Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

40 Steak + Seafood

4.0
148 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Cozy
  • Good for a Date
The menu changes daily. What was caught or harvested yesterday is whats on the menu today. 32 tap beers, over 80 whiskeys and scotches, complete wine list and cocktail menu. Something for everyone.
The 40 steak and seafood has 5 unique dining rooms, all named after different characteristics or industries that make North Dakota a great State. Each room has its own theme with different furniture, fireplaces, ceiling, flooring and artwork giving each room its own unique and different feel.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(701) 255-4040
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
State St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have a private parking lot for our guests.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 148 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.2
service
4.4
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
66% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 6 days ago

The steak was subpar. I have had a better, more tender steak at the sister company. The steaks took a long time to come out and mine was over cooked. But, at that point I was hungry and wanted to eat. The apps, salad, and hashbrowns all good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The food was good, I went there on date with a 7pm reservation. the atmosphere was good, more children (young children crying) there then expected but by 8 o'clock on a Saturday night the crowds did thin out and we were able to have a good conversation. All the entrees were a`al carte for sides, which for the price for the entrees seemed outrageous. The complementary bread with the butter was delicious. I had the 116 day dry aged rib-eye (not worth the price) it was nice and tender but not much if any flavor, I don't have any other comparisons to dry aged steak but I am an avid steak lover. Next time it will be Texas Road house or Long Horn steak house for the food, The food at those establishments have a more flavor maybe louder atmosphere but more enjoyable overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Both of our meals were wonderful. Definitely recommend the hashbrowns for a side. Wonderful relaxed atmosphere. Did not feel rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Awesome filet and seafood skewers. Frankie was a great server and it was a very enjoyable dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Wonderful regional-eclectic decor, and the hanger steak was absolutely the best steak I have ever had in a restaurant. You can spend a lot more, but you won't get better than this. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Never disappoints, great food, service and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

I haven't been here in years and was looking forward to it being quiet and found it really noisy.. maybe we had a more in the corner table last time.... I thought it was odd we had to wait so long for menus.. I understand you print new ones daily but we had one menu for a group of 8 for about 10-15 min.... server was very nice and on the spot... I didn't love my fish but had never tried that one before... so maybe it was just not the right one for me.. the rest of the people at my table liked their meals. loved my salad with calamari and vinaigrette dressing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

I was disappointed and don't feel we got what we paid for. My New York steak was good but not great. Others paid for 4 scallops and a lot of rice at $28 per plae. The waiter did in excellent job decribing the meal and preparing us for a great dining experience but the meal fell well short of great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

40 Steak +Seafood is a wonderful restaurant for a first date, the atmosphere is quite relaxing and is very quiet. You can also make reservations, limiting the awkward time spent waiting for a table. The steaks are fantastic, and the menu is robust.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Mediocre service to begin with, but excellent after Rudy took over our table. Meat fantastic, Side dishes ordinary to bland. From out of town and have been eating there for many many years. This was my least favorite visit. Was there to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary and was a little disappointed.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Our waiteress was great. But out food was over cooked seemed very blan. I get better steak and service at the Texas Roadhouse. The waitress seemed like she had way too many tables.It took a while to get drinks and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Dry aged ribeye was excellent.edamame dide and wege salad also scored high. Rudy the server was engaging and fun to work with.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Rudy and Lisa took great care of us. The food is always impeccable, the drinks perfect, and the atmosphere welcoming. Wonderful!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 31, 2018

This restaurant may be living on reputation. I ordered the special bone-in ribeye which at $40 ala carted is not being given away. It arrived on a cast iron plate which I expected to be frying hot but high was at best luke-warm and the steak was the same. Th steak was good but not exceptional. Th lobster bisque was good but was also warm not piping hot. Same with the coffee with dessert. Service was a bit imbalanced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

There were three of us in a booth. The outside and the inside were both very nice and somewhat rustic and a cozy place. The bacon wedge salad was very average. My steak I ordered medium rare and was cooked medium to medium well. The steak it self was greasy and fatty. Not what I would expect in a high end steak house. My friends steak was rare and he ordered medium.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Waited over an hour for our food after ordering. Steaks were just ok. I have had steak at the other two popular steak restaurants in the area that were much better. This place is way overpriced for what I expected compared to what I received. The best part of the night was the hand full of chocolate mints I grabbed on the way out the door.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Great food, slow and unattentive service. Hanger steak was great, the 118 day aged ribeye was great as was the salmon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Rusy and ryan were awesome. They made it a great dining experience. The food was ridiculously amazing and fresh too. What a jem of a place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 12, 2018

No one to greet us when we arrived, so it seemed a little deserted. Someone finally came to seat us. Server was very friendly. Menu looked interesting. Food was very mediocre. Would not have complained about the stringiness and grittiness of the special aged ribeye if it had been a $17 steak, but at $29 we expected better. I don't mind paying a higher price for quality food, but this did not live up to the price tag.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2018

Came here for my boyfriends birthday and the food and service was amazing. This is one of our favorite spots.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

