About 40 Westt Steakhouse

2305 Aut Transcanadienne
Pointe-Claire, QC H9R 5Z5
View Larger Map

Discover 40 Westt, Montreal's West Island's best kept secret, located minutes from the airport and within proximity of downtown, offering an unsurpassed dining experience in its "Hotel Look" ambiance. Whether you're enjoying a succulent steak, sampling our freshly shucked oysters, indulging on one of our sinful desserts or enjoying the smooth sounds of soul; 40 Westt has all the ingredients for a memorable evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday -Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Sunday: Open for private events

Cross Street:
Boulevard des Sources

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 428-9378

Website:
http://40westt.com/

Executive Chef:
Stefanos Hinoporos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

40 Westt Steakhouse
40 Westt Steakhouse
40 Westt Steakhouse
40 Westt Steakhouse
40 Westt Steakhouse
40 Westt Steakhouse
40 Westt Steakhouse
40 Westt Steakhouse
Beef
Cheesecake
Oysters
Shrimps
Fish
Surf And Turf
Salmon Smoked With Chopped Egg And Caviar
Petit Filet Mignon
Pan Seared Scallops with Sauteed Gnocchi/Mushrooms
Blueberry Tartelette
Iceburg Wedge Salad
Eggplant Parmesan With Heirloom Tomatoes, Organic Eggplant And Mozzarella Di Buffalla
Chocolate Souffle
Cowboy Cut 20 Oz
Lentil Soup & Crostini
Martini Vermouth On The Rocks
Filet Mignon wrapped in Pancetta on Mashed Potato
Lobster Burger
Handcut Fries
Feta Greek Imported (Barrel)
Grilled Baby Octopus
Chocolate Soufle With French Vanilla Ice Cream
Asian Beef Spring Rolls
Veal Chop Pan Seared
Kefalograviera Fried
Bread Basket
Calf Liver On Mashed Patato And Prosciuotto Chips
Espresso Short
Wine Pinot Noir Diamond Collection 2009
Greek Village Salad
Hot Apple Crumble With Vanilla Ice Cream
Delmonico Aged Cut
Dry Aged Bone In Filet Mignon
Shrimp Cocktail U6
Crab Cakes
Asian Beef Spring Rolls In Plum Sauce
Dry Aged Ny Strip With Fries
Fresh Shucked Oysters
Cedar Plank Salmon
Seafood Linguini with Lobster
24oz Porterhouse

40 Westt Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Montreal / Quebec
Steakhouse
Montreal
Best Restaurants in West Island ›

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Groups (17)
Romantic (13)
See All
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were very happy with our latest exper ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were very happy with our latest experience at 40 West. It was our first time for lunch and the value/atmosphere/service/menu were excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not good ratio price/quality. Good steak ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Not good ratio price/quality. Good steak, bad fish.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

40West is a great place to eat; Food is ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

40West is a great place to eat; Food is delicious, ambiance is fantastic, wine list is absolutely fantastic, a lot of choices for every type of persons. Bravo for the excellent service; Employees are dedicated and passion and smiling!

Thanks for this great moment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambience at 40 Westt Steakhouse was ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The ambience at 40 Westt Steakhouse was very nice, and our server was a true gentleman. My problem with this restaurant was the reason we went there in the first place - the steak... It was okay, but for the price and the overall bill that I new I was going to have to pay, I would have honestly preferred to have gone to Gibby's, or even The Keg. The entire meal left me with a void, and luckily I was able to fill that void the following evening as we coincidently had steak again with family. Our steaks cost $28.00 (for 2) at Costco and were fantastic. Would I recommend it to other guests? Perhaps, if they lower their prices to match the quality of the finished product that they offer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Other than the food that was excellent, ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Other than the food that was excellent, we were surprised by the piece of cake we were offered in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. We had mentioned the occasion while booking, they took a note, and surprised us! This is called "exceeding expectation" and pleasing your customer. We did not expect it at all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service from Oxsana!!! Outs ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding service from Oxsana!!! Outstanding dishes!!! Beautiful setting!!! Just outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak. Beautiful restaurant. Perfe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great steak. Beautiful restaurant. Perfect for a celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very disappointed in the food. Ordered a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. Ordered a medium rare NY and got it rare. People behind us were loud and regulars so the waiter couldn't do nothing about it. not a great overall experience for my first time. I've been to many high end restaurant for a steak and this wasn't great. Rather go to moishes or gibby's for a good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

40 Westt is a great West Island spot for ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

40 Westt is a great West Island spot for a more sophisticated/business lunch and likely a no-brainer for dinner! The lunch table d'hote has delicious options at a range of prices. The servings are generous and brought to your table without delay out of the kitchen. The service is quite attentive and polished. The choices for meals cover meat/fish/vegetarian, although at this time of year I would have liked more seasonal offerings i.e. cold soup, more salad choices, etc. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing and service was great and joe wa ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing and service was great and joe was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible; just god awful. Worst steak I ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Horrible; just god awful. Worst steak I've ever seen - it tasted even worse! I could only tolerate a few bites. I paid $52 for a ribeye steak that should never have been served. This was the last time that my wife and I will dine at this place. Avoid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I wanted to make my son's 19th birthday ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I wanted to make my son's 19th birthday an evening to remember and the staff and of course the meals did not disappoint.

To quote my son after his first bite of the Filet Mignon " Christmas has come early this year". Priceless

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and fantastic weekday value menu

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Menu great for all types of diners (non-beef eaters alike). My favorite is the grilled octopus.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food and service! Best place for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Awesome food and service! Best place for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was wonderful the service was excepti ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

It was wonderful the service was exceptional and the meals were delicious especially the Chilean sea bass with the lentils.

Thank you for a memorable evening and meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This is an excellent place!!

