HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 2/25
Time
9:30 PM

40 Steak + Seafood

4.0
137 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (16)
  • Cozy (14)
  • Romantic (13)
The menu changes daily. What was caught or harvested yesterday is whats on the menu today. 32 tap beers, over 80 whiskeys and scotches, complete wine list and cocktail menu. Something for everyone.
The 40 steak and seafood has 5 unique dining rooms, all named after different characteristics or industries that make North Dakota a great State. Each room has its own theme with different furniture, fireplaces, ceiling, flooring and artwork giving each room its own unique and different feel.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(701) 255-4040
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
State St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have a private parking lot for our guests.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 137 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0  based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.9
service
4.4
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Quiet
62% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

Dry aged ribeye was excellent.edamame dide and wege salad also scored high. Rudy the server was engaging and fun to work with.

Report
Helpful
JillC (Fargo)
5.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Rudy and Lisa took great care of us. The food is always impeccable, the drinks perfect, and the atmosphere welcoming. Wonderful!!

Report
Helpful
vipCaRefiner (San Antonio)
3.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

This restaurant may be living on reputation. I ordered the special bone-in ribeye which at $40 ala carted is not being given away. It arrived on a cast iron plate which I expected to be frying hot but high was at best luke-warm and the steak was the same. Th steak was good but not exceptional. Th lobster bisque was good but was also warm not piping hot. Same with the coffee with dessert. Service was a bit imbalanced.

Report
Helpful
Montana (Portland)
4.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

There were three of us in a booth. The outside and the inside were both very nice and somewhat rustic and a cozy place. The bacon wedge salad was very average. My steak I ordered medium rare and was cooked medium to medium well. The steak it self was greasy and fatty. Not what I would expect in a high end steak house. My friends steak was rare and he ordered medium.

Report
Helpful
Disappointed (Fargo)
2.0  Dined on January 25, 2018

Waited over an hour for our food after ordering. Steaks were just ok. I have had steak at the other two popular steak restaurants in the area that were much better. This place is way overpriced for what I expected compared to what I received. The best part of the night was the hand full of chocolate mints I grabbed on the way out the door.

Report
Helpful
GL1234 (Minneapolis)
3.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Great food, slow and unattentive service. Hanger steak was great, the 118 day aged ribeye was great as was the salmon.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

Rusy and ryan were awesome. They made it a great dining experience. The food was ridiculously amazing and fresh too. What a jem of a place.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
3.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

No one to greet us when we arrived, so it seemed a little deserted. Someone finally came to seat us. Server was very friendly. Menu looked interesting. Food was very mediocre. Would not have complained about the stringiness and grittiness of the special aged ribeye if it had been a $17 steak, but at $29 we expected better. I don't mind paying a higher price for quality food, but this did not live up to the price tag.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
5.0  Dined on January 10, 2018

Came here for my boyfriends birthday and the food and service was amazing. This is one of our favorite spots.

Report
Helpful
Josh (Fargo)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

It was a busy night, but we received a lukewarm streak that was slightly undercooked and a lukewarm ravioli that was a bit overpriced for the serving size. Table behind us also received not hot food. Only Thing that was hot were the fries which we were not offered any sauce with. Its a very good place to dine but I feel like I paid too much for the quality and service we received.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
1.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was good however the service wasn’t great. We were not checked on during the meal, not offered additional drinks to the point I ran out of water towards the end of the meal, and essentially just handed out check on the one time our server stopped back. He had mentioned he was very busy but had we been checked on once I would have been happy. I had heard so much about the food there that I was excited to have a nice meal with my date and we both left very off put by this experience there.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We were there on NYE, which happened to be our first anniversary. We could tell you guys were super busy and working hard. One of the managers(?)(a shorter guy, wearing all black) was busting his butt with a smile on his face the whole time- which as a former server, I can really appreciate. Our service was good... until he brought our food- the server dropped it off and walked away (didn't ask if we needed anything).
My husband had to go find another server to get steak sauce and ketchup. Our server didn't stop back again until he brought the bill. Spending $76 on bad service and okay food isn't exactly how we wanted to spend our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with friends and what royal treatment we received! When we arrived, our waiter was at the door to greet us and had set our table with linens. He was highly attentive and made us feel so comfortable. The food was outstanding and made this birthday celebration one to remember!

Report
Helpful
AS17 (Fargo)
2.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

Our entire group was disappointed in the food. For the price of the meal we expected a much better product. We will not be going back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
5.0  Dined on December 19, 2017

We were traveling west and made it a point to stop in Bismarck so we could eat here! We’d stopped last fall and knew we wanted to eat here again. My husband had a steak, which he said was great, and I had the seafood risotto. Oysters weren’t as good as the first time - but understand it’s December in N.D. We travel out west a few times a year and have decided Bismarck will be out stop over so we can eat at 40 Steak & Seafood every time!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10