About 40 Steak + Seafood

The menu changes daily. What was caught or harvested yesterday is whats on the menu today. 32 tap beers, over 80 whiskeys and scotches, complete wine list and cocktail menu. Something for everyone.
The 40 steak and seafood has 5 unique dining rooms, all named after different characteristics or industries that make North Dakota a great State. Each room has its own theme with different furniture, fireplaces, ceiling, flooring and artwork giving each room its own unique and different feel.

1401 East Interchange Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 255-4040

Website:
http://www.40steakandseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Steak + Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

64% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (8)
See All
Cozy (8)
Fireplace (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (6)
Private Room (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Historic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
76 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very under seasoned. My wi ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was very under seasoned. My wife and I both ordered pasta dishes and they were very bland. I would think at a place like this every meal coming out of the kitchen would be 5 star quality.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The service and food was excellent! It i ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined 4 days ago

The service and food was excellent! It is close to our house which is convenient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tuna was frozen but after they cooked it ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined 6 days ago

Tuna was frozen but after they cooked it again it was good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentines Day and no VD menu. Seated us ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines Day and no VD menu. Seated us at a table for 2, asked for a larger table, 3 other larger tables in our room, said they were for 4 somes. Only one other couple came in our room and gave them a table for 4. People in the next room were two feet away thru an open divider. WAS expecting great food for the price, was disappointed with tough roast beef and fatty barbecued pork, my wife's beef stroganoff sauce was like water at the bottom of the bowl. We will not be returning!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This was the 5th time my wife and I had ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was the 5th time my wife and I had dined there. We love the dry-aged steaks and had always had a good 90 day aged steak, $65.00 just for the steak, this last time the steaks were a little tough. All in all it was ok. We had gone there for Valentines Day, I also had flowers sent to the restaurant, that I ordered through your website, and they were on the table when we got there and they were beautiful. I would still recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The atmosphere was good but our food was ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The atmosphere was good but our food was cold and for how much they brag about there dry age steaks ours wasn't that special plus they were not cooked properly

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

Haven't been there for years. Ordered th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Haven't been there for years. Ordered the Advertised Prime Dry Aged Surf/Turf. Steak while tasted ok was not very tender and had lots of gristle. Crab cake tasted like it was frozen.

Wife had the seafood risotto, tasted like it was cooked in a cast iron pan with very old fryer grease.

One of the worst meals value wise I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Service took a very long time. Food was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service took a very long time. Food was nothing special-not worth the money. We had to ask for our ticket as our meals cake because it took over an hour and we didn't order anything prior.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent aged steak. Tremendous flavor. ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent aged steak. Tremendous flavor. Waitress was very good. Just an all around great place to go out for THE best steaks in Bismarck. Will definitely frequent this steak house again when we are in Bismarck.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was really good. I had the ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was really good.

I had the 65 dollar steak, which was ok, but not for 65 dollars. The meal is over priced with a moderate steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We really enjoyed eating here. We came ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed eating here. We came here to treat ourselves, and it did not disapoint. They have some great menu items, little more upscale and will cost a bit more than an average restaurant, but we really enjoyed the food/drinks and would absolutely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food had fairly good flavor but it was l ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food had fairly good flavor but it was lukewarm when it came to our table. The noise level in the restaurant made conversation very difficult. A large table of 9 patrons beside us were very loud and the room echoed. Portions were good. Service refilled our water glasses in a timely manner. The bar messed up our drink order so we were each given an additional cocktail on the house. For the price of the entrees I wanted to be "wow"-ed but unfortunately it didn't happen.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Nice evening dinner, food was pretty goo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Nice evening dinner, food was pretty good and staff was courteous and timely, I will return next trip to Bismarck

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was fantastic across the board (had ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was fantastic across the board (had 8 in our group and ordered meals and appetizers). Waitress was super--friendly, knowledgeable, checked on us, etc. noise level was a little high.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Comfort Food, Private Room, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steak and seafood dining. Meals we ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great steak and seafood dining. Meals were right on point, service was excellent and atmosphere is upscale and fun. One of the best restraunts I've been to!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have rated all as outstanding... ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I would have rated all as outstanding....however our waitress brought our salad and 5 minutes later our food and then we had to ask for our bread! This did NOT seem to be her fault as that is how the kitchen sent things out. I love dinning here as we come to Bismarck a couple times a year and East Forty is right located by our hotel and we can walk.

The salad and steaks are awesome! The bread is wonderful also!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love the professionalism that is displ ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the professionalism that is displayed starting with the reaservation process all the way along until the payment is made. The atmosphere along with the outstanding food is why our dining experience is so special! Thanks for having such a great place for us to dine at!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Huge thanks to Chef Alan and the manager ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Huge thanks to Chef Alan and the manager Adam! The food and cocktails were amazing. Alan's attention to detail and commitment to fresh food (not to mention the daily update of the menu) is equal to the top 1% just like their beef. The 40 Steak and Seafood can compete with the finest restaurants in Minneapolis. Can't wait to dine again at the 40 and get another tour of the dry age cooler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. My flank steak was just ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent meal. My flank steak was just the right portion for me and the vegetables were excellent. My wife's salmon was very good. The best part was that my step-son ordered the Dry aged Junior Prime Cowboy (10 ounces) that had been aged 235 days. I had a piece and the flavor was excellent with a new burst of flavor each time I chewed. We got a tour of their dry aging room and I'm going to have one the next time I'm there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the 40 for a special occasion ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went to the 40 for a special occasion. We were expecting excellent food for the price. We knew about the ala cartel menu but were surprised when we ordered 1 dozen oysters for the heafty price of $32 and were charged extra for cocktail sauce and crackers. Nothing special with the side dishes and the steaks were cut thin. The atmosphere was nice but not overly busy. Probably will explore other options next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Terrible service. Extremely disappointed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Terrible service. Extremely disappointed. Will not go back and will wRn others. There we so many mistake made and we received no compensation for it much less a sincere apology.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great dinner place. Steaks were fantast ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great dinner place. Steaks were fantastic and the service was excellent.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wasn't impressed with the food and the s ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wasn't impressed with the food and the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service, food and ambience was suburb.

