Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About 40 Steak + Seafood

The menu changes daily. What was caught or harvested yesterday is whats on the menu today. 32 tap beers, over 80 whiskeys and scotches, complete wine list and cocktail menu. Something for everyone.
The 40 steak and seafood has 5 unique dining rooms, all named after different characteristics or industries that make North Dakota a great State. Each room has its own theme with different furniture, fireplaces, ceiling, flooring and artwork giving each room its own unique and different feel.

1401 East Interchange Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 255-4040

Website:
http://www.40steakandseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Steak + Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Great Beer (5)
Historic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Ordered their special for the day, which was their dry aged prime rib. I ordered it medium rare and it came out as some sort of grey hunk of meat with almost no color and poor texture. I was really disappointed and my girlfriends meal didn't sit right with her, she had the shrimp pasta. I had high expectations and it really fell short. Perhaps their other steak options are better but it seemed to me they are using a poor quality of meat, or aren't aging or cooking the meat correctly. Probably wouldn't go back or recommend it. Otherwise drinks and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Some of the best ribeyes we have had. Large portions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Was very expensive , small appetizer for the money but large side dish for the money, steak was very tender

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Nice place for a casual work dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The service was outstanding but the food was below par. The only thing that tasted good was the spinach and artichoke potatoes. The prime rib was not cooked right and the hash browns were average. They never explained what the bread spread was and so I was nervous to try. I did though and it didn't have much taste. Kind of reminded me of spam which doesn't set ok when your going out to supper. The prices were really high for not having that good quality of food. Prob will not come back very soon.
Maybe if they lowered their prices to match the quality of food it would be better.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I've been to 40 twice and had two different servers. The service is outstanding and everyone is knowledgeable regarding menu items and wine, cocktail and beer suggestions. Each person with whom you come in contact makes the guest feel like he or she is having a very personal experience. The food is wonderful. Original dishes and new takes on traditional dishes. The wine list is great as is the atmosphere. Overall, this is an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Vegan, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 1, 2017

WE were very disappointed in the quality of the tomahawk steaks that we had. Yes it was showy however the quality of the meat was not good. And at the price we were certainly expecting something much better.
The side dishes were good as was the lettuce wraps that we had as a starter
.
The staff was good. The atmosphere was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I went on a Tuesday for T-bone Tuesday Special. Reservation 7.30. there was a light crowd and the restaurant was out of the special, ordered lionese hashbrowns restaurant also out of hashbrowns. A higher end restaurant should never be out of the special or out of anything for that matter. Not to impressed Service was above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Server Rudy H was superb! Great environment and loved the tour. My wife's salmon was excellent. My ribeye steak was very tasty but a little tough and pricey. It wasn't their signature steak so next time I go I will have their 40+ day dry aged steak instead for the more tenderness!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I brought my sons for a different atmosphere and to celebrate them and some of their accomplishments. It was the perfect place to enjoy the food and to visit. The young man waiting on us was very gracious and on top of giving us great service. Thank you for making our evening special.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Got the 40 oz for $40. Was supposedly aged 35 days. First of all, it arrived cold. And it had some inedible grizzle. For a town that's crawling with cattle I'd expect not just cheap steak but good steak. If you want good steak, try coming to New York. I'd suggest Peter Luger, which is the absolute best, Smith & Wollensky, or even the chain, Ruth's Chris. The Thai lettuce wraps were tasty but a tad too sweet. My husband's seared tuna was very tasty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Jackie was our server! She was amazing! She took us to our own table by the fireplace where no one else was, it made it so much more special! The food was amazing and the service was wonderful! We will be back!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our favorite place to eat in Bismarck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Made reservations for our wedding night dinner. Greeted by a wave and friendly smile from Rudy. The atmosphere was great! They dimmed the lights for a wonderful meal and service our waiter Rudy was the best. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Had dinner here April 26 with three business associates We had a great tour of the aging room by the executive chef and the meal was top notch. I will be back and highly recommend this great restaraunt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 11, 2017

