Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About 40 Steak + Seafood

The menu changes daily. What was caught or harvested yesterday is whats on the menu today. 32 tap beers, over 80 whiskeys and scotches, complete wine list and cocktail menu. Something for everyone.
The 40 steak and seafood has 5 unique dining rooms, all named after different characteristics or industries that make North Dakota a great State. Each room has its own theme with different furniture, fireplaces, ceiling, flooring and artwork giving each room its own unique and different feel.

1401 East Interchange Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 255-4040

Website:
http://www.40steakandseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Steak + Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Romantic (7)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined 5 days ago

There were three of us and I encouraged them to order the salmon, they loved every bite. Compliments to the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

took my girlfriend out here on her birthday. Wanted something special for her. Called ahead and asked for any special. They were awesome. room to ourselves, very fun and respectful waiter, treated us like royalty. My girlfriend was so impressed.

Food was awesome! and very reasonable bill. Tipped them well as they deserved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Husband and I went here for a date night. We haven't been there in years! We thought it would be a nice way to unwind from the choas at home-thinking it wasn't your usual "family restaurant." Well, We must have picked a bad night to go;lot of families with kids . Was pretty loud where we were seated. Service was slow but waiter apologized. In his defense they had three large parties that came in. Waiter did give us a free dessert for being patient. Food was great!
All and all we may go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very good service food is great employees all very nice

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was poor at best. I would recommend Robys in Mandan as far superior food. This was a great place in the 70;s and 80;s but is nothing now. Will never return. Took my wife there as a date when she flew in from Wisconsin, but an overall dissapointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We stop here every time we are in Bismarck. Great steak, appetizers, mixed drinks and dessert. It never disappoints.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This place lived up to all I read on the reviews. It is a very nice place, the steak was amazing, and the people were very friendly. It's not cheap, but you don't get the best steak in North Dakota cheap. This is not a place you go for a cheap dinner. It's a place you go for a great steak dinner.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was flavorless and bread items were hard as a rock the food is not worth the price. First and last time I'll ever go.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I went here with my Girlfriend on her friends recommendation. Flying out for 3 months and wanting a nice dinner, it didn't disappoint. Regrettably didn't get a chance to hear our waitors name (might have said it just didnt hear it personally), but was absolutely fantastic. I served for 5 years and understand the difficulty of serving at times, but he created a great atmosphere for us and was able to end our night on a fantastic note. To you & the cooks; thank you for giving us a great night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Ordered their special for the day, which was their dry aged prime rib. I ordered it medium rare and it came out as some sort of grey hunk of meat with almost no color and poor texture. I was really disappointed and my girlfriends meal didn't sit right with her, she had the shrimp pasta. I had high expectations and it really fell short. Perhaps their other steak options are better but it seemed to me they are using a poor quality of meat, or aren't aging or cooking the meat correctly. Probably wouldn't go back or recommend it. Otherwise drinks and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Some of the best ribeyes we have had. Large portions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Was very expensive , small appetizer for the money but large side dish for the money, steak was very tender

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Nice place for a casual work dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The service was outstanding but the food was below par. The only thing that tasted good was the spinach and artichoke potatoes. The prime rib was not cooked right and the hash browns were average. They never explained what the bread spread was and so I was nervous to try. I did though and it didn't have much taste. Kind of reminded me of spam which doesn't set ok when your going out to supper. The prices were really high for not having that good quality of food. Prob will not come back very soon.
Maybe if they lowered their prices to match the quality of food it would be better.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I've been to 40 twice and had two different servers. The service is outstanding and everyone is knowledgeable regarding menu items and wine, cocktail and beer suggestions. Each person with whom you come in contact makes the guest feel like he or she is having a very personal experience. The food is wonderful. Original dishes and new takes on traditional dishes. The wine list is great as is the atmosphere. Overall, this is an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Vegan, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 1, 2017

