Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About 40 Steak + Seafood

The menu changes daily. What was caught or harvested yesterday is whats on the menu today. 32 tap beers, over 80 whiskeys and scotches, complete wine list and cocktail menu. Something for everyone.
The 40 steak and seafood has 5 unique dining rooms, all named after different characteristics or industries that make North Dakota a great State. Each room has its own theme with different furniture, fireplaces, ceiling, flooring and artwork giving each room its own unique and different feel.

1401 East Interchange Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 255-4040

Website:
http://www.40steakandseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Steak + Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.4

Noise

Quiet

61% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Cozy (14)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fun (6)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort by
S
137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Dry aged ribeye was excellent.edamame dide and wege salad also scored high. Rudy the server was engaging and fun to work with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 6, 2018

Rudy and Lisa took great care of us. The food is always impeccable, the drinks perfect, and the atmosphere welcoming. Wonderful!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 31, 2018

This restaurant may be living on reputation. I ordered the special bone-in ribeye which at $40 ala carted is not being given away. It arrived on a cast iron plate which I expected to be frying hot but high was at best luke-warm and the steak was the same. Th steak was good but not exceptional. Th lobster bisque was good but was also warm not piping hot. Same with the coffee with dessert. Service was a bit imbalanced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2018

There were three of us in a booth. The outside and the inside were both very nice and somewhat rustic and a cozy place. The bacon wedge salad was very average. My steak I ordered medium rare and was cooked medium to medium well. The steak it self was greasy and fatty. Not what I would expect in a high end steak house. My friends steak was rare and he ordered medium.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Waited over an hour for our food after ordering. Steaks were just ok. I have had steak at the other two popular steak restaurants in the area that were much better. This place is way overpriced for what I expected compared to what I received. The best part of the night was the hand full of chocolate mints I grabbed on the way out the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Great food, slow and unattentive service. Hanger steak was great, the 118 day aged ribeye was great as was the salmon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Rusy and ryan were awesome. They made it a great dining experience. The food was ridiculously amazing and fresh too. What a jem of a place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 12, 2018

No one to greet us when we arrived, so it seemed a little deserted. Someone finally came to seat us. Server was very friendly. Menu looked interesting. Food was very mediocre. Would not have complained about the stringiness and grittiness of the special aged ribeye if it had been a $17 steak, but at $29 we expected better. I don't mind paying a higher price for quality food, but this did not live up to the price tag.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Came here for my boyfriends birthday and the food and service was amazing. This is one of our favorite spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 31, 2017

It was a busy night, but we received a lukewarm streak that was slightly undercooked and a lukewarm ravioli that was a bit overpriced for the serving size. Table behind us also received not hot food. Only Thing that was hot were the fries which we were not offered any sauce with. Its a very good place to dine but I feel like I paid too much for the quality and service we received.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was good however the service wasn’t great. We were not checked on during the meal, not offered additional drinks to the point I ran out of water towards the end of the meal, and essentially just handed out check on the one time our server stopped back. He had mentioned he was very busy but had we been checked on once I would have been happy. I had heard so much about the food there that I was excited to have a nice meal with my date and we both left very off put by this experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We were there on NYE, which happened to be our first anniversary. We could tell you guys were super busy and working hard. One of the managers(?)(a shorter guy, wearing all black) was busting his butt with a smile on his face the whole time- which as a former server, I can really appreciate. Our service was good... until he brought our food- the server dropped it off and walked away (didn't ask if we needed anything).
My husband had to go find another server to get steak sauce and ketchup. Our server didn't stop back again until he brought the bill. Spending $76 on bad service and okay food isn't exactly how we wanted to spend our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 29, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with friends and what royal treatment we received! When we arrived, our waiter was at the door to greet us and had set our table with linens. He was highly attentive and made us feel so comfortable. The food was outstanding and made this birthday celebration one to remember!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Our entire group was disappointed in the food. For the price of the meal we expected a much better product. We will not be going back anytime soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 19, 2017

We were traveling west and made it a point to stop in Bismarck so we could eat here! We’d stopped last fall and knew we wanted to eat here again. My husband had a steak, which he said was great, and I had the seafood risotto. Oysters weren’t as good as the first time - but understand it’s December in N.D. We travel out west a few times a year and have decided Bismarck will be out stop over so we can eat at 40 Steak & Seafood every time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Waitress was at the table 4 times, 1) took order, 2)served salads, 3) brought meal, 4) brought check. Salad plates were still on table when meal was brought, we had to gather up plates to make room???? There were 6 of us. Everyone’s food was cold. Side dishes were cold. With no one checking on us, it was hard to bring to anyone’s attention. 1 drink was on the rocks, waitress brought shot glass and poured in glass, no fresh ice. This was a event we all looked forward to, we were highly disappointed. Will not return or recommend. Very over priced for the quality of the meal and lack of service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 12, 2017

Generally steaks are very good however this time, I complained to the waiter that my steak did not taste good and he said that it looked fine... hmm guess he should of ate it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 7, 2017