We will definitely return soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good quality but could use some zip

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

From the ease of on line reservations to paying the tab, everything went smoothly. Table was set properly, wine by the glass was superb, the lamb was properly prepared and plated. Service was great with the dishes served in a timely fashion. Coffee and desert were well received and a treat. The bill was properly itemized and presented. The ambiance is friendly, quietly reserved with a more relaxed and bustling scene at the bar. Interesting was the butcher and fish display as is the open food prep in the middle of it all. No hustle, nothing frantic, just good people doing a fine job whatever their position, from hostess, to server, to busboy to chefs. Will be back to do the filet mignon (again!) This is our fourth time, and as always, great. Can't wait to be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Resturant will be back next week

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great Resturant will be back next week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very expensive restaurant according to the menu

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Expensive restaurant! We can find the same quality of food at low price in a other restaurants!!! I will never go their! Nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent meal and service. Chose the "S ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent meal and service. Chose the "Shared Surf & Turf" which includes everything and it was perfect. Showed up for 8:45 reservation, but patrons weren't leaving so only sat down at 9:15.. They were very apologetic and attentive to all our needs. Mr. Joe refused to accept payment for our drinks and also brought us wine during dinner on the house. A class act. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Absolutely delicious, would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Value for money

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Last year, had supper with my wife and enjoyed the ambiance and excellent food and service. Unfortunately, invited the family this time to enjoy the experience and was very disappointed. The service lacked professionalism for such a high standard restaurant compared to previous visit. The quality, presentation, and quantities were all above expectations from a food point of view but the greatest disappointment was the food was lukewarm at most. The fact we were 8 in our party should not of been a factor and you would expect nothing less than perfection based on the price they charge. Both appetizers and entrees were not even close to being hot, including the coffees we took which were cold. The only item was the onion soup which arrived hot. Thought I had found a special restaurant to celebrate special occasions last year, but based on past experience will not be returning nor recommending to any friends.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I love this restaurant in the west end of Montreal

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The meat and seafood are particularly fine! Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & great service. One of m ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent food & great service. One of my favourite restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was good, especially the steak but it is overpriced.

The evening 3 course menu is reasonable but the choices are very limited. The wine prices are too high for the selection especially the wine by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I found the layout to be very spacious a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I found the layout to be very spacious and the staff quite welcoming. There were nothing but rave reviews at our table of the à la carte and menu items. It was my first time at the 40 Westt and I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We had exceptional service and very friendly staff.

Thanks for great business lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Mr Manning

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We had an excellent business dinner with an important client. He was very impressed with the meal, the atmosphere and the fine selection of Wine. It helped with the close.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grocery Store Stake

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I have been to some of the best stake restaurants Canada and the US.

40 West is absolutely NOT on the list.

I ordered the 14 oz ribeye and got a fatty 1/4 inch piece of meet from SuperC.

also - I mentioned it to 2 servers and a hostess and I NEVER heard from a manager.

DO not book here. Just go to the Keg in the west island or make the trip downtown to JoeBeef or anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Always Outstanding

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food is amazing, the service is outstanding, the ambiance is lively. Our waiter Etien was friendly, efficient, courteous and professional. Our waitress Roxane was witty, friendly and efficient. A perfect evening. I've visited 40Westt often, and they never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just OK

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Was expecting something over top I brough some customers and their reaction was ordinary The food was ok but didn't blow mw away Price per value was not even close Don't get me wrong the food was good but could have gone to another steak house for about 1/3 the price

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A One Time Experience

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I am glad that we tried this restaurant once however would not return.

The service and ambiance were excellent. As for the food, I do not mind paying a lot of money however, the food is not worth it. They are known for their steaks and yet have had better at other restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Well planned fixed menu choices for lunch

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Always enjoy the 3 coarse lunch menu.

As usual the wedge salad is refreshing, this day the soup was cream of cauliflower also very good. I saw the 3rd choice it was a very thin slice of eggplant wrapped around goat cheese, looked nice but really small.

As the main we had a poached salmon, very good & a delicious boeuf bourguignon. They also have a beef selection & another seafood & a pasta of the week choice.

Then the dessert remains the mini chocolate soufflé with ice cream, yummy. They also offered a fried doughnut stuffed with Nutella really good but slightly over fried/heavy.

To finish off a nice meal you can choose tea &/or coffee.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food. Excellent service.

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Please remove the big TV screens

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

40 Westt is not a cage aux sports. I appreciated the food and the band but please remove the hideous TV screens.

Also, the restaurant is hard to find. There are no directions from des sources nor inside the mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food ... but lack the whole experience!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

With this level of restaurant, you expect an experience ... which i did not get from my last visit. The food was excellent, presentation and service was under expectation but I would defiantly give it another try.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Not many restaurants can offer this level of food!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Whenever we want to celebrate an occasion, or want to sit down and enjoy a meal with our family, we dine at the 40 West Steakhouse. The selection, quality, preparation, and presentation of their menu are second to none in my opinion. Not to mention the service, the wait staff are extremely attentive, and even our children comment on how amazing everything is. From the moment you enter the lobby you know that your dining experience will be special. 40 West Steakhouse is the definition of fine dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best steakhouse in town for m ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Simply the best steakhouse in town for my taste and experience, and I've been to many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

40 Westt - a Dissapointment

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The service was slow. Steaks were excellent, mashed potato was bland and asparagus slightly undercooked. Wine by the glass was the smallest amount I have ever been served. Can get a better meal, at a much lower price at other good quality steak restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

I just love it

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

The service is well beyond the call of duty. The food is excellent and so is the seafood. The wine list is great, they always have a few bottles off-the-list that are phenomenal, ask the maitre-d' .

Great jazz atmosphere, even some live events at night. Large windows, large room, decorated with great art. I go there at least once a week. Fully recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.