Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About 40 Steak + Seafood

The menu changes daily. What was caught or harvested yesterday is whats on the menu today. 32 tap beers, over 80 whiskeys and scotches, complete wine list and cocktail menu. Something for everyone.
The 40 steak and seafood has 5 unique dining rooms, all named after different characteristics or industries that make North Dakota a great State. Each room has its own theme with different furniture, fireplaces, ceiling, flooring and artwork giving each room its own unique and different feel.

1401 East Interchange Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 255-4040

Website:
http://www.40steakandseafood.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

40 Steak + Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

64% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (16)
Cozy (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Historic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fireplace (8)
Private Room (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great Beer (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
87 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 11, 2017

T Bone steaks were very tough and very thin. For a steakhouse I expected better steak. Vegetables were cold. For the price of the meal I would have expected much better quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We always enjoy an evening out here and this was no exception. Menu changes daily but you can't go wrong with the filet mignon, which each of us had. It would be nice to have at least one 'side' included with the steak instead of all of the add-on's. Servers have obviously been taught to up-sell, which, quite frankly, got a bit old at a fancy restaurant. Especially when the question, "soup or salad" rolls off the tongue as if the option is included (we clarified that before jacking up our totals). As it was, the steaks and the few chosen sides were very good and we'll always go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Really enjoyed the entire meal. We started with Oysters and the wedge salad, which each were equally amazing. Our entrée was a dry aged Ribeye and it was excellent! We are thrilled to find somewhere in ND to finally offer such an item as it is a favorite of ours. We asked the server about the tours of the dry aged cooler as posted on the menu, which she happily obliged. Will return with our next visit to Bismarck.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Was surprised that it wasn't real busy tonight. Made it a very quiet evening with great service. My steak was slightly over cooked but it was still a tasty flavorful piece of meat. The rest of the food was outstanding. The waitress even talked us into the turtle lava cake with gelato for dessert. Fantastic finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 20, 2017

we had a party of five...............we all left and went home and ate another meal............small portion, large price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Positives: Aged steak had a very different but great flavor, building was beautiful, and everything came out quickly.
Negative: A bit over priced

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It has been about 7 yrs since I was last here. There have been a few noticable changes in that time. However, that time & this time...The service remains fantastic. The pace is very relaxed, allowing for conversation & enjoyment of the food. The food was superb. The calamari was a little different than I have had before, but just as delightful.
I have, and will continue to, recommend to all my friends.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our server needed a little menu education. My father was going to order the tuna steak. And she told him it was served cold. Really? cold? Or seared and served rare as tuna should be? two people at my table had the seafood skewers which were rubbery and overcooked. 2 shrimp and a tiny lobster tail for $28. My son ordered the meat and cheese plate. Should be called the cheese plate with a couple strips of bacon. This was the only meat on the plate. Also, totally over priced at $16. We tried to order the hummus plate, which they were out of. We won't be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My steak was ordered med rare but was past med. Veggies had no seasoning at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was good, server was attentive and friendly, prices were extreme for the amount of food received.

Tags: Fireplace, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I always enjoy dining here as the menu offers a good number of options and the food is very good. The wild card is always service and last night our waitress was a true professional rock star!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was very under seasoned. My wife and I both ordered pasta dishes and they were very bland. I would think at a place like this every meal coming out of the kitchen would be 5 star quality.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The service and food was excellent! It is close to our house which is convenient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Tuna was frozen but after they cooked it again it was good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day and no VD menu. Seated us at a table for 2, asked for a larger table, 3 other larger tables in our room, said they were for 4 somes. Only one other couple came in our room and gave them a table for 4. People in the next room were two feet away thru an open divider. WAS expecting great food for the price, was disappointed with tough roast beef and fatty barbecued pork, my wife's beef stroganoff sauce was like water at the bottom of the bowl. We will not be returning!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was the 5th time my wife and I had dined there. We love the dry-aged steaks and had always had a good 90 day aged steak, $65.00 just for the steak, this last time the steaks were a little tough. All in all it was ok. We had gone there for Valentines Day, I also had flowers sent to the restaurant, that I ordered through your website, and they were on the table when we got there and they were beautiful. I would still recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The atmosphere was good but our food was cold and for how much they brag about there dry age steaks ours wasn't that special plus they were not cooked properly

