About 40 Steak + Seafood

1401 East Interchange Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

The menu changes daily. What was caught or harvested yesterday is whats on the menu today. 32 tap beers, over 80 whiskeys and scotches, complete wine list and cocktail menu. Something for everyone.
The 40 steak and seafood has 5 unique dining rooms, all named after different characteristics or industries that make North Dakota a great State. Each room has its own theme with different furniture, fireplaces, ceiling, flooring and artwork giving each room its own unique and different feel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 255-4040

Website:
http://www.40steakandseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Steak + Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

62% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Dakota
Most Booked
Bismarck
Best Restaurants in Bismarck ›

Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (7)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Fireplace (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Private Room (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
55 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dinner place. Steaks were fantast ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great dinner place. Steaks were fantastic and the service was excellent.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wasn't impressed with the food and the s ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wasn't impressed with the food and the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service, food and ambience was suburb.

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Service, food and ambience was suburb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived on time and we were shown to ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived on time and we were shown to our table immediately. Our server was extra nice and fun to have waiting on us! The steak is what they are known for and it was done PERFECTLY medium rare! We do not order the seafood here, we believe the more "bang for your buck" is the steak! Will be making reservations here again!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I went for a post engageme ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My fiancé and I went for a post engagement date night. It was delicious. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar before we sat for dinner. Very expansive drink menu, including a wonderful tap list. The server we had for dinner was extremely friendly and helpful. I had the lobster ravioli and he had a steak. The ravioli was delicious and cooked perfectly. The steak also was delicious and cooked exactly as ordered. The bread with the merlot butter was one of my favorite parts. Wonderful food, service, and a great experience. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I would of done 5 stars but the service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I would of done 5 stars but the service was slow due to being short staffed. I felt sorry for our waitress because along with being over worked she also had to deal with a table next to us that was being disruptive with the use of foul language. Us and another table just ignored them as best we could but another table got up and took their drinks elsewhere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was a little disappointed in the exper ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was a little disappointed in the experience. We had planned to come here for anniversary for quite some time. We made a reservation but still waited when we got there. There were only two servers on that I saw, so the service was slow. We didn't get drinks until after our app arrived. As a server I understand but, poor planning for a Friday night. Our app and lobster bisque was cool when it arrived. Didn't see our server so couldn't tell anyone. Our entrees where good when they arrived. The dry aged steak was unique, but we liked the filet better. It was an OK dinner but was not what we expected. Could have been much better had they had the correct amount of staff on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service, friendly, professional, t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service, friendly, professional, timely with order - food quality is excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Started the night with a Wedge salad whi ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Started the night with a Wedge salad which was superb. Next was the lobster bisque that was the best that I ever have eaten. I ordered the 90 day aged beef as my entree which was seasoned well and cooked to the right temperature. The atmosphere is very good. I will definitely eat here again the next time I travel to Bismarck.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food we received was bland,portions ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food we received was bland,portions ok size. Wish there were more selections,salad bar...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The time between ordering and receiving ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The time between ordering and receiving food was too long. It took almost 1.5 hours from sit down to get food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

ambiance & service. Waiter went & beyond ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 24, 2016

ambiance & service. Waiter went & beyond to our anniversary was memorable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Derrikca was wonderful! She gave us a t ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Derrikca was wonderful! She gave us a tour of the meat locker and explained the aging process very well! Thank you Derrika!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a nice comfortable atmosph ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food in a nice comfortable atmosphere. In addition, service was friendly and timely without making you feel like they want to get you out of the door as soon as possible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ordered oysters, and have had them ma ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We ordered oysters, and have had them many times before at different places however these were very small, almost nonexistent. We felt that if you couldn't offer a decent size order, it should not be on the menu. Drinks were fine. We felt the service was a little slow for there only being a few other diners in there. It was our first time and we were really excited to go but very disappointed. We did not stay for a main course, we left and went elsewhere. I don't know if we'll try again, it will likely be a while before we go back.(year or so).

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The service was the worst I had ever exp ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was the worst I had ever experienced- 10 min. For a waitress to come and take our order for drinks only to come back about 10 minutes later to tell us we couldn't have bottles and that we had to have tap and then it took 15 minutes to get a glass of Coke took another 25 minutes for us to run up to the bar and grab my friends drink because nobody was bringing it and then it was another oh I would say hour and we still didn't have our meal nobody checked on us never got our appetizer in that amount of time- wasn't that busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Our service was great. We ordered two of ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our service was great. We ordered two of the aged steaks and one was full of cartilage and talo that I was unable to cut it. The flavor of the steak was awful. My wife tasted one bit and wanted to spit it into her napkin. The seafood skewer was over done and the lobster was rubbery. The onion rings were tasteless. We were not offered any credit on our bill or even offered a gift card. We took our boys out to eat to celebrate one of the boys' birthday. We were sadly disappointed with out VERY expensive meal. My wife cooks a killer steak on the grill and the boys would have preferred moms homecoming over the meal we were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The service was TERRIBLE and extremely s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service was TERRIBLE and extremely slow. we had to find our server when we wanted something. And it took us almost 2 hours to finally get our main dish. Then it was overpriced and the server didn't seem to know many of the menu details.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We have been there several times. The w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have been there several times. The waitress recognized us and even though the restaurant was practically empty; the service was mediocre. The steak still had its quality (90 day ribeye bone -in); but had excessive fat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was ok. I had the ribeye which was ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was ok. I had the ribeye which was good but far from outstanding. I also had fresh vegetables for additional $4 on a $ 32 steak. The server was very slow and took at least 15 -20 min to bring a drink order and she failed to offer a second drink or refill on water at any point in our dining experience. Overall this is an overpriced restaurant with mediocre service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Darika the waitress made the night very ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Darika the waitress made the night very professional. Great food and answered all questions we had.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

