Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

40 Westt Steakhouse

4.6
516 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Discover 40 Westt, Montreal's West Island's best kept secret, located minutes from the airport and within proximity of downtown, offering an unsurpassed dining experience in its "Hotel Look" ambiance. Whether you're enjoying a succulent steak, sampling our freshly shucked oysters, indulging on one of our sinful desserts or enjoying the smooth sounds of soul; 40 Westt has all the ingredients for a memorable evening.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday -Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Sunday: Open for private events
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(514) 428-9378
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Stefanos Hinoporos
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Boulevard des Sources
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 516 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

We were out for dinner to celebrate my son and his girlfriend, as both graduated from university. We were a small family group of 5 and we all thoroughly enjoyed our evening.
The service was fabulous and we all chose something from the table d’hôte menu so not only was it beautifully presented and delicious, it was very reasonably priced!
We have often chosen to dine at Gibby’s in Old Montreal on special occasions, but I think we have found a new place to make memories!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Excellent restaurant, excellent service. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The evening was great as always. Paul our waiter was awesome made the evening extremely pleasant. See you soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Always enjoy dining at the bar , but this time the Jazz music sounded like a rock band. 🙁😏

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Food was very good. The prices were good. The service was extremely slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Great, fresh, delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Amazing food and service... a hit every time! Leave room for dessert!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Food was excellent , waiter not so much
Lalalalllllllllllllllllllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllllllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Excellent all around. I will be back

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Been to 40W many times for lunch and dinner.
Worst lunch to date.
Fish was mush.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The night special menu iceberg salad was mediocre with toppings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Excellent lunch with friends.
Only negative was the cook on my filet mignon. Asked for rare & received it medium.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Overall good exp. My girlfriend ‘s salmon was overcooked. The restaurant graciously agreed not to charge for it. I had the filet mignon and was quite happy with it. Was expecting live music but there wasn’t any that we could hear while we were there Saturday 7-9PM

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

40 Westt has never disappointed. The food is delicious, well presented and generous portions. Staff is friendly and very attentive to their patrons. Always a pleasure dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great overall high end meat and seafood restaurant. The staff are very diligent and observant. Friendly atmosphere. Huge wine and food menu. The food was great. Cooked to perfection.

Just an example of the service, I bumped my wine glass and knocked maybe an inch out before I caught it. The waiter came after about 30 seconds and refilled my glass saying he and the Manager saw it and they refilled it for me, no charge. They didn't have to do that but at the level of service they want to give you they did. It was that little extra service which is very nice.

It is high end and not for someone looking for inexpensive. I would recommend for many different types of occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Every time I come to 40 West, it is amazing. I could easily make it a weekly event at 40 West. The food, service and ambiance is exceptional.
Looking forward to my next evening at the 40 West

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Quite frankly, this restaurant serves excellent classic cuisine. The food is pricey but the quality is always there. Service was OK but you can feel a certain desire to raise the bill constantly. The prices of wine bottles are simply outrageous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

went at opening at 530 with wife and 12 year old son and everything was perfect as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Tout était absolument délicieux! La nourriture servie chaude et à la cuisson parfaite. Un service 5 étoiles de la part d'Anthony. C'est pour ces raisons que j'y reviens depuis des années.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Amazing as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Great for lunch!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

40 Westt is a fining dining experience. Food was excellent, service was terrific - Tracy . Overall , the experience is what I can expect from a high end establishment.
The only little negative I had was the seating. I had requested a booth for intamacy but what I got was a rectangular table for 4 by the windows . Either you sat side by side or you occupied a corner of the table with the back end in order to try have a comfortable and cozy conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Great service - food was as expected, slightly overpriced but ambiance worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

A Little on the pricey side, But well worth it. Shak are waiter was incredible, made us feel like we were the owners of the restaurant..Atmosphere very comfortable they don't stuff the tables as close together as some other restaurants. We were never rushed, food was incredible. They made us feel relaxed, Will absolutely return .......5 Stars

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Very good selection and delicious food!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I usually have a really good time when I go but this time my food was cold, lobster dry over cooked. I bring my client there but this time I think I will go somewhere else

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Great meal with my 2 brothers and our wives. Best steakhouse in Montreal

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 28, 2018

This is a restaurant in decline. Hostess was very young and inexperienced and without even a proper greeting quickly judged us and ushered us to the worst table in the restaurant next to the kitchen /bathroom entrance. This even though restaurant was not full. Waiter had much better demenour but was not trained properly. Not withstanding his enthusiasm and positive attitude: did not walk us through the menu, specials, talk to the different cuts of steak, forgot the butter on the baked potatoes, brought the wine to the wrong persons. Quality of the food was mediocre at best. One steak was cooked to the wrong degree and sent back and the fries were soggy and cold. I present these comments as they were and am extremely disappointed as I have been to this restaurant on many occasions ......very sad but I would avoid especially given the price point.

For a really top notch steak experience, I recommend Moishes or even the keg. Moishes quality of food and service are the best and the Keg has a great vibe.

Hope this was useful to the reader......BTW I provide plenty of reviews on TripAdvisor and other social media and I rarely provide such a negative review.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Perfect every time!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great ambiance, great food. Server enhanced our dining experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

40 Westt has very attentive staff. Food was excellent and a great place to bring colleagues and customers. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Noted that this was a birthday occassion in the open table app and mentioned it at the restaurant to the hostess but the request was ignored after acknowledging that they would arrange something.
Poor follow through on requests.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Was there for a business meal... we both ordered the dorade royale... fish had several bones and was soaking in olive oil... also believed that I was charged incorrectly, $45 for each plate?? My client was unable to substitute his entrée to a regular arugala sald?? I was charged $12 extra for a simple salad when entrées included either wedge salad, beet salad, or soup... VERY disappointed with my 40 West experience this time around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

always amazing ! great for business,pleasure,drinks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Soirée avec un collègue européen. Bon steak et bon service. Un peu cher mais les bons produits ne sont pas donnés alors....

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I was a bit disappointing and I have been going to this restaurant for years. Steak is good but they did not have any fresh fish by pound on menu except for red snapper. just feel like value has been declining over the years and probably will try other places moving forward. For example the crab cakes had less crab and more breadcrumbs, the oyster Rockefeller was full of cream and not that tasty. anyway hope they up their value and then will maybe go back, but for price it was not worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Tasty food courteous service and the ambiance is delightful. You will always have something to talk about when you're here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Once again 40 Westt proves itself to be what a real steakhouse is all about. Thick juicy cuts of beef and a great assortment of seafood and sides combined with the attentive service one expects. Great experience all around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Excellent! Restaurant’s traffic was quiet and it impacted the noise level. Probably much louder on a busy evening!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13