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Haven't been there for years. Ordered the Advertised Prime Dry Aged Surf/Turf. Steak while tasted ok was not very tender and had lots of gristle. Crab cake tasted like it was frozen.
Wife had the seafood risotto, tasted like it was cooked in a cast iron pan with very old fryer grease.
One of the worst meals value wise I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service took a very long time. Food was nothing special-not worth the money. We had to ask for our ticket as our meals cake because it took over an hour and we didn't order anything prior.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent aged steak. Tremendous flavor. Waitress was very good. Just an all around great place to go out for THE best steaks in Bismarck. Will definitely frequent this steak house again when we are in Bismarck.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was really good.
I had the 65 dollar steak, which was ok, but not for 65 dollars. The meal is over priced with a moderate steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed eating here. We came here to treat ourselves, and it did not disapoint. They have some great menu items, little more upscale and will cost a bit more than an average restaurant, but we really enjoyed the food/drinks and would absolutely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food had fairly good flavor but it was lukewarm when it came to our table. The noise level in the restaurant made conversation very difficult. A large table of 9 patrons beside us were very loud and the room echoed. Portions were good. Service refilled our water glasses in a timely manner. The bar messed up our drink order so we were each given an additional cocktail on the house. For the price of the entrees I wanted to be "wow"-ed but unfortunately it didn't happen.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Nice evening dinner, food was pretty good and staff was courteous and timely, I will return next trip to Bismarck

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was fantastic across the board (had 8 in our group and ordered meals and appetizers). Waitress was super--friendly, knowledgeable, checked on us, etc. noise level was a little high.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Comfort Food, Private Room, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great steak and seafood dining. Meals were right on point, service was excellent and atmosphere is upscale and fun. One of the best restraunts I've been to!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I would have rated all as outstanding....however our waitress brought our salad and 5 minutes later our food and then we had to ask for our bread! This did NOT seem to be her fault as that is how the kitchen sent things out. I love dinning here as we come to Bismarck a couple times a year and East Forty is right located by our hotel and we can walk.
The salad and steaks are awesome! The bread is wonderful also!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the professionalism that is displayed starting with the reaservation process all the way along until the payment is made. The atmosphere along with the outstanding food is why our dining experience is so special! Thanks for having such a great place for us to dine at!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Huge thanks to Chef Alan and the manager Adam! The food and cocktails were amazing. Alan's attention to detail and commitment to fresh food (not to mention the daily update of the menu) is equal to the top 1% just like their beef. The 40 Steak and Seafood can compete with the finest restaurants in Minneapolis. Can't wait to dine again at the 40 and get another tour of the dry age cooler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent meal. My flank steak was just the right portion for me and the vegetables were excellent. My wife's salmon was very good. The best part was that my step-son ordered the Dry aged Junior Prime Cowboy (10 ounces) that had been aged 235 days. I had a piece and the flavor was excellent with a new burst of flavor each time I chewed. We got a tour of their dry aging room and I'm going to have one the next time I'm there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went to the 40 for a special occasion. We were expecting excellent food for the price. We knew about the ala cartel menu but were surprised when we ordered 1 dozen oysters for the heafty price of $32 and were charged extra for cocktail sauce and crackers. Nothing special with the side dishes and the steaks were cut thin. The atmosphere was nice but not overly busy. Probably will explore other options next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Terrible service. Extremely disappointed. Will not go back and will wRn others. There we so many mistake made and we received no compensation for it much less a sincere apology.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great dinner place. Steaks were fantastic and the service was excellent.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wasn't impressed with the food and the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Service, food and ambience was suburb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived on time and we were shown to our table immediately. Our server was extra nice and fun to have waiting on us! The steak is what they are known for and it was done PERFECTLY medium rare! We do not order the seafood here, we believe the more "bang for your buck" is the steak! Will be making reservations here again!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My fiancé and I went for a post engagement date night. It was delicious. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar before we sat for dinner. Very expansive drink menu, including a wonderful tap list. The server we had for dinner was extremely friendly and helpful. I had the lobster ravioli and he had a steak. The ravioli was delicious and cooked perfectly. The steak also was delicious and cooked exactly as ordered. The bread with the merlot butter was one of my favorite parts. Wonderful food, service, and a great experience. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I would of done 5 stars but the service was slow due to being short staffed. I felt sorry for our waitress because along with being over worked she also had to deal with a table next to us that was being disruptive with the use of foul language. Us and another table just ignored them as best we could but another table got up and took their drinks elsewhere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was a little disappointed in the experience. We had planned to come here for anniversary for quite some time. We made a reservation but still waited when we got there. There were only two servers on that I saw, so the service was slow. We didn't get drinks until after our app arrived. As a server I understand but, poor planning for a Friday night. Our app and lobster bisque was cool when it arrived. Didn't see our server so couldn't tell anyone. Our entrees where good when they arrived. The dry aged steak was unique, but we liked the filet better. It was an OK dinner but was not what we expected. Could have been much better had they had the correct amount of staff on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service, friendly, professional, timely with order - food quality is excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.