed food was not at the level I was expecting, Service was great other than the floor manager yelling at his staff in front of clients embarassaing everyone around him. Every restaurant has an off night but for me not even close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It was my first experience at 40 Westt and I did not like it one bit. Our waiter was very condescending and was making smart remarks. Maybe its because I looked young and was dining at a fancy place. Their food is ok. I've been to many steakhouses around north America and this one was the worst. Steaks had a great crust but lacked seasoning on the meat. Definitely not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Dining room needs total overhaul. The banqettes were worn and torn in places. Wood rubbed out. Felt like the good times were gone. Too bad as the food was good and it is a nice large space

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.