About 40 Steak + Seafood

1401 East Interchange Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

The menu changes daily. What was caught or harvested yesterday is whats on the menu today. 32 tap beers, over 80 whiskeys and scotches, complete wine list and cocktail menu. Something for everyone.
The 40 steak and seafood has 5 unique dining rooms, all named after different characteristics or industries that make North Dakota a great State. Each room has its own theme with different furniture, fireplaces, ceiling, flooring and artwork giving each room its own unique and different feel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 255-4040

Website:
http://www.40steakandseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Steak + Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Dakota
Most Booked
Bismarck
Best Restaurants in Bismarck ›

special occasion (22)
romantic (16)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
notable wine list (10)
good for groups (10)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
28 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We haven't eaten here in years, I believ ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We haven't eaten here in years, I believe there is a newer owner and we were very impressed. It wasn't anything like it was before. The staff was friendly and made helpful suggestions. The food was excellent. My husband had a steak (we live in steak country) so if he said it was excellent, it sure was!! I had seafood and it was yummy!! We will be back! Thanks!

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Decore could use updating. Food is a li ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Decore could use updating. Food is a little overpriced. Steak was not warm enough . Good service overall

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Outstanding steaks

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

If you want the best aged USA beef, this is the place to go! I had the 26-day aged rib eye and the flavor was outstanding! The wine was not overpriced and there were several premium choices as well as good value. The service was friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was excellent.

Dined on June 7, 2016

Food was excellent.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Service and renovations were outstanding ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Service and renovations were outstanding. Out of Filet Mignon, we ordered three Steak & Seafood Combination Dinners - The seafood was great but the six ounce Filet Mignon(which they did have) was over cooked and had a sour taste to it. The meal was very disappointing given the price. We did not complain or let or server know. This was the first disappointing meal we have had here, we will try it again in the future.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was our 16th Anniversary. My husband ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was our 16th Anniversary. My husband was in charge this year for plans and we had been wanting to try 40 for awhile. We arrived and were seated in a quiet booth in the unique atmosphere. Our waiter Rudy was friendly and greeted us with a staff signed copy of the menu with a warm Happy Anniversary greeting. Selection and service were excellent and would recommend to anyone!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was very friendly and ensure t ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The staff was very friendly and ensure that we had a great dining experience. I have a food allergy and the waiter even checked to make sure that the drink I ordered was safe for me to drink. If I ever pass through Bismarck again, I will be eating here again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was beyond reproach - food was e ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

service was beyond reproach - food was excellent -

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Steak Quality #1

Dined on May 7, 2016

If you love steaks and know quality (for Bismarck) this is the place to go. The service is touch and go which is an insult to the restaurant itself. I believe the staff profiles its customers according to ethnicity and class (lower, middle, upper).

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

40 Steak & Seafood Is A Gem.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The 40 (formerly the East 40 and Casper's East 40) has long been one of my favorite places to eat in the Bismarck-Mandan area. It has wonderful ambience, has always had a great bar, and boasted wonderful food specializing in chophouse dishes. There was a downturn for a year or two under previous management when the general manager retired, but the new management has renewed the 40's reputation for excellence and infused new vigor into the restaurant. My most recent visit was for an anniversary date; it was one of the nicest meals out I've enjoyed in quite some time and there wasn't a single aspect of our visit that wasn't delightful. For steak and seafood, there's nowhere better in the state. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

great food, so so service

Dined on April 29, 2016

our waiter was a very personable guy, but not such a great waiter. kept forgetting stuff. the food was great, but it took a long time to get it and some of it was cold. got charged for something we didn't order but the waiter kept telling us we did. one of the appetizer's came when we were eating the main course and one of our party ordered a drink that never came. but the being said the food was great and we had a nice evening.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing steak and fine dining

Dined on April 29, 2016

tucked away in bismarck is the best steak restaurant in North Dakota. All three times I have gone to here, I have had an amazing meal. This is a fancier restaurant, so certainly don't expect cheap eats, however the food you get for the price you pay is certainly worth it. I would recommend everyone eating here, at least once. Pick your most important special occasion, and share it with a love done.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

A step backwards

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were not greeted warmly at the door, more like we were an imposition. As to the menu which is updated daily, by 7:30 they were out of four entrées and three desserts. The quality of the food was moderate at best. The best part of the meal was the wine, that was great but over priced. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone and won't return.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience2
service4