II ate in here years ago and had a great meat that was very nice. Last night I was seated in a room where the large table was so loud telling stories and laughing. It made it hard to talk. We waited for a while before menu. Then waited for drinks. The appetizer came before our drinks. The drinks were nice and good temp. The calamari was perfect in cooking but to add the cheep small squids is a bad move. It mak snit a nasty dish. I dated a chef In a huge Winnipeg restaurant and I know that’s much cheaper to order so that why yo do I. It’s a bad idea. My lobster ravioli was perfect as always. My husband had they tonihalk steak that was terrible. He threw out over 2/3 of it. For 40$. That’s typical led for. Zz. We were very unhappy

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2017

This is the best steak place in Bismarck but does not seem to have much visibility on the review sites. We found it and it was cozy, the staff was friendly and attentive. The steaks were great and one of our party had the beef stroganoff which she also rated very highly. There are also some good values on the wines.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 28, 2017

The steak tasted old we had the 2 for 40 which was not a good deal for you had to pay extra for the sides even the potatoes were an extra charge so I will not be back lesson learned !!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Greatest service I've had in a long time! Had a great time, excellent food, cozy atmosphere!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 9, 2017

It's no wonder 40 Steak+Seafood has won the international steakhouse of the year award.
This is NOT your run-of-the-mill steakhouse. If you are looking for a truly fine dining experience, you'll not find one better !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We went for my son's Birthday and because we have always wanted to try a longer day dry aged steak. First of all the staff were very good. Friendly, courteous, you couldn't ask for any better. My husband ordered the cowboy king cut ribeye and I ordered the scallops, intending to share so we each had surf and turf . The steak was good, but hardly worth the price tag. The scallops unfortunately were not so good. I think I had too high of expectations and we are not used to maybe higher end restaurants where you have to pay for everything separate. When I pay $75 for a steak I usually get a potato and salad to go with it and not have to pay extra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Always impressed and never disappointed by a meal at this restaurant. Will always find time to visit while in Bismarck

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Jackie had our table especially set up with silk tose petals, by the fireplace, Jackie was great in all she did for us, it was our 31 st Anniversary of the day we met.Highly recommended. Thank you for making it special.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Service was excellent food was cooked to order and staff was very knowledgeable about options. Overall worth the drive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 14, 2017

There were three of us and I encouraged them to order the salmon, they loved every bite. Compliments to the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 26, 2017

took my girlfriend out here on her birthday. Wanted something special for her. Called ahead and asked for any special. They were awesome. room to ourselves, very fun and respectful waiter, treated us like royalty. My girlfriend was so impressed.

Food was awesome! and very reasonable bill. Tipped them well as they deserved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Husband and I went here for a date night. We haven't been there in years! We thought it would be a nice way to unwind from the choas at home-thinking it wasn't your usual "family restaurant." Well, We must have picked a bad night to go;lot of families with kids . Was pretty loud where we were seated. Service was slow but waiter apologized. In his defense they had three large parties that came in. Waiter did give us a free dessert for being patient. Food was great!
All and all we may go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Very good service food is great employees all very nice

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was poor at best. I would recommend Robys in Mandan as far superior food. This was a great place in the 70;s and 80;s but is nothing now. Will never return. Took my wife there as a date when she flew in from Wisconsin, but an overall dissapointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We stop here every time we are in Bismarck. Great steak, appetizers, mixed drinks and dessert. It never disappoints.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This place lived up to all I read on the reviews. It is a very nice place, the steak was amazing, and the people were very friendly. It's not cheap, but you don't get the best steak in North Dakota cheap. This is not a place you go for a cheap dinner. It's a place you go for a great steak dinner.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was flavorless and bread items were hard as a rock the food is not worth the price. First and last time I'll ever go.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I went here with my Girlfriend on her friends recommendation. Flying out for 3 months and wanting a nice dinner, it didn't disappoint. Regrettably didn't get a chance to hear our waitors name (might have said it just didnt hear it personally), but was absolutely fantastic. I served for 5 years and understand the difficulty of serving at times, but he created a great atmosphere for us and was able to end our night on a fantastic note. To you & the cooks; thank you for giving us a great night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Ordered their special for the day, which was their dry aged prime rib. I ordered it medium rare and it came out as some sort of grey hunk of meat with almost no color and poor texture. I was really disappointed and my girlfriends meal didn't sit right with her, she had the shrimp pasta. I had high expectations and it really fell short. Perhaps their other steak options are better but it seemed to me they are using a poor quality of meat, or aren't aging or cooking the meat correctly. Probably wouldn't go back or recommend it. Otherwise drinks and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Some of the best ribeyes we have had. Large portions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Was very expensive , small appetizer for the money but large side dish for the money, steak was very tender

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Nice place for a casual work dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The service was outstanding but the food was below par. The only thing that tasted good was the spinach and artichoke potatoes. The prime rib was not cooked right and the hash browns were average. They never explained what the bread spread was and so I was nervous to try. I did though and it didn't have much taste. Kind of reminded me of spam which doesn't set ok when your going out to supper. The prices were really high for not having that good quality of food. Prob will not come back very soon.
Maybe if they lowered their prices to match the quality of food it would be better.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.