WE were very disappointed in the quality of the tomahawk steaks that we had. Yes it was showy however the quality of the meat was not good. And at the price we were certainly expecting something much better.
The side dishes were good as was the lettuce wraps that we had as a starter
.
The staff was good. The atmosphere was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I went on a Tuesday for T-bone Tuesday Special. Reservation 7.30. there was a light crowd and the restaurant was out of the special, ordered lionese hashbrowns restaurant also out of hashbrowns. A higher end restaurant should never be out of the special or out of anything for that matter. Not to impressed Service was above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Server Rudy H was superb! Great environment and loved the tour. My wife's salmon was excellent. My ribeye steak was very tasty but a little tough and pricey. It wasn't their signature steak so next time I go I will have their 40+ day dry aged steak instead for the more tenderness!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I brought my sons for a different atmosphere and to celebrate them and some of their accomplishments. It was the perfect place to enjoy the food and to visit. The young man waiting on us was very gracious and on top of giving us great service. Thank you for making our evening special.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Got the 40 oz for $40. Was supposedly aged 35 days. First of all, it arrived cold. And it had some inedible grizzle. For a town that's crawling with cattle I'd expect not just cheap steak but good steak. If you want good steak, try coming to New York. I'd suggest Peter Luger, which is the absolute best, Smith & Wollensky, or even the chain, Ruth's Chris. The Thai lettuce wraps were tasty but a tad too sweet. My husband's seared tuna was very tasty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Jackie was our server! She was amazing! She took us to our own table by the fireplace where no one else was, it made it so much more special! The food was amazing and the service was wonderful! We will be back!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our favorite place to eat in Bismarck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Made reservations for our wedding night dinner. Greeted by a wave and friendly smile from Rudy. The atmosphere was great! They dimmed the lights for a wonderful meal and service our waiter Rudy was the best. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Had dinner here April 26 with three business associates We had a great tour of the aging room by the executive chef and the meal was top notch. I will be back and highly recommend this great restaraunt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 11, 2017

T Bone steaks were very tough and very thin. For a steakhouse I expected better steak. Vegetables were cold. For the price of the meal I would have expected much better quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We always enjoy an evening out here and this was no exception. Menu changes daily but you can't go wrong with the filet mignon, which each of us had. It would be nice to have at least one 'side' included with the steak instead of all of the add-on's. Servers have obviously been taught to up-sell, which, quite frankly, got a bit old at a fancy restaurant. Especially when the question, "soup or salad" rolls off the tongue as if the option is included (we clarified that before jacking up our totals). As it was, the steaks and the few chosen sides were very good and we'll always go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Really enjoyed the entire meal. We started with Oysters and the wedge salad, which each were equally amazing. Our entrée was a dry aged Ribeye and it was excellent! We are thrilled to find somewhere in ND to finally offer such an item as it is a favorite of ours. We asked the server about the tours of the dry aged cooler as posted on the menu, which she happily obliged. Will return with our next visit to Bismarck.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Was surprised that it wasn't real busy tonight. Made it a very quiet evening with great service. My steak was slightly over cooked but it was still a tasty flavorful piece of meat. The rest of the food was outstanding. The waitress even talked us into the turtle lava cake with gelato for dessert. Fantastic finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 20, 2017

we had a party of five...............we all left and went home and ate another meal............small portion, large price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Positives: Aged steak had a very different but great flavor, building was beautiful, and everything came out quickly.
Negative: A bit over priced

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It has been about 7 yrs since I was last here. There have been a few noticable changes in that time. However, that time & this time...The service remains fantastic. The pace is very relaxed, allowing for conversation & enjoyment of the food. The food was superb. The calamari was a little different than I have had before, but just as delightful.
I have, and will continue to, recommend to all my friends.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our server needed a little menu education. My father was going to order the tuna steak. And she told him it was served cold. Really? cold? Or seared and served rare as tuna should be? two people at my table had the seafood skewers which were rubbery and overcooked. 2 shrimp and a tiny lobster tail for $28. My son ordered the meat and cheese plate. Should be called the cheese plate with a couple strips of bacon. This was the only meat on the plate. Also, totally over priced at $16. We tried to order the hummus plate, which they were out of. We won't be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My steak was ordered med rare but was past med. Veggies had no seasoning at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was good, server was attentive and friendly, prices were extreme for the amount of food received.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I always enjoy dining here as the menu offers a good number of options and the food is very good. The wild card is always service and last night our waitress was a true professional rock star!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was very under seasoned. My wife and I both ordered pasta dishes and they were very bland. I would think at a place like this every meal coming out of the kitchen would be 5 star quality.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service and food was excellent! It is close to our house which is convenient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Tuna was frozen but after they cooked it again it was good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day and no VD menu. Seated us at a table for 2, asked for a larger table, 3 other larger tables in our room, said they were for 4 somes. Only one other couple came in our room and gave them a table for 4. People in the next room were two feet away thru an open divider. WAS expecting great food for the price, was disappointed with tough roast beef and fatty barbecued pork, my wife's beef stroganoff sauce was like water at the bottom of the bowl. We will not be returning!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was the 5th time my wife and I had dined there. We love the dry-aged steaks and had always had a good 90 day aged steak, $65.00 just for the steak, this last time the steaks were a little tough. All in all it was ok. We had gone there for Valentines Day, I also had flowers sent to the restaurant, that I ordered through your website, and they were on the table when we got there and they were beautiful. I would still recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.