T Bone steaks were very tough and very thin. For a steakhouse I expected better steak. Vegetables were cold. For the price of the meal I would have expected much better quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We always enjoy an evening out here and this was no exception. Menu changes daily but you can't go wrong with the filet mignon, which each of us had. It would be nice to have at least one 'side' included with the steak instead of all of the add-on's. Servers have obviously been taught to up-sell, which, quite frankly, got a bit old at a fancy restaurant. Especially when the question, "soup or salad" rolls off the tongue as if the option is included (we clarified that before jacking up our totals). As it was, the steaks and the few chosen sides were very good and we'll always go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Really enjoyed the entire meal. We started with Oysters and the wedge salad, which each were equally amazing. Our entrée was a dry aged Ribeye and it was excellent! We are thrilled to find somewhere in ND to finally offer such an item as it is a favorite of ours. We asked the server about the tours of the dry aged cooler as posted on the menu, which she happily obliged. Will return with our next visit to Bismarck.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Was surprised that it wasn't real busy tonight. Made it a very quiet evening with great service. My steak was slightly over cooked but it was still a tasty flavorful piece of meat. The rest of the food was outstanding. The waitress even talked us into the turtle lava cake with gelato for dessert. Fantastic finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 20, 2017

we had a party of five...............we all left and went home and ate another meal............small portion, large price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Positives: Aged steak had a very different but great flavor, building was beautiful, and everything came out quickly.
Negative: A bit over priced

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It has been about 7 yrs since I was last here. There have been a few noticable changes in that time. However, that time & this time...The service remains fantastic. The pace is very relaxed, allowing for conversation & enjoyment of the food. The food was superb. The calamari was a little different than I have had before, but just as delightful.
I have, and will continue to, recommend to all my friends.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our server needed a little menu education. My father was going to order the tuna steak. And she told him it was served cold. Really? cold? Or seared and served rare as tuna should be? two people at my table had the seafood skewers which were rubbery and overcooked. 2 shrimp and a tiny lobster tail for $28. My son ordered the meat and cheese plate. Should be called the cheese plate with a couple strips of bacon. This was the only meat on the plate. Also, totally over priced at $16. We tried to order the hummus plate, which they were out of. We won't be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My steak was ordered med rare but was past med. Veggies had no seasoning at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was good, server was attentive and friendly, prices were extreme for the amount of food received.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I always enjoy dining here as the menu offers a good number of options and the food is very good. The wild card is always service and last night our waitress was a true professional rock star!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was very under seasoned. My wife and I both ordered pasta dishes and they were very bland. I would think at a place like this every meal coming out of the kitchen would be 5 star quality.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service and food was excellent! It is close to our house which is convenient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Tuna was frozen but after they cooked it again it was good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day and no VD menu. Seated us at a table for 2, asked for a larger table, 3 other larger tables in our room, said they were for 4 somes. Only one other couple came in our room and gave them a table for 4. People in the next room were two feet away thru an open divider. WAS expecting great food for the price, was disappointed with tough roast beef and fatty barbecued pork, my wife's beef stroganoff sauce was like water at the bottom of the bowl. We will not be returning!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was the 5th time my wife and I had dined there. We love the dry-aged steaks and had always had a good 90 day aged steak, $65.00 just for the steak, this last time the steaks were a little tough. All in all it was ok. We had gone there for Valentines Day, I also had flowers sent to the restaurant, that I ordered through your website, and they were on the table when we got there and they were beautiful. I would still recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The atmosphere was good but our food was cold and for how much they brag about there dry age steaks ours wasn't that special plus they were not cooked properly

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Haven't been there for years. Ordered the Advertised Prime Dry Aged Surf/Turf. Steak while tasted ok was not very tender and had lots of gristle. Crab cake tasted like it was frozen.
Wife had the seafood risotto, tasted like it was cooked in a cast iron pan with very old fryer grease.
One of the worst meals value wise I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service took a very long time. Food was nothing special-not worth the money. We had to ask for our ticket as our meals cake because it took over an hour and we didn't order anything prior.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent aged steak. Tremendous flavor. Waitress was very good. Just an all around great place to go out for THE best steaks in Bismarck. Will definitely frequent this steak house again when we are in Bismarck.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was really good.
I had the 65 dollar steak, which was ok, but not for 65 dollars. The meal is over priced with a moderate steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We really enjoyed eating here. We came here to treat ourselves, and it did not disapoint. They have some great menu items, little more upscale and will cost a bit more than an average restaurant, but we really enjoyed the food/drinks and would absolutely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food had fairly good flavor but it was lukewarm when it came to our table. The noise level in the restaurant made conversation very difficult. A large table of 9 patrons beside us were very loud and the room echoed. Portions were good. Service refilled our water glasses in a timely manner. The bar messed up our drink order so we were each given an additional cocktail on the house. For the price of the entrees I wanted to be "wow"-ed but unfortunately it didn't happen.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Nice evening dinner, food was pretty good and staff was courteous and timely, I will return next trip to Bismarck

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was fantastic across the board (had 8 in our group and ordered meals and appetizers). Waitress was super--friendly, knowledgeable, checked on us, etc. noise level was a little high.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.