About 40 Steak + Seafood

1401 East Interchange Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

The menu changes daily. What was caught or harvested yesterday is whats on the menu today. 32 tap beers, over 80 whiskeys and scotches, complete wine list and cocktail menu. Something for everyone.
The 40 steak and seafood has 5 unique dining rooms, all named after different characteristics or industries that make North Dakota a great State. Each room has its own theme with different furniture, fireplaces, ceiling, flooring and artwork giving each room its own unique and different feel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 255-4040

Website:
http://www.40steakandseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Steak + Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Dakota
Most Booked
Bismarck
Best Restaurants in Bismarck ›

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
39 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our service was great. We ordered two of ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our service was great. We ordered two of the aged steaks and one was full of cartilage and talo that I was unable to cut it. The flavor of the steak was awful. My wife tasted one bit and wanted to spit it into her napkin. The seafood skewer was over done and the lobster was rubbery. The onion rings were tasteless. We were not offered any credit on our bill or even offered a gift card. We took our boys out to eat to celebrate one of the boys' birthday. We were sadly disappointed with out VERY expensive meal. My wife cooks a killer steak on the grill and the boys would have preferred moms homecoming over the meal we were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The service was TERRIBLE and extremely s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service was TERRIBLE and extremely slow. we had to find our server when we wanted something. And it took us almost 2 hours to finally get our main dish. Then it was overpriced and the server didn't seem to know many of the menu details.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We have been there several times. The w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have been there several times. The waitress recognized us and even though the restaurant was practically empty; the service was mediocre. The steak still had its quality (90 day ribeye bone -in); but had excessive fat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was ok. I had the ribeye which was ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was ok. I had the ribeye which was good but far from outstanding. I also had fresh vegetables for additional $4 on a $ 32 steak. The server was very slow and took at least 15 -20 min to bring a drink order and she failed to offer a second drink or refill on water at any point in our dining experience. Overall this is an overpriced restaurant with mediocre service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Darika the waitress made the night very ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Darika the waitress made the night very professional. Great food and answered all questions we had.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

47 states later and I find the worst pla ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

47 states later and I find the worst place I've ever booked on OpenTable. Service was chaotic if it came at all. The way overpriced steak was overcooked and it's obvious it was left under a heating lamp waiting it to be sent out. I don't blame the server as much as the management, because they have created a total cluster**** here. Never had such a poor experience in a steakhouse anywhere else in the country. Shambolic. AVOID!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We booked a table and upon ordering, the ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We booked a table and upon ordering, the menu was very limited, there was no iced tea, and a poor choice of dressings, so we decided to leave. Very disappointed as this was or 40th wedding anniversary and we wanted to make it special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Don't miss the tour of the dry age vault ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Don't miss the tour of the dry age vault and the substantial scotch and bourbon selection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst dining experience I've had in a lo ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Worst dining experience I've had in a long time. Burger was over cooked. Ribs were steamed, not grilled and then drenched in some kind of BBQ sauce, with no accompaniments. Service was terrible. The best part of the meal were the frozen fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

We haven't eaten here in years, I believ ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We haven't eaten here in years, I believe there is a newer owner and we were very impressed. It wasn't anything like it was before. The staff was friendly and made helpful suggestions. The food was excellent. My husband had a steak (we live in steak country) so if he said it was excellent, it sure was!! I had seafood and it was yummy!! We will be back! Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Decore could use updating. Food is a li ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Decore could use updating. Food is a little overpriced. Steak was not warm enough

. Good service overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Outstanding steaks

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

If you want the best aged USA beef, this is the place to go! I had the 26-day aged rib eye and the flavor was outstanding! The wine was not overpriced and there were several premium choices as well as good value. The service was friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was excellent.

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service and renovations were outstanding ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service and renovations were outstanding. Out of Filet Mignon, we ordered three Steak & Seafood Combination Dinners - The seafood was great but the six ounce Filet Mignon(which they did have) was over cooked and had a sour taste to it. The meal was very disappointing given the price. We did not complain or let or server know.

This was the first disappointing meal we have had here, we will try it again in the future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

It was our 16th Anniversary. My husband ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

It was our 16th Anniversary. My husband was in charge this year for plans and we had been wanting to try 40 for awhile. We arrived and were seated in a quiet booth in the unique atmosphere. Our waiter Rudy was friendly and greeted us with a staff signed copy of the menu with a warm Happy Anniversary greeting. Selection and service were excellent and would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff was very friendly and ensure t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The staff was very friendly and ensure that we had a great dining experience. I have a food allergy and the waiter even checked to make sure that the drink I ordered was safe for me to drink. If I ever pass through Bismarck again, I will be eating here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service was beyond reproach - food was e ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

service was beyond reproach - food was excellent -

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak Quality #1

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

If you love steaks and know quality (for Bismarck) this is the place to go. The service is touch and go which is an insult to the restaurant itself. I believe the staff profiles its customers according to ethnicity and class (lower, middle, upper).