It was a busy night, but we received a lukewarm streak that was slightly undercooked and a lukewarm ravioli that was a bit overpriced for the serving size. Table behind us also received not hot food. Only Thing that was hot were the fries which we were not offered any sauce with. Its a very good place to dine but I feel like I paid too much for the quality and service we received.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was good however the service wasn’t great. We were not checked on during the meal, not offered additional drinks to the point I ran out of water towards the end of the meal, and essentially just handed out check on the one time our server stopped back. He had mentioned he was very busy but had we been checked on once I would have been happy. I had heard so much about the food there that I was excited to have a nice meal with my date and we both left very off put by this experience there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We were there on NYE, which happened to be our first anniversary. We could tell you guys were super busy and working hard. One of the managers(?)(a shorter guy, wearing all black) was busting his butt with a smile on his face the whole time- which as a former server, I can really appreciate. Our service was good... until he brought our food- the server dropped it off and walked away (didn't ask if we needed anything).
My husband had to go find another server to get steak sauce and ketchup. Our server didn't stop back again until he brought the bill. Spending $76 on bad service and okay food isn't exactly how we wanted to spend our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with friends and what royal treatment we received! When we arrived, our waiter was at the door to greet us and had set our table with linens. He was highly attentive and made us feel so comfortable. The food was outstanding and made this birthday celebration one to remember!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Our entire group was disappointed in the food. For the price of the meal we expected a much better product. We will not be going back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

We were traveling west and made it a point to stop in Bismarck so we could eat here! We’d stopped last fall and knew we wanted to eat here again. My husband had a steak, which he said was great, and I had the seafood risotto. Oysters weren’t as good as the first time - but understand it’s December in N.D. We travel out west a few times a year and have decided Bismarck will be out stop over so we can eat at 40 Steak & Seafood every time!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Waitress was at the table 4 times, 1) took order, 2)served salads, 3) brought meal, 4) brought check. Salad plates were still on table when meal was brought, we had to gather up plates to make room???? There were 6 of us. Everyone’s food was cold. Side dishes were cold. With no one checking on us, it was hard to bring to anyone’s attention. 1 drink was on the rocks, waitress brought shot glass and poured in glass, no fresh ice. This was a event we all looked forward to, we were highly disappointed. Will not return or recommend. Very over priced for the quality of the meal and lack of service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 12, 2017

Generally steaks are very good however this time, I complained to the waiter that my steak did not taste good and he said that it looked fine... hmm guess he should of ate it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 7, 2017

II ate in here years ago and had a great meat that was very nice. Last night I was seated in a room where the large table was so loud telling stories and laughing. It made it hard to talk. We waited for a while before menu. Then waited for drinks. The appetizer came before our drinks. The drinks were nice and good temp. The calamari was perfect in cooking but to add the cheep small squids is a bad move. It mak snit a nasty dish. I dated a chef In a huge Winnipeg restaurant and I know that’s much cheaper to order so that why yo do I. It’s a bad idea. My lobster ravioli was perfect as always. My husband had they tonihalk steak that was terrible. He threw out over 2/3 of it. For 40$. That’s typical led for. Zz. We were very unhappy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 30, 2017

This is the best steak place in Bismarck but does not seem to have much visibility on the review sites. We found it and it was cozy, the staff was friendly and attentive. The steaks were great and one of our party had the beef stroganoff which she also rated very highly. There are also some good values on the wines.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 28, 2017

The steak tasted old we had the 2 for 40 which was not a good deal for you had to pay extra for the sides even the potatoes were an extra charge so I will not be back lesson learned !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Greatest service I've had in a long time! Had a great time, excellent food, cozy atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2017

It's no wonder 40 Steak+Seafood has won the international steakhouse of the year award.
This is NOT your run-of-the-mill steakhouse. If you are looking for a truly fine dining experience, you'll not find one better !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 4, 2017

We went for my son's Birthday and because we have always wanted to try a longer day dry aged steak. First of all the staff were very good. Friendly, courteous, you couldn't ask for any better. My husband ordered the cowboy king cut ribeye and I ordered the scallops, intending to share so we each had surf and turf . The steak was good, but hardly worth the price tag. The scallops unfortunately were not so good. I think I had too high of expectations and we are not used to maybe higher end restaurants where you have to pay for everything separate. When I pay $75 for a steak I usually get a potato and salad to go with it and not have to pay extra.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 1, 2017

Always impressed and never disappointed by a meal at this restaurant. Will always find time to visit while in Bismarck

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 31, 2017

Jackie had our table especially set up with silk tose petals, by the fireplace, Jackie was great in all she did for us, it was our 31 st Anniversary of the day we met.Highly recommended. Thank you for making it special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Service was excellent food was cooked to order and staff was very knowledgeable about options. Overall worth the drive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

There were three of us and I encouraged them to order the salmon, they loved every bite. Compliments to the chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 26, 2017

took my girlfriend out here on her birthday. Wanted something special for her. Called ahead and asked for any special. They were awesome. room to ourselves, very fun and respectful waiter, treated us like royalty. My girlfriend was so impressed.

Food was awesome! and very reasonable bill. Tipped them well as they deserved it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Husband and I went here for a date night. We haven't been there in years! We thought it would be a nice way to unwind from the choas at home-thinking it wasn't your usual "family restaurant." Well, We must have picked a bad night to go;lot of families with kids . Was pretty loud where we were seated. Service was slow but waiter apologized. In his defense they had three large parties that came in. Waiter did give us a free dessert for being patient. Food was great!
All and all we may go back again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4