47 states later and I find the worst pla ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2016

47 states later and I find the worst place I've ever booked on OpenTable. Service was chaotic if it came at all. The way overpriced steak was overcooked and it's obvious it was left under a heating lamp waiting it to be sent out. I don't blame the server as much as the management, because they have created a total cluster** here. Never had such a poor experience in a steakhouse anywhere else in the country. Shambolic. AVOID!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We booked a table and upon ordering, the ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We booked a table and upon ordering, the menu was very limited, there was no iced tea, and a poor choice of dressings, so we decided to leave. Very disappointed as this was or 40th wedding anniversary and we wanted to make it special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Don't miss the tour of the dry age vault ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Don't miss the tour of the dry age vault and the substantial scotch and bourbon selection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst dining experience I've had in a lo ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Worst dining experience I've had in a long time. Burger was over cooked. Ribs were steamed, not grilled and then drenched in some kind of BBQ sauce, with no accompaniments. Service was terrible. The best part of the meal were the frozen fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

We haven't eaten here in years, I believ ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We haven't eaten here in years, I believe there is a newer owner and we were very impressed. It wasn't anything like it was before. The staff was friendly and made helpful suggestions. The food was excellent. My husband had a steak (we live in steak country) so if he said it was excellent, it sure was!! I had seafood and it was yummy!! We will be back! Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Decore could use updating. Food is a li ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Decore could use updating. Food is a little overpriced. Steak was not warm enough

. Good service overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Outstanding steaks

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 8, 2016

If you want the best aged USA beef, this is the place to go! I had the 26-day aged rib eye and the flavor was outstanding! The wine was not overpriced and there were several premium choices as well as good value. The service was friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was excellent.

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service and renovations were outstanding ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service and renovations were outstanding. Out of Filet Mignon, we ordered three Steak & Seafood Combination Dinners - The seafood was great but the six ounce Filet Mignon(which they did have) was over cooked and had a sour taste to it. The meal was very disappointing given the price. We did not complain or let or server know.

This was the first disappointing meal we have had here, we will try it again in the future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

It was our 16th Anniversary. My husband ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 20, 2016

It was our 16th Anniversary. My husband was in charge this year for plans and we had been wanting to try 40 for awhile. We arrived and were seated in a quiet booth in the unique atmosphere. Our waiter Rudy was friendly and greeted us with a staff signed copy of the menu with a warm Happy Anniversary greeting. Selection and service were excellent and would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff was very friendly and ensure t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2016

The staff was very friendly and ensure that we had a great dining experience. I have a food allergy and the waiter even checked to make sure that the drink I ordered was safe for me to drink. If I ever pass through Bismarck again, I will be eating here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service was beyond reproach - food was e ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 14, 2016

service was beyond reproach - food was excellent -

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak Quality #1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2016

If you love steaks and know quality (for Bismarck) this is the place to go. The service is touch and go which is an insult to the restaurant itself. I believe the staff profiles its customers according to ethnicity and class (lower, middle, upper).

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

40 Steak & Seafood Is A Gem.

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The 40 (formerly the East 40 and Casper's East 40) has long been one of my favorite places to eat in the Bismarck-Mandan area. It has wonderful ambience, has always had a great bar, and boasted wonderful food specializing in chophouse dishes. There was a downturn for a year or two under previous management when the general manager retired, but the new management has renewed the 40's reputation for excellence and infused new vigor into the restaurant. My most recent visit was for an anniversary date; it was one of the nicest meals out I've enjoyed in quite some time and there wasn't a single aspect of our visit that wasn't delightful. For steak and seafood, there's nowhere better in the state. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, so so service

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 29, 2016

our waiter was a very personable guy, but not such a great waiter. kept forgetting stuff. the food was great, but it took a long time to get it and some of it was cold. got charged for something we didn't order but the waiter kept telling us we did. one of the appetizer's came when we were eating the main course and one of our party ordered a drink that never came. but the being said the food was great and we had a nice evening.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Amazing steak and fine dining

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 29, 2016

tucked away in bismarck is the best steak restaurant in North Dakota. All three times I have gone to here, I have had an amazing meal. This is a fancier restaurant, so certainly don't expect cheap eats, however the food you get for the price you pay is certainly worth it. I would recommend everyone eating here, at least once. Pick your most important special occasion, and share it with a love done.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A step backwards

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 29, 2016

We were not greeted warmly at the door, more like we were an imposition. As to the menu which is updated daily, by 7:30 they were out of four entrées and three desserts. The quality of the food was moderate at best. The best part of the meal was the wine, that was great but over priced. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone and won't return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Steak and seafood was just ok. We have h ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Steak and seafood was just ok. We have had better food for a better price. The building and decor are nice. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We went for our 11th anniversary dinner. The atmosphere was quiet and pleasant, with nice decor and a fireplace next to our table. Our server was attentive and thorough, but not a hinderance to our evening, he did a fantastic job. Our calamari appetizer was delicious with a surprise twist of fried peppers. Our garden salad was the best I have ever had as if each vegetable was chosen specifically to my taste. Is was amazing. Unfortunately the restaurant had run out of a few ingredients that limited our entree side dishes. My New York strip steak came to the table over cooked and chewy and a couple but not all of my wife's scallops were under cooked and fishy. Overall it was a pleasant experience with good drinks and I believe could have been great! food but for a little more attention to correct preparation. I would eat here again and I would recommend to friends to try. I hope to get a succulent juicy steak on my next visit. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.