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

40 Steak & Seafood Is A Gem.

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The 40 (formerly the East 40 and Casper's East 40) has long been one of my favorite places to eat in the Bismarck-Mandan area. It has wonderful ambience, has always had a great bar, and boasted wonderful food specializing in chophouse dishes. There was a downturn for a year or two under previous management when the general manager retired, but the new management has renewed the 40's reputation for excellence and infused new vigor into the restaurant. My most recent visit was for an anniversary date; it was one of the nicest meals out I've enjoyed in quite some time and there wasn't a single aspect of our visit that wasn't delightful. For steak and seafood, there's nowhere better in the state. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, so so service

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

our waiter was a very personable guy, but not such a great waiter. kept forgetting stuff. the food was great, but it took a long time to get it and some of it was cold. got charged for something we didn't order but the waiter kept telling us we did. one of the appetizer's came when we were eating the main course and one of our party ordered a drink that never came. but the being said the food was great and we had a nice evening.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Amazing steak and fine dining

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

tucked away in bismarck is the best steak restaurant in North Dakota. All three times I have gone to here, I have had an amazing meal. This is a fancier restaurant, so certainly don't expect cheap eats, however the food you get for the price you pay is certainly worth it. I would recommend everyone eating here, at least once. Pick your most important special occasion, and share it with a love done.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A step backwards

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We were not greeted warmly at the door, more like we were an imposition. As to the menu which is updated daily, by 7:30 they were out of four entrées and three desserts. The quality of the food was moderate at best. The best part of the meal was the wine, that was great but over priced. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone and won't return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Steak and seafood was just ok. We have h ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Steak and seafood was just ok. We have had better food for a better price. The building and decor are nice. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Anniversary dinner

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We went for our 11th anniversary dinner. The atmosphere was quiet and pleasant, with nice decor and a fireplace next to our table. Our server was attentive and thorough, but not a hinderance to our evening, he did a fantastic job. Our calamari appetizer was delicious with a surprise twist of fried peppers. Our garden salad was the best I have ever had as if each vegetable was chosen specifically to my taste. Is was amazing. Unfortunately the restaurant had run out of a few ingredients that limited our entree side dishes. My New York strip steak came to the table over cooked and chewy and a couple but not all of my wife's scallops were under cooked and fishy. Overall it was a pleasant experience with good drinks and I believe could have been great! food but for a little more attention to correct preparation. I would eat here again and I would recommend to friends to try. I hope to get a succulent juicy steak on my next visit. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday supper with Family

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Everything was great, quality food, great atmosphere a very nice place

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not what we expected.:(

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was good. I was never asked if I would like my ice tea refreshed until after the bill was paid and we were ready to go. The place was almost empty when we got there but waitress told us it was taking a while for our app and salad because kitchen was busy. Was excited to eat here for the first time. My husband had the Hanger Steak. The fist half was good but he said the second half was like the salt shaker was dropped on it. Over all it was ok but nothing to brag about and for goodness sake make sure your customers get refills.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Awesome place!

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

It was a great experience and our bartender/server Kayla was fabulous!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not Worth the Money

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

This was a perfectly fine restaurant, the food was average-to-good. But given the price, it really wasn't a value. For this kind of money you should be having AMAZING food and we just weren't that impressed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Prime Steaks and Seafood

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Awesome place to take special guests, friends and family. Great steak and seafood selection with menu changing daily. Table had two 90 day dry aged Prime steaks, two Prime bacon wrapped filets and a lobster tail, knocked everyone's socks off. Ask for the kitchen tour on the Dry Aging process. Head Chef Alan is a true pro and very creative.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a fun night!!

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We were in town for bridesmaid's dress shopping - so wanted something nice and different from the main stream. The server was so friendly - they have a great selection of entrees - and the food was absolutely delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good place, but not a great place to eat

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was about average but not the same quality as its sister restaurant, Peacock Alley. I do not think the food or dining experience was worth the price though. Service was on too, but nothing great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Enjoyable Evening

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Most enjoyable evening with a friend. We had good discussion over drink options as well as menu. Very nice change of pace from the typical offerings.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night out

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Our waiter was friendly and efficient. The food was very good and lots of it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Until you eat at Bistro you think this i ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Until you eat at Bistro you think this is the best in town. Will probably not go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Overrated! Same owners as Peacock Alley, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Overrated! Same owners as Peacock Alley,

So unless they change things their days are numbered. The people that come in Bismarck several times a year for business demand and expect better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great place to eat!

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

We always enjoy eating at 40 Steak and Seafood. We knew it back when it was Casper's East 40. We asked for a nice private table, and got exactly what we ordered. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly. Our food was fabulous, and had just enough time between courses. We look forward to a return visit again next summer, when we're in Bismarck. We always recommend this place to friends, when they say that they're headed to Bismarck.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food Good, Staff Training needed

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on October 30, 2014

We brought an out of town guest on our first visit to 40 Steak and Seafood on Thursday October 30, 2014. The ambiance and food are great. Our issue was the Service. We had made an online reservation. When we arrived, no one was at the front desk to greet us. After a few minutes a staff member walked by but did not greet us. Eventually the same staff member returned and seated us. The waitress/kitchen was slow; we had at least a 30 minute wait for our food to arrive. Ordering sides is awkward; as to when & what was included with the meal-for us and tables around us. There was a 15 minute wait for a toast order($3 for 2 slices) & when the butter arrived(hard!) for the baked potato the potato was cold. TRAIN STAFF, Mr. Zimmerman!!!! Please.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

thin piece of salmon was over cooked/gri ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

thin piece of salmon was over cooked/grilled; piece of what looked like plastic fell from the fork when I picked up some of the greens on the side of the plate. The waitress then immediately sent the manager over? What for I don't know as they did nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Will keep going back!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 1, 2014

We have dined at East 40 for many years. The new owners have changed the menu a little bit and we miss some key items that made the restaurant unique such as the various steak toppings. It is a romantic setting, though, and we will continue to dine there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.