Steak and seafood was just ok. We have h ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Steak and seafood was just ok. We have had better food for a better price. The building and decor are nice. Service was good.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

We went for our 11th anniversary dinner. The atmosphere was quiet and pleasant, with nice decor and a fireplace next to our table. Our server was attentive and thorough, but not a hinderance to our evening, he did a fantastic job. Our calamari appetizer was delicious with a surprise twist of fried peppers. Our garden salad was the best I have ever had as if each vegetable was chosen specifically to my taste. Is was amazing. Unfortunately the restaurant had run out of a few ingredients that limited our entree side dishes. My New York strip steak came to the table over cooked and chewy and a couple but not all of my wife's scallops were under cooked and fishy. Overall it was a pleasant experience with good drinks and I believe could have been great! food but for a little more attention to correct preparation. I would eat here again and I would recommend to friends to try. I hope to get a succulent juicy steak on my next visit. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday supper with Family

Dined on April 13, 2016

Everything was great, quality food, great atmosphere a very nice place

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Not what we expected.:(

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was good. I was never asked if I would like my ice tea refreshed until after the bill was paid and we were ready to go. The place was almost empty when we got there but waitress told us it was taking a while for our app and salad because kitchen was busy. Was excited to eat here for the first time. My husband had the Hanger Steak. The fist half was good but he said the second half was like the salt shaker was dropped on it. Over all it was ok but nothing to brag about and for goodness sake make sure your customers get refills.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome place!

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was a great experience and our bartender/server Kayla was fabulous!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not Worth the Money

Dined on March 22, 2016

This was a perfectly fine restaurant, the food was average-to-good. But given the price, it really wasn't a value. For this kind of money you should be having AMAZING food and we just weren't that impressed.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Prime Steaks and Seafood

Dined on February 23, 2016

Awesome place to take special guests, friends and family. Great steak and seafood selection with menu changing daily. Table had two 90 day dry aged Prime steaks, two Prime bacon wrapped filets and a lobster tail, knocked everyone's socks off. Ask for the kitchen tour on the Dry Aging process. Head Chef Alan is a true pro and very creative.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a fun night!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We were in town for bridesmaid's dress shopping - so wanted something nice and different from the main stream. The server was so friendly - they have a great selection of entrees - and the food was absolutely delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A good place, but not a great place to eat

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was about average but not the same quality as its sister restaurant, Peacock Alley. I do not think the food or dining experience was worth the price though. Service was on too, but nothing great.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Enjoyable Evening

Dined on February 12, 2016

Most enjoyable evening with a friend. We had good discussion over drink options as well as menu. Very nice change of pace from the typical offerings.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on February 7, 2016

Our waiter was friendly and efficient. The food was very good and lots of it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat!

Dined on December 4, 2015

We always enjoy eating at 40 Steak and Seafood. We knew it back when it was Casper's East 40. We asked for a nice private table, and got exactly what we ordered. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly. Our food was fabulous, and had just enough time between courses. We look forward to a return visit again next summer, when we're in Bismarck. We always recommend this place to friends, when they say that they're headed to Bismarck.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2

Food Good, Staff Training needed

Dined on October 30, 2014

We brought an out of town guest on our first visit to 40 Steak and Seafood on Thursday October 30, 2014. The ambiance and food are great. Our issue was the Service. We had made an online reservation. When we arrived, no one was at the front desk to greet us. After a few minutes a staff member walked by but did not greet us. Eventually the same staff member returned and seated us. The waitress/kitchen was slow; we had at least a 30 minute wait for our food to arrive. Ordering sides is awkward; as to when & what was included with the meal-for us and tables around us. There was a 15 minute wait for a toast order($3 for 2 slices) & when the butter arrived(hard!) for the baked potato the potato was cold. TRAIN STAFF, Mr. Zimmerman!!!! Please.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

thin piece of salmon was over cooked/gri ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2014

thin piece of salmon was over cooked/grilled; piece of what looked like plastic fell from the fork when I picked up some of the greens on the side of the plate. The waitress then immediately sent the manager over? What for I don't know as they did nothing.

food4
ambience5
service5

Will keep going back!

Dined on August 1, 2014

We have dined at East 40 for many years. The new owners have changed the menu a little bit and we miss some key items that made the restaurant unique such as the various steak toppings. It is a romantic setting, though, and we will continue to dine there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.