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Service, food and ambience was suburb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived on time and we were shown to ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived on time and we were shown to our table immediately. Our server was extra nice and fun to have waiting on us! The steak is what they are known for and it was done PERFECTLY medium rare! We do not order the seafood here, we believe the more "bang for your buck" is the steak! Will be making reservations here again!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I went for a post engageme ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My fiancé and I went for a post engagement date night. It was delicious. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar before we sat for dinner. Very expansive drink menu, including a wonderful tap list. The server we had for dinner was extremely friendly and helpful. I had the lobster ravioli and he had a steak. The ravioli was delicious and cooked perfectly. The steak also was delicious and cooked exactly as ordered. The bread with the merlot butter was one of my favorite parts. Wonderful food, service, and a great experience. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I would of done 5 stars but the service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I would of done 5 stars but the service was slow due to being short staffed. I felt sorry for our waitress because along with being over worked she also had to deal with a table next to us that was being disruptive with the use of foul language. Us and another table just ignored them as best we could but another table got up and took their drinks elsewhere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was a little disappointed in the exper ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was a little disappointed in the experience. We had planned to come here for anniversary for quite some time. We made a reservation but still waited when we got there. There were only two servers on that I saw, so the service was slow. We didn't get drinks until after our app arrived. As a server I understand but, poor planning for a Friday night. Our app and lobster bisque was cool when it arrived. Didn't see our server so couldn't tell anyone. Our entrees where good when they arrived. The dry aged steak was unique, but we liked the filet better. It was an OK dinner but was not what we expected. Could have been much better had they had the correct amount of staff on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service, friendly, professional, t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service, friendly, professional, timely with order - food quality is excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Started the night with a Wedge salad whi ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Started the night with a Wedge salad which was superb. Next was the lobster bisque that was the best that I ever have eaten. I ordered the 90 day aged beef as my entree which was seasoned well and cooked to the right temperature. The atmosphere is very good. I will definitely eat here again the next time I travel to Bismarck.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food we received was bland,portions ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food we received was bland,portions ok size. Wish there were more selections,salad bar...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The time between ordering and receiving ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The time between ordering and receiving food was too long. It took almost 1.5 hours from sit down to get food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

ambiance & service. Waiter went & beyond ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 24, 2016

ambiance & service. Waiter went & beyond to our anniversary was memorable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Derrikca was wonderful! She gave us a t ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Derrikca was wonderful! She gave us a tour of the meat locker and explained the aging process very well! Thank you Derrika!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a nice comfortable atmosph ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food in a nice comfortable atmosphere. In addition, service was friendly and timely without making you feel like they want to get you out of the door as soon as possible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ordered oysters, and have had them ma ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We ordered oysters, and have had them many times before at different places however these were very small, almost nonexistent. We felt that if you couldn't offer a decent size order, it should not be on the menu. Drinks were fine. We felt the service was a little slow for there only being a few other diners in there. It was our first time and we were really excited to go but very disappointed. We did not stay for a main course, we left and went elsewhere. I don't know if we'll try again, it will likely be a while before we go back.(year or so).

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The service was the worst I had ever exp ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was the worst I had ever experienced- 10 min. For a waitress to come and take our order for drinks only to come back about 10 minutes later to tell us we couldn't have bottles and that we had to have tap and then it took 15 minutes to get a glass of Coke took another 25 minutes for us to run up to the bar and grab my friends drink because nobody was bringing it and then it was another oh I would say hour and we still didn't have our meal nobody checked on us never got our appetizer in that amount of time- wasn't that busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Our service was great. We ordered two of ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our service was great. We ordered two of the aged steaks and one was full of cartilage and talo that I was unable to cut it. The flavor of the steak was awful. My wife tasted one bit and wanted to spit it into her napkin. The seafood skewer was over done and the lobster was rubbery. The onion rings were tasteless. We were not offered any credit on our bill or even offered a gift card. We took our boys out to eat to celebrate one of the boys' birthday. We were sadly disappointed with out VERY expensive meal. My wife cooks a killer steak on the grill and the boys would have preferred moms homecoming over the meal we were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The service was TERRIBLE and extremely s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service was TERRIBLE and extremely slow. we had to find our server when we wanted something. And it took us almost 2 hours to finally get our main dish. Then it was overpriced and the server didn't seem to know many of the menu details.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We have been there several times. The w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have been there several times. The waitress recognized us and even though the restaurant was practically empty; the service was mediocre. The steak still had its quality (90 day ribeye bone -in); but had excessive fat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.